Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCEDES SL500 - 2004 MERCEDES SL500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mercedes-Benz USA, LLC.

There are 18 complaints filed for the 2004 MERCEDES SL500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 MERCEDES SL500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 MERCEDES SL500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (3) Steering (1) Wheels (3)
Fuel Propulsion System (1) Power Train (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Suspension (9)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

11/11/2014 - BEVERLY HILLS, CA, CA
WAS TRAVELING BEHIND ANOTHER VEHICLE AT APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH AROUND 6PM WHEN TRAFFIC AHEAD BEGUN TO SLOW AND STOP FOR THE TRAFFIC LIGHT SIGNAL A CHANGE, UPON ATTEMPTING TO STOP THE ABS BRAKE SYSTEM FAILED AND ONLY GAVE A WARRING UNTIL AFTER MY VEHICLE REAR ENDED THE CAR IN FRONT OF CAUSING ME BET THROWN VIOLENTLY FORWARD AND BACKWARD WHICH, GAVE RISE TO WHIPLASH INJURY, DAMAGING THE FRONT END OF MY VEHICLE AND THE REAR END OF THE VEHICLE IN FRONT WITH SIMILAR INJURIES THE DRIVER OF THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/24/2014 - BEVERLY HILLLS, CA
I WAS TRAVELING IN TRAILING A SAFE DISTANCE BEHIND ANOTHER VEHICLE AT A SPEED OF AABOUT 35 MILES PER HOUR AND AS WE APPROACHED S TRAFFIC SIGNAL, ALL CARS BEGUN TO SLOW FOR THE YELLOW LIGHT IN ORDER TO PREPARE FOR A SAFE STOP. HOW EVER, UPON MY ATTEMPTING TO STOP THE BRAKES SUDDENLY FAILED AND AN A RED WARNING LIGHT CAME ON "STOP" MY VEHICLE FAILED TO STOP AND I COLLIDED INTO THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME CAUSING INJURY TO THE OTHER DRIVER AND MYSELF. THERE WAS NEVER A WAD AILEDHNING LIGHT THAT THE ABS SYSTEM WAS FAILING.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: STORAGE: TANK ASSEMBLY

10/15/2014 - ELCAJON , CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MERCEDES BENZ SL500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, A KNOCKING NOISE EMITTED FROM THE REAR DRIVER'S SIDE. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT FUEL TANK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/14/2014 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MERCEDES BENZ SL500. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 2 MPH, A WARNING LIGHT SUDDENLY FLASHED THAT INDICATED THAT THE BRAKES WERE FAULTY. THE CONTACT DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL TO STOP THE VEHICLE, BUT THE BRAKES MALFUNCTIONED AND INCREASED THE STOPPING DISTANCE. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE ELECTRONIC BRAKE BOOSTER WAS FAULTY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED, BUT NO SOLUTION WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,000.

View Details

STEERING

8/22/2014 - EL SEGUNDO , CA
DRIVING ON FREEWAY AND HIT BUMP ON FREEWAY THE ABC LIGHTS COME ON VECHICLE HARD TO COTROL HERE RUBBING , VEHICLE TO LOW FLASHES WENT STRAIGHT TO DEALER.

View Details

WHEELS

8/22/2014 - EL SEGUNDO , CA
DRIVING ON FREEWAY AND HIT BUMP ON FREEWAY THE ABC LIGHTS COME ON VECHICLE HARD TO COTROL HERE RUBBING , VEHICLE TO LOW FLASHES WENT STRAIGHT TO DEALER.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/22/2014 - EL SEGUNDO , CA
DRIVING ON FREEWAY AND HIT BUMP ON FREEWAY THE ABC LIGHTS COME ON VECHICLE HARD TO COTROL HERE RUBBING , VEHICLE TO LOW FLASHES WENT STRAIGHT TO DEALER.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/8/2014 - APTOS, CA
THE GAS TANK BAFFLE HAD BROKEN AND IT IS KNOCKING INSIDE THE TANK. I AM CONCERNED THAT IT WILL BREAK AND CAUSE A FIRE

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/3/2014 - REFORD, NC
THE LEFT SIDE (DRIVER'S SIDE) OF MY VEHICLE SUSPENSION SYSTEM WILL LOWER ITSELF. THE WILL OCCUR WHEN THE VEHICLE IS PARKED FOR A PERLONG PERIOD OF TIME AND ON ANY TYPE OF SURFACE OR GRADE. I WAS INFORMED THAT MY VEHICLE HAS ZERO DEFECTS. TO RAISE THE SUSPENSION, I AM REQUIRE TO PRESS THE ABC SUSPENSION BUTTON AND THE SUSPENSION RAISED TO THE PROPER HEIGHT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/27/2012 - NAPLES, FL
PARKED THE CAR . WHEN TRIED TO BACKUP THE CAR FROM PARKED SPACE, THE FRONT OF THE CAR GOT STUCK OVER THE CONCRETE BARRIERS AND BROKE THE FRONT. UPON INSPECTION I REALIZED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE OF THE CAR IS DROPPED ABOUT 3 INCHES. I TOOK IT TO DEALER AND AFTER 2-3 MONTHS TESTING AND FLUSHING , THEY TOLD ME THEY NEED TO REPLACE THE VALVE AT A COST OF $3500.00. A FEW WEEKS LATER, THE HOLE DRIVER SIDE IS DROPPING BOTH FRONT AND BACK. THEY TELL ME ANOTHER VALVE NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. I CHECK DIFFERENT SITE ON INTERNET AND REALIZE THIS ISSUE IS KNOWN TO DEALERS AND THERE A GREAT DEAL OF DOCUMENTATION ON-LINE. I APPRECIATE IF YOUR OFFICE COULD INVESTIGATE AND GET BACK TO ME. THANKS

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds