Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SEDONA - 2005 KIA SEDONA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 147 complaints filed for the 2005 KIA SEDONA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 KIA SEDONA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 KIA SEDONA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Engine And Engine Cooling (13) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (8)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (4) Power Train (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (83) Unknown Or Other (1)
Communications (1) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seat Belts (3) Steering (9) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (17) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Seats (2) Structure (2) Visibility (4)
Engine (1) Other (5) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (12) Wheels (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

1/14/2015 - MONTROSE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 KIA SEDONA. WHILE MAKING A RIGHT TURN OVER A SPEED BUMP AT 2 MPH, THE CONTACT CRASHED THE VEHICLE INTO A POLE. AS A RESULT, BOTH AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE FINGERS AND SWELLING TO THE ARMS THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 108,000.

View Details

STEERING

1/12/2015 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 KIA SEDONA. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL TURNED IN A FULL CIRCLE SEVERAL TIMES INDEPENDENTLY. THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE HORN SOUNDED PRIOR TO THE ENGINE SHUTTING OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS MERGED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/12/2015 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 KIA SEDONA. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL TURNED IN A FULL CIRCLE SEVERAL TIMES INDEPENDENTLY. THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE HORN SOUNDED PRIOR TO THE ENGINE SHUTTING OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS MERGED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/20/2014 - RUSSELLS POINT , OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 KIA SEDONA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 43 MPH, A DEER JUMPED IN FRONT OF THE VEHICLE WHICH CAUSED A CRASH AND THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE CHEST AND BACK WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 175,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/25/2014 - NORTH PORT, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 KIA SEDONA. WHILE DRIVING INTO A PARKING SPACE WITH THE BRAKE PEDAL DEPRESSED, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED FORWARD AND CRASHED INTO A METAL TRASH DUMPSTER. ON ANOTHER OCCASION, WHILE THE CONTACT WAS DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL AND APPROACHING A TRAFFIC LIGHT, THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED UNINTENDED ACCELERATION. THE VEHICLE SPED INTO A BUSY INTERSECTION AND NEARLY CAUSED A CRASH. IN ADDITION, WHILE REVERSING INTO A STORAGE SPACE, THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED UNINTENDED ACCELERATION AND CRASHED INTO A BRICK WALL. THE DEALER CLEANED THE THROTTLE, BUT THE FAILURES CONTINUED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE SPEED WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 87,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

9/3/2014 - ORO VALLEY, AZ
2005 KIA SEDONA. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO EXCESSIVE GAS ODOR THAT COMES FROM VEHICLE. THE CONSUMER STATED HE HAS BEEN TRYING TO CORRECT AND REPORT THE ODOR FOR TWO YEARS. THE DEALER CHARGED HIM $747.18, HOWEVER, THE DANGER IS STILL PRESENT. THEIR RECENT EXPLANATION WAS THE MANUFACTURER, HAD ISSUED A TECH REPORT, CITING THE PROBLEM WAS A DEIGN FLAW IN THE VENT LOCATION. THEY INFORMED THE CONSUMER, HE WOULD JUST HAVE TO LIVE WITH IT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/7/2014 - SOUTH WILLIAMSPORT, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 KIA SEDONA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE ENGINE RPMS INCREASED EXCESSIVELY AS THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKES WERE DEPRESSED AND FAILED TO RESPOND. THE CONTACT DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE CABLE WAS STUCK AND AS A RESULT, THE THROTTLE ASSEMBLY WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER : 05V329000 (VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 101,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/29/2013 - SEATTLE, WA
WE HAVE A 2005 SEDONA WHICH WE LOVE. IT'S BEEN A GREAT CAR FOR US. UNFORTUNATELY, WE HAVE HAD ONGOING ISSUES WITH IT FOR SOME TIME NOW. OUR MAIN PROBLEM AND CONCERN RIGHT NOW IS WITH THE FRONT END STRUTS AND OR ALIGNMENT. THE NOISE AND KNOCKING AT LOW SPEEDS (ESPECIALLY WHEN ACCELERATING FROM A STAND-STILL) IS TROUBLESOME, BUT MORE TROUBLESOME IS THAT WE CONSTANTLY NEED TO REPLACE THE FRONT TIRES. WE ARE GOING ON OUR 4TH SET OF NEW TIRES (FOR THE FRONT ALONE) DUE TO ALIGNMENT ISSUES. NO BALANCING OR ALIGNMENT WORK HAS HELPED. AFTER HOURS OF RESEARCH ON LINE, IT SEEMS THAT THE FRONT BRAKES MAY BE UNDERSIZED CAUSING THE ROTORS TO OVER HEAT AND WARP. THE STRUTS ALSO SEEM TO HAVE A WRONG TYPE OF MOUNT SYSTEM AND HAVE TO BE REPLACED. THERE ARE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS TO BE FOUND ON THE WEB FROM PEOPLE WITH SIMILAR ISSUES. THERE IS A TSB ON THE TOPIC (CHA015) REGARDING NEW STRUT MOUNTS, BUT WE ARE NOT SURE WHAT TO DO ABOUT IT NOW. HTTP://WWW.KIA-FORUMS.COM/KIA-CARNIVAL-SEDONA/26537-SEDONA-FRONT-STRUTS.HTML HTTP://FORUMS.EDMUNDS.COM/DISCUSSION/16289/KIA/SEDONA/KIA-SEDONA-STRUT-ISSUES HTTP://FORUMS.EDMUNDS.COM/DISCUSSION/7565/KIA/SEDONA/KIA-SEDONA-TIRES-WHEELS WE ARE SO DISAPPOINTED AND KIA SEEMS TO BE DOING NOTHING ABOUT IT. THE PROBLEM IS GETTING WORSE AND WE FEAR THAT THERE IS A SAFETY CONCERN HERE.

View Details

WHEELS

12/29/2013 - SEATTLE, WA
WE HAVE A 2005 SEDONA WHICH WE LOVE. IT'S BEEN A GREAT CAR FOR US. UNFORTUNATELY, WE HAVE HAD ONGOING ISSUES WITH IT FOR SOME TIME NOW. OUR MAIN PROBLEM AND CONCERN RIGHT NOW IS WITH THE FRONT END STRUTS AND OR ALIGNMENT. THE NOISE AND KNOCKING AT LOW SPEEDS (ESPECIALLY WHEN ACCELERATING FROM A STAND-STILL) IS TROUBLESOME, BUT MORE TROUBLESOME IS THAT WE CONSTANTLY NEED TO REPLACE THE FRONT TIRES. WE ARE GOING ON OUR 4TH SET OF NEW TIRES (FOR THE FRONT ALONE) DUE TO ALIGNMENT ISSUES. NO BALANCING OR ALIGNMENT WORK HAS HELPED. AFTER HOURS OF RESEARCH ON LINE, IT SEEMS THAT THE FRONT BRAKES MAY BE UNDERSIZED CAUSING THE ROTORS TO OVER HEAT AND WARP. THE STRUTS ALSO SEEM TO HAVE A WRONG TYPE OF MOUNT SYSTEM AND HAVE TO BE REPLACED. THERE ARE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS TO BE FOUND ON THE WEB FROM PEOPLE WITH SIMILAR ISSUES. THERE IS A TSB ON THE TOPIC (CHA015) REGARDING NEW STRUT MOUNTS, BUT WE ARE NOT SURE WHAT TO DO ABOUT IT NOW. HTTP://WWW.KIA-FORUMS.COM/KIA-CARNIVAL-SEDONA/26537-SEDONA-FRONT-STRUTS.HTML HTTP://FORUMS.EDMUNDS.COM/DISCUSSION/16289/KIA/SEDONA/KIA-SEDONA-STRUT-ISSUES HTTP://FORUMS.EDMUNDS.COM/DISCUSSION/7565/KIA/SEDONA/KIA-SEDONA-TIRES-WHEELS WE ARE SO DISAPPOINTED AND KIA SEEMS TO BE DOING NOTHING ABOUT IT. THE PROBLEM IS GETTING WORSE AND WE FEAR THAT THERE IS A SAFETY CONCERN HERE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/26/2013 - WAYNE, NJ
THIS PARTICULAR PROBLEM STARTS WHEN I'M ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY AND HAVE TO MAKE AN "IMMEDIATE ACTION REQUIRED" BRAKING MANEUVER AT HIGHER SPEEDS OF 65-70MPH.(SLOWER VEHICLE IN FRONT OF YOU = PANIC STOP, EXITING TO AN OFF RAMP AND A HARD STOP) WHEN BRAKING HARD THE CARS BRAKES SOUNDS LIKE THE ABS SYSTEM CAN'T GET A GRIP SO TO SPEAK AND THE WHOLE CAR SHUDDERS.THE CAR BRAKES BUT SOUNDS LIKE YOUR WEARING SOMETHING OUT. I HAVE HAD A MECHANIC TEST DRIVE THE CAR BUT HE COULD NOT REPLICATE THE CONDITION. I HAD NEW ROTORS PUT ON TO NO AVAIL. THE CONDITION CONTINUES AS OF TODAY UNDER THOSE CONDITIONS I'VE MENTIONED. I WILL LIVE WITH THE PROBLEM. THANK-YOU

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds