Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MONTEGO - 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 120 complaints filed for the 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (47) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (27) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (2) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (21)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (1) Visibility (2)
Engine (9) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

10/15/2016 - LAS VEGAS, NV
WITH ONLY 70,000 ON THE TRANSMISSION IT BEGAN TO HESITATE WHEN I WOULD ACCELERATE AND BUCK WHEN I WOULD COME TO A STOP. THIS BECAME HAZARDOUS WHEN I WAS TRYING TO COME OUT OF A PARKING LOT ONTO A BUSY STREET AND THE FORWARD PROPULSION WOULD HESITATE CLOSING THE SAFE GAP BETWEEN ONCOMING CARS AND MYSELF. THIS HAS BEEN A KNOWN PROBLEM WITH THE 2005 MERCURY VEHICLES BOTH IN THE CVT TRANSMISSION AND THE 6-SPEED. I DON'T KNOW WHY THEY HAVE NOT HAD A RECALL ON THE TRANSMISSIONS SINCE THERE ARE HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS ON THE INTERNET WITH THIS SAME EXACT PROBLEM. MY FIRST MONTEGO PASSED THE LEMON LAW WITH THE TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS WHEN I FIRST BOUGHT IT. NOW THE SECOND MONTEGO IS HAVING THE SAME ISSUES AFTER ONLY 70,000 MILES ON THE VEHICLE. I HAD TOO MANY CLOSE CALLS DRIVING THIS VEHICLE WITH THE INCONSISTENCY IN ACCELERATION. AND THE BUCKING AND THUMPING WHEN BRAKING IS SEVERE. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE SINCE THERE ARE SO MANY OF US HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM. WHAT WILL IT TAKE TO GET FORD, MERCURY TO RECTIFY THIS KNOWN ISSUE?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/11/2016 - REPUBLIC, WA
ABOUT 6 MONTHS AGO ALL THE DASH INDICATORS TURNED ON. THEY WENT OUT FOR A FEW MINUTES THEN CAME BACK ON AND STAYED ON. I WAS TOLD IT WAS IN THE ELECTRICAL HARNESS. IT WOULD BE A $700.00 PLUS COST TO FIX IT. IT IS A COMMON PROBLEM I WOULD THINK THERE WOULD BE A RECALL ON SUCH A SITUATION. I HAVE TO DRIVE NOT KNOWING IF THERE IS TROUBLE WITH THE LIGHTS ON FULL TIME.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/12/2016 - MACOMB, MI
WHEN HITTING THE BRAKES MY CAR HAD A WHINING NOISE AND ACCELERATED NOT RESPONDING TO MY EFFORTS TO STOP.I AVOIDED THE CARS IN FRONT OF ME AND ALSO TO THE RIGHT OF ME BY MOVING TO THE TURNING LANE TO STOP MYSELF FROM HITTING ANYONE ELSE. HOWEVER TO POSSIBLY AVOID ANOTHER ACCIDENT, I CROSSED OVER TO THE OTHER TRAFFIC LANES ON ORDER TO GET OFF THE HIGHWAY WHERE I WAS STILL INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT WHICH TOTALED MY CAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/1/2016 - WATERLOO, IL
CAR RUNS GREAT FOR ABOUT 20 MINUTES THEN I GET A SURGE IN THE ENGINE, DASH CLUSTER GOES DEAD, CAR JERKS AND I LOSE POWER RANDOMLY. EVERYTHING COMES BACK ON BUT WILL GO OUT MULTIPLE TIMES GETTING WORSE EVERYTIME. I HAVE LOST POWER TO TRANSMISSION ONCE, NO FORWARD OR REVERSE. REPLACED THE DASH CLUSTER AND CAR RAN GREAT FOR 2 DAYS THEN STARTED ALL AGAIN. THIS HAPPENS MAINLY WHILE IN THE CITY, HASN'T HAPPENED ON HIGHWAY YET THANK GOODNESS. CAR JUST SITS IN DRIVEWAY, AFRAID TO DRIVE IT. I SEE COUNTLESS PEOPLE WITH THIS ISSUE ALL THE WAY BACK TO WHEN CAR WAS RELEASED AND STILL NO SOLUTION.

View Details

ENGINE

7/1/2016 - WATERLOO, IL
CAR RUNS GREAT FOR ABOUT 20 MINUTES THEN I GET A SURGE IN THE ENGINE, DASH CLUSTER GOES DEAD, CAR JERKS AND I LOSE POWER RANDOMLY. EVERYTHING COMES BACK ON BUT WILL GO OUT MULTIPLE TIMES GETTING WORSE EVERYTIME. I HAVE LOST POWER TO TRANSMISSION ONCE, NO FORWARD OR REVERSE. REPLACED THE DASH CLUSTER AND CAR RAN GREAT FOR 2 DAYS THEN STARTED ALL AGAIN. THIS HAPPENS MAINLY WHILE IN THE CITY, HASN'T HAPPENED ON HIGHWAY YET THANK GOODNESS. CAR JUST SITS IN DRIVEWAY, AFRAID TO DRIVE IT. I SEE COUNTLESS PEOPLE WITH THIS ISSUE ALL THE WAY BACK TO WHEN CAR WAS RELEASED AND STILL NO SOLUTION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/27/2016 - BOWLING GREEN, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO DEPRESS THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO ACCELERATE AND THE TRACTION CONTROL, CHECK TRANSMISSION, AND FAILED SAFE MODE WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. DUE TO THE FAILURE, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A BUSH WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PARK THE VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE FAILURE RECURRED RANDOMLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO SEVERAL INDEPENDENT MECHANICS, BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 270,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/27/2016 - BOWLING GREEN, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO DEPRESS THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO ACCELERATE AND THE TRACTION CONTROL, CHECK TRANSMISSION, AND FAILED SAFE MODE WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. DUE TO THE FAILURE, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A BUSH WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PARK THE VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE FAILURE RECURRED RANDOMLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO SEVERAL INDEPENDENT MECHANICS, BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 270,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/26/2016 - TERRE HAUTE, IN
MY CAR DIES ALL THE TIME. I WAS TOLD IT WAS THE THROTTLE BODY. IT ALSO HAS A PICTURE OF A WRENCH AND WHEN THE CAR DIES IT SAYS FAIL SAFE MODE. IT ONLY DIES WHILE DRIVING. IT DOESNT MATTER WHAT SPEED EITHER.

View Details

STEERING

4/16/2016 - TAWAS CITY, MI
MY 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO SHUTS OFF WHILE GOING DOWN THE ROAD. I HAVE PAID AROUND $4000 TO TRY AND HAVE THE PROBLEM FIXED AND IT HAS NEVER STOPPED. THE REVERSE GEAR IS UNUSABLE, AS SOON AS YOU PUT IT IN REVERSE IT SHUTS THE CAR OFF. THE TRANSMISSION JERKS AND WILL NOT STEADILY ACCELERATE AT RANDOM TIMES. THE CAR WILL RANDOMLY SHUT OFF WHEN GOING DOWN THE ROAD LOSING ALL POWER STEERING AND POWER BRAKING ABILITY. THIS IS PARTICULARLY A PROBLEM CONSIDERING I HAVE AN INFANT IN THE BACKSEAT MOST EVERY TRIP. I SAW THIS LAWSUIT AND EVERY SINGLE THING LISTED ABOUT THE CVT TRANSMISSIONS HAS HAPPENED AND IS STILL HAPPENING TO MY 2005 MONTEGO.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/16/2016 - TAWAS CITY, MI
MY 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO SHUTS OFF WHILE GOING DOWN THE ROAD. I HAVE PAID AROUND $4000 TO TRY AND HAVE THE PROBLEM FIXED AND IT HAS NEVER STOPPED. THE REVERSE GEAR IS UNUSABLE, AS SOON AS YOU PUT IT IN REVERSE IT SHUTS THE CAR OFF. THE TRANSMISSION JERKS AND WILL NOT STEADILY ACCELERATE AT RANDOM TIMES. THE CAR WILL RANDOMLY SHUT OFF WHEN GOING DOWN THE ROAD LOSING ALL POWER STEERING AND POWER BRAKING ABILITY. THIS IS PARTICULARLY A PROBLEM CONSIDERING I HAVE AN INFANT IN THE BACKSEAT MOST EVERY TRIP. I SAW THIS LAWSUIT AND EVERY SINGLE THING LISTED ABOUT THE CVT TRANSMISSIONS HAS HAPPENED AND IS STILL HAPPENING TO MY 2005 MONTEGO.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds