Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN TITAN - 2005 NISSAN TITAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 752 complaints filed for the 2005 NISSAN TITAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 NISSAN TITAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 NISSAN TITAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Equipment Adaptive (2) Latches Locks Linkages (22) Service Brakes (7) Tires (8)
Electrical System (36) Exterior Lighting (1) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (7) Unknown Or Other (12)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (25) Parking Brake (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (70) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine (33) Fuel System Gasoline (21) Power Train (469) Steering (12) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (59) Fuel System Other (20) Seat Belts (4) Structure (17) Wheels (5)
Equipment (5) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (2) Suspension (61)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 65
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/14/2015 - TULSA, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL TANK WAS EMPTY AND NEEDED FUEL IN ORDER TO START THE VEHICLE. ALSO, THE TECHNICIAN NOTICED THAT THE FUEL GAUGE READ A QUARTER TANK FULL. AS A RESULT, THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL SENDER UNIT INSIDE THE FUEL TANK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V074000 (FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 170,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/8/2015 - PENSACOLA, FL
WHEN I PUT VEHICLE IN DRIVE, IT WOULD ONLY GO IN REVERSE. I DISCOVERED THE LINKAGE FROM THE GEARSHIFT LEVER TO THE CABLE HAD SEPARATED. THE PLASTIC RETAINING RING ON THE SHIFT CABLE HAD BROKEN TO PIECES AND LEFT NOTHING TO HOLD THE CABLE TO THE SHIFT LEVER. THIS IS POTENTIALLY EXTREMELY DANGEROUS AS A DRIVER COULD MOVE LEVER TO PARK AND THINK HE IS ACTUALLY IN PARK WHEN THE TRANSMISSION IS ENGAGED. SOMEONE GETTING OUT OF THE VEHICLE WHILE IT IS STILL RUNNING WILL THEN HAVE A RUNAWAY VEHICLE. LOCAL NISSAN DEALER HAD NO REPLACEMENT PART. I INSTALLED A RETAINING RING AND CLIP. THE FIX COSTS PENNIES AND JUST A FEW MINUTES TIME.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/7/2015 - RICHMOND, VA
WHILE DRIVING ON A HIGHWAY AT APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, MY ENGINE STALLED. I LOST ALL ENGINE POWER TO MY TRUCK, WITH NO ERROR CODES, NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. I HAD TO PLACE MY TRUCK IN NEUTRAL WHILE AT SPEED IN TRAFFIC IN THE LEFT LANE AND COAST TO A SAFE LOCATION ON THE RIGHT SHOULDER. DURING THIS TIME, I HAD NO POWER STEERING OR POWER BRAKES. AFTER I SAFELY STOPPED ON THE SHOULDER, I TRIED TO RESTART MY ENGINE. MY ENGINE WOULD NOT START. APPROXIMATELY ONE MONTH PRIOR TO THIS INCIDENT, MY TRUCK HAD INTERMITTENTLY STALLED WHILE STOPPED, WITH AN ERROR CODE THAT POINTED TO AN INEFFECTIVE CATALYTIC CONVERTER. I HAD MY MASS AIR FLOW SENSOR REPLACED, MY ECM RELAY REPLACED, AND MY CATALYTIC CONVERTER REPLACED, AT A COST OF ~ $5000 TOTAL. I AM NOW TOLD THE THE INTELLIGENT POWER DISTRIBUTION MODULE IS LIKELY THE CULPRIT FOR ALL OF THESE PROBLEMS, WHICH WILL COST ME ANOTHER $700 TO REPLACE. IN RESEARCHING PREVIOUS RECALLS, THERE IS AN EXISTING RECALL FOR THE ECM RELAY, BUT NOT THE IPDM MODULE. IT APPEARS IN OTHER TITAN FORUMS THAT SEVERAL OTHER PEOPLE HAVE SUFFERED FROM THE SAME ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/7/2015 - RICHMOND, VA
WHILE DRIVING ON A HIGHWAY AT APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, MY ENGINE STALLED. I LOST ALL ENGINE POWER TO MY TRUCK, WITH NO ERROR CODES, NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. I HAD TO PLACE MY TRUCK IN NEUTRAL WHILE AT SPEED IN TRAFFIC IN THE LEFT LANE AND COAST TO A SAFE LOCATION ON THE RIGHT SHOULDER. DURING THIS TIME, I HAD NO POWER STEERING OR POWER BRAKES. AFTER I SAFELY STOPPED ON THE SHOULDER, I TRIED TO RESTART MY ENGINE. MY ENGINE WOULD NOT START. APPROXIMATELY ONE MONTH PRIOR TO THIS INCIDENT, MY TRUCK HAD INTERMITTENTLY STALLED WHILE STOPPED, WITH AN ERROR CODE THAT POINTED TO AN INEFFECTIVE CATALYTIC CONVERTER. I HAD MY MASS AIR FLOW SENSOR REPLACED, MY ECM RELAY REPLACED, AND MY CATALYTIC CONVERTER REPLACED, AT A COST OF ~ $5000 TOTAL. I AM NOW TOLD THE THE INTELLIGENT POWER DISTRIBUTION MODULE IS LIKELY THE CULPRIT FOR ALL OF THESE PROBLEMS, WHICH WILL COST ME ANOTHER $700 TO REPLACE. IN RESEARCHING PREVIOUS RECALLS, THERE IS AN EXISTING RECALL FOR THE ECM RELAY, BUT NOT THE IPDM MODULE. IT APPEARS IN OTHER TITAN FORUMS THAT SEVERAL OTHER PEOPLE HAVE SUFFERED FROM THE SAME ISSUE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/10/2015 - WOODSTOCK, CT
THIS IS THE SECOND DIFFERENTIAL PUT INTO TRUCK SINCE JULY 2014. THE FIRST ONE WAS WITHIN 30 DAYS OF PURCHASE AT 65,000 AND THE SECOND ONE AT 80,000 COSTING $3800.00. THE TRUCK IS BACK IN FOR REPAIR WITHIN 5 DAYS SINCE AND BACK BRAKES ARE NOT WORKING PROPERLY. WAITING TO HEAR FROM MECHANIC.

View Details

ENGINE

3/10/2015 - NORTH TROY, VT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. WHILE TRAVELING 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE BRAKES AND STEERING SEIZED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE RECURRED THREE TIMES IN A FIVE MILE SPAN AND NO WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE ELECTRONIC CONTROL MODULE FAILED. THE DEALER STATED THAT THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THE ECM UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V517000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING); HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 124,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/4/2015 - ROCHESTER, MN
I HAVE A 2005 NISSAN TITAN WHICH I PURCHASED USED AT 23,000 MILES. TWO YEARS AGO (2013) I HEARD A LOUD NOISE COMING FROM THE FRONT DIFFERENTIAL. I TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC AND I WAS TOLD THAT THE U-JOINTS FAILED WHICH COST $1400 DOLLARS. NOW, MARCH 2015, I AGAIN HEARD A LOUD NOISE COMING FROM THE FRONT DIFFERENTIAL. I FOUND THAT THE RIGHT AXLE HAD POPPED OUT. I TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC AND I WAS TOLD THAT THE FRONT DIFFERENTIAL FAILED WHICH COST $2300 DOLLARS. I WAS TOLD BY MY MECHANIC THAT BOTH OF THESE INCIDENTS COULD HAVE CAUSED ME TO CRASH AND THAT I WAS LUCKY. I HAVE HAD SEVERAL OTHER ISSUES WITH THIS VEHICLE (FUEL PUMP, BRAKES, EXHAUST SYSTEM). I WAS ALSO CONTACTED BY AN ATTORNEY WHO INFORMED ME THAT HE WAS CONDUCTING A LAW SUITE AND WANTED TO KNOW WHAT ISSUES I HAVE HAD. THE ATTORNEY INFORMED ME THAT MY VEHICLE WAS DEEMED A "LEMON" BY THE FIRST OWNER.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/15/2015 - SPRINGS, PA
2005 NISSAN TITAN. DOOR LATCH FAILURE DURING COLD WEATHER BELOW FREEZING. LIVE IN PA, SO TIME PERIOD OF THIS WEATHER IS DECEMBER - MARCH. DOOR WILL NOT OPEN, NOR CLOSE PROPERLY FROM INSIDE, OR OUTSIDE OF VEHICLE. HAD THIS PROBLEM LAST WEEK, WAS NOT ABLE TO GET BACK INTO VEHICLE FOR 10MIN . YESTERDAY DRIVING ON A HIGHWAY DOOR OPENED UNEXPECTEDLY AND PASSENGER NEARLY FELL OUT OF VEHICLE. NO ONE INJURED, HOWEVER YOU CAN IMAGINE THE EXPERIENCE AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. I MUST DRIVE THE VEHICLE WITH A RATCHET STRAP FROM ONE DOOR TO THE OTHER TO KEEP THEM SHUT. THIS IS NOT SAFE BUT THE ONLY WAY TO FIX THE ISSUE AT THIS TIME. THERE IS A NISSAN TSB THAT THEY WILL REPLACE DOOR LOCKING MECHANISM IF VEHICLE IS UNDER WARRANTY. NISSAN USA: TBNS BX56AA / TSB 05118. HOWEVER IF VEHICLE IS NOT UNDER WARRANTY THEY QUOTED ME AT $400+ PER DOOR X'S 4 DOORS. THIS IS UNREASONABLE AND A SEVERE SAFETY HAZARD FOR MOST OF THE COUNTRY THAT EXPERIENCES WEATHER BELOW 32DEGREES F. IT IS A KNOWN FAILURE THAT NISSAN USA KNOWS ABOUT. THIS SHOULD BE A MANDATED RECALL. THERE WILL BE SEVERE LAWSUITS FILED IF ANOTHER PASSENGER, MY CHILD, OR MYSELF CANNOT GET INTO A VEHICLE, OR UNEXPECTEDLY FALLS OUT. BELOW ARE LINKS TO A NISSAN TITAN ONLINE FORUM WITH MULTIPLE OTHER COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS. FROZEN DOOR LATCH PROBLEM NOT SOLVED...PLEASE ADVISE WINTER PROBLEMS WITH TITAN FROM USA FROZEN DOOR HANDLES FROZEN DOORS DOORS WONT CLOSE WHEN COLD!! NISSAN NEW TSB FOR THE FROZEN DOOR HANDLES!

View Details

ENGINE

1/30/2015 - HERRIMAN, UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THERE WAS A STRONG ODOR OF FUEL PRESENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 77,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/30/2015 - HERRIMAN, UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THERE WAS A STRONG ODOR OF FUEL PRESENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 77,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 65
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds