Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER 300C - 2006 CHRYSLER 300C Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by CHRYSLER

There are 411 complaints filed for the 2006 CHRYSLER 300C

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHRYSLER 300C. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHRYSLER 300C, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Exterior Lighting (3) Parking Brake (1) Steering (24) Unknown Or Other (14)
Electrical System (20) Fuel Propulsion System (104) Power Train (64) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (124) Seats (3) Suspension (5) Visibility (2)
Engine (149) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (6) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (25) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (1)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 46
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/28/2014 - LAKELAND, FL
MY CAR STALLED IN THE MIDDLE OF AN INTERSECTION AND I WAS ALMOST BROADSIDED BY ANOTHER CAR. MY CAR STALLS AND BUCKS EVERY TIME I FILL UP WITH GAS. THIS HAPPENS WHEN I AM STOPPED, AT LOW SPEEDS AND AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. IT HAS CAUSED A DANGEROUS SITUATION ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. I TOOK MY CAR TO THE CHRYSLER DEALERSHIP IN LAKELAND, FL ABOUT THREE YEARS AGO AND THEIR SOLUTION TO THE PROBLEM WAS TO TELL ME TO NOT FILL THE TANK ALL THE WAY UP. THAT IS NOT THE PROPER SOLUTION TO THIS PROBLEM. IT NEEDS TO BE FIXED BEFORE SOMEONE GETS KILLED!

View Details

ENGINE

7/25/2014 - YUBA CITY, CA
WAS PASSING A SLOWER VEHICLE WHEN CAR STALLED. TWO DAYS LATER, AFTER FILLING UP WITH GAS, IT STARTED DIEING OFF AND ON. THIS COULD BE A VERY SERIOUS PROBLEM IF DRIVING AT HIWAY SPEEDS!!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/23/2014 - BISHOPVILLE, SC
MY 2006 CHRYSLER 300C IS BURNING A LOT OF GAS. I DON'T KNOW WHY,MAYBE BECAUSE IT IS A HEMI. WHEN MY GAS HAND GET TO A MARK ARE TWO BEFORE EMPTY, YOU CAN SMELL THE FUEL FROM THE TANK. MY COMPLAIN IS WHY ARE CHRYSLER 300 BURNING SO MUCH GAS?

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/23/2014 - BISHOPVILLE, SC
MY 2006 CHRYSLER 300C IS BURNING A LOT OF GAS. I DON'T KNOW WHY,MAYBE BECAUSE IT IS A HEMI. WHEN MY GAS HAND GET TO A MARK ARE TWO BEFORE EMPTY, YOU CAN SMELL THE FUEL FROM THE TANK. MY COMPLAIN IS WHY ARE CHRYSLER 300 BURNING SO MUCH GAS?

View Details

ENGINE

7/7/2014 - EL DORADO HILLS, CA
AFTER A FILL-UP (NOT TOPPED OFF) ON AUGUST 5, 2013 AS I MERGED ONTO THE FREEWAY THE ENGINE STALLED AND THERE WAS A COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER. I WAS EXTREMELY FRIGHTENED BECAUSE MY GRANDSON WAS IN THE BACK IN HIS CARSEAT AND IT WAS PEAK TRAFFIC TIME. ADDITIONALLY WITHOUT POWER I WAS HAVING A HARD TIME MANEUVERING THE CAR TO THE SIDE OF THE FREEWAY TO A SPOT WHERE THERE WAS ENOUGH ROOM TO STOP. I WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE ENGINE BUT THE ENGINE WAS NOT RUNNING SMOOTHLY. AT THE FIRST OFF RAMP I PULLED OFF THE FWY BUT THE ENGINE KEPT STALLING WHENEVER I HAD TO SLOW DOWN OR AT A STOPLIGHT. THIS WAS ANOTHER SAFETY ISSUE FOR MY GRANDSON AND ME. IT WAS A MIRACLE THAT WE WERE NOT INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT. WHEN I TOOK THE CAR TO A CHRYSLER SERVICE CENTER THE OUTCOME WAS THAT THEY COULD NOT RECREATE THE PROBLEM. THE NEXT MORNING I RECEIVED A CALL FROM A SERVICE REP AND WAS TOLD THAT HE RESEARCHED THE PROBLEM AND THAT THE GAS TANK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. I ASKED IF CHRYSLER TOOK OWNERSHIP OF THIS PROBLEM AND WAS TOLD NO+¥. FOR OVERALL SAFETY I HAD THE TANK REPLACED. ($1200.00) I ALSO CONTACTED CHRYSLER CORP TO RELATE THE ENGINE STALL INCIDENT SO THAT THEY WOULD BE AWARE AND INVESTIGATE FOR SAFETYS SAKE. ESSENTIALLY I WAS TOLD THAT CHRYSLER WAS NOT AWARE OF ANY OTHER COMPLAINTS AND THEY WOULD NOT ACCEPT RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE NEED TO REPLACE THE FUEL TANK. I FIRST EXPERIENCED AN ENGINE STALL AFTER A FILL UP ON OCTOBER 12, 2012. I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE CHRYSLER SERVICE CENTER AND AFTER CHECKING THE CAR THE INVOICE STATED ROAD TEST VEHICLE, DID NOT DIE AT STOPS OR WHILE DRIVING, NO CODES IN PCM. TRANSMISSION FLUID, ENGINE OIL FULL. THERE WAS LIMITED DRIVING OF THE CAR. MY VIN IS NOT COVERED UNDER THE RECENT EXTENDED WARRANTY EVEN THOUGH I HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM AS OTHER CAR OWNERS. CHRYSLER NEEDS TO ACCEPT FULL OWNERSHIP BEFORE THERE IS A SERIOUS ACCIDENT.

View Details

ENGINE

7/7/2014 - POTTSTOWN , PA
I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK AND EVERYTHING SEEMED FINE. I STOPPED AT THE CONVENIENCE STORE BEFORE I WENT HOME, SO I TURNED THE CAR OFF, WENT IN, AND WHEN I CAME BACK OUT, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. IT WAS TRYING TO TURN OVER BUT WOULDN'T. EVENTUALLY I GOT IT STARTED FOR A FEW SECONDS AND REVVED THE ENGINE A LITTLE TO KEEP IT FROM SHUTTING BACK OFF, AND IT SOUNDED LIKE ROCKS WERE INSIDE THE ENGINE, THEN TURNED OFF AFTER MAYBE 3-4 SECONDS OF RUNNING. GOT IT TOWED TO A LOCAL CHAIN GARAGE. THE NEXT DAY THEY CALLED ME AND SAID THEY GOT IT RUNNING FOR ABOUT 30 SECONDS AND IT SOUNDED LIKE THERE WERE ROCKS INSIDE OF IT AND THAT ITS PROBABLY A BROKEN ROD, AND THAT COULD HAVE DAMAGED MUCH MORE INSIDE. NOW I'M NOT SURE WHAT TO DO WITH THIS CAR. THE REPAIRS MIGHT END UP COSTING THE VALUE OF THE CAR, BUT SELLING IT WITHOUT AN ENGINE IS BASICALLY WORTHLESS. I HAVE NO BACKUP CAR TO DRIVE IN THE MEAN TIME, OR MONEY/CREDIT TO BUY A NEW ONE. THIS SHOULD NOT HAVE HAPPENED TO A WELL MAINTAINED CAR WITH UNDER 100K MILES ON IT, AND IT SEEMS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM. THE COMPANY SHOULD AT LEAST ACKNOWLEDGE THERE IS AN ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

6/29/2014 - DELAND, FL
ENGINE STALLING AFTER FUELING. WE FIRST SUSPECTED BAD FUEL, BUT SOON LEARNED WE WERE NOT ALONE IN THIS ISSUE. WE WAITED YEARS FOR THE LOCAL DEALER TO FINALLY ADMIT TO A PROBLEM WITH THE FUEL TANK ROLLOVER VALVE. CHRYSLER THEN ISSUED A LIFETIME WARRANTY ON THE TANK. AS SOON AS THE LIFETIME WARRANTY ON THE TANK WAS ISSUED WE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO OUR LOCAL CHRYSLER DEALER AND WAS TOLD WE WERE # 6 ON THE LIST WAITING ON TANKS THAT ARE ON BACK ORDER. I CHECKED STATUS THIS PAST WEEK AND THE DEALER SAID HE NOW HAS A STACK OF BACK ORDERS FOR THESE TANKS. WHAT GOOD IS THE LIFETIME WARRANTY IF THE COMPANY IS UNABLE TO PROVIDE PARTS SUPPORT. WE REALLY ENJOY THIS AUTO BUT THE STALLING IS GETTING MORE COMMON AND WE FEEL IT IS BECOMING MORE DANGEROUS TO DRIVE.

View Details

ENGINE

6/22/2014 - ELMHURST, NY
THE CAR STALLS RANDOMLY. THERE SEEM TO BE TWO SCENARIOS WHEN THE STALLS OCCUR. ONE SCENARIO IS AT IDLE (LESS THAN 1000 RPM). THE CAR WILL JUST STALL AT A RED LIGHT, AT A STOP SIGN, A ROLLING STOP, WHEN DRIVING AT VERY LOW SPEEDS, ETC. THE OTHER SCENARIO IS AT WOT. ALL THE DASH LIGHT S FLASH ON AND OFF QUICKLY, THE CAR LURCHES VIOLENTLY, LOSS OF POWER, OCCASIONAL STALL. THESE TWO SITUATIONS MAY OR NOT BE RELATED TO EACH OTHER. I HAVE HAD THE FUEL TANK REPLACED ALREADY BECAUSE OF THE STALLING THAT WAS OCCURRING AFTER FUEL FILL UP. THAT TOOK CARE OF THAT SPECIFIC STALLING SCENARIO. THERE STILL REMAIN THESE TWO STALLING SCENARIOS. THEY ARE VERY WELL DOCUMENTED IN THE ONLINE FORUMS. MANY DRIVERS ARE EXPERIENCING THE SAME SYMPTOMS. IT SEEMS TO BE HAPPENING TO ALL 5.7 AND 6.1 HEMIS IN THE 300S, CHARGERS, CHALLENGERS AND JEEPS. NO DEALERS CAN FIND A DEFINITIVE SOLUTION. I AND MANY OTHERS LOVE OUR CARS, BUT THIS IS JUST UNACCEPTABLE. WE DON'T WANT TO GIVE UP ON CHRYSLER, WE JUST WANT A SOLUTION. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION. OUR CARS ARE STALLING RANDOMLY. THIS IS SIMILAR TO THE GM STALLING DEBACLE. PLEASE HELP US PREVENT A CHRYSLER/DODGE/JEEP DEBACLE. BY THE WAY, THANK YOU FOR YOUR WORK IN HELPING TO FIND A SOLUTION ON THE FUEL FILL STALLING ISSUE. THE LIFETIME FUEL TANK REPLACEMENT WAS AN ADEQUATE SOLUTION. I MUST NOTE TO YOU THAT INCLUDED IN THE FIX WAS A STATEMENT SAYING THAT "THIS DID NOT REPRESENT A DANGEROUS OR LIFE-THREATENING SITUATION." I DISAGREE 100%. I ALMOST DIED A FEW TIMES DUE TO THE RANDOM STALLING AFTER FUEL FILL. WE ALL KNOW THE DANGERS OF RANDOM STALLING - JUST ASK GM CAR OWNERS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/22/2014 - ELMHURST, NY
THE CAR STALLS RANDOMLY. THERE SEEM TO BE TWO SCENARIOS WHEN THE STALLS OCCUR. ONE SCENARIO IS AT IDLE (LESS THAN 1000 RPM). THE CAR WILL JUST STALL AT A RED LIGHT, AT A STOP SIGN, A ROLLING STOP, WHEN DRIVING AT VERY LOW SPEEDS, ETC. THE OTHER SCENARIO IS AT WOT. ALL THE DASH LIGHT S FLASH ON AND OFF QUICKLY, THE CAR LURCHES VIOLENTLY, LOSS OF POWER, OCCASIONAL STALL. THESE TWO SITUATIONS MAY OR NOT BE RELATED TO EACH OTHER. I HAVE HAD THE FUEL TANK REPLACED ALREADY BECAUSE OF THE STALLING THAT WAS OCCURRING AFTER FUEL FILL UP. THAT TOOK CARE OF THAT SPECIFIC STALLING SCENARIO. THERE STILL REMAIN THESE TWO STALLING SCENARIOS. THEY ARE VERY WELL DOCUMENTED IN THE ONLINE FORUMS. MANY DRIVERS ARE EXPERIENCING THE SAME SYMPTOMS. IT SEEMS TO BE HAPPENING TO ALL 5.7 AND 6.1 HEMIS IN THE 300S, CHARGERS, CHALLENGERS AND JEEPS. NO DEALERS CAN FIND A DEFINITIVE SOLUTION. I AND MANY OTHERS LOVE OUR CARS, BUT THIS IS JUST UNACCEPTABLE. WE DON'T WANT TO GIVE UP ON CHRYSLER, WE JUST WANT A SOLUTION. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION. OUR CARS ARE STALLING RANDOMLY. THIS IS SIMILAR TO THE GM STALLING DEBACLE. PLEASE HELP US PREVENT A CHRYSLER/DODGE/JEEP DEBACLE. BY THE WAY, THANK YOU FOR YOUR WORK IN HELPING TO FIND A SOLUTION ON THE FUEL FILL STALLING ISSUE. THE LIFETIME FUEL TANK REPLACEMENT WAS AN ADEQUATE SOLUTION. I MUST NOTE TO YOU THAT INCLUDED IN THE FIX WAS A STATEMENT SAYING THAT "THIS DID NOT REPRESENT A DANGEROUS OR LIFE-THREATENING SITUATION." I DISAGREE 100%. I ALMOST DIED A FEW TIMES DUE TO THE RANDOM STALLING AFTER FUEL FILL. WE ALL KNOW THE DANGERS OF RANDOM STALLING - JUST ASK GM CAR OWNERS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/22/2014 - ELMHURST, NY
THE CAR STALLS RANDOMLY. THERE SEEM TO BE TWO SCENARIOS WHEN THE STALLS OCCUR. ONE SCENARIO IS AT IDLE (LESS THAN 1000 RPM). THE CAR WILL JUST STALL AT A RED LIGHT, AT A STOP SIGN, A ROLLING STOP, WHEN DRIVING AT VERY LOW SPEEDS, ETC. THE OTHER SCENARIO IS AT WOT. ALL THE DASH LIGHT S FLASH ON AND OFF QUICKLY, THE CAR LURCHES VIOLENTLY, LOSS OF POWER, OCCASIONAL STALL. THESE TWO SITUATIONS MAY OR NOT BE RELATED TO EACH OTHER. I HAVE HAD THE FUEL TANK REPLACED ALREADY BECAUSE OF THE STALLING THAT WAS OCCURRING AFTER FUEL FILL UP. THAT TOOK CARE OF THAT SPECIFIC STALLING SCENARIO. THERE STILL REMAIN THESE TWO STALLING SCENARIOS. THEY ARE VERY WELL DOCUMENTED IN THE ONLINE FORUMS. MANY DRIVERS ARE EXPERIENCING THE SAME SYMPTOMS. IT SEEMS TO BE HAPPENING TO ALL 5.7 AND 6.1 HEMIS IN THE 300S, CHARGERS, CHALLENGERS AND JEEPS. NO DEALERS CAN FIND A DEFINITIVE SOLUTION. I AND MANY OTHERS LOVE OUR CARS, BUT THIS IS JUST UNACCEPTABLE. WE DON'T WANT TO GIVE UP ON CHRYSLER, WE JUST WANT A SOLUTION. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION. OUR CARS ARE STALLING RANDOMLY. THIS IS SIMILAR TO THE GM STALLING DEBACLE. PLEASE HELP US PREVENT A CHRYSLER/DODGE/JEEP DEBACLE. BY THE WAY, THANK YOU FOR YOUR WORK IN HELPING TO FIND A SOLUTION ON THE FUEL FILL STALLING ISSUE. THE LIFETIME FUEL TANK REPLACEMENT WAS AN ADEQUATE SOLUTION. I MUST NOTE TO YOU THAT INCLUDED IN THE FIX WAS A STATEMENT SAYING THAT "THIS DID NOT REPRESENT A DANGEROUS OR LIFE-THREATENING SITUATION." I DISAGREE 100%. I ALMOST DIED A FEW TIMES DUE TO THE RANDOM STALLING AFTER FUEL FILL. WE ALL KNOW THE DANGERS OF RANDOM STALLING - JUST ASK GM CAR OWNERS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 46
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds