Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD MUSTANG GT - 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 139 complaints filed for the 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (54) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (1) Seats (1) Structure (21)
Electrical System (10) Exterior Lighting (1) Parking Brake (4) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (5)
Engine (3) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Power Train (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Unknown Or Other (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Seat Belts (1) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Equipment (1) Fuel System Other (2)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

6/23/2008 - MIDLOTHIAN, VA
#1 - THERE ARE NO IDENTIFIABLE EVENTS THAT EITHER ORIGINALLY, OR SUBSEQUENTLY LEAD UP TO THE FAILURE(S). #2 - THE 'FAILURE' IS ON-GOING, AND INTERMITTENT IN NATURE, WITH THE CAR STALLING RANDOMLY, NOT RESPONDING TO THE GAS PEDAL AND THEN SURGING FORWARD A FEW SECONDS LATER AND EXHIBITING LAG TIME WHEN SHIFTING. WE HAD SEVERAL EPISODES OF STALLING WHEN GOING THROUGH AN INTERSECTION WHICH HAS PUT US IN 'THE LINE OF FIRE' WITH ON-COMING TRAFFIC. WE HAVE ALSO EXPERIENCED COMPLETE SHUT-DOWN OF THE VEHICLE WHEN JUST GOING DOWN THE ROAD. #3 - THE CAR HAS BEEN IN AND OUT OF THE SHOP FOR OVER TWO YEARS, WITH PERIODS EXPERIENCING O.K. PERFORMANCE, AND THESE INTERMITTENT ISSUES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/23/2008 - FLOWER MOUND, TX
CONSUMER COMPLAINT ABOUT FORD MOTOR COMPANY. CONSUMER STATES THAT WHILE HIS VEHICLE WAS IN THE SHOP FOR A RECALL, THE DEALER DID NOT GIVE HIM A LOANER CAR. MANUFACTURER TOLD HIM THEY DID NOT VIOLATE THE FEDERAL STANDARD. THE MANUFACTURER INFORMED THE CONSUMER IT WAS AT THE DEALERS DISCRETION TO PROVIDE A LONER VEHICLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

4/11/2008 - ALTAVISTA, VA
THE BRAKES ON MY 2006 FORD MUSTANG LOCKED UP TWICE THIS WINTER. THE BRAKES PADS AND ROTORS NEED TO BE REPLACED AND ARE DANGEROUS TO DRIVE WITH. THE VEHICLE HAS LESS THAN 25,000 MILES ON IT. THE WEAR ON THE BRAKES IS UNUSUAL AND IS NOT SOMETHING THAT AN OWNER WOULD BE CHECKING AT SUCH LOW MILEAGE. I HAVE HEARD THIS HAPPENING ON SEVERAL FORD MODELS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/28/2008 - PARAGOULD, AR
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH ACROSS AN INTERSECTION, THE VEHICLE WAS STRUCK ON THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE DOOR. NONE OF THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED THREE BROKEN RIBS, A DEEP THIGH BRUISE, A FLESH WOUND ON HIS KNEE, AND A SPRAINED NECK AND SHOULDER. THE INSURANCE COMPANY STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. FORD FILED CASE NUMBER 522283387. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 14,000. UPDATED 04/23/08

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM: HOSE

2/22/2008 - THERESA, NY
AT 19,000 MILES MY CAR BEGAN OVERHEATING DURING THE TEST DRIVE AND HAD RADIATOR FLUID SPILLED IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. INSPECTING THE UPPER RADIATOR HOSES ONE OF THE CLAMPS WAS BROKEN. WHILE REPLACING THE CLAMP I DISCOVERED THAT ANOTHER ONE WAS BROKEN AS WELL. A SEARCH ONLINE OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS PROBLEM REVEALED SIMILAR COMPLAINTS. I NO LONGER HAVE THE OLD CLAMPS.

View Details

STRUCTURE

2/17/2008 - LAFAYETTE, GA
THERE WERE GROMMETS LEFT OFF MY CAR WHEN IT WAS MANUFACTURED AND NOW MY CAR IS FULL OF MOLD/MOLD SPORES, MY GRANDSON AND I RIDE IN THE VEHICLE EVERY DAY AND FOR THE PAST MONTH MY GRANDSON AND I HAVE BEEN SICK AND NOT KNOWN WHY. EVIDENTLY FORD KNEW THIS COULD BE A PROBLEM, WE TOOK THE CAR TO A DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID MOLD WAS IN THE PADDING OF MY CAR AND WOULD HAVE TO BE DEHUMIDIFIED AND SANITIZED, NEW PADDING AND THE CARPET CLEANED, I JUST HOPE IT IS ALL OUT. WE ASK FOR THE ARTICLE FROM FORD THAT STATES THIS PROBLEM COULD AFFECT MUSTANGS FROM 2005-2008. I JUST WONDER HOW MANY OTHER PEOPLE WILL HAVE THIS TYPE OF PROBLEM AND WHY IT WAS NOT ON RECALL, SO THIS PROBLEM COULD HAVE BEEN PREVENTED. I HAVE JUST RECENTLY TAKEN MY CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP, AS WE HAVE JUST STARTED SMELLING THE MOLD, NO TELLING HOW LONG IT WAS THERE BEFORE. FEBRUARY 14 IS THE DAY WE TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP. NOW I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE THE CAR DUE TO THE MOLD, AND BREATHING THE MOLD SPORES.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/19/2007 - BATSON, TX
MY 2006 MUSTANG GT WILL NOT TAKE FUEL. IT HAS HAD THE TANK REPLACED ONCE. THE VERY NEXT TIME I NEED TO FUEL UP, AFTER GETTING THE NEW TANK, THE SAME THING HAPPENED. IT WILL NOT FUEL UP. THE CAR HAS BEEN AT THE DEALERS SINCE THEN (10/24/07). THE DEALER HAD FORD ENGINEERS OUT TO LOOK AT THE CAR-THEY SAY IT CANNOT BE FIXED. HOW DO YOU MANUFACTURER SOMETHING THAT CANNOT BE FIXED?

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/28/2007 - BATSON, TX
PURCHASED MY 2006 MUSTANG GT IN DECEMBER OF '06. IT HAD APPROX. 59 MILES ON IT. I HAVE HAD NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS WITH THIS CAR. THE LATEST (AND CURRENT) PROBLEM IS THAT THE CAR WILL NOT TAKE ANY GAS. THE FIRST TIME THE PROBLEM OCCURRED THE DEALERSHIP CHANGED THE FUEL TANK. THE VERY FIRST TIME I TRIED TO FILL UP THE SAME THING HAPPENED-IT WILL NOT TAKE THE GAS. THE CAR HAS BEEN SITTING AT THE DEALER SINCE 10/25/07-TODAY IS THE 28TH OF NOVEMBER. FORD HAS HAD SEVERAL ENGINEERS OUT TO LOOK AT THE CAR AND THEY CAN NOT RESOLVE THE PROBLEM.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/12/2007 - CARY, NC
UNINTENDED ACCELERATION: TWICE IN ONE YEAR, VEHICLE CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE WHEN FOOT WAS OFF THE ACCELERATOR AND FOOT WAS ON THE BRAKE. HAPPENED BETWEEN 20-45 MPH. STOCK FLOOR MATS ARE IN CAR. DRIVER WAS ABLE TO BRING THE CAR TO A STOP, BUT REQUIRED MUCH HEAVIER THAN NORMAL BRAKE PRESSURE. VEHICLE BEING TAKEN TO FORD DEALER TO DIAGNOSE. ADDITIONAL POSTS ON THIS SAME ISSUE WITH THIS SAME MODEL VEHICLE (BOTH '05 AND '06 MODEL YEARS) ARE LOCATED ON THIS NHTSA COMPLAINT BOARD. THE LIKELIHOOD THAT IT IS RELATED TO THE VEHICLE BEING EQUIPPED WITH AN ELECTRONIC THROTTLE APPEARS TO BE A REAL POSSIBILITY; WOULD BE HIGHLY BENEFICIAL FOR NHTSA TO FURTHER INVESTIGATE PRIOR TO ACCIDENTS AND INJURIES OCCURRING.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/31/2007 - BAKERSFIELD, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HIS VEHICLE IS EXPERIENCING SPEED CONTROL FAILURE. THE FAILURE CAUSED HIM TO CRASH INTO A FENCE AFTER ACCELERATING OVER A CURB. THE SUDDEN ACCELERATION OCCURRED AFTER HE STOPPED AT A STOP SIGN TO MAKE A RIGHT TURN. BEFORE CRASHING, THE CONTACT LOST CONTROL AND THE VEHICLE MADE A 180 DEGREE TURN. THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE EVEN AFTER HE REMOVED THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AS A RESULT OF THE CRASH. THE CONTACT'S INSURANCE COMPANY AND FORD BOTH INVESTIGATED THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT NO VISIBLE FAILURE COULD BE FOUND. THE SPEED WAS UNKNOWN. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 18,536.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds