Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 281 complaints filed for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (39) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (25) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (17) Fuel Propulsion System (22) Seat Belts (8) Steering (11) Vehicle Speed Control (37)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seats (2) Structure (12) Visibility (6)
Engine (13) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (10) Suspension (67) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (4) Wheels (5)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

9/18/2013 - ROSEVILLE, MI
CAME HOME FROM VACATION A FOUND THE CONTENTS OF MY FUEL TANK ON THE GARAGE FLOOR. LUCKY THERE WAS NO FIRE OR EXPLOSION. I TOOK IT TO THE SERVICE GARAGE AND THEY INFORMED ME THAT THE GAS TANK RUSTED THROUGH AND ALONG WITH THE PROTECTIVE PLATES, ALL HAD TO BE REPLACED. CONTACTED HYUNDAI BUT THEY WERE NOT HELPFUL.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/9/2013 - SYRACUSE, NY
I BOUGHT THE HYUNDAI LESS THAN A YEAR AGO. A FEW MONTHS AFTER I BOUGHT IT, I STARTED SMELLING GAS. I TOOK IT TO THE SHOP, AND WAS TOLD THE GAS TANK WAS LEAKING. AFTER PAYING AN EXORBITANT AMOUNT TO REPLACE IT, IT WORKED FINE. NOW LESS THAN A YEAR LATER, I TOOK THE CAR INTO THE SHOP FOR A ROUTINE INSPECTION AND WAS INFORMED THAT MY NEW GAS TANK IS LEAKING AND NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. WHAT'S THE PROBLEM, HYUNDAI? THIS IS RIDICULOUS!

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/15/2013 - KINGSTON, NY
WHILE BACKING OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY, I HEARD A "CLUNK" SOUND IN THE FRONT OF MY VEHICLE. UPON INSPECTION, I FOUND A "C" SHAPED PIECE OF METAL ON THE DRIVEWAY. I IMMEDIATELY DROVE TO MY MECHANIC'S SHOP, WHERE HE TOLD ME THAT THE COIL SPRING ON MY SANTA FE HAD BROKEN ON THE PASSENGER'S SIDE. THE COIL SPRING ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE WAS ALSO CRACKED. HE HAD TO REPLACE BOTH COIL SPRINGS. HE LATER TOLD ME THAT IT WAS UNUSUAL TO HAVE THESE SPRINGS BREAK FOR NO APPARENT REASON. I DECIDED TO GO ONLINE TO SEE IF HYUNDAI HAD ISSUED A RECALL OR WHETHER THIS WAS A PROBLEM FOR OTHER CONSUMERS WHO OWNED THIS VEHICLE. I FOUND NUMEROUS SITES WHERE PEOPLE HAD WRITTEN IN STATING THAT THEY HAD THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM - IN MOST CASES, THE COIL SPRING BROKE AS THE OPERATOR WAS PUTTING THE 2004-2006 CAR INTO GEAR TO EITHER BACK OR, PULL OUT OF A PARKED POSITION. I WOULD APPRECIATE YOUR LOOKING INTO THIS ISSUE, AND GETTING BACK TO ME ON ANY FURTHER INFORMATION YOU MAY NEED FROM ME. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/29/2013 - RHODES DALE, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER STARTING THE ENGINE AND SHIFTING INTO DRIVE, A LOUD POPPING AND GRINDING NOISE EMITTED FROM OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. UPON INSPECTION, IT WAS FOUND THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER+S TIRE HAD EXPLODED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE COIL SPRING AND DEFECTIVE TIRE WERE REPLACED. THE IDENTICAL FAILURE OCCURRED MOST RECENTLY WHERE THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE COIL SPRING FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 155,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/22/2013 - WILLIAMSTOWN, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH, SHE HEARD A POPPING SOUND. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL MECHANIC. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER'S SIDE COIL SPRING HAD FRACTURED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,425.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/9/2013 - HEBRON, OH
I DROVE TO WORK WITHOUT INCIDENT ON A MAJOR INTERSTATE AT 6AM. MY CAR WAS PARKED IN A SECURE LOT FOR 8.5 HOURS. WHEN I WENT TO LEAVE FOR THE DAY, I STARTED THE CAR, PUT IT DRIVE AND BEGAN TO ROLL FORWARD. WHEN THE CAR BEGAN TO MOVE I HEARD A LOUD GRINDING NOISE AND STOPPED IMMEDIATELY. I CALLED MY HUSBAND AND HAD HIM LISTEN TO IT BY PHONE. WE HAD THE CAR TOWED TO OUT LOCAL HYUNDAI DEAL WHO INFORMED US THAT THE DRIVERS SIDE SPRING HAD BROKEN WHICH BROKE THE STRUT, PINCHED THE BRAKE LINE AND BENT THE SWAY BAR. TOTAL REPAIR COST WAS 1053.31 WITH TAX. WE OPTED TO REPLACE BOTH FRONT SPRINGS AND STRUTS BECAUSE WE FELT THIS WAS THE SAFEST THING TO DO AFTER RESEARCHING ON THE INTERNET AND DISCOVERING THAT THERE WERE HUNDREDS OF THE SAME COMPLAINT IN ALL SANTA FE'S NO MATTER WHAT THE YEAR ESPECIALLY AFTER READING THAT MANY OF THEM OCCURRED ON AN INTERSTATE TRAVELING AT 65 MPH RESULTING IN FURTHER DAMAGE AND INJURY ACCIDENTS.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: SPRINGS: COIL SPRINGS

4/3/2013 - MEADVILLE , PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE COIL SPRINGS FRACTURED ON SEPARATE OCCASIONS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 58,326 AND THE APPROXIMATE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 58,800. UPDATED 06/18/13 THE CONSUMER STATED THE COIL SPRING ON THE PASSENGER'S SIDE PUNCTURED A TIRE. THE CONSUMER HAD TO PURCHASE 4 NEW TIRES. UPDATED 06/25/2013

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/1/2013 - WILMINGTON, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, HE LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND CRASHED. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE POLICE WERE CONTACTED AND A REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE STERNUM. THE VEHICLE WAS LATER TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THEY DEEMED THE VEHICLE AS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 105,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/26/2013 - DENVER, CO
I HAVE A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, 2.7 LITER ENGINE, 4WD. FRONT SPRING ON PASSENGER SIDE BROKE YESTERDAY, WHILE THE CAR WAS IN THE GARAGE, CAUSING MY TIRE TO PUNCTURE. THOUGHT IT WAS JUST A FLAT BUT IT WAS NOT UNTIL THE CAR WAS TOWED TO A TIRE STORE THAT I LEARNED THE SPRING HAD SIMPLY SNAPPED IN HALF. I HAVE RESEARCHED THIS AND THIS IS, CLEARLY, A FAULTY PART. AFTER SEEING DOZENS AND DOZENS OF SIMILAR CONSUMER COMPLAINTS I AM ASTOUNDED THAT HYUNDAI HAS NOT RECALLED THESE VEHICLES (APPEARS TO SPAN 2001 TO 2006) OR BEEN SUED BY SOMEONE SERIOUSLY INJURED IN AN ACCIDENT. THANK GOD I WAS NOT DRIVING MY CAR AT THE TIME. I WONDER HOW MANY FATAL ACCIDENTS HAVE BEEN CAUSED BY HYUNDAI'S NEGLIGENCE IN NOT BEING FORTHCOMING IN REPLACING THIS PART. MY CURRENT REPAIR COST ESTIMATE IS $521. BUT IT'S NOT CLEAR IF OTHER DAMAGE FROM THE SPRING BREAKAGE HAS OCCURRED. WILL KNOW TOMORROW.

View Details

ENGINE

3/19/2013 - MILWAUKEE, WI
I LEFT MY CAR PARKED IN THE PARKING GARAGE AT SCHOOL. WHEN I CAME BACK TO MY CAR AT THE END OF THE DAY, THE CAR WAS ON AND RUNNING. I HAD MY KEYS WITH ME. IT HAD SOMEHOW SPONTANEOUSLY TURNED ON WHILE I WAS AWAY FROM IT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds