Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MONTEGO - 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 111 complaints filed for the 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (24) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Power Train (45) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (1) Visibility (2)
Engine (7) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/12/2016 - EVERSON, WA
DASH BOARD GAUGES AND CONTROLS. WHEN DRIVING OUR 2005 MONTEGO ALL OF THE DASH INSTRUMENTS AND GAUGES WILL GO OUT, AND YOU LOOSE SOME POWER, THE REAR LIGHTS GO ON. THIS CAN HAPPEN AT ANY MOMENT WHEN THE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION, ON THE INTERSTATE, SLOW SPEEDS. TO REPLACE IS QUITE EXPENSIVE, BUT IN DOING SOME RESEARCH I HAVE COME ACROSS THOUSANDS OF COMPLAINTS ON THE SAME ISSUE, AND IT'S EXTREMELY SCARY AND CONCERNING THAT A SAFETY RECALL HAS NOT BEEN DONE. YOU CAN TURN IT OFF BUT DOESN'T ALWAYS RESET AND WHEN IT DOES THE ENGINE LIGHT STAYS ON. THIS OCCURS WHILE THE CAR IS IN MOTION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/19/2015 - PORTAGE, MI
STARTED 2005 MONTEGO TO PICK UP FIANC+ FROM WORK, GOT BACK INSIDE AFTER BRUSHING SNOW OFF THE CAR AND I PRESSED THE THROTTLE TO DROP THE IDLE SPEED, ALL OF THE GAUGES ON MY INSTRUMENT PANEL WENT BLACK (TACH,SPEED,FUEL,WATER TEMP,AC/HEATER), MY REVERSE LIGHTS CAME ON, MY STEREO HAD REALLY LOUD STATIC COMING THROUGH IT AND MY WIPERS/HEATER STOPPED WORKING. CAME BACK A FEW HOURS LATER AND GAUGES WORKED BUT CHECK ENGINE, TRANSMISSION AND CHARGING SYSTEMS LIGHTS WERE ON. I PUT IT IN GEAR BECAUSE I THOUGHT THE ISSUE WAS GONE AND AS SOON AS I GOT TO ABOUT 1500 RPM MY GAUGES WENT BLACK SO I STOPPED AND WHEN THE IDLE SPEED DROPPED BACK DOWN MY GAUGES CAME BACK ON. I TRIED MY HEADLIGHTS AND THEY GO OUT EVERY TIME MY GAUGES GO OUT, WHICH IS ANY TIME I GET OVER 1500 RPM.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/11/2015 - ODESSA , MO
PARKED CAR AT HOME AFTER DROPPING DAUGHTER OFF IN TOWN CAR PERFORMED NORMALLY. FIVE HOURS LATER WENT OUT TO PICK DAUGHTER UP. STARTED CAR AND HAD NO SPEEDOMETER, ODOMETER, TACHOMETER, NO CLUSTER PANEL AT ALL. NO LIGHTS ON PANEL, A/C WOULD NOT FUNCTION AND BACKUP LIGHTS CAME ON AND STAYED ON. THE WRENCH SYMBOL LIGHT CAME ON AT THIS TIME. I TESTED THE CAR DAILY WITH THE SAME RESULTS, UNTIL TUESDAY, AUGUST 11TH. I HAD AN APPT TO TAKE IT IN TO A FORD DEALER TO HAVE IT DIAGNOSED. WHEN I STARTED THE CAR AT THIS TIME, THE CLUSTER PANEL AND A/C WERE WORKING, THE BACKUP LIGHTS WERE OFF (EXCEPT WHEN IN REVERSE) AND THE WRENCH LIGHT WAS NOW OFF. HOWEVER, NOW THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON. DIAGNOSIS AT THE DEALERSHIP WAS THAT THE CLUSTER PANEL WAS BAD AND WAS SENDING INCORRECT CODES (P0462 & P2067) CAUSING THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT TO COME ON. SINCE THOSE CODES ARE ASSOCIATED WITH THE POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE IT COULD CAUSE THE ENGINE TO STALL AT ANY TIME.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/11/2015 - ODESSA , MO
PARKED CAR AT HOME AFTER DROPPING DAUGHTER OFF IN TOWN CAR PERFORMED NORMALLY. FIVE HOURS LATER WENT OUT TO PICK DAUGHTER UP. STARTED CAR AND HAD NO SPEEDOMETER, ODOMETER, TACHOMETER, NO CLUSTER PANEL AT ALL. NO LIGHTS ON PANEL, A/C WOULD NOT FUNCTION AND BACKUP LIGHTS CAME ON AND STAYED ON. THE WRENCH SYMBOL LIGHT CAME ON AT THIS TIME. I TESTED THE CAR DAILY WITH THE SAME RESULTS, UNTIL TUESDAY, AUGUST 11TH. I HAD AN APPT TO TAKE IT IN TO A FORD DEALER TO HAVE IT DIAGNOSED. WHEN I STARTED THE CAR AT THIS TIME, THE CLUSTER PANEL AND A/C WERE WORKING, THE BACKUP LIGHTS WERE OFF (EXCEPT WHEN IN REVERSE) AND THE WRENCH LIGHT WAS NOW OFF. HOWEVER, NOW THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON. DIAGNOSIS AT THE DEALERSHIP WAS THAT THE CLUSTER PANEL WAS BAD AND WAS SENDING INCORRECT CODES (P0462 & P2067) CAUSING THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT TO COME ON. SINCE THOSE CODES ARE ASSOCIATED WITH THE POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE IT COULD CAUSE THE ENGINE TO STALL AT ANY TIME.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/11/2015 - ODESSA , MO
PARKED CAR AT HOME AFTER DROPPING DAUGHTER OFF IN TOWN CAR PERFORMED NORMALLY. FIVE HOURS LATER WENT OUT TO PICK DAUGHTER UP. STARTED CAR AND HAD NO SPEEDOMETER, ODOMETER, TACHOMETER, NO CLUSTER PANEL AT ALL. NO LIGHTS ON PANEL, A/C WOULD NOT FUNCTION AND BACKUP LIGHTS CAME ON AND STAYED ON. THE WRENCH SYMBOL LIGHT CAME ON AT THIS TIME. I TESTED THE CAR DAILY WITH THE SAME RESULTS, UNTIL TUESDAY, AUGUST 11TH. I HAD AN APPT TO TAKE IT IN TO A FORD DEALER TO HAVE IT DIAGNOSED. WHEN I STARTED THE CAR AT THIS TIME, THE CLUSTER PANEL AND A/C WERE WORKING, THE BACKUP LIGHTS WERE OFF (EXCEPT WHEN IN REVERSE) AND THE WRENCH LIGHT WAS NOW OFF. HOWEVER, NOW THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON. DIAGNOSIS AT THE DEALERSHIP WAS THAT THE CLUSTER PANEL WAS BAD AND WAS SENDING INCORRECT CODES (P0462 & P2067) CAUSING THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT TO COME ON. SINCE THOSE CODES ARE ASSOCIATED WITH THE POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE IT COULD CAUSE THE ENGINE TO STALL AT ANY TIME.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/7/2015 - FOUNTAIN VALLEY, CA
WHEN BRAKING IT JERKS AND SHIFTS INTO NEUTRAL AND THE ENGINE REEVES TO 5000+ RPM. AFTER BRAKING AND SLOWING IT AGAIN SHIFTS BACK INTO DRIVE. THIS ONLY HAPPENS WHEN BRAKING OR INCREASING SPEED. NO DASH LIGHTS ILLUMINATE, INDICATING A PROBLEM. HAVING TO SLOW SUDDENLY IN TRAFFIC IS VERY DANGEROUS. A FORD DEALER RECOMMENDS A NEW TRANSMISSION AND A TRANSMISSION SHOP RECOMMENDS A NEW ELECTRONIC MODULE..THIS IS AN INTERMEDIATE INCIDENT PROBLEM OCCURRING APPROXIMATELY EVERY TWO TO FOUR WEEKS. .

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/7/2015 - FOUNTAIN VALLEY, CA
WHEN BRAKING IT JERKS AND SHIFTS INTO NEUTRAL AND THE ENGINE REEVES TO 5000+ RPM. AFTER BRAKING AND SLOWING IT AGAIN SHIFTS BACK INTO DRIVE. THIS ONLY HAPPENS WHEN BRAKING OR INCREASING SPEED. NO DASH LIGHTS ILLUMINATE, INDICATING A PROBLEM. HAVING TO SLOW SUDDENLY IN TRAFFIC IS VERY DANGEROUS. A FORD DEALER RECOMMENDS A NEW TRANSMISSION AND A TRANSMISSION SHOP RECOMMENDS A NEW ELECTRONIC MODULE..THIS IS AN INTERMEDIATE INCIDENT PROBLEM OCCURRING APPROXIMATELY EVERY TWO TO FOUR WEEKS. .

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/8/2015 - SPEARFISH, SD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THERE WAS A SUDDEN LOSS OF ACCELERATION. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE WHEEL WELL WAS IN FLAMES AND THE WHEEL WELL ON THE DRIVERS SIDE WAS EMITTING SMOKE. THE CONTACT AND THE DRIVER EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ABS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 90,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/8/2015 - SPEARFISH, SD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THERE WAS A SUDDEN LOSS OF ACCELERATION. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE WHEEL WELL WAS IN FLAMES AND THE WHEEL WELL ON THE DRIVERS SIDE WAS EMITTING SMOKE. THE CONTACT AND THE DRIVER EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ABS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 90,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/7/2015 - PLAINVILLE, CT
TOO MANY TIMES TO COUNT 25 30 EVEN MORE. WHEN DRIVING MY 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO THE COMPLETE DASH CLUSTER LOST ALL FUNCTIONS AND READ OUTS, ALWAYS AT SPEEDS ABOVE 30MPH. A FEW TIMES 9 OR SO THE CAR WOULD BUCK A FEW TIMES. I HAD THE HARNESS CONNECTOR CHECKED AND NO PROBLEMS FOUND. THIS CONDITION PREVENTS ME FROM USING THE VEHICLE AS NEEDED, TO DRIVER A FEW TIMES A YEAR FROM CONNECTICUT TO NORTH CAROLINA AND BACK TO VISIT AILING FAMILY MEMBERS. NO OTHER REASONABLE TRANSPORTATION AVAILABLE. WE WILL PRO ALLY NEVER BUY A FORD PRODUCT AGAIN DUE TO SAFETY CONCERNS. NEED ADVICE AS TO PROBLEM AND HOW TO FIX.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds