Auto Recalls for Consumers

MITSUBISHI GALANT - 2005 MITSUBISHI GALANT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mitsubishi Motors North America, Inc.

There are 22 complaints filed for the 2005 MITSUBISHI GALANT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 MITSUBISHI GALANT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 MITSUBISHI GALANT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Exterior Lighting (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (2) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Steering (2) Tires (1) Visibility (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (6)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/14/2014 - FONTANA, , CA
ABOUT 1YR. AGO PAINT STARTED FADING DEALER DID NOT HELP ME, WHAT CAN I DO.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/11/2013 - MIAMI, FL
GOOD MORNING, I PURCHASED MY 2005 MITSUBISHI GALANT ES IN JUNE OR JULY OF 2005 WITH APPROXIMATELY 1,400 MILES AND FOR THE PASTED FEW WEEKS I'VE NOTICE THE PASSENGER AIR BAG IS RISING/SEPARATING MORE AND MORE OF THE DASHBOARD EXACTLY ABOVE THE GLOVE COMPARTMENT SILVER TRIMMING. I CONTACT THE MITSUBISHI DEALER (866-346-0796) ON SEPT. 10, 2013 WHERE I MY PURCHASED THE VEHICLE AND EXPLAINED TO THEM IN DETAIL THE PROBLEM WITH THE PASSENGER AIR BAG. THE SERVICE WRITER ASKED FOR THE LAST EIGHT DIGIT OF THE VEHICLE VIN # WHICH I PROVIDED. THE SERVICE WRITER PULLED UP THE HISTORY IN HIS COMPUTER AND ADVISED ME THAT THE CAR WAS OUT OF WARRANTY AND THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO ABOUT. I WAS VERY SURPRISED BY HIS ANSWER AND TOLD HIM I WILL CONTACT MITSUBISHI CORP. OFFICE TO FIND A RESOLUTION TO THIS PROBLEM BEFORE IT GET WORST. AND FOR THE RECORD I'VE PREVIOUSLY OWNED TWO MONTERO MITSUBISHI SUV.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/13/2012 - DANVERS, IL
PAINT IS COMING OFF EVEN THOUGH IT IS PROPERLY CARED FOR, GARAGED ETC. THIS IS A KNOWN PAINT ISSUE AND I'M WANTING IT FIXED.. NO ONE WILL BUY THIS VEHICLE IN THIS CONDITION. OWNED SINCE NEW IN 2005.

View Details

STEERING

1/18/2012 - PEBLO, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MITSUBISHI GALANT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE PULLED TO THE RIGHT WHEN BEING DRIVEN. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND HAD IT TEST DRIVEN. THE DEALER ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PERFORMING AS DESIGNED. THE CONTACT BELIEVED THAT THE TORQUE ON THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AXLE WAS TOO TIGHT AND CAUSING THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 15,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE

6/16/2011 - DERRY, NH
I HAVE A 2006 MITSUBISHI GALANT THAT IS OUT OF WARRANTY AND ONLY HAS 65K MILES ON THE ODOMETER. IT A BLACK GALANT AND THE PAINT IS FADING IN SPOTS, IT LOOKS LIKE OXYDATION IS SETTING IN, I'VE TRIED OVER THE COUNTER POLISHES TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM TO NO AVAIL. THIS IMHO, IS A PAINT DEFECT AND I FEEL THAT MITSUBISHI SHOULD CORRECT THE PROBLEM. THE CAR LOOKS LIKE LIKE CRAP NOW AND I AM NOT LIKELY TO PURCHASE ANOTHER GALANT IF THIS IS NOT REMEDIED.

View Details

STRUCTURE

12/11/2009 - ROSENBERG, TX
I HAVE A BLACK 2005 MITSUBISHI GALANT. WITHIN THE PAST YEAR THE PAINT HAS BEEN FADING BY TURNING A OFF WHITE IN SOME AREAS AND IT IS SPREADING LIKE CANCER. I EVEN HAVE A SPOT THAT IS GETTING RUSTED. I AM NOT SURE WHAT TO DO BUT THERE NEEDS TO BE A PAINT RECALL. I NEED MY PAINT FIXED PLEASE BEFORE IT SPREADS EVERYWHERE. I HAVE THREE CHILDREN AND AM NOT ABLE TO PURCHASE A NEW CAR AT THIS TIME.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/26/2009 - MONROVIA, CA
BLACK PAINT ON CAR IS COMING OFF DESPITE PROPER CARE AND GARAGE.

View Details

TIRES

10/7/2008 - PITTSIELD, MA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MITSUBISHI GALANT. THE VEHICLE HAS MASTERCRAFT A/S IV STEEL BELTED RADIAL TIRES, SIZE P225/70R15. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE CONTACT FELT THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE DROP DOWN. HE MANEUVERED ONTO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND DISCOVERED THAT THE TREAD HAD SEPARATED FROM THE TIRE ALL THE WAY AROUND. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 78,000 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 76,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

9/16/2008 - SANTA PAULA, CA
MY 2005 GALANT HAS BEEN EXPERIENCING BRAKE PROBLEMS I REPORTED IT TO MITSUBISHI DEALER BEFORE MY WARRANTY EXPIRED AND THEY TOLD ME THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG JUST A GLAZE. I FINALLY TOOK IT SOMEWHERE ELSE TO GET THE BRAKES DONE THEY REPLACED THE PADS 2 WEEKS LATER THE BRAKES STARTED MAKING NOISE SINCE THEN I HAVE TAKEN THEM BACK FOR THE SAME PROBLEM OVER AND OVER AGAIN ALL THEY TELL ME, ITS A GLAZE BUT THE NOISE GETS LOUDER. THE ENGINE ALSO MAKES A CLICKING NOISE THAT DOESN'T SOUND RIGHT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

9/16/2008 - SANTA PAULA, CA
MY 2005 GALANT HAS BEEN EXPERIENCING BRAKE PROBLEMS I REPORTED IT TO MITSUBISHI DEALER BEFORE MY WARRANTY EXPIRED AND THEY TOLD ME THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG JUST A GLAZE. I FINALLY TOOK IT SOMEWHERE ELSE TO GET THE BRAKES DONE THEY REPLACED THE PADS 2 WEEKS LATER THE BRAKES STARTED MAKING NOISE SINCE THEN I HAVE TAKEN THEM BACK FOR THE SAME PROBLEM OVER AND OVER AGAIN ALL THEY TELL ME, ITS A GLAZE BUT THE NOISE GETS LOUDER. THE ENGINE ALSO MAKES A CLICKING NOISE THAT DOESN'T SOUND RIGHT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds