Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER 300C - 2006 CHRYSLER 300C Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 601 complaints filed for the 2006 CHRYSLER 300C

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHRYSLER 300C. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHRYSLER 300C, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (27) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (92) Steering (36) Unknown Or Other (23)
Electrical System (43) Fuel Propulsion System (138) Seat Belts (3) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (17)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (166) Seats (3) Suspension (5) Visibility (2)
Engine (212) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (14) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (34) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (3)
Equipment (1) Parking Brake (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 68
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

12/19/2017 - CUMMING, GA
PROBLEM: MOMENTARY LOSS OF POWER, CHECK ENGINE AND ETC LIGHTS FLASH. SOMETIMES STALLS COMPLETELY (WHEN VERY SLOW OR STOPPED). IT HAS STOPPED ON ME A COUPLE OF TIMES WHILE TURNING. TO STALL WHILE TURNING ACROSS TRAFFIC IS UNSAFE. PARTS REPLACED SO FAR: GAS TANK (RECALL) GAS PUMP ACCELERATOR PEDAL DIAGNOSIS: APPARENT INTERMITTENT CONNECTION AT THE PCM. LAST REPAIR ATTEMPT(11/29/17) THE TECHNICIAN REPAIRED THE CONNECTION BY ALIGNING THE PINS (APPARENTLY SOME HAD PUSHED THROUGH THE BOARD) & CLEANING THE CONNECTION. IT HAS WORKED FINE FOR ABOUT 2 WEEKS SINCE THEN, BUT IS FAILING AGAIN. THE TECHNICIAN NOW SAYS THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THE PCM (POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE), POSSIBLY DUE TO BROKEN SOLDER JOINTS ON THE BOARD THAT CANNOT BE REPAIRED. THERE ARE CURRENTLY NO PCMS AVAILABLE FROM DEALERS AND THERE ARE 67 UNITS ON BACKORDER IN THE PAST FEW WEEKS . . . MANY WITH SIMILAR FAILURE MODES. FROM THE REPAIR SHOP: "DIAGNOSED AND TRACED MULTIPLE FAULTS TO COMMUNICATION LOSS AT POWER TRAIN CONTROL MODULE. REMOVED UNIT FROM HOLDER AND WHILE ENGINE IS RUNNING IF THE UNIT IT TAPPED OR SHAKEN THE ENGINE WILL STUMBLE OR STALL. - CONTACTED COMPUTER REPAIR SHOP AND THIS IS VERY COMMON ISSUE FOR SEVERAL CHRYSLER IN LAST MONTH OR SO . THE MAIN PROCESSOR GETS LOOSE ON CIRCUIT BOARD BUT THE CONTACTS ARE SO TINY REPAIR IS NOT POSSIBLE. NO LOCAL DEALERS HAVE UNIT AND THERE ARE 67 ON BACK ORDER IN LAST WEEKS."

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/5/2017 - KENTWOOD, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHRYSLER 300C. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE JERKED AND STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT THE FAILURE WAS NOT DUPLICATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED. COURTESY DODGE IN GRAND RAPIDS, MICHIGAN (616-452-2143) AND VAN ANDEL AND FLIKKEMA CHRYSLER JEEP IN GRAND RAPIDS, MI (616-363-9031) ADVISED THE CONTACT TO BRING THE VEHICLE IN FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO EITHER OF THE DEALERS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 88,700.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/5/2017 - KENTWOOD, MI
WHILE DRIVING THE CAR IT SHUTS OFF OR STALLS AT ANY GIVEN MOMENT. IT HAS TRIED TO STALL WHILE DRIVING 80 MPH, STALLED AT TRAFFIC LIGHTS, ETC. CAN BE VERY DANGEROUS. WE TOOK TO A MECHANIC AND THE CAR DID NOT STALL WHILE IT WAS THERE SO THEY WERE UNABLE TO FIND ANYTHING WRONG. THE NEXT DAY IT HAPPENED AGAIN, AND AGAIN AND AGAIN. I HAVE A VIDEO THAT I CAN SHARE BUT I CANNOT UPLOAD IT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/3/2017 - ERIE, PA
2006 CHRYSLER 300C | ENGINE STALL WHILE DRIVING | POSSIBLY TIPM-RELATED I PURCHASED MY 2006 CHRYSLER 300C JUST SHORT OF 6 MONTHS AGO. WITHIN THE FIRST WEEK, AS I WAS TAKING A LEFT HAND TURN THE IGNITION COMPLETELY SHUT OFF. WHILE THE POWER WAS STILL ACTIVE, I COULD NOT DRIVE THE CAR UNTIL I TURNED OVER THE VEHICLE TO RESTART THE CAR. THINKING IT WAS POSSIBLY A FRINGE ISSUE I IGNORED TO ISSUE. FAST FORWARDING TO TODAY, MY WIFE AND I HAVE EXPERIENCED ROUGHLY 25-50 OCCURRENCES OF THE VEHICLE SHUTTING OFF WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION. I HAVE BEEN PAYING FOR A VEHICLE THAT ONLY SEEMS TO WORK WHEN IT FEELS LIKE IT AND WHAT CONCERNS ME MOST IS THAT EVERY DAY I DRIVE THIS VEHICLE I AM ENDANGERING THE LIVES OF MY WIFE AND FIVE CHILDREN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/3/2017 - ERIE, PA
2006 CHRYSLER 300C | ENGINE STALL WHILE DRIVING | POSSIBLY TIPM-RELATED I PURCHASED MY 2006 CHRYSLER 300C JUST SHORT OF 6 MONTHS AGO. WITHIN THE FIRST WEEK, AS I WAS TAKING A LEFT HAND TURN THE IGNITION COMPLETELY SHUT OFF. WHILE THE POWER WAS STILL ACTIVE, I COULD NOT DRIVE THE CAR UNTIL I TURNED OVER THE VEHICLE TO RESTART THE CAR. THINKING IT WAS POSSIBLY A FRINGE ISSUE I IGNORED TO ISSUE. FAST FORWARDING TO TODAY, MY WIFE AND I HAVE EXPERIENCED ROUGHLY 25-50 OCCURRENCES OF THE VEHICLE SHUTTING OFF WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION. I HAVE BEEN PAYING FOR A VEHICLE THAT ONLY SEEMS TO WORK WHEN IT FEELS LIKE IT AND WHAT CONCERNS ME MOST IS THAT EVERY DAY I DRIVE THIS VEHICLE I AM ENDANGERING THE LIVES OF MY WIFE AND FIVE CHILDREN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/1/2017 - CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA
I WAS DRIVING ONE DAY MY CHRYSLER 300 C 5.7 HEMI SHUT OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF THE FREEWAY I PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD CAR COASTED CAUSE EVERYTHING SHUT OFF I PUT IT IN PARK TRIED TO RESTART CAR WOULDN+T START DID IT A FEW TIMES CAR STARTED AND DIED IDLED ROUGH FELT LIKE I WAS RUNNING OUTA GAS WOULD STAY AT THE RIGHT ROMA KEEP STALLING OUT SO I GAVE IT GAS AND CAR STOPPED SHAKING AND RAN FINE A MONTH LATER DID THE SAME THING THIS TIME CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND SAID RANDOM MULTI MISFIRE ALL CYLINDERS I SPENT 1800 REPLACING THE COIL PACKS PLUGS AND STILL DIDN+T FIX IT TURNS OUT THE VALVE SEAT DROPPED AND CHEWED ONE PISTON UP ALL TOO HECK NEEDS A NEW MOTOR ONLY HAD THE CAR FOR $ MONTHS HAS 112,000 MILES ON IT DON+T HAVE THE MONEY FOR NEW MOTOR CARS JUST SITTING WITH HEAD OFF AND VALVE SEAT IS GONE

View Details

ENGINE

12/1/2017 - CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA
I WAS DRIVING ONE DAY MY CHRYSLER 300 C 5.7 HEMI SHUT OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF THE FREEWAY I PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD CAR COASTED CAUSE EVERYTHING SHUT OFF I PUT IT IN PARK TRIED TO RESTART CAR WOULDN+T START DID IT A FEW TIMES CAR STARTED AND DIED IDLED ROUGH FELT LIKE I WAS RUNNING OUTA GAS WOULD STAY AT THE RIGHT ROMA KEEP STALLING OUT SO I GAVE IT GAS AND CAR STOPPED SHAKING AND RAN FINE A MONTH LATER DID THE SAME THING THIS TIME CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND SAID RANDOM MULTI MISFIRE ALL CYLINDERS I SPENT 1800 REPLACING THE COIL PACKS PLUGS AND STILL DIDN+T FIX IT TURNS OUT THE VALVE SEAT DROPPED AND CHEWED ONE PISTON UP ALL TOO HECK NEEDS A NEW MOTOR ONLY HAD THE CAR FOR $ MONTHS HAS 112,000 MILES ON IT DON+T HAVE THE MONEY FOR NEW MOTOR CARS JUST SITTING WITH HEAD OFF AND VALVE SEAT IS GONE

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/29/2017 - CHANDLER, AZ
THE DEALERSHIP EARNHARDTS HAD ME PAY 100 IN CASH FOR A RECALL==AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION CUP PLUG 05V460000. I HAVE RECEIPT. THE PART THAT CONTROLS PLACING CAR IN D, R, N... WAS STUCK IN PARK. I HAD TO GET CAR TOWED AND PAY FOR THE REPAIR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/29/2017 - CHANDLER, AZ
ALL 4 HANDLER ARE ABLE TO COME PARTIALLY OFF THE CAR, I TAPED IT BACK WITH GORILLA CLEAR TAPE AS A BODY SHOP WANTS ME TO PAY $200 PER HANDLE. THIS ALL HAPPENED WITHIN ABOUT 4 MONTHS AND ABOUT A YEAR AGO.

View Details

ENGINE

11/9/2017 - SHINER, TX
IT DROPPED THE #7 VALVE SEAT AND NEVER OVERHEATED. THE VEHICLE RAN FINE, UNTIL I GOT BACK IN THE NEXT DAY AND STARTED IT. IT IMMEDIATELY HAPPENED AT THAT TIME. THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS ENGINE, AND TO FIX COSTS UPWARDS OF $8000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 68
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds