Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW 5 SERIES - 2006 BMW 5 SERIES Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 85 complaints filed for the 2006 BMW 5 SERIES

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 BMW 5 SERIES. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 BMW 5 SERIES, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (37) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Seat Belts (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (1)
Communications (1) Equipment (2) Seats (3) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electrical System (20) Exterior Lighting (7) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (4) Visibility (7)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Tires (3) Wheels (4)
Engine (6) Power Train (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

5/24/2019 - CORTE MADERA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 BMW 5 SERIES. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE LEAKED OIL AND THE BRAKES FAILED WHILE DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS. THE BRAKES WORKED NORMALLY WHEN APPLIED AT HIGH SPEEDS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT A NEW POWER BRAKE BOOSTER AND VACUUM PUMP NEEDED TO BE INSTALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 104,932.

View Details

ENGINE

5/24/2019 - CORTE MADERA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 BMW 5 SERIES. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE LEAKED OIL AND THE BRAKES FAILED WHILE DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS. THE BRAKES WORKED NORMALLY WHEN APPLIED AT HIGH SPEEDS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT A NEW POWER BRAKE BOOSTER AND VACUUM PUMP NEEDED TO BE INSTALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 104,932.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/18/2017 - RESTON, VA
FRONT PASSENGER SEAT OCCUPANCY DETECTION MAT HAD TO BE REPLACED AS IT WAS DEFECTIVE. THOUGH NOT IN PREVIOUS RECALLS IN SIMILAR BMWS AND SIMILAR YEARS, THE ERROR PRESENTED A SAFETY ISSUE THAT WOULD DISABLE THE FRONT PASSENGER AIR BAGS AND INCREASE THE RISK OF INJURY DURING A CRASH. WITH THIS ERROR, I WAS FORCED TO REPAIR THE SEAT MAT AND EXPENDED $1.5K TO REMEDY THIS SAFETY ISSUE. THIS SEAT MAT ISSUE IS A KNOWN BMW PROBLEM THAT BMW AND NHTSA HAVE NOT ADDRESSED. VIN: [XXX]. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/8/2017 - DALLAS, TX
NAVIGATION DISPLAY REBOOTS CONSTANTLY. WORKS PERIODICALLY. THIS DISPLAY GIVES ME ACCESS TO ALL OF THE CARS FEATURES INCLUDING WARNINGS AND MALFUNCTIONS WITH THE VEHICLE. IF THE DISPLAY WORKS WHEN THE CAR IS ON IT MAY NOT WORK IF YOU TURN OFF THE CARD AND TURN IT BACK ON.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/8/2017 - DALLAS, TX
NAVIGATION DISPLAY REBOOTS CONSTANTLY. WORKS PERIODICALLY. THIS DISPLAY GIVES ME ACCESS TO ALL OF THE CARS FEATURES INCLUDING WARNINGS AND MALFUNCTIONS WITH THE VEHICLE. IF THE DISPLAY WORKS WHEN THE CAR IS ON IT MAY NOT WORK IF YOU TURN OFF THE CARD AND TURN IT BACK ON.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/20/2017 - IRVINE, CA
HEAD LIGHTS ANGLE LIGHTS WIRES GETTING VERY DRY FROM THE HEAT OF THE LIGHT AND THE INSULATION COMING OFF THE OPTICAL WIRES, LIGHTS GO OUT, POSSIBLE SHORTING AND BECOME VERY UNSAFE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/20/2017 - IRVINE, CA
HEAD LIGHTS ANGLE LIGHTS WIRES GETTING VERY DRY FROM THE HEAT OF THE LIGHT AND THE INSULATION COMING OFF THE OPTICAL WIRES, LIGHTS GO OUT, POSSIBLE SHORTING AND BECOME VERY UNSAFE.

View Details

SEATS

1/5/2017 - HUNTINGTON STATION, NY
THE PASSENGER SEAT AIRBAG MALFUNCTIONED CASING THE SEAT TO HAVE TO BE REMOVED AND SENSOR REPLACED. THERE WAS A RECALL ON THIS BUT MY CAR, AND 2 OF MY FRIENDS CARS WERE NOT INCLUDED ON THE RECALL, MY FRIENDS WERE CHARGED BY THE DEALERSHIP. MY ENGINE LEAKS OIL ONTO THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD CAUSING SMOKE IN THE CAB AND POTENTIAL FIRE HAZARD. ON EVERY BM I HAVE EVER OWNED THE RADIATOR LEAKS FLUID WHICH IS ENVIRONMENTALLY HAZARDOUS AND SHOULD HAVE BEEN RECALLED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/5/2017 - HUNTINGTON STATION, NY
THE PASSENGER SEAT AIRBAG MALFUNCTIONED CASING THE SEAT TO HAVE TO BE REMOVED AND SENSOR REPLACED. THERE WAS A RECALL ON THIS BUT MY CAR, AND 2 OF MY FRIENDS CARS WERE NOT INCLUDED ON THE RECALL, MY FRIENDS WERE CHARGED BY THE DEALERSHIP. MY ENGINE LEAKS OIL ONTO THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD CAUSING SMOKE IN THE CAB AND POTENTIAL FIRE HAZARD. ON EVERY BM I HAVE EVER OWNED THE RADIATOR LEAKS FLUID WHICH IS ENVIRONMENTALLY HAZARDOUS AND SHOULD HAVE BEEN RECALLED.

View Details

ENGINE

1/5/2017 - HUNTINGTON STATION, NY
THE PASSENGER SEAT AIRBAG MALFUNCTIONED CASING THE SEAT TO HAVE TO BE REMOVED AND SENSOR REPLACED. THERE WAS A RECALL ON THIS BUT MY CAR, AND 2 OF MY FRIENDS CARS WERE NOT INCLUDED ON THE RECALL, MY FRIENDS WERE CHARGED BY THE DEALERSHIP. MY ENGINE LEAKS OIL ONTO THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD CAUSING SMOKE IN THE CAB AND POTENTIAL FIRE HAZARD. ON EVERY BM I HAVE EVER OWNED THE RADIATOR LEAKS FLUID WHICH IS ENVIRONMENTALLY HAZARDOUS AND SHOULD HAVE BEEN RECALLED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds