Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO 3500 - 2007 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 3500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 16 complaints filed for the 2007 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 3500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 3500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 3500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Electrical System (1) Fuel System Diesel (2) Power Train (3) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Communications (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seat Belts (1)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

1/30/2014 - DUNN, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 3500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT TRANSMISSION FLUID WAS LEAKING FROM THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT REPLACED BOTH TRANSMISSION LINES AT THERE EXPENSE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND STATED THAT THAT THEY WERE UNWILLING TO REPAIR THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 41,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/5/2012 - MARSING, ID
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 3500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, HE CRASHED INTO A DEER AND THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED MINOR BRUISING. THE POLICE WERE CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE WHO ADVISED THAT THEY WOULD CONTACT AT A LATER DATE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 8,625.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

10/8/2012 - NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV
THE DRIVER'S SEAT BELT WOULD NOT LATCH.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

10/26/2011 - MINNEAPOLIS, MN
OUR 2007 CHEVROLET 3500 4 X 4 WITH A 6.0 GAS ENGINE HAS FAILURE IN THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD BOLTS AND IS CAUSING NOISE AND EMISSION ISSUES IN AND OUTSIDE THE CABIN AND IS AFFECTING HORSE POWER. OUR TRUCK HAS NOW 13,000 MILES ON IT! THIRTEEN THOUSAND. IT IS WELL CARED FOR AND LITTLE USED, THERE IS NO EXCUSE THAT WE FACE A THOUSAND DOLLAR OR MORE BILL TO REPAIR A UNIT THAT IS A LONG WAY FROM BEING A USED UNIT. WE KNOW OF MANY NOW, THAT HAVE THIS ISSUE, OUR FRIEND SAID HE WOULD NOT PAY THE DEALER TO DO IT FOR HIS TRUCK, THERE IS NO SERVICE BULLETIN AND NO RECALL, BUT IT WAS AFFECTING EVERYTHING, AND YOU COULD NOT GAIN ACCESS TO THE BROKEN BOLTS UNLESS YOU TORE OUT THE TOP END OF THE MOTOR, SO HE REMOVED THE MOTOR AND REBUILT THESE PARTS HIMSELF, IT COST HIM HE SAID $700.00 TO DO IT HIMSELF. HE IS STILL MAD ABOUT IT. WE ARE WRITING YOU IN HOPES THAT YOU MAY INVESTIGATE AND HELP, THERE ARE EMISSION VIOLATIONS IN MANY STATES DUE TO THIS, AND THERE CAN BE A FIRE, IT CAN AFFECT THE SENSORS AND WILL TRIGGER CODES CAUSING ENGINE LIGHT TO REMAIN ON. THIS PROBLEM AFFECTS NEARLY 7 OR 8 YEARS OF GM TRUCKS, 4.8, 5.7 AND THE 6.0 SIZE ENGINES. AT FIRST IT WAS NOT TOO BAD, BUT IT HAS GOTTEN WORSE IN THE PAST FEW THOUSAND MILES. THE MILEAGE OF SEVEN THOUSAND IS MY APPROXIMATION OF WHEN I FIRST HEARD IT, I THOUGHT IT WAS EXHAUST, BUT I THOUGHT A PROTECTIVE PLATE OVER THE MUFFLER OR SOMETHING, NO WAY DID I THINK THE BOLTS OF THE MANIFOLD WERE BREAKING. PLEASE HELP US OUT ON THIS.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

10/13/2011 - CRESAPTOWN, MD
EXHAUST MANIFOLD BOLTS ON THE 6.0L BREAK OFF AT THE HEAD CAUSING EXHAUST GAS TO LEAK INTO PASSENGER COMPARTMENT AND POTENTIAL FOR A FIRE. WE HAVE 10 TRUCKS AROUND THIS YEAR AND MOST OR ALL HAVE HAD ALL EXHAUST STUDS REPLACED. MY LOCAL DEALER IS AWARE OF THIS THE SERVICE MANAGER TOLD ME IT HAPPENS TO ALL 6.0L ENGINES.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

7/5/2011 - OREGON CITY, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 3500. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT STATED THE FAILURE OCCURRED AT LEAST FOUR TIMES SINCE HE OWNED IT AND FEARED THE VEHICLE COULD STALL WHILE TOWING AND CAUSE A CRASH. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND THEY REPROGRAMMED THE COMPUTER. THE CONTACT STATED THE REPAIR ONLY REMEDIES THE ISSUE TEMPORARILY. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS UNSAFE TO DRIVE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

4/9/2011 - STE ROSE, 00
PROBLEM WITH TRANSMISSION COOLER LINES FOR THE ALLISON TRANSMISSION. 123,000KM'S ON MY 3500 AND THE TRANSMISSION LINES HAVE BEEN REPLACED 3 TIMES. 2 TIMES WERE ON WARRANTY AND THE 3RD I HAD TO PAY FOR MYSELF. I HAVE EXTENDED WARRANTY BUT IS NOT COVERED, BUNCH OF BS. COST ME 850 DOLLARS TO FIX. SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THEM, EVEN THE DEALER SHIP SAYS THEY HAVE LOTS OF PROBLEM WITH THE LINES. WHEN EVER IT TURNS COLD THEY START TO LEAK AND HAVE TO BE CHANGED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION: COOLING UNIT AND LINES

11/29/2010 - RIVERTON, UT
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 3500. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE TRANS COOLER LINES WERE LEAKING TRANSMISSION FLUID. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL REPAIR SHOP WHERE IT WAS REPAIRED; THE TRANSCOOLER LINES AND TRANSMISSION FLUID WERE REPLACED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 28,890. UPDATED 01/21/11 UPDATED 04/13/11

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/3/2010 - WHITEFISH, MT
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 3500. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH BOTH FRONT AIR BAGS INVOLUNTARILY DEPLOYED. HE SUFFERED INJURIES BUT WAS ABLE TO DRIVE HIMSELF TO THE HOSPITAL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE THEY WERE UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE AIR BAGS WERE REMOVED BUT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 50,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

8/10/2010 - RIGA, MI
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 3500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR POLLUTION SYSTEM SENSOR BURNED FUEL WHEN IT BECAME FULL. THE FAILURE ALSO CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO USE FUEL FASTER THAN NORMAL. THE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED DISPLAYED REFER TO THE OWNERS MANUAL. THE OWNERS MANUAL STATED THAT THE VEHICLE SHOULD BE DRIVEN 30 MPH FOR 20 MINUTES UNTIL THE SYSTEM WAS CLEANED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT ANY WARNING. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED ABOUT THE SAFETY RISK SINCE THE VEHICLE SLOWED DOWN WITHOUT WARNING AND COULD POTENTIALLY CAUSE A CRASH TO OCCUR. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 48000. UPDATED 11/05/10.

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds