Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 284 complaints filed for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (40) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (25) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (17) Fuel Propulsion System (23) Seat Belts (8) Steering (11) Vehicle Speed Control (37)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seats (2) Structure (12) Visibility (6)
Engine (13) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (11) Suspension (68) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (4) Wheels (5)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
 
ComplaintDescription

SEAT BELTS

6/30/2015 - ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR DRIVER AND REAR MIDDLE SEAT BELT CLIP FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, BUT WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/30/2015 - LEAWOOD, KS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE PARKED IN THE DRIVEWAY, THE VEHICLE ROLLED BACKWARDS. THE VEHICLE KNOCKED THE CONTACT DOWN AND ROLLED OVER HER KNEES. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. NO POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED AND WAS TOWED TO A DEALER, WHO STATED THAT THE EMERGENCY BRAKE SHOULD HAVE BEEN ENGAGED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 3,300. ..UPDATED 09/03/15 UPDATED 11/02/2017

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/12/2015 - SCHENECTADY , NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, A LOUD NOISE EMITTED FROM THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AND THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY LOWERED. UPON INSPECTION, THE CONTACT DISCOVERED THAT THE FRONT COIL SPRING HAD FRACTURED AND PART OF THE SPRING HAD PUNCTURED THE FRONT PASSENGER TIRE CAUSING THE TIRE TO DEFLATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHO INDICATED THAT THE COIL SPRING WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

ENGINE

6/10/2015 - LEXINGTON , TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE, AN ABNORMAL NOISE EMITTED FROM THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/5/2015 - ARLINGTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LAMP REMAINED ILLUMINATED NEAR THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE, INDICATING A MALFUNCTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT WAS MADE AWARE THAT THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V435000 (SUSPENSION) AND WAS WAITING FOR THE RECALL NOTIFICATION. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 137,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/1/2015 - BOZEMAN, MT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LAMP FLASHED RANDOMLY. THE VEHICLE WAS ALSO INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V435000 (SUSPENSION). THE PART WAS UNAVAILABLE TO SCHEDULE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 99,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/1/2015 - BOZEMAN, MT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LAMP FLASHED RANDOMLY. THE VEHICLE WAS ALSO INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V435000 (SUSPENSION). THE PART WAS UNAVAILABLE TO SCHEDULE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 99,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

4/8/2015 - DETROIT, MI
2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. CONSUMER REQUESTS REMAINING REIMBURSEMENT FOR RECALL REPAIRS.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/1/2015 - BURLINGTON, KY
GOT INTO CAR MORNING OF THE TENTH. CAR WAS MAKING NOISE. PARKED CAR. HUSBAND TOOK LOOK AT IT NOTICE HEAT SHIELD LOSE. THAT DID NOT TURN OUT TO BE NOISE.ON CLOSER INSPECTION NOTICE BROKEN COIL SPRING FRONT DRIVERS SIDE. FUNNY THEY ARE RECALLING THIS MODEL CAR FOR THIS POTENTIAL PROBLEM, BUT MY 2004 SANTA FE ACTUALLY HAD THIS FAILURE AND IT IS NOT COVERED !

View Details

ENGINE

3/5/2015 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
AS I APPROACHED A STOP LIGHT AND MY CAR BEGAN TO SLOW, IT DIDN'T SHIFT ALL THE WAY INTO FIRST GEAR. WHILE STOPPED AT THE LIGHT, IT REMAINED AT A HIGH RPM WHILE THE BRAKE WAS PRESSED. WHEN THE LIGHT CHANGED, AND THE GAS PEDAL WAS PRESSED, MY CAR "KICKED" DOWN INTO FIRST AND IMMEDIATELY BACK IN TO SECOND. A FEW DAYS LATER WHILE AT A STOP LIGHT, MY CAR DIED. AFTER A FEW MINUTES, IT STARTED BACK UP. AFTER BRINGING IT TO THE DEALER (IT HAD DIED ON MY THREE TIMES AT THIS POINT) TO HAVE IT SERVICED, I WAS TOLD THAT THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. THEY WERE ABLE TO "FEEL" THE SHIFTING ISSUES WHEN STOPPING BUT THEY COULDN'T TELL ME WHAT WAS WRONG WITH IT. SINCE I'VE HAD MY VEHICLE BACK FROM THE SHOP, IT HAS BEEN HAVING HIGH IDLE SURGES WHERE THE RESTING IDLE RPM IS AT 2000, IN ADDITION, WHEN THE VEHICLE IS IN NEUTRAL IT ACTS AS IF SOMETHING IS PUSHING THE GAS PEDAL WHILE MY FOOT IS ON THE BRAKE GOING BACK AND FORTH BETWEEN 800 AND 2000 RPM. WHEN THE VEHICLE IS IN DRIVE AND MY FOOT IS ON THE BRAKE, IT ALSO FEELS LIKE MY VEHICLE WANTS TO GET UP AND GO (AGAIN LIKE SOMETHING IS PUSHING ON THE GAS PEDAL). I HAVE TAKEN MY VEHICLE TO TWO DIFFERENT PLACES AND BOTH PLACES CAN'T PINPOINT WHAT IS WRONG WITH MY VEHICLE. IT'S STARTING TO BECOME A SAFETY CONCERN. WHAT IF WHATEVER IS GOING ON WITH MY VEHICLE OVERRIDES THE BRAKE SYSTEM AND I END UP HURTING SOMEONE?

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds