Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN PASSAT - 2004 VOLKSWAGEN PASSAT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 241 complaints filed for the 2004 VOLKSWAGEN PASSAT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 VOLKSWAGEN PASSAT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 VOLKSWAGEN PASSAT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Engine And Engine Cooling (60) Fuel System Other (4) Seats (30) Structure (14)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (3) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (2)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (15) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (6)
Electrical System (22) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Diesel (4) Power Train (38) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Engine (9) Fuel System Gasoline (25) Seat Belts (1) Steering (2) Visibility (13)

Pages:  
<<  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

3/5/2009 - NASHVILLE, TN
A POTENTIAL ISSUE HAS COME TO MY ATTENTION THAT SOME ENGINE PARTS RELATED TO THE BALANCE SHAFT ASSEMBLY AND THE ENGINE OIL PUMP SYSTEM DRIVE CAN FAIL AS EARLY AS 45,000 MILES. AND IF THE FAILURE OF SAID COMPONENTS DO FAIL, SEVERE ENGINE DAMAGE CAN EASILY OCCUR FORCING THE DRIVER, AT MINIMUM, TO PAY AN UNREASONABLE AND VERY COSTLY SERVICE BILL. IF A DRIVER EXPERIENCES A SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER FROM THE ENGINE DURING A TYPICAL HIGHWAY PASS OR MERGING ON A ROADWAY, THE COST WOULD BE UNFATHOMABLE PERTAINING TO THE LOSS OF LIFE, FAR SURPASSING THE COST OF A NEW ENGINE AND THE LABOR TO INSTALL THE ENGINE. VOLKSWAGEN HAS COME UP WITH A FIX BY CHANGING THE CHAIN TO A GEAR. THEY HAVE NOT ACKNOWLEDGED THIS PROBLEM AS YET, EVEN WITH MANY OF THESE VEHICLES HAVING FAILED. IT IS JUST A MATTER OF WHEN NOT IF THIS WILL HAPPEN TO EVERY 2004 PASSAT WITH THE BHW ENGINES. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHAT STEPS VOLKSWAGEN OF AMERICA IS TAKING TO INFORM 2004 AND 2005 PASSAT TDI OWNERS OF THIS PROBLEM. GOOD CORPORATE CITIZENSHIP WOULD DICTATE A PROBLEM OF THIS SEVERITY SHOULD BE COMMUNICATED TO THE OWNERS AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. THESE ENGINE FAILURES COULD LEAVE MOTORISTS STRANDED UNDER DIRE CIRCUMSTANCES.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

3/2/2009 - CHESAPEAKE, VA
WHILE UNDER WARRANTY COMPLAINED TO DEALER OF NOISE FROM ENGINE AREA. DEALER COULD NOT DETERMINE WHERE NOISE WAS COMING FROM BUT SAID NOT TO WORRY PROBLEM WAS NOTED AND WOULD BE COVERED IF/WHEN SOMETHING FAILED. OUT OF WARRANTY NOW, DEALER STATES POWER STEERING PUMP NEEDS REPLACING, NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. HAD THE POWER STEERING PUMP REPLACED, NOT BY DEALER BUT SEVERE WINE REMAINS. WAS TOLD IT IS PROBABLY AC PUMP. HAD BELT TENSIONER REPLACED ALSO WITH NO RESOLVE. NOISE IS A LOUD WINE, CONSTANT VARIES SLIGHTLY WHEN AC IS ON. HAVE HEARD SEVERAL OTHER PASSATS WITH SAME NOISE. NO FAILURE HAS OCCURRED AS OF YET.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

3/1/2009 - RIEGELWOOD, NC
THE BALANCE SHAFT CHAIN DRIVE IN THE BOTTOM END OF OUR 2004 PASSAT TDI HAS STARTED TO MAKE NOISE. THEY WILL ALL FAIL. I AM A CAR ENTHUSIAST AND FROM WHAT I UNDERSTAND THROUGH THE PAINS OF MANY THAT HAVE ALREADY REPLACED THEIR FAILED OR FAILING CHAIN DRIVEN BALANCE ASSEMBLY, MANY BREAK APART COMPLETELY, AND CAUSE THE OIL PUMP TO QUIT TURNING AND THE ENGINE TO LOCK UP SUDDENLY. VW HAS COME UP WITH A FIX FOR THIS, TO RETROFIT A GEAR DRIVEN UNIT, BUT AS OF YET HAS NOT EVEN ACKNOWLEDGED THIS VERY SERIOUS PROBLEM THAT MORE TIMES THAN NOT MANIFESTS ITSELF IN THE 60 TO 80K MILE RANGE. THE COST TO REPAIR PROACTIVE IS ABOUT $2500, BUT IF THE ENGINE IS DAMAGED, THE COST IS ABOUT $9000. THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE, AND CAN CAUSE THE ENGINE TO SUDDENLY SEIZE WHILE UNDERWAY! CURRENTLY THERE IS NOT EVEN A WARNING OF ANY KIND FROM VW TO OWNERS OF THESE VEHICLES TO BE AWARE OF THIS ISSUE. IF NOT FOR AN INTERNET FORUM, FRED'S TDI CLUB.COM, I LIKE MANY OTHERS WHO STILL ARE, WOULD BE COMPLETELY OBLIVIOUS TO THIS SERIOUS AND POTENTIALLY CATASTROPHIC FAILURE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

2/26/2009 - BUCYRUS, KS
THE CHAIN ON THE OIL PUMP, BALANCE SHAFT ASSEMBLY FAILED AT 96,000 MILES. IT WAS DETECTED BY A MECHANIC BEFORE THE ENGINE SEIZED. THE ENTIRE OIL PUMP AND BALANCE SHAFT ASSEMBLY WAS REPLACED. HAD THE PROBLEM NOT BEEN DETECTED, AND THE CHAIN BROKE, THE ENGINE WOULD HAVE BEEN STARVED OF LUBRICATION AND FAILED. THIS IS THE DIESEL PASSAT WITH THE BHW ENGINE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2/25/2009 - GREENLAWN, NY
THE BALANCE SHAFT ASSEMBLY AND THE ENGINE OIL PUMP SYSTEM DRIVE WILL FAIL. FAILURE OF BALANCE SHAFT ASSEMBLY AND THE ENGINE OIL PUMP SYSTEM DRIVE CAN LEAD TO CATASTROPHIC ENGINE FAILURE WITH LOSS OF OIL PRESSURE, BROKEN OIL PAN, BROKEN FRONT ENGINE SEAL FLANGE, AND DAMAGED CRANKSHAFT. THIS CAN RESULT IN DAMAGE TO THE EXTENT THAT THE ENGINE MUST BE REPLACED. IF THIS OCCURS WHILE THE VEHICLE IS IN TRAFFIC, IT CAN LEAD TO A COLLISION WITH INJURIES OR DEATHS.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

2/24/2009 - UNION, MO
THE BALANCE SHAFT CHAIN DRIVE IN THE BOTTOM END OF OUR 2004 PASSAT STARTED TO MAKE NOISE. THEY WILL ALL FAIL. I AM A MECHANIC SPECIALIZING IN THESE CARS, AND HAVE CURRENTLY HAD TO REPAIR 27 OF THESE, INCLUDING MY OWN. MANY BREAK APART COMPLETELY, AND CAUSE THE OIL PUMP TO QUIT TURNING AND THE ENGINE TO LOCK UP SUDDENLY. I HAVE ONE SUCH CAR HERE RIGHT NOW. VW HAS COME UP WITH A FIX FOR THIS, TO RETROFIT A GEAR DRIVEN UNIT, BUT AS OF YET HAS NOT EVEN ACKNOWLEDGED THIS VERY SERIOUS PROBLEM THAT MORE TIMES THAN NOT MANIFESTS ITSELF IN THE 60 TO 80K MILE RANGE. THE COST TO REPAIR PROACTIVELY IS ABOUT $2500, BUT OF THE ENGINE IS DAMAGED, THE COST IS ABOUT $9000. THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE, AND CAN CAUSE THE ENGINE TO SUDDENLY SEIZE WHILE UNDERWAY!

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2/24/2009 - BLOOMINGTON, IN
IT HAS COME TO MY ATTENTION THROUGH THE B5 FORUMS AT WWW.TDICLUB.COM THAT ALL 2004-2005 VW PASSAT TDI ENGINES HAVE BEEN OUTFITTED WITH A FAULTY CHAIN DRIVEN OIL-PUMP (AKA BALANCE SHAFT) ASSEMBLY THAT HAS AN EXTREMELY HIGH RATE OF FAILURE. FAILURE OF THE OIL-PUMP ASSEMBLY HAS PROVEN TO CAUSE MULTI-THOUSAND DOLLAR REPAIR BILLS FOR OWNERS THAT EXPERIENCE A FAILURE WHILE DRIVING. A BULK OF THE FAILURES HAVE BEEN OCCURRING ON 04-05 PASSAT TDI'S WELL BEFORE THE CARS REACH 100,000 MILES. THERE ARE NO WARNING SIGNS TO OIL PUMP FAILURE OTHER THAN LOUDER THAN NORMAL ENGINE NOISES. VW HAS SINCE REDESIGNED THE OIL-PUMP ASSEMBLY TO INCORPORATE A GEAR-DRIVEN MECHANISM THAT ISN'T PRONE TO FAILURE. UNFORTUNATELY VW HAS NOT TAKEN INTO CONSIDERATION THE THOUSANDS OF PASSAT TDI OWNERS THAT ARE BEING FORCED TO UPGRADE THEIR CARS ON THEIR OWN DIME. THE UPGRADE COSTS ~$2,500 (PARTS & LABOR). IT IS OF MY OPINION (AND THE THOUSANDS OF FELLOW PASSAT TDI OWNERS) THAT THIS FAULTY DESIGN SHOULD BE RECALLED IMMEDIATELY AS THE POTENTIAL FOR AN OIL-PUMP FAILURE CAUSING PROPERTY DAMAGE AND/OR DEATH IS EMINENT.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM

2/9/2009 - HAWTHORNE, CA
VEHICLE PASSAT 2004. 1.8 WAGON. WITH 62000 MILES ON IT, PROBLEM AS FOLLOW , STEAM CAME OFF VENTILATIONS WHEN HEATERS IS ACTIVATED,FOGGING WINDSHIELD AND WINDOWS, THE SMELL IS SO STRONG ODOR OF ANTIFREEZE FILLING THE WHOLE CABIN AND CAUSING NAUSEA AND HEADACHES TO WHOEVER IS IN THE CAR WHEN CAR IS BEEN DRIVING, ACCORDING TO THE DEALERS REPAIR PERSON THE HEATER CORE IS LEAKING AND NEED TO BE REPLACED AT THE DEALER ONLY AT COST OF $1600.00 THEE PART IS NOT A MOVING PART THAT IS EASY ACCESSIBLE AND THAT NEEDS REGULAR MAINTENANCE, THIS IS A PART THAT CAME DEFECTIVE FROM FACTORY AND VW DOES NOT WANT TO REPAIR NOT ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THIS PART CAME DEFECTIVE FROM THE MANUFACTURE. AND SHOULD BE FIXED BY THEM ,THAT IS A PROBLEM THAT IS A HAZARD TO THE DRIVER, AND PASSENGER HEALTH DUE TO THE TOXIC FUMES THAT EMANATED THROUGHOUT THE VENTS FROM THE HEATER CORE LEAKAGE AND ENTERING THE INSIDE OF THE CABIN, IT SHOULD BE RECALLED TO FIX THIS VERY PROBLEM THAT MAY CAUSE PEOPLE DEVELOP ANY TYPE OF LUNG CANCER INHALING THIS FUMES. ON TOP OF THE DESCRIBED PROBLEM THIS CAR HAS BEEN IN REPAIR FOR BAD WATER PUMP,BAD HEATING SENSOR,BAD THERMOSTAT,BROKEN CV BOOTS AT 50200 MILES,BAD BATTERY, WARNING SENSOR LIGHTS. THIS CAR IS A LEMON.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER

1/19/2009 - HOWELL, NJ
WE RECEIVE A RECALL LETTER FROM VW JUNE 2008, A WEEK AFTER WE SHIPPED OUR VW PASSAT TO GREECE FOR US TO USE WHILE WE ARE IN GREECE. WHEN I CAME HOME I OPEN MY MAIL AND FOUND THE RECALL LETTER. I IMMEDIATELY FAX IT TO GREECE FOR MY HUSBAND TO TAKE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP TO FIX THE RECALL PROBLEM. WHEN THE DEALERSHIP CORRECTED THE PROBLEM I RECEIVED AN INVOICE FROM THEM WITH AN ITEMIZED DESCRIPTION. ( I KNOW A FEW OF THE CORRECTED ITEM ARE NOT IN THE RECALL LETTER WHICH I DO NOT EXPECT THEM TO PAY). THEY CALL ME AND TOLD ME THAT IT WOULD TAKE 4 TO 6 WEEKS FOR THEM TO PROCESS THE INVOICE BECAUSE THEY HAD TO SEND IT FOR TRANSLATION. SEVERAL WEEKS GO BY AND THEY CALL ME AND SAID THAT SOME OF THE ITEMS IN THE INVOICE WERE NOT PART OF THE RECALL AND THEY WOULD NOT PAY ME WHICH I AGREE, BUT THE REST IT WOULD TAKE ABOUT ANOTHER 3 WEEKS. NOW IT IS 3 MONTHS AND I CALLED THEM, THEY SAID NON OF THE THINGS I HAD CORRECTED WERE IN THE RECALL LETTER ACCORDING TO THE TRANSLATOR. I TRIED TO TELL YES IT IS AND I ASK THEM TO CALL THE DEALERSHIP TO FIND OUT, BUT THEY REFUSE AND THEY REFUSE TO REIMBURSE ME FOR THE WORK. I FEEL THAT THIS IS OUTRAGEOUS. I WOULD SOMETHING TO BE DONE. THANK YOU

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY

1/6/2009 - NEW YORK, NY
2004 VOLKSWAGEN PASSAT WITH RECALL FOR FUEL TANK INSPECTION. CUSTOMER STATES THAT HE HAD GOTTEN THE COMPONENT IN THE FUEL SYSTEM REPLACED AT HIS EXPENSE BEFORE THE RECALL. HE WOULD LIKE REIMBURSEMENT. VOLKSWAGEN STATED THE REPAIR INVOICE THE CONSUMER SUBMITTED DID NOT CONTAIN THE PARTS THAT MATCHED THE PARTS IDENTIFIED IN THE RECALL.

View Details
Pages:  <<  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds