Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN SENTRA - 2004 NISSAN SENTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 170 complaints filed for the 2004 NISSAN SENTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 NISSAN SENTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 NISSAN SENTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Exterior Lighting (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Tires (2)
Electrical System (26) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Power Train (6) Steering (4) Unknown Or Other (1)
Engine (22) Fuel System Gasoline (25) Seat Belts (2) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (60) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (1)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/2/2016 - WESTFIELD, IN
DEALER REFUSED TO FIX THE (REPORT RECEIPT DATE: JUL 07, 2006 NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 06V242000 COMPONENT(S): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING ) AS A RESULT THE ENGINE HAS OVER HEATED AND NOW HAS OTHER PROBLEMS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/1/2016 - WESTFIELD, IN
TOM WOOD NISSAN CARMEL IN REFUSED TO HONOR RECALL #REPORT RECEIPT DATE: JUL 07, 2006 NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 06V242000 COMPONENT(S): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/1/2016 - WESTFIELD, IN
TOM WOOD NISSAN CARMEL IN REFUSED TO HONOR RECALL #REPORT RECEIPT DATE: JUL 07, 2006 NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 06V242000 COMPONENT(S): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

View Details

ENGINE

3/17/2016 - WOODLAND MILLS, TN
MY CAR USUALLY TAKES TWO TRIES TO START. AFTER IT WARMS UP AND I'VE BEEN DRIVING, IT STALLS SUDDENLY, AND I'M STRANDED FOR SEVERAL MINUTES. WHEN IT DOES START UP AGAIN, IT GOES A SHORT DISTANCE, AND AS SOON AS THE ENGINE WARMS UP AGAIN, IT STALLS AGAIN. TODAY IT STALLED ON THE WAY HOME, THREE TIMES, IN LESS THAN 4 MILES. I WAS LEFT SITTING ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, HOPING I WOULDN'T GET HIT. I HAVE ALSO HAD IT STALL IN THE MIDDLE OF A BUSY INTERSECTION, AND AM VERY CONCERNED ABOUT IT STALLING WHEN I PULL OUT IN FRONT OF OTHER TRAFFIC TO CROSS A ROAD. I AM AT RISK OF A CRASH BECAUSE OF THIS. IT HAS STALLED WHIIE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, CITY STREETS AND ON RURAL ROADS. ONE NIGHT IT STALLED OVER A DOZEN TIMES AS I WAS PASSING THROUGH A BAD AREA OF TIME TEN O'CLOCK AT NIGHT. NISSAN IS GOING TO COST SOMEBODY THEIR LIFE IF THEY DON'T GET ON THIS AND FIX EVERY NISSAN THAT IS EXHIBITING THESE KINDS OF SUDDEN STALLS. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON SINCE SUMMER 2015 AND IS GETTING FAR WORSE. I CAN'T AFFORD TO PAY FOR A MANUFACTURING DEFECT. THIS FORM IS INSUFFICIENT BECAUSE IT IS FORCING A ONE DATE LIST FOR PROBLEMS AND THIS IS HAPPENING REPEATEDLY. THERE ARE NO DOCUMENTS TO UPLOAD, I JUST SIT IN THE CAR AND WAIT FOR IT TO FINALLY START AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE

3/14/2016 - HALETHORPE, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 NISSAN SENTRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING FROM A STOP, THE VEHICLE JERKED AND THE ENGINE RPM'S REVVED RAPIDLY WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE CONTROL MODULE HAD FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 127,000.

View Details

ENGINE

12/10/2015 - KATY, TX
AUGUST 2014:I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK ON A CITY STREET DOING ABOUT 45 WHEN THE CAR JUST SHUT OFF. I WAS ABLE TO COAST INTO A PARKING LOT WITH THE RESIDUAL POWER THE CAR HAD. LUCKILY NO ONE WAS NEXT TO ME. THE STEERING WAS GONE SINCE THERE WAS NO POWER. AFTER MANY ATTEMPTS, I FINALLY GOT THE CAR STARTED BUT HAD TO PUT THE CAR INTO NEUTRAL WHENEVER I WAS AT A LIGHT (BECAUSE THE RPM WAS AT 500 AND IT KEPT SHUTTING OFF WHEN I APPLIED THE BRAKE). MANAGED TO MAKE IT HOME. ENDED UP BEING THE CAM/CRANK SENSORS THAT WENT OUT. FAST FORWARD TO NOVEMBER 2015 AND I HAD TO REPLACE THE CAM SENSOR AGAIN!! CAR STILL IDLES AT 500 RPM AND ALWAYS FEELS LIKE IT'S GOING TO SHUT OFF. NEXT ISSUE IS THE POWER WINDOWS. DRIVERS SIDE GETS HALF-WAY DOWN, BUT YOU HAVE TO PULL THE SWITCH UP QUICKLY IN ORDER FOR IT TO ROLL BACK UP. CANNOT OPEN/CLOSE PASSENGER WINDOW FROM DRIVERS SIDE, ONLY PASSENGER SIDE. NEXT ISSUE IS RANDOM LEAK IN THE TRUNK WHERE THE SPARE TIRE IS STORED. ABOUT 1-2 MONTHS AFTER WE HAD GOTTEN SOME HEAVY RAINS, I NOTICED A SLIGHT MILDEW SMELL IN THE CABIN. I SNIFFED AROUND, DIDN'T SEE OR FEEL ANYTHING THAT WAS WET. FIGURED IT WAS A CABIN FILTER THAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. ANOTHER MONTH GOES BY AND I CAN STILL FAINTLY SMELL IT. I OPEN MY TRUNK AND IT'S COMING FROM THERE. I PULL EVERYTHING OUT OF THE TRUNK; NOTHING FEELS WET, NOTHING LOOKED WET, NOTHING HAD WATER STAINS ON IT (BOOKS, CLOTHES). I PULL BACK THE TRUNK CARPET, THE TRUNK STABILIZER AND I NOTICE THERE'S MOLD ON IT AND THE MDF COVERING THE SPARE IS WET. I PULL IT OFF AND THERE WAS ABOUT TWO INCHES OF WATER IN THE SPARE WHEEL WELL! WHEN I WAS DRIVING TO GET STUFF TO CLEAN IT, IT SOUNDED LIKE I HAD A KIDDIE POOL IN THE TRUNK! TO THIS DAY, I HAVE NO IDEA HOW IT GOT IN THERE - AGAIN NOTHING WAS WET OR WATER-STAINED IN THE TRUNK. ALSO EXPERIENCED MISFIRES, FUEL GAUGE (DUE TO FUEL PUMP). I DON'T FEEL SAFE IN THIS CAR AT TIMES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/10/2015 - KATY, TX
AUGUST 2014:I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK ON A CITY STREET DOING ABOUT 45 WHEN THE CAR JUST SHUT OFF. I WAS ABLE TO COAST INTO A PARKING LOT WITH THE RESIDUAL POWER THE CAR HAD. LUCKILY NO ONE WAS NEXT TO ME. THE STEERING WAS GONE SINCE THERE WAS NO POWER. AFTER MANY ATTEMPTS, I FINALLY GOT THE CAR STARTED BUT HAD TO PUT THE CAR INTO NEUTRAL WHENEVER I WAS AT A LIGHT (BECAUSE THE RPM WAS AT 500 AND IT KEPT SHUTTING OFF WHEN I APPLIED THE BRAKE). MANAGED TO MAKE IT HOME. ENDED UP BEING THE CAM/CRANK SENSORS THAT WENT OUT. FAST FORWARD TO NOVEMBER 2015 AND I HAD TO REPLACE THE CAM SENSOR AGAIN!! CAR STILL IDLES AT 500 RPM AND ALWAYS FEELS LIKE IT'S GOING TO SHUT OFF. NEXT ISSUE IS THE POWER WINDOWS. DRIVERS SIDE GETS HALF-WAY DOWN, BUT YOU HAVE TO PULL THE SWITCH UP QUICKLY IN ORDER FOR IT TO ROLL BACK UP. CANNOT OPEN/CLOSE PASSENGER WINDOW FROM DRIVERS SIDE, ONLY PASSENGER SIDE. NEXT ISSUE IS RANDOM LEAK IN THE TRUNK WHERE THE SPARE TIRE IS STORED. ABOUT 1-2 MONTHS AFTER WE HAD GOTTEN SOME HEAVY RAINS, I NOTICED A SLIGHT MILDEW SMELL IN THE CABIN. I SNIFFED AROUND, DIDN'T SEE OR FEEL ANYTHING THAT WAS WET. FIGURED IT WAS A CABIN FILTER THAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. ANOTHER MONTH GOES BY AND I CAN STILL FAINTLY SMELL IT. I OPEN MY TRUNK AND IT'S COMING FROM THERE. I PULL EVERYTHING OUT OF THE TRUNK; NOTHING FEELS WET, NOTHING LOOKED WET, NOTHING HAD WATER STAINS ON IT (BOOKS, CLOTHES). I PULL BACK THE TRUNK CARPET, THE TRUNK STABILIZER AND I NOTICE THERE'S MOLD ON IT AND THE MDF COVERING THE SPARE IS WET. I PULL IT OFF AND THERE WAS ABOUT TWO INCHES OF WATER IN THE SPARE WHEEL WELL! WHEN I WAS DRIVING TO GET STUFF TO CLEAN IT, IT SOUNDED LIKE I HAD A KIDDIE POOL IN THE TRUNK! TO THIS DAY, I HAVE NO IDEA HOW IT GOT IN THERE - AGAIN NOTHING WAS WET OR WATER-STAINED IN THE TRUNK. ALSO EXPERIENCED MISFIRES, FUEL GAUGE (DUE TO FUEL PUMP). I DON'T FEEL SAFE IN THIS CAR AT TIMES.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/10/2015 - KATY, TX
AUGUST 2014:I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK ON A CITY STREET DOING ABOUT 45 WHEN THE CAR JUST SHUT OFF. I WAS ABLE TO COAST INTO A PARKING LOT WITH THE RESIDUAL POWER THE CAR HAD. LUCKILY NO ONE WAS NEXT TO ME. THE STEERING WAS GONE SINCE THERE WAS NO POWER. AFTER MANY ATTEMPTS, I FINALLY GOT THE CAR STARTED BUT HAD TO PUT THE CAR INTO NEUTRAL WHENEVER I WAS AT A LIGHT (BECAUSE THE RPM WAS AT 500 AND IT KEPT SHUTTING OFF WHEN I APPLIED THE BRAKE). MANAGED TO MAKE IT HOME. ENDED UP BEING THE CAM/CRANK SENSORS THAT WENT OUT. FAST FORWARD TO NOVEMBER 2015 AND I HAD TO REPLACE THE CAM SENSOR AGAIN!! CAR STILL IDLES AT 500 RPM AND ALWAYS FEELS LIKE IT'S GOING TO SHUT OFF. NEXT ISSUE IS THE POWER WINDOWS. DRIVERS SIDE GETS HALF-WAY DOWN, BUT YOU HAVE TO PULL THE SWITCH UP QUICKLY IN ORDER FOR IT TO ROLL BACK UP. CANNOT OPEN/CLOSE PASSENGER WINDOW FROM DRIVERS SIDE, ONLY PASSENGER SIDE. NEXT ISSUE IS RANDOM LEAK IN THE TRUNK WHERE THE SPARE TIRE IS STORED. ABOUT 1-2 MONTHS AFTER WE HAD GOTTEN SOME HEAVY RAINS, I NOTICED A SLIGHT MILDEW SMELL IN THE CABIN. I SNIFFED AROUND, DIDN'T SEE OR FEEL ANYTHING THAT WAS WET. FIGURED IT WAS A CABIN FILTER THAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. ANOTHER MONTH GOES BY AND I CAN STILL FAINTLY SMELL IT. I OPEN MY TRUNK AND IT'S COMING FROM THERE. I PULL EVERYTHING OUT OF THE TRUNK; NOTHING FEELS WET, NOTHING LOOKED WET, NOTHING HAD WATER STAINS ON IT (BOOKS, CLOTHES). I PULL BACK THE TRUNK CARPET, THE TRUNK STABILIZER AND I NOTICE THERE'S MOLD ON IT AND THE MDF COVERING THE SPARE IS WET. I PULL IT OFF AND THERE WAS ABOUT TWO INCHES OF WATER IN THE SPARE WHEEL WELL! WHEN I WAS DRIVING TO GET STUFF TO CLEAN IT, IT SOUNDED LIKE I HAD A KIDDIE POOL IN THE TRUNK! TO THIS DAY, I HAVE NO IDEA HOW IT GOT IN THERE - AGAIN NOTHING WAS WET OR WATER-STAINED IN THE TRUNK. ALSO EXPERIENCED MISFIRES, FUEL GAUGE (DUE TO FUEL PUMP). I DON'T FEEL SAFE IN THIS CAR AT TIMES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/7/2015 - SPRING GROVE, MN
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 NISSAN SENTRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE FUELING THE TANK, THE FUEL GAUGE FAILED TO PROVIDE ACCURATE READING FUEL LEVELS. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V287000 (AIR BAGS) AND STATED THAT THE PART NEEDED FOR THE REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 155,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ENGINE

11/30/2015 - NOBLESVILLE, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 NISSAN SENTRA. WHILE DRIVING AT 70 MPH, THE VEHICLE ENGINE FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT CAMSHAFT POSITION SENSOR CODE 0335 FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS BEING REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 101,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds