Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 192 complaints filed for the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (62) Exterior Lighting (4) Power Train (11) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (3)
Electrical System (8) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Seat Belts (16) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Seats (2) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (41)
Engine (9) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (16) Structure (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (23) Wheels (2)
Equipment (3) Other (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

9/27/2016 - DUBLIN, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING FROM A STOP AT 20 MPH, THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY ACCELERATED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT FAILED TO RESPOND. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT DROVE OVER A CURB AND CRASHED INTO TWO TREES. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. NO POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND NO INJURIES WERE SUSTAINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 58,600.

View Details

STEERING

8/31/2016 - CARY, NC
ON 4/12/2010 WE HAD AN ISSUE WITH POWER STEERING PUMP (THIS IS WHAT THEY TOLD US AT THE HYUNDAI DEALER IN RENO NV). AT THAT TIME THE CAR WAS STILL UNDER GUARANTY SO THEY SERVICED IT AND CHANGED THE POWER STEERING PUMP, HOSE AND FLUID. AFTER APPROX. 27K MILES, WE STARTED NOTICING THE SAME ISSUE AGAIN. THE STEERING WHEEL WOULD GET HARD AND A SOUND WILL START. PARTICULARLY WHEN TURNING IT LEFT AND RIGHT. WE TOOK IT BACK TO THE HYUNDAI DEALER ON 4/12/2013. THEY TOLD US IT WAS THE SAME ISSUE AGAIN, THAT THEY HAD TO CHANGE THE POWER STEERING PUMP. UNFORTUNATELY THIS TIME WE DIDN'T HAVE THE GUARANTY ANYMORE SO WE HAD TO PAY $482.22 TO GET IT REPLACED AGAIN. THEY CHANGED THE POWER STEERING PUMP ONLY. AFTER 10 DAYS WE HAD TO RETURN TO THE DEALER FOR THE SAME ISSUE AND THEY TOLD US THAT THIS TIME THE ISSUE WAS THE RM GEAR AND LINKAGE ASSY, POWER STEERING FLUID, RESERVOIR ASSY AND SOME OTHER THINGS, FOR A TOTAL CHARGE OF $1,386.78. NOW, 3 YEARS LATER, 8/15/2016, WE STARTED HEARING THE SAME SOUNDS AGAIN, AND THE STEERING WHEEL GOT HARD AGAIN. SAME SITUATION AS THE PREVIOUS 2 THAT I HAVE DESCRIBED. WE TOOK THE CAR TO THE HYUNDAI DEALER ON 8/18/2016 BECAUSE AT SOME POINT THE STEERING WHEEL WOULDN'T LET US TURN AND IT TURNED OFF. WE WAITED A LITTLE AND TURNED IT ON AGAIN. THIS TIME, WHEN WE TOOK IT TO THE HYUNDAI DEALER (IN NC) THEY TOLD US THAT IT WAS THE POWER STEERING PUMP AGAIN. WE LEFT OUR CAR TO BE FIXED AND THEY CALLED US SAYING THAT THIS TIME IT WASN'T THE PUMP BUT THE POWER STEERING SUCTION HOSE. THEY HAD TO REPLACE IT AND ALSO REPLACE THE FLUIDS. WE'VE PAID $421.52. I TRULY BELIEVE THAT THIS SHOULD BE LOOKED UPON BECAUSE I DON'T FIND ACCEPTABLE THAT EVERY 2 OR 3 YEARS WE HAVE TO GO THROUGH THIS SITUATION AGAIN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/19/2016 - FRONT ROYAL, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE OCCUPANT CLASSIFICATION SYSTEM FAILED AND THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/13/2016 - YAKIMA, WA
BOUGHT VEHICLE USED IN OCTOBER 2014. IN LESS THAN 2 YEARS HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE LOW BEAM HALOGEN BULB 4 TIMES. HAVE USED THE LEAST EXPENSIVE BULB TO THE MOST EXPENSIVE BULB AND ALL BURN OUT WITH IN A FEW MONTHS OF INSTALLATION. THE FIRST INSTALLATION WAS DONE BY A TOYOTA DEALERSHIP AND THE REST I INSTALLED. ALSO, THE RUNNING LIGHTS IN THE SAME LOCATION (BOTH WHITE AND AMBER) SOMETIMES COME ON AND SOMETIMES I HAVE TO HIT THE OUTSIDE TO THE LENSES TO GET THEM TO TURN ON. DO NOT KNOW IF THIS IS RELATE TO THE LOW BEAM ISSUE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/5/2016 - PERRY, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 135,000. ...UPDATED 09/12/16 UPDATED 09/20/16.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/31/2016 - EXETER, NH
IN NOV, 2015, THE ABS AND TCS LIGHTS CAME ON. THE AXLE WAS BROKEN AND HAD TO BE REPLACED. IN JULY 2016, THE LIGHTS CAME ON AGAIN AND NOW ANOTHER AXLE IS BROKEN AND NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. ALSO, THE CRUISE CONTROL WAS BROKEN AND A BAD SWITCH WAS REPLACED IN THE STEERING WHEEL. THE CRUISE CONTROL WORKED FOR A DAY THEN BROKE AGAIN AND IT WAS REPLACED AND NOW IT'S NOT WORKING AGAIN. WHEN I WAS ON THE HIGHWAY IN JUNE, 2016, THE CAR BROKE DOWN AND WAS TOWED TO THE GARAGE. A CRANKSHAFT SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. BESIDES THE OTHER ISSUES, THIS VEHICLE SEEMS TO HAVE A LOT OF ELECTRICAL ISSUES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/28/2016 - BARNET, VT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE CONTACT NOTICED A FUEL ODOR INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE EVAC CANISTER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000. UPDATED 10/19/16

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/23/2016 - LARKSVILLE, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING, A FUEL ODOR EMITTED IN THE INTERIOR AND EXTERIOR OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL TANK WAS RUSTED AND LEAKING. AS A RESULT, THE FUEL TANK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 06V317000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 94,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/22/2016 - SHAVERTOWN, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A STRONG FUEL ODOR COMING FROM THE VEHICLE, AS WELL AS A FUEL PUDDLE UNDER THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 06V317000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 96,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/18/2016 - OSCEOLA, AR
THIS RECALL NOTICE APPLIES TO YOUR VEHICLE, [XXX] DEAR HYUNDAI SANTA FE OWNER, WE PREVIOUSLY SENT YOU A LETTER ABOUT A SAFETY RECALL REGARDING THE FRONT COIL SPRING ON YOUR 2001-2006 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. TO DATE, IT APPEARS THAT THIS IMPORTANT SAFETY RECALL HAS NOT BEEN COMPLETED ON YOUR VEHICLE. PLEASE CLICK HERE FOR MORE INFORMATION ABOUT THIS SAFETY RECALL, TO VALIDATE THAT YOUR VEHICLE IS AFFECTED AND TO SCHEDULE AN ON-LINE APPOINTMENT WITH YOUR LOCAL HYUNDAI DEALER. WE URGE YOU TO HAVE THIS IMPORTANT SAFETY RECALL COMPLETED AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS, PLEASE CONTACT THE HYUNDAI RECALL HOTLINE AT 855-671-3059. YOU CAN ALSO FIND INFORMATION ON THE NHTSA WEBSITE AT WWW.SAFERCAR.GOV. I WENT ON LINE AND SCHEDULED THIS RECALL MAINT. WHEN I CALLED TWO DAYS LATER TO THE SHOP TO VERIFY APPT. THEY INFORMED ME THEY DON'T DO THIS TYPE OF MAINTENANCE ON SATURDAY. I ASKED HIM WHO WAS GOING TO CALL ME AND LET ME KNOW THAT, BEFORE I DROVE 100MILES ROUND TRIP TO THE SHOP FROM MY TOWN. HE SAID HE DIDN'T HAVE ANY WAY TO CALL ME & NOT ENOUGH LABOR TO DO THIS TYPE OF JOB ON SATURDAY. I SAID WELL I CAN'T TAKE OFF WORK, SO HOW WILL I GET IT FIXED. HE SAID I DON'T KNOW MAM, "IT IS WHAT IT IS" . THIS MAN OVER YOUR SERVICE DEPT ON COVINGTON PIKE IS VERY RUDE AND COULD CARE LESS IF I GOT MY HYUNDAI FIXED OR NOT... WITH THAT KIND OF SERVICE AND LACK OF CONCERN FOR THE CUSTOMER, I DOUBT I WOULD BUY ANOTHER HYUNDAI!!!!!!!! SO I HAVE ONE OF YOUR CARS THAT HAS A RECALL DUE TO YOUR NEGLIGENCE THAT I CAN'T GET FIXED BECAUSE YOUR PEOPLE WILL NOT DO IT ON SATURDAY AND I HAVE TO WORK ON WEEKDAYS. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds