Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA RAV4 - 2005 TOYOTA RAV4 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 53 complaints filed for the 2005 TOYOTA RAV4

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 TOYOTA RAV4. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 TOYOTA RAV4, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (3) Visibility (5)
Electrical System (2) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (9) Visibility Wiper (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Power Train (4) Steering (4) Unknown Or Other (1) Wheels (1)
Engine (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (8)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

2/9/2010 - MAPLEWOOD, NJ
I HAVE A 2005 RAV4 NOW WITH 35,000 MILEAGE AND I EXPERIENCED AN UNUSUAL MECHANICAL ISSUE THAT MAY HAVE SAFETY IMPLICATIONS! IN DECEMBER 2009 I WENT TO REPLACE ALL FOUR TIRES ON MY VEHICLE AT A SEARS AUTO SHOP AND HAD REQUESTED THE RECOMMENDED WHEEL ALIGNMENT. THE MECHANIC FOUND THE MECHANISMS ON THE VEHICLE THAT FACILITATES ALIGNMENT WAS INOPERATIVE AS IT WAS FOUND TO BE SEIZED UP, FOR BOTH FRONT AND REAR WHEEL ALIGNMENTS! SEARS INFORMED ME TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO MY TOYOTA DEALER FOR ALIGNMENT. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE TOYOTA DEALER THAT DOES ALL MY SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE SINCE I BOUGHT THE NEW VEHICLE FOR THEM TO DO THE ALIGNMENT. THEY WERE ALSO UNABLE TO DO THE ALIGNMENT FOR THE SAME REASON SEARS WERE UNABLE TO DO IT. THE TOYOTA DEALERSHIP SAID THAT THEY NEEDED TO REPLACE THE MECHANISMS AND THAT THEY HAVE TO REMOVE THE UNDERCARRIAGE OF THE VEHICLE TO GET TO THE ALIGNMENT MECHANISMS AND TO REPLACE THE MECHANISMS. I COMPLAINED TO THE DEALERSHIP THAT SINCE I BOUGHT THE VEHICLE THEY HAD BEEN SERVICING THE VEHICLE ACCORDING TO THEIR RECOMMENDED SERVICING SCHEDULE AND THEY SHOULD HAVE NOTICED THE CONDITION OF THE MECHANISM. THEY SAID THE CAR HAS TOO MANY PARTS AND THAT THEY COULD NOT CHECK ALL THE PARTS; AND MOREOVER, THE ALIGNMENT MECHANISMS, THEY SAID, ARE NOT VISIBLE FROM AN UNDERCARRIAGE INSPECTION. WAS THIS DEFECT A SAFETY MATTER? HAS THERE BEEN OTHER COMPLAINTS ABOUT ALIGNMENT MECHANISMS FOR TOYOTA VEHICLES?

View Details

WHEELS

2/9/2010 - MAPLEWOOD, NJ
I HAVE A 2005 RAV4 NOW WITH 35,000 MILEAGE AND I EXPERIENCED AN UNUSUAL MECHANICAL ISSUE THAT MAY HAVE SAFETY IMPLICATIONS! IN DECEMBER 2009 I WENT TO REPLACE ALL FOUR TIRES ON MY VEHICLE AT A SEARS AUTO SHOP AND HAD REQUESTED THE RECOMMENDED WHEEL ALIGNMENT. THE MECHANIC FOUND THE MECHANISMS ON THE VEHICLE THAT FACILITATES ALIGNMENT WAS INOPERATIVE AS IT WAS FOUND TO BE SEIZED UP, FOR BOTH FRONT AND REAR WHEEL ALIGNMENTS! SEARS INFORMED ME TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO MY TOYOTA DEALER FOR ALIGNMENT. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE TOYOTA DEALER THAT DOES ALL MY SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE SINCE I BOUGHT THE NEW VEHICLE FOR THEM TO DO THE ALIGNMENT. THEY WERE ALSO UNABLE TO DO THE ALIGNMENT FOR THE SAME REASON SEARS WERE UNABLE TO DO IT. THE TOYOTA DEALERSHIP SAID THAT THEY NEEDED TO REPLACE THE MECHANISMS AND THAT THEY HAVE TO REMOVE THE UNDERCARRIAGE OF THE VEHICLE TO GET TO THE ALIGNMENT MECHANISMS AND TO REPLACE THE MECHANISMS. I COMPLAINED TO THE DEALERSHIP THAT SINCE I BOUGHT THE VEHICLE THEY HAD BEEN SERVICING THE VEHICLE ACCORDING TO THEIR RECOMMENDED SERVICING SCHEDULE AND THEY SHOULD HAVE NOTICED THE CONDITION OF THE MECHANISM. THEY SAID THE CAR HAS TOO MANY PARTS AND THAT THEY COULD NOT CHECK ALL THE PARTS; AND MOREOVER, THE ALIGNMENT MECHANISMS, THEY SAID, ARE NOT VISIBLE FROM AN UNDERCARRIAGE INSPECTION. WAS THIS DEFECT A SAFETY MATTER? HAS THERE BEEN OTHER COMPLAINTS ABOUT ALIGNMENT MECHANISMS FOR TOYOTA VEHICLES?

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2/9/2010 - CRYSTAL, MN
I HAVE A TOYOTA 2005 RAV 4 - 6 CYL. I AM EXPERIENCING A PROBLEM NOT ASSOCIATED WITH THE TOYOTA RECALLS, ACCORDING TO TOYOTA. TWICE WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN DRIVE AND I HAVE MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE, AND THE VEHICLE IS STOPPED, AFTER THE VEHICLE IDLES DOWN FROM MOVING, THE ENGINE REVS UP AGAIN. THE GAS PEDAL WAS NOT TOUCHED AND THE FLOOR MAT IS NOT IN THE WAY. THE ENGINE REVVING UP IS SCARY ENOUGH THAT SOMEONE OUTSIDE OF MY CAR THOUGHT I WAS SPINNING MY WHEELS IN THE SNOW AND ICE, AND I WAS NOT MOVING. I TOOK IT IN TO A DEALER AND THEY HOOKED IT UP TO THEIR COMPUTER AND FOUND NO PROBLEM. OF COURSE WHEN THEY DROVE IT, THEY COULD NOT REPLICATE THE PROBLEM. THEY RECOMMENDED THAT IF IT HAPPENS AGAIN THAT I IMMEDIATELY HAVE IT TOWED BACK TO THE DEALER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

2/4/2010 - PENDLETON, OR
I HAVE A 2005 RAV4, THE TRANSMISSION HAS BEEN SLIPPING, IT IS AN AUTOMATIC AND SOMETIMES IT WON'T CHANGE GEARS WHEN IT SHOULD, SO IT WON'T ACCELERATE AND WHEN IT FINALLY DOES SWITCH TO THE NEXT GEAR THE WHO CAR JERKS AND TAKES OFF VERY QUICKLY. THIS BEGAN HAPPENING FOR NO REASON I HAVE NOT HAD ANY SORT OF ACCIDENT WITH THE VEHICLE AND TAKE VERY GOOD CARE OF IT. I HAVE BEEN TOLD BY CAMPBELL MOTORS IN HERMISTON OR, THAT THE ONLY OPTION IS TO COMPLETELY REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION FOR A COST OF $3900. I HAVE READ THAT IS A COMMON PROBLEM ON THE RAV4 AND FEEL THAT TOYOTA SHOULD ISSUE A RECALL ON THE TRANSMISSION IT IS VERY DANGEROUS IN TRAFFIC TO HAVE A CAR THAT JERKS AROUND AND ACCELERATES/WON'T ACCELERATE IN AN UNPREDICTABLE MANNER.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/28/2010 - ROANOKE, VA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2005 TOYOTA RAV4. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY BETWEEN 1-10 MPH ON NORMAL ROAD CONDITIONS; PROCEEDING TO TURN MAKE A LEFT AT AN INTERSECTION THERE WAS AN UNINTENDED INCREASE IN ACCELERATION. THE DRIVER APPLIED PRESSURE TO THE BRAKE PEDAL AND THE VEHICLE FAILED TO SLOW DOWN. SUDDENLY, THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO AN OPPOSING VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO PERSONAL INJURIES. THE POLICE WAS CALLED TO THE SCENE. HE WAS ABLE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED FOR THE BODY DAMAGES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 38,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/27/2010 - KOKOMO, IN
WE WERE APPROACHING OUR GARAGE WHEN ALL OF THE SUDDEN OUR 2005 TOYOTA RAV4 ACCELERATED WITHOUT ME PUSHING THE GAS PETAL. WE DROVE THROUGH THE FRONT OF OUR GARAGE, CAUSING SUBSTANTIAL DAMAGE TO OUR GARAGE AND THE SUV. BOTH GARAGE DOORS HAD TO BE REPLACED AND THE FRONT OF OUR GARAGE HAD TO BE REFRAMED AND DRY-WALLED INSIDE. MY HUSBANDS 1977 JEEP-CJ7 THAT HAS BEEN TOTALLY RESTORED WAS DAMAGED AND HAD TO BE REPAINTED. THE SUV SUFFERED DAMAGE REQUIRING A NEW PASSENGER DOOR, NEW PASSENGER SIDE TRIM, NEW SIDE MIRRORS, NEW HEADLIGHTS, AND REPAINTING OF THE FRONT HALF OF THE SUV. WE CONTACTED THE POLICE AND THEY SAID SINCE THE DAMAGE WAS DONE TO OUR PROPERTY NO REPORT NEEDED TO BE FILED. WE DID TAKE PICTURES FOR THE INSURANCE COMPANY WHICH WE STILL HAVE, AND WE CAN OBTAIN A COPY OF THE REPORT FROM THE INSURANCE COMPANY AND OR THE BODY SHOPS. WE ALSO CONTACTED THE TOYOTA DEALERSHIP AND QUESTIONED WHETHER THERE WERE ANY RECALLS OR PROBLEMS WITH ANY OTHER RAV4S AND THEY SAID NO. WE HAVE NOTICED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS THAT THERE SEEMS TO BE SOME TIMES WHEN THE THROTTLE SEEMS TO ACCELERATE WHILE WE ARE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD, BUT NOTHING AS SEVERE AS THE ACCIDENT. WITH THE RECENT RECALLS OF TOYOTAS WE ARE VERY CONCERNED ABOUT ANOTHER INCIDENT OCCURRING AND FOR THE SAFETY OF LIVES.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/27/2010 - KOKOMO, IN
WE WERE APPROACHING OUR GARAGE WHEN ALL OF THE SUDDEN OUR 2005 TOYOTA RAV4 ACCELERATED WITHOUT ME PUSHING THE GAS PETAL. WE DROVE THROUGH THE FRONT OF OUR GARAGE, CAUSING SUBSTANTIAL DAMAGE TO OUR GARAGE AND THE SUV. BOTH GARAGE DOORS HAD TO BE REPLACED AND THE FRONT OF OUR GARAGE HAD TO BE REFRAMED AND DRY-WALLED INSIDE. MY HUSBANDS 1977 JEEP-CJ7 THAT HAS BEEN TOTALLY RESTORED WAS DAMAGED AND HAD TO BE REPAINTED. THE SUV SUFFERED DAMAGE REQUIRING A NEW PASSENGER DOOR, NEW PASSENGER SIDE TRIM, NEW SIDE MIRRORS, NEW HEADLIGHTS, AND REPAINTING OF THE FRONT HALF OF THE SUV. WE CONTACTED THE POLICE AND THEY SAID SINCE THE DAMAGE WAS DONE TO OUR PROPERTY NO REPORT NEEDED TO BE FILED. WE DID TAKE PICTURES FOR THE INSURANCE COMPANY WHICH WE STILL HAVE, AND WE CAN OBTAIN A COPY OF THE REPORT FROM THE INSURANCE COMPANY AND OR THE BODY SHOPS. WE ALSO CONTACTED THE TOYOTA DEALERSHIP AND QUESTIONED WHETHER THERE WERE ANY RECALLS OR PROBLEMS WITH ANY OTHER RAV4S AND THEY SAID NO. WE HAVE NOTICED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS THAT THERE SEEMS TO BE SOME TIMES WHEN THE THROTTLE SEEMS TO ACCELERATE WHILE WE ARE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD, BUT NOTHING AS SEVERE AS THE ACCIDENT. WITH THE RECENT RECALLS OF TOYOTAS WE ARE VERY CONCERNED ABOUT ANOTHER INCIDENT OCCURRING AND FOR THE SAFETY OF LIVES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/12/2010 - SOLON, OH
HEAD ON COLLISION, AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY, SEAT BELTS DID NOT LOCK, MAJOR STRUCTURAL DAMAGE TO THE RAV 4 TOYOTA 2005.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

1/12/2010 - SOLON, OH
HEAD ON COLLISION, AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY, SEAT BELTS DID NOT LOCK, MAJOR STRUCTURAL DAMAGE TO THE RAV 4 TOYOTA 2005.

View Details

VISIBILITY

11/6/2009 - LONG BEACH, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 TOYOTA RAV-4. THE DRIVER-SIDE VISOR WILL NOT STAY SECURE IN AN UPRIGHT POSITION. AS A CONSEQUENCE THE VISOR WILL CONTINUOUSLY FALL DOWN WITHOUT PHYSICAL MANIPULATION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, AND A TECHNICIAN STATED THAT IT WOULD COST $100.00 TO REPLACE THE COMPONENT. HE THEN ADDED THAT THE FAILURE WAS COMMON FOR THIS MODEL TYPE. NO REPAIRS WERE MADE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 35,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds