Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2006 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 710 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Exterior Lighting (10) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8)
Electrical System (63) Fuel Propulsion System (139) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (119) Unknown Or Other (18)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (138) Power Train (146) Steering (64) Vehicle Speed Control (29)
Engine (173) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (6) Visibility (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (57) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (13) Suspension (21) Wheels (6)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 86
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/25/2014 - HOLLYWOOD, FL
AFTER FILL UP CAR STALLED SHORTLY AFTER ,WHILE IN TRAFFIC, CAR STARTED UP AND SHUT DOWN IMMEDIATELY. I WAS ABLE TO MAKE IT HOME, BUT CAR KEPT TURNING ON AND SHUTTING DOWN AT IDLE AND LOW SPEED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/25/2014 - VALPARAISO , IN
COLUMN SHIFTER WILL NOT GO INTO PARK. SHIFTS INTO OTHER GEARS, BUT WILL NOT ENGAGE INTO PARK. CAR WILL ROLL IF PARKING BRAKE IS NOT ENGAGED, OR SWITCH INTO A DIFFERENT GEAR. CHRYSLER STATED THAT THE RECALL IS ONLY VIN# SPECIFIC, BUT CLEARLY IT IS EFFECTING ALL 2006 CHARGERS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/22/2014 - PLACENTIA, CA
AFTER EVERY FILL UP MY 2006 DODGE CHARGER WILL DIE. IT WILL STALL. IT WILL STOP RUNNING. THIS WILL, AND HAS HAPPENED WHILE IDLING AT INTERSECTIONS, DURING U-TURNS, LEFT TURNS, RIGHT TURNS, AT 25 MPH, AT FREEWAY SPEEDS UP TO 65 MPH, AND, OR EVERY SPEED IN BETWEEN. IT OCCURS UP TO AND UNTIL THE ENGINE BURNS OFF SUFFICIENT FUEL SO AS NOT TO EFFECT WHATEVER SYSTEM IS BEING EFFECTED/FAILING. THIS IS POTENTIALLY FATAL (ONE EXAMPLE COULD BE WHILE MAKING A LEGAL LEFT HAND TURN IN FRONT OF ON COMING TRAFFIC FULLY EXPECTING THE CAR TO CONTINUE RUNNING, AND THEN IMMEDIATELY LOSING ENGINE POWER, POWER BRAKES, AND POWER STEERING WHICH ARE ALL SUPPLIED ONLY WHILE THE ENGINE IS RUNNING. THIS SHOULD BE RECALLED IMMEDIATELY AS I HAVE READ HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS FOR IDENTICAL ISSUES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/20/2014 - LAPLACE, LA
MY 2006 DODGE CHARGER STALLS AND DIES WHEN I AM DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS OR WHEN I STOP. THIS USUALLY OCCURS AFTER I HAVE REFUELED MY CAR. ON THE LAST OCCURRENCE MY CAR DIED IN AN INTERSECTION. THE CAR USUALLY RESTARTS AFTER I TURN THE KEY. HOWEVER, THE OTHER DAY IT TOOK SEVERAL TRIES TO RESTART IT AGAIN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/19/2014 - PADUCAH, KY
JUST AN UPDATE SINCE MY FIRST COMPLAINT IN JUNE 2014. THE CAR CONTINUES TO STALL SEVERAL TIMES AFTER EVERY FILL UP. TODAY, IT DIED IN THE MIDDLE OF AN INTERSECTION TWICE (WITH ONCOMING TRAFFIC) AND THEN DIED A THIRD TIME WHEN I WAS PAST THE INTERSECTION BUT WITHIN THE SAME BLOCK. I WISH MY HUSBAND HAD NEVER PURCHASED THIS CAR.

View Details

ENGINE

7/14/2014 - CORDELE, GA
ENGINE OVERHEATED, IMMEDIATELY SHUT OFF AND, I NOW NEED A NEW ENGINE. THERE WERE RECALLS FOR SOME OF THE ENGINE COOLING FANS IN MY CAR YEAR AND MODEL (06 DODGE CHARGER), BUT I AM BEING TOLD THAT IT DOES NOT APPLY TO ME.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/14/2014 - ROANOKE, VA
I WAS SITTING AT A STOP LIGHT, THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN. I PROCEEDED TO GO THROUGH THE LIGHT AND INTERSECTION (4-WAY VERY BUSY HIGHWAY) AND THE CAR STALLED LOCKING UP THE STEERING WHEEL, LIGHTING UP THE DASH. I MANAGED TO MANEUVER JUST ENOUGH TO GET TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD BEFORE SOMEONE REAR ENDED ME. THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED BUT THIS WAS ONE OF THE TIMES MY CHILD WAS WITH ME DURING A VERY HECTIC DAY AND IT COULD HAVE RESULTED IN A MAJOR CRASH. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE ABOUT THE FUEL CUTTING OFF OR WHATEVER IS CAUSING THE CAR TO CUT OFF AFTER FILLING UP THE CAR, IT HAPPENS EVERY TIME WE PUT GAS IN THE CAR.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/9/2014 - COMBINE, TX
I HAD A 2006 CHARGER (RECENTLY SOLD) WITH THE WELL DOCUMENTED STALLING ISSUES AFTER FILLING UP THE FUEL TANK. THE FIRST TIME THE CAR DIED I WAS IN THE MIDDLE OF A VERY BUSY INTERSECTION. I MANAGED TO GET THE CAR TO A NEARBY PARKING LOT AFTER 2 ADDITIONAL STALLS. I TOOK THE CAR TO A DODGE DEALER WHO COULD NOT REPRODUCE THE PROBLEM & SOLD ME A NEW GAS CAP. GAS CAP DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. FOR THE NEXT 18 MONTHS I COULD ONLY FILL THE TANK 3/4 FULL TO ENABLE ME TO USE MY CAR SAFELY. I REPLACED THE FUEL TANK AND OTHER COMPONENTS IN 2012 TO THE TUNE OF $1.8K. NOW CHRYSLER/DODGE TELLS ME THAT EVEN THOUGH MY CHARGER FITS ALL THE CRITERIA FOR THE LIFETIME WARRANTY, MY CAR IS NOT ELIGIBLE FOR THE WARRANTY. I WILL NOT BE REIMBURSED NOW AND POSSIBLY NOT EVER, ALL BECAUSE OF A LETTER BEHIND THE 3 DIGIT SALES CODE. NONE OF THE DOCUMENTATION I RECEIVED WHEN I BOUGHT THE CAR CONTAINS THE SALES CODE SO I HAVE TO RECOURSE TO PROVE ME RIGHT AND THEM WRONG.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/6/2014 - HERCULES, CA
2 MONTHS AGO I WAS LEAVING WORK AND GOT IN MY CAR TO GO HOME. MY CAR WOULD NOT SHIFT OUT OF PARK. I HAD IT TOWED TO A DEALER AND WAS CHARGED 1500 TO REPAIR!! AFTER LEARNING OF ALL THE GO RECALLS, I'VE COME ACROSS MANY PEOPLE WHO HAVE EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEM. I ALSO UNDERSTAND THAT SOME CARS WERE RECALLED AND SOME NOT, FOR THE EXACT SAME ISSUE! HOW IS THAT EVEN POSSIBLE? I AM REQUESTING THIS ISSUE BE INVESTIGATED AND GO TO BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE! SOME ARE BEING TOLD IT WASN'T RECALLED DUE TO NOT BEING A SAFETY ISSUE??? HOW IS IT NOT A SAFETY ISSUE IF YOU CAN'T MOVE YOUR CAR? I COULD HAVE BEEN ANYWHERE IN AN EMERGENCY SITUATION WHERE I HAD TO LEAVE. FURTHERMORE, EVEN IF IT'S NOT CONSIDERED A SAFETY ISSUE, HOW IS THE CONSUMER TO BE HELD LIABLE FOR AN OBVIOUS MANUFACTURER DEFECT?? PLEASE INVESTIGATE THIS MATTER

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/2/2014 - RICHMOND, VA
IN MAY 2014 I RECIEVED A LETTER FROM CHRYSLER IN REGARDS TO THE FAULTY FUEL TANK IN MY 2006 DODGE CHARGER RT. THEY WROTE TO LET ME KNOW THAT THEY ARE AWARE OF A FAULTY FUEL SHUT-OFF FLOAT IN MY GAS TANK THAT WILL CAUSE THE VEHICLE TO STALL. I CALLED TO SCHEDULE THE REPAIR AND WAS TOLD THAT CHRYSLER IS ONLY SENDING OUT ONE FUEL TANK PER DEALERSHIP PER WEEK AND THAT I WAS 7TH IN LINE TO HAVE MY WORK PERFORMED. SO THAT MEANT THAT I WOULD HAVE TO DRIVE A VEHICLE THAT WAS CONTINUALLY CUTTING OFF FOR 2 MONTHS EVEN BEFORE THEY WOULD FIX IT. I CALLED CHRYSLER TO INQUIRE WHY IT WOULD TAKE SO LONG TO FIX A PROBLEM THAT THEY KNOW IS CAUSING NUMEROUS VEHICLES TO CUT OFF AND THEY SAID THAT THE PARTS ARE ON BACKORDER. I INDICATED TO THEM THAT I HAD COME CLOSE TO HAVING NUMEROUS ACCIDENTS BECAUSE MY VEHICLE WAS STALLING IN TRAFFIC AND YET THEY DIDNT SEEM TO CARE ONE IOTA. AFTER WAITING 2 MONTHS FOR MY TIME IN LINE TO COME AROUND I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP TO SEE WHEN THE WORK WOULD BE ABLE TO BE DONE AND WAS TOLD THAT I WAS NEXT IN LINE BUT THE PART WAS STILL ON BACKORDER AND COULD NOT HAVE MY VEHICLE FIXED YET. THEY COULD NOT GIVE ME AN ESTIMATE AS TO WHEN THEY WOULD BE ABLE TO GET THE PARTS IN. I FIND IT VERY HARD TO FATHOM THAT A MAJOR AUTOMAKER SUCH AS CHRYSLER/DODGE, KNOWING ABOUT A PROBLEM WITH THEIR VEHICLES THAT ARE CAUSING THEM TO SHUT OFF IN TRAFFIC AND ARE NOT EXPEDITING THE PROCESS OF HAVING THOSE VEHICLES FIXED. I HAVE BEEN VERY LUCKY THUS FAR BY NOT HAVING A VERY SERIOUS ACCIDENT DUE TO MY CAR STALLING BUT I FEAR THAT SOMEONE ELSE MAY NOT BE SO LUCKY AND THAT SOMEONE IS GOING TO BE SERIOUSLY HURT. THERE ARE NUMEROUS VEHICLES LIKE MINE ON THE ROAD WITH THE SAME PROBLEM AND ITS A SHAME THAT SOMEONE HAS TO RISK SERIOUS INJURY DUE TO CHRYSLER'S INABILITY TO DO WHATS RIGHT

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 86
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds