Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO - 2005 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 110 complaints filed for the 2005 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (3)
Electrical System (85) Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (16) Power Train (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Engine (3) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (1) Steering (2) Visibility (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/25/2015 - EMPORIUM, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO COMPLETE THE REPAIR FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). A FEW DAYS AFTER THE RECALL REPAIR WAS PERFORMED, THE PASS KEY LOCK SENSOR ILLUMINATED. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE MAGNET CONNECTION WAS NOT COMMUNICATING WITH THE KEY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND PROVIDED NO REMEDY. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,052.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/16/2015 - LAPORTE, MN
I WAS DRIVING AT NIGHT AND BOTH HEADLIGHTS (LOW BEAMS) STARTED FLASHING OFF AND ON THEN WENT COMPLETELY OUT, I HIT THE DIMMER SWITCH AND TURNED THE HI BEAMS ON AND THEY WORKED FINE. WHEN I SHUT MY HIGH BEAMS OFF MY LOW BEAMS CAME BACK ON AND STAYED ON FOR THE REST OF MY 120 MILE TRIP. FOUR DAYS LATER ON MY WAY TO WORK IN THE DARK THE SAME THING HAPPENED, THE FOLLOWING DAY MY LOW BEAMS WOULD NOT TURN ON AND I HAVE TO HOLD THE DIMMER SWITCH TO KEEP MY HIGH BEAMS ON OR I WILL HAVE NO HEADLIGHTS. ( ONE HAND ON THE DIMMER SWITCH ONE HAND ON THE STEERING WHEEL). I SUSPECT IT IS THE MULTI FUNCTION SWITCH IN THE STEERING COLUMN WHICH IS A $300 PART. BUT HAVE NOT HAD IT PROFESSIONALLY DIAGNOSED. THIS IS A REAL SAFETY ISSUE THAT GM NEEDS TO ADDRESS!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/3/2015 - NEW ORLEANS, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTICE OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG, BRAKES, BATTERY AND CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED WHILE THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 166,000.

View Details

ENGINE

4/3/2015 - NEW ORLEANS, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTICE OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG, BRAKES, BATTERY AND CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED WHILE THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 166,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/24/2015 - OTISVILLE N.Y., NY
I TOOK THE CAR TO A CHEVY DEALER FOR THE IGNITION SWITCH RECALL DATED JULY 3 2014.I TOLD THEM ABOUT PROBLEMS WITH THE IGNITION SWITCH SUCH AS THE KEY CAN BE PULLED OUT WHEN CAR IS RUNNING AND SOMETIMES THE STARTER STAYS ON WITH ENGINE RUNNING ALSO PROBLEMS TURNING THE KEY.I WAITED WHILE THEY DID THE RECALL SERVICE.WHEN THEY WERE DONE THEY TOLD ME THEY PUT A PLASTIC COVER ON THE KEY.I STARTED THE CAR AND FOUND THE PROBLEMS WERE STILL THERE.I TOLD THEM THE RECALL WAS FOR A IGNITION SWITCH NOT IGNITION KEY AND THEIR FIX DID NOTHING TO FIX THE PROBLEM.THEY TOLD ME THIS FIX IS ALL THEY CAN DO.A FEW WEEKS LATER,I COULD NOT GET THE CAR TO SHUT OFF.I HAD TO FORCE THE IGNITION OFF USING A SCREWDRIVER AND I HAD TO BUY A NEW IGNITION SWITCH AND INSTALL IT MYSELF HOWEVER I WILL HAVE TO GO TO A LOCKSMITH SO HE COULD MAKE THE NEW KEY WORK ON MY DOOR.150.00 FOA A SWITCH.STILL HAVE TO PAY A LOCKSMITH.I WANT MY FAMILY TO BE SAFE IN MY CAR.I DON'T THINK G M FEELS THE SAME.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS

12/23/2014 - HOWARD, KS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT NIGHT, THE HEADLIGHTS AND INSTRUMENT PANEL FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 92,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

12/23/2014 - HOWARD, KS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT NIGHT, THE HEADLIGHTS AND INSTRUMENT PANEL FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 92,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/11/2014 - DOWAGIAC, MI
1.)CANNOT DRIVE WITH THE BRIGHTS ON BECAUSE IT WILL UNEXPECTEDLY TRIGGER ALL LIGHTS TO FAIL AND YOU WILL BE DRIVING BLIND IN THE COMPLETE PITCH BLACK NIGHT. 2.)THE SPEEDOMETER, GAS GAUGE, AND TEMP GAUGE HAVEN'T WORKED SINCE ABOUT 75,000 MILES. I PURCHASED THIS CAR BRAND NEW AND HAVE HAD IT SERVICED AS NEEDED. THIS IS A FACTORY DEFECT, NOT SOMETHING THAT WAS CAUSED SOMEHOW BY ME. I THINK THAT IT IS RIDICULOUS THAT I HAVE TO DEAL WITH THESE DEFECTS WITH MY OWN MONEY WHEN I SPECIFICALLY PURCHASED A BRAND NEW CAR SO I DIDN'T HAVE TO DEAL WITH PROBLEMS OF THE VEHICLE THAT ONE WOULD ASSOCIATE WITH A USED VEHICLE. THE BRIGHTS ISSUE COULD LITERALLY KILL PEOPLE, I'M SURE IT PROBABLY HAS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/11/2014 - DOWAGIAC, MI
1.)CANNOT DRIVE WITH THE BRIGHTS ON BECAUSE IT WILL UNEXPECTEDLY TRIGGER ALL LIGHTS TO FAIL AND YOU WILL BE DRIVING BLIND IN THE COMPLETE PITCH BLACK NIGHT. 2.)THE SPEEDOMETER, GAS GAUGE, AND TEMP GAUGE HAVEN'T WORKED SINCE ABOUT 75,000 MILES. I PURCHASED THIS CAR BRAND NEW AND HAVE HAD IT SERVICED AS NEEDED. THIS IS A FACTORY DEFECT, NOT SOMETHING THAT WAS CAUSED SOMEHOW BY ME. I THINK THAT IT IS RIDICULOUS THAT I HAVE TO DEAL WITH THESE DEFECTS WITH MY OWN MONEY WHEN I SPECIFICALLY PURCHASED A BRAND NEW CAR SO I DIDN'T HAVE TO DEAL WITH PROBLEMS OF THE VEHICLE THAT ONE WOULD ASSOCIATE WITH A USED VEHICLE. THE BRIGHTS ISSUE COULD LITERALLY KILL PEOPLE, I'M SURE IT PROBABLY HAS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

9/23/2014 - MORGANVILLE, KS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 142,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds