Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 165 complaints filed for the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (49) Exterior Lighting (4) Power Train (8) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (2)
Electrical System (7) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seat Belts (13) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Seats (2) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (38)
Engine (7) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (13) Structure (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (21) Wheels (2)
Equipment (3) Other (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

1/22/2015 - FT LAUDERDALE , FL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 104,266.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/22/2015 - OWASSO, OK
THIS HAS BEEN A REPEATED PROBLEM FOR A LONG TIME. EARLY ON I WOULD HAVE A BRAKE LAMP LIGHT THAT I WOULD BE TOLD WAS OUT. WE WOULD TAKE THE LIGHT BULB OUT AND REINSERT AND IT WOULD FIX THE PROBLEM. WE ASSUMED IT JIGGLED LOOSE. THEN, AT A LATER TIME, I WOULD BE TOLD THAT THE OTHER BRAKE LIGHT WAS OUT, AND WE WOULD REPEAT THE PROCESS AND TAKE IT APART AND IT WOULD AMAZINGLY START WORKING AGAIN. BEGINNING IN NOVEMBER 2014, TAKING THE LIGHT APART NO LONGER FIXED IT, SO WE CHECKED AND REPLACED FUSES AND LIGHTBULBS, BUT IT DIDN'T FIX IT. UP UNTIL THIS TIME, THE RIGHT BRAKE LIGHT WOULD GO OUT AND THEN IT WOULD BE THE LEFT ONE INTERMITTENTLY. THEN, AS OF DECEMBER 2014, NEITHER BRAKE LIGHT WORKS AND THE THIRD BRAKE LIGHT IN THE REAR WINDOW HAS FIVE SMALL BULBS THAT STAY LIT AT ALL TIMES, BUT CURRENTLY THE THIRD LIGHT IN THE REAR WINDOW IS THE ONLY LIGHT THAT COMES ON WHILE APPLYING THE BRAKE.SINCE IT IS APPARENTLY NOT THE LAMP OR THE FUSE, I'M WONDERING IF MY VEHICLE IS INCLUDED IN THE HYUNDAI RECALL NO. 092, A STOP LAMP SWITCH RECALL, OR ANY OTHER RECALL PERTAINING TO THIS ISSUE, SINCE I AM READING A LOT OF COMPLAINTS ON THIS SAME ISSUE? I AM AFRAID THAT I AM GOING TO BE IN AN ACCIDENT SINCE IT IS AN INTERMITTENT AND NOW, APPARENTLY, FULL-TIME PROBLEM. PLEASE ADVISE BECAUSE AFTER TALKING TO SEVERAL REPAIR SHOPS, THEY ARE NOT SURE WHAT IS GOING ON. THANK YOU!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/22/2015 - OWASSO, OK
THIS HAS BEEN A REPEATED PROBLEM FOR A LONG TIME. EARLY ON I WOULD HAVE A BRAKE LAMP LIGHT THAT I WOULD BE TOLD WAS OUT. WE WOULD TAKE THE LIGHT BULB OUT AND REINSERT AND IT WOULD FIX THE PROBLEM. WE ASSUMED IT JIGGLED LOOSE. THEN, AT A LATER TIME, I WOULD BE TOLD THAT THE OTHER BRAKE LIGHT WAS OUT, AND WE WOULD REPEAT THE PROCESS AND TAKE IT APART AND IT WOULD AMAZINGLY START WORKING AGAIN. BEGINNING IN NOVEMBER 2014, TAKING THE LIGHT APART NO LONGER FIXED IT, SO WE CHECKED AND REPLACED FUSES AND LIGHTBULBS, BUT IT DIDN'T FIX IT. UP UNTIL THIS TIME, THE RIGHT BRAKE LIGHT WOULD GO OUT AND THEN IT WOULD BE THE LEFT ONE INTERMITTENTLY. THEN, AS OF DECEMBER 2014, NEITHER BRAKE LIGHT WORKS AND THE THIRD BRAKE LIGHT IN THE REAR WINDOW HAS FIVE SMALL BULBS THAT STAY LIT AT ALL TIMES, BUT CURRENTLY THE THIRD LIGHT IN THE REAR WINDOW IS THE ONLY LIGHT THAT COMES ON WHILE APPLYING THE BRAKE.SINCE IT IS APPARENTLY NOT THE LAMP OR THE FUSE, I'M WONDERING IF MY VEHICLE IS INCLUDED IN THE HYUNDAI RECALL NO. 092, A STOP LAMP SWITCH RECALL, OR ANY OTHER RECALL PERTAINING TO THIS ISSUE, SINCE I AM READING A LOT OF COMPLAINTS ON THIS SAME ISSUE? I AM AFRAID THAT I AM GOING TO BE IN AN ACCIDENT SINCE IT IS AN INTERMITTENT AND NOW, APPARENTLY, FULL-TIME PROBLEM. PLEASE ADVISE BECAUSE AFTER TALKING TO SEVERAL REPAIR SHOPS, THEY ARE NOT SURE WHAT IS GOING ON. THANK YOU!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/8/2015 - KEASBEY, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND THE VEHICLE JERKED. THE FAILURE RECURRED, THE VEHICLE STALLED, AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 13,000.

View Details

ENGINE

1/8/2015 - KEASBEY, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND THE VEHICLE JERKED. THE FAILURE RECURRED, THE VEHICLE STALLED, AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 13,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/6/2015 - WOODRIDGE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE, THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG SENSOR LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE SEAT BELT SENSOR WAS FAULTY. THE SEAT BELT SENSOR WAS RESET, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 88,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/31/2014 - WILMINGTON, DE
AIR BAG FOR FRONT PASSENGER SEAT IS ON. CERTAIN MODELS WERE ONLY RECALLED, BUT MY LIGHT IS ON BECAUSE OF THE RECALL. SINCE MY VIN NUMBER IS NOT LISTED FOR THAT RECALL, THE DEALERSHIP WILL NOT CORRECT WITHOUT OVER $450 SERVICE CHARGE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/30/2014 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT CONTINUOUSLY ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SENSOR IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE SEAT BELT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 79,500.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/25/2014 - KALISPELL, MT
DEAR SAFERCAR, A LETTER WAS SENT BY ME TO HYUNDAI MOTORS IN REGARDS TO A SAFETY ISSUE WITH OUR 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE ISSUE IS THAT OUR CAR FAILS TO START AT VARIOUS TIME OR HAS ENGINE FAILURE WHILE DRIVING. WE PURCHASE THIS CAR FROM AN ELDERLY FRIEND WHO HAD THE CAR IN THE REPAIR SHOP FOR THE SAME REASON WE ARE WRITING THIS LETTER. SHE WAS TOLD AFTER ALL ATTEMPTS AT REPAIRS THAT THE CAR WAS NOT REPAIRABLE AND THIS WAS JUST A CHARACTERISTIC OF THIS MAKE AND MODEL. THE RESPONSE WE RECEIVED FROM HYUNDAI WAS THAT IT IS UNFORTUNATE BUT WE SHOULD NEVER HAVE PURCHASED THE CAR FROM A FRIEND AND THE RESPONSIBILITY FOR REPAIRS LIES WITH US AT OUR EXPENSE. WE FEEL THAT THE ISSUE IS NOT OUR PURCHASE BUT THE HEARTLESS NEGLIGENCE OF TAKING ADVANTAGE OF A 80+ YEAR OLD LADY, WHO HAD NO ONE TO BACK HER UP. I FEEL THAT THE POTENTIAL FOR LOSS OF CONTROL OF THE VEHICLES STEERING AND OR BRAKES AND ACCELERATION WHILE AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS IS CRITICAL TO OUR SAFETY. THE ENGINE HAS FAILED TO START AND STOPPED AT VARIOUS TIME AND SITUATIONS. PLEASE INFORM US IF THERE IS ANY RECOURSE FOR US AND OUR SITUATION. PS THIS CAR WAS UNDER WARRANTY AND WAS NEVER REPAIRED BY THE DEALERSHIP. HYUNDAI ALSO CONTENDS ,IN THEIR REPLY THAT IT IS UNFORTUNATE THAT THE DEALERSHIP IS NO LONGER ACTIVE AND THERE ARE NO RECORDS THAT CAN BE RECALLED. HOW UNFORTUNATE FOR US!!!!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/25/2014 - KALISPELL, MT
DEAR SAFERCAR, A LETTER WAS SENT BY ME TO HYUNDAI MOTORS IN REGARDS TO A SAFETY ISSUE WITH OUR 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE ISSUE IS THAT OUR CAR FAILS TO START AT VARIOUS TIME OR HAS ENGINE FAILURE WHILE DRIVING. WE PURCHASE THIS CAR FROM AN ELDERLY FRIEND WHO HAD THE CAR IN THE REPAIR SHOP FOR THE SAME REASON WE ARE WRITING THIS LETTER. SHE WAS TOLD AFTER ALL ATTEMPTS AT REPAIRS THAT THE CAR WAS NOT REPAIRABLE AND THIS WAS JUST A CHARACTERISTIC OF THIS MAKE AND MODEL. THE RESPONSE WE RECEIVED FROM HYUNDAI WAS THAT IT IS UNFORTUNATE BUT WE SHOULD NEVER HAVE PURCHASED THE CAR FROM A FRIEND AND THE RESPONSIBILITY FOR REPAIRS LIES WITH US AT OUR EXPENSE. WE FEEL THAT THE ISSUE IS NOT OUR PURCHASE BUT THE HEARTLESS NEGLIGENCE OF TAKING ADVANTAGE OF A 80+ YEAR OLD LADY, WHO HAD NO ONE TO BACK HER UP. I FEEL THAT THE POTENTIAL FOR LOSS OF CONTROL OF THE VEHICLES STEERING AND OR BRAKES AND ACCELERATION WHILE AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS IS CRITICAL TO OUR SAFETY. THE ENGINE HAS FAILED TO START AND STOPPED AT VARIOUS TIME AND SITUATIONS. PLEASE INFORM US IF THERE IS ANY RECOURSE FOR US AND OUR SITUATION. PS THIS CAR WAS UNDER WARRANTY AND WAS NEVER REPAIRED BY THE DEALERSHIP. HYUNDAI ALSO CONTENDS ,IN THEIR REPLY THAT IT IS UNFORTUNATE THAT THE DEALERSHIP IS NO LONGER ACTIVE AND THERE ARE NO RECORDS THAT CAN BE RECALLED. HOW UNFORTUNATE FOR US!!!!

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds