Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN TITAN - 2005 NISSAN TITAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 772 complaints filed for the 2005 NISSAN TITAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 NISSAN TITAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 NISSAN TITAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Equipment Adaptive (2) Latches Locks Linkages (22) Service Brakes (8) Tires (8)
Electrical System (36) Exterior Lighting (1) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (7) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (30) Parking Brake (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (70) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Engine (39) Fuel System Gasoline (23) Power Train (475) Steering (13) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (60) Fuel System Other (20) Seat Belts (4) Structure (18) Wheels (5)
Equipment (5) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (2) Suspension (63)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 67
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/4/2016 - WINDHAM, ME
I HAVE A 2005 NISSAN TITAN WITH 31,000 MILES ON IT AND IT JUST FAILED A VEHICLE INSPECTION, BECAUSE THE FRAME WAS RUSTED THROUGH IN FRONT OF THE REAR WHEELS. I HAVE OWNED THE VEHICLE 10 YEARS AND 6 MONTHS AND THIS SEEMS VERY PREMATURE TO HAVE HAPPEN. OTHERWISE THE BODY LOOKS BRAND NEW.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/22/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 7 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED BECAUSE THE FUEL GAUGE READING WAS INACCURATE. THE FUEL TANK WAS EMPTY. THE VEHICLE WAS COASTED TO A SAFE LOCATION AND REFUELED. IN 2014, THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V074000 (FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER); HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED A SECOND TIME. IN ADDITION, WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED WITH A QUARTER TANK OF FUEL, THE READING WOULD DISPLAY LESS AFTER RETURNING TO THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details

ENGINE

2/4/2016 - TEXARKANA, AR
EXHAUST MANIFOLD CRACKED AT ABOUT 75,000 MILES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/27/2015 - MERDIEN, KS
CERTAIN 2005 NISSAN TITANS WERE RECALLED IN CAMPAIGN #10V074000 DUE TO THE FUEL GAUGE SHOWING THAT THERE WAS FUEL REMAINING WHEN THE TANK WAS ACTUALLY EMPTY. THIS OCCURRED TO MY VEHICLE IN FEBRUARY 2013. THE VEHICLE SHUT DOWN AND I LOST POWER STEERING. I WAS LUCKILY ABLE TO TURN WITH ENOUGH FORCE TO LEAVE THE ROADWAY. AFTER CONTACTING NISSAN, THEY DECLARED MY VEHICLE WAS NOT PART OF THE RECALL AND WAS NOT AFFECTED ALTHOUGH I WAS HAVING THE EXACT SAME ISSUE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/27/2015 - MONTROSE, CO
2005 NISSAN TITAN, THE HEATER WORKS INTERMITTENTLY, THE FAN BLOWS FINE ALONG WITH THE A/C, IT DOESN'T MAKE A DIFFERENCE IF THE TRUCK IS MOVING OR STATIONARY.THERE IS A CLICKING IN THE DASH WHEN I SWITCH THE CONTROL FROM, FLOOR TO DASH OR FROM DEFROST TO FLOOR, ETC. I PURCHASED THIS TRUCK IN 2015, BUT ASSUME IT HAS BEEN A PREVIOUS PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/23/2015 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
I WAS RECENTLY DRIVING MY TRUCK DOWN INTERSTATE I-95 IN PHILADELPHIA WHEN I OUT OF NO WHERE I HEARD A LOW PITCHED HOWELING NOISE, I WAS PASSING THREW A CONSTRUCTION ZONE SO I COULDN'T PULL ONTO THE SHOULDER AND LOOK FOR A ISSUE. A FEW SECONDS LATER I HEAR A LOUD SERIES OF THUMPING AND MY TRUCK IN THE BLINK OF AN EYE IS TRAVELING SIDEWAYS AT ROUND 45MPH, I SWERVED AND MISSED SEVERAL CARS AND MANAGED TO JUST MISS THE GUARD RAIL AND COME TO A STOP. IF I WAS TRAVELING ANYTHING OVER 45MPH, IT WOULDN'T HAVE BEEN PRETTY FOR A LOT OF PEOPLE. I THEN INSPECTED THE VEHICLE TO FIND THAT THE REAR AXLE HAD LOCKED UP THE REAR WHEELS AND THE DRIVE SHAFT HAD TORN OUT OF THE REAR AXLE. DO TO THE REAR WHEELS SUDDENLY BECOMING LOCKED, MADE THE TRUCK NEAR IMPOSSIBLE TO STEER AND VERY DANGEROUS WHEN YOU CONSIDER THE SIZE OF THE VEHICLE. I HAD IT TOWED TO FIND THAT THE REAR AXLE HAD FILLED WITH MOISTURE DO TO A DEFECT IN THE SEAL & VENT OF THE SET UP. I HAVE COME TO FIND OUT THAT THIS IS A COMMON ISSUE IN THE NISSAN TITAN WORLD.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/12/2015 - IRVING, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND RESTARTED AFTER NUMEROUS ATTEMPTS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FUEL GAUGE WAS NOT REGISTERING. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V074000 (FUEL SYSTEM). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. UPDATED 02/05/16

View Details

ENGINE

11/10/2015 - SPANISH FORK, UT
THE EXHAUST MANIFOLDS ARE FAULTY AND CRACK ALLOWING DEADLY CARBON MONOXIDE EXHAUST GASES TO ENTER THE CAB OF THE TRUCK WHILE THE VEHICLE IS IN OPERATION. THIS COULD CAUSE THE DRIVER TO LOSE CONSCIOUSNESS AND CRASH. IT WAS ONLY AFTER MY 6TH LONG ROAD TRIP (3+ HOURS DRIVING) DID I DISCOVER I WAS BEING POISONED BY CARBON MONOXIDE. I TOOK MY TRUCK TO AN EXHAUST REPAIR COMPANY AND AS SOON AS I MENTIONED MY VEHICLE THE TECHNICIAN TOLD ME HE WAS 99% SURE I HAD A CRACKED MANIFOLD. HE LATER CONFIRMED THIS WITH A DIAGNOSTIC TEST WHICH REVEALED BOTH MANIFOLDS CRACKED AND LEAKING EXHAUST FUMES INTO THE CAB. THIS COULD HAVE KILLED ME JUST SITTING IN A PARKING LOT! I THOUGHT I WAS JUST GETTING BAD HEADACHES FROM THE LONG DRIVE AND MY NAUSEA WAS FROM THE EXTREME HEADACHES. AFTER THIS HAPPENING SO MANY TIMES I KNEW THERE HAD TO BE MORE TO THIS. THINK ABOUT SOMEBODY DRIVING, BEING POISONED TO THE POINT TO WHERE THEY PULL OFF THE ROAD TO REST AND TRY TO SLEEP OFF THEIR HEADACHE IN A RUNNING VEHICLE TO STAY WARM AND END UP DYING. NISSAN NEEDS TO FIX THIS. I DON'T WANT A NEW DEFECTIVE MANIFOLD, I WANT A FIX!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/27/2015 - MIAMI, FL
THE TRANSMISSION STOPPED WORKING WHILE DRIVING ON HIGHWAY SUDDENLY; THE RPM'S REVVED UP ACCESSIBLY TO 3000-4000 WITHOUT GOING INTO GEAR. AFTER I IMMEDIATELY PULLED OVER I WITNESSED FLUID SPEWING ALL OVER MY ENGINE, OUT ON THE SIDES OF MY VEHICLE, AND UNDER HOOD.

View Details

ENGINE

10/14/2015 - CORAM, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WERE FUMES COMING FROM THE VEHICLE CAUSING THE CONTACT TO BECOME NAUSEOUS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WERE TWO CRACKS ON THE MANIFOLD AND IT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 155,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 67
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds