Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET AVEO - 2007 CHEVROLET AVEO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 148 complaints filed for the 2007 CHEVROLET AVEO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 CHEVROLET AVEO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 CHEVROLET AVEO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (54) Exterior Lighting (15) Power Train (11) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (32) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (1) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Engine (6) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (2) Structure (8) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (16) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (11) Visibility Wiper (1)
Equipment (1) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (2) Tires (3) Wheels (4)
Equipment Adaptive (1) Parking Brake (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/13/2015 - DUNCAN, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHEVROLET AVEO. WHEN THE CONTACT STARTED THE VEHICLE AND ACTIVATED THE HEADLIGHTS, ALL THE ELECTRICAL POWER FAILED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE VEHICLE NEEDED A SHIFT INTERLOCK SOLENOID. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 86,587.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/4/2015 - MADISON, OH
HEADLIGHT FAILED. I HAVE OWNED THIS AUTO 4 YEARS AND HAVE HAD TO REPLACE 6 HEADLIGHTS. I JUST GOT A TICKET BECAUSE MY HEADLIGHT WAS OUT, AND I HAD REPLACED A HEADLIGHT LESS THAN 3 MONTHS AGO. I HAVE NEVER HAD TO REPLACE SO MANY HEADLIGHTS IN ONE VEHICLE IN ALL MY 49 YEARS OF DRIVING. THESE HEADLIGHTS CANNOT BE REPLACED BY THE OWNER, BECAUSE IT REQUIRES SPECIALIZED TOOLS. I HAVE TO TAKE MY VEHICLE IN FOR SERVICE EVERY TIME A HEADLIGHT GOES OUT, SO THE COST IN 3X WHAT THE LAMP ALONE COSTS AT A PARTS STORE. SOMETHING IS WRONG WITH THE DESIGN OF THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

STEERING

1/2/2015 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
AFTER STARTING CAR, I WAS UNABLE TO GISENGAGE THE CAR FROM THE PARKING POSITION. WAS ONLY ABLE TO GET CAR OUT THE PARK POSITION BY JAMMING A METAL DEVICE INTO THE MANUAL SHIFT LOCK RELEASE POSITION. ENDED HAVING CAR TOWED TO MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED PROBLEM AS NEEDING A NEW FUSE BOX. HOWEVER, AFTER FIRST DRIVE HOME, BACK YO ORIGINAL PROBLEM: CANNOT REMOVE KEY FROM IGNITION AND IF I DO DRIVE, ELECTRICAL POWER GOES OUT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/2/2015 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
AFTER STARTING CAR, I WAS UNABLE TO GISENGAGE THE CAR FROM THE PARKING POSITION. WAS ONLY ABLE TO GET CAR OUT THE PARK POSITION BY JAMMING A METAL DEVICE INTO THE MANUAL SHIFT LOCK RELEASE POSITION. ENDED HAVING CAR TOWED TO MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED PROBLEM AS NEEDING A NEW FUSE BOX. HOWEVER, AFTER FIRST DRIVE HOME, BACK YO ORIGINAL PROBLEM: CANNOT REMOVE KEY FROM IGNITION AND IF I DO DRIVE, ELECTRICAL POWER GOES OUT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/2/2015 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
AFTER STARTING CAR, I WAS UNABLE TO GISENGAGE THE CAR FROM THE PARKING POSITION. WAS ONLY ABLE TO GET CAR OUT THE PARK POSITION BY JAMMING A METAL DEVICE INTO THE MANUAL SHIFT LOCK RELEASE POSITION. ENDED HAVING CAR TOWED TO MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED PROBLEM AS NEEDING A NEW FUSE BOX. HOWEVER, AFTER FIRST DRIVE HOME, BACK YO ORIGINAL PROBLEM: CANNOT REMOVE KEY FROM IGNITION AND IF I DO DRIVE, ELECTRICAL POWER GOES OUT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/22/2014 - LAS VEGAS, NV
IN JULY 2014, I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE #14093 FROM CHEVROLET/GM ADVISING OF A FIRE HAZARD INVOLVING MY DAYTIME RUNNING HEADLIGHTS. THE NOTICE ADVISED THE PARTS ARE NOT CURRENTLY AVAILABLE... I CALLED THEIR 800 NUMBER SEVERAL TIMES UP THROUGH TODAY TO CHECK ON GETTING THIS HAZARD FIXED. UNFORTUNATELY, TODAY IS 11-22-14, AND THEY STILL ARE NOT READY TO REMEDY THE HAZARD. IN ADDITION, MY INTERIOR LIGHT STOPPED WORKING A FEW MONTHS AGO, AND IT'S NOT THE LIGHT BULB BECAUSE I REPLACED IT. I WOULD LIKE THIS REPAIRED TOO. I DO NOT FEEL SAFE IN MY CAR, AND IN LIGHT OF THE FACT THAT FOUR MONTHS HAVE NOW GONE BY SINCE THE RECALL NOTICE, I STRONGLY FEEL THAT CHEVROLET/GM SHOULD OFFER/PAY FOR A SAFE LOANER VEHICLE UNTIL THEY REMOVE THE FIRE HAZARD. THANK YOU, RAPHAELA TODD

View Details

STEERING: GEAR BOX (OTHER THAN RACK AND PINION)

10/10/2014 - BELMONT, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHEVROLET AVEO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO SHIFT INTO DRIVE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE GEAR BOX NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 66,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/10/2014 - BELMONT, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHEVROLET AVEO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO SHIFT INTO DRIVE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE GEAR BOX NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 66,000.

View Details

ENGINE

9/21/2014 - SUN CITY , CA
TIMING BELT BREAKS TOO OFTEN. THE CAR HAS NOW HAD THE TIMING BELT REPLACE 3 TIMES SINCE I HAVE OWNED IT I BOUGHT IT AT 69,000 MILES I WAS REPLACED AT AROUND 74K THEN BROKE AND LEFT ME STRANDED ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AT NIGHT TIME AFTER HOURS AT 121K THEN HAS BROKE AGAIN AT 134K THIS IS SUPPOSED TO BE A 60K PART AND IS NOT LASTING LIKE IT SHOULD AND WHEN IT BREAKS CAUSES OTHER STUFF AROUND IT TO BE AFFECTED AS WELL. THE FIRST TIME I HAD TO REPLACE WATER PUMP, THE 2ND TIME WATER PUMP AS WELL AS ENGINE GASKETS AND IT COST ME $2600 TO FIX. THIS LAST TIME JUST THE WATER PUMP AND A WATER HOSE. THIS LAST TIME IT LEFT MY DAUGHTER STRANDED ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AFTER DARK ON HER WAY HOME FROM COLLEGE LUCKILY HER BOYFRIEND WAS ABLE TO COME PICK HER UP. THIS CAR IS NOTORIOUS FOR THE TIMING BELT ISSUE. ALL THREE TIMES THIS HAS BEEN REPAIRED BY 3 DIFFERENT SHOPS AND ALL THREE SAY THAT THIS CAR HAS MAJOR ISSUES DUE TO THE TIMING BELTS NOT BEING STURDY. CHEVY SHOULD BE REPLACING THESE CARS OR REFUNDING THE COST OF HAVING THESE REPAIRED YOU CAN'T EVEN RESELL TO PEOPLE DUE TO THIS ISSUE. ALSO I NEVER EVEN GOT A LETTER REGARDING THE HEAD LAMP RECALL. I AM JUST WONDERING IF CHEVY IS WAITING TILL PEOPLE BLOW UP IN THEIR CARS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/17/2014 - STEVENSON, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHEVROLET AVEO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE GEAR LEVER WAS DIFFICULT TO SHIFT OUT OF GEAR UNTIL REPEATED ATTEMPTS. THE FAILURE RECURRED CONTINUOUSLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER, WHO INFORMED THAT THE CLUTCH AND SHIFT LINKAGE WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE CLUTCH WAS REPLACED THREE TIMES PREVIOUSLY. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED FOR THE RECENT FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 9,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds