Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500 - 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 135 complaints filed for the 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (2) Structure (6) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (9) Fuel System Diesel (3) Service Brakes (24) Suspension (5) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Engine (1) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (10) Visibility (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (25) Trailer Hitches (2) Wheels (1)
Equipment (4) Power Train (30) Steering (17)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

10/22/2014 - WALLINGFORD, CT
BRAKE LINES BLEW FRONT AND REAR WHEN A MOTORCYCLE IN FRONT OF ME SLAMMED HIS BRAKES IN AN EMERGENCY STOP. LUCKILY HE WAS TOWARDS THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, I SLAMMED MY BRAKES AND MY PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR, I QUICKLY SWERVED AND DOWNSHIFTED AND EBRAKED AND MIRACULOUSLY WAS ABLE TO COME TO A SWERVING STOP AVOIDING COLLISION BUT IT COULD HAVE BEEN MUCH WORSE IF I HADN'T BEEN ABLE TO REACT SO QUICKLY. MY TRUCK IS VERY LOW MILEAGE AND METICULOUSLY MAINTAINED, I HAVE OWNED IT SINCE 2009. THERE AREN'T ANY OTHER CARS OUT THERE THAT WOULD HAVE A BRAKE LINE FAILURE WITHIN 8 YEARS AND ONLY 64K MILES, I'M VERY UPSET OVER WHAT HAPPENED.

View Details

TIRES: TREAD/BELT

9/8/2014 - PHOENIX, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500 THAT WAS EQUIPPED WITH BF GOODRICH COMMERCIAL T/A TIRES, SIZE LT265/75R16. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THREE OF THE FOUR TIRES EXPERIENCED TREAD SEPARATION WITHIN THE PAST SIX MONTHS. EACH TIRE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED, EXCEPT FOR THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE TIRE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE TIRE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 20,000. THE VEHICLE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 180,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/14/2014 - SANDSTON, VA
BRAKE LINES FAILED, CAUSING ME TO RUN OFF THE ROAD WHEN TRYING TO AVOID HITTING A DEER. HAD TO REPLACE ALL THE LINES DUE TO CORROSION ON MANY OF THEM.

View Details

TIRES: SIDEWALL

8/11/2014 - NOKOMIS , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500. THE VEHICLE IS EQUIPPED WITH FEDERAL COURAGIA A/T TIRES, SIZE 33512.50R/20LT (NA). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SIDEWALLS OF THE TIRES CONTAINED BUBBLES. THE TIRES WERE NOT REPLACED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE TIRE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 103,000 AND THE VEHICLE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 100,000.

View Details

STEERING

7/25/2014 - OGDEN, UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 40 MPH, THE PIVOT ARM FAILED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 63,000. UPDATED 8/28/14

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/16/2014 - LITTLETON, CO
7-12-14, 11:15 MTN TIME MY WIFE AND I WERE DRIVING WESTBOUND ON I-76, IN A 2006 CHEVY SILVERADO, 2500 HD DURAMAX DIESEL TOWING A 24" CATALINA 5TH WHEEL, APPROXIMATELY 6,500 LBS, IN THE RIGHT HAND LANE, AT APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH IN COMMERCE CITY, CO APPROACHING 104TH AVE. AT THE 104TH AVE OVERPASS A DRUNK DRIVER PULLED OUT FROM BEHIND THE OVERPASS SUPPORT COLUMN IN THE CENTER MEDIUM AREA OF THE DIVIDED HIGHWAY APPROXIMATELY 1-2 CAR LENGTHS IN FRONT OF US. WE IMMEDIATELY HIT HIS VEHICLE IN THE RIGHT REAR. AT THE TIME HE WAS MOVING FORWARD 2-5 MPH. THE COLLISION WAS CATASTROPHIC WITH VERY SIGNIFICANT DAMAGE TO ALL VEHICLES. THE FRONT AIRBAGS OF THE 2006 CHEVY SILVERADO DID NOT DEPLOY. THIS VEHICLE IS A ONE OWNER VEHICLE. IN 2007 IT WAS INVOLVED IN A FRONTAL ACCIDENT IN WHICH A DRIVER TURNED IN FRONT OF THE DRIVER AT AN INTERSECTION RESULTING IN A FRONTAL COLLISION AT 35 MPH AND THE FRONTAL AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. CHEVY DID THE REPAIR AND CERTIFIED THE REPAIR OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/16/2014 - LITTLETON, CO
7-12-14, 11:15 MTN TIME MY WIFE AND I WERE DRIVING WESTBOUND ON I-76, IN A 2006 CHEVY SILVERADO, 2500 HD DURAMAX DIESEL TOWING A 24" CATALINA 5TH WHEEL, APPROXIMATELY 6,500 LBS, IN THE RIGHT HAND LANE, AT APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH IN COMMERCE CITY, CO APPROACHING 104TH AVE. AT THE 104TH AVE OVERPASS A DRUNK DRIVER PULLED OUT FROM BEHIND THE OVERPASS SUPPORT COLUMN IN THE CENTER MEDIUM AREA OF THE DIVIDED HIGHWAY APPROXIMATELY 1-2 CAR LENGTHS IN FRONT OF US. WE IMMEDIATELY HIT HIS VEHICLE IN THE RIGHT REAR. AT THE TIME HE WAS MOVING FORWARD 2-5 MPH. THE COLLISION WAS CATASTROPHIC WITH VERY SIGNIFICANT DAMAGE TO ALL VEHICLES. THE FRONT AIRBAGS OF THE 2006 CHEVY SILVERADO DID NOT DEPLOY. THIS VEHICLE IS A ONE OWNER VEHICLE. IN 2007 IT WAS INVOLVED IN A FRONTAL ACCIDENT IN WHICH A DRIVER TURNED IN FRONT OF THE DRIVER AT AN INTERSECTION RESULTING IN A FRONTAL COLLISION AT 35 MPH AND THE FRONTAL AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. CHEVY DID THE REPAIR AND CERTIFIED THE REPAIR OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/12/2014 - HAYES , VA
MY WIFE WHILE DRIVING THE ABOVE TRUCK STATED THAT THE BRAKE PEDDLE "FELT FUNNY" AND CONTINUED TO DRIVE IT. SHE STATED THAT SHE HAD ALMOST COMPLETELY LOST THE ABILITY TO STOP. WHEN I WAS ABLE TO INSPECT THE TRUCK I FOUND A RUPTURED BRAKE LINE THAT LEAD TO THE REAR BRAKES. ALSO ALL THE BRAKE FLUID HAD LEAKED OUT OF THE RUPTURED LINE. I HAVE SINCE HAVE HAD ALL THE BRAKE LINES REPLACED WITH STAINLESS STEEL LINES. I AM LEARNING THAT THIS IS AN ON GOING ISSUE WITH THIS MODEL OF TRUCK AND MY CONCERN SHOULD BE OBVIOUS. MY WIFE COULD HAVE SERIOUSLY INJURED HERSELF OR OTHERS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/28/2014 - DANVILLE, NH
I WAS IN FAST LANE ON HIGHWAY APPROACHING SOME CONSTRUCTION AND WAS CUT OFF BY SOMEONE WHO PASSED ME ON THE RIGHT . I STEPPED HARD ON MY BRAKES AND THE PEDAL WENT ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR . . I HIT THE PERSON IN FRONT OF ME AND RUINED MY FRONT BUMPER. UPON INSPECTION OF MY VEHICLE I NOTICED BRAKE FLUID DRIPPING FROM FRAME RAIL . .I LOOKED AND NOTICED A LINE RUPTURED DUE TO RUST / ROT AND ALL THE BRAKE LINES WHERE IN BAD CONDITION . I WAS ABLE TO CRUTCH THE TRUCK TO A REPAIR SHOP AND THE REPAIRED THE STEEL LINE. MECHANIC MADE ME AWARE OF THE TERRIBLE CONDITION ALL THE STEEL LINES WERE IN ( FUEL LINES, TRANSMISSION LINES,ECT) AND THAT THE BRAKE BLEEDERS ON FRONT CALIPERS WHERE ALSO ROTTED BEYOND SAVING . . I BELIEVE ALL THESE LINES SHOULD HAVE BEEN STAINLESS STEEL AS THEY ARE EXPOSED TO THE ELEMENTS AND I'M LUCKY TO HAVE NOT TOTALED THE TRUCK , INJURED SOMEONE ELSE AND OR MYSELF

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/20/2014 - ATOKA, OK
TRANSMISSION JUST WENT WHEN DRIVING HOME FROM OKLAHOMA CITY, OKLAHOMA. I HAD TO DRIVE IT IN FIRST GEAR ALL THE WAY HOME FROM SHAWNEE, OKLAHOMA TO ATOKA, OKLAHOMA.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds