Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2006 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1077 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (90) Exterior Lighting (16) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8)
Electrical System (110) Fuel Propulsion System (211) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (120) Unknown Or Other (23)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel System Gasoline (211) Power Train (192) Steering (82) Vehicle Speed Control (45)
Engine (300) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (9) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (64) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (20) Suspension (26) Wheels (7)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 125
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/29/2017 - MILILANI, HI
CAR KEEPS STALLING RANDOMLY AT STOPS. IT WILL EVEN STALL WHILE DRIVING GOING UP HILLS OR ON THE HIGHWAY. MOST TIMES IT WILL NOT COMPLETELY STALL (STUDDER) AND CONTINUE ON. IF IT DOES STALL COMPLETELY, SOMETIMES TAKES A LOT OF EFFORT TO TRY AND RESTART THE ENGINE. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WILL SOMETIMES COME AND RANDOMLY TURN OFF. DTC SHOWS P0700 AND U0100. LOTS OF OTHERS HAVING SIMILAR PROBLEMS. JUST GOOGLE CODES AND LOOK AT ALL DODGE/CHRYSLER/JEEP FORUMS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/16/2017 - RESTON, VA
TRANSMISSION STUCK IN PARK, SAFETY RELEASE SWITCH DOES NOTHING

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/5/2017 - SILVER SPRING, MD
VEHICLE WAS PARKED IN DRIVIEWAY, PARTIALLY BLOCKING IN OTHER VEHICLES IN GARAGE, AND AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION SHIFTER COULD NOT BE MOVED OUT OF PARK ON THE MORNING OF 6/29/17, STRANDING VEHICLE FROM BEING MOVED BY OWNER. I THEN LOOKED ONLINE USING GOOGLE SEARCH AND FOUND PROBLEM LISTED UNDER CHRYSLER RECALL OF SOME 2005-2007 CHARGER/MAGNUM/300 MODELS, AND FOUND INSTRUCTIONS ON HOW TO TEMPORARILY INSERT SCREWDRIVER INTO SIDE OF TRANSMISSION SHIFT LEVER ASSEMBLY BY REMOVING ONE PIECE OF TRIM, AND WAS ABLE TO THEN DRIVE OVER TO DARCARS CHRYSLER/JEEP/DODGE ROCKVILLE, MARYLAND DEALERSHIP TO DROP FOR RECALL REPAIR. I LEFT VEHICLE AND THEN WAS TOLD BY SERVICE DEPT STAFF NEXT DAY ON 6/30/17 THAT MY VIN NUMBER WAS NOT PART OF RECALL, AND WOULD COST ME $510 OUT OF POCKET TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE TRANSMISSION SHIFTER ASSEMBLY RATHER THAN REPLACE THE SMALL CHEAP PLASTIC KNOWN CHRYSLER DEFECT THAT HAS PROBABLY ALREADY HAPPENED TO THOUSANDS OF CHARGERS/MAGNUMS/300S. LUCKY FOR ME THIS DID NOT HAPPEN IN AN EMERGENCY SITUAITON WHERE I NEEDED TO MOVE MY CAR IMMEDIATELY TO GO TO HOSPITAL, OR AVOID A FLASH FLLOOD, HURRICANE, OR TORNADO OR THE PROBLEM COULD HAVE RESULTED IN A TOTAL LOSS OF THE VEHICLE AND POSSIBLE INJURY OR LOSS OF LIFE. IN ADDITION, I DID MORE RESEARCH AND FOUND THE $16 PART ONLINE NEEDED TO FIX THE PROBLEM, ALONG WITH MANY VIDEOS ON HOW TO FIX IT YOURSELF, AND ORDERED IT ON 6/30/17 AND HAD THE CAR REPAIRED MYSELF AT HOME ON 7/2/17 A FEW HOURS AFTER RECEIVING THE PART IN THE MAIL. CHRYSLER SHOULD MAKE THIS A RECALL FOR ALL AFFECTRED VEHICLES BECAUSE THE COST TO REPAIR IT IN PARTS AND LABOR IS VERY CHEAP, SINCE I ESTIMATE THEY COULD DO THE SAME JOB IN ABOUT 30 MINUTES AND THE PART WOULD ONLY COST THEM MAYBE UNDER $5. SEE ATTACHED RECALL AND $16 PART COST WHEN ORDERED ON AMAZON.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/30/2017 - TYLER, TX
THE VEHICLE WAS INVOLVED IN A SEVERE, DIRECT FRONTAL IMPACT WHILE TRAVELLING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS DUE TO A DRUNK DRIVER COMING THE WRONG WAY ON A FREEWAY. THE IMPACT WAS SEVERE, DEFORMED FRAME RAILS AND WAS DIRECTLY FRONTAL. THE DRIVER'S AIRBAG DEPLOYED, BUT THE PASSENGER AIRBAG FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE PASSENGER, AN ADULT FEMALE, WAS BELTED BUT HER HEAD HIT THE DASH IN THE AREA OF THE AIRBAG FLAP AND SHE SUFFERED FATAL HEAD INJURIES.

View Details

ENGINE

6/24/2017 - PEABODY, MA
VALVE SEAT DROPPED IN THE #6 CYLINDER DESTROYING THE ENGINE. NEEDS TO BE COMPLETELY OVERHAULED. AFTER DOING SOME RESEARCH ON THE MATTER, I FOUND THAT IT'S A COMMON PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

6/18/2017 - ALBA, TX
CAR RUNNING FINE. STOPPED AND TURNED OFF ENGINE. 10 MINUTES LATER , CHECKED OIL AND FLUIDS ,STARTED ENGINE AND ENGINE STARTED KNOCKING. EXHAUST SMOKE AND THEN ENGINE QUIT RUNNING. CAR WAS STATIONARY WHEN ENGINE FALIURE HAPPENED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/14/2017 - SAN DIEGO, CA
SPEEDOMETER QUIT WORKING, CAR JUMPS HARD INTO REVERSE AND DRIVE, WILL NOT SHIFT OUT OF FIRST GEAR, CODE U0100, U1120, U0121, U0103, REPLACED COMPUTER AND HAD NO CHANGE OF CONDITION, NO TRANSMISSION DIPSTICK TO CHECK FLUID, A MUST TAKE TO DEALER ITEM THAT IS NOT SENSIBLE.

View Details

ENGINE

6/14/2017 - SAN DIEGO, CA
SPEEDOMETER QUIT WORKING, CAR JUMPS HARD INTO REVERSE AND DRIVE, WILL NOT SHIFT OUT OF FIRST GEAR, CODE U0100, U1120, U0121, U0103, REPLACED COMPUTER AND HAD NO CHANGE OF CONDITION, NO TRANSMISSION DIPSTICK TO CHECK FLUID, A MUST TAKE TO DEALER ITEM THAT IS NOT SENSIBLE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/14/2017 - SAN DIEGO, CA
SPEEDOMETER QUIT WORKING, CAR JUMPS HARD INTO REVERSE AND DRIVE, WILL NOT SHIFT OUT OF FIRST GEAR, CODE U0100, U1120, U0121, U0103, REPLACED COMPUTER AND HAD NO CHANGE OF CONDITION, NO TRANSMISSION DIPSTICK TO CHECK FLUID, A MUST TAKE TO DEALER ITEM THAT IS NOT SENSIBLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/14/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CAR KEEPS STALLING WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED AND ALSO AT AT COMPLETE STOP. LIKE A RED LIGHT OR STOP SIGN. I LOVE MY CAR BUT CHRYSLER NEEDS TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS DANGEROUS ISSUE. I DON'T UNDERSTAND, WITH THIS BEING A COMMON ISSUE WITH THE 06 MODEL. WHY ISN'T THERE A RECALL ON THESE CARS. I ONLY HAVE 62K ON IT AND I KEEP UP WITH THE MAINTENANCE. IF SOMEONE IS READING THIS PLEASE HELP ME.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 125
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds