Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP WRANGLER - 2005 JEEP WRANGLER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 627 complaints filed for the 2005 JEEP WRANGLER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 JEEP WRANGLER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 JEEP WRANGLER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Equipment (2) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (14) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electrical System (16) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (2) Steering (55) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (33) Structure (7) Visibility (6)
Engine (13) Fuel Propulsion System (97) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (51) Wheels (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Fuel System Gasoline (352) Service Brakes (3) Tires (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 63
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/26/2018 - ROCHESTER, IL
005-2006 JEEP WRANGLERS ARE INCURRING AN APPARENT LARGE NUMBER OF PCM/ECU FAILURES (AS EVIDENCED IN MANY ONLINE FORUMS AND A HIGH BACKLOG OF PCM ORDERS WHICH JEEP/CHRYSLER IS UNABLE TO FILL OR PROVIDE AN ETA FOR). THE FAILURE OF THE PCM REVEALS ITSELF IN MANY WAYS INCLUDING EMISSIONS SYSTEM FAILURES (AND RESULTANT VEHICLE INSPECTION FAILURES I WILL ADD), TRANSMISSIONS FAILING TO SHIFT, HARD FORCEFUL TRANSMISSION SHIFTS WITH VEHICLE LUNGES AND MORE. ON MY VEHICLE SPECIFICALLY THE TRANSMISSION CODES ARE COMING ON AND THE VEHICLE WILL RANDOMLY NOT SHIFT OUT OF SECOND GEAR AND RANDOMLY SHIFTS TO NEUTRAL WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS AND PRESENTS ITSELF AS A SAFETY HAZARD WHEN ENTERING HIGH SPEED FREEWAYS AND INTERSTATES. TO THE PCM AND FURTHER ONLINE INVESTIGATION INDICATES THIS A FREQUENT AND RECURRING ISSUE. WHEN I ATTEMPTED TO REPLACE THE PCM THROUGH JEEP/CHRYSLER I AM UNABLE TO BECAUSE THE PART IS BA CKLOGGED. I HAVE PLACED A PRICEY $1600 ORDER FOR THE PART BUT THUS FAR OVER 3 MONTHS MY VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN ABLE TO OBTAIN A WORKING REPLACEMENT PART BASED ON THE LARGE NUMBER AND TYPE OF ISSUES REPORTED ONLINE WITH THIS PCM I AM LEFT WONDERING WHY IT IS NOT A SAFETY, EMISSIONS AND/OR RECALL ISSUE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/5/2018 - NAVARRE, FL
EVERY TIME I FILL THE VEHICLE WITH GASOLINE, WHEN THE PUMP SHUTS OFF A LARGE AMOUNT OF GASOLINE +BURPS+ OUT AND ONTO THE GROUND. THIS IS DUE TO A FAULTY CHECK VALVE INSTALLED FROM THE FACTORY THAT STOPS WORKING BECAUSE OF THE ETHANOL IN THE FUEL. JEEP HAS RECALLED LATER WRANGLERS FOR THIS SAME ISSUE BUT LEFT US 2005-2006 OWNERS STUCK WITH THE ISSUE. THIS IS A SAFETY, HEALTH, AND ENVIRONMENTAL HAZARD. I WILL BE GLAD TO SEND YOU A VIDEO OF THIS HAPPENING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/27/2018 - STRATFORD, NJ
GAS TANK OVERFLOW. ANYTIME I FILL MY TANK, A LARGE AMOUNT OF GASOLINE SHOOTS BACK OUT OF THE TANK, DRIPPING DOWN THE SIDE OF MY CAR, AND OFTEN SPLASHING ME OR GAS ATTENDANT. NOT ONLY IS THIS DANGEROUS, IT IS ALSO DAMAGING THE PLASTIC AND PAINT ON MY CAR, AS WELL AS WASTING GAS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/19/2018 - FARMINGTON HILLS, MI
I HAVE NOTICED THAT ALMOST EVERY MANUFATURER IS RECALLING AIR BAGS FROM YEARS 2002 AND UP, I CALLED CHRYSLER AND THEY SAID THE VEHICLE IS TOO OLD AND NOT ENOUGH OF THEM ARE STILL AROUND, WHICH IS NOT TRUE. THERE ARE LOTS OF OLDER JEEPS STILL IN SERVICE AS OFF ROAD VEHICLES, BUT MINE IS A DAILY DRIVE VEHICLE. HOW DO I KNOW IF MINE WILL WORK WHEN NEEDED? KNOCK ON WOOD IT WILL NEVER BE NEEDED, BUT I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW I'M SAFE WITH MY FAMILY. MY 2005 WRANGLER IS STRONG

View Details

TIRES

12/8/2017 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
I BOUGHT 4 NEW TIRES FROM DISCOUNT TIRE IN JACKSONVILLE FLORIDA. THEY ARE P235/75 R15 108S XL OWL PTF PATHFINDER SPORT SAT. I PAID $100 FOR EACH TIRE ON AUGUST 22, 2015 (NOT INCLUDING COST OF INSTALLATION, LIFETIME BALANCING, ETC) AND THEY WERE SUPPOSED TO COME WITH A 60,000 MILE WARRANTY. CURRENTLY THEY HAVE LESS THAN 28,000 MILES ON THEM AND HAVE EXTREMELY IRREGULAR WEAR. I HAVE HAD NUMEROUS FLATS AND LOSS OF PRESSURE OVER THE PAST 24 MONTHS. I SPOKE TO CHARLES (THE MANAGER OF THE TIRE STORE) WHEN I WAS IN THERE WITH MY 3RD FLAT IN 2 MONTHS ON DECEMBER 4TH, 2017. I EXPRESSED MY DISPLEASURE AT HAVING SO MANY ISSUES WITH RELATIVELY NEW TIRES. CHARLES RESPONDED THAT MY TROUBLE IS BECAUSE OF THE RECENT HURRICANES...AND I SHOULD HAVE BOUGHT MICHELIN TIRES! THESE TIRES ARE EXTREMELY INFERIOR QUALITY PRODUCTS, BUT HE SAYS IT'S NORMAL WEAR FOR THESE TIRES. CAN YOU HELP?

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/24/2017 - NEDERLAND, TX
WHILE FILLING WITH FUEL, IT WILL SPIT FUEL BACK OUT AND WILL NOT FILL WITH GAS PROPERLY. HAVE TRIED GOING AS SLOW AS POSSIBLE ON THE FUEL LEVER WHILE FUELING AND WILL STILL SPIT GAS BACK OUT LIKE THERE IS A PROBLEM IN THE FUEL FILLER HOSE AND FLAP INSIDE IT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/8/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
2005-2006 JEEP WRANGLERS ARE INCURRING AN APPARENT LARGE NUMBER OF PCM/ECU FAILURES (AS EVIDENCED IN MANY ONLINE FORUMS AND A HIGH BACKLOG OF PCM ORDERS WHICH JEEP/CHRYSLER IS UNABLE TO FILL OR PROVIDE AN ETA FOR). THE FAILURE OF THE PCM REVEALS ITSELF IN MANY WAYS INCLUDING EMISSIONS SYSTEM FAILURES (AND RESULTANT VEHICLE INSPECTION FAILURES I WILL ADD), TRANSMISSIONS FAILING TO SHIFT, HARD FORCEFUL TRANSMISSION SHIFTS WITH VEHICLE LUNGES AND MORE. ON MY VEHICLE SPECIFICALLY THE O2 SENSOR CODES ARE COMING ON AND THE VEHICLE WILL RANDOMLY NOT SHIFT OUT OF SECOND GEAR WHICH PRESENTS ITSELF AS A SAFETY HAZARD WHEN ENTERING HIGH SPEED FREEWAYS AND INTERSTATES. THE O2 SENSORS WERE REPLACED NEW WITH OEM PARTS AND THE CODES DID NOT GO AWAY. THE FAULT WAS TRACED BY A REPUTABLE MECHANIC (CHRISTIAN BROTHERS AUTOMOTIVE) TO THE PCM AND FURTHER ONLINE INVESTIGATION INDICATES THIS A FREQUENT AND RECURRING ISSUE. WHEN I ATTEMPTED TO REPLACE THE PCM THROUGH JEEP/CHRYSLER I AM UNABLE TO BECAUSE THE PART IS BACKLOGGED. I HAVE PLACED A PRICEY $1600 ORDER FOR THE PART BUT THUS FAR (1 WEEK) I HAVE NOT BEEN PROVIDED WITH AN ETA OR ANY ANSWERS AS TO WHY THIS DESIGN DEFECT HAS NOT BEEN ADDRESSED. BASED ON THE LARGE NUMBER AND TYPE OF ISSUES REPORTED ONLINE WITH THIS PCM I AM LEFT WONDERING WHY IT IS NOT A SAFETY, EMISSIONS AND/OR RECALL ISSUE. MY SPECIFIC PCM PN IS R6044529AC BUT MULTIPLE VARIATIONS OF THE PN APPEAR TO BE EFFECTED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/10/2017 - NEW YORK, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 JEEP WRANGLER. WHILE PULLING INTO A PARKING SPACE, THE BRAKE PEDAL EXTENDED TO THE FLOORBOARD WHILE ATTEMPTING TO STOP THE VEHICLE. DURING THE INCIDENT, THE BRAKE SENSOR INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE DRIVER HAD TO ENGAGE THE PARKING BRAKE TO STOP THE VEHICLE. UPON INSPECTION, IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT BRAKE FLUID HAD LEAKED NEAR THE REAR DRIVER'S SIDE WHEEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE REAR DRIVER'S SIDE WHEEL BRAKE CYLINDER FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER AND LOCAL DEALER (BAYSIDE CHRYSLER/JEEP IN QUEENS, NY) WERE NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE, BUT NO ASSISTANCE WAS OFFERED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 151,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/9/2017 - FRANKLIN, NC
THE 2005 JEEP WRANGLER SPORT WAS A TOTAL LOSS AFTER IT CAUGHT ON FIRE AND SEVERELY DAMAGED THE ENGINE AND THE INSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. IT JUST HAD THE TRANSMISSION REPLACED THE DAY BEFORE THE INCIDENT. THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO DEMONSTRATE TRANSMISSION ISSUES DESPITE THE NEW TRANSMISSION (INCLUDING DIFFICULTY SHIFTING AND A LOSS OF POWER WHILE GOING UPHILL). WHILE DRIVING UPHILL, THE VEHICLE'S TRANSMISSION SLIPPED AND SMOKE STARTED POURING OUT OF THE ENGINE. THE DRIVER IMMEDIATELY PUT IT IN PARK AND TURNED OFF THE ENGINE. THE DRIVER RAN FROM THE VEHICLE AND SAW THAT THERE WAS A FIRE UNDERNEATH THE CAR - NEAR THE TRANSMISSION PAN. THE ENTIRE VEHICLE WENT UP IN FLAMES WITHIN 2 MINUTES. UNFORTUNATELY, IT WAS A TOTAL LOSS BY THE TIME THE FIRE DEPARTMENT ARRIVED TO PUT OUT THE FIRE. AN INVESTIGATION WILL BE COMPLETED TO DETERMINE IF A TRANSMISSION FLUID LEAK CAUSED THE FIRE. THE JEEP WRANGLER WAS A RIGHT HAND DRIVE THAT WAS BEING USED ON THE MAIL ROUTE THE DAY THAT THE FIRE OCCURRED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/26/2017 - FAIRHOPE, AL
CATALYTIC CONVERTER: WAS DRIVING AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WENT ON, VEHICLE BEGAN 'CHUGGING' AS THOUGH NOT GETTING ENOUGH FUEL. SMELLED GASOLINE. CALLED JEEP DEALER IN FLORIDA AND WAS ADVISED TO LET ENGINE COOL, THEN DRIVE TO LOCAL DEALER SINCE IT SOUNDED AS THOUGH THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. STATED THIS AS NORMAL FOR THE MILEAGE. EMISSIONS WARRANTY VALID. (WAS STATIONED IN NAPLES, ITALY.) JEEP DEALER IN NAPLES ADVISED HE WOULD NOT HONOR ANY WARRANTY AND WOULD NOT FIX UNTIL I PAID HIM 1K EUROS. OVERSEAS MILITARY CAR SALES GOT INVOLVED AND SAID NOT TO WORRY ABOUT IT: WORK WOULD BE DONE AND COVERED BY WARRANTY. DEALER PULLED ENTIRE EMISSIONS SYSTEM OUT AND REPLACED IT, THEN REFUSED TO RELEASE VEHICLE FOR 30 DAYS UNTIL I PAID THE 1K EUROS. DEALER STATED HE DID NOT HAVE TO HONOR WARRANTY ON A US-REGISTERED VEHICLE BECAUSE FIATCHRYSLER PAID HIM LESS THAN HE COULD GET FROM ME. THREATENED TO IMPOUND VEHICLE. FIATCHRYSLER REFUSED TO ASSIST ALTHOUGH DEALER WAS NOT AUTHORIZED TO PULL/REPLACE SYSTEM UNLESS COVERED BY WARRANTY. FLORIDA DEALER AND SELLING DEALER IN WA STATE ADVISED THAT IF WE COULD HAVE GOTTEN THE VEHICLE HOME, IT WOULD HAVE BEEN A WARRANTY REPLACEMENT WITHOUT ANY PROBLEMS BECAUSE IT WAS A COMMON ISSUE AT THIS MILEAGE (53K).

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 63
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds