Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC SIERRA 1500 - 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 93 complaints filed for the 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seat Belts (5) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electrical System (15) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (3) Structure (6) Visibility (2)
Engine (10) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (6) Suspension (7) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (7) Wheels (1)
Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (9) Unknown Or Other (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

SEAT BELTS

12/9/2014 - ARMSTRONG, IA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE SEAT BELTS FAILED TO LATCH. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 107,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/13/2014 - LINCOLNTON, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 48 MPH, HE CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE AND THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED RIB INJURIES BUT DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 106,000.

View Details

ENGINE

9/22/2014 - ARCHER , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THERE WAS A REDUCTION IN THE ENGINE POWER EVEN THOUGH FORCE WAS APPLIED TO THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. THE VEHICLE WAS MERGED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WHERE THE ENGINE WAS TURNED OFF. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED AND RESUMED IN OPERATION NORMALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO REPLACED THE COMPUTER MOTHERBOARD. THE FAILURE RECURRED ONE MONTH AFTER THE REPAIR WAS PERFORMED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED FOR RECENT FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 124,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/15/2014 - SAINT GEORGE, UT
WILL HAPPEN INTERMITTENTLY, AS DESCRIBED BY OTHER GMC OWNERS. SEE SIMILAR ISSUE WITH OTHER OWNERS AT THIS ADDRESS: HTTP://WWW.GM-TRUCKS.COM/FORUMS/TOPIC/129454-MY-FIX-ON-MY-SILVERADO-ELECTRICAL-PROBLEM/?HL=STALLING SEE ALSO: NHTSA REFERENCE #10036550 TSB REFERENCE #PIT-4730A VEHICLE IS UNMODIFIED. THE ISSUE IS WITH THE BATTERY CABLES AND ATTACHMENT TO THE FRAME AND FUSE PANELS. AFFECTS A WIDE VARIETY OF GM AND CHEVY MODELS, AND SHOULD DEFINITELY HAVE A RECALL, AS THIS CAUSES A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION. WHAT HAPPENS IS : 1. TRUCK WILL BE RUNNING FINE, AS IT SHOULD. INTERMITTENTLY, WITHOUT WARNING WILL START HAVING DOOR LOCKS GO UP AND DOWN, ALONG WITH CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS, GAUGE CLUSTER RESETTING AND COMPLETE POWER LOSS TO THE ENGINE AND COMPONENTS (POWER STEERING, BRAKES, ETC.) 2. UPON SHUTTING OFF ENGINE EXPERIENCING FULL POWER LOSS. CANNOT CRANK ENGINE UNTIL POWER HAS BEEN RESTORED BY POPPING HOOD AND WIGGLING BATTERY TERMINAL CABLES. THE REASON WHY THIS IS DANGEROUS AND SHOULD HAVE AN IMMEDIATE RECALL, IS FIRST, WHEN THIS HAPPENED I WAS TRAVELING AT 80MPH. THE VEHICLE COMPLETELY SHUT OFF, CAUSING ME TO HAVE TO GUIDE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WITHOUT THE ABILITY TO USE BLINKER, POWER STEERING, OR POWER BRAKES. I HAVE COMMUNICATION WITH OTHER GM OWNERS OF THE SAME YEAR RANGE, BUT AFFECTING MULTIPLE GM AND CHEVY MODELS. (ONE IS 2009 YUKON, DESCRIBING THE SAME ISSUES.) I KNOW THAT THIS COMPLAINT HAS BEEN ISSUED BY OTHER PEOPLE AS WELL. IT IS TIME FOR ACTION.

View Details

ENGINE

5/23/2014 - SWAINSBORO, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 GMC 1500. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE LOST ALL ELECTRICAL POWER WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 127,000.

View Details

ENGINE

5/13/2014 - OAKLAND, TN
IN MODERATE TRAFFIC, I WAS TRAVELING SOUTH ON GERMANTOWN PKWY. AT A TRAFFIC SIGNAL, THE LIGHT CHANGED TO RED AND I STOPPED THE VEHICLE. AFTER A FEW MOMENTS AT A DEAD STOP , I NOTICED THE SPEEDOMETER JUMPING FROM 0 TO 10 AND THEN HIGHER.WITH NO INDICATION WHATSOEVER FROM INSTRUMENTATION, THE ENGINE STALLED. THERE WERE NO INDICATOR SIGNALS AT ALL. I WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE ENGINE AFTER PLACING THE SHIFT LEVER IN PARK AND TURNING THE KEY. I THEN CONTACTED ON STAR, AND REPORTED THE INCIDENT AND ASKED FOR A DIAGNOSTIC. THEY REPORTED "AN IGNITION PROBLEM" AND SAID I SHOULD SCHEDULE AN APPT WITH A DEALER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/13/2014 - OAKLAND, TN
IN MODERATE TRAFFIC, I WAS TRAVELING SOUTH ON GERMANTOWN PKWY. AT A TRAFFIC SIGNAL, THE LIGHT CHANGED TO RED AND I STOPPED THE VEHICLE. AFTER A FEW MOMENTS AT A DEAD STOP , I NOTICED THE SPEEDOMETER JUMPING FROM 0 TO 10 AND THEN HIGHER.WITH NO INDICATION WHATSOEVER FROM INSTRUMENTATION, THE ENGINE STALLED. THERE WERE NO INDICATOR SIGNALS AT ALL. I WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE ENGINE AFTER PLACING THE SHIFT LEVER IN PARK AND TURNING THE KEY. I THEN CONTACTED ON STAR, AND REPORTED THE INCIDENT AND ASKED FOR A DIAGNOSTIC. THEY REPORTED "AN IGNITION PROBLEM" AND SAID I SHOULD SCHEDULE AN APPT WITH A DEALER.

View Details

WHEELS

4/21/2014 - TUCSON , AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SPARE TIRE CABLE BECAME JAMMED. AS A RESULT, THE SPARE TIRE WAS UNABLE TO BE RELEASED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A PRIVATE MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SPARE TIRE HOIST NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

4/14/2014 - MONTEGUT, LA
ON APRIL 13 2014 MY TRUCK WAS LEAKING FUEL TOO BAD TO CONTINUE DRIVING. I HAVE BEEN SMELLING GAS FOR ABOUT A YEAR AND COULD NEVER FIND WHERE THE LEAK WAS COMING FROM. THEN ON APRIL 13TH WHILE I WAS DRIVING HOME I SMELLED GAS AND HAD TO PULL OVER, FRIGHTENED THAT THE TRUCK MIGHT CATCH FIRE AND EXPLODE. IT SEEMS THERE IS A LEAK AROUND THE FUEL TANK. I NOTIFIED GM AND THEY SAID THAT THEY WOULD ONLY PAY FOR A PORTION OF THE REPAIR. ANOTHER PROBLEM THAT STARTED ABOUT THE SAME TIME I STARTED SMELLING GAS WAS THAT THE KEY STARTED GETTING STUCK IN THE START POSITIOIN CONTINUALLY TURNING OVER THE STARTER. I THEN HAVE TO STRUGGLE FORCEFULLY TO GET THE KEY TO TURN TO THE OFF POSITION, FEARFUL OF CAUSING MORE DAMAGE TO MY VEHICLE OR POSSIBLY CATCHING FIRE. I DON'T UNDERSTAND HOW THESE TRUCKS DON'T HAVE A RECALL ON THEM!!

View Details

ENGINE

4/1/2014 - COLUMBIA, MO
I HAD A 2007 GMC SIERRA. THROUGHOUT THE LIFE OF THIS VEHICLE I'VE ASK WHY THE 5.3L MOTOR BURNS A QUART OF OIL OR MORE DURING OIL CHANGES. CONSTANTLY ASK MULTIPLE DEALERS TO INSPECT AND THEY CONTINUED TO STATE THAT'S JUST THIS ENGINE AND WOULD NEVER MARK PAPERWORK TO CHECK. ALWAYS STATED IT WILL BURN A LITTLE OIL IN BETWEEN OIL CHANGES. I CONTINUED TO BELIEVE THIS AS OTHER OWNERS OF THIS VEHICLE TYPE TOLD ME SAME INFORMATION. ON OR AROUND FEB 7, 2014 ENGINE DROPPED CYLINDERS AND LOST MOST POWER TO VEHICLE WHILE ON INTERSTATE. I'M CONCERNED AS IT LOST POWER AND DRAMATICALLY SLOWED BUT ALSO THAT I'VE HAD A FAULTY PRODUCT SINCE BUYING AND NO RECALL WAS ISSUED. I MAINTENANCED THIS VEHICLE PROPERLY. AFTER TELLING ME THE COST TO REPLACE THE 2 CYLINDERS OR ENGINE I HAD A DECISION TO MAKE. THIS ENGINE SHOULD BE RECALLED AS IT HAS MAJOR PROBLEMS. UNFORTUNATELY GM DIDN'T RECALL THE ENGINE AND FIX IT PROPERLY WITHIN MY WARRANTY TIMEFRAME. I EVEN BOUGHT EXTENDED WARRANTY. NOW I'VE HAD TO BUY NEW TRUCK WHICH I WOULDN'T HAVE BOUGHT IF ENGINE WAS STILL RUNNING IN 2007 GMC TRUCK. THESE "ECO" ENGINES NEED TO BE REVIEWED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds