Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 204 complaints filed for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (15) Service Brakes Hydraulic (24) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electrical System (12) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Seat Belts (4) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (30)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Seats (1) Structure (6) Visibility (6)
Engine (2) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (41) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (21) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (4) Wheels (2)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

3/4/2011 - KISSIMEE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE INTERIOR DOOR HANDLES WERE DESIGNED AS CHROME OVER PLASTIC AND THE CHROME FRACTURED.. THE FAILURE WAS CAUSING THE EDGES TO BE EXPOSED, WHICH WERE EXTREMELY SHARP. WHEN THE CONTACT'S ATTEMPTED TO EXIT THE VEHICLE SHE CUT HER HAND WHEN SHE GRABBED THE DOOR HANDLE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT TAKEN THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION OR REPAIRS. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 52,000. UPDATED 05/03/11 THE CONSUMER STATED THE DOOR HANDLES WERE DESIGNED AS CHROME OVER A NON-METALLIC SUBSTRATE. OVER TIME, THE CHROME CRACKED AND CURLED UP, THUS FORMING RAZOR SHARP EDGES WHICH COULD NOT BE OBSERVED WHEN THE HANDLE WAS IN ITS NORMAL POSITION. UPDATED 05.11.11

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/1/2011 - SAVANNAH, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED AS SOON AS IT WAS STARTED. SHE WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE THE FOLLOWING DAY YET THE VEHICLE ABNORMALLY ACCELERATED WITH AN UNUSUAL INCREASE IN ENGINE RPM AS SHE DEPRESSED THE BRAKES. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT STOP AND SHE THEN SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL AND SHUT THE VEHICLE OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE A DIAGNOSTIC TEST WAS PERFORMED. THE FAILURE WAS LOCATED AT THE THROTTLE BODY ASSEMBLY WHICH THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED TO HAVE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 76,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

2/24/2011 - SPRINGFIELD, IL
WAS JUST PULLING THE CAR DOWN THE DRIVE WAY AND THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE TIRE BLEW OUT. I STOPPED THE CAR AND A FRIEND WAS GOING TO CHANGE THE TIRE. HE NOTICED THE SPRING HAD BROKEN LOOSE AND PUNCTURED THE TIRE. THE CAR HAD BEEN SITTING IN THE DRIVE WAY FOR 12 TO 15 HOURS BEFORE WE WENT TO DRIVE IT. WE HAD NOT EVEN MADE IT ON THE ROAD AND WAS ONLY GOING A COUPLE MILES PER HOUR AND ABOUT 15 TO 20 FEET. WE WERE ON OUR WAY, GOING OUT OF TOWN AND WERE THANKFUL THAT WE DID NOT HAVE THIS HAPPEN GOING 65 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY WERE WE COULD HAVE BEEN HURT OR HURT SOME ONE ELSE. SEVERAL TIMES A WEEK WE HAVE A NEW BORN AND A TWO YEAR OLD IN THIS VEHICLE. THANKFULLY THEY WERE NOT WITH US. THIS FRONT END SUSPENSION PROBLEM NEEDS TO BE LOOKED AT, SOMEBODY IS NOT GOING TO BE AS LUCKY AS WE WERE. FOR US IT WAS THE DRIVE WAY AND NOT DRIVING ON THE HIGH WAY AT A HIGH SPEEDS WITH OUR FAMILY.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/22/2011 - BEVERLY, MA
DRIVERS SIDE COIL SPRING BROKEN. STRUT MOUNT ALSO NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. I BOUGHT THIS CAR NEW IN 2004. AS THE MILEAGE WILL TELL YOU, I DON'T DRIVE IT MUCH. MY CAR HAD BEEN SITTING IN THE DRIVEWAY FOR A COUPLE OF DAYS WHEN I WENT TO GO TO WORK. AS I STARTED BACKING OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY I HEARD A VERY LOUD NOISE WHEN I TURNED THE WHEEL. I DECIDED NOT TO TRY DRIVING IT. MY HUSBAND TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY FOUND THE SPRING BROKEN. THEY SAID I WAS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY. FORTUNATELY, I WAS NOT DRIVING IT AT THE TIME AS IT COULD HAVE PUNCTURED THE TIRE AND CAUSED A BLOWOUT. SINCE THIS INCIDENT, IT HAS HAPPENED AGAIN, ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. THIS TIME IT HAD BEEN SITTING FOR ABOUT 4 DAYS IN THE DRIVEWAY AND WHEN I WENT TO BACK OUT, I HEARD IT. WE IMMEDIATELY TOOK IT TO A NEARBY GARAGE AND FOUND THE SPRING HAD BROKEN AND WAS RUBBING ON THE TIRE. THIS TIME THE MILEAGE WAS ABOUT 25,000 MILES. HYUNDAI DOES NOT SEEM TO THINK THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THESE SPRINGS. I THINK IT NEEDS TO BE LOOKED INTO BEFORE SOMEONE GETS KILLED. I DON'T KNOW IF IT IS PERTAINING TO THIS COMPLAINT, BUT I DO WANT TO MENTION THAT AT 27,000 MILES I ALSO HAD TO REPLACE BOTH REAR CONTROL ARMS. THERE SEEMS TO BE A REAL PROBLEM WITH THE SUSPENSION SYSTEM ON THE VEHICLE. PLEASE LOOK INTO IT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/22/2011 - BEVERLY, MA
DRIVERS SIDE COIL SPRING BROKEN. STRUT MOUNT ALSO NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. I BOUGHT THIS CAR NEW IN 2004. AS THE MILEAGE WILL TELL YOU, I DON'T DRIVE IT MUCH. MY CAR HAD BEEN SITTING IN THE DRIVEWAY FOR A COUPLE OF DAYS WHEN I WENT TO GO TO WORK. AS I STARTED BACKING OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY I HEARD A VERY LOUD NOISE WHEN I TURNED THE WHEEL. I DECIDED NOT TO TRY DRIVING IT. MY HUSBAND TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY FOUND THE SPRING BROKEN. THEY SAID I WAS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY. FORTUNATELY, I WAS NOT DRIVING IT AT THE TIME AS IT COULD HAVE PUNCTURED THE TIRE AND CAUSED A BLOWOUT. SINCE THIS INCIDENT, IT HAS HAPPENED AGAIN, ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. THIS TIME IT HAD BEEN SITTING FOR ABOUT 4 DAYS IN THE DRIVEWAY AND WHEN I WENT TO BACK OUT, I HEARD IT. WE IMMEDIATELY TOOK IT TO A NEARBY GARAGE AND FOUND THE SPRING HAD BROKEN AND WAS RUBBING ON THE TIRE. THIS TIME THE MILEAGE WAS ABOUT 25,000 MILES. HYUNDAI DOES NOT SEEM TO THINK THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THESE SPRINGS. I THINK IT NEEDS TO BE LOOKED INTO BEFORE SOMEONE GETS KILLED. I DON'T KNOW IF IT IS PERTAINING TO THIS COMPLAINT, BUT I DO WANT TO MENTION THAT AT 27,000 MILES I ALSO HAD TO REPLACE BOTH REAR CONTROL ARMS. THERE SEEMS TO BE A REAL PROBLEM WITH THE SUSPENSION SYSTEM ON THE VEHICLE. PLEASE LOOK INTO IT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/22/2011 - BEVERLY, MA
DRIVERS SIDE COIL SPRING BROKEN. STRUT MOUNT ALSO NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. I BOUGHT THIS CAR NEW IN 2004. AS THE MILEAGE WILL TELL YOU, I DON'T DRIVE IT MUCH. MY CAR HAD BEEN SITTING IN THE DRIVEWAY FOR A COUPLE OF DAYS WHEN I WENT TO GO TO WORK. AS I STARTED BACKING OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY I HEARD A VERY LOUD NOISE WHEN I TURNED THE WHEEL. I DECIDED NOT TO TRY DRIVING IT. MY HUSBAND TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY FOUND THE SPRING BROKEN. THEY SAID I WAS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY. FORTUNATELY, I WAS NOT DRIVING IT AT THE TIME AS IT COULD HAVE PUNCTURED THE TIRE AND CAUSED A BLOWOUT. SINCE THIS INCIDENT, IT HAS HAPPENED AGAIN, ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. THIS TIME IT HAD BEEN SITTING FOR ABOUT 4 DAYS IN THE DRIVEWAY AND WHEN I WENT TO BACK OUT, I HEARD IT. WE IMMEDIATELY TOOK IT TO A NEARBY GARAGE AND FOUND THE SPRING HAD BROKEN AND WAS RUBBING ON THE TIRE. THIS TIME THE MILEAGE WAS ABOUT 25,000 MILES. HYUNDAI DOES NOT SEEM TO THINK THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THESE SPRINGS. I THINK IT NEEDS TO BE LOOKED INTO BEFORE SOMEONE GETS KILLED. I DON'T KNOW IF IT IS PERTAINING TO THIS COMPLAINT, BUT I DO WANT TO MENTION THAT AT 27,000 MILES I ALSO HAD TO REPLACE BOTH REAR CONTROL ARMS. THERE SEEMS TO BE A REAL PROBLEM WITH THE SUSPENSION SYSTEM ON THE VEHICLE. PLEASE LOOK INTO IT.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

2/8/2011 - CHERRY HILL, NJ
I TRIED TO START MY 2004 SANTA FE BUT THE ENGINE WOULD NOT TURN OVER (IT CRANKED FINE SO WE KNEW IT WAS NOT THE BATTERY). WHILE IT WAS BEING DRAGGED ONTO THE TOW TRUCK THE DRIVER'S SIDE FRONT TIRE DEFLATED. THE WHEEL DID NOT TURN WHILE BEING DRAGGED UP THE TRUCK RAMP. THE REPAIR SHOP SAID THAT THE FRONT SPRING HAD SNAPPED AND TRIGGERED A KILL SWITCH TO THE FUEL LINE WHICH PREVENTED THE CAR FROM STARTING. I NEVER HEARD ANY AWFUL SOUNDS WHILE DRIVING SO THE THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE COIL SPRING MUST HAVE SNAPPED WHILE PARKED IN THE DRIVEWAY. THE SPRING NEEDS TO BE REPLACED, AS DOES THE TIRE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2/8/2011 - CHERRY HILL, NJ
I TRIED TO START MY 2004 SANTA FE BUT THE ENGINE WOULD NOT TURN OVER (IT CRANKED FINE SO WE KNEW IT WAS NOT THE BATTERY). WHILE IT WAS BEING DRAGGED ONTO THE TOW TRUCK THE DRIVER'S SIDE FRONT TIRE DEFLATED. THE WHEEL DID NOT TURN WHILE BEING DRAGGED UP THE TRUCK RAMP. THE REPAIR SHOP SAID THAT THE FRONT SPRING HAD SNAPPED AND TRIGGERED A KILL SWITCH TO THE FUEL LINE WHICH PREVENTED THE CAR FROM STARTING. I NEVER HEARD ANY AWFUL SOUNDS WHILE DRIVING SO THE THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE COIL SPRING MUST HAVE SNAPPED WHILE PARKED IN THE DRIVEWAY. THE SPRING NEEDS TO BE REPLACED, AS DOES THE TIRE.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

1/31/2011 - SOUTH AMBOY, NJ
I WENT INTO GARAGE TO MOVE MY 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE OUT SO MY HUSBAND COULD PUT OUR 2009 HYUNDAI SONATA INTO IT. THE SANTA FE HAD BEEN SITTING IN THE GARAGE FOR ABOUT 4 DAYS UNDRIVEN. WHEN I STARTED TO BACK UP, IT WAS MAKING A LOUD NOISE. I GOT OUT OF THE VEHICLE TO MAKE SURE THERE WAS NOTHING IN THE WAY. NOT SEEING ANYTHING IN MY WAY, I CONTINUED TO BACK THE SANTA FE OUT TO THE STREET STILL HEARING A LOUD NOISE. MY HUSBAND CAME OVER TO SEE WHAT WAS MAKING THE NOISE AND NOTICED THAT THE WHOLE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE FENDER WAS RESTING ON THE TIRE. UPON RAISING IT WITH THE JACK, HE NOTICED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER SUSPENSION COIL WAS BROKEN. I EVEN TOOK PICTURES OF IT WHILE IT WAS JACKED UP. THE UPSIDE TO THIS WHOLE THING IS THAT WE WEREN'T DRIVING IT AT A HIGH SPEED WHEN THIS HAPPENED. I'M SURE WE WOULD HAVE FLIPPED THE VEHICLE AND BEEN SERIOUSLY INJURED OR EVEN KILLED. WE HAVE 84,647 MILES ON IT AND WERE ALWAYS VERY METICULOUS WITH MAINTENANCE. WE WILL CALL THE DEALERSHIP TOMORROW, BUT FROM WHAT I CAN SEE, IT LOOKS LIKE AN EXPENSIVE REPAIR.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

1/26/2011 - FRIDLEY , MN
I HAVE A 2004 SANTA FE AND JUST THE OTHER DAY MY DRIVER SIDE COIL SPRING BROKE, LUCKY I WASN'T DRIVING IT AT THE TIME HOWEVER IT GOING TO COST ABOUT 1250.00 TO FIX.

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds