Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET AVEO - 2007 CHEVROLET AVEO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 134 complaints filed for the 2007 CHEVROLET AVEO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 CHEVROLET AVEO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 CHEVROLET AVEO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (48) Exterior Lighting (11) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (27) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (11) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Engine (6) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (8) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (2) Suspension (11) Visibility Wiper (1)
Equipment (1) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (2) Tires (3) Wheels (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

9/21/2014 - SUN CITY , CA
TIMING BELT BREAKS TOO OFTEN. THE CAR HAS NOW HAD THE TIMING BELT REPLACE 3 TIMES SINCE I HAVE OWNED IT I BOUGHT IT AT 69,000 MILES I WAS REPLACED AT AROUND 74K THEN BROKE AND LEFT ME STRANDED ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AT NIGHT TIME AFTER HOURS AT 121K THEN HAS BROKE AGAIN AT 134K THIS IS SUPPOSED TO BE A 60K PART AND IS NOT LASTING LIKE IT SHOULD AND WHEN IT BREAKS CAUSES OTHER STUFF AROUND IT TO BE AFFECTED AS WELL. THE FIRST TIME I HAD TO REPLACE WATER PUMP, THE 2ND TIME WATER PUMP AS WELL AS ENGINE GASKETS AND IT COST ME $2600 TO FIX. THIS LAST TIME JUST THE WATER PUMP AND A WATER HOSE. THIS LAST TIME IT LEFT MY DAUGHTER STRANDED ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AFTER DARK ON HER WAY HOME FROM COLLEGE LUCKILY HER BOYFRIEND WAS ABLE TO COME PICK HER UP. THIS CAR IS NOTORIOUS FOR THE TIMING BELT ISSUE. ALL THREE TIMES THIS HAS BEEN REPAIRED BY 3 DIFFERENT SHOPS AND ALL THREE SAY THAT THIS CAR HAS MAJOR ISSUES DUE TO THE TIMING BELTS NOT BEING STURDY. CHEVY SHOULD BE REPLACING THESE CARS OR REFUNDING THE COST OF HAVING THESE REPAIRED YOU CAN'T EVEN RESELL TO PEOPLE DUE TO THIS ISSUE. ALSO I NEVER EVEN GOT A LETTER REGARDING THE HEAD LAMP RECALL. I AM JUST WONDERING IF CHEVY IS WAITING TILL PEOPLE BLOW UP IN THEIR CARS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/17/2014 - STEVENSON, CT
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHEVROLET AVEO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE GEAR LEVER WAS DIFFICULT TO SHIFT OUT OF GEAR UNTIL REPEATED ATTEMPTS. THE FAILURE RECURRED CONTINUOUSLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER, WHO INFORMED THAT THE CLUTCH AND SHIFT LINKAGE WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE CLUTCH WAS REPLACED THREE TIMES PREVIOUSLY. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED FOR MOST RECENT FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF TH ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 9,000. JS

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/12/2014 - SLIPPERY ROCK, PA
THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT IN MY 2007 CHEVROLET AVEO CONTINUOUSLY STAYED ON. UPON READING THE MANUAL I FOUND OUT THAT THIS COULD MEAN THAT IN THE EVENT OF A CRASH THE AIR BAGS WOULD NOT DEPLOY AND IT STATED TO IMMEDIATELY GET THE CAR SERVICED. I IMMEDIATELY CALLED THE DEALER, WHERE WE PURCHASED THE CAR FOR MY YOUNG SON, AND MADE AN APPOINTMENT. I, THEN, RESEARCHED THIS AIR BAG ISSUE ON THE SAFERCAR.GOV WEBSITE AND FOUND PAGES OF COMPLAINTS REGARDING THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT CONTINUOUSLY STAYING ON IN THESE CARS. THERE WERE ALSO PAGES OF COMPLAINTS FROM PEOPLE WHO HAD BEEN IN CRASHES WHERE THERE AIR BAGS DIDN'T DEPLOY AND ONE CASE WHERE THE AIR BAGS DIDN'T DEPLOY IN A FATAL CRASH. THERE WERE ALSO SERVICE BULLETINS REGARDING COUNTERFEIT AIR BAGS BEING USED IN CHEVROLET AVEOS. HOWEVER, EVEN THOUGH THERE IS A MOUNTAIN OF EVIDENCE REGARDING HOW DANGEROUS THIS IS AND ALL THE VEHICLES THAT HAVE THE SAME ISSUE, THERE IS STILL NO RECALL. IT COST ME OVER $700 TO HAVE THIS PROBLEM RESOLVED AND I DON'T THINK IT IS OUR RESPONSIBILITY TO PAY FOR THIS VERY IMPORTANT LIFESAVING REPAIR WHEN IT IS SUCH A PROMINENT PROBLEM IN THESE CARS. I HAD NO CHOICE BUT TO GET THIS PROBLEM RESOLVED AS THIS IS MY YOUNG SON'S CAR. I BELIEVE NO ONE SHOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR THESE REPAIRS AND A RECALL IS DEFINITELY WARRANTED. WHAT ABOUT ALL THE PEOPLE WHO DO NOT HAVE THE MONEY TO GET THESE REPAIRS??? ARE THEIR LIVES LESS SIGNIFICANT BECAUSE GM DOESN'T WANT TO DO THE RIGHT THING AND FIX A DEFECT THAT IS THEIR RESPONSIBILITY AND NOT THE CONSUMERS. HOW MANY PEOPLE HAVE TO DIE TO GET THIS ISSUE RESOLVED????

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/4/2014 - JUPITER , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHEVROLET AVEO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT BURNING FUMES EMITTED FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT AND THE BATTERY WAS DRAINED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND THE BATTERY WAS REPLACED. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR THE DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE CONTACT WAS MADE AWARE OF RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 14V261000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED WAS UNAVAILABLE TO PERFORM THE REPAIR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 68,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

8/15/2014 - SAN DIEGO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHEVROLET AVEO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, AN UNUSUAL SMELL WAS EMITTED INTO THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO MANEUVER THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF ROAD. AFTER INSPECTING THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT NOTICED THE BURNING SCENT WAS OF OIL AND ANTIFREEZE. THE PROBLEM OCCURRED TWICE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED ABOUT THE ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75, 000.

View Details

ENGINE

8/12/2014 - COLUMBUS, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHEVROLET AVEO. WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH, THE ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE'S SPEED DECREASED. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY SHORTED OUT. THE MECHANIC REPLACED THE THROTTLE BODY, PERFORMED A DOUBLE INTAKE SERVICE, AND TREATED THE FUEL WITH ETHANOL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 10,966.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/12/2014 - SOUTHFIELD, MI
MY AIRBAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY WHEN I WAS REAR-ENDED IN MY CHEVY AVEO. I SUSTAINED MULTIPLE INJURIES TO MY HEAD, MOUTH, EYE, NOSE, AND LOST CONSCIOUSNESS IN ADDITION TO OTHER INJURIES TO MY BODY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/8/2014 - RIVERSIDE, CA
I PURCHASED THIS CHEVY AVEO LT IN 2009, IN 2012 THE AIR BAG LIGHT IN THE DASH BOARD CAME ON AND WILL NOT GO OFF, THE CHEVY DEALER IS TRYING TO CHARGE ME TO FIX IT AND THERE IS ALL KINDS OF PEOPLE TALKING ABOUT THIS PROBLEM AND MY MECHANIC TOLD ME WITH THE AIR BAG LIGHT ON THE AIR BAGS WILL NOT DEPLOY IF I WERE TO GET IN A ACCIDENT, I CALLED CHEVY AND THEY ARE TRYING TO CHARGE ME JUST TO LOOK AT IT CAR, WITH ALL THE BAD REVIEWS ON THE 2007 CHEVY AVEO I WOULD THINK CHEVY WOULD STAND BEHIND THERE CARS AND FIX THE ISSUES WITH THIS AIR BAG LIGHT STAYING ON ALL THE TIME, SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE ABOUT THIS...

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/31/2014 - LOCKPORT, NY
FRONT END CRASH RESULTING IN ENGINE FIRE. FIRE MIGRATED INTO PASSENGER COMPARTMENT. DRIVER SUFFERED BURNS TO FACE, CHEST AND HANDS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS

7/30/2014 - DAVIS, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHEVROLET AVEO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V261000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS); HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED FOR THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds