Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 170 complaints filed for the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (51) Exterior Lighting (4) Power Train (8) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (2)
Electrical System (8) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seat Belts (13) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Seats (2) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (39)
Engine (7) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (14) Structure (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (22) Wheels (2)
Equipment (3) Other (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

4/28/2015 - ST. LOUIS , MO
WHEN PRESSING ON THE BRAKE IT VIBRATES AND ACTS LIKE SOMETHING IS GOING TO BRAKE WITH CRUNCHING NOISE SOUND AND I LITERALLY HAVE TO TAKE MY FEET OFF THE BRAKE. THE ACCELERATOR IS DOING THE SAME THING IT HAS THE SAME NOISE WHEN PRESSING ON IT. THIS IS SOMETHING THAT IS VERY DANGEROUS AND SHOULD BE ADDRESSED. I HAVE TALKED TO TWO DIFFERENT PLACES THAT FIX CARS AND THEY SAID THAT THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG. THIS HAPPENS PERIODICALLY WHEN DRIVING BUT IT MANAGES TO DO SO EVERYDAY. THIS IS PUZZLING TO ME AND I FEEL THAT THIS PROBLEM SHOULD BE ADDRESSED. PROBLEM BEING CHECKED INTO CAN SAVE A LIFE. BRAKES AND ACCELERATOR ARE TWO VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEMS WHEN YOU DRIVING ON A STREET OR HIGHWAY. SOMEONE NEEDS TO LOOK INTO THIS SITUATION, BECAUSE IT IS NOT FUN AND GAMES DRIVING THIS VEHICLE, IN FACT IT IS SCARY AND I AM TIRED OF BEING SCARED TO DRIVE THIS VEHICLE AND TIRED OF COMPLAINING ABOUT THIS VEHICLE BEING UNSAFE. AS THIS VEHICLE WAS MADE BY HYUNDAI YOU SHOULD HAVE COMPASSION ENOUGH TO FIND OUT WHERE THIS IS COMING FROM. PEOPLE ARE NOT JUST MAKING THIS UP. THIS IS REALLY HAPPENING. TAKE RESPONSIBILITY AND LOOK INTO THIS PROBLEM. JUST PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE 02/28/2015.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/12/2015 - HOLLAND, MI
UNABLE TO DEPRESS BRAKE PEDAL. THIS IS THE THIRD TIME IN TWELVE MONTHS THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED. LAST MAY 2014 I WAS IN GRAND RAPIDS MICHIGAN GOING ABOUT 45 AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED I KEPT MOVING OVER TO A CLEAR LANE ON MY LEFT TRYING TO DEPRESS THE BRAKE AND HAD TO TURN INTO THE MEDIAN AND DO A U- TURN, THE CAR ROLLED TO A STOP. I GOT OUT AND CHECKED UNDER THE PEDAL AND THERE WERE NO OBSTRUCTIONS. I CHECKED THE BRAKE FLUID RESERVOIR AT THE MASTER CYLINDER AND IT WAS FULL. I GOT BACK IN THE CAR AND TESTED THE BRAKES AND FOUND THEM TO WORK. I CALLED MY HYUNDAI DEALER AND HAD THEM LOOK THE CAR OVER AND THEY HAD NO EXPLANATION. YESTERDAY I WAS IN STOP AND GO TRAFFIC APPROACHING A LINE OF TRAFFIC AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED, I DID NOT THINK TO USE THE EMERGENCY HAND BRAKE BUT THE GOOD NEWS NO DAMAGE. ..UPDATED 03-16-15 ALSO, THE FRONT SPRING WAS REPLACED AND THE AIR BAG LIGHT HAS SINCE ILLUMINATED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/12/2015 - HOLLAND, MI
UNABLE TO DEPRESS BRAKE PEDAL. THIS IS THE THIRD TIME IN TWELVE MONTHS THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED. LAST MAY 2014 I WAS IN GRAND RAPIDS MICHIGAN GOING ABOUT 45 AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED I KEPT MOVING OVER TO A CLEAR LANE ON MY LEFT TRYING TO DEPRESS THE BRAKE AND HAD TO TURN INTO THE MEDIAN AND DO A U- TURN, THE CAR ROLLED TO A STOP. I GOT OUT AND CHECKED UNDER THE PEDAL AND THERE WERE NO OBSTRUCTIONS. I CHECKED THE BRAKE FLUID RESERVOIR AT THE MASTER CYLINDER AND IT WAS FULL. I GOT BACK IN THE CAR AND TESTED THE BRAKES AND FOUND THEM TO WORK. I CALLED MY HYUNDAI DEALER AND HAD THEM LOOK THE CAR OVER AND THEY HAD NO EXPLANATION. YESTERDAY I WAS IN STOP AND GO TRAFFIC APPROACHING A LINE OF TRAFFIC AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED, I DID NOT THINK TO USE THE EMERGENCY HAND BRAKE BUT THE GOOD NEWS NO DAMAGE. ..UPDATED 03-16-15 ALSO, THE FRONT SPRING WAS REPLACED AND THE AIR BAG LIGHT HAS SINCE ILLUMINATED.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/12/2015 - HOLLAND, MI
UNABLE TO DEPRESS BRAKE PEDAL. THIS IS THE THIRD TIME IN TWELVE MONTHS THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED. LAST MAY 2014 I WAS IN GRAND RAPIDS MICHIGAN GOING ABOUT 45 AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED I KEPT MOVING OVER TO A CLEAR LANE ON MY LEFT TRYING TO DEPRESS THE BRAKE AND HAD TO TURN INTO THE MEDIAN AND DO A U- TURN, THE CAR ROLLED TO A STOP. I GOT OUT AND CHECKED UNDER THE PEDAL AND THERE WERE NO OBSTRUCTIONS. I CHECKED THE BRAKE FLUID RESERVOIR AT THE MASTER CYLINDER AND IT WAS FULL. I GOT BACK IN THE CAR AND TESTED THE BRAKES AND FOUND THEM TO WORK. I CALLED MY HYUNDAI DEALER AND HAD THEM LOOK THE CAR OVER AND THEY HAD NO EXPLANATION. YESTERDAY I WAS IN STOP AND GO TRAFFIC APPROACHING A LINE OF TRAFFIC AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED, I DID NOT THINK TO USE THE EMERGENCY HAND BRAKE BUT THE GOOD NEWS NO DAMAGE. ..UPDATED 03-16-15 ALSO, THE FRONT SPRING WAS REPLACED AND THE AIR BAG LIGHT HAS SINCE ILLUMINATED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/20/2015 - SERVIERVILLA, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 05V450000 (AIR BAGS) HOWEVER, THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE AIR BAG MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 57,200. UPDATED 5/4/15

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1/27/2015 - NORRISTOWN, PA
WHILE WAITING FOR THE TRAFFIC LIGHT TO CHANGE TO GREEN, MY CAR WAS STOPPED, WITH MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE. . MY CAR LEARCHED FORWARD. I COULD FEEL THE ENGINE ACCELERATE. BY THE TIME I GOT THE CAR UNDER CONTROL, I HIT THE CAR THAT WAS IN FRONT OF ME. THE TRUNK WAS DAMAGED, NO DAMAGE TO MY CAR. SINCE OWNING THIS CAR I HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS ACCELERATION BEFORE. I HAVE DISCUSSED THIS WITH THE DEALER, THE DISCUSSING ENDS UP WITH THE DEALER SUGGESTING THAT I WAS PRESSING THE GAS PEDAL AND NOT THE BRAKE. I TOLD THE DEALER THAT WHEN THIS OCCURS PRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL DOES NOTHING. THE SHIFT MUST BE MOVED TO NEUTRAL THE FOOT TAKEN OFF THE BRAKE. EVERY TIME I DISCUSS THIS PROBLEM WITH THE DEALER HE SAYS SHOW HIM WHAT HAPPENS, THE PROBLEM I CAN NOT RECREATE THE PROBLEM. THE OCCURRENCE OF THE PROBLEM IS RANDOM AND CANNOT BE CREATED. AT FIRST I THOUGHT THAT I WAS THE ONLY ONE WITH THIS PROBLEM, BUT AS I READ THE COMPLAINTS I AM NOT ALONE. HYUNDAI HAS GOT TO LOOK INTO THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/27/2015 - NORRISTOWN, PA
WHILE WAITING FOR THE TRAFFIC LIGHT TO CHANGE TO GREEN, MY CAR WAS STOPPED, WITH MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE. . MY CAR LEARCHED FORWARD. I COULD FEEL THE ENGINE ACCELERATE. BY THE TIME I GOT THE CAR UNDER CONTROL, I HIT THE CAR THAT WAS IN FRONT OF ME. THE TRUNK WAS DAMAGED, NO DAMAGE TO MY CAR. SINCE OWNING THIS CAR I HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS ACCELERATION BEFORE. I HAVE DISCUSSED THIS WITH THE DEALER, THE DISCUSSING ENDS UP WITH THE DEALER SUGGESTING THAT I WAS PRESSING THE GAS PEDAL AND NOT THE BRAKE. I TOLD THE DEALER THAT WHEN THIS OCCURS PRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL DOES NOTHING. THE SHIFT MUST BE MOVED TO NEUTRAL THE FOOT TAKEN OFF THE BRAKE. EVERY TIME I DISCUSS THIS PROBLEM WITH THE DEALER HE SAYS SHOW HIM WHAT HAPPENS, THE PROBLEM I CAN NOT RECREATE THE PROBLEM. THE OCCURRENCE OF THE PROBLEM IS RANDOM AND CANNOT BE CREATED. AT FIRST I THOUGHT THAT I WAS THE ONLY ONE WITH THIS PROBLEM, BUT AS I READ THE COMPLAINTS I AM NOT ALONE. HYUNDAI HAS GOT TO LOOK INTO THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/22/2015 - FT LAUDERDALE , FL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 104,266.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/22/2015 - OWASSO, OK
THIS HAS BEEN A REPEATED PROBLEM FOR A LONG TIME. EARLY ON I WOULD HAVE A BRAKE LAMP LIGHT THAT I WOULD BE TOLD WAS OUT. WE WOULD TAKE THE LIGHT BULB OUT AND REINSERT AND IT WOULD FIX THE PROBLEM. WE ASSUMED IT JIGGLED LOOSE. THEN, AT A LATER TIME, I WOULD BE TOLD THAT THE OTHER BRAKE LIGHT WAS OUT, AND WE WOULD REPEAT THE PROCESS AND TAKE IT APART AND IT WOULD AMAZINGLY START WORKING AGAIN. BEGINNING IN NOVEMBER 2014, TAKING THE LIGHT APART NO LONGER FIXED IT, SO WE CHECKED AND REPLACED FUSES AND LIGHTBULBS, BUT IT DIDN'T FIX IT. UP UNTIL THIS TIME, THE RIGHT BRAKE LIGHT WOULD GO OUT AND THEN IT WOULD BE THE LEFT ONE INTERMITTENTLY. THEN, AS OF DECEMBER 2014, NEITHER BRAKE LIGHT WORKS AND THE THIRD BRAKE LIGHT IN THE REAR WINDOW HAS FIVE SMALL BULBS THAT STAY LIT AT ALL TIMES, BUT CURRENTLY THE THIRD LIGHT IN THE REAR WINDOW IS THE ONLY LIGHT THAT COMES ON WHILE APPLYING THE BRAKE.SINCE IT IS APPARENTLY NOT THE LAMP OR THE FUSE, I'M WONDERING IF MY VEHICLE IS INCLUDED IN THE HYUNDAI RECALL NO. 092, A STOP LAMP SWITCH RECALL, OR ANY OTHER RECALL PERTAINING TO THIS ISSUE, SINCE I AM READING A LOT OF COMPLAINTS ON THIS SAME ISSUE? I AM AFRAID THAT I AM GOING TO BE IN AN ACCIDENT SINCE IT IS AN INTERMITTENT AND NOW, APPARENTLY, FULL-TIME PROBLEM. PLEASE ADVISE BECAUSE AFTER TALKING TO SEVERAL REPAIR SHOPS, THEY ARE NOT SURE WHAT IS GOING ON. THANK YOU!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/22/2015 - OWASSO, OK
THIS HAS BEEN A REPEATED PROBLEM FOR A LONG TIME. EARLY ON I WOULD HAVE A BRAKE LAMP LIGHT THAT I WOULD BE TOLD WAS OUT. WE WOULD TAKE THE LIGHT BULB OUT AND REINSERT AND IT WOULD FIX THE PROBLEM. WE ASSUMED IT JIGGLED LOOSE. THEN, AT A LATER TIME, I WOULD BE TOLD THAT THE OTHER BRAKE LIGHT WAS OUT, AND WE WOULD REPEAT THE PROCESS AND TAKE IT APART AND IT WOULD AMAZINGLY START WORKING AGAIN. BEGINNING IN NOVEMBER 2014, TAKING THE LIGHT APART NO LONGER FIXED IT, SO WE CHECKED AND REPLACED FUSES AND LIGHTBULBS, BUT IT DIDN'T FIX IT. UP UNTIL THIS TIME, THE RIGHT BRAKE LIGHT WOULD GO OUT AND THEN IT WOULD BE THE LEFT ONE INTERMITTENTLY. THEN, AS OF DECEMBER 2014, NEITHER BRAKE LIGHT WORKS AND THE THIRD BRAKE LIGHT IN THE REAR WINDOW HAS FIVE SMALL BULBS THAT STAY LIT AT ALL TIMES, BUT CURRENTLY THE THIRD LIGHT IN THE REAR WINDOW IS THE ONLY LIGHT THAT COMES ON WHILE APPLYING THE BRAKE.SINCE IT IS APPARENTLY NOT THE LAMP OR THE FUSE, I'M WONDERING IF MY VEHICLE IS INCLUDED IN THE HYUNDAI RECALL NO. 092, A STOP LAMP SWITCH RECALL, OR ANY OTHER RECALL PERTAINING TO THIS ISSUE, SINCE I AM READING A LOT OF COMPLAINTS ON THIS SAME ISSUE? I AM AFRAID THAT I AM GOING TO BE IN AN ACCIDENT SINCE IT IS AN INTERMITTENT AND NOW, APPARENTLY, FULL-TIME PROBLEM. PLEASE ADVISE BECAUSE AFTER TALKING TO SEVERAL REPAIR SHOPS, THEY ARE NOT SURE WHAT IS GOING ON. THANK YOU!

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds