Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2006 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 809 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Exterior Lighting (12) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8)
Electrical System (80) Fuel Propulsion System (149) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (119) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (194) Power Train (161) Steering (72) Vehicle Speed Control (35)
Engine (214) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (7) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (61) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (16) Suspension (21) Wheels (6)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 98
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

4/23/2015 - PALMETTO , GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE GEAR SHIFT BECAME STUCK IN THE PARK POSITION. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE CONTACT HAD TO LEAVE THE VEHICLE IN NEUTRAL GEAR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION LEVER AND LINKAGE COLUMN SHIFT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 08V583000 (POWER TRAIN). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,296.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/22/2015 - MIAMI, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A LOUD KNOCKING SOUND COMING FROM THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A MECHANIC AND IT WAS DETERMINED THAT TWO OF THE ENGINE CYLINDERS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE FAILURE CAUSED THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT TO ILLUMINATE ON THE INSTRUMENT. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE ENGINE RAN HOT AND IT WAS DETERMINED THAT IT WAS BECAUSE OF PRESSURE BUILDING IN THE RADIATOR AND A LEAK IN THE TRANSMISSION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 108,000.

View Details

ENGINE

4/22/2015 - MIAMI, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A LOUD KNOCKING SOUND COMING FROM THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A MECHANIC AND IT WAS DETERMINED THAT TWO OF THE ENGINE CYLINDERS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE FAILURE CAUSED THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT TO ILLUMINATE ON THE INSTRUMENT. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE ENGINE RAN HOT AND IT WAS DETERMINED THAT IT WAS BECAUSE OF PRESSURE BUILDING IN THE RADIATOR AND A LEAK IN THE TRANSMISSION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 108,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/15/2015 - APPLEGATE, CA
AFTER REFUELING, THE VEHICLE STALLS AND RUNS ROUGH. USUALLY REQUIRES RESTARTING A COUPLE OF TIMES BEFORE IT EVENTUALLY SMOOTHES OUT. HAS STALLED SEVERAL TIMES WHILE ON FREEWAY AFTER REFUELING NEARLY CAUSING AN ACCIDENT. HAVE BEEN EXPERIENCING PROBLEM EVERY TIME VEHICLE IS REFUELED FOR THE PAST 2-3 YEARS. PROBLEM IS BECOMING MORE SERIOUS.

View Details

ENGINE

4/15/2015 - APPLEGATE, CA
AFTER REFUELING, THE VEHICLE STALLS AND RUNS ROUGH. USUALLY REQUIRES RESTARTING A COUPLE OF TIMES BEFORE IT EVENTUALLY SMOOTHES OUT. HAS STALLED SEVERAL TIMES WHILE ON FREEWAY AFTER REFUELING NEARLY CAUSING AN ACCIDENT. HAVE BEEN EXPERIENCING PROBLEM EVERY TIME VEHICLE IS REFUELED FOR THE PAST 2-3 YEARS. PROBLEM IS BECOMING MORE SERIOUS.

View Details

ENGINE

4/14/2015 - WEST COVINA, CA
DRIVING AT 65 MPH ON THE FREEWAY, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO SHUDDER/ HESITATE, THERE WAS SO MUCH WHITE SMOKE FROM MY VEHICLE THAT I COULD NOT SEE ANYTHING BEHIND ME IN MY REAR VIEW MIRROR. I HAD TO HAVE THE VEHICLE LOADED ONTO A FLAT BED TOW TRUCK. THE NUMBER 3 VALVE SEAT HAD DROPPED OUT AND SMASHED HOLES IN THE PISTON, THE DEBRIS HAD PUMMELED THE CYLINDER HEAD. THE DEBRIS HAD THEN BEEN SUCKED BACK INTO THE INLET MANIFOLD, THE DEBRIS WAS DEPOSITED INTO NUMBER 1 AND 2 CYLINDERS PUMMELING THE HEAD OF THE PISTONS AND CYLINDER HEADS. THERE WERE ACTUALLY SHARDS OF METAL EMBEDDED IN THE CYLINDER HEAD. THE VEHICLE IS NEXT TO WORTHLESS AT THIS TIME. THE VEHICLE IS A LIMITED ADDITION DAYTONA AND COST ABOUT $35K NEW. I HAVE BEEN DEALING WITH DODGE FOR MORE THAN A YEAR AS THIS IS A DESIGN FAULT AND APPEARS TO BE QUITE COMMON. DODGE REFUSES TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. I SPOKE TO AN EXECUTIVE OF DODGE WITH THE TITLE OF HEAD OF TOP CARE CUSTOMER CARE FOR FIAT CHRYSLER AUTOMOBILES ON 4/9/2015, HER STATEMENT "YOU SHOULD NOT EXPECT MUCH MORE THAN 100,000 MILES FROM ANY VEHICLE". REALLY WANTS YOU TO GO AND BUY A CHRYSLER PRODUCT, I HAVE OWNED 5 OF THEIR VEHICLES IN 15 YEARS, NEVER AGAIN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/31/2015 - PHOENIX, AZ
GEAR SHIFT STUCK IN PARK CAR IN GARAGE AAA TOWING CAME OUT TOWED CAR AND REPAIRED $312.16 OTHER 2006 CHARGERS ON RECALL LIST FOR THIS SAME ISSUE THIS ONE NEEDS TO BE ALSO IT IS A SPECIAL EDITION MODEL SO ONLY 2000 MADE OF THESE IT'S OBVIOUS BY RECALL LIST THIS IS AN ISSUE, WHY SHOULD I HAVE TO PAY JUST BECAUSE MY CAR IS A SPECIAL MODEL

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/31/2015 - PHOENIX, AZ
GEAR SHIFT STUCK IN PARK CAR IN GARAGE AAA TOWING CAME OUT TOWED CAR AND REPAIRED $312.16 OTHER 2006 CHARGERS ON RECALL LIST FOR THIS SAME ISSUE THIS ONE NEEDS TO BE ALSO IT IS A SPECIAL EDITION MODEL SO ONLY 2000 MADE OF THESE IT'S OBVIOUS BY RECALL LIST THIS IS AN ISSUE, WHY SHOULD I HAVE TO PAY JUST BECAUSE MY CAR IS A SPECIAL MODEL

View Details

STEERING

3/25/2015 - PHOENIX, AZ
I FILLED UP WITH GAS IN CALIFORNIA WHEN ON VACATION. I PULLED OUT OF THE GAS STATION AND ONTO THE FREEWAY. ABOUT A MINUTE AFTER MERGING AND GETTING UP TO SPEED THE ENTIRE CAR SHUT OFF. NO POWER, NO POWER STEERING, COMPLETELY DIED. I HAD TO MERGE THROUGH TWO LANES OF HIGHWAY TRAFFIC AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS TO GET OUT OF THE FLOW OF TRAFFIC. CAR WAS ABLE TO RESTART AFTER PUTTING IT IN PARK AND WAITING SEVERAL MINUTES. HUGE SAFETY CONCERN HAVING THE VEHICLE COMPLETELY SHUT OFF ON ME. I HAVE HAD FOUR OTHER INSTANCES OF THIS HAPPEN TO ME. THE OTHER TIMES I WAS ON SIDE STREETS OR IN THE PARKING LOT WAITING FOR THE CAR TO DIE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/25/2015 - PHOENIX, AZ
I FILLED UP WITH GAS IN CALIFORNIA WHEN ON VACATION. I PULLED OUT OF THE GAS STATION AND ONTO THE FREEWAY. ABOUT A MINUTE AFTER MERGING AND GETTING UP TO SPEED THE ENTIRE CAR SHUT OFF. NO POWER, NO POWER STEERING, COMPLETELY DIED. I HAD TO MERGE THROUGH TWO LANES OF HIGHWAY TRAFFIC AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS TO GET OUT OF THE FLOW OF TRAFFIC. CAR WAS ABLE TO RESTART AFTER PUTTING IT IN PARK AND WAITING SEVERAL MINUTES. HUGE SAFETY CONCERN HAVING THE VEHICLE COMPLETELY SHUT OFF ON ME. I HAVE HAD FOUR OTHER INSTANCES OF THIS HAPPEN TO ME. THE OTHER TIMES I WAS ON SIDE STREETS OR IN THE PARKING LOT WAITING FOR THE CAR TO DIE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 98
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds