Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2006 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 794 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Exterior Lighting (12) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8)
Electrical System (79) Fuel Propulsion System (147) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (119) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (188) Power Train (159) Steering (70) Vehicle Speed Control (32)
Engine (208) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (7) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (60) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (15) Suspension (21) Wheels (6)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 96
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

1/26/2015 - FORT WAINWRIGHT, AK
I WAS DRIVING HOME ONE DAY . I WAS GOING 55 AND THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN I HEAR A POP INSIDE THE ENGINE WHILE I'M DRIVING. AFTER THAT DAY, THE ENGINE STARTED MAKING A TICKING/KNOCKING NOISE. IT STARTED GETTING WORSE AND WORSE. I DON'T DRIVE MY CAR ANYMORE BECAUSE WHEN I DRIVE IT, THE ENGINE HEATS UP REALLY FAST AND THE CAR SHAKES ALONG WITH THE TICKING/KNOCKING NOISE. I DID SOME RESEARCH ON THE TICKING/KNOCKING NOISE ON A 2006 DODGE CHARGER 3.5L V6 ENGINE AND A LOT OF RESULTS CAME UP WITH MANY PEOPLE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM ON THEIR 2006 DODGE CHARGER 3.5L V6 ENGINE. I WOULD REALLY APPRECIATE IT IF YOU STARTED AN INVESTIGATION ON THIS SITUATION CONSIDERING THAT IT HAS HAPPENED TO HUNDREDS OF PEOPLE IN DIFFERENT PLACES. PLEASE REALLY LOOK INTO IT, THANK YOU.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/26/2015 - SPRINGFIELD, GA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER RT. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A MANUFACTURER+S RECALL ON THE FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/26/2015 - CHESAPEAKE, VA
I FILLED A COMPLAINT BACK IN 2/02/12 NHTSA ID # 10446316. LOOK AT THAT COMPLAINT. DODGE HAS A PROBLEM WITH THERE FUEL TANKS THAT ALLOWS GAS INTO THE EVAP SYSTEM, CAUSING RAW FUEL TO BE SUCKED INTO THE MOTOR THROUGH THE EVAP PURGE SOLENOID AFTER A FILL UP. I DID RECEIVE A CALL FROM A THIRD PARTY ON BEHALF OF DODGE. BUT THERE SOLUTION TO THE PROBLEM COULD HAVE ENDED UP COSTING ME CLOSE TO A $1000.00 DOLLARS. I WAS NOT WILLING TO TAKE A CHANCE AND BE ON THE HOOK FOR THAT. I SIMPLY ASKED THAT IF THE GAS TANK WAS THE PROBLEM WHAT WOULD DODGE DO ABOUT IT, TO WHICH I WAS TOLD WE CANNOT SAY. THE WANTED MY COMMITMENT BUT WOULD OFFER NONE ON THERE END. I EVEN TALKED TO THE LOCAL DODGE DEALERSHIP AND FROM MY CONVERSATION WITH THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT I REALLY FELT THAT THEY HAD NO IDEA HOW AN EVAP SYSTEM WORKS, THEY ONLY WANTED TO TRY PARTS ON IT NOT FIND THE ROOT CAUSE, AND I FELT LIKE THIS WOULD HAVE BEEN DONE AT MY EXPENSE. THEREFORE WE LEARNED TO LIVE WITH THIS PROBLEM. NO I SEE THAT THERE HAS BEEN A FINDING WHERE DODGE ACKNOWLEDGES THAT THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH SOME TANKS IN CHARGERS. MY COMPLAINT WAS SPECIFIC ABOUT WHAT WAS HAPPENING (FUEL GETTING INTO THE PURGE SOLENOID AFTER FILL UPS AND MOTOR STALLING BECAUSE OF IT). I FELT THAT I SHOULD HAVE BEEN CONTACTED ABOUT THIS AFTER THE FINDINGS SINCE MY COMPLAINT WAS DEAD ON ABOUT THIS ISSUE. NOT ONLY DO I FEEL THAT DODGE HAS DROPPED THE BALL BUT YOUR ORGANIZATION AS WELL.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/25/2015 - WHITE BEAR LAKE, MN
AFTER FILLING TANK 2006 DODGE CHARGER RT V8 STALLED MULTIPLE TIMES. FIRST TWO STILL SITTING AT PUMP, NEXT AT INTERSECTION WHILE TURNING RIGHT AND ALSO LOST POWER STERERING, NEXT AT PARKING SPACE WHILE STRAIGHTENING OUT. SERIOUS SAFETY HAZARD, ESPECIALLY AT INTERSECTIONS OR STALLING IN TRAFFIC. FOUND NHTSA PE13016 REGARDING THIS ISSUE, BUT I SEE IT IS CLOSED AND WAS ONLY ISSUED TO CERTAIN VINS. ALL AFFECTED MODELS SHOULD BE COVERED FOR THE TANK REPLACEMENT AND ASSOCIATED 'FLOAT' AND VAPOR PURGE VALVE.

View Details

STEERING

1/25/2015 - WHITE BEAR LAKE, MN
AFTER FILLING TANK 2006 DODGE CHARGER RT V8 STALLED MULTIPLE TIMES. FIRST TWO STILL SITTING AT PUMP, NEXT AT INTERSECTION WHILE TURNING RIGHT AND ALSO LOST POWER STERERING, NEXT AT PARKING SPACE WHILE STRAIGHTENING OUT. SERIOUS SAFETY HAZARD, ESPECIALLY AT INTERSECTIONS OR STALLING IN TRAFFIC. FOUND NHTSA PE13016 REGARDING THIS ISSUE, BUT I SEE IT IS CLOSED AND WAS ONLY ISSUED TO CERTAIN VINS. ALL AFFECTED MODELS SHOULD BE COVERED FOR THE TANK REPLACEMENT AND ASSOCIATED 'FLOAT' AND VAPOR PURGE VALVE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/20/2015 - POST, TX
ON 4 SEPARATE OCCASIONS NOW WITHIN THE PAST FEW MONTHS, MY CAR WILL SHUT OFF ON ITS OWN AFTER I HAVE FILLED IT WITH FUEL. THE FIRST 2 TIMES THE CAR SHUT OFF WHILE IN THE FUELING STATION PARKING LOT. THE THIRD TIME OCCURRED WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON A THREE LANE ROAD TRAVELING AT 50MPH. THE LAST INCIDENT OCCURRED AT A MAJOR INTERSECTION CAUSING MY VEHICLE TO BLOCK TRAFFIC. EACH TIME WAS IMMEDIATELY AFTER FILLING THE CAR WITH GAS. I USE ONLY PREMIUM FUEL IN THE CAR AND THE FUEL WAS PURCHASED AT DIFFERENT BUSINESSES. AFTER ALLOWING THE CAR TO SIT FOR A MINUTE OR SO, THE CAR WILL RESTART AND RUNS AS NORMAL. I HAVE CALLED A LOCAL DODGE DEALER AND WAS TOLD THERE ARE NO RECALLS AND THAT THERE IS NO WAY FOR THEM TO DIAGNOSE WHAT COULD CAUSE THIS TO HAPPEN. I HAVE BEEN TOLD BY OTHER DODGE CHARGER AND CHRYSLER 300 OWNERS THAT THEY TOO HAVE HAD THIS ISSUE; CAR SHUTTING OFF AFTER FUELING. MY CONCERN IS THAT BY STALLING IN AN INTERSECTION OR AT HIGH SPEED, EVENTUALLY A WRECK WILL OCCUR. I AM ALSO CONCERNED BY THE DODGE DEALER'S SERVICE DEPARTMENT TELLING ME THERE IS NO WAY TO DIAGNOSE THIS ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

1/20/2015 - POST, TX
ON 4 SEPARATE OCCASIONS NOW WITHIN THE PAST FEW MONTHS, MY CAR WILL SHUT OFF ON ITS OWN AFTER I HAVE FILLED IT WITH FUEL. THE FIRST 2 TIMES THE CAR SHUT OFF WHILE IN THE FUELING STATION PARKING LOT. THE THIRD TIME OCCURRED WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON A THREE LANE ROAD TRAVELING AT 50MPH. THE LAST INCIDENT OCCURRED AT A MAJOR INTERSECTION CAUSING MY VEHICLE TO BLOCK TRAFFIC. EACH TIME WAS IMMEDIATELY AFTER FILLING THE CAR WITH GAS. I USE ONLY PREMIUM FUEL IN THE CAR AND THE FUEL WAS PURCHASED AT DIFFERENT BUSINESSES. AFTER ALLOWING THE CAR TO SIT FOR A MINUTE OR SO, THE CAR WILL RESTART AND RUNS AS NORMAL. I HAVE CALLED A LOCAL DODGE DEALER AND WAS TOLD THERE ARE NO RECALLS AND THAT THERE IS NO WAY FOR THEM TO DIAGNOSE WHAT COULD CAUSE THIS TO HAPPEN. I HAVE BEEN TOLD BY OTHER DODGE CHARGER AND CHRYSLER 300 OWNERS THAT THEY TOO HAVE HAD THIS ISSUE; CAR SHUTTING OFF AFTER FUELING. MY CONCERN IS THAT BY STALLING IN AN INTERSECTION OR AT HIGH SPEED, EVENTUALLY A WRECK WILL OCCUR. I AM ALSO CONCERNED BY THE DODGE DEALER'S SERVICE DEPARTMENT TELLING ME THERE IS NO WAY TO DIAGNOSE THIS ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

1/16/2015 - NEWPORT NEWS, VA
AFTER FILLING UP MY DODGE CHARGER RT WITH FUEL AND TOPPING OFF, WHILE DRIVING BACK HOME THE CAR STALLED 3 TIMES "JUST SHUT OFF" THE CAR STARTED RIGHT BACK UP. IS THIS THE VAPOR PURGE VALVE ON TOP OF THE TANK?

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/13/2015 - EUCLID, OH
WHILE STOPPED AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT, AFTER HAVING JUST LEFT A GAS STATION AND FILLING THE GAS TANK, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THIS HAS HAPPENED NUMEROUS TIMES NOW AT SLOW SPEEDS AS WELL. DOES NOT OCCUR EVERY TIME, BUT DOES OCCUR OFTEN AND ALWAYS WITHIN MINUTES OF REFUELING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/13/2015 - PASCO, WA
AFTER FUELING CAR STARTS JERKING A LITTLE, THEN LIGHTS GO DIM AND CAR SHUTS OFF. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME I HAVE NOTICED IT AND I AM NOT TOPPING THE FUEL BECAUSE SOMESAID NOT TO. I WAS ALSO GOING AROUND A ROUNDABOUT AND CAR SHUT OFF. IT HAS HAPPEND 4 TIMES SINCE I FUELED TODAY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 96
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds