Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2006 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1071 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (89) Exterior Lighting (16) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8)
Electrical System (110) Fuel Propulsion System (213) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (120) Unknown Or Other (23)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel System Gasoline (209) Power Train (190) Steering (82) Vehicle Speed Control (45)
Engine (298) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (9) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (64) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (20) Suspension (26) Wheels (7)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 124
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

6/14/2017 - SAN DIEGO, CA
SPEEDOMETER QUIT WORKING, CAR JUMPS HARD INTO REVERSE AND DRIVE, WILL NOT SHIFT OUT OF FIRST GEAR, CODE U0100, U1120, U0121, U0103, REPLACED COMPUTER AND HAD NO CHANGE OF CONDITION, NO TRANSMISSION DIPSTICK TO CHECK FLUID, A MUST TAKE TO DEALER ITEM THAT IS NOT SENSIBLE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/14/2017 - SAN DIEGO, CA
SPEEDOMETER QUIT WORKING, CAR JUMPS HARD INTO REVERSE AND DRIVE, WILL NOT SHIFT OUT OF FIRST GEAR, CODE U0100, U1120, U0121, U0103, REPLACED COMPUTER AND HAD NO CHANGE OF CONDITION, NO TRANSMISSION DIPSTICK TO CHECK FLUID, A MUST TAKE TO DEALER ITEM THAT IS NOT SENSIBLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/14/2017 - SAN DIEGO, CA
SPEEDOMETER QUIT WORKING, CAR JUMPS HARD INTO REVERSE AND DRIVE, WILL NOT SHIFT OUT OF FIRST GEAR, CODE U0100, U1120, U0121, U0103, REPLACED COMPUTER AND HAD NO CHANGE OF CONDITION, NO TRANSMISSION DIPSTICK TO CHECK FLUID, A MUST TAKE TO DEALER ITEM THAT IS NOT SENSIBLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/14/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CAR KEEPS STALLING WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED AND ALSO AT AT COMPLETE STOP. LIKE A RED LIGHT OR STOP SIGN. I LOVE MY CAR BUT CHRYSLER NEEDS TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS DANGEROUS ISSUE. I DON'T UNDERSTAND, WITH THIS BEING A COMMON ISSUE WITH THE 06 MODEL. WHY ISN'T THERE A RECALL ON THESE CARS. I ONLY HAVE 62K ON IT AND I KEEP UP WITH THE MAINTENANCE. IF SOMEONE IS READING THIS PLEASE HELP ME.

View Details

ENGINE

6/11/2017 - MONTGOMERY, TX
WHILE DRIVING ALONG HWY, NOTICED ENGINE TEMP GETTING WARM (APPARENTLY ANOTHER RADIATOR HAD BLOWN AND WAS DUMPING COOLANT UNDER CAR), SO I STARTED TRYING TO GET TO SIDE LANES. THEN SAW TEMP WAS CLOSE TO RED, SO I SHUT THE ENGINE OFF (AT SPEED) AND COASTED OFF TO SHOULDER. DETERMINED RADIATOR WAS UNFIXABLE AND WAITED FOR TOW. ENGINE HAD COOLED SO TRIED TO START THE ENGINE TO BRIEFLY ADJUST IT TO BE PICKED UP BY TOW TRUCK. ENGINE WAS HARD TO START, THEN BEGAN MAKING AWFUL CLANKING, PINGING, RATTLING NOISES FOR A BIT, THEN STALLED OUT. HAD IT BROUGHT HOME AND ENDED UP FINDING THAT THE INTAKE VALVE SEATS FOR CYLINDERS #4 AND 8 HAD DROPPED OUT OF THE HEAD AND HAD BEEN RATTLING AROUND AGAINST VALVES AND MADE SEVERAL DINGS IN PISTONS. ENDED UP COSTING ME OVER $2500 TO FIX THE TOP END, BUT I MAY STILL BE DEALING WITH PISTON RING DAMAGE ISSUES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/2/2017 - SOUTHGATE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VALVE INSIDE OF THE FUEL TANK ALLOWED RAW FUEL TO ENTER INTO THE FUEL LINES, WHICH CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO STALL WITHOUT WARNING. THE DEALER (MCLNERNEY'S WOODHAVEN CHRYSLER, DODGE, JEEP LOCATED AT 23940 ALLEN RD, WOODHAVEN, MICHIGAN, 48183) STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS UNDER RECALL; HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 23,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/9/2017 - DURHAM, NC
AFTER FILLING THE GAS TANK AND DRIVING HOME, THE CAR STALLED ON THE STREET IN FRONT OF MY HOME. TOOK 3-4 TIME TO GET IT STARTED AGAIN. COULD HAVE HAD AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/6/2017 - BRADENTON, FL
TAKATA RECALL I RECEIVED ANOTHER POSTCARD THIS WEEK REMINDING ME THAT I NEED TO GET MY AIRBAGS REPLACED. I CHECKED YOUR WEBSITE FOR PARTS AVAILABILITY AND FOUND THAT BOTH S43 AND R45 ARE BOTH AVAILABLE. I CALLED FIRKINS IN BRADENTON FL TO SCHEDULE MY REPLACEMENT OF BOTH AIRBAGS, ONLY TO FIND OUT THAT THEY ONLY HAVE THE DRIVER'S SIDE AIRBAG IN STOCK. I HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR BOTH PARTS TO BE AVAILABLE SO THAT I WOULD ONLY HAVE TO MAKE ONE APPOINTMENT. CAN YOU FIND OUT WHEN THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG REPLACEMENT WILL BE AVAILABLE? THANK YOU.

View Details

ENGINE

5/2/2017 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE DRIVING AT UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND A COMPLAINT WAS FILED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 117,235.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/28/2017 - HILLSBORO, OR
MY 2006 DODGE CHARGER HEMI POLICE INTERCEPTOR I PURCHASED FROM THE STATE OF OREGON AT 137,000 RANDOMLY DIES. THE LIGHTNING BOLT WARNING LIGHT COMES ON. THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL CODE COMES ON. THE CAR HAS BEEN TO THE DEALER AND THE PCM $750 HAS BEEN REPLACED AND THE PLUGS $350 HAVE BEEN REPLACED AS WELL. I ALSO GET TCM CODES. MY CAR HAS DIED AT VERY DANGEROUS TIMES, WHEN PASSING OR MERGING INTO TRAFFIC. THE DEALER DOESN'T KNOW WHAT'S CAUSING IT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 124
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds