Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2006 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 803 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Exterior Lighting (12) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8)
Electrical System (80) Fuel Propulsion System (148) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (119) Unknown Or Other (13)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (194) Power Train (159) Steering (72) Vehicle Speed Control (34)
Engine (211) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (7) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (61) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (16) Suspension (21) Wheels (6)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 97
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

3/25/2015 - PHOENIX, AZ
I FILLED UP WITH GAS IN CALIFORNIA WHEN ON VACATION. I PULLED OUT OF THE GAS STATION AND ONTO THE FREEWAY. ABOUT A MINUTE AFTER MERGING AND GETTING UP TO SPEED THE ENTIRE CAR SHUT OFF. NO POWER, NO POWER STEERING, COMPLETELY DIED. I HAD TO MERGE THROUGH TWO LANES OF HIGHWAY TRAFFIC AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS TO GET OUT OF THE FLOW OF TRAFFIC. CAR WAS ABLE TO RESTART AFTER PUTTING IT IN PARK AND WAITING SEVERAL MINUTES. HUGE SAFETY CONCERN HAVING THE VEHICLE COMPLETELY SHUT OFF ON ME. I HAVE HAD FOUR OTHER INSTANCES OF THIS HAPPEN TO ME. THE OTHER TIMES I WAS ON SIDE STREETS OR IN THE PARKING LOT WAITING FOR THE CAR TO DIE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/25/2015 - PHOENIX, AZ
I FILLED UP WITH GAS IN CALIFORNIA WHEN ON VACATION. I PULLED OUT OF THE GAS STATION AND ONTO THE FREEWAY. ABOUT A MINUTE AFTER MERGING AND GETTING UP TO SPEED THE ENTIRE CAR SHUT OFF. NO POWER, NO POWER STEERING, COMPLETELY DIED. I HAD TO MERGE THROUGH TWO LANES OF HIGHWAY TRAFFIC AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS TO GET OUT OF THE FLOW OF TRAFFIC. CAR WAS ABLE TO RESTART AFTER PUTTING IT IN PARK AND WAITING SEVERAL MINUTES. HUGE SAFETY CONCERN HAVING THE VEHICLE COMPLETELY SHUT OFF ON ME. I HAVE HAD FOUR OTHER INSTANCES OF THIS HAPPEN TO ME. THE OTHER TIMES I WAS ON SIDE STREETS OR IN THE PARKING LOT WAITING FOR THE CAR TO DIE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/25/2015 - PHOENIX, AZ
I FILLED UP WITH GAS IN CALIFORNIA WHEN ON VACATION. I PULLED OUT OF THE GAS STATION AND ONTO THE FREEWAY. ABOUT A MINUTE AFTER MERGING AND GETTING UP TO SPEED THE ENTIRE CAR SHUT OFF. NO POWER, NO POWER STEERING, COMPLETELY DIED. I HAD TO MERGE THROUGH TWO LANES OF HIGHWAY TRAFFIC AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS TO GET OUT OF THE FLOW OF TRAFFIC. CAR WAS ABLE TO RESTART AFTER PUTTING IT IN PARK AND WAITING SEVERAL MINUTES. HUGE SAFETY CONCERN HAVING THE VEHICLE COMPLETELY SHUT OFF ON ME. I HAVE HAD FOUR OTHER INSTANCES OF THIS HAPPEN TO ME. THE OTHER TIMES I WAS ON SIDE STREETS OR IN THE PARKING LOT WAITING FOR THE CAR TO DIE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/14/2015 - BOURG, LA
I HAD JUST TANKED UP THE CAR WITH PREMIUM UNLEADED, PULLED OUT AND CAME TO A STOP AT LIGHT . THE CAR SURGED AND SHUT OFF, I PLACED IT IN PARK RESTARTED IT. THEN DRIVING AGAIN 2MINS LATER THE CAR STARTED STALL I PUT IT IN (N) REVVED THE ENGINE. I HAD TO STOP AT LIGHT AND THE ENGINE AGAIN SHUT OFF,, PUT IN (P) RESTARTED IT AND BEFORE REACHING HOME IT STARTED TO STALL AGAIN, BUT I WAS ABLE TO KEEP IT RUNNING UNTIL HOME THIS TRIP WAS ONLY 4MILES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/8/2015 - HERNANDO, MS
MY DAUGHTER AFTER FUELING UP HER 2006 DODGE CHARGER RT AND WHILE LEAVING THE FUELING STATION, THE CAR STALLED IN TRAFFIC. SEVERAL ATTEMPTS TO START WITH NO SUCCESS. AFTER RECEIVING ASSISTANCE MOVING THE VEHICLE TO A SAFE PARKING PLACE, THE CAR STARTED, BUT RAN EXTREMELY ROUGH. AFTER ABOUT FIVE MINUTES THE ENGINE SMOOTH OUT. THIS PROBLEM WOULD HAPPEN ONLY AFTER FILLING UP WITH FUEL. TRIED FUELING UP AT DIFFERENT FUELING STATIONS, SAME RESULTS. THE ENGINE SEEMS TO WOULD SHUT OFF ALWAYS AS YOU ARE ATTEMPTING TO GET INTO TRAFFIC. HAD OUR MECHANIC CHECK THE VEHICLE OUT THE FIRST TIME, THEY CLEANED ALL TO DO WITH INJECTORS AND HOUSING ECT. STILL THE PROBLEM EXIST. WORRY WITH THIS CAR AND MY DAUGHTER DRIVING IT WITH THE POTENTIAL TO STALL IN TRAFFIC. SINCE THE PROBLEM STARTED, THE VEHICLE HAS STALLED FROM FUELING UP APPROXIMATELY 15 TIMES.

View Details

ENGINE

3/8/2015 - HERNANDO, MS
MY DAUGHTER AFTER FUELING UP HER 2006 DODGE CHARGER RT AND WHILE LEAVING THE FUELING STATION, THE CAR STALLED IN TRAFFIC. SEVERAL ATTEMPTS TO START WITH NO SUCCESS. AFTER RECEIVING ASSISTANCE MOVING THE VEHICLE TO A SAFE PARKING PLACE, THE CAR STARTED, BUT RAN EXTREMELY ROUGH. AFTER ABOUT FIVE MINUTES THE ENGINE SMOOTH OUT. THIS PROBLEM WOULD HAPPEN ONLY AFTER FILLING UP WITH FUEL. TRIED FUELING UP AT DIFFERENT FUELING STATIONS, SAME RESULTS. THE ENGINE SEEMS TO WOULD SHUT OFF ALWAYS AS YOU ARE ATTEMPTING TO GET INTO TRAFFIC. HAD OUR MECHANIC CHECK THE VEHICLE OUT THE FIRST TIME, THEY CLEANED ALL TO DO WITH INJECTORS AND HOUSING ECT. STILL THE PROBLEM EXIST. WORRY WITH THIS CAR AND MY DAUGHTER DRIVING IT WITH THE POTENTIAL TO STALL IN TRAFFIC. SINCE THE PROBLEM STARTED, THE VEHICLE HAS STALLED FROM FUELING UP APPROXIMATELY 15 TIMES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/3/2015 - MORRISTOWN, NJ
HI, I'VE HAD A NUMBER OF ISSUES WITH THE FUEL TANK SCENARIO THE EARLIER MODELS SUFFER WITH. WHEN I FILL THE CAR, IT STALLS A NUMBER OF TIMES. I WAS IN A SITUATION WHERE I WAS COMING TO A LIGHT, THE RPM+S STARTED TO DROP AND THE ENGINE STARTED TO DIE AS I WAS BREAKING. THEN THE CAR REVVED BACK TO LIFE AND THIS CAUSE THE RPM+S TO SHOOT UP JOLTING THE VEHICLE FORWARD. IMMEDIATELY AFTER IT DIED YET AGAIN HOWEVER THE ISSUE IS I LOST ALL POWER, STEERING, BRAKES, EVERYTHING. FROM THE JOLT FORWARD I CAME DANGEROUSLY CLOSE TO REAR ENDING THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME WITH A HEAVY BRAKE PEDAL. AT THIS POINT I WAS JARRED A BIT, AND NEEDED TO GET THE CAR GOING AGAIN. I WENT TO START IT AND IT DID NO+T WANT TO TURN OVER FOR ROUGHLY 30 SECONDS. THE LIGHT CHANGED AND THERE WAS A LINEUP OF DISGRUNTLED DRIVERS BEHIND ME AS I MADE EFFORTS TO GET GOING AGAIN. THEN INEVITABLY THE VEHICLE DIED YET AGAIN IN THE MIDDLE OF THE INTERSECTION AND WENT THROUGH THE SAME SITUATION. TO NEGATE THIS, I HAVE MADE EFFORTS TO NOT FILL THE TANK. NOW THE BIGGER ISSUE I AM HAVING IS THAT WHEN I GO TO PUT GAS IN THE CAR, IT DOES NOT TAKE. I CANNOT GET A GALLON IN WITHOUT THE PUMP CLICKING OFF. IT TAKES ME QUITE SOME TIME, 10 MINUTES EVEN TO SIMPLY PUT $20 IN THE CAR, AND I GET VERY FRUSTRATED GAS ATTENDANTS HERE IN JERSEY IF I'M NOT PERMITTED TO DO MAN THE PUMP. YOU NEED TO LITERALLY STAND WITH IT AND CONTINUE TO RESET THE PUMP AS IT SLOWLY TAKES AND CONTINUOUSLY CLICKS OFF. THIS PROBLEM NEEDS TO BE SOLVED, IT I+S SIMPLY UNACCEPTABLE AND DANGEROUS. I HAVE MANY OTHER INSTANCES & DATES WITH STALLING AND JOLTING ISSUES AFTER FILLUP. EVEN WHEN I LEAVE A 1/4 OF THE TANK EMPTY, I STILL GET SOME SYMPTOMS. NOT AS OFTEN, BUT THE CAR STILL DOES DIE OUT. NOW THAT IT IS SO DIFFICULT TO FILL, IT IS INCONVENIENT TO DRIVE. I LOVE THE CAR BUT THE ISSUES ARE ALMOST NOT WORTH IT, ESPECIALLY WITH HOW THIRSTY THE SRT IS-NO PUN THANKS

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/3/2015 - MORRISTOWN, NJ
HI, I'VE HAD A NUMBER OF ISSUES WITH THE FUEL TANK SCENARIO THE EARLIER MODELS SUFFER WITH. WHEN I FILL THE CAR, IT STALLS A NUMBER OF TIMES. I WAS IN A SITUATION WHERE I WAS COMING TO A LIGHT, THE RPM+S STARTED TO DROP AND THE ENGINE STARTED TO DIE AS I WAS BREAKING. THEN THE CAR REVVED BACK TO LIFE AND THIS CAUSE THE RPM+S TO SHOOT UP JOLTING THE VEHICLE FORWARD. IMMEDIATELY AFTER IT DIED YET AGAIN HOWEVER THE ISSUE IS I LOST ALL POWER, STEERING, BRAKES, EVERYTHING. FROM THE JOLT FORWARD I CAME DANGEROUSLY CLOSE TO REAR ENDING THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME WITH A HEAVY BRAKE PEDAL. AT THIS POINT I WAS JARRED A BIT, AND NEEDED TO GET THE CAR GOING AGAIN. I WENT TO START IT AND IT DID NO+T WANT TO TURN OVER FOR ROUGHLY 30 SECONDS. THE LIGHT CHANGED AND THERE WAS A LINEUP OF DISGRUNTLED DRIVERS BEHIND ME AS I MADE EFFORTS TO GET GOING AGAIN. THEN INEVITABLY THE VEHICLE DIED YET AGAIN IN THE MIDDLE OF THE INTERSECTION AND WENT THROUGH THE SAME SITUATION. TO NEGATE THIS, I HAVE MADE EFFORTS TO NOT FILL THE TANK. NOW THE BIGGER ISSUE I AM HAVING IS THAT WHEN I GO TO PUT GAS IN THE CAR, IT DOES NOT TAKE. I CANNOT GET A GALLON IN WITHOUT THE PUMP CLICKING OFF. IT TAKES ME QUITE SOME TIME, 10 MINUTES EVEN TO SIMPLY PUT $20 IN THE CAR, AND I GET VERY FRUSTRATED GAS ATTENDANTS HERE IN JERSEY IF I'M NOT PERMITTED TO DO MAN THE PUMP. YOU NEED TO LITERALLY STAND WITH IT AND CONTINUE TO RESET THE PUMP AS IT SLOWLY TAKES AND CONTINUOUSLY CLICKS OFF. THIS PROBLEM NEEDS TO BE SOLVED, IT I+S SIMPLY UNACCEPTABLE AND DANGEROUS. I HAVE MANY OTHER INSTANCES & DATES WITH STALLING AND JOLTING ISSUES AFTER FILLUP. EVEN WHEN I LEAVE A 1/4 OF THE TANK EMPTY, I STILL GET SOME SYMPTOMS. NOT AS OFTEN, BUT THE CAR STILL DOES DIE OUT. NOW THAT IT IS SO DIFFICULT TO FILL, IT IS INCONVENIENT TO DRIVE. I LOVE THE CAR BUT THE ISSUES ARE ALMOST NOT WORTH IT, ESPECIALLY WITH HOW THIRSTY THE SRT IS-NO PUN THANKS

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/1/2015 - TWENTYNINE PALMS, CA
I FIRST NOTICED AN ISSUE NOT LONG AFTER BUYING THE CAR. AFTER EVERY FILL UP (WITHOUT TOPPING OFF), WITHIN A FEW HUNDRED FEET OF DRIVING OFF THE OIL PRESSURE LIGHT COMES ON AND THE CAR SHUTS OFF. IT HAS NOT CAUSED AN ACCIDENT YET BUT IT IS A HUGE ANNOYANCE AND COULD CAUSE FUTURE PROBLEMS. I'VE READ ONLINE THAT ITS AN ISSUE WITH THE EVAP SYSTEM. ITS AN EXPENSIVE ISSUE AND IS DUE TO POOR VEHICLE PARTS, NOT OPERATOR USE AND NEEDS TO BE RECALLED AND FIXED

View Details

ENGINE

1/26/2015 - FORT WAINWRIGHT, AK
I WAS DRIVING HOME ONE DAY . I WAS GOING 55 AND THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN I HEAR A POP INSIDE THE ENGINE WHILE I'M DRIVING. AFTER THAT DAY, THE ENGINE STARTED MAKING A TICKING/KNOCKING NOISE. IT STARTED GETTING WORSE AND WORSE. I DON'T DRIVE MY CAR ANYMORE BECAUSE WHEN I DRIVE IT, THE ENGINE HEATS UP REALLY FAST AND THE CAR SHAKES ALONG WITH THE TICKING/KNOCKING NOISE. I DID SOME RESEARCH ON THE TICKING/KNOCKING NOISE ON A 2006 DODGE CHARGER 3.5L V6 ENGINE AND A LOT OF RESULTS CAME UP WITH MANY PEOPLE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM ON THEIR 2006 DODGE CHARGER 3.5L V6 ENGINE. I WOULD REALLY APPRECIATE IT IF YOU STARTED AN INVESTIGATION ON THIS SITUATION CONSIDERING THAT IT HAS HAPPENED TO HUNDREDS OF PEOPLE IN DIFFERENT PLACES. PLEASE REALLY LOOK INTO IT, THANK YOU.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 97
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds