Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP WRANGLER - 2005 JEEP WRANGLER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 608 complaints filed for the 2005 JEEP WRANGLER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 JEEP WRANGLER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 JEEP WRANGLER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment (2) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (14) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (13) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (2) Steering (54) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (30) Structure (7) Visibility (6)
Engine (9) Fuel Propulsion System (91) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (50) Wheels (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Fuel System Gasoline (352) Service Brakes (2) Tires (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 61
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/7/2017 - CARMEL, IN
WHEN FILLING UP THE GAS TANK, GASOLINE ROUTINELY BACK FLOWS AS IT GETS FULL. THIS CAUSES GASOLINE TO SPILL OVER THE FUEL FILLER DOOR AND DOWN THE SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. I HAVE HAD THE VEHICLE FOR THREE YEARS AND SINCE 51K MILES WERE ON IT. THIS ALWAYS HAPPENS WHEN REFUELING.

View Details

ENGINE

12/22/2016 - GRAYSON, KY
THIS SPECIFIC PART WAS RECALLED ELEVEN OR SO YEARS AGO. SINCE THAT TIME, THE SAME PART HAS BEEN REPLACED 6 TIMES. ONE TIME REQUIRING A TOTAL ENGINE OVERHAUL. UPON RESEARCHING THIS PART, I HAVE FOUND THAT THERE ARE MANY COMPLAINTS WITH THE FAILURE OF THIS SAME MODEL YEAR OF JEEP WRANGLERS AND THIS PART (OIL PUMP DRIVE). WE HAVE POURED OVER $5000 INTO THIS VEHICLE DUE TO THIS PART AND WE STILL HAVE A VEHICLE THAT DOES NOT RUN. I HAVE CALLED JEEP THREE TIMES NOW AND THEY HAVE NO ADVICE FOR ME OR OFFER OF ASSISTANCE FOR THIS PART. ENGINE LOCKED UP WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY.

View Details

ENGINE

12/20/2016 - EAST HAMPTON, CT
THIS IS AN UPDATE TO NHTSA COMPLAINT 10919983 - REGARDING CHRYLSER E05 CAMPAIGN CAMSHAFT REPLACEMENT - I STILL NEED A NEW CAMSHAFT BUT HAVE PERFORMED A TEMPORARY FIX IN REPLACING THE OPDA. THE NEW GEAR ON THE OPDA HAS PREVENTED ENOUGH WEAR GAP FOR THE ENGINE TO NOT GO INTO LIMP MODE AND WILL START IMMEDIATELY WHEN TEMPS ARE UNDER 40 DEGREES F. I STILL NEED A NEW CAMSHAFT TO COMPLETE THIS FIX. I MAY TRY THE CHRYSLER CUSTOMER SERVICE TO RESOLVE, BUT THE E05 RECALL DOES NOT COVER MY MANUFACTURE DATE AND THE CAMPAIGN HAS BEEN CLOSED. I AM STUCK WITH A USED LEMON! BUYER BEWARE OF THIS MODEL YEAR, THERE IS A CAMSHAFT GEAR ISSUE THAT WILL PREVENT ENGINE TIMING TO RUN CORRECTLY AND ABILITY TO PASS EMISSIONS! CODES P340 AND P344 PLUS ENGINE WILL NOT REV BEYOND 2500RPM (LIMP MODE) ARE THE TELL TALE SIGNS. A NEW OPDA IS WORTH A TRY TEMPORARY FIX $80. BUT DO NOT BUY THIS YEAR OR 2004, 2006 WITHOUT CHECKING IF CAMSHAFT HAS BEEN REPLACED, OR PLAN ON DOING SOME MAJOR ENGINE WORK/ENGINE REBUILD.

View Details

STEERING

12/20/2016 - EAST HAMPTON, CT
THIS IS AN UPDATE TO NHTSA COMPLAINT 10919986 - DEATH WOBBLE, I HAVE REPLACED THE STOCK STEERING DAMPER AND ADDED AN ADDITIONAL STEERING DAMPER FOR THE DRIVER SIDE STEERING ROD. THIS HAS RESOLVED THE REPORTED DEATH WOBBLE WHEN DRIVING OVER 50 MPH. ROD DEFLECTION HAS BEEN PREVENTED BY ADDING THE DRIVER SIDE DAMPER. PLEASE MAKE THIS AVAILABLE AS A SOLUTION. I SEE MANY PEOPLE HAVE SPENT WELL OVER $1,000 FOR NEW SUSPENSION PARTS ETC. THIS IS A $60 STEERING DAMPER SHOCK FIX!! PLEASE PASS ALONG. I SHOCKED THIS IS NOT OBVIOUS AT THE DEALER, THE DRIVER STEERING ROD IS LONG AND WILL HAVE DEFLECTION AT HIGH SPEED/BUMPS, LIKE A TUNING FORK.

View Details

STEERING

10/29/2016 - EAST HAMPTON, CT
JEEP DEATH WOBBLE - MINE TOO, OVER 50 MPH, RANDOM WOBBLE OTHER TIMES DRIVES SMOOTH, BUMPS DO INITIATE IT NOT ALWAYS THOUGH, READ ALL THE COMPLAINTS ON NHTSA, STABILIZER IS KEY TO RESOLVING THE ISSUE AND STEERING DAMPER. I BELIEVE THIS DESIGN PROMOTES ACCELERATED WEAR OF THESE PARTS WHICH IS WHY THERE ARE REPORTS OF IT COMING BACK AFTER A YEAR OR SO. I'M SURPRISED THERE IS NO DEALER FIX FOR THIS, ADMITTING THE NEED FOR HEAVIER STEERING COMPONENTS. I'LL BE GETTING AFTER MARKET HEAVY DUTY JUST TO DRIVE ON THE STREET. THE FUEL ISSUE IS ANOTHER ONE THAT SHOULD BE RECALLED, HAD TO GO THROUGH 300 PLUS ENTRIES HERE TO FIND ANSWERS TO THE OPDA PROBLEM. MINE HAS NOT STARTED WITH THE FUEL ISSUE BUT AT LEAST I WILL KNOW WHAT IT IS WHEN IT DOES OCCUR.

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/29/2016 - EAST HAMPTON, CT
JEEP DEATH WOBBLE - MINE TOO, OVER 50 MPH, RANDOM WOBBLE OTHER TIMES DRIVES SMOOTH, BUMPS DO INITIATE IT NOT ALWAYS THOUGH, READ ALL THE COMPLAINTS ON NHTSA, STABILIZER IS KEY TO RESOLVING THE ISSUE AND STEERING DAMPER. I BELIEVE THIS DESIGN PROMOTES ACCELERATED WEAR OF THESE PARTS WHICH IS WHY THERE ARE REPORTS OF IT COMING BACK AFTER A YEAR OR SO. I'M SURPRISED THERE IS NO DEALER FIX FOR THIS, ADMITTING THE NEED FOR HEAVIER STEERING COMPONENTS. I'LL BE GETTING AFTER MARKET HEAVY DUTY JUST TO DRIVE ON THE STREET. THE FUEL ISSUE IS ANOTHER ONE THAT SHOULD BE RECALLED, HAD TO GO THROUGH 300 PLUS ENTRIES HERE TO FIND ANSWERS TO THE OPDA PROBLEM. MINE HAS NOT STARTED WITH THE FUEL ISSUE BUT AT LEAST I WILL KNOW WHAT IT IS WHEN IT DOES OCCUR.

View Details

ENGINE

10/29/2016 - EAST HAMPTON, CT
ENGINE CODES P0340 AND P0344 CHRYSLER CAMPAIGN E05 REPLACE OPDA AND CAMSHAFT - MY MANUFACTURE DATE IS JUNE 2005, THERE IS 113K ON THE ENGINE, WHEN THE WEATHER IS COLD (40 F OR BELOW) THE ENGINE HAS LONG START ISSUES, THERE IS PLAY IN THE OPDA ENOUGH TO PUT THE ENGINE IN LIMP MODE NOT REVVING PAST 2500RPM. FOR SURE THIS NEEDS A NEW CAMSHAFT AND NEW OPDA, BOTH GEARS ARE WORN. THE CHRYSLER CAMPAIGN ONLY COVER UP TO A FEB 2005 MANUFACTURE. THIS SHOULD BE CONSIDERED FOR ADDITIONAL MANUFACTURE DATES WITH MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS ON NHTSA ABOUT THIS ISSUE.

View Details

STEERING

10/27/2016 - SALAMANCA, NY
JEEP HAS SEVERE DEATH WOBBLE WHEN TRAVELING @60 MPH. FRONT WHEELS WILL START TO VIBRATE VIOLENTLY AT THIS SPEED AND SEEMS TO START WHEN HITTING A BUMP OR IMPERFECTION IN ROAD SURFACE. REQUIRED ACTION IS TO APPLY BRAKES UNTIL SHAKING STOPS WHICH COULD INVOLVE A DECREASE IN SPEED OF 15 MPH OR MORE CREATING A DANGEROUS SITUATION ESPECIALLY IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. I HAVE HAD VEHICLE INSPECTED AT THREE SHOPS WITH NO WORN COMPONENTS FOUND. HAD AN ALIGNMENT PERFORMED TIRES BALANCED TRACK BAR MOUNT REPLACED CONTROL ARM MOUNT REINFORCED REPLACED STEERING STABILIZER REPLACED TIE ROD END REPLACED SWAY BAR LINKS AND STILL PROBLEM IS NO BETTER. JEEP ONLY HAS 49,000 MILES SO NOTHING IS REALLY WORN TOO BAD. THIS PROBLEM STARTED ROUGHLY 10,000 MILES AGO AND I AM NOT SURE WHAT TO DO NEXT OTHER THAN REPLACING EVERY STEERING AND SUSPENSION COMPONENT AT A COST OF PROBABLY A COST OF THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS. FROM WHAT I HAVE READ THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE COIL SPRUNG JEEPS WITH A TRACK BAR WHICH SEEMS TO BE A DESIGN FLAW. JUST WANT TO ADD THE VEHICLE IS A SAFETY HAZARD DUE TO THE FACT YOU NEVER KNOW WHEN THE WOBBLE WILL START AND IF YOU ARE IN HEAVY TRAFFIC AND ALL OF A SUDDEN YOU HAVE TO SLAM ON THE BRAKES TO REGAIN CONTROL OF YOUR VEHICLE IT COULD BE A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION. CHRYSLER/JEEP NEEDS TO REMEDY THIS ENGINEERING FLAW NOT EXPECT CONSUMERS TO FOOT THE BILL.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/4/2016 - PARK CITY, IL
WHEN HAVING TO FILL UP ON GAS IT IS OVERFLOWING. EVEN IF YOU SET THE CONTROL ON THE PUMP, WHEN YOU PULL OUT THE NOZZLE, GAS IS SPILLING ALL OVER THE JEEP, FLOOR AND HAS EVEN HAS SPILLED ALL OVER MYSELF. THIS FULL TANK NEEDS TO BE RECALLED FOR THE SAFETY OF ALL CONSUMERS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/7/2016 - MADISONVILLE, LA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2005 JEEP WRANGLER. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE WHEEL FRACTURED AND THE DRIVER LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. THE DRIVER CRASHED INTO A CULVERT. THE VEHICLE ROLLED OVER AND LANDED ON ITS ROOF IN A DITCH. THE DRIVER SIDE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED FATAL INJURIES TO THE HEAD. THE PASSENGER WAS ALSO FATALLY INJURED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND TOWED. THE VIN AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE NOT AVAILABLE. ...UPDATED 10/19/16 .. ..UPDATED 01/19/17

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 61
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds