Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500 - 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 144 complaints filed for the 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (2) Structure (7) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (10) Fuel System Diesel (3) Service Brakes (30) Suspension (5) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Engine (2) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (11) Visibility (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (25) Trailer Hitches (2) Wheels (1)
Equipment (4) Power Train (31) Steering (17)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

4/22/2015 - GERMANTOWN, OH
I WAS POSITIONING MY CHEVY SILVERADO 2500 YEAR 2006 TO HOOK UP MY TRAVEL TRAILER RV. AS I WAS BACKING UP TO LINE UP THE HITCH TO THE RV BALL THE BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR AND I LOST ALL BRAKING. I HAD TO PUT THE GEAR SHIFT IN PARK TO STOP THE SLIGHT ROLL. I LOOKED UNDER THE TRUCK AND THERE WAS BRAKE FLUID ALL OVER MY DRIVEWAY WHERE IT HAD COME OUT OF A CORRODED BRAKE LINE UNDER THE DRIVERS SEAT. THIS TRUCK ONLY HAS 97,797 MILE ON IT. I AM VERY FORTUNATE THAT THE CORRODED BRAKE LINE FAILED BEFORE I WAS ABLE TO HOOK UP THE RV AND START DRIVING, I COULD HAVE HAD A SERIOUS ACCIDENT THAT MIGHT HAVE KILLED SOMEONE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/25/2015 - LITITZ , PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS CORROSION ON THE FRAME OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 64,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/11/2015 - AMELIA, OH
WHILE I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE STREET MY BRAKES WHEN OUT. I WAS ABLE TO MAKE IT TO MY DRIVEWAY TO DISCOVER MY BRAKE LINE RUTSTED AND THERE WAS A 1 CM HOLE IN THE BRAKE LINE.

View Details

ENGINE

2/25/2015 - GREENWICH, CT
TRANSMISSION SLIPPING, BANGING PERIODICALLY 1,2,3 GEAR AND DOWN SHIFT. TRANSMISSION GAUGE RED-LINED, NOW IS NOT PROPERLY SHOWING TEMP. OIL GAUGE IS MOVING 0 TO 80 ALL THE TIME. SOME LIGHTS HAVE BEEN GOING OUT ON PANEL AND STEERING WHEEL. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON AND OFF. TRANSMISSION COMPANY DIAGNOSED AS A POSSIBLE ELECTRICAL ISSUE AND CHEVY STATES THE TRANSMISSION BANG AND SLIP IS COMMON AND NO REPAIRS ARE NEEDED? HELP.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/25/2015 - GREENWICH, CT
TRANSMISSION SLIPPING, BANGING PERIODICALLY 1,2,3 GEAR AND DOWN SHIFT. TRANSMISSION GAUGE RED-LINED, NOW IS NOT PROPERLY SHOWING TEMP. OIL GAUGE IS MOVING 0 TO 80 ALL THE TIME. SOME LIGHTS HAVE BEEN GOING OUT ON PANEL AND STEERING WHEEL. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON AND OFF. TRANSMISSION COMPANY DIAGNOSED AS A POSSIBLE ELECTRICAL ISSUE AND CHEVY STATES THE TRANSMISSION BANG AND SLIP IS COMMON AND NO REPAIRS ARE NEEDED? HELP.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/25/2015 - GREENWICH, CT
TRANSMISSION SLIPPING, BANGING PERIODICALLY 1,2,3 GEAR AND DOWN SHIFT. TRANSMISSION GAUGE RED-LINED, NOW IS NOT PROPERLY SHOWING TEMP. OIL GAUGE IS MOVING 0 TO 80 ALL THE TIME. SOME LIGHTS HAVE BEEN GOING OUT ON PANEL AND STEERING WHEEL. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON AND OFF. TRANSMISSION COMPANY DIAGNOSED AS A POSSIBLE ELECTRICAL ISSUE AND CHEVY STATES THE TRANSMISSION BANG AND SLIP IS COMMON AND NO REPAIRS ARE NEEDED? HELP.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/17/2015 - SWARTZ CREEK, MI
I HAD A BRAKE LINE BRAKE DRIVING MY BABY TO THE DOC, TOWED IF TO THE SHOP & FOUND OUT ALL THE BRAKE LINES & HARDWARE WERE RUSTED BEYOND REPAIR & EVERYTHING NEEDED REPLACED, WE FOUND THAT GM HAD USED BAD PRODUCTS ON THEIR CHEVY TRUCKS FROM 99-07 BUT ONLY RECALLED 99-03, APPARENTLY THERE'S NOT ENOUGH DEATHS IN MODEL YEARS 04-07 TO RECALL, WELL IF WE WERE GOING FASTER IT PROB WOULDN'T HAVE ENDED WELL FOR US, THE COST OF THE REPAIRS WERE AROUND $700.

View Details

TIRES

1/23/2015 - GAINESVILLE, FL
UNIROYAL LAREDO HD/H LT265/75 R15 HAD A TREAD SEPARATION THAT CAUSED CONSIDERABLE SHEET METAL DAMAGE WITHIN AND BEHIND THE RIGHT REAR WHEEL WELL OF MY CHEVY SILVERADO 2500 HD PICKUP. THE INCIDENT OCCURRED AT 60 MPH WHILE I WAS TOWING A TRAVEL TRAILER. I NEVER LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND WAS ABLE TO BRING IT SAFELY TO A CONTROLLED STOP. THE TIRE WAS ONE OF FOUR INSTALLED NEW BY THE AUTO DEALER IN EARLY 2012 WHEN I PURCHASED THE TRUCK USED. THE TIRE HAD APPROXIMATELY 17,000 MILES OF USE WHEN THE SEPARATION OCCURRED. I ALWAYS KEPT THE TIRE INFLATED TO THE TRUCK AND TIRE MANUFACTURERS' RECOMMENDED 80 PSI AND HAD JUST INFLATED THE TIRE TO THAT PRESSURE (IT WAS AT 74 PSI BEFORE I TOPPED IT OFF) THREE DAYS EARLIER, BEFORE STARTING MY TRIP. I NOTICED A RECALL OF TIRES OF SIMILAR VINTAGE IN THE UNIROYAL LAREDO HD/H LT 245/75 R16 SERIES, AND I AM CURIOUS IF MANY TREAD SEPARATIONS HAVE ALSO BEEN REPORTED FOR THE 265/75 R16 SERIES OR IF THIS IS A ONE OFF INCIDENT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/11/2015 - BARTLETT, IL
DURING A NORMAL STOP AT A LIGHT, JUST AS THE VEHICLE WAS GETTING CLOSE TO A COMPLETE STOP THERE WAS A NOTICEABLE BUMP FELT IN THE BRAKE PEDAL AND RELEASE OF BRAKE APPLICATION ON ITS OWN WHILE STILL PUSHING ON THE BRAKE PEDAL. THIS OCCURRED AS VEHICLE WAS SLOWING, JUST BEFORE A COMPLETE STOP WAS ACHIEVED . AFTER RESEARCHING THE PROBLEM WHICH SEEMS TO BE WELL KNOWN IN AUTOMOTIVE FORUMS AND BY GM. I REMOVED THE FRONT WHEEL SPEED SENSORS, CLEANED THE CORROSION FROM THE MOUNTING PADS AND REASSEMBLED. BEFORE CLEANING THE SENSOR MOUNTING THE PROBLEM WOULD OCCUR 80-90% OF THE TIME BRAKES WERE APPLIED. AFTER CLEANING IT HAS NOT HAPPENED AGAIN. THERE IS A RECALL ON THIS VERY ISSUE ON EARLIER YEAR MODELS, CLEARLY THIS NEEDS TO BE EXPANDED TO MORE MODEL YEARS. IF SOMEONE HAD BEEN IN FRONT OF ME WHEN THIS OCCURRED THERE IS A VERY GOOD POSSIBILITY I WOULD HAVE HIT THE BACK OF THEIR VEHICLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/4/2014 - LAUREL, MD
DRIVING ON HIGHWAY AT 60MPH TRAFFIC SLOWED SUDENLY WHILE PRESSING DOWN ON BRAKES WHEN TO FLOOR I SWERVED TO AVOID SLOWING TRAFFIC AND RAN OFF SHOULDER IN TO GRASS AND SMALL TREES TO COME TO A STOP HAD TRUCK TOWED TO MY HOUSE FOUND LINE OVER GAS TANK SPLIT OPEN THEIR WAS NO PEDAL AT ALL AND NO WARNING LIGHT FOR BRAKES UNTILL ALL THE FLUID DRIPED OUT IN TO MY DRIVEWAY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds