Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MONTEGO - 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 107 complaints filed for the 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (21) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Power Train (45) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (1) Visibility (2)
Engine (7) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/8/2015 - SPEARFISH, SD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THERE WAS A SUDDEN LOSS OF ACCELERATION. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE WHEEL WELL WAS IN FLAMES AND THE WHEEL WELL ON THE DRIVERS SIDE WAS EMITTING SMOKE. THE CONTACT AND THE DRIVER EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ABS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 90,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/8/2015 - SPEARFISH, SD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THERE WAS A SUDDEN LOSS OF ACCELERATION. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE WHEEL WELL WAS IN FLAMES AND THE WHEEL WELL ON THE DRIVERS SIDE WAS EMITTING SMOKE. THE CONTACT AND THE DRIVER EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ABS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 90,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/7/2015 - PLAINVILLE, CT
TOO MANY TIMES TO COUNT 25 30 EVEN MORE. WHEN DRIVING MY 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO THE COMPLETE DASH CLUSTER LOST ALL FUNCTIONS AND READ OUTS, ALWAYS AT SPEEDS ABOVE 30MPH. A FEW TIMES 9 OR SO THE CAR WOULD BUCK A FEW TIMES. I HAD THE HARNESS CONNECTOR CHECKED AND NO PROBLEMS FOUND. THIS CONDITION PREVENTS ME FROM USING THE VEHICLE AS NEEDED, TO DRIVER A FEW TIMES A YEAR FROM CONNECTICUT TO NORTH CAROLINA AND BACK TO VISIT AILING FAMILY MEMBERS. NO OTHER REASONABLE TRANSPORTATION AVAILABLE. WE WILL PRO ALLY NEVER BUY A FORD PRODUCT AGAIN DUE TO SAFETY CONCERNS. NEED ADVICE AS TO PROBLEM AND HOW TO FIX.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/7/2015 - PLAINVILLE, CT
TOO MANY TIMES TO COUNT 25 30 EVEN MORE. WHEN DRIVING MY 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO THE COMPLETE DASH CLUSTER LOST ALL FUNCTIONS AND READ OUTS, ALWAYS AT SPEEDS ABOVE 30MPH. A FEW TIMES 9 OR SO THE CAR WOULD BUCK A FEW TIMES. I HAD THE HARNESS CONNECTOR CHECKED AND NO PROBLEMS FOUND. THIS CONDITION PREVENTS ME FROM USING THE VEHICLE AS NEEDED, TO DRIVER A FEW TIMES A YEAR FROM CONNECTICUT TO NORTH CAROLINA AND BACK TO VISIT AILING FAMILY MEMBERS. NO OTHER REASONABLE TRANSPORTATION AVAILABLE. WE WILL PRO ALLY NEVER BUY A FORD PRODUCT AGAIN DUE TO SAFETY CONCERNS. NEED ADVICE AS TO PROBLEM AND HOW TO FIX.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/7/2015 - PLAINVILLE, CT
TOO MANY TIMES TO COUNT 25 30 EVEN MORE. WHEN DRIVING MY 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO THE COMPLETE DASH CLUSTER LOST ALL FUNCTIONS AND READ OUTS, ALWAYS AT SPEEDS ABOVE 30MPH. A FEW TIMES 9 OR SO THE CAR WOULD BUCK A FEW TIMES. I HAD THE HARNESS CONNECTOR CHECKED AND NO PROBLEMS FOUND. THIS CONDITION PREVENTS ME FROM USING THE VEHICLE AS NEEDED, TO DRIVER A FEW TIMES A YEAR FROM CONNECTICUT TO NORTH CAROLINA AND BACK TO VISIT AILING FAMILY MEMBERS. NO OTHER REASONABLE TRANSPORTATION AVAILABLE. WE WILL PRO ALLY NEVER BUY A FORD PRODUCT AGAIN DUE TO SAFETY CONCERNS. NEED ADVICE AS TO PROBLEM AND HOW TO FIX.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/4/2015 - NASHVILLE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 109,000.

View Details

ENGINE

4/27/2015 - ROCKFORD, IL
I JUST PULLED MY CAR OFF THE LOT NOT EVEN 10 MINUTES LATER THERE WAS JERKING THEN MY CAR STOPPED DEAD IN THE MIDDLE OF A BUSY STREET.THIS HAS HAPPENDED NUMEROUS TIMES WITH THE WORST BEING ON A ONE WAY AND MY NEICES NO MORE THAN 10 YEARS OLD IN THE CAR MY CAR MADE A KIND OF A LOUD HUMMING NOISE,JERKED THEN STOPPED IN THE STREET.AT TIMES I CAN'T EVEN REVERSE OR GO UP STEEP HILLS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/27/2015 - ROCKFORD, IL
I JUST PULLED MY CAR OFF THE LOT NOT EVEN 10 MINUTES LATER THERE WAS JERKING THEN MY CAR STOPPED DEAD IN THE MIDDLE OF A BUSY STREET.THIS HAS HAPPENDED NUMEROUS TIMES WITH THE WORST BEING ON A ONE WAY AND MY NEICES NO MORE THAN 10 YEARS OLD IN THE CAR MY CAR MADE A KIND OF A LOUD HUMMING NOISE,JERKED THEN STOPPED IN THE STREET.AT TIMES I CAN'T EVEN REVERSE OR GO UP STEEP HILLS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/5/2015 - VALLEY VIEW, OH
FORD HAS A RECALL FOR THE VEHICLE- 06S45 WHICH ARE THE EXACT SYMPTOMS I AM CURRENTLY HAVING. THE DRIVER, PASSENGER OR BOTH DOORS WILL NOT LATCH/LOCK WHEN IN BELOW FREEZING TEMPERATURES. THIS IS A DIRECT SAFETY CONCERN SINCE THE DOOR CAN STAY OPEN WHILE DRIVING. THE LOCK HAS TO BE WARMED UP AND THEN WILL LOCK PROPERLY WHICH WOULD LEAD ME TO BELIEVE IT CAN ONLY BE MOISTURE RELATED. I AM AN ASE CERTIFIED MECHANIC AND THIS SHOULD BE A CONSIDERED A SAFETY RECALL AND ANY VEHICLE WITH THE SAME DIAGNOSIS. THIS IS A ENGINEERING/DESIGN FLAW OF FORD BECAUSE MANY FORD MAKES, MODELS AND YEARS EXPERIENCE THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/15/2014 - KINGSTON , OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE INSTRUMENT PANEL LIGHTS FAILED TO ILLUMINATE AND ALL THE GAUGES MALFUNCTIONED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 135,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds