Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 213 complaints filed for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (14) Service Brakes Hydraulic (24) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electrical System (14) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Seat Belts (4) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (30)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Seats (1) Structure (6) Visibility (6)
Engine (5) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (45) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (21) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (4) Wheels (3)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/30/2011 - RICHMOND, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE STRIKER PLATE THAT CONNECTS TO THE TAPING PLATE WAS NOT PROPERLY WELDED ONTO THE DOOR FRAME; AS A RESULT, THE LEFT REAR PASSENGER DOOR WOULD NOT REMAIN CLOSED. THE DEALER ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT SINCE HER VEHICLE WAS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY THAT SHE WAS RESPONSIBLE FOR THE REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 100,289. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 97,580.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

6/30/2011 - NORTH PRAIRIE, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE APPLYING THE BRAKES BETWEEN 3 AND 12 MPH THE BRAKE PEDAL BEGAN TO VIBRATE AND THE ABS LIGHT WOULD ILLUMINATE ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE MANUFACTURER ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT HER VEHICLE WAS NOT A PART OF NHTSA RECALL CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 04V131000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:ANTILOCK:CONTROL UNIT/MODULE). THE DEALER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 67,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 67,268.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

6/24/2011 - EARLVILLE, IL
5/25/2011, APPROX. TIME 8:45 A.M. 2004 SANTA FE LX, 38,828 MILES ON VEHICLE. ORIGINAL OWNERS, BOUGHT NEW. VEHICLE WAS SITTING IN OUR DRIVEWAY, GOT IN TO LEAVE FOR DOCTORS APPT., MOVED ABOUT TWO FEET, WHEN WE HEARD THIS LOUD NOISE AND AIR GUSHING SOUND FROM THE RIGHT FRONT OF OUR CAR. WENT OUT TO INVESTIGATE AND FOUND THE COIL SPRING HAD RUPTURED AND CUT THROUGH THE SIDEWALL OF THE TIRE. THANK GOD WE WERE NOT TRAVELING ON ANY ROAD OR INTERSTATE HWY., I WOULD NOT BE TELLING THIS. HYUNDAI MOTORS OF AMERICA, CORPORATE OFFICE WAS NOTIFIED OF MY ISSUE, AND THE FACT THE LEFT SPRING COULD RUPTURE AT ANY TIME. THEY OFFERED IN GOOD FAITH TO PAY FOR RIGHT SPRING AND TIRE, BUT WOULD NOT REPLACE LEFT FRONT SPRING. HYUNDAI MOTORS OF AMERICA SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THESE DEFECTED COIL SPRINGS AND RECALL ALL 2004 SANTA FE TO REPLACE FRONT COIL SPRINGS AND ANY OTHER MECHANICAL SYSTEMS THAT WERE AFFECTED BY THE RUPTURED COIL SPRINGS. MANY OWNERS OF 2004 SANTA FE ARE NOT AWARE OF THIS ISSUE, HOPEFULLY HYUNDAI WILL TAKE FULL RESPONSIBILITY BEFORE THEIR ARE ANY FATALITIES, GOD BLESS US, AND I PRAY HE WILL KEEP US SAFE!!!!!

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

6/20/2011 - EL PASO, TX
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER WAS INFORMED BY SOMEONE DRIVING NEARBY THAT THE VEHICLE WAS LEAKING FUEL. THE VEHICLE WAS MANEUVERED ONTO THE EMERGENCY LANE AND TURNED OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE FUEL PUMP ASSEMBLY HAD FRACTURED AND WAS LEAKING FUEL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

5/31/2011 - COLD SPRING, KY
WHILE DRIVING ON A STRAIGHT, SMOOTH SECTION OF INTERSTATE HIGHWAY MY WIFE AND I HEARD A VERY LOUD BOOM, AS IF WE HAD HIT A LARGE ROCK OR SOMETHING. THERE WAS NO VIBRATION THAT AN IMPACT WOULD HAVE CAUSED. WE DIDN'T KNOW WHAT HAD CAUSED THE NOISE. 2004 HYUNDAI, SANTA FE DROVE FINE. TWO DAYS LATER, WHEN MAKING A LOW SPEED RIGHT TURN, THE RIGHT FRONT TIRE BLEW OUT. WHEN THE TIRE WAS REMOVED IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THE COIL SPRING HAD BROKEN, MADE CONTACT WITH THE TIRE AND RIPPED IT ABOUT THREE QUARTERS AROUND COMPLETELY THROUGH. AFTER RESEARCHING THE TOPIC I WAS APPALLED AT HOW MANY COMPLAINTS THERE WERE ABOUT BROKEN SPRINGS ON 2004 SANTA FES. IT SEEMS TO BE A RECURRENT PROBLEM WITH THIS VEHICLE AND SHOULD BE RECALLED. IF THE SPRING HAD RUPTURED THE TIRE WHEN IT APPARENTLY BROKE, ON THE HIGHWAY I HESITATE TO THINK WHAT WOULD HAVE HAPPENED, OR HOW MANY LIVES WOULD BE AT RISK. I BELIEVE IT IS TIME HYUNDAI STEPPED-UP AND RECALL THE SPRINGS.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: SPRINGS: COIL SPRINGS

5/17/2011 - SEWICKLEY, PA
2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. CONSUMER STATES WHILE PULLING OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY, THE DRIVERS SIDE FRONT COIL SPRING BROKE, POKING A HOLE THROUGH THE SIDEWALL OF AN 8 MONTH OLD TIRE

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

4/22/2011 - DREXEL HILL, PA
ON APRIL 21, 2011 WENT TO BACK SUV OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY WHEN THE FRONT LEFT TIRE WENT FLAT. AFTER REMOVING THE TIRE FOUND TIRE HAD A HOLE ON INSIDE WALL OF TIRE . THIS WAS CAUSED BY THE COIL SPRING PROTRUDING OUT. UPON FURTHER INSPECTION FOUND THE COIL SPRING BROKEN. THE CAR HAD TO BE TOWED TO A REPAIR SHOP. I FEEL VERY LUCKY THIS DID NOT HAPPEN WHILE DRIVING AT A HIGH RATE OF SPEED.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

4/18/2011 - CHEPACHET, RI
I WAS TRAVELING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AT 70MPH WHEN, ALL OF A SUDDEN, I HEARD A BANG AND THE CAR VEERED OUT OF CONTROL. IT WAS A TERRIFYING EXPERIENCE. I REGAINED CONTROL OF THE CAR I WAS ABLE TO SAFELY PULL TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TO INVESTIGATE AND I NOTICED THAT THE COIL SPRING BROKE. THE FOLLOWING DAY I BROUGHT MY VEHICLE TO THE HYUNDAI DEALER AND THEY CHARGED AN OUTRAGEOUS AMOUNT TO REPLACE. NOT VERY LIKELY THAT I WOULD PURCHASE ANOTHER HYUNDAI.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/3/2011 - OLD ORCHARD BEACH, ME
THE DRIVER'S SIDE COIL SPRING BROKE ON MY 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE AT 40,000 MILES. I WAS DRIVING DOWN A STREET AND THERE WAS A LOUD EXPLOSION TYPE SOUND, MY VEHICLE ACTUALLY FELT LIKE IT JUMPED, ALL THE DASH LIGHTS CAME ON AND THE ENGINE DIED. I WRESTLED WITH THE WHEEL TO GET THE CAR OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD BUT I WAS STILL IN THE ROAD. THERE WAS A WOMAN IN FRONT OF ME GETTING OUT OF HER CAR WITH A TODDLER AND I CAME CLOSE TO HITTING THEM AS I TRIED TO CONTROL MY TRUCK. I'M SO GLAD I WASN'T GOING FASTER THAN 10-15 MPH. THE REPAIR AGENT SAID HE'D NEVER SEEN THIS HAPPEN AT LESS THAN 100K+ MILES, AND IT TOOK OUT THE BRAKE LINE AND FUEL LINE ON THAT SIDE AS WELL. TOTAL COST WILL BE $1500. AS THE TIMING BELT ALSO NEEDS CHANGING. NOT HAPPY. I SEE MANY OTHER COMPLAINTS OF THIS SITUATION (COIL SPRING GOING ON HYUNDAI SANTA FE AT LOW MILEAGE), BUT I DON'T SEE ANY KIND OF REPARATION OFFERED BY THE COMPANY OR ANY RECALL. THERE SHOULD BE - THIS IS NOT ACCEPTABLE. I'M NOT LIKELY TO BUY A HYUNDAI AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

4/3/2011 - OLD ORCHARD BEACH, ME
THE DRIVER'S SIDE COIL SPRING BROKE ON MY 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE AT 40,000 MILES. I WAS DRIVING DOWN A STREET AND THERE WAS A LOUD EXPLOSION TYPE SOUND, MY VEHICLE ACTUALLY FELT LIKE IT JUMPED, ALL THE DASH LIGHTS CAME ON AND THE ENGINE DIED. I WRESTLED WITH THE WHEEL TO GET THE CAR OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD BUT I WAS STILL IN THE ROAD. THERE WAS A WOMAN IN FRONT OF ME GETTING OUT OF HER CAR WITH A TODDLER AND I CAME CLOSE TO HITTING THEM AS I TRIED TO CONTROL MY TRUCK. I'M SO GLAD I WASN'T GOING FASTER THAN 10-15 MPH. THE REPAIR AGENT SAID HE'D NEVER SEEN THIS HAPPEN AT LESS THAN 100K+ MILES, AND IT TOOK OUT THE BRAKE LINE AND FUEL LINE ON THAT SIDE AS WELL. TOTAL COST WILL BE $1500. AS THE TIMING BELT ALSO NEEDS CHANGING. NOT HAPPY. I SEE MANY OTHER COMPLAINTS OF THIS SITUATION (COIL SPRING GOING ON HYUNDAI SANTA FE AT LOW MILEAGE), BUT I DON'T SEE ANY KIND OF REPARATION OFFERED BY THE COMPANY OR ANY RECALL. THERE SHOULD BE - THIS IS NOT ACCEPTABLE. I'M NOT LIKELY TO BUY A HYUNDAI AGAIN.

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds