Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP WRANGLER - 2005 JEEP WRANGLER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 537 complaints filed for the 2005 JEEP WRANGLER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 JEEP WRANGLER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 JEEP WRANGLER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (2) Steering (46) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (9) Exterior Lighting (4) Power Train (25) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Engine (2) Fuel Propulsion System (59) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (43) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (21) Fuel System Gasoline (339) Service Brakes Hydraulic (14) Tires (5) Wheels (7)
Equipment (2) Fuel System Other (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 54
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/14/2014 - ASHFORD, CT
WHEN FILLING GAS TANK SHUTOFF DOES NOT WORK AND GAS OVERFLOWS. HAPPENS AT EVERY STATION, EVERY TIME I FILLUP.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/22/2014 - VASSALBORO, ME
WHEN FUELING, GAS OVERFLOWS EVERY TIME NO MATTER HOW CAREFUL IN FUELING AND WHEN PUMP SHUTS OFF AUTOMATICALLY IT GUSHES OUT CREATING HAZARDOUS SITUATION ,NOT TO MENTION ENVIRONMENTAL ISSUES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/20/2014 - WOODBRIDGE, VA
4/2009-FUEL SPITTING OUT WHEN GASSING UP ( WHEN FILLED, DOES NOT STOP) TOOK TO DEALERSHIP. STATES D/T BAD VENT VALVE. INSTALLED A NEW TANK. IN 2013- STARTED BACK DOING THE SAME THING AND CONTINUES. I HAVE TO GAUGE, WHEN I THINK IT'S FILLED AND STOP.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/30/2014 - TROPHY CLUB, TX
GAS TANK VALVE SEEMS TO BE STUCK OPEN, EVERY TIME I FILL UP GAS SPILLS OUT. IF IT SPILLS OUT WHEN PUMPING, WHAT KEEPS IT FROM SPILLING OUT IN A ROLLOVER OR CRASH?

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/28/2014 - BEL AIR, MD
EVERY TIME WHEN FUELING THE CAR, THE GAS TANK OVERFLOWS. THE SHUT OFF VALVE IS FAULTY. THE JEEP BOARDS HAVE MANY DOCUMENTED INCIDENTS OF THIS OCCURRING. THE CAR IS A 2005 BUT ONLY HAS 20,000 MILES ON IT. THERE ARE RECALLS FOR 2007 AND NEWER BUT NOTHING FOR MY CAR WHICH IS A 2005. THE RESPONSE FROM JEEP IS IT IS THE FAULT OF THE GAS. ETHANOL CAUSES THE SHUT OFF VALVE TO EXPAND. FROM MY PERSPECTIVE IT'S FAULTY ENGINEERING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/19/2014 - ST. GEORGE, UT
GAS ERUPTS FROM FILL TUBE WHEN PUMP CLICKS OFF, SPILLING ON SIDE OF VEHICLE AND ON GROUND, HAPPENS EVERY TIME THE PUMP IS ALLOWED TO RUN UNTIL IT AUTOMATICALLY CLICKS OFF.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/19/2014 - ST. GEORGE, UT
GAS ERUPTS FROM FILL TUBE WHEN PUMP CLICKS OFF, SPILLING ON SIDE OF VEHICLE AND ON GROUND. HAPPENS WHENEVER PUMP IS ALLOWED TO RUN TILL IT AUTOMATICALLY CLICKS OFF.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/5/2014 - CHARLES TOWN, WV
WHILE FILLING UP AT A GAS STATION, THE FUEL PUMP DID NOT "AUTOMATICALLY SHUT OFF" AND SHOT ROUGHLY 1/4 GALLON OF GASOLINE OUT ON THE SIDE OF THE VEHICLE AND ON THE GROUND. THOROUGHLY CLEANED VEHICLE BUT STILL SMELT GASOLINE VAPORS INSIDE OF THE CAB FOR 30 MINUTES WITH THE WINDOW DOWN. DID SOME RESEARCH AND FOUND IT IS DUE TO THE VEHICLE'S ICV BECOMING STUCK IN THE OPEN POSITION, WHICH BUILDS PRESSURE INSIDE OF THE GAS TANK, ALLOWING THE FILLER NECK TO FILL WITH GASOLINE, AND THEN RELEASES THE PRESSURE WHICH PROPELLS THE GASOLINE OUT OF THE FILLER NECK AND ONTO THE GROUND. IN ORDER TO FIX THIS PROPLEM I MUST REPLACE THE ENTIRE GAS TANK.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/31/2014 - CHURCHVILLE, NY
MY CONTACT WITH YOU TODAY INVOLVES A FUEL SPIT BACK PROBLEM DURING REFUELING ON MY 2005 JEEP WRANGLER (TJ). I AM AWARE OF MANY BULLETINS AND RECALLS REGARDING THIS PROBLEM, MY VEHICLE IS INCLUDED IN ONE SUCH BULLETIN HOWEVER FALLS OUTSIDE OF ANY COVERAGE FOR REPAIR OF THIS PROBLEM BY THE MANUFACTURER. MY QUESTION IS; HOW CAN THE MANUFACTURER COVER REPAIRS AND PROVIDE AN EXTENDED OR IN SOME CASES A LIFETIME WARRANTY ON THIS FLAW FOR 2007 AND 2008 VEHICLES AND IGNORE ALL OF THE OTHER MODEL YEARS THAT HAVE THE SAME FLAW? THIS REPAIR WILL COST ME NEARLY ONE THOUSAND DOLLARS WHEREAS SOME PEOPLE GET THE PROBLEM RESOLVED AT NO COST TO THEM. PLEASE HELP.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/24/2014 - PHOENIX, AZ
EVERY TIME I FILL-UP, GAS BLOWS OUT OF THE FILLER NECK, ABOUT 3 TO 6 OZ.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 54
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds