Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN SENTRA - 2004 NISSAN SENTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 149 complaints filed for the 2004 NISSAN SENTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 NISSAN SENTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 NISSAN SENTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Exterior Lighting (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Tires (2)
Electrical System (21) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (6) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (2)
Engine (12) Fuel System Gasoline (25) Seat Belts (1) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (60) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (1)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

12/10/2014 - LILBURN, GA
ON 12/08/14, I WAS DRIVING THROUGH I-85 N. AT ONE POINT I CHANGED A LANE TOWARDS MY LEFT AND NEEDED TO STRAIGHTEN MY CAR TO THAT LANE. BUT SURPRISINGLY THE CAR WOULDN'T GOT STRAIGHTENED AND STEERING HAD NO IMPACT/CONTROL OVER THE CAR WHEELS. AS A RESULT MY CAR HIT THE MEDIAN OF THE HWY AND AFTER THAT I WAS STILL TRYING TO PUT IT BACK IN THE LANE. BUT I HAD NO CONTROL ON IT. IT WAS SHAKING AND SPEEDING UP; HIT THE MEDIAN WITH THE LEFT MIDDLE AND AGAIN AFTER TRAVELING A FEW FEET HIT THE MEDIAN WITH REAR LEFT. AT THAT POINT BOTH AIRBAGS POPPED OUT AND CAR CHANGED DIRECTION ( FROM MY DIAGONAL LEFT TO DIAGONAL RIGHT). AND IT TOOK ME TO ALL THE WAY (6 LANE)ACROSS THE OTHER SIDE OF THE FREEWAY AND HIT THE MEDIAN ON THAT SIDE AGAIN WITH THE FRONT RIGHT AND STRAIGHT FRONT. AFTER THAT THE CAR FINALLY STOPPED. IT WAS ALL SMOKY AND THE CAR DOOR WOULDN'T OPEN. I SQUEEZED MYSELF OUT THROUGH THE APPROX. SIX INCHES OPENING. I WAS SO SCARED AND STILL SO MUCH DEPRESSED THAT I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO. I WAS FORTUNATE ENOUGH THAT I DIDN'T HIT ANYBODY OR I GOT HIT BY ANY OTHER CAR OR WHEN THE CAR WAS DRAGGING ME TO THE OTHER SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY I DIDN'T GO UNDER ANY TRAILER. MY BIGGEST QUESTION IS WHY THE STEERING STOPPED WORKING AND LOST CONTROL OVER THE WHEEL? WHOSE FAULT WAS THIS? AND FINALLY I GOT CITATION FROM DEKALB POLICE FOR FAILURE TO MAINTAIN LANES. WHEN I ASKED THE POLICE OFFICER, SHE TOLD ME THAT I HAVE TO PROVE IT THAT IT WAS A MECHANICAL ERROR. THEN THE CITATION WILL BE TAKEN OFF. THERE WAS NO CHECK ENGINE SIGN OR ANYTHING THAT I FELT UNUSUAL. SO PLEASE TAKE A LOOK INTO THE MATTER AND LET ME KNOW SO THAT I FEEL A LITTLE BETTER!

View Details

STEERING

12/10/2014 - LILBURN, GA
ON 12/08/14, I WAS DRIVING THROUGH I-85 N. AT ONE POINT I CHANGED A LANE TOWARDS MY LEFT AND NEEDED TO STRAIGHTEN MY CAR TO THAT LANE. BUT SURPRISINGLY THE CAR WOULDN'T GOT STRAIGHTENED AND STEERING HAD NO IMPACT/CONTROL OVER THE CAR WHEELS. AS A RESULT MY CAR HIT THE MEDIAN OF THE HWY AND AFTER THAT I WAS STILL TRYING TO PUT IT BACK IN THE LANE. BUT I HAD NO CONTROL ON IT. IT WAS SHAKING AND SPEEDING UP; HIT THE MEDIAN WITH THE LEFT MIDDLE AND AGAIN AFTER TRAVELING A FEW FEET HIT THE MEDIAN WITH REAR LEFT. AT THAT POINT BOTH AIRBAGS POPPED OUT AND CAR CHANGED DIRECTION ( FROM MY DIAGONAL LEFT TO DIAGONAL RIGHT). AND IT TOOK ME TO ALL THE WAY (6 LANE)ACROSS THE OTHER SIDE OF THE FREEWAY AND HIT THE MEDIAN ON THAT SIDE AGAIN WITH THE FRONT RIGHT AND STRAIGHT FRONT. AFTER THAT THE CAR FINALLY STOPPED. IT WAS ALL SMOKY AND THE CAR DOOR WOULDN'T OPEN. I SQUEEZED MYSELF OUT THROUGH THE APPROX. SIX INCHES OPENING. I WAS SO SCARED AND STILL SO MUCH DEPRESSED THAT I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO. I WAS FORTUNATE ENOUGH THAT I DIDN'T HIT ANYBODY OR I GOT HIT BY ANY OTHER CAR OR WHEN THE CAR WAS DRAGGING ME TO THE OTHER SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY I DIDN'T GO UNDER ANY TRAILER. MY BIGGEST QUESTION IS WHY THE STEERING STOPPED WORKING AND LOST CONTROL OVER THE WHEEL? WHOSE FAULT WAS THIS? AND FINALLY I GOT CITATION FROM DEKALB POLICE FOR FAILURE TO MAINTAIN LANES. WHEN I ASKED THE POLICE OFFICER, SHE TOLD ME THAT I HAVE TO PROVE IT THAT IT WAS A MECHANICAL ERROR. THEN THE CITATION WILL BE TAKEN OFF. THERE WAS NO CHECK ENGINE SIGN OR ANYTHING THAT I FELT UNUSUAL. SO PLEASE TAKE A LOOK INTO THE MATTER AND LET ME KNOW SO THAT I FEEL A LITTLE BETTER!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/13/2014 - SPRINGFIELD, MA
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE, AT 60 MPH AND THE ENGINE DROPPED TO 700 RPM AND REFUSED TO ACCELERATE. I HAD TO PULL OVER, SHUT OFF CAR AND REPEATEDLY ATTEMPT TO START CAR. THIS HAS HAPPENED 8 OTHER TIMES IN THE PAST MONTH.

View Details

ENGINE

11/13/2014 - SPRINGFIELD, MA
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE, AT 60 MPH AND THE ENGINE DROPPED TO 700 RPM AND REFUSED TO ACCELERATE. I HAD TO PULL OVER, SHUT OFF CAR AND REPEATEDLY ATTEMPT TO START CAR. THIS HAS HAPPENED 8 OTHER TIMES IN THE PAST MONTH.

View Details

ENGINE

10/17/2014 - NEBO, NC
WAS GOING DOWN THE ROAD TRAVELING AROUND 25 MPH AND ENGINE STALLED OUT OF THE BLUE THEN CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. AFTER ABOUT 15 MINUTES CAR FINALLY CRANKED BACK UP. BUT WHEN IT DID THE CHECK ENGINE SOON LIGHT WAS ON HAD IT CHECKED AND IT CAME BACK AS A BAD CAM SHAFT POSITIONING SENSOR

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: EMISSION CONTROL: CRANKCASE (PCV)

9/12/2014 - TUJUNGA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 NISSAN SENTRA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. AFTER MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS,THE VEHICLE RESTARTED AND THE "CHECK ENGINE" WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. AN INDEPENDENT DIAGNOSTIC TEST DISPLAYED A CODE OF P0335, WHICH INDICATED THAT THE CRANKSHAFT POSITIONING SENSOR POTENTIALLY CAUSED THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 07V527000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 127,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/28/2014 - CHARLOTTE, NC
AC NEVER WORKED PROPERLY , SERVICED SEVERAL TIMES FOR THE SAME PROBLEM

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/19/2014 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
DASHBOARD INSTRUMENT PANEL REPLACED

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/27/2014 - SOUTH EUCLID, OH
MY CAR STALLED WHILE DRIVING. I WAS GOING THE SPEED LIMIT OF 45 MPH AND WITHOUT WARNING MY CAR JUST LOST POWER & STOPPED. I WAS LUCKY ENOUGH TO BE ABLE TO COAST OFF THE ROAD WITHOUT GETTING INTO AN ACCIDENT. I WAS ON AN 8-LANE VERY BUSY ROAD IN A MIDDLE LANE. AT THE FIRST MOMENT, THE SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, THEN ALL THE WARNING LIGHTS AND THE CAR STOPPED. I HAD THE CAR TOWED. WHEN THE MECHANIC PUT IT ON THE COMPUTER IT SAID THAT THE CRANK POSITION SENSOR & CAMSHAFT SENSOR WAS THE PROBLEM. IT COST ME $ 376.00 FOR THE REPAIR. THE MECHANIC TOLD ME THIS WAS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH NISSANS. I READ ONLINE WHERE THE PROBLEM WAS HAPPENING TO MY MODEL AND THERE WAS A RECALL OF SOME. MY CAR IS A 1.8 MODEL, BUT NISSAN CONSUMER AFFAIRS TOLD ME MY CAR WAS NOT PART OF THE RECALL, DESPITE THE FACT THAT THE EXACT MALFUNCTION HAPPENED TO MY CAR. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE! I WAS LUCKY THAT THERE WAS NOT ANY OTHER CARS AROUND ME WHEN MY CAR STALLED AND I WAS ABLE TO COAST OFF THE ROAD. I HAVE RETAINED THE FAULTY PARTS THAT WERE REPLACED FOR EXAMINATION. I WAS OUT OF TOWN AT THE TIME OF THIS INCIDENT.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2/27/2014 - SOUTH EUCLID, OH
MY CAR STALLED WHILE DRIVING. I WAS GOING THE SPEED LIMIT OF 45 MPH AND WITHOUT WARNING MY CAR JUST LOST POWER & STOPPED. I WAS LUCKY ENOUGH TO BE ABLE TO COAST OFF THE ROAD WITHOUT GETTING INTO AN ACCIDENT. I WAS ON AN 8-LANE VERY BUSY ROAD IN A MIDDLE LANE. AT THE FIRST MOMENT, THE SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, THEN ALL THE WARNING LIGHTS AND THE CAR STOPPED. I HAD THE CAR TOWED. WHEN THE MECHANIC PUT IT ON THE COMPUTER IT SAID THAT THE CRANK POSITION SENSOR & CAMSHAFT SENSOR WAS THE PROBLEM. IT COST ME $ 376.00 FOR THE REPAIR. THE MECHANIC TOLD ME THIS WAS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH NISSANS. I READ ONLINE WHERE THE PROBLEM WAS HAPPENING TO MY MODEL AND THERE WAS A RECALL OF SOME. MY CAR IS A 1.8 MODEL, BUT NISSAN CONSUMER AFFAIRS TOLD ME MY CAR WAS NOT PART OF THE RECALL, DESPITE THE FACT THAT THE EXACT MALFUNCTION HAPPENED TO MY CAR. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE! I WAS LUCKY THAT THERE WAS NOT ANY OTHER CARS AROUND ME WHEN MY CAR STALLED AND I WAS ABLE TO COAST OFF THE ROAD. I HAVE RETAINED THE FAULTY PARTS THAT WERE REPLACED FOR EXAMINATION. I WAS OUT OF TOWN AT THE TIME OF THIS INCIDENT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds