Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCEDES SL500 - 2004 MERCEDES SL500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mercedes-Benz USA, LLC.

There are 29 complaints filed for the 2004 MERCEDES SL500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 MERCEDES SL500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 MERCEDES SL500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Service Brakes (4) Steering (1) Suspension (17) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Structure (1) Unknown Or Other (1) Wheels (3)
Power Train (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  ... 3
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/4/2017 - ROYSE CITY, TX
I LIVE IN TEXAS AND MY MERCEDES WENT INTO LIMP MODE AT A RED LIGHT. I CAN NOT GET MY TRANSMISSION REPAIRED ANYWHERE ELSE BECAUSE THEY HAVE MADE IT IMPOSSIBLE FOR ANY OTHER SHOPS TO BE ABLE TO SERVICE THIS SPECIFIC TRANSMISSION. THEY TELL ME AND I QUOTE "WE ARE UNABLE TO WORK ON THIS TRANSMISSION BECAUSE IT REQUIRES SPECIAL TOOLS WHICH ONLY MERCEDES DEALERSHIP CARRY SO YOU WILL HAVE TO TAKE IT TO THEM, SORRY" PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE RECALL THIS TRANSMISSION!!! ANOTHER TIME I WAS DIVING DOWN THE HWY DOING 70MPH WHEN THE ABC TOO LOW DASH LIGHT CAME ON AS WELL AS MY CAR DROPPING 2 INCHED TO THE GROUND AS I WAS DRIVE 70MPH PLUS I LOST CONTROL OF STEERING. AND ONCE AGAIN NO ONE COULD WORK ON IT BECAUSE IT REQUIRES SPECIAL TOOLS. AND THE ONE PLACE THAT COULD SAID THEY WERE MERCEDES BENZ CERTIFIED. AFTER HAVING MY CAR 3 DAYS AND PAYING $125 FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TEST. I WAS TOLD IT WAS GOING TO BE $5000+ TO FIX. LONG STORY SHORT I PAYED THE CAR LOT WHERE I BOUGHT IT FROM $3587.00 TO FIX IT .

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/4/2017 - ROYSE CITY, TX
I LIVE IN TEXAS AND MY MERCEDES WENT INTO LIMP MODE AT A RED LIGHT. I CAN NOT GET MY TRANSMISSION REPAIRED ANYWHERE ELSE BECAUSE THEY HAVE MADE IT IMPOSSIBLE FOR ANY OTHER SHOPS TO BE ABLE TO SERVICE THIS SPECIFIC TRANSMISSION. THEY TELL ME AND I QUOTE "WE ARE UNABLE TO WORK ON THIS TRANSMISSION BECAUSE IT REQUIRES SPECIAL TOOLS WHICH ONLY MERCEDES DEALERSHIP CARRY SO YOU WILL HAVE TO TAKE IT TO THEM, SORRY" PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE RECALL THIS TRANSMISSION!!! ANOTHER TIME I WAS DIVING DOWN THE HWY DOING 70MPH WHEN THE ABC TOO LOW DASH LIGHT CAME ON AS WELL AS MY CAR DROPPING 2 INCHED TO THE GROUND AS I WAS DRIVE 70MPH PLUS I LOST CONTROL OF STEERING. AND ONCE AGAIN NO ONE COULD WORK ON IT BECAUSE IT REQUIRES SPECIAL TOOLS. AND THE ONE PLACE THAT COULD SAID THEY WERE MERCEDES BENZ CERTIFIED. AFTER HAVING MY CAR 3 DAYS AND PAYING $125 FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TEST. I WAS TOLD IT WAS GOING TO BE $5000+ TO FIX. LONG STORY SHORT I PAYED THE CAR LOT WHERE I BOUGHT IT FROM $3587.00 TO FIX IT .

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/4/2017 - ROYSE CITY, TX
I LIVE IN TEXAS AND MY MERCEDES WENT INTO LIMP MODE AT A RED LIGHT. I CAN NOT GET MY TRANSMISSION REPAIRED ANYWHERE ELSE BECAUSE THEY HAVE MADE IT IMPOSSIBLE FOR ANY OTHER SHOPS TO BE ABLE TO SERVICE THIS SPECIFIC TRANSMISSION. THEY TELL ME AND I QUOTE "WE ARE UNABLE TO WORK ON THIS TRANSMISSION BECAUSE IT REQUIRES SPECIAL TOOLS WHICH ONLY MERCEDES DEALERSHIP CARRY SO YOU WILL HAVE TO TAKE IT TO THEM, SORRY" PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE RECALL THIS TRANSMISSION!!! ANOTHER TIME I WAS DIVING DOWN THE HWY DOING 70MPH WHEN THE ABC TOO LOW DASH LIGHT CAME ON AS WELL AS MY CAR DROPPING 2 INCHED TO THE GROUND AS I WAS DRIVE 70MPH PLUS I LOST CONTROL OF STEERING. AND ONCE AGAIN NO ONE COULD WORK ON IT BECAUSE IT REQUIRES SPECIAL TOOLS. AND THE ONE PLACE THAT COULD SAID THEY WERE MERCEDES BENZ CERTIFIED. AFTER HAVING MY CAR 3 DAYS AND PAYING $125 FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TEST. I WAS TOLD IT WAS GOING TO BE $5000+ TO FIX. LONG STORY SHORT I PAYED THE CAR LOT WHERE I BOUGHT IT FROM $3587.00 TO FIX IT .

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/13/2017 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
BRAKES FAIL...WARNING LIGHT ONLY AFTER YOU HAVE NO BRAKES...A SUICIDE MACHINE IN TRAFFIC

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/6/2017 - LOS ANGELES, CA
I HAVE HAD MAJOR PROBLEMS WITH THE SUSPENSION. THE ABC LIGHT CAME ON BEFORE. THE CAR DROPPED ON THE FREEWAY. I ALMOST LOST CONTROL. IT IS A MAJOR PROBLEM THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN RECALLED AND FIXED PROPERLY. I'VE ONLY DRIVEN 400 MILES IN THE LAST FEW YEARS TOTAL BECAUSE I'M AFRAID SOMETHING BAD WILL HAPPEN AGAIN.

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/10/2016 - ATASCADERO, CA
THE VEHICLES SUSPENSION ERRATICALLY LOWERS AND RISES WHILE DRIVING CAUSING THE DRIVER TO LOSE TEMPORARY CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. THIS OCCURS UNEXPECTEDLY AT ALL SPEEDS. THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN TOWED TO THE MERCEDES DEALER 4 TIMES. THE DEALER HAS FLUSHED THE HYDRAULIC FLUID ONCE, REPLACED ONE STRUT TWICE, AND 3 SUSPENSION ACCELERATION SENSORS AND 1 SEND UNIT. THE VEHICLE WAS RETURNED TO ME SEVERAL TIMES AND CONDITION CONTINUED AND WAS RETURNED BACK TO THE DEALER. CURRENTLY THE DEALER HAS THE VEHICLE AND IS NOT SURE HOW TO REPAIR IT. THE VEHICLE COMPUTER DOES NOT INDICATE CODES, BUT DEALER HAS DRIVEN THE VEHICLE AND WITNESS THIS UNSAFE CONDITION. A FORMAL COMPLIANT BEEN FILED WITH MERCEDES USA. THE VEHICLE IS UNSAFE TO DRIVE BASED ON CURRENT CONDITION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/6/2016 - NORFOLK, VA
THERE IS A CONSTANT SWINGING NOUSE IN THE WALL BEHIND THE SEATS WHICH IS CONSISTANT TO THE PROBLEMS A LOT OF OWNERS ARE HAVING. I HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM WITH MY MERCEDES AND THE NOISE JUST SEEMS TO BE SOMETHING IS FREE SWINGING INSIDE THE TANK OR AROUND IT WHICH IS VERY IRRITATING FOR SUCH A LUXURY VEHICLE. PLEASE GIVE ME A SOLUTION TO THIS PROBLEM THAT SEEMS TO BE COMMON WHEN THE VEHICLE IS DRIVEN OR STOPPING.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/4/2016 - LOS ANGELES, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MERCEDES-BENZ SL500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE ABRUPTLY ACCELERATED WHILE DRIVING 2 MPH. THE ACTIVATE BODY CONTROL SYSTEM FAILED AND CAUSED THE HYDRAULIC SYSTEM TO DROP LOWER WHILE DRIVING. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO COAST ONTO THE ROAD SHOULDER. THE ACTIVE BODY CONTROL SYSTEM WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AFTER THE FAILURE OCCURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE HYDRAULIC SYSTEM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 56,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/4/2016 - LOS ANGELES, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MERCEDES-BENZ SL500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE ABRUPTLY ACCELERATED WHILE DRIVING 2 MPH. THE ACTIVATE BODY CONTROL SYSTEM FAILED AND CAUSED THE HYDRAULIC SYSTEM TO DROP LOWER WHILE DRIVING. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO COAST ONTO THE ROAD SHOULDER. THE ACTIVE BODY CONTROL SYSTEM WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AFTER THE FAILURE OCCURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE HYDRAULIC SYSTEM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 56,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/24/2015 - CHESAPEAKE, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MERCEDES BENZ SL500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS EQUIPPED WITH A COMPRESSED AIR SUSPENSION SYSTEM AND WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE ACTIVE BODY CONTROL WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, ANOTHER INDICATOR DISPLAYED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TOO LOW AS THE PASSENGER'S SIDE RIDE HEIGHT WAS LOWERED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHO INFORMED THAT THE ACTIVE BODY CONTROL SYSTEM OR THE SENSOR WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  ... 3
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds