Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP WRANGLER - 2005 JEEP WRANGLER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 554 complaints filed for the 2005 JEEP WRANGLER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 JEEP WRANGLER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 JEEP WRANGLER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (2) Steering (47) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (13) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (25) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Engine (2) Fuel Propulsion System (63) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (45) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (21) Fuel System Gasoline (346) Service Brakes (1) Tires (6) Wheels (7)
Equipment (2) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (14)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 56
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/16/2014 - THORNTON, CO
EVERY TIME I FILL MY GAS TANK, THE FUEL "BURPS" BACK AND ANYWHERE FROM ONE TO TWO QUARTS OF GAS IS SPILLED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/10/2014 - CANTON, GA
I OWN A 2005 JEEP WRANGLER UNLIMITED (LJ) THAT I PURCHASED IN MARCH OF THIS YEAR. FROM DAY 1, LIKE MANY OTHERS, WHEN I FILL THE VEHICLE'S FUEL TANK, THE PUMP WILL NOT SHUT OFF, CAUSING FUEL TO SPRAY / SPILL OUT AND RUN DOWN THE BODY ONTO THE GROUND. THIS IS OBVIOUSLY A FIRE AND ENVIRONMENTAL HAZARD AND NEEDS TO BE CHECKED INTO. DON'T EVEN GET ME STARTED ON THE DEATH WOBBLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/18/2014 - HONOLULU, HI
DURING FILL UP OF THE FUEL TANK, FUEL SPRAYS OUT OF THE FILLER HOLE RESULTING IN A HEATH HAZARD, FIRE HAZARD, & ENVIRONMENTAL HAZARD. THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED!

View Details

TIRES: PRESSURE MONITORING AND REGULATING SYSTEMS

11/6/2014 - OIL CITY , PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 JEEP WRANGLER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ALL FOUR TIRE PRESSURE SENSOR VALVE STEMS WERE CRACKED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT ALL FOUR TIRES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 22,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/16/2014 - MONROEVILLE, PA
FOG LIGHTS WOULD NOT SHUT OFF, HAD TO PULL FUSE. MECHANIC FOUND LEFT SIDE MULTI FUNCTION SWITCH HAD AN INTERNAL DEFECT AND THE CONNECTOR WAS MELTED AT THE SWITCH. BOTH THE SWITCH AND THE CONNECTOR HAD TO BE REPLACED. CONCERNED THAT THIS A POTENTIAL FIRE HAZARD.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

10/16/2014 - MONROEVILLE, PA
FOG LIGHTS WOULD NOT SHUT OFF, HAD TO PULL FUSE. MECHANIC FOUND LEFT SIDE MULTI FUNCTION SWITCH HAD AN INTERNAL DEFECT AND THE CONNECTOR WAS MELTED AT THE SWITCH. BOTH THE SWITCH AND THE CONNECTOR HAD TO BE REPLACED. CONCERNED THAT THIS A POTENTIAL FIRE HAZARD.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/14/2014 - GRAND BLANC, MI
WHEN FILLING UP THE TANK, THE SHUTOFF DOES NOT WORK AT ANY GAS STATION. THE FUEL SHOOTS OUT OF THE TANK. THIS IS HIGHLY DANGEROUS AND RESULTS IN ME NOT BEING ABLE TO FILL UP MY VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, I WORRY THAT THE SHUTOFF WOULD NOT WORK IN CASE OF ROLLOVER.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/16/2014 - OCEAN, NJ
HAPPENS PERIODICALLY, NO FOREWARNINGS JUST HAPPENS, ALWAYS WHEN GOING SLOW OR REVERSING LIKE TO PARK OR BACK INTO PARKING SPOT.....UNINTENDED ACCELERATION....SCARES THE BEJEBERS OUT OF THE PERSON DRIVING, SINCE YOU NEVER KNOW WHEN IT'S GONNA HAPPEN.....I BOUGHT THE JEEP USED (LIKE MAYBE A YEAR OLD) WITH 14,--- MILES ON IT...NOW HAVE ABOUT 52,--- MILES ON IT....ALL STREET DRIVING, NO OFF ROAD DRIVING..HAS HAPPENED FROM THE BEGINNING WHEN I BOUGHT IT...

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/22/2014 - SUMMERVILLE, SC
TURNED MY JEEP ON AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, SENTRY KEY LIGHT, FUEL LIGHT CAME ON AND FUEL GAUGE WENT TO 0, JEEP RAN FOR APPROX 30SEC AND SHUT OFF. FUSES WERE CHECKED, NOTHING FOUND OUT OF PLACE. TRIED IT AGAIN, SAME THING HAPPENED. WAS TOWED TO DEALERSHIP TO CHECK AND FIX. WAS INFORMED THAT THE MAIN WIRING HARNESS NEAR AN O2 SENSOR WAS "FRIED" AND THAT WIRES WERE FUSED AND MELTED TOGETHER. GRANTED, MY JEEP IS 9 YEARS OLD, BUT THIS IS A DESIGN ISSUE, NOT A WEAR AND TEAR ISSUE. WHY WOULD WIRING BE PLACED CLOSE ENOUGH TO A HEAT SOURCE TO WHERE IT'S ABLE TO CATCH FIRE AND FUSE TOGETHER?

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/5/2014 - MORRISON, CO
TL * THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 JEEP WRANGLER. WHILE DRIVING BETWEEN 50-65 MPH, THE ENTIRE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO MOVE UP AND DOWN UNCONTROLLABLY. THE CONTACT HAD TO DEPRESS THE BRAKE PEDAL IN ORDER FOR THE FAILURE TO CEASE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC SPECULATED THAT THE STEERING STABILIZER, BALL JOINTS, BRAKES, OR CONTROL ARMS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 79,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 56
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds