Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2006 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1027 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (78) Exterior Lighting (16) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8)
Electrical System (106) Fuel Propulsion System (196) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (120) Unknown Or Other (20)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel System Gasoline (209) Power Train (185) Steering (80) Vehicle Speed Control (44)
Engine (288) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (9) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (64) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (19) Suspension (24) Wheels (7)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 121
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

1/4/2017 - METAIRIE, LA
TAKATA RECALL - I NEVER RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION THAT I HAD A RECALL ON MY AIRBAGS - I WILL BE LOOKING INTO THIS SHORTLY -- ALSO, AND MORE IMPORTANTLY, MY ENGINE STALLS AFTER I REFUEL -- THERE IS NO RECALL ON THIS ISSUE BUT APPARENTLY IT HAPPENS A LOT AS I DID SEE THAT THERE WAS AN INQUIRY INTO THIS -- THIS JUST STARTED TO HAPPEN TO MY CAR IN THE LAST 2 YEARS AND SO THEREFORE IT IS OUT OF WARRANTY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/4/2017 - METAIRIE, LA
TAKATA RECALL - I NEVER RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION THAT I HAD A RECALL ON MY AIRBAGS - I WILL BE LOOKING INTO THIS SHORTLY -- ALSO, AND MORE IMPORTANTLY, MY ENGINE STALLS AFTER I REFUEL -- THERE IS NO RECALL ON THIS ISSUE BUT APPARENTLY IT HAPPENS A LOT AS I DID SEE THAT THERE WAS AN INQUIRY INTO THIS -- THIS JUST STARTED TO HAPPEN TO MY CAR IN THE LAST 2 YEARS AND SO THEREFORE IT IS OUT OF WARRANTY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/4/2017 - KANSAS CITY, MO
2006 DODGE CHARGER HAS A KNOWN ISSUE INVOLVING VEHICLE STALLING IF THE GAS TANK IS FILLED. DODGE NEGOTIATED A LIFETIME WARRANTY FOR REPAIR OF THIS DEFECT IN LIEU OF A RECALL. I WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THIS WARRANTY. MY FUEL PUMP HAS FAILED DUE TO CHRONICALLY RUNNING HOT DUE TO INABILITY TO FILL THE GAS TANK. THE FUEL PUMP DESIGN DEPENDS ON THE COOLER TEMPERATURE OF THE GASOLINE IN THE TANK TO KEEP IT COOLED. IN OTHER WORDS, NOT BEING ABLE TO KEEP ADEQUATE GAS TANK LEVELS HAS DIRECTLY LED TO FUEL PUMP OVERHEATING AND FAILURE. DODGE WILL NOT COVER THE COST OF FUEL PUMP REPAIR BUT WILL REPLACE THE FUEL TANK THAT CAUSED THE DAMAGE. THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION LEAVING THE PARKING LOT AT

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/3/2017 - ST. MARYS, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART FOR THE RECALL REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/3/2017 - CEDAR PARK, TX
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V313000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ENGINE

12/30/2016 - REDDING, CA
AFTER FILLING UP AT A GAS STATION, THE CAR WILL STALL OUT RANDOMLY AT ALL SPEEDS OF TRAVEL. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE THAT HAS SHT DOWN THE CAR WHILE MERGING ONTO FREEWAY IN FRONT OF SEMI-TRUCKS ONLY TO HAVE POWER STEERING AND PROPULSION STOP. LUCKILY TRUCK WAS PAYING ATTENTION AND HONKED AND SWERVED AROUND, WHILE I RODE OFF ONTO THE SHOULDER. THEN IT RESTARTED, RAN FOR ANOTHER MINUTE AND STALLED AGAIN WHILE TRYING TO GET BACK OFF THE SHOULDER. I ENDED UP LETTING IT IDLE FOR 5 MIN BEFORE BEING ABLE TO MERGE SUCCESSFULLY AND GET HOME. ONLINE I HAVE SEEN MANY PEOPLE SAYING THEY HAVE SAME OR SIMILAR ISSUES WITH THEIR 2006 DODGE VEHICLES AS WELL. PLEASE HELP TO GET THIS RESOLVED AS THIS COULD HAVE VERY WELL KILLED SOMEONE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/30/2016 - REDDING, CA
AFTER FILLING UP AT A GAS STATION, THE CAR WILL STALL OUT RANDOMLY AT ALL SPEEDS OF TRAVEL. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE THAT HAS SHT DOWN THE CAR WHILE MERGING ONTO FREEWAY IN FRONT OF SEMI-TRUCKS ONLY TO HAVE POWER STEERING AND PROPULSION STOP. LUCKILY TRUCK WAS PAYING ATTENTION AND HONKED AND SWERVED AROUND, WHILE I RODE OFF ONTO THE SHOULDER. THEN IT RESTARTED, RAN FOR ANOTHER MINUTE AND STALLED AGAIN WHILE TRYING TO GET BACK OFF THE SHOULDER. I ENDED UP LETTING IT IDLE FOR 5 MIN BEFORE BEING ABLE TO MERGE SUCCESSFULLY AND GET HOME. ONLINE I HAVE SEEN MANY PEOPLE SAYING THEY HAVE SAME OR SIMILAR ISSUES WITH THEIR 2006 DODGE VEHICLES AS WELL. PLEASE HELP TO GET THIS RESOLVED AS THIS COULD HAVE VERY WELL KILLED SOMEONE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/30/2016 - ROHNERT PARK, CA
2006 DODGE CHARGES WITH 5.7 HEMI V8 - EXPERIENCING RANDOM STALLING. HAPPENS AT ANY SPEED. EVERYTHING SHUTS OFF INCLUDING THE POWER STEERING AND ABS. FIRST HAPPENED WHILE MERGING ONTO FREEWAY AND I HAD TO DRIVE OFF THE ROAD TO AVOID A SEMI-TRUCK. THIS HAPPENED WITH MY YOUNG CHILD IN THE VEHICLE. I HAD THE GAS TANK, FUEL CANISTER, AND PURGE VALVE REPLACED. THE PROBLEM STILL OCCURS REGARDLESS OF THE AMOUNT OF GAS IN THE VEHICLE AND REGARDLESS OF WHEN IT WAS REFUELED. EVEN THOUGH THIS APPEARS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM THE DEALERSHIP HAS BEEN NO HELP AND EVEN TRIED CHARGING ME FOR UNNECESSARY DIAGNOSTICS. CAR DOES NOT FLASH A CODE SO AFTER REPLACING WHAT WAS SUPPOSED TO FIX THE ISSUE, DRIVING THE VEHICLE IS THE ONLY WAY TO FIND OUT IF IT IS FIXED. THIS HAS LEAD TO A FEW DANGEROUS CLOSE CALLS. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS ISSUE BEFORE PEOPLE GET HURT BECAUSE THIS IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM. THANK YOU, JEFF ALLEN

View Details

ENGINE

12/30/2016 - ROHNERT PARK, CA
2006 DODGE CHARGES WITH 5.7 HEMI V8 - EXPERIENCING RANDOM STALLING. HAPPENS AT ANY SPEED. EVERYTHING SHUTS OFF INCLUDING THE POWER STEERING AND ABS. FIRST HAPPENED WHILE MERGING ONTO FREEWAY AND I HAD TO DRIVE OFF THE ROAD TO AVOID A SEMI-TRUCK. THIS HAPPENED WITH MY YOUNG CHILD IN THE VEHICLE. I HAD THE GAS TANK, FUEL CANISTER, AND PURGE VALVE REPLACED. THE PROBLEM STILL OCCURS REGARDLESS OF THE AMOUNT OF GAS IN THE VEHICLE AND REGARDLESS OF WHEN IT WAS REFUELED. EVEN THOUGH THIS APPEARS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM THE DEALERSHIP HAS BEEN NO HELP AND EVEN TRIED CHARGING ME FOR UNNECESSARY DIAGNOSTICS. CAR DOES NOT FLASH A CODE SO AFTER REPLACING WHAT WAS SUPPOSED TO FIX THE ISSUE, DRIVING THE VEHICLE IS THE ONLY WAY TO FIND OUT IF IT IS FIXED. THIS HAS LEAD TO A FEW DANGEROUS CLOSE CALLS. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS ISSUE BEFORE PEOPLE GET HURT BECAUSE THIS IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM. THANK YOU, JEFF ALLEN

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/30/2016 - ROHNERT PARK, CA
2006 DODGE CHARGES WITH 5.7 HEMI V8 - EXPERIENCING RANDOM STALLING. HAPPENS AT ANY SPEED. EVERYTHING SHUTS OFF INCLUDING THE POWER STEERING AND ABS. FIRST HAPPENED WHILE MERGING ONTO FREEWAY AND I HAD TO DRIVE OFF THE ROAD TO AVOID A SEMI-TRUCK. THIS HAPPENED WITH MY YOUNG CHILD IN THE VEHICLE. I HAD THE GAS TANK, FUEL CANISTER, AND PURGE VALVE REPLACED. THE PROBLEM STILL OCCURS REGARDLESS OF THE AMOUNT OF GAS IN THE VEHICLE AND REGARDLESS OF WHEN IT WAS REFUELED. EVEN THOUGH THIS APPEARS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM THE DEALERSHIP HAS BEEN NO HELP AND EVEN TRIED CHARGING ME FOR UNNECESSARY DIAGNOSTICS. CAR DOES NOT FLASH A CODE SO AFTER REPLACING WHAT WAS SUPPOSED TO FIX THE ISSUE, DRIVING THE VEHICLE IS THE ONLY WAY TO FIND OUT IF IT IS FIXED. THIS HAS LEAD TO A FEW DANGEROUS CLOSE CALLS. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS ISSUE BEFORE PEOPLE GET HURT BECAUSE THIS IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM. THANK YOU, JEFF ALLEN

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 121
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds