Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 227 complaints filed for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (26) Equipment (1) Power Train (15) Service Brakes Hydraulic (25) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (15) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seat Belts (4) Steering (8) Vehicle Speed Control (31)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Seats (2) Structure (6) Visibility (6)
Engine (6) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (56) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (4) Wheels (4)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/5/2012 - ELK GROVE, CA
THE LEFT (DRIVER SIDE) QUARTER PANEL GLASS (NON OPENING) DROPPED OUT OF THE CAR WHILE IT WAS SITTING STATIONARY IN THE DRIVEWAY. THE GLASS DID NOT BREAK WHEN IT DROPPED OUT, IT SIMPLE BECAME DETACHED FROM THE SEALANT AND CAR BODY. THIS QUARTER OF THE AUTO HAD BEEN INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT (HIT WHILE PARKED IN A HOSPITAL PARKING LOT.) APPROXIMATELY TWO YEARS AGO. REPAIR AT THAT TIME CONSISTED OF REPLACING THE LEFT REAR LIGHT BOX AND SOME MINOR BODYWORK PRIOR TO PAINTING. THERE HAS BEEN NO INDICATION OF AN ISSUE WITH THE WINDOW PRIOR TO IT'S FALLING OUT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/1/2012 - DOVER, DE
AIR BAG TROUBLE INDICATOR LIGHT STAYS ON AFTER STARTING ENGINE. QUESTIONED DEALER, THEY ARE AWARE OF KNOWN PROBLEM WITH DRIVER SEAT AIR BAG SWITCH AND WIRING CAUSING AIR BAG INDICATOR LIGHT TO COME. HYUNDAI WILL NOT MAKE REPAIR TO THIS SAFETY DEFECT AT THEIR COST. COST IS WELL OVER $1000.00.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/26/2012 - MADISON HEIGHTS, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER STARTING THE VEHICLE, THE ENGINE REVVED UP AND THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED WHILE IN DRIVE OR REVERSE. ALSO, THE CONTACT STATED THAT MOST TIMES THEY HAVE BEEN ABLE TO STOP THE VEHICLE BUT TWICE HAD MINOR ACCIDENTS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOUR TIMES AND EACH TIME EITHER THERE WERE NO CODES OR THEY WERE UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 133,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

9/24/2012 - WICHITA FALLS, TX
I PURCHASED THE CAR USED ON AUG. 10, 2012. I WENT TO GAS STATION ON AUG. 12, 2012 TO FILL IT UP WITH GAS, AND HAD TROUBLE STARTING IT AFTERWARD. I HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM EVERYTIME I HAVE PUT GAS IN IT SINCE, AND IT DOES NOT MAKE A DIFFERENCE WHICH GAS STATION I GO TO, I HAVE THE SAME TROUBLE. I EVEN TRIED TO LEAVE IT RUNNING ONE TIME AND IT ENDED UP DYING AND HAD TROUBLE RESTARTING. I HAVE TO PUSH THE GAS PEDAL ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR AND HOLD IT THERE TO START IT AND KEEP PUMPING THE GAS PEDAL AS I PULL AWAY FROM THE GAS PUMP AND FOR SEVERAL SECONDS AFTER I PULL AWAY IT IS STILL TRYING TO DIE. I HAVE FILLED UP WITH GAS ABOUT 5 TIMES SINCE I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE AND EVERY TIME I HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. THE ONLY TIME IT HAS A PROBLEM STARTING IS WHILE I AM SITTING AT THE GAS PUMP. ONCE I LEAVE THERE, IT STARTS FINE EVERYTIME UNTIL I STOP TO GET GAS AGAIN. I AM WRITING THIS ON SEPT. 24, 2012.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/4/2012 - GRANDVILLE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 04V131000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK: CONTROL UNIT/MODULE). AFTER THE REPAIRS AS THE CONTACT APPLIED THE BRAKES, THE VEHICLE EXHIBITED AN ABNORMAL INCREASE IN STOPPING DISTANCE AND TIME. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND DENIED ASSISTANCE WITH ANY REPAIRS. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 13,600. UPDATED 10/11/12 THE CONSUMER STATED AN ACCIDENT ALMOST OCCURRED AGAIN DUE TO THIS FAILURE. UPDATED 10/11/2012

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

8/21/2012 - GRANDVILLE , IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH, HE NOTICED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT DECELERATE WHEN PRESSING THE BRAKES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT UNDER RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 120,000. ..UPDATED 09-21-12

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/20/2012 - BETHLEHEM , PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED ,THE VEHICLE WOULD LOSE POWER AND BECOME INOPERABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOUR TIMES FOR THE SAME FAILURE AND THE DEALER STATED THAT NO FAILURES WERE FOUND, OFFERING NO FURTHER ASSISTANCE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 53,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 54,800.

View Details

STEERING

7/9/2012 - PARIS , KY
IT HAD JUST RAINED AND IN SOME PLACES ON THE CITY STREET THERE WAS STANDING WATER. THE WATER WAS PROBABLY BETWEEN 1 AND 2 INCHES DEEP AT THE MOST. AS I DROVE IN THE WATER NO MORE THAN 30MPH THE STEERING WITHOUT WARNING LOCKED UP. IT STAYED LOCKED UP FOR AROUND 10 SECONDS. THIS IS WHAT ALMOST CAUSED A CRASH AT THE INTERSECTION. I COULD NOT BUDGE THE STEERING WITH BOTH HANDS. THEN AFTER THE 10 SECONDS GIVE OR TAKE, THERE WAS A SMALL SQUEAL AND THE STEERING UNLOCKED. THIS HAPPENS EVERY TIME I DRIVE IN ANY STANDING WATER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/21/2012 - WESTWOOD, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKING SYSTEM WOULD ENGAGE WHEN BRAKING TO A COMPLETE STOP. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE ELECTRONIC CONTROL UNIT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 04V131000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK CONTROL UNIT MODULE), BUT THE MANUFACTURER ADVISED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL CAMPAIGN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN, BUT THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/19/2012 - SCOTTSDALE, AZ
STOPPED AT INTERSECTION, WITH MY FOOT ON THE BREAK, THE SUV LURCHES FORWARD AND JERKS. I PLACED IT IN PARK WHILE WAITING FOR THE LIGHT TO CHANGE. I WAS CONCERNED THAT I WOULD HIT THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. I DROVE 2 HOURS AND NOTICED CONTINUED MISFIRING AND JERKING WHILE DRIVING. IT WAS OK WHEN THE ENGINE WAS COOL, BUT FELT UNSTEADY WHEN UP TO TEMP. AFTER BEING PARKED IN GROCERY PARKING LOT, WHILE BACKING UP THE CAR STALLED, I RESTARTED AND DROVE HOME. TOOK IT TO MECHANICS NEXT DAY. AT THE HYUNDAI DEALER NOW. THEY COULD NOT GET ANY CODES AND THE ENGINE FAILURE LIGHT NEVER SHOWED. THE MECHANIC, SAID THAT HE WAS 90% SURE THAT REPLACING THE TIMING BELT/CRANK SHAFT POSITION SENSOR/BALANCER SHAFT BELT/PICK UP PLATE WOULD CORRECT THE PROBLEM...THIS DIDN'T WORK AND THE DEALER ASKED TO KEEP IT A 5TH NIGHT. I HAVE NOT HEARD FROM THEM AS OF YET. I'M CONCERNED THAT MY CAR WILL NOT BE REPAIRED AND AM AFRAID TO DRIVE IT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds