Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN TITAN - 2005 NISSAN TITAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 749 complaints filed for the 2005 NISSAN TITAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 NISSAN TITAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 NISSAN TITAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Equipment Adaptive (2) Latches Locks Linkages (22) Service Brakes (7) Tires (8)
Electrical System (35) Exterior Lighting (1) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (7) Unknown Or Other (12)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (23) Parking Brake (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (70) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine (33) Fuel System Gasoline (20) Power Train (469) Steering (12) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (59) Fuel System Other (20) Seat Belts (4) Structure (17) Wheels (5)
Equipment (5) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (2) Suspension (61)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 64
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

3/10/2015 - WOODSTOCK, CT
THIS IS THE SECOND DIFFERENTIAL PUT INTO TRUCK SINCE JULY 2014. THE FIRST ONE WAS WITHIN 30 DAYS OF PURCHASE AT 65,000 AND THE SECOND ONE AT 80,000 COSTING $3800.00. THE TRUCK IS BACK IN FOR REPAIR WITHIN 5 DAYS SINCE AND BACK BRAKES ARE NOT WORKING PROPERLY. WAITING TO HEAR FROM MECHANIC.

View Details

ENGINE

3/10/2015 - NORTH TROY, VT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. WHILE TRAVELING 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE BRAKES AND STEERING SEIZED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE RECURRED THREE TIMES IN A FIVE MILE SPAN AND NO WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE ELECTRONIC CONTROL MODULE FAILED. THE DEALER STATED THAT THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THE ECM UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V517000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING); HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 124,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/4/2015 - ROCHESTER, MN
I HAVE A 2005 NISSAN TITAN WHICH I PURCHASED USED AT 23,000 MILES. TWO YEARS AGO (2013) I HEARD A LOUD NOISE COMING FROM THE FRONT DIFFERENTIAL. I TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC AND I WAS TOLD THAT THE U-JOINTS FAILED WHICH COST $1400 DOLLARS. NOW, MARCH 2015, I AGAIN HEARD A LOUD NOISE COMING FROM THE FRONT DIFFERENTIAL. I FOUND THAT THE RIGHT AXLE HAD POPPED OUT. I TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC AND I WAS TOLD THAT THE FRONT DIFFERENTIAL FAILED WHICH COST $2300 DOLLARS. I WAS TOLD BY MY MECHANIC THAT BOTH OF THESE INCIDENTS COULD HAVE CAUSED ME TO CRASH AND THAT I WAS LUCKY. I HAVE HAD SEVERAL OTHER ISSUES WITH THIS VEHICLE (FUEL PUMP, BRAKES, EXHAUST SYSTEM). I WAS ALSO CONTACTED BY AN ATTORNEY WHO INFORMED ME THAT HE WAS CONDUCTING A LAW SUITE AND WANTED TO KNOW WHAT ISSUES I HAVE HAD. THE ATTORNEY INFORMED ME THAT MY VEHICLE WAS DEEMED A "LEMON" BY THE FIRST OWNER.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/15/2015 - SPRINGS, PA
2005 NISSAN TITAN. DOOR LATCH FAILURE DURING COLD WEATHER BELOW FREEZING. LIVE IN PA, SO TIME PERIOD OF THIS WEATHER IS DECEMBER - MARCH. DOOR WILL NOT OPEN, NOR CLOSE PROPERLY FROM INSIDE, OR OUTSIDE OF VEHICLE. HAD THIS PROBLEM LAST WEEK, WAS NOT ABLE TO GET BACK INTO VEHICLE FOR 10MIN . YESTERDAY DRIVING ON A HIGHWAY DOOR OPENED UNEXPECTEDLY AND PASSENGER NEARLY FELL OUT OF VEHICLE. NO ONE INJURED, HOWEVER YOU CAN IMAGINE THE EXPERIENCE AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. I MUST DRIVE THE VEHICLE WITH A RATCHET STRAP FROM ONE DOOR TO THE OTHER TO KEEP THEM SHUT. THIS IS NOT SAFE BUT THE ONLY WAY TO FIX THE ISSUE AT THIS TIME. THERE IS A NISSAN TSB THAT THEY WILL REPLACE DOOR LOCKING MECHANISM IF VEHICLE IS UNDER WARRANTY. NISSAN USA: TBNS BX56AA / TSB 05118. HOWEVER IF VEHICLE IS NOT UNDER WARRANTY THEY QUOTED ME AT $400+ PER DOOR X'S 4 DOORS. THIS IS UNREASONABLE AND A SEVERE SAFETY HAZARD FOR MOST OF THE COUNTRY THAT EXPERIENCES WEATHER BELOW 32DEGREES F. IT IS A KNOWN FAILURE THAT NISSAN USA KNOWS ABOUT. THIS SHOULD BE A MANDATED RECALL. THERE WILL BE SEVERE LAWSUITS FILED IF ANOTHER PASSENGER, MY CHILD, OR MYSELF CANNOT GET INTO A VEHICLE, OR UNEXPECTEDLY FALLS OUT. BELOW ARE LINKS TO A NISSAN TITAN ONLINE FORUM WITH MULTIPLE OTHER COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS. FROZEN DOOR LATCH PROBLEM NOT SOLVED...PLEASE ADVISE WINTER PROBLEMS WITH TITAN FROM USA FROZEN DOOR HANDLES FROZEN DOORS DOORS WONT CLOSE WHEN COLD!! NISSAN NEW TSB FOR THE FROZEN DOOR HANDLES!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/30/2015 - HERRIMAN, UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THERE WAS A STRONG ODOR OF FUEL PRESENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 77,000.

View Details

ENGINE

1/30/2015 - HERRIMAN, UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THERE WAS A STRONG ODOR OF FUEL PRESENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 77,000.

View Details

ENGINE

1/23/2015 - NORWOOD, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT UNKNOWN SPEED, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT ANY WARNINGS. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS EXHIBITING THE SAME FAILURES LISTED IN RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V517000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE CONTROL MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 137,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/5/2015 - HERRIMAN, UT
WHILE TRAVELING AT APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH ON A US HIGHWAY, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO VIGOROUSLY SHAKE AND A LOUD CLANKING NOISE BEGAN FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. SUDDENLY THERE WAS A LOUD BANGING NOISE COMING FROM UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE. UPON EXITING THE VEHICLE AS IT CAME TO A STOP, I NOTICED THAT THAT THE REAR DRIVE SHAFT HAD FALLEN OFF. WHEN ATTEMPTING TO LOAD THE VEHICLE ON A WRECKER, THE REAR WHEELS WOULDN'T ROLL. THE ENTIRE REAR DIFFERENTIAL AND AXLE HAD SEIZED.

View Details

ENGINE

12/29/2014 - LA MIRADA, CA
THE OTHER DAY I WAS SITTING IN TRAFFIC FOR ALMOST 30 MIN STOPPED WITH THE ENGINE RUNNING (LOTS OF CHRISTMAS TRAFFIC ON THE 5 SOUTH FREEWAY), I PUT THE TRUCK IN PARK BECAUSE I NOTICE AN ACCIDENT. I HAD MY WINDOWS UP AND MY CABIN AIR ON. THEN A FEW MIN LATER I STARTED FEELING DIZZY ALMOST FAINTING. THE CAR NEXT TO ME SAW THAT I WAS STRUGGLING, CAME TO MY WINDOW AND ASKED ME IF I WAS OK. I ROLLED DOWN MY WINDOW AND HE NOTICED THE SMELL OF EXHAUST INSIDE MY TRUCK. AFTER MY HEADACHE WENT AWAY. I WENT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY TOLD ME BOTH OF MY EXHAUST MANIFOLDS WERE CRACKED AND THAT'S HOW THE EXHAUST WAS ENTERING NEAR THE FRONT CABIN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/29/2014 - LA MIRADA, CA
THE OTHER DAY I WAS SITTING IN TRAFFIC FOR ALMOST 30 MIN STOPPED WITH THE ENGINE RUNNING (LOTS OF CHRISTMAS TRAFFIC ON THE 5 SOUTH FREEWAY), I PUT THE TRUCK IN PARK BECAUSE I NOTICE AN ACCIDENT. I HAD MY WINDOWS UP AND MY CABIN AIR ON. THEN A FEW MIN LATER I STARTED FEELING DIZZY ALMOST FAINTING. THE CAR NEXT TO ME SAW THAT I WAS STRUGGLING, CAME TO MY WINDOW AND ASKED ME IF I WAS OK. I ROLLED DOWN MY WINDOW AND HE NOTICED THE SMELL OF EXHAUST INSIDE MY TRUCK. AFTER MY HEADACHE WENT AWAY. I WENT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY TOLD ME BOTH OF MY EXHAUST MANIFOLDS WERE CRACKED AND THAT'S HOW THE EXHAUST WAS ENTERING NEAR THE FRONT CABIN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 64
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds