Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 231 complaints filed for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (28) Equipment (1) Power Train (15) Service Brakes Hydraulic (25) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (15) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seat Belts (4) Steering (8) Vehicle Speed Control (31)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Seats (2) Structure (7) Visibility (6)
Engine (7) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (58) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (4) Wheels (4)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

2/20/2013 - NORTON, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE EXITING A RESIDENTIAL GARAGE, THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE COIL SPRING FRACTURED AND PENETRATED THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE TIRE. THE CONTACT SPOKE WITH THE MANUFACTURER HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 125,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/19/2013 - LONGVIEW, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG DEPLOYED INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS WHO STATED THAT EVERYTHING APPEARED TO BE NORMAL AND NO CAUSE FOR FAILURE WAS FOUND. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 83,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/5/2013 - CEOTONE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG ERRONEOUSLY DEPLOYED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION AND THEY STATED THAT THEY COULD NOT DIAGNOSE THE CAUSE OF FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED BUT PROVIDED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/29/2013 - JOHNSTOWN, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE REVERSING OUT OF HER DRIVEWAY, THE DRIVER FRONT COIL SPRING FRACTURED AND RUBBED AGAINST THE TIRE. THE DEALER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 76,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/16/2013 - SOUTH BEND, IN
MY WIFE'S SANTA FE EXPERIENCED A FAILURE OF THE FRONT PASSENGER COIL SPRING OVER THE WEEKEND WHILE PARKED IN THE DRIVEWAY. THERE WERE NO WARNING SIGNS THAT IT WAS ABOUT TO FAIL AND WE ARE VERY LUCKY THAT SHE WAS NOT DRIVING IT AT THE TIME. IT DOES HAVE 131,000 MILES ON IT, BUT I HAVE NEVER HAD A COIL SPRING SNAP LIKE THIS ON ANY OTHER VEHICLE I HAVE OWNED. BASED ON THE NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS ON THIS ISSUE, HYUNDAI NEEDS TO ISSUE A RECALL FOR THIS PROBLEM. RIGHT NOW WE ARE LOOKING AT APPROXIMATELY $1500 (STILL GETTING QUOTES) FOR SOMETHING THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN RESOLVED SOME TIME AGO.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/21/2012 - CRANSTON, RI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH IN REVERSE, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED TO GREATER SPEEDS. THE CONTACT SHIFTED INTO DRIVE AS THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE WHILE THE CONTACT WAS APPLYING THE BRAKE. THE CONTACT IMMEDIATELY SHUT THE ENGINE OFF TO GET THE VEHICLE TO STOP. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INSPECTED BY A DEALER OR AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE APPROXIMATELY 140,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/5/2012 - ELK GROVE, CA
THE LEFT (DRIVER SIDE) QUARTER PANEL GLASS (NON OPENING) DROPPED OUT OF THE CAR WHILE IT WAS SITTING STATIONARY IN THE DRIVEWAY. THE GLASS DID NOT BREAK WHEN IT DROPPED OUT, IT SIMPLE BECAME DETACHED FROM THE SEALANT AND CAR BODY. THIS QUARTER OF THE AUTO HAD BEEN INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT (HIT WHILE PARKED IN A HOSPITAL PARKING LOT.) APPROXIMATELY TWO YEARS AGO. REPAIR AT THAT TIME CONSISTED OF REPLACING THE LEFT REAR LIGHT BOX AND SOME MINOR BODYWORK PRIOR TO PAINTING. THERE HAS BEEN NO INDICATION OF AN ISSUE WITH THE WINDOW PRIOR TO IT'S FALLING OUT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/1/2012 - DOVER, DE
AIR BAG TROUBLE INDICATOR LIGHT STAYS ON AFTER STARTING ENGINE. QUESTIONED DEALER, THEY ARE AWARE OF KNOWN PROBLEM WITH DRIVER SEAT AIR BAG SWITCH AND WIRING CAUSING AIR BAG INDICATOR LIGHT TO COME. HYUNDAI WILL NOT MAKE REPAIR TO THIS SAFETY DEFECT AT THEIR COST. COST IS WELL OVER $1000.00.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/26/2012 - MADISON HEIGHTS, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER STARTING THE VEHICLE, THE ENGINE REVVED UP AND THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED WHILE IN DRIVE OR REVERSE. ALSO, THE CONTACT STATED THAT MOST TIMES THEY HAVE BEEN ABLE TO STOP THE VEHICLE BUT TWICE HAD MINOR ACCIDENTS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOUR TIMES AND EACH TIME EITHER THERE WERE NO CODES OR THEY WERE UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 133,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

9/24/2012 - WICHITA FALLS, TX
I PURCHASED THE CAR USED ON AUG. 10, 2012. I WENT TO GAS STATION ON AUG. 12, 2012 TO FILL IT UP WITH GAS, AND HAD TROUBLE STARTING IT AFTERWARD. I HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM EVERYTIME I HAVE PUT GAS IN IT SINCE, AND IT DOES NOT MAKE A DIFFERENCE WHICH GAS STATION I GO TO, I HAVE THE SAME TROUBLE. I EVEN TRIED TO LEAVE IT RUNNING ONE TIME AND IT ENDED UP DYING AND HAD TROUBLE RESTARTING. I HAVE TO PUSH THE GAS PEDAL ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR AND HOLD IT THERE TO START IT AND KEEP PUMPING THE GAS PEDAL AS I PULL AWAY FROM THE GAS PUMP AND FOR SEVERAL SECONDS AFTER I PULL AWAY IT IS STILL TRYING TO DIE. I HAVE FILLED UP WITH GAS ABOUT 5 TIMES SINCE I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE AND EVERY TIME I HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. THE ONLY TIME IT HAS A PROBLEM STARTING IS WHILE I AM SITTING AT THE GAS PUMP. ONCE I LEAVE THERE, IT STARTS FINE EVERYTIME UNTIL I STOP TO GET GAS AGAIN. I AM WRITING THIS ON SEPT. 24, 2012.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds