Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 224 complaints filed for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (26) Equipment (1) Power Train (15) Service Brakes Hydraulic (24) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (15) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seat Belts (4) Steering (8) Vehicle Speed Control (31)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Seats (2) Structure (6) Visibility (6)
Engine (5) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (54) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (4) Wheels (4)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

9/4/2012 - GRANDVILLE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 04V131000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK: CONTROL UNIT/MODULE). AFTER THE REPAIRS AS THE CONTACT APPLIED THE BRAKES, THE VEHICLE EXHIBITED AN ABNORMAL INCREASE IN STOPPING DISTANCE AND TIME. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND DENIED ASSISTANCE WITH ANY REPAIRS. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 13,600. UPDATED 10/11/12 THE CONSUMER STATED AN ACCIDENT ALMOST OCCURRED AGAIN DUE TO THIS FAILURE. UPDATED 10/11/2012

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

8/21/2012 - GRANDVILLE , IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH, HE NOTICED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT DECELERATE WHEN PRESSING THE BRAKES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT UNDER RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 120,000. ..UPDATED 09-21-12

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/20/2012 - BETHLEHEM , PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED ,THE VEHICLE WOULD LOSE POWER AND BECOME INOPERABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOUR TIMES FOR THE SAME FAILURE AND THE DEALER STATED THAT NO FAILURES WERE FOUND, OFFERING NO FURTHER ASSISTANCE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 53,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 54,800.

View Details

STEERING

7/9/2012 - PARIS , KY
IT HAD JUST RAINED AND IN SOME PLACES ON THE CITY STREET THERE WAS STANDING WATER. THE WATER WAS PROBABLY BETWEEN 1 AND 2 INCHES DEEP AT THE MOST. AS I DROVE IN THE WATER NO MORE THAN 30MPH THE STEERING WITHOUT WARNING LOCKED UP. IT STAYED LOCKED UP FOR AROUND 10 SECONDS. THIS IS WHAT ALMOST CAUSED A CRASH AT THE INTERSECTION. I COULD NOT BUDGE THE STEERING WITH BOTH HANDS. THEN AFTER THE 10 SECONDS GIVE OR TAKE, THERE WAS A SMALL SQUEAL AND THE STEERING UNLOCKED. THIS HAPPENS EVERY TIME I DRIVE IN ANY STANDING WATER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/21/2012 - WESTWOOD, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKING SYSTEM WOULD ENGAGE WHEN BRAKING TO A COMPLETE STOP. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE ELECTRONIC CONTROL UNIT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 04V131000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK CONTROL UNIT MODULE), BUT THE MANUFACTURER ADVISED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL CAMPAIGN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN, BUT THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/19/2012 - SCOTTSDALE, AZ
STOPPED AT INTERSECTION, WITH MY FOOT ON THE BREAK, THE SUV LURCHES FORWARD AND JERKS. I PLACED IT IN PARK WHILE WAITING FOR THE LIGHT TO CHANGE. I WAS CONCERNED THAT I WOULD HIT THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. I DROVE 2 HOURS AND NOTICED CONTINUED MISFIRING AND JERKING WHILE DRIVING. IT WAS OK WHEN THE ENGINE WAS COOL, BUT FELT UNSTEADY WHEN UP TO TEMP. AFTER BEING PARKED IN GROCERY PARKING LOT, WHILE BACKING UP THE CAR STALLED, I RESTARTED AND DROVE HOME. TOOK IT TO MECHANICS NEXT DAY. AT THE HYUNDAI DEALER NOW. THEY COULD NOT GET ANY CODES AND THE ENGINE FAILURE LIGHT NEVER SHOWED. THE MECHANIC, SAID THAT HE WAS 90% SURE THAT REPLACING THE TIMING BELT/CRANK SHAFT POSITION SENSOR/BALANCER SHAFT BELT/PICK UP PLATE WOULD CORRECT THE PROBLEM...THIS DIDN'T WORK AND THE DEALER ASKED TO KEEP IT A 5TH NIGHT. I HAVE NOT HEARD FROM THEM AS OF YET. I'M CONCERNED THAT MY CAR WILL NOT BE REPAIRED AND AM AFRAID TO DRIVE IT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/11/2012 - BOZEMAN , MT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PARK, THE COIL SPRING BROKE AND PUNCTURED THE TIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE WHO DID NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 104,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/28/2012 - HUBERT, NC
MY AIR BAGS LIGHT IS ALWAYS ON AND WILL NOT TURN OFF. THE SUSPENSION IS HORRIBLE, I TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC AND HE SAID" THERE WAS NOTHING HE COULD DO. AND SOMETIMES WHEN I TURN MY VEHICLE ON THE ENGINE REVELS UP AND SOUNDS AS IF THE ACCELERATION IS STUCK. SCARES ME TO DEATH.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

4/28/2012 - HUBERT, NC
MY AIR BAGS LIGHT IS ALWAYS ON AND WILL NOT TURN OFF. THE SUSPENSION IS HORRIBLE, I TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC AND HE SAID" THERE WAS NOTHING HE COULD DO. AND SOMETIMES WHEN I TURN MY VEHICLE ON THE ENGINE REVELS UP AND SOUNDS AS IF THE ACCELERATION IS STUCK. SCARES ME TO DEATH.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/28/2012 - HUBERT, NC
MY AIR BAGS LIGHT IS ALWAYS ON AND WILL NOT TURN OFF. THE SUSPENSION IS HORRIBLE, I TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC AND HE SAID" THERE WAS NOTHING HE COULD DO. AND SOMETIMES WHEN I TURN MY VEHICLE ON THE ENGINE REVELS UP AND SOUNDS AS IF THE ACCELERATION IS STUCK. SCARES ME TO DEATH.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds