Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA RAV4 - 2005 TOYOTA RAV4 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 51 complaints filed for the 2005 TOYOTA RAV4

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 TOYOTA RAV4. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 TOYOTA RAV4, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (3) Visibility (4)
Electrical System (2) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (9) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Power Train (4) Steering (4) Unknown Or Other (2) Wheels (1)
Engine (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (7)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2/9/2010 - CRYSTAL, MN
I HAVE A TOYOTA 2005 RAV 4 - 6 CYL. I AM EXPERIENCING A PROBLEM NOT ASSOCIATED WITH THE TOYOTA RECALLS, ACCORDING TO TOYOTA. TWICE WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN DRIVE AND I HAVE MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE, AND THE VEHICLE IS STOPPED, AFTER THE VEHICLE IDLES DOWN FROM MOVING, THE ENGINE REVS UP AGAIN. THE GAS PEDAL WAS NOT TOUCHED AND THE FLOOR MAT IS NOT IN THE WAY. THE ENGINE REVVING UP IS SCARY ENOUGH THAT SOMEONE OUTSIDE OF MY CAR THOUGHT I WAS SPINNING MY WHEELS IN THE SNOW AND ICE, AND I WAS NOT MOVING. I TOOK IT IN TO A DEALER AND THEY HOOKED IT UP TO THEIR COMPUTER AND FOUND NO PROBLEM. OF COURSE WHEN THEY DROVE IT, THEY COULD NOT REPLICATE THE PROBLEM. THEY RECOMMENDED THAT IF IT HAPPENS AGAIN THAT I IMMEDIATELY HAVE IT TOWED BACK TO THE DEALER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

2/4/2010 - PENDLETON, OR
I HAVE A 2005 RAV4, THE TRANSMISSION HAS BEEN SLIPPING, IT IS AN AUTOMATIC AND SOMETIMES IT WON'T CHANGE GEARS WHEN IT SHOULD, SO IT WON'T ACCELERATE AND WHEN IT FINALLY DOES SWITCH TO THE NEXT GEAR THE WHO CAR JERKS AND TAKES OFF VERY QUICKLY. THIS BEGAN HAPPENING FOR NO REASON I HAVE NOT HAD ANY SORT OF ACCIDENT WITH THE VEHICLE AND TAKE VERY GOOD CARE OF IT. I HAVE BEEN TOLD BY CAMPBELL MOTORS IN HERMISTON OR, THAT THE ONLY OPTION IS TO COMPLETELY REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION FOR A COST OF $3900. I HAVE READ THAT IS A COMMON PROBLEM ON THE RAV4 AND FEEL THAT TOYOTA SHOULD ISSUE A RECALL ON THE TRANSMISSION IT IS VERY DANGEROUS IN TRAFFIC TO HAVE A CAR THAT JERKS AROUND AND ACCELERATES/WON'T ACCELERATE IN AN UNPREDICTABLE MANNER.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/28/2010 - ROANOKE, VA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2005 TOYOTA RAV4. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY BETWEEN 1-10 MPH ON NORMAL ROAD CONDITIONS; PROCEEDING TO TURN MAKE A LEFT AT AN INTERSECTION THERE WAS AN UNINTENDED INCREASE IN ACCELERATION. THE DRIVER APPLIED PRESSURE TO THE BRAKE PEDAL AND THE VEHICLE FAILED TO SLOW DOWN. SUDDENLY, THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO AN OPPOSING VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO PERSONAL INJURIES. THE POLICE WAS CALLED TO THE SCENE. HE WAS ABLE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED FOR THE BODY DAMAGES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 38,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/27/2010 - KOKOMO, IN
WE WERE APPROACHING OUR GARAGE WHEN ALL OF THE SUDDEN OUR 2005 TOYOTA RAV4 ACCELERATED WITHOUT ME PUSHING THE GAS PETAL. WE DROVE THROUGH THE FRONT OF OUR GARAGE, CAUSING SUBSTANTIAL DAMAGE TO OUR GARAGE AND THE SUV. BOTH GARAGE DOORS HAD TO BE REPLACED AND THE FRONT OF OUR GARAGE HAD TO BE REFRAMED AND DRY-WALLED INSIDE. MY HUSBANDS 1977 JEEP-CJ7 THAT HAS BEEN TOTALLY RESTORED WAS DAMAGED AND HAD TO BE REPAINTED. THE SUV SUFFERED DAMAGE REQUIRING A NEW PASSENGER DOOR, NEW PASSENGER SIDE TRIM, NEW SIDE MIRRORS, NEW HEADLIGHTS, AND REPAINTING OF THE FRONT HALF OF THE SUV. WE CONTACTED THE POLICE AND THEY SAID SINCE THE DAMAGE WAS DONE TO OUR PROPERTY NO REPORT NEEDED TO BE FILED. WE DID TAKE PICTURES FOR THE INSURANCE COMPANY WHICH WE STILL HAVE, AND WE CAN OBTAIN A COPY OF THE REPORT FROM THE INSURANCE COMPANY AND OR THE BODY SHOPS. WE ALSO CONTACTED THE TOYOTA DEALERSHIP AND QUESTIONED WHETHER THERE WERE ANY RECALLS OR PROBLEMS WITH ANY OTHER RAV4S AND THEY SAID NO. WE HAVE NOTICED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS THAT THERE SEEMS TO BE SOME TIMES WHEN THE THROTTLE SEEMS TO ACCELERATE WHILE WE ARE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD, BUT NOTHING AS SEVERE AS THE ACCIDENT. WITH THE RECENT RECALLS OF TOYOTAS WE ARE VERY CONCERNED ABOUT ANOTHER INCIDENT OCCURRING AND FOR THE SAFETY OF LIVES.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/27/2010 - KOKOMO, IN
WE WERE APPROACHING OUR GARAGE WHEN ALL OF THE SUDDEN OUR 2005 TOYOTA RAV4 ACCELERATED WITHOUT ME PUSHING THE GAS PETAL. WE DROVE THROUGH THE FRONT OF OUR GARAGE, CAUSING SUBSTANTIAL DAMAGE TO OUR GARAGE AND THE SUV. BOTH GARAGE DOORS HAD TO BE REPLACED AND THE FRONT OF OUR GARAGE HAD TO BE REFRAMED AND DRY-WALLED INSIDE. MY HUSBANDS 1977 JEEP-CJ7 THAT HAS BEEN TOTALLY RESTORED WAS DAMAGED AND HAD TO BE REPAINTED. THE SUV SUFFERED DAMAGE REQUIRING A NEW PASSENGER DOOR, NEW PASSENGER SIDE TRIM, NEW SIDE MIRRORS, NEW HEADLIGHTS, AND REPAINTING OF THE FRONT HALF OF THE SUV. WE CONTACTED THE POLICE AND THEY SAID SINCE THE DAMAGE WAS DONE TO OUR PROPERTY NO REPORT NEEDED TO BE FILED. WE DID TAKE PICTURES FOR THE INSURANCE COMPANY WHICH WE STILL HAVE, AND WE CAN OBTAIN A COPY OF THE REPORT FROM THE INSURANCE COMPANY AND OR THE BODY SHOPS. WE ALSO CONTACTED THE TOYOTA DEALERSHIP AND QUESTIONED WHETHER THERE WERE ANY RECALLS OR PROBLEMS WITH ANY OTHER RAV4S AND THEY SAID NO. WE HAVE NOTICED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS THAT THERE SEEMS TO BE SOME TIMES WHEN THE THROTTLE SEEMS TO ACCELERATE WHILE WE ARE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD, BUT NOTHING AS SEVERE AS THE ACCIDENT. WITH THE RECENT RECALLS OF TOYOTAS WE ARE VERY CONCERNED ABOUT ANOTHER INCIDENT OCCURRING AND FOR THE SAFETY OF LIVES.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

1/12/2010 - SOLON, OH
HEAD ON COLLISION, AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY, SEAT BELTS DID NOT LOCK, MAJOR STRUCTURAL DAMAGE TO THE RAV 4 TOYOTA 2005.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/12/2010 - SOLON, OH
HEAD ON COLLISION, AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY, SEAT BELTS DID NOT LOCK, MAJOR STRUCTURAL DAMAGE TO THE RAV 4 TOYOTA 2005.

View Details

VISIBILITY

11/6/2009 - LONG BEACH, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 TOYOTA RAV-4. THE DRIVER-SIDE VISOR WILL NOT STAY SECURE IN AN UPRIGHT POSITION. AS A CONSEQUENCE THE VISOR WILL CONTINUOUSLY FALL DOWN WITHOUT PHYSICAL MANIPULATION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, AND A TECHNICIAN STATED THAT IT WOULD COST $100.00 TO REPLACE THE COMPONENT. HE THEN ADDED THAT THE FAILURE WAS COMMON FOR THIS MODEL TYPE. NO REPAIRS WERE MADE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 35,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

10/22/2009 - JACKSON, NJ
I PURCHASED A 2005 TOYOTA RAV4 IN JULY OF 2005, AND HAVE TAKEN SUPERB CARE OF IT OVER THE YEARS. HOWEVER, THE TRANSMISSION BLEW UP ON ME AFTER JUST 89,000 MILES. I WAS CROSSING A DOUBLE SET OF RAILROAD TRACKS WHEN THIS HAPPENED, AND IT SCARED ME HALF TO DEATH. IT'S COSTING ME $3,000 TO FIX THE TRANSMISSION, AND THE GUY AT THE GARAGE COULDN'T EVEN GIVE ME A REASON FOR THIS HAPPENING. AFTER SOME INTERNET RESEARCH, I FOUND THAT THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING TO NUMEROUS '01-'05 RAV4 CUSTOMERS THAT HAVE REACHED JUST OVER 80,000 MILES DUE TO A FAULTY ECM THAT TOYOTA HAS DECIDED NOT TO RECALL. NOW I NEED TO PAY ANOTHER $1,200 TO HAVE THE ECM REPLACED AT THE TOYOTA DEALER SO THAT THIS DOESN'T HAPPEN TO ME AGAIN. ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS! HOW CAN THEY GET AWAY WITH SOMETHING LIKE THIS?

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

9/5/2009 - PINOLE, CA
THE TRANSMISSION ON MY 2005 TOYOTA RAV4 HAS BEGUN TO SLIP. I HAVE MAINTAINED THE VEHICLE IN ACCORDANCE TO THE PRESCRIBED MAINTENANCE SCHEDULE AND HAVE HAD MOST OF THE SERVICES PERFORMED AT A TOYOTA DEALERSHIP. THE TRANSMISSION SLIPS APPROXIMATELY ONCE A WEEK, ALWAYS AT SPEEDS BELOW 40. TODAY I WAS ENTERING A FREEWAY AND I HEARD THE TRANSMISSION SLIP. THE CAR IMMEDIATELY LOST PROPULSION, SLOWING TO A DANGEROUS SPEED FOR AN ACCELERATION RAMP, AND I WAS AFRAID THAT I WAS GOING TO BE REAR-ENDED. I HAVE DONE INTERNET RESEARCH AND SEE THAT THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM WITH THESE VEHICLES. I HAVE CONTACTED TOYOTA'S CORPORATE OFFICE AND BEEN TOLD THAT THERE IS NO RECALL. I HAVE CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP THAT I'VE HAD MOST OF MY SERVICES DONE; THEY RECOMMENDED THAT I HAVE THE COMPUTER ON THE TRANSMISSION RESET, AT A COST OF APPROXIMATELY $125. I'M AFRAID THAT THE TRANSMISSION IS GOING TO FAIL COMPLETELY, OR THAT A SLIP/DISENGAGEMENT IS GOING TO CAUSE ME TO BE IN AN ACCIDENT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds