Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC SIERRA 1500 - 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 99 complaints filed for the 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seat Belts (6) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electrical System (15) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (3) Structure (8) Visibility (2)
Engine (10) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (6) Suspension (7) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (7) Wheels (1)
Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (9) Unknown Or Other (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

4/6/2015 - LEXINGTON, OH
I WENT TO A LOCAL RECYCLE BUSINESS TO DROP OFF SOME CANS. UPON ENTERING THE BUILDING AT ABOUT 10 MPH, THIS GUY MOTION ME TO STOP AND WALKED IN FRONT OF THE TRUCK. I HIT THE BRAKES AND THE PEDDLE ALMOST WENT TO THE FLOOR, BUT DID STOP. JUST MISSING THE GUY THAT WALKED IN FRONT OF ME. REALIZING THAT A BRAKE LINE BROKE AND THAT THE DEALERSHIP WASN'T FAR AWAY, I DROVE REALLY SLOW TO GET THERE. I LEFT IT OVER THE WEEKEND. MONDAY THEY FOUND THAT THE BRAKE LINE THAT RUNS FROM FRONT TO REAR RUSTED AND BURST. $ 463. LATER I TOOK THE TRUCK HOME. AFTER CRAWLING UNDER THE TRUCK WHEN I GOT HOME, I NOTICED MORE BRAKE AND FUEL LINES WITH ALLOT OF RUST. I APPLIED SOME PAINT THAT'S SUPPOSED TO SLOW DOWN CORROSION. I'M GLAD I WASN'T ON THE HIGHWAY WITH MY GRAND KIDS IN THE TRUCK. OR WORSE, THE FUEL LINES COULD BREAK. I BELIEVE THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THE BRAKE AND FUEL LINES. HOW MUCH WOULD IT HAVE COST FOR THE MANUFACTURER TO HAVE INSTALLED STAINLESS STEEL LINES WHEN THE TRUCK WAS BUILT? I'M SURE IT WOULDN'T HAVE BEEN MUCH. I HOPE NOBODY HAS TO DIE BEFORE ANYTHING IS DONE. THANKS FOR YOUR ATTENTION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/31/2015 - WASHINGTON, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE JERKED VIOLENTLY WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED AND THE TRANSMISSION HAD TO BE REPLACED A SECOND TIME. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 25,499.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/3/2015 - PIERRE PART , LA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE TRACTION CONTROL WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED, THE INTERNAL/EXTERNAL LIGHTS INDEPENDENTLY FLASHED ON/OFF AND THE DOOR LOCKS INDEPENDENTLY LOCKED AND UNLOCKED. IN ADDITION, THE SPEEDOMETER GAUGE WOULD FLUCTUATE FROM 30 TO 50 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHO WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

12/9/2014 - ARMSTRONG, IA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE SEAT BELTS FAILED TO LATCH. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 107,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/13/2014 - LINCOLNTON, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 48 MPH, HE CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE AND THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED RIB INJURIES BUT DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 106,000.

View Details

ENGINE

9/22/2014 - ARCHER , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THERE WAS A REDUCTION IN THE ENGINE POWER EVEN THOUGH FORCE WAS APPLIED TO THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. THE VEHICLE WAS MERGED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WHERE THE ENGINE WAS TURNED OFF. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED AND RESUMED IN OPERATION NORMALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO REPLACED THE COMPUTER MOTHERBOARD. THE FAILURE RECURRED ONE MONTH AFTER THE REPAIR WAS PERFORMED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED FOR RECENT FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 124,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/15/2014 - SAINT GEORGE, UT
WILL HAPPEN INTERMITTENTLY, AS DESCRIBED BY OTHER GMC OWNERS. SEE SIMILAR ISSUE WITH OTHER OWNERS AT THIS ADDRESS: HTTP://WWW.GM-TRUCKS.COM/FORUMS/TOPIC/129454-MY-FIX-ON-MY-SILVERADO-ELECTRICAL-PROBLEM/?HL=STALLING SEE ALSO: NHTSA REFERENCE #10036550 TSB REFERENCE #PIT-4730A VEHICLE IS UNMODIFIED. THE ISSUE IS WITH THE BATTERY CABLES AND ATTACHMENT TO THE FRAME AND FUSE PANELS. AFFECTS A WIDE VARIETY OF GM AND CHEVY MODELS, AND SHOULD DEFINITELY HAVE A RECALL, AS THIS CAUSES A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION. WHAT HAPPENS IS : 1. TRUCK WILL BE RUNNING FINE, AS IT SHOULD. INTERMITTENTLY, WITHOUT WARNING WILL START HAVING DOOR LOCKS GO UP AND DOWN, ALONG WITH CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS, GAUGE CLUSTER RESETTING AND COMPLETE POWER LOSS TO THE ENGINE AND COMPONENTS (POWER STEERING, BRAKES, ETC.) 2. UPON SHUTTING OFF ENGINE EXPERIENCING FULL POWER LOSS. CANNOT CRANK ENGINE UNTIL POWER HAS BEEN RESTORED BY POPPING HOOD AND WIGGLING BATTERY TERMINAL CABLES. THE REASON WHY THIS IS DANGEROUS AND SHOULD HAVE AN IMMEDIATE RECALL, IS FIRST, WHEN THIS HAPPENED I WAS TRAVELING AT 80MPH. THE VEHICLE COMPLETELY SHUT OFF, CAUSING ME TO HAVE TO GUIDE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WITHOUT THE ABILITY TO USE BLINKER, POWER STEERING, OR POWER BRAKES. I HAVE COMMUNICATION WITH OTHER GM OWNERS OF THE SAME YEAR RANGE, BUT AFFECTING MULTIPLE GM AND CHEVY MODELS. (ONE IS 2009 YUKON, DESCRIBING THE SAME ISSUES.) I KNOW THAT THIS COMPLAINT HAS BEEN ISSUED BY OTHER PEOPLE AS WELL. IT IS TIME FOR ACTION.

View Details

ENGINE

5/23/2014 - SWAINSBORO, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 GMC 1500. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE LOST ALL ELECTRICAL POWER WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 127,000.

View Details

ENGINE

5/13/2014 - OAKLAND, TN
IN MODERATE TRAFFIC, I WAS TRAVELING SOUTH ON GERMANTOWN PKWY. AT A TRAFFIC SIGNAL, THE LIGHT CHANGED TO RED AND I STOPPED THE VEHICLE. AFTER A FEW MOMENTS AT A DEAD STOP , I NOTICED THE SPEEDOMETER JUMPING FROM 0 TO 10 AND THEN HIGHER.WITH NO INDICATION WHATSOEVER FROM INSTRUMENTATION, THE ENGINE STALLED. THERE WERE NO INDICATOR SIGNALS AT ALL. I WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE ENGINE AFTER PLACING THE SHIFT LEVER IN PARK AND TURNING THE KEY. I THEN CONTACTED ON STAR, AND REPORTED THE INCIDENT AND ASKED FOR A DIAGNOSTIC. THEY REPORTED "AN IGNITION PROBLEM" AND SAID I SHOULD SCHEDULE AN APPT WITH A DEALER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/13/2014 - OAKLAND, TN
IN MODERATE TRAFFIC, I WAS TRAVELING SOUTH ON GERMANTOWN PKWY. AT A TRAFFIC SIGNAL, THE LIGHT CHANGED TO RED AND I STOPPED THE VEHICLE. AFTER A FEW MOMENTS AT A DEAD STOP , I NOTICED THE SPEEDOMETER JUMPING FROM 0 TO 10 AND THEN HIGHER.WITH NO INDICATION WHATSOEVER FROM INSTRUMENTATION, THE ENGINE STALLED. THERE WERE NO INDICATOR SIGNALS AT ALL. I WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE ENGINE AFTER PLACING THE SHIFT LEVER IN PARK AND TURNING THE KEY. I THEN CONTACTED ON STAR, AND REPORTED THE INCIDENT AND ASKED FOR A DIAGNOSTIC. THEY REPORTED "AN IGNITION PROBLEM" AND SAID I SHOULD SCHEDULE AN APPT WITH A DEALER.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds