Auto Recalls for Consumers

CADILLAC STS - 2005 CADILLAC STS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 68 complaints filed for the 2005 CADILLAC STS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 CADILLAC STS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 CADILLAC STS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (2) Power Train (13) Structure (3) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (18) Exterior Lighting (4) Seats (5) Suspension (3) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (1) Visibility (4)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Other (2) Steering (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

9/29/2014 - STOCKTON, CA
THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER MAKES LOUD POPPING NOISES ON PASSENGER FRONT SIDE. NOW IS MISFIRING IN CYLINDER 1 AND ALSO HAS UNEXPECTED GAINED SPEED WITHOUT ANY GAS PEDDLE PUSHED. GM EXTENDED THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER WARRANTY TO 200,000 MILES DUE TO CONVERTER PROBLEMS. BUT MY VIN THEY SAY ISNT INCLUDED. MY CAR IS A V6. MY SISTER WAS THE PREVIOUS OWNER SHE SAID SHE NEVER RECEIVED ANY RECALL INFORMATION. THE WEBSITE SHOWS NO OPEN RECALLS BUT THE WORK WASN'T COMPLETED SINCE SHE PURCHASED IN 2007. GM WEBSITE DOESNT HELP AT ALL.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/29/2014 - STOCKTON, CA
THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER MAKES LOUD POPPING NOISES ON PASSENGER FRONT SIDE. NOW IS MISFIRING IN CYLINDER 1 AND ALSO HAS UNEXPECTED GAINED SPEED WITHOUT ANY GAS PEDDLE PUSHED. GM EXTENDED THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER WARRANTY TO 200,000 MILES DUE TO CONVERTER PROBLEMS. BUT MY VIN THEY SAY ISNT INCLUDED. MY CAR IS A V6. MY SISTER WAS THE PREVIOUS OWNER SHE SAID SHE NEVER RECEIVED ANY RECALL INFORMATION. THE WEBSITE SHOWS NO OPEN RECALLS BUT THE WORK WASN'T COMPLETED SINCE SHE PURCHASED IN 2007. GM WEBSITE DOESNT HELP AT ALL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/29/2014 - STOCKTON, CA
THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER MAKES LOUD POPPING NOISES ON PASSENGER FRONT SIDE. NOW IS MISFIRING IN CYLINDER 1 AND ALSO HAS UNEXPECTED GAINED SPEED WITHOUT ANY GAS PEDDLE PUSHED. GM EXTENDED THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER WARRANTY TO 200,000 MILES DUE TO CONVERTER PROBLEMS. BUT MY VIN THEY SAY ISNT INCLUDED. MY CAR IS A V6. MY SISTER WAS THE PREVIOUS OWNER SHE SAID SHE NEVER RECEIVED ANY RECALL INFORMATION. THE WEBSITE SHOWS NO OPEN RECALLS BUT THE WORK WASN'T COMPLETED SINCE SHE PURCHASED IN 2007. GM WEBSITE DOESNT HELP AT ALL.

View Details

ENGINE

9/8/2014 - PONOMA , CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CADILLAC STS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE TRACTION CONTROL INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS COASTED TO THE SHOULDER OF THE ROAD AND, AFTER ONE ATTEMPT, THE VEHICLE RESTARTED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING, BUT WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

9/8/2014 - PONOMA , CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CADILLAC STS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE TRACTION CONTROL INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS COASTED TO THE SHOULDER OF THE ROAD AND, AFTER ONE ATTEMPT, THE VEHICLE RESTARTED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING, BUT WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR

8/22/2014 - HAMMOND, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CADILLAC STS. WHEN ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE, THE CONTACT HEARD A CLICKING SOUND NEAR THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE SOUND CONTINUED UNTIL THE VEHICLE REACHED 20 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 172,900.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/13/2014 - RICHARDSON, TX
MY 2005 CADILLAC STS BRAKES LOCKED UP AND CAUSED MY CAR TO CRASH. AFTER RESEARCH I AM SHOWING THAT THERE WAS A RECALL REGARDING THE BRAKE SYSTEM. IN ADDITION, WHEN CHANGING GEARS YOU CAN HEAR THE GEARS CHANGING FROM THE OUTSIDE OF THE CAR. I RESEARCHED THIS AS WELL AND APPARENTLY THERE IS A DEFECT AND RECALL ON THE AXLE. I AM NOT HAPPY ABOUT THIS VEHICLE THAT I JUST PURCHASED FOR ALITTLE OVER 7 MONTHS. THERE IS ALSO AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM. AS I AM DRIVING, THE HOOD AJAR LIGHT COMES ON AND THERE IS NO SIGN OF MY HOOD BEIGN AJAR. IN ADDITION, THE TRANSMISSION SEEMS AS THOUGHT IT IS GOING OUT AS WELL. BEFORE I CONSULT WITH AN ATTORNEY I WANTED TO FIRST GIVE GMC AN OPPORTUNITY TO RESOLVE THIS ISSUES. MY VEHICLE HAS LESS THAN 100,000 MILES. ALSO, PLEASE NOTE THAT DUE TO THE ELECTRICAL PROBLEM, MY REVERSE LIGHTS HAS NEVER WORKED. THE UNKNOWN OTHER WOULD BE THE AXLE AND TRANSMISSION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/13/2014 - RICHARDSON, TX
MY 2005 CADILLAC STS BRAKES LOCKED UP AND CAUSED MY CAR TO CRASH. AFTER RESEARCH I AM SHOWING THAT THERE WAS A RECALL REGARDING THE BRAKE SYSTEM. IN ADDITION, WHEN CHANGING GEARS YOU CAN HEAR THE GEARS CHANGING FROM THE OUTSIDE OF THE CAR. I RESEARCHED THIS AS WELL AND APPARENTLY THERE IS A DEFECT AND RECALL ON THE AXLE. I AM NOT HAPPY ABOUT THIS VEHICLE THAT I JUST PURCHASED FOR ALITTLE OVER 7 MONTHS. THERE IS ALSO AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM. AS I AM DRIVING, THE HOOD AJAR LIGHT COMES ON AND THERE IS NO SIGN OF MY HOOD BEIGN AJAR. IN ADDITION, THE TRANSMISSION SEEMS AS THOUGHT IT IS GOING OUT AS WELL. BEFORE I CONSULT WITH AN ATTORNEY I WANTED TO FIRST GIVE GMC AN OPPORTUNITY TO RESOLVE THIS ISSUES. MY VEHICLE HAS LESS THAN 100,000 MILES. ALSO, PLEASE NOTE THAT DUE TO THE ELECTRICAL PROBLEM, MY REVERSE LIGHTS HAS NEVER WORKED. THE UNKNOWN OTHER WOULD BE THE AXLE AND TRANSMISSION.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/13/2014 - RICHARDSON, TX
MY 2005 CADILLAC STS BRAKES LOCKED UP AND CAUSED MY CAR TO CRASH. AFTER RESEARCH I AM SHOWING THAT THERE WAS A RECALL REGARDING THE BRAKE SYSTEM. IN ADDITION, WHEN CHANGING GEARS YOU CAN HEAR THE GEARS CHANGING FROM THE OUTSIDE OF THE CAR. I RESEARCHED THIS AS WELL AND APPARENTLY THERE IS A DEFECT AND RECALL ON THE AXLE. I AM NOT HAPPY ABOUT THIS VEHICLE THAT I JUST PURCHASED FOR ALITTLE OVER 7 MONTHS. THERE IS ALSO AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM. AS I AM DRIVING, THE HOOD AJAR LIGHT COMES ON AND THERE IS NO SIGN OF MY HOOD BEIGN AJAR. IN ADDITION, THE TRANSMISSION SEEMS AS THOUGHT IT IS GOING OUT AS WELL. BEFORE I CONSULT WITH AN ATTORNEY I WANTED TO FIRST GIVE GMC AN OPPORTUNITY TO RESOLVE THIS ISSUES. MY VEHICLE HAS LESS THAN 100,000 MILES. ALSO, PLEASE NOTE THAT DUE TO THE ELECTRICAL PROBLEM, MY REVERSE LIGHTS HAS NEVER WORKED. THE UNKNOWN OTHER WOULD BE THE AXLE AND TRANSMISSION.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/2/2014 - SIERRA VISTA, AZ
I WAS DRIVING ALONG A CITY ROADWAY WHEN THE VEHICLE'S STABILITY, TRACTION CONTROL, AND ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON SIMULTANEOUSLY WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN THE VEHICLE JUST STOPPED, ALMOST CAUSING THE CAR BEHIND ME TO COLLIDE WITH MY VEHICLE. I CALLED THE DEALER, LAWLEY'S GM STORE IN SIERRA VISTA, AZ. WHERE I HAD JUST PURCHASED THE VEHICLE AND TOLD THE SERVICE MANAGER WHAT HAPPENED...HE SENT A TOW TRUCK TO PICKUP THE VEHICLE AND AFTER INSPECTING THE VEHICLE AT THE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME IT WAS THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDING REPLACEMENT...I BOUGHT A NEW ONE AND HAD IT INSTALLED. RAN FINE FOR A COUPLE OF WEEKS AFTER WHICH THE VEHICLE BEGAN STALLING WHILE DRIVING ON A CITY ROAD WHEN THE SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN, BUT THIS TIME WHEN THE VEHICLE STOPPED WITHOUT ANY WARNING CAUSING THE VEHICLES BEHIND ME HAD TO SWERVE AROUND ME ALMOST CAUSING ACCIDENTS WITH ONCOMING VEHICLES. CALLED THE DEALER AGAIN, HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED IN AND THIS TIME WAS TOLD THAT THE VEHICLES COMPUTER WAS NOT PROGRAMMED RIGHT AND THAT IT ALSO NEEDED THROTTLE BODY HARNESS...BOUGHT THE HARNESS AND HAD IT INSTALLED AS WELL AS THE DEALER REPROGRAMMING THE COMPUTER. CAR DID WELL FOR A FEW MONTHS WHEN IT HAPPENED AGAIN (VEHICLE STOPPING UNEXPECTEDLY), THIS TIME APPROACHING A MAJOR CROSSWALK AND ONCE AGAIN CAUSING THE VEHICLES BEHIND ME TO COME A ABRUPT STOPS, FORTUNATELY A CITY POLICE VEHICLE WAS ON THE OPPOSITE SIDE OF THE CROSSWALK AND THE OFFICER WITNESSED WHAT HAPPENED, PUT HIS VEHICLE'S EMERGENCY LIGHTS ON AND CAME OVER TO HELP ME PUSH OUT FROM THE STREET TO A WALGREEN'S PARKING LOT WHERE I ONCE AGAIN CALLED THE DEALER, HAD IT TOWED TO DEALER WHERE THEY TOLD ME THE THROTTLE BODY PIN CONNECTORS HAD TO BE SOLDERED ON WHICH THEY DID. CAR IS RUNNING OK FOR NOW, BUT I AM CONCERNED THAT I MAY BE DRIVING AND THE VEHICLE WILL ONCE AGAIN STOP UNEXPECTEDLY AND CAUSE AN ACCIDENT.THERE ARE CONSUMER POSTS ON THIS PROBLEM ON THE WEB.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds