Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 274 complaints filed for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (37) Equipment (1) Power Train (19) Service Brakes Hydraulic (25) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (17) Fuel Propulsion System (21) Seat Belts (7) Steering (10) Vehicle Speed Control (36)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seats (2) Structure (12) Visibility (6)
Engine (11) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (10) Suspension (65) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (4) Wheels (5)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE

10/14/2014 - DOUGLASTON, NY
RECEIVED LETTER FROM HYUNDAI THAT THE COMPANY WAS "PREPARING A REMEDY" FOR POSSIBLE RUSTING SPRINGS ON MY SANTA FE. I WAITED ABOUT A MONTH FOR SECOND LETTER AS TO WHERE AND WHEN TO GET SPRINGS INSPECTED. CALLED HYUNDAI 1-855-671-3059 GOT RUN AROUND NO ASSISTANCE. I CAN GET CAR INSPECTED MYSELF AND PAY FOR SPRINGS MYSELF. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/14/2014 - DOUGLASTON, NY
RECEIVED LETTER FROM HYUNDAI THAT THE COMPANY WAS "PREPARING A REMEDY" FOR POSSIBLE RUSTING SPRINGS ON MY SANTA FE. I WAITED ABOUT A MONTH FOR SECOND LETTER AS TO WHERE AND WHEN TO GET SPRINGS INSPECTED. CALLED HYUNDAI 1-855-671-3059 GOT RUN AROUND NO ASSISTANCE. I CAN GET CAR INSPECTED MYSELF AND PAY FOR SPRINGS MYSELF. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/10/2014 - ORIENT, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE SWAYED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V435000 (SUSPENSION) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS: UNDERBODY SHIELDS

10/3/2014 - AURORA, CO
FOR A LONG TIME I KEPT HEARING THIS CLUNKING TYPE NOISE BUT WE COULDN'T FIGURE OUT WHAT IT WAS. THEN ON SUN. SEPT. 21, 2014 I NOTICED SOME EXTRA PLAY IN THE WHEEL. WHEN I MADE A TURN I HAD TO TURN THE WHEEL TWICE AS MUCH AS NORMAL AND THEN IT LOCKED AND I HAD TO REALLY PULL HARD TO GET IT BACK STRAIGHT. WE VERY CAREFULLY DROVE IT TO THE AUTO SHOP ONLY A MILE AWAY. THEY SAID MY POWER STEERING LINE WAS RIPPED OPEN. THEY SAID THE BOLT THAT ATTACHES TO THE POWER STEERING GEAR RACK SHEARED OFF OF THE SUBFRAME. I HAVE PICTURES. ALSO SINCE THERE IS A RECALL ON THE COIL SPRINGS FOR CARS SOLD IN THE SALT BELT I THOUGHT THIS ALSO COULD BE A CORROSION ISSUE BECAUSE THE MECHANIC SAID HE HAS NEVER SEEN THIS BEFORE. THE BOLT DIDN'T COME LOOSE, THE ACTUAL SUBFRAME TORE APART AND THE STEERING RACK WAS JUST HANGING THERE BY ONE BOLT AND OVER TIME IT RIPPED THE RUBBER TO SHREDS. THIS COULD HAVE CAUSE FATALITIES. WE HAD TO PURCHASE A NEW SUBFRAME AND STEERING RACK TO GET THE CAR DRIVABLE. IT SEEMS TO ME IT WAS FAULTY MANUFACTURING OR A RUST CORROSION ISSUE. THE SUBFRAME IS A HUGE THICK IRON FRAME WHERE YOU WOULD THINK NOTHING COULD BREAK IT, BUT IN THIS INSTANCE IT ACTUALLY RIPPED. I WOULD LIKE SOME COMPENSATION FOR THE REPAIRS. I WANTED THIS COMPLAINT OUT THERE BECAUSE IT COULD BECOME A SAFETY ISSUE FOR OTHER DRIVERS.

View Details

STEERING

10/3/2014 - AURORA, CO
FOR A LONG TIME I KEPT HEARING THIS CLUNKING TYPE NOISE BUT WE COULDN'T FIGURE OUT WHAT IT WAS. THEN ON SUN. SEPT. 21, 2014 I NOTICED SOME EXTRA PLAY IN THE WHEEL. WHEN I MADE A TURN I HAD TO TURN THE WHEEL TWICE AS MUCH AS NORMAL AND THEN IT LOCKED AND I HAD TO REALLY PULL HARD TO GET IT BACK STRAIGHT. WE VERY CAREFULLY DROVE IT TO THE AUTO SHOP ONLY A MILE AWAY. THEY SAID MY POWER STEERING LINE WAS RIPPED OPEN. THEY SAID THE BOLT THAT ATTACHES TO THE POWER STEERING GEAR RACK SHEARED OFF OF THE SUBFRAME. I HAVE PICTURES. ALSO SINCE THERE IS A RECALL ON THE COIL SPRINGS FOR CARS SOLD IN THE SALT BELT I THOUGHT THIS ALSO COULD BE A CORROSION ISSUE BECAUSE THE MECHANIC SAID HE HAS NEVER SEEN THIS BEFORE. THE BOLT DIDN'T COME LOOSE, THE ACTUAL SUBFRAME TORE APART AND THE STEERING RACK WAS JUST HANGING THERE BY ONE BOLT AND OVER TIME IT RIPPED THE RUBBER TO SHREDS. THIS COULD HAVE CAUSE FATALITIES. WE HAD TO PURCHASE A NEW SUBFRAME AND STEERING RACK TO GET THE CAR DRIVABLE. IT SEEMS TO ME IT WAS FAULTY MANUFACTURING OR A RUST CORROSION ISSUE. THE SUBFRAME IS A HUGE THICK IRON FRAME WHERE YOU WOULD THINK NOTHING COULD BREAK IT, BUT IN THIS INSTANCE IT ACTUALLY RIPPED. I WOULD LIKE SOME COMPENSATION FOR THE REPAIRS. I WANTED THIS COMPLAINT OUT THERE BECAUSE IT COULD BECOME A SAFETY ISSUE FOR OTHER DRIVERS.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: SPRINGS: COIL SPRINGS

10/3/2014 - SPRINGFILED , IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE FRONT COIL SPRINGS DEVELOPED CRACKS. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V435000 (SUSPENSION); HOWEVER, THE PARTS NEEDED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE DEALER COULD NOT PROVIDE A SPECIFIC TIMEFRAME FOR WHEN THE PART WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/29/2014 - NORTH RIVERSIDE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE DECELERATED AND THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE ACCELERATOR POSITION SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000.

View Details

WHEELS

9/22/2014 - GRAND RAPIDS, MI
RECEIVED A NOTICE OF RECALL FOR FRONT COIL SPRING ISSUE IN MAIL, MY FRONT COIL SPRIG IS CURRENTLY BROKEN. CALLED DEALERSHIP TO HAVE IT REPAIRED AND TOLD THEY DO NOT HAVE THE PARTS TO FIX IT OR A REMEDY FOR ME TO HAVE A DRIVABLE CAR UNTIL IT CAN BE FIXED. NO TIME FRAME CAN BE GIVEN WHEN THEY CAN FIX THE ISSUE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/22/2014 - GRAND RAPIDS, MI
RECEIVED A NOTICE OF RECALL FOR FRONT COIL SPRING ISSUE IN MAIL, MY FRONT COIL SPRIG IS CURRENTLY BROKEN. CALLED DEALERSHIP TO HAVE IT REPAIRED AND TOLD THEY DO NOT HAVE THE PARTS TO FIX IT OR A REMEDY FOR ME TO HAVE A DRIVABLE CAR UNTIL IT CAN BE FIXED. NO TIME FRAME CAN BE GIVEN WHEN THEY CAN FIX THE ISSUE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/19/2014 - LACONA, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE VIBRATED AND THE CONTACT HEARD A POPPING NOISE. THE CONTACT CRASHED THE VEHICLE INTO A TELEPHONE POLE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE NECK, CHEST, AND BACK THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND TOWED TO AN IMPOUND LOT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 135,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds