Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500 - 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 164 complaints filed for the 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (2) Structure (8) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (11) Fuel System Diesel (3) Service Brakes (42) Suspension (5) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Engine (3) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (11) Visibility (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (25) Trailer Hitches (2) Wheels (1)
Equipment (4) Power Train (33) Steering (19)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

4/2/2016 - KINGSPORT, TN
I WAS DRIVING MY TRUCK ON 3/30/16 ANOTHER VEHICLE PULLED OUT IN FRONT OF ME. I SLAMMED ON MY BRAKES TO AVOID A WRECK. AT THE NEXT RED LIGHT I NOTICED MY BRAKES WERE SOFT. I PULLED OVER TO CHECK MY FLUID. IT WAS DOWN ABOUT AN INCH. I DECIDED TO TRY TO MAKE IT HOME. THEN A SERVICE BRAKE LIGHT CAME ON. I DID MAKE IT HOME. I CRAWLED UNDER THE TRUCK AND BRAKE FLUID WAS FROM THE FRONT TO THE BACK OF THE TRUCK. I NOTICED TWO COMPROMISED METAL BRAKE LINES ON THE DRIVER SIDE FRAME RAIL THAT WERE RUSTED THROUGH. I TOUCHED THE LINES AND THEY WERE FALLING APART AND FLAKING OFF METAL AT THE TOUCH. I CONTACTED CHEVROLET AND IT WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER. THEY QUOTED ME $1,100 TO REPAIR THE PROBLEM. MY TRUCK IS A 2006 I BOUGHT IT BRAND NEW IT HAS 59,500 MILES ON IT AND I PAID RIGHT AT $50,000 FOR MY TRUCK. IT IS UNACCEPTABLE FOR THIS TO HAPPEN IN LESS THAN 10 YEARS OF OWNERSHIP. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE SINCE CHEVROLET USED INFERIOR AND CHEAP PRODUCTS IN THEIR TRUCKS. THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THIS. SOMEONE COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED THE OTHER DAY WHEN I WAS DRIVING. I REPLACED ALL OF THE ROTORS AND BRAKE PADS AND ONE CALIPER NOT 9 MONTHS AGO. I NEVER THOUGHT THAT MY METAL LINES WERE COMPROMISED UNTIL I HAD A FAILURE. I HAVE LOST ALOT OF FAITH IN GM DUE TO THIS ISSUE. I AM STILL WORKING WITH GM AND THE DEALER TO GET THE PROBLEM RESOLVED, BUT IT IS NOT LOOKING GOOD. I AM WONDERING HOW MANY OTHER VEHICLES ARE COMPROMISED. I WAS TALKING TO MY UNCLE THE OTHER DAY AND A GENTLEMAN OVERHEARD MY CONVERSATION. HE TOLD ME THAT HE HAD A 2003 2500 CHEVROLET THE BRAKES ALSO FAILED ON. HE WAS TOWING A TRAILER AND TOATLED HIS TRUCK. I AM COMPLETELY OUT OF WARRANTY AS OF NEXT MONTH. GM SAYS TO KEEP MY BILL FOR THE REPLACEMENT OF THE LINES THAT I MAY GET PAID BACK. I DONT THINK THAT IS LIKELY AT ALL. THIS SHOULD BE A RECALL BECAUSE SAFETY IS COMPROMISED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/1/2016 - GALENA, OH
BREAK LINES ARE COMPLETELY RUSTED AND I AM AFRAID THEY WILL GO OUT WITHOUT WARNING. TRUCK ONLY HAS 67,000 MILES ON IT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/11/2016 - SHREVEPORT, LA
AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT COMING ON, HAVE NEVER HAD AN ACCIDENT IN THIS TRUCK.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/27/2015 - MCCONNELSVILLE, OH
BRAKE LINE FAILURE DUE TO EXCESSIVE CORROSION AS THE LINES LAY ON THE FRAME. LUCKILY, THE BREAK WAS AT HOME AND I WAS ABLE TO GET IT INTO THE SHOP FOR REPAIR. LESS THAN A MONTH LATER, ANOTHER LINE BROKE AS I WAS PULLING INTO MY DRIVE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/20/2015 - ELKTON, MD
LOST BRAKES WHILE DRIVING IN RESIDENTIAL NEIGHBORHOOD DUE TO RUSTED BRAKE LINE. HAD IT TOWED TO MY MECHANIC WHO DID AN INSPECTION AND SAID ALL THE BRAKE LINES WERE RUSTED AT THE BRACKETS HOLDING THE LINES. MY MECHANIC IS IN THE PROCESS OF REPLACING THE BRAKE LINES. I TALKED TO SEVERAL OTHER PEOPLE WITH THE SAME YEAR TRUCK AND BOTH HAD ALSO EXPERIENCED BRAKE LINE FAILURE FROM RUST. TRUCK HAS ONLY 20K MILES AND HAS ONLY BEEN IN THE SALT TWICE AS I HAD AN OLDER VEHICLE I USED WHEN IT SNOWED. GM NEEDS TO CORRECT THIS SAFETY DEFECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/7/2015 - NEWALLA, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500. WHILE THE TODDLER WAS PLACED IN THE DRIVER SEAT OF THE VEHICLE, SHE TURNED THE KEY TO THE ACCESSORY POSITION. THE VEHICLE ROLLED DOWN THE HILL AND CRASHED INTO A TREE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE TODDLER DID NOT SUSTAIN ANY INJURIES. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 215,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/7/2015 - NEWALLA, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500. WHILE THE TODDLER WAS PLACED IN THE DRIVER SEAT OF THE VEHICLE, SHE TURNED THE KEY TO THE ACCESSORY POSITION. THE VEHICLE ROLLED DOWN THE HILL AND CRASHED INTO A TREE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE TODDLER DID NOT SUSTAIN ANY INJURIES. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 215,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/17/2015 - RARITAN, NJ
ONE BRAKE LINE BURST FROM BEING RUSTED OUT AND THE REMAINING 4 FRONT BRAKE LINES ARE IN BAD SHAPE AND NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE BRAKE LINE BURST WHILE I WAS PULLING MY BOAT TRAILER AND I NARROWLY AVOIDED AN ACCIDENT. I WAS IN A RESIDENTIAL AREA AND WAS ONLY GOING ABOUT 15MPH.AND WAS ABLE TO APPLY THE EMERGENCY BRAKE TO STOP THE TRUCK.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/10/2015 - FOUNTAIN VALLEY, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE BACKING OUT OF THE GARAGE, THE VEHICLE LUNGED BACKWARDS WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT CONTINUED TO DEPRESS THE BRAKE PEDAL AND THE VEHICLE EVENTUALLY RESPONDED. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO THE DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE HYDRO BOOSTER FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 54,942.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/1/2015 - NEW SMYRNA BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500. WHILE PULLING INTO THE DRIVEWAY AT APPROXIMATELY 7 MPH, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED TO THE FLOOR BUT THE VEHICLE DID NOT STOP. THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE CONTACT'S PORCH. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES REPORTED. THE CONTACT OBSERVED BRAKE FLUID UNDER THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE AND THE BRAKE LINES WERE COMPLETELY RUSTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 70,000. MA 09/03/15

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds