Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2007 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 667 complaints filed for the 2007 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (26) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (4) Service Brakes Air (10) Tires (16)
Child Seat (3) Exterior Lighting (3) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (10) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (40) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Power Train (68) Service Brakes Hydraulic (137) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electronic Stability Control (21) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seat Belts (10) Steering (94) Vehicle Speed Control (27)
Engine (37) Interior Lighting (3) Seats (3) Structure (100) Visibility (11)
Engine And Engine Cooling (35) Latches Locks Linkages (17) Service Brakes (53) Suspension (18) Wheels (9)
Equipment (25)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 67
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/15/2016 - NATIONAL CITY, CA
SUDDEN, UNCONTROLLED ACCELERATION OF THE ENGINE: THREE TIMES WITHIN THE LAST WEEK OUR 2007 HONDA ODYSSEY STARTED RAPIDLY ACCELERATING (REV-ING) WHILE I WAS APPLYING BRAKES AS I WAS COMING TO A STOP SIGN. I AVOIDED A POSSIBLE ACCIDENT BY APPLYING STIFF BRAKING PRESSURE WHILE RAPIDLY PUTTING THE CAR IN PARK AND THEN TURNING OFF THE ENGINE. ONLY AFTER I TURNED OFF THE IGNITION DID THE CAR STOP REV-ING. THAT SEEMED TO FIX IT THE FIRST AND SECOND TIME BECAUSE WHEN I TURNED THE CAR BACK ON AGAIN, IT BEHAVED NORMALLY FOR THE REST OF THE TRIP. THE THIRD TIME IT HAPPENED AS I WAS SLOWING AND COMING TO A STOP BEHIND ANOTHER CAR, AND AFTER I HAD TURNED OFF THE IGNITION, IT STARTING REVING AGAIN JUST AS SOON AS THE ENGINE STARTED. SO I TURNED IT OFF AGAIN AND COUNTED TO TEN, AND THEN IT STARTED NORMALLY. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY CANNOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG. THEY SAY IT MIGHT BE SOMETHING TO DO WITH THE THROTTLE BODY (WHATEVER THAT IS) AND THEY SAY THEY OPENED IT UP AND CLEANED IT OUT, BUT REALLY COULDN'T SAY WHAT MIGHT HAVE CAUSED IT. THIS IS REALLY SCARY BECAUSE IF I HADN'T BEEN ABLE TO REACT QUICKLY AND APPLY STIFF BRAKING PRESSURE, I COULD HAVE CONTINUED INTO TRAFFIC WHERE I ALMOST CERTAINLY WOULD HAVE BEEN HIT BY CROSS TRAFFIC (THE FIRST TWO TIMES) OR WOULD HAVE RUN INTO THE CAR THAT WAS STOPPED AHEAD OF ME (THIS LAST TIME). (BY "REV-ING" I MEAN THE ENGINE IS RACING, I.E., MAKING LOTS OF REVOLUTIONS PER MINUTE. AS IF THE DRIVER WAS STEPPING ON THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL.)

View Details

ENGINE

8/15/2016 - JANESVILLE, WI
THE ENGINE STALLS. THIS HAS OCCURRED MANY TIMES OVER THE LAST YEAR. IT APPEARS TO BE RANDOM BUT HAS BEEN OCCURRING MORE FREQUENTLY THE PAST FEW MONTHS. LAST WEEK IT STALLED 3 TIMES. THE STALLING USUALLY OCCURS DURING THE SUMMER MONTHS. IT OCCURS WHEN COMING TO A STOP OR WHEN I AM STOPPED. IT HAS OCCURRED ONE TIME WHILE BACKING UP. YOU CAN TELL WHEN IT IS GOING TO HAPPEN. THE ENGINE SEEMS TO START RUNNING ROUGH. WHEN STOPPED, THE ENGINE WILL BE AT 800 OR 900 REVS AND THEN SUDDENLY DROP THEN JUMP UP AND THEN THE ENGINE WILL SHUT OFF. I PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL AND START THE ENGINE. IT ALWAYS STARTS FINE. IT HAPPENS ON HOT AND COOL DAYS, RAINY AND SUNNY DAYS. IT HAPPENS WITH THE AC ON OR THE AC OFF. I HAVE TRIED USING GAS EXCLUSIVELY FROM EXXON AND THEN EXCLUSIVELY FROM BP FOR MONTHS AT TA TIME IN EACH CASE. NO DIFFERENCE. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO A MECHANIC AND TO THE DEALERSHIP MULTIPLE TIMES. NOTHING EVER SHOWS UP ON THE COMPUTER. I EVEN HAD IT STALL AS I PARKED IT AT THE DEALERSHIP. THE DEALERSHIP NOR THE MECHANICS HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO FIND A PROBLEM. TO TRY SOMETHING, I HAD THE SPARK PLUGS CHANGED AND A TUNE UP DONE. THE VEHICLE STALLED THE NEXT DAY. I HAVE REPORTED THE PROBLEM TO HONDA AUTOMOTIVE USA. THEY GAVE ME NO HELP OR SOLUTION OTHER THAN TAKING IT TO THE DEALERSHIP. I AM VERY LEERY TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE. I DON'T FEEL SAFE!

View Details

ENGINE

6/28/2016 - ROCKY RIVER, OH
ENGINE MOUNTS WENT BAD. WHEN ACCELERATING FROM A STOPPED POSITION, THE CAR APPEARS TO JUMP. TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND BOTH THE FRONT AND BACK ENGINE MOUNTS WERE CRACKED. VERY EXPENSIVE TO REPLACE. DEALER SAID IT'S NOT A COMMON PROBLEM ON MOST CARS, BUT HE'S HAD SEVERAL HONDA ODYSSEYS COME IN WITH THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

STEERING

6/20/2016 - GAITHERSBURG, MD
STEERING WHEEL IS HARD TO TURN QUICKLY AT LOW SPEEDS, AND WHILE AT PARKING. I KNEW THAT WAS A PROBLEM IN 2010 IN THOUSAND OF THESE VEHICLE, WHICH HONDA REPLACED THE PART, WITH TWO EFFORTS, AFTER BEING SUPPLIED WITH WRONG PART IN THE PAST. I TOOK MY CAR TO LOCAL HONDA DEALER TODAY (HARSONS HONDA), WHO COMPLAINED THE SAME THING, AND WANTS ME TO REPLACE THE POWER STEERING PUMP DURING MY TIMING BELT CHANGE. I ASK THEN WHETHER THEY CAN LOOK FOR, WHETHER MY VAN HAS THE CORRECT PART (WHICH PROBABLY HAVE), BUT SAID THERE IS A NO WAY TO CHECK UNLESS I HAVE THE INVOICE, WHICH I DEFINITELY HAVE NOT, AS I PURCHASED FROM A PRIVATE OWNER. HOWEVER, THE SYMPTOMS LOOK LIKE THE SAME (WHICH TECHNICIAN COMPLAINT DUE TO FAILURE IN POWER STEERING PUMP, BUT DID NOT TELL ANYTHING ABOUT THE PART, SEE ATTACHED REPORT), THAT IT IS HAVING THE SAME ISSUE, WHICH THOUSANDS OF ODYSSEY OWNER FACED BEFORE. I WANT TO MAKE SURE, THAT IT HAS A RIGHT PART ON IT (EVEN AGED OUT), OR EVEN IT IS FIXED; IT MIGHT HAVE GONE WRONG. I WANT THIS ISSUE IS TO BE RESOLVED AS HONDA SHOULD LOOK INTO THIS SEROUS SAFETY ISSUE, WHICH HONDA ALSO ADMITS BACK IN 2011 (SEE ATTACHED).

View Details

EQUIPMENT: AIR CONDITIONER

6/17/2016 - BRONX, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 HONDA ODYSSEY. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED WITH THE AIR CONDITIONER ACTIVATED, HOT AIR BLEW OUT OF THE AIR VENTS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, BUT THE FAILURE WAS UNABLE TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WAS A HOLE IN THE CONDENSER AND THE CONDENSER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 34,000.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

6/7/2016 - CHERRY HILL, NJ
2007 HONDA ODYSSEY. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE PAINT CHIPPING DAMAGES. THE DEALER INFORMED THE CONSUMER THE PAINT CHIPPING WAS A KNOWN ISSUE FOR HER MODEL AND COLOR VEHICLE. ALSO, THE CONSUMER EXPERIENCED A PROBLEM WITH THE LOCKING MECHANISM.

View Details

STRUCTURE

6/7/2016 - CHERRY HILL, NJ
2007 HONDA ODYSSEY. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE PAINT CHIPPING DAMAGES. THE DEALER INFORMED THE CONSUMER THE PAINT CHIPPING WAS A KNOWN ISSUE FOR HER MODEL AND COLOR VEHICLE. ALSO, THE CONSUMER EXPERIENCED A PROBLEM WITH THE LOCKING MECHANISM.

View Details

STEERING

5/31/2016 - CANYON COUNTRY, CA
THE POWER STEERING PUMP IN MY HONDA ODYSSEY 2007 IS POORLY CONSTRUCTED. IT WAS GIVING ME TROUBLE SINCE THE BEGINNING, BUT RECENTLY, THE STEERING WHEEL IS VERY HARD TO TURN AND IT OFTEN GETS STUCK. I TOOK IT TO MY LOCAL MIDAS FOR INVESTIGATION AND THEY ARE ESTIMATING THE REPAIRS DUE TO THE POWER STEERING PUMP NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. THE ESTIMATED CHARGE FOR REPAIR IS ABOUT $870. HONDA SAYS THAT IT'S ELIGIBLE FOR A RECALL REPAIR UNTIL 2014, BUT THEY DID NOT SEND ME A LETTER OR NOTIFICATION REGARDING THE RECALL. WHEN AMERICAN HONDA WAS CONTACTED, THEY ASKED ME TO CONTACT THE SERVICE MANAGER IN MY LOCAL DEALERSHIP BECAUSE THE DEALERSHIP IS SUPPOSED TO INFORM ME ABOUT THE RECALL. I CALLED THE SERVICE MANAGER BUT NO REPLY RECEIVED. I AM DRIVING A UNSAFE VEHICLE WITH TWO SMALL CHILDREN AND I CANT AFFORD SUCH COSTLY REPAIRS.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/27/2016 - FAIRFAX, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A MANUFACTURER RECALL IN REGARDS TO THE VEHICLE STABILITY ASSIST. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, A REPAIR WAS SCHEDULED AND THEY INDICATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT YEARS LATER, THE FAILURE RECURRED WITH THE VSA WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURERS RECALL REMEDY DID NOT PREVENT THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA ACTION NUMBER: PE13024 (ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/7/2016 - RACINE, WI
I RECEIVED A LETTER DETAILING THE REACALL ON MY 2007 HONDA ODDYSEY' S VSA MODULE. I BROUGHT IN MY VEHICLE TO HAVE THE PROBLEM FIXED. THE VEHICLE DID NOT HAVE ANY OBSERVABLE ISSUES, BEFORE I BROUGHT IT IN TO THE RACINE, WI HONDA DEALERSHIP. AFTER THE WORK WAS PREFORMED I OBSERVED THAT WHEN THE VEHICLES HEADLIGHTS WERE ON, THE CRUISE CONTROL, AND REAR BRAKE LIGHTS WERE NO LONGER OPERATIONAL, AND THE VSA LIGHT WOULD ILLUMINATE ON THE DASHBOARD AFTER THE LIGHT SWITCH HAD BEEN ENGAGED FOR 7 LITERAL MINUTES. THIS ISSUE ONLY OCCURS WHEN THE HEADLIGHT SWITCH IS ENGAGED. I HAVE BROUGHT THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP ON 4 SEPERATE OCCASIONS, AND THEY HAVE BEEN UNWILLING, AND UNABLE TO FIX THE PROBLEM. WHEN THEY OBSERVED THE PROBLEM WITH MY VEHICLE, THE HONDA MECHANIC SAYS THAT THE ERROR CODES THAT ARE SHOWING UP ARE IMPOSSIBLE TO BE OCCURING, AND THAT HE'S NEVER SEEN ANYTHING LIKE IT BEFORE. THEY THEN TRY TO UPSELL ME, ON VARIOUS COMPONENTS ON THE VEHICLE, THAT HAVE NO OBSERVABLE DEFECTS. I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE BECAUSE I HAVE THREE YOUNG CHILDREN, AND WAS UNDER THE IMPRESSION THAT HONDA ODDYSEY' S WERE RELIABLE. AFTER GETTING PULLED OVER SEVERAL TIMES BY LOCAL LAW ENFORCEMENT FOR DRIVING WITHOUT BRAKE LIGHTS AT NIGHT, I HAVE BEEN FORCED TO PARK THE VEHICLE. I BROUGHT THE VEHICLE TO THE KENOSHA HONDA DEALERSHIP, AND THEY SAID THAT THEY WOULD NOT PERFORM THE NECESSARY REPAIRS, SINCE THE RECALL WORK WAS DONE AT ANOTHER DEALERSHIP. AS A SINGLE FATHER OF THREE, I AM BEYOND FRUSTRATION WITH HONDA'S INDIFFERENCE TO THIS ISSUE, AND "CATCH US IF YOU CAN" ATTITUDE. BECAUSE OF THE DEFECTIVE REMEDY TO THE VSA RECALL, I AM UNABLE TO DRIVE THIS VEHICLE WHICH I STILL OWE $6000 ON ($315 MONTHLY). BECAUSE OF THIS ISSUE THE VEHICLE ONLY HAS A RESALE VALUE OF ABOUT $800, ,AND THE TOYOTA DEALERSHIP SAID THAT THEY WERE ESSENTIALLY UNINTERESTED, IN TAKING THIS VEHICLE IN AS A TRADE-IN. HELP!!!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 67
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds