Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500 - 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 170 complaints filed for the 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (2) Structure (8) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (13) Fuel System Diesel (3) Service Brakes (45) Suspension (5) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Engine (3) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (12) Visibility (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (25) Trailer Hitches (2) Wheels (1)
Equipment (4) Power Train (33) Steering (19)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

9/21/2017 - HOQUIAM, WA
THE RIGHT FRONT BRAKE LINE ON MY TRUCK RUSTED THROUGH. I LOST BRAKING WHEN LOADING MY 10 FT CAMPER IN THE DRIVEWAY. I TOOK THE TRUCK TO DEALERSHIP AND IT WAS FOUND THAT ALL THE BRAKE LINES ARE RUSTED AND IN DANGER OF FAILURE AT ANY TIME. ALL OF THE BRAKE LINES ON THE TRUCK ARE BARE METAL AND PRONE TO RUST. NEW BRAKE LINES ARE PAINTED TO PREVENT THIS FROM HAPPENING. HAD TO BUY COMPLETE BRAKE LINE KIT TO GET RIGHT FRONT LINE FOR REPLACEMENT BY DEALERSHIP FOR $452.85 . THEY RECOMMEND THAT I REPLACE ALL OF THE LINES. I CALLED CHEVROLET CUSTOMER SERVICE, COMPLAINT # 8-3176545196. I HAVE GOTTEN NO COOPERATION, THEY HAVE TOLD ME THERE IS NOTHING THAT THEY CAN DO. BECAUSE OF THIS POTENTIALLY CAUSING A CATASTROPHIC FATAL ACCIDENT DUE TO COMPLETE OR PARTIAL LOSS OF BRAKING POWER - IT GIVES NO WARNING UNTIL FAILURE OCCURS. I TOLD THEM THEY NEEDED TO PUT OUT AN ALERT TO OTHER DRIVERS AND THEY DECLINED STATING THAT THEY DID NOT HAVE ENOUGH COMPLAINTS. THIS TRUCK ONLY HAS 99546 MILES ON IT AND IN ALL OF MY YEARS WORKING WITH AUTOMOBILES I HAVE NEVER SEEN A BREAK LINE RUST THROUGH.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/26/2017 - MANSFIELD, OH
APPEARS GM'S FAULTY BLOWER MOTOR RESISTOR HAS CLAIMED MY 2ND TRUCK. FIRE STARTED WHILE PARKED IN PARKING LOT. FIRE OCCURS ON PASSENGER SIDE AROUND GLOVE BOX AND GROWS. THIS TRUCK GAVE NO INDICATION OF "MELTING WIRES" THERE WAS NO SMELL OR SMOKE WHEN PARKED. THIS PART OF A SPECIAL COVERAGE #10240

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/24/2017 - MECHANICSVILLE, VA
SUDDEN FAILURE OF BRAKES DURING LOW SPEED STOP, BRAKE LINE FAILED NEAR FRAME UNDERSIDE IN DRIVER SEAT AREA. WAS ABLE TO QUICKLY STOP VEHICLE WITH EMERGENCY BRAKE JUST SHORT OF GOING INTO HEAVY TRAFFIC. THIS TRUCK IS METICULOUSLY MAINTAINED INCLUDING UNDERSIDE WASHES, NO BODY RUST ANYWHERE AND WAS UNDERCOAT PROTECTED FROM NEW. SHOCKED A LEVEL OF RUST ON WHAT ARE APPARENTLY HIGH CARBON STEEL LINES, THESE SHOULD BE STAINLESS STEEL.

View Details

TIRES

3/21/2017 - DELAVAN, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500 EQUIPPED WITH COOPER TIRES, DOT NUMBER: UTV6C8E4808, TIRE LINE: COOPER DISCOVERER ATR, TIRE SIZE: 265/75/R16. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 63 MPH, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL VIBRATION FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TREAD SEPARATED FROM THE TIRE WHICH CAUSED DAMAGE TO THE BED OF THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON THE REAR DRIVER SIDE TIRE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE TIRE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE ON THE VEHICLE WAS 114,900.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/26/2016 - MILLERTON, NY
WHEN NORMAL STOPPING ABS ACTIVATES AND KEEPS ACTIVATING UNTIL PEDAL GOES TO FLOOR AND BRAKES DO NO FUNCTION, THERE ARE NO WARNING LITES AND NO INDICATION OF A PROBLEM.I WAS UNDER THE IMPRESSION THAT ANY ABS FAILURE WOULD REVERT SYSTEM TO REGULAR BRAKE SYSTEM. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/15/2016 - MEDFORD, OR
BLOWER MOTOR FOR THE HVAC STARTED ALL BY ITS SELF AND RAN FULL BLAST. THE CONTROL PANEL HAD NO EFFECT ON THE SYSTEM . I COULD NOT CONTROL OR SHUT OFF THE BLOWER. EVEN WHEN THE TRUCK WAS PARKED, IN PARK AND SHUT DOWN AND THE KEYS REMOVED THE BLOWER CONTINUED TO RUN AT FULL BLAST. HAD TO DISCONNECT THE BATTERY. LATER AFTER HAVING TO DRIVE THE TRUCK TO WORK I FOLLOWED THE FUSE SCHEMATIC AND REMOVED THE GREEN I BELIEVE FUSE BREAKER FROM THE UNDER HOOD FUSE BOX. I HAVE LEFT THIS FUSE REMOVED SO THE BATTERY DOESN'T RUN DOWN.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/2/2016 - KINGSPORT, TN
I WAS DRIVING MY TRUCK ON 3/30/16 ANOTHER VEHICLE PULLED OUT IN FRONT OF ME. I SLAMMED ON MY BRAKES TO AVOID A WRECK. AT THE NEXT RED LIGHT I NOTICED MY BRAKES WERE SOFT. I PULLED OVER TO CHECK MY FLUID. IT WAS DOWN ABOUT AN INCH. I DECIDED TO TRY TO MAKE IT HOME. THEN A SERVICE BRAKE LIGHT CAME ON. I DID MAKE IT HOME. I CRAWLED UNDER THE TRUCK AND BRAKE FLUID WAS FROM THE FRONT TO THE BACK OF THE TRUCK. I NOTICED TWO COMPROMISED METAL BRAKE LINES ON THE DRIVER SIDE FRAME RAIL THAT WERE RUSTED THROUGH. I TOUCHED THE LINES AND THEY WERE FALLING APART AND FLAKING OFF METAL AT THE TOUCH. I CONTACTED CHEVROLET AND IT WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER. THEY QUOTED ME $1,100 TO REPAIR THE PROBLEM. MY TRUCK IS A 2006 I BOUGHT IT BRAND NEW IT HAS 59,500 MILES ON IT AND I PAID RIGHT AT $50,000 FOR MY TRUCK. IT IS UNACCEPTABLE FOR THIS TO HAPPEN IN LESS THAN 10 YEARS OF OWNERSHIP. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE SINCE CHEVROLET USED INFERIOR AND CHEAP PRODUCTS IN THEIR TRUCKS. THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THIS. SOMEONE COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED THE OTHER DAY WHEN I WAS DRIVING. I REPLACED ALL OF THE ROTORS AND BRAKE PADS AND ONE CALIPER NOT 9 MONTHS AGO. I NEVER THOUGHT THAT MY METAL LINES WERE COMPROMISED UNTIL I HAD A FAILURE. I HAVE LOST ALOT OF FAITH IN GM DUE TO THIS ISSUE. I AM STILL WORKING WITH GM AND THE DEALER TO GET THE PROBLEM RESOLVED, BUT IT IS NOT LOOKING GOOD. I AM WONDERING HOW MANY OTHER VEHICLES ARE COMPROMISED. I WAS TALKING TO MY UNCLE THE OTHER DAY AND A GENTLEMAN OVERHEARD MY CONVERSATION. HE TOLD ME THAT HE HAD A 2003 2500 CHEVROLET THE BRAKES ALSO FAILED ON. HE WAS TOWING A TRAILER AND TOATLED HIS TRUCK. I AM COMPLETELY OUT OF WARRANTY AS OF NEXT MONTH. GM SAYS TO KEEP MY BILL FOR THE REPLACEMENT OF THE LINES THAT I MAY GET PAID BACK. I DONT THINK THAT IS LIKELY AT ALL. THIS SHOULD BE A RECALL BECAUSE SAFETY IS COMPROMISED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/1/2016 - GALENA, OH
BREAK LINES ARE COMPLETELY RUSTED AND I AM AFRAID THEY WILL GO OUT WITHOUT WARNING. TRUCK ONLY HAS 67,000 MILES ON IT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/11/2016 - SHREVEPORT, LA
AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT COMING ON, HAVE NEVER HAD AN ACCIDENT IN THIS TRUCK.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/27/2015 - MCCONNELSVILLE, OH
BRAKE LINE FAILURE DUE TO EXCESSIVE CORROSION AS THE LINES LAY ON THE FRAME. LUCKILY, THE BREAK WAS AT HOME AND I WAS ABLE TO GET IT INTO THE SHOP FOR REPAIR. LESS THAN A MONTH LATER, ANOTHER LINE BROKE AS I WAS PULLING INTO MY DRIVE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds