Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA - 2005 TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 65 complaints filed for the 2005 TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Equipment (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (17)
Electrical System (4) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (5) Suspension (1) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (15) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (7) Wheels (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/18/2013 - CARYVILLE, TN
VSC WARNING LIGHT, VEHICLE STABILITY CONTROL WARNING, TRAC WARNING LIGHT, TRACTION CONTROL WARNING. ENGINE SPUTTERS ON ACCELERATION, FEEL SHIFTS IN DRIVETRAIN, FROM FULL STOP AT RED LIGHT. ENGINE STALL HAS NOT HAPPENED YET BUT ENGINE SEEMS TO WANT TO DYE. SHIFTING IN THE DRIVETRAIN SEEMS TO SLIP AND BREAK WHILE ACCELERATING. LIGHTS REMAIN ON AFTER STARTUP, WITH STANDARD CHECK ENGINE

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/30/2013 - CORNING, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH, THE VEHICLE MADE A ROARING NOISE AND ACCELERATED WITHOUT MANUAL FORCE, CRASHING INTO A FENCE AND A TREE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES HOWEVER, A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NEITHER DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 135,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE

4/11/2013 - WINTER GARDEN, FL
HORRIBLE CRACKS ALL ALONG DASH BOARD. CALLED TOYOTA AND TOLD THEM I HAVE SEEN MANY POST ABOUT THE SAME PROBLEM. THEY STATED THAT ONLY IF THEY GOT ENOUGH COMPLAINTS WOULD THEY POSSIBLY DO ANYTHING. WE HAVE OWNED 4 TOYOTAS, DON'T KNOW IF THERE WILL BE ANY MORE IF THEY DON'T DO SOMETHING!

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/11/2013 - WINTER GARDEN, FL
HORRIBLE CRACKS ALL ALONG DASH BOARD. CALLED TOYOTA AND TOLD THEM I HAVE SEEN MANY POST ABOUT THE SAME PROBLEM. THEY STATED THAT ONLY IF THEY GOT ENOUGH COMPLAINTS WOULD THEY POSSIBLY DO ANYTHING. WE HAVE OWNED 4 TOYOTAS, DON'T KNOW IF THERE WILL BE ANY MORE IF THEY DON'T DO SOMETHING!

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

12/21/2012 - LAGUNA WOODS, CA
I TOOK THE CAR INTO THE DEALER ON 22 FEB 2012, AT WHICH TIME THE DEALER VERIFIED THE DEFECT AND STATED "SOP PULLEY" PER THEIR ORDER # 751558. AFTER SEVERAL PHONE CALLS I SENT A LETTER TO THE GENERAL MANAGER REQUESTING INFORMATION AND GOT NO REPLY. THE DEALER IS POWER TOYOTA AT 9101 RESEARCH DR. IRVINE, CA 92618. THE REPAIR UNDER THE RECALL HAS NOT BEEN DONE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/12/2012 - NAPA , CA
ON JAN. 5, 2012 AROUND 10:00 A.M. I WAS ACCELERATING UP HILL AT THE SPEED OF 50 MPG. WHEN I LET UP ON THE GAS PEDAL MY CAR CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE. I STARTED APPLYING THE BRAKES BUT IT DIDN'T HELP. AS THE CAR KEPT GOING FASTER I WENT INTO A PANIC MODE APPLYING THE BRAKES, PULLING BACK ON THE EMERGENCY BRAKES AS FAR AS I COULD, AND TRYING TO SHIFT INTO NEUTRAL OR PARK OR ANYTHING TO GET MY CAR TO STOP. I WENT OFF THE ROAD AT THE SAME TIME I GOT IT INTO PARK. STOPPING ABRUPTLY I JUMPED FROM THE CAR THE WHEELS STILL SPINNING AND SMOKE POURING FORM THE WHEEL WELLS. I WAS PRETTY HYSTERICAL FROM MY ORDEAL BUT HAD THE SENSE TO REACH IN AND TURN OFF THE KEY. I CALLED MY HUSBAND AND SAT DOWN AND CRIED UNTIL HE GOT THERE. WE HAD THE CAR TOWED TO TOYOTA IN NAPA CA. AND YESTERDAY (JAN. 11, 2011) THEY CALLED TO SAY THEY CAN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG AND WE CAN PICK UP THE CAR ANYTIME WE WANT. PLEASE HELP ME !!!! THIS WASN'T JUST A FIGMENT OF MY IMAGINATION. IT HAPPENED FOR SOME REASON. DO THEY REALLY THINK I EVER WANT TO DRIVE THIS CAR AGAIN??? I FEEL VERY GRATEFUL TO WALK AWAY WITH MY LIFE. IF THERE HAD BEEN MORE TRAFFIC OR NO PLACE TO GO OFF THE ROAD OR IN A WORSE CASE SCENARIO DRIVING THE 10 MILE MOUNTAIN ROAD FROM TOWN TO MY HOUSE I PROBABLY WOULDN'T HAVE. I FEEL THE NEED TO TELL AS MANY PEOPLE AS I CAN TO SAVE SOME ONE ELSE FROM THIS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

1/12/2012 - NAPA , CA
ON JAN. 5, 2012 AROUND 10:00 A.M. I WAS ACCELERATING UP HILL AT THE SPEED OF 50 MPG. WHEN I LET UP ON THE GAS PEDAL MY CAR CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE. I STARTED APPLYING THE BRAKES BUT IT DIDN'T HELP. AS THE CAR KEPT GOING FASTER I WENT INTO A PANIC MODE APPLYING THE BRAKES, PULLING BACK ON THE EMERGENCY BRAKES AS FAR AS I COULD, AND TRYING TO SHIFT INTO NEUTRAL OR PARK OR ANYTHING TO GET MY CAR TO STOP. I WENT OFF THE ROAD AT THE SAME TIME I GOT IT INTO PARK. STOPPING ABRUPTLY I JUMPED FROM THE CAR THE WHEELS STILL SPINNING AND SMOKE POURING FORM THE WHEEL WELLS. I WAS PRETTY HYSTERICAL FROM MY ORDEAL BUT HAD THE SENSE TO REACH IN AND TURN OFF THE KEY. I CALLED MY HUSBAND AND SAT DOWN AND CRIED UNTIL HE GOT THERE. WE HAD THE CAR TOWED TO TOYOTA IN NAPA CA. AND YESTERDAY (JAN. 11, 2011) THEY CALLED TO SAY THEY CAN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG AND WE CAN PICK UP THE CAR ANYTIME WE WANT. PLEASE HELP ME !!!! THIS WASN'T JUST A FIGMENT OF MY IMAGINATION. IT HAPPENED FOR SOME REASON. DO THEY REALLY THINK I EVER WANT TO DRIVE THIS CAR AGAIN??? I FEEL VERY GRATEFUL TO WALK AWAY WITH MY LIFE. IF THERE HAD BEEN MORE TRAFFIC OR NO PLACE TO GO OFF THE ROAD OR IN A WORSE CASE SCENARIO DRIVING THE 10 MILE MOUNTAIN ROAD FROM TOWN TO MY HOUSE I PROBABLY WOULDN'T HAVE. I FEEL THE NEED TO TELL AS MANY PEOPLE AS I CAN TO SAVE SOME ONE ELSE FROM THIS.

View Details

EQUIPMENT: ELECTRICAL: JACK

11/17/2011 - TALLAHASSEE, FL
I AM A MECHANICAL ENGINEER INVOLVED IN A LAWSUIT DEALING WITH THIS MECHANICAL SCISSOR JACK. THE CASE HAS GONE TO TRIAL AND BEEN RESOLVED. AS A PART OF MY INVESTIGATION, I DETERMINED THAT THE BASE OF THE JACK IS OUT OF SPECIFICATION, AND WOBBLES. THE BASE IS MEANT TO BE FLAT, YET ALL FOUR "FEET" OF THE BASE DO NOT TOUCH WHEN THE JACK IS RESTED ON A FLAT SURFACE. BASED ON TESTIMONY BY THE MANUFACTURER, THE BASE DEFORMS DURING THE FINAL ASSEMBLY, AND THIS WOBBLE IS ACCEPTABLE. I HAVE CHECKED A 2007 CAMRY, 2005 COROLLA, AND 2011 CAMRY, AND THESE CARS ALL HAVE THE SAME ISSUE WITH THE BASE. DURING MY INSPECTIONS, THE JACK WILL ROLL INBOARD DURING NORMAL JACKING, PLACING ALL THE WEIGHT ONTO THE TWO INSIDE "FEET", USING ONLY ABOUT 20% OF THE BASE. IF THE BASE IS FLAT AS INTENDED, MORE OF THE BASE IF NOT ALL WOULD BE USED PROVIDING A GREATER LEVEL OF STABILITY DURING EMERGENCY JACKING.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

8/22/2011 - LAKEVILLE, MN
DRIVER SIDE SEAT BELT BUCKLE STOPPED OPERATING, THE SEAT BELT CAN NO LONGER BE USED WITHOUT REPLACEMENT OF THE ENTIRE BUCKLE ASSEMBLY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/16/2010 - DENVER, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 TOYOTA SOLARA. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE ATTEMPTING TO BRAKE FROM APPROXIMATELY 2 MPH, THE VEHICLE ABNORMALLY ACCELERATED. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO STOP THE UNINTENDED ACCELERATION AND THE VEHICLE PROCEEDED TO DRIVE OVER A CURB AND CRASH INTO THE BUSHES. THE DOOR AJAR WARNING ALARM THEN ABNORMALLY SOUNDED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE DEALER WOULD INSPECT THE EVENT DATA RECORDER TO DETERMINE WHY THE VEHICLE ABNORMALLY ACCELERATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. A POLICE REPORT WAS AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 57,314.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds