Auto Recalls for Consumers

YAMAHA XV1700 - 2005 YAMAHA XV1700 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by YAMAHA

There are 16 complaints filed for the 2005 YAMAHA XV1700

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 YAMAHA XV1700. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 YAMAHA XV1700, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Tires (1) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Engine (1) Equipment (1) Power Train (1)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

5/21/2012 - OIL CITY, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 YAMAHA ROADSTAR 1700. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 TO 50 MPH WHEN HE HEARD A GRINDING NOISE IN THE MOTOR AND THE REAR WHEEL SEIZED. THE CONTACT CONFIRMED THAT A BOLT DETACHED FROM THE DRIVE PULLEY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER BUT IT WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 19,100.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

6/28/2011 - WHITE HALL , MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 YAMAHA XV1700. THE CONTACT STATED DURING WARM WEATHER CONDITIONS FUEL WOULD LEAK OUT OF THE CARBURETOR ONTO THE EXHAUST AND THE MOTOR. THE FAILURE OCCURRED MORE FREQUENT AFTER FUEL WAS ADDED TO THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A DEALER WHO WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED SINCE THE FUEL LEAK WAS A MAJOR CONCERN, A FIRE HAZARD, AND THE VEHICLE WAS UNSAFE TO DRIVE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 4,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

7/11/2010 - CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA
MY 2005 YAMAHA ROADSTAR WAS LEAKING FUEL FROM THE CARBURETOR WHEN RESTARTING AFTER FUELING UP DURING A LONG ROADTRIP. THE HOT FUEL WAS POURING OUT OF THE CARB AND ONTO MY HOT MUFFLERS. AFRAID THE BIKE WOULD CATCH ON FIRE, I HAD TO WAIT FOR IT TO COOL DOWN TO RESTART WHICH IT DID. I TOOK THE BIKE TO HONDA/YAMAHA OF SAVANNAH WHERE THEY CLEANED THE CARB, REPLACED THE FUEL FILTER AND CLEANED OUT THE WHOLE GAS TANK. THE TECH STATED THERE MIGHT HAVE BEEN DEBRIS IN THE FUEL SYSTEM LEAVING THE NEEDLE VALVE IN THE CARB UNSEATED AND ALLOWING FUEL TO PASS THROUGH AND LEAK OUT. THE TECH TOOK IT FOR A 5 MINUTE TEST RIDE AND THERE WAS NO LEAK AFTER RESTARTING. I DROVE ABOUT 200 HIGHWAY MILES AND REFUELED. WHEN I TRIED TO START THE BIKE, FUEL AGAIN POURED OUT OF THE CARB AND ONTO MY HOT EXHAUST. I LET THE BIKE COOL AND HAD A MECHANIC AT THE STATION LOOK AT THE FUEL FILTER AND CARB NO DEBRIS. I HELPED HIM PULL THE TANK AND WE CHECKED FOR DEBRIS. THERE WAS NO TRASH IN THE FUEL. THE PROBLEM CONTINUES ONLY DURING RESTARTING A HOT ENGINE. I'M CONCERNED ABOUT MY SAFETY AND WOULD LIKE YAMAHA TO LOOK INTO THIS AS THIS IS A COMMONLY REPORTED PROBLEM.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

6/26/2009 - OKLAHOMA CITY, OK
AFTER DRIVING VEHICLE AND MOTOR IS HOT, STOPPING FOR APPROX 15 MIN, THEN WHEN TRYING TO RESTART THE CARB SPRAYS GAS OUT ALL OVER THE BASE OF HOT ENGINE AND EXHAUST PIPE. DOES IT EVERY TIME AFTER TRYING TO RESTART THE HOT(NOT OVERLY HOT, JUST HOT WEATHER) ENGINE. GAS IS BOILED AND VAPORIZED IMMEDIATELY. SEEMS TO BE AN OVERALL DESIGN PROBLEM.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

5/27/2009 - MONONGAHELA, PA
FUEL (GASOLINE) IS SPRAYED FROM REAR PORT OF CARBURETOR. AS MUCH AS 2 OZ. MAY BE EMITTED AND SPRAYED ON HOT EXHAUST PIPES AND ENGINE. THE FUEL IS IMMEDIATELY VAPORIZED. THIS ONLY SEEMS TO OCCUR WHEN THE ENGINE IS HOT, THEN SHUT OFF AND ALLOWED TO SIT FOR APPROXIMATELY 15 MINUTES. IT DOES NOT SPRAY LIQUID GAS IF IMMEDIATELY STARTED OR IF ALLOWED TO COOL. MOTORCYCLE MAY CATCH FIRE IF THE OPERATOR TRIES TO START THE ENGINE AND IT HAPPENS TO COUGH OR BACKFIRE THROUGH THE INTAKE AT THE SAME INSTANT. PROBLEM IS FREQUENT.

View Details

TIRES

5/14/2009 - LEXINGTON, KY
IN APRIL OF 2008 I INSTALLED A METZELER 880 MARATHON MOTORCYCLE TIRE ON MY BIKE. THE TIRE WAS PURCHASED FROM RONAYERS, WHICH IS AN ONLINE MOTORCYCLE PARTS STORE. IMMEDIATELY AFTER INSTALLING THE TIRE I WENT FOR A RIDE AND NOTICED A CONSTANT SHAKING OF THE HANDLEBARS....ITS AS IF I'M RIDING ON A VERY VERY WINDY DAY. THE BIKE WILL NOT TRACK STRAIGHT DOWN THE ROAD. THIS ONLY HAPPENS AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS OF 50 MPH OR HIGHER. I IMMEDIATELY CONTACTED THE DISTRIBUTOR RONAYERS WHO TOLD ME TO CONTACT METZELER WHICH IS A DIVISION OF PIRELLI TIRES. THE MANUFACTURER TOLD ME TO TAKE IT TO A DEALER AND LET THEM CHECK IT BY RIDING AND SEE WHAT THEY TELL ABOUT THE TIRE. BELLS SUZUKI IN LEXINGTON WAS NICE ENOUGH TO RIDE THE MOTORCYCLE AT NO CHARGE....THEY ALSO CHECKED THE BALANCING, ALL OF WHICH WERE IN SPECS. THE TECH SAID THAT HE COULD INDEED FEEL WHAT I WAS TALKING ABOUT AND I SHOULD AGAIN GET IN TOUCH WITH THE MANUFACTURER. WELL IT IS SPRING HERE IN KENTUCKY AND AFTER RIDING THE BIKE YESTERDAY AND FEELING HOW THIS BIKE HANDLES I HAVE BEEN INCLINED TO FILE THIS COMPLAINT. METZELER IS SUPPOSED TO BE THE BEST TIRE AVAILABLE FOR MOTORCYCLES, BUT THE BALD TIRE I TOOK OFF WAS BETTER THAN THIS TIRE. THE TIRE HAS LESS THAN 1000 MILES ON IT AND IS UNSAFE. I HAVE A METZELER 880 MARATHON TIRE ON THE REAR OF MY BIKE AND IT IS FINE BUT THE FRONT TIRE IS DEFINITELY BAD. I WANTED TO HAVE MY CASE DOCUMENTED BEFORE SOMETHING HAPPENS TO ME ON THIS MOTORCYCLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: DRIVELINE

1/9/2008 - CRESTLINE, CA
HAD A SMALL OIL LEAK FROM THE TRANSFER CASE, INSPECTION SHOWED THAT IT WAS THE OUTPUT SHAFT LEAKING NEXT TO THE FRONT DRIVE PULLEY. UPON INSPECTION DISCOVERED THAT THE NUT SECURING THE DRIVE PULLEY ON THE SHAFT WAS LOOSE, THE LOCK TAB WAS STILL IN PLACE. DISCOVERED THAT THE SPLINES ON THE FRONT DRIVE PULLEY WERE WORN AND THE PULLEY NOW FIT VERY LOOSE. IT IS POSSIBLE FOR THE LOCK TAKE TO WEAR FROM VIBRATION TO A POINT WHERE THE NUT COMES OFF, IF THAT HAPPENED THE PULLEY AND DRIVE BELT COULD COME OFF AND LOCK THE REAR TIRE. IT IS ALSO POSSIBLE FOR THE PULLEY SPLINES TO WEAR TO A POINT WHERE THE PULLEY FAILS, AGAIN IF THE PULLEY FAILED THE REAR TIRE WOULD PROBABLY LOCK UP. THE ONLY WARNING WAS A SLIGHT LEAK NEAR THE SHAFT AND DRIVE PULLEY. I REPLACED THE SEAL, LOCK TAB AND PULLEY.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: CARBURETOR SYSTEM

8/4/2007 - MONROE, OH
I HAVE A 2005 YAMAHA ROADSTAR MOTORCYCLE, WHICH LEAKS GAS AFTER RIDING, THEN STOPPING, THEN TRYING TO RESTART. IT LEAKS A LARGE AMOUNT OF GAS, EVEN WITH THE FUEL PETCOCK TURNED OFF. I HAVE BEEN TO 3 DEALERSHIPS, ONLY ONE WAS WILLING TO WORK ON IT, THE OTHERS SAID IT WAS NOT A PROBLEM THAT THEY WERE AWARE OF, AND DID NOT KNOW WHAT TO DO ABOUT IT. THE ONE THAT DID WORK ON IT DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS FIRE HAZARD. ON THEORY IS POOR DESIGN, THAT THE GAS ACTUALLY "BOILS" BACK OUT OF THE CARB DUE TO EXCESSIVE HEAT.

View Details

EQUIPMENT

7/25/2007 - HANAHAN, SC
I HAVE A 2005 YAMAHA ROAD STAR. SINCE THE PURCHASE OF THIS BIKE I HAVE HAD PROBLEMS WITH STICKING VALVES ON THE REAR CYLINDER. IT'S THE EXHAUST VALVE. WHEN THIS HAPPENED IT WAS A DANGEROUS RIDE. HEAVY TRAFFIC WITH NO WHERE TO GO. SEEMS YAMAHA IS AWARE OF THIS SITUATION. IT'S DANGEROUS TO RIDE. POWER GOES TO NOTHING AND THE BIKE STALLS DURING SHIFTING.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE: GASOLINE

6/11/2007 - BEAVERCREEK, OR
REAR CYLINDER EXHAUST VALVE STICKS CAUSING ENGINE TO LOSE POWER, BACK FIRE, CUT OUT & AT TIMES STALL. DEALER REJETTED CARBURETOR, CLEANED AIR FILTER, INSTALLED NEW SPARK PLUGS & SHOCK TREATED FUEL SYSTEM WITH RING FREE. NOTED ON REPAIR INVOICE THEY WOULD NOT BE LIABLE FOR FURTHER REPAIRS. CONDITION IS COMING BACK AFTER 2000 MILES. I NEED TO KEEP ADDING RING FREE TO MAKE BIKE RUN.

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds