Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN PASSAT - 2004 VOLKSWAGEN PASSAT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 233 complaints filed for the 2004 VOLKSWAGEN PASSAT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 VOLKSWAGEN PASSAT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 VOLKSWAGEN PASSAT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Engine And Engine Cooling (60) Fuel System Other (4) Seats (30) Structure (14)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (3) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (2)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (15) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (6)
Electrical System (21) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Diesel (4) Power Train (38) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Engine (7) Fuel System Gasoline (24) Seat Belts (1) Steering (2) Visibility (13)

Pages:  
<<  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM

2/9/2009 - HAWTHORNE, CA
VEHICLE PASSAT 2004. 1.8 WAGON. WITH 62000 MILES ON IT, PROBLEM AS FOLLOW , STEAM CAME OFF VENTILATIONS WHEN HEATERS IS ACTIVATED,FOGGING WINDSHIELD AND WINDOWS, THE SMELL IS SO STRONG ODOR OF ANTIFREEZE FILLING THE WHOLE CABIN AND CAUSING NAUSEA AND HEADACHES TO WHOEVER IS IN THE CAR WHEN CAR IS BEEN DRIVING, ACCORDING TO THE DEALERS REPAIR PERSON THE HEATER CORE IS LEAKING AND NEED TO BE REPLACED AT THE DEALER ONLY AT COST OF $1600.00 THEE PART IS NOT A MOVING PART THAT IS EASY ACCESSIBLE AND THAT NEEDS REGULAR MAINTENANCE, THIS IS A PART THAT CAME DEFECTIVE FROM FACTORY AND VW DOES NOT WANT TO REPAIR NOT ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THIS PART CAME DEFECTIVE FROM THE MANUFACTURE. AND SHOULD BE FIXED BY THEM ,THAT IS A PROBLEM THAT IS A HAZARD TO THE DRIVER, AND PASSENGER HEALTH DUE TO THE TOXIC FUMES THAT EMANATED THROUGHOUT THE VENTS FROM THE HEATER CORE LEAKAGE AND ENTERING THE INSIDE OF THE CABIN, IT SHOULD BE RECALLED TO FIX THIS VERY PROBLEM THAT MAY CAUSE PEOPLE DEVELOP ANY TYPE OF LUNG CANCER INHALING THIS FUMES. ON TOP OF THE DESCRIBED PROBLEM THIS CAR HAS BEEN IN REPAIR FOR BAD WATER PUMP,BAD HEATING SENSOR,BAD THERMOSTAT,BROKEN CV BOOTS AT 50200 MILES,BAD BATTERY, WARNING SENSOR LIGHTS. THIS CAR IS A LEMON.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER

1/19/2009 - HOWELL, NJ
WE RECEIVE A RECALL LETTER FROM VW JUNE 2008, A WEEK AFTER WE SHIPPED OUR VW PASSAT TO GREECE FOR US TO USE WHILE WE ARE IN GREECE. WHEN I CAME HOME I OPEN MY MAIL AND FOUND THE RECALL LETTER. I IMMEDIATELY FAX IT TO GREECE FOR MY HUSBAND TO TAKE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP TO FIX THE RECALL PROBLEM. WHEN THE DEALERSHIP CORRECTED THE PROBLEM I RECEIVED AN INVOICE FROM THEM WITH AN ITEMIZED DESCRIPTION. ( I KNOW A FEW OF THE CORRECTED ITEM ARE NOT IN THE RECALL LETTER WHICH I DO NOT EXPECT THEM TO PAY). THEY CALL ME AND TOLD ME THAT IT WOULD TAKE 4 TO 6 WEEKS FOR THEM TO PROCESS THE INVOICE BECAUSE THEY HAD TO SEND IT FOR TRANSLATION. SEVERAL WEEKS GO BY AND THEY CALL ME AND SAID THAT SOME OF THE ITEMS IN THE INVOICE WERE NOT PART OF THE RECALL AND THEY WOULD NOT PAY ME WHICH I AGREE, BUT THE REST IT WOULD TAKE ABOUT ANOTHER 3 WEEKS. NOW IT IS 3 MONTHS AND I CALLED THEM, THEY SAID NON OF THE THINGS I HAD CORRECTED WERE IN THE RECALL LETTER ACCORDING TO THE TRANSLATOR. I TRIED TO TELL YES IT IS AND I ASK THEM TO CALL THE DEALERSHIP TO FIND OUT, BUT THEY REFUSE AND THEY REFUSE TO REIMBURSE ME FOR THE WORK. I FEEL THAT THIS IS OUTRAGEOUS. I WOULD SOMETHING TO BE DONE. THANK YOU

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY

1/6/2009 - NEW YORK, NY
2004 VOLKSWAGEN PASSAT WITH RECALL FOR FUEL TANK INSPECTION. CUSTOMER STATES THAT HE HAD GOTTEN THE COMPONENT IN THE FUEL SYSTEM REPLACED AT HIS EXPENSE BEFORE THE RECALL. HE WOULD LIKE REIMBURSEMENT. VOLKSWAGEN STATED THE REPAIR INVOICE THE CONSUMER SUBMITTED DID NOT CONTAIN THE PARTS THAT MATCHED THE PARTS IDENTIFIED IN THE RECALL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/6/2009 - LAKEVIEW, AL
I OWN A VOLKSWAGEN PASSAT 2004 MODEL. ON NOVEMBER THE 11TH 2008 AFTER WORKING THE NIGHT SHIFT AT MBUSI IN VANCE, ALABAMA, I GOT IN MY CAR TO GO HOME. I TURNED ON THE HEATED SEAT JUST AS I HAVE DONE FOR THE PAST 4 YEARS ONLY THIS TIME I GOT MORE HEAT THAN I WANTED. MY HEATED SEAT CAUGHT FIRE AND BURNED MY LEG. IN ATTEMPT TO EXTINGUISH THE FIRE, I WRENCHED MY BACK BY STOMPING OUT THE FIRE WITH MY FOOT. I DID NOT HAVE ANYTHING CLOSE TO ME TO USE WITH MY HANDS SO THEY WOULD NOT GET BURNED. I COULD NOT BELIEVE HOW FAST MY CAR FILLED WITH WORST SMELLING SMOKE I HAVE EVER SMELT. THE SEAT WAS ON FIRE BEFORE I EVEN LEFT THE PARKING LOT. IF I WOULD HAVE WAITED TWO MINUTES TO TURN ON MY SEAT, I WOULD HAVE BEEN ON INTERSTATE 20/59 DRIVING AT 70 MPH AND I CAN ONLY IMAGINE WHAT WOULD HAVE HAPPENED. THIS IS ONE OF THE WORST EXPERIENCES OF MY LIFE. VOLKSWAGEN HAS OFFERED TO REPLACE THE COVER ON THE CAR, REPLACE MY PANTS AND PAY MY MEDICAL BILLS, BUT WHAT ABOUT THE SEAT I WILL CONTINUE TO SIT ON, AND MY CONFIDENCE THAT THIS WILL NOT HAPPEN AGAIN. I AM HORRIFIED TO THINK ABOUT THE POTENTIAL FOR RECURRENCE AND I CANNOT OVERCOME MY ORDEAL I AM DEVASTATED AND HAVE LOST MY CONFIDENCE IN THE PROCESSES THAT ARE SUPPOSED TO PROTECT THE CONSUMER.

View Details

SEATS

1/6/2009 - LAKEVIEW, AL
I OWN A VOLKSWAGEN PASSAT 2004 MODEL. ON NOVEMBER THE 11TH 2008 AFTER WORKING THE NIGHT SHIFT AT MBUSI IN VANCE, ALABAMA, I GOT IN MY CAR TO GO HOME. I TURNED ON THE HEATED SEAT JUST AS I HAVE DONE FOR THE PAST 4 YEARS ONLY THIS TIME I GOT MORE HEAT THAN I WANTED. MY HEATED SEAT CAUGHT FIRE AND BURNED MY LEG. IN ATTEMPT TO EXTINGUISH THE FIRE, I WRENCHED MY BACK BY STOMPING OUT THE FIRE WITH MY FOOT. I DID NOT HAVE ANYTHING CLOSE TO ME TO USE WITH MY HANDS SO THEY WOULD NOT GET BURNED. I COULD NOT BELIEVE HOW FAST MY CAR FILLED WITH WORST SMELLING SMOKE I HAVE EVER SMELT. THE SEAT WAS ON FIRE BEFORE I EVEN LEFT THE PARKING LOT. IF I WOULD HAVE WAITED TWO MINUTES TO TURN ON MY SEAT, I WOULD HAVE BEEN ON INTERSTATE 20/59 DRIVING AT 70 MPH AND I CAN ONLY IMAGINE WHAT WOULD HAVE HAPPENED. THIS IS ONE OF THE WORST EXPERIENCES OF MY LIFE. VOLKSWAGEN HAS OFFERED TO REPLACE THE COVER ON THE CAR, REPLACE MY PANTS AND PAY MY MEDICAL BILLS, BUT WHAT ABOUT THE SEAT I WILL CONTINUE TO SIT ON, AND MY CONFIDENCE THAT THIS WILL NOT HAPPEN AGAIN. I AM HORRIFIED TO THINK ABOUT THE POTENTIAL FOR RECURRENCE AND I CANNOT OVERCOME MY ORDEAL I AM DEVASTATED AND HAVE LOST MY CONFIDENCE IN THE PROCESSES THAT ARE SUPPOSED TO PROTECT THE CONSUMER.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

12/28/2008 - FRANKFORT, KY
IN THE 2004 VW PASSAT TDI (DIESEL ENGINE) THE BALANCE SHAFT & OIL PUMP ARE DRIVEN BY A CHAIN. THE CHAIN FAILED AT 101,000 MILES AND STOPPED ENGINE LUBRICATION INSTANTLY. REQUIRED UNSAFE MANEUVER IN TRAFFIC TO GET OFF ROAD TO A SAFE STOPPING SPOT.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

12/17/2008 - GLEN ALLEN, VA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 VOLKSWAGEN PASSAT. WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE STOP WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. WITHIN SECONDS, THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO ACCELERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER AND THEY STATED THAT THE ENGINE FAILED DUE TO A MASSIVE OIL DEPOSIT. THE ENGINE WAS REPLACED. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 77,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 89,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY

12/10/2008 - MAPLE CITY, MI
MY LUGGAGE COMPARTMENT LIGHT KEPT CHIMING IN MY CAR EVEN THOUGH THE DOOR WAS SHUT. I RECENTLY TOOK MY VW PASSAT TO A DEALER AND WAS TOLD THE WINDSHIELD WIPER MOTOR NEEDS TO BE REPLACED AT A $400 COST. THE WIPER MOTOR THAT BROKE, WAS LEAKING FLUID INTO THE LOCK, WHICH I HAD TO REPLACE 2 MONTHS PRIOR TO THIS INCIDENT. I NOTICED RECALLS FOR THE SAME PART IN NEWER MODELS. MY CAR ONLY HAS 60,000 MILES ON IT.

View Details

STRUCTURE

11/30/2008 - GREENLAWN, NY
WATER INTRUSION IN PASSENGER SIDE REAR FOOTWELL. ANYTIME IT RAINS. I HAVE CLEANED SUNROOF DRAINS, BATTERY COMPARTMENT DRAINS, CABIN FILTER AREA AND PROBLEM STILL PERSISTS.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

11/25/2008 - SOMERS, NY
ABOUT 1/2 MILE FROM MY HOUSE CAR INDICATED THAT THERE WAS AN OIL PRESSURE ISSUE AND DISPLAYED "STOP ENGINE". PROCEEDED TO DRIVE HOME AND LET THE CAR COOL OFF AND CHECKED OIL LEVEL. OIL LEVEL WAS FINE, BASED ON THE DIP STICK. STARTED THE CAR UP AND THE CAR WAS VERY LOUD AND EXHIBITED A ROUGH AND IRREGULAR IDLE. "STOP ENGINE" INDICATOR CAME ON AGAIN. DID RESEARCH ON THE INTERNET AND FOUND THAT THERE HAVE BEEN NUMEROUS OTHER ISSUES WITH EXACTLY THE SAME ISSUE. ISSUE APPARENTLY SLUDGE BUILD UP IN THE ENGINE. CAR IS CURRENTLY AT REPAIR SHOP AND I HAVE NO FAITH THAT THIS WILL BE RESOLVED IN A POSITIVE WAY (IE NOT COSTING ME AS THE CAR IS OUT OF WARRANTY) AS APPARENTLY THERE IS A DESIGN ISSUE WITH THIS ENGINE AND MANUFACTURER, REPAIR SHOP RECOMMENDED CHANGING THE OIL FILTER AND OIL, YET THE MOST RECENT OIL CHANGE WAS PERFORMED JUST ABOUT 3 WEEKS AGO. NEXT THEY ARE RECOMMENDING THAT THEY TAKE THE OIL PAN OUT AND LOOK FOR "REPAIRABLE CULPRITS", WHICH I BELIEVE IS JUST NONSENSE AS I'M SURE THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME THEY'VE DEALT WITH THIS SPECIFIC ISSUE. THIS IS A CASH COW FOR THE REPAIR SHOPS/DEALERS. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHAT IF ANY RECOURSE I HAVE. I'VE SEEN OTHER SIMILAR COMPLAINTS AS WELL, HAS VOLKSWAGEN ACKNOWLEDGED THE ISSUE? I'VE STUCK WITH THE MANUFACTURER'S RECOMMENDED SERVICE INTERVAL AND PRODUCT REQUIREMENTS, SO I AM AT A LOSS IF THIS IS NOT BEING INVESTIGATED AS SOME FORM OF NEGLIGENCE ON VW'S PART.

View Details
Pages:  <<  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds