Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500 - 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by CHEVROLET

There are 124 complaints filed for the 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (2) Steering (16) Trailer Hitches (2)
Electrical System (9) Fuel System Diesel (3) Service Brakes (20) Structure (6) Unknown Or Other (3)
Engine (1) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Suspension (5) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (25) Tires (8) Visibility (7)
Equipment (4) Power Train (29)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

3/13/2014 - MARION, NY
RUSTED BRAKE LINES 1 HAS RUPTURED

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/13/2014 - SPRING VALLEY, CA
THE LINE RUNNING FROM THE TRANSMISSION TO THE RADIATOR IS EXTREMELY PRONE TO LEAKING DUE TO A WEAK/IMPROPER CRIMP IN THE HOSE. AS TIME GOES ON TRANSMISSION FLUID IS DEPLETED AND COULD LEAD TO TRANSMISSION FAILURE. THE LEAK IS WIDESPREAD ACROSS MOST ALLISON TRANSMISSIONS DUE TO A FAULTY HOSE CRIMP AND LEAKS THROUGH THE CRIMP IN THE HOSE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/10/2014 - SCHAUMBURG, IL
MASTER CYLINDER RESERVOIR FLUID LEVEL DROPPED FROM FULL TO ACTIVATION OF BRAKE SERVICE LIGHT. INVESTIGATION OF THE CAUSE LED TO THE DISCOVERY A LEAK IN THE BRAKE LINE FROM THE ANTI LOCK BRAKE ACTUATOR TO THE RIGHT FRONT BRAKE CALIPER. ALL THE BRAKE LINES APPEAR TO BE EXTENSIVELY CORRODED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/30/2014 - MOUNTAIN TOP , PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE BRAKES FAILED AND THE EMERGENCY BRAKE HAD TO BE USED TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A LOCAL MECHANIC, WHO ADVISED THAT THE BRAKE LINES WERE RUSTED. THE MECHANIC REPLACED ONE OF THE FUEL LINES. THE CONTACT DID NOT CALL THE MANUFACTURER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/26/2013 - WOLFBORO, NH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH, HE DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL BUT THE VEHICLE DID NOT STOP IMMEDIATELY. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION AND THEY STATED THAT THE BRAKE LINES WERE CORRODED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 52,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/7/2013 - WILLISTON, FL
WHILE STOPPING FOR TRAFFIC LIGHT, BRAKES WERE WEAK AND REQUIRED EXCESSIVE PRESSURE TO ACTIVATE ENOUGH TO STOP VEHICLE. PULLED INTO NEAREST PARKING LOT AND FOUND BRAKE FLUID DRIPPING FROM CHASSIS UNDER DRIVER DOOR AREA. CALLED TOW TRUCK TO TAKE VEHICLE TO DEALER. TRIED TO MOVE VEHICLE TO MAKE IT EASIER FOR TOW TRUCK OPERATOR TO HOOK UP AND PEDAL WENT COMPLETELY TO FLOOR WITH NO BRAKING EFFECT. USED PARKING BRAKE TO STOP. DEALER SAID ENTIRE BRAKE SYSTEM NEEDS TO BE REPLACED DUE TO CORROSION.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/14/2013 - ANNAPOLIS, MD
BRAKE LINE FAILURE. RUSTY BRAKE LINES. LEAVING FLUID ON GROUND ALMOST HITTING BUILDING.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/26/2013 - MICCO, FL
DRIVING HOME FROM STORE ONLY TO HAVE A VEHICLE STOP SHORT IN FRONT OF ME. APPLIED BRAKES AND TO MY SURPRISE THE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR. LUCKILY I HAD ROOM TO MANEUVER AROUND TRAFFIC AND AVOID AN ACCIDENT. VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO REPAIR SHOP AND I WAS TOLD LEFT FRONT BREAK LINE RUSTED OUT. I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE NEW AND I CAN ATTEST THAT NO UNUSUAL CIRCUMSTANCES OCCURRED TO WARRANT BRAKE LINE RUSTING OUT. MOVING FORWARD 16 MONTHS I WAS LEAVING THE HOUSE ONLY TO HAVE BRAKES GO TO THE FLOOR. VEHICLE TOWED TO CHEVY DEALER. DEALER TELLS ME ALL BRAKE LINES RUSTED BADLY (EXCEPT ONE PREVIOUSLY REPLACED) AND IN NEED OF REPLACEMENT TO THE TUNE OF $2700.00. GOOD THING I WAS NOT DRIVING OR WORSE YET PULLING MY 8000 POUND CAMPER. IS IT GOING TO TAKE SOME ONE GETTING KILLED BEFORE CHEVY IS MADE TO ADMIT THEY HAVE A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE WITH THESE BRAKE LINES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/21/2013 - ELLENVILLE, NY
TOWING TRAILER, WHILE PARKING TRAILER, BRAKE PEDAL GOT SPONGY, THEN WENT TO FLOOR, TOTAL BRAKE LOSS. RUSTED BRAKE LINE RUPTURED UNDER DRIVERS SEAT BY ABS MODULE, ALL BRAKE LINES WILL NEED REPLACEMENT.

View Details

TIRES

5/23/2013 - GOLETA, CA
FOUR BUBBLES ON THE SIDEWALL OF MY TIRE APPEARED - I TOOK THE TIRE TO A GOODYEAR DEALER AND HE CONCLUDED THAT THE TIRE WAS DEFECTIVE FROM THE BEGINNING WHEN I BOUGHT IT. IT HAD 10,000 MILES ON THE TIRE WITH ORIGINAL TIRE TREAD OF 7/32 - IT NOW HAS 6/32 TREAD. GOODYEAR GAVE ME A $80.00 DISCOUNT ON A NEW TIRE - I CALLED THEM AND ASKED FOR A 100% DISCOUNT SINCE THE TIRE WAS DEFECTIVE FROM THE BEGINNING. I HAVE THREE OTHER TIRES ON THE TRUCK ALL GOODYEAR TIRES AND IT APPEARS THEY COULD BE DOING THE SAME THING. I ALSO DISCOVERED THAT THERE WAS RECALL ON GOODYEAR WRANGLER TIRES HAVING THE SAME ISSUES JUST NOT ON MY TIRE SINCE IT IS MUCH LARGER AND NOT THAT POPULAR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds