Auto Recalls for Consumers

CADILLAC STS - 2005 CADILLAC STS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 84 complaints filed for the 2005 CADILLAC STS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 CADILLAC STS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 CADILLAC STS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment (2) Power Train (17) Structure (3) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (22) Exterior Lighting (4) Seats (5) Suspension (4) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (3) Tires (1) Visibility (5)
Engine (9) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Other (2) Steering (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

8/29/2016 - BROOKLYN, NY
JUST BOUGHT THE VEHICLE USED AND I HEAR A NOISE COMING FROM THE REAR BACK OF THE CAR. THE KEY FOB WASN'T WORKING CORRECTLY AND DRAINED THE BATTERY AND I HAD TO BUY A NEW BATTERY. I REALLY DON'T KNOW WHAT WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE BUT ITS DRIVEABLE FOR NOW BESIDES THE SLIGHT BANGING NOISE. IT NEED TO BE CHECKED FOR RECALLS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/29/2016 - BROOKLYN, NY
JUST BOUGHT THE VEHICLE USED AND I HEAR A NOISE COMING FROM THE REAR BACK OF THE CAR. THE KEY FOB WASN'T WORKING CORRECTLY AND DRAINED THE BATTERY AND I HAD TO BUY A NEW BATTERY. I REALLY DON'T KNOW WHAT WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE BUT ITS DRIVEABLE FOR NOW BESIDES THE SLIGHT BANGING NOISE. IT NEED TO BE CHECKED FOR RECALLS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/29/2016 - BROOKLYN, NY
JUST BOUGHT THE VEHICLE USED AND I HEAR A NOISE COMING FROM THE REAR BACK OF THE CAR. THE KEY FOB WASN'T WORKING CORRECTLY AND DRAINED THE BATTERY AND I HAD TO BUY A NEW BATTERY. I REALLY DON'T KNOW WHAT WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE BUT ITS DRIVEABLE FOR NOW BESIDES THE SLIGHT BANGING NOISE. IT NEED TO BE CHECKED FOR RECALLS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/9/2016 - TAMPA, FL
ON JUNE 9, 2016 I WAS DRIVING ON A WET ROAD SO WHEN I TRIED TO STOP IT TOOK AN EXTREME AMOUNT OF DISTANCE TO GET THE CAR TO STOP. I FIGURED THE BRAKES GOT A LITTLE WET CAUSING THE PROBABLE. THE NEXT DAY MY WIFE WAS DRIVING THE CAR. TRAFFIC STOPPED AHEAD OF HER STOPPED SO SHE TRIED TO STOP. WITH BOTH LEGS PUSHING ON THE BRAKE PEDALS THE CAR WOULD NOT STOP. SHE WAS ALMOST KILLED SINCE SHE HAD TO HIT THE CAR IN FRONT OF HER. THE CAR ONLY HAS 57000 MILES ON IT SO FIGURED THE CAR HAD A LOT OF LIFE IN IT. NOT ANYMORE. THE DEALER (ED MORSE IN TAMPA) HAS MADE A PRELIMINARY INSPECTION AND LOOKS LIKE THE CAR IS TOTALED. THIS ALL HAPPED ON A 45 MPH ROAD WITH LOTS OF ROOM TO MOVE ABOUT BUT NOT AT A RED LIGHT. I GUESS I NEED TO LOOK FOR SOMETHING OTHER THAN CADILLAC FOR QUALITY AS MUCH AS I LIKED THE CAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/8/2016 - TRAVERSE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CADILLAC STS. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE SHOOK AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN BACK TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE AND SMOKE EMITTED FROM THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE IGNITION COIL HAD TOTAL MELTDOWN SURROUNDED BY SMALL FLAMES, AND THE FUSE WAS BLOWN FOR THE ODD INJECTORS. A FIRE REPORT WAS NOT FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,920.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/3/2016 - LAS VEGAS, NV
PASSENGER AIR BAG WARNING IS ON. IT WAS REPAIRED ONCE UNDER WARRANTY. I AM NOW DRIVING WITH NO AIR BAGS BECAUSE THE DEFECTIVE MODULE WAS REPLACED WITH A MODULE FROM THE SAME MANUFACTURER THAT MADE THE FIRST DEFECTIVE ONE. IF MY CAR WAS A CTS IT WOULD BE REPAIRED BY CADILLAC AS HUNDREDS OF CTS CARS HAVE BEEN RECALLED FOR THIS REASON. I HAVE OWNED CADILLACS MOST OF MY LIFE. THIS MAY BE THE LAST ONE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/19/2016 - HARVEY, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CADILLAC STS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE WAS PERSISTENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT HAD THE BATTERY CHANGED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 64,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

11/10/2015 - OCEAN PINES, MD
S10 APPROPRIATE HANDLING- LETTER TO THE SECRETARY FROM CONSTITUENT RE COPY OF A LETTER ADDRESSED TO GENERAL MOTORS CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER MARY BARRA REGARDING THE RECALL OF VEHICLES THAT CAN LEAK OIL AND CATCH FIRE. THE CONSUMER STATED THE TECHNICIAN SHOWED HIM WHERE BURNT OIL HAD LEAKED THROUGH ENGINE GASKETS BETWEEN THE CRANKCASE AND MANIFOLD. THE CONSUMER WAS QUOTED A PRICE OF $ 4,153.00 FOR THE REPLACEMENT OF THE GASKETS. THE PRICE WENT UP, AFTER THE REPAIRS WERE IN PROGRESS. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED ADDITIONAL GASKETS WERE NEEDED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/31/2015 - NEWTOWN, PA
WHILE DRIVING THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN, THIS HAPPENED TWICE IN THE SAME DAY. MY WIFE NOW REFUSES TO DRIVE THE CAR AND WANTS TO SELL IT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/6/2015 - LAS VEGAS , NV
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE STREET IN MY CADILLAC STS A (SERVICE ELECTRIC SYSTEM) WARNING FLASHED ON MY DASH. A FEW MOMENTS LATER EVERYTHING ELECTRIC IN MY CAR STARTED TO SHUT DOWN. THE RADIO, POWER STEERING, LIGHTS, AND FINALLY THE ENGINE. I CRUISED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL AND ENGAGED THE EMERGENCY BRAKES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds