Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA RAV4 - 2005 TOYOTA RAV4 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 95 complaints filed for the 2005 TOYOTA RAV4

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 TOYOTA RAV4. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 TOYOTA RAV4, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (40) Engine (3) Seat Belts (1) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Communications (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (3) Visibility (5)
Electrical System (3) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (9) Visibility Wiper (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Power Train (5) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (3) Wheels (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

9/22/2015 - SOUTH ATTLEBORO, MA
I RECEIVED A SAFETY RECALL NOTICE (INTERIM NOTICE) A FEW MONTHS AGO. I CONTACTED BOCH TOYOTA SOUTH IN THE BEGINNING OF SEPTEMBER (VIA EMAIL) REGARDING WHEN THE "REMEDY" WILL BE READY IN EARLY SEPTEMBER. I RECEIVED TWO CONFIRMATION MESSAGES THAT THEY HAD RECEIVED MY EMAIL. I EXPRESSED MY CONCERN OVER THE SAFETY ISSUE BECAUSE I TRANSPORT THREE CHILDREN TO AND FROM SCHOOL. AS OF THIS DATE, I HAVE STILL NOT RECEIVED ANY ANSWER. I THINK THIS IS LONG ENOUGH.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/21/2015 - SEA CLIFF, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 TOYOTA RAV4. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V284000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME TO PROVIDE THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/18/2015 - CENTENNIAL, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 TOYOTA RAV4. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V284000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME TO PROVIDE THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/16/2015 - RALEIGH, NC
MY 2005 RAV4 IS PART OF TOYOTA'S RECALL ACTION 15V-284. LEITH TOYOTA HAS REPLACED MY DEFECTIVE TAKATA INFLATOR WITH YET ANOTHER DEFECTIVE TAKATA INFLATOR. THERE DOESN'T APPEAR TO BE AN ENGINEERING SOLUTION TO THEIR EXPLODING AIRBAG PROBLEM. ACCORDING TO PAGE 6 OF THE JULY 9, 2015 LETTER THAT TOYOTA SENT TO NHTSA, AND I QUOTE, "TOYOTA'S OTHER RECALL ACTION, 15V-284, INVOLVES DRIVER'S INFLATORS IN A RELATIVELY SMALL NUMBER OF VEHICLES. INFLATORS FROM A SUPPLIER OTHER THAN TAKATA HAVE BEEN SECURED, AND WE EXPECT TO BE ABLE TO LAUNCH RECALL REPAIRS FIRST IN THE HAH AREAS, FOLLOWED BY THE REST OF THE NATION TOWARD THE END OF THIS YEAR". TOYOTA HAS NOT SATISFIED THIS RECALL ACCORDING TO THE TERMS IT PROVIDED TO THE NHTSA. I WAS FORCED TO RETURN THE RENTAL CAR I WAS PROVIDED WITH AND AM HAVING TO GET RIDES IN TO WORK AND RENTING A CAR ON THE WEEKENDS. MY CAR NEEDS TO BE FIXED PROPERLY! NO MORE TAKATA INFLATORS!

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/14/2015 - PLANT CITY, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 TOYOTA RAV4. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V284000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. UPDATED 11/23/15 THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. UPDATED 2/3/2016

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/14/2015 - OLIVE BRANCH, MS
MY TOYOTA RAV4 2005 IS INCLUDED IN THE FRONT DRIVER AIRBAG INFLATOR RECALL. I RECEIVED MY FIRST NOTICE FROM TOYOTA IN MAY,2015 THAT MY CAR WAS INCLUDED IN THE RECALL BUT THAT "NO REMEDY" WAS AVAILABLE AND THAT I WOULD BE NOTIFIED WHEN THE REMEDY WAS AVAILABLE. I RECEIVED THAT NOTICE OF THE AVAILABLE REMEDY A COUPLE OF WEEKS AGO. AFTER 4 CALLS TO A TOYOTA DEALERSHIP TO SCHEDULE THE REPAIR TO THE AIRBAG, I WAS TOLD BY PRINCIPLE TOYOTA IN MEMPHIS, TN THAT THE DEALERSHIP IS ONLY ALLOWED TO ORDER ONE PART PER WEEK FOR REPAIRS TO RAV4 VEHICLES SO IT COULD BE AS MUCH AS A MONTH POSSIBLY TWO MONTHS BEFORE THEY COULD GET THE PART ORDERED. IF TOYOTA ADVISED ME THE REMEDY WAS AVAILABLE, I SHOULD BE ABLE TO SCHEDULE THAT REPAIR IMMEDIATELY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/8/2015 - FARMERVILLE, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 TOYOTA RAV4. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V284000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO PERFORM THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/4/2015 - RALEIGH, NC
I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE ON MY 2005 TOYOTA RAV4 ABOUT A DEFECTIVE TAKATA DRIVER'S AIRBAG. ACCORDING TO THE DEALERSHIP, THE AIRBAG WAS REPLACED ON AUG. 27, 2015. TO DATE I HAVEN'T RECEIVED A SECOND LETTER FROM TOYOTA EXPLAINING THE SOLUTION TO THE RECALL, AND I'VE CALLED THEM AND BEEN PROVIDED WITH NO INFORMATION. I'M CALLING TOYOTA AGAIN TODAY. ON SEPT. 2, I LEARNED FROM LEITH TOYOTA THAT MY DEFECTIVE TAKATA AIRBAG WAS REPLACED BY ANOTHER POTENTIALLY DEFECTIVE TAKATA AIRBAG. THIS IS THE SOLUTION? THIS WAS WHAT TOYOTA TOLD THE DEALERSHIP TO DO. AN ARTICLE RELEASED IN SEPT. 2015 MOTOR TREND MAGAZINE DETAILS THE SAME CONTINUING PROBLEM WITH CURRENT TAKATA AIRBAGS BEING MANUFACTURED. I AM NEITHER SATISFIED NOR COMFORTABLE WITH THE SOLUTION THAT TOYOTA DEVISED, ESPECIALLY SINCE TOYOTA RECENTLY PURCHASED 13 MILLION AIRBAGS FROM A COMPETITOR, SO WHY WASN'T A DIFFERENT MANUFACTURER'S AIRBAG USED IN MY CAR? I'M ONCE AGAIN HAVING TO DEAL WITH ANOTHER POTENTIALLY DEFECTIVE TAKATA AIRBAG. ACCORDING TO THE DEALERSHIP, MY PASSENGER AIRBAG IS THE SAME AIRBAG AS THE ORIGINAL DRIVER'S AIRBAG, SO WHY NO RECALL ON THE PASSENGER AIRBAG? I'M BEING FORCED TO RETURN THE RENTAL CAR TODAY, WHICH I'VE NOT RETURNED DUE TO THE WAY THE RECALL WAS CONDUCTED AND I DON'T FEEL SAFE DRIVING MY CAR AGAIN. EVERYONE SHOULD BE CHECKING ON THE REPLACEMENT AIRBAGS BEING USED IN THEIR CARS, BECAUSE THEY'RE PROBABLY TAKATAS. TAKATA KNEW ABOUT THIS PROBLEM IN 2001 AND MY RAV4 IS A 2005. I CAN'T EXPRESS MY LEVEL OF FRUSTRATION AND ANGER OVER THESE AIRBAGS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/3/2015 - CUYAHOGA FALLS , OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 TOYOTA RAV4. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V284000 (AIR BAGS) HOWEVER, THE PARTS WERE UNAVAILABLE TO PERFORM THE REPAIRS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/2/2015 - WARWICK, RI
THE RIGHT SIDE GAS TANK STRAP HAD RUSTED OUT AND BROKE, CAUSING THE GAS TANK ASSEMBLY TO DROP DOWN ONTO THE DRIVESHAFT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds