Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2007 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 586 complaints filed for the 2007 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (4) Service Brakes Air (10) Tires (15)
Child Seat (3) Exterior Lighting (3) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (10) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (30) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (64) Service Brakes Hydraulic (136) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electronic Stability Control (14) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seat Belts (10) Steering (83) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Engine (24) Interior Lighting (3) Seats (2) Structure (87) Visibility (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (35) Latches Locks Linkages (16) Service Brakes (48) Suspension (17) Wheels (9)
Equipment (23)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 61
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

11/15/2014 - LOUISVILLE, CO
THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WENT ON WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON A FOUR LANE HIGHWAY AT 65 MPH. THERE WAS NO WARNING OR PREVIOUS SIGN OF PROBLEMS. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN DRIVEN UNDER HARSH CONDITIONS, AND IT WAS MAINTAINED APPROPRIATELY. I WAS ABLE TO PULL CAR INTO A DEALERSHIP WITHIN LESS THAN 1 MILE. I FELT I HAD LOST ACCELERATION AND POWER. IT TURNS OUT THAT THE SPARK PLUG BLEW THROUGH THE ALUMINUM CYLINDER HEAD AND I LOST 2 CYLINDERS ON A V6 ENGINE. I'M TOLD THAT METAL DROPPED INTO THE CYLINDER SCORING IT DEEPLY ENOUGH THAT IT CAN'T BE REPAIRED. THERE APPEARS TO BE A WEALTH OF DOCUMENTATION OF THIS PROBLEM FOR HONDA ENGINES AND HONDA HAS DENIED ANY DEFECT OR RESPONSIBILITY. FORTUNATELY, I WAS NOT IN ANY ACCIDENT OR INJURED BUT THIS SEEMS TO BE A SAFETY PROBLEM, HAD I BEEN ON A MAJOR FREEWAY, I'M NOT SURE THIS WOULD HAVE WORKED OUT THE SAME. THE CAR WILL NOW HAVE TO BE TOTALED A THE REPAIR COSTS CANNOT BE JUSTIFIED ($6,000-7,500). HONDA OFFERED NO GOOD WILL IN ANY WAY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/5/2014 - EL CAJON, CA
THE PASSENGER SIDE POWER SLIDING REAR DOOR BEGAN INTERMITTENTLY HAVING ISSUES CLOSING-IT WOULD CLOSE ABOUT 75% OF THE WAY, THEN BEEP AS IT DOES IF THERE IS AN OBJECT BLOCKING IT'S PATH, THEN OPEN BACK UP. I WOULD HAVE TO PULL THE DOOR TO HELP GUIDE IT CLOSED. BEFORE I COULD GET IT TO THE HONDA DEALER, THE DRIVER SIDE POWER SLIDING REAR DOOR BEGAN DOING SOMETHING SIMILAR. IT WOULD CLOSE ONLY ABOUT 90%, BUT I WAS UNABLE TO PULL IT FULLY CLOSED. I FLIPPED THE SWITCH TO TURN THE DOORS FROM POWER OPERATION TO MANUAL OPERATION, THINKING EVERYTHING WOULD BE OK. I WAS ABLE TO GET THE DRIVER SIDE SLIDING DOOR CLOSED MANUALLY. HOWEVER, WHEN WE ARRIVED AT OUR DESTINATION, I TRIED TO OPEN THE PASSENGER SIDE SLIDING DOOR (SWITCH WAS STILL IN THE MANUAL POSITION), AND WAS ONLY ABLE TO OPEN IT ABOUT 8-10 INCHES. I COULD NOT GET MY 2 YR OLD DAUGHTER OUT OF HER CAR SEAT. I PUSHED WITH ALL OF MY STRENGTH, AND IT WOULD NOT BUDGE. I RAN BACK AROUND, FLIPPED THE SWITCH BACK TO AUTO, AND WAS ABLE TO GET THE DOOR OPEN THAT WAY. HOWEVER, THIS ORDEAL HAS SHOWN ME A SEVERE SAFETY FLAW WITH THE POWER SLIDING DOORS ON THE 2007 ODYSSEY. IF WE HAD BEEN IN A SITUATION WHERE THE VEHICLE WAS ON FIRE--POSSIBLY FROM THE NOW RECALLED FUEL MECHANISM THAT CAN CATCH FIRE--I WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO GET THEM OUT. IN AN EMERGENCY, WHEN EVERY SECOND COUNTS, THE DOOR ISSUE COULD LITERALLY HAVE MADE THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN LIFE AND DEATH. MY HUSBAND LOOKED AT THE DOOR THAT EVENING, AND HE, TOO, WAS UNABLE TO GET THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR TO BUDGE WHEN SET TO MANUAL OPERATION. HE HAD TO LIFT THE BACK OF IT AND PULL IT OPEN. ALSO, HE LOOKED AT THE DRIVERS SIDE SLIDING DOOR AND NOTICED METAL SHAVINGS ON THE DOOR WHERE METAL HAD LITERALLY BEEN GRINDING ON METAL. THE ROLLER MECHANISM IS NO LONGER WORKING. I AM TAKING IT IN TO MY LOCAL HONDA DEALER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: ALTERNATOR/GENERATOR/REGULATOR

10/30/2014 - HARRISBURG, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED AS ALL OF THE LIGHTS ON THE INSTRUMENTAL PANEL ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED AFTER A FEW MINUTES BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED THREE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE ALTERNATOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 98,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/30/2014 - PADUCAH, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FAILURE STARTED TOO OCCURRED AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V500000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) AND NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V112000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). PRIOR TO THE RECALL REPAIR, THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE.THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 139,383.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/29/2014 - FREMONT, CA
I HAVEN'T HEARD BACK FROM HONDA DEALERSHIP IN MILPITAS (920 THOMPSON ST, MILPITAS, CA 95035) EVEN AFTER REPEATED ATTEMPTS TO SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT FOR THE RECALL NOTICE I HAVE RECEIVED REGARDING VSA. I HAVE LEFT VM AND SENT AN EMAIL THROUGH THEIR WEBSITE REGARDING THE RECALL NOTICE AND TO SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT. THANKS MANOJ

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/27/2014 - UPPER DABRY , PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE HAVING THE VEHICLE SERVICED FOR AN UNRELATED FAILURE, THE DEALER DISCOVERED THAT THE SRS SENSOR FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 103,000.

View Details

STEERING

10/26/2014 - FALKVILLE, AL
THE CONDITION WAS FIRST NOTICED SHORTLY AFTER AQUIRING THE VEHICLE IN A PARKING LOT WHILE TRYING TO NEGOTIATE A TURN. THE VEHICLE STEERING WAS NORMAL AT FIRST AND THEN SUDDENLY REQUIRED EXCESSIVE FORCE TO TURN THE STEERING WHEEL. HEAVY BRAKING WAS REQUIRED TO AVOID A COLLISION WITH ANOTHER VEHICLE. IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING THIS EXPERIENCE, AFTER GETTING THE VEHICLE TO A SAFE LOCATION, I ATTEMPTED TO TURN THE STEERING WHEEL BOTH DIRECTIONS WHILE STOPPED AND AT LOW SPEEDS, (APPROXIMATELY 0-10 MPH) AND NOTICED THE CONDITION CONSISTANTLY FOR APPROXIMATELY 2-3 MINUTES. I THEN PARKED THE VEHICLE. I CHECKED THE FLUID LEVEL AND IT WAS WITHIN THE MIN AND MAX LEVELS. AFTER RETURNING TO THE VEHICLE LATER THAT DAY, THE STEERING WAS FUNCTIONING NORMALLY. THE CONDITION HAS SINCE COME AND GONE SEVERAL TIMES (APPROXIMATELY 1-2 TIMES / WEEK) AND MY HONDA DEALER HAS JUST SHRUGGED IT OFF SAYING THAT IF I CAN'T REPRODUCE THE PROBLEM WHILE AT THEIR SHOP, THERE'S NOTHING THEY CAN DO. I HAD THE SAME ISSUE WITH A 2006 HONDA ODYSSEY AND THE DEALER REFUSED TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT EVEN WHILE UNDER WARRANTY. AFTER DOING SOME RESEARCH, I HAVE FOUND THAT THERE ARE TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETINS ISSUED BY HONDA TO THEIR DEALERS FOR THIS EXACT ISSUE, BUT THE DEALER STILL REFUSES TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM. THE SAFETY ISSUE ARRISES ESPECIALLY WHEN SOMEONE UNFAMILIAR WITH THE VEHICLE DRIVES IT AS WHEN MY MOTHER USED MY VAN TO TRANSPORT MY THREE CHILDREN. WHEN ATTEMPTING TO PULL OUR INTO TRAFFIC SHE WAS UNABLE TO KEEP THE VEHICLE IN HER LANE. FORTUNATELY THE OTHER DRIVER WAS ABLE TO AVOID HER. I UNDERSTAND THAT VEHICLE COMPONENTS ARE NOT DESIGNED TO LAST FOREVER AND I DO NOT HAVE A PROBLEM WITH REPAIRS. HOWEVER, THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE FROM THE MANUFACTURER WHICH THEY ARE VERY RELUCTANT TO CORRECT. DATE & MILEAGE ARE APPROXIMATE.

View Details

ENGINE

10/24/2014 - BIDDEFORD, ME
MY 2007 HONDA ODYSSEY TOURING VAN HAD A PROBLEM WITH THE ENGINE ICON APPEARING ON MY DASH. I CALLED MY DEALER, FOR THIS PROBLEM WASN'T RESOLVED ON THE LAST SERVICE VISIT. THEY SAID TO BRING IT IN. I ADDED 3/4 QT. OF OIL DUE TO THE OIL LEVEL, AT LAST CHECK FINE, NOW INDICATED THE LEVEL TO BE AT ITS LOWEST POINT IN THE APPROVED RANGE FOR RUNABILITY. SERVICES PERFORMED, AND WHEN I PICKED IT UP, I NOTICED THE ENGINE ICON STILL FLASHING ON THE DASH. WENT IN TO GET A SERVICE ADVISOR TO VIEW, AND ON A SECOND RE-START THIS HAD DISAPPEARED. THINKING ALL WAS NOW WELL (AND WAS THIS POSSIBLY TIED TO A SOFTWARE UPDATE SERVICE?), TOOK THE VEHICLE ABOUT 35 MILES HOME TO A GROCERY STORE. WHEN I HAD FINISHED SHOPPING, AND STARTED MY VAN, THERE IT WAS AGAIN, THE ENGINE ICON, FLASHING AWAY. THE NEXT DAY I REPORTED THIS TO MY DEALER, AND THEY SAID BRING IT IN. AS THE ENGINE WAS VISIBLY HOT, I SAID I WOULD TRY AND HOPED TO MAKE IT THERE. GETTING OF THE TURNPIKE EXIT, MY VAN ENGINE QUIT AND LUCKILY I COASTED IN TO A PARK 'N RIDE PARKING LOT. I CALLED MY DEALER TO FIND OUT THEY HAD NO WRECKER BUT USED A SERVICE. THEY TOLD ME TO GET IT THERE SO THEY COULD LOOK AT IT. I COOLED THE ENGINE WITH HOOD UP ON A COOL RAINY DAY, AND RE-STARTED MY VAN, AND MADE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP. I WAS SUPPLIED WITH A LOANER CAR, AND THEY SAID THEY WOULD CHECK OVER MY VAN ON THE NEXT DAY. AFTER EVERYTHING, WE WERE NOTIFIED WE HAD BLOWN A HEAD GASKET, LEADING TO FAILURE OF OUR ENGINE. THIS IN SPITE OF MAINTAINING ALL FLUID LEVELS PROPERLY! WE WOULD NEED A NEW ENGINE, AND NO, THE EXTENDED WARRANTY WE PURCHASED DOES NOT COVER THIS WORK. VERY, VERY ANGRY!!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/24/2014 - BIDDEFORD, ME
MY 2007 HONDA ODYSSEY TOURING VAN HAD A PROBLEM WITH THE ENGINE ICON APPEARING ON MY DASH. I CALLED MY DEALER, FOR THIS PROBLEM WASN'T RESOLVED ON THE LAST SERVICE VISIT. THEY SAID TO BRING IT IN. I ADDED 3/4 QT. OF OIL DUE TO THE OIL LEVEL, AT LAST CHECK FINE, NOW INDICATED THE LEVEL TO BE AT ITS LOWEST POINT IN THE APPROVED RANGE FOR RUNABILITY. SERVICES PERFORMED, AND WHEN I PICKED IT UP, I NOTICED THE ENGINE ICON STILL FLASHING ON THE DASH. WENT IN TO GET A SERVICE ADVISOR TO VIEW, AND ON A SECOND RE-START THIS HAD DISAPPEARED. THINKING ALL WAS NOW WELL (AND WAS THIS POSSIBLY TIED TO A SOFTWARE UPDATE SERVICE?), TOOK THE VEHICLE ABOUT 35 MILES HOME TO A GROCERY STORE. WHEN I HAD FINISHED SHOPPING, AND STARTED MY VAN, THERE IT WAS AGAIN, THE ENGINE ICON, FLASHING AWAY. THE NEXT DAY I REPORTED THIS TO MY DEALER, AND THEY SAID BRING IT IN. AS THE ENGINE WAS VISIBLY HOT, I SAID I WOULD TRY AND HOPED TO MAKE IT THERE. GETTING OF THE TURNPIKE EXIT, MY VAN ENGINE QUIT AND LUCKILY I COASTED IN TO A PARK 'N RIDE PARKING LOT. I CALLED MY DEALER TO FIND OUT THEY HAD NO WRECKER BUT USED A SERVICE. THEY TOLD ME TO GET IT THERE SO THEY COULD LOOK AT IT. I COOLED THE ENGINE WITH HOOD UP ON A COOL RAINY DAY, AND RE-STARTED MY VAN, AND MADE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP. I WAS SUPPLIED WITH A LOANER CAR, AND THEY SAID THEY WOULD CHECK OVER MY VAN ON THE NEXT DAY. AFTER EVERYTHING, WE WERE NOTIFIED WE HAD BLOWN A HEAD GASKET, LEADING TO FAILURE OF OUR ENGINE. THIS IN SPITE OF MAINTAINING ALL FLUID LEVELS PROPERLY! WE WOULD NEED A NEW ENGINE, AND NO, THE EXTENDED WARRANTY WE PURCHASED DOES NOT COVER THIS WORK. VERY, VERY ANGRY!!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/12/2014 - SAN JOSE, CA
WHEN THE INCIDENT FIRST OCCURRED THE VIBRATING WAS NOT AS SEVERE. NOW WHEN I AM GOING AT OVER 50MPH AND I START BRAKING, THE CAR'S STEERING WHEEL STARTS SHAKING VIOLENTLY. I DID SOME RESEARCH AND FOUND THAT THE ROTORS ARE WARPED PREMATURELY. MANY OTHER OWNERS OF THE SAME CAR HAVE THE ISSUE. I AM AFRAID OF GETTING INTO A CAR ACCIDENT BECAUSE OF THE STEERING WHEEL SHAKING SO VIOLENTLY WHILE I AM DRIVING. ITS A VERY BIG SAFETY CONCERN FOR ME AND I WISH THAT HONDA RECALLS THESE CARS FOR THIS PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 61
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds