Auto Recalls for Consumers

CADILLAC STS - 2006 CADILLAC STS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 55 complaints filed for the 2006 CADILLAC STS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CADILLAC STS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CADILLAC STS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (19) Equipment (1) Power Train (8) Steering (1) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (6) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seats (6) Structure (1) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Engine (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (2) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

4/2/2014 - FORT MYERS, FL
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CADILLAC STS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE ACCESSORY LIGHT ILLUMINATED AS THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THERE WAS AN IGNITION PROBLEM. NO REPAIRS WERE PERFORMED ON THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE.THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 84,200. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. KMJ

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/31/2014 - REYNOLDSBURG, OH
AFTER CAR HAD BEEN IMMOBILE FOR A WEEK, ATTEMPTED TO START AND ENGINE JUST CLICKED AND CAR WOULD NOT START. I PLACED THE BATTERY ON CHARGER WITHOUT DISCONNECTING FROM TERMINALS, CHARGE BATTERY FOR APPROXIMATELY 10 HOURS. TRIED TO START VEHICLE AGAIN THE NEXT DAY. IT STARTED AND I DROVE DIRECTLY TO AN AUTO PARTS STORE (AUTO ZONE) AND HAD THEM TEST MY BATTERY AND ALTERNATOR MY SYSTEM TESTED GOOD, SO I DROVE FOR A COUPLE MORE DAYS, THIS TIME I KEPT A CLOSE WATCH ON THE BATTERY VOLTS AND THEY KEPT FLUCTUATING UP AN DOWN. I PARKED THE CAR FOR ANOTHER COUPLE OF DAYS AND THE PROBLEM CAME BACK AGAIN. SO I CHARGED THE BATTERY AGAIN AND THEN TOOK IT TO A GM DEALERSHIP AND REQUESTED THEY TROUBLESHOOT IT. THEY CHARGED ME 45.00 AND TOLD ME EVERYTHING WAS GOOD. NOW I HAVE THE CAR AT HOME AGAIN WITH A DEAD BATTERY.I NEED TO FIND A SOLUTION TO THIS UN SAFE PROBLEM. THE CAR CAN SHUT OFF AT ANYTIME AND I WON'T E ABLE TO RESTART W/O A JUMP..HAS THERE BEEN OTHER COMPLAINTS SIMILAR TO MINE ? HELP HELP

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

3/12/2014 - HARRISON TOWNSHIP, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CADILLAC STS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT DRIVE'S SIDE DOOR WOULD OPEN INDEPENDENTLY HOWEVER, REMAIN LOCKED FROM THE OUTSIDE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WHEN THE CONTACT LEFT THE VEHICLE IDLE FOR AN EXTENDED TIME. ADDITIONALLY, THE FOB WOULD NOT UNLOCK THE DOOR. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS. THE MANUFACTURE WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/29/2014 - WHITEFISH BAY, WI
THE AIR BAG SENSOR UNDER THE SEAT, MEANT TO INDICATE THE PRESENCE OF A FRONT-SEAT PASSENGER HAS FAILED, AS DENOTED BY A CONSTANT SERVICE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT. A DEC, '10 PRESS RELEASE ANNOUNCED A RECALL OF '05-'07 CTS' FOR THIS EXACT ISSUE. PARAGRAPH 5 OF THE RELEASE READS IN PART "OWNERS OF CERTAIN OTHER 2005-2007 THAT HAVE SIGNIFICANTLY LOWER INCIDENT RATES WILL BE PROVIDED FREE REPAIRS FOR THE ISSUE FOR UP TO 10 YEARS OR 120,000 MILES." NUMEROUS CONTACTS WITH CADILLAC CUSTOMER SERVICE THROUGHOUT 2011 RESULTED IN REFUSALS TO AUTHORIZE REPAIRS AT THEIR EXPENSE. A COMPLAINT FILES WITH THE WI DEPT OF AG, TRADE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS RESULTED IN A CALL FROM A REP OF GM'S BUSINESS RESOURCE CENTER ADVISING THAT THEY WIOULD AGAIN REFUSE MY REQUEST BECAUSE "...THE STS MODEL WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL." SHE OFFERED THAT AFTER I PAY FOR DIAGNOSTICS (LOCAL ESTIMATE $260) 'WE WILL BE HAPPY TO LOOK INTO COST ASSISTANCE ON THE REPAIR.' TWO MONTHS LATER WHEN I CALLED BACK I WAS TOLD THEY CLOSED THE FILE AND THAT I NEEDED TO START THE COMPLAINT PROCESS OVER.

View Details

TIRES

11/4/2013 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CADILLAC STS. THE VEHICLE WAS EQUIPPED WITH GOODYEAR BOGUE TIRES, SIZE 235/55/17H. THE DOT NUMBER WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE REAR TIRES UNEXPECTEDLY EXPERIENCED A BLOW OUT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER AND THE MECHANIC STATED THE PROBLEM WAS UNKNOWN. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SEATS

11/4/2013 - NEWBURY PARK, CA
THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG SENSOR STOPPED WORKING. A WARNING LIGHT ON THE DASH CAME ON. NOTHING HAPPENED TO MAKE IT STOP WORKING, IT IS JUST A FAULTY PART. THE CADILLAC DEALER GAVE ME A ESTIMATE STATING THAT THE "MODULE" NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. HOWEVER, THEY DID NOT OFFER TO DO SO UNDER WARRANTY. I THINK THIS SHOULD BE A RECALLED ITEM SINCE I SEE A LONG LIST OF THIS SAME COMPLAINT ON THIS SAME MODEL AND SOME OTHER CADILLAC MODELS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/4/2013 - NEWBURY PARK, CA
THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG SENSOR STOPPED WORKING. A WARNING LIGHT ON THE DASH CAME ON. NOTHING HAPPENED TO MAKE IT STOP WORKING, IT IS JUST A FAULTY PART. THE CADILLAC DEALER GAVE ME A ESTIMATE STATING THAT THE "MODULE" NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. HOWEVER, THEY DID NOT OFFER TO DO SO UNDER WARRANTY. I THINK THIS SHOULD BE A RECALLED ITEM SINCE I SEE A LONG LIST OF THIS SAME COMPLAINT ON THIS SAME MODEL AND SOME OTHER CADILLAC MODELS.

View Details

ENGINE

4/15/2013 - PALATINE, IL
CAR SHUTS OFF WHILE DRIVING HAPPEN 4 TIMES IT STARTS UP GO ABOUT HALF A MILE SHUTS OFF AGAIN AFTER 4 TIMES IT WAS OK UNTIL ABOUT A MONTH LATER IT HAPPEN AGAIN.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

4/3/2013 - WHEATON, IL
THE ENGINE SHUT OFF WHEN I WAS DRIVING ON A SIDE STREET AT 20 MPH, AND ALSO SHUT OFF 5 TIMES AS I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT 65 MPH. THE CLUSTER PANEL TURNED OFF, BUT THE RADIO STAYED ON. THE ODOMETER SHOWED A MESSAGE ENGINE CONTROL MODULE (ECM). I PULLED OVER, PUT THE CAR IN PARK, AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE EACH TIME. THE CADILLAC DEALERSHIP SAID THAT REAR AXLE PINION SEAL WAS THE ONLY RECALL FOR MY STS, BUT I AM EXPERIENCING NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 06V020000 , AND NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 06V007000 ALSO.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/3/2013 - WHEATON, IL
THE ENGINE SHUT OFF WHEN I WAS DRIVING ON A SIDE STREET AT 20 MPH, AND ALSO SHUT OFF 5 TIMES AS I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT 65 MPH. THE CLUSTER PANEL TURNED OFF, BUT THE RADIO STAYED ON. THE ODOMETER SHOWED A MESSAGE ENGINE CONTROL MODULE (ECM). I PULLED OVER, PUT THE CAR IN PARK, AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE EACH TIME. THE CADILLAC DEALERSHIP SAID THAT REAR AXLE PINION SEAL WAS THE ONLY RECALL FOR MY STS, BUT I AM EXPERIENCING NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 06V020000 , AND NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 06V007000 ALSO.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds