Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD MUSTANG GT - 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 79 complaints filed for the 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (1) Seats (1) Structure (14)
Electrical System (8) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Parking Brake (4) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (5)
Engine (2) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Power Train (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Unknown Or Other (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Fuel System Other (2) Seat Belts (1) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/2/2013 - AMARILLO, UT
I WAS ON MY WAY TO WORK, TURNED A RESIDENTIAL CORNER AND ACCELERATED TO MERGE INTO TRAFFIC ON A HIGHWAY LOOP. WITHIN SECONDS, I REALIZED THE ACCELERATOR WAS NOT COMING BACK UP. IT FELT AS THOUGH IT HAD GOTTEN STUCK OR SUCKED DOWN INTO THE FLOOR BOARD. MY MIND WAS RACING--WHAT TO DO! I DEPRESSED THE BRAKE BUT WITH ME DEPRESSING THE BRAKES AND THE ACCELERATOR RACING THE CAR, MY CAR STARTED TO SHAKE. MY CAR IS IN EXCELLENT SHAPE. OTHER THAN A NEW BATTERY, IT IS PRIMO AND HAS BEEN BABIED! I SAW A CLEARING IN THE TRAFFIC AND HEADED TO THE SHOULDER OF THE ROAD AS NOT MUCH FURTHER UP THE ROAD WAS TRAFFIC AT A STOP LIGHT. I KNEW IF I GOT UP THAT FAR, AN ACCIDENT WOULD OCCUR. I HAD TO STEER AWAY FROM TRAFFIC! I PUT IT IN 2ND, THEN 1ST, WHILE STILL DEPRESSING THE BRAKES. IT DID SLOW IT SOME AND I CAME TO A STOP. I THREW IT INTO PARK, BUT IT WAS STILL SCREAMING AND ACCELERATING. MY TIRES WERE SMOKING AND I COULD SMELL THEM. I THEN TURNED THE ENGINE OFF AND THE NIGHTMARE ENDED. I AM A 53-YEAR OLD WOMAN WHO LOVES MY MUSTANG, BUT I ABOUT DIED TODAY AND COULD HAVE TAKEN OTHERS WITH ME. MY DAUGHTER AND FRIENDS CAME TO MY RESCUE. I STARTED MY MUSTANG UP ABOUT 15-20 MINUTES LATER AND SHE WAS FINE. I PUTTED SLOWLY DOWN THE ROAD TO THE FORD HOUSE AND SHE IS IN THE SHOP. DIAGNOSTICS SAID IT WAS THE THROTTLE BODY. $800. THAT IS JUST MONEY, BUT WHAT TO DO NOW? DO I KEEP HER WHEN SHE IS FIXED, COULD IT HAPPEN AGAIN, OR DO I TOTALLY TAKE THE SAFE ROAD AND TRADE HER IN? I LOVE MY CAR, BUT I COULD HAVE DIED TODAY AND TAKEN SOMEONE ELSE'S LOVED ONE'S WITH ME. THE THOUGHT OF THAT HAS GRIEVED ME ALL DAY AND I HAVE BEEN INCONSOLABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

7/8/2013 - BEAUMONT, TX
DRIVING HOME FORM A TRIP I STARTED HEARING A SLAPPING/TICKING NOISE FORM UNDER THE HOOD. INVESTIGATED THE PROBLEM AND SEEMS TO BE COMING FORM TIMING CHAIN COVER/ VALVE COVER AREA ON PASSENGER SIDE. AFTER DOING RESEARCH ON THIS MATTER AND A MECHANIC VISIT IT IS A TIMING CHAIN GUIDE/TENSIONER. ITS A COSTLY REPAIR AND SEEMS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM ON 05-09 MUSTANGS FORM INTERNET RESEARCH. THEY USE THE TIMING CHAIN CAUSE THEY SHOULD LAST THE LIFE OF THE CAR, CAUSE THEY WONT BREAK. I THINK THE GUIDES SHOULD ALSO LAST, BUT THEY ARE MADE OF PLASTIC AND CAN BREAK AT ANYTIME. I THINK THIS IS A PLOY BY FORD OR A DEFECT THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED AS PLASTIC CONTAINED INSIDE OF A MAJOR CAR PART THAT CAN BREAK EASILY, MAY CAUSE CHAIN TO SLIP OFF AND SHUT OFF ENGINE CAUSING BLOWN ENGINE, OR WORSE WHILE ON HIGHWAY CAUSING AN ACCIDENT. THEY SHOULD BE REPLACED BY STAINLESS OR ALUMINUM FOR STRENGTH AND BETTER SUPPORT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/24/2013 - AUSTIN, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE NOTICED CORROSION UNDER THE HOOD OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT BECAUSE THE HOOD WAS MADE OF ALUMINUM, IT WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 14,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/29/2013 - NORTH ATTLEBORO, MA
I WISH TO FILE A COMPLAINT FOR A 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT THAT I OWN. I STARTED TO SMELL A MUSTY ODOR AROUND NOV 2012. SHORTLY AFTERWARD, I NOTICED A SIGNIFICANT WATER LEAK ON THE PASSENGER SIDE FLOOR. I BROUGHT THE CAR TO A FORD DEALERSHIP THAT WENT THROUGH THE TESTING PROCESS TO CONFIRM THERE IS A TSB RELEVANT TO MY CAR. IT COST ME $146.00 TO FIND TSB 08-26-7 APPLIED TO MY VEHICLE. FURTHER RESEARCH REVEALED THIS HISTORY OF WATER LEAKING HAS CAUSED ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS ON SOME CARS IN ADDITION TO THE ISSUES I EXPERIENCED. IT APPEARS THE TSB REQUIRES REPLACEMENT OF EXISTING NON WEAR PARTS WITH NEWLY DESIGNED PARTS SUGGESTING THIS IS A MANUFACTURERÆS DESIGN RELATED ISSUE. THE REPAIR COST ME $716.00 IN TOTAL. I HAVE GREAT DIFFICULTY PAYING THIS TO CORRECT A DESIGN RELATED DEFECT WHICH MADE MY CAR UNFIT FOR USE DUE TO WATER LEAKING NEAR THE ELECTRICAL BOX, A MOLD SMELL AND ONE DRIVER BEING AN ASTHMATIC. I ASKED FORD FOR RELIEF WITH MY EXPENSES. MY REQUEST WAS DENIED. I AM OF THE OPINION A RECALL IS APPROPRIATE AND REQUEST AN INVESTIGATION.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/14/2013 - NAPERVILLE, IL
ON AUGUST 13, 2013 AT 1:45PM WHILE DRIVING TO A CAR DEALERSHIP IN ELGIN, IL, MY WIFE AND I WERE DRIVING NORTH ON RT59 WHICH IS A 45 MPH ZONE. MY PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL AND THE CAR STARTED TO SPUTTER AND HESITATE. SHE PRESSED THE PEDAL A LITTLE MORE AND THE CAR JUST TOOK OFF BY ITS SELF. BEFORE WE KNEW IT, WE WERE TRAVELING AT 70 MPH THOUGH A LARGE POPULATION AREA. MY WIFE WAS TERRIFIED AND TRIED PRESSING THE BRAKES TO THE FLOOR BUT THEY ONLY SLOWED THE CAR A LITTLE. I TOLD MY WIFE TO TAP THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL TO SEE IF THE SPEED WOULD REDUCE. IT ONLY INCREASED IN SPEED. I TOLD MY WIFE TO TAP THE PEDAL AGAIN. THE CAR DID NOT SLOW AND SHE WAS STILL UNABLE TO SLOW THE CAR WITH THE BRAKES. I TOLD MY WIFE TO PRESS THE PEDAL HARDER. THE CAR LURCHED FORWARD AND THEN BEGAN TO SLOW DOWN. MY TOLD ME LAST YEAR THAT WHILE SHE WAS DRIVING THE CAR THAT IT DID THE EXACTED SAME THING, BUT I DIDN'T UNDERSTAND WHAT SHE WAS TALKING ABOUT UNTIL I EXPERIENCED IT MYSELF. MY WIFE WAS TERRIFIED AND IT SCARED THE [XXX] OUT OF ME AS WELL. THE CAR IS SHOWING NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS OR SERVICE ENGINE SOON LIGHTS. THIS MALFUNCTION COULD COST SOMEONE THEIR LIFE AND NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/14/2013 - NAPERVILLE, IL
ON AUGUST 13, 2013 AT 1:45PM WHILE DRIVING TO A CAR DEALERSHIP IN ELGIN, IL, MY WIFE AND I WERE DRIVING NORTH ON RT59 WHICH IS A 45 MPH ZONE. MY PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL AND THE CAR STARTED TO SPUTTER AND HESITATE. SHE PRESSED THE PEDAL A LITTLE MORE AND THE CAR JUST TOOK OFF BY ITS SELF. BEFORE WE KNEW IT, WE WERE TRAVELING AT 70 MPH THOUGH A LARGE POPULATION AREA. MY WIFE WAS TERRIFIED AND TRIED PRESSING THE BRAKES TO THE FLOOR BUT THEY ONLY SLOWED THE CAR A LITTLE. I TOLD MY WIFE TO TAP THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL TO SEE IF THE SPEED WOULD REDUCE. IT ONLY INCREASED IN SPEED. I TOLD MY WIFE TO TAP THE PEDAL AGAIN. THE CAR DID NOT SLOW AND SHE WAS STILL UNABLE TO SLOW THE CAR WITH THE BRAKES. I TOLD MY WIFE TO PRESS THE PEDAL HARDER. THE CAR LURCHED FORWARD AND THEN BEGAN TO SLOW DOWN. MY TOLD ME LAST YEAR THAT WHILE SHE WAS DRIVING THE CAR THAT IT DID THE EXACTED SAME THING, BUT I DIDN'T UNDERSTAND WHAT SHE WAS TALKING ABOUT UNTIL I EXPERIENCED IT MYSELF. MY WIFE WAS TERRIFIED AND IT SCARED THE [XXX] OUT OF ME AS WELL. THE CAR IS SHOWING NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS OR SERVICE ENGINE SOON LIGHTS. THIS MALFUNCTION COULD COST SOMEONE THEIR LIFE AND NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ENGINE

3/14/2013 - NAPERVILLE, IL
ON AUGUST 13, 2013 AT 1:45PM WHILE DRIVING TO A CAR DEALERSHIP IN ELGIN, IL, MY WIFE AND I WERE DRIVING NORTH ON RT59 WHICH IS A 45 MPH ZONE. MY PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL AND THE CAR STARTED TO SPUTTER AND HESITATE. SHE PRESSED THE PEDAL A LITTLE MORE AND THE CAR JUST TOOK OFF BY ITS SELF. BEFORE WE KNEW IT, WE WERE TRAVELING AT 70 MPH THOUGH A LARGE POPULATION AREA. MY WIFE WAS TERRIFIED AND TRIED PRESSING THE BRAKES TO THE FLOOR BUT THEY ONLY SLOWED THE CAR A LITTLE. I TOLD MY WIFE TO TAP THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL TO SEE IF THE SPEED WOULD REDUCE. IT ONLY INCREASED IN SPEED. I TOLD MY WIFE TO TAP THE PEDAL AGAIN. THE CAR DID NOT SLOW AND SHE WAS STILL UNABLE TO SLOW THE CAR WITH THE BRAKES. I TOLD MY WIFE TO PRESS THE PEDAL HARDER. THE CAR LURCHED FORWARD AND THEN BEGAN TO SLOW DOWN. MY TOLD ME LAST YEAR THAT WHILE SHE WAS DRIVING THE CAR THAT IT DID THE EXACTED SAME THING, BUT I DIDN'T UNDERSTAND WHAT SHE WAS TALKING ABOUT UNTIL I EXPERIENCED IT MYSELF. MY WIFE WAS TERRIFIED AND IT SCARED THE [XXX] OUT OF ME AS WELL. THE CAR IS SHOWING NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS OR SERVICE ENGINE SOON LIGHTS. THIS MALFUNCTION COULD COST SOMEONE THEIR LIFE AND NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/25/2013 - BIG LAKE , TX
THIS MORNING THE UNEXPECTED AND UNHEARD OF HAPPENED MY PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG INSIDE THE SEAT DEPLOYED FOR NO APPARENT REASON. I WAS PULLING IN TO THE GAS STATION AT ABOUT 5-10 MPH WITH MY BROTHER IN THE PASSENGER SIDE AND WIFE IN BACKSEAT WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN THE AIRBAG EXPLODED, MY BROTHER THOUGHT WE GOT INTO A CRASH AND WIFE THOUGHT WE WERE GETTING SHOT AT AND I THOUGHT MY ENGINE EXPLODED UNTIL MY BROTHER SAID IT WAS THE AIRBAG AND WAS COMPLAINING OF PAIN IN HIS ARM WHILE MY WIFE COMPLAINED SHE COULD NOT HEAR FROM THE LOUD POP WHEN IT DEPLOYED. MY CAR HAS FORD RACING LOWERING SPRINGS I HAVE HAD THEM ON THE CAR FOR ALMOST TWO YEARS. I RECENTLY DROVE FROM SOUTH CAROLINA TO TEXAS AND THE ROADS WERE NOT SMOOTH ESPECIALLY HERE IN TEXAS WHERE IT HAPPENED. I MIGHT UNDERSTAND THE AIRBAG IN THE SEAT DEPLOYING WHILE HITTING A HARD BUMP BUT NOT WHEN DRIVING ON A SMOOTH CONCRETE SURFACE WHERE IT ENDED UP DEPLOYING. I THINK IF I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AND THE AIRBAG INSIDE THE SEAT ON THE DRIVER SIDE WOULD HAVE DEPLOYED I COULD HAVE LOST CONTROL.

View Details

SEATS

2/25/2013 - BIG LAKE , TX
THIS MORNING THE UNEXPECTED AND UNHEARD OF HAPPENED MY PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG INSIDE THE SEAT DEPLOYED FOR NO APPARENT REASON. I WAS PULLING IN TO THE GAS STATION AT ABOUT 5-10 MPH WITH MY BROTHER IN THE PASSENGER SIDE AND WIFE IN BACKSEAT WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN THE AIRBAG EXPLODED, MY BROTHER THOUGHT WE GOT INTO A CRASH AND WIFE THOUGHT WE WERE GETTING SHOT AT AND I THOUGHT MY ENGINE EXPLODED UNTIL MY BROTHER SAID IT WAS THE AIRBAG AND WAS COMPLAINING OF PAIN IN HIS ARM WHILE MY WIFE COMPLAINED SHE COULD NOT HEAR FROM THE LOUD POP WHEN IT DEPLOYED. MY CAR HAS FORD RACING LOWERING SPRINGS I HAVE HAD THEM ON THE CAR FOR ALMOST TWO YEARS. I RECENTLY DROVE FROM SOUTH CAROLINA TO TEXAS AND THE ROADS WERE NOT SMOOTH ESPECIALLY HERE IN TEXAS WHERE IT HAPPENED. I MIGHT UNDERSTAND THE AIRBAG IN THE SEAT DEPLOYING WHILE HITTING A HARD BUMP BUT NOT WHEN DRIVING ON A SMOOTH CONCRETE SURFACE WHERE IT ENDED UP DEPLOYING. I THINK IF I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AND THE AIRBAG INSIDE THE SEAT ON THE DRIVER SIDE WOULD HAVE DEPLOYED I COULD HAVE LOST CONTROL.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

4/2/2012 - KEARNEY, NE
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 FORD MUSTANG GT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE SEAT BELT BUCKLE WOULD NOT RELEASE. AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS, THE BUCKLE FINALLY RELEASED AND THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO REMOVE THE SEAT BELT. THE CONTACT NO LONGER UTILIZED THE SEAT BELT DUE TO THE NATURE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO ADVISED THAT THERE WAS A SERVICE WARRANTY FOR THE FAILURE HOWEVER, THE WARRANTY WAS EXPIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000. UPDATED 05/08/12 THE CONSUMER STATED THERE WERE TIMES, WHEN THE SEAT BLETS WOULD LOCK. UPDATED 05/15/12

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds