Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP WRANGLER - 2005 JEEP WRANGLER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 612 complaints filed for the 2005 JEEP WRANGLER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 JEEP WRANGLER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 JEEP WRANGLER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment (2) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (14) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (13) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (2) Steering (54) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (30) Structure (7) Visibility (6)
Engine (12) Fuel Propulsion System (92) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (50) Wheels (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Fuel System Gasoline (352) Service Brakes (2) Tires (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 62
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

6/16/2017 - LAKE CITY, CO
JULY 2016 - 83,000 MI. -FAILURE OF OIL PUMP GEAR DRIVE. REPAIRED BY JEEP DEALER IN MONTROSE, CO. JUNE 2017 - 88,000 MI. - OIL PUMP GEAR DRIVE FAILED AGAIN, THIS TIME CAM SHAFT GEAR DRIVE ALSO FAILED REQUIRING A MAJOR ENGINE OVERHAUL. REPAIRED BY JEEP DEALER IN MONTROSE, CO. RESEARCHING ON INTERNET I DISCOVERED THIS IS A REOCCURRING PROBLEM WITH THIS VEHICLE. A RECALL WAS ISSUED BY JEEP/CHRYSLER FOR A LIMITED NUMBER OF VIN NUMBERS BUT THERE ARE MANY COMPLAINTS OUTSIDE OF THEIR RECALL RANGE, INCLUDING MINE. I CONTACTED CHRYSLER WARRANTY DEPT BUT THEY REFUSE TO MAKE AN EXCEPTION.

View Details

ENGINE

6/7/2017 - GERMANTOWN, WI
I WAS DRIVING MY JEEP TO WORK ON SUNDAY JUNE 4TH GOING APPROXIMATELY 35MPH WHEN MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND CHECK GAUGES LIGHT CAME ON AND I HAD NO OIL PRESSURE AND IT WAS MAKING A HORRIBLE NOISE FROM THE ENGINE BAY SO I IMMEDIATELY SHUT THE VEHICLE OFF. AFTER DOING SOME RESEARCH I HAD FOUND THAT THERE WAS AN E05 RECALL ON 2005 AND 2006 JEEPS FOR THE CAMSHAFT SYNCHRONIZER, CAMSHAFT GEAR AND OIL PUMP DRIVE ASSEMBLY. THE RECALL COVERS ALL JEEPS WITH THE 8TH CARACTER OF THE VIN BEING LETTER S WHICH MINE IS AND THEY ALSO COVER SPECIFIC BUILD DATES AND MY JEEP FALLS 1 MONTH SHORT OF THOSE DATES BUT I AM EXPERIENCING ALL THE SAME PROBLEMS AS OTHERS. I HAD CALLED CHRYSLER AND THEY ARE MAKING A CASE FOR ME BUT SAID IT IS NOT CERTAIN THAT ANYTHING CAN BE DONE AND THAT I SHOULD FILE ON NHTSA AS WELL. I AM VERY DISSAPOINTED AS WELL BECAUSE MY 2005 JEEP WRANGLER ONLY HAS 88K MILES ON IT AND ID LIKE TO GET ALOT MORE LIFE OUT OF IT

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/30/2017 - PITTSBURGH, PA
WHEN PUTTING GAS INTO THE JEEP, THE NOZZLE DOES NOT AUTOMATICALLY SHUT OFF AND GAS OVERFLOWS OUT OF THE GAS LINE (AT THE POINT WHERE THE CAP GOES ON).

View Details

ENGINE

3/31/2017 - POTTSVILLE, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 JEEP WRANGLER. WHILE DRIVING, THE RPMS WOULD NOT INCREASE PAST 3,000 RPMS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE OIL PUMP DRIVE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 57,201.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/7/2017 - CARMEL, IN
WHEN FILLING UP THE GAS TANK, GASOLINE ROUTINELY BACK FLOWS AS IT GETS FULL. THIS CAUSES GASOLINE TO SPILL OVER THE FUEL FILLER DOOR AND DOWN THE SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. I HAVE HAD THE VEHICLE FOR THREE YEARS AND SINCE 51K MILES WERE ON IT. THIS ALWAYS HAPPENS WHEN REFUELING.

View Details

ENGINE

12/22/2016 - GRAYSON, KY
THIS SPECIFIC PART WAS RECALLED ELEVEN OR SO YEARS AGO. SINCE THAT TIME, THE SAME PART HAS BEEN REPLACED 6 TIMES. ONE TIME REQUIRING A TOTAL ENGINE OVERHAUL. UPON RESEARCHING THIS PART, I HAVE FOUND THAT THERE ARE MANY COMPLAINTS WITH THE FAILURE OF THIS SAME MODEL YEAR OF JEEP WRANGLERS AND THIS PART (OIL PUMP DRIVE). WE HAVE POURED OVER $5000 INTO THIS VEHICLE DUE TO THIS PART AND WE STILL HAVE A VEHICLE THAT DOES NOT RUN. I HAVE CALLED JEEP THREE TIMES NOW AND THEY HAVE NO ADVICE FOR ME OR OFFER OF ASSISTANCE FOR THIS PART. ENGINE LOCKED UP WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY.

View Details

ENGINE

12/20/2016 - EAST HAMPTON, CT
THIS IS AN UPDATE TO NHTSA COMPLAINT 10919983 - REGARDING CHRYLSER E05 CAMPAIGN CAMSHAFT REPLACEMENT - I STILL NEED A NEW CAMSHAFT BUT HAVE PERFORMED A TEMPORARY FIX IN REPLACING THE OPDA. THE NEW GEAR ON THE OPDA HAS PREVENTED ENOUGH WEAR GAP FOR THE ENGINE TO NOT GO INTO LIMP MODE AND WILL START IMMEDIATELY WHEN TEMPS ARE UNDER 40 DEGREES F. I STILL NEED A NEW CAMSHAFT TO COMPLETE THIS FIX. I MAY TRY THE CHRYSLER CUSTOMER SERVICE TO RESOLVE, BUT THE E05 RECALL DOES NOT COVER MY MANUFACTURE DATE AND THE CAMPAIGN HAS BEEN CLOSED. I AM STUCK WITH A USED LEMON! BUYER BEWARE OF THIS MODEL YEAR, THERE IS A CAMSHAFT GEAR ISSUE THAT WILL PREVENT ENGINE TIMING TO RUN CORRECTLY AND ABILITY TO PASS EMISSIONS! CODES P340 AND P344 PLUS ENGINE WILL NOT REV BEYOND 2500RPM (LIMP MODE) ARE THE TELL TALE SIGNS. A NEW OPDA IS WORTH A TRY TEMPORARY FIX $80. BUT DO NOT BUY THIS YEAR OR 2004, 2006 WITHOUT CHECKING IF CAMSHAFT HAS BEEN REPLACED, OR PLAN ON DOING SOME MAJOR ENGINE WORK/ENGINE REBUILD.

View Details

STEERING

12/20/2016 - EAST HAMPTON, CT
THIS IS AN UPDATE TO NHTSA COMPLAINT 10919986 - DEATH WOBBLE, I HAVE REPLACED THE STOCK STEERING DAMPER AND ADDED AN ADDITIONAL STEERING DAMPER FOR THE DRIVER SIDE STEERING ROD. THIS HAS RESOLVED THE REPORTED DEATH WOBBLE WHEN DRIVING OVER 50 MPH. ROD DEFLECTION HAS BEEN PREVENTED BY ADDING THE DRIVER SIDE DAMPER. PLEASE MAKE THIS AVAILABLE AS A SOLUTION. I SEE MANY PEOPLE HAVE SPENT WELL OVER $1,000 FOR NEW SUSPENSION PARTS ETC. THIS IS A $60 STEERING DAMPER SHOCK FIX!! PLEASE PASS ALONG. I SHOCKED THIS IS NOT OBVIOUS AT THE DEALER, THE DRIVER STEERING ROD IS LONG AND WILL HAVE DEFLECTION AT HIGH SPEED/BUMPS, LIKE A TUNING FORK.

View Details

STEERING

10/29/2016 - EAST HAMPTON, CT
JEEP DEATH WOBBLE - MINE TOO, OVER 50 MPH, RANDOM WOBBLE OTHER TIMES DRIVES SMOOTH, BUMPS DO INITIATE IT NOT ALWAYS THOUGH, READ ALL THE COMPLAINTS ON NHTSA, STABILIZER IS KEY TO RESOLVING THE ISSUE AND STEERING DAMPER. I BELIEVE THIS DESIGN PROMOTES ACCELERATED WEAR OF THESE PARTS WHICH IS WHY THERE ARE REPORTS OF IT COMING BACK AFTER A YEAR OR SO. I'M SURPRISED THERE IS NO DEALER FIX FOR THIS, ADMITTING THE NEED FOR HEAVIER STEERING COMPONENTS. I'LL BE GETTING AFTER MARKET HEAVY DUTY JUST TO DRIVE ON THE STREET. THE FUEL ISSUE IS ANOTHER ONE THAT SHOULD BE RECALLED, HAD TO GO THROUGH 300 PLUS ENTRIES HERE TO FIND ANSWERS TO THE OPDA PROBLEM. MINE HAS NOT STARTED WITH THE FUEL ISSUE BUT AT LEAST I WILL KNOW WHAT IT IS WHEN IT DOES OCCUR.

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/29/2016 - EAST HAMPTON, CT
JEEP DEATH WOBBLE - MINE TOO, OVER 50 MPH, RANDOM WOBBLE OTHER TIMES DRIVES SMOOTH, BUMPS DO INITIATE IT NOT ALWAYS THOUGH, READ ALL THE COMPLAINTS ON NHTSA, STABILIZER IS KEY TO RESOLVING THE ISSUE AND STEERING DAMPER. I BELIEVE THIS DESIGN PROMOTES ACCELERATED WEAR OF THESE PARTS WHICH IS WHY THERE ARE REPORTS OF IT COMING BACK AFTER A YEAR OR SO. I'M SURPRISED THERE IS NO DEALER FIX FOR THIS, ADMITTING THE NEED FOR HEAVIER STEERING COMPONENTS. I'LL BE GETTING AFTER MARKET HEAVY DUTY JUST TO DRIVE ON THE STREET. THE FUEL ISSUE IS ANOTHER ONE THAT SHOULD BE RECALLED, HAD TO GO THROUGH 300 PLUS ENTRIES HERE TO FIND ANSWERS TO THE OPDA PROBLEM. MINE HAS NOT STARTED WITH THE FUEL ISSUE BUT AT LEAST I WILL KNOW WHAT IT IS WHEN IT DOES OCCUR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 62
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds