Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD TAURUS - 2005 FORD TAURUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 742 complaints filed for the 2005 FORD TAURUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 FORD TAURUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 FORD TAURUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (27) Equipment (4) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Unknown Or Other (18)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (4) Other (2) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (520)
Electrical System (29) Fuel Propulsion System (28) Power Train (122) Structure (21) Visibility (12)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (7) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (64) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (22) Tires (3) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (40)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 96
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

11/12/2018 - INKTER, MI
TAKATA RECALL: AIRBAG LIGHT STAYS ON, ON THE DASHBOARD, FOR DAYS AT A TIME THEN GOES OFF FOR AWHILE THEN GOES ON AGAIN OVER AND OVER NON-STOP; WHETHER STATIONARY OR IN MOTION, ON CITY STREETS OR HIGHWAYS, ON TURNING OR NOT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/26/2018 - PORTLAND, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 FORD TAURUS. WHILE DRIVING 15 MPH, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED WITHOUT WARNING. THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS APPLIED AND THE GEAR SHIFTER WAS ENGAGED IN PARK; HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE. IN ADDITION, THE REVOLUTIONS PER MINUTE INCREASED TO HIGH AND THE CRUISE CONTROL FAILED TO OPERATE. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT CALLED THE LOCAL DEALER (ROWE WESTBROOK, 91 MAIN STREET, WESTBROOK, ME 04092, (207) 854-2555) AND WAS REFERRED TO THE MANUFACTURER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO THE LOCAL DEALER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 127,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/26/2018 - PORTLAND, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 FORD TAURUS. WHILE DRIVING 15 MPH, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED WITHOUT WARNING. THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS APPLIED AND THE GEAR SHIFTER WAS ENGAGED IN PARK; HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE. IN ADDITION, THE REVOLUTIONS PER MINUTE INCREASED TO HIGH AND THE CRUISE CONTROL FAILED TO OPERATE. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT CALLED THE LOCAL DEALER (ROWE WESTBROOK, 91 MAIN STREET, WESTBROOK, ME 04092, (207) 854-2555) AND WAS REFERRED TO THE MANUFACTURER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO THE LOCAL DEALER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 127,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/20/2018 - WHARTON, TX
DRIVING ON A HIGH-SPEED HIGHWAY, WHEN WITHOUT WARNING (NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT OR ANY OTHER NOTIFICATION), THE TRANSMISSION QUIT WORKING. I WAS LEFT UNABLE TO ACCELERATE OR EVEN MAINTAIN MY SPEED; AND I HAD TO COAST TO A STOP ON AN EXIT RAMP AS THE PORTION OF HIGHWAY THAT I WAS ON DID NOT HAVE SHOULDERS ON EITHER SIDE. IT WAS VERY DANGEROUS. THE TRAFFIC BEHIND ME WAS JUST AS ILL-PREPARED FOR THIS SUDDEN DECELERATION, AND I WAS POWERLESS TO DO ANYTHING OTHER THAN STEER TO RELATIVE SAFETY. IT APPEARS THAT THE TORQUE CONVERTER'S SPLINES ARE NOT PROPERLY DESIGNED AND THIS IS A COMMON OCCURRENCE ON THIS SPECIFIC MAKE, MODEL AND YEAR. THIS DEFECT SHOULD BE ATTENDED TO, ESPECIALLY SO THAT THERE IS NO INJURY OR LOSS OF LIFE IN THE FUTURE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/20/2018 - WHARTON, TX
DRIVING ON A HIGH-SPEED HIGHWAY, WHEN WITHOUT WARNING (NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT OR ANY OTHER NOTIFICATION), THE TRANSMISSION QUIT WORKING. I WAS LEFT UNABLE TO ACCELERATE OR EVEN MAINTAIN MY SPEED; AND I HAD TO COAST TO A STOP ON AN EXIT RAMP AS THE PORTION OF HIGHWAY THAT I WAS ON DID NOT HAVE SHOULDERS ON EITHER SIDE. IT WAS VERY DANGEROUS. THE TRAFFIC BEHIND ME WAS JUST AS ILL-PREPARED FOR THIS SUDDEN DECELERATION, AND I WAS POWERLESS TO DO ANYTHING OTHER THAN STEER TO RELATIVE SAFETY. IT APPEARS THAT THE TORQUE CONVERTER'S SPLINES ARE NOT PROPERLY DESIGNED AND THIS IS A COMMON OCCURRENCE ON THIS SPECIFIC MAKE, MODEL AND YEAR. THIS DEFECT SHOULD BE ATTENDED TO, ESPECIALLY SO THAT THERE IS NO INJURY OR LOSS OF LIFE IN THE FUTURE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/18/2018 - WINDSOR, CA
WHILE DRIVING HIS LOW MILE 2005 FORD TAURUS BOTH ON THE HIGHWAY AND ON CITY STREETS, MY SON HAS EXPERIENCED SEVERAL INCIDENTS OF UNINTENDED ACCELERATION OR STUCK THROTTLE WHILE LETTING OFF THE GAS PEDAL IN ORDER TO SLOW DOWN OR BRAKE. ADDITIONALLY, THE CRUISE CONTROL DOES NOT WORK. DRIVING ON THE VERY BUSY HIGHWAYS OF NORTHERN CALIFORNIA WITH ITS PREVALENT STOP AND GO DRIVING MAKE THIS CONDITION EXTREMELY DANGEROUS. AN INTERNET SEARCH OF THIS ISSUE SHOWS THIS IS NOT AN ISOLATED INCIDENT. AS I HAVE BEEN A MECHANIC SINCE 1973, I DECIDED TO TAKE A LOOK AT THE THROTTLE CABLE / CRUISE CONTROL CABLE TO SEE IF THESE TWO ISSUES WERE RELATED. IMAGINE MY SURPRISE WHEN I DISCOVERED THE CRUISE CONTROL CABLE WAS DECOUPLED FROM ITS POST MOUNT (SEE PICTURES). I HAVE SURMISED THAT THE DECOUPLED CABLE COULD BLOCK THE THROTTLE CABLE ROLL BACK TO THE IDLE STOP, AND IF THE CRUISE CONTROL WAS INITIATED, THE LOOSE CABLE COULD DRIVE FORWARD AND ARTICULATE THE THROTTLE FORWARD TO THE WIDE OPEN THROTTLE POSITION AS IT SEARCHES TO CONTROL THE DRIVE SPEED. AS BOTH THE THROTTLE ACTUATOR AND THE CRUISE CONTROL CABLE INTERFACE ARE MADE OF PLASTIC, ONE OR BOTH HAVE WORN PAST THE POINT WHERE THE CRUISE CONTROL CABLE WILL STAY SECURELY COUPLED TO ITS MOUNTING POST. WHY AREN'T BOTH OF THESE PARTS STEEL? WELL, PLASTIC IS CHEAP AND EASY TO MAKE. BUT PROFIT OVER SAFETY IS UNACCEPTABLE. NHTSA, PLEASE ADDRESS THIS. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE THAT CAN OR WILL WRECK THE CAR, WHICH COULD INJURE OR KILL SOMEONE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/16/2018 - GARY, IN
THE CAR WILL START ACCELERATING WHILE PARKED GOING UP TO 4000 RPM, IT WILL ALSO WHILE DRIVING ACCELERATE WITHOUT FOOT BEING ON PETAL. PLEASE CALL ME IF YOU CAN HELP 219-810-5800

View Details

ENGINE

8/16/2018 - GARY, IN
THE CAR WILL START ACCELERATING WHILE PARKED GOING UP TO 4000 RPM, IT WILL ALSO WHILE DRIVING ACCELERATE WITHOUT FOOT BEING ON PETAL. PLEASE CALL ME IF YOU CAN HELP 219-810-5800

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/16/2018 - GARY, IN
THE CAR WILL START ACCELERATING WHILE PARKED GOING UP TO 4000 RPM, IT WILL ALSO WHILE DRIVING ACCELERATE WITHOUT FOOT BEING ON PETAL. PLEASE CALL ME IF YOU CAN HELP 219-810-5800

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/10/2018 - BECKLEY, WV
THIS ISSUE OCCURRED ABOUT 4 MONTHS AGO WHEN DRIVING NORMALLY. THEN, TODAY WE WERE DRIVING UP A HILL AND IT STARTED TO ACCELERATE WITHOUT ME PUSHING THE GAS PEDAL. THE ONLY WAY TO GET IT TO STOP WAS TO PUT IT IN PARK AND TURN THE CAR OFF BUT, KEPT OCCURRING WHEN I TURNED THE CAR BACK ON. PUTTING IT IN NEUTRAL DID NOT WORK.WE WERE IN THE MIDDLE OF OUR CITY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 96
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds