Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD TAURUS - 2005 FORD TAURUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 734 complaints filed for the 2005 FORD TAURUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 FORD TAURUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 FORD TAURUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (26) Equipment (4) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Unknown Or Other (18)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (4) Other (2) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (515)
Electrical System (27) Fuel Propulsion System (28) Power Train (120) Structure (21) Visibility (12)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (7) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (62) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (21) Tires (3) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (40)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 94
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/15/2018 - WINTER HAVEN, FL
WHILE DRIVING DOWN FIRST STREET IN WINTER HAVEN, FLORIDA THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO ACCELERATE EVEN THOUGH THE CRUISE CONTROL WAS NOT ENGAGED. THE ONLY WAY TO PREVENT AN ACCIDENT WAS TO PUT THE GEAR SHIFT IN NEUTRAL BECAUSE THE ENGINE WAS OVERRIDING THE BRAKES. I HAD THE CRUISE CONTROL DISCONNECTED AND I HAVEN'T HAD THAT PROBLEM SINCE.

View Details

ENGINE

5/19/2018 - SAINT PETERSBURG, FL
WHILE IN PARK, RPMS SURGE AT 2000 UNTIL SHIFTING INTO DRIVE OR REVERSE. WHILE DRIVING, BARELY TOUCHING THE GAS PEDAL THE CAR GAINS SPEED QUICKLY WITHOUT HAVING TO USE THE PEDALS, HAVE TO KEEP MY FOOT ON THE BRAKES THE ENTIRE TIME TO KEEP IT STEADY - ITS ACCELERATING BY ITSELF AND TAKES A LOT OF EFFORT TO KEEP IT STOPPED. ALMOST CAUSED ME TO CRASH 3 TIMES TODAY OUT OF THE BLUE, ONCE WHILE AT A RED LIGHT WITH FOOT ON BRAKES THE RPMS RAN UP TO 3000 AND TRIED TO DRIVE THROUGH THE BRAKES, AND TWICE WHILE ON CITY STREETS IT ACCELERATED FROM 20 TO 50 IN SECONDS, CAUSING ME TO NEARLY MISS A VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME. WHY MY MODEL VIN ISN'T INCLUDED IN THE RECALL I DON'T KNOW, BECAUSE LOOKING AT EVERYTHING ONLINE REGARDING THE 05 TAURUS MY CAR HAS ALL THE SAME ISSUES, WHICH WEREN'T DISCLOSED TO ME UPON PURCHASE BECAUSE THE ORIGINAL OWNER HAD NO IDEA. CURRENT MILEAGE 186K.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/19/2018 - SAINT PETERSBURG, FL
WHILE IN PARK, RPMS SURGE AT 2000 UNTIL SHIFTING INTO DRIVE OR REVERSE. WHILE DRIVING, BARELY TOUCHING THE GAS PEDAL THE CAR GAINS SPEED QUICKLY WITHOUT HAVING TO USE THE PEDALS, HAVE TO KEEP MY FOOT ON THE BRAKES THE ENTIRE TIME TO KEEP IT STEADY - ITS ACCELERATING BY ITSELF AND TAKES A LOT OF EFFORT TO KEEP IT STOPPED. ALMOST CAUSED ME TO CRASH 3 TIMES TODAY OUT OF THE BLUE, ONCE WHILE AT A RED LIGHT WITH FOOT ON BRAKES THE RPMS RAN UP TO 3000 AND TRIED TO DRIVE THROUGH THE BRAKES, AND TWICE WHILE ON CITY STREETS IT ACCELERATED FROM 20 TO 50 IN SECONDS, CAUSING ME TO NEARLY MISS A VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME. WHY MY MODEL VIN ISN'T INCLUDED IN THE RECALL I DON'T KNOW, BECAUSE LOOKING AT EVERYTHING ONLINE REGARDING THE 05 TAURUS MY CAR HAS ALL THE SAME ISSUES, WHICH WEREN'T DISCLOSED TO ME UPON PURCHASE BECAUSE THE ORIGINAL OWNER HAD NO IDEA. CURRENT MILEAGE 186K.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/7/2018 - EL PASO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 FORD TAURUS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A DEER. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING OF THE AIR BAG FAILURE. ALSO, WHILE PARKING THE VEHICLE AND DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE VEHICLE WOULD ROLL AND THEN STOP. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT THE BRAKE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER AND DEALER WERE NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/7/2018 - EL PASO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 FORD TAURUS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A DEER. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING OF THE AIR BAG FAILURE. ALSO, WHILE PARKING THE VEHICLE AND DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE VEHICLE WOULD ROLL AND THEN STOP. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT THE BRAKE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER AND DEALER WERE NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/3/2018 - PEARLAND, TX
MY ACCELERATOR IS STICKING, IT HAPPENED TODAY AND 2 MORE TIMES IN THE PAST 2 WEEKS WHILE DRIVING IN THE HIGHWAY AND SIDE ROADS, I WAS NOT USING THE CRUISE CONTROL. THE ACCELERATOR STUCK AT HIGH RPM AND IT WILL NOT SLOW DOWN, I HAD TO APPLY THE BREAKS VERY HARD TO STOP, IT WAS A SCARY SITUATION, THIS IS OBVIOUSLY A SAFETY CONCERN. I HIT THE GAS PEDAL SEVERAL TIMES TO MAKE IT GO DOWN BUT IT DID NOT RESPOND, I HAD TO STOP IN THE SIDE OF THE ROAD THE FIRST TIME AN HIT THE ARE IN THE MOTOR WHERE THE ACCELERATOR CABLE IS AND ACTUATED IT MANUALLY AFTER TURNING THE CAR OFF. BUT IT HAS HAPPENED TWICE SINCE THEN. THIS IS NOT NORMAL AND COULD RESULT IN A BAD ACCIDENT OR EVEN DEATH. WHEN PUTTING THE CAR IN PARK OR NEUTRAL THE RPM STAYED AROUND 4000. SOMETHING HAS TO BE DONE, I FOUND THAT OTHER COMPLAINTS HAVE BEEN SUBMITTED FOR THE SAME REASON.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/28/2018 - WALLA WALLA, WA
WHILE DRIVING DOWN A STREET OR ON THE HIGHWAY IT FEELS LIKE THE CRUISE CONTROL TAKES OVER, DISCONNECTED THE CABLE AND IT STILL DOES IT, PUT THE SHIFTER IN NEUTRAL AND IT REVS TO 4000 UNTIL YOU STOMP ON THE THROTTLE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/16/2018 - PROCTORVILLE, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 FORD TAURUS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE SPONTANEOUSLY ACCELERATED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT APPLIED THE BRAKES AND PULLED THE VEHICLE OVER IN A PARKING LOT. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE SAME FAILURE OCCURRED TWO OTHER TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER (GLOCKNER FORD IN SOUTH POINT, OHIO, 740-894-3673) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE CABLE FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED TWICE, BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE SAME DEALER INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE PART THAT FAILED WAS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 95,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/19/2018 - WASHINGTON, UT
THE CAR SUDDENLY LOST ALL FORWARD MOTION WHILE IN HIGHWAY TRAFFIC AT ABOUT 70 MPH, ENGINE RUNNING AND TRANSMISSION IN DRIVE. THE CAUSE IS A STRIPPED OUT TORQUE CONVERTER INPUT SPLINE. THE TRANSMISSION PUMP DRIVE ROD IS TOO WEAK AND THE GEAR TEETH TOO FINE THAT THE TEETH ON IT GET STRIPPED INSIDE THE CONVERTER QUITE EASILY AND WITHOUT WARNING. THIS CAUSES LOSS OF TRANSMISSION PUMP PRESSURE AND RESULTANT LOSS OF FORWARD PROPULSION. IN HIGHWAY TRAFFIC, THIS COULD RESULT IN A FATAL ACCIDENT, PARTICULARLY FROM THE REAR AND IF AT HIGHWAY SPEED. THIS IS A DESIGN FLAW BECAUSE THE TEETH ON THE TORQUE CONVERTER INPUT SHAFT (WHICH POWERS THE TRANSMISSION PUMP), ARE PRONE TO STRIP. IF THE TRANSMISSION PUMP IS NOT BEING DRIVEN (WHICH WILL HAPPEN IF THE INPUT SHAFT STRIPS INSIDE THE TORQUE CONVERTER WHILE BEING DRIVEN), THE TRANSMISSION WILL LOSE ALL ABILITY TO PROPEL THE VEHICLE. THERE ARE COMPLAINTS ALL OVER THE INTERNET OF OWNERS OF FORD TAURUS'S WITH THE VERY SAME PROBLEM. WHAT IS ODD IS THAT FORD DID ISSUE A RECALL ON SOME FORD FREESTAR MINIVANS WITH THE VERY SAME TRANSMISSION AND DESIGN FLAW, BUT THE RECALL DID NOT INCLUDE FORD TAURUS'S WITH VERY SAME TRANSMISSION AND DESIGN FLAW. FORD REFUSES TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE FREE OR ISSUE A RECALL. PLEASE FORCE FORD MOTOR COMPANY TO RECALL ALL FORD TAURUSES WITH THIS DESIGN FLAW. MANY YEARS AGO FORD WAS FOUND GUILTY OF INTENTIONALLY BUILDING DEFECTIVE FORD PINTOS, WHICH RESULTED IN SEVERAL DEATH WITH EXPLODING GAS TANKS WHEN THESE VEHICLES WERE INVOLVED IN A COLLISION. PLEASE DON'T LET FORD MOTOR COMPANY GET AWAY WITH ANOTHER DESIGN FLAW THAT COULD RESULT IN MORE ACCIDENTS WITH FATALITIES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/19/2018 - WASHINGTON, UT
MY 2005 FORD TAURUS HAS A STRIPPED TORQUE CONVERTER SPLINE AFTER I INSPECTED IT CLOSELY. I BELIEVE THIS TO BE A DESIGN FLAW BECAUSE IT SEEMS TO BE A VERY COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS YEAR, MAKE AND MODEL OF THIS VEHICLE. IT IS ALSO COMMON IN OTHER SIMILAR FORD MODELS. IT IS A SAFETY HAZARD BECAUSE THE TORQUE CONVERTER SPLINE CAN STRIP OUT WITHOUT WARNING, LEAVING THE VEHICLE WITHOUT ANY POWER TO THE DRIVE WHEELS. THIS CAN BE ESPECIALLY HAZARD IN AN INTERSECTION WHEN A LIGHT TURNS RED, ON AT HIGH SPEED ON A HIGHWAY, WHICH WOULD RISK A HIGH-SPEED REAR END COLLISION. FORD HAS NOT ISSUED A RECALL FOR THIS COMMON DEFECT. THERE ARE MANY INSTANCES OF THIS SAME FAILURE ON THE INTERNET BY OTHER OWNERS.THE VEHICLE LOST ALL POWER TO THE WHEELS AS I WAS IN AN INTERSECTION MAKING A LEFT TURN AT LOW SPEED ON A CITY STREET. THE CAR WOULD NOT MOVE FORWARD WHILE THE ENGINE WAS RUNNING AND THE TRANSMISSION IN DRIVE. VERY LUCKILY, THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO COAST TO A STOP CLEAR OF TRAFFIC. HOWEVER, THE OUTCOME COULD HAVE BEEN VERY DIFFERENT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 94
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds