Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD TAURUS - 2005 FORD TAURUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 728 complaints filed for the 2005 FORD TAURUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 FORD TAURUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 FORD TAURUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Equipment (4) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Unknown Or Other (18)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (4) Other (2) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (510)
Electrical System (27) Fuel Propulsion System (28) Power Train (120) Structure (21) Visibility (12)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (7) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (61) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (20) Tires (3) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (40)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 94
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/19/2018 - WASHINGTON, UT
THE CAR SUDDENLY LOST ALL FORWARD MOTION WHILE IN HIGHWAY TRAFFIC AT ABOUT 70 MPH, ENGINE RUNNING AND TRANSMISSION IN DRIVE. THE CAUSE IS A STRIPPED OUT TORQUE CONVERTER INPUT SPLINE. THE TRANSMISSION PUMP DRIVE ROD IS TOO WEAK AND THE GEAR TEETH TOO FINE THAT THE TEETH ON IT GET STRIPPED INSIDE THE CONVERTER QUITE EASILY AND WITHOUT WARNING. THIS CAUSES LOSS OF TRANSMISSION PUMP PRESSURE AND RESULTANT LOSS OF FORWARD PROPULSION. IN HIGHWAY TRAFFIC, THIS COULD RESULT IN A FATAL ACCIDENT, PARTICULARLY FROM THE REAR AND IF AT HIGHWAY SPEED. THIS IS A DESIGN FLAW BECAUSE THE TEETH ON THE TORQUE CONVERTER INPUT SHAFT (WHICH POWERS THE TRANSMISSION PUMP), ARE PRONE TO STRIP. IF THE TRANSMISSION PUMP IS NOT BEING DRIVEN (WHICH WILL HAPPEN IF THE INPUT SHAFT STRIPS INSIDE THE TORQUE CONVERTER WHILE BEING DRIVEN), THE TRANSMISSION WILL LOSE ALL ABILITY TO PROPEL THE VEHICLE. THERE ARE COMPLAINTS ALL OVER THE INTERNET OF OWNERS OF FORD TAURUS'S WITH THE VERY SAME PROBLEM. WHAT IS ODD IS THAT FORD DID ISSUE A RECALL ON SOME FORD FREESTAR MINIVANS WITH THE VERY SAME TRANSMISSION AND DESIGN FLAW, BUT THE RECALL DID NOT INCLUDE FORD TAURUS'S WITH VERY SAME TRANSMISSION AND DESIGN FLAW. FORD REFUSES TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE FREE OR ISSUE A RECALL. PLEASE FORCE FORD MOTOR COMPANY TO RECALL ALL FORD TAURUSES WITH THIS DESIGN FLAW. MANY YEARS AGO FORD WAS FOUND GUILTY OF INTENTIONALLY BUILDING DEFECTIVE FORD PINTOS, WHICH RESULTED IN SEVERAL DEATH WITH EXPLODING GAS TANKS WHEN THESE VEHICLES WERE INVOLVED IN A COLLISION. PLEASE DON'T LET FORD MOTOR COMPANY GET AWAY WITH ANOTHER DESIGN FLAW THAT COULD RESULT IN MORE ACCIDENTS WITH FATALITIES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/19/2018 - WASHINGTON, UT
MY 2005 FORD TAURUS HAS A STRIPPED TORQUE CONVERTER SPLINE AFTER I INSPECTED IT CLOSELY. I BELIEVE THIS TO BE A DESIGN FLAW BECAUSE IT SEEMS TO BE A VERY COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS YEAR, MAKE AND MODEL OF THIS VEHICLE. IT IS ALSO COMMON IN OTHER SIMILAR FORD MODELS. IT IS A SAFETY HAZARD BECAUSE THE TORQUE CONVERTER SPLINE CAN STRIP OUT WITHOUT WARNING, LEAVING THE VEHICLE WITHOUT ANY POWER TO THE DRIVE WHEELS. THIS CAN BE ESPECIALLY HAZARD IN AN INTERSECTION WHEN A LIGHT TURNS RED, ON AT HIGH SPEED ON A HIGHWAY, WHICH WOULD RISK A HIGH-SPEED REAR END COLLISION. FORD HAS NOT ISSUED A RECALL FOR THIS COMMON DEFECT. THERE ARE MANY INSTANCES OF THIS SAME FAILURE ON THE INTERNET BY OTHER OWNERS.THE VEHICLE LOST ALL POWER TO THE WHEELS AS I WAS IN AN INTERSECTION MAKING A LEFT TURN AT LOW SPEED ON A CITY STREET. THE CAR WOULD NOT MOVE FORWARD WHILE THE ENGINE WAS RUNNING AND THE TRANSMISSION IN DRIVE. VERY LUCKILY, THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO COAST TO A STOP CLEAR OF TRAFFIC. HOWEVER, THE OUTCOME COULD HAVE BEEN VERY DIFFERENT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/6/2018 - BAKER, LA
I WAS DRIVING AT A SPEED OF MAYBE 45 MILES AN HOUR AND I TOOK MY FOOT OFF THE GAS WHEN APPROACHING A RED LIGHT. MY CAR CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE REALLY FAST. I TAPPED THE GAS HARD AND IT STOPPED. SINCE THEN IT DOES IT ALL THE TIME. NOW THE CAR IS HESITANT AND JERKING. THE TRANSMISSION WARNING LIGHT RECENTLY CAME ON AND WENT AWAY BUT THE ACCELERATION IS GETTING WORSE EACH DAY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/6/2018 - BAKER, LA
I WAS DRIVING AT A SPEED OF MAYBE 45 MILES AN HOUR AND I TOOK MY FOOT OFF THE GAS WHEN APPROACHING A RED LIGHT. MY CAR CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE REALLY FAST. I TAPPED THE GAS HARD AND IT STOPPED. SINCE THEN IT DOES IT ALL THE TIME. NOW THE CAR IS HESITANT AND JERKING. THE TRANSMISSION WARNING LIGHT RECENTLY CAME ON AND WENT AWAY BUT THE ACCELERATION IS GETTING WORSE EACH DAY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/6/2018 - BAKER, LA
I WAS DRIVING AT A SPEED OF MAYBE 45 MILES AN HOUR AND I TOOK MY FOOT OFF THE GAS WHEN APPROACHING A RED LIGHT. MY CAR CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE REALLY FAST. I TAPPED THE GAS HARD AND IT STOPPED. SINCE THEN IT DOES IT ALL THE TIME. NOW THE CAR IS HESITANT AND JERKING. THE TRANSMISSION WARNING LIGHT RECENTLY CAME ON AND WENT AWAY BUT THE ACCELERATION IS GETTING WORSE EACH DAY.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/25/2018 - UPPER MARLBORO, MD
2005 FORD TAURUS. CONSUMER SEEKS REIMBURSEMENT FOR NUMEROUS VEHICLE REPAIRS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/14/2018 - VOORHEES, NJ
DOOR WILL NOT LATCH CLOSED. DOOR REMAINS OPEN. DOOR LATCH SPRING MAY BE FROZEN. I OPENED THE DOOR AND STARTED THE MOTOR BUT COULD NOT DRIVE CAR BECAUSE DRIVER DOOR WOULD NOT LATCH CLOSED. THERE ARE SEVERAL SIMILAR COMPLAINTS ONLINE REGARDING THE SAME TYPE OF VEHICLE. THIS PROBLEM CAUSES SIGNIFICANT RISK OF INJURY AND DEATH AND SHOULD BE ADDRESSED BY THE MANUFACTURER IMMEDIATELY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/4/2018 - FERNDALE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 FORD TAURUS. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, THE VEHICLE INADVERTENTLY ACCELERATED AS THE RPMS INCREASED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO MOVE OUT OF TRAFFIC, STOP THE VEHICLE, AND SHIFT INTO PARK; HOWEVER, THE RPMS WERE STILL HIGH. THE CONTACT TURNED OFF THE ENGINE AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE, BUT THE RPMS REMAINED HIGH. THE CONTACT REPEATED THE STEPS THREE TIMES BEFORE DRIVING THE VEHICLE WHILE SLIGHTLY DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED WITH A CRUISE CONTROL CABLE FAILURE THAT WAS CAUSING THE THROTTLE TO STAY OPEN AND INADVERTENTLY ACCELERATING THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REPAIRS WERE UNKNOWN, BUT THE INDEPENDENT MECHANIC INFORMED HER THAT HE PLACED AN UNKNOWN SUBSTANCE ON THE CABLE TO KEEP IT IN PLACE. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED THAT THE FAILURE WOULD RECUR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING OR REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 168,000.

View Details

ENGINE

1/4/2018 - FERNDALE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 FORD TAURUS. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, THE VEHICLE INADVERTENTLY ACCELERATED AS THE RPMS INCREASED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO MOVE OUT OF TRAFFIC, STOP THE VEHICLE, AND SHIFT INTO PARK; HOWEVER, THE RPMS WERE STILL HIGH. THE CONTACT TURNED OFF THE ENGINE AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE, BUT THE RPMS REMAINED HIGH. THE CONTACT REPEATED THE STEPS THREE TIMES BEFORE DRIVING THE VEHICLE WHILE SLIGHTLY DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED WITH A CRUISE CONTROL CABLE FAILURE THAT WAS CAUSING THE THROTTLE TO STAY OPEN AND INADVERTENTLY ACCELERATING THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REPAIRS WERE UNKNOWN, BUT THE INDEPENDENT MECHANIC INFORMED HER THAT HE PLACED AN UNKNOWN SUBSTANCE ON THE CABLE TO KEEP IT IN PLACE. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED THAT THE FAILURE WOULD RECUR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING OR REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 168,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/18/2017 - LANCASTER, PA
THE ACCELERATOR IS STICKING CAUSING THE CAR TO REV HIGH (4000) RPM'S WHEN NOT STEPPING ON THE GAS PEDAL CAUSING AN UNSAFE CONDITION. THIS ACCELERATOR STICK CAN BE CORRECTED TEMPORARILY BY STABBING AT THE GAS PETAL QUICKLY. MY MECHANIC SAID THE CRUSE CONTROL CABLE WAS DISCONNECTED AND RECONNECTED IT BUT THE ISSUE OCCURRED THE NEXT DAY. THIS ISSUE HAPPENED TO MY DAUGHTER SEVER TIMES AND THEN TO ME WHEN I WAS DRIVING. I WAS APPROACHING A RED LIGHT AT ABOUT 35 MPH LET OFF THE GAS COMPLETELY TO COAST, AND THE CAR CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE AND PICK UP SPEED. THIS ISSUE IS NOT RELATED TO THE CAR BEING WARMED UP OR RUNNING COLD.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 94
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds