Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP WRANGLER - 2005 JEEP WRANGLER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 528 complaints filed for the 2005 JEEP WRANGLER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 JEEP WRANGLER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 JEEP WRANGLER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (2) Steering (45) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (9) Exterior Lighting (4) Power Train (25) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Engine (2) Fuel Propulsion System (55) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (41) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (21) Fuel System Gasoline (337) Service Brakes Hydraulic (14) Tires (5) Wheels (6)
Equipment (2) Fuel System Other (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 54
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/19/2014 - ST. GEORGE, UT
GAS ERUPTS FROM FILL TUBE WHEN PUMP CLICKS OFF, SPILLING ON SIDE OF VEHICLE AND ON GROUND, HAPPENS EVERY TIME THE PUMP IS ALLOWED TO RUN UNTIL IT AUTOMATICALLY CLICKS OFF.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/19/2014 - ST. GEORGE, UT
GAS ERUPTS FROM FILL TUBE WHEN PUMP CLICKS OFF, SPILLING ON SIDE OF VEHICLE AND ON GROUND. HAPPENS WHENEVER PUMP IS ALLOWED TO RUN TILL IT AUTOMATICALLY CLICKS OFF.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/5/2014 - CHARLES TOWN, WV
WHILE FILLING UP AT A GAS STATION, THE FUEL PUMP DID NOT "AUTOMATICALLY SHUT OFF" AND SHOT ROUGHLY 1/4 GALLON OF GASOLINE OUT ON THE SIDE OF THE VEHICLE AND ON THE GROUND. THOROUGHLY CLEANED VEHICLE BUT STILL SMELT GASOLINE VAPORS INSIDE OF THE CAB FOR 30 MINUTES WITH THE WINDOW DOWN. DID SOME RESEARCH AND FOUND IT IS DUE TO THE VEHICLE'S ICV BECOMING STUCK IN THE OPEN POSITION, WHICH BUILDS PRESSURE INSIDE OF THE GAS TANK, ALLOWING THE FILLER NECK TO FILL WITH GASOLINE, AND THEN RELEASES THE PRESSURE WHICH PROPELLS THE GASOLINE OUT OF THE FILLER NECK AND ONTO THE GROUND. IN ORDER TO FIX THIS PROPLEM I MUST REPLACE THE ENTIRE GAS TANK.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/31/2014 - CHURCHVILLE, NY
MY CONTACT WITH YOU TODAY INVOLVES A FUEL SPIT BACK PROBLEM DURING REFUELING ON MY 2005 JEEP WRANGLER (TJ). I AM AWARE OF MANY BULLETINS AND RECALLS REGARDING THIS PROBLEM, MY VEHICLE IS INCLUDED IN ONE SUCH BULLETIN HOWEVER FALLS OUTSIDE OF ANY COVERAGE FOR REPAIR OF THIS PROBLEM BY THE MANUFACTURER. MY QUESTION IS; HOW CAN THE MANUFACTURER COVER REPAIRS AND PROVIDE AN EXTENDED OR IN SOME CASES A LIFETIME WARRANTY ON THIS FLAW FOR 2007 AND 2008 VEHICLES AND IGNORE ALL OF THE OTHER MODEL YEARS THAT HAVE THE SAME FLAW? THIS REPAIR WILL COST ME NEARLY ONE THOUSAND DOLLARS WHEREAS SOME PEOPLE GET THE PROBLEM RESOLVED AT NO COST TO THEM. PLEASE HELP.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/24/2014 - PHOENIX, AZ
EVERY TIME I FILL-UP, GAS BLOWS OUT OF THE FILLER NECK, ABOUT 3 TO 6 OZ.

View Details

ENGINE

3/24/2014 - DOUSMAN, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 JEEP WRANGLER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE ENGINE AND CHECK GAUGE WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE LOST ACCELERATION POWER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 76,000.

View Details

STEERING

3/18/2014 - AGUANGA, CA
THIS IS SECOND TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED; IT HAS HAPPENED TO ME AT LEAST 4 TIMES SINCE 11/30/2013. I WAS ACCELERATING, AND WHEN I HIT ABOUT 50MPH, MY LEFT TIRE HIT A SMALL POT HOLE. MY FRONT END BEGAN SHAKING VIOLENTLY; MY STEERING WHEEL WAS LITERALLY BOUNCING IN MY HANDS AND I COULD NOT ACTIVELY CONTROL THE JEEP. THE SHAKING WOULD NOT STOP UNTIL I SLOWED DOWN TO ABOUT 5 MILES PER HOUR ON A BUSY ROADWAY. I ALMOST CAUSED AN ACCIDENT. THIS JEEP HAS A SHIMMY/WOBBLE THAT OCCURS ON SOME BUMPS. SOME LEAD TO THE "DEATH WOBBLE," AND OTHERS DO NOT. THE SHAKING IS SO INTENSE THAT THE FRONT END FELT LIKE IT WAS GOING TO COME APART. I HAVE NEW TIRES, AND THE VEHICLE WAS JUST PURCHASED USED FROM THE DEALERSHIP, AFTER HAVING RECEIVED A FULL SERVICE. I TOOK IT INTO THE JEEP DEALERSHIP THAT CONFIRMED THAT EVERYTHING LOOKED OK, AND THE BUSHINGS WERE FINE.

View Details

WHEELS

3/18/2014 - AGUANGA, CA
THIS IS SECOND TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED; IT HAS HAPPENED TO ME AT LEAST 4 TIMES SINCE 11/30/2013. I WAS ACCELERATING, AND WHEN I HIT ABOUT 50MPH, MY LEFT TIRE HIT A SMALL POT HOLE. MY FRONT END BEGAN SHAKING VIOLENTLY; MY STEERING WHEEL WAS LITERALLY BOUNCING IN MY HANDS AND I COULD NOT ACTIVELY CONTROL THE JEEP. THE SHAKING WOULD NOT STOP UNTIL I SLOWED DOWN TO ABOUT 5 MILES PER HOUR ON A BUSY ROADWAY. I ALMOST CAUSED AN ACCIDENT. THIS JEEP HAS A SHIMMY/WOBBLE THAT OCCURS ON SOME BUMPS. SOME LEAD TO THE "DEATH WOBBLE," AND OTHERS DO NOT. THE SHAKING IS SO INTENSE THAT THE FRONT END FELT LIKE IT WAS GOING TO COME APART. I HAVE NEW TIRES, AND THE VEHICLE WAS JUST PURCHASED USED FROM THE DEALERSHIP, AFTER HAVING RECEIVED A FULL SERVICE. I TOOK IT INTO THE JEEP DEALERSHIP THAT CONFIRMED THAT EVERYTHING LOOKED OK, AND THE BUSHINGS WERE FINE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/18/2014 - AGUANGA, CA
THIS IS SECOND TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED; IT HAS HAPPENED TO ME AT LEAST 4 TIMES SINCE 11/30/2013. I WAS ACCELERATING, AND WHEN I HIT ABOUT 50MPH, MY LEFT TIRE HIT A SMALL POT HOLE. MY FRONT END BEGAN SHAKING VIOLENTLY; MY STEERING WHEEL WAS LITERALLY BOUNCING IN MY HANDS AND I COULD NOT ACTIVELY CONTROL THE JEEP. THE SHAKING WOULD NOT STOP UNTIL I SLOWED DOWN TO ABOUT 5 MILES PER HOUR ON A BUSY ROADWAY. I ALMOST CAUSED AN ACCIDENT. THIS JEEP HAS A SHIMMY/WOBBLE THAT OCCURS ON SOME BUMPS. SOME LEAD TO THE "DEATH WOBBLE," AND OTHERS DO NOT. THE SHAKING IS SO INTENSE THAT THE FRONT END FELT LIKE IT WAS GOING TO COME APART. I HAVE NEW TIRES, AND THE VEHICLE WAS JUST PURCHASED USED FROM THE DEALERSHIP, AFTER HAVING RECEIVED A FULL SERVICE. I TOOK IT INTO THE JEEP DEALERSHIP THAT CONFIRMED THAT EVERYTHING LOOKED OK, AND THE BUSHINGS WERE FINE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/17/2014 - HUNTSVILLE, AL
WHEN REFUELING, ONCE THE FUEL TANK IS FULL THE SERVICE STATION FUEL SUPPLY HOSE NOZZLE CLICKS OFF, THEN A SURGE OF FUEL EXPELS FROM THE JEEP FUEL TANK FILL PORT SPLASHING ONTO THE VEHICLE EXTERIOR, ONTO MYSELF, AND ONTO THE GROUND. THIS IS A SERIOUS FIRE HAZARD. IT APPEARS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE JEEP WRANGLER ACROSS MANY YEARS, WITH NO RESOLUTION TO DATE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 54
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds