Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN TITAN - 2005 NISSAN TITAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 724 complaints filed for the 2005 NISSAN TITAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 NISSAN TITAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 NISSAN TITAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Equipment Adaptive (2) Latches Locks Linkages (22) Service Brakes (7) Tires (8)
Electrical System (33) Exterior Lighting (1) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (7) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (20) Parking Brake (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (70) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine (29) Fuel System Gasoline (20) Power Train (453) Steering (12) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (58) Fuel System Other (19) Seat Belts (4) Structure (16) Wheels (5)
Equipment (4) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (2) Suspension (60)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 62
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/29/2014 - BLOOMING PRAIRIE , MN
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, HEARD AN UNUSUAL SOUND FROM THE FRONT HOOD.THE CONTACT MANEUVER THE VEHICLE TO SIDE OF THE ROAD AND OBSERVED A SOUND FROM EXHAUST. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND THE MECHANIC DIAGNOSED 2 CRACKED MANIFOLDS THAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 177,100.LB

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/25/2014 - CASTLE ROCK, CO
I WAS RIDING DOWN I25 WHEN MY TRUCK ENGINE UNEXPECTEDLY QUIT. AT 75 MPH IT WAS ALL I COULD DO TO CHANGE LANES AND PULL OVER TO THE MEDIAN WITHOUT CAUSING AN ACCIDENT. THE FUEL GAUGE SHOWED THAT I STILL HAD 1/4 TANK OF GAS. I TRIED REPEATEDLY TO START THE TRUCK WITHOUT SUCCESS. AFTER SCRATCHING MY HEAD FOR A WHILE I CALLED MY SON TO BRING ME SOME GAS. AFTER ADDING GAS THE TRUCK STARTED UP AFTER A FEW TURNS OF THE IGNITION. NOT KNOWING WHAT THE HECK HAD HAPPENED I CONTINUED DRIVING THE TRUCK. UNFORTUNATELY I RAN OUT OF GAS AGAIN SOME WEEK LATER, THIS TIME IN A NEIGHBORHOOD WHERE THE SPEED ISSUE WAS NOT QUITE AS SEVERE. SINCE THAT TIME I'VE IGNORED MY FUEL GAUGE AND DETERMINED WHEN TO REFUEL BY MILEAGE. THIS IS REALLY AGGRIVATING BECAUSE THERE IS A RECALL ON TITAN FUEL SENDERS FOR MODEL YEAR 2005. HOWEVER NISSAN IS TELLING ME THAT MY VIN IS NOT COVERED BY THE RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: MANIFOLD/HEADER/MUFFLER/TAIL PIPE

8/21/2014 - CLEAR WATER, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 1 MPH, THE CONTACT SMELLED FUMES FROM THE EXHAUST IN THE VEHICLE AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON TWO OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSIS. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE EXHAUST MANIFOLDS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE WAS 98,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/20/2014 - VINELAND, NJ
BACK IN MAY OF 2011 I WAS DRIVING MY NISSAN TITAN TRUCK DOWN THE HIGHWAY WITH MY TWO GIRLS 6 & 7 YEAR OLD WHEN I HEARD THE TRUCK MAKING A NOISE OUT OF THE REAR .I SLOW DOWN AND IMMEDIATELY PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF ROAD NOT KNOWING WHAT HAD HAPPENED. I DROVE THE VEHICLE BACK TO MY HOME AND CALLED THE DEALERSHIP. WHEN I TOOK MY 2005 NISSAN TITAN TO THE DEALERSHIP IN VINELAND NEW JERSEY THEY STATED THAT THE PROBLEM WITH MY TRUCK WAS THE REAR AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THEY STATED THAT THE REPAIR COST FOR THE WHOLE REAR WAS $3,800 IN ORDER FOR IT TO BE REPAIRED. THEY STATED THAT MY TRUCK WAS OUT OF WARRANTY BY 2 MONTHS EVEN THOUGH I ONLY HAD 38,836 MILES ON IT. I ASKED WHY COULDN'T THE PUMPKIN IN THE REAR BE FIXED AND NISSAN STATED THEY DO NOT JUST FIX THE PUMPKIN. THEY WOULD HAVE TO REPLACE THE WHOLE REAR IN THE TRUCK COSTING ME $3,800.00. I CAILED EATON AND SPOKE TO RYAN DIVINE. EATON REP STATED THAT HE HAS NEVER HEARD OF THIS PROBLEM, PART (TT913A582) EATON POSI. RYAN STATED TO ME THAT THEY MAKE THIS REAR FOR NISSAN. RYAN STATED THAT NISSAN ENGINEERS, ENGINEER PART AND THEY ONLY MAKE IT FOR THEM. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A LOCAL SHOP TO BE REPAIRED WHICH STATED THAT THE REPAIRS WOULD COST ME $1,358.90. THE AUTO REPAIR CENTER THAT I TOOK MY NISSAN TITIAN TO, STATED THAT THERE WAS MANY MANY MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE REARS IN THE NISSAN TITANS STARTING FROM 2005 TO 2010. IT WAS ACTUALLY BEING REPORTED ONLINE SEARCH. AS I LOOKED ONLINE I COULD SEE MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE NISSAN TITAN REARS WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. SO MY QUESTION TO THE GOVERNMENT SUPERVISOR PAID BY TAXPAYERS, DOES IT TAKE 30 PEOPLE TO DIE IN ORDER TO FIX THE PROBLEM AND BLAME IT ON NISSAN JUST LIKE YOU DID TO GM. FIX THE PROBLEM. SO GO ONLINE AND READ. TAKE MATTERS SERIOUSLY!! I EXTRICATE PEOPLE OUT OF VEHICLES FOR A LIVING WHEN THEY ARE IN CAR ACCIDENTS DEAD OR ALIVE. THANK YOU T.S.

View Details

STEERING

8/20/2014 - VINELAND, NJ
BACK IN MAY OF 2011 I WAS DRIVING MY NISSAN TITAN TRUCK DOWN THE HIGHWAY WITH MY TWO GIRLS 6 & 7 YEAR OLD WHEN I HEARD THE TRUCK MAKING A NOISE OUT OF THE REAR .I SLOW DOWN AND IMMEDIATELY PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF ROAD NOT KNOWING WHAT HAD HAPPENED. I DROVE THE VEHICLE BACK TO MY HOME AND CALLED THE DEALERSHIP. WHEN I TOOK MY 2005 NISSAN TITAN TO THE DEALERSHIP IN VINELAND NEW JERSEY THEY STATED THAT THE PROBLEM WITH MY TRUCK WAS THE REAR AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THEY STATED THAT THE REPAIR COST FOR THE WHOLE REAR WAS $3,800 IN ORDER FOR IT TO BE REPAIRED. THEY STATED THAT MY TRUCK WAS OUT OF WARRANTY BY 2 MONTHS EVEN THOUGH I ONLY HAD 38,836 MILES ON IT. I ASKED WHY COULDN'T THE PUMPKIN IN THE REAR BE FIXED AND NISSAN STATED THEY DO NOT JUST FIX THE PUMPKIN. THEY WOULD HAVE TO REPLACE THE WHOLE REAR IN THE TRUCK COSTING ME $3,800.00. I CAILED EATON AND SPOKE TO RYAN DIVINE. EATON REP STATED THAT HE HAS NEVER HEARD OF THIS PROBLEM, PART (TT913A582) EATON POSI. RYAN STATED TO ME THAT THEY MAKE THIS REAR FOR NISSAN. RYAN STATED THAT NISSAN ENGINEERS, ENGINEER PART AND THEY ONLY MAKE IT FOR THEM. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A LOCAL SHOP TO BE REPAIRED WHICH STATED THAT THE REPAIRS WOULD COST ME $1,358.90. THE AUTO REPAIR CENTER THAT I TOOK MY NISSAN TITIAN TO, STATED THAT THERE WAS MANY MANY MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE REARS IN THE NISSAN TITANS STARTING FROM 2005 TO 2010. IT WAS ACTUALLY BEING REPORTED ONLINE SEARCH. AS I LOOKED ONLINE I COULD SEE MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE NISSAN TITAN REARS WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. SO MY QUESTION TO THE GOVERNMENT SUPERVISOR PAID BY TAXPAYERS, DOES IT TAKE 30 PEOPLE TO DIE IN ORDER TO FIX THE PROBLEM AND BLAME IT ON NISSAN JUST LIKE YOU DID TO GM. FIX THE PROBLEM. SO GO ONLINE AND READ. TAKE MATTERS SERIOUSLY!! I EXTRICATE PEOPLE OUT OF VEHICLES FOR A LIVING WHEN THEY ARE IN CAR ACCIDENTS DEAD OR ALIVE. THANK YOU T.S.

View Details

WHEELS

8/20/2014 - VINELAND, NJ
BACK IN MAY OF 2011 I WAS DRIVING MY NISSAN TITAN TRUCK DOWN THE HIGHWAY WITH MY TWO GIRLS 6 & 7 YEAR OLD WHEN I HEARD THE TRUCK MAKING A NOISE OUT OF THE REAR .I SLOW DOWN AND IMMEDIATELY PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF ROAD NOT KNOWING WHAT HAD HAPPENED. I DROVE THE VEHICLE BACK TO MY HOME AND CALLED THE DEALERSHIP. WHEN I TOOK MY 2005 NISSAN TITAN TO THE DEALERSHIP IN VINELAND NEW JERSEY THEY STATED THAT THE PROBLEM WITH MY TRUCK WAS THE REAR AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THEY STATED THAT THE REPAIR COST FOR THE WHOLE REAR WAS $3,800 IN ORDER FOR IT TO BE REPAIRED. THEY STATED THAT MY TRUCK WAS OUT OF WARRANTY BY 2 MONTHS EVEN THOUGH I ONLY HAD 38,836 MILES ON IT. I ASKED WHY COULDN'T THE PUMPKIN IN THE REAR BE FIXED AND NISSAN STATED THEY DO NOT JUST FIX THE PUMPKIN. THEY WOULD HAVE TO REPLACE THE WHOLE REAR IN THE TRUCK COSTING ME $3,800.00. I CAILED EATON AND SPOKE TO RYAN DIVINE. EATON REP STATED THAT HE HAS NEVER HEARD OF THIS PROBLEM, PART (TT913A582) EATON POSI. RYAN STATED TO ME THAT THEY MAKE THIS REAR FOR NISSAN. RYAN STATED THAT NISSAN ENGINEERS, ENGINEER PART AND THEY ONLY MAKE IT FOR THEM. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A LOCAL SHOP TO BE REPAIRED WHICH STATED THAT THE REPAIRS WOULD COST ME $1,358.90. THE AUTO REPAIR CENTER THAT I TOOK MY NISSAN TITIAN TO, STATED THAT THERE WAS MANY MANY MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE REARS IN THE NISSAN TITANS STARTING FROM 2005 TO 2010. IT WAS ACTUALLY BEING REPORTED ONLINE SEARCH. AS I LOOKED ONLINE I COULD SEE MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE NISSAN TITAN REARS WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. SO MY QUESTION TO THE GOVERNMENT SUPERVISOR PAID BY TAXPAYERS, DOES IT TAKE 30 PEOPLE TO DIE IN ORDER TO FIX THE PROBLEM AND BLAME IT ON NISSAN JUST LIKE YOU DID TO GM. FIX THE PROBLEM. SO GO ONLINE AND READ. TAKE MATTERS SERIOUSLY!! I EXTRICATE PEOPLE OUT OF VEHICLES FOR A LIVING WHEN THEY ARE IN CAR ACCIDENTS DEAD OR ALIVE. THANK YOU T.S.

View Details

ENGINE

8/5/2014 - EL PASO, TX
EXAUST FUMES IN CABIN DUE TO CRACKED EXAUST MANIFOLDS. I ONLY USE THE TRUCK FOR FAMILY TRIPS, AND ON THE LAST TRIP I NOTICES A TICKING NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE, ESPECIALLY WHEN COLD, I ALSO NOTICED EXAUST FUMES IN THE CABIN WHEN THE TRUCK WAS AT A LIGHT OR A LONG STOP SIGN. I AM THE FIRST OWNER OF THIS TRUCK AND AFTER SOME RESEARCH IT LOOKS LIKE THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH NISSAN TITANS BUT THE WORST PART IS THAT THE REPLACMENTS HAVE THE SAME ISSUE, SO NOW I CAN NOT USE THIS VEHICLE. LOOKING TO SEE WHAT IS THE BEST PERMANENT SOLUTION.

View Details

ENGINE

7/8/2014 - CLOVIS, NM
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE VEHICLE STARTED TO MAKE A TICKING NOISE AND FUMES EMITTED INTO THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND FOUND THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER WAS PLACED NEXT TO THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD CAUSING THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD TO FRACTURED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 68,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 70,112.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

6/20/2014 - RIALTO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FUEL GAUGE MALFUNCTIONED AND INACCURATELY DISPLAYED THAT FUEL WAS IN THE VEHICLE WHEN IT WAS EMPTY. THE FAILURE CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO SHUT OFF BECAUSE THERE WAS NO FUEL IN THE FUEL TANK. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 10V074000 (FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER ); HOWEVER, THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 68,000.

View Details

ENGINE

6/10/2014 - ASHEVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND DID NOT OFFER A REMEDY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 91,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 62
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds