Auto Recalls for Consumers

YAMAHA FJR1300 - 2005 YAMAHA FJR1300 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by YAMAHA

There are 14 complaints filed for the 2005 YAMAHA FJR1300

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 YAMAHA FJR1300. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 YAMAHA FJR1300, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (6) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (1) Unknown Or Other (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (2) Vehicle Speed Control (1)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

11/5/2014 - SPRING HILL, FL
REAR ANTI LOCK BRAKES HAVE STOPPED WORKING. YAMAHA SAYS THIS IS A VERY EXPENSIVE FIX. THE MOTORCYCLE OBVIOUSLY IS OUT OF WARRANTY. IT IS NO LONGER AS SAFE AS IT ONCE WAS.

View Details

WHEELS

6/11/2014 - SOUTH VIENNA, OH
NOTICED DELAMINATION OF TIRE TREAD OF FRONT TIRE. TWO LARGE BLISTERS NEAR THE MIDDLE OF TREAD. ONE ABOUT 1" DIA., THE OTHER ABOUT 3" LONG. TIRE MILEAGE WAS 6,129. TIRE TYPE IS SHINKO R011 SIZE 120/70/ZR17. DATE CODE IS 3012. TIRE COULD HAVE CATASTROPHICALLY DEFLATED. VERY DANGEROUS DEFECT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/11/2014 - SOUTH VIENNA, OH
NOTICED DELAMINATION OF TIRE TREAD OF FRONT TIRE. TWO LARGE BLISTERS NEAR THE MIDDLE OF TREAD. ONE ABOUT 1" DIA., THE OTHER ABOUT 3" LONG. TIRE MILEAGE WAS 6,129. TIRE TYPE IS SHINKO R011 SIZE 120/70/ZR17. DATE CODE IS 3012. TIRE COULD HAVE CATASTROPHICALLY DEFLATED. VERY DANGEROUS DEFECT.

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

5/29/2013 - ALTOONA, PA
I WAS EXITING INTERSTATE 81 NEAR HARRISBURG, PA, WHEN THE OEM ACCESSORY STORAGE TRUNK FELL OFF THE BACK OF THE MOTORCYCLE. THE MOUNTING BRACKET CRACKED, ALLOWING THIS TO HAPPEN. THANKFULLY, MY PASSENGER DID NOT FALL OFF, AS THE TRUNK DOUBLES AS A BACKREST. ALSO THANKFULLY, THERE WAS NOT A VEHICLE DIRECTLY BEHIND ME, AS THIS COULD HAVE CAUSED AN ACCIDENT. THE TRUNK WAS DAMAGED BEYOND REPAIR, AND I PURCHASED A NEW ONE OUT OF POCKET. IN 2011, I BECAME AWARE OF A BULLETIN/RECALL FROM YAMAHA. THE DEALER REPLACED THE MOUNTING BRACKET AND SUPPLIED A REINFORCEMENT PLATE FOR THE TRUNK BOTTOM. YAMAHA DID NOT REIMBURSE ME FOR THE NEW TRUNK PURCHASE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/29/2013 - ALTOONA, PA
I WAS PULLING UP TO A STOP LIGHT AND LOST ALL POWER. DIAGNOSIS SHOWED A FAILED IGNITION SWITCH. ONLINE INVESTIGATION INDICATES YAMAHA WAS FORCED BY THE NHTSA TO RECALL 2006-09 FJR 1300 MODELS FOR THIS SWITCH FAILURE, AND THERE ARE A HUGE NUMBER OF 2001-05 OWNERS COMPLAINING OF THE SAME FAILURE. THIS COULD, AND PROBABLY HAS, LED TO INJURY OR DEATH IF FAILURE OCCURS AT A HIGHER SPEED. I WAS 500 MILES AWAY FROM HOME AT THE TIME, AND INCURRED COST EXCEEDING $500 TO GET HOME WITH THE MOTORCYCLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/19/2013 - MOUNT PLEASANT , NC
MOTORCYCLE ABRUPTLY SHUT OFF, AFTER DIAGNOSING FOR AN HOUR DETERMINED THAT IT IS WAS THE ELECTRIC IGNITION / SWITCH. EVIDENTLY 2006 MODELS AND UP HAVE HAD THE SAME ISSUE AND YAHAMA ISSUED A RECALL, FURTHER RESEARCH SHOW PREVIOUS MODELS HAVE AND ARE BEING AFFECTED AS WELL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/16/2012 - FREDERICKSBURG, VA
ABS FAILED UNDER EMERGENCY BRAKING APPLICATION AND THE REAR WHEEL LOCKED UP, CAUSING A LOSS OF CONTROL. ROAD TESTING FOLLOWING THE INCIDENT CONFIRMED THAT THE ABS SYSTEM WAS NO LONGER FUNCTIONAL.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

9/7/2011 - BROOMFIELD, CO
THIS REPORT IS IN REGARD TO THE SECOND EVENT REGARDING FUEL GEYSERING OUT OF THE FUEL TANK. DURING A REFUELING STOP IN GUNNISON, COLORADO, I OPENED THE FUEL CAP. THERE WAS A WHOOSHING SOUND AND FUEL LITERALLY SPEWED INTO THE AIR ABOUT 3 FEET, COVERING ME AND MOST OF THE MOTORCYCLE IN GASOLINE. PRIOR TO OPENING THE TANK CAP, I ESTIMATED ABOUT 1/4 TANK REMAINING. IT APPEARED THE FUEL TANK WAS STILL UNDER PRESSURE WHEN I OPENED THE TANK CAP. LOOKING AT THE FUEL REMAINING IN THE TANK, I COULD SEE THE FUEL BUBBLING, NOT FROM HEAT BUT BECAUSE THE AIR WAS COMING OUT OF SUSPENSION DUE TO THE RAPID REDUCTION IN PRESSURE. FORTUNATELY, THERE WAS NO SPARK NEARBY BECAUSE THE CONSEQUENCES WOULD HAVE BEEN CATASTROPHIC FOR BOTH MYSELF AND THE GAS STATION. A YEAR BEFORE, THE SAME THING HAD HAPPENED. AT THAT TIME, I ATTRIBUTED IT TO EITHER AN ANOMALY OR SOMETHING THAT I HAD DONE WRONG. AFTER THE SECOND EVENT IN COLORADO, I TOOK THE BIKE TO A MOTORCYCLE SHOP TO GET REPAIRED. AT THE SHOP, THE MECHANIC INDICATED THAT YAMAHA REPRESENTATIVES HAD NEVER HEARD OF THIS PROBLEM BEFORE, EVEN THOUGH A FIVE MINUTE SEARCH ON THE YAMAHA FJR1300 INTERNET FORUMS INDICATED THAT THIS WAS NOT AN ISOLATED EVENT. TROUBLESHOOTING DETERMINED THAT THE VENT ON THE FUEL CAP ASSEMBLY WAS VENTING MUCH TOO SLOWLY AND REQUIRED REPLACEMENT OF THE ENTIRE FUEL CAP ASSEMBLY. I WOULD RESPECTFULLY RECOMMEND THAT THIS INFORMATION BE PROVIDED TO ALL FJR1300 OWNERS BECAUSE OF THE POTENTIAL FOR SERIOUS PERSONAL INJURY. I HAD WRITTEN YAMAHA HEADQUARTERS IN CALIFORNIA REGARDING THIS ISSUE A FEW WEEKS AGO BUT HAVE RECEIVED NO RESPONSE. A COPY OF THIS LETTER IS AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/1/2011 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
IGNITION SWITCH ON MY 2004 YAMAHA FJR1300 FAILED WITHOUT NOTICE WHILE RIDING AT 60 MPH. THE MOTORCYCLE IMMEDIATELY LOST ALL POWER AND HAD TO BE TOWED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/25/2010 - COVINA, CA
05 YAMAHA FJR 1300 MY MOTORCYCLE JUST STALLED ON THE FREEWAY TWICE ON MY LAST TRIP. USUALLY I DON'T GO VERY FAR BUT ON THIS TRIP WE RODE FOR 5 STRAIGHT HRS AND THIS HAPPENED. THERE IS A THROTTLE SENSOR RECALL ON THIS BIKE. I GAVE THEM MY VIN# AND THEY SAID IT DID NOT PERTAIN TO MY BIKE. I BELIEVE THIS IS THE PROBLEM. THEY TOLD ME TO TAKE IT TO THE DEALER BUT THE DEALER WANTS TO CHARGE ME FOR THE DIAGNOSTIC TEST OF $100 HR. WHAT CAN I DO?

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds