Auto Recalls for Consumers

CADILLAC STS - 2005 CADILLAC STS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 81 complaints filed for the 2005 CADILLAC STS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 CADILLAC STS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 CADILLAC STS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment (2) Power Train (15) Structure (3) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (20) Exterior Lighting (4) Seats (5) Suspension (3) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (2) Tires (1) Visibility (5)
Engine (9) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Other (2) Steering (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

4/3/2016 - LAS VEGAS, NV
PASSENGER AIR BAG WARNING IS ON. IT WAS REPAIRED ONCE UNDER WARRANTY. I AM NOW DRIVING WITH NO AIR BAGS BECAUSE THE DEFECTIVE MODULE WAS REPLACED WITH A MODULE FROM THE SAME MANUFACTURER THAT MADE THE FIRST DEFECTIVE ONE. IF MY CAR WAS A CTS IT WOULD BE REPAIRED BY CADILLAC AS HUNDREDS OF CTS CARS HAVE BEEN RECALLED FOR THIS REASON. I HAVE OWNED CADILLACS MOST OF MY LIFE. THIS MAY BE THE LAST ONE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/19/2016 - HARVEY, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CADILLAC STS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE WAS PERSISTENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT HAD THE BATTERY CHANGED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 64,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

11/10/2015 - OCEAN PINES, MD
S10 APPROPRIATE HANDLING- LETTER TO THE SECRETARY FROM CONSTITUENT RE COPY OF A LETTER ADDRESSED TO GENERAL MOTORS CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER MARY BARRA REGARDING THE RECALL OF VEHICLES THAT CAN LEAK OIL AND CATCH FIRE. THE CONSUMER STATED THE TECHNICIAN SHOWED HIM WHERE BURNT OIL HAD LEAKED THROUGH ENGINE GASKETS BETWEEN THE CRANKCASE AND MANIFOLD. THE CONSUMER WAS QUOTED A PRICE OF $ 4,153.00 FOR THE REPLACEMENT OF THE GASKETS. THE PRICE WENT UP, AFTER THE REPAIRS WERE IN PROGRESS. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED ADDITIONAL GASKETS WERE NEEDED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/31/2015 - NEWTOWN, PA
WHILE DRIVING THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN, THIS HAPPENED TWICE IN THE SAME DAY. MY WIFE NOW REFUSES TO DRIVE THE CAR AND WANTS TO SELL IT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/6/2015 - LAS VEGAS , NV
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE STREET IN MY CADILLAC STS A (SERVICE ELECTRIC SYSTEM) WARNING FLASHED ON MY DASH. A FEW MOMENTS LATER EVERYTHING ELECTRIC IN MY CAR STARTED TO SHUT DOWN. THE RADIO, POWER STEERING, LIGHTS, AND FINALLY THE ENGINE. I CRUISED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL AND ENGAGED THE EMERGENCY BRAKES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/6/2015 - RALEIGH, NC
THE REAR PINION SEAL ON MY CAR HAS FAILED A LONG TIME AGO. IT IS ODDLY STRANGE HOW THE 2005-2007 CADILLAC BUILDS HAVE THIS PROBLEM, YET, SOMEHOW MY VIN ISN'T INCLUDED IN THE SAFETY RECALL. THIS APPEARS TO BE A WIDER PROBLEM THAN THE BULLETIN COVERS. THIS REALLY NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED AS SOMEONE IS GOING TO BE DRIVING ONE DAY AND THEIR CAR IS GOING TO STOP ABRUPTLY AND CAUSE A MAJOR ACCIDENT. THIS IS A MAJOR PROBLEM!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/26/2015 - HARVEST, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CADILLAC STS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE RECURRED AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 147,000.

View Details

WHEELS

2/2/2015 - KETTERING, OH
DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN THERE WAS A SUDDEN LOUD BANG, MY CAR SWERVED, MY RPMS REVVED UP, WHITE SMOKE AND I SMELLED BURNING. I PULLED OVER AND HAD IT TAKEN TO THE LOCAL CERTIFIED CADILLAC DEALERSHIP, MY REAR DIFFERENTIAL NEEDS TO BE REPLACED RELATED TO A REAR PINION SEAL LEAK. THERE'S A RECALL FOR THAT EXACT PROBLEM FOR MY YEAR AND MODEL BUT MY VIN ISN'T COVERED. HOW CAN I GET MY VIN ON THE RECALL LIST?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/2/2015 - KETTERING, OH
DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN THERE WAS A SUDDEN LOUD BANG, MY CAR SWERVED, MY RPMS REVVED UP, WHITE SMOKE AND I SMELLED BURNING. I PULLED OVER AND HAD IT TAKEN TO THE LOCAL CERTIFIED CADILLAC DEALERSHIP, MY REAR DIFFERENTIAL NEEDS TO BE REPLACED RELATED TO A REAR PINION SEAL LEAK. THERE'S A RECALL FOR THAT EXACT PROBLEM FOR MY YEAR AND MODEL BUT MY VIN ISN'T COVERED. HOW CAN I GET MY VIN ON THE RECALL LIST?

View Details

ENGINE

11/24/2014 - HALIFAX, NC
WENT OUTSIDE TO DRIVE THE CAR BEGIN TO DRIVE OFF AS I WAS DRIVING A BIG BALL OF SMOKE CAME OUT THE TAIL PIPE AND SOUNDED AS IF SOMETHING BROKE AND THE CAR SHUT OFF. THE CAR WOULD NOT RE START.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds