Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD MUSTANG GT - 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 147 complaints filed for the 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (61) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (1) Seats (1) Structure (21)
Electrical System (10) Exterior Lighting (1) Parking Brake (4) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (5)
Engine (4) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Power Train (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Unknown Or Other (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Seat Belts (1) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Equipment (1) Fuel System Other (2)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

8/7/2008 - FARMINGDALE, NY
VEHICLE HAS INTERMITTENT HESITATION PROBLEM. COULD RESULT IN SERIOUS PROBLEM WHEN ENTERING PARKWAY. DEALERSHIP IS PRIVY TO THIS COMPLAINT, BUT SAY THEY CAN'T DO ANYTHING UNLESS THEY CREATE THE PROBLEM WHICH CAN'T BE DONE UNLESS VEHICLE IS DRIVEN ON PARKWAY FOR 1-2 HRS. THOUGH THIS PROBLEM HAS OCCURRED LOCALLY ITS NOT LIKELY THAT TECHNICIAN WILL BE ABLE TO RE-CREATE THIS DRIVING LOCALLY. THIS PROBLEM CAN BE A DANGEROUS ONE IF NOT REPAIRED. FORDS TSB RECOGNIZES WHAT'S CAUSING PROBLEM AND I HAVE THE SOLUTION FOR IT. BUT ONCE AGAIN, DEALER SAYS THEIR HANDS ARE TIED.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER

8/7/2008 - FARMINGDALE, NY
VEHICLE HAS INTERMITTENT HESITATION PROBLEM. COULD RESULT IN SERIOUS PROBLEM WHEN ENTERING PARKWAY. DEALERSHIP IS PRIVY TO THIS COMPLAINT, BUT SAY THEY CAN'T DO ANYTHING UNLESS THEY CREATE THE PROBLEM WHICH CAN'T BE DONE UNLESS VEHICLE IS DRIVEN ON PARKWAY FOR 1-2 HRS. THOUGH THIS PROBLEM HAS OCCURRED LOCALLY ITS NOT LIKELY THAT TECHNICIAN WILL BE ABLE TO RE-CREATE THIS DRIVING LOCALLY. THIS PROBLEM CAN BE A DANGEROUS ONE IF NOT REPAIRED. FORDS TSB RECOGNIZES WHAT'S CAUSING PROBLEM AND I HAVE THE SOLUTION FOR IT. BUT ONCE AGAIN, DEALER SAYS THEIR HANDS ARE TIED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/31/2008 - GIG HARBOR, WA
WAS DRIVING 60 MPH ON FREEWAY..DID A SLIGHT ACCELERATION TO GET AROUND A TRUCK. THE GAS PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR. THE RPM'S WERE UP AROUND 7000-8000, I HIT CLOSE TO 120 MILES AN HOUR, AFTER LESS THAN A MINUTE. I TRIED TO GET THE PEDAL UNSTUCK WITH MY FOOT....NO AVAIL.. THEN I POPPED IT INTO NEUTRAL AND SPEED STARTED TO BACK OFF, WITH RPM'S STILL RACING. I PULLED TO SIDE OF ROAD AT ABOUT 35-40 MPH AND TURNED OFF CAR. I HAD TO PHYSICALLY REACH DOWN AND MOVE RUBBER PEDAL TO THE SIDE AND PULL METAL PART UP. PEDAL SEEMED TO WORK ONCE I PRIED THE GAS PEDAL FROM THE FLOOR. I TOOK IT TO THE FORD SHOP THE NEXT DAY AND THEY SAID THEY NEVER HEARD OF THAT HAPPENING BEFORE. THEY BLAMED IT ON THE FLOOR MAT AND CHARGED ME 58.00. ALL INDICATIONS ON THE ENGINE WERE NORMAL THEY STATED. I KNOW IT WAS NOT THE FLOOR MAT. AM VERY WORRIED ABOUT DRIVING THE CAR AGAIN.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

6/23/2008 - FOSTER CITY, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, ON THE DATE THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED, THE AIR BAG LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND THEY STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS UNDER RECALL AND REPAIRED IT FOR FREE. HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE WAS NEVER REPAIRED AND, WHENEVER A PASSENGER UNDER THE 150 POUNDS IS SEATED IN THE PASSENGER SEAT, THE AIR BAG INDICATOR LIGHT WILL STILL ILLUMINATE. THE CONTACT HAS TAKEN THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER TWICE SINCE THE MOST RECENT FAILURE, BUT THEY HAVE BEEN UNABLE TO ASSIST. THE RECALL NUMBER WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 115 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 5,000. UPDATED 07/29/08. UPDATED 07/29/08.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

6/23/2008 - MIDLOTHIAN, VA
#1 - THERE ARE NO IDENTIFIABLE EVENTS THAT EITHER ORIGINALLY, OR SUBSEQUENTLY LEAD UP TO THE FAILURE(S). #2 - THE 'FAILURE' IS ON-GOING, AND INTERMITTENT IN NATURE, WITH THE CAR STALLING RANDOMLY, NOT RESPONDING TO THE GAS PEDAL AND THEN SURGING FORWARD A FEW SECONDS LATER AND EXHIBITING LAG TIME WHEN SHIFTING. WE HAD SEVERAL EPISODES OF STALLING WHEN GOING THROUGH AN INTERSECTION WHICH HAS PUT US IN 'THE LINE OF FIRE' WITH ON-COMING TRAFFIC. WE HAVE ALSO EXPERIENCED COMPLETE SHUT-DOWN OF THE VEHICLE WHEN JUST GOING DOWN THE ROAD. #3 - THE CAR HAS BEEN IN AND OUT OF THE SHOP FOR OVER TWO YEARS, WITH PERIODS EXPERIENCING O.K. PERFORMANCE, AND THESE INTERMITTENT ISSUES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/23/2008 - FLOWER MOUND, TX
CONSUMER COMPLAINT ABOUT FORD MOTOR COMPANY. CONSUMER STATES THAT WHILE HIS VEHICLE WAS IN THE SHOP FOR A RECALL, THE DEALER DID NOT GIVE HIM A LOANER CAR. MANUFACTURER TOLD HIM THEY DID NOT VIOLATE THE FEDERAL STANDARD. THE MANUFACTURER INFORMED THE CONSUMER IT WAS AT THE DEALERS DISCRETION TO PROVIDE A LONER VEHICLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

4/11/2008 - ALTAVISTA, VA
THE BRAKES ON MY 2006 FORD MUSTANG LOCKED UP TWICE THIS WINTER. THE BRAKES PADS AND ROTORS NEED TO BE REPLACED AND ARE DANGEROUS TO DRIVE WITH. THE VEHICLE HAS LESS THAN 25,000 MILES ON IT. THE WEAR ON THE BRAKES IS UNUSUAL AND IS NOT SOMETHING THAT AN OWNER WOULD BE CHECKING AT SUCH LOW MILEAGE. I HAVE HEARD THIS HAPPENING ON SEVERAL FORD MODELS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/28/2008 - PARAGOULD, AR
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH ACROSS AN INTERSECTION, THE VEHICLE WAS STRUCK ON THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE DOOR. NONE OF THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED THREE BROKEN RIBS, A DEEP THIGH BRUISE, A FLESH WOUND ON HIS KNEE, AND A SPRAINED NECK AND SHOULDER. THE INSURANCE COMPANY STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. FORD FILED CASE NUMBER 522283387. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 14,000. UPDATED 04/23/08

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM: HOSE

2/22/2008 - THERESA, NY
AT 19,000 MILES MY CAR BEGAN OVERHEATING DURING THE TEST DRIVE AND HAD RADIATOR FLUID SPILLED IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. INSPECTING THE UPPER RADIATOR HOSES ONE OF THE CLAMPS WAS BROKEN. WHILE REPLACING THE CLAMP I DISCOVERED THAT ANOTHER ONE WAS BROKEN AS WELL. A SEARCH ONLINE OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS PROBLEM REVEALED SIMILAR COMPLAINTS. I NO LONGER HAVE THE OLD CLAMPS.

View Details

STRUCTURE

2/17/2008 - LAFAYETTE, GA
THERE WERE GROMMETS LEFT OFF MY CAR WHEN IT WAS MANUFACTURED AND NOW MY CAR IS FULL OF MOLD/MOLD SPORES, MY GRANDSON AND I RIDE IN THE VEHICLE EVERY DAY AND FOR THE PAST MONTH MY GRANDSON AND I HAVE BEEN SICK AND NOT KNOWN WHY. EVIDENTLY FORD KNEW THIS COULD BE A PROBLEM, WE TOOK THE CAR TO A DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID MOLD WAS IN THE PADDING OF MY CAR AND WOULD HAVE TO BE DEHUMIDIFIED AND SANITIZED, NEW PADDING AND THE CARPET CLEANED, I JUST HOPE IT IS ALL OUT. WE ASK FOR THE ARTICLE FROM FORD THAT STATES THIS PROBLEM COULD AFFECT MUSTANGS FROM 2005-2008. I JUST WONDER HOW MANY OTHER PEOPLE WILL HAVE THIS TYPE OF PROBLEM AND WHY IT WAS NOT ON RECALL, SO THIS PROBLEM COULD HAVE BEEN PREVENTED. I HAVE JUST RECENTLY TAKEN MY CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP, AS WE HAVE JUST STARTED SMELLING THE MOLD, NO TELLING HOW LONG IT WAS THERE BEFORE. FEBRUARY 14 IS THE DAY WE TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP. NOW I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE THE CAR DUE TO THE MOLD, AND BREATHING THE MOLD SPORES.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds