Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2005 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 771 complaints filed for the 2005 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (82) Equipment (40) Other (8) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (31)
Child Seat (2) Equipment Adaptive (1) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Electric (2) Unknown Or Other (21)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (6) Power Train (99) Service Brakes Hydraulic (60) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Electrical System (41) Fuel Propulsion System (21) Seat Belts (18) Steering (95) Visibility (19)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel System Gasoline (17) Seats (5) Structure (125) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (60) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (12) Suspension (25) Wheels (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (90) Latches Locks Linkages (27)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 95
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/1/2018 - NASHVILLE, TN
MY SLIDING DOOR OFF ON ME CAUSE ME TO PULL A MUSCLE IN MY CHEST AND PUT ME IN THE EMERGENCY ROOM.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/10/2018 - REGO PARK, NY
DRIVING THE 2005 HONDA ODYSSEY POWER SHUTS OFF TO THE ENTIRE VEHICLE. YOU DIDN+T TURN THE VEHICLE OFF AND TURN IT BACK ON IT WILL START. WHEN THERE IS A HEAVY LOAD ON THE VEHICLE THE CAR WILL STALL. THE POWER SHUT OFF HAPPENS INTERMITTENTLY AND EVEN BLINKERS WILL NOT WORK. THIS IS DRIVING IN LOCAL AND HIGHWAY THE CAR STOPS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/10/2018 - REGO PARK, NY
DRIVING THE 2005 HONDA ODYSSEY POWER SHUTS OFF TO THE ENTIRE VEHICLE. YOU DIDN+T TURN THE VEHICLE OFF AND TURN IT BACK ON IT WILL START. WHEN THERE IS A HEAVY LOAD ON THE VEHICLE THE CAR WILL STALL. THE POWER SHUT OFF HAPPENS INTERMITTENTLY AND EVEN BLINKERS WILL NOT WORK. THIS IS DRIVING IN LOCAL AND HIGHWAY THE CAR STOPS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/10/2018 - REGO PARK, NY
DRIVING THE 2005 HONDA ODYSSEY POWER SHUTS OFF TO THE ENTIRE VEHICLE. YOU DIDN+T TURN THE VEHICLE OFF AND TURN IT BACK ON IT WILL START. WHEN THERE IS A HEAVY LOAD ON THE VEHICLE THE CAR WILL STALL. THE POWER SHUT OFF HAPPENS INTERMITTENTLY AND EVEN BLINKERS WILL NOT WORK. THIS IS DRIVING IN LOCAL AND HIGHWAY THE CAR STOPS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/23/2018 - ANCHORAGE, AK
WHILE DRIVING, THE TRANSMISSION WOULD SHAKE THE WHOLE VEHICLE AND I HAVE TO REDUCE THE GAS AND THEN ACCELERATE AGAIN TO END THE SHAKENING.NOW, THE TRANSMISSION MAKES A GRINDING NOISE AND SHAKES WORST

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/28/2018 - LIVINGSTON, NJ
1) I HAVE OCCASIONAL "CHECK AIRBAGS" MESSAGE POPPING UP ON THE DASHBOARD, WHICH DISAPPEAR AFTER TURNING OFF/BACK ON. IT MAY HAPPEN WHILE I AM RIDING OR WHEN SETTING THE GEAR TO PARK AND UNPLUGGING THE SEATBELT. CONSUMER REPORTS SHOWS THAT THERE WAS A RECALL DECLARED ON AIRBAGS BACK ON AUGUST 1, 2005 SHORTLY AFTER I BOUGHT THIS CAR ON MAY, 2005. AMERICAN HONDA SAID THAT THERE IS NO RECALL ON AIRBAGS. I WOULD STILL DRIVE THIS CAR AND BY THAT REASON DECIDED CONTACT NHTDS. 2) RUST ON THE BODY OF THE CAR ABOVE THE REAR RIGHT WHEEL IS GETTING DEEPER. I HAVE SEEN EXACTLY THE SAME SPOT RUSTED ON OTHER ODYSSEYS MADE IN 2005 OR LATER, WHEN DRIVING.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/28/2018 - LIVINGSTON, NJ
1) I HAVE OCCASIONAL "CHECK AIRBAGS" MESSAGE POPPING UP ON THE DASHBOARD, WHICH DISAPPEAR AFTER TURNING OFF/BACK ON. IT MAY HAPPEN WHILE I AM RIDING OR WHEN SETTING THE GEAR TO PARK AND UNPLUGGING THE SEATBELT. CONSUMER REPORTS SHOWS THAT THERE WAS A RECALL DECLARED ON AIRBAGS BACK ON AUGUST 1, 2005 SHORTLY AFTER I BOUGHT THIS CAR ON MAY, 2005. AMERICAN HONDA SAID THAT THERE IS NO RECALL ON AIRBAGS. I WOULD STILL DRIVE THIS CAR AND BY THAT REASON DECIDED CONTACT NHTDS. 2) RUST ON THE BODY OF THE CAR ABOVE THE REAR RIGHT WHEEL IS GETTING DEEPER. I HAVE SEEN EXACTLY THE SAME SPOT RUSTED ON OTHER ODYSSEYS MADE IN 2005 OR LATER, WHEN DRIVING.

View Details

ENGINE

6/25/2018 - DUBLIN, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HONDA ODYSSEY. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, A LOUD NOISE WAS HEARD UNDERNEATH THE HOOD. THE VEHICLE WAS PULLED OVER ONTO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE CONTACT OPENED THE HOOD AND NOTICED A GAPING HOLE IN THE ENGINE BLOCK FROM WHERE THE IGNITION COIL AND SPARK PLUG BLEW OUT OF THE ENGINE. THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE DEALER WAS NOT CALLED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL. THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 135,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/15/2018 - LIVERMORE, CA
THIS HAS HAPPENED TO ME 3 TIMES IN THE LAST 3 MONTHS. I WAS PARKED IN MY DRIVEWAY WITH MOTER RUNNING SAT THERE WHILE FINISHING SOMETHING, HAVING MY FOOT ON THE BREAK WENT TO PUT MY VAN IN PARK AFTER WHICH TOOK MY FOOT OFF THE BRAKE AND MY VAN LUNGES FORWARD. I STOMPED ON MY BRAKES BARELY IN TIME TO NOT GO THROUGH MY GARAGE DOOR. #2 I WAS PARKED MUCH LIKE #1 IN FRONT OF MY GYM FOOT ON THE BRAKE WENT TO PUT THE VAN IN PARK AND IT LUNGES FORWARD, I STOMPED ON THE BRAKE IN TIME TO NOT GO ALL THE WAY UP THE CRUB. STILL NOT UNDERSTANDING WHAT WAS HAPPENING. #3 WAS A WEEK AGO. I WAS TURNING LEFT INTO A PARKING SPACE ALMOST A U-TURN AND MY VAN EXCELLERATED SO FAST I WAS HEADED STRAIGHT FOR A CONCRETE PILLAR, WAS ABLE TO STOMP ON THE BRAKES COMING WAY TO CLOSE TO HITTING THE PILLAR. I TOOK THE ODYSSEY INTO HONDA THEY RAN THEIR TESTS AND FOUND NOTHING WRONG. THEY JUST THOUGHT I MUST HAVE SLIPPED OF THE BRAKE. WELL THAT+S NOT WHAT HAPPENED IN EITHER OF THE 3 TIMES. VERY SCARY AND DRIVE VERY CAUTIOUS NOW. STOP A CAR LENGTH FROM OTHER CARS FROM CROSSWALKS PARK WITH MY EMERGENCY BRAKE ON AND EXCELLERATE SLOWLY! PRAYING IT DOESN+T HAPPEN AGAIN, MY 93 YEAR OLD MOTHER WAS IN THE PASSENGER SEAT ON #3 AND SCARED HER TO DEATH!

View Details

SEATS

5/1/2018 - MIDLOTHIAN, VA
AFTER THE THIRD ROW HAS BEEN FOLDED FLAT AND YOU ARE BRINGING IT BACK OUT TO MAKE IT A SEAT AGAIN, IT OFTEN WILL NOT LATCH WITHOUT THE ASSISTANCE OF A SECOND PERSON TO HELP GUIDE THE SEAT INTO THE PROPER PLACE. THIS GENERALLY HAPPENS WITH THE 2 SEAT SECTION AND NOT THE SINGLE SEAT SECTION (SINCE THEY FOLD 60/40). IF YOU DON'T REALIZE THE SEAT DID NOT LATCH, THEN IT CAN EASILY ROLL BACK AND TRY TO FOLD FLAT WHILE THE CAR IS IN MOTION OR SHOULD SOMEONE TRY TO CLIMB OVER IT. THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING FOR QUITE A WHILE, BUT WHEN I SAW THAT A CHILD DIED BECAUSE OF IT, I WANTED TO REPORT IT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 95
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds