Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW 335I - 2007 BMW 335I Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 192 complaints filed for the 2007 BMW 335I

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 BMW 335I. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 BMW 335I, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment Adaptive (1) Fuel System Other (7) Steering (10) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (26) Exterior Lighting (2) Latches Locks Linkages (20) Structure (4) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Power Train (7) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (15) Fuel System Diesel (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (5) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Fuel System Gasoline (103) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/28/2014 - HOUSTON , TX
THE CONTACT OWNS 2007 BMW 335I. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT HAD THE VEHICLE JUMPED AND WAS ABLE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE TO HIS RESIDENCE. THE FAILURE RECURRED, THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO GET INTO THE VEHICLE USING THE EMERGENCY KEY ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR AND THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V044000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000. MF

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/25/2014 - SANTA CLARA , CA
INJECTORS 1-3 HAVE FAILED. LOOKED UP BMW CUSTOMER TSB'S AND FOUND (SI B13 14 10) CUSTOMER LETTER DESCRIBING A KNOWN FAILING PART WITH SPECIFIC PART NUMBERS THAT CORRELATE. I HAVE THESE PART NUMBERS CURRENTLY INSTALLED IN MY CAR AND FAILING. MY CAR WAS TAKEN IN PREVIOUSLY FOR A RELATED TSB DUE TO FAULTY FUEL PUMP AND SOFTWARE UPDATE WHICH WAS REPLACED HOWEVER THE DEALERSHIP DID NOT LOOK INTO THE REST OF THE FUEL SYSTEM. **A LETTER WAS SENT TO ME ABOUT THE FUEL PUMP AND SOFTWARE UPDATE. I DID NOT REQUEST SERVICE OR HAVE ANY ISSUES AT THE TIME. NOW THAT MY "EXTENDED SERVICE" FOR THESE PARTS IS UP, BMW IS NOT WILLING TO HELP! I THINK THIS IS BS CONSIDERING 1. THE DEALERSHIP COULD HAVE CHANGED THE KNOWN FAULTY PART DURING MY PREVIOUS SERVICE. 2. WHY WAS THIS NOT FOLLOWED UP ON BY BMWNA SINCE ITS ALL PART OF THE FUEL SYSTEM?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/20/2014 - HAMPTON, NH
WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS FOR 15-20 MINUTES, THE YELLOW ENGINE OVERHEATING WARNING LIGHT CAME ON AND QUICKLY TURNED TO RED, WITHIN 5 SECONDS. THE CAR LOST THE ABILITY TO ACCELERATE AND MY SPEED QUICKLY BEGAN TO SLOW. THERE WAS NO RESPONSE FROM THE CAR WHEN DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR. I HAD TO CROSS 3 LANES OF TRAFFIC WITH NO ACCELERATION WHICH NEARLY CAUSED SEVERAL ACCIDENTS. MY CAR WAS ROLLING TO A STOP ON HE HIGHWAY. I TURNED THE CAR OFF FOR SEVERAL MINUTES AND EVERYTHING SEEMED TO BE FINE. HOWEVER, THIS HAS NOW HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES. EACH TIME WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY FOR 15-20 MINUTES.

View Details

ENGINE

8/20/2014 - HAMPTON, NH
WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS FOR 15-20 MINUTES, THE YELLOW ENGINE OVERHEATING WARNING LIGHT CAME ON AND QUICKLY TURNED TO RED, WITHIN 5 SECONDS. THE CAR LOST THE ABILITY TO ACCELERATE AND MY SPEED QUICKLY BEGAN TO SLOW. THERE WAS NO RESPONSE FROM THE CAR WHEN DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR. I HAD TO CROSS 3 LANES OF TRAFFIC WITH NO ACCELERATION WHICH NEARLY CAUSED SEVERAL ACCIDENTS. MY CAR WAS ROLLING TO A STOP ON HE HIGHWAY. I TURNED THE CAR OFF FOR SEVERAL MINUTES AND EVERYTHING SEEMED TO BE FINE. HOWEVER, THIS HAS NOW HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES. EACH TIME WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY FOR 15-20 MINUTES.

View Details

STEERING

8/19/2014 - CINCINNATI, OH
THE VEHICLE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED AND THE CAR WOULD NOT START. A KNOWN AND CONSISTENT PROBLEM FOR THIS VEHICLE, YET NO RECALL. A FAULTY LOCK MECHANISM IN THE STEERING COLUMN COULD LEAD TO A FATAL ACCIDENT. THIS IS COMPLETELY UNACCEPTABLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/12/2014 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
GOING APPROX. 55-60 MPH, SUDDEN NO THROTTLE RESPONSE, ONCE ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD SHUT DOWN THEN RESTART AND DRIVE FOR ABOUT 200FT THEN WENT INTO LIMP MODE, STAYED IN LIMP MODE UNTIL I GOT IT TO THE DEALERSHIP 2 DAYS LATER. TRIED RESTARTING TWICE THE FOLLOWING DAY WHICH RESULTED IN 3-6 SEC CRANK TIME THEN ONCE STARTED IT WOULD HAVE LOW THROTTLE RESPONSE WITH HEAVY VIBRATION, AFTER ABOUT 10 SECS IT WOULD GO IN LIMP MODE AGAIN WITH HEAVIER CHUGGING AND VIBRATION AND EVENTUALLY SHUTDOWN WITH 7 SECS WITH A "CHOKING" SOUND. LACK OF FUEL.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/4/2014 - WALLNUT CREEK, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 BMW 335I. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT REMAINED UNOCCUPIED TO PREVENT ANY FURTHER FAILURES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE PASSENGER OCCUPANCY SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

ENGINE

7/23/2014 - ANTIOCH, CA
WHILE I WAS DRIVING IN A HIGHWAY TRAFFIC, WITHOUT ANY WARNING THE CAR STARTED VIBRATING SEVERLY, SMOKE COMING OUT OF THE TAILPIPE, ENGINE ALMOST DYING AND I WAS FORCED TO TAKE THE SHOULDER LANE AWAY FROM TRAFFIC. I TRIED TO RESTART THE ENGINE BUT ONLY WHITE SMOKE WITH FUEL SMELL COMING OUT OF TAIL PIPE, BUT I WAS STILL ABLE TO DRIVE THE CAR SLOWLY TO HOME. TOOK TO MECHANIC AND EVENTUALLY WAS TOLD THAT ENGINE IS COMPLETELY SHOT - 3 OR 4 CYLINDERS WERE CRACKED, COMBUSTION FAILURE, ETC. MECHANIC CAN'T FIX IT WITHOUT REPLACING THE ENTIRE ENGINE WHICH HE ESTIMATED AT LEAST $7,000.00. GEICO WON'T COVER SINCE THEY CONSIDERED MY CAR ISSUE STRICTLY A "MECHANICAL FAILURE". BMW CONCORD IS UNRESPONSIVE TO MY REQUEST. I'M ON MY OWN HERE AND NOW I'M PAYING FOR THE RENTAL CAR FOR ABOUT 3 WEEKS NOW WHICH GEICO DOESN'T FULLY OR EVEN PARTIALLY COVER DUE TO THE MECHANICAL FAILURE STATE OF MY CAR. I'M THE ORIGINAL OWNER OF THE CAR AND MY USAGE IS LESS THAN AVERAGE. DRIVING IT PRIMARILY TO WORK (ANTIOCH,CA - CONCORD, CA) AND BACK HOME WHICH IS ONLY APPROX 40 MILES ROUND TRIP. MY DRIVING HABITS ARE VERY GOOD, CAR WAS NEVER ABUSED. I TOOK GOOD CARE OF THE CAR, HAD IT SERVICED AND MAINTAINED REGULARY. I'VE BEEN WORKING FROM HOME PERMANENTLY FOR OVER A YEAR NOW SO MY MILEAGE USAGE IS VERY LOW AND GEICO KNOWS ABOUT IT AS I PROVIDED PROOF OF LOW MILEAGE USAGE. I JUST DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY MY BMW - A PERFORMANCE CAR AND THE ULTIMATED DRIVING MACHINE - WITH LOW MILEAGE, NEVER ABUSED, WELL MAINTAINED - COULD GO THIS WORSE. NOW THE CAR SITS IN MY GARAGE DEAD, UNFIXABLE, UNTRADEABLE. I'M SO FRUSTRATED AND VERY UPSET THAT THIS HAPPENED AT A TIME WHEN I'M EXTREMELY BUSY AT WORK, AND JUST ADDS TO MY STRESS LEVEL THAT I FEEL LIKE I'M GONNA GET A HEART ATTACK FROM JUST DEALING WITH THIS ISSUE. ENGINE IS DEAD IN JUST 6-1/2 YEARS. UNBELIEVABLE!

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/10/2014 - SNELLVILLE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 BMW 335I. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING 60 MPH, THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED ALTHOUGH THE PASSENGER SEAT WAS OCCUPIED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON TWO SEPERATE OCASSIONS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 112,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 112,900.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/4/2014 - NARANJITO, PR
HELLOW TWO MONTHS AGO MY BMW 2007 335I PROBLEMS STARTED WITH FIRING BRAKE LIGHTS ON THE DASH ABS TRACTION CONTROL AND STABILITY LOST ON THE ROAD SAFETY PROBLEM AND DANGEROUS ON THE ROAD BEACUSE THE VEHICLE DO NOT STOP PROPERLY AND LOOSE ALL CONTROLE PUTTING MY LIFE AND MY FAMILY AT RISK ,THIS PROBLEM STARTED WHITH ONLY 53205 MILES ,ESTIMATE IT MUCH ANY HELP I CANT PROVIDE ABOUT THIS SAFETY ISSUE THANKS

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds