Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 259 complaints filed for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (31) Equipment (1) Power Train (18) Service Brakes Hydraulic (25) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (17) Fuel Propulsion System (16) Seat Belts (6) Steering (10) Vehicle Speed Control (36)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Seats (2) Structure (10) Visibility (6)
Engine (11) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (8) Suspension (63) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (4) Wheels (5)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

8/29/2014 - SAINT LOUIS, MO
I WAS IN TN WHEN I HEARD A SLIGHT "THUNK" AND THEN A CONTINUOUS RATTLE UNDER THE VEHICLE. I ASSUMED A BROKEN EXHAUST BRACKET AND LEFT TN ON 8/17/2014 TO RETURN TO MY HOME IN SAINT LOUIS MO. I TRAVELED I55 IN SPEEDS IN EXCESS OF 75 MPH AND LISTENED TO THE RATTLE FOR ABOUT 100 MILES. AND THEN THE RATTLE STOPPED AND I ASSUMED THAT THE BROKEN BRACKET HAD FINALLY COME LOOSE AND IS NOW LOCATED SOMEWHERE ON I55. I TOOK MY CAR TO FIRESTONE AND WAS STUNNED TO LEARN THAT MY RIGHT FRONT SUSPENSION COIL SPRING WAS MISSING AND MY RIGHT FRONT STRUT WAS BROKEN. AN INSPECTION OF THE LEFT FRONT COIL SPRING ALSO INDICATED SIGNIFICANT CORROSION AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED FOR SAFETY. HYUNDAI HAS RECALLED 419,000 VEHICLES OF THIS TYPE IN DC AND 20 OTHER STATES SPECIFICALLY STATING EXCESSIVE CORROSION AS A RESULT OF ROAD SALT--THIS LIST EXCLUDED THE STATE OF MO WHICH HAPPENS TO ALSO USE ROAD SALT. MY HYUNDAI HAS BEEN IN MO FOR 12 YEARS. HYUNDAI NEEDS TO DO THE RESPONSIBLE THING AND EXPAND ITS RECALL TO ALL STATES THAT USE SALT AND PERHAPS TO COASTAL STATES THAT HAVE OCEAN SALT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/1/2014 - SAINT MICHAEL, MN
THERE IS A STRONG SMELL OF GASOLINE COMING FROM MY VEHICLE - IT CONSUMES BOTH THE INTERIOR AND THE AROUND THE ENTIRE EXTERIOR OF THE VEHICLE. LOOKING AT ALL OF THE COMPLAINTS, THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED. WHY ISN'T THERE A RECALL?? HYUNDAI - ARE YOU DOING ANYTHING TO HELP YOUR CUSTOMERS?????

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

6/10/2014 - ELGIN, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT FUEL WAS LEAKING FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL TANK WAS CRACK AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 97,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

5/31/2014 - AMSTERDAM, NY
GAS TANK LEAK NEAR THE EXHAUST SYSTEM. CAUSE BELIEVED TO BE DUE TO A DESIGN FLAW. THE BOTTOM OF TANK WAS COVERED BY A POLY SHELL. THE SHELL TRAPPED MOISTURE AND SALT, ETC. BETWEEN BOTTOM OF METAL TANK AND POLY SHELL. THIS SET UP A CORROSION ENVIRONMENT AND RESULTED IN LEAK. NEW REPLACEMENT TANK FROM HYUNDAI DOES NOT HAVE THE POLY SHELL. NOTE: THE VEHICLE HAS NO RUST AND IS IN VERY GOOD CONDITION.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/22/2014 - CLEARWATER , FL
AFTER PULLING INTO TRAFFIC, I LIFTED MY FOOT FROM THE ACCELERATOR WHEN I REACHED MY DESIRED SPEED. HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE. I APPLIED THE BRAKE, AND THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO REV FOR 1 OR 2 SECONDS. THERE WAS NO ACCIDENT ON THIS OCCASION, BUT IT WAS TERRIFYING, AND I HAD MY CHILD IN THE VEHICLE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

5/22/2014 - CLEARWATER , FL
AFTER PULLING INTO TRAFFIC, I LIFTED MY FOOT FROM THE ACCELERATOR WHEN I REACHED MY DESIRED SPEED. HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE. I APPLIED THE BRAKE, AND THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO REV FOR 1 OR 2 SECONDS. THERE WAS NO ACCIDENT ON THIS OCCASION, BUT IT WAS TERRIFYING, AND I HAD MY CHILD IN THE VEHICLE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/21/2014 - CHICAGO, IL
MY OIL CHANGING PLACE THOUGHT I HAD A POWER STEERING FLUID LEAK, SO I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER TO CHECK. THE REAL PROBLEM WAS THE FRONT RIGHT AXLE BOOT WAS LEAKING BADLY (COVERED BY THE POWER TRAIN WARRANTY), BUT THEY FOUND THAT THE RIGHT AND LEFT CONTROL ARM BUSHINGS HAD COLLAPSED AND THE SENSORS WERE FROZEN IN PLACE. AFTER THEY FIXED THESE, THE MECHANIC TOOK IT FOR A TEST DRIVE, AND DURING THE TEST DRIVE, THE RIGHT FRONT COIL SNAPPED. I AM TOLD THAT I MUST NOW REPLACE BOTH LEFT AND RIGHT FRONT COILS AND HAVE THE CAR RE-ALIGNED. THE COILS SHOULD BE ON RECALL, AS OBVIOUSLY THERE IS A DEFECT IN THE MANUFACTURING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/21/2014 - CHICAGO, IL
MY OIL CHANGING PLACE THOUGHT I HAD A POWER STEERING FLUID LEAK, SO I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER TO CHECK. THE REAL PROBLEM WAS THE FRONT RIGHT AXLE BOOT WAS LEAKING BADLY (COVERED BY THE POWER TRAIN WARRANTY), BUT THEY FOUND THAT THE RIGHT AND LEFT CONTROL ARM BUSHINGS HAD COLLAPSED AND THE SENSORS WERE FROZEN IN PLACE. AFTER THEY FIXED THESE, THE MECHANIC TOOK IT FOR A TEST DRIVE, AND DURING THE TEST DRIVE, THE RIGHT FRONT COIL SNAPPED. I AM TOLD THAT I MUST NOW REPLACE BOTH LEFT AND RIGHT FRONT COILS AND HAVE THE CAR RE-ALIGNED. THE COILS SHOULD BE ON RECALL, AS OBVIOUSLY THERE IS A DEFECT IN THE MANUFACTURING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/18/2014 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
WHENEVER I GET GAS AND WHICH I DREAD , ONCE I FILL UP THE TANK OR JUST PUT A FEW GALLONS AND I TURN THE IGNITION IT GRINDS LIKE IT IS TRYING TO START . EVENTUALLY IT WILL TURN OVER OR I WILL HEAR A POP. I AM AFRAID AT SOME POINT WITH THAT POP THAT IT WILL CATCH ON FIRE. THIS HAPPENS EVERY TIME I FILL THE VEHICLE WITH GAS. COULD SOMEONE PLEASE LET ME KNOW WHAT THE RESOLUTION IS.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

5/14/2014 - ITHACA, NY
NOTICED A STRONG SMELL OF GAS COMING FROM CAR. COULD SEE GAS LEAKING FROM UNDER CAR. THE LOCAL HYUNDAI DEALER SAYS THE GAS TANK HAS CORRODED, AND MUST BE REPLACED. CONTACTED HYUNDAI USA AND WAS TOLD THE WARRANTY ON THE GAS TANK HAD EXPIRED, AND THAT I WAS NOT ELIGIBLE FOR ANY ASSISTANCE (TOUGH LUCK).

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds