Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC SIERRA 1500 - 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 104 complaints filed for the 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (23) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seat Belts (5) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electrical System (16) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (3) Structure (10) Visibility (2)
Engine (10) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (6) Suspension (7) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (7) Wheels (1)
Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (9) Unknown Or Other (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

4/14/2016 - LONE GROVE, OK
CRACKS AROUND AIR BAG IN DASH PASSENGER SIDE, SHARP PLASTIC PARTS COULD INJURE OCCUPANTS IN CASE OF AIR BAG DEPLOYMENT. THIS IS COMMON ON MOST 07 GM PICKUPS. THE DEALERS WILL NOT REPAIR THIS.. THE PLASTIC IS BRITTLE AND HAS SHARP EDGES.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/4/2016 - MECHANICSVILLE, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS STOPPED WORKING WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN A RECALL. THE VIN WAS NOT PROVIDED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 42,000. UPDATED 06/14/16 THE CONSUMER STATED THE PREVIOUS OWNER ATTEMPTED TO USE THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS WHILE COVERED IN ICE. UPDATED 06/16/16.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/31/2016 - TALBOTT, TN
RUSTED OUT BRAKE LINE AT 72000 MILES. WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT BUT IT DOESN'T LOOK LIKE I AM THE ONLY ONE. ITS A SHAME GM DOESN'T MAN UP AND CORRECT THE PROBLEM OF RUSTED OUT BRAKE LINES. LUCKILY I WAS IN FRONT OF MY HOUSE WHEN IT FAILED AND NOT RUNNING DOWN THE ROAD PULLING MY 4000 LB. BOAT. AND YES I HAVE READ ALL THE INFO ONLINE ABOUT THE NHTSB INVESTIGATING THIS PROBLEM AND LET GM OFF THE HOOK BY SAYING OWNERS SHOULD WASH THEIR CARS TO REMOVE THE ROAD SALT THAT CAUSED THIS PROBLEM. I GUESS FORD AND DODGE OWNERS CRAWL UNDER THEIR TRUCKS IN THE WINTER AND DO THIS AS THERE WAS NO INVESTIGATION ON THEM. BY THE WAY I LIVE IN TN WHERE WINTERS AREN'T THAT BAD. AND ONE OTHER THING WHAT MARKETING BUZZ SAW DECIDED IT WOULD BE BETTER NOT TO HAVE A SPLIT BRAKE FLUID RESERVOIR SO AT LEAST I WOULD HAVE 1/2 OF MY SYSTEM, HAD NO BRAKES FRONT OR REAR BECAUSE OF THIS.

View Details

ENGINE

1/30/2016 - MARION, IN
ATTEMPTED TO START VEHICLE. FAILED TO START. WHEN TURNING THE IGNITION, ACTED AS IF THERE WAS A DEAD BATTERY. ATTEMPTED TO START AGAIN, BURNING SMELL AND SMOKE FROM THE ENGINE COVER. TOWED TO DEALERSHIP FOR DIAGNOSIS. SERVICE ADVISES THAT MAIN BEARING WAS THROWN, SEIZING THE ENGINE AND SMOKE WAS FROM THE STARTER BURNING UP. ENGINE HAS 87,000 MILES. ALSO BURNS APPROXIMATELY 1 QUART OIL EVERY 1,000 MILES. VEHICLE PURCHASED OCTOBER 2015. DEALER ADVISES REPLACE WITH NEW ENGINE. REPLACEMENT IN PROGRESS. DATE OF LOSS 23 JANUARY 2016. OIL LEVEL WAS FULL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/19/2016 - MAYNARD, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO DRIVE FORWARD, THE BRAKES WOULD ERRONEOUSLY ACTIVE WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION. THE CONTACT ALSO INDICATED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE SENSOR LIGHT ACTIVATED AND REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURES WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 170,000.

View Details

ENGINE

1/19/2016 - MAYNARD, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO DRIVE FORWARD, THE BRAKES WOULD ERRONEOUSLY ACTIVE WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION. THE CONTACT ALSO INDICATED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE SENSOR LIGHT ACTIVATED AND REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURES WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 170,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/6/2015 - LEXINGTON, OH
I WENT TO A LOCAL RECYCLE BUSINESS TO DROP OFF SOME CANS. UPON ENTERING THE BUILDING AT ABOUT 10 MPH, THIS GUY MOTION ME TO STOP AND WALKED IN FRONT OF THE TRUCK. I HIT THE BRAKES AND THE PEDDLE ALMOST WENT TO THE FLOOR, BUT DID STOP. JUST MISSING THE GUY THAT WALKED IN FRONT OF ME. REALIZING THAT A BRAKE LINE BROKE AND THAT THE DEALERSHIP WASN'T FAR AWAY, I DROVE REALLY SLOW TO GET THERE. I LEFT IT OVER THE WEEKEND. MONDAY THEY FOUND THAT THE BRAKE LINE THAT RUNS FROM FRONT TO REAR RUSTED AND BURST. $ 463. LATER I TOOK THE TRUCK HOME. AFTER CRAWLING UNDER THE TRUCK WHEN I GOT HOME, I NOTICED MORE BRAKE AND FUEL LINES WITH ALLOT OF RUST. I APPLIED SOME PAINT THAT'S SUPPOSED TO SLOW DOWN CORROSION. I'M GLAD I WASN'T ON THE HIGHWAY WITH MY GRAND KIDS IN THE TRUCK. OR WORSE, THE FUEL LINES COULD BREAK. I BELIEVE THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THE BRAKE AND FUEL LINES. HOW MUCH WOULD IT HAVE COST FOR THE MANUFACTURER TO HAVE INSTALLED STAINLESS STEEL LINES WHEN THE TRUCK WAS BUILT? I'M SURE IT WOULDN'T HAVE BEEN MUCH. I HOPE NOBODY HAS TO DIE BEFORE ANYTHING IS DONE. THANKS FOR YOUR ATTENTION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/31/2015 - WASHINGTON, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE JERKED VIOLENTLY WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED AND THE TRANSMISSION HAD TO BE REPLACED A SECOND TIME. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 25,499.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/3/2015 - PIERRE PART , LA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE TRACTION CONTROL WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED, THE INTERNAL/EXTERNAL LIGHTS INDEPENDENTLY FLASHED ON/OFF AND THE DOOR LOCKS INDEPENDENTLY LOCKED AND UNLOCKED. IN ADDITION, THE SPEEDOMETER GAUGE WOULD FLUCTUATE FROM 30 TO 50 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHO WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

12/9/2014 - ARMSTRONG, IA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE SEAT BELTS FAILED TO LATCH. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 107,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds