Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor Company

There are 103 complaints filed for the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (22) Equipment (3) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (16)
Electrical System (5) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (5) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Vehicle Speed Control (34)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Seats (1) Steering (4) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (3) Structure (5)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/1/2012 - NORTH VERSAILLES, PA
MY MOTHER DIED IN A VEHICLE ACCIDENT WITH NO OTHER VEHICLES INVOLVED. HER SANTA FE WENT THROUGH A "T" INTERSECTION WITHOUT STOPPING CROSSING HIGHWAY, WENT AIRBORNE OVER HILLSIDE AND STRUCK A TREE. SEVERED SPINE, CHEST TRAUMA AND SHATTERED ANKLE. THERE ARE NO SKIDS MARKS AT THE SCENE AIRBAGS WERE DEPLOY BUT WHEN? STEERING COLUMN IS CRUSHED IN AND STEERING WHEEL WAS BENT INWARD. THE ROAD SHE WAS ON IS A RESIDENTIAL SIDE STREET. THERE IS A 100 FEET DOWNGRADE BUT STRAIGHT AS YOU APPROACH THE STOP SIGN. THE "T" INTERSECTION IS A TWO LANE NOT WELL TRAVELED ROAD. SHE DROVE THIS ROAD MANY TIMES BEFORE. WHAT MAKES A VEHICLE TRAVEL AT A HIGH RATE OF SPEED IN A 100 FEET STRAIGHT AWAY, GO THROUGH A STOP SIGN GET AIRBORNE AFTER CROSSING HIGHWAY? ACCELERATION STICKING? WHY IS THERE SO MUCH DAMAGE TO STEERING COLUMN IF AIRBAG WENT OFF? COULD THE ACCELERATOR GET STUCK AND MY MOTHER PANIC AND TRIED TO STOP CAR BY STEPPING ON BRAKES MAKING A PANIC DECISION, NOT KNOWING TO TAKE VEHICLE OUT OF GEAR OR TURNING VEHICLE OFF? WAS THERE ENOUGH TIME. I LOST MY MOTHER AND AFTER READING ALL THE PROBLEMS, I THINK THESE AND ALL HYUNDAI VEHICLES SHOULD BE LOOKED AT!

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/18/2012 - HENRIETTA, NY
NOISE AND RUBBING OCCURRED WHILE BACKING CAR OUT OF DRIVEWAY. DISCOVERED LEFT FRONT COIL SPRING BROKEN AND RUBBING ON TIRE CAUSING DAMAGE TO TIRE, DEALER REPLACED COIL UNDER EXTENDED WARRANTY AND ADVISED US TO REPLACE TIRE . THIS CAR DID NOT ARRIVE HOME THE NITE BEFORE THIS WAY AS IT WAS VERY OBVIOUS SOMETHING WAS VERY WRONG . THE DEALER WROTE IT OFF AS NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR AND SAID OTHER SIDE WAS FINE . AFTER READING OTHER HISTORIES THEY WILL BE HEARING BACK FROM ME ! IN MY OPINION IF THIS HAPPENED AT ROAD SPEED IT WOULD HAVE TAKEN OUT THE TIRE, NO IF'S AND'S OR BUT'S ABOUT IT . IT WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN PRETTY AS THE BROKEN END WAS DUG INTO THE TIRE. CAN WE SAY CLASS ACTION ? WHERE DO WE START ? BTW THIS CAR IS SERVICED BY THE DEALER ONLY AND PROPERLY TAKEN CARE OF !

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/10/2012 - HENDERSON , NY
THE LEFT FRONT STRUT COIL SPRING BROKE IN TWO,WHILE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, I AM A 30 YEAR ASE MASTER TECHNICIAN, AND THIS FAILURE IS NOT A NORMAL WEAR OCCURRENCE, I HAVE DONE SOME RESEARCH, AND HAVE FOUND THIS TO BE HAPPENING ALL OVER THE UNITED STATES. THIS IS DEFINATELY A SAFETY ISSUE , THAT THE HYUNDAI CORPORATION SHOULD BE ADDRESSING BEFORE SOMEONE GETS SERIOUSLY HURT OR WORSE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/7/2012 - ALEXANDRA, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE EXAMINING THE VEHICLE THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE TIRE WAS FLAT. AFTER FURTHER EXAMINING THE VEHICLE THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE COIL SPRING HAD PUNCTURED THE TIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL MECHANIC WHERE THE COIL SPRING WAS REPLACED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 99,000.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

3/29/2012 - ABERDINE , NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SEAT BELT SENSOR WAS CAUSING THE AIRBAG LIGHT TO ILLUMINATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE THEY ADVISED THAT THE SENSOR, THE BASE OF THE SEAT BELT AND THE SENSOR COMPUTER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 102,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/28/2012 - CHICAGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD ACCELERATE AT ANY TIME WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WOULD ALSO LOOSE POWER WHILE SITTING AT A COMPLETE STOP. THE DEALER ATTEMPTED TO DIAGNOSE THE DEFECT NUMEROUS TIMES, BUT WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE BUT DENIED ANY ASSISTANCE WITH REPAIRS TO THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 57,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 57,010.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/14/2012 - OAKLAND PARK, FL
SUDDEN UNINTENDED ACCELERATION. WHILE DRIVING MY VEHICLE, THE CAR "LURCHES" FORWARD AND THE ENGINE "REVES" UP. I'VE HAD IT TO THE MECHANIC NUMEROUS TIMES AND THEY CAN NOT SEEM TO FIND A REASON FOR THIS TO BE HAPPENING. IT IS A VERY SCARY SITUATION. I HAVE 2 SMALL CHILDREN AND HAVE BECOME FEARFUL WHEN DRIVING MY CAR. THIS HAPPENS ON THE HIGHWAY AS WELL AS REGULAR STREET ROADS. I'VE SEEN MANY FORUMS ON LINE WITH THE SAME COMPLAINTS FROM OTHER HYUNDAI OWNERS. I REALLY HOPE THAT SOMEONE LOOKS INTO THESE COMPLAINTS.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/14/2012 - OAKLAND PARK, FL
SUDDEN UNINTENDED ACCELERATION. WHILE DRIVING MY VEHICLE, THE CAR "LURCHES" FORWARD AND THE ENGINE "REVES" UP. I'VE HAD IT TO THE MECHANIC NUMEROUS TIMES AND THEY CAN NOT SEEM TO FIND A REASON FOR THIS TO BE HAPPENING. IT IS A VERY SCARY SITUATION. I HAVE 2 SMALL CHILDREN AND HAVE BECOME FEARFUL WHEN DRIVING MY CAR. THIS HAPPENS ON THE HIGHWAY AS WELL AS REGULAR STREET ROADS. I'VE SEEN MANY FORUMS ON LINE WITH THE SAME COMPLAINTS FROM OTHER HYUNDAI OWNERS. I REALLY HOPE THAT SOMEONE LOOKS INTO THESE COMPLAINTS.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2/1/2012 - VINCENNES, IN
I HAD MY SUV WORKED ON PRIOR TO DRIVING IT HOME WHEN I NOTICED A REALLY LOUD NOISE THAT GOT MY ATTENTION. I PULLED MY CAR OVER TO A GAS STATION FILLED UP AND TRIED TO TURN MY ENGINE OVER AND MY ENGINE HAD LOCKED UP. I HAD TO CALL A TOW COMPANY WHICH WAS DIFFICULT SINCE IT WAS THANKSGIVING MORNING AND WAIT AN HR TO GET IT TO THE SHOP. I FOUND OUT MY AC COMPRESSOR HAD LOCKED UP MY MOTOR AND I HAD PAID OVER 3000 IN REPAIRS. I HAD THE POWER STEERING BELT PUT ON AND I WAS NOT INFORMED THE AC COMPRESSOR COULD HAVE BURNT UP MY NEW BELT. EVER SINCE I HAVE HAD ISSUES WITH MY STEERING WHEEL FEELING LOOSE. THE HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP DIDN'T INFORM ME THEY HAD REMOVED MY FUSES # 10 AND # 30. I HAD FOUND THEM LYING ON MY AC COMPRESSOR COVER. THIS CAR WAS RUNNING HOT AND MY MOTOR LOCKED UP DUE TO THE AC COMPRESSOR, SOLENOID ETC.

View Details

STEERING

2/1/2012 - VINCENNES, IN
I HAD MY SUV WORKED ON PRIOR TO DRIVING IT HOME WHEN I NOTICED A REALLY LOUD NOISE THAT GOT MY ATTENTION. I PULLED MY CAR OVER TO A GAS STATION FILLED UP AND TRIED TO TURN MY ENGINE OVER AND MY ENGINE HAD LOCKED UP. I HAD TO CALL A TOW COMPANY WHICH WAS DIFFICULT SINCE IT WAS THANKSGIVING MORNING AND WAIT AN HR TO GET IT TO THE SHOP. I FOUND OUT MY AC COMPRESSOR HAD LOCKED UP MY MOTOR AND I HAD PAID OVER 3000 IN REPAIRS. I HAD THE POWER STEERING BELT PUT ON AND I WAS NOT INFORMED THE AC COMPRESSOR COULD HAVE BURNT UP MY NEW BELT. EVER SINCE I HAVE HAD ISSUES WITH MY STEERING WHEEL FEELING LOOSE. THE HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP DIDN'T INFORM ME THEY HAD REMOVED MY FUSES # 10 AND # 30. I HAD FOUND THEM LYING ON MY AC COMPRESSOR COVER. THIS CAR WAS RUNNING HOT AND MY MOTOR LOCKED UP DUE TO THE AC COMPRESSOR, SOLENOID ETC.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds