Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 189 complaints filed for the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (60) Exterior Lighting (4) Power Train (11) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (3)
Electrical System (8) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Seat Belts (15) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Seats (2) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (41)
Engine (9) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (16) Structure (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (22) Wheels (2)
Equipment (3) Other (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/31/2016 - EXETER, NH
IN NOV, 2015, THE ABS AND TCS LIGHTS CAME ON. THE AXLE WAS BROKEN AND HAD TO BE REPLACED. IN JULY 2016, THE LIGHTS CAME ON AGAIN AND NOW ANOTHER AXLE IS BROKEN AND NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. ALSO, THE CRUISE CONTROL WAS BROKEN AND A BAD SWITCH WAS REPLACED IN THE STEERING WHEEL. THE CRUISE CONTROL WORKED FOR A DAY THEN BROKE AGAIN AND IT WAS REPLACED AND NOW IT'S NOT WORKING AGAIN. WHEN I WAS ON THE HIGHWAY IN JUNE, 2016, THE CAR BROKE DOWN AND WAS TOWED TO THE GARAGE. A CRANKSHAFT SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. BESIDES THE OTHER ISSUES, THIS VEHICLE SEEMS TO HAVE A LOT OF ELECTRICAL ISSUES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/28/2016 - BARNET, VT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE CONTACT NOTICED A FUEL ODOR INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE EVAC CANISTER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000. UPDATED 10/19/16

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/23/2016 - LARKSVILLE, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING, A FUEL ODOR EMITTED IN THE INTERIOR AND EXTERIOR OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL TANK WAS RUSTED AND LEAKING. AS A RESULT, THE FUEL TANK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 06V317000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 94,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/22/2016 - SHAVERTOWN, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A STRONG FUEL ODOR COMING FROM THE VEHICLE, AS WELL AS A FUEL PUDDLE UNDER THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 06V317000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 96,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/18/2016 - OSCEOLA, AR
THIS RECALL NOTICE APPLIES TO YOUR VEHICLE, [XXX] DEAR HYUNDAI SANTA FE OWNER, WE PREVIOUSLY SENT YOU A LETTER ABOUT A SAFETY RECALL REGARDING THE FRONT COIL SPRING ON YOUR 2001-2006 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. TO DATE, IT APPEARS THAT THIS IMPORTANT SAFETY RECALL HAS NOT BEEN COMPLETED ON YOUR VEHICLE. PLEASE CLICK HERE FOR MORE INFORMATION ABOUT THIS SAFETY RECALL, TO VALIDATE THAT YOUR VEHICLE IS AFFECTED AND TO SCHEDULE AN ON-LINE APPOINTMENT WITH YOUR LOCAL HYUNDAI DEALER. WE URGE YOU TO HAVE THIS IMPORTANT SAFETY RECALL COMPLETED AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS, PLEASE CONTACT THE HYUNDAI RECALL HOTLINE AT 855-671-3059. YOU CAN ALSO FIND INFORMATION ON THE NHTSA WEBSITE AT WWW.SAFERCAR.GOV. I WENT ON LINE AND SCHEDULED THIS RECALL MAINT. WHEN I CALLED TWO DAYS LATER TO THE SHOP TO VERIFY APPT. THEY INFORMED ME THEY DON'T DO THIS TYPE OF MAINTENANCE ON SATURDAY. I ASKED HIM WHO WAS GOING TO CALL ME AND LET ME KNOW THAT, BEFORE I DROVE 100MILES ROUND TRIP TO THE SHOP FROM MY TOWN. HE SAID HE DIDN'T HAVE ANY WAY TO CALL ME & NOT ENOUGH LABOR TO DO THIS TYPE OF JOB ON SATURDAY. I SAID WELL I CAN'T TAKE OFF WORK, SO HOW WILL I GET IT FIXED. HE SAID I DON'T KNOW MAM, "IT IS WHAT IT IS" . THIS MAN OVER YOUR SERVICE DEPT ON COVINGTON PIKE IS VERY RUDE AND COULD CARE LESS IF I GOT MY HYUNDAI FIXED OR NOT... WITH THAT KIND OF SERVICE AND LACK OF CONCERN FOR THE CUSTOMER, I DOUBT I WOULD BUY ANOTHER HYUNDAI!!!!!!!! SO I HAVE ONE OF YOUR CARS THAT HAS A RECALL DUE TO YOUR NEGLIGENCE THAT I CAN'T GET FIXED BECAUSE YOUR PEOPLE WILL NOT DO IT ON SATURDAY AND I HAVE TO WORK ON WEEKDAYS. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/18/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
THIS STARTED ABOUT 2 MONTHS AGO. WHILE ENGAGING THE BRAKES AT LOW TO MODERATE SPEEDS, IT FEELS LIKE THE ABS SYSTEM IS ENGAGING BUT THE BRAKING IS WEAK. I HAVE TO DISENGAGE AND THEN REENGAGE THE BRAKES, SOMETIMES MULTIPLE TIMES FOR THEM TO WORK. RESEARCH ON THE WEB INDICATES THIS EXACT PROBLEM FOR THE 2004 MODEL YEAR IS UNDER A RECALL. IT NEEDS TO BE EXTENDED TO INCLUDE THE 2005 MODEL YEAR.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/17/2016 - NICEVILLE, FL
ON MAY 16, 2016 I WAS DRIVING MY 2005 HYUNDAI ON A CITY STREET AND IT STARTED TO SURGE AND I HAD TO PUT MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE TO SLOW IT DOWN BUT IT WOULDN'T STOP. LUCKILY I WAS CLOSE TO HOME AND WAS ABLE TO GET IT IN THE DRIVEWAY BUT THE UNFORTUNATE PART IS IT DIDN'T STOP UNTIL IT HIT MY HOUSE. IT WAS A VERY TERRIFYING EXPERIENCE. I DON'T THINK I'M GOING TO FEEL COMFORTABLE DRIVING IT AGAIN.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/25/2016 - FAIRFIELD, CT
WHEN THE BRAKE IS APPLIED AT LOW SPEED, THE ANTI LOCK BRAKING SYSTEM CLICKS IN, EXTENDING THE STOPPING DISTANCE. MY SON DROVE THE CAR AND NEARLY CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE AS HE COULDN'T STOP. HE WAS DRIVING ON A CITY STREET. THERE IS A RECALL FOR THIS PROBLEM # 065 ON 2003-2004 MODEL YEARS BUT CLEARLY THE PROBLEM EXTENDS TO 2005 MODEL YEAR.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/7/2016 - RAYMOND, NH
GAS TANK IS CORRODED AND LEAKING FUEL DUE TO ROAD SALT BECAUSE I LIVE IN THE NORTHEAST. I WAS NOTIFIED THAT HYUNDAI HAS "EXTENDED THE WARRANTY" ON MODEL YEARS 2001-2006 UP TO 150,000 MILES. I DO NOT BELIEVE THIS "EXTENDED WARRANTY" SHOULD HAVE A MILEAGE RESTRICTION, AND I ALSO DO NOT BELIEVE THIS SHOULD BE AN EXTENSION OF THE WARRANTY BUT AN ALL OUR RECALL BY HYUNDAI. CARS ARE LEAKING GAS! MY CAR HAS NO OTHER RUST ON IT AND I KEEP MY CAR CLEAN AND PARKED IN MY GARAGE. MY GAS TANK SHOULD NOT BE RUSTED OUT ON A CAR THAT IS 10 YEARS OLD. I ALSO OWN A 1999 AND ANOTHER 2005 HYUNDAI (ELANTRA & SONATA) AND NEITHER HAVE ANY GAS TANK CORROSION. THIS IS A DESIGN FLAW AND A DANGEROUS SITUATION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/21/2016 - NORTH ARLINGTON, NJ
IN THE PAST 2 MONTHS THIS HAS HAPPENED MORE AND MORE FREQUENTLY. WHEN STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT, THE CAR WILL SUDDENLY SURGE FORWARD. I MUST THROW IT INTO NEUTRAL TO STOP IT. EVEN WHEN I AM IN PARK IT WILL SUDDENLY ACT LIKE I AM GIVING IT GAS WHEN I AM NOT. IT IS VERY SCARY AND HAPPENING MUCH MORE FREQUENTLY.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds