Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER 300C - 2006 CHRYSLER 300C Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by CHRYSLER

There are 437 complaints filed for the 2006 CHRYSLER 300C

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHRYSLER 300C. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHRYSLER 300C, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Exterior Lighting (3) Parking Brake (1) Steering (27) Unknown Or Other (12)
Electrical System (24) Fuel Propulsion System (94) Power Train (66) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (149) Seats (3) Suspension (5) Visibility (2)
Engine (158) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (9) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (28) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (1)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 50
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

10/20/2014 - LONGWOOD, FL
THE ENGINE SHUT OFF COMPLETELY WHILE DRIVING. THIS CAUSED A TOTAL LOSS IN POWER STEERING, HEAD LIGHTS, AND ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. FORTUNATELY I WAS ON A WELL LIT ROAD WITH A LONG STRAIGHTAWAY AND ABLE TO MUSCLE THE CAR TO A SAFE STOP. HAD I BEEN A FEW MILES FARTHER DOWN THE ROAD I WOULD HAVE BEEN ON A WINDING ROAD WITH NO STREET LIGHTS. IT WOULD HAVE CERTAINLY CAUSED A MAJOR ACCIDENT. I TOOK THE CAR INTO A MECHANIC AND THEY FOUND NOTHING WRONG WITH IT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/20/2014 - LONGWOOD, FL
THE ENGINE SHUT OFF COMPLETELY WHILE DRIVING. THIS CAUSED A TOTAL LOSS IN POWER STEERING, HEAD LIGHTS, AND ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. FORTUNATELY I WAS ON A WELL LIT ROAD WITH A LONG STRAIGHTAWAY AND ABLE TO MUSCLE THE CAR TO A SAFE STOP. HAD I BEEN A FEW MILES FARTHER DOWN THE ROAD I WOULD HAVE BEEN ON A WINDING ROAD WITH NO STREET LIGHTS. IT WOULD HAVE CERTAINLY CAUSED A MAJOR ACCIDENT. I TOOK THE CAR INTO A MECHANIC AND THEY FOUND NOTHING WRONG WITH IT.

View Details

ENGINE

10/20/2014 - LONGWOOD, FL
THE ENGINE SHUT OFF COMPLETELY WHILE DRIVING. THIS CAUSED A TOTAL LOSS IN POWER STEERING, HEAD LIGHTS, AND ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. FORTUNATELY I WAS ON A WELL LIT ROAD WITH A LONG STRAIGHTAWAY AND ABLE TO MUSCLE THE CAR TO A SAFE STOP. HAD I BEEN A FEW MILES FARTHER DOWN THE ROAD I WOULD HAVE BEEN ON A WINDING ROAD WITH NO STREET LIGHTS. IT WOULD HAVE CERTAINLY CAUSED A MAJOR ACCIDENT. I TOOK THE CAR INTO A MECHANIC AND THEY FOUND NOTHING WRONG WITH IT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/20/2014 - CANYON LAKE, TX
I STOPPED AT AN RR CROSSING TO WAIT FOR THE TRAIN TO PASS BY SHUTTING DOWN THE ENGINE TO DECREASE POLLUTION. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED BUT I WAS UNABLE TO SHIFT FROM PARK TO DRIVE AND I WAS STALLED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. BEING LOCKED IN PARK, I COULD NOT EVEN BE PUSHED OUT OF TRAFFIC.AFTER CHECKING THE INTERNET THIS IS A WELL KNOWN PROBLEM WITH THIS MAKE & MODEL AND CERTAIN VIN'S HAVE BEEN RECALLED TO CORRECT BY CHRYSLER. THERE ARE THOUSANDS MORE ON THE ROAD THAT DID NOT FALL UNDER THE RECALL BUT ARE EXPERIENCING THE SAME SAFETY PROBLEM. SITTING IN YOUR DRIVEWAY AND NOT BEING ABLE TO MOVE THE VEHICLE IS ONE THING, SITTING IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD AS I WAS IS AN ENTIRELY DIFFERENT SITUATION. ALL VEHICLES OF THIS MAKE & MODEL NEED TO BE RECALLED IMMEDIATELY!

View Details

ENGINE

10/12/2014 - PLACIDA, FL
WHEN COMING TO A COMPLETE STOP OR SOMETIMES AT LOW SPEED, THE VEHICLE WILL STALL. THIS INCIDENT OCCURRED FOUR TIMES IN ONE DAY.

View Details

ENGINE

10/8/2014 - EL SOBRANTE, CA
I HAVE A 2006 CHRYSLER 300C THAT RECENTLY BROKE DOWN. WHEN I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR REPAIRS THEY SAID THAT VALVE SEAT DETERIORATED AND DROPPED ON THE PISTON. THEY SAID IT HAD A GRENADE EFFECT AND SENT METAL EVERYWHERE, WHICH JAMMED METAL INSIDE PISTON. I WAS TOLD THAT I NEED A NEW ENGINE WHICH WOULD COST ME $3,500 FOR A USED ENGINE AND $5,000 FOR A NEW ENGINE WITH $2,200 LABOR COSTS. I DID SOME RESEARCH AND HAVE FOUND THAT THERE ARE NUMEROUS PEOPLE THAT HAVE EXPERIENCED THE SAME ISSUE. THESE ARE SOME RESOURCES I FOUND: HTTP://WWW.PRNEWSWIRE.COM/NEWS-RELEASES/WHY-SOME-LATE-MODEL-DODGECHRYSLER-VEHICLES-ARE-PRONE-TO-CATASTROPHIC-ENGINE-FAILURE-210043421.HTML HTTP://WWW.TORQUENEWS.COM/397/TWO-FATAL-FLAWS-RUINING-CHRYSLER-ENGINES-CATASTROPHIC-BREAKDOWNS HTTP://WWW.CARCOMPLAINTS.COM/CHRYSLER/300C/2006/ENGINE/ENGINE-7.SHTML HTTP://WWW.REDDIT.COM/R/CARS/COMMENTS/257X31/2006_CHRYSLER_300C_DROPPED_VALVE_SEAT_DAMAGE/ HTTP://WWW.CHALLENGERTALK.COM/FORUMS/F188/REPORT-PRE-MATURE-CHRYSLER-ENGINE-FAILURE-98463/ HTTP://WWW.FORABODIESONLY.COM/MOPAR/ARCHIVE/INDEX.PHP/T-187432.HTML HTTP://WWW.JUSTANSWER.COM/CHRYSLER/6QZEW-CHRYSLER-300C-5-7-HEMI-DROPPED-VALVE-SEAT.HTML HTTP://WWW.CHALLENGERFORUM.COM/F17/ENGINE-FAILURE-1123/ HTTP://WWW.LXFORUMS.COM/BOARD/SHOWTHREAD.PHP/359652-NEW-FROM-S-JERSEY-2005-CHRYSLER-300C-DROPPED-VALVE-SEAT I ALSO JOINED A GROUP ON FACEBOOK AND PERSONALLY TALKED TO MANY PEOPLE WHO THIS HAS HAPPENED TO. I CALLED CHRYSLER TO NOTIFY THEM OF THE ISSUE AND WAS TOLD THAT THERE WAS NOTHING THAT THEY COULD DO. I ASKED TO SPEAK TO A SUPERVISOR AND THEY SAID THEY STAND BEHIND THE ORIGINAL DECISION. I HAVE CONTACTED THE BBB, THE LOCAL NEWS STATION, AND THE CONSUMER PROTECTION DIVISION OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OFFICE IN MICHIGAN (THE STATE WHERE CHRYSLER'S HEADQUARTERS ARE LOCATED).

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/26/2014 - HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA
IN JANUARY 2013, I FILED A VEHICLE SAFETY COMPLAINT HERE ABOUT MY V8 ENGINE STALLING AFTER FUEL REFILL (GASOLINE TANK REPLACEMENT REPAIR BILL WAS $1540.93). THE NHTSA OFFICE OF DEFECTS INVESTIGATION SOON OPENED INVESTIGATION PE13016 INTO THE FUEL TANK PROBLEM. THE ODI INFORMATION REQUEST TO CHRYSLER CITED NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS, INCLUDING MINE, #10494394. INVESTIGATION PE13016 WAS CLOSED EARLIER THIS YEAR BY NHTSA BECAUSE THE "CONDITION... IS ADEQUATELY ADDRESSED BY CHRYSLER'S EXTENDED WARRANTY" ON 2006 CHRYSLER 300 FUEL TANKS. THE CLOSING SUMMARY REFERS TO CHRYSLER SENDING LETTERS TO OWNERS ABOUT THE EXTENDED WARRANTY. SINCE I DID NOT RECEIVE AN OWNER LETTER, I TODAY CALLED THE CHRYSLER CUSTOMER ASSISTANCE CENTER, 1-800-247-9753. THE ASSISTANCE CENTER REPRESENTATIVE TOLD ME THAT MY VEHICLE IS NOT WITHIN THE EXTENDED WARRANTY BECAUSE MY VEHICLE (BUILT WITHIN THE EXTENDED WARRANTY TIME FRAME) CONTAINED A GAS TANK WITH THE SALES CODE "NSKS" AND THAT THE EXTENDED WARRANTY ONLY COVERS CARS BUILT WITH THE GAS TANK SALES CODE "NSK." NOTHING IN THE MATERIALS POSTED ONLINE WITH PE13016 INDICATE THAT THERE ARE TWO DIFFERENT GAS TANKS, ONLY ONE OF WHICH HAD PROBLEMS. PLEASE, MESSRS HABIB, BORRIS AND QUANDT, RECONSIDER WHETHER THE CHRYSLER RESPONSE IS ADEQUATE. MY VEHICLE, WITH THE "NSKS" GAS TANK, CLEARLY SUFFERED THE REFILL STALLING PROBLEM ADDRESSED IN PE 13016.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/22/2014 - FONTANA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHRYSLER 300 C. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE GEAR SHIFTER LEVER BECAME STUCK IN PARK. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION SHIFTER ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 56,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/21/2014 - ST. PAUL, MN
FILLED UP WITH GAS. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH CAR STALLED GOING DOWN A HILL AND BRAKES BECAME RIGID. TO TRY TO AVOID CRASHING INTO OTHER VEHICLE I WENT OVER A SIDEWALK. TIRE BROKE, HIT A TREE AND HAD TO SHUT OFF CAR TO STOP CAR AS BRAKES WERE NOT STOPPING THE CAR. THEN I ENDED DAMAGE ANOTHER VEHICLE BECAUSE OF BUSY TRAFFIC. THIS ALL HAPPENED BECAUSE THE CAR STOPPED LESS THAN 5 MINUTES AFTER REFUELING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/21/2014 - ST. PAUL, MN
FILLED UP WITH GAS. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH CAR STALLED GOING DOWN A HILL AND BRAKES BECAME RIGID. TO TRY TO AVOID CRASHING INTO OTHER VEHICLE I WENT OVER A SIDEWALK. TIRE BROKE, HIT A TREE AND HAD TO SHUT OFF CAR TO STOP CAR AS BRAKES WERE NOT STOPPING THE CAR. THEN I ENDED DAMAGE ANOTHER VEHICLE BECAUSE OF BUSY TRAFFIC. THIS ALL HAPPENED BECAUSE THE CAR STOPPED LESS THAN 5 MINUTES AFTER REFUELING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 50
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds