Auto Recalls for Consumers

CADILLAC STS - 2006 CADILLAC STS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 120 complaints filed for the 2006 CADILLAC STS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CADILLAC STS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CADILLAC STS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (51) Equipment (1) Power Train (12) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (20) Fuel Propulsion System (13) Seat Belts (3) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seats (6) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Engine (18) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (2) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

9/8/2017 - SHREVEPORT, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CADILLAC STS. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND REMAINED LIT. THE DEALER WAS CONTACTED (ORR CADILLAC, SHREVEPORT, LA 71105, 318-798-7250) AND STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 110,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/13/2017 - HOBBS, NM
TAKATA RECALL: SERVICE AIRBAG WARNING APPEARED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. AUTO IS CURRENTLY IN THE SHOP FOR ANALYSIS. THE 2006 CTS HAS THE SAME AIRBAG SYSTEM. AND IT HAS BEEN RECALLED. THE STS HAS NOT. WHY?

View Details

ENGINE

7/1/2017 - HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA
ON THURSDAY 18 MAY 2017, WHILE DRIVING NORTH ON INTERSTATE 405 IN HEAVY TRAFFIC AT NORMAL SPEEDS, THE ENGINE BEGAN TO MISS OUT; AND THE BRAKES LOST POWER ASSIST. THE PROBLEMS PERSISTED AND WORSENED, SO I EXITED THE FREEWAY TO SURFACE STREETS AND BEGAN THE TRIP BACK SOUTH ON INTERSTATE 405 TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS AND REPAIR. WHEN STOPPED ON SURFACE STREETS (AND ON THE FREEWAY), IT WAS NECESSARY TO SHIFT TO NEUTRAL AND ADD FUEL TO THE ENGINE TO KEEP IT RUNNING. ALSO, IT WAS NECESSARY TO APPLY EXTRA STRONG PRESSURE ON THE BRAKE PEDAL BECAUSE OF THE LACK OF POWER ASSIST. AFTER ARRIVING AT THE DEALER AND SHUTTING OFF THE ENGINE, THE MECHANIC COULD NOT GET THE ENGINE TO RESTART. AFTER EXTENSIVE EXPOSURE OF ENGINE INTERNAL PARTS, DEALER DIAGNOSIS WAS THAT A ROCKER ARM HAD BROKEN AT ONE OF THE CYLINDERS, RESULTING IN DEBRIS FALLING THROUGH THE VALVE OPENING INTO THE CYLINDER AND SCORING THE VALVE SEAT AND THE PISTON. THE DEALER RECOMMENDED REPLACING THE ENGINE. -- AT THAT TIME, THE VEHICLE HAD ACCUMULATED 83,000 MILES OF MODERATE DRIVING, AND WAS ONLY A LITTLE OVER 11 YEARS OLD. THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED NEW FROM THE DEALER IN DECEMBER 2005, AND HAD BEEN MAINTAINED EXCLUSIVELY BY THAT DEALER SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED. SUBSEQUENTLY, A NEW (REMANUFACTURED) ENGINE WAS PURCHASED FROM AND INSTALLED BY THE DEALER AT A COST OF $12,678.25. THE VEHICLE WAS WITH THE DEALER FOR A TOTAL OF SIX WEEKS TO COMPLETE THE REPAIR AND INSTALLATION. -- CLEARLY, HAD THE ENGINE COMPLETELY FAILED WHILE DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY, INTENSIVE ACTION WOULD HAVE BEEN REQUIRED TO SAFELY EXIT THE FREEWAY AND TO BRING THE VEHICLE TO A STOP (ESPECIALLY BECAUSE OF LOSS OF POWER ASSIST ON THE BRAKES). THIS WOULD HAVE PLACED MY PASSENGERS IN VERY HIGH DANGER AND PERSONAL RISK.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/27/2017 - ROCHESTER, NY
WHEN MAKING RIGHT HAND TURNS, THE CAR STALLS TEMPORARILY NOT ALLOWING ME TO ACCELERATE OR ACCLIMATE TO ONCOMING TRAFFIC. WHILE THIS IS HAPPENING, THE TRACTION ACTIVE SYMBOL IS DISPLAYED ON THE DASHBOARD. WITHIN A FEW SECONDS IT SEEMS TO ALL WORK AGAIN, HOWEVER IT SEEMS TO BE A SAFETY ISSUE AS OTHER CARS ARE EITHER ASSUMING I WILL BE AT THEIR SPEED, OR ASSUME I AM ALLOWING THEM TO GO WHEN IN FACT I AM STUCK. I HAVE 3 CHILDREN IN THE CAR AND I AM BECOMING SCARED THAT THIS MAY CAUSE AN ACCIDENT AND IS A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/16/2017 - CENTERVILLE, MN
PASSENGER SEAT OCCUPANT SENSOR STOPS WORKING, DISABLING THE PASSENGER AIRBAG. 2006 CADILLAC CTS WERE RECALLED BUT THE CADILLAC STS USES THE SAME SYSTEM BUT WAS NOT RECALLED. AIRBAG LIGHT CAME UP WHILE DRIVING UNDER NORMAL CONDITIONS AND ITS GIVING THE ERROR CODE ASSOCIATED WITH THE OCCUPANT SENSOR MAT SYSTEM

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/17/2017 - HENDERSON, KY
FRONT PASSENGER DOOR DOES NOT ALWAYS OPEN FROM THE OUTSIDE WHILE STATIONARY, AND/OR IN PARK, OR WHETHER THE ENGINE IS RUNNING OR OFF. IF THIS CAR IS EVER IN AN ACCIDENT, EMERGENCY WORKERS WOULD HAVE TO TAKE EXTRA STEPS, AND VALUABLE TIME, TO TRY TO SUCCESSFULLY EXTRACT ANY VICTIM FROM THE PASSENGER SIDE. I SEE IT HAS BEEN REPORTED BEFORE!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/23/2016 - MANTECA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CADILLAC STS. WHEN THE CONTACT STARTED THE VEHICLE, THE SERVICE AIR BAG INDICATOR ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED AND REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,396.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/23/2016 - MANTECA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CADILLAC STS. WHEN THE CONTACT STARTED THE VEHICLE, THE SERVICE AIR BAG INDICATOR ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED AND REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,396.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/5/2016 - OCALA, FL
INVOLVED IN HEAD-ON COLLISION ON JULY 31, 2016 WHEN A VEHICLE PULLED OUT IN FRONT OF ME ON A CLEAR, DRY, DAY ON PAVEMENT I WAS TRAVELING ABOUT 30 MPH AND TRIED TO SWERVE TO MISS THE OTHER VEHICLE, BUT MY VEHICLE MADE CONTACT ON THE LEFT FRONT QUARTER PANEL OF MY CAR HITTING THE OTHER VEHICLE AT THE DRIVERS SIDE DOOR. MY AIR BAG DID NOT GO OFF NOR DID THE SEAT BELT STOP ME FROM HITTING THE STEERING WHEEL. AFTER THE ACCIDENT, THE WARNING PANEL READ "SERVICE AIR BAG". THE OTHER DRIVER WAS TICKETED FOR FAILURE TO YIELD.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

9/5/2016 - OCALA, FL
INVOLVED IN HEAD-ON COLLISION ON JULY 31, 2016 WHEN A VEHICLE PULLED OUT IN FRONT OF ME ON A CLEAR, DRY, DAY ON PAVEMENT I WAS TRAVELING ABOUT 30 MPH AND TRIED TO SWERVE TO MISS THE OTHER VEHICLE, BUT MY VEHICLE MADE CONTACT ON THE LEFT FRONT QUARTER PANEL OF MY CAR HITTING THE OTHER VEHICLE AT THE DRIVERS SIDE DOOR. MY AIR BAG DID NOT GO OFF NOR DID THE SEAT BELT STOP ME FROM HITTING THE STEERING WHEEL. AFTER THE ACCIDENT, THE WARNING PANEL READ "SERVICE AIR BAG". THE OTHER DRIVER WAS TICKETED FOR FAILURE TO YIELD.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds