Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCEDES SL500 - 2004 MERCEDES SL500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mercedes-Benz USA, LLC.

There are 33 complaints filed for the 2004 MERCEDES SL500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 MERCEDES SL500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 MERCEDES SL500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Suspension (20) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electrical System (1) Power Train (3) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (1) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Service Brakes (5) Structure (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

1/4/2018 - CHESAPEAKE, VA
I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE IN 2014. MY BRAKES COMPLETELY WENT OUT WHILE DRIVING JANUARY 1 2018. I WAS ATTEMPTING TO STOP AT AN INTERSECTION WHEN THE THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT STOP WITH ONCOMING TRAFFIC ON BOTH SIDES COMING TOWARDS ME. I IMMEDIATELY PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR AND SPED THROUGH THE INTERSECTION TO AVOID AN ACCIDENT....ABSOLUTELY TERRIFYING AND WITHOUT ANY WARNING WHATSOEVER. BECAUSE THE DEALERSHIP WAS CLOSED I WAS UNABLE TO SEEK SERVICE THAT DAY. I CALLED MERCEDES OF RICHMOND VA BEING THAT WAS THE CLOSEST DEALERSHIP WHERE I WAS VISITING AT AT THE TIME. UNFORTUNATELY I COULD NOT GET AN APPOINTMENT UNTIL JANUARY 3RD. I HAD IT TOWED THAT MORNING AND THEY CAME BACK HOURS LATER NOTIFYING ME IT WAS IN FACE THE SBC SYSTEM WHICH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AT THE COST OF $2006. I WAS OUTRAGED LEARNING THAT MBUSA KNEW OF THIS ISSUE NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 04V296000 IN JUNE 2004 BUT CLOSED IT OUT IN DECEMBER 2013. I DID NOT PURCHASE THE VEHICLE UNTIL 2014. I ASKED IF THERE WAS ANYTHING THEY COULD DO TO ASSIST ME AS ONE OF THE ASSOCIATES INFORMED ME ABOUT "GOOD WILL" SERVICE WHERE THEY MIGHT CONSIDER MY SITUATION AND HELP. I WAS AGAIN EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED TO LEARN THEY WOULD ONLY ASSIST WITH $300 AS WE HAVE 2 MERCEDES AND HAVE INCURRED THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS IN KNOWN REPAIR ISSUES OF THE FEW YEARS. I AM ASKING THAT MBUSA ACCEPT THE COST OF THIS REPAIR AS IT WAS A KNOWN ISSUE THAT THEY WERE REPLACING AT NO COST TO OWNER. I HAVE 131,000 MILES ON THE CAR WHICH IS UNDER MILEAGE FOR THAT YEAR. THEY TOLD ME TO ASK MERCEDES IF THEY WOULD CONSIDER ASSISTING IN ANY WAY BUT THEY SAID THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/13/2017 - EDMOND, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MERCEDES-BENZ SL500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SUSPENSION FAILED AND CAUSED THE WHEELS TO DROP AGAINST THE INSIDE OF THE FENDERS. THE VEHICLE WAS INOPERABLE UNLESS LIFTED UP WITH SOME SORT OF LIFTING EQUIPMENT. THE CONTACT INFORMED MERCEDES-BENZ OF OKLAHOMA CITY WHO STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS A DESIGN ISSUE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO THE DEALER. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 81,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/9/2017 - INGLEWOOD, CA
"TAKATA RECALL" 1. THE TOTAL BODY OF MY 2004 SL MERCEDES BENZ SUDDENLY COLLAPSED WITHOUT WARNING TO WITHIN 3 INCHES FROM HI-WAY WHILE TRAVELING ON THE FREEWAY APPROXIMATELY 50 MILES AN HOUR CAUSING ME TO LOOSE CONTROL DUE TO THE WHEELS TO DRAG AGAINST THE UNDERCARRIAGE AND DAMAGE TO FRONT BUMPER PREVENTING ME ME TO STEER FREELY WHILE FLUID FROM THE RUPTURED ABC VALVE LINE APPARENT SPRAYED ON TO THE ENGINE. THE RED ABC LIGHT CAME ON SAYING STOP TO LOW TO DRIVE FOLLOWED BY RED SRS LIGHT (SAFETY RESTRAINT SYSTEM/ AIR BAGS) THE INTERNET REVILES A MULTITUDE OF OWNERS OF THIS CLASS AND YEAR MERCEDES BENZ HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM DUE TO A RUPTURED HYDRAULIC LINE

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/10/2017 - INGLEWOO, CA
"TAKATA RECALL" 1. THE TOTAL BODY OF MY 2004 SL MERCEDES BENZ SUDDENLY COLLAPSED WITHOUT WARNING TO WITHIN 3 INCHES FROM HI-WAY WHILE TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 50 MILES AN HOUR CAUSING THE WHEELS TO DRAG AGAINST THE UNDERCARRIAGE AND DAMAGE TO FRONT BUMPER PREVENTING ME ME TO STEER FREELY WHILE FLUID FROM THE RUPTURED ABC VALVE LINE APPARENT SPRAYED ON TO THE ENGINE. THE RED ABC LIGHT CAME ON SAYING STOP TO LOW TO DRIVE FOLLOWED BY RED SRS LIGHT (SAFETY RESTAINT SYATEM/ AIR BAGS)

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/10/2017 - INGLEWOO, CA
"TAKATA RECALL" 1. THE TOTAL BODY OF MY 2004 SL MERCEDES BENZ SUDDENLY COLLAPSED WITHOUT WARNING TO WITHIN 3 INCHES FROM HI-WAY WHILE TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 50 MILES AN HOUR CAUSING THE WHEELS TO DRAG AGAINST THE UNDERCARRIAGE AND DAMAGE TO FRONT BUMPER PREVENTING ME ME TO STEER FREELY WHILE FLUID FROM THE RUPTURED ABC VALVE LINE APPARENT SPRAYED ON TO THE ENGINE. THE RED ABC LIGHT CAME ON SAYING STOP TO LOW TO DRIVE FOLLOWED BY RED SRS LIGHT (SAFETY RESTAINT SYATEM/ AIR BAGS)

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/10/2017 - INGLEWOO, CA
"TAKATA RECALL" 1. THE TOTAL BODY OF MY 2004 SL MERCEDES BENZ SUDDENLY COLLAPSED WITHOUT WARNING TO WITHIN 3 INCHES FROM HI-WAY WHILE TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 50 MILES AN HOUR CAUSING THE WHEELS TO DRAG AGAINST THE UNDERCARRIAGE AND DAMAGE TO FRONT BUMPER PREVENTING ME ME TO STEER FREELY WHILE FLUID FROM THE RUPTURED ABC VALVE LINE APPARENT SPRAYED ON TO THE ENGINE. THE RED ABC LIGHT CAME ON SAYING STOP TO LOW TO DRIVE FOLLOWED BY RED SRS LIGHT (SAFETY RESTAINT SYATEM/ AIR BAGS)

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/4/2017 - ROYSE CITY, TX
I LIVE IN TEXAS AND MY MERCEDES WENT INTO LIMP MODE AT A RED LIGHT. I CAN NOT GET MY TRANSMISSION REPAIRED ANYWHERE ELSE BECAUSE THEY HAVE MADE IT IMPOSSIBLE FOR ANY OTHER SHOPS TO BE ABLE TO SERVICE THIS SPECIFIC TRANSMISSION. THEY TELL ME AND I QUOTE "WE ARE UNABLE TO WORK ON THIS TRANSMISSION BECAUSE IT REQUIRES SPECIAL TOOLS WHICH ONLY MERCEDES DEALERSHIP CARRY SO YOU WILL HAVE TO TAKE IT TO THEM, SORRY" PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE RECALL THIS TRANSMISSION!!! ANOTHER TIME I WAS DIVING DOWN THE HWY DOING 70MPH WHEN THE ABC TOO LOW DASH LIGHT CAME ON AS WELL AS MY CAR DROPPING 2 INCHED TO THE GROUND AS I WAS DRIVE 70MPH PLUS I LOST CONTROL OF STEERING. AND ONCE AGAIN NO ONE COULD WORK ON IT BECAUSE IT REQUIRES SPECIAL TOOLS. AND THE ONE PLACE THAT COULD SAID THEY WERE MERCEDES BENZ CERTIFIED. AFTER HAVING MY CAR 3 DAYS AND PAYING $125 FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TEST. I WAS TOLD IT WAS GOING TO BE $5000+ TO FIX. LONG STORY SHORT I PAYED THE CAR LOT WHERE I BOUGHT IT FROM $3587.00 TO FIX IT .

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/4/2017 - ROYSE CITY, TX
I LIVE IN TEXAS AND MY MERCEDES WENT INTO LIMP MODE AT A RED LIGHT. I CAN NOT GET MY TRANSMISSION REPAIRED ANYWHERE ELSE BECAUSE THEY HAVE MADE IT IMPOSSIBLE FOR ANY OTHER SHOPS TO BE ABLE TO SERVICE THIS SPECIFIC TRANSMISSION. THEY TELL ME AND I QUOTE "WE ARE UNABLE TO WORK ON THIS TRANSMISSION BECAUSE IT REQUIRES SPECIAL TOOLS WHICH ONLY MERCEDES DEALERSHIP CARRY SO YOU WILL HAVE TO TAKE IT TO THEM, SORRY" PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE RECALL THIS TRANSMISSION!!! ANOTHER TIME I WAS DIVING DOWN THE HWY DOING 70MPH WHEN THE ABC TOO LOW DASH LIGHT CAME ON AS WELL AS MY CAR DROPPING 2 INCHED TO THE GROUND AS I WAS DRIVE 70MPH PLUS I LOST CONTROL OF STEERING. AND ONCE AGAIN NO ONE COULD WORK ON IT BECAUSE IT REQUIRES SPECIAL TOOLS. AND THE ONE PLACE THAT COULD SAID THEY WERE MERCEDES BENZ CERTIFIED. AFTER HAVING MY CAR 3 DAYS AND PAYING $125 FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TEST. I WAS TOLD IT WAS GOING TO BE $5000+ TO FIX. LONG STORY SHORT I PAYED THE CAR LOT WHERE I BOUGHT IT FROM $3587.00 TO FIX IT .

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/4/2017 - ROYSE CITY, TX
I LIVE IN TEXAS AND MY MERCEDES WENT INTO LIMP MODE AT A RED LIGHT. I CAN NOT GET MY TRANSMISSION REPAIRED ANYWHERE ELSE BECAUSE THEY HAVE MADE IT IMPOSSIBLE FOR ANY OTHER SHOPS TO BE ABLE TO SERVICE THIS SPECIFIC TRANSMISSION. THEY TELL ME AND I QUOTE "WE ARE UNABLE TO WORK ON THIS TRANSMISSION BECAUSE IT REQUIRES SPECIAL TOOLS WHICH ONLY MERCEDES DEALERSHIP CARRY SO YOU WILL HAVE TO TAKE IT TO THEM, SORRY" PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE RECALL THIS TRANSMISSION!!! ANOTHER TIME I WAS DIVING DOWN THE HWY DOING 70MPH WHEN THE ABC TOO LOW DASH LIGHT CAME ON AS WELL AS MY CAR DROPPING 2 INCHED TO THE GROUND AS I WAS DRIVE 70MPH PLUS I LOST CONTROL OF STEERING. AND ONCE AGAIN NO ONE COULD WORK ON IT BECAUSE IT REQUIRES SPECIAL TOOLS. AND THE ONE PLACE THAT COULD SAID THEY WERE MERCEDES BENZ CERTIFIED. AFTER HAVING MY CAR 3 DAYS AND PAYING $125 FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TEST. I WAS TOLD IT WAS GOING TO BE $5000+ TO FIX. LONG STORY SHORT I PAYED THE CAR LOT WHERE I BOUGHT IT FROM $3587.00 TO FIX IT .

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/13/2017 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
BRAKES FAIL...WARNING LIGHT ONLY AFTER YOU HAVE NO BRAKES...A SUICIDE MACHINE IN TRAFFIC

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds