Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD MUSTANG GT - 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 117 complaints filed for the 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (1) Seats (1) Structure (21)
Electrical System (10) Exterior Lighting (1) Parking Brake (4) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (5)
Engine (3) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Power Train (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Unknown Or Other (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Seat Belts (1) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Equipment (1) Fuel System Other (2)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10 
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

3/6/2007 - SAN JOSE , CA
2006 MUSTANG GT 4,445 MILES TRANSMISSION WENT OUT. WOULD NOT REPLACE WITH NEW HAD CAR FOR OVER 3 WEEKS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: DRIVELINE: DIFFERENTIAL UNIT

2/26/2007 - FARMINGTON HILLS, MI
SQUEALING/GRINDING NOISE FROM REAR END ON LOW SPEED TURNS AT 7000 MILES. DEALER IDENTIFIED THE SOURCE AS THE REAR AXLE AND PUT IN A NEW DIFF CLUTCH PACK. VEHICLE WAS FINE FOR A FEW MONTHS BUT THE SAME SOUND HAS RETURNED, HOWEVER IT IS INTERMITTENT AND QUIETER. MILEAGE IS NOW ABOUT 14,000. REAR ENDS SHOULD NOT BE WEARING OUT EVERY 10K MILES ON A HIGH PERFORMANCE VEHICLE.

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR: AXLE: NON-POWERED AXLE ASSEMBLY

2/26/2007 - FARMINGTON HILLS, MI
SQUEALING/GRINDING NOISE FROM REAR END ON LOW SPEED TURNS AT 7000 MILES. DEALER IDENTIFIED THE SOURCE AS THE REAR AXLE AND PUT IN A NEW DIFF CLUTCH PACK. VEHICLE WAS FINE FOR A FEW MONTHS BUT THE SAME SOUND HAS RETURNED, HOWEVER IT IS INTERMITTENT AND QUIETER. MILEAGE IS NOW ABOUT 14,000. REAR ENDS SHOULD NOT BE WEARING OUT EVERY 10K MILES ON A HIGH PERFORMANCE VEHICLE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/21/2007 - BRUNSWICK, ME
ON THE 27TH OF MAY 2006 I TOOK MY MUSTANG GT WITH ONLY 1,069 MILES TO BRUNSWICK FORD. THE CAR WAS SHIFTING LIKE A 95 GT HARD TO SHIFT ON THE WAY MY FUEL JET PUMP WENT OUT. THEY FIXED THE JET PUMP BUT SAID THE TRANS WAS FINE. AT 3,556 MILES I TOOK IT BACK FOR THE TRANSMISSION . IT WAS MAKING A WINDING SOUND THEY REPLACED THE INTERNALS AND THE NOISE WAS STILL THERE. SO THEY REPLACED THE TRANSMISSION. THEY HAD TO BLEED THE CLUTCH 4 TIMES TO GET IT TO SHIFT HALF WAY RIGHT .NOW AT 5,713 MILES THE REAR CALIPER WAS STICKING. THE REPLACED THE CALIPER. AND IT LEFT ME STRANDED AT WORK WITH A STUCK CALIPER. THIS IS A MUSTANG GT NOT A PINTO AND FORD NEEDS TO COME UP WITH A PLAN TO FIX THIS CAR.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: CALIPER

2/21/2007 - BRUNSWICK, ME
ON THE 27TH OF MAY 2006 I TOOK MY MUSTANG GT WITH ONLY 1,069 MILES TO BRUNSWICK FORD. THE CAR WAS SHIFTING LIKE A 95 GT HARD TO SHIFT ON THE WAY MY FUEL JET PUMP WENT OUT. THEY FIXED THE JET PUMP BUT SAID THE TRANS WAS FINE. AT 3,556 MILES I TOOK IT BACK FOR THE TRANSMISSION . IT WAS MAKING A WINDING SOUND THEY REPLACED THE INTERNALS AND THE NOISE WAS STILL THERE. SO THEY REPLACED THE TRANSMISSION. THEY HAD TO BLEED THE CLUTCH 4 TIMES TO GET IT TO SHIFT HALF WAY RIGHT .NOW AT 5,713 MILES THE REAR CALIPER WAS STICKING. THE REPLACED THE CALIPER. AND IT LEFT ME STRANDED AT WORK WITH A STUCK CALIPER. THIS IS A MUSTANG GT NOT A PINTO AND FORD NEEDS TO COME UP WITH A PLAN TO FIX THIS CAR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: MANUAL TRANSMISSION

2/21/2007 - BRUNSWICK, ME
ON THE 27TH OF MAY 2006 I TOOK MY MUSTANG GT WITH ONLY 1,069 MILES TO BRUNSWICK FORD. THE CAR WAS SHIFTING LIKE A 95 GT HARD TO SHIFT ON THE WAY MY FUEL JET PUMP WENT OUT. THEY FIXED THE JET PUMP BUT SAID THE TRANS WAS FINE. AT 3,556 MILES I TOOK IT BACK FOR THE TRANSMISSION . IT WAS MAKING A WINDING SOUND THEY REPLACED THE INTERNALS AND THE NOISE WAS STILL THERE. SO THEY REPLACED THE TRANSMISSION. THEY HAD TO BLEED THE CLUTCH 4 TIMES TO GET IT TO SHIFT HALF WAY RIGHT .NOW AT 5,713 MILES THE REAR CALIPER WAS STICKING. THE REPLACED THE CALIPER. AND IT LEFT ME STRANDED AT WORK WITH A STUCK CALIPER. THIS IS A MUSTANG GT NOT A PINTO AND FORD NEEDS TO COME UP WITH A PLAN TO FIX THIS CAR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: DRIVELINE: DRIVESHAFT

2/11/2007 - GLENCOE, AL
MY 2006 MUSTANG GT HAS BEEN IN THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT THREE TIMES WITHIN 2 MONTHS TIME. WHEN YOU MAKE A LEFT OR RIGHT TURN THERE IS A GRINDING SOUND. THEY HAVE INSTALLED 2 CLUTCH PACKS (KIT-AXLE DIF, 3 GEAR AND PINIONS, AND A NEW FLANGE. I KNOW IT IS NOT THE WAY THE VEHICLE IS DRIVEN. IT WAS BOUGHT NEW IN MARCH 2006 AND IT ONLY HAS 7000 MILES ON IT AND THIS IS FEBRUARY 2007. THE CAR IS NOT "BEAT" AT ALL. IF THESE VEHICLES ARE SUPPOSED TO BE HIGH PERFORMANCE VEHICLES. COULD YOU IMAGINE WHAT WOULD HAPPEN IF THE "REAR END" WAS TO LOCK UP? AM I THE ONLY ONE HAVING THIS PROBLEM? ALSO THERE IS A TICKING SOUND THAT SOUNDS LIKE THE VALVES ARE RATTLING, THERE IS A TSB ON THE VALVES BUT DEALERSHIP SAYS THAT IS NOT THE PROBLEM. I ONLY USE BP AND AMOCO GAS, THE GAS THAT IS PREFERRED FOR THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

2/11/2007 - GLENCOE, AL
MY 2006 MUSTANG GT HAS BEEN IN THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT THREE TIMES WITHIN 2 MONTHS TIME. WHEN YOU MAKE A LEFT OR RIGHT TURN THERE IS A GRINDING SOUND. THEY HAVE INSTALLED 2 CLUTCH PACKS (KIT-AXLE DIF, 3 GEAR AND PINIONS, AND A NEW FLANGE. I KNOW IT IS NOT THE WAY THE VEHICLE IS DRIVEN. IT WAS BOUGHT NEW IN MARCH 2006 AND IT ONLY HAS 7000 MILES ON IT AND THIS IS FEBRUARY 2007. THE CAR IS NOT "BEAT" AT ALL. IF THESE VEHICLES ARE SUPPOSED TO BE HIGH PERFORMANCE VEHICLES. COULD YOU IMAGINE WHAT WOULD HAPPEN IF THE "REAR END" WAS TO LOCK UP? AM I THE ONLY ONE HAVING THIS PROBLEM? ALSO THERE IS A TICKING SOUND THAT SOUNDS LIKE THE VALVES ARE RATTLING, THERE IS A TSB ON THE VALVES BUT DEALERSHIP SAYS THAT IS NOT THE PROBLEM. I ONLY USE BP AND AMOCO GAS, THE GAS THAT IS PREFERRED FOR THE VEHICLE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/23/2007 - CARY, NC
VEHICLE CONTINUED TO NOTICEABLY ACCELERATE (WITHOUT FOOT ON ACCELERATOR) WHEN ATTEMPTING TO BRAKE FROM 35 MPH. CONTINUED STRONG PRESSURE ON BRAKE AS CAR CONTINUED TO ATTEMPT TO ACCELERATE (ENGINE REVS CONTINUED TO RISE.) AFTER CAR'S BRAKES THANKFULLY OVERPOWERED THE ACCELERATION AND BROUGHT THE CAR TO A FULL STOP, THE UNINTENDED ACCELERATION AND MOTOR REVVING STOPPED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/22/2007 - DINGESS, WV
I AM EXPERIENCING A WATER LEAK IN THE PASSENGER SIDE FLOOR BOARD OF MY 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT. I HAVE HAD IT TO THE DEALER 4 TIMES, AND IT STILL ISN'T FIXED. I HAVE SEARCHED ONLINE AND HAVE FOUND SEVERAL OTHER PEOPLE COMPLAINING ABOUT THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM. OTHERS HAVE ALSO EXPERIENCED ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS BECAUSE THERE IS A FUSE BOX LOCATED IN THE AFFECTED AREA. ACCORDING TO CUSTOMER SERVICE, AND THE SELLING DEALER, THERE ARE NO KNOWN TSB'S CONCERNING THIS PROBLEM. THE DEALERSHIP HAS SEALED THE PLASTIC WIPER COWL, RE-SEALED A RUBBER GROMMET NEAR THE FIREWALL, AND THEY HAVE REPLACED A SEAL OVER THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR. ACCORDING TO OTHER CUSTOMERS ON MUSTANGFORUMS.COM, THERE IS A SEAM BETWEEN THE A-PILLAR AND FIREWALL THAT WAS NOT SEALED PROPERLY AT THE FACTORY. AS I HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS PROBLEM 5 TIMES NOW, I BELIEVE A LOT MORE PEOPLE PROBABLY HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM BUT DON'T KNOW IT BECAUSE THEY HAVE A GARAGE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds