Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA TUNDRA - 2005 TOYOTA TUNDRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 280 complaints filed for the 2005 TOYOTA TUNDRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 TOYOTA TUNDRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 TOYOTA TUNDRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (73) Equipment (2) Power Train (31) Service Brakes Hydraulic (17) Traction Control System (1)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (4) Steering (17) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electrical System (17) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (3) Structure (43) Vehicle Speed Control (23)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (12) Suspension (47) Visibility (4)
Engine (6) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (12) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Parking Brake (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

10/29/2018 - NEWARK VALLEY, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS 2005 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT FAILED TO STOP THE VEHICLE AS THE BRAKE BARRIER WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE DRIVE UPHILL AND WHEN THE VEHICLES STARTED ROLLING BACKWARDS, HE DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL AND THE VEHICLE STOPPED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER TO BE DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 175,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/4/2018 - UXBRIDGE, MA
MY 2005 TUNDRA IS ROTTING OUT IN THE FRAME ABOVE THE REAR LEAF SPRING FRONT CONNECTION TO THE FRAME. DEALER HAS LOOKED AT IT TWICE IN THE LAST SIX YEARS SAID NO PERFORATIONS. NOW IN 2018 THE FRAME IS ROTTING AND BUCKLED. TOYOTA CORPORATE SAYS THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO BECAUSE IT OUTSIDE OF THE WINDOW OF SERVICE. SO NOW I AM STUCK WITH A TRUCK WITH JUST OVER 100K MILES, LOOKED AT BY A TOYOTA DEALER IN THE PAST AND WAS DEEMED NOT IN NEED OF A FRAME REPLACEMENT. NOW IT IS IN NEED OF A FRAME REPLACEMENT BUT TOYOTA WON+T HONOR ANY PAST RECALLS OR INSPECTIONS DONE BY A TOYOTA DEALER AND HAS LEFT IT TO ME TO DEAL WITH THE ROT. VERY DISAPPOINTED THERE IS NO HELP FOR CUSTOMERS IN THIS SITUATION FROM THE MANUFACTURER.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/4/2018 - UXBRIDGE, MA
MY 2005 TUNDRA IS ROTTING OUT IN THE FRAME ABOVE THE REAR LEAF SPRING FRONT CONNECTION TO THE FRAME. DEALER HAS LOOKED AT IT TWICE IN THE LAST SIX YEARS SAID NO PERFORATIONS. NOW IN 2018 THE FRAME IS ROTTING AND BUCKLED. TOYOTA CORPORATE SAYS THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO BECAUSE IT OUTSIDE OF THE WINDOW OF SERVICE. SO NOW I AM STUCK WITH A TRUCK WITH JUST OVER 100K MILES, LOOKED AT BY A TOYOTA DEALER IN THE PAST AND WAS DEEMED NOT IN NEED OF A FRAME REPLACEMENT. NOW IT IS IN NEED OF A FRAME REPLACEMENT BUT TOYOTA WON+T HONOR ANY PAST RECALLS OR INSPECTIONS DONE BY A TOYOTA DEALER AND HAS LEFT IT TO ME TO DEAL WITH THE ROT. VERY DISAPPOINTED THERE IS NO HELP FOR CUSTOMERS IN THIS SITUATION FROM THE MANUFACTURER.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/17/2018 - RIVERVIEW, FL
GOOD AFTERNOON, I'M WRITING TO REPORT AND REQUEST ASSISTANCE WITH CATASTROPHIC FRAME ISSUES ON MY 2005 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THERE ARE A NUMBER OF HOLES IN THE FRAME AND PLACES I BELIEVE TO BE COMPROMISED. THE TRUCK HAS 96,000 MILES. I HAVE AN OPEN INCIDENT TICKET WITH TOYOTA BUT ALSO WANTED TO REPORT THIS ISSUE HERE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/6/2018 - EAU CLAIRE, WI
MY 2005 TOYOTA TUNDRA WAS RECALLED FOR RUST PROBLEMS, AND IN 2013 THE TOYOTA DEALERSHIP APPLIED A COATING TO THE FRAME WHICH THEY ADVISED WOULD REMEDY THE PROBLEM. ON 06/01/18 I NOTICED I HOWEVER HAVE HOLES IN MY FRAME NEAR WHERE THE SUSPENSION ATTACHES, AND THE FRAME IS NOT SAFE FOR OPERATION ON THE ROAD. THE DEALERSHIP SAID THEY ARE NOT LIABLE, AND I CALLED TOYOTA AND THEY SAID THEY ARE NOT LIABLE AND NO ONE WILL FIX THE ISSUE. THE DEALERSHIP HAD THE OPTION IN 2013 TO EITHER SPRAY OR REPLACE THE FRAME, THEY SPRAYED MINE BUT IT WAS NOT EFFECTIVE AND NOW I BELIEVE THE VEHICLE IS A HAZARD DUE TO HOLES IN THE FRAME. I ONLY HAVE 118,000 MILES ON THE TRUCK, AND IT HAS BEEN IN MY FAMILY SINCE BEING BRAND NEW. I BELIEVE THE FRAME IS DEFECTIVE AND TOYOTA INC. IS NOT ASSISTING ME WITH FIXING THE PROBLEM, THEY ADVISED ME I NEED TO GO TALK TO A BODY SHOP TO SEE IF THEY CAN WELD A PIECE INTO THE FRAME.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/6/2018 - EAU CLAIRE, WI
MY 2005 TOYOTA TUNDRA WAS RECALLED FOR RUST PROBLEMS, AND IN 2013 THE TOYOTA DEALERSHIP APPLIED A COATING TO THE FRAME WHICH THEY ADVISED WOULD REMEDY THE PROBLEM. ON 06/01/18 I NOTICED I HOWEVER HAVE HOLES IN MY FRAME NEAR WHERE THE SUSPENSION ATTACHES, AND THE FRAME IS NOT SAFE FOR OPERATION ON THE ROAD. THE DEALERSHIP SAID THEY ARE NOT LIABLE, AND I CALLED TOYOTA AND THEY SAID THEY ARE NOT LIABLE AND NO ONE WILL FIX THE ISSUE. THE DEALERSHIP HAD THE OPTION IN 2013 TO EITHER SPRAY OR REPLACE THE FRAME, THEY SPRAYED MINE BUT IT WAS NOT EFFECTIVE AND NOW I BELIEVE THE VEHICLE IS A HAZARD DUE TO HOLES IN THE FRAME. I ONLY HAVE 118,000 MILES ON THE TRUCK, AND IT HAS BEEN IN MY FAMILY SINCE BEING BRAND NEW. I BELIEVE THE FRAME IS DEFECTIVE AND TOYOTA INC. IS NOT ASSISTING ME WITH FIXING THE PROBLEM, THEY ADVISED ME I NEED TO GO TALK TO A BODY SHOP TO SEE IF THEY CAN WELD A PIECE INTO THE FRAME.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/3/2018 - PITTSTON, PA
GOT IN TRUCK, STARTED IT, BRAKE LIGHT REMAINED ON. WHILE DRIVING, BRAKES WERE SOFT. CHECKED BRAKE FLUID RESERVOIR, LOW ON FLUID. ADDED BRAKE FLUID, PUMPED BRAKES- PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR. FLUID UNDER RIGHT FRONT WHEEL. HAD TRUCK TAKEN TO MY MECHANIC - BRAKE LINE RUSTED OUT, ALL ALL OTHER LINES RUSTED AS WELL. RECOMMENDED ALL GET REPLACED AS A SAFETY ISSUE. NOT ONLY RUST ISSUES WITH THIS VEHICLE- WAS IN THE TOYOTA CHASSIS RECALL- CHASSIS COATED WITH RUST INHIBITOR. DIFFERENTIAL RUSTED OUT- REPLACED AT MY COST. TOYOTA TOOK NO RESPONSIBILITY. ALSO REPLACED THE HOOD RELEASE CABLE, EMERGENCY BRAKE CABLE, AS WELL AS THE TWO CABLES SUPPORTING THE TAILGATE- ALL RUSTED OUT. REAR BUMPER RUSTED OUT TOO.

View Details

STEERING

2/27/2018 - CINCINNATI, OH
2005 TOYOTA TUNDRA. CONSUMER WRITES FRONT BRAKE LINE BROKE AND MAJOR RUSTING OF BRAKE LINES, AND RUSTED FRAME. * VA THE CONSUMER STATED THE POWER STEERING METAL LINES STARTED LEAKING.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/27/2018 - CINCINNATI, OH
2005 TOYOTA TUNDRA. CONSUMER WRITES FRONT BRAKE LINE BROKE AND MAJOR RUSTING OF BRAKE LINES, AND RUSTED FRAME. * VA THE CONSUMER STATED THE POWER STEERING METAL LINES STARTED LEAKING.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/26/2018 - CINCINNATI, OH
MAJOR RUSTING OF FRAME, RUSTED BRAKE LINES, RUSTED POWER STEERING LINES. VEHICLES IS UNSAFE DUE TO RUSTING.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds