Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 198 complaints filed for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (24) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (12) Service Brakes Hydraulic (24) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electrical System (12) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seat Belts (4) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (30)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Seats (1) Structure (6) Visibility (6)
Engine (2) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (40) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (21) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (4) Wheels (1)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

4/3/2011 - OLD ORCHARD BEACH, ME
THE DRIVER'S SIDE COIL SPRING BROKE ON MY 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE AT 40,000 MILES. I WAS DRIVING DOWN A STREET AND THERE WAS A LOUD EXPLOSION TYPE SOUND, MY VEHICLE ACTUALLY FELT LIKE IT JUMPED, ALL THE DASH LIGHTS CAME ON AND THE ENGINE DIED. I WRESTLED WITH THE WHEEL TO GET THE CAR OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD BUT I WAS STILL IN THE ROAD. THERE WAS A WOMAN IN FRONT OF ME GETTING OUT OF HER CAR WITH A TODDLER AND I CAME CLOSE TO HITTING THEM AS I TRIED TO CONTROL MY TRUCK. I'M SO GLAD I WASN'T GOING FASTER THAN 10-15 MPH. THE REPAIR AGENT SAID HE'D NEVER SEEN THIS HAPPEN AT LESS THAN 100K+ MILES, AND IT TOOK OUT THE BRAKE LINE AND FUEL LINE ON THAT SIDE AS WELL. TOTAL COST WILL BE $1500. AS THE TIMING BELT ALSO NEEDS CHANGING. NOT HAPPY. I SEE MANY OTHER COMPLAINTS OF THIS SITUATION (COIL SPRING GOING ON HYUNDAI SANTA FE AT LOW MILEAGE), BUT I DON'T SEE ANY KIND OF REPARATION OFFERED BY THE COMPANY OR ANY RECALL. THERE SHOULD BE - THIS IS NOT ACCEPTABLE. I'M NOT LIKELY TO BUY A HYUNDAI AGAIN.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/3/2011 - OLD ORCHARD BEACH, ME
THE DRIVER'S SIDE COIL SPRING BROKE ON MY 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE AT 40,000 MILES. I WAS DRIVING DOWN A STREET AND THERE WAS A LOUD EXPLOSION TYPE SOUND, MY VEHICLE ACTUALLY FELT LIKE IT JUMPED, ALL THE DASH LIGHTS CAME ON AND THE ENGINE DIED. I WRESTLED WITH THE WHEEL TO GET THE CAR OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD BUT I WAS STILL IN THE ROAD. THERE WAS A WOMAN IN FRONT OF ME GETTING OUT OF HER CAR WITH A TODDLER AND I CAME CLOSE TO HITTING THEM AS I TRIED TO CONTROL MY TRUCK. I'M SO GLAD I WASN'T GOING FASTER THAN 10-15 MPH. THE REPAIR AGENT SAID HE'D NEVER SEEN THIS HAPPEN AT LESS THAN 100K+ MILES, AND IT TOOK OUT THE BRAKE LINE AND FUEL LINE ON THAT SIDE AS WELL. TOTAL COST WILL BE $1500. AS THE TIMING BELT ALSO NEEDS CHANGING. NOT HAPPY. I SEE MANY OTHER COMPLAINTS OF THIS SITUATION (COIL SPRING GOING ON HYUNDAI SANTA FE AT LOW MILEAGE), BUT I DON'T SEE ANY KIND OF REPARATION OFFERED BY THE COMPANY OR ANY RECALL. THERE SHOULD BE - THIS IS NOT ACCEPTABLE. I'M NOT LIKELY TO BUY A HYUNDAI AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: EMISSION CONTROL

3/22/2011 - CINCINNATI, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER REFUELING THE VEHICLE, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. THE CONTACT WOULD WAIT FOR SEVERAL MINUTES BEFORE BEING ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER WAS CONTACTED AND ADVISED THAT THE PROBLEM COULD BE CAUSE BY THE EMISSION SYSTEM. THE CONTACT DID NOT TAKE THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS OR REPAIRS. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,500.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/16/2011 - TORRINGTON, CT
2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE HAS SUDDEN ACCELERATION AND SURGING NO TROUBLE LIGHTS ON. DEALERSHIP TOLD ME THE THROTTLE SENSOR HAD TO BE REPLACED, SO WE DID THAT. ABOUT A MONTH LATER, SAME THING HAPPENED. DEALERSHIP REPLACED THROTTLE SENSOR AGAIN, AT NO CHARGE. SAID IF IT HAPPENS AGAIN WE WOULD NEED A NEW THROTTLE BODY. HAPPENED AGAIN, SO HAD THE THROTTLE BODY REPLACED. HAPPENED AGAIN AND WAS TOLD IT WAS WIRING THAT HAD TO DO WITH CRUISE CONTROL. WHICH I NEVER USE. HAPPENED AGAIN TODAY 3/16/2011. NOTIFIED THE DEALERSHIP THAT I WAS DROPPING OFF TONIGHT IN THE NIGHT DROP. I HAVE ALREADY PAID OVER $1000.00 FOR SOMETHING THAT HAS NOT BEEN FIXED. WE WILL SEE WHAT HAPPENS TOMORROW. WE MAXED OUT OUR TOWING WITH AAA, SO MY HUSBAND, WHO WORKS SECOND SHIFT AND HOUR AND HALF AWAY FROM WHERE WE LIVE HAS TO DRIVE IT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP TONIGHT. IT STARTED TODAY WHEN HE WAS ABOUT 15 MINUTES AWAY FROM WORK. ALSO THIS IS OUR ONLY CAR, AND DEALERSHIP ALWAYS SAYS THEIR LOANER CARS ARE ALL OUT. JUST WANTED THIS DOCUMENTED AND AM PRAYING MY HUSBAND GETS BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP OK.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

3/4/2011 - KISSIMEE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE INTERIOR DOOR HANDLES WERE DESIGNED AS CHROME OVER PLASTIC AND THE CHROME FRACTURED.. THE FAILURE WAS CAUSING THE EDGES TO BE EXPOSED, WHICH WERE EXTREMELY SHARP. WHEN THE CONTACT'S ATTEMPTED TO EXIT THE VEHICLE SHE CUT HER HAND WHEN SHE GRABBED THE DOOR HANDLE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT TAKEN THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION OR REPAIRS. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 52,000. UPDATED 05/03/11 THE CONSUMER STATED THE DOOR HANDLES WERE DESIGNED AS CHROME OVER A NON-METALLIC SUBSTRATE. OVER TIME, THE CHROME CRACKED AND CURLED UP, THUS FORMING RAZOR SHARP EDGES WHICH COULD NOT BE OBSERVED WHEN THE HANDLE WAS IN ITS NORMAL POSITION. UPDATED 05.11.11

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/1/2011 - SAVANNAH, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED AS SOON AS IT WAS STARTED. SHE WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE THE FOLLOWING DAY YET THE VEHICLE ABNORMALLY ACCELERATED WITH AN UNUSUAL INCREASE IN ENGINE RPM AS SHE DEPRESSED THE BRAKES. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT STOP AND SHE THEN SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL AND SHUT THE VEHICLE OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE A DIAGNOSTIC TEST WAS PERFORMED. THE FAILURE WAS LOCATED AT THE THROTTLE BODY ASSEMBLY WHICH THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED TO HAVE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 76,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

2/24/2011 - SPRINGFIELD, IL
WAS JUST PULLING THE CAR DOWN THE DRIVE WAY AND THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE TIRE BLEW OUT. I STOPPED THE CAR AND A FRIEND WAS GOING TO CHANGE THE TIRE. HE NOTICED THE SPRING HAD BROKEN LOOSE AND PUNCTURED THE TIRE. THE CAR HAD BEEN SITTING IN THE DRIVE WAY FOR 12 TO 15 HOURS BEFORE WE WENT TO DRIVE IT. WE HAD NOT EVEN MADE IT ON THE ROAD AND WAS ONLY GOING A COUPLE MILES PER HOUR AND ABOUT 15 TO 20 FEET. WE WERE ON OUR WAY, GOING OUT OF TOWN AND WERE THANKFUL THAT WE DID NOT HAVE THIS HAPPEN GOING 65 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY WERE WE COULD HAVE BEEN HURT OR HURT SOME ONE ELSE. SEVERAL TIMES A WEEK WE HAVE A NEW BORN AND A TWO YEAR OLD IN THIS VEHICLE. THANKFULLY THEY WERE NOT WITH US. THIS FRONT END SUSPENSION PROBLEM NEEDS TO BE LOOKED AT, SOMEBODY IS NOT GOING TO BE AS LUCKY AS WE WERE. FOR US IT WAS THE DRIVE WAY AND NOT DRIVING ON THE HIGH WAY AT A HIGH SPEEDS WITH OUR FAMILY.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/22/2011 - BEVERLY, MA
DRIVERS SIDE COIL SPRING BROKEN. STRUT MOUNT ALSO NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. I BOUGHT THIS CAR NEW IN 2004. AS THE MILEAGE WILL TELL YOU, I DON'T DRIVE IT MUCH. MY CAR HAD BEEN SITTING IN THE DRIVEWAY FOR A COUPLE OF DAYS WHEN I WENT TO GO TO WORK. AS I STARTED BACKING OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY I HEARD A VERY LOUD NOISE WHEN I TURNED THE WHEEL. I DECIDED NOT TO TRY DRIVING IT. MY HUSBAND TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY FOUND THE SPRING BROKEN. THEY SAID I WAS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY. FORTUNATELY, I WAS NOT DRIVING IT AT THE TIME AS IT COULD HAVE PUNCTURED THE TIRE AND CAUSED A BLOWOUT. SINCE THIS INCIDENT, IT HAS HAPPENED AGAIN, ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. THIS TIME IT HAD BEEN SITTING FOR ABOUT 4 DAYS IN THE DRIVEWAY AND WHEN I WENT TO BACK OUT, I HEARD IT. WE IMMEDIATELY TOOK IT TO A NEARBY GARAGE AND FOUND THE SPRING HAD BROKEN AND WAS RUBBING ON THE TIRE. THIS TIME THE MILEAGE WAS ABOUT 25,000 MILES. HYUNDAI DOES NOT SEEM TO THINK THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THESE SPRINGS. I THINK IT NEEDS TO BE LOOKED INTO BEFORE SOMEONE GETS KILLED. I DON'T KNOW IF IT IS PERTAINING TO THIS COMPLAINT, BUT I DO WANT TO MENTION THAT AT 27,000 MILES I ALSO HAD TO REPLACE BOTH REAR CONTROL ARMS. THERE SEEMS TO BE A REAL PROBLEM WITH THE SUSPENSION SYSTEM ON THE VEHICLE. PLEASE LOOK INTO IT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/22/2011 - BEVERLY, MA
DRIVERS SIDE COIL SPRING BROKEN. STRUT MOUNT ALSO NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. I BOUGHT THIS CAR NEW IN 2004. AS THE MILEAGE WILL TELL YOU, I DON'T DRIVE IT MUCH. MY CAR HAD BEEN SITTING IN THE DRIVEWAY FOR A COUPLE OF DAYS WHEN I WENT TO GO TO WORK. AS I STARTED BACKING OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY I HEARD A VERY LOUD NOISE WHEN I TURNED THE WHEEL. I DECIDED NOT TO TRY DRIVING IT. MY HUSBAND TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY FOUND THE SPRING BROKEN. THEY SAID I WAS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY. FORTUNATELY, I WAS NOT DRIVING IT AT THE TIME AS IT COULD HAVE PUNCTURED THE TIRE AND CAUSED A BLOWOUT. SINCE THIS INCIDENT, IT HAS HAPPENED AGAIN, ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. THIS TIME IT HAD BEEN SITTING FOR ABOUT 4 DAYS IN THE DRIVEWAY AND WHEN I WENT TO BACK OUT, I HEARD IT. WE IMMEDIATELY TOOK IT TO A NEARBY GARAGE AND FOUND THE SPRING HAD BROKEN AND WAS RUBBING ON THE TIRE. THIS TIME THE MILEAGE WAS ABOUT 25,000 MILES. HYUNDAI DOES NOT SEEM TO THINK THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THESE SPRINGS. I THINK IT NEEDS TO BE LOOKED INTO BEFORE SOMEONE GETS KILLED. I DON'T KNOW IF IT IS PERTAINING TO THIS COMPLAINT, BUT I DO WANT TO MENTION THAT AT 27,000 MILES I ALSO HAD TO REPLACE BOTH REAR CONTROL ARMS. THERE SEEMS TO BE A REAL PROBLEM WITH THE SUSPENSION SYSTEM ON THE VEHICLE. PLEASE LOOK INTO IT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/22/2011 - BEVERLY, MA
DRIVERS SIDE COIL SPRING BROKEN. STRUT MOUNT ALSO NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. I BOUGHT THIS CAR NEW IN 2004. AS THE MILEAGE WILL TELL YOU, I DON'T DRIVE IT MUCH. MY CAR HAD BEEN SITTING IN THE DRIVEWAY FOR A COUPLE OF DAYS WHEN I WENT TO GO TO WORK. AS I STARTED BACKING OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY I HEARD A VERY LOUD NOISE WHEN I TURNED THE WHEEL. I DECIDED NOT TO TRY DRIVING IT. MY HUSBAND TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY FOUND THE SPRING BROKEN. THEY SAID I WAS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY. FORTUNATELY, I WAS NOT DRIVING IT AT THE TIME AS IT COULD HAVE PUNCTURED THE TIRE AND CAUSED A BLOWOUT. SINCE THIS INCIDENT, IT HAS HAPPENED AGAIN, ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. THIS TIME IT HAD BEEN SITTING FOR ABOUT 4 DAYS IN THE DRIVEWAY AND WHEN I WENT TO BACK OUT, I HEARD IT. WE IMMEDIATELY TOOK IT TO A NEARBY GARAGE AND FOUND THE SPRING HAD BROKEN AND WAS RUBBING ON THE TIRE. THIS TIME THE MILEAGE WAS ABOUT 25,000 MILES. HYUNDAI DOES NOT SEEM TO THINK THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THESE SPRINGS. I THINK IT NEEDS TO BE LOOKED INTO BEFORE SOMEONE GETS KILLED. I DON'T KNOW IF IT IS PERTAINING TO THIS COMPLAINT, BUT I DO WANT TO MENTION THAT AT 27,000 MILES I ALSO HAD TO REPLACE BOTH REAR CONTROL ARMS. THERE SEEMS TO BE A REAL PROBLEM WITH THE SUSPENSION SYSTEM ON THE VEHICLE. PLEASE LOOK INTO IT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds