Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD MUSTANG GT - 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 147 complaints filed for the 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (61) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (1) Seats (1) Structure (21)
Electrical System (10) Exterior Lighting (1) Parking Brake (4) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (5)
Engine (4) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Power Train (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Unknown Or Other (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Seat Belts (1) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Equipment (1) Fuel System Other (2)

Pages:  
<<  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/19/2007 - BATSON, TX
MY 2006 MUSTANG GT WILL NOT TAKE FUEL. IT HAS HAD THE TANK REPLACED ONCE. THE VERY NEXT TIME I NEED TO FUEL UP, AFTER GETTING THE NEW TANK, THE SAME THING HAPPENED. IT WILL NOT FUEL UP. THE CAR HAS BEEN AT THE DEALERS SINCE THEN (10/24/07). THE DEALER HAD FORD ENGINEERS OUT TO LOOK AT THE CAR-THEY SAY IT CANNOT BE FIXED. HOW DO YOU MANUFACTURER SOMETHING THAT CANNOT BE FIXED?

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/28/2007 - BATSON, TX
PURCHASED MY 2006 MUSTANG GT IN DECEMBER OF '06. IT HAD APPROX. 59 MILES ON IT. I HAVE HAD NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS WITH THIS CAR. THE LATEST (AND CURRENT) PROBLEM IS THAT THE CAR WILL NOT TAKE ANY GAS. THE FIRST TIME THE PROBLEM OCCURRED THE DEALERSHIP CHANGED THE FUEL TANK. THE VERY FIRST TIME I TRIED TO FILL UP THE SAME THING HAPPENED-IT WILL NOT TAKE THE GAS. THE CAR HAS BEEN SITTING AT THE DEALER SINCE 10/25/07-TODAY IS THE 28TH OF NOVEMBER. FORD HAS HAD SEVERAL ENGINEERS OUT TO LOOK AT THE CAR AND THEY CAN NOT RESOLVE THE PROBLEM.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/12/2007 - CARY, NC
UNINTENDED ACCELERATION: TWICE IN ONE YEAR, VEHICLE CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE WHEN FOOT WAS OFF THE ACCELERATOR AND FOOT WAS ON THE BRAKE. HAPPENED BETWEEN 20-45 MPH. STOCK FLOOR MATS ARE IN CAR. DRIVER WAS ABLE TO BRING THE CAR TO A STOP, BUT REQUIRED MUCH HEAVIER THAN NORMAL BRAKE PRESSURE. VEHICLE BEING TAKEN TO FORD DEALER TO DIAGNOSE. ADDITIONAL POSTS ON THIS SAME ISSUE WITH THIS SAME MODEL VEHICLE (BOTH '05 AND '06 MODEL YEARS) ARE LOCATED ON THIS NHTSA COMPLAINT BOARD. THE LIKELIHOOD THAT IT IS RELATED TO THE VEHICLE BEING EQUIPPED WITH AN ELECTRONIC THROTTLE APPEARS TO BE A REAL POSSIBILITY; WOULD BE HIGHLY BENEFICIAL FOR NHTSA TO FURTHER INVESTIGATE PRIOR TO ACCIDENTS AND INJURIES OCCURRING.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/31/2007 - BAKERSFIELD, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HIS VEHICLE IS EXPERIENCING SPEED CONTROL FAILURE. THE FAILURE CAUSED HIM TO CRASH INTO A FENCE AFTER ACCELERATING OVER A CURB. THE SUDDEN ACCELERATION OCCURRED AFTER HE STOPPED AT A STOP SIGN TO MAKE A RIGHT TURN. BEFORE CRASHING, THE CONTACT LOST CONTROL AND THE VEHICLE MADE A 180 DEGREE TURN. THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE EVEN AFTER HE REMOVED THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AS A RESULT OF THE CRASH. THE CONTACT'S INSURANCE COMPANY AND FORD BOTH INVESTIGATED THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT NO VISIBLE FAILURE COULD BE FOUND. THE SPEED WAS UNKNOWN. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 18,536.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/19/2007 - BROOKLYN, NY
FRONT END NOISE WHEN AT 5 MPH OVER SMALL BUMPS, FROM BOTH SIDES PASSENGER SIDE AND DRIVER SIDE. TOOK IT TO DEALER AND THEY SAID IT WAS A LOOSE STABILIZER LINK AND IT WAS TIGHTENED. I DROVE OF THE LOT WITH THE SAME PROBLEM NOTHING WAS SOLVED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING

7/19/2007 - BROOKLYN, NY
WATER LEAK, PASSENGER SIDE UNDER DASH. DEALER DECLINE TO REPAIR BECAUSE THEY COULD NOT REPRODUCE LEAK.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/28/2007 - MARGATE, FL
THE VEHICLE IS DRIVEN APPROXIMATELY 500 MILES A MONTH, 90% OF THE TIME BY MY WIFE. ON MAY 24, 2007 MY WIFE DROVE IT TO WORK AS USUAL. WHEN SHE ARRIVED AT WORK THE PARKING SPACE SHE USUALLY PARKS IN WAS OCCUPIED. SHE THEN PROCEEDED TO CIRCLE A SMALL ISLAND TO RETURN TO THE ENTRANCE DRIVE WHERE THE PARKING SPACES ARE. ONCE ONE WAS LOCATED SHE HAD TO MAKE A RIGHT TURN TO ACCESS IT. WHILE PULLING INTO THE PARKING SPACE AND PERPENDICULAR TO THE CAR STOP, ABOUT HALF WAY INTO THE PARKING SPACE, THE CAR SUDDENLY ACCELERATED. SHE HIT A TREE ABOUT 10 - 12 FEET AWAY FROM THE PARKING SPACE. THE VEHICLE IS CURRENTLY AT THE DEALERSHIP WE PURCHASED IT FROM AWAITING BODY & PAINT REPAIR.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

4/15/2007 - RONKONKOMA, NY
I AM HAVING A DIFFICULT TIME FILLING THE TANK OF THE 2006 MUSTANG GT. THE AUTOMATIC PUMP IS TRIGGERED ALL THE TIME, AND ONLY ALLOWS A SMALL AMOUNT OF GAS TO BE PUMPED. I HAVE ALSO HAD THE GAS INDICATOR IN THE DASHBOARD TELL ME I WAS ON EMPTY WHEN I WAS NOT. I HAVE CALLED SEVERAL DEALERSHIPS AND FORD MOTOR COMPANY DIRECTLY, AND HAVE BEEN TOLD THIS IS NOT A PROBLEM THEY RECOGNIZE OR HAVE EVER HEARD OF. THEY ALSO WILL NOT COVER ANY COST TO REPAIR OR DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

3/28/2007 - GAMBRILLS, MD
-THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT HAD SUSPENSION PROBLEMS. EACH TIME HE HIT A SERIES OF POT HOLES IN THE ROAD THE VEHICLE MADE A LOUD THUMPING SOUND ON THE RIGHT FRONT SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. ALSO, THE STEERING HAD MORE PLAY, AND SOMETIMES IT FELT AS IF HE WAS OVER STEERING. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP, AND THEY REPLACED THE RIGHT FRONT STRUT ASSEMBLY. THE CONTACT FILED A COMPLAINT WITH THE MANUFACTURER, AND WAS WAITING FOR THEIR RESPONSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT VEHICLE'S CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 8,000 MILES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 8 MILES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

3/6/2007 - SAN JOSE , CA
2006 MUSTANG GT 4,445 MILES TRANSMISSION WENT OUT. WOULD NOT REPLACE WITH NEW HAD CAR FOR OVER 3 WEEKS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds