Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 175 complaints filed for the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (54) Exterior Lighting (4) Power Train (8) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (2)
Electrical System (8) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seat Belts (14) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Seats (2) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (39)
Engine (7) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (16) Structure (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (22) Wheels (2)
Equipment (3) Other (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/28/2015 - KINGSPORT, TN
I WAS DRIVING TO WORK AND MY 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE STARTED TO "JUMP" PERSAY. IT JUMPED FROM 1 RPM TO 5 RPM, WHEN I TRIED RO BRAKE IT ACTED AS IF MY GEARS WERE GRINDING, AND IT THRUSTED ME FORWARD. THIS IS A VERY SCARY INCIDENT THAT HAS HAPPENED ALOT, BUT UP TIL THIS MORNING, THERE WAS NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS ON. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON SO MY HUSBAND DISCONNECTED MY BATTERY IN HOPES IT WOULD RESET. AFTER ABOUT THIRTY MINUTES WE HOOKED THE BATTERY BACK UP AND TOOK IT FOR A DRIVE, AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED. I ALMOST CRASHED THIS MORNING ON THE WAY TO WORK WHILE I WAS DOING 55MPH I CAME TO A CURVE AND MY CAR JUMPED TO 5 RPMS AND I ALMOST LOST CONTROL OF MY CAR....THIS CAR IS DANGEROUS, SOMETHING HAS TO BE DONE!!!

View Details

ENGINE

7/28/2015 - KINGSPORT, TN
I WAS DRIVING TO WORK AND MY 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE STARTED TO "JUMP" PERSAY. IT JUMPED FROM 1 RPM TO 5 RPM, WHEN I TRIED RO BRAKE IT ACTED AS IF MY GEARS WERE GRINDING, AND IT THRUSTED ME FORWARD. THIS IS A VERY SCARY INCIDENT THAT HAS HAPPENED ALOT, BUT UP TIL THIS MORNING, THERE WAS NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS ON. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON SO MY HUSBAND DISCONNECTED MY BATTERY IN HOPES IT WOULD RESET. AFTER ABOUT THIRTY MINUTES WE HOOKED THE BATTERY BACK UP AND TOOK IT FOR A DRIVE, AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED. I ALMOST CRASHED THIS MORNING ON THE WAY TO WORK WHILE I WAS DOING 55MPH I CAME TO A CURVE AND MY CAR JUMPED TO 5 RPMS AND I ALMOST LOST CONTROL OF MY CAR....THIS CAR IS DANGEROUS, SOMETHING HAS TO BE DONE!!!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/23/2015 - OKLAHOMA , OK
WHEN DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY AND SOMEBODY GOT IN FRONT OF ME I PUSH THE BREAK PEDAL AND MY BREAKS WILL NOT ENGAGE AFTER THAT I RELIES THE BREAKS I DID IT AGAIN HAD TO PUMP THE BREAKS A COUPLE OF TIMES FOR THE BRAKES TO ENGAGE, I TOOK THE CAR TO THE MECHANIC AND THEY TOLD ME THAT THE COMPUTER MARKS AN ERROR ON THE ABS SYSTEM, AFTER DOING RESEARCH ON THE INTERNET I LEARN THAT THE SAME MODEL GOT RECALL FOR THE SAME ISSUE I AM HAVING JUST JUMP MY MANUFACTURE YEAR 2005 AND WENT TO THE NEXT YEAR.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/18/2015 - WASHINGTON, DC
TOOK MY 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE IN TO THE SHOP FOR AN OIL CHANGE/TUNE UP AND WAS TOLD THE FRAME ON THE VEHICLE IS ALMOST ENTIRELY RUSTED OUT IN TWO DIFFERENT LOCATIONS, THE FRONT PASSENGER AREA NEAR THE ENGINE AND THE DRIVER SIDE AREA BELOW THE FRONT DOOR. THE CAR IS 10 YEARS OLD AND I DO LIVE IN A SALT BELT STATE, BUT I SEE THAT THERE WERE RECALLS FOR THE 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE FOR SIMILAR FRAME RUST ISSUES, SO I NOW RECOMMEND THAT THE RECALL INVESTIGATION BE EXTENDED TO THE 2005 MODELS AS WELL. I WONDER IF I AM ONLY NARROWLY AVOIDING LOSS OF LIFE FOR MYSELF AND MY 4YEAR OLD DAUGHTER BECAUSE OF THIS RUST ISSUE? I CAN ONLY IMAGINE WHAT MAY HAVE HAPPENED, HAD WAITED JUST ONE MORE MONTH BEFORE HAVING THE UNDERCARRIAGE OF THE CAR REVIEWED BY A PROFESSIONAL? I SHUDDER TO THINK OF IT!! AT ANY RATE, THIS WILL BE MY LAST HYUNDAI PURCHASE SINCE THEY CLEARLY HAVE NOT MET MY OWN PERSONAL STANDARDS FOR SAFETY. I HOPE YOU WILL AGREE WITH MY OWN OPINION ON THE LACK OF SAFETY OF THIS VEHICLE (IN SALT BELT STATES) BY BEGINNING AN INVESTIGATION INTO THE LATER MODEL SANTA FE FRAME RUST ISSUES, AS WELL. THANK YOU VERY MUCH

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/13/2015 - BROOKLYN , NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE THE CONTACT WAS SEATED IN THE VEHICLE, THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED WITHOUT WARNING. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT SUSTAINED SHOULDER INJURIES. IT WAS UNKNOWN IF THE CONTACT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 102,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/28/2015 - ST. LOUIS , MO
WHEN PRESSING ON THE BRAKE IT VIBRATES AND ACTS LIKE SOMETHING IS GOING TO BRAKE WITH CRUNCHING NOISE SOUND AND I LITERALLY HAVE TO TAKE MY FEET OFF THE BRAKE. THE ACCELERATOR IS DOING THE SAME THING IT HAS THE SAME NOISE WHEN PRESSING ON IT. THIS IS SOMETHING THAT IS VERY DANGEROUS AND SHOULD BE ADDRESSED. I HAVE TALKED TO TWO DIFFERENT PLACES THAT FIX CARS AND THEY SAID THAT THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG. THIS HAPPENS PERIODICALLY WHEN DRIVING BUT IT MANAGES TO DO SO EVERYDAY. THIS IS PUZZLING TO ME AND I FEEL THAT THIS PROBLEM SHOULD BE ADDRESSED. PROBLEM BEING CHECKED INTO CAN SAVE A LIFE. BRAKES AND ACCELERATOR ARE TWO VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEMS WHEN YOU DRIVING ON A STREET OR HIGHWAY. SOMEONE NEEDS TO LOOK INTO THIS SITUATION, BECAUSE IT IS NOT FUN AND GAMES DRIVING THIS VEHICLE, IN FACT IT IS SCARY AND I AM TIRED OF BEING SCARED TO DRIVE THIS VEHICLE AND TIRED OF COMPLAINING ABOUT THIS VEHICLE BEING UNSAFE. AS THIS VEHICLE WAS MADE BY HYUNDAI YOU SHOULD HAVE COMPASSION ENOUGH TO FIND OUT WHERE THIS IS COMING FROM. PEOPLE ARE NOT JUST MAKING THIS UP. THIS IS REALLY HAPPENING. TAKE RESPONSIBILITY AND LOOK INTO THIS PROBLEM. JUST PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE 02/28/2015.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/12/2015 - HOLLAND, MI
UNABLE TO DEPRESS BRAKE PEDAL. THIS IS THE THIRD TIME IN TWELVE MONTHS THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED. LAST MAY 2014 I WAS IN GRAND RAPIDS MICHIGAN GOING ABOUT 45 AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED I KEPT MOVING OVER TO A CLEAR LANE ON MY LEFT TRYING TO DEPRESS THE BRAKE AND HAD TO TURN INTO THE MEDIAN AND DO A U- TURN, THE CAR ROLLED TO A STOP. I GOT OUT AND CHECKED UNDER THE PEDAL AND THERE WERE NO OBSTRUCTIONS. I CHECKED THE BRAKE FLUID RESERVOIR AT THE MASTER CYLINDER AND IT WAS FULL. I GOT BACK IN THE CAR AND TESTED THE BRAKES AND FOUND THEM TO WORK. I CALLED MY HYUNDAI DEALER AND HAD THEM LOOK THE CAR OVER AND THEY HAD NO EXPLANATION. YESTERDAY I WAS IN STOP AND GO TRAFFIC APPROACHING A LINE OF TRAFFIC AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED, I DID NOT THINK TO USE THE EMERGENCY HAND BRAKE BUT THE GOOD NEWS NO DAMAGE. ..UPDATED 03-16-15 ALSO, THE FRONT SPRING WAS REPLACED AND THE AIR BAG LIGHT HAS SINCE ILLUMINATED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/12/2015 - HOLLAND, MI
UNABLE TO DEPRESS BRAKE PEDAL. THIS IS THE THIRD TIME IN TWELVE MONTHS THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED. LAST MAY 2014 I WAS IN GRAND RAPIDS MICHIGAN GOING ABOUT 45 AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED I KEPT MOVING OVER TO A CLEAR LANE ON MY LEFT TRYING TO DEPRESS THE BRAKE AND HAD TO TURN INTO THE MEDIAN AND DO A U- TURN, THE CAR ROLLED TO A STOP. I GOT OUT AND CHECKED UNDER THE PEDAL AND THERE WERE NO OBSTRUCTIONS. I CHECKED THE BRAKE FLUID RESERVOIR AT THE MASTER CYLINDER AND IT WAS FULL. I GOT BACK IN THE CAR AND TESTED THE BRAKES AND FOUND THEM TO WORK. I CALLED MY HYUNDAI DEALER AND HAD THEM LOOK THE CAR OVER AND THEY HAD NO EXPLANATION. YESTERDAY I WAS IN STOP AND GO TRAFFIC APPROACHING A LINE OF TRAFFIC AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED, I DID NOT THINK TO USE THE EMERGENCY HAND BRAKE BUT THE GOOD NEWS NO DAMAGE. ..UPDATED 03-16-15 ALSO, THE FRONT SPRING WAS REPLACED AND THE AIR BAG LIGHT HAS SINCE ILLUMINATED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/12/2015 - HOLLAND, MI
UNABLE TO DEPRESS BRAKE PEDAL. THIS IS THE THIRD TIME IN TWELVE MONTHS THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED. LAST MAY 2014 I WAS IN GRAND RAPIDS MICHIGAN GOING ABOUT 45 AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED I KEPT MOVING OVER TO A CLEAR LANE ON MY LEFT TRYING TO DEPRESS THE BRAKE AND HAD TO TURN INTO THE MEDIAN AND DO A U- TURN, THE CAR ROLLED TO A STOP. I GOT OUT AND CHECKED UNDER THE PEDAL AND THERE WERE NO OBSTRUCTIONS. I CHECKED THE BRAKE FLUID RESERVOIR AT THE MASTER CYLINDER AND IT WAS FULL. I GOT BACK IN THE CAR AND TESTED THE BRAKES AND FOUND THEM TO WORK. I CALLED MY HYUNDAI DEALER AND HAD THEM LOOK THE CAR OVER AND THEY HAD NO EXPLANATION. YESTERDAY I WAS IN STOP AND GO TRAFFIC APPROACHING A LINE OF TRAFFIC AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED, I DID NOT THINK TO USE THE EMERGENCY HAND BRAKE BUT THE GOOD NEWS NO DAMAGE. ..UPDATED 03-16-15 ALSO, THE FRONT SPRING WAS REPLACED AND THE AIR BAG LIGHT HAS SINCE ILLUMINATED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/20/2015 - SERVIERVILLA, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 05V450000 (AIR BAGS) HOWEVER, THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE AIR BAG MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 57,200. UPDATED 5/4/15

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds