Auto Recalls for Consumers

LINCOLN LS - 2004 LINCOLN LS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 81 complaints filed for the 2004 LINCOLN LS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 LINCOLN LS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 LINCOLN LS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment (5) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (2) Structure (1)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (1)
Electrical System (16) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (18) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (2) Steering (2) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (26) Fuel System Other (4)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

3/25/2010 - LAS VEGAS, NV
I OWN A LINCOLN LS V8 WITH 55,000 MILES. WHEN I SHIFT INTO REVERSE IT CREATES A HARSH SOUND, LIKE THE TRANSMISSION IS GOING TO FALL OUT. MY "CHECK TRANSMISSION" LIGHT CAME ON WILL BE TAKING IT TO THE DEALERSHIP. I HAVE BEEN RESEARCHING TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS ON LS AND SEEMS TO BE EXTREMELY COMMON MANUFACTURING PROBLEM. SOMETHING MUST BE DONE!

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER

3/4/2010 - FLORENCE, SC
LINCOLN LS 2004 - THROTTLE BODY FAILURE - ENGINE FAIL SAFE MODE - NO PARTS AVAILABLE NATIONWIDE FROM OCTOBER 2009 UNTIL PRESENT DATE MARCH 4, 2010 - UNSAFE TO DRIVE AND CAR REMAINS AT DEALERSHIP WITH NO DATE FROM FORD FOR REPLACEMENT AS APPARENTLY THEY ARE TRYING TO RE-ENGINEER AND FIX WHATEVER IS THE PROBLEM. AFTER LOOKING ON INTERNET THIS IS APPARENTLY A PROBLEM THAT IS RUNNING THROUGHOUT THE ENTIRE FORD LINE. IT SEEMS LIKE THIS IS IN COMPLETE CONTRAST TO THE PROBLEM THAT TOYOTA IS HAVING IN THAT WITHOUT WARNING THE ENGINE SHUTS DOWN TO 20 TO 30 MILES PER HOUR LEAVING YOU VULNERABLE ON THE HIGHWAY AND UNABLE TO WARN ANYONE DRIVING BEHIND YOU THAT YOU HAVE A PROBLEM THAT YOU HAVE NO CONTROL OVER THROTTLE. MANY OWNERS REPORT CARS JUMP FORWARD OR REVERSE WITHOUT WARNING.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/4/2010 - FLORENCE, SC
LINCOLN LS 2004 - THROTTLE BODY FAILURE - ENGINE FAIL SAFE MODE - NO PARTS AVAILABLE NATIONWIDE FROM OCTOBER 2009 UNTIL PRESENT DATE MARCH 4, 2010 - UNSAFE TO DRIVE AND CAR REMAINS AT DEALERSHIP WITH NO DATE FROM FORD FOR REPLACEMENT AS APPARENTLY THEY ARE TRYING TO RE-ENGINEER AND FIX WHATEVER IS THE PROBLEM. AFTER LOOKING ON INTERNET THIS IS APPARENTLY A PROBLEM THAT IS RUNNING THROUGHOUT THE ENTIRE FORD LINE. IT SEEMS LIKE THIS IS IN COMPLETE CONTRAST TO THE PROBLEM THAT TOYOTA IS HAVING IN THAT WITHOUT WARNING THE ENGINE SHUTS DOWN TO 20 TO 30 MILES PER HOUR LEAVING YOU VULNERABLE ON THE HIGHWAY AND UNABLE TO WARN ANYONE DRIVING BEHIND YOU THAT YOU HAVE A PROBLEM THAT YOU HAVE NO CONTROL OVER THROTTLE. MANY OWNERS REPORT CARS JUMP FORWARD OR REVERSE WITHOUT WARNING.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

3/2/2010 - LAKEWOOD, OH
2004 LINCOLN LS V8 THROTTLE BODY FAILURES RESULT IN REDUCED RPM UNTIL THE CAR IS RESTARTED. ON OCCASION CAR WILL STALL. SAFETY ISSUE ESPECIALLY ON THE HIGH WAY. INTERNET SEARCH SHOWS KNOWN PROBLEM WITH 2003-2004 THROTTLE POSITION SENSOR. SEARCH ALSO RESULTS IN VEHICLES 2003-2006 EXHIBIT THIS FAILURE. DEALER TRYING TO PROCURE NEW THROTTLE BODY BUT ON NATIONAL BACKORDER...ONLY ONE COMPANY IN US FABRICATES. APPROXIMATELY $900 PART PER DEALER (CONTACT INFO AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST). THIS IS A FORD DESIGN PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/23/2009 - CUMMING, GA
I AM CURRENTLY EXPERIENCING THE PROBLEM AND THE FORD DEALERSHIP CANNOT DETERMINE HOW TO FIX IT. WHILE DRIVING, THE CAR WILL STALL. ONCE I COAST TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, I TURN IT OFF AND RE-CRANK IT. IT WILL CRANK AND THEN I CAN GO AGAIN. IT CONTINUES TO STALL WHILE DRIVING. THE DEALERSHIP HAS JUST REPLACED THE THROTTLE BODY AND THAT DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. THEY HAVE ORDERED ANOTHER PART TO TRY THAT HAS SOMETHING TO DO WITH THE PEDAL (PCM). THEY HAVE NO IDEA HOW TO FIX.

View Details

EQUIPMENT: ELECTRICAL: AIR CONDITIONER

7/9/2009 - CONYERS, GA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 LINCOLN LS. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE EMERGENCY LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. IN ADDITION, THE AIR CONDITIONER BLOWS HOT AIR FROM THE DRIVER'S SIDE VENTS AND COLD AIR FROM THE PASSENGER SIDE VENTS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THESE TWO FAILURES WERE RELATED TO ONE ANOTHER. THE DEALER STATED THAT IT WOULD COST $100 TO REPLACE THE PART AND $600 FOR LABOR. THE CONTACT DOES NOT WANT TO PAY FOR THE REPAIR. THE DEALER STATED THAT THERE WERE NO RECALLS. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 56,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/9/2009 - CONYERS, GA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 LINCOLN LS. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE EMERGENCY LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. IN ADDITION, THE AIR CONDITIONER BLOWS HOT AIR FROM THE DRIVER'S SIDE VENTS AND COLD AIR FROM THE PASSENGER SIDE VENTS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THESE TWO FAILURES WERE RELATED TO ONE ANOTHER. THE DEALER STATED THAT IT WOULD COST $100 TO REPLACE THE PART AND $600 FOR LABOR. THE CONTACT DOES NOT WANT TO PAY FOR THE REPAIR. THE DEALER STATED THAT THERE WERE NO RECALLS. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 56,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

7/6/2009 - ALDEN, NY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 LINCOLN LS. IN MAY OF 2009, THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE SWERVED OFF THE ROAD AND STRUCK A CULVERT. THE ENTIRE FRONT END WAS DAMAGED; HOWEVER, THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THE CONTACT WAS INJURED. HE FEELS THAT THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE. THE SPEED WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 32,165.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/12/2009 - COLQUITT, GA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 LINCOLN LS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS. IN ADDITION, THE BRAKE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. HE IS IN THE PROCESS OF HAVING THE VEHICLE INSPECTED TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 85,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

5/19/2009 - LOS ANGELES, CA
I HAVE A 2005 FORD EXPEDITION & 2004 LINCOLN LS I JUST REPLACED THE TRANSMISSION FOR THE EXPEDITION @ 53,000 MILES IT QUIT ON ME ON THE FREEWAY ALMOST CAUSING AND ACCIDENT AND NOW A MONTH LATER SAME THING HAPPENED WITH THE LINCOLN LS I THINK SOME ONE HAS TO GET HARD ON FORD LINCOLN SAME THING IT IS NOT POSSIBLE THAT TWO CARS BOUGHT @ OVER $43,000 DOLLARS EACH ARE PIECE OF +!@#$% CARS I WOULD UNDERSTAND IF I HAD BOUGHT AN IKEA OR HYUNDAI I KNEW WHAT I WAS GETTING INTO, SOME ONE HAS TO MAKE FORD AND LINCOLN FIX THESE PROBLEMS WITH THERE PRODUCT MAYBE THAT'S WHY THEY ONLY OFFER A 27,000 MILE WARRANTY AND STILL HAD MY DIFFERENTIAL CHANGED ON THE EXPEDITION 6 MONTHS AFTER PURCHASE WITH ONLY 3500 MILES ON THE EXPEDITION.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds