Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC SIERRA 1500 - 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 67 complaints filed for the 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Exterior Lighting (1) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (7)
Electrical System (12) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Power Train (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (9) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seat Belts (3) Steering (4) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (3) Structure (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (7)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/10/2013 - PASADENA, MD
ONE OF THE ELECTRICALLY POWERED, FOLDING EXTERNAL MIRROR ASSEMBLIES BECAME INOPERABLE ON MY 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500 PICKUP TRUCK WHICH LED TO THE ENTIRE MIRROR ASSEMBLY BECOMING LOOSE. THE RESULT WAS THAT THE MIRROR ASSEMBLY WILL SLIGHTLY MOVE BACK AND FORTH WHILE DRIVING, CAUSING THE DRIVER TO ERRONEOUSLY SENSE MOVEMENT OF HIS VEHICLE OR ERRONEOUS MOVEMENT OF AN ADJACENT VEHICLE. THIS FALSE SENSING OF VEHICLE MOVEMENT IS VERY DISTRACTING, CAUSING A DRIVER TO LOSE FOCUS ON THE ROAD AND TO LOSE FOCUS ON THE OPERATION OF HIS VEHICLE. THE CONDITION IS DISTRACTING ENOUGH THAT IT MAY, IN SOME DRIVERS, INDUCE VERTIGO WHICH COULD LEAD TO CATASTROPHIC RESULTS. ## VIN FAILED ##

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/10/2013 - PASADENA, MD
ONE OF THE ELECTRICALLY POWERED, FOLDING EXTERNAL MIRROR ASSEMBLIES BECAME INOPERABLE ON MY 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500 PICKUP TRUCK WHICH LED TO THE ENTIRE MIRROR ASSEMBLY BECOMING LOOSE. THE RESULT WAS THAT THE MIRROR ASSEMBLY WILL SLIGHTLY MOVE BACK AND FORTH WHILE DRIVING, CAUSING THE DRIVER TO ERRONEOUSLY SENSE MOVEMENT OF HIS VEHICLE OR ERRONEOUS MOVEMENT OF AN ADJACENT VEHICLE. THIS FALSE SENSING OF VEHICLE MOVEMENT IS VERY DISTRACTING, CAUSING A DRIVER TO LOSE FOCUS ON THE ROAD AND TO LOSE FOCUS ON THE OPERATION OF HIS VEHICLE. THE CONDITION IS DISTRACTING ENOUGH THAT IT MAY, IN SOME DRIVERS, INDUCE VERTIGO WHICH COULD LEAD TO CATASTROPHIC RESULTS. ## VIN FAILED ##

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/10/2013 - PASADENA, MD
ONE OF THE ELECTRICALLY POWERED, FOLDING EXTERNAL MIRROR ASSEMBLIES BECAME INOPERABLE ON MY 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500 PICKUP TRUCK WHICH LED TO THE ENTIRE MIRROR ASSEMBLY BECOMING LOOSE. THE RESULT WAS THAT THE MIRROR ASSEMBLY WILL SLIGHTLY MOVE BACK AND FORTH WHILE DRIVING, CAUSING THE DRIVER TO ERRONEOUSLY SENSE MOVEMENT OF HIS VEHICLE OR ERRONEOUS MOVEMENT OF AN ADJACENT VEHICLE. THIS FALSE SENSING OF VEHICLE MOVEMENT IS VERY DISTRACTING, CAUSING A DRIVER TO LOSE FOCUS ON THE ROAD AND TO LOSE FOCUS ON THE OPERATION OF HIS VEHICLE. THE CONDITION IS DISTRACTING ENOUGH THAT IT MAY, IN SOME DRIVERS, INDUCE VERTIGO WHICH COULD LEAD TO CATASTROPHIC RESULTS. ## VIN FAILED ##

View Details

TIRES

2/23/2013 - LAKE GENEVA, WI
ON FEB 21,2013 MY WIFE WAS ON THE INTERSTATE WHEN A LEFT REAR TIRE EXPLODED,SHE WAS TO ABLE TO GET OFF THE ROAD AND SHE CALLED ME WHERE I CALLED FOR ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE,,I THEN DROVE THE 40 MILES TO WHERE SHE WAS AND HELPED CHANGE THE TIRE ,WHERE WE DETERMINED THE SIDEWALL LET LOOSE,THE TIRE WAS A GOODYEAR WRANGLER P265/70R17 113S ATS TIRE,AFTER READING SOME OF THE COMPLAINTS ON THIS PAGE,THIS TIRE SHOULD BE RECALLED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/9/2012 - FAIRMONT, NC
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE AT A RATE OF 20 MPH AND STARTED STOPPING AND NOTICE THE BRAKES WHERE GOING OUT. I HAD THEN LOST BRAKE PRESSURE ALTOGETHER. USED THE PARKING BRAKE TO GET STOPPED AFTER PUTTING THE VEHICLE INTO NEUTRAL. I HAD THE TRUCK TOWED TO MY LOCAL INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND HE CHECKED THE VEHICLE AND FOUND ALL THE BRAKE LINES TO BE RUSTED OUT, AND HAD LOST ALL BRAKE FLUID. UPON FINDING THIS HE FOUND THE MAJORITY OF THE UNDERCARRIAGE TO HAVE SEVERE RUST DAMAGE AN SEVERAL PARTS ALSO.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/9/2012 - FAIRMONT, NC
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE AT A RATE OF 20 MPH AND STARTED STOPPING AND NOTICE THE BRAKES WHERE GOING OUT. I HAD THEN LOST BRAKE PRESSURE ALTOGETHER. USED THE PARKING BRAKE TO GET STOPPED AFTER PUTTING THE VEHICLE INTO NEUTRAL. I HAD THE TRUCK TOWED TO MY LOCAL INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND HE CHECKED THE VEHICLE AND FOUND ALL THE BRAKE LINES TO BE RUSTED OUT, AND HAD LOST ALL BRAKE FLUID. UPON FINDING THIS HE FOUND THE MAJORITY OF THE UNDERCARRIAGE TO HAVE SEVERE RUST DAMAGE AN SEVERAL PARTS ALSO.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/9/2012 - FAIRMONT, NC
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE AT A RATE OF 20 MPH AND STARTED STOPPING AND NOTICE THE BRAKES WHERE GOING OUT. I HAD THEN LOST BRAKE PRESSURE ALTOGETHER. USED THE PARKING BRAKE TO GET STOPPED AFTER PUTTING THE VEHICLE INTO NEUTRAL. I HAD THE TRUCK TOWED TO MY LOCAL INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND HE CHECKED THE VEHICLE AND FOUND ALL THE BRAKE LINES TO BE RUSTED OUT, AND HAD LOST ALL BRAKE FLUID. UPON FINDING THIS HE FOUND THE MAJORITY OF THE UNDERCARRIAGE TO HAVE SEVERE RUST DAMAGE AN SEVERAL PARTS ALSO.

View Details

ENGINE

9/5/2012 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH, THE VEHICLE STARTED SMOKING FROM UNDER THE HOOD. THE VEHICLE WAS MERGED ONTO THE SHOULDER AND THEN EXPLODED IN FLAMES. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. BOTH THE POLICE AND FIRE DEPARTMENTS WERE NOTIFIED, AND A FIRE REPORT WAS FILED. THE ORIGIN OF THE FIRE WAS UNKNOWN. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. NEITHER THE DEALER NOR THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

12/25/2011 - FAYETTEVILLE, NC
I OWN A 2007 GMC SIERRA 1500 CREW CAB. I HAVE SOME ISSUES WHEN I START MY TRUCK IN THE MORNINGS, I GET A TAPPING NOISE AS IF THERE ARE LIFTERS STUCK OR NOT GETTING SUFFICIENT OIL. I HAVE ALWAYS USED THE RECOMMENDED AC OIL FILTERS THAT I PURCHASE FROM THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP PARTS CENTER SO I KNOW THAT THE FILTER IS NOT THE PROBLEM. I AM A MECHANIC SO I KNOW WHAT AN ENGINE IS SUPPOSED TO SOUND LIKE. THE NOISE WILL CONTINUE UNTIL THE ENGINE WARMS UP WHICH IS APPROXIMATELY 10-15 MINUTES AND IS VERY ANNOYING. I AM CURRENTLY DEPLOYED TO KANDAHAR, AFGHANISTAN IN SUPPORT OF OPERATION ENDURING FREEDOM AND SCHEDULE TO RETURN TO THE US IN LATE MARCH 2012. I SPOKE TO MY WIFE TODAY AND SHE SAID THAT EVERY TIME SHE START THE VEHICLE FOR THE FIRST TIME THE NOISE IS THERE. I WOULD APPRECIATE IF YOU COULD ANSWER MY QUESTION CONCERNING THIS ISSUE. I LIKE THE TRUCK BUT THE ENGINE NOISE HAS TO GO. LIKE I SAID BEFORE I HAVE BEEN A MECHANIC FOR OVER 30 YEARS ON CONSTRUCTION EQUIPMENT AND AUTOMOTIVE EQUIPMENT FOR THE US ARMY. PLEASE DO NOT TRY TO GIVE ME A SHORT ANSWER TO TRY TO GET RID OF ME, I KNOW BETTER. THE CRANKCASE IS FULL OF OIL TO THE CORRECT LEVEL ON THE DIPSTICK AND I USE THE RECOMMENDED 5W30 OIL. WHY AM I HAVING THIS ISSUE? NOTE: I AM DEPLOYED SO PLEASE DON'T TRY TO CONTACT ME BY PHONE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

8/11/2011 - WORCESTER, MA
MY 2007 GMC SIERRA HAS FAULTY ABS SENSORS WHICH ACTIVATE AT LOW SPEED STOPS AND GREATLY EXTENDS THE STOPPING DISTANCE OF THE VEHICLE. SEARCHING THE INTERNET USENET LIST IT SEEMS THAT A GOOD PORTION OF GM FULLSIZE PICKUPS AND SUVS HAVE FAULTY ABS BRAKE SENSORS WHICH ACTIVATE DURING LOW SPEED BRAKING. 1999 - 2007 VEHICLES SEEM TO BE THE MOST AFFECTED AND INCLUDE SIERRA, YUKON, SUBURBAN, AND SILVERADO TRUCKS. GM HAS KNOWN ABOUT THE ISSUE FOR MANY YEARS AND HAS ISSUED A SERVICE BULLETIN ON THE ISSUE BUT FAILED TO ISSUE RECALL, THIS LEAVES THE OWNER STUCK WITH THE PROBLEM TO DEAL WITH ON THEIR OWN.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds