Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500 - 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 139 complaints filed for the 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (2) Structure (6) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (9) Fuel System Diesel (3) Service Brakes (27) Suspension (5) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Engine (1) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (11) Visibility (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (25) Trailer Hitches (2) Wheels (1)
Equipment (4) Power Train (31) Steering (17)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

TIRES

1/23/2015 - GAINESVILLE, FL
UNIROYAL LAREDO HD/H LT265/75 R15 HAD A TREAD SEPARATION THAT CAUSED CONSIDERABLE SHEET METAL DAMAGE WITHIN AND BEHIND THE RIGHT REAR WHEEL WELL OF MY CHEVY SILVERADO 2500 HD PICKUP. THE INCIDENT OCCURRED AT 60 MPH WHILE I WAS TOWING A TRAVEL TRAILER. I NEVER LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND WAS ABLE TO BRING IT SAFELY TO A CONTROLLED STOP. THE TIRE WAS ONE OF FOUR INSTALLED NEW BY THE AUTO DEALER IN EARLY 2012 WHEN I PURCHASED THE TRUCK USED. THE TIRE HAD APPROXIMATELY 17,000 MILES OF USE WHEN THE SEPARATION OCCURRED. I ALWAYS KEPT THE TIRE INFLATED TO THE TRUCK AND TIRE MANUFACTURERS' RECOMMENDED 80 PSI AND HAD JUST INFLATED THE TIRE TO THAT PRESSURE (IT WAS AT 74 PSI BEFORE I TOPPED IT OFF) THREE DAYS EARLIER, BEFORE STARTING MY TRIP. I NOTICED A RECALL OF TIRES OF SIMILAR VINTAGE IN THE UNIROYAL LAREDO HD/H LT 245/75 R16 SERIES, AND I AM CURIOUS IF MANY TREAD SEPARATIONS HAVE ALSO BEEN REPORTED FOR THE 265/75 R16 SERIES OR IF THIS IS A ONE OFF INCIDENT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/11/2015 - BARTLETT, IL
DURING A NORMAL STOP AT A LIGHT, JUST AS THE VEHICLE WAS GETTING CLOSE TO A COMPLETE STOP THERE WAS A NOTICEABLE BUMP FELT IN THE BRAKE PEDAL AND RELEASE OF BRAKE APPLICATION ON ITS OWN WHILE STILL PUSHING ON THE BRAKE PEDAL. THIS OCCURRED AS VEHICLE WAS SLOWING, JUST BEFORE A COMPLETE STOP WAS ACHIEVED . AFTER RESEARCHING THE PROBLEM WHICH SEEMS TO BE WELL KNOWN IN AUTOMOTIVE FORUMS AND BY GM. I REMOVED THE FRONT WHEEL SPEED SENSORS, CLEANED THE CORROSION FROM THE MOUNTING PADS AND REASSEMBLED. BEFORE CLEANING THE SENSOR MOUNTING THE PROBLEM WOULD OCCUR 80-90% OF THE TIME BRAKES WERE APPLIED. AFTER CLEANING IT HAS NOT HAPPENED AGAIN. THERE IS A RECALL ON THIS VERY ISSUE ON EARLIER YEAR MODELS, CLEARLY THIS NEEDS TO BE EXPANDED TO MORE MODEL YEARS. IF SOMEONE HAD BEEN IN FRONT OF ME WHEN THIS OCCURRED THERE IS A VERY GOOD POSSIBILITY I WOULD HAVE HIT THE BACK OF THEIR VEHICLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/4/2014 - LAUREL, MD
DRIVING ON HIGHWAY AT 60MPH TRAFFIC SLOWED SUDENLY WHILE PRESSING DOWN ON BRAKES WHEN TO FLOOR I SWERVED TO AVOID SLOWING TRAFFIC AND RAN OFF SHOULDER IN TO GRASS AND SMALL TREES TO COME TO A STOP HAD TRUCK TOWED TO MY HOUSE FOUND LINE OVER GAS TANK SPLIT OPEN THEIR WAS NO PEDAL AT ALL AND NO WARNING LIGHT FOR BRAKES UNTILL ALL THE FLUID DRIPED OUT IN TO MY DRIVEWAY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/19/2014 - ANDERSON, IN
BRAKE LINES HAVE RUSTED OUT. ABS WARNING LIGHT CAME ON, THEN SOON AFTER ABS SERVICE LIGHT CAME ON. HAD TO REPLACE ALL OF THE LINES AND 3 CALIPERS WHERE LINES HAD RUSTED TO THE CALIPER. VEHICLE ONLY HAS 41200 MILES ON IT. COST ME $861 TO HAVE THEM REPLACED. SERVICE TECHNICIAN SAID HE HAD NEVER SEEN LINES THAT WERE THAT BAD FOR A VEHICLE WITH SUCH LOW MILAGE. ONE OF THE LINES CRUMBLED AT THE TOUCH WHEN IT WAS REMOVED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/22/2014 - WALLINGFORD, CT
BRAKE LINES BLEW FRONT AND REAR WHEN A MOTORCYCLE IN FRONT OF ME SLAMMED HIS BRAKES IN AN EMERGENCY STOP. LUCKILY HE WAS TOWARDS THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, I SLAMMED MY BRAKES AND MY PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR, I QUICKLY SWERVED AND DOWNSHIFTED AND EBRAKED AND MIRACULOUSLY WAS ABLE TO COME TO A SWERVING STOP AVOIDING COLLISION BUT IT COULD HAVE BEEN MUCH WORSE IF I HADN'T BEEN ABLE TO REACT SO QUICKLY. MY TRUCK IS VERY LOW MILEAGE AND METICULOUSLY MAINTAINED, I HAVE OWNED IT SINCE 2009. THERE AREN'T ANY OTHER CARS OUT THERE THAT WOULD HAVE A BRAKE LINE FAILURE WITHIN 8 YEARS AND ONLY 64K MILES, I'M VERY UPSET OVER WHAT HAPPENED.

View Details

TIRES: TREAD/BELT

9/8/2014 - PHOENIX, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500 THAT WAS EQUIPPED WITH BF GOODRICH COMMERCIAL T/A TIRES, SIZE LT265/75R16. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THREE OF THE FOUR TIRES EXPERIENCED TREAD SEPARATION WITHIN THE PAST SIX MONTHS. EACH TIRE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED, EXCEPT FOR THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE TIRE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE TIRE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 20,000. THE VEHICLE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 180,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/14/2014 - SANDSTON, VA
BRAKE LINES FAILED, CAUSING ME TO RUN OFF THE ROAD WHEN TRYING TO AVOID HITTING A DEER. HAD TO REPLACE ALL THE LINES DUE TO CORROSION ON MANY OF THEM.

View Details

TIRES: SIDEWALL

8/11/2014 - NOKOMIS , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500. THE VEHICLE IS EQUIPPED WITH FEDERAL COURAGIA A/T TIRES, SIZE 33512.50R/20LT (NA). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SIDEWALLS OF THE TIRES CONTAINED BUBBLES. THE TIRES WERE NOT REPLACED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE TIRE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 103,000 AND THE VEHICLE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 100,000.

View Details

STEERING

7/25/2014 - OGDEN, UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 40 MPH, THE PIVOT ARM FAILED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 63,000. UPDATED 8/28/14

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/16/2014 - LITTLETON, CO
7-12-14, 11:15 MTN TIME MY WIFE AND I WERE DRIVING WESTBOUND ON I-76, IN A 2006 CHEVY SILVERADO, 2500 HD DURAMAX DIESEL TOWING A 24" CATALINA 5TH WHEEL, APPROXIMATELY 6,500 LBS, IN THE RIGHT HAND LANE, AT APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH IN COMMERCE CITY, CO APPROACHING 104TH AVE. AT THE 104TH AVE OVERPASS A DRUNK DRIVER PULLED OUT FROM BEHIND THE OVERPASS SUPPORT COLUMN IN THE CENTER MEDIUM AREA OF THE DIVIDED HIGHWAY APPROXIMATELY 1-2 CAR LENGTHS IN FRONT OF US. WE IMMEDIATELY HIT HIS VEHICLE IN THE RIGHT REAR. AT THE TIME HE WAS MOVING FORWARD 2-5 MPH. THE COLLISION WAS CATASTROPHIC WITH VERY SIGNIFICANT DAMAGE TO ALL VEHICLES. THE FRONT AIRBAGS OF THE 2006 CHEVY SILVERADO DID NOT DEPLOY. THIS VEHICLE IS A ONE OWNER VEHICLE. IN 2007 IT WAS INVOLVED IN A FRONTAL ACCIDENT IN WHICH A DRIVER TURNED IN FRONT OF THE DRIVER AT AN INTERSECTION RESULTING IN A FRONTAL COLLISION AT 35 MPH AND THE FRONTAL AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. CHEVY DID THE REPAIR AND CERTIFIED THE REPAIR OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds