Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 219 complaints filed for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (15) Service Brakes Hydraulic (24) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (14) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seat Belts (4) Steering (7) Vehicle Speed Control (31)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Seats (1) Structure (6) Visibility (6)
Engine (3) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (52) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (21) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (4) Wheels (4)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

6/21/2012 - WESTWOOD, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKING SYSTEM WOULD ENGAGE WHEN BRAKING TO A COMPLETE STOP. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE ELECTRONIC CONTROL UNIT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 04V131000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK CONTROL UNIT MODULE), BUT THE MANUFACTURER ADVISED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL CAMPAIGN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN, BUT THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/19/2012 - SCOTTSDALE, AZ
STOPPED AT INTERSECTION, WITH MY FOOT ON THE BREAK, THE SUV LURCHES FORWARD AND JERKS. I PLACED IT IN PARK WHILE WAITING FOR THE LIGHT TO CHANGE. I WAS CONCERNED THAT I WOULD HIT THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. I DROVE 2 HOURS AND NOTICED CONTINUED MISFIRING AND JERKING WHILE DRIVING. IT WAS OK WHEN THE ENGINE WAS COOL, BUT FELT UNSTEADY WHEN UP TO TEMP. AFTER BEING PARKED IN GROCERY PARKING LOT, WHILE BACKING UP THE CAR STALLED, I RESTARTED AND DROVE HOME. TOOK IT TO MECHANICS NEXT DAY. AT THE HYUNDAI DEALER NOW. THEY COULD NOT GET ANY CODES AND THE ENGINE FAILURE LIGHT NEVER SHOWED. THE MECHANIC, SAID THAT HE WAS 90% SURE THAT REPLACING THE TIMING BELT/CRANK SHAFT POSITION SENSOR/BALANCER SHAFT BELT/PICK UP PLATE WOULD CORRECT THE PROBLEM...THIS DIDN'T WORK AND THE DEALER ASKED TO KEEP IT A 5TH NIGHT. I HAVE NOT HEARD FROM THEM AS OF YET. I'M CONCERNED THAT MY CAR WILL NOT BE REPAIRED AND AM AFRAID TO DRIVE IT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/11/2012 - BOZEMAN , MT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PARK, THE COIL SPRING BROKE AND PUNCTURED THE TIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE WHO DID NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 104,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/28/2012 - HUBERT, NC
MY AIR BAGS LIGHT IS ALWAYS ON AND WILL NOT TURN OFF. THE SUSPENSION IS HORRIBLE, I TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC AND HE SAID" THERE WAS NOTHING HE COULD DO. AND SOMETIMES WHEN I TURN MY VEHICLE ON THE ENGINE REVELS UP AND SOUNDS AS IF THE ACCELERATION IS STUCK. SCARES ME TO DEATH.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/28/2012 - HUBERT, NC
MY AIR BAGS LIGHT IS ALWAYS ON AND WILL NOT TURN OFF. THE SUSPENSION IS HORRIBLE, I TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC AND HE SAID" THERE WAS NOTHING HE COULD DO. AND SOMETIMES WHEN I TURN MY VEHICLE ON THE ENGINE REVELS UP AND SOUNDS AS IF THE ACCELERATION IS STUCK. SCARES ME TO DEATH.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

4/28/2012 - HUBERT, NC
MY AIR BAGS LIGHT IS ALWAYS ON AND WILL NOT TURN OFF. THE SUSPENSION IS HORRIBLE, I TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC AND HE SAID" THERE WAS NOTHING HE COULD DO. AND SOMETIMES WHEN I TURN MY VEHICLE ON THE ENGINE REVELS UP AND SOUNDS AS IF THE ACCELERATION IS STUCK. SCARES ME TO DEATH.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/3/2012 - FRAMINGHAM, MA
WHEN I PURCHASED THE CAR AS THE SECOND OWNER IN MARCH 2010, I NOTICED THAT THE AIRBAG LIGHT HAD BEEN A PROBLEM FROM THE PREVIOUS OWNER. HOWEVER, THE DEALER ASSURED ME THAT IT WAS FIXED. AFTER PURCHASING THE VEHICLE IN 2010 AND BEFORE I TOOK OWNERSHIP I HAD TO LEAVE IT WITH THE DEALER AS THE AIRBAG AND SEAT BELT LIGHTS WERE ON. I HAVE TAKEN THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALER AT LEAST THREE TO FOUR TIMES FOR THE SAME PROBLEMS, HOWEVER WAS TOLD THAT THERE WERE DIFFERENT CODES EACH TIME. WAS TOLD THAT I NEEDED TO REPLACE THE SEAT BELT BUCKLE IN ORDER CORRECT THE AIRBAG LIGHT, HOWEVER, AS OF 4/3/12 WAS TOLD BY DEALERSHIP (HERB CONNOLLY HYUNDAI) THAT IN NEED TO REPLACE THE AIRBAG. ALSO THAT THE AIRBAG WAS NOT UNDER WARRANTY AND IT USUALLY HAS TO BE REPLACED AT 60K MILES. WHEN I PURCHASED MY VEHICLE IT HAD 81K MILES, GIVEN THIS FACT, THEY SHOULD HAVE REPLACED THE AIRBAG PRIOR TO ME PURCHASING IT. THE CODE THAT IS SHOWING NOW IS B1346 (AIRBAG HAS HIGH RESISTANCE). DEALER REFUSE TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM AT NO COST AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS TO GET THE PROBLEM RESOLVED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/6/2012 - FAIRPORT, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH IN REVERSE, THE VEHICLE ABNORMALLY ACCELERATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED THREE SEPARATE TIMES. AS A RESULT OF THE FAILURE, THE CONTACT WAS INVOLVED IN A CRASH WHILE IN REVERSE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION BUT THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 110,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/26/2012 - WESTBROOK, ME
I BEGAN BACKING OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY WHEN I HEARD A CRUNCHING TYPE SOUND, AND THEN IT STOPPED BRIEFLY. I CONTINUED TO BACK UP AND THE SOUND HAPPENED AGAIN FOLLOWED BY A LOUD NOISE AND AIR GUSHING OUT OF MY PASSENGER SIDE FRONT WHEEL. THE TIRE WENT COMPLETELY FLAT. ONCE THE TIRE WAS REMOVED WE DISCOVERED THE COIL SPRING HAD BROKEN AND SLICED THE TIRE ALL THE WAY AROUND. IT APPEARS FROM MY RESEARCH THAT THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM. LUCKILY I WAS NOT DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD WITH MY SMALL CHILDREN IN THE CAR.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

2/7/2012 - PGH, PA
SO MANY THINGS GOING WRONG BACK SEAT BELTS DON'T WORK, WASHER PUMP DON'T WORK TRIED TO ORDER PART FROM DEALER DO NOT HAVE ANY IN US THE CAMSHAFT SENSOR PIGTAIL DISINTEGRATED FROM BEING TO CLOSE TO THE ENGINE AND NO ONE SELLS THE PART HAVE TO BUY THE COMPLETE ENGINE WIRING KIT FOR ONE LITTLE PLASTIC PIECE THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THIS I READ ONLINE THAT EVERYONE WITH THIS CAR HAD THE SAME PROBLEMS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds