Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP WRANGLER - 2005 JEEP WRANGLER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 578 complaints filed for the 2005 JEEP WRANGLER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 JEEP WRANGLER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 JEEP WRANGLER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (2) Steering (49) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (13) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (29) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Engine (5) Fuel Propulsion System (76) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (47) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Fuel System Gasoline (349) Service Brakes (1) Tires (6) Wheels (7)
Equipment (2) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (14)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 59
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/3/2015 - WATERVLIET, NY
REGARDING MY 2005 JEEP WRANGLER, THIS HAS BEEN AN ONGOING ISSUE FOR THE PAST TWO YEARS OR MORE. FUEL SYSTEM/TANK OVERFLOWS WHEN ATTEMPTING TO FILL THE TANK. INSTEAD OF STOPPING, GAS SPEWS FROM THE FILL VALVE ONTO THE VEHICLE, GROUND, AND PERSON FILLING THE TANK. THIS IS NOT ONLY UNSAFE AND UNECONOMICAL, BUT BAD FOR THE ENVIRONMENT AND ONES HEALTH.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/18/2015 - IRONRIDGE, WI
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2005 JEEP WRANGLER. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, SMOKE EMITTED FROM UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS MANEUVERED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, WHERE THE ENGINE WAS TURNED OFF AND THEN THE FRONT END AND UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE IGNITED INTO FLAMES. THE CONTACT EXITED THE VEHICLE SAFELY AND NOTICED THAT THE TRANSMISSION FLUID LEAKED ONTO THE GROUND. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT EXTINGUISHED THE FLAMES AND INFORMED THE FIRE ORIGINATED WITHIN THE TRANSMISSION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/14/2015 - GILBERT, AZ
UNLESS I STOP FUELING PRIOR TO A COMPLETE FILL UP, GAS WILL SPILL OUT. I HAVE MENTIONED THIS TO A COUPLE DIFFERENT JEEP SERVICE ADVISORS AT MY LOCAL DEALERSHIPS THEY ARE NOT AWARE OF WHAT IS CAUSING IT. THIS CAN BE EXTREMELY DANGEROUS AND NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BY CHRYSLER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/12/2015 - DESTIN, FL
MY JEEP STARTED MAKING A VERY LOUD NOISE WHEN DRIVING. THE MORE GAS I GAVE IT THE LOUDER IT GOT AND NOW IT IS UN DRIVABLE DUE TO A DISTRIBUTOR OIL PUMP. BIGGEST PROBLEM IS ALL THE JEEP PARTS PEOPLE HAD NO IDEA WHAT THE PART IT WAS AND NOW THEY DO NOT HAVE ANY IN THE SYSTEM NOR CAN THEY TELL ME WHEN THEY CAN HAVE ME ONE. THERE IS A LOT OF COMPLAINTS REGARDING THIS, STAND UP AND DO RIGHT FOR US JEEPERS!

View Details

ENGINE

5/12/2015 - DESTIN, FL
MY JEEP STARTED MAKING A VERY LOUD NOISE WHEN DRIVING. THE MORE GAS I GAVE IT THE LOUDER IT GOT AND NOW IT IS UN DRIVABLE DUE TO A DISTRIBUTOR OIL PUMP. BIGGEST PROBLEM IS ALL THE JEEP PARTS PEOPLE HAD NO IDEA WHAT THE PART IT WAS AND NOW THEY DO NOT HAVE ANY IN THE SYSTEM NOR CAN THEY TELL ME WHEN THEY CAN HAVE ME ONE. THERE IS A LOT OF COMPLAINTS REGARDING THIS, STAND UP AND DO RIGHT FOR US JEEPERS!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/26/2015 - CATSKILL, NY
FUEL DUMPS OUT OF FILLER HOSE WHEN CLOSE TO FILLED UP, HAS BEEN HAPPENING SINCE I FIRST FILLED ,NOW ALMOST 5 YEARS HAVE STILL SEEN NO SOLUTION UNLESS I HAVE DO MYSELF.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/23/2015 - DESOTO, KS
WHEN FUELING VEHICLE, FUEL WILL SPLASH OUT OF THE FILL TUBE BEFORE FILLER NOZZLE SHUTS OFF. THIS HAPPENS EVERY TIME I FUEL AND AT DIFFERENT GAS STATIONS. I ESTIMATE MY TOTAL FUEL SPILLED OVER THE PAST DECADE TO BE IN THE AREA OF 300 GALLONS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/1/2015 - BOISE, ID
EVERY TIME I FILL UP WITH GAS, IT OVER FLOW SPRAYING GAS OUT CREATING A SAFETY AND ECOLOGICAL HAZARD.

View Details

STEERING

3/31/2015 - BRATTLEBORO, VT
THE DEATH WOBBLE AT APPROX 60-65 MPH/ REPAIRED STEERING STABILIZER/FRONT AXEL JOINT/ RIGHT OUTER PITMAN ADJUSTMENT SLEEVE/ LEFT HAND STEERING ARM TO CONNECTING TIE ROD/ LEFT INNER TO LH ADJUSTMENT SLEEVE/ ALIGNMENT, REPAIRS COST $675, HAVE BEEN ON THE HIGHWAY AND STILL SHIMMIES.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/18/2015 - PIERCEFIELD , NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 JEEP WRANGLER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH AND DRIVING OVER A BUMP, THE FRONT TWO WHEELS STARTED TO SHAKE UNCONTROLLABLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE SWAY BAR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 59
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds