Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 255 complaints filed for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (29) Equipment (1) Power Train (18) Service Brakes Hydraulic (25) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (17) Fuel Propulsion System (15) Seat Belts (6) Steering (10) Vehicle Speed Control (36)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Seats (2) Structure (10) Visibility (6)
Engine (11) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (7) Suspension (63) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (4) Wheels (5)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/20/2013 - MINERAL POINT, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE SMELLED A GASOLINE FUEL ODOR WHILE STANDING NEAR THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS EXAMINED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO STATED THAT THE FUEL TANK WAS RUSTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/22/2013 - ROCHESTER, NY
AFTER STARTING VEHICLE AND WHILE DRIVING, ENGINE SHUTS DOWN IMMEDIATELY AND WITHOUT WARNING. WAS ABLE TO STEER TO THE SIDE OF THE STREET IT AS IT WAS STILL ROLLING. NO INDICATIONS CAME ON AS TO WHAT THE ISSUE MAY POINT TO. I SHUT THE ENGINE OFF AND WAITED FOR A TOW TO MY HOME WHICH I TOTAL TOOK ABOUT 45 MINUTES. ONCE AT HOME THE VEHICLE STARTED WITH NO ISSUES. FOR THE NEXT TWO DAYS MY VEHICLE WAS AT MY MECHANICS AND HE COULD NOT REPRODUCE THE PROBLEM. I WENT AHEAD AND HAD THE TRANSMISSION. FLUSHED AS HIM AND I HAD DISCUSSED AS ONE OF THE LAST THINGS TO GET SERVICED BEFORE WINTER. LATER THAT DAY I DROVE A LONGER DISTANCE WITH TOP SPEED ABOUT 65 MPH WITH NO ISSUES. JUST AS I WAS RETURNING HOME THE CAR SHUTDOWN AS I WAS CROSSING A BUSY INTERSECTION. LUCKILY, AGAIN I WAS ABLE TO STEER THE ROLLING VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I ATTEMPTED TO START A FEW TIMES BUT AFTER A NOT SO PLEASANT SOUND LEFT IT OFF. AFTER BEING COMPLETELY OFF FOR 30 TO 45 MINUTES THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO START AGAIN. THIS TIME THE CHECK ENGINE STAYED ON. MY SEARCH ON THE ISSUE POINTS TO A CRANKSHAFT PROTECTION SENSOR, BUT THIS IS NOT A CLEAR SOLUTION AND A COSTLY THING TO FIX IF THIS DOES NOT RESOLVE. I SEE MANY COMPLAINTS ON THE ISSUE WITH NO DEFINITIVE RESOLUTION FOR HYUNDAI OWNERS EVEN BY HYUNDAI TECHNICIANS AS THEY TROUBLESHOOT THE PROBLEM. THIS IS A SCARY THING TO HAVE HAPPEN AND SOME OF THE VEHICLE JERKS ARE RATHER HARD AND VIOLENT. BEFORE THESE SHUTDOWNS BECOME DEADLY PLEASE ADDRESS. MY LAST EXPERIENCE WAS 10/18 MY VEHICLE IS AT MY MECHANIC TODAY.

View Details

ENGINE

10/22/2013 - ROCHESTER, NY
AFTER STARTING VEHICLE AND WHILE DRIVING, ENGINE SHUTS DOWN IMMEDIATELY AND WITHOUT WARNING. WAS ABLE TO STEER TO THE SIDE OF THE STREET IT AS IT WAS STILL ROLLING. NO INDICATIONS CAME ON AS TO WHAT THE ISSUE MAY POINT TO. I SHUT THE ENGINE OFF AND WAITED FOR A TOW TO MY HOME WHICH I TOTAL TOOK ABOUT 45 MINUTES. ONCE AT HOME THE VEHICLE STARTED WITH NO ISSUES. FOR THE NEXT TWO DAYS MY VEHICLE WAS AT MY MECHANICS AND HE COULD NOT REPRODUCE THE PROBLEM. I WENT AHEAD AND HAD THE TRANSMISSION. FLUSHED AS HIM AND I HAD DISCUSSED AS ONE OF THE LAST THINGS TO GET SERVICED BEFORE WINTER. LATER THAT DAY I DROVE A LONGER DISTANCE WITH TOP SPEED ABOUT 65 MPH WITH NO ISSUES. JUST AS I WAS RETURNING HOME THE CAR SHUTDOWN AS I WAS CROSSING A BUSY INTERSECTION. LUCKILY, AGAIN I WAS ABLE TO STEER THE ROLLING VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I ATTEMPTED TO START A FEW TIMES BUT AFTER A NOT SO PLEASANT SOUND LEFT IT OFF. AFTER BEING COMPLETELY OFF FOR 30 TO 45 MINUTES THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO START AGAIN. THIS TIME THE CHECK ENGINE STAYED ON. MY SEARCH ON THE ISSUE POINTS TO A CRANKSHAFT PROTECTION SENSOR, BUT THIS IS NOT A CLEAR SOLUTION AND A COSTLY THING TO FIX IF THIS DOES NOT RESOLVE. I SEE MANY COMPLAINTS ON THE ISSUE WITH NO DEFINITIVE RESOLUTION FOR HYUNDAI OWNERS EVEN BY HYUNDAI TECHNICIANS AS THEY TROUBLESHOOT THE PROBLEM. THIS IS A SCARY THING TO HAVE HAPPEN AND SOME OF THE VEHICLE JERKS ARE RATHER HARD AND VIOLENT. BEFORE THESE SHUTDOWNS BECOME DEADLY PLEASE ADDRESS. MY LAST EXPERIENCE WAS 10/18 MY VEHICLE IS AT MY MECHANIC TODAY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/21/2013 - WARE, MA
I WAS DRIVING MY CAR TO PICK UP MY SON. I DID NOT CRASH MY CAR AT ALL. ALL OF SUDDEN. MY AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON AND WONT SHUT OFF. I HAVE CONTACTED THE WARRANTY COMPANY AND THE DEALERSHIP. THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO. I BROUGHT MY CAR TO MY MECHANIC HE PUT IT UP TO THE COMPUTER IT READ RESISTANCE AIR BAG. ITS GOING TO COST ME A LOT OF MONEY TO GET IT FIXED. MY WARRANTY WAS UP A WHILE AGO. ITS A SAFETY ISSUSE. I JUST DON'T HAVE THE MONEY CAUSE I JUST GOT THE CAR 8 MONTHS AGO. ALREADY I PUT IN 1,000 INTO IT. I JUST GOT THE FOOT MODULE THE BRAKES AND NOW THE AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON. CAN YOU PLEASE HELP ME. THERE IS ALSO A PROBLEM WEIGH THE SUSPENSION.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/19/2013 - FLORENCE, KY
WHILE BACKING OUT OF DRIVEWAY, HEARD A LOUD POPPING AND CRACKING SOUND. GOT OUT TO LOOK. THERE WAS A LARGE "C" SHAPED PIECE OF METAL LAYING IN DRIVEWAY WHERE DRIVERS SIDE WAS. TOOK CAR TO HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP. COIL SPRING HAD BROKEN. SPRING AND TIRE WAS REPLACED UNDER EXTENDED WARRANTY. CONCERNED ABOUT PASSENGER SIDE NOW THAT UTE NOW HAS 88,000 MILES THAT WILL NOT BE COVERED IF OCCURS OUT OF 10 YEAR, 100,000 MILE WARRANTY.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

9/18/2013 - ROSEVILLE, MI
CAME HOME FROM VACATION A FOUND THE CONTENTS OF MY FUEL TANK ON THE GARAGE FLOOR. LUCKY THERE WAS NO FIRE OR EXPLOSION. I TOOK IT TO THE SERVICE GARAGE AND THEY INFORMED ME THAT THE GAS TANK RUSTED THROUGH AND ALONG WITH THE PROTECTIVE PLATES, ALL HAD TO BE REPLACED. CONTACTED HYUNDAI BUT THEY WERE NOT HELPFUL.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/9/2013 - SYRACUSE, NY
I BOUGHT THE HYUNDAI LESS THAN A YEAR AGO. A FEW MONTHS AFTER I BOUGHT IT, I STARTED SMELLING GAS. I TOOK IT TO THE SHOP, AND WAS TOLD THE GAS TANK WAS LEAKING. AFTER PAYING AN EXORBITANT AMOUNT TO REPLACE IT, IT WORKED FINE. NOW LESS THAN A YEAR LATER, I TOOK THE CAR INTO THE SHOP FOR A ROUTINE INSPECTION AND WAS INFORMED THAT MY NEW GAS TANK IS LEAKING AND NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. WHAT'S THE PROBLEM, HYUNDAI? THIS IS RIDICULOUS!

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/15/2013 - KINGSTON, NY
WHILE BACKING OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY, I HEARD A "CLUNK" SOUND IN THE FRONT OF MY VEHICLE. UPON INSPECTION, I FOUND A "C" SHAPED PIECE OF METAL ON THE DRIVEWAY. I IMMEDIATELY DROVE TO MY MECHANIC'S SHOP, WHERE HE TOLD ME THAT THE COIL SPRING ON MY SANTA FE HAD BROKEN ON THE PASSENGER'S SIDE. THE COIL SPRING ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE WAS ALSO CRACKED. HE HAD TO REPLACE BOTH COIL SPRINGS. HE LATER TOLD ME THAT IT WAS UNUSUAL TO HAVE THESE SPRINGS BREAK FOR NO APPARENT REASON. I DECIDED TO GO ONLINE TO SEE IF HYUNDAI HAD ISSUED A RECALL OR WHETHER THIS WAS A PROBLEM FOR OTHER CONSUMERS WHO OWNED THIS VEHICLE. I FOUND NUMEROUS SITES WHERE PEOPLE HAD WRITTEN IN STATING THAT THEY HAD THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM - IN MOST CASES, THE COIL SPRING BROKE AS THE OPERATOR WAS PUTTING THE 2004-2006 CAR INTO GEAR TO EITHER BACK OR, PULL OUT OF A PARKED POSITION. I WOULD APPRECIATE YOUR LOOKING INTO THIS ISSUE, AND GETTING BACK TO ME ON ANY FURTHER INFORMATION YOU MAY NEED FROM ME. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/29/2013 - RHODES DALE, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER STARTING THE ENGINE AND SHIFTING INTO DRIVE, A LOUD POPPING AND GRINDING NOISE EMITTED FROM OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. UPON INSPECTION, IT WAS FOUND THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER+S TIRE HAD EXPLODED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE COIL SPRING AND DEFECTIVE TIRE WERE REPLACED. THE IDENTICAL FAILURE OCCURRED MOST RECENTLY WHERE THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE COIL SPRING FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 155,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/22/2013 - WILLIAMSTOWN, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH, SHE HEARD A POPPING SOUND. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL MECHANIC. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER'S SIDE COIL SPRING HAD FRACTURED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,425.

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds