Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN SENTRA - 2004 NISSAN SENTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 143 complaints filed for the 2004 NISSAN SENTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 NISSAN SENTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 NISSAN SENTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Exterior Lighting (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Tires (2)
Electrical System (20) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (6) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (1)
Engine (10) Fuel System Gasoline (25) Seat Belts (1) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (58) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (1)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/27/2014 - SOUTH EUCLID, OH
MY CAR STALLED WHILE DRIVING. I WAS GOING THE SPEED LIMIT OF 45 MPH AND WITHOUT WARNING MY CAR JUST LOST POWER & STOPPED. I WAS LUCKY ENOUGH TO BE ABLE TO COAST OFF THE ROAD WITHOUT GETTING INTO AN ACCIDENT. I WAS ON AN 8-LANE VERY BUSY ROAD IN A MIDDLE LANE. AT THE FIRST MOMENT, THE SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, THEN ALL THE WARNING LIGHTS AND THE CAR STOPPED. I HAD THE CAR TOWED. WHEN THE MECHANIC PUT IT ON THE COMPUTER IT SAID THAT THE CRANK POSITION SENSOR & CAMSHAFT SENSOR WAS THE PROBLEM. IT COST ME $ 376.00 FOR THE REPAIR. THE MECHANIC TOLD ME THIS WAS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH NISSANS. I READ ONLINE WHERE THE PROBLEM WAS HAPPENING TO MY MODEL AND THERE WAS A RECALL OF SOME. MY CAR IS A 1.8 MODEL, BUT NISSAN CONSUMER AFFAIRS TOLD ME MY CAR WAS NOT PART OF THE RECALL, DESPITE THE FACT THAT THE EXACT MALFUNCTION HAPPENED TO MY CAR. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE! I WAS LUCKY THAT THERE WAS NOT ANY OTHER CARS AROUND ME WHEN MY CAR STALLED AND I WAS ABLE TO COAST OFF THE ROAD. I HAVE RETAINED THE FAULTY PARTS THAT WERE REPLACED FOR EXAMINATION. I WAS OUT OF TOWN AT THE TIME OF THIS INCIDENT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/15/2014 - KANEOHE, HI
DROVE THE 2004 NISSAN SENTRA 1.8L ON THE HIGHWAY AT 60MPH AND THE CAR BEGAN TO DECREASE SPEED TO ABOUT 30 TO 40MPH WITH RPM METER FLUCTUATIONS WHILE PRESSING ON THE GAS WITH SAME PRESSURE. ON THE SAME DAY THE CAR SHUT OFF MULTIPLE TIMES AFTER STARTING IT FOR A MINUTE. PREVIOUSLY ON 2 OCCASIONS WHILE AT A STOP LIGHT THE CAR WOULD SHUT OFF WHILE IDLING. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON FOR AWHILE BUT WOULD PERIODICALLY TURN OFF. TOOK THE CAR TO NISSAN AFTER THE HIGHWAY INCIDENT AND THEY SAID IT WAS THE CAM POSITION SENSOR AND CRANK SENSOR. WHEN ASKED ABOUT RECALLS NISSAN SAID MY CAR WAS NOT LISTED UNDER THE RECALL CAMPAIGN. HAD TO PAY $730 TO FIX THIS PROBLEM WHILE AFTER READING OTHER PEOPLE'S COMPLAINTS FOR THIS MODEL AND OTHER MODEL COMPLAINTS IT APPEARS THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM AND SHOULD BE TAKEN A LOOK AT TO INCLUDE IN THE RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE

12/27/2013 - ROSEVILLE, CA
IN JULY OF 2011 MY 2004 NISSAN SENTRA SE-R SPEC V HAD SOME ISSUES. I HAD A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COME ON AND HAD LIGHT BLUE SMOKE COME OUT OF MY EXHAUST WHILE ACCELERATING AND HAD BEEN STARTING TO NOTICE BAD OIL AND FUEL CONSUMPTION. I TOOK IT TO THE NISSAN DEALERSHIP AND THEY SEARCHED FOR ANY OPEN RECALLS ON MY SPECIFIC CAR BASED ON RUNNING MY VIN NUMBER INTO THE DATABASE AND THEY TOLD ME IT WAS NOT ONE OF THE AFFECTED VEHICLES. AFTER HOOKING UP A CODE SCANNER TO MY CAR THEY FOUND THE FOLLOWING CODES, P0420 (CATALYST SYSTEM EFFICIENCY BELOW THRESHOLD), P0302(CYLINDER #2 MISFIRE), P0303( CYLINDER #3 MISFIRE) DURING THE DIAGNOSIS THEY SAID THAT THE PRE-CAT (EXHAUST MANIFOLD) HAD COME APART AND THE MATERIAL INSIDE HAD GLOGGED MY EXHAUST SYSTEM AND GOTTEN SUCKED BACK INTO MY CYLINDERS AND SCORED THE CYLINDER WALLS. THEY STATED THAT THEY HAD ALSO FOUND VALVE DAMAGE AND EVEN FOUND SOME OF THE CAT MATERIAL IN MY OIL. NISSAN WAS KIND ENOUGH TO REPLACE MY ENGINE BLOCK AND THE PRE-CAT MANIFOLD AS WELL AS MY SECONDARY CATALYTIC CONVERTER EVEN THOUGH THEY SAID IT WAS NOT A VEHICLE AFFECTED BY THE RECALL CAMPAIGN THAT NISSAN HAD ISSUED. SO HERE I AM A LITTLE OVER 2 YEARS LATER AND GUESS WHAT? IT CAME BACK. I AM HAVING THE EXACT SAME SYMTOMS AS BEFORE. I TOOK MY CAR BACK INTO THE SAME NISSAN DEALERSHIP AND THEY WILL NOT FIX IT AGAIN WITHOUT CHARGING ME. THEY REFUSED BECAUSE IT WAS NEVER A PART OF THE RECALLED VEHICLES AND IT IS CURRENTLY NOT UNDER ANY WARRANTY WITH ITS 105,000 MILES. SO, I ASK THEM, WHY DID THEY FIX IT THE FIRST TIME? THEIR RESPONSE WAS, AND I QUOTE, "IT WAS A COURTESY" TO WHICH I SAID, "HMMM, SO YOU GUYS DO A COURTESY FIX FOR OVER $3,000 WORTH OF WORK FOR A CAR THAT SUPPOSEDLY "ISN'T" PART OF A RECALL CAMPAIGN?" - THEY DIDNT HAVE MUCH TO SAY AFTER THAT OTHER THAN MY BEST BET IS TO TAKE IT UP WITH THE MANUFACTURER AND THEY REFUSE TO HELP AS WELL. THIS CAR IS A TRAP.

View Details

ENGINE

12/4/2013 - ROSEVILLE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 NISSAN SENTRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 06V242000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). APPROXIMATELY TWO YEARS AFTER THE RECALL REPAIR WAS PERFORMED, THE CONTACT NOTICED BLUE SMOKE ACCOMPANIED BY A RATTLING NOISE FROM THE EXHAUST PIPE AND SYSTEM. THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT WAS ALSO ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE WOULD SPORADICALLY LOSE POWER, CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO BECOME HESITANT UPON ACCELERATION ATTEMPTS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 105,700.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: STORAGE

11/21/2013 - BOLINGBROOK, IL
VEHICLE WOULD START TO LEAK GAS WHENEVER THE TANK WOULD BE FULL AND PARKED FOR MORE THEN FEW HOURS. THERE ALREADY IS A RECALL (NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 05V269000 ) FOR THE SAME VEHICLE BUT FOR 2005 MODELS. THE FACT THAT I'M EXPERIENCING THE SAME EXACT ISSUE MAKES ME BELIEVE THAT THERE IS A HIGHER NUMBER OF CARS THAT ARE ALSO AFFECTED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/13/2013 - MESQUITE , TX
I PURCHASED A VEHICLE FOR 4000 DOLLARS AND ON THE ODOMETER IT SAID IT HAD 75,000 MILES AND THE STICKER SAID 69,204. WE THOUGHT IT WAS A GOOD DEAL AND INVESTMENT SO WE TOOK IT. SO THIS MAN AND WHOEVER WHO WORKS WITH TEXAS AUTO TRADING INC GOT THE TITLE AND STICKER FOR ME. I NEVER SIGNED ANYTHING AND A FEW DAYS LATER THE CAR STARTED SHOWING 176,00 MILES ON THE ODOMETER. THEN ON AUGUST 5, 2013 I CALLED THE INDIVIDUAL JESUS TO ASK FOR THE TITLE AND HE SAID HE HAD GOTTEN IT WITH 10 MORE THAT WERE LATE I ASKED HIM WHY TO HIS ADDRESS AND HE BLAMED SOMEONE ELSE WHENI GAVE HIM MY ADDRESS SEVERAL TIMES. SO IT'S REGISTERED TO HIS HOME. SO I WENT TO GET THE TITLE READ IT HAD 180,000 MILES. SO NONE OF THE INFO WAS RIGHT AND ON CARFAX AND AUTO CHECK IT HAS DIFFERENT INFO SHOWING PROOF OF TAMPERING WITH ODOMETER ON VEHICLE AND TITLE AND STATE INSPECTION. NO EVIDENCE IS ON THE REPORTS OF THE STATE INSPECTION STICKER BEING MADE ON 11/21/12. I CALLED THE LOCAL MESQUITE POLICE AND THEY SAID THE SELLER JESUS HAD SAID "HE DIDN'T KNOW ABOUT THE CAR AND HE BOUGHT IT THAT WAY." I WAS NEVER INFORMED AND I'VE BEEN DEALING WITH THESE EVASIVE PEOPLE WHO WILL NOT GIVE ME MY MONEY BACK OR WANT TO DISCLOSE HIS LAST NAME OR ANYTHING. I LOOKED AT THE REPORTS ON AUTO CHECK AND CAR FAX AND AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE IT HAD MORE MILES ON IT. I DON'T WANT ANYONE TO DEAL WITH THIS CONSUMER FRAUD AND I WANT MY MONEY BACK. I CAN'T SELL OR DO ANYTHING WITH THE VEHICLE SINCE ALL INFO IS FALSE AND I DON'T BELIEVE IT'S FAIR FOR ME OR ANYONE TO HAVE TO PAY THE BURDEN OF ALL THESE AND MORE EXPENSES. THEY BUY CARS AND RESELL THEM AND I HOPE NO ONE ELSE HAS TO DEAL WITH THIS THIS ODOMETER FRAUD.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/12/2013 - MESQUITE, TX
THIS VEHICLE WAS BOUGHT FROM A MAN AT A HOME FOR "X" AMOUNT OF MILES. NOW THE ODOMETER, TITLE, AND STATE INSPECTION STICKER MILES DO NOT MATCH ON DIFFERENT INFORMATION. I BOUGHT THIS CAR I CAN'T SELL OR DO ANYTHING WITH IT. ALL OF THESE DOCUMENTS WERE TAMPERED WITH AND THEY ARE EVASIVE AND DENYING IT ALL EVEN TO THE COPS WHEN I HAVE EVIDENCE AND DO NOT WANT TO GIVE ME MY MONEY IN FULL. I THOUGHT I BOUGHT A GOOD CAR AND NOW I KNOW BETTER AND MY LIFE AND MY FAMILY IS IN DANGER WITH THIS CAR IT IS NOT SAFE AND I WAS LIED TO. COMPLETE FRAUD ON THE ODOMETER AND MORE.

View Details

ENGINE

7/20/2013 - DAVIE, FL
NISSAN 2004 SENTRA 1.8S HAD THE IDENTICAL ISSUE AS THE 2.5 LITER ENGINE THAT HAS BEEN RECALLED. AFTER DRIVING FOR FIFTEEN MINUTES ON THE HIGHWAY EVERY SENSOR LIGHT ON THE DASH CAME ON AND THE CAR TURNED OFF INCLUDING POWER STEERING. I WAS ABLE TO PULL THE CAR OFF TO THE SHOULDER AND SAFELY STOP THE CAR. THE CAR DID NOT APPEAR TO OVERHEAT AND THE TEMPERATURE GAUGE WAS IN THE ACCEPTABLE RANGE SO I LET THE CAR SIT FOR TWO MINUTES AND I TRIED TO START IT AGAIN BEFORE CALLING AAA. THE CAR STARTED RIGHT UP AND ONLY THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT REMAINED ON. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO MY MECHANIC AND THE CODE CAME BACK CRANK SHAFT POSITION SENSOR. I WAS FORTUNATE THAT I WAS DRIVING LATE AT NIGHT AND NOT DURING RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC. A FAULTY SENSOR SHOULD NOT CAUSE A COMPLETE SHUT DOWN OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE

5/27/2013 - VANCOUVER , WA
I PURCHASED A USED NISSAN SENTRA SER SPEC-V, FROM A PRIVATE PARTY ON 5/8/13. I WAS DRIVING 70 MPH, ABOUT 6 MILES DOWN THE FREEWAY, FROM WHERE I PURCHASED THE CAR, WHEN THE ENGINE DIED. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, AND I WAS ABLE TO COAST OVER TO THE SHOULDER AND STOP, WHILE SMOKE FLOWED OUT FROM UNDER THE HOOD. THE CAR WAS TOWED 25 MILES TO A MECHANIC I TRUST. THE GEARS IN THE COUNTER BALANCER ASSEMBLY BLEW APART, CLOGGING AN OIL SCREEN, NOT ALLOWING OIL TO THE CYLINDERS, AND THREW A ROD. I MENTIONED I HAD HEARD ABOUT ISSUES WITH THE CRANK POSITION SENSORS ON THESE CARS, AND REPLACED IT AS WELL. $2428.90, PLUS A $200 TOW. ON 5/13/13, I WENT TO A LOCAL NISSAN DEALER TO SEE IF THERE WERE ANY RECALLS ON MY CAR, AND WAS TOLD NOT FOR MY VIN NUMBERS. I GOT THE CAR BACK ON 5/23, AND HAVE DRIVEN IT LESS THAN 100 MILES WHEN ON 5/26/13, GOING 40 MPH, IT SUDDENLY DIED AGAIN. I COST TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND STOPPED. NO LIGHTS CAME ON OR ANY SIGNS OF THE PROBLEM. I TRIED 6-8 TIMES TO START IT. I GOT OUT AND OPENED THE HOOD TO SEE IF ANYTHING LOOKED FUNNY,WENT BACK AGAIN TO START IT AND IT TURNED RIGHT ON. THE ODOMETER IS 55,571. I LOOK ON THIS WEBSITE AND SEE 100 OTHER COMPLAINTS OF SENTRAS RANDOMLY SHUTTING OFF. THIS PROBLEM IS UNACCEPTABLE, NEXT TIME MY CAR DIES, THERE MIGHT NOT BE A SAFE PLACE TO PULL OVER TO, OR WITHOUT POWER STEERING AND BRAKES, I AM LIKELY HIT SOMEONE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/14/2013 - STATESVILLE , NC
THE CAR COULD BE GOING DOWN THE ROAD THEN IT WOULD JUST SHUT DOWN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds