Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 211 complaints filed for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (14) Service Brakes Hydraulic (24) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (13) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Seat Belts (4) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (30)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Seats (1) Structure (6) Visibility (6)
Engine (2) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (45) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (21) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (4) Wheels (3)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/12/2011 - WANTAGH , NY
UNINITIATED ACCELERATION WHILE DRIVING, TRYING TO STOP AND IDLING.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

9/13/2011 - BRUNSWICK, GA
ON 9/13/2011, IN SAN JUAN, PR, AT APPROXIMATELY 4:00 P.M., MY MOTHER (74 YEARS OLD) WAS DRIVING HER 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE AT A VERY SLOW RATE OF SPEED ON A WET CONCRETE ROAD. WHILE APPROACHING A RED LIGHT, AND WHILE STILL FAR AWAY FROM IT, SHE APPLIED HER VEHICLE'S BRAKES WITH NO AVAIL. THE VEHICLE CONTINUE MOVING FORWARD AND STOP ONLY AFTER HITTING A CAR WAITING FOR THE LIGHT TO CHANGE GREEN. THAT IMPACT CAUSED THIS VEHICLE (V-1) TO MOVE FORWARD AND HIT ANOTHER VEHICLE (V-2) WHICH WAS ALSO WAITING FOR THE LIGHT TO CHANGED. MY MOTHER RECEIVED A HEAVY IMPACT FORCE TO HER CHEST, SHOULDERS, AND NECK AREA PRODUCED NOT ONLY BY IMPACTING THE VEHICLES IN FRONT OF HER BUT ALSO BECAUSE HER VEHICLE'S AIR BAGS WERE DEPLOYED. HER SANTA FE WAS ALSO BADLY DAMAGED.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/13/2011 - BRUNSWICK, GA
ON 9/13/2011, IN SAN JUAN, PR, AT APPROXIMATELY 4:00 P.M., MY MOTHER (74 YEARS OLD) WAS DRIVING HER 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE AT A VERY SLOW RATE OF SPEED ON A WET CONCRETE ROAD. WHILE APPROACHING A RED LIGHT, AND WHILE STILL FAR AWAY FROM IT, SHE APPLIED HER VEHICLE'S BRAKES WITH NO AVAIL. THE VEHICLE CONTINUE MOVING FORWARD AND STOP ONLY AFTER HITTING A CAR WAITING FOR THE LIGHT TO CHANGE GREEN. THAT IMPACT CAUSED THIS VEHICLE (V-1) TO MOVE FORWARD AND HIT ANOTHER VEHICLE (V-2) WHICH WAS ALSO WAITING FOR THE LIGHT TO CHANGED. MY MOTHER RECEIVED A HEAVY IMPACT FORCE TO HER CHEST, SHOULDERS, AND NECK AREA PRODUCED NOT ONLY BY IMPACTING THE VEHICLES IN FRONT OF HER BUT ALSO BECAUSE HER VEHICLE'S AIR BAGS WERE DEPLOYED. HER SANTA FE WAS ALSO BADLY DAMAGED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/26/2011 - BAYVILLE, NJ
WHILE SITTING IN TRAFFIC AT A LOCAL GAS STATION, MY 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE SURGED TO THE POINT WHERE I COULD BARELY CONTROL THE VEHICLE FROM CRASHING INTO THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. I IMMEDIATELY PLACED THE CAR IN NEUTRAL AND THE ENGINE SPEED SURGED TO NEARLY 6000 RPM. I TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF. THE CAR WAS ABLE TO BE STARTED AGAIN WITHOUT INCIDENT. THERE WAS NO COLLISION, BUT IT WAS A VERY SCARY AND UNCONTROLLED MANNER FOR THE VEHICLE TO BE OPERATED IN.

View Details

STEERING

7/28/2011 - LAS VEGAS, NV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING WOULD DEACTIVATE. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED, BUT DENIED ANY ASSISTANCE WITH REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 80,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. UPDATED 08/31/11 UPDATED 2/21/12

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/30/2011 - RICHMOND, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE STRIKER PLATE THAT CONNECTS TO THE TAPING PLATE WAS NOT PROPERLY WELDED ONTO THE DOOR FRAME; AS A RESULT, THE LEFT REAR PASSENGER DOOR WOULD NOT REMAIN CLOSED. THE DEALER ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT SINCE HER VEHICLE WAS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY THAT SHE WAS RESPONSIBLE FOR THE REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 100,289. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 97,580.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

6/30/2011 - NORTH PRAIRIE, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE APPLYING THE BRAKES BETWEEN 3 AND 12 MPH THE BRAKE PEDAL BEGAN TO VIBRATE AND THE ABS LIGHT WOULD ILLUMINATE ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE MANUFACTURER ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT HER VEHICLE WAS NOT A PART OF NHTSA RECALL CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 04V131000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:ANTILOCK:CONTROL UNIT/MODULE). THE DEALER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 67,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 67,268.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

6/24/2011 - EARLVILLE, IL
5/25/2011, APPROX. TIME 8:45 A.M. 2004 SANTA FE LX, 38,828 MILES ON VEHICLE. ORIGINAL OWNERS, BOUGHT NEW. VEHICLE WAS SITTING IN OUR DRIVEWAY, GOT IN TO LEAVE FOR DOCTORS APPT., MOVED ABOUT TWO FEET, WHEN WE HEARD THIS LOUD NOISE AND AIR GUSHING SOUND FROM THE RIGHT FRONT OF OUR CAR. WENT OUT TO INVESTIGATE AND FOUND THE COIL SPRING HAD RUPTURED AND CUT THROUGH THE SIDEWALL OF THE TIRE. THANK GOD WE WERE NOT TRAVELING ON ANY ROAD OR INTERSTATE HWY., I WOULD NOT BE TELLING THIS. HYUNDAI MOTORS OF AMERICA, CORPORATE OFFICE WAS NOTIFIED OF MY ISSUE, AND THE FACT THE LEFT SPRING COULD RUPTURE AT ANY TIME. THEY OFFERED IN GOOD FAITH TO PAY FOR RIGHT SPRING AND TIRE, BUT WOULD NOT REPLACE LEFT FRONT SPRING. HYUNDAI MOTORS OF AMERICA SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THESE DEFECTED COIL SPRINGS AND RECALL ALL 2004 SANTA FE TO REPLACE FRONT COIL SPRINGS AND ANY OTHER MECHANICAL SYSTEMS THAT WERE AFFECTED BY THE RUPTURED COIL SPRINGS. MANY OWNERS OF 2004 SANTA FE ARE NOT AWARE OF THIS ISSUE, HOPEFULLY HYUNDAI WILL TAKE FULL RESPONSIBILITY BEFORE THEIR ARE ANY FATALITIES, GOD BLESS US, AND I PRAY HE WILL KEEP US SAFE!!!!!

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

6/20/2011 - EL PASO, TX
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER WAS INFORMED BY SOMEONE DRIVING NEARBY THAT THE VEHICLE WAS LEAKING FUEL. THE VEHICLE WAS MANEUVERED ONTO THE EMERGENCY LANE AND TURNED OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE FUEL PUMP ASSEMBLY HAD FRACTURED AND WAS LEAKING FUEL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

5/31/2011 - COLD SPRING, KY
WHILE DRIVING ON A STRAIGHT, SMOOTH SECTION OF INTERSTATE HIGHWAY MY WIFE AND I HEARD A VERY LOUD BOOM, AS IF WE HAD HIT A LARGE ROCK OR SOMETHING. THERE WAS NO VIBRATION THAT AN IMPACT WOULD HAVE CAUSED. WE DIDN'T KNOW WHAT HAD CAUSED THE NOISE. 2004 HYUNDAI, SANTA FE DROVE FINE. TWO DAYS LATER, WHEN MAKING A LOW SPEED RIGHT TURN, THE RIGHT FRONT TIRE BLEW OUT. WHEN THE TIRE WAS REMOVED IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THE COIL SPRING HAD BROKEN, MADE CONTACT WITH THE TIRE AND RIPPED IT ABOUT THREE QUARTERS AROUND COMPLETELY THROUGH. AFTER RESEARCHING THE TOPIC I WAS APPALLED AT HOW MANY COMPLAINTS THERE WERE ABOUT BROKEN SPRINGS ON 2004 SANTA FES. IT SEEMS TO BE A RECURRENT PROBLEM WITH THIS VEHICLE AND SHOULD BE RECALLED. IF THE SPRING HAD RUPTURED THE TIRE WHEN IT APPARENTLY BROKE, ON THE HIGHWAY I HESITATE TO THINK WHAT WOULD HAVE HAPPENED, OR HOW MANY LIVES WOULD BE AT RISK. I BELIEVE IT IS TIME HYUNDAI STEPPED-UP AND RECALL THE SPRINGS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds