Auto Recalls for Consumers

CADILLAC STS - 2005 CADILLAC STS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 76 complaints filed for the 2005 CADILLAC STS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 CADILLAC STS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 CADILLAC STS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (2) Power Train (15) Structure (3) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (18) Exterior Lighting (4) Seats (5) Suspension (3) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (2) Tires (1) Visibility (5)
Engine (9) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Other (2) Steering (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/6/2015 - RALEIGH, NC
THE REAR PINION SEAL ON MY CAR HAS FAILED A LONG TIME AGO. IT IS ODDLY STRANGE HOW THE 2005-2007 CADILLAC BUILDS HAVE THIS PROBLEM, YET, SOMEHOW MY VIN ISN'T INCLUDED IN THE SAFETY RECALL. THIS APPEARS TO BE A WIDER PROBLEM THAN THE BULLETIN COVERS. THIS REALLY NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED AS SOMEONE IS GOING TO BE DRIVING ONE DAY AND THEIR CAR IS GOING TO STOP ABRUPTLY AND CAUSE A MAJOR ACCIDENT. THIS IS A MAJOR PROBLEM!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/26/2015 - HARVEST, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CADILLAC STS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE RECURRED AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 147,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/2/2015 - KETTERING, OH
DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN THERE WAS A SUDDEN LOUD BANG, MY CAR SWERVED, MY RPMS REVVED UP, WHITE SMOKE AND I SMELLED BURNING. I PULLED OVER AND HAD IT TAKEN TO THE LOCAL CERTIFIED CADILLAC DEALERSHIP, MY REAR DIFFERENTIAL NEEDS TO BE REPLACED RELATED TO A REAR PINION SEAL LEAK. THERE'S A RECALL FOR THAT EXACT PROBLEM FOR MY YEAR AND MODEL BUT MY VIN ISN'T COVERED. HOW CAN I GET MY VIN ON THE RECALL LIST?

View Details

WHEELS

2/2/2015 - KETTERING, OH
DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN THERE WAS A SUDDEN LOUD BANG, MY CAR SWERVED, MY RPMS REVVED UP, WHITE SMOKE AND I SMELLED BURNING. I PULLED OVER AND HAD IT TAKEN TO THE LOCAL CERTIFIED CADILLAC DEALERSHIP, MY REAR DIFFERENTIAL NEEDS TO BE REPLACED RELATED TO A REAR PINION SEAL LEAK. THERE'S A RECALL FOR THAT EXACT PROBLEM FOR MY YEAR AND MODEL BUT MY VIN ISN'T COVERED. HOW CAN I GET MY VIN ON THE RECALL LIST?

View Details

ENGINE

11/24/2014 - HALIFAX, NC
WENT OUTSIDE TO DRIVE THE CAR BEGIN TO DRIVE OFF AS I WAS DRIVING A BIG BALL OF SMOKE CAME OUT THE TAIL PIPE AND SOUNDED AS IF SOMETHING BROKE AND THE CAR SHUT OFF. THE CAR WOULD NOT RE START.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/24/2014 - NILES, IL
THIS VEHICLE HAS PUMPED THROUGH 5-7 QUARTS OF OIL APPX EVERY 500 MILES. I KNOW THAT THIS IS NOT NORMAL. CAR WAS OVERHAULED, THE TRANS WAS BASICALLY REBUILT, WITH NEW COMPONENTS.PROBLEM WITH OIL EVAPORATING AT VERY LOW MILEAGE STILL AN ISSUE. ** LEA** OR SYMPTOMS ASIDE OF DIMINISHING OIL EVERY SAID SET OF MILES. VERY FRUSTRATING ISSUE THAT HASNT BEEN RESOLVED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/24/2014 - NILES, IL
THIS VEHICLE HAS PUMPED THROUGH 5-7 QUARTS OF OIL APPX EVERY 500 MILES. I KNOW THAT THIS IS NOT NORMAL. CAR WAS OVERHAULED, THE TRANS WAS BASICALLY REBUILT, WITH NEW COMPONENTS.PROBLEM WITH OIL EVAPORATING AT VERY LOW MILEAGE STILL AN ISSUE. ** LEA** OR SYMPTOMS ASIDE OF DIMINISHING OIL EVERY SAID SET OF MILES. VERY FRUSTRATING ISSUE THAT HASNT BEEN RESOLVED.

View Details

ENGINE

11/24/2014 - NILES, IL
THIS VEHICLE HAS PUMPED THROUGH 5-7 QUARTS OF OIL APPX EVERY 500 MILES. I KNOW THAT THIS IS NOT NORMAL. CAR WAS OVERHAULED, THE TRANS WAS BASICALLY REBUILT, WITH NEW COMPONENTS.PROBLEM WITH OIL EVAPORATING AT VERY LOW MILEAGE STILL AN ISSUE. ** LEA** OR SYMPTOMS ASIDE OF DIMINISHING OIL EVERY SAID SET OF MILES. VERY FRUSTRATING ISSUE THAT HASNT BEEN RESOLVED.

View Details

ENGINE

11/20/2014 - CENTENNIAL, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CADILLAC STS. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE ENGINE LOST POWER AS THE ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT MERGED THE VEHICLE TO SIDE OF THE ROAD SAFELY, WHICH WAS THEN TOWED TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE INTAKE AND EXHAUST MANIFOLD NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 48,000.

View Details

ENGINE

10/23/2014 - GARDENDALE, AL
TWICE DRIVE ON INTERSTATE (POSSIBLE AFTER ROUGH AREA ON INTERSTATE) REDUCE POWER LIGHT AND NO ENGINE POWER ATLANTA, GA TRAFFIC NEARLY GOT HIT SEVERAL TIMES TRYING TO GET TO THE SIDE OF THE INTERSTATE. NOW THREE TIMES STOP CAR PUT IN PARK AND ENGINE WILL NOT SHUT OFF, LIGHT SAYS PUT IN PARK ALTHOUGH IT IS IN PARK OR SHOULD BE. THE RECALL ON THE DRIVE AXLE SEAL, CADDILLAC WOULD NOT COVER COST, I DID PAY TO HAVE IT FIXED AT HOOVER, AL CADDILLAC.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds