Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 180 complaints filed for the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (56) Exterior Lighting (4) Power Train (9) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (3)
Electrical System (8) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seat Belts (15) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Seats (2) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (39)
Engine (8) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (16) Structure (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (22) Wheels (2)
Equipment (3) Other (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/7/2016 - RAYMOND, NH
GAS TANK IS CORRODED AND LEAKING FUEL DUE TO ROAD SALT BECAUSE I LIVE IN THE NORTHEAST. I WAS NOTIFIED THAT HYUNDAI HAS "EXTENDED THE WARRANTY" ON MODEL YEARS 2001-2006 UP TO 150,000 MILES. I DO NOT BELIEVE THIS "EXTENDED WARRANTY" SHOULD HAVE A MILEAGE RESTRICTION, AND I ALSO DO NOT BELIEVE THIS SHOULD BE AN EXTENSION OF THE WARRANTY BUT AN ALL OUR RECALL BY HYUNDAI. CARS ARE LEAKING GAS! MY CAR HAS NO OTHER RUST ON IT AND I KEEP MY CAR CLEAN AND PARKED IN MY GARAGE. MY GAS TANK SHOULD NOT BE RUSTED OUT ON A CAR THAT IS 10 YEARS OLD. I ALSO OWN A 1999 AND ANOTHER 2005 HYUNDAI (ELANTRA & SONATA) AND NEITHER HAVE ANY GAS TANK CORROSION. THIS IS A DESIGN FLAW AND A DANGEROUS SITUATION.

View Details

ENGINE

1/21/2016 - NORTH ARLINGTON, NJ
IN THE PAST 2 MONTHS THIS HAS HAPPENED MORE AND MORE FREQUENTLY. WHEN STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT, THE CAR WILL SUDDENLY SURGE FORWARD. I MUST THROW IT INTO NEUTRAL TO STOP IT. EVEN WHEN I AM IN PARK IT WILL SUDDENLY ACT LIKE I AM GIVING IT GAS WHEN I AM NOT. IT IS VERY SCARY AND HAPPENING MUCH MORE FREQUENTLY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/21/2016 - NORTH ARLINGTON, NJ
IN THE PAST 2 MONTHS THIS HAS HAPPENED MORE AND MORE FREQUENTLY. WHEN STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT, THE CAR WILL SUDDENLY SURGE FORWARD. I MUST THROW IT INTO NEUTRAL TO STOP IT. EVEN WHEN I AM IN PARK IT WILL SUDDENLY ACT LIKE I AM GIVING IT GAS WHEN I AM NOT. IT IS VERY SCARY AND HAPPENING MUCH MORE FREQUENTLY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/15/2016 - EL PASO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED AS A FAILURE PROGRESSED WITH THE DRIVER SIDE SEAT BELT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SEAT BELT BUCKLE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 05V527000 (AIR BAGS) AND NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 05V450000 (AIR BAGS). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

1/15/2016 - EL PASO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED AS A FAILURE PROGRESSED WITH THE DRIVER SIDE SEAT BELT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SEAT BELT BUCKLE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 05V527000 (AIR BAGS) AND NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 05V450000 (AIR BAGS). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/13/2016 - SALIDA, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 20 MPH, THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000. UPDATED 02/26/16 UPDATED 03/14/16.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/27/2015 - ATLANTA, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

ENGINE

7/28/2015 - KINGSPORT, TN
I WAS DRIVING TO WORK AND MY 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE STARTED TO "JUMP" PERSAY. IT JUMPED FROM 1 RPM TO 5 RPM, WHEN I TRIED RO BRAKE IT ACTED AS IF MY GEARS WERE GRINDING, AND IT THRUSTED ME FORWARD. THIS IS A VERY SCARY INCIDENT THAT HAS HAPPENED ALOT, BUT UP TIL THIS MORNING, THERE WAS NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS ON. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON SO MY HUSBAND DISCONNECTED MY BATTERY IN HOPES IT WOULD RESET. AFTER ABOUT THIRTY MINUTES WE HOOKED THE BATTERY BACK UP AND TOOK IT FOR A DRIVE, AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED. I ALMOST CRASHED THIS MORNING ON THE WAY TO WORK WHILE I WAS DOING 55MPH I CAME TO A CURVE AND MY CAR JUMPED TO 5 RPMS AND I ALMOST LOST CONTROL OF MY CAR....THIS CAR IS DANGEROUS, SOMETHING HAS TO BE DONE!!!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/28/2015 - KINGSPORT, TN
I WAS DRIVING TO WORK AND MY 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE STARTED TO "JUMP" PERSAY. IT JUMPED FROM 1 RPM TO 5 RPM, WHEN I TRIED RO BRAKE IT ACTED AS IF MY GEARS WERE GRINDING, AND IT THRUSTED ME FORWARD. THIS IS A VERY SCARY INCIDENT THAT HAS HAPPENED ALOT, BUT UP TIL THIS MORNING, THERE WAS NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS ON. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON SO MY HUSBAND DISCONNECTED MY BATTERY IN HOPES IT WOULD RESET. AFTER ABOUT THIRTY MINUTES WE HOOKED THE BATTERY BACK UP AND TOOK IT FOR A DRIVE, AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED. I ALMOST CRASHED THIS MORNING ON THE WAY TO WORK WHILE I WAS DOING 55MPH I CAME TO A CURVE AND MY CAR JUMPED TO 5 RPMS AND I ALMOST LOST CONTROL OF MY CAR....THIS CAR IS DANGEROUS, SOMETHING HAS TO BE DONE!!!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/23/2015 - OKLAHOMA , OK
WHEN DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY AND SOMEBODY GOT IN FRONT OF ME I PUSH THE BREAK PEDAL AND MY BREAKS WILL NOT ENGAGE AFTER THAT I RELIES THE BREAKS I DID IT AGAIN HAD TO PUMP THE BREAKS A COUPLE OF TIMES FOR THE BRAKES TO ENGAGE, I TOOK THE CAR TO THE MECHANIC AND THEY TOLD ME THAT THE COMPUTER MARKS AN ERROR ON THE ABS SYSTEM, AFTER DOING RESEARCH ON THE INTERNET I LEARN THAT THE SAME MODEL GOT RECALL FOR THE SAME ISSUE I AM HAVING JUST JUMP MY MANUFACTURE YEAR 2005 AND WENT TO THE NEXT YEAR.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds