Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 280 complaints filed for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (39) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (25) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (17) Fuel Propulsion System (22) Seat Belts (8) Steering (10) Vehicle Speed Control (37)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seats (2) Structure (12) Visibility (6)
Engine (13) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (10) Suspension (67) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (4) Wheels (5)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

10/30/2014 - DIAGONAL, IA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, A LOUD NOISE EMITTED FROM THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRONT COIL SPRING NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V435000 (SUSPENSION). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: SPRINGS: COIL SPRINGS

10/28/2014 - DIAGANOL , IA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, A LOUD NOISE EMITTED FROM THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRONT COIL SPRING NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

ENGINE

10/27/2014 - ROCHESTER, MN
THE FIRST OCCURRENCE WAS TUES. OCT. 21 BACKING OUT OF A DRIVEWAY AND WENT TO PUT THE CAR IN DRIVE. IT STALLED RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF A VERY BUSY ROAD. I PUT IT IN PARK AND TRIED TO START IT AGAIN. IT DID START BUT DID NOT FEEL LIKE IT WOULD CONTINUE TO RUN. HOWEVER, IT DID. THE SECOND TIME WAS YESTERDAY WHEN I WAS DRIVING DOWN A FOUR LANE ROAD AT 40 MILES AN HOUR AND IT JUST STOPPED RUNNING. I WAS SO THANKFUL IT WAS LATER IN THE EVENING AND TRAFFIC WAS VERY MINIMAL. I PUT IT IN PARK AND IT DID START BUT AGAIN DID NOT FEEL LIKE IT WOULD CONTINUE. IT FELT LIKE IT WOULD STALL AGAIN BUT DID NOT, 2 MORE TIMES BEFORE I GOT HOME. I CALLED THIS MORNING TO GET IT RIGHT IN AND NEVER HEARD BACK. I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE IT BECAUSE OF THE TRAFFIC ON MOST OF THESE ROADS. I DO NOT FEEL LIKE I WAS TAKEN SERIOUSLY EVEN THOUGH I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE IN SEPT. BUT HAVE MANAGED TO MISPLACE IT. I DO NOT REMEMBER WHAT THE RECALL WAS FOR. THE SECOND TIME THIS HAPPENED A PANEL LIGHT DID COME ON. IT WAS THE MALFUNCTION INDICATOR LIGHT. I AM WORRIED ABOUT AN ACCIDENT AND POSSIBLE DEATH WITH THIS HAPPENING TO THE CAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/27/2014 - ROCHESTER, MN
THE FIRST OCCURRENCE WAS TUES. OCT. 21 BACKING OUT OF A DRIVEWAY AND WENT TO PUT THE CAR IN DRIVE. IT STALLED RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF A VERY BUSY ROAD. I PUT IT IN PARK AND TRIED TO START IT AGAIN. IT DID START BUT DID NOT FEEL LIKE IT WOULD CONTINUE TO RUN. HOWEVER, IT DID. THE SECOND TIME WAS YESTERDAY WHEN I WAS DRIVING DOWN A FOUR LANE ROAD AT 40 MILES AN HOUR AND IT JUST STOPPED RUNNING. I WAS SO THANKFUL IT WAS LATER IN THE EVENING AND TRAFFIC WAS VERY MINIMAL. I PUT IT IN PARK AND IT DID START BUT AGAIN DID NOT FEEL LIKE IT WOULD CONTINUE. IT FELT LIKE IT WOULD STALL AGAIN BUT DID NOT, 2 MORE TIMES BEFORE I GOT HOME. I CALLED THIS MORNING TO GET IT RIGHT IN AND NEVER HEARD BACK. I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE IT BECAUSE OF THE TRAFFIC ON MOST OF THESE ROADS. I DO NOT FEEL LIKE I WAS TAKEN SERIOUSLY EVEN THOUGH I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE IN SEPT. BUT HAVE MANAGED TO MISPLACE IT. I DO NOT REMEMBER WHAT THE RECALL WAS FOR. THE SECOND TIME THIS HAPPENED A PANEL LIGHT DID COME ON. IT WAS THE MALFUNCTION INDICATOR LIGHT. I AM WORRIED ABOUT AN ACCIDENT AND POSSIBLE DEATH WITH THIS HAPPENING TO THE CAR.

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/20/2014 - CONCORD, OH
THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN DRIVEN EXTENSIVELY YEAR ROUND, INCLUDING SNOWY NORTHEAST OHIO WINTERS. ON A SOMEWHAT COLD DAY IN MARCH 2014, MY 2004 SANTA FE SAT OUTSIDE ON A SURFACE LOT FOR APPROXIMATELY 14 HOURS. AS I PULLED MY CAR OUT OF THE PARKING SPACE, THE CAR LURCHED TO THE FRONT RIGHT AND CAME TO A HALT. I HAD PULLED FORWARD APPROXIMATELY 3 FEET, HAD TURNED THE WHEEL SLIGHTLY TO THE RIGHT, AND JUST BEGAN TO HIT THE GAS TO PULL OUT OF THE PARKING SPACE. IT WAS QUITE OBVIOUS THAT MY FRONT RIGHT TIRE HAD BLOWN VIOLENTLY. NO ACCIDENTS OCCURED WITH OTHER VEHICLES AND NO INJURIES OCCURED; HOWEVER, SHOULD SOMEONE HAVE BEEN STANDING NEAR THE FRONT RIGHT TIRE, SOMEONE MAY HAVE BEEN HURT. WHILE TRYING TO CHANGE THE TIRE, IT BECAME OBVIOUS THAT THE SPRING HAD BROKEN AND MADE CONTACT WITH THE TIRE. THE VEHICLE NEEDED TO BE TOWED ON A FLATBED AND REPAIRS WERE MADE. I STILL OWN THE VEHICLE, AND I AM NOW AWARE THAT THIS PART HAS BEEN RECALLED FOR THIS EXACT ISSUE. I AM CONCERNED ABOUT THE INTEGRITY OF THE SPRING ON THE OPPOSITE SIDE AS IT IS CURRENTLY AN ORIGINAL PART.

View Details

WHEELS

10/20/2014 - CONCORD, OH
THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN DRIVEN EXTENSIVELY YEAR ROUND, INCLUDING SNOWY NORTHEAST OHIO WINTERS. ON A SOMEWHAT COLD DAY IN MARCH 2014, MY 2004 SANTA FE SAT OUTSIDE ON A SURFACE LOT FOR APPROXIMATELY 14 HOURS. AS I PULLED MY CAR OUT OF THE PARKING SPACE, THE CAR LURCHED TO THE FRONT RIGHT AND CAME TO A HALT. I HAD PULLED FORWARD APPROXIMATELY 3 FEET, HAD TURNED THE WHEEL SLIGHTLY TO THE RIGHT, AND JUST BEGAN TO HIT THE GAS TO PULL OUT OF THE PARKING SPACE. IT WAS QUITE OBVIOUS THAT MY FRONT RIGHT TIRE HAD BLOWN VIOLENTLY. NO ACCIDENTS OCCURED WITH OTHER VEHICLES AND NO INJURIES OCCURED; HOWEVER, SHOULD SOMEONE HAVE BEEN STANDING NEAR THE FRONT RIGHT TIRE, SOMEONE MAY HAVE BEEN HURT. WHILE TRYING TO CHANGE THE TIRE, IT BECAME OBVIOUS THAT THE SPRING HAD BROKEN AND MADE CONTACT WITH THE TIRE. THE VEHICLE NEEDED TO BE TOWED ON A FLATBED AND REPAIRS WERE MADE. I STILL OWN THE VEHICLE, AND I AM NOW AWARE THAT THIS PART HAS BEEN RECALLED FOR THIS EXACT ISSUE. I AM CONCERNED ABOUT THE INTEGRITY OF THE SPRING ON THE OPPOSITE SIDE AS IT IS CURRENTLY AN ORIGINAL PART.

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/15/2014 - SPRINGFIELD , IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V435000 (SUSPENSION). HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/14/2014 - DOUGLASTON, NY
RECEIVED LETTER FROM HYUNDAI THAT THE COMPANY WAS "PREPARING A REMEDY" FOR POSSIBLE RUSTING SPRINGS ON MY SANTA FE. I WAITED ABOUT A MONTH FOR SECOND LETTER AS TO WHERE AND WHEN TO GET SPRINGS INSPECTED. CALLED HYUNDAI 1-855-671-3059 GOT RUN AROUND NO ASSISTANCE. I CAN GET CAR INSPECTED MYSELF AND PAY FOR SPRINGS MYSELF. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

STRUCTURE

10/14/2014 - DOUGLASTON, NY
RECEIVED LETTER FROM HYUNDAI THAT THE COMPANY WAS "PREPARING A REMEDY" FOR POSSIBLE RUSTING SPRINGS ON MY SANTA FE. I WAITED ABOUT A MONTH FOR SECOND LETTER AS TO WHERE AND WHEN TO GET SPRINGS INSPECTED. CALLED HYUNDAI 1-855-671-3059 GOT RUN AROUND NO ASSISTANCE. I CAN GET CAR INSPECTED MYSELF AND PAY FOR SPRINGS MYSELF. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/10/2014 - ORIENT, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE SWAYED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V435000 (SUSPENSION) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds