Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP WRANGLER - 2004 JEEP WRANGLER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 171 complaints filed for the 2004 JEEP WRANGLER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 JEEP WRANGLER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 JEEP WRANGLER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (2) Other (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (5)
Electrical System (8) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (18) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Power Train (27) Steering (59) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine (3) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (10) Structure (8) Visibility (11)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (1) Suspension (56) Wheels (5)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

1/27/2016 - MCKEESPORT, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 JEEP WRANGLER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN IN FOR ROUTINE MAINTENANCE, THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE HUB BEARING AND AXLE SEAL NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE RECURRED AND WAS REPAIRED AT 41,846, 46,297, 52,000 AND 55,600 MILES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,000.

View Details

STEERING

11/30/2015 - MONTROSE, CO
WHILE MOVING DOWN HIGHWAYS 40 TO 65MPH IVE NOTICED THAT WHENEVER I HIT POT HOLES OR BUMPS MY CAR IMEDIATELY GOES INTO A MAJOR WOBBLE LIKE I HAVE A FLAT TIRE, HOWEVER AS SOON AS I TAP MY BRAKE IT STOPS. MY FRIEND TOLD ME THIS IS A DEATH WOBBLE FACTORY RECALL BUT JEEP DEALERS TELL ME MY CAR VIN ISNT INCLUDED. WHY NOT SINCE IT HAS THE PROBLEM?!

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/30/2015 - MONTROSE, CO
WHILE MOVING DOWN HIGHWAYS 40 TO 65MPH IVE NOTICED THAT WHENEVER I HIT POT HOLES OR BUMPS MY CAR IMEDIATELY GOES INTO A MAJOR WOBBLE LIKE I HAVE A FLAT TIRE, HOWEVER AS SOON AS I TAP MY BRAKE IT STOPS. MY FRIEND TOLD ME THIS IS A DEATH WOBBLE FACTORY RECALL BUT JEEP DEALERS TELL ME MY CAR VIN ISNT INCLUDED. WHY NOT SINCE IT HAS THE PROBLEM?!

View Details

WHEELS

11/30/2015 - MONTROSE, CO
WHILE MOVING DOWN HIGHWAYS 40 TO 65MPH IVE NOTICED THAT WHENEVER I HIT POT HOLES OR BUMPS MY CAR IMEDIATELY GOES INTO A MAJOR WOBBLE LIKE I HAVE A FLAT TIRE, HOWEVER AS SOON AS I TAP MY BRAKE IT STOPS. MY FRIEND TOLD ME THIS IS A DEATH WOBBLE FACTORY RECALL BUT JEEP DEALERS TELL ME MY CAR VIN ISNT INCLUDED. WHY NOT SINCE IT HAS THE PROBLEM?!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/8/2015 - CHILLICOTHE, OH
JEEP HAS NEVER BEEN OFF ROAD. HUSBAND NOTICED WHILE CHANGING OIL, FRAME ROT WAS VISIBLE IN FRONT OF VEHICLE. LATER TOOK TO LOCAL AUTOBODY SHOP THAT CONFIRMED FRAME IS ROTTED FROM INSIDE OUT. RECOMMENDS NEW FRAME AND TO NOT DRIVE IT DUE TO SAFETY CONCERNS. HE STATED THIS IS VERY COMMON IN JEEPS AND THAT I SHOULD FILE A VEHICLE SAFETY COMPLAINT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/23/2015 - LANCASTER, PA
JEEP "DEATH WOBBLE" BETWEEN 50-60 MPH. I'VE CORRECTED ISSUE 3X OVER THE YEARS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/26/2015 - NEPTUNE, NJ
I WAS AT A COMPLETE STOP WITH MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE, AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION IN DRIVE. THE ENGINE STARTED TO RACE AT VERY HIGH R.P.M.'S FOR NO REASON. I WAS ABLE TO KEEP THE VEHICLE FROM ACCELERATING WITH HARD BRAKE PRESSURE AND QUICKLY SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL. THE ENGINE RETURNED TO NORMAL IDLE AFTER SEVERAL SECONDS. THIS HAS HAPPENED APPROXIMATELY 5 ADDITIONAL TIMES SINCE THEN FOR NO APPARENT REASON. I CHECK FLOOR MATS, GAS PEDAL MOVEMENT AND EVEN ATTEMPTED TO APPLY PRESSURE TO BOTH THE GAS AND BRAKE PEDAL AT THE SAME TIME WHICH WAS IMPOSSIBLE. THERE SEEMS TO BE NO COMMON FACTOR TO THESE INCIDENTS. I HAVE NOT EXPERIENCED ANY WARNING LIGHTS OR CODES.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/23/2015 - HOPE MILLS , NC
DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AT ANYWHERE ABOVE 40MPH AND HITTING A BUMP IN THE ROAD SENDS THE VEHICLE INTO A VIOLENT SHAKE/WOBBLE. THIS DOES NOT STOP UNTIL THE VEHICLE IS SLOWED DOWN TO BELOW 40. THE JEEP IS COMPLETELY STOCK. NO LIFT, NO BIGGER TIRES.

View Details

STEERING

6/23/2015 - HOPE MILLS , NC
DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AT ANYWHERE ABOVE 40MPH AND HITTING A BUMP IN THE ROAD SENDS THE VEHICLE INTO A VIOLENT SHAKE/WOBBLE. THIS DOES NOT STOP UNTIL THE VEHICLE IS SLOWED DOWN TO BELOW 40. THE JEEP IS COMPLETELY STOCK. NO LIFT, NO BIGGER TIRES.

View Details

STEERING

5/11/2015 - TOLEDO, OH
MY 16 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING THE VEHICLE ON NORMAL DRY PAVEMENT WHEN THE CASTING THAT ANCHORS THE TIE ROD TO THE FRONT LEFT WHEEL SNAPPED OFF. THE VEHICLE VIOLENTLY PULLED TO THE RIGHT CAUSING IT TO GO OFF THE PAVED ROAD SURFACE AND CRASHING INTO A TREE. THE VEHICLE HAS THE ORIGINAL FACTORY SUSPENSION AND TO MY KNOWLEDGE HAS NEVER BEEN MODIFIED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds