Auto Recalls for Consumers

CADILLAC STS - 2005 CADILLAC STS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 69 complaints filed for the 2005 CADILLAC STS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 CADILLAC STS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 CADILLAC STS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (2) Power Train (13) Structure (3) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (18) Exterior Lighting (4) Seats (5) Suspension (3) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes (2) Tires (1) Visibility (4)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Other (2) Steering (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

10/3/2014 - FAIRDALE, KY
WHILE DRIVING ON THE EXPRESSWAY( AT NIGHT), GOING 70MPH, THE CAR COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN WITHOUT WARNING. I LOST ALL POWER, BRAKES, STEERING, LIGHTS. ON DASH MESSAGE STATED "ACCESSORY ACTIVE" AND THEN "SHIFT TO PARK." TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER AND THEY CHANGED THE THROTTLE BODY AND CAM/CRANK SHAFT ALONG WITH A COUPLE OTHER SMALL THINGS. GOT THE CAR BACK, AND 1 WEEK LATER, THE PROBLEM BEGAN AGAIN BUT WORSE. IT WOULD DO IT REPEATEDLY, AT ALL DIFFERENT SPEEDS. A COUPLE OF TIMES RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF AN INTERSECTION! TOOK THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALER AGAIN AND THIS TIME THEY CHANGED THE BODY CONTROL MODULE. GOT THE CAR BACK AND ABOUT A WEEK LATER, THE PROBLEM HAS RETURNED!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/3/2014 - FAIRDALE, KY
WHILE DRIVING ON THE EXPRESSWAY( AT NIGHT), GOING 70MPH, THE CAR COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN WITHOUT WARNING. I LOST ALL POWER, BRAKES, STEERING, LIGHTS. ON DASH MESSAGE STATED "ACCESSORY ACTIVE" AND THEN "SHIFT TO PARK." TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER AND THEY CHANGED THE THROTTLE BODY AND CAM/CRANK SHAFT ALONG WITH A COUPLE OTHER SMALL THINGS. GOT THE CAR BACK, AND 1 WEEK LATER, THE PROBLEM BEGAN AGAIN BUT WORSE. IT WOULD DO IT REPEATEDLY, AT ALL DIFFERENT SPEEDS. A COUPLE OF TIMES RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF AN INTERSECTION! TOOK THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALER AGAIN AND THIS TIME THEY CHANGED THE BODY CONTROL MODULE. GOT THE CAR BACK AND ABOUT A WEEK LATER, THE PROBLEM HAS RETURNED!

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/3/2014 - FAIRDALE, KY
WHILE DRIVING ON THE EXPRESSWAY( AT NIGHT), GOING 70MPH, THE CAR COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN WITHOUT WARNING. I LOST ALL POWER, BRAKES, STEERING, LIGHTS. ON DASH MESSAGE STATED "ACCESSORY ACTIVE" AND THEN "SHIFT TO PARK." TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER AND THEY CHANGED THE THROTTLE BODY AND CAM/CRANK SHAFT ALONG WITH A COUPLE OTHER SMALL THINGS. GOT THE CAR BACK, AND 1 WEEK LATER, THE PROBLEM BEGAN AGAIN BUT WORSE. IT WOULD DO IT REPEATEDLY, AT ALL DIFFERENT SPEEDS. A COUPLE OF TIMES RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF AN INTERSECTION! TOOK THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALER AGAIN AND THIS TIME THEY CHANGED THE BODY CONTROL MODULE. GOT THE CAR BACK AND ABOUT A WEEK LATER, THE PROBLEM HAS RETURNED!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/29/2014 - STOCKTON, CA
THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER MAKES LOUD POPPING NOISES ON PASSENGER FRONT SIDE. NOW IS MISFIRING IN CYLINDER 1 AND ALSO HAS UNEXPECTED GAINED SPEED WITHOUT ANY GAS PEDDLE PUSHED. GM EXTENDED THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER WARRANTY TO 200,000 MILES DUE TO CONVERTER PROBLEMS. BUT MY VIN THEY SAY ISNT INCLUDED. MY CAR IS A V6. MY SISTER WAS THE PREVIOUS OWNER SHE SAID SHE NEVER RECEIVED ANY RECALL INFORMATION. THE WEBSITE SHOWS NO OPEN RECALLS BUT THE WORK WASN'T COMPLETED SINCE SHE PURCHASED IN 2007. GM WEBSITE DOESNT HELP AT ALL.

View Details

ENGINE

9/29/2014 - STOCKTON, CA
THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER MAKES LOUD POPPING NOISES ON PASSENGER FRONT SIDE. NOW IS MISFIRING IN CYLINDER 1 AND ALSO HAS UNEXPECTED GAINED SPEED WITHOUT ANY GAS PEDDLE PUSHED. GM EXTENDED THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER WARRANTY TO 200,000 MILES DUE TO CONVERTER PROBLEMS. BUT MY VIN THEY SAY ISNT INCLUDED. MY CAR IS A V6. MY SISTER WAS THE PREVIOUS OWNER SHE SAID SHE NEVER RECEIVED ANY RECALL INFORMATION. THE WEBSITE SHOWS NO OPEN RECALLS BUT THE WORK WASN'T COMPLETED SINCE SHE PURCHASED IN 2007. GM WEBSITE DOESNT HELP AT ALL.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/29/2014 - STOCKTON, CA
THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER MAKES LOUD POPPING NOISES ON PASSENGER FRONT SIDE. NOW IS MISFIRING IN CYLINDER 1 AND ALSO HAS UNEXPECTED GAINED SPEED WITHOUT ANY GAS PEDDLE PUSHED. GM EXTENDED THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER WARRANTY TO 200,000 MILES DUE TO CONVERTER PROBLEMS. BUT MY VIN THEY SAY ISNT INCLUDED. MY CAR IS A V6. MY SISTER WAS THE PREVIOUS OWNER SHE SAID SHE NEVER RECEIVED ANY RECALL INFORMATION. THE WEBSITE SHOWS NO OPEN RECALLS BUT THE WORK WASN'T COMPLETED SINCE SHE PURCHASED IN 2007. GM WEBSITE DOESNT HELP AT ALL.

View Details

ENGINE

9/8/2014 - PONOMA , CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CADILLAC STS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE TRACTION CONTROL INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS COASTED TO THE SHOULDER OF THE ROAD AND, AFTER ONE ATTEMPT, THE VEHICLE RESTARTED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING, BUT WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

9/8/2014 - PONOMA , CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CADILLAC STS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE TRACTION CONTROL INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS COASTED TO THE SHOULDER OF THE ROAD AND, AFTER ONE ATTEMPT, THE VEHICLE RESTARTED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING, BUT WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR

8/22/2014 - HAMMOND, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CADILLAC STS. WHEN ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE, THE CONTACT HEARD A CLICKING SOUND NEAR THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE SOUND CONTINUED UNTIL THE VEHICLE REACHED 20 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 172,900.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/13/2014 - RICHARDSON, TX
MY 2005 CADILLAC STS BRAKES LOCKED UP AND CAUSED MY CAR TO CRASH. AFTER RESEARCH I AM SHOWING THAT THERE WAS A RECALL REGARDING THE BRAKE SYSTEM. IN ADDITION, WHEN CHANGING GEARS YOU CAN HEAR THE GEARS CHANGING FROM THE OUTSIDE OF THE CAR. I RESEARCHED THIS AS WELL AND APPARENTLY THERE IS A DEFECT AND RECALL ON THE AXLE. I AM NOT HAPPY ABOUT THIS VEHICLE THAT I JUST PURCHASED FOR ALITTLE OVER 7 MONTHS. THERE IS ALSO AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM. AS I AM DRIVING, THE HOOD AJAR LIGHT COMES ON AND THERE IS NO SIGN OF MY HOOD BEIGN AJAR. IN ADDITION, THE TRANSMISSION SEEMS AS THOUGHT IT IS GOING OUT AS WELL. BEFORE I CONSULT WITH AN ATTORNEY I WANTED TO FIRST GIVE GMC AN OPPORTUNITY TO RESOLVE THIS ISSUES. MY VEHICLE HAS LESS THAN 100,000 MILES. ALSO, PLEASE NOTE THAT DUE TO THE ELECTRICAL PROBLEM, MY REVERSE LIGHTS HAS NEVER WORKED. THE UNKNOWN OTHER WOULD BE THE AXLE AND TRANSMISSION.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds