Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 123 complaints filed for the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (31) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (5) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (1)
Electrical System (6) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Seats (2) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (35)
Engine (3) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (5) Structure (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (16) Wheels (1)
Equipment (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

12/1/2013 - OLYMPIA, WA
STARTED ENGINE. PLACED THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION SELECTION INTO REVERSE. THE ENGINE IMMEDIATELY HAD AN UNINTENDED ACCELERATION TO PERHAPS 2500 RPM. OPERATOR IMMEDIATELY APPLIED VERY HEAVY PRESSURE ON THE BRAKE PEDAL TO STOP ANY REAR DIRECTION MOVEMENT. OPERATOR IMMEDIATELY MOVED THE SHIFT LEVER BACK TO THE PARK POSITION, SHUT OFF THE IGNITION AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE. AFTER RESTARTING, EVERYTHING WAS BACK TO NORMAL. THIS HAD ALSO OCCURRED ONE OTHER TIME IN SEPTEMBER, 2013 UNDER THE SAME CIRCUMSTANCES. OPERATOR INITIALLY ASSUMED THAT PERHAPS HIS FOOT HAD MOVED TO THE RIGHT AND WAS DEPRESSING BOTH THE ACCELERATOR AND THE BRAKE AT THE SAME TIME, BUT WHEN ATTEMPTING TO SEE IF THIS COULD BE DONE, OPERATOR COULD NOT REPLICATE. IT IS ASSUMED THE THROTTLE SENSOR LOCATOR MAY BE FAULTY. VERY DISTURBING WHEN THIS HAPPENS AND COULD EASILY RESULT IN PROPERTY OR PERSONAL DAMAGE..

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/1/2013 - OLYMPIA, WA
STARTED ENGINE. PLACED THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION SELECTION INTO REVERSE. THE ENGINE IMMEDIATELY HAD AN UNINTENDED ACCELERATION TO PERHAPS 2500 RPM. OPERATOR IMMEDIATELY APPLIED VERY HEAVY PRESSURE ON THE BRAKE PEDAL TO STOP ANY REAR DIRECTION MOVEMENT. OPERATOR IMMEDIATELY MOVED THE SHIFT LEVER BACK TO THE PARK POSITION, SHUT OFF THE IGNITION AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE. AFTER RESTARTING, EVERYTHING WAS BACK TO NORMAL. THIS HAD ALSO OCCURRED ONE OTHER TIME IN SEPTEMBER, 2013 UNDER THE SAME CIRCUMSTANCES. OPERATOR INITIALLY ASSUMED THAT PERHAPS HIS FOOT HAD MOVED TO THE RIGHT AND WAS DEPRESSING BOTH THE ACCELERATOR AND THE BRAKE AT THE SAME TIME, BUT WHEN ATTEMPTING TO SEE IF THIS COULD BE DONE, OPERATOR COULD NOT REPLICATE. IT IS ASSUMED THE THROTTLE SENSOR LOCATOR MAY BE FAULTY. VERY DISTURBING WHEN THIS HAPPENS AND COULD EASILY RESULT IN PROPERTY OR PERSONAL DAMAGE..

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/19/2013 - CLAYVILLE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, HE SMELLED GASOLINE. THE CONTACT DISCOVERED THAT FUEL WAS LEAKING FROM UNDER THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER, WHO REPLACED THE FUEL TANK DUE TO EXCESSIVE CORROSION. THE CONTACT INFORMED THE MANUFACTURER OF THE PROBLEM. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 76,264. UPDATED 12/20/13

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/27/2013 - FREEHOLD, NJ
THE AIRBAG LIGHT IS ON WHICH WAS DIAGNOSED BY THE DEALER THAT I WOULD HAVE TO REPLACE THE DRIVER SEAT BELT, AND COMPUTER PARTS IN ORDER TO RESET THE AIRBAG LIGHT. THE AIRBAG LIGHT IS ALWAYS ON AND EVENTHOUGH I WEAR MY SEAT BELT THE SYMBOL AND BEEPING NOISE COMES ON STATING I DO NOT HAVE MY SEATBELT ON. THE COST TO FIX THIS PROBLEM IS OVER $500.00. ALSO, THE DRIVER SEAT BELTS HAVE WORN AWAY WHICH HAS DAMAGED MY CLOTHING.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

9/27/2013 - FREEHOLD, NJ
THE AIRBAG LIGHT IS ON WHICH WAS DIAGNOSED BY THE DEALER THAT I WOULD HAVE TO REPLACE THE DRIVER SEAT BELT, AND COMPUTER PARTS IN ORDER TO RESET THE AIRBAG LIGHT. THE AIRBAG LIGHT IS ALWAYS ON AND EVENTHOUGH I WEAR MY SEAT BELT THE SYMBOL AND BEEPING NOISE COMES ON STATING I DO NOT HAVE MY SEATBELT ON. THE COST TO FIX THIS PROBLEM IS OVER $500.00. ALSO, THE DRIVER SEAT BELTS HAVE WORN AWAY WHICH HAS DAMAGED MY CLOTHING.

View Details

SEATS

9/27/2013 - FREEHOLD, NJ
THE AIRBAG LIGHT IS ON WHICH WAS DIAGNOSED BY THE DEALER THAT I WOULD HAVE TO REPLACE THE DRIVER SEAT BELT, AND COMPUTER PARTS IN ORDER TO RESET THE AIRBAG LIGHT. THE AIRBAG LIGHT IS ALWAYS ON AND EVENTHOUGH I WEAR MY SEAT BELT THE SYMBOL AND BEEPING NOISE COMES ON STATING I DO NOT HAVE MY SEATBELT ON. THE COST TO FIX THIS PROBLEM IS OVER $500.00. ALSO, THE DRIVER SEAT BELTS HAVE WORN AWAY WHICH HAS DAMAGED MY CLOTHING.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/23/2013 - NEW LENOX, IL
THE RED AIRBAG LIGHT BEGAN TO INTERMITTENTLY TURN ON/OFF FOR NO APPARENT REASON. WHEN AN OCCUPANT IS IN THE FRONT SEAT, THE LIGHT IS GENERALLY OFF, BUT IF THE OCCUPANT MOVES OR CHANGES HIS/HER POSITION IN THE FRONT SEAT, THE LIGHT WOULD ACTIVATE AGAIN, IF ONLY FOR A FEW SECONDS. THE AIRBAG LIGHT IS NOW ON AT ALL TIMES AND WILL NOT SHUT OFF.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/15/2013 - NEW CUMBERLAND, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE OCCUPANT RESTRAINT SYSTEM FAILED. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT THE SENSOR OF THE SEAT BELT THAT CONNECTED TO THE AIR BAG HAD FAILED. THE CONTACT ASKED IF THE FAILURE WAS THE SAME AS THAT LISTED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 05V450000 (AIR BAGS). THE CONTACT WAS TOLD THAT ALTHOUGH THE FAILURES WERE THE SAME, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL CAMPAIGN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN, BUT THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 95,000.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

7/15/2013 - NEW CUMBERLAND, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE OCCUPANT RESTRAINT SYSTEM FAILED. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT THE SENSOR OF THE SEAT BELT THAT CONNECTED TO THE AIR BAG HAD FAILED. THE CONTACT ASKED IF THE FAILURE WAS THE SAME AS THAT LISTED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 05V450000 (AIR BAGS). THE CONTACT WAS TOLD THAT ALTHOUGH THE FAILURES WERE THE SAME, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL CAMPAIGN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN, BUT THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 95,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/15/2013 - KINGSPORT, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LAMP ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE OCS SENSOR ON THE PASSENGER'S SIDE WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 47,300 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 47,411. UPDATED 07/16/13

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds