Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN TITAN - 2005 NISSAN TITAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 811 complaints filed for the 2005 NISSAN TITAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 NISSAN TITAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 NISSAN TITAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment Adaptive (2) Latches Locks Linkages (22) Service Brakes (12) Tires (8)
Electrical System (43) Exterior Lighting (1) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (7) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (40) Parking Brake (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (70) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Engine (50) Fuel System Gasoline (23) Power Train (482) Steering (13) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (62) Fuel System Other (21) Seat Belts (6) Structure (18) Wheels (5)
Equipment (5) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (2) Suspension (65)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 71
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/29/2018 - RIDGECREST, CA
THE FUEL GAUGE SEEMS TO WORK INTERMITTENTLY AND AFTER RESEARCHING THE PROBLEM ONLINE IT APPEARS THERE IS A RECALL AFFECTING MY TRUCK, CAMPAIGN ID # R1010 NHTSA 10V-074.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/13/2018 - WARNER ROBINS, GA
DRIVING DOWN A BUSY ROAD ON MY WAY HOME FROM WORK AND VEHICLE SPUTTERS AS IF OUT OF FUEL UNTIL IT DIED. COULD NOT GET TRUCK TO CRANK AND WAS CLEARLY A LACK OF FUEL. FUEL GAUGE READ 1/4 TANK FULL EXACTLY AS DESCRIBED IN CAMPAIGN 10V074000. FORTUNATRLY A POLICE OFFICER ASSISTED IN PUSHING MY TRUCK INTO A PARKING LOT. I CALLED A FAMILY MEMBER TO DRIVE UP WITH A GAS CONTAINER TO PUT A FEW GALLONS IN. SURE ENOUGH, CRANKED RIGHT UP. THE FOLLOWING DAY, I CONTACTED NISSAN OF USA, MY VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE CAMPAIGN AND BECAUSE OF THE AGE AND MILEAGE OF MY TRUCK I WOULD NOT RECEIVE ASSISTANCE IN THE REPAIR OF THIS MANUFACTURER DEFECT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/13/2018 - WARNER ROBINS, GA
DRIVING DOWN A BUSY ROAD ON MY WAY HOME FROM WORK AND VEHICLE SPUTTERS AS IF OUT OF FUEL UNTIL IT DIED. COULD NOT GET TRUCK TO CRANK AND WAS CLEARLY A LACK OF FUEL. FUEL GAUGE READ 1/4 TANK FULL EXACTLY AS DESCRIBED IN CAMPAIGN 10V074000. FORTUNATRLY A POLICE OFFICER ASSISTED IN PUSHING MY TRUCK INTO A PARKING LOT. I CALLED A FAMILY MEMBER TO DRIVE UP WITH A GAS CONTAINER TO PUT A FEW GALLONS IN. SURE ENOUGH, CRANKED RIGHT UP. THE FOLLOWING DAY, I CONTACTED NISSAN OF USA, MY VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE CAMPAIGN AND BECAUSE OF THE AGE AND MILEAGE OF MY TRUCK I WOULD NOT RECEIVE ASSISTANCE IN THE REPAIR OF THIS MANUFACTURER DEFECT.

View Details

ENGINE

3/23/2018 - RIFLE, CO
2005 NISSAN TITAN 121K MILES. CRACKED EXHAUST MANIFOLD CAUSING A EXHAUST LEAK. THERE IS A STRONG EXHAUST SMELL IN THE CAB WHEN TRAVELING AT SLOWER SPEEDS (UNDER 35MPH). IT HAS BEEN SO BAD AT TIMES IT MAKES YOU LIGHT HEADED AND SICK TO YOUR STOMACH. THIS COULD CAUSE SOMEONE TO PASS OUT WHILE DRIVING CAUSING THEM TO LOOSE CONTROL OF THEIR VEHICLE. DEFIANTLY A SAFETY HAZARD! ALSO CAUSING A DECREASE IN GAS MILEAGE AS WELL AS A LOUD KNOCKING/PUFFING NOISE UPON ACCELERATION. I HAVE SEARCHED THE INTERNET FINDING 100'S IF NOT 1000'S OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS! WHY HAS THIS NEVER BEEN RECALLED? THE SAFETY ISSUE ALONE SHOULD WARRANT A RECALL, ITS OBVIOUSLY A FAULTY COMPONENT!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/5/2018 - WELLINGTON, MO
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HWY AND MY ENGINE SHUT DOWN. I MADE IT TO THE SHOULDER, PUT IT IN PARK TURN THE KEY OFF THEN STARTS RIGHT BACK UP. STARTED YESTERDAY, AND DOES IT ABOUT EVERY TEN MILES. STARTS RIGHT BACK UP EVERY TIME. SOUNDS LIKE THE IPDM BUT FENTON NISSAN IN LEES SUMMIT MISSOURI SAID MY TRUCKS NOT RECALLED. PLEASE HELP! NO SPIT AND SPUTTER, IT JUST DIES OUT OF NO WHERE. IT ALMOST CAUSED A REAR END COLLISION WHILE PULLIN ON INTERSTATE. THIS RELAY PROBLEM IS VERY UNSAFE. PLEASE HELP!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/28/2018 - CORNELIUS, NC
COMPLETE TRANSMISSION FAILURE DUE TO FAULTY RADIATOR DESIGN. COOLANT MIXED WITH ATF, FROM INTERNAL TRANSFER COOLER LEAK.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/29/2018 - WHITTIER, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER WITHOUT WARNING AND RESTARTED AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS. A LOCAL DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT HE WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/27/2017 - EXETER, ME
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WIRING HARNESS FAILED. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED THAT THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER FRONTAL SEAT BELTS MAY NOT OPERATE AS INTENDED IN THE EVENT OF A CRASH. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED THAT THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER SEAT BELTS MAY RETRACT ABNORMALLY AND CAUSE EXTREME TIGHTNESS. THE CONTACT WAS REPAIRING THE VEHICLE HIMSELF. THE CONTACT LOCATED THE WIRING HARNESS ON THE REAR PASSENGER DOOR AND DISCOVERED THAT IT DID NOT HAVE A PROTECTIVE SHIELD. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,447.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

11/27/2017 - EXETER, ME
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WIRING HARNESS FAILED. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED THAT THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER FRONTAL SEAT BELTS MAY NOT OPERATE AS INTENDED IN THE EVENT OF A CRASH. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED THAT THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER SEAT BELTS MAY RETRACT ABNORMALLY AND CAUSE EXTREME TIGHTNESS. THE CONTACT WAS REPAIRING THE VEHICLE HIMSELF. THE CONTACT LOCATED THE WIRING HARNESS ON THE REAR PASSENGER DOOR AND DISCOVERED THAT IT DID NOT HAVE A PROTECTIVE SHIELD. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,447.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/8/2017 - ALPINE, CA
I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER 2005 TITAN LE. I HAVE EXPERIENCED A BRAKING ISSUE 8-10 TIMES. WHILE DRIVING IN NORMAL TRAFFIC CONDITIONS ON THE FREEWAY TRAFFIC BEGINS TO SLOW, I APPLIED THE BRAKES. THE ENTIRE TRUCK BEGAN TO VIOLENTLY SHUTTER, THE RED BRAKE ICON ON THE DASH CAME ON, AND THE BRAKE PEDDLE WENT ALMOST ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR. I HAD TO PULL TO THE RIGHT TO AVOID HITTING THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME. THE HARDER YOU PUSH THE MORE THE BRAKES SEEM TO FAIL AND THE TRUCK SHAKES HARDER. THE ONLY THING THAT FIXES THE ISSUE IS TO STOP THE TRUCK AND TURN IT OFF AND RESTART IT. EVERYTHING GOES BACK TO NORMAL AS IF IT DIDN'T HAPPEN. THIS HAS HAPPENED TO ME 8-10 TIMES SINCE OWNING THIS TRUCK AS NEW. I HAVE READ MANY INCIDENTS ONLINE IN BLOGS ETC.THAT ARE ALMOST EXACTLY AS I HAVE DESCRIBED. THE DEALER SAID IT WAS AN ISOLATED INCIDENT. I WHOLE HEARTILY DISAGREE WITH THEM. THIS IS AN ISSUE THAT IS ULTIMATELY GOING TO CAUSE INJURY OR DEATH. THIS HAS HAPPENED TO ME AT FREEWAY SPEEDS, NORMAL RESIDENTIAL SPEEDS (25MPH) AND EVERYWHERE IN BETWEEN. LAST INCIDENT OCCURRED ON 11/8/2017.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 71
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds