Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2006 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 735 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Exterior Lighting (11) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8)
Electrical System (67) Fuel Propulsion System (134) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (119) Unknown Or Other (14)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (156) Power Train (154) Steering (66) Vehicle Speed Control (31)
Engine (187) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (7) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (59) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (13) Suspension (21) Wheels (6)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 89
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/16/2014 - CEDAR PARK, TX
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT HAD RECEIVED A CUSTOMER SATISFACTION CAMPAIGN WITH NHTSA ACTION NUMBER:PE13016(FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE ) AND STATED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE DEALER WAS UNCERTAIN WHEN THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE TO SERVICE THE VEHICLE UNDER THE WARRANTY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM AND THEY INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE PARTS WOULD NOT BE AVAILABLE UNTIL ANOTHER FIVE OR 6 MONTHS EVEN THOUGH HE HAD EXPERIENCED THE FAILURE MULTIPLE TIMES. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 107,000.GB

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/11/2014 - SHIRLEY, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE GEAR SHIFT BECAME STUCK IN THE PARK POSITION. THE CONTACT HAD TO USE A SCREWDRIVER IN ORDER TO MOVE THE GEAR SHIFT OUT OF PARK. ALSO, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE KEY BECAME LODGED IN THE IGNITION. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

ENGINE

9/10/2014 - ANTIOCH, CA
I STARED MY 2006 DODGE CHARGER UP ONE DAY AND IT SOUNDED LIKE A LAWNMOWER, SO I SENT IT OFF TO THE DEALER SAY IT DROPPED A VALVE, I SAY HOW THAT HAPPEN THEY TELL ME ITS A DEFECT WITH THOSE ENGINES HE GETS THEM IN ALL THE TIME. IM SO UPSET BEHIND THIS MATTER CAUSE THEY WANT $3500 TO FIX MY CAR, I KEEP MY CAR FULLY SERVICED JUST HAD A MAJOR TUNE UP & WATER PUMP REPLACED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/6/2014 - MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA
CAR DIED IN INTERSECTION. HAPPENED TWICE. IT STALLS, CHOKES AND DIES THEN HAS PROBLEMS RESTARTING TAKES ABOUT 3-4 TRIES THEN RESTARTS. VERY DANGEROUS AND ACCIDENT CAUSING

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/2/2014 - SOUTL LAKE CITY , UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE GEAR SHIFTER WAS STUCK IN THE PARK POSITION. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE GEAR SHIFTER BRACKET NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 08V583000 (POWER TRAIN). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 63,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/28/2014 - HAGERSTOWN, MD
I LEARNED ABOUT THE FUEL TANK WARRANTY AND WILL BE GETTING THAT REPAIRED, BUT MY ISSUE IS AT 75 TO 100% THROTTLE MY CAR WILL STALL OUT. BUT MY CAR STARTS BACK UP ON ITS OWN LIKE NOTHING EVER HAPPENED. WHEN IT STALLS IT THROWS YOU FORWARD LIKE THE CAR IS BRAKING AND THEN WHEN IT FIRES BACK UP YOU CAN HIT THE THROTTLE AND IT WILL GO AS NORMAL

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/28/2014 - HAGERSTOWN, MD
I LEARNED ABOUT THE FUEL TANK WARRANTY AND WILL BE GETTING THAT REPAIRED, BUT MY ISSUE IS AT 75 TO 100% THROTTLE MY CAR WILL STALL OUT. BUT MY CAR STARTS BACK UP ON ITS OWN LIKE NOTHING EVER HAPPENED. WHEN IT STALLS IT THROWS YOU FORWARD LIKE THE CAR IS BRAKING AND THEN WHEN IT FIRES BACK UP YOU CAN HIT THE THROTTLE AND IT WILL GO AS NORMAL

View Details

ENGINE

8/28/2014 - HAGERSTOWN, MD
I LEARNED ABOUT THE FUEL TANK WARRANTY AND WILL BE GETTING THAT REPAIRED, BUT MY ISSUE IS AT 75 TO 100% THROTTLE MY CAR WILL STALL OUT. BUT MY CAR STARTS BACK UP ON ITS OWN LIKE NOTHING EVER HAPPENED. WHEN IT STALLS IT THROWS YOU FORWARD LIKE THE CAR IS BRAKING AND THEN WHEN IT FIRES BACK UP YOU CAN HIT THE THROTTLE AND IT WILL GO AS NORMAL

View Details

ENGINE

8/27/2014 - SANTEE, CA
WHEN DRIVING @40MPH, ENGINE LOST POWER, DASH SIGNALED 'DING', AND THROTTLE BODY WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. IT RESTARTED AS THE CAR COASTED. HAS REPEATED NUMEROUS TIMES, INCLUDING TODAY, 3 TIMES IN LESS THAN 1 1/2 MILES, AT LESS THAN 20MPH. NO TROUBLE CODES SCANNED OR DISPLAYED. SYMPTOM WENT AWAY FOR 1 1/2 MONTHS AFTER CHANGING OUT SPARK PLUGS, AS A DODGE TECH RECOMMENDED. HE ALSO SAYS THE IGNITION COILS DETERIORATE OVER TIME, AND THE INTERNAL SHIELDING DOES NOT KEEP STRAY 'NOISE' FROM TRAVELLING INTO THE ENGINE CONTROLLER, EFFECTIVELY RESETTING IT, AND SHOWING NO CODES. HAVING 8 FACTORY COILS TO REPLACE AT $55 EACH IS QUITE A GAMBLE THAT MAY NOT FIX THE ISSUE. AFTERMARKET COILS APPARENTLY DO NOT FIX THIS, EITHER. I HAVE TIGHTENED EVERY ELECTRICAL GROUNDING POINT I CAN FIND ON THE CAR, UNPLUGGED/PLUGGED NUMEROUS CONNECTORS TO RESEAT THEM. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SAFETY ISSUE, AND IT APPEARS ON '06 AND SOME 07 CHARGERS. IF THIS HAPPENS AND A COLLISION OCCURS BECAUSE OF THIS, I WILL SEEK FULL LEGAL REMEDY FROM FCA(CHRYSLER) AS THIS IS AN OBVIOUS LIABILITY/SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/24/2014 - RIVERDALE, MD
AFTER I STOP AND FILL MY GAS TANK, MY CAR WILL STALL AND SHUT OFF WHILE DRIVING. I WAS ALMOST REAR ENDED LEAVEN THE GAS STATION BECAUSE THE CAR JUST SHUT OFF ON ME. THIS WILL ONLY AFTER I FILL MY GAS TANK TO FULL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 89
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds