Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2006 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1003 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (67) Exterior Lighting (16) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8)
Electrical System (102) Fuel Propulsion System (193) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (120) Unknown Or Other (19)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel System Gasoline (208) Power Train (184) Steering (80) Vehicle Speed Control (43)
Engine (279) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (9) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (63) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (19) Suspension (24) Wheels (7)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 119
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

11/20/2016 - LITTLETON, CO
MY 2006 DODGE CHARGER RT STALLS INTERMITTENTLY WHILE I'M TURNING A CORNER ON A CITY STREET OR STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT. WHEN IT STALLS, I DO NOT HAVE POWER STEERING. THIS IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS BECAUSE I COULD GET HIT. SOMETIMES IT STALLS MORE OFTEN AFTER I FILL UP WITH GAS. I DO NOT OVERFILL. I HAVE BEEN FILING MY GAS TANK THE SAME WAY FOR 10 YEARS AND UNTIL OCTOBER OF 2016 IT HAS NEVER BEEN A PROBLEM.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/20/2016 - LITTLETON, CO
MY 2006 DODGE CHARGER RT STALLS INTERMITTENTLY WHILE I'M TURNING A CORNER ON A CITY STREET OR STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT. WHEN IT STALLS, I DO NOT HAVE POWER STEERING. THIS IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS BECAUSE I COULD GET HIT. SOMETIMES IT STALLS MORE OFTEN AFTER I FILL UP WITH GAS. I DO NOT OVERFILL. I HAVE BEEN FILING MY GAS TANK THE SAME WAY FOR 10 YEARS AND UNTIL OCTOBER OF 2016 IT HAS NEVER BEEN A PROBLEM.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/16/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/15/2016 - WASHINGTON, DC
WHILE SITTING AT THE TRAFFIC LIGHT IT CUTS OFF. WHILE DRIVING, THE VEHICLE CUTS OFF. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON SINCE 2014. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO DARCARS HILLCREST HGTS AND NEW CARROLLTON BUT NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE AND THEY HAVE YET TO TELL ME WHAT THE PROBLEM IS

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/15/2016 - FREDERICK, MD
CHARGER IS STALLING FREQUENTLY. AFTER FILLING UP WITH GAS. STALLED AND WENT INTO SOME SAFE MODE WHERE IT WOULDN'T GO INTO SECOND GEAR. STALLED ON THE HIGHWAY, SIDE ROADS AND WHILE MAKING A TURN. WHILE MAKING THE TURN IT STALLED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE INTERSECTION WHILE A TRUCK WAS COMING AT US. I HAD MY SON IN THE CAR AND WE WERE STRANDED IN THE ROAD. WE COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED!! I HAVE READ UP ON THIS AND IT SEAMS TO BE A FAULTY SENSOR AT THE GAS TANK FILL UP. WHY HAS THIS NOT BEEN ADDRESSED? SOUNDS LIKE YOU ARE WAITING FOR SOMEONE TO GET KILLED BEFORE DOING ANYTHING. GREAT COMPANY!!!

View Details

ENGINE

11/15/2016 - FREDERICK, MD
CHARGER IS STALLING FREQUENTLY. AFTER FILLING UP WITH GAS. STALLED AND WENT INTO SOME SAFE MODE WHERE IT WOULDN'T GO INTO SECOND GEAR. STALLED ON THE HIGHWAY, SIDE ROADS AND WHILE MAKING A TURN. WHILE MAKING THE TURN IT STALLED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE INTERSECTION WHILE A TRUCK WAS COMING AT US. I HAD MY SON IN THE CAR AND WE WERE STRANDED IN THE ROAD. WE COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED!! I HAVE READ UP ON THIS AND IT SEAMS TO BE A FAULTY SENSOR AT THE GAS TANK FILL UP. WHY HAS THIS NOT BEEN ADDRESSED? SOUNDS LIKE YOU ARE WAITING FOR SOMEONE TO GET KILLED BEFORE DOING ANYTHING. GREAT COMPANY!!!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/15/2016 - ARLINGTON, VA
AFTER FILLING UP GAS TANK, VEHICLE WILL RAPIDLY LOSE RPMS AND STALL WHEN STOPPED AT LIGHTS OR STOP SIGNS. I THEN PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK AND AM ABLE TO RESTART IT, BUT IT WILL STALL AGAIN WHILE MOVING RIGHT AFTER. THIS CAUSES A LOSS OF POWER STEERING WHICH HAS ALMOST CAUSED ME TO CRASH MULTIPLE TIMES. I ONLY BOUGHT THE CAR 12 DAYS AGO AND IT HAS DONE THIS MULTIPLE TIMES. I HAVE READ THE MULTIPLE OTHER COMPLAINTS, AND HAVE TRIED TO FIX THE PROBLEM BY REPLACING THE PCM, BUT THAT DID NOT WORK. OTHERS HAVE SUGGESTED REPLACING THE GAS TANK BECAUSE THE STALL COULD BE CAUSED BY THE VAPOR RECOVERY SYSTEM FAILING FOLLOWING REFUELING. I BELIEVE THIS ISSUE IS RELATED TO NHTSA ACTION PE13016. THE VEHICLE IN ITS CURRENT CONDITION IS UNSAFE TO DRIVE AS IT WILL STALL WHILE MOVING AND LOSE POWER STEERING. THE PROBLEM FIRST OCCURRED ON 11/7/16, AND OCCURRED AGAIN ON 11/15/16, BOTH TIMES AFTER I REFUELED. IT WILL NOT OCCUR IF THE GAS IS BELOW 3/4 FULL. I REPLACED THE PCM ON 11/10/16, BUT THAT DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

11/15/2016 - ARLINGTON, VA
AFTER FILLING UP GAS TANK, VEHICLE WILL RAPIDLY LOSE RPMS AND STALL WHEN STOPPED AT LIGHTS OR STOP SIGNS. I THEN PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK AND AM ABLE TO RESTART IT, BUT IT WILL STALL AGAIN WHILE MOVING RIGHT AFTER. THIS CAUSES A LOSS OF POWER STEERING WHICH HAS ALMOST CAUSED ME TO CRASH MULTIPLE TIMES. I ONLY BOUGHT THE CAR 12 DAYS AGO AND IT HAS DONE THIS MULTIPLE TIMES. I HAVE READ THE MULTIPLE OTHER COMPLAINTS, AND HAVE TRIED TO FIX THE PROBLEM BY REPLACING THE PCM, BUT THAT DID NOT WORK. OTHERS HAVE SUGGESTED REPLACING THE GAS TANK BECAUSE THE STALL COULD BE CAUSED BY THE VAPOR RECOVERY SYSTEM FAILING FOLLOWING REFUELING. I BELIEVE THIS ISSUE IS RELATED TO NHTSA ACTION PE13016. THE VEHICLE IN ITS CURRENT CONDITION IS UNSAFE TO DRIVE AS IT WILL STALL WHILE MOVING AND LOSE POWER STEERING. THE PROBLEM FIRST OCCURRED ON 11/7/16, AND OCCURRED AGAIN ON 11/15/16, BOTH TIMES AFTER I REFUELED. IT WILL NOT OCCUR IF THE GAS IS BELOW 3/4 FULL. I REPLACED THE PCM ON 11/10/16, BUT THAT DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/1/2016 - SMITHS CREEK, MI
MY 2006 CHARGER WILL STALL AND OR JOLT VIOLENTLY AS SOON AS I LEAVE THE GAS STATION, AND IT IS ONLY WHEN I FILL UP MY TANK. AFTER RESTARTING THE VEHICLE TWICE AND DRIVING A SHORT WHILE I DO NOT HAVE ANY PROBLEMS, IT ONLY HAPPENS WHEN I FILL UP MY GAS TANK. I KNOW THAT NEWER VEHICLE FUEL TANKS ARE DESIGNED NOT TO BE FORCE FILLED DUE TO THE SPECIAL EVAP SYSTEM. I ONLY FILL THE TANK TILL THE STATION PUMP NOZZLE CLICKS OFF, WHICH IS WHAT I WAS TOLD HOW TO FILL THESE NEWER VEHICLES. THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR OVER SEVERAL MONTHS, THOUGH I HAVE NOT HAD ANY TRAFFIC ACCIDENTS, I FEAR THAT THIS IS AN ACCIDENT WAITING TO HAPPEN.

View Details

ENGINE

11/1/2016 - SMITHS CREEK, MI
MY 2006 CHARGER WILL STALL AND OR JOLT VIOLENTLY AS SOON AS I LEAVE THE GAS STATION, AND IT IS ONLY WHEN I FILL UP MY TANK. AFTER RESTARTING THE VEHICLE TWICE AND DRIVING A SHORT WHILE I DO NOT HAVE ANY PROBLEMS, IT ONLY HAPPENS WHEN I FILL UP MY GAS TANK. I KNOW THAT NEWER VEHICLE FUEL TANKS ARE DESIGNED NOT TO BE FORCE FILLED DUE TO THE SPECIAL EVAP SYSTEM. I ONLY FILL THE TANK TILL THE STATION PUMP NOZZLE CLICKS OFF, WHICH IS WHAT I WAS TOLD HOW TO FILL THESE NEWER VEHICLES. THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR OVER SEVERAL MONTHS, THOUGH I HAVE NOT HAD ANY TRAFFIC ACCIDENTS, I FEAR THAT THIS IS AN ACCIDENT WAITING TO HAPPEN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 119
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds