Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MONTEGO - 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 101 complaints filed for the 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Exterior Lighting (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Electrical System (17) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Power Train (43) Suspension (1) Visibility (2)
Engine (6) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Seat Belts (2) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

5/28/2014 - VALPARAISO, IN
UPON ENTERING TRAFFIC FLOW ON I-94 WESTBOUND NEAR NEW BUFFALO MICHIGAN THE ACCELERATION OF ENGINE QUIT INSTANTANEOUSLY AND THE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT LIT UP READING SOMETHING ABOUT A FAIL SAFE MODE. AFTER COASTING BACK ACROSS TWO TRAFFIC LANES TO THE SIDE OF ROAD I SHUT THE ENGINE DOWN. TO KEEP FROM GETTING STRANDED ALONG THE HIGHWAY AND SINCE THE ENGINE INFO LIGHT READ ALL SYSTEMS WERE OK AFTER WAITING A FEW MINUTES I RESTARTED THE MOTOR AND IT RAN OK. I STAYED IN THE SLOW LANE SO I COULD PULL OFF THE ROAD IF IT HAPPENED AGAIN WHICH IT DIDN'T . THE NEXT DAY ON COUNTY ROAD 500N IN INDIANA IT DID IT AGAIN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/15/2014 - CINCINNATI, OH
WHEN IT GET HOT IT JERKS,WHEN YOU ACCELARATE IT WONT TAKE OFF AND THEN IT LEAP FORWARD, WHEN IN LOW GEAR IT REALLY START JERKING AND THEN IT STOP IT TAKE A MOMENT BEFORE IT MOVE. I SEEN SEVERAL COMPLAINTS ON THE INTERNET WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. I TOOK IT TO HAVE IT LOOK AT. THEY SAY THAT NUMEROUS OF THERE CUSTOMER HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THIS MODEL. ONE CUSTOMER PUT 2 TRANMISSION IN HER MONTEGO AND EXPERIENCE THE SAME PROBLEM OVER AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE

5/13/2014 - MCKEES PORT, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE TRAVELING AT UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE JERKED VIOLENTLY AND ERRONEOUSLY ACCELERATED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO STATED THAT THE VALVE BODY KIT NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TO BE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/26/2014 - NEWPORT, PA
DROVE CAR HOME DAY BEFORE, SEEMED FINE. WENT OUT NEXT MORNING, CAR STARTED FINE, PUT INTO GEAR, CAR WOULD NOT MOVE. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, CHECK TRANSMISSION LIGHT, CHECK TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT ALL CAME ON. ALSO THE "WRENCH" LIGHT CAME ON. THROTTLE WILL NOT WORK PROPERLY, WON'T LET ENGINE REV UP. SAW THE CLASS ACTION SUIT FOR THESE FORD CVT TRANSMISSIONS ONLINE, WANT TO SIGN UP FOR IT AS THESE TRANSMISSIONS ARE DANGEROUS AND DEFECTIVE, A WELL DOCUMENTED FACT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/7/2014 - NILES, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THERE WAS A LOUD ABNORMAL SOUND HEARD AS ALL OF THE WARNING LAMPS ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 160,000. UPDATED 3/14/14 THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE STALLED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD WITH NO WARNING. UPDATED 04/01/14

View Details

ENGINE

1/30/2014 - WEST BEND, WI
AS I WAS ENTERING ONTO THE HIGHWAY INSTEAD OF ACCELERATING THE CAR DECELERATED AND WAS LOSING POWER AND RPM'S WENT WAY TOO HIGH THEN IT SHOULD OF. THE TRANSMISSION IS NOT ACTING PROPERLY.THE CAR HAS A CLUNKING SOUND WHEN HITTING BUMPS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/30/2014 - WEST BEND, WI
AS I WAS ENTERING ONTO THE HIGHWAY INSTEAD OF ACCELERATING THE CAR DECELERATED AND WAS LOSING POWER AND RPM'S WENT WAY TOO HIGH THEN IT SHOULD OF. THE TRANSMISSION IS NOT ACTING PROPERLY.THE CAR HAS A CLUNKING SOUND WHEN HITTING BUMPS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/30/2014 - WEST BEND, WI
AS I WAS ENTERING ONTO THE HIGHWAY INSTEAD OF ACCELERATING THE CAR DECELERATED AND WAS LOSING POWER AND RPM'S WENT WAY TOO HIGH THEN IT SHOULD OF. THE TRANSMISSION IS NOT ACTING PROPERLY.THE CAR HAS A CLUNKING SOUND WHEN HITTING BUMPS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/18/2013 - PALOS HEIGHTS, IL
I BOUGHT A 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO USED IN 2012. STARTING LAST YEAR DURING EXTREME COLD WEATHER THE DRIVERS SIDE DOOR WILL OPEN BUT WHEN YOU GO TO CLOSE IT THE DOOR WILL NOT LATCH. IT WILL LATCH ONCE THE WEATHER HAS WARMED UP OR THE CAR ITSELF HAS WARMED UP ENOUGH INSIDE. THE CONDITION GOES AWAY IN ANY OTHER WEATHER. THIS YEAR 2013 THE SAME THING IS HAPPENING. IVE LOOKED ONLINE AND I SEE A FORD RECALL NUMBER OF 06S45 THAT TALKS ABOUT THIS CONDITION...DOOR LOCKS FREEZING IN COLD WEATHER. I HAVE CALLED THE DEALER WHERE I BOUGHT THE CAR AND FORD MOTOR COMPANY THEMSELVES AND THEY ARE ALL SAYING THAT THE RECALL IS VIN SPECIFIC AND THAT MY VIN IS NOT PART OF IT. WHEN ASKED WHY IT IS NOT NO ONE CALL TELL ME. MY CAR HAS THE EXACT SAME CONDITION THAT IS IN THE RECALL BUT FOR SOME REASON IT IS NOT PART OF IT. I CAN NOT GET AN ANSWER FROM ANYONE WHY THE RECALL SAYS CERTAIN 2005 MERCURY MONTEGOS BUT NO ONE FROM FORD OR ANYWHERE CAN TELL ME WHY THE CERTAIN PART OF THE RECALL EXCLUDES MY VEHICLE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

10/9/2013 - MOREHEAD CITY, NC
AS I WAS GOING DOWN THE HIGHWAY, THE CAR WOULD SUDDENLY FEEL AS THOUGH I HAD PUT THE GAS PEDAL TO THE FLOOR. IT WOULD SUDDENLY ACCELERATE EVEN THOUGH I DID NOT CHANGE THE PRESSURE ON THE GAS PEDAL. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP AND THEY HAD AN OWNER NOTIFICATION FROM FORD TO CLEAN THE THROTTLE BODY. THE WORK WAS COMPLETED. HOWEVER, THE PROBLEM WAS NEVER FIXED. THE VEHICLE WOULD CONTINUE TO DO THIS ON OCCASION. NOW, THE VEHICLE WILL COMPLETELY SHUT OFF WHILE I AM DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY. THE FAIL SAFE LIGHT WILL COME ON AND I HAVE TO COAST TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I HAVE TAKEN IT BACK TO THE FORD DEALERSHIP AND ANOTHER $1,000 LATER I AM HAVING TO REPLACE THE THROTTLE BODY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds