Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MONTEGO - 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 117 complaints filed for the 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (46) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (26) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (2) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (21)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (1) Visibility (2)
Engine (9) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

7/1/2016 - WATERLOO, IL
CAR RUNS GREAT FOR ABOUT 20 MINUTES THEN I GET A SURGE IN THE ENGINE, DASH CLUSTER GOES DEAD, CAR JERKS AND I LOSE POWER RANDOMLY. EVERYTHING COMES BACK ON BUT WILL GO OUT MULTIPLE TIMES GETTING WORSE EVERYTIME. I HAVE LOST POWER TO TRANSMISSION ONCE, NO FORWARD OR REVERSE. REPLACED THE DASH CLUSTER AND CAR RAN GREAT FOR 2 DAYS THEN STARTED ALL AGAIN. THIS HAPPENS MAINLY WHILE IN THE CITY, HASN'T HAPPENED ON HIGHWAY YET THANK GOODNESS. CAR JUST SITS IN DRIVEWAY, AFRAID TO DRIVE IT. I SEE COUNTLESS PEOPLE WITH THIS ISSUE ALL THE WAY BACK TO WHEN CAR WAS RELEASED AND STILL NO SOLUTION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/1/2016 - WATERLOO, IL
CAR RUNS GREAT FOR ABOUT 20 MINUTES THEN I GET A SURGE IN THE ENGINE, DASH CLUSTER GOES DEAD, CAR JERKS AND I LOSE POWER RANDOMLY. EVERYTHING COMES BACK ON BUT WILL GO OUT MULTIPLE TIMES GETTING WORSE EVERYTIME. I HAVE LOST POWER TO TRANSMISSION ONCE, NO FORWARD OR REVERSE. REPLACED THE DASH CLUSTER AND CAR RAN GREAT FOR 2 DAYS THEN STARTED ALL AGAIN. THIS HAPPENS MAINLY WHILE IN THE CITY, HASN'T HAPPENED ON HIGHWAY YET THANK GOODNESS. CAR JUST SITS IN DRIVEWAY, AFRAID TO DRIVE IT. I SEE COUNTLESS PEOPLE WITH THIS ISSUE ALL THE WAY BACK TO WHEN CAR WAS RELEASED AND STILL NO SOLUTION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/27/2016 - BOWLING GREEN, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO DEPRESS THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO ACCELERATE AND THE TRACTION CONTROL, CHECK TRANSMISSION, AND FAILED SAFE MODE WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. DUE TO THE FAILURE, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A BUSH WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PARK THE VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE FAILURE RECURRED RANDOMLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO SEVERAL INDEPENDENT MECHANICS, BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 270,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/27/2016 - BOWLING GREEN, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO DEPRESS THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO ACCELERATE AND THE TRACTION CONTROL, CHECK TRANSMISSION, AND FAILED SAFE MODE WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. DUE TO THE FAILURE, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A BUSH WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PARK THE VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE FAILURE RECURRED RANDOMLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO SEVERAL INDEPENDENT MECHANICS, BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 270,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/26/2016 - TERRE HAUTE, IN
MY CAR DIES ALL THE TIME. I WAS TOLD IT WAS THE THROTTLE BODY. IT ALSO HAS A PICTURE OF A WRENCH AND WHEN THE CAR DIES IT SAYS FAIL SAFE MODE. IT ONLY DIES WHILE DRIVING. IT DOESNT MATTER WHAT SPEED EITHER.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/16/2016 - TAWAS CITY, MI
MY 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO SHUTS OFF WHILE GOING DOWN THE ROAD. I HAVE PAID AROUND $4000 TO TRY AND HAVE THE PROBLEM FIXED AND IT HAS NEVER STOPPED. THE REVERSE GEAR IS UNUSABLE, AS SOON AS YOU PUT IT IN REVERSE IT SHUTS THE CAR OFF. THE TRANSMISSION JERKS AND WILL NOT STEADILY ACCELERATE AT RANDOM TIMES. THE CAR WILL RANDOMLY SHUT OFF WHEN GOING DOWN THE ROAD LOSING ALL POWER STEERING AND POWER BRAKING ABILITY. THIS IS PARTICULARLY A PROBLEM CONSIDERING I HAVE AN INFANT IN THE BACKSEAT MOST EVERY TRIP. I SAW THIS LAWSUIT AND EVERY SINGLE THING LISTED ABOUT THE CVT TRANSMISSIONS HAS HAPPENED AND IS STILL HAPPENING TO MY 2005 MONTEGO.

View Details

STEERING

4/16/2016 - TAWAS CITY, MI
MY 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO SHUTS OFF WHILE GOING DOWN THE ROAD. I HAVE PAID AROUND $4000 TO TRY AND HAVE THE PROBLEM FIXED AND IT HAS NEVER STOPPED. THE REVERSE GEAR IS UNUSABLE, AS SOON AS YOU PUT IT IN REVERSE IT SHUTS THE CAR OFF. THE TRANSMISSION JERKS AND WILL NOT STEADILY ACCELERATE AT RANDOM TIMES. THE CAR WILL RANDOMLY SHUT OFF WHEN GOING DOWN THE ROAD LOSING ALL POWER STEERING AND POWER BRAKING ABILITY. THIS IS PARTICULARLY A PROBLEM CONSIDERING I HAVE AN INFANT IN THE BACKSEAT MOST EVERY TRIP. I SAW THIS LAWSUIT AND EVERY SINGLE THING LISTED ABOUT THE CVT TRANSMISSIONS HAS HAPPENED AND IS STILL HAPPENING TO MY 2005 MONTEGO.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/16/2016 - TAWAS CITY, MI
MY 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO SHUTS OFF WHILE GOING DOWN THE ROAD. I HAVE PAID AROUND $4000 TO TRY AND HAVE THE PROBLEM FIXED AND IT HAS NEVER STOPPED. THE REVERSE GEAR IS UNUSABLE, AS SOON AS YOU PUT IT IN REVERSE IT SHUTS THE CAR OFF. THE TRANSMISSION JERKS AND WILL NOT STEADILY ACCELERATE AT RANDOM TIMES. THE CAR WILL RANDOMLY SHUT OFF WHEN GOING DOWN THE ROAD LOSING ALL POWER STEERING AND POWER BRAKING ABILITY. THIS IS PARTICULARLY A PROBLEM CONSIDERING I HAVE AN INFANT IN THE BACKSEAT MOST EVERY TRIP. I SAW THIS LAWSUIT AND EVERY SINGLE THING LISTED ABOUT THE CVT TRANSMISSIONS HAS HAPPENED AND IS STILL HAPPENING TO MY 2005 MONTEGO.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/5/2016 - PUTNAM VALLEY, NY
RECALL #06V383000 LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES "AS A RESULT, THE DOOR LATCH PAWL MAY NOT RETURN TO THE LATCH POSITION WHEN THE DOOR IS CLOSED, AND THE DOOR COULD OPEN WHILE THE VEHICLE IS MOVING." IS LISTED AS HAVING BEEN COMPLETED, YET THE ISSUE IS STILL PRESENT. LAST NIGHT, REAR DOOR WAS FROZEN SHUT DUE TO WATER SEEPAGE. TODAY, DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR DID NOT LATCH PROPERLY AND OPENED WHILE I WAS DRIVING THE VEHICLE. I CALLED FORD AND THEY INFORMED ME THEY ARE NO LONGER RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS. OBVIOUSLY, THE RECALL WAS PERFORMED IMPROPERLY, IF AT ALL. I AM CONCERNED THAT THE ADDITIONAL RECALL LISTED (NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 05V515000) MAY NOT HAVE BEEN PERFORMED PROPERLY AS WELL, AS BOTH RECALLS WERE (SUPPOSEDLY) FIXED AT THE SAME LOCATION.

View Details

ENGINE

4/5/2016 - LIMA, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO. WHILE DRIVING 15 MPH AROUND A CORNER, THE VEHICLE JERKED AND THE CHECK ENGINE AND FAIL SAFE MODE WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY CONTROL UNIT FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 150,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds