Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO - 2005 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 95 complaints filed for the 2005 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (73) Exterior Lighting (10) Power Train (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Engine (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (2) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/8/2014 - STRATFORD, CT
VEHICLE IGNITION RANDOMLY TURNING OFF ENGINE WHILE IN GEAR FROM 2006 TO SALE IN NOV 2007. TRIPS TO DEALERSHIPS IN MALDEN, MA AND WEST BABYLON, NY ADVISED "TOO HEAVY" KEYRING, BUT CONTINUED TO BE A PROBLEM. ELECTRICAL FAILURE OF ENTIRE DASHBOARD INCLUDING SPEEDOMETER OCCURRED IN JANUARY, 2007 AND WAS SUBSEQUENTLY REPAIRED BY DEALERSHIP IN WEST BABYLON NY WHERE I WAS TOLD KEYS WERE TOO HEAVY FOR IGNITION REPORTING NOW DUE TO SIMILAR INSTANCES IN OTHER CHEVROLET VEHICLES BUT NOTICED MONTE CARLOS WERE NOT ADDRESSED AS AN ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/8/2014 - STRATFORD, CT
VEHICLE IGNITION RANDOMLY TURNING OFF ENGINE WHILE IN GEAR FROM 2006 TO SALE IN NOV 2007. TRIPS TO DEALERSHIPS IN MALDEN, MA AND WEST BABYLON, NY ADVISED "TOO HEAVY" KEYRING, BUT CONTINUED TO BE A PROBLEM. ELECTRICAL FAILURE OF ENTIRE DASHBOARD INCLUDING SPEEDOMETER OCCURRED IN JANUARY, 2007 AND WAS SUBSEQUENTLY REPAIRED BY DEALERSHIP IN WEST BABYLON NY WHERE I WAS TOLD KEYS WERE TOO HEAVY FOR IGNITION REPORTING NOW DUE TO SIMILAR INSTANCES IN OTHER CHEVROLET VEHICLES BUT NOTICED MONTE CARLOS WERE NOT ADDRESSED AS AN ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/20/2014 - CLINTON TOWNSHIP, MI
THE STEERING PROBLEM WAS FROM THE BEGINNING WHEN I BOUGHT THE CAR USED WITH 19,000 MILES.. VERY TIGHT STEERING, WAS IN WARRANTY AT THE TIME AND HAD IT SERVICED. HOWEVER, ALL THEY SAID WAS IT WAS ADJUSTED. THIS WAS THE SPRING OF 2006. STEERING AT THIS TIME IS STILL VERY TIGHT, AND IT IS REAL BAD IN SUMMER MONTHS. THE CAR NOW HAS 39,000 APPROX. IF MY CAR WAS RECALLED BECAUSE OF THIS, I WAS NEVER NOTIFIED THE SPEEDOMETER AFTER THE CAR WARMS UP, BEGINS TO STOP WORKING. USUALLY AFTER STOPPING AT A LIGHT, I WOULD NOTICE THE SPEEDOMETER REGISTERS BELOW ZERO (0) THEN I KNOW UPON ACCELERATING IT WILL NOT GO UP EVEN TO 45 MPH...AT TIMES IT STICKS TO AROUND 25 OR SO. THEN AFTER ABRUPTLY STOPPING AND THEN GOING FORWARD, IT WILL GO BACK TO NORMAL. THIS IS DANGEROUS, BECAUSE I TRY TO STAY WITHIN THE PROPER SPEED, ACCORDING TO OTHER CARS AROUND ME, BUT IF I WAS TO GO SLOWER THAN I THOUGHT TO BE, I COULD GET SLAMMED INTO BECAUSE OF NOT KEEPING UP WITH OTHERS. I FEAR THIS. THE TEMPERATURE GAUGE IS ALSO NOT READING RIGHT, IT USUALLY SHOULD STAY BELOW HALF TEMP... IT GOES UP ABOVE EVEN THOUGH I HAVE HAD ANTI FREEZE REPLACED WITH FRESH. THAT TOO IS DANGEROUS. OTHER THAN THESE THINGS, I HAVE HAD LITTLE TO NO PROBLEMS. I LOVE THE CAR, I JUST HATE WHEN THERE IS A PROBLEM. I WOULD LIKE FOR THE MANUFACTURER TO LOOK INTO THIS, AS I HAVE NOTICED I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE WITH THESE CONCERNS OF THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM. FOR ME, THE STEERING IS THE MOST DANGEROUS. NOW IF MY CAR WAS IN ANY RECALL I MAY NOT HAVE BEEN NOTIFIED, AS I MOVED OUT WEST FOR A FEW YEARS, AND ADDRESS HAD CHANGED. I AM NOW BACK HOME. NATURALLY WHEN YOUR NEW / USED CAR WARRANTY STOPS, THEN "THINGS" HAPPEN AND STILL MAKING CAR PAYMENTS MAKES IT HARD TO SERVICE THE EXPENSIVE PARTS.

View Details

STEERING

3/20/2014 - CLINTON TOWNSHIP, MI
THE STEERING PROBLEM WAS FROM THE BEGINNING WHEN I BOUGHT THE CAR USED WITH 19,000 MILES.. VERY TIGHT STEERING, WAS IN WARRANTY AT THE TIME AND HAD IT SERVICED. HOWEVER, ALL THEY SAID WAS IT WAS ADJUSTED. THIS WAS THE SPRING OF 2006. STEERING AT THIS TIME IS STILL VERY TIGHT, AND IT IS REAL BAD IN SUMMER MONTHS. THE CAR NOW HAS 39,000 APPROX. IF MY CAR WAS RECALLED BECAUSE OF THIS, I WAS NEVER NOTIFIED THE SPEEDOMETER AFTER THE CAR WARMS UP, BEGINS TO STOP WORKING. USUALLY AFTER STOPPING AT A LIGHT, I WOULD NOTICE THE SPEEDOMETER REGISTERS BELOW ZERO (0) THEN I KNOW UPON ACCELERATING IT WILL NOT GO UP EVEN TO 45 MPH...AT TIMES IT STICKS TO AROUND 25 OR SO. THEN AFTER ABRUPTLY STOPPING AND THEN GOING FORWARD, IT WILL GO BACK TO NORMAL. THIS IS DANGEROUS, BECAUSE I TRY TO STAY WITHIN THE PROPER SPEED, ACCORDING TO OTHER CARS AROUND ME, BUT IF I WAS TO GO SLOWER THAN I THOUGHT TO BE, I COULD GET SLAMMED INTO BECAUSE OF NOT KEEPING UP WITH OTHERS. I FEAR THIS. THE TEMPERATURE GAUGE IS ALSO NOT READING RIGHT, IT USUALLY SHOULD STAY BELOW HALF TEMP... IT GOES UP ABOVE EVEN THOUGH I HAVE HAD ANTI FREEZE REPLACED WITH FRESH. THAT TOO IS DANGEROUS. OTHER THAN THESE THINGS, I HAVE HAD LITTLE TO NO PROBLEMS. I LOVE THE CAR, I JUST HATE WHEN THERE IS A PROBLEM. I WOULD LIKE FOR THE MANUFACTURER TO LOOK INTO THIS, AS I HAVE NOTICED I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE WITH THESE CONCERNS OF THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM. FOR ME, THE STEERING IS THE MOST DANGEROUS. NOW IF MY CAR WAS IN ANY RECALL I MAY NOT HAVE BEEN NOTIFIED, AS I MOVED OUT WEST FOR A FEW YEARS, AND ADDRESS HAD CHANGED. I AM NOW BACK HOME. NATURALLY WHEN YOUR NEW / USED CAR WARRANTY STOPS, THEN "THINGS" HAPPEN AND STILL MAKING CAR PAYMENTS MAKES IT HARD TO SERVICE THE EXPENSIVE PARTS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/13/2014 - RAY , ND
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH, THE SPEEDOMETER, TACHOMETER AND FUEL GAUGE READINGS FLUCTUATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED WHENEVER THE VEHICLE WAS IN OPERATION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/13/2014 - RAY , ND
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH, THE SPEEDOMETER, TACHOMETER AND FUEL GAUGE READINGS FLUCTUATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED WHENEVER THE VEHICLE WAS IN OPERATION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

1/2/2014 - TROUTDALE, OR
I HAVE BEEN THE SOLE OWNER OF THIS 2005 MONTE CARLO. I HAD AN OIL LEAK AND THE CHEVY DEALER RAN A DYE TEST TO SEE WHERE THE LEAK WAS COMING FROM. THE TEST SHOW IT WAS THE REAR MAIN SEAL THAT WAS BAD. I HAVE TAKEN MY CAR IN ON ALL SCHEDULED OIL CHANGES, RUNNING MOBIL 1 SYNTHETIC (RECOMMENDED) AND HAVING ALL SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE DONE. I DO NOT FEEL A REAR MAIN SEAL SHOULD BE GOING OUT ON THIS LOW MILEAGE VEHICLE (UNDER 50,000 MILES). I FEEL THIS IS A DEFECT. I CALLED THE CHEVROLET CUSTOMER CARE LINE, AND THEY WERE NO HELP.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/18/2013 - BOWIE , MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SPEEDOMETER DISPLAYED THE INCORRECT READING AND OCCASIONALLY REGISTER 80 MPH IN A 40 MPH ZONE. THE INSTRUMENTAL MESSAGING CENTER FAILURE ALSO CAUSED THE LIGHTS TO FLICKER AND BECOME DIM. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE FAILURE WAS LOCATED WITHIN THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER AND IT NEEDED TO BE REPROGRAMMED; HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE TRANSMISSION WAS REPLACED AT 45,000 MILES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,800. THE APPROXIMATE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 86,500.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/31/2012 - SIDNEY, NE
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE SEAT WARMER WAS ACTIVATED WHEN THE SEAT CAUGHT FIRE. THE CONTACT SHUT OFF THE DRIVER'S SIDE SEAT WARMER. NO ONE WAS INJURED DURING THE FIRE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS NOT CALLED. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TESTING WHERE THE DEALER ADVISED THAT A SHORT IN THE DRIVER'S SIDE SEAT WARMER CAUSED THE FIRE. THE DEALER DID NOT PERFORM ANY REPAIRS TO THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/11/2012 - CHALMETTE, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE INSTRUMENTAL PANEL GAUGES WERE ALL NON-FUNCTIONAL. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE WAS UNABLE TO VIEW THE THERMOSTAT, SPEEDOMETER, FUEL LEVELS, ETC. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO ADVISED THAT THEY WERE UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 176,000. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 180,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds