Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN PASSAT - 2004 VOLKSWAGEN PASSAT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 251 complaints filed for the 2004 VOLKSWAGEN PASSAT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 VOLKSWAGEN PASSAT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 VOLKSWAGEN PASSAT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Engine And Engine Cooling (62) Fuel System Other (4) Seats (30) Structure (16)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (3) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (2)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (15) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (6)
Electrical System (22) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Diesel (4) Power Train (38) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Engine (14) Fuel System Gasoline (30) Seat Belts (1) Steering (2) Visibility (13)

Pages:  
<<  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/19/2009 - LAS VEGAS, NV
2004 VW PASSAT TDI. VW HAS A PROBLEM WITH THEIR TURN SIGNAL SWITCH. THE SWITCH CONTINUES TO OPEN AND CLOSE THE CIRCUIT AFTER THE TURN SIGNAL IS IN THE OFF POSITION. THIS IS A PROBLEM WITH MANY OF THEIR MODELS( JETTA, PASSAT BOTH GAS AND DIESEL). THE DEALERSHIP SERVICE PERSONNEL ARE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM AND ARE REPLACING THE DEFECTIVE SWITCH ONLY IF YOUR HAVE ALL YOUR MAINTENANCE DONE AT A AUTHORIZED VW DEALER. SO IF YOU DON"T HAVE ALL YOUR OIL CHANGES AND REPAIRS DONE BY A AUTHORIZED V W DEALER THERE IS NO ASSISTANCE FOR REPLACEMENT OF THIS DEFECTIVE SWITCH. THIS IS A COST OF $300.00 TO THE CONSUMER. THIS SURE IS SAFETY RELATED AND NEED TO BE RECALLED ASAP. THIS PROBLEM HAS CAUSED FIRES UNDER THE INSTRUMENT PANEL.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

10/17/2009 - NEW BADEN, IL
WHILE DRIVING THE ENGINE LAMP CAME ON AND THE TEST MESSAGE INDICATED "EMISSION WORKSHOP". THE DEALERSHIP FOUND THE MASS AIR FLOW METER (P0101) TO BE FAULTY. IT WAS REPLACE BUT THE PROBLEM AND CODE RECURRED WITHIN 6 MILES. NEXT THE DEALERSHIP FOUND A CRACK IN THE TURBO AIR COOLER, IT WAS REPLACED BUT THE PROBLEM AND CODE RECURRED WITHIN MILES. THE DEALERSHIP HAS HAD THE CAR FOR NEARLY 2 WEEKS WHEN THEY FOUND A SLIGHT AIR LEAK IN A TURBO HOSE. THE "O" RINGS WERE REPLACED AND IT MAY HAVE CORRECTED THE PROBLEM BUT I HAVE NOT HAD THE CAR SINCE THEY ARE STILL WORKING ON THE ENGINE SURGE PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/17/2009 - NEW BADEN, IL
SPORADICALLY THE REAR WINDOWS WOULD NOT RESPOND TO THE WINDOW UP/DOWN SWITCH, THEN LATER WITHOUT TOUCHING THE SWITCH THE WINDOWS WOULD OPEN OR CLOSE. THE DEALER FOUND A CHEAP PLASTIC COTTER PIN TYPE INSTRUMENT CAUSING THE PROBLEM. I HAVE NOT HAD THE CHANCE TO CHECK OUT THE REPAIR SINCE THE DEALER HAS MY CAR GOING ON 3 WEEKS FOR TWO OTHER ISSUES (TRANSMISSION SURGE AND ENGINE LIGHT/P0101) FOR WHICH THEY ARE HAVING PROBLEMS DIAGNOSING THE PROBLEM.

View Details

VISIBILITY: POWER WINDOW DEVICES AND CONTROLS

10/17/2009 - NEW BADEN, IL
SPORADICALLY THE REAR WINDOWS WOULD NOT RESPOND TO THE WINDOW UP/DOWN SWITCH, THEN LATER WITHOUT TOUCHING THE SWITCH THE WINDOWS WOULD OPEN OR CLOSE. THE DEALER FOUND A CHEAP PLASTIC COTTER PIN TYPE INSTRUMENT CAUSING THE PROBLEM. I HAVE NOT HAD THE CHANCE TO CHECK OUT THE REPAIR SINCE THE DEALER HAS MY CAR GOING ON 3 WEEKS FOR TWO OTHER ISSUES (TRANSMISSION SURGE AND ENGINE LIGHT/P0101) FOR WHICH THEY ARE HAVING PROBLEMS DIAGNOSING THE PROBLEM.

View Details

TIRES

9/23/2009 - SCOTTSDALE, AZ
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 VOLKSWAGEN PASSAT. THE VEHICLE HAS SPECTOR Z100 TIRES, TIRE SIZE P225/40/18(NA). THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED WHEN THE CONTACT OBSERVED THAT THE REAR DRIVER SIDE TIRE WAS FLAT AND EXHIBITED EXCESSIVE CRACKING. THE TIRE WAS CHANGED AND REPLACED WITH A SPARE TIRE. THE OTHER THREE TIRES ON THE VEHICLE ALSO EXHIBITED SEVERE CRACKS. THE FOUR DEFECTIVE TIRES WERE PURCHASED FOUR MONTHS PRIOR TO THE FAILURE. THE TIRE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT HAS PHOTOGRAPHS OF THE DEFECTIVE TIRES. THERE WERE CONCERNS OF THE SAFETY RISKS INVOLVED. THE VIN AND DOT NUMBER WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

8/20/2009 - LOS OSOS, CA
I WAS DRIVING ON HWY 101 IN SAN LUIS OBISPO COUNTY CALIFORNIA WHEN MY CALL STALLED IN THE FAST LANE. MY FUEL PUMP WENT OUT. I HAVE A 2004 VW PASSAT. THE 2003 PASSAT'S FUEL PUMPS WERE RECALLED JAN 2006 AND AUGUST 2007. AFTER MY CAR WAS MADE WHICH MAKES ME WONDER WHY MY CARS FUEL PUMP WASN'T RECALLED SINCE IT WAS MADE AFTER RECALL DATE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

6/27/2009 - CHICAGO, IL
2004 VW PASSAT 1.8T. UPON STARTING CAR, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. TOOK TO DEALER, AUTOBARN OF EVANSTON (IL) WHO REPLACED THERMAL SENSOR FOR $500. LESS THAN 2 MILES AFTER LEAVING DEALER, CAR RAN HOT AND A/C WENT OUT, HAD TO PULL OVER TO COOL. THIS WAS NOT AN ISSUE PRIOR TO VISITING THE DEALER. RETURNED TO DEALER. DEALER REPLACED "THERMAL SWITCH" FOR $300. CAR STILL RAN HOT. DEALER NOW SAYS RADIATOR IS CLOGGED AND NEEDS TO BE REPLACED ($700+). CAR HAS BEEN SERVICED REGULARLY PER VW, RADIATOR WAS FLUSHED 4,000 MILES AGO. CAR ONLY HAS 65,000 MILES ON IT. EITHER CAR IS DEFECTIVE OR DEALER IS RIPPING ME OFF.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

6/14/2009 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
VEHICLE: 2004 VOLKSWAGEN PASSAT GLS SEDAN WITH 2.0 TDI MOTOR PROBLEM: CHAIN DRIVEN OIL PUMP HAS SERIOUS VIBRATION. IT IS NOT ON VOLKSWAGEN'S SUGGESTED MAINTENANCE LIST OR THINGS TO CHECK DURING PREVENTABLE MAINTENANCE. THE CAST METAL CHAIN TENSIONER CRACKS AND FAILS, CAUSING LOSS OF TENSION ON THE OIL PUMP DRIVE SPROCKETS WHICH LEADS TO : 1. WEAR ON DRIVE SPROCKETS. 2. CATASTROPHIC FAILURE OF THE OIL PUMP. 3. COMPLETE LOSS OF ENGINE POWER WITHOUT WARNING AT ANY SPEED IN ANY TRAFFIC CONDITION. I DO NOT KNOW THE COMPLETE FAILURE RATE FOR THIS EQUIPMENT, BUT I DO KNOW THIS SETUP WAS SOLD ON APPROXIMATELY 20,000 2.0L TURBO DIESEL MOTORS, STAMPED BHW. THIS SETUP WAS ONLY SOLD IN NORTH AMERICA AND OTHER SIMILAR MOTORS IN EUROPEAN MARKETS HAVE A GEAR DRIVEN OIL PUMP THAT DO NOT SHOW THE FAILURE RATE BEING SEEN IN THE N.A. MARKET. VOLKSWAGEN IN NORTH AMERICA HAS DISCONTINUED MAKING THE CHAIN DRIVEN OIL PUMP, REPLACING IT WITH THE GEAR DRIVEN PUMP ORIGINALLY AVAILABLE ONLY IN FOREIGN MARKETS. VOLKSWAGEN CONTINUES TO STAND BY THAT THERE'S NO PROBLEM WITH CHAIN DRIVEN PUMP, YET THERE A NUMEROUS ACCOUNTS OF FAILING TENSIONERS, CHAINS, SPROCKETS AND BALANCE SHAFTS (HEX SHAFT HOLDING THE DRIVEN SPROCKETS) DUE TO LOSS OF TENSION AND POOR DESIGN. EVERY CHAIN DRIVEN OIL PUMP ON THE BHW MOTOR WILL FAIL. MILEAGE DOES NOT APPEAR TO BE A DETERMINATION ON WHEN THIS WILL FAIL AS REPORTS OF WEAR AND FAILURE FROM 45,000 TO 180,000 MILES ARE BEING REPORTED ON INTERNET VOLKSWAGEN DIESEL FORUMS. FOR PHOTOS OF FAILED PARTS, SEE: SEE POST #743: HTTP://FORUMS.TDICLUB.COM/SHOWTHREAD.PHP?T=233651&PAGE=50 NOTE: THIS COMPLAINT DOES NOT REFER TO THE TIMING BELT ASSEMBLY OR TIMING BELT. IT REFERS SOLELY TO THE CHAIN DRIVEN OIL PUMP AND BALANCE SHAFT ASSEMBLY ON THE BHW TYPE TURBO DIESEL MOTOR.

View Details

SEATS: FRONT ASSEMBLY: SEAT HEATER/COOLER

5/5/2009 - STAATFBURG, NY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 VOLKSWAGEN PASSAT. WHILE DRIVING FOR TWO MINUTES WITH THE SEAT HEATER ACTIVATED, THE DRIVER'S SEAT CAUGHT FIRE. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED MODERATE INJURIES. PRIOR TO THE FAILURE, THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED ACCORDING TO THE MANUFACTURER'S RECALL FOR THE SEATS: HEATING SYSTEM. SHE CALLED THE DEALER AND IS IN THE PROCESS OF HAVING THE VEHICLE REPAIRED. THE NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 55,000. UPDATED 5/26/09 UPDATED 05/28/09.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

4/29/2009 - LEHIGHTON, PA
I PURCHASED A USED 2004 VW PASSAT WITH 34K MILES IN SEPTEMBER 2007. THE CAR WAS RUNNING FILE AND HAS BEEN KEPT CURRENT WITH OIL CHANGES. ON APRIL 3, 2009, MY FIANCE WAS DRIVING US HOME FROM WORK AND A LOUD KNOCKING NOISE STARTED AND A MESSAGE DISPLAYED SAYING STOP! OIL PRESSURE LOW. THIS HAS NEVER HAPPENED BEFORE. WE WERE STILL FAR FROM HOME SO WE PULLED OVER AND TOOK A LOOK UNDER THE HOOD. THE OIL WAS LOW FOR SOME REASON, ALTHOUGH IT WAS RECENTLY CHANGED, SO WE PURCHASED A QUART TO GET US HOME. WE CONTINUED TO DRIVE HOME AND STARTING LOSING POWER AS THIS KNOCKING NOISE CONTINUED. WE DID MAKE IT HOME. THE CAR WAS TOWED FROM OUR HOME TO A VW DEALER THE NEXT DAY. WE WERE TOLD THAT THE CRANK SHAFT WAS DAMAGED DUE TO OIL SLUDGE BUILD-UP IN THE ENGINE. BASICALLY, THE ENGINE WAS SHOT AND I NEEDED A NEW ONE, WHICH WOULD COST ABOUT $4K WITH ABOUT $2K IN LABOR. THE CAR ONLY HAS 55K MILES ON IT - HOW COULD THIS HAPPEN? WE THEN WENT ONLINE AND CONDUCTED A SEARCH. WE FOUND THAT THIS IS A WELL-KNOWN PROBLEM WITH 1.8 T ENGINES BETWEEN 2003-2005. I WAS MORTIFIED. I WAS NEVER GIVEN ANY INFORMATION FROM VW ABOUT THIS ISSUE, ALTHOUGH THE CAR WAS PURCHASED USED. THE DEALER TOLD US THAT VW EXTENDED THE POWERTRAIN WARRANTY FOR TO 8 YRS DUE TO THIS ISSUE BUT WE MUST PROVIDE OIL CHANGE RECEIPTS. WE HAD NONE, BECAUSE NOT ONLY DID WE NOT HAVE ONES FROM THE PREVIOUS OWNER, BUT MY FIANCE CHANGES MY OIL AND ALTHOUGH HE USED THE REQUIRED SYNTHETIC OIL, THE DEALER TOLD US THAT THERE ARE "APPROVED BRANDS" THAT MUST BE USED. WE WERE NEVER GIVEN THIS INFO BECAUSE THE OWNER MANUAL ONLY SAYS USE 5W40 OR IF NOT AVAILABLE, USE 5W30 OIL. SO, WE ARE LEFT WITH NOTHING. IT CAN COST ANYWHERE BETWEEN $4-8K TO FIX. THE COST TO GET A NEW OR USED ENGINE PLUS LABOR IS RIDICULOUS. I'M DRIVING MY OLD HONDA THAT HAS 231K MILES WHILE MY VW SITS AT THE SHOP WAITING TO BE FIXED. I FEAR THE BILL. I PLANNED TO PURCHASE A NEW VW IN A COUPLE YEARS, BUT NOW I WILL NEVER BUY A VW AGAIN AND WILL MAKE SURE MY STORY IS HEARD!!

View Details
Pages:  <<  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds