Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN TITAN - 2005 NISSAN TITAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 788 complaints filed for the 2005 NISSAN TITAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 NISSAN TITAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 NISSAN TITAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Equipment Adaptive (2) Latches Locks Linkages (22) Service Brakes (10) Tires (8)
Electrical System (39) Exterior Lighting (1) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (7) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (35) Parking Brake (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (70) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Engine (43) Fuel System Gasoline (23) Power Train (477) Steering (13) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (62) Fuel System Other (21) Seat Belts (5) Structure (18) Wheels (5)
Equipment (5) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (2) Suspension (65)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 69
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

4/24/2017 - VACAVILLE, CA
CRACKED EXHAUST MANIFOLDS. NISSAN HAS A POOR DESIGN AND I HAVE CHECKED ON LINE AND 100'S OF OTHERS HAVE COMMENTED ABOUT THE CRACKED EXHAUST MANIFOLDS. THESE ARE A SAFETY CONCERN AS I CAN SMELL THE EXHAUST GAS AROUND THE FRONT OF THE TRUCK, INSTEAD OF IT BEING PROPERLY TRANSFERRED OUT THE EXHAUST SYSTEM AS DESIGNED. NISSAN IS NOT SUPPORTING THE REQUIRED REPLACEMENT WHICH SHOULD BE FREE. THE REPAIR COST ARE IN THE THOUSANDS NOT ACCEPTABLE WHEN IT IS NISSAN POOR DESIGN ALL ALL TRUCKS WITH THESE MANIFOLDS ARE AFFECTED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/3/2017 - HERRIN, IL
ON FEBRUARY 25, 2017 MY SON WAS GOING DOWN THE ROAD AND HIS 2005 NISSAN TITAN TRUCK COMPLETELY DIED, LOST ALL POWER STEERING, BRAKES, EVERYTHING. MY SON WAS ABLE TO GET THE TRUCK OFF THE BUSY ROAD WITHOUT GETTING REAR ENDED, WHICH WAS HARD TO DO FOR A 20 YEAR OLD. ONCE WE HAD THE VEHICLE DIAGNOSED, WE WERE TOLD IT WAS A FAULTY FUEL LEVEL SENSOR UNIT. THE VEHICLE SHOWED OVER 1/4 OF A TANK OF GAS, BUT IN FACT, IT WAS EMPTY. UPON DOING SOME RESEARCH, I FOUND OTHER 2005 NISSAN TITAN'S WERE RECALLED WITH THIS SAME ISSUE, HOWEVER, NISSAN TOLD ME, THAT MY VIN WAS NOT INVOLVED IN THE RECALL. THIS CONCERNS ME BECAUSE MY SON COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED FROM THE TRUCK DYING AS HE WAS GOING 50 MPH DOWN THE ROAD. I HAVE TRIED TO SPEAK WITH NISSAN, ASKING THEM TO LOOK INTO MY PARTICULAR VEHICLE, SINCE THERE IS A PAST HISTORY OF THIS PART FAILING ON OTHER TITANS. AFTER 3 PHONE CALLS, ALL THEY WILL TELL ME IS, IT ISN'T THEIR FAULT, THE VEHICLE IS OUT OF WARRANTY AND RECALL DOESN'T INVOLVE MY VIN. I AGAIN ASKED THEM TO CONSIDER EXPANDING THE RECALL TO INCLUDE MY VEHICLE AND WAS TOLD NO. THE TRUCK IS CURRENTLY IN THE SHOP TO GET THIS FIXED, BUT IT'S A SHAME THAT NISSAN WON'T EVEN CONSIDER LOOKING INTO THIS WHEN THEY KNOW IT'S AN ISSUE WITH OTHER TITANS. THIS TRUCK HAS BEEN IN THE FAMILY SINCE IT WAS PURCHASED BRAND NEW.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/10/2017 - PEARLAND, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FUEL GAUGE FAILED TO FUNCTION AND THE FUEL GAUGE FAILED TO PROVIDE THE ACTUAL READING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL GAUGE FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V074000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 125,000.

View Details

ENGINE

2/9/2017 - HICKORY, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING THE FAILURE WAS PERSISTENT. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO INCREASE SPEED WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 122,000. UPDATED 04/10/17 LJ

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER: STORAGE: FUEL GAUGE SYSTEM

10/28/2016 - OKLAHOMA CITY, OK
FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER:STORAGE:FUEL GAUGE SYSTEM RECALL FOR 2005 NISSAN TITAN - NISSAN CLEARLY HAS A RECALL FOR THE 2005 NISSAN TITAN FUEL GAUGE THAT IS NOT DISPLAYING CORRECTLY. UPON CONTACTING NISSAN, THEY HAVE SAID THE VIN I PROVIDED IS NOT AFFECTED WHICH IS RIDICULOUS AS MY 2005 NISSAN HAS THE SAME PROBLEM AS THE 340,000 TRUCKS THAT ARE AFFECTED. NISSAN HAS CLEARLY NOT INCLUDED ALL VIN'S THAT ARE AFFECTED. THIS IS A DANGEROUS PROBLEM AS THERE IS NOT INDICATION OF HOW MUCH FUEL IS IN THE VEHICLE SINCE THE GAUGE WILL NOT FUNCTION PROPERLY. IF THE VEHICLE QUITS ON A HWY DUE TO RUNNING OUT OF FUEL, NISSAN SHOULD BE COMPLETELY LIABLE FOR ANY AND ALL DAMAGE, INJURIES THAT THIS MAY CAUSE ON AN OPEN HIGHWAY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/28/2016 - OKLAHOMA CITY, OK
FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER:STORAGE:FUEL GAUGE SYSTEM RECALL FOR 2005 NISSAN TITAN - NISSAN CLEARLY HAS A RECALL FOR THE 2005 NISSAN TITAN FUEL GAUGE THAT IS NOT DISPLAYING CORRECTLY. UPON CONTACTING NISSAN, THEY HAVE SAID THE VIN I PROVIDED IS NOT AFFECTED WHICH IS RIDICULOUS AS MY 2005 NISSAN HAS THE SAME PROBLEM AS THE 340,000 TRUCKS THAT ARE AFFECTED. NISSAN HAS CLEARLY NOT INCLUDED ALL VIN'S THAT ARE AFFECTED. THIS IS A DANGEROUS PROBLEM AS THERE IS NOT INDICATION OF HOW MUCH FUEL IS IN THE VEHICLE SINCE THE GAUGE WILL NOT FUNCTION PROPERLY. IF THE VEHICLE QUITS ON A HWY DUE TO RUNNING OUT OF FUEL, NISSAN SHOULD BE COMPLETELY LIABLE FOR ANY AND ALL DAMAGE, INJURIES THAT THIS MAY CAUSE ON AN OPEN HIGHWAY.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: MANIFOLD/HEADER/MUFFLER/TAIL PIPE

10/19/2016 - SPOKANE, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL NOISE AND OBSERVED THAT THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD WAS FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED BY THE CONTACT HIMSELF. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE WOULD ATTEMPT TO WELD THE MANIFOLD. IF NOT, THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 53,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/4/2016 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
REAR AXLE SEAL LEAKS IN THIS MODEL IT IS A KNOWN PROBLEM YET NISSAN STILL CHOOSES TO DO NOTHING ABOUT IT ,IT IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE IT LEAKS FLUID CONTINUOUSLY ON TO THE BACK BREAKING SYSTEM SO NOT ONLY COULD IT COMPRISE YOUR WHOLE BACK END BUT ALSO YOUR ABILITY TO STOP YOUR VEHICLE SAFELY,THIS HAS BEEN REPORTED THOUSANDS OF TIMES TO YOUR AGENCY IN THE MEANTIME THE CONSUMERS CONTINUE TO REPLACE THESE EVERY 30-40,000 MILES JUST TO MAINTAIN THEIR SAFETY AND OTHERS ON THE ROAD WHEN I FEEL IT IS TIME NISSAN ADDRESS THIS AND TAKE THE NECESSARY STEPS TO ENSURE THE BRAKING SYSTEM IN THESE VEHICLES IS NOT CREATING A POTENTIAL HAZARD TOP THE DRIVER OR OTHERS ON THE ROAD . I TOOK MY VEHICLE IN FOR AN OIL CHANGE YESTERDAY ONLY TO FIND OUT MY SEAL IS LEAKING AGAIN AND NOW MY BACK BRAKES NEED TO BE REPLACED AGAIN BECAUSE THEY ARE NO LONGER SAFE DUE TO THE OIL LEAKING ON THEM AGAIN FROM THIS SEAL I DRIVE MY CHILDREN IN THIS VEHICLE DAILY TO SCHOOL TO GAMES AND IM THANKFUL THAT I HAPPENED TO NEED AN OIL CHANGE OR I WOULD HAVE HAD NO IDEA IT WAS LEAKING AGAIN OR JUST HOW UNSAFE MY DRIVING THIS VEHICLE COULD POTENTIALLY BE FOR MY CHILDREN AND MYSELF OR ANYBODY THAT IS DRIVING NEAR ME WHEN IT REQUIRES BRAKING TO STOP .

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/4/2016 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
REAR AXLE SEAL LEAKS IN THIS MODEL IT IS A KNOWN PROBLEM YET NISSAN STILL CHOOSES TO DO NOTHING ABOUT IT ,IT IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE IT LEAKS FLUID CONTINUOUSLY ON TO THE BACK BREAKING SYSTEM SO NOT ONLY COULD IT COMPRISE YOUR WHOLE BACK END BUT ALSO YOUR ABILITY TO STOP YOUR VEHICLE SAFELY,THIS HAS BEEN REPORTED THOUSANDS OF TIMES TO YOUR AGENCY IN THE MEANTIME THE CONSUMERS CONTINUE TO REPLACE THESE EVERY 30-40,000 MILES JUST TO MAINTAIN THEIR SAFETY AND OTHERS ON THE ROAD WHEN I FEEL IT IS TIME NISSAN ADDRESS THIS AND TAKE THE NECESSARY STEPS TO ENSURE THE BRAKING SYSTEM IN THESE VEHICLES IS NOT CREATING A POTENTIAL HAZARD TOP THE DRIVER OR OTHERS ON THE ROAD . I TOOK MY VEHICLE IN FOR AN OIL CHANGE YESTERDAY ONLY TO FIND OUT MY SEAL IS LEAKING AGAIN AND NOW MY BACK BRAKES NEED TO BE REPLACED AGAIN BECAUSE THEY ARE NO LONGER SAFE DUE TO THE OIL LEAKING ON THEM AGAIN FROM THIS SEAL I DRIVE MY CHILDREN IN THIS VEHICLE DAILY TO SCHOOL TO GAMES AND IM THANKFUL THAT I HAPPENED TO NEED AN OIL CHANGE OR I WOULD HAVE HAD NO IDEA IT WAS LEAKING AGAIN OR JUST HOW UNSAFE MY DRIVING THIS VEHICLE COULD POTENTIALLY BE FOR MY CHILDREN AND MYSELF OR ANYBODY THAT IS DRIVING NEAR ME WHEN IT REQUIRES BRAKING TO STOP .

View Details

ENGINE

9/14/2016 - BOTHEL, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD WAS LEAKING FUMES IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD WAS CRACKED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 69
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds