Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 253 complaints filed for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (29) Equipment (1) Power Train (18) Service Brakes Hydraulic (25) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (17) Fuel Propulsion System (15) Seat Belts (6) Steering (10) Vehicle Speed Control (36)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Seats (2) Structure (10) Visibility (6)
Engine (11) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (7) Suspension (62) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (4) Wheels (5)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/22/2014 - CLEARWATER , FL
AFTER PULLING INTO TRAFFIC, I LIFTED MY FOOT FROM THE ACCELERATOR WHEN I REACHED MY DESIRED SPEED. HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE. I APPLIED THE BRAKE, AND THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO REV FOR 1 OR 2 SECONDS. THERE WAS NO ACCIDENT ON THIS OCCASION, BUT IT WAS TERRIFYING, AND I HAD MY CHILD IN THE VEHICLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/21/2014 - CHICAGO, IL
MY OIL CHANGING PLACE THOUGHT I HAD A POWER STEERING FLUID LEAK, SO I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER TO CHECK. THE REAL PROBLEM WAS THE FRONT RIGHT AXLE BOOT WAS LEAKING BADLY (COVERED BY THE POWER TRAIN WARRANTY), BUT THEY FOUND THAT THE RIGHT AND LEFT CONTROL ARM BUSHINGS HAD COLLAPSED AND THE SENSORS WERE FROZEN IN PLACE. AFTER THEY FIXED THESE, THE MECHANIC TOOK IT FOR A TEST DRIVE, AND DURING THE TEST DRIVE, THE RIGHT FRONT COIL SNAPPED. I AM TOLD THAT I MUST NOW REPLACE BOTH LEFT AND RIGHT FRONT COILS AND HAVE THE CAR RE-ALIGNED. THE COILS SHOULD BE ON RECALL, AS OBVIOUSLY THERE IS A DEFECT IN THE MANUFACTURING.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/21/2014 - CHICAGO, IL
MY OIL CHANGING PLACE THOUGHT I HAD A POWER STEERING FLUID LEAK, SO I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER TO CHECK. THE REAL PROBLEM WAS THE FRONT RIGHT AXLE BOOT WAS LEAKING BADLY (COVERED BY THE POWER TRAIN WARRANTY), BUT THEY FOUND THAT THE RIGHT AND LEFT CONTROL ARM BUSHINGS HAD COLLAPSED AND THE SENSORS WERE FROZEN IN PLACE. AFTER THEY FIXED THESE, THE MECHANIC TOOK IT FOR A TEST DRIVE, AND DURING THE TEST DRIVE, THE RIGHT FRONT COIL SNAPPED. I AM TOLD THAT I MUST NOW REPLACE BOTH LEFT AND RIGHT FRONT COILS AND HAVE THE CAR RE-ALIGNED. THE COILS SHOULD BE ON RECALL, AS OBVIOUSLY THERE IS A DEFECT IN THE MANUFACTURING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/18/2014 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
WHENEVER I GET GAS AND WHICH I DREAD , ONCE I FILL UP THE TANK OR JUST PUT A FEW GALLONS AND I TURN THE IGNITION IT GRINDS LIKE IT IS TRYING TO START . EVENTUALLY IT WILL TURN OVER OR I WILL HEAR A POP. I AM AFRAID AT SOME POINT WITH THAT POP THAT IT WILL CATCH ON FIRE. THIS HAPPENS EVERY TIME I FILL THE VEHICLE WITH GAS. COULD SOMEONE PLEASE LET ME KNOW WHAT THE RESOLUTION IS.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

5/14/2014 - ITHACA, NY
NOTICED A STRONG SMELL OF GAS COMING FROM CAR. COULD SEE GAS LEAKING FROM UNDER CAR. THE LOCAL HYUNDAI DEALER SAYS THE GAS TANK HAS CORRODED, AND MUST BE REPLACED. CONTACTED HYUNDAI USA AND WAS TOLD THE WARRANTY ON THE GAS TANK HAD EXPIRED, AND THAT I WAS NOT ELIGIBLE FOR ANY ASSISTANCE (TOUGH LUCK).

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/11/2014 - CASSELTON , ND
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH OVER RAILROAD TRACKS, HE HEARD A POPPING SOUND. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER'S COIL SPRING HAD FRACTURED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 101,000. UPDATED 06/17/14 MA

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/2/2014 - SIOUX CITY , IA
DEAR NHTSA - MY SANTA FE HAD A MALFUNCTION AT 65 MPH THAT CAUSES THE CAR TO ABRUPTLY SLOW DOWN AND RUN IN ONLY THIRD GEAR. THIS IS A HUGE DISTRACTION TO THE DRIVER AND COULD EASILY CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. THE CODES ARE P0121 AND P0733 WHICH HAVE TO DO WITH A THROTTLE/ACCELERATOR POSITION SENSOR AND A THIRD GEAR RATIO MISMATCH. I BELIEVE THE WAY THIS WORKS IS THE ACCELERATOR POSITION SENSOR SENDS A SIGNAL TO THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE SYSTEM MODULE WHICH ACTIVATES AN ETS MOTOR ON THE THROTTLE BODY WHICH OPENS/CLOSES THE THROTTLE BUTTERFLY DAMPER BASED ON A COMPUTED ERROR SIGNAL. UPON RESEARCHING THIS ON HYUNDAI FORUMS IT WAS VERY APPARENT THAT THIS MALFUNCTION IS VERY COMMON AND VERY DANGEROUS. I SEARCHED THE CURRENT RECALLS AND THIS IS NOT ONE OF THE TWO RECALLS I COULD FIND FOR THIS VEHICLE. BUT IN 50% OF THE CASES I READ ABOUT IT APPEARED THAT EITHER THE ACCELERATOR SENSOR OR THROTTLE SENSOR IS A COMMON FAILURE. I REALLY THINK THIS SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED. THERE ARE ALSO SOME OTHER ITEMS THAT CAN CAUSE THESE SENSORS TO SEE THIS MISMATCH AND GIVE THE ENGINE/TRANSMISSION THE FAULT CODE WHICH CAUSES THE CAR TO EITHER GO INTO "LIMP" MODE OR SINGLE GEAR MODE. ALTHOUGH BOTH ARE AT DIFFERENT SPEEDS IT BASICALLY LIMITS THE CAR TO A MAXIMUM RPM AND CAUSES IT TO EITHER RUN IN ONE GEAR OR NOT SHIFT ABOVE A GEAR, FOR EXAMPLE 3RD GEAR INTO OVERDRIVE. THIS SEEMS TO BE A COMMON FAULT THAT IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS WHEN RUNNING AT OR NEAR HIGHWAY SPEEDS DUE TO THE UNEXPECTED NATURE OF THE EVENT AND THE SPEED CHANGE AND NOISE IT CAN CAUSE THUS SURPRISING THE DRIVER WHICH MAY CAUSE THEM TO STOP OR PULL OVER UNEXPECTEDLY. OTHER MALFUNCTIONS THAT CAN CAUSE THIS ARE MASS AIR FLOW SENSOR, FUEL INJECTOR O-RING FAULTY AND LEAKY INTAKE MANIFOLDS AMONG OTHERS. THIS SERIOUS ISSUE THAT SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED AND REDESIGNED OR REPAIRED ON THESE VEHICLES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/2/2014 - SIOUX CITY , IA
DEAR NHTSA - MY SANTA FE HAD A MALFUNCTION AT 65 MPH THAT CAUSES THE CAR TO ABRUPTLY SLOW DOWN AND RUN IN ONLY THIRD GEAR. THIS IS A HUGE DISTRACTION TO THE DRIVER AND COULD EASILY CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. THE CODES ARE P0121 AND P0733 WHICH HAVE TO DO WITH A THROTTLE/ACCELERATOR POSITION SENSOR AND A THIRD GEAR RATIO MISMATCH. I BELIEVE THE WAY THIS WORKS IS THE ACCELERATOR POSITION SENSOR SENDS A SIGNAL TO THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE SYSTEM MODULE WHICH ACTIVATES AN ETS MOTOR ON THE THROTTLE BODY WHICH OPENS/CLOSES THE THROTTLE BUTTERFLY DAMPER BASED ON A COMPUTED ERROR SIGNAL. UPON RESEARCHING THIS ON HYUNDAI FORUMS IT WAS VERY APPARENT THAT THIS MALFUNCTION IS VERY COMMON AND VERY DANGEROUS. I SEARCHED THE CURRENT RECALLS AND THIS IS NOT ONE OF THE TWO RECALLS I COULD FIND FOR THIS VEHICLE. BUT IN 50% OF THE CASES I READ ABOUT IT APPEARED THAT EITHER THE ACCELERATOR SENSOR OR THROTTLE SENSOR IS A COMMON FAILURE. I REALLY THINK THIS SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED. THERE ARE ALSO SOME OTHER ITEMS THAT CAN CAUSE THESE SENSORS TO SEE THIS MISMATCH AND GIVE THE ENGINE/TRANSMISSION THE FAULT CODE WHICH CAUSES THE CAR TO EITHER GO INTO "LIMP" MODE OR SINGLE GEAR MODE. ALTHOUGH BOTH ARE AT DIFFERENT SPEEDS IT BASICALLY LIMITS THE CAR TO A MAXIMUM RPM AND CAUSES IT TO EITHER RUN IN ONE GEAR OR NOT SHIFT ABOVE A GEAR, FOR EXAMPLE 3RD GEAR INTO OVERDRIVE. THIS SEEMS TO BE A COMMON FAULT THAT IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS WHEN RUNNING AT OR NEAR HIGHWAY SPEEDS DUE TO THE UNEXPECTED NATURE OF THE EVENT AND THE SPEED CHANGE AND NOISE IT CAN CAUSE THUS SURPRISING THE DRIVER WHICH MAY CAUSE THEM TO STOP OR PULL OVER UNEXPECTEDLY. OTHER MALFUNCTIONS THAT CAN CAUSE THIS ARE MASS AIR FLOW SENSOR, FUEL INJECTOR O-RING FAULTY AND LEAKY INTAKE MANIFOLDS AMONG OTHERS. THIS SERIOUS ISSUE THAT SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED AND REDESIGNED OR REPAIRED ON THESE VEHICLES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/20/2013 - ARLINGTON, MA
I HAD MY 2004 HYUNDAI SANTE FE AT THE DEALER'S FOR THE SMELL OF GASOLINE IN THE VEHICLE AND WHEN WALKING BEHIND THE CAR. IT WAS TOLD THERE WAS A SMALL LEAK IN THE GAS TANK DUE TO RUST. THE VEHICLE IS NOT 9.5 YEARS OLD HAS APPROXIMATELY 82,000 MILES ON IT - HAVE REGULAR SERVICE DONE ON THE VEHICLE. I HAVE UNDERCARRIAGE OF CAR WASHED AFTER SNOW STORMS AS I LIVE IN NEW ENGLAND AND KNOW THE SALT FROM THE ROADS CAN RUST THE CAR. I WAS QUOTED A PRICE OF $1,500 OR MORE - "CAN'T TELL UNTIL WE START TAKING THINGS APART HOW MUCH JOB WILL BE". THIS EVENING WENT TO GO TO THE STORE FOR MILK CAR STARTED RIGHT UP DROVE DOWN HILL AND CAR STARTED TO BUCK AND STOPPED. THANK GOD FOR AAA - CALLED FOR A TOW AND THE TOW TRUCK DRIVER ATTEMPTED TO START CAR - CAR STARTS BUT THEN STALLS SAID THERE MAY BE AN AIR BUBBLE IN FUEL LINE - COULD THIS HAVE HAPPENED WHEN DEALER'S SERVICE DEPARTMENT CHECKED FOR THE LEAK. (I DO NOT HAVE THE MONEY TO REPLACE A GAS TANK WHEN I DON'T KNOW EXACTLY HOW MUCH THE COST WILL BE). HAS ANYONE ELSE HAD THIS PROBLEM. THE SERVICE PERSON INFORMED ME MY CAR WAS "OLD" I DON'T THINK 9.5 YEARS WITH 81,000 MILES A GAS TANK SHOULD RUST???????? ESPECIALLY WHEN THE CAR IS TAKEN CARE OF.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/20/2013 - MINERAL POINT, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE SMELLED A GASOLINE FUEL ODOR WHILE STANDING NEAR THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS EXAMINED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO STATED THAT THE FUEL TANK WAS RUSTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds