Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500 - 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 172 complaints filed for the 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (2) Structure (8) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (14) Fuel System Diesel (3) Service Brakes (46) Suspension (5) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Engine (4) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (12) Visibility (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (25) Trailer Hitches (2) Wheels (1)
Equipment (4) Power Train (33) Steering (19)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

4/12/2018 - FAIR HAVEN, MI
THE REAR BRAKES FAILED WITH LITTLE OR NO WARNING. THE BRAKES WENT FROM GOOD TO MUSHY WITHOUT WARNING LIGHT. I ADDED BRAKE FLUID TO TEST IN DRIVE WAY. PUMPED THE BRAKES AND THE WARNING LIGHT CAME ON. THE REAR LINE FAILED. I HAD THE TRUCK INSPECTED AT A GENERAL MOTORS DEALER IN JANUARY OF 2018 AND ALSO AT THE END OF FEBRUARY. THE SAID MY VEHICLE IS MAINTAINED IN EXCELLENT CONDITION. IF THIS COULD HAPPEN TO ME....ALL GM VEHICLES WITH THESE BRAKE LINES ARE AT RISK. I READ THEIR WAS A SAFETY BULLETIN 13-05-22-001. TODAY IS 4/12/2018...BECAUSE I TOW A BOAT TO FLORIDA I HAD THE TRUCK CHECKED 2 TIMES IN THE LAST 12 WEEKS....IF THE DEALERS CAN'T DETECT FAULTY LINES....A RECALL IS NEEDED.

View Details

ENGINE

2/20/2018 - SOUTH DAYTONA, FL
UPON STARTING MY TRUCK, THE OIL PRESSURE GAUGE IMMEDIATELY GOES TO 80 WITH NO ACCELERATION. AT THIS POINT, THERE IS NO NOISE OR OTHER LIGHTS COMING ON TO WARN OF OTHER PROBLEMS. THIS PROBLEM STARTED A FEW DAYS AGO. WHEN TRUCK IS IN MOTION THE OIL PRESSURE GAUGE CONTINUES TO STAY ON 80. I KNOW THE 2006 CHEVY 2500 HEAVY DUTY 4X4 HAVE HAD RECALLS ON DIFFERENT THINGS, BUT NEED TO SEE IF THIS IS A PROBLEM FOR OTHER CHEVY TRUCKS AS WELL. I HAVE READ SEVERAL RECALLS ABOUT THESE TRUCKS AND A LOT OF THEM WE HAVE NEVER BEEN NOTIFIED TO TAKE IT TO A DEALER TO BE CHECKED. ANY HELP YOU CAN GIVE US WOULD BE DEEPLY APPRECIATED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/20/2018 - SOUTH DAYTONA, FL
UPON STARTING MY TRUCK, THE OIL PRESSURE GAUGE IMMEDIATELY GOES TO 80 WITH NO ACCELERATION. AT THIS POINT, THERE IS NO NOISE OR OTHER LIGHTS COMING ON TO WARN OF OTHER PROBLEMS. THIS PROBLEM STARTED A FEW DAYS AGO. WHEN TRUCK IS IN MOTION THE OIL PRESSURE GAUGE CONTINUES TO STAY ON 80. I KNOW THE 2006 CHEVY 2500 HEAVY DUTY 4X4 HAVE HAD RECALLS ON DIFFERENT THINGS, BUT NEED TO SEE IF THIS IS A PROBLEM FOR OTHER CHEVY TRUCKS AS WELL. I HAVE READ SEVERAL RECALLS ABOUT THESE TRUCKS AND A LOT OF THEM WE HAVE NEVER BEEN NOTIFIED TO TAKE IT TO A DEALER TO BE CHECKED. ANY HELP YOU CAN GIVE US WOULD BE DEEPLY APPRECIATED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/20/2018 - SOUTH DAYTONA, FL
UPON STARTING MY TRUCK, THE OIL PRESSURE GAUGE IMMEDIATELY GOES TO 80 WITH NO ACCELERATION. AT THIS POINT, THERE IS NO NOISE OR OTHER LIGHTS COMING ON TO WARN OF OTHER PROBLEMS. THIS PROBLEM STARTED A FEW DAYS AGO. WHEN TRUCK IS IN MOTION THE OIL PRESSURE GAUGE CONTINUES TO STAY ON 80. I KNOW THE 2006 CHEVY 2500 HEAVY DUTY 4X4 HAVE HAD RECALLS ON DIFFERENT THINGS, BUT NEED TO SEE IF THIS IS A PROBLEM FOR OTHER CHEVY TRUCKS AS WELL. I HAVE READ SEVERAL RECALLS ABOUT THESE TRUCKS AND A LOT OF THEM WE HAVE NEVER BEEN NOTIFIED TO TAKE IT TO A DEALER TO BE CHECKED. ANY HELP YOU CAN GIVE US WOULD BE DEEPLY APPRECIATED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/21/2017 - HOQUIAM, WA
THE RIGHT FRONT BRAKE LINE ON MY TRUCK RUSTED THROUGH. I LOST BRAKING WHEN LOADING MY 10 FT CAMPER IN THE DRIVEWAY. I TOOK THE TRUCK TO DEALERSHIP AND IT WAS FOUND THAT ALL THE BRAKE LINES ARE RUSTED AND IN DANGER OF FAILURE AT ANY TIME. ALL OF THE BRAKE LINES ON THE TRUCK ARE BARE METAL AND PRONE TO RUST. NEW BRAKE LINES ARE PAINTED TO PREVENT THIS FROM HAPPENING. HAD TO BUY COMPLETE BRAKE LINE KIT TO GET RIGHT FRONT LINE FOR REPLACEMENT BY DEALERSHIP FOR $452.85 . THEY RECOMMEND THAT I REPLACE ALL OF THE LINES. I CALLED CHEVROLET CUSTOMER SERVICE, COMPLAINT # 8-3176545196. I HAVE GOTTEN NO COOPERATION, THEY HAVE TOLD ME THERE IS NOTHING THAT THEY CAN DO. BECAUSE OF THIS POTENTIALLY CAUSING A CATASTROPHIC FATAL ACCIDENT DUE TO COMPLETE OR PARTIAL LOSS OF BRAKING POWER - IT GIVES NO WARNING UNTIL FAILURE OCCURS. I TOLD THEM THEY NEEDED TO PUT OUT AN ALERT TO OTHER DRIVERS AND THEY DECLINED STATING THAT THEY DID NOT HAVE ENOUGH COMPLAINTS. THIS TRUCK ONLY HAS 99546 MILES ON IT AND IN ALL OF MY YEARS WORKING WITH AUTOMOBILES I HAVE NEVER SEEN A BREAK LINE RUST THROUGH.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/26/2017 - MANSFIELD, OH
APPEARS GM'S FAULTY BLOWER MOTOR RESISTOR HAS CLAIMED MY 2ND TRUCK. FIRE STARTED WHILE PARKED IN PARKING LOT. FIRE OCCURS ON PASSENGER SIDE AROUND GLOVE BOX AND GROWS. THIS TRUCK GAVE NO INDICATION OF "MELTING WIRES" THERE WAS NO SMELL OR SMOKE WHEN PARKED. THIS PART OF A SPECIAL COVERAGE #10240

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/24/2017 - MECHANICSVILLE, VA
SUDDEN FAILURE OF BRAKES DURING LOW SPEED STOP, BRAKE LINE FAILED NEAR FRAME UNDERSIDE IN DRIVER SEAT AREA. WAS ABLE TO QUICKLY STOP VEHICLE WITH EMERGENCY BRAKE JUST SHORT OF GOING INTO HEAVY TRAFFIC. THIS TRUCK IS METICULOUSLY MAINTAINED INCLUDING UNDERSIDE WASHES, NO BODY RUST ANYWHERE AND WAS UNDERCOAT PROTECTED FROM NEW. SHOCKED A LEVEL OF RUST ON WHAT ARE APPARENTLY HIGH CARBON STEEL LINES, THESE SHOULD BE STAINLESS STEEL.

View Details

TIRES

3/21/2017 - DELAVAN, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500 EQUIPPED WITH COOPER TIRES, DOT NUMBER: UTV6C8E4808, TIRE LINE: COOPER DISCOVERER ATR, TIRE SIZE: 265/75/R16. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 63 MPH, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL VIBRATION FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TREAD SEPARATED FROM THE TIRE WHICH CAUSED DAMAGE TO THE BED OF THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON THE REAR DRIVER SIDE TIRE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE TIRE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE ON THE VEHICLE WAS 114,900.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/26/2016 - MILLERTON, NY
WHEN NORMAL STOPPING ABS ACTIVATES AND KEEPS ACTIVATING UNTIL PEDAL GOES TO FLOOR AND BRAKES DO NO FUNCTION, THERE ARE NO WARNING LITES AND NO INDICATION OF A PROBLEM.I WAS UNDER THE IMPRESSION THAT ANY ABS FAILURE WOULD REVERT SYSTEM TO REGULAR BRAKE SYSTEM. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/15/2016 - MEDFORD, OR
BLOWER MOTOR FOR THE HVAC STARTED ALL BY ITS SELF AND RAN FULL BLAST. THE CONTROL PANEL HAD NO EFFECT ON THE SYSTEM . I COULD NOT CONTROL OR SHUT OFF THE BLOWER. EVEN WHEN THE TRUCK WAS PARKED, IN PARK AND SHUT DOWN AND THE KEYS REMOVED THE BLOWER CONTINUED TO RUN AT FULL BLAST. HAD TO DISCONNECT THE BATTERY. LATER AFTER HAVING TO DRIVE THE TRUCK TO WORK I FOLLOWED THE FUSE SCHEMATIC AND REMOVED THE GREEN I BELIEVE FUSE BREAKER FROM THE UNDER HOOD FUSE BOX. I HAVE LEFT THIS FUSE REMOVED SO THE BATTERY DOESN'T RUN DOWN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds