Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN TITAN - 2005 NISSAN TITAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 804 complaints filed for the 2005 NISSAN TITAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 NISSAN TITAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 NISSAN TITAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment Adaptive (2) Latches Locks Linkages (22) Service Brakes (12) Tires (8)
Electrical System (41) Exterior Lighting (1) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (7) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (38) Parking Brake (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (70) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Engine (49) Fuel System Gasoline (23) Power Train (480) Steering (13) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (62) Fuel System Other (21) Seat Belts (6) Structure (18) Wheels (5)
Equipment (5) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (2) Suspension (65)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 70
 
ComplaintDescription

SEAT BELTS

11/27/2017 - EXETER, ME
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WIRING HARNESS FAILED. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED THAT THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER FRONTAL SEAT BELTS MAY NOT OPERATE AS INTENDED IN THE EVENT OF A CRASH. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED THAT THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER SEAT BELTS MAY RETRACT ABNORMALLY AND CAUSE EXTREME TIGHTNESS. THE CONTACT WAS REPAIRING THE VEHICLE HIMSELF. THE CONTACT LOCATED THE WIRING HARNESS ON THE REAR PASSENGER DOOR AND DISCOVERED THAT IT DID NOT HAVE A PROTECTIVE SHIELD. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,447.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/27/2017 - EXETER, ME
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WIRING HARNESS FAILED. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED THAT THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER FRONTAL SEAT BELTS MAY NOT OPERATE AS INTENDED IN THE EVENT OF A CRASH. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED THAT THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER SEAT BELTS MAY RETRACT ABNORMALLY AND CAUSE EXTREME TIGHTNESS. THE CONTACT WAS REPAIRING THE VEHICLE HIMSELF. THE CONTACT LOCATED THE WIRING HARNESS ON THE REAR PASSENGER DOOR AND DISCOVERED THAT IT DID NOT HAVE A PROTECTIVE SHIELD. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,447.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/8/2017 - ALPINE, CA
I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER 2005 TITAN LE. I HAVE EXPERIENCED A BRAKING ISSUE 8-10 TIMES. WHILE DRIVING IN NORMAL TRAFFIC CONDITIONS ON THE FREEWAY TRAFFIC BEGINS TO SLOW, I APPLIED THE BRAKES. THE ENTIRE TRUCK BEGAN TO VIOLENTLY SHUTTER, THE RED BRAKE ICON ON THE DASH CAME ON, AND THE BRAKE PEDDLE WENT ALMOST ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR. I HAD TO PULL TO THE RIGHT TO AVOID HITTING THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME. THE HARDER YOU PUSH THE MORE THE BRAKES SEEM TO FAIL AND THE TRUCK SHAKES HARDER. THE ONLY THING THAT FIXES THE ISSUE IS TO STOP THE TRUCK AND TURN IT OFF AND RESTART IT. EVERYTHING GOES BACK TO NORMAL AS IF IT DIDN'T HAPPEN. THIS HAS HAPPENED TO ME 8-10 TIMES SINCE OWNING THIS TRUCK AS NEW. I HAVE READ MANY INCIDENTS ONLINE IN BLOGS ETC.THAT ARE ALMOST EXACTLY AS I HAVE DESCRIBED. THE DEALER SAID IT WAS AN ISOLATED INCIDENT. I WHOLE HEARTILY DISAGREE WITH THEM. THIS IS AN ISSUE THAT IS ULTIMATELY GOING TO CAUSE INJURY OR DEATH. THIS HAS HAPPENED TO ME AT FREEWAY SPEEDS, NORMAL RESIDENTIAL SPEEDS (25MPH) AND EVERYWHERE IN BETWEEN. LAST INCIDENT OCCURRED ON 11/8/2017.

View Details

ENGINE

9/18/2017 - SOUTHOLD, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER (RIVERHEAD NISSAN, 1800 OLD COUNTRY RD, RIVERHEAD, NY 11901, (631) 369-0600) WHO STATED THAT THEY REPAIRED THE VEHICLE WITH A WARRANTY REPAIR CONCERNING THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD. THE CONTACT REPORTED TO THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER THAT THE REPLACEMENT PART FAILED AGAIN AND WAS UNCERTAIN IF THE MANUFACTURER WOULD PROVIDE A SOLUTION WITH NO RECALL CAMPAIGN. THE WARRANTY REPLACEMENT PART PROVIDED NO SOLUTION AND, A FEW YEARS LATER, THERE WAS A CRACK AND LEAK WHICH FROM THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V517000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISOCNNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/16/2017 - SACRAMENTO, CA
TAKATA RECALL .A RECALL HAS BEEN NOTED FFOR THIS MATTER. I TOOK MY TRUCK TO THE DEALER THE DAY AFTER I FOUND OUT THROUGH MEDIA. THE DEALER INFORMED ME THEY COULD NOT COMPLETE THE RECALL DUE TO A SYSTEM ISSUE WITH MY TRUCK NOT ALLOWING THE UPLOAD OF DATA. THE DEALER STATED TO COMPLETE THE RECALL I WOULD NEED TO PURCHASE A $900 UNIT TO ALLOW MY TRUCK TO UPLOAD THE DATA REQUIRED. I AM FURIOUS THAT DUE TO A RECALL, I NEED TO PAY $900 TO COMPLETE THE PROCESS. THERE ARE NO AFTERMARKET PARTS ON MY TRUCK SO EVERYTHING IS FACTORY ISSUED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/16/2017 - SACRAMENTO, CA
I HAVE BOTH LEFT AND RIGHT REAR AXLE SEALS REQUIRING REPLACEMENT DUE TO SEVERE LEAKING. DEALER ESTIMATE AT $600.00. I HAVE READ FORUMS REGARDING THIS ISSUE AND IT APPEARS TO BE JUST SHORT OF A RECALL? 2005 NISSAN TITAN 2WD WITH 84,000 MILES ON IT.

View Details

ENGINE

7/28/2017 - BELEN, NM
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO MELLOY NISSAN (LOCATED AT 7707 LOMAS BLVD NE, ALBUQUERQUE, NM 87110) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT REPAIRED THE VEHICLE HIMSELF; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE AND VIN WERE NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

7/14/2017 - SPRINGBORO, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE LOST POWER WHILE AT A STOP. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. A LOCAL DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE RADIATOR AND TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 134,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/14/2017 - SPRINGBORO, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE LOST POWER WHILE AT A STOP. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. A LOCAL DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE RADIATOR AND TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 134,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/13/2017 - ALVIN, TX
MY FUEL GAUGE STOPS DROPPING ONCE IT GETS BETWEEN 1/2 AND 1/4 TANK OF GAS. I ALL WAYS CHECK MY AND RESET MY TRIP ODOMETER AND KNOW WHEN I NEED TO REFUEL BUT MY FUEL GAUGE DOES NOT MATCH WHAT MY TRIP ODOMETER IS READING. I WENT ONLINE AND CHECKED TO FIND OUT IF THERE WAS A RECALL ON THIS PROBLEM AND DISCOVERED THAT THERE IS A SAFETY RECALL ON 340,000 2005 TITANS BUT NOT FOR MINE. NOT SURE WHY SOME 2005 TITANS ARE IN THE RECALL BUT NOT ALL EVEN THOUGH MANY MORE HAVE THE SAME EXACT PROBLEM. SEEMS TO ME A SAFETY RECALL SHOULD BE FOR ALL AFFECTED VEHICLES AND NOT JUST SOME. MINE AND MY FAMILIES SAFETY SHOULD BE JUST AS IMPORTANT TO NSSAN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 70
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds