Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 137 complaints filed for the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (38) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (7) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (1)
Electrical System (7) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seat Belts (11) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Seats (2) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (35)
Engine (5) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (8) Structure (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (17) Wheels (2)
Equipment (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

7/16/2014 - EWA BEACH, HI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER AIR BAG LIGHT ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL WHEN A PASSENGER THAT WEIGHED 120 POUNDS SAT IN THE SEAT. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE LIGHT DID NOT ILLUMINATE WHEN A PASSENGER THAT WEIGHED 170 POUNDS OCCUPIED THE SEAT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE OC SENSOR WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 96,000. UPDATED 9/4/14

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/12/2014 - SHREWSBURY, MA
A FEW WEEKS AGO, WHEN I WAS DRIVING MY 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, AN AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON THE DASHBOARD. AFTER SIMPLY SEARCHING THE INTERNET, I FOUND THAT THERE ARE ALREADY MANY SAME VEHICLES HAD A SAME PROBLEMS AND COMPLAINTS DUE TO THE BAD WIRE CONNECTIONS UNDER THE DRIVER SEAT. I BELIEVE THIS AIRBAG PROBLEM IS CAUSED BY DUE TO THE FAULT DESIGN OF THE WIRE CONNECTION AND WILL CAUSE A SERIOUS PROBLEM WHEN A CERTAIN ACCIDENTS HAPPEN. HYUNDAI SHOULD RECALL THIS AIR BAG ISSUE AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

6/27/2014 - WOODBRIDGE, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT BOTH DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE SEAT BELTS AND SEAT BELT BUCKLES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

6/12/2014 - MILFORD CENTER, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR REMAINED ILLUMINATED CONTINUOUSLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS. THE TECHNICIAN INFORMED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE SEAT BELT WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 99,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/12/2014 - MILFORD CENTER, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR REMAINED ILLUMINATED CONTINUOUSLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS. THE TECHNICIAN INFORMED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE SEAT BELT WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 99,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/9/2014 - SITKA, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 05V450000 (AIR BAGS). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 117,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/17/2014 - MOOSIC, PA
AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON , TOOK CAR TO DEALER, PASSENGER SEAT BELT BUCKLE WAS REPLACED AT A COST OF 400. DOLLERS. A FEW MONTHS LATER THE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN, AND IS STILL ON. I CAN' AFFORD TO KEEP PAYING THAT KIND OF MONEY TO GET IT FIXED AGAIN. I UNDERSTAND HYUNDAI HAS BIG PROBLEMS WITH THEIR AIR BAG SYSTEMS. I ALSO HAVE A 2006 HYUNDAI ACCENT WITH THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/1/2014 - CHICAGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS AN OVERPOWERING AND CONSISTENT ODOR OF GASOLINE COMING FROM THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT EXAMINED THE VEHICLE AND NOTICE THAT THERE WAS A FUEL LEAK. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO STATED THAT THERE WAS A SMALL FRACTURE IN THE FUEL TANK. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURE AND DEALER WERE NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/4/2014 - REDFORD , MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE AIR BAG SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 86,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

3/2/2014 - JOHNSTOWN, PA
WE BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE IN JUNE 2013. WE HAD IT ALMOST A MONTH WHEN THE STEERING LOCKED UP ON ME. THE POWER STEERING PRESSURE LINE BLEW OUT. WE TOOK IT TO THE DEALER THAT WE BOUGHT IT FROM AND THEY FIXED THE LINE. THREE DAYS LATER THE STEERING WENT AGAIN WE GOT IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY WERE GOING TO CHARGE US $300.00. I GOT UPSET BUT THE MOST THEY WOULD DO FOR ME WAS SPLIT THE COST.THEN A FEW MONTHS LATER I STARTED TO SMELL GAS. I DIDN'T SEE ANY THING ON THE GROUND SO I LEFT IT GO. THEN IN NOVEMBER 2013 THE AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON AND ALSO THE SEAT BELT LIGHT WOULD COME ON AND GO OFF AND THE BELL WOULD DING AS IF THE SEAT BELT WASN'T BUCKLED BUT IT WAS.I JUST HAD IT TESTED BY A HYUNDAI DEALER AND THE MECHANIC SAID THAT THERE WAS A DEFECTIVE SENSOR IN THE SEAT BELT ASSEMBLY THAT CAUSES THE AIRBAG LIGHT TO COME ON AND THE SEAT BELT LIGHT AND BELL TO GO OFF. THE MECHANIC ALSO SAID THAT THERE IS A LEAK SOMEWHERE IN THE GAS TANK. THE WHOLE REPAIR WILL COST ME ABOUT $2000.00 TO HAVE REPAIRED AND I DON'T HAVE THAT KIND OF MONEY. IF THE SENSOR IS NOT REPLACED HE SAID THE AIR BAG WILL PROBABLY NOT DEPLOY IN A FRONTAL COLLISION. THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THE SENSOR AT LEAST BECAUSE THAT SHOULDN'T BE SUBJECT TO WEAR AND TEAR.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds