Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET AVEO - 2007 CHEVROLET AVEO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 101 complaints filed for the 2007 CHEVROLET AVEO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 CHEVROLET AVEO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 CHEVROLET AVEO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (37) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (10) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Tires (3)
Electrical System (17) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Engine (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (2) Structure (6) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (14) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (2) Suspension (10) Wheels (3)
Equipment (1) Parking Brake (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/17/2014 - ROSEVILLE , MN
AFTER BUYING MY CAR BRAND NEW THE AIR BAG LIGHT WENT ON AND STAYED ON TILL THIS DAY. AT THE BEGINNING I THOUGHT IT WAS ONLY THE PASSENGER AIR BAG AND WENT AND ASKED ABOUT IT AT THE DEALERSHIP WHERE THEY ACTUALLY INFORMED ME THAT IT WASN'T ONLY THE PASSENGER AIRBAG THATS NOT WORKING, RATHER NONE OF THE AIRBAGS WORK. THAT WAS MADE CLEAR A MONTH LATER WHEN MY DAD, GRANDMOTHER, AND BROTHER WERE DRIVING IT AND GOT T-BONED BY A TRUCK AND OF COURSE NON OF THE AIRBAGS WENT OFF. I MEAN GETTING TBONED BY A TRUCK IS PRETTY SERIOUS THING WHERE AIR BAGS SHOULD DEPLOY! THE AVEO IS NOT THE SAFEST CAR TO START OUT WITH BUT TO ALSO HAVE ZERO AIRBAGS THATS PRETTY MESSED UP, PRETTY MUCH A DEATH WAITING TO HAPPEN, BECAUSE LETS BE REAL HERE, I STAND NO CHANCE IF I GET IN AN ACCIDENT IN THAT CAR. MIGHT AS WELL NO HAVE SEAT BELTS ON THERE EITHER. WHEN CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP MORE THAN ONCE THEY HAVE NOTHING TO SAY OTHER THAN PAY US AND WELL LOOK INTO IT THEN YOU'LL PAY US MORE. I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER CHEVROLET CAR AGAIN.

View Details

STEERING

3/17/2014 - ROSEVILLE , MN
AFTER BUYING MY CAR BRAND NEW THE AIR BAG LIGHT WENT ON AND STAYED ON TILL THIS DAY. AT THE BEGINNING I THOUGHT IT WAS ONLY THE PASSENGER AIR BAG AND WENT AND ASKED ABOUT IT AT THE DEALERSHIP WHERE THEY ACTUALLY INFORMED ME THAT IT WASN'T ONLY THE PASSENGER AIRBAG THATS NOT WORKING, RATHER NONE OF THE AIRBAGS WORK. THAT WAS MADE CLEAR A MONTH LATER WHEN MY DAD, GRANDMOTHER, AND BROTHER WERE DRIVING IT AND GOT T-BONED BY A TRUCK AND OF COURSE NON OF THE AIRBAGS WENT OFF. I MEAN GETTING TBONED BY A TRUCK IS PRETTY SERIOUS THING WHERE AIR BAGS SHOULD DEPLOY! THE AVEO IS NOT THE SAFEST CAR TO START OUT WITH BUT TO ALSO HAVE ZERO AIRBAGS THATS PRETTY MESSED UP, PRETTY MUCH A DEATH WAITING TO HAPPEN, BECAUSE LETS BE REAL HERE, I STAND NO CHANCE IF I GET IN AN ACCIDENT IN THAT CAR. MIGHT AS WELL NO HAVE SEAT BELTS ON THERE EITHER. WHEN CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP MORE THAN ONCE THEY HAVE NOTHING TO SAY OTHER THAN PAY US AND WELL LOOK INTO IT THEN YOU'LL PAY US MORE. I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER CHEVROLET CAR AGAIN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/17/2014 - ROSEVILLE , MN
AFTER BUYING MY CAR BRAND NEW THE AIR BAG LIGHT WENT ON AND STAYED ON TILL THIS DAY. AT THE BEGINNING I THOUGHT IT WAS ONLY THE PASSENGER AIR BAG AND WENT AND ASKED ABOUT IT AT THE DEALERSHIP WHERE THEY ACTUALLY INFORMED ME THAT IT WASN'T ONLY THE PASSENGER AIRBAG THATS NOT WORKING, RATHER NONE OF THE AIRBAGS WORK. THAT WAS MADE CLEAR A MONTH LATER WHEN MY DAD, GRANDMOTHER, AND BROTHER WERE DRIVING IT AND GOT T-BONED BY A TRUCK AND OF COURSE NON OF THE AIRBAGS WENT OFF. I MEAN GETTING TBONED BY A TRUCK IS PRETTY SERIOUS THING WHERE AIR BAGS SHOULD DEPLOY! THE AVEO IS NOT THE SAFEST CAR TO START OUT WITH BUT TO ALSO HAVE ZERO AIRBAGS THATS PRETTY MESSED UP, PRETTY MUCH A DEATH WAITING TO HAPPEN, BECAUSE LETS BE REAL HERE, I STAND NO CHANCE IF I GET IN AN ACCIDENT IN THAT CAR. MIGHT AS WELL NO HAVE SEAT BELTS ON THERE EITHER. WHEN CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP MORE THAN ONCE THEY HAVE NOTHING TO SAY OTHER THAN PAY US AND WELL LOOK INTO IT THEN YOU'LL PAY US MORE. I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER CHEVROLET CAR AGAIN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/27/2014 - ITHACA, NY
LOST CONTROL WHILE BRAKING/STEERING ON BLACK ICE AFTER A CURVE TO AVOID WRECKED VEHICLES AND MOTORISTS IN LANES. CAR SPUN 180 AND ROLLED 360 OFF ROAD (ROLLED OVER THE LEFT SIDE OF THE VEHICLE, SHATTERING THE LEFT REAR PASS WINDOW, COMING TO REST ON WHEELS). BELIEVE THE AVEO5 SVM SHOULD COME STANDARD WITH SIDE AIRBAGS. NO AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. WAS WEARING SEATBELT, SHAKEN BUT ABLE TO EXIT VEHICLE SAFELY. NO PASSENGERS. VEHICLE HAS A HISTORY OF SIR LIGHT COMING ON SEVERAL TIMES AND HAD BEEN SERVICED BY 2 SEPARATE CHEVROLET/GM GOODWRENCH DEALERSHIPS MULTIPLE TIMES TO REPLACE AIRBAG CONTROL MODULE, WIRE HARNESS, AND SERVICE CONNECTORS. SIR LIGHT WAS NOT ON AT THE TIME OF INCIDENT. EXACT VEHICLE SPEED AT TIME OF ROLLOVER IS UNKNOWN, 25 MPH IS A ROUGH GUESS OF SPEED AFTER BRAKING.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/30/2013 - BOWDON JUNCTION, GA
THERE HAS BEEN A SERVICE BULLETIN ISSUED ...NHTSA #10047441, TSB#SB-12-09-41-001 STATING THAT COUNTERFEIT AIRBAG MODULES WERE PUT ON THE CHEVY AVEO'S FROM THE YEARS 2006 TO 2010. THERE HAS BEEN SEVERAL REPORTS OF THE AIRBAGS NOT DEPLOYING DURING FRONTAL CRASHES, AND MANY MORE REPORTS LIKE MINE WHERE THE AIRBAG LIGHT IS CONSTANTLY LIT DISABLING THE AIRBAGS. GENERAL MOTORS ISN'T OFFERING A RECALL AND I THINK SOMEONE NEEDS TO STEP UP AND HAVE GENERAL MOTORS REPAIR ALL OF THE AFFECTED VEHICLES AS THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE. HOW MANY MORE PEOPLE HAVE TO DIE AND/OR SUFFER BEFORE SOMEONE MAKES AN EFFORT TO ISSUE A RECALL?????

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/22/2013 - BOWDON JUNCTION, GA
THE AIR BAG LIGHT STARTED TO FLICKER, THEN STAYED LIT FROM THAT POINT. IS STILL LIT TO THIS DAY.SEEMS AS THO THIS IS A PROBLEM IN ALL THE "07" MODELS. IT IS MY UNDERSTANDING THAT WITH THIS LIGHT ON THAT THE AIR BAGS WILL NOT WORK WHICH IN TURN IS A MAJOR SAFETY FACTOR.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/15/2013 - FALLON, NV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHEVROLET AVEO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH, SHE LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AS IT BEGAN TO SWERVE INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT A BOLT WAS MISSING FROM THE LOWER CONTROL ARM. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED BUT OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 68,762.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/3/2012 - GLENOLDEN , PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHEVROLET AVEO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE GEAR SHIFTER WOULD NOT RELEASE FROM PARK AND CAUSED THE BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH TO FAIL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO HAVE A DIAGNOSTIC PERFORMED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 50,000. .....UPDATED 01/14/13 UPDATED 1/18/2013

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/1/2012 - ROSEVILLE, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHEVROLET AVEO. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, BOTH THE FRONT PASSENGER AIR BAG AND THE AIR BAG SYMBOL WARNING INDICATORS BEGAN TO ILLUMINATE ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL UNTIL THE ENGINE WAS TURNED OFF. THE FAILURE RECURRED WHEN DRIVING AT ANY SPEED AND WHENEVER AN OCCUPANT WAS POSITIONED IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT ALL OF THE AIR BAGS EQUIPPED IN THE VEHICLE WERE INOPERABLE. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 37.

View Details

SEATS

7/8/2012 - AUSTIN, TX
I WAS ABOUT TO START THE CAR AND THE AIRBAG ON THE LEFT SIDE OF THE DRIVER'S SEAT EXPLODED, INJURING MY LEFT ARM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds