Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 201 complaints filed for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (24) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (13) Service Brakes Hydraulic (24) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (12) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Seat Belts (4) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (30)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Seats (1) Structure (6) Visibility (6)
Engine (2) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (40) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (21) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (4) Wheels (1)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

2/22/2011 - BEVERLY, MA
DRIVERS SIDE COIL SPRING BROKEN. STRUT MOUNT ALSO NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. I BOUGHT THIS CAR NEW IN 2004. AS THE MILEAGE WILL TELL YOU, I DON'T DRIVE IT MUCH. MY CAR HAD BEEN SITTING IN THE DRIVEWAY FOR A COUPLE OF DAYS WHEN I WENT TO GO TO WORK. AS I STARTED BACKING OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY I HEARD A VERY LOUD NOISE WHEN I TURNED THE WHEEL. I DECIDED NOT TO TRY DRIVING IT. MY HUSBAND TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY FOUND THE SPRING BROKEN. THEY SAID I WAS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY. FORTUNATELY, I WAS NOT DRIVING IT AT THE TIME AS IT COULD HAVE PUNCTURED THE TIRE AND CAUSED A BLOWOUT. SINCE THIS INCIDENT, IT HAS HAPPENED AGAIN, ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. THIS TIME IT HAD BEEN SITTING FOR ABOUT 4 DAYS IN THE DRIVEWAY AND WHEN I WENT TO BACK OUT, I HEARD IT. WE IMMEDIATELY TOOK IT TO A NEARBY GARAGE AND FOUND THE SPRING HAD BROKEN AND WAS RUBBING ON THE TIRE. THIS TIME THE MILEAGE WAS ABOUT 25,000 MILES. HYUNDAI DOES NOT SEEM TO THINK THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THESE SPRINGS. I THINK IT NEEDS TO BE LOOKED INTO BEFORE SOMEONE GETS KILLED. I DON'T KNOW IF IT IS PERTAINING TO THIS COMPLAINT, BUT I DO WANT TO MENTION THAT AT 27,000 MILES I ALSO HAD TO REPLACE BOTH REAR CONTROL ARMS. THERE SEEMS TO BE A REAL PROBLEM WITH THE SUSPENSION SYSTEM ON THE VEHICLE. PLEASE LOOK INTO IT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/22/2011 - BEVERLY, MA
DRIVERS SIDE COIL SPRING BROKEN. STRUT MOUNT ALSO NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. I BOUGHT THIS CAR NEW IN 2004. AS THE MILEAGE WILL TELL YOU, I DON'T DRIVE IT MUCH. MY CAR HAD BEEN SITTING IN THE DRIVEWAY FOR A COUPLE OF DAYS WHEN I WENT TO GO TO WORK. AS I STARTED BACKING OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY I HEARD A VERY LOUD NOISE WHEN I TURNED THE WHEEL. I DECIDED NOT TO TRY DRIVING IT. MY HUSBAND TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY FOUND THE SPRING BROKEN. THEY SAID I WAS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY. FORTUNATELY, I WAS NOT DRIVING IT AT THE TIME AS IT COULD HAVE PUNCTURED THE TIRE AND CAUSED A BLOWOUT. SINCE THIS INCIDENT, IT HAS HAPPENED AGAIN, ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. THIS TIME IT HAD BEEN SITTING FOR ABOUT 4 DAYS IN THE DRIVEWAY AND WHEN I WENT TO BACK OUT, I HEARD IT. WE IMMEDIATELY TOOK IT TO A NEARBY GARAGE AND FOUND THE SPRING HAD BROKEN AND WAS RUBBING ON THE TIRE. THIS TIME THE MILEAGE WAS ABOUT 25,000 MILES. HYUNDAI DOES NOT SEEM TO THINK THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THESE SPRINGS. I THINK IT NEEDS TO BE LOOKED INTO BEFORE SOMEONE GETS KILLED. I DON'T KNOW IF IT IS PERTAINING TO THIS COMPLAINT, BUT I DO WANT TO MENTION THAT AT 27,000 MILES I ALSO HAD TO REPLACE BOTH REAR CONTROL ARMS. THERE SEEMS TO BE A REAL PROBLEM WITH THE SUSPENSION SYSTEM ON THE VEHICLE. PLEASE LOOK INTO IT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/22/2011 - BEVERLY, MA
DRIVERS SIDE COIL SPRING BROKEN. STRUT MOUNT ALSO NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. I BOUGHT THIS CAR NEW IN 2004. AS THE MILEAGE WILL TELL YOU, I DON'T DRIVE IT MUCH. MY CAR HAD BEEN SITTING IN THE DRIVEWAY FOR A COUPLE OF DAYS WHEN I WENT TO GO TO WORK. AS I STARTED BACKING OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY I HEARD A VERY LOUD NOISE WHEN I TURNED THE WHEEL. I DECIDED NOT TO TRY DRIVING IT. MY HUSBAND TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY FOUND THE SPRING BROKEN. THEY SAID I WAS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY. FORTUNATELY, I WAS NOT DRIVING IT AT THE TIME AS IT COULD HAVE PUNCTURED THE TIRE AND CAUSED A BLOWOUT. SINCE THIS INCIDENT, IT HAS HAPPENED AGAIN, ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. THIS TIME IT HAD BEEN SITTING FOR ABOUT 4 DAYS IN THE DRIVEWAY AND WHEN I WENT TO BACK OUT, I HEARD IT. WE IMMEDIATELY TOOK IT TO A NEARBY GARAGE AND FOUND THE SPRING HAD BROKEN AND WAS RUBBING ON THE TIRE. THIS TIME THE MILEAGE WAS ABOUT 25,000 MILES. HYUNDAI DOES NOT SEEM TO THINK THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THESE SPRINGS. I THINK IT NEEDS TO BE LOOKED INTO BEFORE SOMEONE GETS KILLED. I DON'T KNOW IF IT IS PERTAINING TO THIS COMPLAINT, BUT I DO WANT TO MENTION THAT AT 27,000 MILES I ALSO HAD TO REPLACE BOTH REAR CONTROL ARMS. THERE SEEMS TO BE A REAL PROBLEM WITH THE SUSPENSION SYSTEM ON THE VEHICLE. PLEASE LOOK INTO IT.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

2/8/2011 - CHERRY HILL, NJ
I TRIED TO START MY 2004 SANTA FE BUT THE ENGINE WOULD NOT TURN OVER (IT CRANKED FINE SO WE KNEW IT WAS NOT THE BATTERY). WHILE IT WAS BEING DRAGGED ONTO THE TOW TRUCK THE DRIVER'S SIDE FRONT TIRE DEFLATED. THE WHEEL DID NOT TURN WHILE BEING DRAGGED UP THE TRUCK RAMP. THE REPAIR SHOP SAID THAT THE FRONT SPRING HAD SNAPPED AND TRIGGERED A KILL SWITCH TO THE FUEL LINE WHICH PREVENTED THE CAR FROM STARTING. I NEVER HEARD ANY AWFUL SOUNDS WHILE DRIVING SO THE THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE COIL SPRING MUST HAVE SNAPPED WHILE PARKED IN THE DRIVEWAY. THE SPRING NEEDS TO BE REPLACED, AS DOES THE TIRE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2/8/2011 - CHERRY HILL, NJ
I TRIED TO START MY 2004 SANTA FE BUT THE ENGINE WOULD NOT TURN OVER (IT CRANKED FINE SO WE KNEW IT WAS NOT THE BATTERY). WHILE IT WAS BEING DRAGGED ONTO THE TOW TRUCK THE DRIVER'S SIDE FRONT TIRE DEFLATED. THE WHEEL DID NOT TURN WHILE BEING DRAGGED UP THE TRUCK RAMP. THE REPAIR SHOP SAID THAT THE FRONT SPRING HAD SNAPPED AND TRIGGERED A KILL SWITCH TO THE FUEL LINE WHICH PREVENTED THE CAR FROM STARTING. I NEVER HEARD ANY AWFUL SOUNDS WHILE DRIVING SO THE THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE COIL SPRING MUST HAVE SNAPPED WHILE PARKED IN THE DRIVEWAY. THE SPRING NEEDS TO BE REPLACED, AS DOES THE TIRE.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

1/31/2011 - SOUTH AMBOY, NJ
I WENT INTO GARAGE TO MOVE MY 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE OUT SO MY HUSBAND COULD PUT OUR 2009 HYUNDAI SONATA INTO IT. THE SANTA FE HAD BEEN SITTING IN THE GARAGE FOR ABOUT 4 DAYS UNDRIVEN. WHEN I STARTED TO BACK UP, IT WAS MAKING A LOUD NOISE. I GOT OUT OF THE VEHICLE TO MAKE SURE THERE WAS NOTHING IN THE WAY. NOT SEEING ANYTHING IN MY WAY, I CONTINUED TO BACK THE SANTA FE OUT TO THE STREET STILL HEARING A LOUD NOISE. MY HUSBAND CAME OVER TO SEE WHAT WAS MAKING THE NOISE AND NOTICED THAT THE WHOLE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE FENDER WAS RESTING ON THE TIRE. UPON RAISING IT WITH THE JACK, HE NOTICED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER SUSPENSION COIL WAS BROKEN. I EVEN TOOK PICTURES OF IT WHILE IT WAS JACKED UP. THE UPSIDE TO THIS WHOLE THING IS THAT WE WEREN'T DRIVING IT AT A HIGH SPEED WHEN THIS HAPPENED. I'M SURE WE WOULD HAVE FLIPPED THE VEHICLE AND BEEN SERIOUSLY INJURED OR EVEN KILLED. WE HAVE 84,647 MILES ON IT AND WERE ALWAYS VERY METICULOUS WITH MAINTENANCE. WE WILL CALL THE DEALERSHIP TOMORROW, BUT FROM WHAT I CAN SEE, IT LOOKS LIKE AN EXPENSIVE REPAIR.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

1/26/2011 - FRIDLEY , MN
I HAVE A 2004 SANTA FE AND JUST THE OTHER DAY MY DRIVER SIDE COIL SPRING BROKE, LUCKY I WASN'T DRIVING IT AT THE TIME HOWEVER IT GOING TO COST ABOUT 1250.00 TO FIX.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/22/2011 - GERVAIS, OR
AT 84,360 MILES OUR SUV WASN'T SHIFTING INTO 2ND GEAR, WOULD GO FROM 1ST TO 3RD. A BIG KLUNK WOULD OCCUR AROUND 20 MPH. TOOK INTO DEALERSHIP (WITHNELL HYUNDAI, SALEM, OR) IN JUNE 08, AND THEY RESET THE COMPUTER. HUSBAND ARGUED WITH SERVICE DEPT., SAYING HE WANTED A NEW TRANSMISSION, GUY SAID IF IT WENT BAD AGAIN THAT WOULD PROBABLY HAPPEN, AND HE SAID IF IT WENT BAD, WOULD GO BAD BY 100000 MILES. TOOK SUV BACK IN 8-2010 WITH 99960 MILES, WAS SHIFTING HARD AGAIN, WAS TOLD IT WAS THE REAR MOTOR MOUNT, AND THEY REPLACED THAT. THEN AT 105000 MILES JAN. 2011, SHIFTING HARD AGAIN, TOOK BACK TO DEALERSHIP THEY AGAIN RESET THE COMPUTER..AT NO CHARGE TO US, AND TOLD US "TRANSMISSION WAS FAILING".

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/18/2011 - STUART, FL
I TOOK MY CAR INTO MY NEW LOCAL DEALER WALLACE HYUNDAI , STUART FL. MY AIR BAG LIGHT STARTED STAYING ON ALL THE TIME. AT THE TIME I BROUGHT IT IN, MY VEHICLE WAS STILL COVERED UNDER THE BUMPER TO BUMPER WARRANTY. THIS DEALER TOLD ME I HAD TO PAY $100.00 TO INSPECT THE VEHICLE FOR THE ISSUE. I HAVE NEVER IN THE LIFE OF OWNING 2 HYUNDAI SANTE FE'S (THIS BEING MY 2ND) DID I EVER HAVE TO PAY UP FRONT FOR BUMPER TO BUMPER ISSUES. I AM DISABLED AND DID NOT HAVE THE $100.00 SO I LEFT AND THEN THE WARRANTY RAN OUT, SO MY ISSUE HAS NEVER BEEN TAKEN CARE OF. TO THIS DAY, MY AIRBAG LIGHT IS STILL ON AND I AM CONCERNED IT WILL EITHER DEPLOY OR NOT DEPLOY AT ALL IN AN ACCIDENT. UPDATED 03/23/11

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

1/12/2011 - BENSENVILLE, IL
I DRIVE A USED, 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE GLS. VERY RECENTLY, I WAS JUST LEAVING WORK WHEN A SEEMINGLY VERY ORDINARY THING HAPPENED TO MY CAR. I WAS STOPPED AT A STOP SIGN, WAITING TO TAKE A LEFT TURN. AS SOON AS I ACCELERATED AND BEGAN TO TURN, MY VEHICLE SUFFERED A BLOWN-OUT FRONT-PASSENGER SIDE TIRE. AS THE TIRE BLEW OUT, I HEARD A LOUD "CLUNK"AND THEN A "POP". SURPRISED, I PULLED THE CAR OVER AS SOON AS I COULD, OFF OF THE MAIN ROAD. I HAD ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE COME OUT TO CHANGE THE TIRE, BECAUSE I FOUND THAT I DID NOT HAVE THE TOOLS REQUIRED IN MY CAR TO CHANGE A TIRE. AFTER THE TOW TRUCK DRIVER PUT ON THE SPARE, I PAID HIM FOR HIS SERVICES AND WENT TO LEAVE. AS I TURNED THE WHEEL TO LEAVE, MY VEHICLE SUFFERED ANOTHER BLOW-OUT, SAME SIDE. MY CAR THEN HAD TO BE TOWED TO THE NEAREST SHOP TO BE LOOKED AT. TURNS OUT, MY FRONT-RIGHT COIL SPRING SNAPPED AND PIERCED MY TIRE(S). I CURRENTLY HAVE 73,000 MILES ON MY CAR, WHICH IS A GOOD AMOUNT, BUT AT THE SAME TIME, COIL SPRINGS DO NOT JUST SNAP FROM NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR. THE VEHICLE IS 7 YEARS OLD, NOT TWENTY. HOW COULD THIS HAPPEN? I FOUND OUT THAT WHEN THE COIL SPRING SNAPPED, IT ALSO SNAPPED THE STRUTS AND THE STRUT MOUNT, ON TOP OF MY TWO TIRES. THE TOTAL AMOUNT FOR THE DAMAGE WAS ABOUT $1200.00, AS BOTH SIDES NEEDED NEW PARTS TO ENSURE THE BEST HANDLING OF THE CAR. ALL I CAN THINK ABOUT IS, WHAT IF I WAS ON THE EXPRESSWAY DOING 65? IT'S A SCARY THOUGHT TO KNOW THAT I MAY NOT HAVE COME OUT OF THIS ALIVE. I AM VERY LUCKY IT HAPPENED AT SUCH A LOW SPEED, WITH HARDLY ANY CARS AROUND, OR ELSE I WOULD NOT HAVE LIVED TO TELL THE TALE. I HAVE NOTICED THAT SEVERAL OTHER SANTA FE OWNERS HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. AND GOD FORBID, MAYBE EVEN MORE THAT HAVE NOT LIVED TO TELL. THIS IS A DANGEROUS DEFECT, AND IT NEEDS TO BE LOOKED AT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds