Auto Recalls for Consumers

CADILLAC STS - 2006 CADILLAC STS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 63 complaints filed for the 2006 CADILLAC STS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CADILLAC STS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CADILLAC STS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (22) Equipment (1) Power Train (8) Steering (1) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (9) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seats (6) Structure (1) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Engine (5) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (2) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/20/2014 - ATLANTA, GA
2006 CADILLAC STS. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE IGNITION PROBLEM. THE CONSUMER STATED AS HE NEARED THE HIGHEST ELEVATION OF THE HIGHWAY, OTHER VEHICLES WERE GOING ABOUT 58-60 MPH, AND THE CREST FLATTENED, THE SPEED INCREASED ALMOST AUTOMATICALLY, AS THE RESISTANCE DECEASED. AFTER A FEW HUNDRED YARDS, THE CONSUMER REALIZED HE HAD NO POWER UNDER HIS FOOT, THE DASH LIGHTS WENT OUT WITH NO ENGINE CONDITION INDICATORS DISPLAYING, THE ONLY LIGHT ON THE DASH WAS A LIGHTED "D" INDICATING THE TRANSMISSION WAS IN DRIVE. DESPITE THE VEHICLE BEING IN GEAR, THE VEHICLE WAS COASTING AT 70 MPH. UPON INSPECTION, THE START BUTTON AND IGNITION SWITCH FAILED. A FEW WEEKS EARLIER, THE VEHICLE STALLED WHILE AT A STOP LIGHT. HE IMMEDIATELY RE-STARED THE VEHICLE. ON A SEPARATE OCCASION, THE CONSUMER EXPERIENCED A LAPSE OF POWER.

View Details

ENGINE

8/13/2014 - GWYNN OAK, MD
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CADILLAC STS. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE TIMING CHAIN STRETCHED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE 53,820. RK

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/10/2014 - SHELBY TOWNSHIP, MI
THE VEHICLE CAUGHT FIRE WITHOUT CAUSE AT A WALMART PARKING LOT. WHEN I CAME OUT OF THE STORE MY CAR WAS ON FIRE. THE FIRE STARTED IN THE DOOR PANEL OF THE DRIVERS SIDE. I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT CAUSED THE FIRE. STERLING HEIGHTS FIRE DEPT WAS ON THE SEEN AND PUT THE FIRE OUT. MY CAR WAS TOTALED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: SWITCH

8/1/2014 - ATLANTA, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CADILLAC STS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 72 MPH, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED. THE CONTACT ENGAGED THE PUSH-TO-START BUTTON BUT AS SOON AS PRESSURE WAS RELEASED FROM THE BUTTON, THE VEHICLE STALLED AGAIN. THE FAILURE WAS RECURRING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHO REPLACED THE IGNITION SWITCH. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,100.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/1/2014 - ATLANTA, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CADILLAC STS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 72 MPH, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED. THE CONTACT ENGAGED THE PUSH-TO-START BUTTON BUT AS SOON AS PRESSURE WAS RELEASED FROM THE BUTTON, THE VEHICLE STALLED AGAIN. THE FAILURE WAS RECURRING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHO REPLACED THE IGNITION SWITCH. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,100.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/2/2014 - CONLEY, GA
I HAD THE AIR BAG HARNESS REPLACED ON THIS VEHICLE 2.5 YEARS AGO ON THIS VEHICLE. THE WARNING LIGHT IS ILLUMINATED AND I'M BEING TOLD IT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED AGAIN. I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE IN 2008. IF THE FIRST AIRBAG LASTED FOR 5 YEARS FROM YEAR MADE 2006 (WHICH IS NOT VERY LONG). THE ONE THAT WAS REPLACED IN DECEMBER 2011 SHOULD HAVE LASTED LONGER THAN 2.5 YEARS. I AM VERY CONCERNED THAT THESE ARE DEFECTIVE PARTS AND I DON'T WANT TO BE KILLED OR MAIMED BY THE AIR BAG AND I DON'T WANT TO PAY FOR ANOTHER ONE IN SUCH A SHORT PERIOD. I HAVE HAD ALL THE TIRE MONITORS REPLACD ALSO AND THE TIRE PRESSURE READINGS ARE ALWAYS OFF. WHEN I TAKE THE CAR IN TO BE CHECKED AFTER PAYING A FEE OF COURSE. THEY SAY THERE'S NOTHING WRONG WITH THEM AND THEY JUST PUT AIR IN THE TIRES. THANKING YOU IN ADVANCE FOR YOUR HELP IN THIS MATTER.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/2/2014 - CONLEY, GA
I HAD THE AIR BAG HARNESS REPLACED ON THIS VEHICLE 2.5 YEARS AGO ON THIS VEHICLE. THE WARNING LIGHT IS ILLUMINATED AND I'M BEING TOLD IT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED AGAIN. I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE IN 2008. IF THE FIRST AIRBAG LASTED FOR 5 YEARS FROM YEAR MADE 2006 (WHICH IS NOT VERY LONG). THE ONE THAT WAS REPLACED IN DECEMBER 2011 SHOULD HAVE LASTED LONGER THAN 2.5 YEARS. I AM VERY CONCERNED THAT THESE ARE DEFECTIVE PARTS AND I DON'T WANT TO BE KILLED OR MAIMED BY THE AIR BAG AND I DON'T WANT TO PAY FOR ANOTHER ONE IN SUCH A SHORT PERIOD. I HAVE HAD ALL THE TIRE MONITORS REPLACD ALSO AND THE TIRE PRESSURE READINGS ARE ALWAYS OFF. WHEN I TAKE THE CAR IN TO BE CHECKED AFTER PAYING A FEE OF COURSE. THEY SAY THERE'S NOTHING WRONG WITH THEM AND THEY JUST PUT AIR IN THE TIRES. THANKING YOU IN ADVANCE FOR YOUR HELP IN THIS MATTER.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/1/2014 - LEWISTON, ME
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CADILLAC STS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG OFF LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND FAILED TO ILLUMINATE WHEN THE SEAT WAS OCCUPIED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 68,000.

View Details

ENGINE

6/25/2014 - BELLPORT, NY
1) ON INTERSTATE I-495 LONG ISLAND EXPWY, CAR MOVING SLOW CAME FROM ON RAMP STRAIGHT ACROSS TO MIDDLE LANE. WENT TO ACCELERATE TO PASS IN LEFT LANE AND ENGINE STOPPED. PUTTED ON EMERGENCY FLASHERS AND WAS ABLE TO PULL INTO HOV SHOULDER AND RESTART ENGINE. 2) ON NORTHERN STATE PKWY (2 LANES ONLY) ON LONG ISLAND, NY AND WAS IN RIGHT LANE- SAW ONCOMING TRAFFIC MERGING AHEAD AND WENT TO GIVE GAS TO MOVE OVER TO LEFT LANE AND ENGINE STOPPED. AGAIN- MOVED TO SHOULDER, RESTARTED ENGINE. 3) WAS DOING 65 ON NJTPKE I-95N IN LEFT LANE BETWEEN CARS AND TRUCKS ON RIGHT. ENGINE STOPPED (NO ACCELERATION- JUST STRAIGHT DRIVING). I WAS BETWEEN VEHICLES AND NO PLACE TO PULL OVER- PUT CAR INTO N AND RESTARTED AND BACK TO DRIVE. THIS HAPPENED AGAIN- DID SAME THING. WHEN IT WAS CLEAR- PULLED OVER TO RIGHT SHOULDER- TURNED CAR OFF AND RESTARTED AND CONTINUED TRIP. ** COULD THIS BE PART OF THE RECENT RECALL ON CADDYS 2005-11 BUT DID NOT INCLUDE STS'S???? JUST FOR THE RECORD- HAVE NEW AIR FILTER AND SPRAYED BOTH THE MAF AND THROTTLE BODY VALVE WITH CORRECT CLEANERS- RECENTLY- AFTER SEEING A VIDEO ON CADDY COMPLAINT FORUM.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/3/2014 - LAKE MILLS, WI
THE "SERVICE AIRBAG" LIGHT CAME ON AND THE MESSAGE ON THE REARVIEW MIRROR IS NO LONGER DETECTING A PASSENGER WHEN A PASSENGER IS SITTING IN THE SEAT. THE PASSENGER DETECTOR SENSOR HAS FAILED IN THE PASSENGER SEAT. THE SAME MODEL YEAR FOR THE CADILLAC CTS HAD A RECALL FOR THE SAME PROBLEM. THE TWO VEHICLES ARE SUBSTANTIALLY SIMILAR AND PROBABLY USE THE EXACT SAME PART, YET THE THE STS MODEL WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. A SIMPLE INTERNET SEARCH SHOWS HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS ON FORUMS WITH THIS ISSUE IN THE STS MODEL AS WELL AS THE CTS MODEL. THE RESULT WOULD BE THAT THE AIRBAG WOULD NOT DEPLOY IN THE EVENT OF A CRASH.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds