Auto Recalls for Consumers

CADILLAC STS - 2005 CADILLAC STS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 88 complaints filed for the 2005 CADILLAC STS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 CADILLAC STS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 CADILLAC STS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (2) Power Train (17) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (22) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (1) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (5) Suspension (4) Visibility (5)
Engine (9) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (3) Tires (1) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/23/2018 - GRANVILLE, OH
2005 CADILLAS STS - FRAME ROTTING OUT - CAR IS GARAGE KEPT. UPON INSPECTION ON MY LIFT THIS WEEKEND, I FOUND SUBSTANTIAL RUST TO BOTH LOWER FRAME RAILS JUST BEHIND THE MOUNTS FOR ENGINE CRADLE. MANUFACTURER FILLS THE FRAME RAILS OF THIS AREA WITH FOAM WHICH ABSORBS AND HOLDS WATER AND ROTS THE FRAME RAIL FROM THE INSIDE OUT. THIS IS DEFINITELY A MANUFACTURER DEFECT. NOW LOOKING AT THOUSANDS TO REPAIR A VEHICLE IN OTHERWISE VERY GOOD CONDITION.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/14/2017 - LAS VEGAS, NV
B0022 ISSUE HAS BEEN DETECTED IN THE AIR BAG DEPLOYMENT SYSTEM. PASSENGER SEAT BELT RETRACTOR IS INOPERABLE AND WILL NOT RETRACT SEAT BELT WHEN NEEDED. THE AIR BAG WARNING LITE SHOWS ON DASH WHEN START OF ENGINE AND CONTINUOUS ON .

View Details

SEAT BELTS

12/14/2017 - LAS VEGAS, NV
B0022 ISSUE HAS BEEN DETECTED IN THE AIR BAG DEPLOYMENT SYSTEM. PASSENGER SEAT BELT RETRACTOR IS INOPERABLE AND WILL NOT RETRACT SEAT BELT WHEN NEEDED. THE AIR BAG WARNING LITE SHOWS ON DASH WHEN START OF ENGINE AND CONTINUOUS ON .

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/5/2017 - CHESWICK, PA
MANUFACTURE PRODUCED THIS CAR FILLING THE INSIDE OF THE UNIBODY RAILS WITH AN ABSORBENT FOAM. THESE RAILS ALSO HAVE MANUFACTURED HOLES ALLOWING WATER TO ENTER THE RAILS. THE WATER IS THEN ABSORBED IN THE FOAM AND THROUGH AGE IT HAS CAUSE THE UNIBODY RAILS TO ROT FROM THE INSIDE OUT. THIS IS THE MAIN STRUCTURE OF THE CAR. I ALSO HAVE A 2007 CADILLAC STS WITH 85K WHERE THIS IS STARTING TO BECOME PRESENT AND AN 2005 CADILLAC SRX 130K WHERE THIS ALREADY HAPPENED AND HAD TO SPEND THOUSANDS IN REPAIRS. I UNDERSTAND WITH AGE COMES RUST HOWEVER THIS IS A MANUFACTURE DEFECT. THERE IS NO REASON FOR THESE CARS MAIN STRUCTURE TO OF BEEN FILLED WITH FOAM CAUSING THE "FRAME" TO ROT SPECIFICALLY WHERE THE ENGINE CRADLE BOLTS TO THE BODY STRUCTURE. HAD THIS ADDRESSED NOW I COULD OF BEEN DRIVING THE CAR AND HAD THE ENGINE SUBFRAME RIP FROM THE UNIBODY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/5/2017 - LAS VEGAS, NV
I HAD THE SERVICE AIR BAGS LIGHT REPAIRED AT 55,000 MILES NOW HAVE 70,000 MILES AND HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM IF MY CAR WAS A 2005 CTS AND NOT A STS CADILLAC WOULD REPAIR IT. I AM DRIVING A CAR WITH OUT AIR BAG PROTECTION. I NEVER OWNED A FOREIGN CAR AND NOW SEE WHY THE ARE SO POPULAR. NO MORE AMERICAN BUILT CARS.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/29/2016 - BROOKLYN, NY
JUST BOUGHT THE VEHICLE USED AND I HEAR A NOISE COMING FROM THE REAR BACK OF THE CAR. THE KEY FOB WASN'T WORKING CORRECTLY AND DRAINED THE BATTERY AND I HAD TO BUY A NEW BATTERY. I REALLY DON'T KNOW WHAT WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE BUT ITS DRIVEABLE FOR NOW BESIDES THE SLIGHT BANGING NOISE. IT NEED TO BE CHECKED FOR RECALLS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/29/2016 - BROOKLYN, NY
JUST BOUGHT THE VEHICLE USED AND I HEAR A NOISE COMING FROM THE REAR BACK OF THE CAR. THE KEY FOB WASN'T WORKING CORRECTLY AND DRAINED THE BATTERY AND I HAD TO BUY A NEW BATTERY. I REALLY DON'T KNOW WHAT WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE BUT ITS DRIVEABLE FOR NOW BESIDES THE SLIGHT BANGING NOISE. IT NEED TO BE CHECKED FOR RECALLS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/29/2016 - BROOKLYN, NY
JUST BOUGHT THE VEHICLE USED AND I HEAR A NOISE COMING FROM THE REAR BACK OF THE CAR. THE KEY FOB WASN'T WORKING CORRECTLY AND DRAINED THE BATTERY AND I HAD TO BUY A NEW BATTERY. I REALLY DON'T KNOW WHAT WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE BUT ITS DRIVEABLE FOR NOW BESIDES THE SLIGHT BANGING NOISE. IT NEED TO BE CHECKED FOR RECALLS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/9/2016 - TAMPA, FL
ON JUNE 9, 2016 I WAS DRIVING ON A WET ROAD SO WHEN I TRIED TO STOP IT TOOK AN EXTREME AMOUNT OF DISTANCE TO GET THE CAR TO STOP. I FIGURED THE BRAKES GOT A LITTLE WET CAUSING THE PROBABLE. THE NEXT DAY MY WIFE WAS DRIVING THE CAR. TRAFFIC STOPPED AHEAD OF HER STOPPED SO SHE TRIED TO STOP. WITH BOTH LEGS PUSHING ON THE BRAKE PEDALS THE CAR WOULD NOT STOP. SHE WAS ALMOST KILLED SINCE SHE HAD TO HIT THE CAR IN FRONT OF HER. THE CAR ONLY HAS 57000 MILES ON IT SO FIGURED THE CAR HAD A LOT OF LIFE IN IT. NOT ANYMORE. THE DEALER (ED MORSE IN TAMPA) HAS MADE A PRELIMINARY INSPECTION AND LOOKS LIKE THE CAR IS TOTALED. THIS ALL HAPPED ON A 45 MPH ROAD WITH LOTS OF ROOM TO MOVE ABOUT BUT NOT AT A RED LIGHT. I GUESS I NEED TO LOOK FOR SOMETHING OTHER THAN CADILLAC FOR QUALITY AS MUCH AS I LIKED THE CAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/8/2016 - TRAVERSE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CADILLAC STS. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE SHOOK AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN BACK TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE AND SMOKE EMITTED FROM THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE IGNITION COIL HAD TOTAL MELTDOWN SURROUNDED BY SMALL FLAMES, AND THE FUSE WAS BLOWN FOR THE ODD INJECTORS. A FIRE REPORT WAS NOT FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,920.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds