Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2006 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 828 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Exterior Lighting (12) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8)
Electrical System (86) Fuel Propulsion System (149) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (119) Unknown Or Other (16)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (198) Power Train (164) Steering (73) Vehicle Speed Control (36)
Engine (223) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (7) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (61) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (16) Suspension (21) Wheels (6)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 100
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/21/2015 - PITTSBURGH, PA
MY 2006 CHARGER RT BEGINS TO STALL OUT EVERY TIME AFTER FILLING UP THE TANK. IN FACT, ANYTHING PAST 2/3 OF A TANK WILL CAUSE THIS ISSUE. THE STALL GENERALLY HAPPENS WHILE AT A STOP SIGN OR LIGHT, WHEN THE RPMS ARE LOW. THE ONLY WAY TO CONTINUE IS TO TURN THE CAR COMPLETELY OFF AND RESTART IT WHILE PUMPING THE GAS. IF I AM ABLE TO GET TO THE HIGHWAY AND UP TO SPEED BEFORE STALLING OUT THE ENGINE SPUTTERS AND THE RPMS DIP A COUPLE OF TIMES BEFORE STABILIZING. THIS ONLY HAPPENS ~3-10 MINUTES AFTER PUTTING GAS IN THE TANK. I DRIVE A 2006 DODGE CHARGER RT. IT JUST RECENTLY PASSED THE 100K MILEAGE AFTER A ~600 MILE TRIP HOME TO SEE THE FAMILY. I'VE HAD THIS PROBLEM OCCUR MANY TIMES OVER THE PAST 1-2 YEARS AND I AM BECOMING WORRIED THAT THIS MAY BE A COMMON ISSUE. AFTER A BIT OF RESEARCH, I'VE FOUND THAT THIS IS ACTUALLY PRETTY COMMON WITH 2006 CHARGERS AND FEEL THAT THIS IS AN ISSUE THAT DODGE AUGHT TO ADDRESS. PROBLEMS WITH THE GAS TANK AND EVAP SYSTEM IN THIS VEHICLE APPEAR TO BE A FREQUENT OCCURRENCE AND CAN RESULT IN VERY DANGEROUS SITUATIONS. THIS HAS BEEN A MINOR INCONVENIENCE AS OF YET BUT I'M CONCERNED THAT THIS COULD CAUSE VERY SERIOUS PROBLEMS IN THE FUTURE, IF THEY HAVEN'T ALREADY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/15/2015 - MILWAUKEE, WI
2006 DODGE CHARGER RT. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE GEAR SHIFTER LATCH PROBLEMS. THE CONSUMER STATED THE GEAR SHIFT LEVER WOULD NOT MOVE OUT OF THE PARK POSITION. THE CONSUMER STATED THE SHIFT INTERLOCK LATCH WAS MADE OF PINK PLASTIC AND HAD A TENDENCY TO SNAP OFF IT THE RETURN SPRING HOOK. THE CONSUMER DISCOVERED A RECALL HAD BEEN ISSUED. HOWEVER, IT ONLY PERTAINED TO CERTAIN VIN'S MANUFACTURED AT CERTAIN PLANTS.

View Details

ENGINE

6/11/2015 - ARLETA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 15 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE; HOWEVER, THE OIL PRESSURE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO MULTIPLE INDEPENDENT MECHANICS WHO WERE UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE OR REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/11/2015 - ARLETA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 15 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE; HOWEVER, THE OIL PRESSURE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO MULTIPLE INDEPENDENT MECHANICS WHO WERE UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE OR REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/11/2015 - BEREA, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE DRIVING AT 55 MPH, ALL THE ELECTRICAL FUNCTIONS FAILED AND ALL THE WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART AFTER FIVE MINUTES. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT THE FAILURE WAS NOT ABLE TO BE DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/10/2015 - SALIDA, CA
LUCKILY THE FREEWAY WAS EMPTY, BUT FROM 70MPH I WENT TO ABOUT 20 MPH I HAD TO CALL A TOW TRUCK TOOK IT IN AND COULDNT FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT. IT DID IT AGAIN LAST MONTH ON A COUNTRY RD, I'VE BEEN LUCKY THAT I HAVEN'T BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT! IT ALSO TURNS OFF AT STOPS BUT WILL RESTART IMMEDIATELY. NO ENGINE LIGHT IS ON I'VE PAID FOR 3 DIAGNOSTIC CHECKS AND NOTHING.

View Details

ENGINE

6/9/2015 - NORTH AURORA, IL
10 MINUTES AFTER FILLING UP THE CAR COMPLETELY DIED NO POWER STEERING , NO POWER BRAKES NO LIGHTS . CAR RESTARTED THEN DIED A SECOND TIME. BRAKES AND STEERING ARE A MAJOR SAFETY HAZARD UNDER THESE CONDITIONS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/29/2015 - RIO LINDA , CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V313000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

EQUIPMENT: AIR CONDITIONER

5/29/2015 - CUMBERLAND, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR CONDITIONING UNIT FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE AND VIN WERE UNKNOWN.

View Details

ENGINE

5/20/2015 - LAKE CHARLES, LA
NOTE: I AM DOCUMENTING MY MOST RECENT DATE OF INCIDENT BECAUSE THERE HAVE BEEN SO MANY INCONSISTENT, UNPREDICTABLE INCIDENCES TO RECALL THE FIRST. THESE ISSUES HAVE GONE ON FOR PROBABLY AT LEAST 3 MONTHS NOW. TODAY WHILE WAITING AT A STOP LIGHT, MY CAR DIED AS LIGHT TURNED GREEN AND I GOT READY TO GO. I WAS STILL IN IDLE/ NO ACCELERATION. I PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK AND ATTEMPTED TO START. I WAS ABLE TO GET IT STARTED AND MOVING BEFORE THE LIGHT CHANGED BUT NOT SOON ENOUGH. I EVEN PUT FLASHERS ON SO DRIVERS BEHIND ME WOULD KNOW I WASN'T GETTING ANYWHERE ON FIRST ATTEMPT AT MOVING. (THIS OCCURRED 2 DAYS PRIOR WHILE WAITING IN LINE OF TRAFFIC---TWICE IN THE PARKING LOT. ON SUNDAY IT DIED AT LEAST 5 TIMES WHILE WAITING IN LONG LINE OF TRAFFIC/CONGESTED PARKING LOT AFTER AN EVENT.) ONCE I ARRIVED AT MY DESTINATION TONIGHT, I DECIDED TO CHECK FOR CODE AND GOT NONE. THEN AFTER IDLING ABOUT 5 MINUTES IT DIED. I AGAIN STARTED IT AND LET IT IDLE. IT DIED AGAIN. I DID THIS A FEW MORE TIMES WITH SAME RESULT IN EVEN LESS IDLE TIME. I DID NOTICE THAT THE LAST TIME SHOWED THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND THE OIL LIGHT. I'M NOT SURE IF THIS IS PART OF THE FUEL TANK ISSUE FOR WHICH I GOT A RECALL LETTER LAST MAY OR NOT. THIS IS GETTING FRUSTRATING. (BY THE WAY, I HAVE A HALF TANK OF GAS. I HAVEN'T REFUELED IN A FEW DAYS.) PRIOR TO THIS RANDOM STALLING IT WOULD 'HICCUP' DURING ACCELERATION. THE RPM'S WOULD PLUMMET AND A CHIME WOULD GO OFF. THIS LASTED MAYBE A SECOND AND THEN RETURNED TO NORMAL. SOME HICCUPS HAVE BEEN MILD WHILE OTHERS WERE JERKY. WHEN I TALKED TO DODGE SERVICE DEPT ABOUT HICCUP THEY DIDN'T THINK THIS WAS FUEL TANK ISSUE. FORTUNATELY, BOTH PROBLEMS AREN'T OCCURRING AT SAME TIME BUT BOTH HAVE BEEN FRUSTRATING. THE HICCUPS HAVEN'T OCCURRED SINCE THE DIEING STARTED. I AM FRUSTRATED AND CONCERNED ABOUT OUR SAFETY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 100
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds