Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 246 complaints filed for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (29) Equipment (1) Power Train (17) Service Brakes Hydraulic (25) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (16) Fuel Propulsion System (12) Seat Belts (5) Steering (10) Vehicle Speed Control (35)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Seats (2) Structure (10) Visibility (6)
Engine (10) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (6) Suspension (61) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (4) Wheels (5)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

4/22/2013 - WILLIAMSTOWN, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH, SHE HEARD A POPPING SOUND. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL MECHANIC. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER'S SIDE COIL SPRING HAD FRACTURED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,425.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/9/2013 - HEBRON, OH
I DROVE TO WORK WITHOUT INCIDENT ON A MAJOR INTERSTATE AT 6AM. MY CAR WAS PARKED IN A SECURE LOT FOR 8.5 HOURS. WHEN I WENT TO LEAVE FOR THE DAY, I STARTED THE CAR, PUT IT DRIVE AND BEGAN TO ROLL FORWARD. WHEN THE CAR BEGAN TO MOVE I HEARD A LOUD GRINDING NOISE AND STOPPED IMMEDIATELY. I CALLED MY HUSBAND AND HAD HIM LISTEN TO IT BY PHONE. WE HAD THE CAR TOWED TO OUT LOCAL HYUNDAI DEAL WHO INFORMED US THAT THE DRIVERS SIDE SPRING HAD BROKEN WHICH BROKE THE STRUT, PINCHED THE BRAKE LINE AND BENT THE SWAY BAR. TOTAL REPAIR COST WAS 1053.31 WITH TAX. WE OPTED TO REPLACE BOTH FRONT SPRINGS AND STRUTS BECAUSE WE FELT THIS WAS THE SAFEST THING TO DO AFTER RESEARCHING ON THE INTERNET AND DISCOVERING THAT THERE WERE HUNDREDS OF THE SAME COMPLAINT IN ALL SANTA FE'S NO MATTER WHAT THE YEAR ESPECIALLY AFTER READING THAT MANY OF THEM OCCURRED ON AN INTERSTATE TRAVELING AT 65 MPH RESULTING IN FURTHER DAMAGE AND INJURY ACCIDENTS.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: SPRINGS: COIL SPRINGS

4/3/2013 - MEADVILLE , PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE COIL SPRINGS FRACTURED ON SEPARATE OCCASIONS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 58,326 AND THE APPROXIMATE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 58,800. UPDATED 06/18/13 THE CONSUMER STATED THE COIL SPRING ON THE PASSENGER'S SIDE PUNCTURED A TIRE. THE CONSUMER HAD TO PURCHASE 4 NEW TIRES. UPDATED 06/25/2013

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/1/2013 - WILMINGTON, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, HE LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND CRASHED. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE POLICE WERE CONTACTED AND A REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE STERNUM. THE VEHICLE WAS LATER TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THEY DEEMED THE VEHICLE AS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 105,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/26/2013 - DENVER, CO
I HAVE A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, 2.7 LITER ENGINE, 4WD. FRONT SPRING ON PASSENGER SIDE BROKE YESTERDAY, WHILE THE CAR WAS IN THE GARAGE, CAUSING MY TIRE TO PUNCTURE. THOUGHT IT WAS JUST A FLAT BUT IT WAS NOT UNTIL THE CAR WAS TOWED TO A TIRE STORE THAT I LEARNED THE SPRING HAD SIMPLY SNAPPED IN HALF. I HAVE RESEARCHED THIS AND THIS IS, CLEARLY, A FAULTY PART. AFTER SEEING DOZENS AND DOZENS OF SIMILAR CONSUMER COMPLAINTS I AM ASTOUNDED THAT HYUNDAI HAS NOT RECALLED THESE VEHICLES (APPEARS TO SPAN 2001 TO 2006) OR BEEN SUED BY SOMEONE SERIOUSLY INJURED IN AN ACCIDENT. THANK GOD I WAS NOT DRIVING MY CAR AT THE TIME. I WONDER HOW MANY FATAL ACCIDENTS HAVE BEEN CAUSED BY HYUNDAI'S NEGLIGENCE IN NOT BEING FORTHCOMING IN REPLACING THIS PART. MY CURRENT REPAIR COST ESTIMATE IS $521. BUT IT'S NOT CLEAR IF OTHER DAMAGE FROM THE SPRING BREAKAGE HAS OCCURRED. WILL KNOW TOMORROW.

View Details

ENGINE

3/19/2013 - MILWAUKEE, WI
I LEFT MY CAR PARKED IN THE PARKING GARAGE AT SCHOOL. WHEN I CAME BACK TO MY CAR AT THE END OF THE DAY, THE CAR WAS ON AND RUNNING. I HAD MY KEYS WITH ME. IT HAD SOMEHOW SPONTANEOUSLY TURNED ON WHILE I WAS AWAY FROM IT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/20/2013 - NORTON, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE EXITING A RESIDENTIAL GARAGE, THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE COIL SPRING FRACTURED AND PENETRATED THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE TIRE. THE CONTACT SPOKE WITH THE MANUFACTURER HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 125,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/19/2013 - LONGVIEW, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG DEPLOYED INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS WHO STATED THAT EVERYTHING APPEARED TO BE NORMAL AND NO CAUSE FOR FAILURE WAS FOUND. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 83,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/5/2013 - CEOTONE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG ERRONEOUSLY DEPLOYED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION AND THEY STATED THAT THEY COULD NOT DIAGNOSE THE CAUSE OF FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED BUT PROVIDED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/29/2013 - JOHNSTOWN, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE REVERSING OUT OF HER DRIVEWAY, THE DRIVER FRONT COIL SPRING FRACTURED AND RUBBED AGAINST THE TIRE. THE DEALER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 76,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds