Auto Recalls for Consumers

LAND ROVER LR3 - 2006 LAND ROVER LR3 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 35 complaints filed for the 2006 LAND ROVER LR3

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 LAND ROVER LR3. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 LAND ROVER LR3, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (4) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Tires (9)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (5) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Engine (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (10) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

2/6/2014 - LOVELAND, CO
LANDROVER LR 3 HAVE A KNOWN PROBLEM OF HAVING WATER COLLECT IN THE SUNROOF AREA DUE TO BLOCKAGE IN SOME DRAINAGE TUBE FROM DEBRIS. CLEANING OF THESE TUBES IS NOT A REGULAR PART OF MAINTENANCE IF YOU TAKE YOUR VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE OR SERVICE. THE WATER COLLECT AND LEAKS INTO THE CABIN DIRECTLY OVER THE RADIO AND MIDDLE CONSOLE. IT ALSO LEAKS OVER THE DASHBOARD NEAR THE PASSENGER HEAT REGISTER AND IN THE DRIVER'S SIDE DASHBOARD AREA OVER THE HEAT REGISTER. WATER SEEPS INTO THE ELECTRIC SYSTEM (THE MAIN BCM) THAT CONTROLS MANY IMPORTANT FUNCTIONS OF THE VEHICLE OPERATION. SO FAR I HAVE A SHORT IN THE RADIO. MANY OF THE LANDROVER FORUMS ONLINE HAVE SEVERAL CUSTOMERS AND OWNERS OF LANDROVER LR3 THAT HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS PROBLEM. THIS DEFECT IN THE DRAINAGE SYSTEM FOR THE SUNROOF COULD CAUSE SERIOUS DAMAGE / SHORTING OUT OF THE BCM THAT CONTROLS THE ENTIRE VEHICLE. PLEASE SEE SIMILAR ADDITIONAL COMPLAINTS AT: HTTP://WWW.ARFC.ORG/COMPLAINTS/2005/LAND_ROVER/LR3/ELECTRICAL_SYSTEM/PROBLEM.ASPX HTTP://WWW.BUSINESSWEEK.COM/THE_THREAD/THE_THREAD/BLOGSPOTTING/ARCHIVES/2005/07/BLOGGER_TAKES_O.HTML HTTP://WWW.CONSUMERAFFAIRS.COM/AUTOMOTIVE/LAND_ROVER.HTML?PAGE=3 HTTP://WWW.EDMUNDS.COM/LAND-ROVER/LR3/2006/CONSUMER-DISCUSSIONS.HTML HTTP://WWW.LANDROVERSONLY.COM/FORUMS/F40/SUNROOF-LEAK-NOT-TUBES-24066/ HTTP://WWW.GOOGLE.COM/URL?SA=T&RCT=J&Q=&ESRC=S&SOURCE=WEB&CD=1&VED=0CCYQFJAA&URL=HTTP%3A%2F%2FWWW.LANDROVERWORLD.ORG%2FFORUMS%2FSHOWTHREAD.PHP%3FT%3D17938&EI=V0H0UVM4W-BJAECMGMAF&USG=AFQJCNHJV4ENQ7OZ8B8S2ILGC_YE8HVLXG&BVM=BV.60983673,D.AWC HTTP://FORUMS.LANDROVERGROUP.COM/TOPIC/1124-PROBLEMS-WITH-THE-LR3/PAGE__ST__30

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/6/2014 - LOVELAND, CO
LANDROVER LR 3 HAVE A KNOWN PROBLEM OF HAVING WATER COLLECT IN THE SUNROOF AREA DUE TO BLOCKAGE IN SOME DRAINAGE TUBE FROM DEBRIS. CLEANING OF THESE TUBES IS NOT A REGULAR PART OF MAINTENANCE IF YOU TAKE YOUR VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE OR SERVICE. THE WATER COLLECT AND LEAKS INTO THE CABIN DIRECTLY OVER THE RADIO AND MIDDLE CONSOLE. IT ALSO LEAKS OVER THE DASHBOARD NEAR THE PASSENGER HEAT REGISTER AND IN THE DRIVER'S SIDE DASHBOARD AREA OVER THE HEAT REGISTER. WATER SEEPS INTO THE ELECTRIC SYSTEM (THE MAIN BCM) THAT CONTROLS MANY IMPORTANT FUNCTIONS OF THE VEHICLE OPERATION. SO FAR I HAVE A SHORT IN THE RADIO. MANY OF THE LANDROVER FORUMS ONLINE HAVE SEVERAL CUSTOMERS AND OWNERS OF LANDROVER LR3 THAT HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS PROBLEM. THIS DEFECT IN THE DRAINAGE SYSTEM FOR THE SUNROOF COULD CAUSE SERIOUS DAMAGE / SHORTING OUT OF THE BCM THAT CONTROLS THE ENTIRE VEHICLE. PLEASE SEE SIMILAR ADDITIONAL COMPLAINTS AT: HTTP://WWW.ARFC.ORG/COMPLAINTS/2005/LAND_ROVER/LR3/ELECTRICAL_SYSTEM/PROBLEM.ASPX HTTP://WWW.BUSINESSWEEK.COM/THE_THREAD/THE_THREAD/BLOGSPOTTING/ARCHIVES/2005/07/BLOGGER_TAKES_O.HTML HTTP://WWW.CONSUMERAFFAIRS.COM/AUTOMOTIVE/LAND_ROVER.HTML?PAGE=3 HTTP://WWW.EDMUNDS.COM/LAND-ROVER/LR3/2006/CONSUMER-DISCUSSIONS.HTML HTTP://WWW.LANDROVERSONLY.COM/FORUMS/F40/SUNROOF-LEAK-NOT-TUBES-24066/ HTTP://WWW.GOOGLE.COM/URL?SA=T&RCT=J&Q=&ESRC=S&SOURCE=WEB&CD=1&VED=0CCYQFJAA&URL=HTTP%3A%2F%2FWWW.LANDROVERWORLD.ORG%2FFORUMS%2FSHOWTHREAD.PHP%3FT%3D17938&EI=V0H0UVM4W-BJAECMGMAF&USG=AFQJCNHJV4ENQ7OZ8B8S2ILGC_YE8HVLXG&BVM=BV.60983673,D.AWC HTTP://FORUMS.LANDROVERGROUP.COM/TOPIC/1124-PROBLEMS-WITH-THE-LR3/PAGE__ST__30

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/6/2014 - LOVELAND, CO
LANDROVER LR 3 HAVE A KNOWN PROBLEM OF HAVING WATER COLLECT IN THE SUNROOF AREA DUE TO BLOCKAGE IN SOME DRAINAGE TUBE FROM DEBRIS. CLEANING OF THESE TUBES IS NOT A REGULAR PART OF MAINTENANCE IF YOU TAKE YOUR VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE OR SERVICE. THE WATER COLLECT AND LEAKS INTO THE CABIN DIRECTLY OVER THE RADIO AND MIDDLE CONSOLE. IT ALSO LEAKS OVER THE DASHBOARD NEAR THE PASSENGER HEAT REGISTER AND IN THE DRIVER'S SIDE DASHBOARD AREA OVER THE HEAT REGISTER. WATER SEEPS INTO THE ELECTRIC SYSTEM (THE MAIN BCM) THAT CONTROLS MANY IMPORTANT FUNCTIONS OF THE VEHICLE OPERATION. SO FAR I HAVE A SHORT IN THE RADIO. MANY OF THE LANDROVER FORUMS ONLINE HAVE SEVERAL CUSTOMERS AND OWNERS OF LANDROVER LR3 THAT HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS PROBLEM. THIS DEFECT IN THE DRAINAGE SYSTEM FOR THE SUNROOF COULD CAUSE SERIOUS DAMAGE / SHORTING OUT OF THE BCM THAT CONTROLS THE ENTIRE VEHICLE. PLEASE SEE SIMILAR ADDITIONAL COMPLAINTS AT: HTTP://WWW.ARFC.ORG/COMPLAINTS/2005/LAND_ROVER/LR3/ELECTRICAL_SYSTEM/PROBLEM.ASPX HTTP://WWW.BUSINESSWEEK.COM/THE_THREAD/THE_THREAD/BLOGSPOTTING/ARCHIVES/2005/07/BLOGGER_TAKES_O.HTML HTTP://WWW.CONSUMERAFFAIRS.COM/AUTOMOTIVE/LAND_ROVER.HTML?PAGE=3 HTTP://WWW.EDMUNDS.COM/LAND-ROVER/LR3/2006/CONSUMER-DISCUSSIONS.HTML HTTP://WWW.LANDROVERSONLY.COM/FORUMS/F40/SUNROOF-LEAK-NOT-TUBES-24066/ HTTP://WWW.GOOGLE.COM/URL?SA=T&RCT=J&Q=&ESRC=S&SOURCE=WEB&CD=1&VED=0CCYQFJAA&URL=HTTP%3A%2F%2FWWW.LANDROVERWORLD.ORG%2FFORUMS%2FSHOWTHREAD.PHP%3FT%3D17938&EI=V0H0UVM4W-BJAECMGMAF&USG=AFQJCNHJV4ENQ7OZ8B8S2ILGC_YE8HVLXG&BVM=BV.60983673,D.AWC HTTP://FORUMS.LANDROVERGROUP.COM/TOPIC/1124-PROBLEMS-WITH-THE-LR3/PAGE__ST__30

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/9/2012 - HOLBROOK, NY
CHECK FOR TRANSMISSION SOFTWARE UPDATE, AS IT INITIALLY SEEMED TO HAVE THE MUST DISCUSSED PROBLEM OF HARSH AND IRREGULAR SHIFTING WHEN ROLLING TO A STOP AND THEN RE-ACCELERATING. THIS PROBLEM HAS CONTINUED INTERMITTANTLY AND NOW THE VEHICLE SOMETIMES DROPS COMPLETELY OUT OF GEAR WHEN SLOWING DOWN OR TURNING. THE VEHICLE THEN DROPPED OUT OF GEAR AND I HAD NO ACCELERATION, AS IT WAS SUDDENLY LIKE I WAS IN NEUTRAL. HIGH RPM.... BUT NO MOVEMENT. AFTER A FEW SECONDS, THE TRANSMISSION SEEMS TO FIND "DRIVE" AND I CAN THEN MOVE FORWARD WITH NORMAL ACCELERATION.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/17/2011 - SPRING, TX
AS WE WERE DRIVING, THE SUSPENSION FAULT LIGHT CAME ON AND IMMEDIATELY WENT OFF. WE THOUGHT IT MAY BE DUE TO THE ROAD CONDITIONS. ABOUT 30 MINUTES LATER, WE STOPPED TO GAS UP AND WHEN WE WERE BACK ON THE ROAD, THE RADIO WOULD NOT WORK. NO SOUND BUT A CRACKING SOUND WAS COMING FROM THE RADIO. AFTER A HOUR, THE RADIO CAME BACK ON. LAST WEEK, I WAS DRIVING AND THE SUSPENSION LIGHT WAS CAME ON AND OFF EVERY 5 OR 10 MINUTES, IT SEEMED. THEN A LOUD CHIME WITH A SUSPENSION FAULT IN RED LETTERS. AT A STOP LIGHT, THE VEHICLE WAS GOING UP AND DOWN LIKE IT HAS A MIND OF ITS OWN. KINDLY OF SPOOKY. OF COURSE, OUR 2006 LR3 IS OUT OF WARRANTY. I CALLED THE DEALER AND IT WILL COST $125 FOR A DIAGNOSIS BUT IT WILL GO TOWARD THE COST OF THE SERVICE WHATEVER IS NEEDED. ALL I SEE IS MAJOR DOLLARS SIGNS DUE TO OUR LAST EXPERIENCE. THE DEALER QUOTED US A COST OF $250 FOR A PROBLEM MY HUSBAND FIXED WITH A $12 FUSE. SO MY HUSBAND WILL NOT TAKE IT BACK TO THE DEALER NOT UNLESS IT IS A MUST.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/17/2011 - SPRING, TX
AS WE WERE DRIVING, THE SUSPENSION FAULT LIGHT CAME ON AND IMMEDIATELY WENT OFF. WE THOUGHT IT MAY BE DUE TO THE ROAD CONDITIONS. ABOUT 30 MINUTES LATER, WE STOPPED TO GAS UP AND WHEN WE WERE BACK ON THE ROAD, THE RADIO WOULD NOT WORK. NO SOUND BUT A CRACKING SOUND WAS COMING FROM THE RADIO. AFTER A HOUR, THE RADIO CAME BACK ON. LAST WEEK, I WAS DRIVING AND THE SUSPENSION LIGHT WAS CAME ON AND OFF EVERY 5 OR 10 MINUTES, IT SEEMED. THEN A LOUD CHIME WITH A SUSPENSION FAULT IN RED LETTERS. AT A STOP LIGHT, THE VEHICLE WAS GOING UP AND DOWN LIKE IT HAS A MIND OF ITS OWN. KINDLY OF SPOOKY. OF COURSE, OUR 2006 LR3 IS OUT OF WARRANTY. I CALLED THE DEALER AND IT WILL COST $125 FOR A DIAGNOSIS BUT IT WILL GO TOWARD THE COST OF THE SERVICE WHATEVER IS NEEDED. ALL I SEE IS MAJOR DOLLARS SIGNS DUE TO OUR LAST EXPERIENCE. THE DEALER QUOTED US A COST OF $250 FOR A PROBLEM MY HUSBAND FIXED WITH A $12 FUSE. SO MY HUSBAND WILL NOT TAKE IT BACK TO THE DEALER NOT UNLESS IT IS A MUST.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/13/2010 - MIAMI BEACH, FL
I BOUGHT A 2006 LR3 ABOUT A YEAR AGO FROM A DEALER IN SOUTH FLORIDA. THE VEHICLE ONLY HAS 39K MILES ON IT AND LAST WEEK THE SUSPENSION FAULT INDICATOR CAME ON. I TOOK THE TRUCK TO THE DEALER TO HAVE A DIAGNOSTIC AND THEY TOLD ME THAT THE SUSPENSION COMPRESSOR IS NOT WORKING. TO REPLACE THE PART IS $1200 BECAUSE THE CAR IS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY. IF THE COMPRESSOR FAILS, THE SUSPENSION FAILS AND THE TRUCK CAN END UP RIDING ON THE TIRES AT ANY TIME UNTIL THE COMPRESSOR IS FIXED. I SPOKE WITH LAND ROVER NORTH AMERICA AND THEY WILL NOT PAY TO REPLACE THE DEFECTIVE PART. SO NOW I AM STUCK WITH A $1200 REPAIR ON A VEHICLE THAT ONLY HAS 39K MILES.

View Details

TIRES

1/11/2010 - CYPRESS, TX
UNEVEN TIRE WEAR ON THE 2006 LAND ROVER LR3, LAND ROVER KNOWS THERE IS A DEFECT BUT HAS DONE NOTHING TO REPAIR. I AM ON MY 3RD SET OF TIRES AND MY LR LR3 ONLY HAS 40,000 MILES. AFTER DOING RESEARCH, THERE SEEMS TO BE A LOT OF CONSUMERS WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. LAND ROVER JUST GIVES ME EXCUSE AFTER EXCUSE AND I HAVE TO PAY FOR THE NEW TIRES AND AN ALIGNMENT. THE WEAR ON THE TIRE IS SO SEVERE IT CAN BE REALLY DANGEROUS ON THE ROADS.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: SPRINGS: AIR SUSPENSION SYSTEM

4/21/2009 - MT.PLEASANT, SC
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2006 LAND ROVER LR3. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE COMPRESSOR FOR THE AIR SUSPENSION HAD BEEN REPLACED THREE TIMES ON HER VEHICLE. A WEEK AFTER THE MOST RECENT REPAIR, THE VEHICLE CAUGHT FIRE WHILE PARKED IN THE DRIVEWAY. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE AND A REPORT WAS FILED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT AND INSURANCE COMPANY STATED THAT THE AIR COMPRESSOR CAUSED THE FIRE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000. UPDATED 05/18/09. UPDATED 05/20/09.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/7/2008 - FREELAND, WA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2006 LAND ROVER LR3. WHILE SLOWLY BACKING UP THE VEHICLE, IT SUDDENLY ACCELERATED VERY FAST INTO A TWELVE INCH CEMENT WALL. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE CONTACT HAD TO TURN OFF THE VEHICLE TO STOP IT FROM ACCELERATING FURTHER. SHE WILL TAKE THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER IN A FEW DAYS BECAUSE SHE LIVES ON AN ISLAND. THERE WAS APPROXIMATELY $1,400 WORTH OF DAMAGE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 14,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds