Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO 3500 - 2007 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 3500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 19 complaints filed for the 2007 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 3500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 3500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 3500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Engine (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (1) Steering (1)
Communications (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Power Train (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (1) Fuel System Diesel (2) Seat Belts (1)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

5/27/2015 - FRAMINGHAM, MA
TRAVELING AT 60 MPH WHILE TOWING A 35' FIFTH WHEEL THE ENGINE STARTED TO SHUDDER A BIT. WHEN WE PULLED OVER AND PUT THE ENGINE INTO NEUTRAL THE ENGINE STOPPED RUNNING. WE TRIED TO START THE TRUCK BUT IT WOULD NOT TURN OVER BUT THERE WAS JUICE TO THE BATTERY TO RUN THE LIGHTS AND WINDOWS. AFTER BEING TOWED TO A LOCAL GARAGE, AS WE WERE OUT OF STATE, THEN TO ANOTHER IN OUR TOWN WE WERE INFORMED IT IS A BAD CRANKSHAFT AND A NEW ENGINE IS NEEDED. THE ENGINE HAS 55 THOUSAND MILES ON IT WITH NO MODIFICATIONS. AFTER MANY SEARCHES ON THE INTERNET I HAVE FOUND MANY CASES WHERE THIS HAS OCCURRED. I HAVE CONTACTED CHEVY AND THEIR RESPONSE IS IT IS OUT OF THE WARRANTY PERIOD, FIVE YEARS EVEN THOUGH IT IS WELL UNDER THE 100,000 MILE CAP. THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED AS IT COULD HAVE CAUSED A MAJOR ACCIDENT HAD WE NOT BEEN IN THE RIGHT LANE AND BEEN ABLE TO PULL OVER BEFORE LOSING COMPLETE POWER ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY.

View Details

STEERING

2/9/2015 - AUBURN, NY
2007 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 3500. CONSUMER STATED WHEN HE BACKED THE VEHICLE OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY, HE DISCOVERED HE DID NOT HAVE BRAKES NOR POWER STEERING. THE POWER STEERING PUMP, PULLEY AND SERPENTINE BELT WERE REPLACED. UPDATED 02/23/15. UPDATED 04/15/15

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

2/9/2015 - AUBURN, NY
2007 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 3500. CONSUMER STATED WHEN HE BACKED THE VEHICLE OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY, HE DISCOVERED HE DID NOT HAVE BRAKES NOR POWER STEERING. THE POWER STEERING PUMP, PULLEY AND SERPENTINE BELT WERE REPLACED. UPDATED 02/23/15. UPDATED 04/15/15

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/19/2014 - NILES, MI
SITTING AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT, AND THE BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR, ALLOWING THE TRUCK TO ROLL INTO THE INTERSECTION. THE ONLY WAY I STOPPED IT WAS SHIFT THE TRANSMISSION INTO NEUTRAL. I NURSED THE TRUCK BACK HOME AND FOUND ALL OF THE BRAKE LINES ARE CORRODED WITH ONE BLOWN OUT. THE MASTER CYLINDER WAS ALMOST EMPTY IN ONE CHAMBER. THE OTHER CHAMBER WAS TOTALLY EMPTY. TRUCK HAS ONLY 28,000 MILES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/30/2014 - DUNN, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 3500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT TRANSMISSION FLUID WAS LEAKING FROM THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT REPLACED BOTH TRANSMISSION LINES AT THERE EXPENSE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND STATED THAT THAT THEY WERE UNWILLING TO REPAIR THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 41,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/5/2012 - MARSING, ID
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 3500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, HE CRASHED INTO A DEER AND THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED MINOR BRUISING. THE POLICE WERE CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE WHO ADVISED THAT THEY WOULD CONTACT AT A LATER DATE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 8,625.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

10/8/2012 - NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV
THE DRIVER'S SEAT BELT WOULD NOT LATCH.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

10/26/2011 - MINNEAPOLIS, MN
OUR 2007 CHEVROLET 3500 4 X 4 WITH A 6.0 GAS ENGINE HAS FAILURE IN THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD BOLTS AND IS CAUSING NOISE AND EMISSION ISSUES IN AND OUTSIDE THE CABIN AND IS AFFECTING HORSE POWER. OUR TRUCK HAS NOW 13,000 MILES ON IT! THIRTEEN THOUSAND. IT IS WELL CARED FOR AND LITTLE USED, THERE IS NO EXCUSE THAT WE FACE A THOUSAND DOLLAR OR MORE BILL TO REPAIR A UNIT THAT IS A LONG WAY FROM BEING A USED UNIT. WE KNOW OF MANY NOW, THAT HAVE THIS ISSUE, OUR FRIEND SAID HE WOULD NOT PAY THE DEALER TO DO IT FOR HIS TRUCK, THERE IS NO SERVICE BULLETIN AND NO RECALL, BUT IT WAS AFFECTING EVERYTHING, AND YOU COULD NOT GAIN ACCESS TO THE BROKEN BOLTS UNLESS YOU TORE OUT THE TOP END OF THE MOTOR, SO HE REMOVED THE MOTOR AND REBUILT THESE PARTS HIMSELF, IT COST HIM HE SAID $700.00 TO DO IT HIMSELF. HE IS STILL MAD ABOUT IT. WE ARE WRITING YOU IN HOPES THAT YOU MAY INVESTIGATE AND HELP, THERE ARE EMISSION VIOLATIONS IN MANY STATES DUE TO THIS, AND THERE CAN BE A FIRE, IT CAN AFFECT THE SENSORS AND WILL TRIGGER CODES CAUSING ENGINE LIGHT TO REMAIN ON. THIS PROBLEM AFFECTS NEARLY 7 OR 8 YEARS OF GM TRUCKS, 4.8, 5.7 AND THE 6.0 SIZE ENGINES. AT FIRST IT WAS NOT TOO BAD, BUT IT HAS GOTTEN WORSE IN THE PAST FEW THOUSAND MILES. THE MILEAGE OF SEVEN THOUSAND IS MY APPROXIMATION OF WHEN I FIRST HEARD IT, I THOUGHT IT WAS EXHAUST, BUT I THOUGHT A PROTECTIVE PLATE OVER THE MUFFLER OR SOMETHING, NO WAY DID I THINK THE BOLTS OF THE MANIFOLD WERE BREAKING. PLEASE HELP US OUT ON THIS.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

10/13/2011 - CRESAPTOWN, MD
EXHAUST MANIFOLD BOLTS ON THE 6.0L BREAK OFF AT THE HEAD CAUSING EXHAUST GAS TO LEAK INTO PASSENGER COMPARTMENT AND POTENTIAL FOR A FIRE. WE HAVE 10 TRUCKS AROUND THIS YEAR AND MOST OR ALL HAVE HAD ALL EXHAUST STUDS REPLACED. MY LOCAL DEALER IS AWARE OF THIS THE SERVICE MANAGER TOLD ME IT HAPPENS TO ALL 6.0L ENGINES.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

7/5/2011 - OREGON CITY, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 3500. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT STATED THE FAILURE OCCURRED AT LEAST FOUR TIMES SINCE HE OWNED IT AND FEARED THE VEHICLE COULD STALL WHILE TOWING AND CAUSE A CRASH. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND THEY REPROGRAMMED THE COMPUTER. THE CONTACT STATED THE REPAIR ONLY REMEDIES THE ISSUE TEMPORARILY. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS UNSAFE TO DRIVE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds