Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MONTEGO - 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 115 complaints filed for the 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (46) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (24) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (2) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (1) Visibility (2)
Engine (8) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/26/2016 - TERRE HAUTE, IN
MY CAR DIES ALL THE TIME. I WAS TOLD IT WAS THE THROTTLE BODY. IT ALSO HAS A PICTURE OF A WRENCH AND WHEN THE CAR DIES IT SAYS FAIL SAFE MODE. IT ONLY DIES WHILE DRIVING. IT DOESNT MATTER WHAT SPEED EITHER.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/16/2016 - TAWAS CITY, MI
MY 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO SHUTS OFF WHILE GOING DOWN THE ROAD. I HAVE PAID AROUND $4000 TO TRY AND HAVE THE PROBLEM FIXED AND IT HAS NEVER STOPPED. THE REVERSE GEAR IS UNUSABLE, AS SOON AS YOU PUT IT IN REVERSE IT SHUTS THE CAR OFF. THE TRANSMISSION JERKS AND WILL NOT STEADILY ACCELERATE AT RANDOM TIMES. THE CAR WILL RANDOMLY SHUT OFF WHEN GOING DOWN THE ROAD LOSING ALL POWER STEERING AND POWER BRAKING ABILITY. THIS IS PARTICULARLY A PROBLEM CONSIDERING I HAVE AN INFANT IN THE BACKSEAT MOST EVERY TRIP. I SAW THIS LAWSUIT AND EVERY SINGLE THING LISTED ABOUT THE CVT TRANSMISSIONS HAS HAPPENED AND IS STILL HAPPENING TO MY 2005 MONTEGO.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/16/2016 - TAWAS CITY, MI
MY 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO SHUTS OFF WHILE GOING DOWN THE ROAD. I HAVE PAID AROUND $4000 TO TRY AND HAVE THE PROBLEM FIXED AND IT HAS NEVER STOPPED. THE REVERSE GEAR IS UNUSABLE, AS SOON AS YOU PUT IT IN REVERSE IT SHUTS THE CAR OFF. THE TRANSMISSION JERKS AND WILL NOT STEADILY ACCELERATE AT RANDOM TIMES. THE CAR WILL RANDOMLY SHUT OFF WHEN GOING DOWN THE ROAD LOSING ALL POWER STEERING AND POWER BRAKING ABILITY. THIS IS PARTICULARLY A PROBLEM CONSIDERING I HAVE AN INFANT IN THE BACKSEAT MOST EVERY TRIP. I SAW THIS LAWSUIT AND EVERY SINGLE THING LISTED ABOUT THE CVT TRANSMISSIONS HAS HAPPENED AND IS STILL HAPPENING TO MY 2005 MONTEGO.

View Details

STEERING

4/16/2016 - TAWAS CITY, MI
MY 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO SHUTS OFF WHILE GOING DOWN THE ROAD. I HAVE PAID AROUND $4000 TO TRY AND HAVE THE PROBLEM FIXED AND IT HAS NEVER STOPPED. THE REVERSE GEAR IS UNUSABLE, AS SOON AS YOU PUT IT IN REVERSE IT SHUTS THE CAR OFF. THE TRANSMISSION JERKS AND WILL NOT STEADILY ACCELERATE AT RANDOM TIMES. THE CAR WILL RANDOMLY SHUT OFF WHEN GOING DOWN THE ROAD LOSING ALL POWER STEERING AND POWER BRAKING ABILITY. THIS IS PARTICULARLY A PROBLEM CONSIDERING I HAVE AN INFANT IN THE BACKSEAT MOST EVERY TRIP. I SAW THIS LAWSUIT AND EVERY SINGLE THING LISTED ABOUT THE CVT TRANSMISSIONS HAS HAPPENED AND IS STILL HAPPENING TO MY 2005 MONTEGO.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/5/2016 - PUTNAM VALLEY, NY
RECALL #06V383000 LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES "AS A RESULT, THE DOOR LATCH PAWL MAY NOT RETURN TO THE LATCH POSITION WHEN THE DOOR IS CLOSED, AND THE DOOR COULD OPEN WHILE THE VEHICLE IS MOVING." IS LISTED AS HAVING BEEN COMPLETED, YET THE ISSUE IS STILL PRESENT. LAST NIGHT, REAR DOOR WAS FROZEN SHUT DUE TO WATER SEEPAGE. TODAY, DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR DID NOT LATCH PROPERLY AND OPENED WHILE I WAS DRIVING THE VEHICLE. I CALLED FORD AND THEY INFORMED ME THEY ARE NO LONGER RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS. OBVIOUSLY, THE RECALL WAS PERFORMED IMPROPERLY, IF AT ALL. I AM CONCERNED THAT THE ADDITIONAL RECALL LISTED (NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 05V515000) MAY NOT HAVE BEEN PERFORMED PROPERLY AS WELL, AS BOTH RECALLS WERE (SUPPOSEDLY) FIXED AT THE SAME LOCATION.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/5/2016 - LIMA, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO. WHILE DRIVING 15 MPH AROUND A CORNER, THE VEHICLE JERKED AND THE CHECK ENGINE AND FAIL SAFE MODE WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY CONTROL UNIT FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 150,000.

View Details

ENGINE

4/5/2016 - LIMA, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MERCURY MONTEGO. WHILE DRIVING 15 MPH AROUND A CORNER, THE VEHICLE JERKED AND THE CHECK ENGINE AND FAIL SAFE MODE WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY CONTROL UNIT FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 150,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/12/2016 - EVERSON, WA
DASH BOARD GAUGES AND CONTROLS. WHEN DRIVING OUR 2005 MONTEGO ALL OF THE DASH INSTRUMENTS AND GAUGES WILL GO OUT, AND YOU LOOSE SOME POWER, THE REAR LIGHTS GO ON. THIS CAN HAPPEN AT ANY MOMENT WHEN THE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION, ON THE INTERSTATE, SLOW SPEEDS. TO REPLACE IS QUITE EXPENSIVE, BUT IN DOING SOME RESEARCH I HAVE COME ACROSS THOUSANDS OF COMPLAINTS ON THE SAME ISSUE, AND IT'S EXTREMELY SCARY AND CONCERNING THAT A SAFETY RECALL HAS NOT BEEN DONE. YOU CAN TURN IT OFF BUT DOESN'T ALWAYS RESET AND WHEN IT DOES THE ENGINE LIGHT STAYS ON. THIS OCCURS WHILE THE CAR IS IN MOTION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/19/2015 - PORTAGE, MI
STARTED 2005 MONTEGO TO PICK UP FIANC+ FROM WORK, GOT BACK INSIDE AFTER BRUSHING SNOW OFF THE CAR AND I PRESSED THE THROTTLE TO DROP THE IDLE SPEED, ALL OF THE GAUGES ON MY INSTRUMENT PANEL WENT BLACK (TACH,SPEED,FUEL,WATER TEMP,AC/HEATER), MY REVERSE LIGHTS CAME ON, MY STEREO HAD REALLY LOUD STATIC COMING THROUGH IT AND MY WIPERS/HEATER STOPPED WORKING. CAME BACK A FEW HOURS LATER AND GAUGES WORKED BUT CHECK ENGINE, TRANSMISSION AND CHARGING SYSTEMS LIGHTS WERE ON. I PUT IT IN GEAR BECAUSE I THOUGHT THE ISSUE WAS GONE AND AS SOON AS I GOT TO ABOUT 1500 RPM MY GAUGES WENT BLACK SO I STOPPED AND WHEN THE IDLE SPEED DROPPED BACK DOWN MY GAUGES CAME BACK ON. I TRIED MY HEADLIGHTS AND THEY GO OUT EVERY TIME MY GAUGES GO OUT, WHICH IS ANY TIME I GET OVER 1500 RPM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/11/2015 - ODESSA , MO
PARKED CAR AT HOME AFTER DROPPING DAUGHTER OFF IN TOWN CAR PERFORMED NORMALLY. FIVE HOURS LATER WENT OUT TO PICK DAUGHTER UP. STARTED CAR AND HAD NO SPEEDOMETER, ODOMETER, TACHOMETER, NO CLUSTER PANEL AT ALL. NO LIGHTS ON PANEL, A/C WOULD NOT FUNCTION AND BACKUP LIGHTS CAME ON AND STAYED ON. THE WRENCH SYMBOL LIGHT CAME ON AT THIS TIME. I TESTED THE CAR DAILY WITH THE SAME RESULTS, UNTIL TUESDAY, AUGUST 11TH. I HAD AN APPT TO TAKE IT IN TO A FORD DEALER TO HAVE IT DIAGNOSED. WHEN I STARTED THE CAR AT THIS TIME, THE CLUSTER PANEL AND A/C WERE WORKING, THE BACKUP LIGHTS WERE OFF (EXCEPT WHEN IN REVERSE) AND THE WRENCH LIGHT WAS NOW OFF. HOWEVER, NOW THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON. DIAGNOSIS AT THE DEALERSHIP WAS THAT THE CLUSTER PANEL WAS BAD AND WAS SENDING INCORRECT CODES (P0462 & P2067) CAUSING THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT TO COME ON. SINCE THOSE CODES ARE ASSOCIATED WITH THE POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE IT COULD CAUSE THE ENGINE TO STALL AT ANY TIME.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds