Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2006 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 650 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Exterior Lighting (10) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (6)
Electrical System (63) Fuel Propulsion System (138) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (119) Unknown Or Other (18)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (100) Power Train (133) Steering (57) Vehicle Speed Control (28)
Engine (153) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (6) Visibility (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (52) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (11) Suspension (21) Wheels (6)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 79
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

4/18/2014 - SGARPSBURG, GA
THIS ISSUE RELATES TO PE13-016. MY 2006 DODGE CHARGER FUEL TANK CANNOT BE FILLED TO OVER 3/4 CAPACITY. WHEN IT IS FILLED BEYOND THIS LEVEL, THE ENGINE WILL STALL, PARTICULARLY AFTER MAKING A LH TURN. I HAVE BEEN ENDURING THIS PROBLEM FOR YEARS AND HAVE BECOME FAIRLY ADEPT AT RE-STARTING MY CAR IN HEAVY TRAFFIC CONDITIONS AND FORTUNATELY HAVE NOT BEEN INVOLVED IN ANY COLLISIONS AS A RESULT. I UNDERSTAND CHRYSLER NEGOTIATED A SETTLEMENT WITH NHTSA TO TREAT THIS AS AN EXTENDED WARRANTY CONDITION BEFORE A FULL BLOWN RECALL ORDER WAS ISSUED. HOWEVER, EVEN THOUGH CHRYSLER ACKNOWLEDGES THAT BEING A 2006 CHARGER WITH A 5.7L ENGINE MATCHES ALL THE CRITERIA TO BE INCLUDED IN THE EXTENDED WARRANTY, MY VEHICLE'S VIN IS NOT INCLUDED ON THE LIST OF EFFECTED VEHICLES AND REFUSES TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM. THERE IS OBVIOUS CULPABILITY AND CHRYSLER'S PART AND THEY APPEAR TO BE HIDING BEHIND AN ADMINISTRATIVE TECHNICALITY TO AVOID DOING WHAT THEY AGREED TO DO IN THEIR SETTLEMENT OF PE13-016 WITH NHTSA.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/18/2014 - MARENGO, IL
I HAVE A 2006 DODGE DAYTONA R/T CHARGER. IN JANUARY OF THIS YEAR, WITH ~185K THOUSAND MILES ON THE CAR, IT BEGAN STALLING AFTER FUELING. THE CAR WILL SUDDENLY DIE AND CAUSES LOSS OF POWER STEERING AND BRAKES, AND IS OFTEN DIFFICULT TO RESTART. THIS IS CAUSING EXTREMELY DANGEROUS CONDITIONS, AS IT OCCURS WHEN PULLING OUT INTO TRAFFIC AND/OR MOVING THROUGH INTERSECTIONS. BECAUSE THE CAR SUDDENLY STALLS, YOU ARE LEFT IN THE MIDDLE OF THE STREET AND AT TIMES, FAST-MOVING TRAFFIC AND UNABLE TO START THE CAR TO MOVE IT OUT OF THE WAY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/16/2014 - ATLANTA, GA
FILLED UP GAS TANK, AND AFTER LEAVING THE GAS STATION AND TURNING ON TO EXIT RAMP THE CAR STALLED OUT, AND I LOST CONTROL OF THE STEERING. AFTER A FEW ATTEMPTS TO RESTART THE CAR STARTED, BUT STALLED MULTIPLE TIMES UNTIL THE FUEL LEVEL DROPPED TO ABOUT 3/4 FULL. I EXPERIENCED THIS SAME PROBLEM A FEW DAYS LATER AFTER FILLING UP AGAIN. I DID SOME RESEARCH ONLINE AND FOUND NUMEROUS CHARGER OWNERS EXPERIENCING THE SAME ISSUE. I STOOPED FILLING UP AND ONLY FILL TO ABOUT 3/4 FULL AND I HAVEN'T EXPERIENCED THE ISSUE AGAIN. TODAY I CAME ACROSS A REPORT ON THE WARRANTY EXTENSION CONCERNING THIS ISSUE (PE13-016). I CALLED CHRYSLER AND WAS TOLD MY VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE WARRANTY EXTENSION. I AM HIGHLY UPSET AND ANNOYED BY THIS TOTAL LACK OF REGARD FOR HUMAN LIFE!

View Details

STEERING

4/12/2014 - BROAD RUN, VA
REFERENCE PE13-016 AFTER FILLING UP THE FUEL TANK, VERY SHORTLY DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD THE CAR WILL STALL. THIS HAS HAPPENED AT LEAST 4 TIMES NOW AND WITH OTHER INCIDENTS OF THE VEHICLE TRYING TO STALL AT HIGH SPEEDS ON THE INTERSTATE (65-70 MPH), WITH AT LEAST 2 INCIDENTS AT AN INTERSECTION WHERE I FILL UP AT A STATION FREQUENTLY. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY CONCERN, IF THIS DOES HAPPEN AS I AM GOING THROUGH AN INTERSECTION WITH A LOSS OF BRAKES OR STEERING, IT COULD EASILY RESULT IN AN ACCIDENT AND INJURY.

View Details

ENGINE

4/12/2014 - BROAD RUN, VA
REFERENCE PE13-016 AFTER FILLING UP THE FUEL TANK, VERY SHORTLY DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD THE CAR WILL STALL. THIS HAS HAPPENED AT LEAST 4 TIMES NOW AND WITH OTHER INCIDENTS OF THE VEHICLE TRYING TO STALL AT HIGH SPEEDS ON THE INTERSTATE (65-70 MPH), WITH AT LEAST 2 INCIDENTS AT AN INTERSECTION WHERE I FILL UP AT A STATION FREQUENTLY. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY CONCERN, IF THIS DOES HAPPEN AS I AM GOING THROUGH AN INTERSECTION WITH A LOSS OF BRAKES OR STEERING, IT COULD EASILY RESULT IN AN ACCIDENT AND INJURY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/11/2014 - STOCKTON, CA
THE FIRST TIME THE ISSUE HAPPENED WAS RIGHT AFTER WE FILLED UP GAS, WE DROVE ONTO THE I-5 AND PROCEEDED UP THE GRAPEVINE IN CALIFORNIA, VERY STEEP GRADE. AS WE STARTED GOING UP THE CAR BOGGED AND DIED, WHICH SLOWED OUR SPEED DRAMATICALLY AS WELL AS GAVE ME VERY HARD STEERING AT 65 MPH. WE ALMOST GOT REAR-ENDED BY A LARGER VEHICLE BEHIND US, DO TO OUR RAPID DE-ACCELERATION GOING UP HILL WITH NO BRAKE LIGHTS. THE REASON FOR NO BRAKE LIGHTS IS BECAUSE I WAS NOT SLOWING DOWN ON MY OWN. THAN THE CAR TOOK ABOUT 15 CRANKS TO START ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THAN I PROCEEDED TO MERGE INTO TRAFFIC WHICH WAS A SAFE MERGE, UNTIL THE CAR BOGGED A SECOND TIME IN THE SLOW LANE WHICH THIS TIME I HAD A SEMI TRUCK BEHIND US. ANOTHER CLOSE CALL GETTING TO THE SHOULDER. WE WAITED 5 MINUTES STARTED CAR AGAIN AND PROCEEDED ON OUR WAY WITH NO PROBLEMS. SINCE THIS FIRST INCIDENT IN JAN 2013, OUR CAR HAS DONE THIS ABOUT A DOZEN OTHER TIMES. THERE WERE TIMES DRIVING AROUND CORNERS WHEN THE CAR BOGGED AND DIED WHICH MADE IT VERY DIFFICULT TO STEER WITHOUT POWER STEERING. AFTER MANY INCIDENTS WERE FIGURED OUT THIS ONLY HAPPENS DIRECTLY AFTER FILL UP. IF THE TANK IS FILLED MORE THAN 7/8 OF THE WAY THE CAR WILL STALL WHILE DRIVING. VERY UNSAFE FOR MY FAMILY AND THIS PROBLEM IS A HUGE ISSUE WITH THESE CARS, EXP. CHARGER, MAGNUM, 300.

View Details

ENGINE

4/11/2014 - BROWNSVILLE, TX
THE PROBLEM STARTED BACK IN DECEMBER OF 2013 AT 77,000 MILES. WHEN I FILL UP AT THE GAS STATION (I NEVER TOP OF) THE CAR STALLS AND SHUTS OFF. IT HAPPENS EVERY TIME I FILL UP. I PULL OUT OF THE GAS STATION AND IT SHUTS OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. DEALER CAN'T FIND THE PROBLEM. IT'S VERY FRUSTRATING. MY MAIN CONCERN IS SAFETY AND THE REPEATED SERVICE VISITS AND COST. THE LAST TIME WAS SCARY BECAUSE IT SHUT OFF AT A RED LIGHT. WHEN I STARTED UP THE CAR AGAIN IT SHUT OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC. I MANAGED TO GET HOME BUT THE CAR SHUT OFF SEVERAL TIMES DURING THE DRIVE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/11/2014 - BROWNSVILLE, TX
THE PROBLEM STARTED BACK IN DECEMBER OF 2013 AT 77,000 MILES. WHEN I FILL UP AT THE GAS STATION (I NEVER TOP OF) THE CAR STALLS AND SHUTS OFF. IT HAPPENS EVERY TIME I FILL UP. I PULL OUT OF THE GAS STATION AND IT SHUTS OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. DEALER CAN'T FIND THE PROBLEM. IT'S VERY FRUSTRATING. MY MAIN CONCERN IS SAFETY AND THE REPEATED SERVICE VISITS AND COST. THE LAST TIME WAS SCARY BECAUSE IT SHUT OFF AT A RED LIGHT. WHEN I STARTED UP THE CAR AGAIN IT SHUT OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC. I MANAGED TO GET HOME BUT THE CAR SHUT OFF SEVERAL TIMES DURING THE DRIVE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/11/2014 - KANSAS CITY, MO
VEHICLE STALLED AFTER REFUELING, IN TRAFFIC.

View Details

STEERING

4/11/2014 - KANSAS CITY, MO
VEHICLE STALLED AFTER REFUELING, IN TRAFFIC.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 79
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds