Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLVO XC90 - 2006 VOLVO XC90 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volvo Car USA LLC

There are 41 complaints filed for the 2006 VOLVO XC90

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 VOLVO XC90. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 VOLVO XC90, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (3) Steering (2) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (11) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (2) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (1)
Engine (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (9) Wheels (3)
Equipment (1) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4 
 
ComplaintDescription

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

1/12/2009 - DOWNERS GROVE , IL
I OWN A 2006 VOLVO XC90 AND I AM CONCERNED THAT THE REAR WHEEL BEARING MAY BE A MANUFACTURERS DEFECT. I RECENTLY TOOK MY VEHICLE INTO A VOLVO DEALER (JULY 2008 WHILE STILL COVERED UNDER WARRANTY) AS I FELT THAT IT WASN'T RUNNING PROPERLY AND IT WAS MAKING WEIRD NOISES THEY COULD NOT FIND THE PROBLEM (I MADE THE DEALERSHIP PROVIDE ME WITH A CAR FAX REPORT AS I BOUGHT THE VEHICLE AS A DEMO). JUST LAST WEEK, 4,000 MILES AFTER THE WARRANTY EXPIRED THE NOISES GOT WORSE AND I DISCOVERED BOTH REAR WHEEL BEARINGS WERE BAD ALONG WITH BOTH REAR TIE RODS. I CONTACTED CORP. VOLVO AND THEY AGREED TO COVER A LITTLE OVER 50% OF THE ENTIRE REPAIRS. I AM CONCERNED BECAUSE WHILE I WAS RESEARCHING OVER THE INTERNET I DISCOVERED THAT THERE ARE SEVERAL PEOPLE WITH THE SAME CAR THAT HAVE EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEM. I EVEN RECEIVED CONFIRMATION FROM THE DEALERSHIP THAT MY SPECIFIC VEHICLE IS KNOWN FOR THIS PROBLEM. I FOUND ON YOUR WEBSITE THAT THE TIE ROD ASSEMBLY WAS A RECALL FOR MY VEHICLE (06V-155). IF VOLVO REPLACED THIS PART AS RECALL ON MY VEHICLE WHY WOULD THEY GO BAD AGAIN IN SUCH A SHORT TIME FRAME? WOULD A DEFECTIVE TIE ROD CAUSE WEAR AND TEAR ON THE WHEEL BEARINGS? I AM CONCERNED THIS IS GOING TO HAPPEN TO OTHER CONSUMERS OR EVEN WORSE THIS DEFECT MAY CAUSE AN ACCIDENT? I DID NOT FEEL THAT I SHOULD BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY OF THE REPAIRS AND I HOPE THAT OTHER CONSUMERS IN MY POSITION WOULD NOT HAVE TO GO THROUGH THIS AS IT DOES APPEAR TO BE A KNOWN AND COMMON PROBLEM. PLEASE HELP RESEARCH THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

TIRES

8/14/2008 - ELLICOTT CITY, MD
SUNDAY,JUNE 29, 2008 DRIVING ON I-83 SOUTH APPROACHING MD 695, REAR RIGHT TIRE SHREDDED AND BLEW. TIRE DRIVEN LESS THAN 18,000 MILES. RETURNED TO DEALERSHIP NEXT DAY. WE WERE INFORMED TIRES WERE DEFECTIVE AND HAD TO REPLACE BOTH REAR TIRES AT A COST OF $489. WE NOW HAVE CONCERN FOR THE SAFETY OF THE FRONT TIRES. WE DO NOT FEEL WE SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE COST OF THE TIRES.

View Details

STRUCTURE

5/16/2008 - WILLIAMSVILLE, NY
I WAS REAR ENDED ON MARCH 7, 2008. I WAS AT A RED LIGHT. DUE TO THE IMPACT, I HAVE HERNIATED DISCS ON MY NECK AND BACK. I ALSO HAVE JAW INJURIES (TMJ). ONE OF MY JAW DISC IS PARTIALLY OUT AND THE OTHER IS COMPLETELY OUT. I SUFFERED FROM SEVERE HEADACHES. I CAN NOT CHEW. THE TEXTURE OF MY FOOD IS BABY FOOD. I ALSO HAVE TEMPORARY NERVE DAMAGE ON MY LEFT ARM AND LEG. I HAVE EVERYDAY PAIN ON MY NECK, BACK, JAW, LEFT ARM AND LEFT LEG. I ALSO HAVE MUSCLE SPASMS AND LOSS OF SENSATION ON MY LEFT SIDE OF MY FACE. MY COMPLAINT IS WHY THE WHIPLASH PROTECTION SYSTEM (WHIPS) IN MY VOLVO XC90 DID NOT FUNCTION PROPERLY. I WAS WEARING MY THREE-POINT SEATBELT AND THERE WAS NOTHING BEHIND THE FRONT SEATS. I'M CONFUSED AND FRUSTRATED! PLEASE RESPOND ASAP.

View Details

TIRES: TREAD/BELT

11/18/2007 - TALLAHASSEE, FL
SHORTLY AFTER 14,000 MILES, WE TOOK OUR 2006 VOLVO XC90 IN TO HAVE OUR TIRES ROTATED AND BALANCED. THE TIRE DEALERSHIP WOULD NOT EVEN TOUCH THE TIRES BUT ADVISED US TO GO DIRECTLY TO VOLVO BECAUSE THE TIRES WERE AN EXTREME SAFETY HAZARD. AFTER ABOUT A MONTH AND REPEATED PHONE CALLS, VOLVO DID REPLACE THE TIRES, CHARGING US FOR ONE TIRE. THERE HAVE BEEN NUMEROUS REPORTS OF BAD PIRELLI TIRES ON THE 2006 XC90. VOLVO BLAMES PIRELLI; PIRELLI BLAMES VOLVO. THERE HAVE BEEN NO RECALLS ON THE TIRES, ALTHOUGH VOLVO IN TALLAHASSEE MADE REFERENCE TO A MEMO FROM VOLVO ALERTING THEM TO THE PROBLEM. WE FEEL FORTUNATE THAT WE CAUGHT THE PROBLEM BEFORE WE OR OTHERS WERE INJURED AND ARE APPALLED THAT VOLVO HAS DONE NOTHING TO INFORM THE OWNERS OF THE DANGER. OUR PROBLEM IS FIXED, AT LEAST MOMENTARILY, BUT THERE ARE OTHER CARS ON THE ROAD WITH THESE SAME TIRES AND DRIVERS WHO ARE COMPLETELY UNAWARE OF THE DANGER. THEY ARE RIDING THE SAME ROADS WE ARE AND COULD VERY LIKELY BE COMING AT US ACROSS LANES OF TRAFFIC DUE TO THE TIRES. SO, WE ARE NOT ACTUALLY SAFE! CAN SOMEONE DO SOMETHING TO FORCE VOLVO TO DO A RECALL OR AT LEAST ALERT THE OWNERS? THIS DID NOT SHOW UP AT THE 7,000 MILE CHECKUP WITH VOLVO AND WE WERE NOT WARNED, EVEN THOUGH THE SERVICE PEOPLE HAD THE MEMO AT THAT TIME.

View Details

TIRES: TREAD/BELT

10/9/2007 - ROYERSFORD, PA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2006 VOLVO XC90. THE VEHICLE HAS PIRELLI, SIZE P235/55R17 TIRES. IN OCTOBER OF 2006, THE CONTACT TOOK HIS VEHICLE IN FOR INSPECTION. HE WAS INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED INSPECTION AND NEEDED FOUR NEW TIRES. VOLVO STATED THAT THEY REPLACED THE TIRES AT 12,000 MILES WITH PIRELLI'S CONSENT. IN OCTOBER OF 2007, THE VEHICLE FAILED INSPECTION AGAIN FOR THE SAME REASON AS THE PREVIOUS YEAR. THE TWO FRONT TIRES HAVE TREAD SEPARATION AND NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT BELIEVES THAT THE TWO REAR TIRES WILL ALSO NEED TO BE REPLACED. PIRELLI STATED THAT VOLVO WOULD REPLACE THE TIRES, HOWEVER, VOLVO STATED THAT THEY WOULD NOT REPLACE THE TIRES A SECOND TIME. NEITHER CORPORATIONS HAVE REPLACED THE TIRES. THE TIRES WERE SUPPOSED TO GET 65,000 MILES OF USE. THE CONTACT BELIEVES THAT THE TIRES ARE INFERIOR AND POOR QUALITY AND SHOULD NOT BE HIS RESPONSIBILITY TO REPLACE. THE PURCHASE DATE WAS UNKNOWN. THE TIRE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 29,000. THE VEHICLE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 29,000 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 12,000. UPDATED 12/12/07.

View Details

TIRES: TREAD/BELT

5/30/2007 - ADDISON, IL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2006 VOLVO XC90. WHILE DRIVING, THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD NOISE AND THE STEERING BECAME DIFFICULT. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE TIE RODS WERE UNDER RECALL AND REPLACED THEM. AFTER RETURNING HOME, THE CONTACT EXAMINED THE PAPERWORK WHICH STATED THAT THE TIRES WERE COMPLETELY BALD. SHE CALLED THE DEALER AND THEY PICKED UP HER VEHICLE. THE DEALER IS CURRENTLY REPLACING ALL FOUR PIRELLI 17 INCH TIRES, HOWEVER, SHE MUST PAY 50% OF THE COST. THE ENGINE SIZE AND DOT NUMBER WERE UNKNOWN. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 23,000.

View Details

TIRES: TREAD/BELT

5/11/2007 - PORTER RANCH, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2006 VOLVO XC90. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE TREAD ON THE VEHICLE'S PIRELLI SCORPION ZERO TIRES WERE COMPLETELY WORN ON BOTH OF THE FRONT TIRES. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE TIRES WERE INDEED WORN BUT FAILED TO PROVIDE AN EXPLANATION. THE DEALER OFFERED TO REPLACE THE TIRES AND PRO-RATE THE COST. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SHE HAS WAITED APPROXIMATELY THREE WEEKS FOR THE DEALER TO RECEIVE THE TIRES. THE CURRENT MILEAGE IS 17,700 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15,000. UPDATED 06/19/07

View Details

TIRES: TREAD/BELT

4/24/2007 - AUSTIN, TX
2006 VOLVO XC90 TIRES - PIRELLI SCORPION ZERO 104H TIRE TREAD WORE VERY EARLY. TIRES HAD 15,000 MILES ON THEM WITH ONE TIRE LESS THAN 3/32'S TREAD LEFT. VOLVO WAS AWARE OF THIS EARLY TREAD WEAR PROBLEM AS EARLY AS MAY 2006. IN THE THREE WEEKS WE HAD TO WAIT FOR OUR REPLACEMENT TIRES THE ONE TIRE HAD ALMOST NO TREAD LEFT. WE PURCHASED THE CAR JULY 2006 WITH THE "DEFECTIVE TIRES" STILL ON THE CAR. IF VOLVO KNEW OF THE TREAD WEAR PROBLEM IN MAY 2006, WHY DIDN'T THE CONSUMERS?

View Details

TIRES

3/20/2007 - MINDEN, LA
I HAVE A 2006 VOLVO XC90 SUV WITH ONLY 21000 MILES ON IT AND THE PIRELLI SCORPION TIRES 235/65 R17 ARE WORN OUT. DEALERSHIP HAS SAID THEY WOULD REPLACE THEM AT 60%. I WOULD HAVE TO PAY THE 40%. IF THE TIRES ARE NOT UP TO STANDARDS AND WEAR OUT AGAIN I WOULD EXPECT A FULL 100% REPLACEMENT. OLD TREAD WEAR WARRANTY DEAL. SEEMS THIS IS A MAJOR PROBLEM FOR VOLVO AND PIRELLI TIRES, LOTS OF COMPLAINTS BUT LITTLE ACTION FROM VOLVO OR PIRELLI. EACH BLAME THE OTHER+ó-+-ªTIRES ARE TOO SOFT, FRONT END TOE SETTING ARE WRONG, BLAA BLAA. CAN YOU LOOK INTO THIS ISSUE? LET THEM KNOW SOMEONE IS OUT THERE WATCHING THEM AND THIS COULD BE A KILLER FOR SOMEONE, SUV WITH BAD TIRES. THANKS JESSE J. QUINNETT

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: PADS

3/19/2007 - ALISO VIEJO, CA
ON JANUARY 29, 2007 I TOOK MY 2006 VOLVO XC90 2WD TO THE VOLVO DEALER FOR THE 15,000 MILE SCHEDULED SERVICE TO INCLUDE THE SCHEDULED TIRE ROTATION AND BALANCE. THE CAR HAD 14,764 MILES. THE SERVICE ADVISOR CALLED LATER IN THE DAY TO STATE THAT (1) I NEEDED FRONT BRAKE PADS, AND (2) NEEDED FOUR NEW TIRES BECAUSE THE ORIGINAL EQUIPMENT TIRES WERE COMPLETELY WORN OUT. WHEN I ASKED WHY THOSE ITEMS WERE NEEDED, HE TOLD ME (1) THE FRONT BRAKE PADS WEAR EARLY BECAUSE THEY AREN'T LARGE ENOUGH TO SUPPORT THE WEIGHT OF THE CAR, AND (2) THE ORIGINAL 17" PIRELLII SCORPION ZERO TIRES ARE A PERFORMANCE TIRE AND "TOO SOFT" FOR THE VEHICLE AND THUS WEAR OUT PREMATURELY. HE ESTIMATED I HAD ABOUT 1 OR 2 MM OF TREAD LEFT, AND ADVISED ME NOT TO DRIVE IN THE RAIN. I SPOKE TO THE VOLVO DEALER SERVICE MANAGER THE SAME DAY WHO SAID HE WOULD LOOK INTO GETTING ME 4 NEW TIRES FREE FROM PIRELLI AS A ONE-TIME "GOODWILL" GESTURE. ON JANUARY 30, 2007, THE VOLVO SERVICE MANAGER CALLED TO SAY THAT BECAUSE MY CAR WAS UNDER 15,000 MILES PIRELLI HAD AGREED TO REPLACE ALL 4 TIRES FREE. THE 17" TIRES NEEDED TO BE ORDERED AND WOULD ARRIVE IN 4-6 WEEKS. THE SERVICE MANAGER ASSURED ME THAT MY CAR WAS SAFE TO DRIVE UNTIL THE NEW TIRES WERE INSTALLED. ON MARCH 18, 2007 I NOTICED THAT THE TREAD HAD COMPLETELY WORN AWAY ON BOTH BACK TIRES, AND BELT IS SHOWING THROUGH. ON MARCH 19, 2007 I CALLED THE VOLVO DEALER TO FIND OUT WHAT WAS THE STATUS OF MY NEW PIRELLI TIRES AND WAS TOLD THAT THERE WERE NO 17" PIRELLI TIRES IN STOCK, AND THEY HAD TO BE SPECIAL ORDERED. I TOLD THE SERVICE SCHEDULER THAT THE CAR IS UNDRIVABLE BECAUSE THE TIRES ARE COMPLETELY BALD. I AM STILL WAITING FOR THE VOLVO DEALER TO CALL ME BACK.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds