Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCEDES SL500 - 2004 MERCEDES SL500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mercedes-Benz USA, LLC.

There are 12 complaints filed for the 2004 MERCEDES SL500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 MERCEDES SL500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 MERCEDES SL500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Suspension (8) Wheels (2)
Fuel System Gasoline (3)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

7/3/2014 - REFORD, NC
THE LEFT SIDE (DRIVER'S SIDE) OF MY VEHICLE SUSPENSION SYSTEM WILL LOWER ITSELF. THE WILL OCCUR WHEN THE VEHICLE IS PARKED FOR A PERLONG PERIOD OF TIME AND ON ANY TYPE OF SURFACE OR GRADE. I WAS INFORMED THAT MY VEHICLE HAS ZERO DEFECTS. TO RAISE THE SUSPENSION, I AM REQUIRE TO PRESS THE ABC SUSPENSION BUTTON AND THE SUSPENSION RAISED TO THE PROPER HEIGHT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/27/2012 - NAPLES, FL
PARKED THE CAR . WHEN TRIED TO BACKUP THE CAR FROM PARKED SPACE, THE FRONT OF THE CAR GOT STUCK OVER THE CONCRETE BARRIERS AND BROKE THE FRONT. UPON INSPECTION I REALIZED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE OF THE CAR IS DROPPED ABOUT 3 INCHES. I TOOK IT TO DEALER AND AFTER 2-3 MONTHS TESTING AND FLUSHING , THEY TOLD ME THEY NEED TO REPLACE THE VALVE AT A COST OF $3500.00. A FEW WEEKS LATER, THE HOLE DRIVER SIDE IS DROPPING BOTH FRONT AND BACK. THEY TELL ME ANOTHER VALVE NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. I CHECK DIFFERENT SITE ON INTERNET AND REALIZE THIS ISSUE IS KNOWN TO DEALERS AND THERE A GREAT DEAL OF DOCUMENTATION ON-LINE. I APPRECIATE IF YOUR OFFICE COULD INVESTIGATE AND GET BACK TO ME. THANKS

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

7/27/2011 - BULLHEAD CITY, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MERCEDES BENZ SL 500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ACTIVE BODY CONTROL WAS LEAKING FLUID NEAR THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED TO HAVE THE ACTIVE BODY CONTROL REPLACED. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 07V263000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING) PERTAINING TO THE CL CLASS MODEL BUT THE ACTIVE BODY CONTROL COMPONENT WAS THE SAME IN THE SL CLASS MODELS. THE CONTACT BELIEVED THE VEHICLE WAS UNSAFE TO DRIVE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 74,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

3/28/2011 - CLIFFSIDE PARK, NJ
BAFFLE IN MY FUEL TANK ON MY 2004 MERCEDES SL 500 HAS BROKEN. CAUSES A LOUD KNOCKING SOUND. ENTIRE FUEL TANK HAS TO BE REPLACED. RESEARCHING MANY BLOGS AND FORUMS FOUND MANY OF SL OWNERS HAS SAME EXPERIENCED. I BELIEVE THIS SHOULD BE HANDLED UNDER A RECALL FROM THE MANUFACTURER.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

3/20/2011 - CA, CA
2004 MERCEDES-BENZ SL500, LOUD KNOCKING NOISE FROM THE REAR.FUEL TANK MIGHT NEED TO BE REPLACED... SEEMS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THESE CARS.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/26/2011 - NORTH MIAMI, FL
MY 2004 MERCEDES SL 500 SUSPENSION COMPLETELY DROPPED TO THE TIRES "WITHOUT WARNING" WHILE I WAS DRIVING DOWN INTERSTATE 95 DURING RUSH HOUR IN MIAMI, FLORIDA WHICH CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO NOT RESPOND OR HANDLE PROPERLY AS THE VEHICLE ROLLED AND FLOATED IN DIFFERENT DIRECTIONS. IT WAS VERY SCARY! FORTUNATELY I WAS ABLE TO GET THE CAR TO A SAFE LOCATION OFF THE INTERSTATE HIGHWAY! AS A LICENSED ATTORNEY I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS ISSUE BE "FULLY INVESTIGATED" BY THE NHTSA. THIS IS A VERY HIGH PERFORMANCE SPORTS ROADSTER THAT PEOPLE EXPECT TO BE SAFE WHILE DRIVING! SOME ALSO DRIVE THESE VEHICLE AT HIGH RATES OF SPEED (NOT LEGALLY) BUT YOU KNOW THAT THE SL 500 WAS THE MOST FREQUENTED VEHICLE FOR SPEEDING THIS PAST YEAR IN THE NATION AND NOT BEING ABLE TO CONTROL ONES VEHICLE AT ANY SPEED IS FRIGHTENING AND HAZARDOUS TO BOTH THOSE DRIVING THE VEHICLE, PASSENGERS AS WELL AS THE OTHER COMMUTERS ON OUR ROADS AND HIGHWAYS. BEFORE WE HAVE ANOTHER TOYOTA DISASTER I HIGHLY SUGGEST THIS MATTER BE INVESTIGATED IMMEDIATELY. LET US NOT HAVE PREVENTABLE DEADLY ACCIDENTS BEFORE WE MAKE A CHANGE AND RECALL THIS CAR!!! THE WHOLE CAR NOW MOVES UP AND DOWN AT RANDOM AND THAT MAKES THE VEHICLE UNSAFE TO DRIVE. PERFORMING A SIMPLE "GOOGLE SEARCH" REVEALS THAT MERCEDES BENZ ALREADY "KNOWS" AND HAS "NOTICE" OF THE PROBLEM FROM MANY MB CONSUMERS. I DO NOT BELIEVE THAT A CAR NO MATTER WHAT AGE SHOULD HAVE A SUSPENSION SYSTEM THAT CAN LITERALLY GO OUT AND LEAVE THE PASSENGERS AND DRIVER SUBJECT TO DEATH OR SERIOUS BODILY INJURY. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS MATTER ASAP! SINCERELY, VERY CONCERNED/WORRIED CONSUMER.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

2/26/2011 - NORTH MIAMI, FL
MY 2004 MERCEDES SL 500 SUSPENSION COMPLETELY DROPPED TO THE TIRES "WITHOUT WARNING" WHILE I WAS DRIVING DOWN INTERSTATE 95 DURING RUSH HOUR IN MIAMI, FLORIDA WHICH CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO NOT RESPOND OR HANDLE PROPERLY AS THE VEHICLE ROLLED AND FLOATED IN DIFFERENT DIRECTIONS. IT WAS VERY SCARY! FORTUNATELY I WAS ABLE TO GET THE CAR TO A SAFE LOCATION OFF THE INTERSTATE HIGHWAY! AS A LICENSED ATTORNEY I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS ISSUE BE "FULLY INVESTIGATED" BY THE NHTSA. THIS IS A VERY HIGH PERFORMANCE SPORTS ROADSTER THAT PEOPLE EXPECT TO BE SAFE WHILE DRIVING! SOME ALSO DRIVE THESE VEHICLE AT HIGH RATES OF SPEED (NOT LEGALLY) BUT YOU KNOW THAT THE SL 500 WAS THE MOST FREQUENTED VEHICLE FOR SPEEDING THIS PAST YEAR IN THE NATION AND NOT BEING ABLE TO CONTROL ONES VEHICLE AT ANY SPEED IS FRIGHTENING AND HAZARDOUS TO BOTH THOSE DRIVING THE VEHICLE, PASSENGERS AS WELL AS THE OTHER COMMUTERS ON OUR ROADS AND HIGHWAYS. BEFORE WE HAVE ANOTHER TOYOTA DISASTER I HIGHLY SUGGEST THIS MATTER BE INVESTIGATED IMMEDIATELY. LET US NOT HAVE PREVENTABLE DEADLY ACCIDENTS BEFORE WE MAKE A CHANGE AND RECALL THIS CAR!!! THE WHOLE CAR NOW MOVES UP AND DOWN AT RANDOM AND THAT MAKES THE VEHICLE UNSAFE TO DRIVE. PERFORMING A SIMPLE "GOOGLE SEARCH" REVEALS THAT MERCEDES BENZ ALREADY "KNOWS" AND HAS "NOTICE" OF THE PROBLEM FROM MANY MB CONSUMERS. I DO NOT BELIEVE THAT A CAR NO MATTER WHAT AGE SHOULD HAVE A SUSPENSION SYSTEM THAT CAN LITERALLY GO OUT AND LEAVE THE PASSENGERS AND DRIVER SUBJECT TO DEATH OR SERIOUS BODILY INJURY. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS MATTER ASAP! SINCERELY, VERY CONCERNED/WORRIED CONSUMER.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/4/2010 - WASHINGTON, DC
BAFFLE IN MY FUEL TANK ON MY 2004 MERCEDES SL 500 HAS BROKEN. CAUSES A LOUD KNOCKING SOUND AND THE ONLY REMEDY IS TO SPEND $3000 TO HAVE THE ENTIRE FUEL TANK REPLACED. THIS IS HAPPENING TO HUNDREDS OF MERCEDES BENZ SL OWNERS. I BELIEVE THIS SHOULD BE HANDLED UNDER A RECALL FROM THE MANUFACTURER.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/1/2010 - ALEXANDRIA, VA
ACTIVE BODY CONTROL FAILURE ON MERCEDES BENZ SL (MODEL R230) CAUSES THE CAR TO LOWER ALL OF A SUDDEN, LOSS OF CONTROL AND STEERING LOCKING. CAR'S ABC SUSPENSION IS PRESSURIZED, AND IT HAS A HISTORY OF FAILURES. DOCUMENTED ON NHTSA SITE. THE ABC HOSE HAS A RECALL ALREADY, BUT THE ABC PUMP ITSELF CAN GO BAD ANYTIME WITHOUT WARNING. THERE ARE MANY DOCUMENTED CASES, WHICH I HAVE FROM OTHER MERCEDES OWNERS. MINE OCCURRED TRAVELING 35 MPH IN NORTHERN VIRGINIA IN A NEIGHBORHOOD ROAD, AND LUCKILY I PULLED OVER BUT NOTICED MY CAR'S REAR WAS DROPPED 4 INCHES NEARLY TOUCHING THE GROUND. SOME SL OWNERS HAVE BEEN DRIVING AT HIGHWAYS SPEEDS AND SUDDENLY ABC MALFUNCTIONS CAUSING SERIOUS DAMAGE AND POTENTIALLY DEADLY RESULTS IF IMMEDIATE PRECAUTION IS NOT TAKEN. MERCEDES BENZ USA AND IT'S DEALERS ARE WELL AWARE OF ABC ISSUES EFFECTING THEIR LINE OF MODELS INCLUDING: SL, S CLASS, AND CL CLASS. NO RECALLS ON THE ABC PUMP HAS BEEN ISSUED, BUT THE DEALERS POLITELY TELL OWNERS IT'S A KNOWN ISSUE AND IT WILL COSTS $5000.00 TO FIX. THAT'S UNACCEPTABLE. I BEG THE NHTSA TO INVESTIGATE AND IF NEED BE, I CAN GATHER MORE DATA AND FACTS FROM OWNERS AND TESTIMONIALS FOR DEALER SERVICE ADVISORS WHO KNOW OF THIS ISSUE.

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR

3/1/2010 - ALEXANDRIA, VA
ACTIVE BODY CONTROL FAILURE ON MERCEDES BENZ SL (MODEL R230) CAUSES THE CAR TO LOWER ALL OF A SUDDEN, LOSS OF CONTROL AND STEERING LOCKING. CAR'S ABC SUSPENSION IS PRESSURIZED, AND IT HAS A HISTORY OF FAILURES. DOCUMENTED ON NHTSA SITE. THE ABC HOSE HAS A RECALL ALREADY, BUT THE ABC PUMP ITSELF CAN GO BAD ANYTIME WITHOUT WARNING. THERE ARE MANY DOCUMENTED CASES, WHICH I HAVE FROM OTHER MERCEDES OWNERS. MINE OCCURRED TRAVELING 35 MPH IN NORTHERN VIRGINIA IN A NEIGHBORHOOD ROAD, AND LUCKILY I PULLED OVER BUT NOTICED MY CAR'S REAR WAS DROPPED 4 INCHES NEARLY TOUCHING THE GROUND. SOME SL OWNERS HAVE BEEN DRIVING AT HIGHWAYS SPEEDS AND SUDDENLY ABC MALFUNCTIONS CAUSING SERIOUS DAMAGE AND POTENTIALLY DEADLY RESULTS IF IMMEDIATE PRECAUTION IS NOT TAKEN. MERCEDES BENZ USA AND IT'S DEALERS ARE WELL AWARE OF ABC ISSUES EFFECTING THEIR LINE OF MODELS INCLUDING: SL, S CLASS, AND CL CLASS. NO RECALLS ON THE ABC PUMP HAS BEEN ISSUED, BUT THE DEALERS POLITELY TELL OWNERS IT'S A KNOWN ISSUE AND IT WILL COSTS $5000.00 TO FIX. THAT'S UNACCEPTABLE. I BEG THE NHTSA TO INVESTIGATE AND IF NEED BE, I CAN GATHER MORE DATA AND FACTS FROM OWNERS AND TESTIMONIALS FOR DEALER SERVICE ADVISORS WHO KNOW OF THIS ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds