Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO - 2005 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 101 complaints filed for the 2005 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (77) Exterior Lighting (13) Power Train (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Engine (2) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (2) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING: INTERIOR/UNDER DASH

8/13/2014 - CLARKSVILLE, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SUN ROOF CONNECTOR PLUGS, WHICH WERE CONNECTED TO THE MOTOR, MELTED AND PRODUCED SMOKE. ADDITIONALLY, THE INTERIOR LIGHTS, INSTRUMENT PANEL LIGHTS, AND THE LIGHTING FOR SOME OF THE RADIO COMPONENTS FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 205,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

8/13/2014 - CLARKSVILLE, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SUN ROOF CONNECTOR PLUGS, WHICH WERE CONNECTED TO THE MOTOR, MELTED AND PRODUCED SMOKE. ADDITIONALLY, THE INTERIOR LIGHTS, INSTRUMENT PANEL LIGHTS, AND THE LIGHTING FOR SOME OF THE RADIO COMPONENTS FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 205,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/29/2014 - SHERWOOD, OH
WHILE DRIVING HOME CAR'S HEADLIGHTS BECAME STUCK ON HIGH BEAM AND STAYED STUCK FOR SEVERAL DAYS THEN FUNCTIONED AS NORMAL. A FEW WEEKS LATER WHILE DRIVING HOME AT NIGHT HEADLIGHTS FAILED TO FUNCTION AT ALL. SIGNAL LIGHTS AND FOG LIGHTS WERE ALL THAT ILLUMINATED THE ROADS. VISIBILITY WAS ONLY A COUPLE OF FEET. DEALERSHIP IS AWARE OF ISSUE AND HAS ISSUED SEVERAL TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETINS FOR IT NOT ONLY THIS MODEL YEAR, BUT OTHERS. THEY WILL NOT FIX OR EVEN REDUCE COSTS TO FIX BECAUSE THEY CLAIM THIS IS NOT A SAFETY ISSUE. NOT HAVING ANY HEADLIGHTS AT ALL IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE IN POOR WEATHER, BUT ESPECIALLY AT NIGHT! UPON INSPECTING MULTIFUNCTION SWITCH IN STEERING COLUMN AND FLIPPING EXTERNAL SWITCH FOR HIGH BEAMS/WIPERS/SIGNALS TO SEE IF THERE IS ANY FUNCTION AFTER A MONTH OF CAR SITTING IN DRIVE, SMOKE BEGAN TO STEADILY COME OUT OF STEERING COLUMN AT SWITCH. BATTERY WAS DICONNECTED WHICH STOPPED THE SMOKE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/29/2014 - SHERWOOD, OH
WHILE DRIVING HOME CAR'S HEADLIGHTS BECAME STUCK ON HIGH BEAM AND STAYED STUCK FOR SEVERAL DAYS THEN FUNCTIONED AS NORMAL. A FEW WEEKS LATER WHILE DRIVING HOME AT NIGHT HEADLIGHTS FAILED TO FUNCTION AT ALL. SIGNAL LIGHTS AND FOG LIGHTS WERE ALL THAT ILLUMINATED THE ROADS. VISIBILITY WAS ONLY A COUPLE OF FEET. DEALERSHIP IS AWARE OF ISSUE AND HAS ISSUED SEVERAL TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETINS FOR IT NOT ONLY THIS MODEL YEAR, BUT OTHERS. THEY WILL NOT FIX OR EVEN REDUCE COSTS TO FIX BECAUSE THEY CLAIM THIS IS NOT A SAFETY ISSUE. NOT HAVING ANY HEADLIGHTS AT ALL IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE IN POOR WEATHER, BUT ESPECIALLY AT NIGHT! UPON INSPECTING MULTIFUNCTION SWITCH IN STEERING COLUMN AND FLIPPING EXTERNAL SWITCH FOR HIGH BEAMS/WIPERS/SIGNALS TO SEE IF THERE IS ANY FUNCTION AFTER A MONTH OF CAR SITTING IN DRIVE, SMOKE BEGAN TO STEADILY COME OUT OF STEERING COLUMN AT SWITCH. BATTERY WAS DICONNECTED WHICH STOPPED THE SMOKE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

7/28/2014 - UNION GROVE, WI
INSTRUMENT CLUSTER STOPPED WORKING (SPEEDOMETER, ETC) JANUARY 2014 FUEL REGULARTOR SWITCH WAS LEAKING FUEL (ONTO EXHAUST?) WAS TOLD NEITHER WAS CONSIDERED A SAFETY ISSUE BUT FUEL ON A EXHAUST COULD CAUSE A FIRE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/11/2014 - CHICAGO, IL
COMING TO A STOP, BRAKE PEDAL WENT ALMOST TO THE FLOOR AND VEHICLE WAS DIFFICULT TO STOP. HAD CAR TOWED TO A REPAIR SHOP AND UPON INSPECTION ALL BRAKE LINES AND 1 FUEL LINE WERE RECOMMEND TO BE REPLACED DUE TO SEVERE CORROSION (RUST).

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/21/2014 - BILOXI, MS
TRAVELING ON US 90 W. ALL OF A SUDDEN NO GAUGES. FOR WEEKS THERE AFTER I WAS SCARED AND EXTREMELY CONCERNED MY CAR WAS OVER HEATING(MAXED OUT TEMP RANGE)AND SPEEDOMETER ON ZERO. IN SHORT IT DOES EVERY THING READING WISE EXCEPT CORRECTLY ONCE THE KEY IS USED. I (THINK ) I'M HEARING A "POP OR DISTORTED/SHORT" IN THE SPEAKERS. .I HAVE NOT INSTALLED OR OTHERWISE ALTERED ANY EQUIPMENT OR MADE ANY CHANGES TO THE ORIGINAL EQUIPMENT OF ANY KIND... AFTER REVIEWING THE INTERNET AND ASKING OTHER OWNERS OF LIKE MAKE/MODELS AND THE "OTHER CLOSELY RELATED MODELS I.E IMPALA I'VE BEEN TOLD MORE HAVING THIS PROBLEM THAN NOT. I'M ALSO FINDING IT SEEM TO BE A PROBLEM RATHER EARL IN PRODUCTION YEARS AND APPEARS TO BE A DEFECT IN ENGINEERING/ASSEMBLY OF THESE AUTOMOBILES. (PERHAPS A FULL REVIEW OF ELECTRICAL PATIENT/DESIGN AND ASSEMBLY METHODS MAY RESOLVE WHY THIS IS HAPPENING. I TRULY WANT TO START A CLASS ACTION TO "REPAIR" (NO MONEY)WITH NEW RE-DESIGNED INSTALLS BY DEALER. AS OF TODAY MY "CARLO" IS AT 89000 MI... PLEASE FEEL FREE TO CONTACT ME IF I CAN HELP OR YOU KNOW OF A CORRECT FIX.DEALER WANTS 700 TO REPLACE DASH..(IS THIS NEW DASH DIFFERENT IN ANY WAY FROM OEM BUILD I WONDER)ALSO MY AVALANCHE TRUCK AT 60,000+ DOING THE SAME THING. DOES IT TAKE A FIRE OR DEATH TO RECOGNIZE THIS A RECURRING DEFAULT IN MFG. OF CHEVROLETS. GM AND ITS DEALERS ARE MUM AND IT MUST BE MY FAULT. PERHAPS A COMPLETE ELECTRICAL REVIEW OF GM ENGINEERING IS IN ORDER NOT WITHSTANDING DURABILITY STANDARDS AND WHO MAKES THE WIRES/ASSEMBLY AND WHERE..I'M JUST SAYING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/8/2014 - STRATFORD, CT
VEHICLE IGNITION RANDOMLY TURNING OFF ENGINE WHILE IN GEAR FROM 2006 TO SALE IN NOV 2007. TRIPS TO DEALERSHIPS IN MALDEN, MA AND WEST BABYLON, NY ADVISED "TOO HEAVY" KEYRING, BUT CONTINUED TO BE A PROBLEM. ELECTRICAL FAILURE OF ENTIRE DASHBOARD INCLUDING SPEEDOMETER OCCURRED IN JANUARY, 2007 AND WAS SUBSEQUENTLY REPAIRED BY DEALERSHIP IN WEST BABYLON NY WHERE I WAS TOLD KEYS WERE TOO HEAVY FOR IGNITION REPORTING NOW DUE TO SIMILAR INSTANCES IN OTHER CHEVROLET VEHICLES BUT NOTICED MONTE CARLOS WERE NOT ADDRESSED AS AN ISSUE.

View Details

STEERING

3/20/2014 - CLINTON TOWNSHIP, MI
THE STEERING PROBLEM WAS FROM THE BEGINNING WHEN I BOUGHT THE CAR USED WITH 19,000 MILES.. VERY TIGHT STEERING, WAS IN WARRANTY AT THE TIME AND HAD IT SERVICED. HOWEVER, ALL THEY SAID WAS IT WAS ADJUSTED. THIS WAS THE SPRING OF 2006. STEERING AT THIS TIME IS STILL VERY TIGHT, AND IT IS REAL BAD IN SUMMER MONTHS. THE CAR NOW HAS 39,000 APPROX. IF MY CAR WAS RECALLED BECAUSE OF THIS, I WAS NEVER NOTIFIED THE SPEEDOMETER AFTER THE CAR WARMS UP, BEGINS TO STOP WORKING. USUALLY AFTER STOPPING AT A LIGHT, I WOULD NOTICE THE SPEEDOMETER REGISTERS BELOW ZERO (0) THEN I KNOW UPON ACCELERATING IT WILL NOT GO UP EVEN TO 45 MPH...AT TIMES IT STICKS TO AROUND 25 OR SO. THEN AFTER ABRUPTLY STOPPING AND THEN GOING FORWARD, IT WILL GO BACK TO NORMAL. THIS IS DANGEROUS, BECAUSE I TRY TO STAY WITHIN THE PROPER SPEED, ACCORDING TO OTHER CARS AROUND ME, BUT IF I WAS TO GO SLOWER THAN I THOUGHT TO BE, I COULD GET SLAMMED INTO BECAUSE OF NOT KEEPING UP WITH OTHERS. I FEAR THIS. THE TEMPERATURE GAUGE IS ALSO NOT READING RIGHT, IT USUALLY SHOULD STAY BELOW HALF TEMP... IT GOES UP ABOVE EVEN THOUGH I HAVE HAD ANTI FREEZE REPLACED WITH FRESH. THAT TOO IS DANGEROUS. OTHER THAN THESE THINGS, I HAVE HAD LITTLE TO NO PROBLEMS. I LOVE THE CAR, I JUST HATE WHEN THERE IS A PROBLEM. I WOULD LIKE FOR THE MANUFACTURER TO LOOK INTO THIS, AS I HAVE NOTICED I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE WITH THESE CONCERNS OF THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM. FOR ME, THE STEERING IS THE MOST DANGEROUS. NOW IF MY CAR WAS IN ANY RECALL I MAY NOT HAVE BEEN NOTIFIED, AS I MOVED OUT WEST FOR A FEW YEARS, AND ADDRESS HAD CHANGED. I AM NOW BACK HOME. NATURALLY WHEN YOUR NEW / USED CAR WARRANTY STOPS, THEN "THINGS" HAPPEN AND STILL MAKING CAR PAYMENTS MAKES IT HARD TO SERVICE THE EXPENSIVE PARTS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/20/2014 - CLINTON TOWNSHIP, MI
THE STEERING PROBLEM WAS FROM THE BEGINNING WHEN I BOUGHT THE CAR USED WITH 19,000 MILES.. VERY TIGHT STEERING, WAS IN WARRANTY AT THE TIME AND HAD IT SERVICED. HOWEVER, ALL THEY SAID WAS IT WAS ADJUSTED. THIS WAS THE SPRING OF 2006. STEERING AT THIS TIME IS STILL VERY TIGHT, AND IT IS REAL BAD IN SUMMER MONTHS. THE CAR NOW HAS 39,000 APPROX. IF MY CAR WAS RECALLED BECAUSE OF THIS, I WAS NEVER NOTIFIED THE SPEEDOMETER AFTER THE CAR WARMS UP, BEGINS TO STOP WORKING. USUALLY AFTER STOPPING AT A LIGHT, I WOULD NOTICE THE SPEEDOMETER REGISTERS BELOW ZERO (0) THEN I KNOW UPON ACCELERATING IT WILL NOT GO UP EVEN TO 45 MPH...AT TIMES IT STICKS TO AROUND 25 OR SO. THEN AFTER ABRUPTLY STOPPING AND THEN GOING FORWARD, IT WILL GO BACK TO NORMAL. THIS IS DANGEROUS, BECAUSE I TRY TO STAY WITHIN THE PROPER SPEED, ACCORDING TO OTHER CARS AROUND ME, BUT IF I WAS TO GO SLOWER THAN I THOUGHT TO BE, I COULD GET SLAMMED INTO BECAUSE OF NOT KEEPING UP WITH OTHERS. I FEAR THIS. THE TEMPERATURE GAUGE IS ALSO NOT READING RIGHT, IT USUALLY SHOULD STAY BELOW HALF TEMP... IT GOES UP ABOVE EVEN THOUGH I HAVE HAD ANTI FREEZE REPLACED WITH FRESH. THAT TOO IS DANGEROUS. OTHER THAN THESE THINGS, I HAVE HAD LITTLE TO NO PROBLEMS. I LOVE THE CAR, I JUST HATE WHEN THERE IS A PROBLEM. I WOULD LIKE FOR THE MANUFACTURER TO LOOK INTO THIS, AS I HAVE NOTICED I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE WITH THESE CONCERNS OF THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM. FOR ME, THE STEERING IS THE MOST DANGEROUS. NOW IF MY CAR WAS IN ANY RECALL I MAY NOT HAVE BEEN NOTIFIED, AS I MOVED OUT WEST FOR A FEW YEARS, AND ADDRESS HAD CHANGED. I AM NOW BACK HOME. NATURALLY WHEN YOUR NEW / USED CAR WARRANTY STOPS, THEN "THINGS" HAPPEN AND STILL MAKING CAR PAYMENTS MAKES IT HARD TO SERVICE THE EXPENSIVE PARTS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds