Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor Company

There are 111 complaints filed for the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (28) Equipment (3) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (16)
Electrical System (5) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (5) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Vehicle Speed Control (34)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Seats (1) Steering (4) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (4) Structure (5)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

4/19/2013 - GAHANNA, OH
DRIVING HOME FROM WORK, ON A MAJOR LOCAL INTERSTATE, MY CHECK BRAKE LIGHT APPEARED ON MY DASHBOARD. I PRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL TO SLOW THE CAR DOWN, BUT FOUND OUT THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL HAD GONE SOFT AND I ENDED UP HAVING TO PUSH THE PEDAL ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOORBOARD TO GET ANY RESISTANCE. I MANAGED TO DRIVE IT TO THE HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP A MILE AWAY WHERE THEY REALIZED THAT THE BRAKE FLUID WAS EMPTY DUE TO A RUPTURED SEAL IN THE BRAKE CALIBER ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. UPON FURTHER INSPECTION, THEY FOUND THAT BOTH FRONT SUSPENSION COIL SPRINGS WERE DAMAGED. THE PASSENGER SIDE COIL HAD LITERALLY SNAPPED IN HALF AND THE DRIVER'S SIDE COIL WAS DISLOCATED AND BROKEN. MY CAR HAD JUST BEEN IN THE SAME DEALERSHIP ONE WEEK PRIOR HAVING A NEW TRANSMISSION INSTALLED IN IT (UNDER WARRANTY). AS NO LOUD BANG OR NOISE OCCURRED AS WITH THE MANY OTHERS THAT HAVE HAD THIS HAPPEN TO THEM, I CAN ONLY ASSUME THE COILS BROKE OR SHIFTED DURING THE TRANSMISSION REPLACEMENT WHEN THE WEIGHT OF THE CAR WAS ON THE LIFT, AND NOT ON THE SUSPENSION. THE GROSS NEGLIGENCE THAT NEITHER OF THESE COILS WERE FOUND BROKEN AT THAT TIME HAS ME INCENSED. THE FACT THAT A SOLID STEEL COIL THAT TAKES 4,000LBS TO COMPRESS CAN BREAK IN HALF LIKE THAT IS DISTURBING. I ASSUME THAT WITHOUT THE SUSPENSION, DUE TO THE BROKEN COILS, THE BRAKES SUFFERED DAMAGE AND THE ABOVE INCIDENT OCCURRED. I WAS VERY LUCKY INDEED THAT NOTHING WORSE HAPPENED, BUT AS THIS IS A RECURRENT ISSUE WITH THE HYUNDAI COIL SUSPENSION AND IT SHOULD BE ADDRESSED THROUGH A RECALL. PICTURES ARE AVAILABLE OF THE DAMAGE, AS ARE THE SUSPENSION COILS (WE SAVED EVERYTHING).

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/15/2013 - TUCSON, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE CONTACT WAS PREVIOUSLY INVOLVED IN A CRASH THAT WAS UNRELATED TO THE BRAKING SYSTEM HOWEVER, AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED FOLLOWING THE CRASH, THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED THAT THE BRAKES NEEDED TO BE ADJUSTED BECAUSE AFTER BLEEDING THE BRAKES, THE BRAKE PEDAL ABNORMALLY TRAVELED TO THE FLOORBOARD. THE CONTACT WAS OT AWARE OF THE EXACT REPAIR NEEDED TO CORRECT THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 48,000. ## VIN FAILED ##

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/8/2013 - BRIDGEPORT, WV
STARTED VEHICLE, PLACED IN REVERSE, SUSPENSION COIL ON FRONT DRIVERS SIDE BROKE, PUNCTURED NEW TIRE, AND BROKE STRUT. HAVE RESEARCHED ONLINE AND FOUND THIS TO BE HAPPENING ACROSS THE COUNTRY WITH THE 2005 SANTA FE. UNFORTUNATELY, IT'S NOT BEING REPORTED TO THE RIGHT PLACE. THIS COULD BE A DEADLY SITUATION IF HAPPENS WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/27/2012 - VIENNA, VA
BOTH FRONT AND REAR BRAKES HAVE BEEN REPAIRED WITHIN LAST 6 OR 7 MONTHS; HOWEVER, FRONT BRAKES PULSATE (LIKE ABS IS ENGAGING) WHEN BRAKING AT LOW SPEEDS FOR THE PAST SEVERAL MONTHS EVEN BEFORE AND AFTER BRAKE REPAIRS. ON DEC 21, 2012, I DROPPED OFF MY GRANDSON AT SCHOOL AND WENT TO PARK ON A STREET NEXT TO THE SCHOOL. THE FRONT BRAKES PULSATED WHEN BRAKING TO PARK (ABOUT 4 MILES PER HOUR) AND THEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WENT ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR AND I LOST ALL BRAKING POWER -- COASTED TO A STOP (ABOUT 10 FEET). I SUSPECT THE ABS CONTROL MODULE IS BAD FOR SOME OF THE 2005 MODELS. THE 2003 AND 2004 YEAR MODEL ABS CONTROL MODULES HAVE BEEN RECALLED BUT APPARENTLY NOT FOR THE 2005 MODEL YEARS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/26/2012 - PRINCE FREDRICK, MD
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE SITTING AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED INDEPENDENTLY. THE CONTACT SHIFTED THE VEHICLE INTO PARK AND THE VEHICLE STOPPED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/4/2012 - SPRINGFIELD, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE PARKED THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE CONTACT INSPECTED THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVERS SIDE AIR BAG SWITCH WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 24,000. UPDATED 10/31/12 UPDATED 11/08/2012

View Details

SEAT BELTS

8/6/2012 - COSTA MESA, CA
WE OWN A 2005 SANTA FE BY HYUNDAI. WE HAVE BEEN READING BLOGS ABOUT THE AIR BAG LIGHT BEING ILLUMINATED AS A RESULT OF THE SEAT BELT SENSOR GOING BAD ON THESE VEHICLES AND NOT DEPLOYING IN THE CASE OF AN ACCIDENT. OURS IS NOW DEMONSTRATING THIS. THE RED AIR BAG LIGHT WILL REMAIN ILLUMINATED AND THE ISSUE AFTER BEING RUN THROUGH A DIAGNOSTIC AT A LOCAL DEALERSHIP WAS AS EXPECTED TIED TO A SEAT BELT SENSOR ISSUE. I KNOW THAT THERE ARE MORE OF THESE ISSUES AND SOME HAVE ACTUALLY WON CASES DEALING ON AN INDIVIDUAL LEVEL WITH HYUNDAI OF AMERICA WHICH IS WHAT WE INTEND TO DO, BUT IF THIS IS SUCH A RAMPANT ISSUE, THERE SHOULD BE A FURTHER INVESTIGATION DONE AND A VOLUNTARY RECALL ON THEIR PART TO ASSURE THAT THE AIR BAGS ARE DEPLOYABLE AT ALL TIMES AND NOT JUST WHILE THE CAR IS UNDER WARRANTY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/6/2012 - COSTA MESA, CA
WE OWN A 2005 SANTA FE BY HYUNDAI. WE HAVE BEEN READING BLOGS ABOUT THE AIR BAG LIGHT BEING ILLUMINATED AS A RESULT OF THE SEAT BELT SENSOR GOING BAD ON THESE VEHICLES AND NOT DEPLOYING IN THE CASE OF AN ACCIDENT. OURS IS NOW DEMONSTRATING THIS. THE RED AIR BAG LIGHT WILL REMAIN ILLUMINATED AND THE ISSUE AFTER BEING RUN THROUGH A DIAGNOSTIC AT A LOCAL DEALERSHIP WAS AS EXPECTED TIED TO A SEAT BELT SENSOR ISSUE. I KNOW THAT THERE ARE MORE OF THESE ISSUES AND SOME HAVE ACTUALLY WON CASES DEALING ON AN INDIVIDUAL LEVEL WITH HYUNDAI OF AMERICA WHICH IS WHAT WE INTEND TO DO, BUT IF THIS IS SUCH A RAMPANT ISSUE, THERE SHOULD BE A FURTHER INVESTIGATION DONE AND A VOLUNTARY RECALL ON THEIR PART TO ASSURE THAT THE AIR BAGS ARE DEPLOYABLE AT ALL TIMES AND NOT JUST WHILE THE CAR IS UNDER WARRANTY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/1/2012 - NORTH VERSAILLES, PA
MY MOTHER DIED IN A VEHICLE ACCIDENT WITH NO OTHER VEHICLES INVOLVED. HER SANTA FE WENT THROUGH A "T" INTERSECTION WITHOUT STOPPING CROSSING HIGHWAY, WENT AIRBORNE OVER HILLSIDE AND STRUCK A TREE. SEVERED SPINE, CHEST TRAUMA AND SHATTERED ANKLE. THERE ARE NO SKIDS MARKS AT THE SCENE AIRBAGS WERE DEPLOY BUT WHEN? STEERING COLUMN IS CRUSHED IN AND STEERING WHEEL WAS BENT INWARD. THE ROAD SHE WAS ON IS A RESIDENTIAL SIDE STREET. THERE IS A 100 FEET DOWNGRADE BUT STRAIGHT AS YOU APPROACH THE STOP SIGN. THE "T" INTERSECTION IS A TWO LANE NOT WELL TRAVELED ROAD. SHE DROVE THIS ROAD MANY TIMES BEFORE. WHAT MAKES A VEHICLE TRAVEL AT A HIGH RATE OF SPEED IN A 100 FEET STRAIGHT AWAY, GO THROUGH A STOP SIGN GET AIRBORNE AFTER CROSSING HIGHWAY? ACCELERATION STICKING? WHY IS THERE SO MUCH DAMAGE TO STEERING COLUMN IF AIRBAG WENT OFF? COULD THE ACCELERATOR GET STUCK AND MY MOTHER PANIC AND TRIED TO STOP CAR BY STEPPING ON BRAKES MAKING A PANIC DECISION, NOT KNOWING TO TAKE VEHICLE OUT OF GEAR OR TURNING VEHICLE OFF? WAS THERE ENOUGH TIME. I LOST MY MOTHER AND AFTER READING ALL THE PROBLEMS, I THINK THESE AND ALL HYUNDAI VEHICLES SHOULD BE LOOKED AT!

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/1/2012 - NORTH VERSAILLES, PA
MY MOTHER DIED IN A VEHICLE ACCIDENT WITH NO OTHER VEHICLES INVOLVED. HER SANTA FE WENT THROUGH A "T" INTERSECTION WITHOUT STOPPING CROSSING HIGHWAY, WENT AIRBORNE OVER HILLSIDE AND STRUCK A TREE. SEVERED SPINE, CHEST TRAUMA AND SHATTERED ANKLE. THERE ARE NO SKIDS MARKS AT THE SCENE AIRBAGS WERE DEPLOY BUT WHEN? STEERING COLUMN IS CRUSHED IN AND STEERING WHEEL WAS BENT INWARD. THE ROAD SHE WAS ON IS A RESIDENTIAL SIDE STREET. THERE IS A 100 FEET DOWNGRADE BUT STRAIGHT AS YOU APPROACH THE STOP SIGN. THE "T" INTERSECTION IS A TWO LANE NOT WELL TRAVELED ROAD. SHE DROVE THIS ROAD MANY TIMES BEFORE. WHAT MAKES A VEHICLE TRAVEL AT A HIGH RATE OF SPEED IN A 100 FEET STRAIGHT AWAY, GO THROUGH A STOP SIGN GET AIRBORNE AFTER CROSSING HIGHWAY? ACCELERATION STICKING? WHY IS THERE SO MUCH DAMAGE TO STEERING COLUMN IF AIRBAG WENT OFF? COULD THE ACCELERATOR GET STUCK AND MY MOTHER PANIC AND TRIED TO STOP CAR BY STEPPING ON BRAKES MAKING A PANIC DECISION, NOT KNOWING TO TAKE VEHICLE OUT OF GEAR OR TURNING VEHICLE OFF? WAS THERE ENOUGH TIME. I LOST MY MOTHER AND AFTER READING ALL THE PROBLEMS, I THINK THESE AND ALL HYUNDAI VEHICLES SHOULD BE LOOKED AT!

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds