Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA HIGHLANDER - 2004 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 279 complaints filed for the 2004 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Exterior Lighting (15) Seat Belts (5) Steering (34) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (18) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Seats (2) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (38)
Electronic Stability Control (14) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (2) Visibility (21)
Engine (15) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (2) Tires (9) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (20) Power Train (60) Service Brakes Hydraulic (17) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (2)
Equipment (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
 
ComplaintDescription

SEAT BELTS

9/8/2017 - MARBLEHEAD, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE SEAT BELT ASSEMBLY MALFUNCTIONED AND THE FABRIC MATERIAL STRAP BECAME FRAYED AND SHREDDED AT THE BUCKLE LOCATION. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE LOCAL DEALER (ATLANTIC TOYOTA IN LYNN, MASSACHUSETTS) AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOTIFIED, BUT NO ASSISTANCE WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/11/2017 - HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA
THE TRANSFER CASE IS LEAKING AFTER ONLY 68000 MILES. THE LEAKING OIL DROPS OVER THE HEATED EXHAUST PIPE WHICH CAUSES FUME IN THE CABIN THROUGH AIR CONDITION AND FAN

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

4/7/2017 - SAN BENITO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, WHILE DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE PEDAL TRAVELED TO THE FLOOR. THE TRACTION CONTROL, CHECK ENGINE, VSC, AND BRAKE INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V499000 (SERVICE BRAKES), BUT THE REMEDY FAILED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT OBSERVED BRAKE FLUID LEAKING FROM THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 157,489.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/7/2017 - SAN BENITO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, WHILE DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE PEDAL TRAVELED TO THE FLOOR. THE TRACTION CONTROL, CHECK ENGINE, VSC, AND BRAKE INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V499000 (SERVICE BRAKES), BUT THE REMEDY FAILED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT OBSERVED BRAKE FLUID LEAKING FROM THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 157,489.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/7/2017 - SAN BENITO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, WHILE DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE PEDAL TRAVELED TO THE FLOOR. THE TRACTION CONTROL, CHECK ENGINE, VSC, AND BRAKE INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V499000 (SERVICE BRAKES), BUT THE REMEDY FAILED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT OBSERVED BRAKE FLUID LEAKING FROM THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 157,489.

View Details

ENGINE

2/12/2017 - LAKEWOOD, CA
MY TRAC OFF LIGHTS, ENGINE AND OIL LIGHT CAME ON WHEN I WAS DRIVING TO WORK. I WORK FAR FROM HOME SO I TOOK IT TO THE VALVOLINE NEAR MY JOB TO CHECK THE OIL. I DIDN'T WANT TO DRIVE MY CAR HOME IF THERE WAS NO OIL. THEY CHECKED THE OIL, UNDERNEATH MY CAR AND SAID EVERYTHINGWAS FINE AND TO TAKE TO MY MECHANIC TO CHECK THE ENGINE. I TOOK IT TO MY MECHANIC WHO KEPT IT FOR 4 DAYS AND SAID ITS THE OIL SLUGE AND HE WAS TRYING TO SAVE THE ENGINE. MY MECHANIC SAID THEY HAD A LEXUS IN THE WEEK BEFORE WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. I CHECKED ONLINE AND FOUND OUT THERE WAS RECALL FOR THIS PROBLEM IN 2002, AND TOYOTA ONLY CONTACTEDTHE ORIGINAL OWNERS NOT ALL PEOPLE WHO HAD REGISTERED CARS. I BOUGHT THIS SECOND HAND THROUGH CAR MAX IN 2010 AND THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN CORRECTED THEN. MY CAR HAS 145,000.00.

View Details

ENGINE

9/13/2016 - PORTLAND, OR
THE OUTER RING OF THE CRANK SHAFT PULLEY HAS PULLED AWAY FROM THE INNER RING CAUSING DAMAGE TO ALL SYSTEM AND CAN AFFECT STEERING. THIS ALREADY HAS A RECALL FOR MY MAKE, MODEL AND YEAR, BUT NOT FOR MY VIN NUMBER. IT SEEMS STRANGE THAT THIS EXACT SAME THING THAT HAS THE RECALL AFFECTS MY CAR, BUT REPAIR IS NOT COVERED. SHOULD RECALL BE EXPANDED TO INCLUDE OTHER VIN NUMBERS??

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/13/2016 - LOOMIS, CA
THE PASSENGER SIDE IN THE REAR WINDOWS ARE DEFECTIVE. THEY WILL NOT POWER UP OR DOWN THE WINDOWS IN THE BACK OF SUV. ALSO THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE IS NOW NOT OPERATING UP OR DOWN. THE POWER WINDOW PARTS HAVE FAILED TWO YEARS AGO, AND NOW IT'S HAPPENING AGAIN. THIS 2004 SHOULD BE INCLUDED IN THE OTHER RECALLS ON NEWER MODELS.

View Details

STEERING

7/7/2016 - NORWALK, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE REQUIRED GREATER EFFORT TO STEER. WHILE STEERING THE VEHICLE, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING INTERMEDIATE STAFF ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 123,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/2/2016 - BREAUX BRIDGE, LA
THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR TWO DAYS NOW. THERE IS A BUZZING LIKE SOMETHING IS MALFUNCTIONING ON MY PASSENGER SIDE COMING FROM THE DASH I BROUGHT THE VEHICLE TO PEP BOYS AND THEY SAID THAT MY AIR BAG IS MALFUNCTIONING. IS RESULT OF THIS MY JOB WON'T LET ME DRIVE PATIENTS BECAUSE OF THE DANGER. THIS REALLY NEEDS TO BE FIXED. I KNOW FOR A FACT IT'S THE AIRBAG BECAUSE TOYOTA TOLD WHEN I BROUGHT IT THERE BECAUSE PEP BOYS TOLD GO TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR THEM TO CONFIRM AND IT WAS!. THIS HAPPENS IN MOTION AND A LITTLE WHILE IN MOTION. WHEN IT IS HUMID OUTSIDE THE BUZZING IS EVEN WORSER TO WHERE THE SIDE PANEL VY DRIVERS LEFT LEG VIBRATE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds