Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2006 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1119 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (94) Exterior Lighting (20) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8)
Electrical System (118) Fuel Propulsion System (228) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (120) Unknown Or Other (24)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel System Gasoline (212) Power Train (196) Steering (85) Vehicle Speed Control (47)
Engine (315) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (9) Visibility (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (64) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (22) Suspension (26) Wheels (8)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 129
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY

4/2/2018 - COLUMBIS, OH
TL THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR CONDITIONING WENT OUT IN THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. DURING THAT TIME, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE THERMOSTAT WAS LEAKING ANTIFREEZE. THE INDEPENDENT MECHANIC INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT CERTAIN VEHICLES WERE ON A RECALL LIST FOR THE THERMOSTAT. THE MANUFACTURER AND DEALER WERE NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 141,050.

View Details

ENGINE

3/28/2018 - EAGLE, ID
EVERY TIME I GET GAS AND START THE ENGINE, IT JERKS AND DIES AFTER DRIVING A FEW HUNDRED FEET. I START IT AGAIN AND IT KEEPS DOING THE SAME THING REPEATEDLY. I'M AFRAID TO PULL INTO TRAFFIC BECAUSE I DON'T KNOW WHEN IT'S GOING TO JUST STOP RUNNING. I FEEL THIS IS A VERY UNSAFE SITUATION. IT HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR ABOUT 2 YEARS NOW. LAST NIGHT WAS THE MOST RECENT OCCURRENCE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/28/2018 - EAGLE, ID
EVERY TIME I GET GAS AND START THE ENGINE, IT JERKS AND DIES AFTER DRIVING A FEW HUNDRED FEET. I START IT AGAIN AND IT KEEPS DOING THE SAME THING REPEATEDLY. I'M AFRAID TO PULL INTO TRAFFIC BECAUSE I DON'T KNOW WHEN IT'S GOING TO JUST STOP RUNNING. I FEEL THIS IS A VERY UNSAFE SITUATION. IT HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR ABOUT 2 YEARS NOW. LAST NIGHT WAS THE MOST RECENT OCCURRENCE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/8/2018 - AVONDALE, AZ
VEHICLE STALLS AFTER FILLING UP, ESPECIALLY ON TURNS AT SLOW SPEED. IT HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES INTERMITTENTLY.

View Details

STEERING

3/6/2018 - ROCKY MOUNT, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE STEERING WHEEL SHOOK VIOLENTLY. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE CONTACT HEARD A CLICKING NOISE UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT COASTED THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF, AND RESTARTED IT AND WAS ABLE TO DRIVE. VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO HENDRICK DODGE (81 MACKENAN DR, CARY NC 27511, (919) 439-5394) WHERE AN ALIGNMENT WAS COMPLETED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 300,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/3/2018 - SNELLVILLE, GA
FOR THE PAST COUPLE OF MONTHS WHEN I FILL UP OR TOP OFF IN GAS, AS SOON AS I START TO DRIVE THE CAR EITHE STALLS OR COMPLETELY CUT NOT WHILE DRIVING. I'M BIEBER HAS HAPPENED WHILE IN THE HIGHWAY AFTER FUELING UP AS WELL AS ON THE CITY STREETS. DUE THIS MALFUNCTION, I HAVE ALMOST BEEN REAR ENDED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/3/2018 - AUGUSTA, GA
CAR CONTINUES TO CUT OFF WHILE DRIVING, MAKES A LOT NOISE AND ALL THE LIGHTS ON DASH CUT ON AND DOES NOT MOVE WHEN IN GEAR.

View Details

STEERING

1/29/2018 - AUGUSTA, GA
AFTER FILLING UP, MY CAR ENGINE STALLS. I TOOK IT TO THE MECHANIC AND WAS TOLD CHRYSLER KNOWS ABOUT IT. I LOOKED IT UP ON YOUR SITE AND INDEED FOUND PE13016 BUT DISAGREE WITH THE FINDING BEING THAT IT IS A LOW SAFETY ISSUE. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES WHERE I WOULD BE IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC AND THE ENGINE STALLS AND SHUTS OFF AND THE STEERING LOCKS UP WHERE I CAN'T STEER THE CAR WHATSOEVER. THE MECHANIC TOLD ME THAT IT WAS DUE TO A FUEL VAPOR LOCK IN WHICH THE EVAP VALVE STAYS OPEN AND DUE TO IT, THE ENGINE RUNS RICH BECAUSE OF THE FUEL. I WAS TOLD NOT TO OVERFILL IN WHICH I HAVE STOPPED, HOWEVER, THIS HAPPENS JUST BY FILLING UP. I HAVE HAD TO REV THE ENGINE TO BURN OFF GAS UNTIL THE ENGINE STOPS STALLING. EVERY TIME, I'VE STOPPED TRAFFIC IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD AND IT HAS HAPPENED AT NIGHT AS WELL WHERE VISIBILITY IS LOW AND ALMOST GOT HIT BECAUSE MY CAR STALLED. IT HAS ALSO HAPPENED RIGHT BEFORE TURNING IN A BUSY INTERSECTION AND THANKFUL THAT IT HAPPENED RIGHT BEFORE I MADE THE TURN. EVERY TIME IT HAS HAPPENED I'VE BEEN IN MOTION ON A CITY STREET AND A FEW TIMES ON A HIGHWAY BUT EVERY TIME I WAS ABOUT TO TURN. THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED, I DIDN'T KNOW AND GOT THE TOW TRUCK TO TOW THE CAR AND HAD THE POLICE TO COME BEHIND ME BECAUSE IN HIS WORDS, I WAS IN AN UNSAFE LOCATION, SO THAT NO OTHER ONCOMING VEHICLES WOULD HIT ME. THE DATE THAT I PLACED ON WHEN IT HAPPENED IS THE LAST DATE IT HAS HAPPENED THUS FAR AS OF THIS WRITING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/29/2018 - AUGUSTA, GA
AFTER FILLING UP, MY CAR ENGINE STALLS. I TOOK IT TO THE MECHANIC AND WAS TOLD CHRYSLER KNOWS ABOUT IT. I LOOKED IT UP ON YOUR SITE AND INDEED FOUND PE13016 BUT DISAGREE WITH THE FINDING BEING THAT IT IS A LOW SAFETY ISSUE. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES WHERE I WOULD BE IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC AND THE ENGINE STALLS AND SHUTS OFF AND THE STEERING LOCKS UP WHERE I CAN'T STEER THE CAR WHATSOEVER. THE MECHANIC TOLD ME THAT IT WAS DUE TO A FUEL VAPOR LOCK IN WHICH THE EVAP VALVE STAYS OPEN AND DUE TO IT, THE ENGINE RUNS RICH BECAUSE OF THE FUEL. I WAS TOLD NOT TO OVERFILL IN WHICH I HAVE STOPPED, HOWEVER, THIS HAPPENS JUST BY FILLING UP. I HAVE HAD TO REV THE ENGINE TO BURN OFF GAS UNTIL THE ENGINE STOPS STALLING. EVERY TIME, I'VE STOPPED TRAFFIC IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD AND IT HAS HAPPENED AT NIGHT AS WELL WHERE VISIBILITY IS LOW AND ALMOST GOT HIT BECAUSE MY CAR STALLED. IT HAS ALSO HAPPENED RIGHT BEFORE TURNING IN A BUSY INTERSECTION AND THANKFUL THAT IT HAPPENED RIGHT BEFORE I MADE THE TURN. EVERY TIME IT HAS HAPPENED I'VE BEEN IN MOTION ON A CITY STREET AND A FEW TIMES ON A HIGHWAY BUT EVERY TIME I WAS ABOUT TO TURN. THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED, I DIDN'T KNOW AND GOT THE TOW TRUCK TO TOW THE CAR AND HAD THE POLICE TO COME BEHIND ME BECAUSE IN HIS WORDS, I WAS IN AN UNSAFE LOCATION, SO THAT NO OTHER ONCOMING VEHICLES WOULD HIT ME. THE DATE THAT I PLACED ON WHEN IT HAPPENED IS THE LAST DATE IT HAS HAPPENED THUS FAR AS OF THIS WRITING.

View Details

ENGINE

1/29/2018 - AUGUSTA, GA
AFTER FILLING UP, MY CAR ENGINE STALLS. I TOOK IT TO THE MECHANIC AND WAS TOLD CHRYSLER KNOWS ABOUT IT. I LOOKED IT UP ON YOUR SITE AND INDEED FOUND PE13016 BUT DISAGREE WITH THE FINDING BEING THAT IT IS A LOW SAFETY ISSUE. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES WHERE I WOULD BE IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC AND THE ENGINE STALLS AND SHUTS OFF AND THE STEERING LOCKS UP WHERE I CAN'T STEER THE CAR WHATSOEVER. THE MECHANIC TOLD ME THAT IT WAS DUE TO A FUEL VAPOR LOCK IN WHICH THE EVAP VALVE STAYS OPEN AND DUE TO IT, THE ENGINE RUNS RICH BECAUSE OF THE FUEL. I WAS TOLD NOT TO OVERFILL IN WHICH I HAVE STOPPED, HOWEVER, THIS HAPPENS JUST BY FILLING UP. I HAVE HAD TO REV THE ENGINE TO BURN OFF GAS UNTIL THE ENGINE STOPS STALLING. EVERY TIME, I'VE STOPPED TRAFFIC IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD AND IT HAS HAPPENED AT NIGHT AS WELL WHERE VISIBILITY IS LOW AND ALMOST GOT HIT BECAUSE MY CAR STALLED. IT HAS ALSO HAPPENED RIGHT BEFORE TURNING IN A BUSY INTERSECTION AND THANKFUL THAT IT HAPPENED RIGHT BEFORE I MADE THE TURN. EVERY TIME IT HAS HAPPENED I'VE BEEN IN MOTION ON A CITY STREET AND A FEW TIMES ON A HIGHWAY BUT EVERY TIME I WAS ABOUT TO TURN. THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED, I DIDN'T KNOW AND GOT THE TOW TRUCK TO TOW THE CAR AND HAD THE POLICE TO COME BEHIND ME BECAUSE IN HIS WORDS, I WAS IN AN UNSAFE LOCATION, SO THAT NO OTHER ONCOMING VEHICLES WOULD HIT ME. THE DATE THAT I PLACED ON WHEN IT HAPPENED IS THE LAST DATE IT HAS HAPPENED THUS FAR AS OF THIS WRITING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 129
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds