Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW 335I - 2007 BMW 335I Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 206 complaints filed for the 2007 BMW 335I

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 BMW 335I. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 BMW 335I, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment Adaptive (1) Fuel System Other (7) Steering (11) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electrical System (28) Exterior Lighting (2) Latches Locks Linkages (20) Structure (5) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Power Train (8) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (18) Fuel System Diesel (1) Service Brakes (2) Tires (5) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (16) Fuel System Gasoline (105) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

6/14/2015 - ASHLAND, KY
IN TRAFFIC BELT SHREDS AT 70-75MPH ALL ELECTRICAL STEERING AND LIGHT BREAKES GONE

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/13/2015 - RIVERSIDE , CA
I WAS DRIVING TO WORK AND THE STEERING LOCK MALFUNCTION LITE UP OUT OF NOWHERE. THE CAR CAN NOT MOVE. THIS IS AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM THAT'S DANGEROUS AND EXPENSIVE TO FIX. VERY COMMON PROBLEM EXPRESSED BY MANY OWNERS WITH THE SAME MODEL AND YEAR AS MY CAR. THEY SHOULD'VE CONDUCTED A RECALL ON THIS!!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/5/2015 - DUNWOODY, GA
SUNROOF EXPLODED FOR NO APPARENT REASON. WAS MERGING ONTO A HIGHWAY IN THE ONRAMP AT ABOUT 45MPH, VERY BRIGHT AND SUNNY (BUT NOT HOT, MAYBE 75F) DAY. DRIVER SIDE WINDOW WAS OPEN, A/C OFF, SUNROOF WAS CLOSED, SUNSHADE WAS ALSO CLOSED. SUDDENLY I HEAR WHAT BASICALLY SOUNDS LIKE A GUNSHOT RIGHT ABOVE MY HEAD, AND SINCE HAVING ALREADY HEARD ABOUT THIS PHENOMENON HAPPENING ON A CAR FORUM (E90POST.COM) I REGULARLY VISIT, I INSTANTLY GUESSED WHAT HAD HAPPENED. I LOOK IN MY REARVIEW MIRROR AND SEE LARGE PIECES OF MY SUNROOF BOUNCING ALONG ON THE ROAD BEHIND ME. ONCE I ARRIVED AT MY DESTINATION AND GOT OUT OF THE CAR, I SAW THE SUNROOF HAD EXPLODED OUTWARDS. THE BROKEN GLASS WAS CURVED UP AROUND THE HOLE. FROM THAT SAME FORUM THERE ARE SEVERAL THEORIES FLOATING AROUND, THE ONE MOST PEOPLE SEEM TO AGREE ON AS BEING MOST PLAUSIBLE IS THERE'S A HEAT/PRESSURE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THE SUNSHADE/SUNROOF AND THE OUTSIDE OF THE CAR. THE NEGATIVE PRESSURE ON THE OUTSIDE + THE INCREASE OF HEAT UNDER THE GLASS IS ENOUGH TO STRESS WHATEVER IMPERFECTION MIGHT HAVE ALREADY BEEN IN THE GLASS AND LITERALLY SUCK IT OUT.

View Details

ENGINE

4/13/2015 - PHOENIX, AZ
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HOV LANE OF THE FREEWAY DURING RUSH HOUR ABOUT 5:15 PM MY CAR SUDDENLY STARTED TO RATTLE WHEN PUSHING THE GAS PADDLE. I TOOK MY FOOT FROM THE GAS PADDLE WHILE STILL DRIVING WITH ABOUT 60 MPH. I TRIED THE GAS PADDLE SOME SECONDS LATER AGAIN AND EXPERIENCED STILL RATTLING AND NO ACCELERATION OF THE CAR. I TOOK MY FOOT AGAIN FROM THE GAS PADDLE. IN THE MEANTIME I WAS DOWN TO 40MPH. ABOUT 20-30 SEC LATER FROM THE FIRST RATTLE THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND 1 SEC LATER THE ENGINE STALLED ON THE HIGHWAY. AT THAT TIME WHEN THE ENGINE STALLED I WAS STILL DRIVING ABOUT 35 MPH. LUCKILY THE FREEWAY HAD A LEFT SHOULDER AND I TURNED OVER TO THE LEFT WITH THE LAST REMAINING SPEED AND SLOWLY STOPPED THE CAR. I'M SO GLAD THAT THE LEFT SHOULDER WAS AVAILABLE. THE FREEWAY WAS VERY BUSY AND I ASSUME I WOULD HAVE BEEN INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT, IF THE LEFT SHOULDER WOULDN'T HAVE BEEN AVAILABLE. THE LOSS OF POWER WAS TOO SUDDEN AND ENTIRELY UNEXPECTED. THE STALLED ENGINE CREATED A VERY DANGEROUS MOMENT WHILE DRIVING ON A FREEWAY. THE BMW SHOP CAME BACK TO ME TODAY AND EXPLAINED THAT THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP FAILED. A KNOW ISSUE WITH THE CAR MAKE, MODEL AND YEAR.

View Details

STEERING

3/8/2015 - MALDEN, MA
JUST THE OTHER DAY I DECIDED TO TAKE A TRIP TO THE STORE . I STEPPED IN THE CAR AND ATTEMPTED TO STAT IT. I GOT THE ( ELECTRIC STEERING WHEEL LOCK MALFUNCTION ) IT AUTOMATICALLY DISABLES THE VEHICLE NO MATTER WHERE YOU ARE LOCATED . I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP TO CONFIRM THE DIAGNOSTICS AND THEY TOLD ME IT WAS A COMMON ISSUE AND IT WOULD COST ME UP TOWARDS $1500 OUT OF POCKET .. THAT IS CRAZY !! NOW I HAVE A HEAVY AND EXPENSIVE PAPER WEIGHT IN MY DRIVEWAY . I DID SOME RESEARCH ON A COUPLE OF BMW FORUMS TO DO SOME HOME WORK I COULDN'T BELIEVE THE NUMBER OF PEOPLE WITH THE SAME ISSUE . THE KICKER IS ITS A DEALER PART ONLY . I HAVE NOW CHOICE BUT TO GO THE THE DEALERSHIP AND BE FORCED TO PAY PREMIUM PRICES FOR A DEFECTIVE PART THE IS COMMON TO BREAK . ITS A CENSER THAT IS LOCATED IN THE STEERING COLUMN OF THE CAR THAT FAILS . BMW DESIGNED THE STEERING COLUMN TO BE ONE UNIT SO I HAVE TO CHANGE OUT THE WHOLE COLUMN INSTEAD THE EFFECTED PROBLEM WHICH COST NOTHING IN COMPARISON. HOW IS THIS MY FAULT . WHY DO I HAVE TO PAY THIS OUTRAGEOUS AMOUNT OF MONEY FOR SOMETHING THAT IS OUT OF MY HANDS .

View Details

ENGINE

3/5/2015 - SAN BRUNO , CA
MY CAR MIGHT HAVE TURBO CHARGER ISSUE THAT WAS SETTLE UNDER CLASS ACTION IN 2010 . I'M BEING CHARGED FOR REPAIRS THAT WILL ABLE BMW TO MAKE DIAGNOSIS FOR THAT PROBLEM AT FIRST FOR VACUUM TURBO LINES ALMOST FOR 1000 DOLLARS AND TODAY FOR SOME OTHER ISSUE ANOTHER 500. I'M BEING PRESSURED BY BMW TO FIX IT OR QUIT. THE EXTENDED WARRANTY IS ONLY TILL 82 THOUSAND MILES. SO EITHER I PAY OR END UP NOT KNOWING IF MY CAR HAS THIS ISSUE. WHEN I WAS DRIVING AND TRYING TO SPEED TO PASS ANOTHER VEHICLE MY ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON SAYING THAT ENGINE IS NOT WORKING IN FULL CAPACITY AND TO SLOW DOWN OR STOP... PLS HELP ME TO RESOLVE THAT ISSUE. THANK YOU. I CALLED BMW OR NORTHERN AMERICA AND SPOKE WITH SKY AND WAS TOLD THAT IT IS WHAT IT IS AND I HAVE TO PAY SINCE THE MECHANICS KNOW BETTER WHAT NEEDS TO BE DONE. WHEN I ASKED FOR SOMEBODY THAT IS IN DIRECT RELATIONS WITH BMW OF GERMANY I WAS TOLD THAT HE IS THE TOP OF THE LINE PERSON AND ENTITY IN HIS SELF. I FEEL THAT ANYTHING RELATED TO THIS ISSUE SHOULD BE COVER BY BMW NOT ME.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/27/2015 - GILBERT, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 BMW 335I. WHILE STARTING THE VEHICLE, THE MESSAGE "FAULT IN PASSENGER RESTRAINT AFFECTING AIR BAG TENSIONER OR BELT FORCE LIMITER, RESTRAINT SYSTEM MALFUNCTION" WAS DISPLAYED ACROSS THE MESSAGE BOARD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE SEAT MAT SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT WAS MADE AWARE OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V564000 (AIR BAGS), BUT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/16/2015 - ROCKLEDGE, FL
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

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/8/2015 - SAN DIEGO, CA
ALL 6 FUEL INJECTORS WERE LEAKING AND CAUSED THE CAR TO STALL ON THE FREEWAY. THE FUEL INJECTORS WERE REPLACED ALONG WITH THE SPARK PLUGS AND COILS. 1 YEAR LATER AT 100K MILES, THE SAME ISSUE HAS ARISEN. THE FUEL SYSTEM SEEMS TO BE A CONSTANT PROBLEM WITH THIS CAR. IT IS A VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEM, SINCE THE CAR SHUTS DOWN AT HIGH SPEEDS ON THE FREEWAY. BMW SHOULD EXTEND THE WARRANTY ON THE FUEL INJECTORS AS THEY DID WITH THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/12/2014 - SAN JUAN, PR
2007 BMW E92 335I - JUST TOOK OFF FROM MY HOME (CAR WAS NOT TURNED ON SINCE THE DAY BEFORE ATLEAST NOT AFTER 8PM) 10 MINUTES INTO THE ROAD I TURNED ON MY A/C BLOWER ON MAX. ON ABOUT 2 OR 3 MINUTES, SUDDENTLY IT SLOWED DOWN AND STOPPED WORKING FOLLOWED BY PLASTIC BURNING SMELL. AS I TRIED TO PULL OVER AS SOON AS POSSIBLE, SMOKE STARTED COMING OUT THE DASHBOARD AND JUST LIKE THAT THE CAR CAUGHT FIRE ON THE GLOVE COMPARTMENT AND SO ON... I STRANGER FROM AN TIRE SHOP RAN UP AND USED AN EXTINGUISHER TO STOP THE FIRE. SADDLY THERE WAS SEVERE DAMAGE TO GLOVE COMPARMTNETS, DASHBOARD, ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS LIKE FUSE BOX, PASSENGER DOOR, FRONT AND TOP INTERIOR.PLUS SOME MONEY I HAD STORED IN THE (WAS MY WAY TO THE BANK TO MAKE A DEPOSIT AND PICKUP MY FIANCEE) IM STILL WAITING FOR MY INSURANCE DESCISION. IM VERY WORRIED SINCE IVE SEARCH AROUND IN FORUMS AND I'VE READ ABOUT SOME OTHER PEOPLE HAVING SAME PROBLEMS AND OTHER ELECTRICAL FIRES WITH NO RESPONSE/RESOLUTION FROM BMW. I'VE OWNED A MINI COOPER AND 2 BMWS. MY COUSING, AUNT, GRANPA (E30) HAVE BMWS. ANY SUGGESTIONS?

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds