Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA - 2005 TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 77 complaints filed for the 2005 TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (5) Structure (13) Vehicle Speed Control (17)
Electrical System (5) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (1) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Power Train (15) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Seat Belts (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (13) Wheels (2)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE

8/29/2014 - VENICE , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DASHBOARD'S VINYL COVER FRACTURED. THE CRACK INITIATED AT THE DRIVER SIDE AND SPREAD TO THE AIR BAG AND GLOVE COMPARTMENT AREA. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED THAT THE AIR BAG MAY DEPLOY. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE DASHBOARD WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 77,000. UPDATED 10/22/2014 UPDATED 4/21/2015

View Details

STRUCTURE

8/28/2014 - SARASOTA, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DASHBOARD WAS DETERIORATING AND CRACKING. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE DASHBOARD NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 12,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/26/2014 - HILLIARD, OH
ISSUE WITH IGNITION ALSO OCCURRED ON AUG 26, 2014. WHEN KEY IS REMOVED FROM IGNITION ENGINE CONTINUES TO RUN AND CAN BE DRIVEN WITHOUT USING THE KEY. I CALLED TOYOTA DEALERSHIP AND THEY WILL CHARGE $90 PER HOUR TO INVESTIGATE. CALLED TOYOTA HEADQUARTERS AFTER SEEING GM IGNITION RECALL FOR THE SAME ISSUE AND THEY SAID THAT MY CAR DOESN'T HAVE A RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE. AFTER IT HAPPENED AGAIN TODAY DECIDED TO SEE IF THIS IS A BROADER ISSUE SIMILAR TO GM'S.

View Details

STRUCTURE

5/26/2014 - NAPLES, FL
I OWN A 2005 SOLARA CONVERTIBLE. AROUND 5 YEARS AGO MY DASHBOARD BEGAN TO CRACK. IT IS SO BAD NOW THAT THE LINING OF THE DASH IS STARTING TO SHOW THROUGH. MY CAR HAS ALWAYS BEEN GARAGE KEPT AND VERY WELL MAINTAINED. I HAVE A FRIEND WITH THE SAME VEHICLE AND IT HAS DONE THE SAME THING. SHORTLY AFTER PURCHASING THIS VEHICLE I NOTICED THAT THE REAR DEFROST WAS NOT WORKING. THE DEALERSHIP REPLACED THE CONVERTIBLE TOP AND ASSUMED THAT IT WOULD FIX THE PROBLEM. LESS THAN TWO YEARS LATER THE SAME PROBLEM OCCURRED. THE DEALERSHIP WAS NOT WILLING TO MAKE THE PROBLEM RIGHT FOR ME SO I, TO THIS DAY, IT STILL DOES NOT WORK.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

5/9/2014 - SAGAMORE BEACH, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DOORS LOCKED ON THEIR OWN WITH THE KEY IN THE IGNITION. THE CONTACT EXPERIENCED THE FAILURE MULTIPLE TIMES AND HAD TO ENSURE THERE WAS A SPARE KEY DUE TO BEING LOCKED OUT OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TO BE INSPECTED, DIAGNOSED AND REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000. UPDATED 07/08/14 MA

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/2/2014 - CARMICHAEL, CA
I OWN A 2005 SOLARA SLE V6 AUTOMATIC: PULLING INTO A RESTAURANT PARKING SPACE, MAKING A RIGHT TURN, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED FORWARD: JUMPING THE CURB, FORWARD ONTO A MUDDY OPEN SPACE, AN APPROX. 25* INCLINE, AND INTO A LOW BARRIER WALL BETWEEN THE TWO NEIGHBORING RESTAURANTS' PARKING LOTS (WITH CARS ON THE OTHER-SIDE OF THE BARRIER). FORTUNATELY, NO VEHICLES OR PERSONS WERE STUCK!; JUST, THE DAMAGE TO MY VEHICLE! WHEN IT ACCELERATED, MY FOOT WAS OFF THE ACCELERATOR PETAL, ABOUT TO BRAKE; STOOD ON MY ABS BRAKE; AND, THE BARRIER, I BELIEVE, STOPPED MOST OF THE FORWARD MOTION; HIT HARD; AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY !!! NOTHING LIKE THIS HAS EVER HAPPENED TO ME BEFORE; NOT IN ANY OF MY PAST VEHICLES !!! IT'S MY UNDERSTANDING THAT TOYOTA IS DENYING PROBLEMS WITH THE SOLARA MODELS, WHEN THEY'RE THE SPORTY MODEL THE CAMRY !!! DEALERSHIP SAID TO CONTACT CORPORATE, BUT, THIS IS NOT ... BLAME IT ON THE DRIVER FOR INCORRECT MATS; MINE ARE THE ORIGINALS HOOKED UNDER THE FRONT SEATS !!! THIS IS TRANSMISSION CONTROL LINKAGE TO THE ACCELERATOR PETAL !? WHEN I BACKED UP, OFF THE MUDDY HILL, I NOTICED THE TRANSMISSION WAS STIFF/SLUGGISH !!! 2ND TOPIC - DRIVER'S LEFT SIDE LEATHER SEAT PANEL FOR AIR BAG: TOOK IT IN DUE TO PANEL SPLITTING IN TWO PARALLEL SPOTS (POSSIBLE SPLIT LEATHER MATERIAL, RATHER THAN FULL HIDE ? TOO THIN FOR SIDE-AIR BAG ! ) TOYOTA REFUSED TO FIX THIS SAFETY ISSUE !!!

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/2/2014 - CARMICHAEL, CA
I OWN A 2005 SOLARA SLE V6 AUTOMATIC: PULLING INTO A RESTAURANT PARKING SPACE, MAKING A RIGHT TURN, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED FORWARD: JUMPING THE CURB, FORWARD ONTO A MUDDY OPEN SPACE, AN APPROX. 25* INCLINE, AND INTO A LOW BARRIER WALL BETWEEN THE TWO NEIGHBORING RESTAURANTS' PARKING LOTS (WITH CARS ON THE OTHER-SIDE OF THE BARRIER). FORTUNATELY, NO VEHICLES OR PERSONS WERE STUCK!; JUST, THE DAMAGE TO MY VEHICLE! WHEN IT ACCELERATED, MY FOOT WAS OFF THE ACCELERATOR PETAL, ABOUT TO BRAKE; STOOD ON MY ABS BRAKE; AND, THE BARRIER, I BELIEVE, STOPPED MOST OF THE FORWARD MOTION; HIT HARD; AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY !!! NOTHING LIKE THIS HAS EVER HAPPENED TO ME BEFORE; NOT IN ANY OF MY PAST VEHICLES !!! IT'S MY UNDERSTANDING THAT TOYOTA IS DENYING PROBLEMS WITH THE SOLARA MODELS, WHEN THEY'RE THE SPORTY MODEL THE CAMRY !!! DEALERSHIP SAID TO CONTACT CORPORATE, BUT, THIS IS NOT ... BLAME IT ON THE DRIVER FOR INCORRECT MATS; MINE ARE THE ORIGINALS HOOKED UNDER THE FRONT SEATS !!! THIS IS TRANSMISSION CONTROL LINKAGE TO THE ACCELERATOR PETAL !? WHEN I BACKED UP, OFF THE MUDDY HILL, I NOTICED THE TRANSMISSION WAS STIFF/SLUGGISH !!! 2ND TOPIC - DRIVER'S LEFT SIDE LEATHER SEAT PANEL FOR AIR BAG: TOOK IT IN DUE TO PANEL SPLITTING IN TWO PARALLEL SPOTS (POSSIBLE SPLIT LEATHER MATERIAL, RATHER THAN FULL HIDE ? TOO THIN FOR SIDE-AIR BAG ! ) TOYOTA REFUSED TO FIX THIS SAFETY ISSUE !!!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/2/2014 - CARMICHAEL, CA
I OWN A 2005 SOLARA SLE V6 AUTOMATIC: PULLING INTO A RESTAURANT PARKING SPACE, MAKING A RIGHT TURN, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED FORWARD: JUMPING THE CURB, FORWARD ONTO A MUDDY OPEN SPACE, AN APPROX. 25* INCLINE, AND INTO A LOW BARRIER WALL BETWEEN THE TWO NEIGHBORING RESTAURANTS' PARKING LOTS (WITH CARS ON THE OTHER-SIDE OF THE BARRIER). FORTUNATELY, NO VEHICLES OR PERSONS WERE STUCK!; JUST, THE DAMAGE TO MY VEHICLE! WHEN IT ACCELERATED, MY FOOT WAS OFF THE ACCELERATOR PETAL, ABOUT TO BRAKE; STOOD ON MY ABS BRAKE; AND, THE BARRIER, I BELIEVE, STOPPED MOST OF THE FORWARD MOTION; HIT HARD; AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY !!! NOTHING LIKE THIS HAS EVER HAPPENED TO ME BEFORE; NOT IN ANY OF MY PAST VEHICLES !!! IT'S MY UNDERSTANDING THAT TOYOTA IS DENYING PROBLEMS WITH THE SOLARA MODELS, WHEN THEY'RE THE SPORTY MODEL THE CAMRY !!! DEALERSHIP SAID TO CONTACT CORPORATE, BUT, THIS IS NOT ... BLAME IT ON THE DRIVER FOR INCORRECT MATS; MINE ARE THE ORIGINALS HOOKED UNDER THE FRONT SEATS !!! THIS IS TRANSMISSION CONTROL LINKAGE TO THE ACCELERATOR PETAL !? WHEN I BACKED UP, OFF THE MUDDY HILL, I NOTICED THE TRANSMISSION WAS STIFF/SLUGGISH !!! 2ND TOPIC - DRIVER'S LEFT SIDE LEATHER SEAT PANEL FOR AIR BAG: TOOK IT IN DUE TO PANEL SPLITTING IN TWO PARALLEL SPOTS (POSSIBLE SPLIT LEATHER MATERIAL, RATHER THAN FULL HIDE ? TOO THIN FOR SIDE-AIR BAG ! ) TOYOTA REFUSED TO FIX THIS SAFETY ISSUE !!!

View Details

STEERING

12/18/2013 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL TO THE RIGHT. THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL CLICKING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE STARTER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT BEEN MADE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/18/2013 - CARYVILLE, TN
VSC WARNING LIGHT, VEHICLE STABILITY CONTROL WARNING, TRAC WARNING LIGHT, TRACTION CONTROL WARNING. ENGINE SPUTTERS ON ACCELERATION, FEEL SHIFTS IN DRIVETRAIN, FROM FULL STOP AT RED LIGHT. ENGINE STALL HAS NOT HAPPENED YET BUT ENGINE SEEMS TO WANT TO DYE. SHIFTING IN THE DRIVETRAIN SEEMS TO SLIP AND BREAK WHILE ACCELERATING. LIGHTS REMAIN ON AFTER STARTUP, WITH STANDARD CHECK ENGINE

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds