Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP WRANGLER - 2005 JEEP WRANGLER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 588 complaints filed for the 2005 JEEP WRANGLER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 JEEP WRANGLER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 JEEP WRANGLER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (2) Steering (49) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electrical System (13) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (29) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Engine (5) Fuel Propulsion System (83) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (47) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Fuel System Gasoline (351) Service Brakes (1) Tires (6) Wheels (7)
Equipment (2) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (14)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 59
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/30/2016 - MADISON, OH
WHEN YOU FILL THE TANK WITH GAS, THE PUMP DOESN'T SHUT OFF RESULTING IN GAS LEAKING ONTO THE SIDE OF THE VEHICLE AS WELL AS THE GROUND. IT LOOKS LIKE THERE HAVE BEEN MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS PROBLEM FROM OTHERS THAT HAVE THIS SAME VEHICLE. IMAGE READ IT IS A FAULTY DESIGN AND FAULTY IVC .

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/26/2015 - WAXHAW, NC
LIKE ALL THE OTHER JEEP WRANGLERS MINE CANNOT FILL UP WITH GAS WITHOUT THE GAS OVERFLOWING OUT OF THE FILLER NECK. THIS CAUSES POLLUTION, DAMAGES THE FINISH OF THE CAR AS WELL AS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE. PLEASE MAKE THEM RECALL THIS GAS ISSUE AS THE FLAPPER IN THE LINE GETS STUCK OPEN. AT LEAST THAT IS WHAT ALL THE FORUMS SEEM TO SAY. IF YOU WANT TO SEE WHAT IT LOOKS LIKE JUST GO TO YOUTUBE --> HTTPS://WWW.YOUTUBE.COM/RESULTS?SEARCH_QUERY=JEEP+WRANGLER+GAS+OVERFLOW OR PUT IN ANY OTHER SIMILAR SEARCH. THE MAJORITY OF THE JEEPS ON THE ROAD HAVE THIS ISSUE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/26/2015 - CLEAR SPRING, MD
WHEN FUELING UP AND THE HAND PUMP CLICKS OFF, GAS CONTINUES TO SHOOT OUT OF THE FUEL TANK. ITS ENOUGH TO LEAVE A SMALL PUDDLE ON THE GROUND NOT TO MENTION ALL OVER THE REAR OF MY JEEP AND IT HAS STAINED MY NEW FENDER FLARE. I UNDERSTAND THIS HAS BEEN AN ONGOING PROBLEM WITH JEEP WRANGLERS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/26/2015 - CLEAR SPRING, MD
WHEN FUELING UP AND THE HAND PUMP CLICKS OFF, GAS CONTINUES TO SHOOT OUT OF THE FUEL TANK. ITS ENOUGH TO LEAVE A SMALL PUDDLE ON THE GROUND NOT TO MENTION ALL OVER THE REAR OF MY JEEP AND IT HAS STAINED MY NEW FENDER FLARE. I UNDERSTAND THIS HAS BEEN AN ONGOING PROBLEM WITH JEEP WRANGLERS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/1/2015 - TAMPA, FL
WHEN FUELING VEHICLE TANK OVERFLOWS LEAVING GASOLINE ON SIDE OF VEHICLE, ON SELF (HANDS, CLOTHING, SHOES, ETC.). NOT ONLY IS THIS UNECONOMICAL, BUT UNSAFE, UNHEALTHY, AND ENVIRONMENTALLY UNSOUND. I ORIGINALLY BROUGHT MY VEHICLE IN FOR REPAIR IN MAY OF 2010, THE DEALER CLAIMED THE EVAPORATION CANISTER WAS CLOGGED SO THEY REPLACED THE CANISTER AND FILTER FOR ALMOST $300. FOUR MONTHS LATER, IN OCTOBER OF 2010, I WAS HAVING THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM AND RETURNED TO THE DEALER. THEY THEN CLAIMED THE ROLL OVER VALVE WAS STUCK IN THE OPEN POSITION AND I NOW NEEDED A NEW FUEL TANK FOR ALMOST $800. I DECLINED AND WAS CHARGED $100 FOR THEIR TROUBLE. I NOW DON'T EVER FILL THE TANK COMPLETELY. I HAVE FOUND NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS PROBLEM ONLINE IN DIFFERENT FORUMS AND NOW HERE ON THIS WEBSITE. I DO BELIEVE JEEP NEEDS TO BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS OBVIOUSLY ONGOING PROBLEM.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/1/2015 - HAWTHORNE, FL
WHEN FILLING THE VEHICLE WITH GAS IT DOES NOT AUTOMATICALLY STOP FILLING WHEN THE TANK IS FULL, WHICH RESULTS IN GAS SQUIRTING OUT OF THE FILLER. THIS HAPPENS EVERY TIME I GET GAS. GETTING GAS ON MYSELF, MY CLOTHES, MY SHOES AND DOWN THE SIDE OF MY VEHICLE IS NOT ON MY TO DO LIST. JEEP/CHRYSLER SHOULD ISSUE A RECALL OR NOTICE TO FIX THIS ISSUE. THIS ISSUE IS A FIRE HAZARD AND IS NOT SAFE FOR WHOMEVER IS PUMPING GAS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/27/2015 - GAINESVILLE, FL
EVERYTIME, WHILE FILLING MY TANK FUEL WILL SPILL OUT AS THE AUTO SHUT OFF ENGAGES ON THE PUMP. FUEL WILL SPILL OUT ONTO THE GROUND, MY CLOTHES, MY HANDS AND THE SIDE OF MY JEEP. I AM NOT ATTEMPTING TO TOP OFF MY TANK WHEN THE ISSUE OCCURS, IT HAPPENS EVERY TIME I FILL MY TANK HOWEVER I HOLD THE HANDLE WHEN THE AUTO SHUT OFF ENGAGES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/3/2015 - WATERVLIET, NY
REGARDING MY 2005 JEEP WRANGLER, THIS HAS BEEN AN ONGOING ISSUE FOR THE PAST TWO YEARS OR MORE. FUEL SYSTEM/TANK OVERFLOWS WHEN ATTEMPTING TO FILL THE TANK. INSTEAD OF STOPPING, GAS SPEWS FROM THE FILL VALVE ONTO THE VEHICLE, GROUND, AND PERSON FILLING THE TANK. THIS IS NOT ONLY UNSAFE AND UNECONOMICAL, BUT BAD FOR THE ENVIRONMENT AND ONES HEALTH.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/18/2015 - IRONRIDGE, WI
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2005 JEEP WRANGLER. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, SMOKE EMITTED FROM UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS MANEUVERED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, WHERE THE ENGINE WAS TURNED OFF AND THEN THE FRONT END AND UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE IGNITED INTO FLAMES. THE CONTACT EXITED THE VEHICLE SAFELY AND NOTICED THAT THE TRANSMISSION FLUID LEAKED ONTO THE GROUND. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT EXTINGUISHED THE FLAMES AND INFORMED THE FIRE ORIGINATED WITHIN THE TRANSMISSION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/14/2015 - GILBERT, AZ
UNLESS I STOP FUELING PRIOR TO A COMPLETE FILL UP, GAS WILL SPILL OUT. I HAVE MENTIONED THIS TO A COUPLE DIFFERENT JEEP SERVICE ADVISORS AT MY LOCAL DEALERSHIPS THEY ARE NOT AWARE OF WHAT IS CAUSING IT. THIS CAN BE EXTREMELY DANGEROUS AND NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BY CHRYSLER.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 59
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds