Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA - 2005 TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 81 complaints filed for the 2005 TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Equipment (2) Seat Belts (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (5) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (5) Structure (21) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (1) Visibility (4)
Engine (1) Power Train (16) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (2) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE

12/22/2014 - HIALEAH, FL
WE HAVE BEEN THE SOLE OWNERS OF THE CAR AND HAVE LIVED IN MIAMI, FL THROUGHOUT THE ENTIRE LENGTH OF OWNERSHIP. NOT LONG AFTER TIME OF PURCHASE, WE BEGAN TO NOTICE THE SAME COMPLAINT SO MANY OTHER OWNERS HAVE COMPLAINED ABOUT: THE MELTING AND CRACKING OF THE DASHBOARD. ALTHOUGH THE CRACKS AND SHINE ARE UNSIGHTLY AND THE STICKINESS IS BOTHERSOME, THE MOST TROUBLESOME RESULT OF THIS DEFECT IS THE GLARE IT CASTS ON THE WINDSHIELD. ESPECIALLY WHEN DRIVING IN THE DIRECTION OF THE SUN, THE GLARE WITHOUT A DOUBT HINDERS VISIBILITY TO A DANGEROUS DEGREE. IT IS MY UNDERSTANDING THAT TOYOTA DOES NOT COVER A REPLACEMENT OF THE DASHBOARD. THEREFORE, I STRONGLY URGE THE NHTSA TO INITIATE A RECALL FOR THIS PART, AS I AM FIRMLY CONVINCED THAT IT POSES A SERIOUS SAFETY RISK. PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF I CAN PROVIDE ANY DOCUMENTATION/PROOF OF THIS PROBLEM. THANK YOU.

View Details

STRUCTURE

11/3/2014 - FT. LAURDERDALE , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DASHBOARD WAS DETERIORATING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

WHEELS

10/1/2014 - LYNBROOK , NY
A LITTLE OVER A YEAR AFTER I PURCHASED MY NEW 2005 TOYOTA SOLARA (BOUGHT ON 3/05) FROM WESTBURY TOYOTA, WESTBURY, NY THE COATING ON THE FACTORY RIMS BEGAN TO FLAKE OFF. I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD BY THEM THIS PROBLEM IS NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. AS THE SITUATION BECAME WORSE I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AGAIN TO STATE THIS MUST BE A DEFECT IN THE RIMS AND AGAIN I WAS TOLD THEY WERE UNAWARE OF A PROBLEM WITH THE RIMS AND IF THERE IS ITS NOT COVERED UNDER THE WARRANTY. OVER THE YEARS I WALKED THROUGH PARKING LOTS I NOTICED OTHER 2004-2006 SOLARAS WITH THE SAME WHEEL PROBLEM/DEFECT. I FINALLY CALLED THE TOYOTA 800 # TO COMPLAIN AND THEY SAID THIS IS THE FIRST TIME THEY HEARD OF THIS PROBLEM. I'VE SPOKEN TO OTHER SOLARA OWNERS WHO ALSO CALLED THE DEALERSHIPS AND THE 800# AND WERE TOLD THERE WERE NO OTHER COMPLAINTS OR PROBLEMS REPORTED WITH THE SOLARA RIMS. RECENTLY I CALLED THE 800# AGAIN AND EXPLAINED TO THEM THAT NOW NOT ONLY IS THE COATING FLAKING OFF BUT ALSO THE UNPROTECTED RIMS ARE STARTING TO CORRODE WHICH I FEEL IS DANGEROUS. AGAIN, I WAS TOLD "THIS IS THE FIRST TIME WE HEARD THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THE SOLARA RIMS." I FEEL THIS IS ANOTHER COVER UP AND EVENTUALLY IF THE RIMS CORRODE ANY FURTHER IS CAN BE DANGEROUS AND CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. THERE ARE STILL PLENTY OF 2004-2006 SOLARAS ON THE ROAD AND THEY ALL SEEM TO HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM. THE PRE-2003 CARS DON'T SEEM TO HAVE THIS PROBLEM AS DO THE 2007 AND LATER CARS. I HAVE BEEN FIGHTING WITH THEM OVER THIS MATTER FOR ALMOST 9 YEARS. ANY HELP YOU CAN PROVIDE TO HAVE THESE RIMS REPLACED WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED. MY CAR HAS ONLY 67000 MILES AND I PLAN ON KEEPING IT FOR MANY YEARS. THANK YOU.

View Details

STEERING

10/1/2014 - FAYETTEVILLE, GA
WHILE ATTEMPTING A U-TURN AT VERY SLOW SPEED, CAR WAS HIT ON THE PASSENGER SIDE BY A VEHICLE GOING APPROX 30-40MPH. WHEN CAR CAME TO A REST, THE STEERING WHEEL HAD BROKEN OFF THE STEERING COLUMN.

View Details

STRUCTURE

8/29/2014 - VENICE , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DASHBOARD'S VINYL COVER FRACTURED. THE CRACK INITIATED AT THE DRIVER SIDE AND SPREAD TO THE AIR BAG AND GLOVE COMPARTMENT AREA. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED THAT THE AIR BAG MAY DEPLOY. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE DASHBOARD WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 77,000. UPDATED 10/22/2014 UPDATED 4/21/2015

View Details

STRUCTURE

8/28/2014 - SARASOTA, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DASHBOARD WAS DETERIORATING AND CRACKING. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE DASHBOARD NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 12,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/26/2014 - HILLIARD, OH
ISSUE WITH IGNITION ALSO OCCURRED ON AUG 26, 2014. WHEN KEY IS REMOVED FROM IGNITION ENGINE CONTINUES TO RUN AND CAN BE DRIVEN WITHOUT USING THE KEY. I CALLED TOYOTA DEALERSHIP AND THEY WILL CHARGE $90 PER HOUR TO INVESTIGATE. CALLED TOYOTA HEADQUARTERS AFTER SEEING GM IGNITION RECALL FOR THE SAME ISSUE AND THEY SAID THAT MY CAR DOESN'T HAVE A RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE. AFTER IT HAPPENED AGAIN TODAY DECIDED TO SEE IF THIS IS A BROADER ISSUE SIMILAR TO GM'S.

View Details

STRUCTURE

5/26/2014 - NAPLES, FL
I OWN A 2005 SOLARA CONVERTIBLE. AROUND 5 YEARS AGO MY DASHBOARD BEGAN TO CRACK. IT IS SO BAD NOW THAT THE LINING OF THE DASH IS STARTING TO SHOW THROUGH. MY CAR HAS ALWAYS BEEN GARAGE KEPT AND VERY WELL MAINTAINED. I HAVE A FRIEND WITH THE SAME VEHICLE AND IT HAS DONE THE SAME THING. SHORTLY AFTER PURCHASING THIS VEHICLE I NOTICED THAT THE REAR DEFROST WAS NOT WORKING. THE DEALERSHIP REPLACED THE CONVERTIBLE TOP AND ASSUMED THAT IT WOULD FIX THE PROBLEM. LESS THAN TWO YEARS LATER THE SAME PROBLEM OCCURRED. THE DEALERSHIP WAS NOT WILLING TO MAKE THE PROBLEM RIGHT FOR ME SO I, TO THIS DAY, IT STILL DOES NOT WORK.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

5/9/2014 - SAGAMORE BEACH, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DOORS LOCKED ON THEIR OWN WITH THE KEY IN THE IGNITION. THE CONTACT EXPERIENCED THE FAILURE MULTIPLE TIMES AND HAD TO ENSURE THERE WAS A SPARE KEY DUE TO BEING LOCKED OUT OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TO BE INSPECTED, DIAGNOSED AND REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000. UPDATED 07/08/14 MA

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/2/2014 - CARMICHAEL, CA
I OWN A 2005 SOLARA SLE V6 AUTOMATIC: PULLING INTO A RESTAURANT PARKING SPACE, MAKING A RIGHT TURN, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED FORWARD: JUMPING THE CURB, FORWARD ONTO A MUDDY OPEN SPACE, AN APPROX. 25* INCLINE, AND INTO A LOW BARRIER WALL BETWEEN THE TWO NEIGHBORING RESTAURANTS' PARKING LOTS (WITH CARS ON THE OTHER-SIDE OF THE BARRIER). FORTUNATELY, NO VEHICLES OR PERSONS WERE STUCK!; JUST, THE DAMAGE TO MY VEHICLE! WHEN IT ACCELERATED, MY FOOT WAS OFF THE ACCELERATOR PETAL, ABOUT TO BRAKE; STOOD ON MY ABS BRAKE; AND, THE BARRIER, I BELIEVE, STOPPED MOST OF THE FORWARD MOTION; HIT HARD; AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY !!! NOTHING LIKE THIS HAS EVER HAPPENED TO ME BEFORE; NOT IN ANY OF MY PAST VEHICLES !!! IT'S MY UNDERSTANDING THAT TOYOTA IS DENYING PROBLEMS WITH THE SOLARA MODELS, WHEN THEY'RE THE SPORTY MODEL THE CAMRY !!! DEALERSHIP SAID TO CONTACT CORPORATE, BUT, THIS IS NOT ... BLAME IT ON THE DRIVER FOR INCORRECT MATS; MINE ARE THE ORIGINALS HOOKED UNDER THE FRONT SEATS !!! THIS IS TRANSMISSION CONTROL LINKAGE TO THE ACCELERATOR PETAL !? WHEN I BACKED UP, OFF THE MUDDY HILL, I NOTICED THE TRANSMISSION WAS STIFF/SLUGGISH !!! 2ND TOPIC - DRIVER'S LEFT SIDE LEATHER SEAT PANEL FOR AIR BAG: TOOK IT IN DUE TO PANEL SPLITTING IN TWO PARALLEL SPOTS (POSSIBLE SPLIT LEATHER MATERIAL, RATHER THAN FULL HIDE ? TOO THIN FOR SIDE-AIR BAG ! ) TOYOTA REFUSED TO FIX THIS SAFETY ISSUE !!!

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds