Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW 335I - 2007 BMW 335I Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 177 complaints filed for the 2007 BMW 335I

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 BMW 335I. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 BMW 335I, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Exterior Lighting (1) Fuel System Other (7) Steering (9) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (23) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Latches Locks Linkages (20) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Diesel (1) Power Train (7) Suspension (3) Visibility (3)
Engine (12) Fuel System Gasoline (101) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Tires (5) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

4/15/2014 - PORTLAND, OR
MY SERPENTINE BELT (DRIVE BELT) SNAPPED AND SHATTERED CAUSING MY VEHICLE TO LOSE POWER STEERING CAPABILITIES. THIS BELT DRIVES ALL THE ACCESORIES( ALTERNATOR, POWER STEERING, AC, ETC). THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE BY BMW, THERE IS A SIB 11 09 08 THAT STATES THE ISSUE AND HOW TO GO ABOUT CHECKING IT BY THE DEALER. THE ISSUE IS THE DESIGN FLAW IN THE POWER STEERING PULLY HITTING THE SUB FRAME AND CAUSING DAMAGE TO THE BELT AND IN TURN THE BELT SNAPPING. THIS CAN/WILL CAUSE A FATALITY ONE DAY BECAUSE OF THE LOSS OF STEERING CONTROLS. THE BELT ON MY VEHICLE WAS REPLACED BEFORE ON 12/20/12 FOR THE SAME REASON AND IT HAS ONLY BEEN 1.5 YEARS AND THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/18/2014 - BELLEVUE, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 BMW 335I. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER'S SIDE RESTRAINT MALFUNCTION MESSAGE DISPLAYED AS AIR BAG SENSOR LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 13V564000 (AIR BAGS). THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE EXHIBITED THE SAME FAILURE THAT WAS LISTED IN THE RECALL REPORT. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/11/2014 - SAN CARLOS, CA
THE CONTACT LEASED A 2007 BMW 335I. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THERE WAS A SUDDEN LOSS OF ELECTRICAL POWER WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE POSITIVE BATTERY CABLE WAS DISCOLORED INDICATING THAT IT WAS OVERHEATING. AS A RESULT, THERE WAS A CONNECTION FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A PRIVATE MECHANIC WHERE THE FAILURE WAS UNABLE TO BE REPLICATED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V044000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/25/2013 - VALLEY STREAM, NY
DRIVING NORMALLY, ABOUT TO MAKE A TURN ONTO A STREET MY POWER STEERING FAILS AND I GET A LIGHT ON THE DASHBOARD ABOUT BATTERY CHARGING MALFUNCTION. UPON FURTHER INVESTIGATION IT TURNS OUT MY ACCESSORY BELT THAT DRIVES THE AC COMPRESSOR, POWER STEERING PUMP AND ALTERNATOR WAS COMPLETELY SHREDDED AND NOT ON THE PULLEYS. I HAVE DAMAGE TO MULTIPLE PULLEYS IN MY CAR. MY POWER STEERING PULLEY IS MISSING BIG CHUNKS BECAUSE OF IMPACT WITH THE SUB-FRAME. THIS IS A KNOWN SERVICE BULLETIN ( SIB 11 09 08 ) THE POWER STEERING PULLEY IMPACTS THE SUB-FRAME BECAUSE OF MOTOR MOVEMENT WHEN HITTING BUMPS ETC.. THIS CAUSED MY BELT TO BE RIPPED INTO SHREDS AND BREAK OFF BIG CHUNKS OF MY POWER STEERING PULLEY.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/25/2013 - VALLEY STREAM, NY
DRIVING NORMALLY, ABOUT TO MAKE A TURN ONTO A STREET MY POWER STEERING FAILS AND I GET A LIGHT ON THE DASHBOARD ABOUT BATTERY CHARGING MALFUNCTION. UPON FURTHER INVESTIGATION IT TURNS OUT MY ACCESSORY BELT THAT DRIVES THE AC COMPRESSOR, POWER STEERING PUMP AND ALTERNATOR WAS COMPLETELY SHREDDED AND NOT ON THE PULLEYS. I HAVE DAMAGE TO MULTIPLE PULLEYS IN MY CAR. MY POWER STEERING PULLEY IS MISSING BIG CHUNKS BECAUSE OF IMPACT WITH THE SUB-FRAME. THIS IS A KNOWN SERVICE BULLETIN ( SIB 11 09 08 ) THE POWER STEERING PULLEY IMPACTS THE SUB-FRAME BECAUSE OF MOTOR MOVEMENT WHEN HITTING BUMPS ETC.. THIS CAUSED MY BELT TO BE RIPPED INTO SHREDS AND BREAK OFF BIG CHUNKS OF MY POWER STEERING PULLEY.

View Details

STEERING

7/25/2013 - VALLEY STREAM, NY
DRIVING NORMALLY, ABOUT TO MAKE A TURN ONTO A STREET MY POWER STEERING FAILS AND I GET A LIGHT ON THE DASHBOARD ABOUT BATTERY CHARGING MALFUNCTION. UPON FURTHER INVESTIGATION IT TURNS OUT MY ACCESSORY BELT THAT DRIVES THE AC COMPRESSOR, POWER STEERING PUMP AND ALTERNATOR WAS COMPLETELY SHREDDED AND NOT ON THE PULLEYS. I HAVE DAMAGE TO MULTIPLE PULLEYS IN MY CAR. MY POWER STEERING PULLEY IS MISSING BIG CHUNKS BECAUSE OF IMPACT WITH THE SUB-FRAME. THIS IS A KNOWN SERVICE BULLETIN ( SIB 11 09 08 ) THE POWER STEERING PULLEY IMPACTS THE SUB-FRAME BECAUSE OF MOTOR MOVEMENT WHEN HITTING BUMPS ETC.. THIS CAUSED MY BELT TO BE RIPPED INTO SHREDS AND BREAK OFF BIG CHUNKS OF MY POWER STEERING PULLEY.

View Details

STRUCTURE

7/25/2013 - VALLEY STREAM, NY
DRIVING NORMALLY, ABOUT TO MAKE A TURN ONTO A STREET MY POWER STEERING FAILS AND I GET A LIGHT ON THE DASHBOARD ABOUT BATTERY CHARGING MALFUNCTION. UPON FURTHER INVESTIGATION IT TURNS OUT MY ACCESSORY BELT THAT DRIVES THE AC COMPRESSOR, POWER STEERING PUMP AND ALTERNATOR WAS COMPLETELY SHREDDED AND NOT ON THE PULLEYS. I HAVE DAMAGE TO MULTIPLE PULLEYS IN MY CAR. MY POWER STEERING PULLEY IS MISSING BIG CHUNKS BECAUSE OF IMPACT WITH THE SUB-FRAME. THIS IS A KNOWN SERVICE BULLETIN ( SIB 11 09 08 ) THE POWER STEERING PULLEY IMPACTS THE SUB-FRAME BECAUSE OF MOTOR MOVEMENT WHEN HITTING BUMPS ETC.. THIS CAUSED MY BELT TO BE RIPPED INTO SHREDS AND BREAK OFF BIG CHUNKS OF MY POWER STEERING PULLEY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/24/2013 - PLEASANTON, CA
MY CAR KEYS CANNOT UNLOCK ALL THE DOORS. I HAD TO REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE REMOTE AND USE THE KEY TO MANUALLY OPEN THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR. THE FRONT PASSENGER DOOR AND BOTH DOORS AT THE REAR PASSENGER SEATS CANNOT BE OPENED. THERE IS NO WAY THE DOORS CAN BE OPENED FROM THE INSIDE ONCE IT IS LOCKED. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE ESPECIALLY IN THE EVENT OF AN EMERGENCY FROM A CAR FIRE, PEOPLE IN THE CAR (PASSENGER SIDE CANNOT UNLOCK THE DOOR TO GET OUT AND THE DOORS CANNOT BE OPENED FROM THE OUTSIDE. I SEE THIS A POTENTIAL LIABILITY AND I AM SURPRISED WHY NO AUTHORITIES HAVE STEPPED UP AND INITIATE AN INVESTIGATION. DOES THAT MEAN WHEN ONLY THERE IS A FATAL INCIDENT THAT PEOPLE WILL START INVESTIGATION? I BROUGHT MY CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEIR APPOINTMENT TIME IS FULLY BOOKED TILL NEXT WEEK. THEY DON'T SEEM TO EVEN THINK THIS COULD RESULT IN POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS AND SAFETY ISSUE. IF THIS WEBSITE IS DEDICATED TO WHAT IS PROFESS TO DO, THEN I HOPE TO SEE ACTION. THIS HAS BEEN A KNOWN PROBLEM WITH BMW BUT I AM SURE OTHER MAKES ALSO HAVE THIS SAFETY CONCERN.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

7/24/2013 - PLEASANTON, CA
MY CAR KEYS CANNOT UNLOCK ALL THE DOORS. I HAD TO REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE REMOTE AND USE THE KEY TO MANUALLY OPEN THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR. THE FRONT PASSENGER DOOR AND BOTH DOORS AT THE REAR PASSENGER SEATS CANNOT BE OPENED. THERE IS NO WAY THE DOORS CAN BE OPENED FROM THE INSIDE ONCE IT IS LOCKED. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE ESPECIALLY IN THE EVENT OF AN EMERGENCY FROM A CAR FIRE, PEOPLE IN THE CAR (PASSENGER SIDE CANNOT UNLOCK THE DOOR TO GET OUT AND THE DOORS CANNOT BE OPENED FROM THE OUTSIDE. I SEE THIS A POTENTIAL LIABILITY AND I AM SURPRISED WHY NO AUTHORITIES HAVE STEPPED UP AND INITIATE AN INVESTIGATION. DOES THAT MEAN WHEN ONLY THERE IS A FATAL INCIDENT THAT PEOPLE WILL START INVESTIGATION? I BROUGHT MY CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEIR APPOINTMENT TIME IS FULLY BOOKED TILL NEXT WEEK. THEY DON'T SEEM TO EVEN THINK THIS COULD RESULT IN POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS AND SAFETY ISSUE. IF THIS WEBSITE IS DEDICATED TO WHAT IS PROFESS TO DO, THEN I HOPE TO SEE ACTION. THIS HAS BEEN A KNOWN PROBLEM WITH BMW BUT I AM SURE OTHER MAKES ALSO HAVE THIS SAFETY CONCERN.

View Details

STEERING

6/28/2013 - ATLANTA , GA
THE STEERING WHEEL COLUMN LOCKS UP AND WILL NOT START AFTER DRIVING IT. IF I DRIVE NORMAL WITHOUT DOING ANYTHING OUT OF THE NORMAL IT LOCKS. I CAN'T RESTART THE CAR. I TURN THE STEERING BACK AND FORTH TO GET IT TO UNLOCK. I HAVE EVEN GONE AS FAR AS TO WAIT A FEW MINUTES AND THEM RESTART IT. I'M SCARED THE STEERING WHEEL WILL LOCK WHILE I'M DRIVING I HAVE A 6 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER AND I DON'T WANT OUT LIVES AT JEOPARDY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds