Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCEDES SL500 - 2004 MERCEDES SL500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mercedes-Benz USA, LLC.

There are 25 complaints filed for the 2004 MERCEDES SL500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 MERCEDES SL500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 MERCEDES SL500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Service Brakes (3) Steering (1) Suspension (14) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Structure (1) Unknown Or Other (1) Wheels (3)
Power Train (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  ... 3
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/6/2016 - NORFOLK, VA
THERE IS A CONSTANT SWINGING NOUSE IN THE WALL BEHIND THE SEATS WHICH IS CONSISTANT TO THE PROBLEMS A LOT OF OWNERS ARE HAVING. I HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM WITH MY MERCEDES AND THE NOISE JUST SEEMS TO BE SOMETHING IS FREE SWINGING INSIDE THE TANK OR AROUND IT WHICH IS VERY IRRITATING FOR SUCH A LUXURY VEHICLE. PLEASE GIVE ME A SOLUTION TO THIS PROBLEM THAT SEEMS TO BE COMMON WHEN THE VEHICLE IS DRIVEN OR STOPPING.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/4/2016 - LOS ANGELES, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MERCEDES-BENZ SL500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE ABRUPTLY ACCELERATED WHILE DRIVING 2 MPH. THE ACTIVATE BODY CONTROL SYSTEM FAILED AND CAUSED THE HYDRAULIC SYSTEM TO DROP LOWER WHILE DRIVING. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO COAST ONTO THE ROAD SHOULDER. THE ACTIVE BODY CONTROL SYSTEM WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AFTER THE FAILURE OCCURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE HYDRAULIC SYSTEM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 56,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/4/2016 - LOS ANGELES, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MERCEDES-BENZ SL500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE ABRUPTLY ACCELERATED WHILE DRIVING 2 MPH. THE ACTIVATE BODY CONTROL SYSTEM FAILED AND CAUSED THE HYDRAULIC SYSTEM TO DROP LOWER WHILE DRIVING. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO COAST ONTO THE ROAD SHOULDER. THE ACTIVE BODY CONTROL SYSTEM WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AFTER THE FAILURE OCCURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE HYDRAULIC SYSTEM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 56,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/24/2015 - CHESAPEAKE, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MERCEDES BENZ SL500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS EQUIPPED WITH A COMPRESSED AIR SUSPENSION SYSTEM AND WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE ACTIVE BODY CONTROL WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, ANOTHER INDICATOR DISPLAYED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TOO LOW AS THE PASSENGER'S SIDE RIDE HEIGHT WAS LOWERED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHO INFORMED THAT THE ACTIVE BODY CONTROL SYSTEM OR THE SENSOR WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/5/2015 - LAS VEGAS, NV
RED ABC WARNING LIGHT ON. SUSPENSION SYSTEM IN FAILURE MODE REDUCING ROAD HANDLING AND VEHICLE CONTROL BELOW MINIMUM SAFETY LEVELS. MB REPAIR COSTS EXCEED BLUE BOOK CAR VALUE EVEN THOUGH VEHICLE USE LESS THAN HALF LIFE. LIC. P.E #6274 NOTES MB DESIGN/ENGINEERING FAILURE--INTENTIONAL MAL-DESIGN SCHEME SET-UP TO DEFRAUD CONSUMERS OF BILLIONS $. SEVERE GRAFT/ OVER CHARGE IN PROCESS IN THAT AIRBUS AIRCRAFT AND NUCLEAR DESIGN /ENGINEERING BY MB FACILITATES PATHWAY TO APPROPRIATE SCALED DOWN COSTS FOR GROUND TRANSPORTATION VEHICLES. MB ALSO NEEDS TO RESPOND THIS MB CAR OWNER SO THAT ELEVATED DISCONTENT IS A NON OCCURRENCE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/20/2015 - INGLEWOOD, CA
I WAS DRIVING IN HEAVY BUMPER TO BUMPER RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC WHEN THE CARS IN FRONT APPROACHED THE RED LIGHT I BEGUN TO APPLY BRAKES AND MY BRAKES WOULD NOT RESPOND UNTIL I STOOD UP ON THE BRAKES AND AS A RESULT I REAR ENDED THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME. LUCKILY NO ONE WAS INJURED. I CARRIED THE CAR TO THE MERCEDES AUTHORIZED DEALERSHIP IN BEVERLY HILLS AND THE PROBLEM WAS DIAGNOSED A ABS PUMP FAILURE AND THEY STATED THAT THERE WAS A RECALL AND THE PREVIOUS OWNER CARRIED IT IN, THEREFORE, I HAD TO PAY FOR THE REPLACEMENT. THEN ON OR ABOUT SEPT 18, THE ABC LIGHT CAME ON AND THE FRONT SUSPENSION FAILED CAUSING THE CAR TO DROP TOO LOW TO SAFELY DRIVE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/9/2015 - WEBSTER , NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MERCEDES BENZ SL500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SUSPENSION WAS LEANING LOWER ON THE DRIVER SIDE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 38,000. UPDATED 8/27/15

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/3/2015 - FARMINGDALE, NY
THE ABC VEHICLE HEIGHT CONTROL SYSTEM CAUSED THE CAR TO DROP VERY CLOSE TO THE GROUND MAKING THE CAR UNDRIVEABLE, HOWEVER AFTER PULLING TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND ALLOWING THE CAR TO SIT, THEN RE STARTING THE CAR WENT UP TO ITS NORMAL HEIGHT, WHAT IF I WAS IN THE EXPRESSWAY?

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/3/2015 - FARMINGDALE, NY
THE ABC VEHICLE HEIGHT CONTROL SYSTEM CAUSED THE CAR TO DROP VERY CLOSE TO THE GROUND MAKING THE CAR UNDRIVEABLE, HOWEVER AFTER PULLING TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND ALLOWING THE CAR TO SIT, THEN RE STARTING THE CAR WENT UP TO ITS NORMAL HEIGHT, WHAT IF I WAS IN THE EXPRESSWAY?

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/11/2014 - BEVERLY HILLS, CA, CA
WAS TRAVELING BEHIND ANOTHER VEHICLE AT APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH AROUND 6PM WHEN TRAFFIC AHEAD BEGUN TO SLOW AND STOP FOR THE TRAFFIC LIGHT SIGNAL A CHANGE, UPON ATTEMPTING TO STOP THE ABS BRAKE SYSTEM FAILED AND ONLY GAVE A WARNING UNTIL AFTER MY VEHICLE REAR ENDED THE CAR IN FRONT OF CAUSING ME BET THROWN VIOLENTLY FORWARD AND BACKWARD WHICH, GAVE RISE TO WHIPLASH INJURY, DAMAGING THE FRONT END OF MY VEHICLE AND THE REAR END OF THE VEHICLE IN FRONT WITH SIMILAR INJURIES THE DRIVER OF THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  ... 3
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds