Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP WRANGLER - 2005 JEEP WRANGLER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 543 complaints filed for the 2005 JEEP WRANGLER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 JEEP WRANGLER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 JEEP WRANGLER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (2) Steering (47) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (12) Exterior Lighting (4) Power Train (25) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Engine (2) Fuel Propulsion System (57) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (44) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (21) Fuel System Gasoline (343) Service Brakes (1) Tires (5) Wheels (7)
Equipment (2) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (14)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 55
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/22/2014 - SUMMERVILLE, SC
TURNED MY JEEP ON AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, SENTRY KEY LIGHT, FUEL LIGHT CAME ON AND FUEL GAUGE WENT TO 0, JEEP RAN FOR APPROX 30SEC AND SHUT OFF. FUSES WERE CHECKED, NOTHING FOUND OUT OF PLACE. TRIED IT AGAIN, SAME THING HAPPENED. WAS TOWED TO DEALERSHIP TO CHECK AND FIX. WAS INFORMED THAT THE MAIN WIRING HARNESS NEAR AN O2 SENSOR WAS "FRIED" AND THAT WIRES WERE FUSED AND MELTED TOGETHER. GRANTED, MY JEEP IS 9 YEARS OLD, BUT THIS IS A DESIGN ISSUE, NOT A WEAR AND TEAR ISSUE. WHY WOULD WIRING BE PLACED CLOSE ENOUGH TO A HEAT SOURCE TO WHERE IT'S ABLE TO CATCH FIRE AND FUSE TOGETHER?

View Details

STEERING

8/5/2014 - MORRISON, CO
TL * THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 JEEP WRANGLER. WHILE DRIVING BETWEEN 50-65 MPH, THE ENTIRE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO MOVE UP AND DOWN UNCONTROLLABLY. THE CONTACT HAD TO DEPRESS THE BRAKE PEDAL IN ORDER FOR THE FAILURE TO CEASE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC SPECULATED THAT THE STEERING STABILIZER, BALL JOINTS, BRAKES, OR CONTROL ARMS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 79,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/5/2014 - MORRISON, CO
TL * THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 JEEP WRANGLER. WHILE DRIVING BETWEEN 50-65 MPH, THE ENTIRE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO MOVE UP AND DOWN UNCONTROLLABLY. THE CONTACT HAD TO DEPRESS THE BRAKE PEDAL IN ORDER FOR THE FAILURE TO CEASE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC SPECULATED THAT THE STEERING STABILIZER, BALL JOINTS, BRAKES, OR CONTROL ARMS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 79,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/5/2014 - MORRISON, CO
TL * THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 JEEP WRANGLER. WHILE DRIVING BETWEEN 50-65 MPH, THE ENTIRE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO MOVE UP AND DOWN UNCONTROLLABLY. THE CONTACT HAD TO DEPRESS THE BRAKE PEDAL IN ORDER FOR THE FAILURE TO CEASE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC SPECULATED THAT THE STEERING STABILIZER, BALL JOINTS, BRAKES, OR CONTROL ARMS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 79,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/3/2014 - JERSEY CITY, NJ
WHEN FILLING GAS IN NJ THE GAS ALMOST ALWAYS SPITS OUT BEFORE THE TANK IS FULL. SINCE THIS IS NJ, BY LAW THIS HAS FULL SERVICE, SO THESE ARE PROFESSIONALS THAT ARE FILLING THE GAS, NOT ME. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEM THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/2/2014 - HOWARDSVILLE, VA
HAVE HAD ONGOING ELECTRICAL ISSUES BEGINNING IN AUGUST, 2010. CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS THAT HAVE BEEN PROVEN INACCURATE. HAVE REPLACED FAN MOTOR RESISTOR X 2, ELECTRICAL CONTROL UNIT X1, FAN BLOWER X1. WIRING IS MELTED (BURNT) AT LOCATIONS INDICATING FUSE SYSTEM/ WIRING HARNESS IS NOT FUNCTIONING PROPERLY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/26/2014 - BLACKWOOD, NJ
KEY SWITCH SPINDLE WENT BAD, HAD TO REPLACE KEY, THEN HAD TO REPLACE THE COMPLETE KEY SPINDLE AND THE WIRING HARNESS, IT STARTED TO SHORT OUT AND CAUSE A FIRE. HAD TO GO TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR REPAIRS, COST $ 2087.00 DOLLARS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/22/2014 - NAVARRE, FL
WHILE FUELING MY JEEP, FUEL CAME SPEWING FROM THE FILLER NECK BEFORE THE PUMP SHUT OFF. THIS CAUSED APPROXIMATELY 1/8 GALLON OF FUEL TO SPILL ON MY VEHICLE AND MYSELF. WHILE DRIVING AFTER THIS INCIDENT I HAD TO PULL OVER AND GET OUT OF MY VEHICLE AS I WAS BECOMING DISORIENTED FROM EXPOSURE TO THE FUEL/FUEL VAPORS THAT SPILLED ON ME. LUCKILY I WAS ABLE TO REALIZE QUICKLY THAT MY LEVEL OF ALERTNESS WAS DETERIORATING AND WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER, ROLL DOWN MY WINDOWS, AND ALLOW THE FUMES TO DISSIPATE. I FEEL THAT THIS IS A VERY BIG SAFETY CONCERN THAT COULD CAUSE A SERIOUS ACCIDENT IF NOT ADDRESSED AND FIXED QUICKLY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/14/2014 - ASHFORD, CT
WHEN FILLING GAS TANK SHUTOFF DOES NOT WORK AND GAS OVERFLOWS. HAPPENS AT EVERY STATION, EVERY TIME I FILLUP.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/22/2014 - VASSALBORO, ME
WHEN FUELING, GAS OVERFLOWS EVERY TIME NO MATTER HOW CAREFUL IN FUELING AND WHEN PUMP SHUTS OFF AUTOMATICALLY IT GUSHES OUT CREATING HAZARDOUS SITUATION ,NOT TO MENTION ENVIRONMENTAL ISSUES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 55
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds