Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 115 complaints filed for the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (30) Equipment (3) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (16)
Electrical System (5) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (5) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Unknown Or Other (1)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Seats (1) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (35)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (4) Structure (5) Wheels (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

SEAT BELTS

7/15/2013 - NEW CUMBERLAND, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE OCCUPANT RESTRAINT SYSTEM FAILED. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT THE SENSOR OF THE SEAT BELT THAT CONNECTED TO THE AIR BAG HAD FAILED. THE CONTACT ASKED IF THE FAILURE WAS THE SAME AS THAT LISTED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 05V450000 (AIR BAGS). THE CONTACT WAS TOLD THAT ALTHOUGH THE FAILURES WERE THE SAME, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL CAMPAIGN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN, BUT THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 95,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/15/2013 - KINGSPORT, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LAMP ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE OCS SENSOR ON THE PASSENGER'S SIDE WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 47,300 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 47,411. UPDATED 07/16/13

View Details

ENGINE

4/22/2013 - DUBUQUE, IA
WHEN I'M STARTING UP FROM A STOPPED POSITION, THE CAR JERKS FORWARD AS IF I HAVE "FLOORED IT." I AM A REALTOR AND DRIVE 100'S OF MILES A WEEK. THIS HAPPENS AT LEAST TWICE A DAY, ON AVERAGE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

4/19/2013 - GAHANNA, OH
DRIVING HOME FROM WORK, ON A MAJOR LOCAL INTERSTATE, MY CHECK BRAKE LIGHT APPEARED ON MY DASHBOARD. I PRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL TO SLOW THE CAR DOWN, BUT FOUND OUT THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL HAD GONE SOFT AND I ENDED UP HAVING TO PUSH THE PEDAL ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOORBOARD TO GET ANY RESISTANCE. I MANAGED TO DRIVE IT TO THE HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP A MILE AWAY WHERE THEY REALIZED THAT THE BRAKE FLUID WAS EMPTY DUE TO A RUPTURED SEAL IN THE BRAKE CALIBER ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. UPON FURTHER INSPECTION, THEY FOUND THAT BOTH FRONT SUSPENSION COIL SPRINGS WERE DAMAGED. THE PASSENGER SIDE COIL HAD LITERALLY SNAPPED IN HALF AND THE DRIVER'S SIDE COIL WAS DISLOCATED AND BROKEN. MY CAR HAD JUST BEEN IN THE SAME DEALERSHIP ONE WEEK PRIOR HAVING A NEW TRANSMISSION INSTALLED IN IT (UNDER WARRANTY). AS NO LOUD BANG OR NOISE OCCURRED AS WITH THE MANY OTHERS THAT HAVE HAD THIS HAPPEN TO THEM, I CAN ONLY ASSUME THE COILS BROKE OR SHIFTED DURING THE TRANSMISSION REPLACEMENT WHEN THE WEIGHT OF THE CAR WAS ON THE LIFT, AND NOT ON THE SUSPENSION. THE GROSS NEGLIGENCE THAT NEITHER OF THESE COILS WERE FOUND BROKEN AT THAT TIME HAS ME INCENSED. THE FACT THAT A SOLID STEEL COIL THAT TAKES 4,000LBS TO COMPRESS CAN BREAK IN HALF LIKE THAT IS DISTURBING. I ASSUME THAT WITHOUT THE SUSPENSION, DUE TO THE BROKEN COILS, THE BRAKES SUFFERED DAMAGE AND THE ABOVE INCIDENT OCCURRED. I WAS VERY LUCKY INDEED THAT NOTHING WORSE HAPPENED, BUT AS THIS IS A RECURRENT ISSUE WITH THE HYUNDAI COIL SUSPENSION AND IT SHOULD BE ADDRESSED THROUGH A RECALL. PICTURES ARE AVAILABLE OF THE DAMAGE, AS ARE THE SUSPENSION COILS (WE SAVED EVERYTHING).

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/19/2013 - GAHANNA, OH
DRIVING HOME FROM WORK, ON A MAJOR LOCAL INTERSTATE, MY CHECK BRAKE LIGHT APPEARED ON MY DASHBOARD. I PRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL TO SLOW THE CAR DOWN, BUT FOUND OUT THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL HAD GONE SOFT AND I ENDED UP HAVING TO PUSH THE PEDAL ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOORBOARD TO GET ANY RESISTANCE. I MANAGED TO DRIVE IT TO THE HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP A MILE AWAY WHERE THEY REALIZED THAT THE BRAKE FLUID WAS EMPTY DUE TO A RUPTURED SEAL IN THE BRAKE CALIBER ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. UPON FURTHER INSPECTION, THEY FOUND THAT BOTH FRONT SUSPENSION COIL SPRINGS WERE DAMAGED. THE PASSENGER SIDE COIL HAD LITERALLY SNAPPED IN HALF AND THE DRIVER'S SIDE COIL WAS DISLOCATED AND BROKEN. MY CAR HAD JUST BEEN IN THE SAME DEALERSHIP ONE WEEK PRIOR HAVING A NEW TRANSMISSION INSTALLED IN IT (UNDER WARRANTY). AS NO LOUD BANG OR NOISE OCCURRED AS WITH THE MANY OTHERS THAT HAVE HAD THIS HAPPEN TO THEM, I CAN ONLY ASSUME THE COILS BROKE OR SHIFTED DURING THE TRANSMISSION REPLACEMENT WHEN THE WEIGHT OF THE CAR WAS ON THE LIFT, AND NOT ON THE SUSPENSION. THE GROSS NEGLIGENCE THAT NEITHER OF THESE COILS WERE FOUND BROKEN AT THAT TIME HAS ME INCENSED. THE FACT THAT A SOLID STEEL COIL THAT TAKES 4,000LBS TO COMPRESS CAN BREAK IN HALF LIKE THAT IS DISTURBING. I ASSUME THAT WITHOUT THE SUSPENSION, DUE TO THE BROKEN COILS, THE BRAKES SUFFERED DAMAGE AND THE ABOVE INCIDENT OCCURRED. I WAS VERY LUCKY INDEED THAT NOTHING WORSE HAPPENED, BUT AS THIS IS A RECURRENT ISSUE WITH THE HYUNDAI COIL SUSPENSION AND IT SHOULD BE ADDRESSED THROUGH A RECALL. PICTURES ARE AVAILABLE OF THE DAMAGE, AS ARE THE SUSPENSION COILS (WE SAVED EVERYTHING).

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/15/2013 - TUCSON, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE CONTACT WAS PREVIOUSLY INVOLVED IN A CRASH THAT WAS UNRELATED TO THE BRAKING SYSTEM HOWEVER, AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED FOLLOWING THE CRASH, THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED THAT THE BRAKES NEEDED TO BE ADJUSTED BECAUSE AFTER BLEEDING THE BRAKES, THE BRAKE PEDAL ABNORMALLY TRAVELED TO THE FLOORBOARD. THE CONTACT WAS OT AWARE OF THE EXACT REPAIR NEEDED TO CORRECT THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 48,000. ## VIN FAILED ##

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/8/2013 - BRIDGEPORT, WV
STARTED VEHICLE, PLACED IN REVERSE, SUSPENSION COIL ON FRONT DRIVERS SIDE BROKE, PUNCTURED NEW TIRE, AND BROKE STRUT. HAVE RESEARCHED ONLINE AND FOUND THIS TO BE HAPPENING ACROSS THE COUNTRY WITH THE 2005 SANTA FE. UNFORTUNATELY, IT'S NOT BEING REPORTED TO THE RIGHT PLACE. THIS COULD BE A DEADLY SITUATION IF HAPPENS WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/27/2012 - VIENNA, VA
BOTH FRONT AND REAR BRAKES HAVE BEEN REPAIRED WITHIN LAST 6 OR 7 MONTHS; HOWEVER, FRONT BRAKES PULSATE (LIKE ABS IS ENGAGING) WHEN BRAKING AT LOW SPEEDS FOR THE PAST SEVERAL MONTHS EVEN BEFORE AND AFTER BRAKE REPAIRS. ON DEC 21, 2012, I DROPPED OFF MY GRANDSON AT SCHOOL AND WENT TO PARK ON A STREET NEXT TO THE SCHOOL. THE FRONT BRAKES PULSATED WHEN BRAKING TO PARK (ABOUT 4 MILES PER HOUR) AND THEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WENT ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR AND I LOST ALL BRAKING POWER -- COASTED TO A STOP (ABOUT 10 FEET). I SUSPECT THE ABS CONTROL MODULE IS BAD FOR SOME OF THE 2005 MODELS. THE 2003 AND 2004 YEAR MODEL ABS CONTROL MODULES HAVE BEEN RECALLED BUT APPARENTLY NOT FOR THE 2005 MODEL YEARS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/26/2012 - PRINCE FREDRICK, MD
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE SITTING AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED INDEPENDENTLY. THE CONTACT SHIFTED THE VEHICLE INTO PARK AND THE VEHICLE STOPPED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/4/2012 - SPRINGFIELD, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE PARKED THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE CONTACT INSPECTED THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVERS SIDE AIR BAG SWITCH WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 24,000. UPDATED 10/31/12 UPDATED 11/08/2012

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds