Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 213 complaints filed for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (14) Service Brakes Hydraulic (24) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electrical System (14) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Seat Belts (4) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (30)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Seats (1) Structure (6) Visibility (6)
Engine (5) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (45) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (21) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (4) Wheels (3)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

SEAT BELTS

2/7/2012 - PGH, PA
SO MANY THINGS GOING WRONG BACK SEAT BELTS DON'T WORK, WASHER PUMP DON'T WORK TRIED TO ORDER PART FROM DEALER DO NOT HAVE ANY IN US THE CAMSHAFT SENSOR PIGTAIL DISINTEGRATED FROM BEING TO CLOSE TO THE ENGINE AND NO ONE SELLS THE PART HAVE TO BUY THE COMPLETE ENGINE WIRING KIT FOR ONE LITTLE PLASTIC PIECE THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THIS I READ ONLINE THAT EVERYONE WITH THIS CAR HAD THE SAME PROBLEMS.

View Details

VISIBILITY

2/7/2012 - PGH, PA
SO MANY THINGS GOING WRONG BACK SEAT BELTS DON'T WORK, WASHER PUMP DON'T WORK TRIED TO ORDER PART FROM DEALER DO NOT HAVE ANY IN US THE CAMSHAFT SENSOR PIGTAIL DISINTEGRATED FROM BEING TO CLOSE TO THE ENGINE AND NO ONE SELLS THE PART HAVE TO BUY THE COMPLETE ENGINE WIRING KIT FOR ONE LITTLE PLASTIC PIECE THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THIS I READ ONLINE THAT EVERYONE WITH THIS CAR HAD THE SAME PROBLEMS.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2/7/2012 - PGH, PA
SO MANY THINGS GOING WRONG BACK SEAT BELTS DON'T WORK, WASHER PUMP DON'T WORK TRIED TO ORDER PART FROM DEALER DO NOT HAVE ANY IN US THE CAMSHAFT SENSOR PIGTAIL DISINTEGRATED FROM BEING TO CLOSE TO THE ENGINE AND NO ONE SELLS THE PART HAVE TO BUY THE COMPLETE ENGINE WIRING KIT FOR ONE LITTLE PLASTIC PIECE THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THIS I READ ONLINE THAT EVERYONE WITH THIS CAR HAD THE SAME PROBLEMS.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

1/20/2012 - HENSONVILLE, NY
WAS HAVING WINTER TIRES PUT ON MY CAR WHEN MEHANIC SAID HAD A GAS TANK LEAK...HE SAID IT WAS THE 5TH CAR OF HYUNDAI WITH THE SAME PROBLEM THAT HE SAW...SAID HE NEVER SAW A CAR THIS YOUNG (7YRS) WITH THIS PROBLEM...AM A SINGLE MOTHER WITH THIS CAR..I HAVE HAD NO OTHER PROBLEMS..I SMELL GASOLINE WHEN I WALK AROUND THIS CAR AND WHEN I ENTER MY CAR...PLEASE TELL ME THERE IS HELP...I DO NOT HAVE MONEY AND I DO NOT FEEL SAFE..PLEASE HELP ME.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/26/2011 - HENSONVILLE, NY
I ARRIVED AT WORK AND TWO PEOPLE MENTIONED THAT THEY SMELLED GASOLINE UPON WALKING BEHIND MY CAR..NEVER THOUGHT ABOUT IT UNTIL I NOTICED TWO DAYS LATER THAT I SEEMED TO BE GOING THROUGH ALOT OF GAS..I DRIVE 6 MILES FROM MY HOME TO WORK EVERY DAY...I NOW SMELL GAS IN THE DRIVER SIDE REAR EVERY DAY..WAS TOLD TO CHECK IF THERE WAS A RECALL ON MY TANK OR FUEL LINE...DO NOT KNOW WHO TO CHECK WITH INREGARDS TO THIS PROBLEM..AM A SINGLE MOTHER OF TWO BOYS SO I WOULD LIKE TO GET THIS FIXED..ANY HELP WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/12/2011 - WANTAGH , NY
UNINITIATED ACCELERATION WHILE DRIVING, TRYING TO STOP AND IDLING.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/13/2011 - BRUNSWICK, GA
ON 9/13/2011, IN SAN JUAN, PR, AT APPROXIMATELY 4:00 P.M., MY MOTHER (74 YEARS OLD) WAS DRIVING HER 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE AT A VERY SLOW RATE OF SPEED ON A WET CONCRETE ROAD. WHILE APPROACHING A RED LIGHT, AND WHILE STILL FAR AWAY FROM IT, SHE APPLIED HER VEHICLE'S BRAKES WITH NO AVAIL. THE VEHICLE CONTINUE MOVING FORWARD AND STOP ONLY AFTER HITTING A CAR WAITING FOR THE LIGHT TO CHANGE GREEN. THAT IMPACT CAUSED THIS VEHICLE (V-1) TO MOVE FORWARD AND HIT ANOTHER VEHICLE (V-2) WHICH WAS ALSO WAITING FOR THE LIGHT TO CHANGED. MY MOTHER RECEIVED A HEAVY IMPACT FORCE TO HER CHEST, SHOULDERS, AND NECK AREA PRODUCED NOT ONLY BY IMPACTING THE VEHICLES IN FRONT OF HER BUT ALSO BECAUSE HER VEHICLE'S AIR BAGS WERE DEPLOYED. HER SANTA FE WAS ALSO BADLY DAMAGED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

9/13/2011 - BRUNSWICK, GA
ON 9/13/2011, IN SAN JUAN, PR, AT APPROXIMATELY 4:00 P.M., MY MOTHER (74 YEARS OLD) WAS DRIVING HER 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE AT A VERY SLOW RATE OF SPEED ON A WET CONCRETE ROAD. WHILE APPROACHING A RED LIGHT, AND WHILE STILL FAR AWAY FROM IT, SHE APPLIED HER VEHICLE'S BRAKES WITH NO AVAIL. THE VEHICLE CONTINUE MOVING FORWARD AND STOP ONLY AFTER HITTING A CAR WAITING FOR THE LIGHT TO CHANGE GREEN. THAT IMPACT CAUSED THIS VEHICLE (V-1) TO MOVE FORWARD AND HIT ANOTHER VEHICLE (V-2) WHICH WAS ALSO WAITING FOR THE LIGHT TO CHANGED. MY MOTHER RECEIVED A HEAVY IMPACT FORCE TO HER CHEST, SHOULDERS, AND NECK AREA PRODUCED NOT ONLY BY IMPACTING THE VEHICLES IN FRONT OF HER BUT ALSO BECAUSE HER VEHICLE'S AIR BAGS WERE DEPLOYED. HER SANTA FE WAS ALSO BADLY DAMAGED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/26/2011 - BAYVILLE, NJ
WHILE SITTING IN TRAFFIC AT A LOCAL GAS STATION, MY 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE SURGED TO THE POINT WHERE I COULD BARELY CONTROL THE VEHICLE FROM CRASHING INTO THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. I IMMEDIATELY PLACED THE CAR IN NEUTRAL AND THE ENGINE SPEED SURGED TO NEARLY 6000 RPM. I TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF. THE CAR WAS ABLE TO BE STARTED AGAIN WITHOUT INCIDENT. THERE WAS NO COLLISION, BUT IT WAS A VERY SCARY AND UNCONTROLLED MANNER FOR THE VEHICLE TO BE OPERATED IN.

View Details

STEERING

7/28/2011 - LAS VEGAS, NV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING WOULD DEACTIVATE. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED, BUT DENIED ANY ASSISTANCE WITH REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 80,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. UPDATED 08/31/11 UPDATED 2/21/12

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds