Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2006 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 753 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Exterior Lighting (11) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8)
Electrical System (72) Fuel Propulsion System (129) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (119) Unknown Or Other (12)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (178) Power Train (155) Steering (66) Vehicle Speed Control (31)
Engine (196) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (7) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (60) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (13) Suspension (21) Wheels (6)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 92
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

10/29/2014 - FORT MITCHELL, AL
AFTER FILLING GAS TANK COMPLETELY, CAR STARTED STALLING GOING DOWN THE ROAD. CONTINUED TO STALL AT STOP LIGHT AND IN PARKING LOT AND WOULD NOT STAY RUNNING UNLESS HITTING THE GAS PEDAL. PROBLEM SEEMED TO RESOLVE ITSELF AFTER A FEW MILES. SAME EXACT ISSUE HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES OVER THE LAST FEW MONTHS, BUT ONLY WHEN FILLING THE GAS TANK COMPLETELY. WHEN ONLY PUTTING PARTIAL AMOUNT INTO TANK, THIS ISSUE DOES NOT SEEM TO BE AN ISSUE. HAVE DONE RESEARCH ONLINE AND IT SEEMS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE 2006 CHARGER AND 2 OTHER CHRYSLER MODELS. SPOKE WITH FIRESTONE IN COLUMBUS GA AND WAS ADVISED THERE WAS A SERVICE BULLETIN REGARDING THIS ISSUE AND THAT MY GAS TANK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. CONTACTED A DODGE DEALERSHIP IN COLUMBUS GA OVER 2 MONTHS AGO AND WAS ADVISED FUEL TANK IS ON NATIONAL BACK ORDER.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/29/2014 - FORT MITCHELL, AL
AFTER FILLING GAS TANK COMPLETELY, CAR STARTED STALLING GOING DOWN THE ROAD. CONTINUED TO STALL AT STOP LIGHT AND IN PARKING LOT AND WOULD NOT STAY RUNNING UNLESS HITTING THE GAS PEDAL. PROBLEM SEEMED TO RESOLVE ITSELF AFTER A FEW MILES. SAME EXACT ISSUE HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES OVER THE LAST FEW MONTHS, BUT ONLY WHEN FILLING THE GAS TANK COMPLETELY. WHEN ONLY PUTTING PARTIAL AMOUNT INTO TANK, THIS ISSUE DOES NOT SEEM TO BE AN ISSUE. HAVE DONE RESEARCH ONLINE AND IT SEEMS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE 2006 CHARGER AND 2 OTHER CHRYSLER MODELS. SPOKE WITH FIRESTONE IN COLUMBUS GA AND WAS ADVISED THERE WAS A SERVICE BULLETIN REGARDING THIS ISSUE AND THAT MY GAS TANK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. CONTACTED A DODGE DEALERSHIP IN COLUMBUS GA OVER 2 MONTHS AGO AND WAS ADVISED FUEL TANK IS ON NATIONAL BACK ORDER.

View Details

ENGINE

10/28/2014 - BELLAIARE, OH
IN JUNE 2013 I STARTED EXPERIENCING PROBLEMS WITH THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND THE VEHICLE INTERMITTENTLY SHUTTING OFF. TOOK VEHICLE TO SEVERAL DIFFERENT DODGE MECHANIC AND WAS ADVISED THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM AND JUST NOT FILL THE GAS TANK TO FULL WHEN ADDING FULL. THIS WENT ON SEVERAL MONTHS AND AFTER SPENDING THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS FOR "PROBLEMS" NOT ASSOCIATED WITH THIS ISSUE I TOOK TO A NEIGHBORHOOD MECHANIC WHO AFTER HAVING THE VEHICLE FOR SEVERAL MONTHS DETERMINED IT NEEDED A NEW THROTTLE SWITCH (DIDN'T SOLVE THE PROBLEM) AND FINALLY REBUILDING THE COMPUTER. THIS HELPED THE PROBLEM A LITTLE AS THE STALLING OUT ONLY HAPPENED INFREQUENTLY. HOWEVER, RECENTLY THE PROBLEM IS REOCCURRING MORE FREQUENTLY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/28/2014 - ALBUQUERQUE, NM
2006 DODGE CHARGER R/T DAYTONA. I NOTICED A LURCH IN THE VEHICLE YESTERDAY AS I WAS COMING HOME FROM WORK AS WELL AS THE SPEAKERS TURNING OFF/ON. THIS MORNING AS THE VEHICLE WAS IDLING AT A STOP LIGHT, THE DASHBOARD TURNED OFF, VEHICLE CHIMED AND ALL GAGES WENT TO ZERO, BUT THE VEHICLE WAS STILL RUNNING AND WAS ABLE TO ACCELERATE WITHOUT DISPLAYING ANY INDICATION ON GAGES. AFTER ABOUT 10-15 SECONDS, GAGES RETURNED TO NORMAL AS IF THE VEHICLE HAD RESTARTED. HAPPENED TWICE WITHIN 20 MIN WHILE VEHICLE WAS IDLING IN TRAFFIC. NEVER DID IT SEEM THAT THE ENGINE HAD SHUT DOWN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/23/2014 - YOUNGSTOWN, OH
I DRIVE A 2006 DODGE CHARGER R/T WITH THE 5.7L HEMI. IT HAS THE 19 GALLON FUEL TANK IN IT. THE TANK IS DEFECTIVE AS IT CAUSES THE CAR TO STALL SOON AFTER A FILL UP AND USUALLY IT'LL JUST STALL ANYTIME IT CHOOSES EVEN IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE AND THE NHTSA AND CHRYSLER SETTLED THIS EARLIER THIS YEAR. WELL, I CALLED CHRYSLER CORP. ABOUT THIS AND THEY TRANSFERRED THE WARRANTY INTO MY NAME AND ASKED ME TO HAVE IT TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP. AFTER ALL THAT WAS DONE, I GET A CALL FROM DODGE CUSTOMER CARE AND THEY TELL ME THAT THERE IS NO WARRANTY ON THE CAR SINCE IT WAS ORIGINALLY REGISTERED AND MADE FOR CANADA. THIS IS A VERY STUPID EXCUSE TO AVOID REPAIRING A PROBLEM THEY CAUSED. THEY ARE REFUSING TO REPAIR THEIR DEFECT AS PER THE TERMS THEY AGREED TO WITH THE NHTSA. THIS VEHICLE IS UNSAFE TO DRIVE AS IT STALLS OUT AT ANY TIME.

View Details

ENGINE

10/19/2014 - SACRAMENTO , CA
THE OTHER NIGHT I WAS DRIVING MY CAR, AND EVERYTHING WAS FINE. I PARKED TO GET GAS, TRIED TO START IT BACK UP AND COMPLETELY DIED OUT. I HAD TO BE TOWED BACK HOME, WHILE WORKING ON THE CAR TO FIGURE WHAT WAS GOING ON, I FOUND METAL ALL INSIDE OF MY OIL. WHAT HAD HAPPENED IS THE MOTOR DROPPED A VALVE AND GOT CRUSHED CAUSING CATASTROPHIC FAILURE, AND NOW I MUST BUY A WHOLE NEW ENGINE. WHILE RESEARCHING THIS FOR 30 MINUTES I HAVE FOUND MANY OTHER STORIES AND PICTURES OF THE SAME ISSUE WITH OTHER PEOPLE. WHY NO ONE HAS ACKNOWLEDGED THIS ISSUE, I HAVE NO IDEA. BUT IT HAS AFFECTED MANY PEOPLE AND LEFT MANY PEOPLE STRANDED. I AM EXTREMELY UPSET WITH THIS SEEING THAT I JUST BOUGHT THIS CAR AND I ALREADY HAVE TO DROP A NEW MOTOR IN. NHTSA NEEDS TO ACKNOWLEDGE THIS ISSUE BECAUSE IT IS AFFECTING THOUSANDS OF MODELS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/16/2014 - CONYERS, GA
I JUST FILLED MY CAR UP WITH GAS AND DROVE IT. I CAME TO A STOP AT THE LIGHT AND WHEN I BEGAN TO ACCELERATE MY CAR STALLED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE INTERSECTION. IT FINALLY PICKED UP SPEED, BUT AS I APPROACHED THE SECOND LIGHT IT COMPLETELY CUT OFF. I WAS ABLE TO START IT BUT I HAD TO GO OVER 50+ OR MORE MILES PER HOUR TO KEEP IT FROM STALLING. ONCE I DROVE INTO MY DRIVEWAY IT COMPLETELY CUT OFF AGAIN. I RAN THE CAR FOR 30 MINUTES AND IT DID NOT CUT OFF, BUT WHEN MY HUSBAND LEFT FOR WORK, AS HE APPROACHED THE RED LIGHT IT CUT OFF ONCE AGAIN. THIS HAS GOT BE FIXED. IT IS TO DANGEROUS TO STOP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE INTERSECTION, OR ANYTIME WHILE DRIVING FOR THAT MATTER. I HAVE A 2006 DODGE CHARGER RT HEMI 5.7LITER ENGINE.UP TO DATE ON ALL OIL CHANGES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/11/2014 - LEAGUE CITY, TX
VEHICLE JERKS WHILE DRIVING AS IF SOMETHING IS STARTING TO DIE OR GO OUT, THEN STARTS RUNNING AGAIN. ONLY APPEARS TO HAPPEN AFTER FILLING THE FUEL TANK TO COMPLETELY FULL. VEHICLE WILL STALL OUT WITHIN SEVERAL FEET AFTER FUELING UP, THEN RESTART AND YOU'RE GOOD TO GO. YOU DRIVE MAYBE AN EIGHTH OF A MILE AND AS YOU SLOW TO A STOP, THE CAR WILL STALL OUT AND DIE AGAIN. USUALLY FINE FOR THE REST OF THE EVENING. VEHICLE EVENTUALLY SHUTS OFF WHEN I COME TO A NEAR STOP OR AM STOPPED. OIL LAMP LIGHT TURNS ON WHEN THE CAR DIES. TRIED RESTARTING TWICE, BUT WAS UNSUCCESSFUL. TOOK THE KEY OUT OF THE IGNITION, THEN WAITED A FEW MINUTES. TRIED TO START THE ENGINE AGAIN AND WAS SUCCESSFUL. IT SEEMS EXTREMELY UNSAFE TO DRIVE LIKE THIS, BUT IT SEEMS I HAVE TO DRIVE LONG ENOUGH TO BURN OFF SOME GAS TO KEEP THE GAS TANK UNDER FULL AT ALL TIMES TO AVOID THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

10/9/2014 - FAYETTEVILLE, PA
VEHICLE SEEMS TO BUCKLE AND JERK, MOST NOTABLY AFTER REFUELING. FIRST NOTICED THIS WHILE ON THE INTERSTATE TRAVELING AT 70 MPH. VEHICLE EVENTUALLY SHUTS OFF WHEN YOU NEAR A STOP AND SOMETIMES TAKES MULTIPLE TIMES TO RESTART. THE OIL LIGHT COMES ON WHEN IT SHUTS OFF BUT THE OIL LEVEL IS FINE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/6/2014 - TUCUMCARI, NM
MY CAR WAS USING WAY TOO MUCH GAS COMPARED TO WHAT IT USED TO AND WAS RUNNING POORLY SO I TOOK IT IN FOR A TUNE UP. THE FILTERS, PLUGS, FLUIDS, ETC. WERE DONE. ABOUT TWO WEEKS AFTER THE TUNE UP I BEGAN TO HAVE TROUBLE. AT FIRST I THOUGHT IT WAS THE SHOP THAT HAD DONE THE TUNE UP BUT AFTER READING HUNDREDS OF LETTERS FROM OTHER PEOPLE, I KNOW NOW THAT IT IS THE CAR. THIS IS WHAT HAPPENS: WHEN I BEGAN TO ACCELERATE AFTER STOPPING AT STOP SIGN, MY CAR LOST ALL POWER AND DIED WITHIN TWO BLOCKS OF THE STOP SIGN. THE CAR STARTED UP AND SEEMED FINE. APPROXIMATELY A WEEK AND A HALF LATER, AGAIN, I WAS ACCELERATING FROM A STOP SIGN AND THE CAR STALLED ABOUT 4 BLOCKS FROM THE STOP SIGN. THIS CONTINUED TO HAPPEN INTERMITTENTLY UNTIL SEPTEMBER15, 2014, WHEN THE CAR DIED WHEN I WAS APPROACHING THE STOP SIGN AND HAD TO BE TOWED. I HAVE 5 GRANDCHILDREN THAT I TRANSPORT DAILY AND THIS CAR IS JUST NOT SAFE TO DO SO ANYMORE. THANK GOODNESS I HAVE NOT GONE OUT OF TOWN WITH A CAR LOAD OF CHILDREN AND HAVE THIS HAPPEN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 92
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds