Auto Recalls for Consumers

CADILLAC STS - 2006 CADILLAC STS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 66 complaints filed for the 2006 CADILLAC STS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CADILLAC STS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CADILLAC STS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Equipment (1) Power Train (8) Steering (1) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (9) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seats (6) Structure (1) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Engine (5) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (2) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

9/12/2014 - ST. CHARLES, MN
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CADILLAC STS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG SENSOR LIGHT HAD ILLUMINATED INDICATING THAT THE AIR BAG SYSTEM WAS FAULTY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE PROBLEM WAS DUE TO A FAULTY SENSOR. NO ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WAS AVAILABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 146,000. JFT

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/29/2014 - TAMPA, FL
AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON IN VEHICLE WHEN NO ONE WAS SITTING IN VEHICLE AND HAS BEEN ON EVER SINCE. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO DEALERSHIP PAID TO HAVE PROBLEM DIAGNOSED WAS TOLD. PASSENGER SEAT PRESSENCE SYSTEM FAILURE. QUOTED PRICE FOR $900 TO REPAIR. I RESEARCHED ONLINE SAW RECALL FOR CTS FROM 2005-2007 HOWEVER NOT FRO THE STS. I CONTACTED GM. WAS CALLED BACK IN 48HRS TO BE TOLD THEY DO NOT HELP WITH FIXING ANYTHING THAT IS NOT UNDER RECALL. CAN YOU PLEASE RECALL THE STS AS WELL. I SEE SO MANY OTHERS REPORTING THE SAME THING. THIS IS RIDICULOUS. ITS THE SAME AIRBAG SYSTEM AS IN THE CTS. THIS IS AN IMPORTANT PROBLEM. I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE BECAUS OF THE SAFETY FEATURES. NOTHING IN THE MANUAL SAYS THIS WOULD NEED TO BE SERVICED OR REPLACED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/22/2014 - CLERMONT, FL
THE FRONT PASSENGER AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT CAME ON JUST AS I WAS STARTING THE CAR FOR THE DAY. WE TOOK THE CAR TO THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP AND THEY ARE WELL AWARE THIS IS A ON GOING ISSUE FOR THE 2006 STS, BUT IT IS NOT PART OF THE RECALL. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF THE SAME PARTS WERE USED IN THE STS THAT WERE INCLUDED IN THE RECALL ? THE DEALERSHIP WANTS ALMOST A $1,000 TO FIX IT AND I WAS TOLD NONE OF MY AIR BAGS WILL DEPLOY UNTIL I GET THIS FIXED . I BELIEVE AIR BAGS AS A SAFETY FEATURE SHOULD BE COVERED FOR THE LIFE OF THE VEHICLE FOR ISSUES LIKE THIS. VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH CADILLAC NOT INCLUDING THE STS IN THE RECALL ESPECIALLY AFTER READING ALL THE OTHER OWNERS WITH THE SAME EXACT PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/20/2014 - ATLANTA, GA
2006 CADILLAC STS. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE IGNITION PROBLEM. THE CONSUMER STATED AS HE NEARED THE HIGHEST ELEVATION OF THE HIGHWAY, OTHER VEHICLES WERE GOING ABOUT 58-60 MPH, AND THE CREST FLATTENED, THE SPEED INCREASED ALMOST AUTOMATICALLY, AS THE RESISTANCE DECEASED. AFTER A FEW HUNDRED YARDS, THE CONSUMER REALIZED HE HAD NO POWER UNDER HIS FOOT, THE DASH LIGHTS WENT OUT WITH NO ENGINE CONDITION INDICATORS DISPLAYING, THE ONLY LIGHT ON THE DASH WAS A LIGHTED "D" INDICATING THE TRANSMISSION WAS IN DRIVE. DESPITE THE VEHICLE BEING IN GEAR, THE VEHICLE WAS COASTING AT 70 MPH. UPON INSPECTION, THE START BUTTON AND IGNITION SWITCH FAILED. A FEW WEEKS EARLIER, THE VEHICLE STALLED WHILE AT A STOP LIGHT. HE IMMEDIATELY RE-STARED THE VEHICLE. ON A SEPARATE OCCASION, THE CONSUMER EXPERIENCED A LAPSE OF POWER.

View Details

ENGINE

8/13/2014 - GWYNN OAK, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CADILLAC STS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE TIMING CHAIN STRETCHED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 53,820.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/10/2014 - SHELBY TOWNSHIP, MI
THE VEHICLE CAUGHT FIRE WITHOUT CAUSE AT A WALMART PARKING LOT. WHEN I CAME OUT OF THE STORE MY CAR WAS ON FIRE. THE FIRE STARTED IN THE DOOR PANEL OF THE DRIVERS SIDE. I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT CAUSED THE FIRE. STERLING HEIGHTS FIRE DEPT WAS ON THE SEEN AND PUT THE FIRE OUT. MY CAR WAS TOTALED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/1/2014 - ATLANTA, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CADILLAC STS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 72 MPH, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED. THE CONTACT ENGAGED THE PUSH-TO-START BUTTON BUT AS SOON AS PRESSURE WAS RELEASED FROM THE BUTTON, THE VEHICLE STALLED AGAIN. THE FAILURE WAS RECURRING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHO REPLACED THE IGNITION SWITCH. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,100. UPDATED 9/4/14

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: SWITCH

8/1/2014 - ATLANTA, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CADILLAC STS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 72 MPH, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED. THE CONTACT ENGAGED THE PUSH-TO-START BUTTON BUT AS SOON AS PRESSURE WAS RELEASED FROM THE BUTTON, THE VEHICLE STALLED AGAIN. THE FAILURE WAS RECURRING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHO REPLACED THE IGNITION SWITCH. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,100. UPDATED 9/4/14

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/2/2014 - CONLEY, GA
I HAD THE AIR BAG HARNESS REPLACED ON THIS VEHICLE 2.5 YEARS AGO ON THIS VEHICLE. THE WARNING LIGHT IS ILLUMINATED AND I'M BEING TOLD IT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED AGAIN. I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE IN 2008. IF THE FIRST AIRBAG LASTED FOR 5 YEARS FROM YEAR MADE 2006 (WHICH IS NOT VERY LONG). THE ONE THAT WAS REPLACED IN DECEMBER 2011 SHOULD HAVE LASTED LONGER THAN 2.5 YEARS. I AM VERY CONCERNED THAT THESE ARE DEFECTIVE PARTS AND I DON'T WANT TO BE KILLED OR MAIMED BY THE AIR BAG AND I DON'T WANT TO PAY FOR ANOTHER ONE IN SUCH A SHORT PERIOD. I HAVE HAD ALL THE TIRE MONITORS REPLACD ALSO AND THE TIRE PRESSURE READINGS ARE ALWAYS OFF. WHEN I TAKE THE CAR IN TO BE CHECKED AFTER PAYING A FEE OF COURSE. THEY SAY THERE'S NOTHING WRONG WITH THEM AND THEY JUST PUT AIR IN THE TIRES. THANKING YOU IN ADVANCE FOR YOUR HELP IN THIS MATTER.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/2/2014 - CONLEY, GA
I HAD THE AIR BAG HARNESS REPLACED ON THIS VEHICLE 2.5 YEARS AGO ON THIS VEHICLE. THE WARNING LIGHT IS ILLUMINATED AND I'M BEING TOLD IT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED AGAIN. I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE IN 2008. IF THE FIRST AIRBAG LASTED FOR 5 YEARS FROM YEAR MADE 2006 (WHICH IS NOT VERY LONG). THE ONE THAT WAS REPLACED IN DECEMBER 2011 SHOULD HAVE LASTED LONGER THAN 2.5 YEARS. I AM VERY CONCERNED THAT THESE ARE DEFECTIVE PARTS AND I DON'T WANT TO BE KILLED OR MAIMED BY THE AIR BAG AND I DON'T WANT TO PAY FOR ANOTHER ONE IN SUCH A SHORT PERIOD. I HAVE HAD ALL THE TIRE MONITORS REPLACD ALSO AND THE TIRE PRESSURE READINGS ARE ALWAYS OFF. WHEN I TAKE THE CAR IN TO BE CHECKED AFTER PAYING A FEE OF COURSE. THEY SAY THERE'S NOTHING WRONG WITH THEM AND THEY JUST PUT AIR IN THE TIRES. THANKING YOU IN ADVANCE FOR YOUR HELP IN THIS MATTER.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds