Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 281 complaints filed for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (39) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (25) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (17) Fuel Propulsion System (22) Seat Belts (8) Steering (11) Vehicle Speed Control (37)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seats (2) Structure (12) Visibility (6)
Engine (13) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (10) Suspension (67) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (4) Wheels (5)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/30/2014 - COOKEVILLE, TN
WHILE LOOKING FOR A PARKING PLACE, THE AIR BAG IN THE BACK OF THE DRIVER SIDE FRONT SEAT SPONTANEOUSLY DEPLOYED, INJURING MY BACK AND MY LEFT KNEE. MY CHIROPRACTOR GOT MY BACK SOMEWHAT REPAIRED, BUT MY KNEE ENDED UP HAVING A MENISCUS TEAR THAT HAS NOT YET BEEN REPAIRED. HYUNDAI IS WILLING TO REPLACE WHAT MY INSURANCE COMPANY PAID OUT FOR MEDICAL CARE AND TO FIX MY CAR. I WILL BE HAVING MEDICAL ISSUES FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE THANKS TO THIS AIR BAG INCIDENT. I BELIEVE HYUNDAI SHOULD PAY FOR ALL FUTURE MEDICAL ISSUES RESULTING FROM THIS INCIDENT BUT .... THEY INVESTIGATED AND ARE SAYING THAT THE "COMPUTER SHOWS AN IMPACT SEVERE ENOUGH TO CAUSE THE DEPLOYMENT" SO THEY ARE WILLING TO REPLACE THE SEAT AND REIMBURSE ONLY THE INSURANCE COMPANY. THEY SAY FUTURE MEDICAL ISSUES ARE MY RESPONSIBILITY. I DO NOT BELIEVE THIS SHOULD BE THIS WAY. THEIR PRODUCT CAUSED IT, THEY SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE!

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/30/2014 - COOKEVILLE, TN
WHILE LOOKING FOR A PARKING PLACE, THE AIR BAG IN THE BACK OF THE DRIVER SIDE FRONT SEAT SPONTANEOUSLY DEPLOYED, INJURING MY BACK AND MY LEFT KNEE. MY CHIROPRACTOR GOT MY BACK SOMEWHAT REPAIRED, BUT MY KNEE ENDED UP HAVING A MENISCUS TEAR THAT HAS NOT YET BEEN REPAIRED. HYUNDAI IS WILLING TO REPLACE WHAT MY INSURANCE COMPANY PAID OUT FOR MEDICAL CARE AND TO FIX MY CAR. I WILL BE HAVING MEDICAL ISSUES FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE THANKS TO THIS AIR BAG INCIDENT. I BELIEVE HYUNDAI SHOULD PAY FOR ALL FUTURE MEDICAL ISSUES RESULTING FROM THIS INCIDENT BUT .... THEY INVESTIGATED AND ARE SAYING THAT THE "COMPUTER SHOWS AN IMPACT SEVERE ENOUGH TO CAUSE THE DEPLOYMENT" SO THEY ARE WILLING TO REPLACE THE SEAT AND REIMBURSE ONLY THE INSURANCE COMPANY. THEY SAY FUTURE MEDICAL ISSUES ARE MY RESPONSIBILITY. I DO NOT BELIEVE THIS SHOULD BE THIS WAY. THEIR PRODUCT CAUSED IT, THEY SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE!

View Details

SEATS

11/30/2014 - COOKEVILLE, TN
WHILE LOOKING FOR A PARKING PLACE, THE AIR BAG IN THE BACK OF THE DRIVER SIDE FRONT SEAT SPONTANEOUSLY DEPLOYED, INJURING MY BACK AND MY LEFT KNEE. MY CHIROPRACTOR GOT MY BACK SOMEWHAT REPAIRED, BUT MY KNEE ENDED UP HAVING A MENISCUS TEAR THAT HAS NOT YET BEEN REPAIRED. HYUNDAI IS WILLING TO REPLACE WHAT MY INSURANCE COMPANY PAID OUT FOR MEDICAL CARE AND TO FIX MY CAR. I WILL BE HAVING MEDICAL ISSUES FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE THANKS TO THIS AIR BAG INCIDENT. I BELIEVE HYUNDAI SHOULD PAY FOR ALL FUTURE MEDICAL ISSUES RESULTING FROM THIS INCIDENT BUT .... THEY INVESTIGATED AND ARE SAYING THAT THE "COMPUTER SHOWS AN IMPACT SEVERE ENOUGH TO CAUSE THE DEPLOYMENT" SO THEY ARE WILLING TO REPLACE THE SEAT AND REIMBURSE ONLY THE INSURANCE COMPANY. THEY SAY FUTURE MEDICAL ISSUES ARE MY RESPONSIBILITY. I DO NOT BELIEVE THIS SHOULD BE THIS WAY. THEIR PRODUCT CAUSED IT, THEY SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/13/2014 - SPRINGFIELD, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A STRONG VIBRATION COMING FROM THE FRONT BRAKES. THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS WHERE IT WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE REPAIR SPECIFICS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 04V131000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE. UPDATED 12/22/14 THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE HAS HAD A PULSATING SENSATION FROM THE BRAKES. THE VEHICLE WOULD TAKE LONGER TO STOP AND THERE WOULD BE VIBRATION IN THE STEERING WHEEL. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED THERE WAS THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL FOR THE BRAKES. THE CONSUMER NEARLY HAD AN ACCIDENT WITH A SEMI TRUCK DUE TO THE FAILURE. UPDATED 05/26/2015

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/12/2014 - WEST SENECA, NY
TOOK MY HYUNDAI SANTA FE IN FOR THE RECALL ON THE SPRING ISSUE. AFTER RETURNING HOME AND LOOKING AT THE WORK ORDER THAT LISTED THEIR ACTIVITY AS INSTALLING A ?FRONT SPRING PROTECTOR INSTALLATION,? I CALLED THEIR NATIONAL CONSUMER HELP NUMBER AND ASKED ABOUT THE PARAMETERS USED IN EVALUATING THE REPAIR DECISION. HER ANSWER WAS: THE DEALER WILL INSPECT AND DO EITHER A SPRING REPLACEMENT IF SEVER DAMAGE IS FOUND OR INSTALL A FRONT SPRING PROTECTION KIT AND SPRAY APPLICATION (OF SOMETHING) IF MODERATE DAMAGE IS FOUND. I QUESTIONED THE PARAMETERS FOR LEADING TO A DECISION, THE FIRST PERSON I TALKED TO SAID IT WAS THE DEALERS RESPONSIBILITY. I RESPONDED BY ASKING FOR A SUPERVISOR, AFTER TRANSFER SHE REPEATED THE PREVIOUS ANSWER. I HAVE BEEN INVOLVED IN MANY STRUCTURAL EVALUATIONS OF RUSTY STRUCTURAL ELEMENTS. ONE CANNOT JUST EYEBALL A SITUATION LIKE THIS, THERE ARE PARAMETERS FOR THE REPAIR OR REPLACEMENT. I FOUND THE SUPERVISORS ANSWER, THAT SHE COULD NOT DIRECT ME TO A CORPORATE ENGINEERING OFFICE FOR SPECIFIC DESIGN PARAMETERS AND THAT THE DEALERS WOULD BE MAKING THE DECISIONS WAS QUESTIONABLE AT BEST IN TERMS OF THEIR ANSWER, WITH NO DEFINED EVALUATIVE CRITERIA AND THEIR RELIABILITY ON THE DEALERS TO MAKE A SAFETY CHOICE OVER A ECONOMIC ONE. THE RECALL WAS FROM HYUNDAI NOT THE DEALER I PURCHASED FROM. THERE WERE TWO OTHER INSTANCES RELATING TO RUST ON THIS CAR, THE CAR NEEDED TO HAVE ITS FUEL TANK REPLACED A FEW YEARS AGO BECAUSE IT WAS RUSTING AND LEAKING GASOLINE, I HAVE THE EXTENDED BUMPER TO BUMPER 100,000 MILE WARRANTY. LITTLE DID THAT HELP, THEY CLAIMED IT WAS NOT COVERED (WHAT DOES BUMPER TO BUMPER MEAN) AND DENIED COVERAGE. A SEPARATE ISSUE OCCURRED WHEN THE CAR DIED ABOUT 100 YARDS FROM MY SERVICE GARAGE, PUSHED IT IN, THEY FOUND A CORRODED WIRE (WHAT EVER) AND REPLACED IT. WHEN I CALLED FOR REIMBURSEMENT, THEY DENIED IT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/12/2014 - PEWAUKEE, WI
I WAS COMING HOME FROM THE STORE AND HAD JUST TURNED INTO MY DRIVEWAY WHEN MY CAR SUDDENLY VEERED TO THE RIGHT AND STOPPED. I HEARD A LOUD NOISE AND THE ENTIRE SIDE OF MY CAR COLLAPSED ON THE RIGHT SIDE. SOMETHING WAS STICKING INTO THE TIRE. I HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED TO THE DEALERS AND REPAIRED. IT COST US OVER $500. IT WAS STILL UNDER THE DEALERS WARRANTY, BUT WAS NOT COVERED. WE FEEL WE SHOULD BE REIMBURSED.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: SPRINGS: COIL SPRINGS

11/10/2014 - HASTINGS, MN
2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO FRONT COIL SPRING RECALL. THE CONSUMER STATED SHE WAS DRIVING AT A SLOW SPEED, WHEN THE FRONT COIL SPRING FAILED AND THE VEHICLE IMMEDIATELY CAME TO STOP WITH THE COIL SPRING PUSHING AGAINST THE RIGHT TIRE . THE CONSUMER IS SEEKING REIMBURSEMENT FOR THE DECEMBER 19, 2011 INCIDENT.

View Details

WHEELS

11/4/2014 - MILLIS, MA
ON 12/31/2012, THE COIL SPRING ON MY 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE FRACTURED AND PUNCTURED THE RIGHT FRONT TIRE OF THE VEHICLE. I PAID UPWARDS OF $2000 ON 1/7/2013 TO HAVE THIS REPAIRED. I HAVE SINCE TRADED IN THE VEHICLE AND NO LONGER OWN IT. I RECENTLY RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FROM HYUNDAI USA DESCRIBING THE SAME COIL SPRING FRACTURE THAT I EXPERIENCED A COUPLE OF YEARS EARLIER. THIS RECALL IS CALLED 'CAMPAIGN124' BY HYUNDAI. TODAY (11/4/2014), I CALLED TO INQUIRE ABOUT THE POSSIBILITY FOR SOME REIMBURSEMENT FOR THE REPAIR I HAD PERFORMED AFTER MY INCIDENT. I WAS INFORMED THAT THIS WAS NOT POSSIBLE SINCE I NO LONGER OWNED THE VEHICLE AND THE REPAIR COULD NOT BE INSPECTED BY HYUNDAI, I DON'T FEEL THAT THIS IS RIGHT AND I SHOULD BE ENTITLED TO SOME REIMBURSEMENT. IF REQUESTED, I WOULD BE ABLE TO PROVIDE DETAIL OF THE WORK PERFORMED BY THE MECHANIC WHO PERFORMED THE SERVICE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/4/2014 - MILLIS, MA
ON 12/31/2012, THE COIL SPRING ON MY 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE FRACTURED AND PUNCTURED THE RIGHT FRONT TIRE OF THE VEHICLE. I PAID UPWARDS OF $2000 ON 1/7/2013 TO HAVE THIS REPAIRED. I HAVE SINCE TRADED IN THE VEHICLE AND NO LONGER OWN IT. I RECENTLY RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FROM HYUNDAI USA DESCRIBING THE SAME COIL SPRING FRACTURE THAT I EXPERIENCED A COUPLE OF YEARS EARLIER. THIS RECALL IS CALLED 'CAMPAIGN124' BY HYUNDAI. TODAY (11/4/2014), I CALLED TO INQUIRE ABOUT THE POSSIBILITY FOR SOME REIMBURSEMENT FOR THE REPAIR I HAD PERFORMED AFTER MY INCIDENT. I WAS INFORMED THAT THIS WAS NOT POSSIBLE SINCE I NO LONGER OWNED THE VEHICLE AND THE REPAIR COULD NOT BE INSPECTED BY HYUNDAI, I DON'T FEEL THAT THIS IS RIGHT AND I SHOULD BE ENTITLED TO SOME REIMBURSEMENT. IF REQUESTED, I WOULD BE ABLE TO PROVIDE DETAIL OF THE WORK PERFORMED BY THE MECHANIC WHO PERFORMED THE SERVICE.

View Details

STEERING

11/4/2014 - MILLIS, MA
ON 12/31/2012, THE COIL SPRING ON MY 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE FRACTURED AND PUNCTURED THE RIGHT FRONT TIRE OF THE VEHICLE. I PAID UPWARDS OF $2000 ON 1/7/2013 TO HAVE THIS REPAIRED. I HAVE SINCE TRADED IN THE VEHICLE AND NO LONGER OWN IT. I RECENTLY RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FROM HYUNDAI USA DESCRIBING THE SAME COIL SPRING FRACTURE THAT I EXPERIENCED A COUPLE OF YEARS EARLIER. THIS RECALL IS CALLED 'CAMPAIGN124' BY HYUNDAI. TODAY (11/4/2014), I CALLED TO INQUIRE ABOUT THE POSSIBILITY FOR SOME REIMBURSEMENT FOR THE REPAIR I HAD PERFORMED AFTER MY INCIDENT. I WAS INFORMED THAT THIS WAS NOT POSSIBLE SINCE I NO LONGER OWNED THE VEHICLE AND THE REPAIR COULD NOT BE INSPECTED BY HYUNDAI, I DON'T FEEL THAT THIS IS RIGHT AND I SHOULD BE ENTITLED TO SOME REIMBURSEMENT. IF REQUESTED, I WOULD BE ABLE TO PROVIDE DETAIL OF THE WORK PERFORMED BY THE MECHANIC WHO PERFORMED THE SERVICE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds