Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 284 complaints filed for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (40) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (25) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (17) Fuel Propulsion System (23) Seat Belts (8) Steering (11) Vehicle Speed Control (37)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seats (2) Structure (12) Visibility (6)
Engine (13) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (11) Suspension (68) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (4) Wheels (5)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
 
ComplaintDescription

SEAT BELTS

3/15/2016 - HOPKINS, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR DRIVER SIDE SEAT BELT WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED, WHICH INDICATED THAT IT WAS NOT CONNECTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SAS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/8/2016 - ROCHESTER, NY
A STRONG ODOR OF GASOLINE WAS NOTICEABLE UPON ENTERING MY GARAGE. FURTHER INSPECTION REVEALED GAS LEAKING FROM MY '04 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE SERVICE STATION DETERMINED THAT A FUEL TANK AND CENTER HEAT SHIELDING REPLACEMENT WAS NECESSARY AS BOTH WERE DEFECTIVE, LEAKING FUEL, AND POSED A VERY HIGH RISK OF DANGER. NEEDLESS TO SAY, I WAS STUCK PAYING A VERY HEFTY BILL TO THE REPAIR CENTER RATHER THAN WORRYING ABOUT BLOWING UP MYSELF, MY PASSENGERS, OR MY HOUSE. I SEE THAT THERE HAVE BEEN OTHER COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THIS MAKE AND MODEL OF HYUNDAI.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/12/2016 - WOODLAND, CA
CAR STALLS WITHOUT WARNING WHILE DRIVING. FIRST OCCURRENCE WAS OVER A YEAR AGO. I WAS DRIVING DOWN I5 GOING 70 MPH WHEN THE CAR SUDDENLY DIED. I LOST MY POWER STEERING AND BRAKES. I MANAGED TO COAST TO THE NEXT EXIT. IT STARTED AFTER SITTING A FEW MINUTES. AND I WAS ABLE TO MAKE IT HOME. I'VE RECEIVED CODES FOR CAMSHAFT SENSOR, MISFIRES, LOW CATALYST. I'VE CHANGED THE CAM AND CRANK SENSORS, COILS, SPARK PLUGS, TIMING BELT AND ASSEMBLY, FUEL PRESSURE REGULATOR AND FUEL PUMP OVER THE PAST YEAR. STILL HAVING THE ISSUE. CAR DRIVES FANTASTIC FOR ABOUT 10 MILES AND STALLS OUT. AFTER WAITING ABOUT 5 MIN. IT CAN BE DRIVEN FOR ANOTHER FEW MILES BEFORE STALLING OUT AGAIN. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT DOES NOT TURN ON WHEN IT STALLS NOW. VERY DANGEROUS WHEN TRYING TO DRIVE IN TOWN OR ATTEMPTING TO MERGE INTO TRAFFIC. YOU NEVER KNOW WHEN IT WILL STALL OUT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/12/2016 - WOODLAND, CA
CAR STALLS WITHOUT WARNING WHILE DRIVING. FIRST OCCURRENCE WAS OVER A YEAR AGO. I WAS DRIVING DOWN I5 GOING 70 MPH WHEN THE CAR SUDDENLY DIED. I LOST MY POWER STEERING AND BRAKES. I MANAGED TO COAST TO THE NEXT EXIT. IT STARTED AFTER SITTING A FEW MINUTES. AND I WAS ABLE TO MAKE IT HOME. I'VE RECEIVED CODES FOR CAMSHAFT SENSOR, MISFIRES, LOW CATALYST. I'VE CHANGED THE CAM AND CRANK SENSORS, COILS, SPARK PLUGS, TIMING BELT AND ASSEMBLY, FUEL PRESSURE REGULATOR AND FUEL PUMP OVER THE PAST YEAR. STILL HAVING THE ISSUE. CAR DRIVES FANTASTIC FOR ABOUT 10 MILES AND STALLS OUT. AFTER WAITING ABOUT 5 MIN. IT CAN BE DRIVEN FOR ANOTHER FEW MILES BEFORE STALLING OUT AGAIN. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT DOES NOT TURN ON WHEN IT STALLS NOW. VERY DANGEROUS WHEN TRYING TO DRIVE IN TOWN OR ATTEMPTING TO MERGE INTO TRAFFIC. YOU NEVER KNOW WHEN IT WILL STALL OUT.

View Details

ENGINE

2/12/2016 - WOODLAND, CA
CAR STALLS WITHOUT WARNING WHILE DRIVING. FIRST OCCURRENCE WAS OVER A YEAR AGO. I WAS DRIVING DOWN I5 GOING 70 MPH WHEN THE CAR SUDDENLY DIED. I LOST MY POWER STEERING AND BRAKES. I MANAGED TO COAST TO THE NEXT EXIT. IT STARTED AFTER SITTING A FEW MINUTES. AND I WAS ABLE TO MAKE IT HOME. I'VE RECEIVED CODES FOR CAMSHAFT SENSOR, MISFIRES, LOW CATALYST. I'VE CHANGED THE CAM AND CRANK SENSORS, COILS, SPARK PLUGS, TIMING BELT AND ASSEMBLY, FUEL PRESSURE REGULATOR AND FUEL PUMP OVER THE PAST YEAR. STILL HAVING THE ISSUE. CAR DRIVES FANTASTIC FOR ABOUT 10 MILES AND STALLS OUT. AFTER WAITING ABOUT 5 MIN. IT CAN BE DRIVEN FOR ANOTHER FEW MILES BEFORE STALLING OUT AGAIN. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT DOES NOT TURN ON WHEN IT STALLS NOW. VERY DANGEROUS WHEN TRYING TO DRIVE IN TOWN OR ATTEMPTING TO MERGE INTO TRAFFIC. YOU NEVER KNOW WHEN IT WILL STALL OUT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/10/2016 - BALDWINSVILLE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTE FE. AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS REFUELED, THE CONTACT NOTICED FUEL LEAKING FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 180,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/28/2015 - FLORA, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING AT 55 MPH, THE GEAR SHIFTER FAILED AND THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED. THE CONTACT HAD TO KEEP HER FOOT ON THE BRAKE PEDAL IN ORDER TO AVOID CRASHING. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT COASTED THE VEHICLE OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, TURNED OFF, AND RESTARTED THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. UPDATED 02/12/16 THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED.

View Details

ENGINE

12/28/2015 - FLORA, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING AT 55 MPH, THE GEAR SHIFTER FAILED AND THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED. THE CONTACT HAD TO KEEP HER FOOT ON THE BRAKE PEDAL IN ORDER TO AVOID CRASHING. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT COASTED THE VEHICLE OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, TURNED OFF, AND RESTARTED THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. UPDATED 02/12/16 THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/28/2015 - FLORA, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING AT 55 MPH, THE GEAR SHIFTER FAILED AND THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED. THE CONTACT HAD TO KEEP HER FOOT ON THE BRAKE PEDAL IN ORDER TO AVOID CRASHING. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT COASTED THE VEHICLE OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, TURNED OFF, AND RESTARTED THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. UPDATED 02/12/16 THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED.

View Details

STEERING

12/18/2015 - COLUMBIA, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE EXITING A PARKING LOT, THE STEERING WHEEL AND BRAKES SEIZED AS THE VEHICLE VEERED TO THE LEFT WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE CAUSED THE CONTACT TO SLIGHTLY GO OVER A CURB HOWEVER, THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO APPLY FORCE AND PULL THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE AND PARK. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACTS RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 161,516.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds