Auto Recalls for Consumers

CADILLAC STS - 2006 CADILLAC STS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 59 complaints filed for the 2006 CADILLAC STS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CADILLAC STS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CADILLAC STS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (22) Equipment (1) Power Train (8) Steering (1) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (6) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seats (6) Structure (1) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Engine (4) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (2) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

7/2/2014 - CONLEY, GA
I HAD THE AIR BAG HARNESS REPLACED ON THIS VEHICLE 2.5 YEARS AGO ON THIS VEHICLE. THE WARNING LIGHT IS ILLUMINATED AND I'M BEING TOLD IT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED AGAIN. I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE IN 2008. IF THE FIRST AIRBAG LASTED FOR 5 YEARS FROM YEAR MADE 2006 (WHICH IS NOT VERY LONG). THE ONE THAT WAS REPLACED IN DECEMBER 2011 SHOULD HAVE LASTED LONGER THAN 2.5 YEARS. I AM VERY CONCERNED THAT THESE ARE DEFECTIVE PARTS AND I DON'T WANT TO BE KILLED OR MAIMED BY THE AIR BAG AND I DON'T WANT TO PAY FOR ANOTHER ONE IN SUCH A SHORT PERIOD. I HAVE HAD ALL THE TIRE MONITORS REPLACD ALSO AND THE TIRE PRESSURE READINGS ARE ALWAYS OFF. WHEN I TAKE THE CAR IN TO BE CHECKED AFTER PAYING A FEE OF COURSE. THEY SAY THERE'S NOTHING WRONG WITH THEM AND THEY JUST PUT AIR IN THE TIRES. THANKING YOU IN ADVANCE FOR YOUR HELP IN THIS MATTER.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/2/2014 - CONLEY, GA
I HAD THE AIR BAG HARNESS REPLACED ON THIS VEHICLE 2.5 YEARS AGO ON THIS VEHICLE. THE WARNING LIGHT IS ILLUMINATED AND I'M BEING TOLD IT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED AGAIN. I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE IN 2008. IF THE FIRST AIRBAG LASTED FOR 5 YEARS FROM YEAR MADE 2006 (WHICH IS NOT VERY LONG). THE ONE THAT WAS REPLACED IN DECEMBER 2011 SHOULD HAVE LASTED LONGER THAN 2.5 YEARS. I AM VERY CONCERNED THAT THESE ARE DEFECTIVE PARTS AND I DON'T WANT TO BE KILLED OR MAIMED BY THE AIR BAG AND I DON'T WANT TO PAY FOR ANOTHER ONE IN SUCH A SHORT PERIOD. I HAVE HAD ALL THE TIRE MONITORS REPLACD ALSO AND THE TIRE PRESSURE READINGS ARE ALWAYS OFF. WHEN I TAKE THE CAR IN TO BE CHECKED AFTER PAYING A FEE OF COURSE. THEY SAY THERE'S NOTHING WRONG WITH THEM AND THEY JUST PUT AIR IN THE TIRES. THANKING YOU IN ADVANCE FOR YOUR HELP IN THIS MATTER.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/1/2014 - LEWISTON, ME
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CADILLAC STS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG OFF LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND FAILED TO ILLUMINATE WHEN THE SEAT WAS OCCUPIED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 68,000.

View Details

ENGINE

6/25/2014 - BELLPORT, NY
1) ON INTERSTATE I-495 LONG ISLAND EXPWY, CAR MOVING SLOW CAME FROM ON RAMP STRAIGHT ACROSS TO MIDDLE LANE. WENT TO ACCELERATE TO PASS IN LEFT LANE AND ENGINE STOPPED. PUTTED ON EMERGENCY FLASHERS AND WAS ABLE TO PULL INTO HOV SHOULDER AND RESTART ENGINE. 2) ON NORTHERN STATE PKWY (2 LANES ONLY) ON LONG ISLAND, NY AND WAS IN RIGHT LANE- SAW ONCOMING TRAFFIC MERGING AHEAD AND WENT TO GIVE GAS TO MOVE OVER TO LEFT LANE AND ENGINE STOPPED. AGAIN- MOVED TO SHOULDER, RESTARTED ENGINE. 3) WAS DOING 65 ON NJTPKE I-95N IN LEFT LANE BETWEEN CARS AND TRUCKS ON RIGHT. ENGINE STOPPED (NO ACCELERATION- JUST STRAIGHT DRIVING). I WAS BETWEEN VEHICLES AND NO PLACE TO PULL OVER- PUT CAR INTO N AND RESTARTED AND BACK TO DRIVE. THIS HAPPENED AGAIN- DID SAME THING. WHEN IT WAS CLEAR- PULLED OVER TO RIGHT SHOULDER- TURNED CAR OFF AND RESTARTED AND CONTINUED TRIP. ** COULD THIS BE PART OF THE RECENT RECALL ON CADDYS 2005-11 BUT DID NOT INCLUDE STS'S???? JUST FOR THE RECORD- HAVE NEW AIR FILTER AND SPRAYED BOTH THE MAF AND THROTTLE BODY VALVE WITH CORRECT CLEANERS- RECENTLY- AFTER SEEING A VIDEO ON CADDY COMPLAINT FORUM.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/3/2014 - LAKE MILLS, WI
THE "SERVICE AIRBAG" LIGHT CAME ON AND THE MESSAGE ON THE REARVIEW MIRROR IS NO LONGER DETECTING A PASSENGER WHEN A PASSENGER IS SITTING IN THE SEAT. THE PASSENGER DETECTOR SENSOR HAS FAILED IN THE PASSENGER SEAT. THE SAME MODEL YEAR FOR THE CADILLAC CTS HAD A RECALL FOR THE SAME PROBLEM. THE TWO VEHICLES ARE SUBSTANTIALLY SIMILAR AND PROBABLY USE THE EXACT SAME PART, YET THE THE STS MODEL WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. A SIMPLE INTERNET SEARCH SHOWS HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS ON FORUMS WITH THIS ISSUE IN THE STS MODEL AS WELL AS THE CTS MODEL. THE RESULT WOULD BE THAT THE AIRBAG WOULD NOT DEPLOY IN THE EVENT OF A CRASH.

View Details

ENGINE

4/2/2014 - FORT MYERS, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CADILLAC STS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE ACCESSORY LIGHT ILLUMINATED AS THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THERE WAS AN IGNITION PROBLEM. NO REPAIRS WERE PERFORMED ON THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE.THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 84,200. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/31/2014 - REYNOLDSBURG, OH
AFTER CAR HAD BEEN IMMOBILE FOR A WEEK, ATTEMPTED TO START AND ENGINE JUST CLICKED AND CAR WOULD NOT START. I PLACED THE BATTERY ON CHARGER WITHOUT DISCONNECTING FROM TERMINALS, CHARGE BATTERY FOR APPROXIMATELY 10 HOURS. TRIED TO START VEHICLE AGAIN THE NEXT DAY. IT STARTED AND I DROVE DIRECTLY TO AN AUTO PARTS STORE (AUTO ZONE) AND HAD THEM TEST MY BATTERY AND ALTERNATOR MY SYSTEM TESTED GOOD, SO I DROVE FOR A COUPLE MORE DAYS, THIS TIME I KEPT A CLOSE WATCH ON THE BATTERY VOLTS AND THEY KEPT FLUCTUATING UP AN DOWN. I PARKED THE CAR FOR ANOTHER COUPLE OF DAYS AND THE PROBLEM CAME BACK AGAIN. SO I CHARGED THE BATTERY AGAIN AND THEN TOOK IT TO A GM DEALERSHIP AND REQUESTED THEY TROUBLESHOOT IT. THEY CHARGED ME 45.00 AND TOLD ME EVERYTHING WAS GOOD. NOW I HAVE THE CAR AT HOME AGAIN WITH A DEAD BATTERY.I NEED TO FIND A SOLUTION TO THIS UN SAFE PROBLEM. THE CAR CAN SHUT OFF AT ANYTIME AND I WON'T E ABLE TO RESTART W/O A JUMP..HAS THERE BEEN OTHER COMPLAINTS SIMILAR TO MINE ? HELP HELP

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

3/12/2014 - HARRISON TOWNSHIP, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CADILLAC STS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR WOULD OPEN INDEPENDENTLY HOWEVER, REMAIN LOCKED FROM THE OUTSIDE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WHEN THE CONTACT LEFT THE VEHICLE IDLE FOR AN EXTENDED TIME. ADDITIONALLY, THE FOB WOULD NOT UNLOCK THE DOOR. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS. THE MANUFACTURE WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/29/2014 - WHITEFISH BAY, WI
THE AIR BAG SENSOR UNDER THE SEAT, MEANT TO INDICATE THE PRESENCE OF A FRONT-SEAT PASSENGER HAS FAILED, AS DENOTED BY A CONSTANT SERVICE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT. A DEC, '10 PRESS RELEASE ANNOUNCED A RECALL OF '05-'07 CTS' FOR THIS EXACT ISSUE. PARAGRAPH 5 OF THE RELEASE READS IN PART "OWNERS OF CERTAIN OTHER 2005-2007 THAT HAVE SIGNIFICANTLY LOWER INCIDENT RATES WILL BE PROVIDED FREE REPAIRS FOR THE ISSUE FOR UP TO 10 YEARS OR 120,000 MILES." NUMEROUS CONTACTS WITH CADILLAC CUSTOMER SERVICE THROUGHOUT 2011 RESULTED IN REFUSALS TO AUTHORIZE REPAIRS AT THEIR EXPENSE. A COMPLAINT FILES WITH THE WI DEPT OF AG, TRADE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS RESULTED IN A CALL FROM A REP OF GM'S BUSINESS RESOURCE CENTER ADVISING THAT THEY WOULD AGAIN REFUSE MY REQUEST BECAUSE "...THE STS MODEL WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL." SHE OFFERED THAT AFTER I PAY FOR DIAGNOSTICS (LOCAL ESTIMATE $260) 'WE WILL BE HAPPY TO LOOK INTO COST ASSISTANCE ON THE REPAIR.' TWO MONTHS LATER WHEN I CALLED BACK I WAS TOLD THEY CLOSED THE FILE AND THAT I NEEDED TO START THE COMPLAINT PROCESS OVER.

View Details

TIRES

11/4/2013 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CADILLAC STS. THE VEHICLE WAS EQUIPPED WITH GOODYEAR BOGUE TIRES, SIZE 235/55/17H. THE DOT NUMBER WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE REAR TIRES UNEXPECTEDLY EXPERIENCED A BLOW OUT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER AND THE MECHANIC STATED THE PROBLEM WAS UNKNOWN. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds