Auto Recalls for Consumers

CADILLAC STS - 2005 CADILLAC STS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 62 complaints filed for the 2005 CADILLAC STS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 CADILLAC STS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 CADILLAC STS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (2) Power Train (13) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (16) Exterior Lighting (4) Seats (5) Suspension (2) Visibility (4)
Engine (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (2) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Other (2) Steering (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

4/22/2014 - LAKEWOOD, WA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CADILLAC STS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT UPON INSPECTION, IT WAS FOUND THAT THE REAR AXLE WAS LEAKING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 07V589000 (POWER TRAIN). THE FAILURE MILEAGE AND VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. MH

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/29/2014 - CONWAY, SC
I NOTICE THAT MY AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON AND A MESSAGE SAYING SERVICE AIRBAG SOON, SO I WENT TO A MECHANIC AND HE TOLD ME THAT I CAN PUSH THE RESET BUTTON AND IT SHOULD GO OFF, WELL WE PUSHED IT AND THE LIGHT NEVER WENT OFF. A WEEK OR TWO LATER I HEARD GM WAS DOING A RECALL FOR THAT SOME PROBLEM BUT ON LATER MODEL LUXURY CARS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/22/2014 - BLOOMFIELD, NJ
CAR DISABLED POWER UNDER LOAD FIRST TIME 4 YRS AGO. THEN FOR THE NEXT 4 YEARS CONTINUED TO COME AND GO. STILL HAPPENING TO THIS DAY. CODES: P0651 AND P2108. AT VARIOUS SPEEDS AND INTERMITTENT TIMES WOULD PUT ON CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT. CAR CANT ACCELERATE. HAVE TO PULL OVER AND RESTART. BIGGEST MISTAKE WAS BUYING AN AMERICAN CAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/21/2014 - WHITTIER, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CADILLAC STS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED AND THE ACCESSORY ACTIVE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS FOUND THAT THE COMPUTER MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 83,029.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/24/2014 - LINCOLN PARK, NJ
MY TIRE BLEW OUT WHILE DRIVING. THE TIRE IS A VOGUE TIRE DOT PJ1PZ1ARK 2905 THE SERVICE PERSON TOLD ME TO FILL A COMPLAINT AS THE TIRE WAS DRY ROTTED AND I ACTUALLY HAD TO REPLACE TWO TIRES AT A COST OF $285 PER TIRE BECAUSE HE TOLD ME THE OTHER TIRE WAS ALSO DRY ROTTING. (I HAD ALREADY REPLACED TWO TIRES PREVIOUSLY TO THIS INCIDENT) THE TIRES STILL HAD PLENTY OF TREAD AND I DRIVE THE CAR DAILY SO THERE SHOULD BE NO REASON THEY WERE DRY ROTTING.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/5/2014 - SALSIBURY, NC
AIRBAG SENSOR LIGHT CAME ON 02/04/14 AND WILL NOT GO OFF. WHEN CALLED THE CADILLAC DEALER THEY REQUESTED I PAY FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TEST TO SEE WHY THE LIGHT IS ON BUT IT WILL NOT INCLUDE THE COST TO REPAIR. IS THIS A RECALL ITEM?

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/28/2014 - CORDOVA, TN
I WAS DRIVING MY 2005 CADLIAC STS DOING ABOUT 45 MILES AND ALL OF A SUDDEN MY CAR LOST CONTROL. I PUT ON BRAKES AND MY CAR WOULD NOT STOP. I TRIED STEERING TO THE LEFT TO AVOID TREES AND MY CAR WOULD NOT TURN IT APPEARED THAT MY ACCELERATOR WAS STUCK AND MY STEERING WHEEL WOULD NOT TURN. MY CAR HIT THREE TREES AND WHEN IT STRUCK THE THIRD TREE I KEPT APPLYING THE BRAKES IT STILL WOULDNÆT STOP THEN I TURNED MY CAR OFF AND THAT'S THE ONLY WAY I GOT IT TO STOP. MY BACK WHEEL ON THE PASSENGER SIDE CAME OFF AND MY CAR WAS TOTALED. MY AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY. I SPOKE WITH GMAC CLAIMS REPRESENTATIVE AND HE STATED THAT IT WAS NORMAL FOR THE AIR BAG NOT TO DEPLOY. HE ALSO, STATED THAT THE AIR BAG INDICATED THAT I HAD APPLIED THE ACCELERATOR WHEN I KNOW THAT I DID NOT. I AM TERRIFIED FROM THIS ACCIDENT AND THIS IS THE FIRST ACCIDENT I HAVE EVER HAD AND I DO NOT DRINK OR TAKE DRUGS. I ASKED THE REPRESENTATIVE DID THE BLACK BOX INDICATE THAT I HAD TO TURN THE CAR OFF TO STOP IT AND REPRESENTATIVE STATED NO, THEN I ASKED HIM TO TELL ME HOW THE CAR STOPPED. IF I HAD NOT TURNED THE CAR OFF IT WOULD NOT HAVE STOPPED AND I WOULD NOT BE HERE TODAY. GMAC DENIED MY CLAIM AND STATED THAT IT WAS MY FAULT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/28/2013 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
I HAVE HAD ONGOING PROBLEM WITH THIS SINCE I BOUGHT THE CAR USED LAST AUGUST 2012. THE PASSENGER SIDE HEADLAMP COVER GETS A LOT OF MOISTURE INSIDE. I WAS GOING TO FIX MYSELF SO I WENT TO "CADILLAC FORUMS" AND SEARCHED PROBLEM. AMAZED TO FIND ALL MODELS OF CADILLAC AND ALWAYS ON PASSENGER SIDE IS THE MOISTURE PROBLEM. STARTED IN 03 MODEL YEAR AND LAST QUESTIONED ON 08 MODEL YEAR (AFTER THAT WARRANTY PROBLEM SO DEALER WOULD HANDLE. THIS IS TO MUCH TO BE A COINCIDENCE AND A RECALL SHOULD BE ISSUED. THANK YOU IN ADVANCE. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

WHEELS

11/19/2013 - MELBOURNE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CADILLAC STS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 75 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL BEGAN TO SHAKE VIOLENTLY AS THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE WHEEL BECAME DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE. AS A RESULT, THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE OF THE VEHICLE TO DROPPED TO THE GROUND AND THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A CEMENT WALL. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A MAJOR HEADACHE FROM THE IMPACT. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,000. KMJ UPDATED 12/26/13 UPDATED 12/30/13

View Details

SEATS

10/8/2013 - ST.LOUIS, MO
AFTER LEAVING RESTAURANT GOT INTO CAR AND ADJUSTED DRIVER SEAT, PROCEEDED TO EXIT,APPROACHED STOP LIGHT, THEN HEARD FAINT POPPING SOUND THEN SMELLED ODOR AND SAW SMOKE.IMMEDIATELY PULLED INTO ADJACENT RESTAURANT ACROSS STREET,EXITED VEHICLE AND CAR WAS ON FIRE. AN EMPLOYEE AT RESTAURANT ADVISED TO MOVE AWAY FROM CAR FEARING AN EXPLOSION. IMMEDIATELY CALLED 911 AND WAS DISPATCHED TO LOCAL FIRE DEPT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds