Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MONTEGO - 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 126 complaints filed for the 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (47) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (28) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seat Belts (2) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (23)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (1) Visibility (2)
Engine (9) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/12/2018 - MONROE, MI
THE CAR HAS BEEN LURCHING FORWARD AND DECELERATING RANDOMLY. KEEPS GOING INTO "FAILSAFE ENGINE MODE" AND THE WRENCH LIGHT COMES ON BUT ONLY FOR A FEW MOMENTS, THEN RUNS NORMALLY AGAIN AFTER RESTARTING. HAVEN'T BEEN ABLE TO HAVE THE LIGHT ON LONG ENOUGH TO GET DIAGNOSTICS DONE. HAPPENS WHILE DRIVING OR WHEN STARTING OCCASIONALLY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/12/2018 - MONROE, MI
THE CAR HAS BEEN LURCHING FORWARD AND DECELERATING RANDOMLY. KEEPS GOING INTO "FAILSAFE ENGINE MODE" AND THE WRENCH LIGHT COMES ON BUT ONLY FOR A FEW MOMENTS, THEN RUNS NORMALLY AGAIN AFTER RESTARTING. HAVEN'T BEEN ABLE TO HAVE THE LIGHT ON LONG ENOUGH TO GET DIAGNOSTICS DONE. HAPPENS WHILE DRIVING OR WHEN STARTING OCCASIONALLY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/12/2018 - MONROE, MI
THE CAR HAS BEEN LURCHING FORWARD AND DECELERATING RANDOMLY. KEEPS GOING INTO "FAILSAFE ENGINE MODE" AND THE WRENCH LIGHT COMES ON BUT ONLY FOR A FEW MOMENTS, THEN RUNS NORMALLY AGAIN AFTER RESTARTING. HAVEN'T BEEN ABLE TO HAVE THE LIGHT ON LONG ENOUGH TO GET DIAGNOSTICS DONE. HAPPENS WHILE DRIVING OR WHEN STARTING OCCASIONALLY.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/18/2018 - BINGHAMTON, NY
LATCHES/LOCKS RECALL RECALL #06V383000 FORD REFERENCE #06S45 THE LATCH ON MY DRIVER SIDE DOOR KEEPS FREEZING, KEEPING THE DOOR FROM STAYING CLOSED. IT HAS ALREADY BOUNCED OPEN ONCE WHILE I WAS IN MOTION ON NY STATE ROUTE 434. I ALSO HAVE SPENT A GREAT AMOUNT OF TIME TRYING TO SHUT MY DOOR FOR THE PAST 4 DAYS BEFORE AND AFTER EVERY TRIP ONCE I AM PARKED. EVEN SO, I HAVE BEEN UNABLE TO SHUT MY DOOR FOR THE PAST DAY. WHEN I FOUND THIS RECALL AND CALLED MY LOCAL FORD DEALER, THEY STATED THAT I WAS NOT COVERED UNDER THIS RECALL AND THAT IT DOESN'T EVEN SHOW UP IN THE SYSTEM. I'M NOT HERE TO COMPLAIN, I JUST WANT TO BE ABLE TO SHUT MY CARD DOOR SO I CAN DRIVE IT SAFELY. I'M TO THE POINT WHERE I HAVE TO KEEP THE DRIVER SIDE WINDOWS DOWN ABOUT AN INCH AND WRAP A BUNGEE CORD AROUND THE DOORS TO KEEP MY DRIVER DOOR SHUT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/22/2017 - ROCHESTER, NY
SUDDEN ACCELERATION WHILE IN CRUISE CONTROL MODE 65 OR ABOVE. AND WILL NOT STOP UNLESS BRAKES ARE APPLIED TO DISENGAGE THE CRUISE CONTROL MODE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/13/2017 - CARIBOU, ME
MY SIDE DOOR LATCHES FREEZE IN COLD WEATHER DUE TO WATER INTRUSION. AS A RESULT, THE DOOR DOES NOT LATCH WHEN CLOSED, AND COULD OPEN WHILE THE VEHICLE IS MOVING. THIS WAS A WELL KNOW SAFETY ISSUE BY FORD. MY VIN NUMBER DOES NOT SHOW UP IN THE RECALL DATA BASE SO THE REPAIR COST IS BEING PUSHED TO ME. THE CAR CERTAINLY HAS ALL THE SYMPTOMS OF THE RECALL FOR THAT MODEL AND YEAR... I SMELL A RAT... DO YOU? THE RECALL WAS MADE TO BE STATE SENSITIVE TO STATES THAT EXPERIENCE FREEZING WEATHER. WHAT HAPPENS WHEN A 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO IS REGISTERED IN SOUTHERN FLORIDA SO AS TO NOT BE INCLUDED IN THE RECALL AND THEN ENDS UP IN NORTHERN MAINE? I'LL TELL YOU WHAT HAPPENS... A LITTLE CHILD IN NORTHERN MAINE ASLEEP AGAINST THE DOOR SUDDENLY FALLS OUT OF THE CAR AT 55 MILES AN HOUR AND GETS RUN OVER BY ONCOMING TRAFFIC! THESE CARS ARE VERY HARDY AND I SUSPECT THERE ARE MANY OF THEM STILL ON THE ROAD WITH THIS ISSUE. SOMEONE REALLY MISSED THE BOAT ON THIS ONE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/28/2017 - CARIBOU, ME
FRONT DOOR LATCH FREEZES OPEN ALL THE TIME IN COLD WEATHER. I'M AFRAID IT OPENS WHILE DRIVING

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/18/2016 - OLATHE, KS
IN FREEZING WEATHER, DOOR LATCHES WILL NOT LATCH AND THE DOOR REMAINS OPEN. THIS ONLY HAPPENS WHEN THE CAR IS LEFT OUTSIDE AND IS NOT "FIXED" UNTIL THE DOOR MECHANISMS WARM UP FROM BEING IN THE SUN. DUE TO THIS ISSUE WE ARE UNABLE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE UNTIL THE DOORS LATCH AGAIN. I'VE BEEN TOLD MY CAR WAS NOT AFFECTED BY THE RECALL (#06S45), BUT I FEEL THAT I HAVE THE EXACT PROBLEM DESCRIBED AND WOULD LIKE TO GET THE ISSUE FIXED SO I DON'T HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT IT THE REST OF WINTER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/15/2016 - LAS VEGAS, NV
WITH ONLY 70,000 ON THE TRANSMISSION IT BEGAN TO HESITATE WHEN I WOULD ACCELERATE AND BUCK WHEN I WOULD COME TO A STOP. THIS BECAME HAZARDOUS WHEN I WAS TRYING TO COME OUT OF A PARKING LOT ONTO A BUSY STREET AND THE FORWARD PROPULSION WOULD HESITATE CLOSING THE SAFE GAP BETWEEN ONCOMING CARS AND MYSELF. THIS HAS BEEN A KNOWN PROBLEM WITH THE 2005 MERCURY VEHICLES BOTH IN THE CVT TRANSMISSION AND THE 6-SPEED. I DON'T KNOW WHY THEY HAVE NOT HAD A RECALL ON THE TRANSMISSIONS SINCE THERE ARE HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS ON THE INTERNET WITH THIS SAME EXACT PROBLEM. MY FIRST MONTEGO PASSED THE LEMON LAW WITH THE TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS WHEN I FIRST BOUGHT IT. NOW THE SECOND MONTEGO IS HAVING THE SAME ISSUES AFTER ONLY 70,000 MILES ON THE VEHICLE. I HAD TOO MANY CLOSE CALLS DRIVING THIS VEHICLE WITH THE INCONSISTENCY IN ACCELERATION. AND THE BUCKING AND THUMPING WHEN BRAKING IS SEVERE. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE SINCE THERE ARE SO MANY OF US HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM. WHAT WILL IT TAKE TO GET FORD, MERCURY TO RECTIFY THIS KNOWN ISSUE?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/11/2016 - REPUBLIC, WA
ABOUT 6 MONTHS AGO ALL THE DASH INDICATORS TURNED ON. THEY WENT OUT FOR A FEW MINUTES THEN CAME BACK ON AND STAYED ON. I WAS TOLD IT WAS IN THE ELECTRICAL HARNESS. IT WOULD BE A $700.00 PLUS COST TO FIX IT. IT IS A COMMON PROBLEM I WOULD THINK THERE WOULD BE A RECALL ON SUCH A SITUATION. I HAVE TO DRIVE NOT KNOWING IF THERE IS TROUBLE WITH THE LIGHTS ON FULL TIME.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds