Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN TITAN - 2005 NISSAN TITAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 745 complaints filed for the 2005 NISSAN TITAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 NISSAN TITAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 NISSAN TITAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Equipment Adaptive (2) Latches Locks Linkages (22) Service Brakes (7) Tires (8)
Electrical System (35) Exterior Lighting (1) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (7) Unknown Or Other (12)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (23) Parking Brake (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (70) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine (32) Fuel System Gasoline (20) Power Train (466) Steering (12) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (59) Fuel System Other (20) Seat Belts (4) Structure (17) Wheels (5)
Equipment (5) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (2) Suspension (61)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 64
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/15/2015 - SPRINGS, PA
2005 NISSAN TITAN. DOOR LATCH FAILURE DURING COLD WEATHER BELOW FREEZING. LIVE IN PA, SO TIME PERIOD OF THIS WEATHER IS DECEMBER - MARCH. DOOR WILL NOT OPEN, NOR CLOSE PROPERLY FROM INSIDE, OR OUTSIDE OF VEHICLE. HAD THIS PROBLEM LAST WEEK, WAS NOT ABLE TO GET BACK INTO VEHICLE FOR 10MIN . YESTERDAY DRIVING ON A HIGHWAY DOOR OPENED UNEXPECTEDLY AND PASSENGER NEARLY FELL OUT OF VEHICLE. NO ONE INJURED, HOWEVER YOU CAN IMAGINE THE EXPERIENCE AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. I MUST DRIVE THE VEHICLE WITH A RATCHET STRAP FROM ONE DOOR TO THE OTHER TO KEEP THEM SHUT. THIS IS NOT SAFE BUT THE ONLY WAY TO FIX THE ISSUE AT THIS TIME. THERE IS A NISSAN TSB THAT THEY WILL REPLACE DOOR LOCKING MECHANISM IF VEHICLE IS UNDER WARRANTY. NISSAN USA: TBNS BX56AA / TSB 05118. HOWEVER IF VEHICLE IS NOT UNDER WARRANTY THEY QUOTED ME AT $400+ PER DOOR X'S 4 DOORS. THIS IS UNREASONABLE AND A SEVERE SAFETY HAZARD FOR MOST OF THE COUNTRY THAT EXPERIENCES WEATHER BELOW 32DEGREES F. IT IS A KNOWN FAILURE THAT NISSAN USA KNOWS ABOUT. THIS SHOULD BE A MANDATED RECALL. THERE WILL BE SEVERE LAWSUITS FILED IF ANOTHER PASSENGER, MY CHILD, OR MYSELF CANNOT GET INTO A VEHICLE, OR UNEXPECTEDLY FALLS OUT. BELOW ARE LINKS TO A NISSAN TITAN ONLINE FORUM WITH MULTIPLE OTHER COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS. FROZEN DOOR LATCH PROBLEM NOT SOLVED...PLEASE ADVISE WINTER PROBLEMS WITH TITAN FROM USA FROZEN DOOR HANDLES FROZEN DOORS DOORS WONT CLOSE WHEN COLD!! NISSAN NEW TSB FOR THE FROZEN DOOR HANDLES!

View Details

ENGINE

1/30/2015 - HERRIMAN, UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THERE WAS A STRONG ODOR OF FUEL PRESENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 77,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/30/2015 - HERRIMAN, UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THERE WAS A STRONG ODOR OF FUEL PRESENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 77,000.

View Details

ENGINE

1/23/2015 - NORWOOD, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN TITAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT UNKNOWN SPEED, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT ANY WARNINGS. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS EXHIBITING THE SAME FAILURES LISTED IN RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V517000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE CONTROL MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 137,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/5/2015 - HERRIMAN, UT
WHILE TRAVELING AT APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH ON A US HIGHWAY, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO VIGOROUSLY SHAKE AND A LOUD CLANKING NOISE BEGAN FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. SUDDENLY THERE WAS A LOUD BANGING NOISE COMING FROM UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE. UPON EXITING THE VEHICLE AS IT CAME TO A STOP, I NOTICED THAT THAT THE REAR DRIVE SHAFT HAD FALLEN OFF. WHEN ATTEMPTING TO LOAD THE VEHICLE ON A WRECKER, THE REAR WHEELS WOULDN'T ROLL. THE ENTIRE REAR DIFFERENTIAL AND AXLE HAD SEIZED.

View Details

ENGINE

12/29/2014 - LA MIRADA, CA
THE OTHER DAY I WAS SITTING IN TRAFFIC FOR ALMOST 30 MIN STOPPED WITH THE ENGINE RUNNING (LOTS OF CHRISTMAS TRAFFIC ON THE 5 SOUTH FREEWAY), I PUT THE TRUCK IN PARK BECAUSE I NOTICE AN ACCIDENT. I HAD MY WINDOWS UP AND MY CABIN AIR ON. THEN A FEW MIN LATER I STARTED FEELING DIZZY ALMOST FAINTING. THE CAR NEXT TO ME SAW THAT I WAS STRUGGLING, CAME TO MY WINDOW AND ASKED ME IF I WAS OK. I ROLLED DOWN MY WINDOW AND HE NOTICED THE SMELL OF EXHAUST INSIDE MY TRUCK. AFTER MY HEADACHE WENT AWAY. I WENT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY TOLD ME BOTH OF MY EXHAUST MANIFOLDS WERE CRACKED AND THAT'S HOW THE EXHAUST WAS ENTERING NEAR THE FRONT CABIN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/29/2014 - LA MIRADA, CA
THE OTHER DAY I WAS SITTING IN TRAFFIC FOR ALMOST 30 MIN STOPPED WITH THE ENGINE RUNNING (LOTS OF CHRISTMAS TRAFFIC ON THE 5 SOUTH FREEWAY), I PUT THE TRUCK IN PARK BECAUSE I NOTICE AN ACCIDENT. I HAD MY WINDOWS UP AND MY CABIN AIR ON. THEN A FEW MIN LATER I STARTED FEELING DIZZY ALMOST FAINTING. THE CAR NEXT TO ME SAW THAT I WAS STRUGGLING, CAME TO MY WINDOW AND ASKED ME IF I WAS OK. I ROLLED DOWN MY WINDOW AND HE NOTICED THE SMELL OF EXHAUST INSIDE MY TRUCK. AFTER MY HEADACHE WENT AWAY. I WENT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY TOLD ME BOTH OF MY EXHAUST MANIFOLDS WERE CRACKED AND THAT'S HOW THE EXHAUST WAS ENTERING NEAR THE FRONT CABIN.

View Details

EQUIPMENT: OTHER: LABELS

12/15/2014 - ORLANDO, FL
2005 NISSAN TITAN 4X2 SE. VEHICLE CAME WITH 2 MARONI LABELS SAME VIN NUMBER WITH DIFFERENT DEALER ADDRESSES DIFFERENT CODES, AND THE ONE HE PURCHASED DOESN'T MATCH NISSAN RECORDS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/8/2014 - LANCASTER, PA
FRONT AXLE POPPED OUT, CAUSING FLUIDS TO DRAIN. DIFFERENTIAL FAILURE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/5/2014 - SPRINGFIELD, MO
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY THE TRUCK STALLED AND LOST ALL POWER. AFTER GETTING TO THE SHOULDER OF THE HIGHWAY, THE TRUCK STILL HAD BATTERY POWER AND WANTED TO CRANK TO START BUT ACTED LIKE IT WASN'T GETTING GAS. AFTER CALLING AROUND WE DETERMINED THRU A NISSAN SERVICE ADVISOR THAT WE SHOULD TRY FILLING THE TANK WITH GAS, EVEN THOUGH I WAS TELLING HIM IT READ BETWEEN A QUARTER AND HALF A TANK. AFTER PUTTING IN 5 GALLONS AND TURNING THE KEY AND CRANKING IT A FEW SECONDS, IT STARTED RIGHT UP. IT HAS DONE THIS AT VARIOUS TIMES SINCE THIS FIRST OCCURENCE AND CONTINUES TO VARY. I NOW HAVE TO KEEP NO LESS THAN HALF A TANK OF GAS AT ALL TIMES OR I WILL SUDDENLY LOSE POWER AND HAVE TO PULL OFF. NISSAN HAS A VOLUNTARY SAFETY RECALL CAMPAIGN 2005-2009 ARMADA AND TITAN FUEL GAUGE INACCURACY, CAMPAIGN ID#R1010 & NHTSA#10V-074, BUT SAY THAT IT DOES NOT INCLUDE MY VIN. I HAVE TRIED REPEATEDLY TO ASK NISSAN HOW THIS SAFETY CAMPAIGN DOES NOT AFFECT MY VEHICLE IF IT TOO HAS THE SAME PROBLEM, AS I'VE BEEN TOLD ITS THE FUEL SENDING UNIT WHICH IS WHAT THIS RECALL CAMPAIGN COVERS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 64
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds