Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2006 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1050 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (87) Exterior Lighting (16) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8)
Electrical System (109) Fuel Propulsion System (204) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (120) Unknown Or Other (20)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel System Gasoline (209) Power Train (187) Steering (80) Vehicle Speed Control (44)
Engine (292) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (9) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (64) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (19) Suspension (25) Wheels (7)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 122
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

3/23/2017 - LAKEWOOD, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TRANSMISSION SHIFTER LEVER FAILED AND CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO REMAIN IN PARK. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION SHIFTER LEVER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 151,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/15/2017 - COLUMBIA, MO
THE VEHICLE WILL STALL AT A STOP SIGN OR STOP LIGHT. THE LIGHTS WILL FLICKER AND THE GAUGES WILL GO TO THE MAX AMOUNTS AND THEN BACK TO ZERO. THE CAR RESTARTS AND RUNS FINE AFTER THIS HAPPENS, BUT IT KEEPS REOCCURRING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/15/2017 - COLUMBIA, MO
THE VEHICLE WILL STALL AT A STOP SIGN OR STOP LIGHT. THE LIGHTS WILL FLICKER AND THE GAUGES WILL GO TO THE MAX AMOUNTS AND THEN BACK TO ZERO. THE CAR RESTARTS AND RUNS FINE AFTER THIS HAPPENS, BUT IT KEEPS REOCCURRING.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/14/2017 - PORT JEFFERSON STATION, NY
TAKATA RECALL. BASED ON AN ORIGINAL E-MAIL I SENT NHTSA ON 3/6/17, AS SUGGESTED, I AM "FILING A COMPLAINT" I RECEIVED A SAFETY RECALL NOTICE (S43 / NHTSA 16V-352) FOR THE AIRBAG IN MY 2006 DODGE CHARGER SOMETIME IN THE LATE SUMMER / EARLY FALL OF 2016. SINCE THAT TIME I HAVE CALLED THE LOCAL CHRYSLER (PORT JEFF CHRYSLER JEEP DODGE) DEALERSHIP ON AT LEAST 4 OCCASIONS TO SCHEDULE THE AIRBAG REPLACEMENT. THE FIRST 2 CALLS WERE MADE SOMETIME LATE SUMMER / EARLY FALL 2016, A THIRD CALL WAS MADE ON DEC 2, 2016, AND A 4TH CALL WAS MADE ON FEB 17, 2017. DURING THIS LAST PHONE CONVERSATION (FEB 17) THE DEALERSHIP SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE TOLD ME "WE HAVE NO IDEA WHEN WE ARE GETTING THE PARTS". IN THE "IMPORTANT SAFETY RECALL" NOTICE I RECEIVED IT STATES "IF YOUR DEALER FAILS OR IS UNABLE TO REMEDY THIS DEFECT WITHOUT CHARGE AND WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME, YOU MAY SUBMIT A WRITTEN COMPLAINT TO THE ADMINISTRATOR, NHTSA...." I AM FAMILIAR WITH THE EXTENSIVE TAKATA AIRBAG RECALL. BUT IS THE DELAY I AM EXPERIENCING AT THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP AT AN ACCEPTABLE LEVEL. I WILL ADD THAT I AM THE CAR'S ORIGINAL OWNER AND THAT I DID NOT PURCHASE THE CAR FROM THE ABOVE MENTIONED DEALERSHIP, AS THE LOCAL DODGE DEALERSHIP WHERE THE CAR WAS PURCHASED WAS CLOSED BY CHRYSLER SEVERAL YEARS BACK. SINCE THAT CLOSING I HAVE TAKEN MY CAR TO PORT JEFF CHRYSLER FOR NUMEROUS SERVICES AS WELL AS RECALLS, AND HAVE BEEN VERY HAPPY WITH THEIR TIMELY SERVICE. I AM JUST CONCERNED THAT ONE OF THE MORE CRITICAL SAFETY FEATURES IN A VEHICLE IS TAKING SO LONG TO CORRECT. PLEASE ADVISE IF THIS IS AN ACCEPTABLE TIME FRAME FOR THE RECALL TO BE CORRECTED. PS: AN ENTRY FOR THE "WHEN DID THIS HAPPEN" FIELD BELOW IS REQUIRED. I POSTED AUG 15, 2016 AS AN ON OR ABOUT DATE IN WHICH, TO THE BEST OF MY RECOLLECTION, IS WHEN I RECEIVED THE RECALL NOTICE

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/13/2017 - ALBERNALE, NC
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V313000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/2/2017 - SUNRISE, FL
ON FEB 25TH I PUT GAS IN MY VEHICLE, LATER THAT DAY I NOTICED A HIGH GASOLINE SCENT FROM MY CAR. IE; 10 DAYS PRIOR I HAD MY VEHICLE SERVICED AT MY LOCAL ARRIGO DODGE DEALERSHIP. I WAITED UNTIL THE NEXT TO SEE IF THE SMELL HAD GONE AWAY, ASSUMING I HAD PUT BAD GAS IN MY CAR. THE NEXT DAY BEFORE I COULD OPEN MY CAR DOORS I COULD SMELL THE GASOLINE FROM STANDING OUTSIDE MY CAR. STILL ASSUMING I HAD BAD GAS I DECIDED TO DRIVE OUT AS MUCH OF THE GAS AS POSSIBLE. WHEN I REALIZED THE SMELL WOULD NOT GO AWAY, I WENT ONLINE AND DID SOME RESEARCH, WHICH LEAD TO THIS BEING A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE DODGE VEHICLES, I WATCHED MULTIPLE VIDEOS AND READ MULTIPLE COMMENTS. ON FEB 27TH I FOLLOWED SOME STEPS FROM VIDEOS. I TOOK MY BACK SEAT OUT LIFTED THE GUARD AND PULLED OF THE FUEL PUMP COVER, AND LOW AND BEHOLD THERE WAS GAS. THIS IS A FIRE HAZARD. I DRIVE MY MOTHER AND MY DAUGHTER IN MY CAR, ANYTHING COULD HAVE HAPPENED. I CALLED DODGE CUSTOMER SERVICE ON FEB 28TH TO REPORT THE PROBLEM TO SEE IF THERE WAS A RECALL, SEEING THAT I WAS NOT THE ONLY ONE WITH THIS ISSUE AND COMPLAINT. DODGE WAS NOT MUCH HELP. THIS PROBLEM THAT DODGE IGNORES HAS COST ME EMOTIONAL DISTRESS AND MORE MONEY THAN I EXPECT TO SPEND TO FIX. DODGE SHOWS NO INTEREST OR CARE IN THIS CASE AS THIS BEING A HAZARD. I AM COMPLETELY DISAPPOINTED IN THE WAY DODGE IS DEALING WITH THIS ISSUE. THE REPRESENTATIVE THAT I SPOKE WITH DID NOT GIVE ME ANY FOR OF EASE OR COMFORT OR OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE ON HOW THIS CAN BE FIXED. WHILE IT MAY SEEM LIKE AN EASY FIX TO THAT REP, THIS PROBLEM GOES BEYOND JUST FIXING. ITS A FIRE HAZARD AND DODGE NEEDS TO LOOK FURTHER INTO THIS. MAYBE WHEN SOMETHING DRASTIC HAPPENS ON THIS ACCOUNT I GUESS THAT WHEN IT MAY MATTER TO THIS COMPANY. I MY SELF HAVE TAKEN MULTIPLE PICTURES AND VIDEOS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/27/2017 - GREENSBURG, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED AFTER IT WAS REFUELED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT ALL THE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE REPLICATED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 190,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/21/2017 - HAMERSVILLE, OH
THE LAST TIME I FILLED UP MY CAR, IT KEPT STALLING AND I WOULD LOSE POWER STEERING AND BRAKES WHILE IN TRAFFIC WITH MY CHILDREN IN CAR. NOT VERY SAFE FEELING. SCARED I WAS GOING TO GET HIT WITH FAMILY IN CAR. IT WOULD START UP BUT IT WOULD KEEP STALLING UNTIL I RAN A FEW GALLONS OUT OF IT. I FILLED IT UP AGAIN TODAY AND NOTICED A SUCKING NOISE COMING FROM GAS TANK. IT STARTED UP THEN STALLED AS I TOOK OFF. SO I PULLED OVER AND KEPT STARTING IT UP EVERY TIME IT STALLED. AFTER ABOUT AN HOUR OF NOT STALLING I DROVE HOME AND PARKED IN GARAGE. IT WOULD STALL GOING STRAIGHT AND TURNING.

View Details

ENGINE

2/21/2017 - HAMERSVILLE, OH
THE LAST TIME I FILLED UP MY CAR, IT KEPT STALLING AND I WOULD LOSE POWER STEERING AND BRAKES WHILE IN TRAFFIC WITH MY CHILDREN IN CAR. NOT VERY SAFE FEELING. SCARED I WAS GOING TO GET HIT WITH FAMILY IN CAR. IT WOULD START UP BUT IT WOULD KEEP STALLING UNTIL I RAN A FEW GALLONS OUT OF IT. I FILLED IT UP AGAIN TODAY AND NOTICED A SUCKING NOISE COMING FROM GAS TANK. IT STARTED UP THEN STALLED AS I TOOK OFF. SO I PULLED OVER AND KEPT STARTING IT UP EVERY TIME IT STALLED. AFTER ABOUT AN HOUR OF NOT STALLING I DROVE HOME AND PARKED IN GARAGE. IT WOULD STALL GOING STRAIGHT AND TURNING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/21/2017 - HAMERSVILLE, OH
THE LAST TIME I FILLED UP MY CAR, IT KEPT STALLING AND I WOULD LOSE POWER STEERING AND BRAKES WHILE IN TRAFFIC WITH MY CHILDREN IN CAR. NOT VERY SAFE FEELING. SCARED I WAS GOING TO GET HIT WITH FAMILY IN CAR. IT WOULD START UP BUT IT WOULD KEEP STALLING UNTIL I RAN A FEW GALLONS OUT OF IT. I FILLED IT UP AGAIN TODAY AND NOTICED A SUCKING NOISE COMING FROM GAS TANK. IT STARTED UP THEN STALLED AS I TOOK OFF. SO I PULLED OVER AND KEPT STARTING IT UP EVERY TIME IT STALLED. AFTER ABOUT AN HOUR OF NOT STALLING I DROVE HOME AND PARKED IN GARAGE. IT WOULD STALL GOING STRAIGHT AND TURNING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 122
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds