Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN TITAN - 2005 NISSAN TITAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 734 complaints filed for the 2005 NISSAN TITAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 NISSAN TITAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 NISSAN TITAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Equipment Adaptive (2) Latches Locks Linkages (22) Service Brakes (7) Tires (8)
Electrical System (33) Exterior Lighting (1) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (7) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (21) Parking Brake (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (70) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine (28) Fuel System Gasoline (20) Power Train (462) Steering (12) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (59) Fuel System Other (20) Seat Belts (4) Structure (16) Wheels (5)
Equipment (4) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (2) Suspension (61)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 63
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/7/2014 - LEAVENWORTH, WA
FRONT DIFFERENTIAL HAS FAILED, SEVER CRACKING IN THE HOUSING. LOUD WHINE/GRUMBLE IS HEARD WHEN IN BOTH TWO WHEEL DRIVE AND FOUR WHEEL DRIVE. ALL LUBRICANTS HAVE BEEN SERVICED UNDER MANUFACTURE RECOMMENDATIONS. AFTER REVIEWING ONLINE, I SEE THIS HAS BEEN A COMMON PROBLEM FOR NISSAN TITANS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/7/2014 - LEAVENWORTH, WA
FRONT DIFFERENTIAL HAS FAILED, SEVER CRACKING IN THE HOUSING. LOUD WHINE/GRUMBLE IS HEARD WHEN IN BOTH TWO WHEEL DRIVE AND FOUR WHEEL DRIVE. ALL LUBRICANTS HAVE BEEN SERVICED UNDER MANUFACTURE RECOMMENDATIONS. AFTER REVIEWING ONLINE, I SEE THIS HAS BEEN A COMMON PROBLEM FOR NISSAN TITANS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/28/2014 - MONTGOMERY, AL
MY TRUCK STOPPED ONE SUNDAY I WAS SITTING AT THE RED LIGHT. I TRIED TO START IT BUT IT WOULDN'T START SO I CALLED A TOW TRUCK AND HAD IT TOWED TO THE NISSAN DEALERSHIP. ON MONDAY MORNING I GET A CALL FROM THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT AND THEY TOLD ME MY TRUCK WAS OUT OF GAS. I TOLD THEM THAT I HAD A LITTLE BIT OVER A QUARTER TANK OF GAS IN IT. HE TOLD ME THAT THEY WOULD CALL ME BACK AFTER A COMPLETE CHECK. THEY CALLED BACK AND TOLD ME THAT MY TRUCK NEEDED A FUEL SENDER UNIT AND A FUEL RING, I TOLD THEM TO GO AHEAD AND REPAIR IT. ON TUESDAY I WENT AND PICKED UP MY TRUCK AND THEY EXPLAINED TO ME THAT MY FUEL LEVELING SENSOR SHORTED OUT. I PAID A TOTAL OF 515.88 PLUS 65.00 FOR TOWING ON SOMETHING THAT HAD A RECALL ON IT. I DON'T KNOW IF THEY KNEW IT WAS UNDER RECALL OR NOT BUT I WOULD LIKE TO FIND OUT IF I PAID FOR SOMETHING THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN COVERED UNDER THE RECALL. I HAVE MY RECEIPTS AND IT SHOWS THE DATES OF THE INCIDENT CAME AFTER THE RECALL DATES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/15/2014 - WHITEFISH, MT
I NOTICED THAT THE TRANSMISSION OIL COOLER HOSES WERE LEAKING OIL ONTO THE GROUND. IF HOSE WERE TO BURST, THIS WOULD CAUSE SEVERE DAMAGE OR ACCIDENT. NISSAN HAS A SEALED TRANSMISSION THAT DOES NOT ALLOW YOU TO CHECK TRANSMISSION OIL LEVEL. MUST BE TAKEN TO DEALER TO CHECK LEVEL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AXLE ASSEMBLY

10/9/2014 - BONAIRE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER INSPECTING THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE, AXLE FLUID WAS DISCOVERED LEAKING FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE REAR DRIVER SIDE AXLE SEAL HAD RUPTURED CAUSING THE FLUID TO LEAK OUT. THE AXLE WAS REPAIRED AND THE FAILURE WAS REMEDIED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE BUT NO ASSISTANCE WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/9/2014 - BONAIRE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER INSPECTING THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE, AXLE FLUID WAS DISCOVERED LEAKING FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE REAR DRIVER SIDE AXLE SEAL HAD RUPTURED CAUSING THE FLUID TO LEAK OUT. THE AXLE WAS REPAIRED AND THE FAILURE WAS REMEDIED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE BUT NO ASSISTANCE WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: MANIFOLD/HEADER/MUFFLER/TAIL PIPE

8/29/2014 - BLOOMING PRAIRIE , MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS MERGED TO SIDE OF THE ROAD AND THE CONTACT HEARD THE SOUND COMING FROM THE EXHAUST. THE DEALER STATED THAT TWO MANIFOLDS WERE CRACKED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 177,100.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/25/2014 - CASTLE ROCK, CO
I WAS RIDING DOWN I25 WHEN MY TRUCK ENGINE UNEXPECTEDLY QUIT. AT 75 MPH IT WAS ALL I COULD DO TO CHANGE LANES AND PULL OVER TO THE MEDIAN WITHOUT CAUSING AN ACCIDENT. THE FUEL GAUGE SHOWED THAT I STILL HAD 1/4 TANK OF GAS. I TRIED REPEATEDLY TO START THE TRUCK WITHOUT SUCCESS. AFTER SCRATCHING MY HEAD FOR A WHILE I CALLED MY SON TO BRING ME SOME GAS. AFTER ADDING GAS THE TRUCK STARTED UP AFTER A FEW TURNS OF THE IGNITION. NOT KNOWING WHAT THE HECK HAD HAPPENED I CONTINUED DRIVING THE TRUCK. UNFORTUNATELY I RAN OUT OF GAS AGAIN SOME WEEK LATER, THIS TIME IN A NEIGHBORHOOD WHERE THE SPEED ISSUE WAS NOT QUITE AS SEVERE. SINCE THAT TIME I'VE IGNORED MY FUEL GAUGE AND DETERMINED WHEN TO REFUEL BY MILEAGE. THIS IS REALLY AGGRIVATING BECAUSE THERE IS A RECALL ON TITAN FUEL SENDERS FOR MODEL YEAR 2005. HOWEVER NISSAN IS TELLING ME THAT MY VIN IS NOT COVERED BY THE RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: MANIFOLD/HEADER/MUFFLER/TAIL PIPE

8/21/2014 - CLEAR WATER, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 1 MPH, THE CONTACT SMELLED FUMES FROM THE EXHAUST IN THE VEHICLE AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON TWO OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSIS. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE EXHAUST MANIFOLDS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE WAS 98,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

8/20/2014 - VINELAND, NJ
BACK IN MAY OF 2011 I WAS DRIVING MY NISSAN TITAN TRUCK DOWN THE HIGHWAY WITH MY TWO GIRLS 6 & 7 YEAR OLD WHEN I HEARD THE TRUCK MAKING A NOISE OUT OF THE REAR .I SLOW DOWN AND IMMEDIATELY PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF ROAD NOT KNOWING WHAT HAD HAPPENED. I DROVE THE VEHICLE BACK TO MY HOME AND CALLED THE DEALERSHIP. WHEN I TOOK MY 2005 NISSAN TITAN TO THE DEALERSHIP IN VINELAND NEW JERSEY THEY STATED THAT THE PROBLEM WITH MY TRUCK WAS THE REAR AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THEY STATED THAT THE REPAIR COST FOR THE WHOLE REAR WAS $3,800 IN ORDER FOR IT TO BE REPAIRED. THEY STATED THAT MY TRUCK WAS OUT OF WARRANTY BY 2 MONTHS EVEN THOUGH I ONLY HAD 38,836 MILES ON IT. I ASKED WHY COULDN'T THE PUMPKIN IN THE REAR BE FIXED AND NISSAN STATED THEY DO NOT JUST FIX THE PUMPKIN. THEY WOULD HAVE TO REPLACE THE WHOLE REAR IN THE TRUCK COSTING ME $3,800.00. I CAILED EATON AND SPOKE TO RYAN DIVINE. EATON REP STATED THAT HE HAS NEVER HEARD OF THIS PROBLEM, PART (TT913A582) EATON POSI. RYAN STATED TO ME THAT THEY MAKE THIS REAR FOR NISSAN. RYAN STATED THAT NISSAN ENGINEERS, ENGINEER PART AND THEY ONLY MAKE IT FOR THEM. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A LOCAL SHOP TO BE REPAIRED WHICH STATED THAT THE REPAIRS WOULD COST ME $1,358.90. THE AUTO REPAIR CENTER THAT I TOOK MY NISSAN TITIAN TO, STATED THAT THERE WAS MANY MANY MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE REARS IN THE NISSAN TITANS STARTING FROM 2005 TO 2010. IT WAS ACTUALLY BEING REPORTED ONLINE SEARCH. AS I LOOKED ONLINE I COULD SEE MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE NISSAN TITAN REARS WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. SO MY QUESTION TO THE GOVERNMENT SUPERVISOR PAID BY TAXPAYERS, DOES IT TAKE 30 PEOPLE TO DIE IN ORDER TO FIX THE PROBLEM AND BLAME IT ON NISSAN JUST LIKE YOU DID TO GM. FIX THE PROBLEM. SO GO ONLINE AND READ. TAKE MATTERS SERIOUSLY!! I EXTRICATE PEOPLE OUT OF VEHICLES FOR A LIVING WHEN THEY ARE IN CAR ACCIDENTS DEAD OR ALIVE. THANK YOU T.S.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 63
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds