Auto Recalls for Consumers

COSCO 22120 (SCENERA) - 2007 COSCO 22120 (SCENERA) Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by COSCO

There are 21 complaints filed for the 2007 COSCO 22120 (SCENERA)

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 COSCO 22120 (SCENERA). These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 COSCO 22120 (SCENERA), you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Child Seat (22)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

CHILD SEAT

7/25/2012 - MANKATO, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A COSCO SCENERA CHILD SEAT, MODEL 22120-SSM. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CHILD SEAT MELTED WHILE A CHILD WAS SEATED IN THE SEAT. THE CHILD SUFFERED FROM BURNING INJURIES AS A RESULT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED.

View Details

CHILD SEAT: HARNESS

2/20/2010 - MELROSE, NY
COSCO SCENERA CAR SEAT WHEN THE HARNESS IS FASTENED THE STRAPS CAN BE LOOSENED BY TUGGING. THEY ARE NOT LOCKED IN PLACE AT ANY POINT. I HAVE DISCONTINUED USE OF THE SEAT AND WILL BE CONTACTING DOREL ON THE NEXT BUSINESS DAY, 2/22/10.

View Details

CHILD SEAT: HARNESS

9/16/2009 - GASTONIA, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A COSCO, MODEL# 22120 SCENERA SAFETY SEAT, MANUFACTURED ON 12/12/07. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE RETAINER CLIPS FOR THE HARNESS STRAPS SLID DOWN WHICH ALLOWED THE CHILD TO EXIT THE SEAT. IF THE CHILD IS NOT PROPERLY SECURED IN THE SEAT HE COULD BE SUSTAIN MAJOR INJURIES IN THE EVENT OF A CRASH. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND A NEW COMPONENT WAS MAILED TO THE CONTACT; HOWEVER, THE NEW COMPONENT ALSO FAILED TO SECURE THE CHILD IN THE SAFETY SEAT. THE INFANT WEIGHS 21 LBS AND IS 22 MONTHS OLD. THE CONTACT HAS POSSESSION OF THE SAFETY SEAT.

View Details

CHILD SEAT

8/31/2009 - DEXTER, MO
TL CONTACT OWNS A COSCO CHILD SAFETY SEAT MODEL NUMBER 22-120 FSM, MANUFACTURED 4-21-2009. SHE STATED THAT HER CHILD'S FINGER WAS CAUGHT IN THE HOLES ON THE SIDE OF THE SAFETY SEAT. THE CHILD'S FINGER HAD TO BE CUT OUT OF THE SAFETY SEAT. THE CHILD SUFFERED MINOR INJURIES TO HER FINGER. THE CONTACT WAS NOT SURE WHAT THE SIDE HOLES WERE USED FOR ON THE SEAT.

View Details

CHILD SEAT

8/4/2009 - BALTIMORE, MD
SHARP POINTS ON THE BOTTOM OF THE COSCO SCENERA ARE TEARING THE HARNESS.

View Details

CHILD SEAT: HARNESS BUCKLE

4/10/2009 - ANN ARBOR, MI
I HAVE A COSCO SCENERA CONVERTIBLE CAR SEAT THAT WAS MANUFACTURED ON 3/26/08. THE MODEL # IS 22120. IT IS IN THE FRONT-FACING POSITION FOR A 2 YR. OLD. I STRAPPED MY GRANDCHILD INTO THE SEAT, BUT WHEN WE GOT TO OUR DESTINATION, I WAS UNABLE TO RELEASE ONE SIDE OF THE BUCKLE PLATE. IT TOOK SEVERAL MINUTES AND PLAY WITH THE RED BUTTON BEFORE IT RELEASED. LATER, I TRIED TO SEE WHY THIS HAD HAPPENED AND, AFTER BUCKLING THE BUCKLE PLATES, COULDN'T GET EITHER OF THEM UNLATCHED. THEY ARE STILL ATTACHED. THIS SEAT HAS BEEN USED LESS THAN A HANDFUL OF TIMES, AND NO FOOD OR DRINK WAS ALLOWED IN THE SEAT. THE CHILD IS TWO YEARS OLD AND WELL WITHIN THE WEIGHT LIMIT FOR THIS SEAT. IN THE CASE OF AN EMERGENCY, THE CHILD MAY NOT BE ABLE TO BE RELEASED IN A TIMELY MANNER. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION. I AM WONDERING IF OTHERS HAVE HAD THIS PROBLEM? I AM ATTEMPTING TO CONTACT THE COMPANY, BUT FRANKLY, IT HAS BEEN VERY DIFFICULT.

View Details

CHILD SEAT: HARNESS

3/30/2009 - FAIRPORT, NY
I HAVE A COSCO SCENERA CARSEAT. I UNINSTALLED IT LAST WEEK TO CLEAN THE CAR. AS I WAS GETTING READY TO REINSTALL IT I NOTICED THE HARNESS STRAPS ON THE BOTTOM HAD PUNCTURES AND RIPS. THIS APPEARS TO HAVE BEEN CAUSED BY SPIKES ON THE BOTTOM OF THE CARSEAT. I CALLED THE MANUFACTURER TO COMPLAIN ABOUT THIS ON 3/25/09. I WAS TOLD TO LEAVE A VOICEMAIL AND SOMEONE WOULD GET BACK TO ME. I CALLED AGAIN 3/27 AND AGAIN 3/30. STILL NO RESPONSE. THE CARSEAT HAS BEEN USED INFREQUENTLY FOR LESS THAN ONE YEAR. IT HAS ONLY BEEN USED REAR FACING.

View Details

CHILD SEAT: SHELL: CONVERTIBLE

3/11/2009 - MIAMI, FL
WITH THIS SEAT, THE SEAT BELT WEBBING CAN GET CAUGHT ON THE POINTY V-SHAPED NOTCHES ON THE UNDERSIDE OF THE SEAT. THIS OCCURS WHEN THE HARNESS IS UNBUCKLED AND GOES SLACK. WHEN THE CHILD IS IN THE SEAT AND YOU GO TO BUCKLE THE HARNESS, THE SEAT BELT WEBBING CAN GET CAUGHT ON THE POINTS OF THE NOTCHES UNDERNEATH. THIS CAN RESULT IN THE PARENT THINKING THE HARNESS IS SECURE, WHEN IN FACT THE SEAT BELT IS ON THE POINTS OF THE V-SHAPED NOTCH, AND NOT SECURED UP AGAINST THE UNDERSIDE OF THE SEAT. I NOTICED THESE POINTS HAVE CAUSED SOME WEAR ON THE WEBBING OF THE SEAT BELT, WHICH MAY IMPACT IT'S CRASH PERFORMANCE. I HAD PREVIOUSLY NOTICED THAT THE HARNESS WOULD SEEM LIKE IT WAS CAUGHT ON SOMETHING FROM TIME TO TIME, BUT IT WAS NOT UNTIL RECENTLY THAT I REALIZED IT WAS GETTING CAUGHT ON THE POINTY NOTCHES, AND YESTERDAY I REALIZED IT HAD IMPACTED THE SEAT BELT WEBBING.

View Details

CHILD SEAT: HARNESS

1/26/2009 - CORNELIUS, OR
THE HARNESS STRAP RUBS ON THESE PLASTIC SPIKES ON THE BOTTOM OF THE SEAT. IT ABRADES THE HARNESS STRAP AND ONCE THERE IS A LARGE ENOUGH ABRASION, IT ALLOWS FOR THE STRAP TO ACTUALLY GET STUCK ON THE SPIKE, WHICH DOESN'T ALLOW FOR THE HARNESS STRAPS TO TIGHTEN PROPERLY. THIS DOESN'T HAPPEN DUE TO MISUSE, ALL YOU NEED IS A LITTLE BIT OF SLACK IN THE HIP AREA OF THE HARNESS FOR IT TO DROP DOWN UNDER THE SEAT AND GET STUCK ON THESE SPIKES.

View Details

CHILD SEAT: HARNESS BUCKLE

1/13/2009 - GUTTENBERG, IA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2007 DOREL JUVENILLE GROUP CHILD RESTRAINT SEAT, MODEL NUMBER 22-120-WAL. THE SEAT WAS MANUFACTURED ON FEBRUARY 21, 2007. WHILE THE CHILD WAS PROPERLY SECURED AND FACING FORWARD IN A "CONVERTIBLE" CHILD RESTRAINT SEAT, THE BUCKLE FAILED TO LOCK INTO POSITION. THE CHILD RESTRAINT SEAT WAS INSTALLED USING THE LATCH SYSTEM. THE RESTRAINT SEAT WAS REPLACED FOR SAFETY ISSUES. THE CONTACT IS IN THE PROCESS OF NOTIFYING THE MANUFACTURER. UPDATED 03/09/09. UPDATED 03/10/09.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds