Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 143 complaints filed for the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (42) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (7) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (1)
Electrical System (7) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seat Belts (11) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Seats (2) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (35)
Engine (5) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (10) Structure (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (18) Wheels (2)
Equipment (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

SEAT BELTS

9/3/2014 - AKRON, OH
I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE USED MARCH 2014. THE BACK PASSENGER SEAT BELT FROM THE BEGINNING IS FINICKY. SOMETIMES IT WOULD CLICK AND LOCK AND SOMETIMES IT NEVER ENGAGES. BECAUSE OF THIS WE DECIDED TO JUST NOT USE THAT SEAT. WE THOUGHT MAYBE IT JUST NEEDED REPLACED. NOW, YESTERDAY, THE MIDDLE SEAT BELT CAME UNDONE WHILE MY CHILD WAS STRAPPED INTO HIS CAR SEAT. I WAS GOING FROM A STOP AND TURNING INTO THE GROCERY STORE. MY SON'S SEAT FELL ON IT'S SIDE. I DON'T KNOW HOW LONG IT HAD ACTUALLY BEEN UNDONE AT THAT POINT. I TRIED STRAPPING IT BACK AND IT WILL NOT ENGAGE. NOW I HAVE 2 SEAT BELTS IN THE BACK THAT DO NOT WORK. I UNDERSTAND MAYBE ONE GOING BAD BUT TWO SEEMS LIKE AN ISSUE WITH THE SEAT BELTS IN GENERAL. I HAVE 3 CHILDREN AND NOW I CAN'T USE THE VEHICLE BECAUSE I CAN ONLY USE SEAT BELT FOR 1 OF THEM (THE OLDEST SITS IN THE FRONT (SHE IS A TEENAGER).

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/1/2014 - HOPE MILLS, NC
THE REAR WIPER WILL TURN ON EVEN THOUGH THE CAR IS OFF AND THERE IS NO KEY IN THE IGNITION. EVEN AFTER PULLING THE FUSE THE WIPER WILL NOT TURN OFF. ALSO, CAME HOME LAST NIGHT AND THE DRL ON THE CAR WERE ON. ONCE THE CAR IS TURN OFF THE LIGHTS WILL ALWAYS GO OFF AFTER THE PASSENGER CAR DOOR IS OPENED THEN CLOSED. THE CAR HAS NOT BEEN DRIVEN IN SEVERAL DAYS BUT YET THE LIGHTS WERE ON. I AM CONCERNED THAT THERE MAY BE AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE WITH THE CAR THAT MAY CAUSE A PROBLEM WHILE EITHER MYSELF OR MY DAUGHTER IS DRIVING IT.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

9/1/2014 - HOPE MILLS, NC
THE REAR WIPER WILL TURN ON EVEN THOUGH THE CAR IS OFF AND THERE IS NO KEY IN THE IGNITION. EVEN AFTER PULLING THE FUSE THE WIPER WILL NOT TURN OFF. ALSO, CAME HOME LAST NIGHT AND THE DRL ON THE CAR WERE ON. ONCE THE CAR IS TURN OFF THE LIGHTS WILL ALWAYS GO OFF AFTER THE PASSENGER CAR DOOR IS OPENED THEN CLOSED. THE CAR HAS NOT BEEN DRIVEN IN SEVERAL DAYS BUT YET THE LIGHTS WERE ON. I AM CONCERNED THAT THERE MAY BE AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE WITH THE CAR THAT MAY CAUSE A PROBLEM WHILE EITHER MYSELF OR MY DAUGHTER IS DRIVING IT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/29/2014 - WILMINGTON, NC
A/C HAS HAD A PROBLEM SINCE I BOUGHT IT. I HAVE HAD THE COMPRESSOR REPLACED, BECAUSE THE "MECHANIC" TURNED THE BOLT THE WRONG WAY AND WRUNG IT OFF, I HAD TO REPLACE. HYUNDAI WOULD NOT ACCEPT RESPONSIBILITY, EVEN THOUGH IT WAS THEIR MECHANIC. THIS REPAIR DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM, AS IT STILL HAPPENS NOW, 8 YEARS LATER. IT WILL COOL GOOD, THEN THE COMPRESSOR WILL OUT OUT AND NOT COME BACK ON FOR ABOUT 5 MINUTES. HYUNDAI SAYS THIS IT NOT PROBLEM WITH THEIR PARTS OR PROCEDURES. FINALLY GOT TIRED OF THEIR LIES AND FAILURE TO TRY TO LOCATE THE PROBLEM. THIS IS MY ONLY AND LAST HYUNDAI, THERE HAS TO BE A BETTER BACKED CAR COMPANY IN THIS WORLD.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/22/2014 - ROCK FALLS, IL
AFTER A RAIN WHEN I START THE VEHICLE AND START DRIVING IT IS FINE UNTIL I REACH 20MPH. THEN IT ACTS LIKE IT IS NOT RECEIVING ANY POWER. IT WILL NOT SPEED UP NO MATTER HOW I PRESS ON THE ACCELERATOR. I NOTICE THAT IF I PUT IT IN MANUAL AND GO FROM 1ST TO 2ND IT WILL STRAIGHTEN OUT AND DRIVE FINE. BUT, IF I PUT IT BACK INTO AUTOMATIC DRIVE AT A STOP SIGN IT WILL DO THE SAME THING STALLING OUT AT 20 MPH. IF I DRIVE IT FAR ENOUGH WITH OUT STOPPING IT WILL EVENTUALLY STRAIGHTEN ITSELF OUT. I AM WORRIED ABOUT PULLING OUT IN TRAFFIC BECAUSE OF THIS. WE HAVE DONE A TUNE UP ON IT AND IT DID NOT HELP.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/9/2014 - SHREWSBURY, MA
RECENTLY I GOT B1513 CODE WITH MY 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. I FOUND THAT MANY SANTA FE OWNER'S HAVE BEEN SUFFERING FROM EXACT SAME PROBLEM, BAD SEAT BELT BUCKLE SENSOR(S) WHICH SEEM CAUSING AIR BAG MALFUNCTION. IT IS HIGHLY LIKELY THAT THIS IS CAUSED BY HYUNDAI USED A BAD BUCKLE SYSTEM AND SHOULD BE RECALLED. I RECENTLY LEARNED THAT NHTSA IS INVESTIGATING VERY SIMILAR PROBLEMS (SEAT BELT BUCKLE) IN 394000 SONATA MODELS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/23/2014 - BROAD BROOK, CT
SEAT BELT LIGHT REMAINS ON, AND ADVISED BY MECHANIC THE AIR BAG WILL NOT DEPLOY DUE TO A FAULTY CONNECTION IN THE SEAT BELT BUCKLE. SEVERAL REPORTED ISSUES WITH THIS, SO WHY HASN'T HYUNDAI RECALLED DUE TO SAFETY ISSUE? MY DAUGHTER OF 21 IS DRIVING THIS VEHICLE AS A SECOND VEHICLE. I'M VERY WORRIED ABOUT HER SAFETY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/17/2014 - CENTEREACH, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS APPLIED AND THE BRAKES FAILED TO ENGAGE CAUSING THE CONTACT TO CRASH INTO A CURB. THE CONTACT WAS NOT INJURED. IN ADDITION, THE FAILURE CAUSED THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE TIRE TO BE PUSHED BACKWARD. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIRE ARM, RIM AND THE BRAKES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 95,345...UPDATED 08-26-14 UPDATED 09/5/2014

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/16/2014 - EWA BEACH, HI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER AIR BAG LIGHT ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL WHEN A PASSENGER THAT WEIGHED 120 POUNDS SAT IN THE SEAT. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE LIGHT DID NOT ILLUMINATE WHEN A PASSENGER THAT WEIGHED 170 POUNDS OCCUPIED THE SEAT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE OC SENSOR WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 96,000. UPDATED 9/4/14

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/12/2014 - SHREWSBURY, MA
A FEW WEEKS AGO, WHEN I WAS DRIVING MY 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, AN AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON THE DASHBOARD. AFTER SIMPLY SEARCHING THE INTERNET, I FOUND THAT THERE ARE ALREADY MANY SAME VEHICLES HAD A SAME PROBLEMS AND COMPLAINTS DUE TO THE BAD WIRE CONNECTIONS UNDER THE DRIVER SEAT. I BELIEVE THIS AIRBAG PROBLEM IS CAUSED BY DUE TO THE FAULT DESIGN OF THE WIRE CONNECTION AND WILL CAUSE A SERIOUS PROBLEM WHEN A CERTAIN ACCIDENTS HAPPEN. HYUNDAI SHOULD RECALL THIS AIR BAG ISSUE AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds