Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD MUSTANG GT - 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 73 complaints filed for the 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (1) Seats (1) Structure (12)
Electrical System (6) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Parking Brake (4) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (5)
Engine (2) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Power Train (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Unknown Or Other (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Fuel System Other (2) Seat Belts (1) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (16)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

3/14/2013 - NAPERVILLE, IL
ON AUGUST 13, 2013 AT 1:45PM WHILE DRIVING TO A CAR DEALERSHIP IN ELGIN, IL, MY WIFE AND I WERE DRIVING NORTH ON RT59 WHICH IS A 45 MPH ZONE. MY PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL AND THE CAR STARTED TO SPUTTER AND HESITATE. SHE PRESSED THE PEDAL A LITTLE MORE AND THE CAR JUST TOOK OFF BY ITS SELF. BEFORE WE KNEW IT, WE WERE TRAVELING AT 70 MPH THOUGH A LARGE POPULATION AREA. MY WIFE WAS TERRIFIED AND TRIED PRESSING THE BRAKES TO THE FLOOR BUT THEY ONLY SLOWED THE CAR A LITTLE. I TOLD MY WIFE TO TAP THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL TO SEE IF THE SPEED WOULD REDUCE. IT ONLY INCREASED IN SPEED. I TOLD MY WIFE TO TAP THE PEDAL AGAIN. THE CAR DID NOT SLOW AND SHE WAS STILL UNABLE TO SLOW THE CAR WITH THE BRAKES. I TOLD MY WIFE TO PRESS THE PEDAL HARDER. THE CAR LURCHED FORWARD AND THEN BEGAN TO SLOW DOWN. MY TOLD ME LAST YEAR THAT WHILE SHE WAS DRIVING THE CAR THAT IT DID THE EXACTED SAME THING, BUT I DIDN'T UNDERSTAND WHAT SHE WAS TALKING ABOUT UNTIL I EXPERIENCED IT MYSELF. MY WIFE WAS TERRIFIED AND IT SCARED THE [XXX] OUT OF ME AS WELL. THE CAR IS SHOWING NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS OR SERVICE ENGINE SOON LIGHTS. THIS MALFUNCTION COULD COST SOMEONE THEIR LIFE AND NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/25/2013 - BIG LAKE , TX
THIS MORNING THE UNEXPECTED AND UNHEARD OF HAPPENED MY PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG INSIDE THE SEAT DEPLOYED FOR NO APPARENT REASON. I WAS PULLING IN TO THE GAS STATION AT ABOUT 5-10 MPH WITH MY BROTHER IN THE PASSENGER SIDE AND WIFE IN BACKSEAT WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN THE AIRBAG EXPLODED, MY BROTHER THOUGHT WE GOT INTO A CRASH AND WIFE THOUGHT WE WERE GETTING SHOT AT AND I THOUGHT MY ENGINE EXPLODED UNTIL MY BROTHER SAID IT WAS THE AIRBAG AND WAS COMPLAINING OF PAIN IN HIS ARM WHILE MY WIFE COMPLAINED SHE COULD NOT HEAR FROM THE LOUD POP WHEN IT DEPLOYED. MY CAR HAS FORD RACING LOWERING SPRINGS I HAVE HAD THEM ON THE CAR FOR ALMOST TWO YEARS. I RECENTLY DROVE FROM SOUTH CAROLINA TO TEXAS AND THE ROADS WERE NOT SMOOTH ESPECIALLY HERE IN TEXAS WHERE IT HAPPENED. I MIGHT UNDERSTAND THE AIRBAG IN THE SEAT DEPLOYING WHILE HITTING A HARD BUMP BUT NOT WHEN DRIVING ON A SMOOTH CONCRETE SURFACE WHERE IT ENDED UP DEPLOYING. I THINK IF I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AND THE AIRBAG INSIDE THE SEAT ON THE DRIVER SIDE WOULD HAVE DEPLOYED I COULD HAVE LOST CONTROL.

View Details

SEATS

2/25/2013 - BIG LAKE , TX
THIS MORNING THE UNEXPECTED AND UNHEARD OF HAPPENED MY PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG INSIDE THE SEAT DEPLOYED FOR NO APPARENT REASON. I WAS PULLING IN TO THE GAS STATION AT ABOUT 5-10 MPH WITH MY BROTHER IN THE PASSENGER SIDE AND WIFE IN BACKSEAT WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN THE AIRBAG EXPLODED, MY BROTHER THOUGHT WE GOT INTO A CRASH AND WIFE THOUGHT WE WERE GETTING SHOT AT AND I THOUGHT MY ENGINE EXPLODED UNTIL MY BROTHER SAID IT WAS THE AIRBAG AND WAS COMPLAINING OF PAIN IN HIS ARM WHILE MY WIFE COMPLAINED SHE COULD NOT HEAR FROM THE LOUD POP WHEN IT DEPLOYED. MY CAR HAS FORD RACING LOWERING SPRINGS I HAVE HAD THEM ON THE CAR FOR ALMOST TWO YEARS. I RECENTLY DROVE FROM SOUTH CAROLINA TO TEXAS AND THE ROADS WERE NOT SMOOTH ESPECIALLY HERE IN TEXAS WHERE IT HAPPENED. I MIGHT UNDERSTAND THE AIRBAG IN THE SEAT DEPLOYING WHILE HITTING A HARD BUMP BUT NOT WHEN DRIVING ON A SMOOTH CONCRETE SURFACE WHERE IT ENDED UP DEPLOYING. I THINK IF I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AND THE AIRBAG INSIDE THE SEAT ON THE DRIVER SIDE WOULD HAVE DEPLOYED I COULD HAVE LOST CONTROL.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

4/2/2012 - KEARNEY, NE
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE SEAT BELT BUCKLE WOULD NOT RELEASE. AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS, THE BUCKLE FINALLY RELEASED AND THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO REMOVE THE SEAT BELT. THE CONTACT NO LONGER UTILIZED THE SEAT BELT DUE TO THE NATURE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO ADVISED THAT THERE WAS A SERVICE WARRANTY FOR THE FAILURE HOWEVER, THE WARRANTY WAS EXPIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000. UPDATED 05/08/12 THE CONSUMER STATED THERE WERE TIMES, WHEN THE SEAT BLETS WOULD LOCK. UPDATED 05/15/12

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/23/2012 - SUGAR LAND, TX
I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE ON SATURDAY TWO DAYS EARLIER, I DROVE TO WORK THEN HOME APPROXIMATELY 130 MILES WENT TO DINNER WITH A WIFE AND FRIENDS. ONE OF MY FRIENDS FROM NORWAY WANTED RIDE IN CAR AND EXPERIENCE THE POWER. FORTUNATELY ON A CLEAR 6 LANE HIGHWAY I KICKED IT HARD ONLY THE CAR CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE. THE PEDAL FUNCTIONED AS NORMAL RETURNING TO UPRIGHT POSITION. I KICKED THE PEDAL 8 OR 9 TIMES BEFORE THE ENGINE FINALLY RESPONDED. IT RUINED A SET BRAKE PADS. THE DEALER SAYS THAT NOTHING IS WRONG WITH CAR - SAID THE FLOOR MAT MUST HAVE GOTTEN STUCK UNDER THE PEDAL. I SAID GO LOOK AGAIN WHEN I BOUGHT THE USED CAR TWO DAYS AGO THERE ARE NO FLOOR MATS IN IT. HE HAD NO FURTHER RESPONSE. SECOND INCIDENT OCCURRED TODAY MARCH 23, 2012 JUST OVER A YEAR LATER BASICALLY A DUPLICATE OF THE ORIGINAL. I THINK THAT THESE DRIVE-BY-WIRE CARS HAVE SOME SERIOUS ISSUES REGARDING FAIL SAFE FEATURES OF THE COMPONENTS. I HAVE EXPERIENCED A NUMBER STICKING THROTTLES IN MY LIFETIME BUT AT LEAST WHEN A MECHANICAL LINKAGE STICKS THERE IS AN IDENTIFIABLE CAUSE AND REMEDY. THIS ELECTRONIC CRAP AND THE LACK OF DIGINITY BY BOTH THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER TO RESPOND TO A SERIOUS SAFETY CONCERN IS FRIGHTENING. I BOUGHT FORD'S MUSTANG TO ENJOY IT - NOT BE TERRIFIED THAT EVERYTIME I OPEN THE THROTTLE THAT IT MAY BE MY LAST. I HAVE SEEN A NUMBER COMPLAINTS ON THE VARIOUS MUSTANG FORUMS AS WELL AS ON THIS SITE MAYBE FORD COULD AT LEAST HONESTLY INVESTIGATE THE PROBLEM BEFORE SOMEONE IS SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/13/2011 - KATY, TX
MY 2006 MUSTANG GT CONVERTIBLE IS NOW ON ITS SECOND FORD BATTERY UNDER WARRANTY FOR ABOUT 3 MONTHS NOW. 36K AND WHILE DRIVING HOME LAST NIGHT THE RADIO SHUT OFF AND A "BATTERY LOW" MESSAGE DISPLAYED ON THE RADIO FOLLOWED BY ALL THE YELLOW CAUTION LIGHTS, ABS/TRACTION CONTROL OFF/CHECK ENGINE AND AM SURE I DETECTED A BURNING WIRE ODOR. ALTERNATOR AT ONLY 36K? THE VOLTAGE METER WAS DEAD AS WELL. I REALLY ENJOY THE CAR AND AM SURPRISED ABOUT THIS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/9/2011 - MERCHANTVILLE, NJ
WHENEVER I GET HEAVY RAINFALL OR TAKE MY CAR TO A CAR WASH I EXPERIENCE THE UNPLEASANT SITUATION OF HAVING MY PASSENGER SIDE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE FILL UP WITH WATER. THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED I ATTRIBUTED IT TO A FREAK THING. THE NEXT FEW TIMES I STARTED DOING ALITTLE INTERNET RESEARCH AND FOUND ALOT OF OTHER PEOPLE HAVE THE SAME THING. I HAVE GONE BACK TO THE DEALER AND CONTACTED FORD MOTOR COMPANY DIRECT AND STILL HAVE NO RESOLUTION TO THIS PROBLEM. I FEEL THAT WITH SO MANY PEOPLE HAVING THIS ISSUE , FORD SHOULD STEP UP TO THE PLATE AND FIX THIS PROBLEM. I SPENT ALOT OF MONEY FOR THE "CAR OF MY DREAMS" AND NOW HAVE TO SHOP VAC WATER OUT OF IT AND RIDE AROUND WITH THE RUG FOLDED OVER TO DRY OUT THE METAL AND RUG UNDERNEATH. MY FRIEND WHO ALSO OWNS A 2005 MUSTANG HAS TO RIDE AROUND WITH A POT ON HIS FLOOR TO CATCH THE WATER AS IT FLOWS IN! THIS IS A DISGRACE AS WELL AS A HEALTH HAZARD FROM BREATHING IN THE MOLD FUMES THAT THE WET RUG EMITS!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: MASTER CYLINDER

8/20/2011 - NORTHRIDGE, CA
MY CAR IS STILL UNDER THE EXTRA CARE EXTENDED WARRANTY. 3 WEEKS AGO I WAS SITTING AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT I PUSHED THE CLUTCH IN, TO PUT INTO FIRST GEAR AND GOT READY FOR THE LIGHT TURN GREEN, WHEN MY CAR SUDDENLY LUNCHED AND THE CLUTCH MASTER CYLINDER PART PA6-GF25 BROKE . PART NUMBER PA6-GF25 BROKE AND WAS LYING INSIDE THE DRIVER SIDE INTERIOR FLOOR. I CAN'T BELIEVE FORD USED A PLASTIC PIECE PART PA6-GF25 TO HOLD THE CLUTCH PEDAL TO THE CLUTCH MASTER CYLINDER. AFTER CLOSE INSPECTION I NOTICE THAT DUE TO STRESS OVER TIME IT WAS BROKEN IN HALF. I COULD HAVE SERIOUSLY INJURED ME OR SOME ELSE, WHEN MENTION IT TO GALPIN FORD, THEY SAID IT'S NOT THERE PROBLEM THEY WANTED TO CHARGE ME 450 DOLLARS TO FIX THE PROBLEM, MY CAR IS STILL IN THE SHOP AND MY BILL IN GOING TO BE OVER A 1000 DOLLARS AND THEY DON'T WANT TO COVER IT UNDER THE WARRANTY EITHER, I READY FOR TO FILE A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT AND A RECALL CAN SOMEONE HELP ME WITH THIS OR KNOWS OTHER PEOPLE WHO EXPERIENCED WITH THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

STRUCTURE

7/22/2011 - ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHENEVER IT WOULD RAIN, WATER WOULD LEAK INTO THE VEHICLE FROM THE PASSENGER SIDE INTO THE REAR SEAT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED THAT THE WATER WAS ENTERING THROUGH THE CLIPS, SEAL AND UNDER PADDING OF THE COWL ON THE WINDSHIELD. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 74,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/24/2011 - CARNEYS POINT, NJ
AT 12:00 PM MY SISTER IN LAW CALLED ME AND SAID HER 06 MUSTANG GT WAS HESITATING WHEN ACCELERATING, I ADVISED HER TO BRING IT TO MY SHOP AND I WOULD CHECK IT OUT. I CHECKED TO SEE IF ANY CODES WERE SET, AND THE CODES WERE CLEAR. I TEST DROVE THE VEHICLE AND WHEN TRYING TO ACCELERATE, THERE WAS A 4-6 SECOND DELAY BETWEEN PUSHING ON THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL AND THE RESPONSE OF THE ENGINE ACCELERATING. I TURNED RIGHT ONTO THE MAIN ROAD OF OUR TEST DRIVE AREA AND ACCELERATED AND THE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR TO FULL ACCELERATION AND THE REAR TIRES SPUN AND THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WOULD NOT RETURN TO THE RELEASED POSITION. I PUT THE VEHICLE IN NEUTRAL AND SHUT DOWN THE ENGINE AND COASTED BACK INTO MY PARKING LOT. I, AT THAT POINT WENT TO MY OFFICE AND CALLED THE LOCAL FORD DEALER AND ASKED THE PARTS MANAGER IF THERE WERE ANY PROBLEMS WITH THE STICKING ACCELERATOR AND HE ADVISED ME THAT THERE WAS A RECALL ON CERTAIN MUSTANGS WHERE THEY PUT A SHIELD UNDER THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL, BUT THIS VEHICLE DIDN'T FALL INTO THE V.I.N. PARAMETERS. THERE WERE NO ADDITIONAL MATS OTHER THAN THE FACTORY MAT WHICH IS HOOKED INTO THE MAT HOOKS ON THE CARPET AND THAT THERE WAS PLENTY OF CLEARANCE FROM THE PEDAL TO THE MAT. PERSONALLY IT SEEMED LIKE THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THE DRIVE BY WIRE ACCELERATOR. IF THIS WOULD HAVE HAPPENED TO MY SISTER, SHE WOULD HAVE BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT DUE TO THE PROBLEM. PLEASE ADVISE WHAT WE CAN DO?

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds