Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA RAV4 - 2005 TOYOTA RAV4 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 122 complaints filed for the 2005 TOYOTA RAV4

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 TOYOTA RAV4. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 TOYOTA RAV4, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (56) Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Seat Belts (1) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Communications (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (4) Visibility (6)
Electrical System (4) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (10) Visibility Wiper (2)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Power Train (6) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (2)
Engine (7)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

6/13/2016 - SAN DIAGO, CA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 TOYOTA RAV4. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PARK THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT ACCIDENTALLY DEPRESSED THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A TREE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN AUTO BODY SHOP AND REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V284000 (AIR BAGS). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/1/2016 - CICERO, NY
CALLED DRIVERS VILLAGE TOYOTA DEALER IN CICERO, NY TO HAVE RECALL TAKEN CARE OF. I WAS TOLD THEY DON'T HAVE THE PARTS IN TO FIX THIS PROBLEM AND THEY STILL HAVE NOT CALLED BACK. THIS RECALL IS OVER A YEAR OLD AND I AM CONCERNED SINCE I JUST FOUND OUT ABOUT IT. IS THERE ANOTHER TOYOTA DEALER IN THE SYRACUSE AREA I CAN GO TO?

View Details

ENGINE

5/4/2016 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 TOYOTA RAV4. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED CONTINUOUSLY. IN ADDITION, THE SUN VISOR WAS RUSTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS UNDETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,858.

View Details

VISIBILITY

5/4/2016 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 TOYOTA RAV4. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED CONTINUOUSLY. IN ADDITION, THE SUN VISOR WAS RUSTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS UNDETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,858.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/28/2016 - WILLIAMSBURG, VA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 TOYOTA RAV4. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V284000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE RECALL REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/13/2016 - SALINA, KS
TAKATA RECALL. I HAVE CONTACTED OUR LOCAL TOYOTA DEALER, CONKLIN MOTORS 785-825-8271 (THE SAME PLACE WE BOUGHT THE CAR NEW) AT LEAST 5 TIMES SINCE OCTOBER 2015 RE: THE TAKATA RECALL. THE FIRST 3 TIMES I CALLED, I WAS DIRECTED TO VOICE MAIL AT THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT AND LEFT A MESSAGE & MY PHONE NUMBER TO SCHEDULE AIR BAG REPLACEMENT. I NEVER RECEIVED A CALL BACK. IN JANUARY, I PHONED AGAIN & SPOKE TO A REAL PERSON (A WOMAN) WHO SAID THAT THE BAG WAS ON BACK-ORDER, AND THAT CONKLIN WOULD CALL ME TO SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT WHEN THE PART ARRIVED. IN FEBRUARY, I CALLED AGAIN AND SPOKE TO SOMEONE IN THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT. I WAS TOLD TO WAIT UNTIL CONKLIN CALLED ME TO SCHEDULE THE RECALL WORK. I STILL HAVE NOT HEARD BACK FROM THEM. I AM BEGINNING TO THINK THAT THEY ARE GIVING ME THE RUN-AROUND. I AM HESITANT TO DRIVE THIS POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS CAR, BUT I REALLY HAVE NO CHOICE, DO I? CAN ANYTHING BE DONE? I FEEL LIKE I HAVE BEEN IGNORED AT THE LOCAL LEVEL.

View Details

ENGINE

2/24/2016 - LEVITTOWN, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 TOYOTA RAV4. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STOPPED, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL BURNING ODOR INSIDE THE VEHICLE WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THREADS IN THE ENGINE BLOCK WERE FRACTURED AND THE VEHICLE WAS LEAKING COOLANT. AS A RESULT, THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/18/2016 - STOCKTON, CA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 TOYOTA RAV4. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V284000 (AIR BAGS) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/22/2016 - BRONX, NY
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 TOYOTA RAV4. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V284000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/30/2015 - KEY WEST, FL
TAKATA AIR BAG RECALL. I HAVE TRIED FOR MONTHS TO GET MY VEHICLE REPAIRED. I HAVE GOTTEN THE RUNAROUND FROM MY LOCAL DEALER. TOYOTA CUSTOMER SERVICE SEEMS UNABLE TO HELP. BOTH KEEP TELLING ME THE PART WILL BE IN NEXT WEEK, BUT NEXT WEEK NEVER COMES. IF THE SITUATION POSES A RISK OF SERIOUS INJURY OR DEATH AS IS STATED IN MY RECALL NOTICES, IT WOULD SEEM THEY COULD GET IN GEAR AND FIX THE PROBLEM WITHIN A REASONABLE LENGTH OF TIME. I DON'T CONSIDER 7 MONTHS REASONABLE. I WOULD LIKE TO HAVE MY CAR FIXED OR SOME OTHER REMEDY WE CAN AGREE ON. THANK YOU. UPDATED 1/27/16

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds