Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2007 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 674 complaints filed for the 2007 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (26) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (4) Service Brakes Air (10) Tires (16)
Child Seat (3) Exterior Lighting (3) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (10) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (40) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Power Train (69) Service Brakes Hydraulic (137) Unknown Or Other (14)
Electronic Stability Control (22) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seat Belts (10) Steering (95) Vehicle Speed Control (27)
Engine (39) Interior Lighting (3) Seats (3) Structure (101) Visibility (11)
Engine And Engine Cooling (36) Latches Locks Linkages (17) Service Brakes (54) Suspension (19) Wheels (9)
Equipment (25)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 68
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

9/23/2016 - LADERA RANCH, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 HONDA ODYSSEY. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS SHIFTED INTO PARK, THE VEHICLE STILL MOVED. THE FAILURE WAS INTERMITTENT AND OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE RANGE SWITCH WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,917.

View Details

STEERING

9/19/2016 - BARRIGADA, GU
MAKING A LONG WINDING AND LOUD SOUND WHEN TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL AT SLOW SPEED PARTICULARLY AT STATIONARY POSITION. ANOTHER ISSUE IS, IT IS VERY HARD TO TURN EITHER TO THE LEFT OR RIGHT LIKE IT IS NOT EQUIPPED WITH POWER STEERING AT ALL.

View Details

ENGINE

9/15/2016 - FONTANA, CA
ON 25-AUG-2016 WHEN MY WIFE WAS DRIVING MY VAN HONDA ODYSSEY 2007 IN THE HIGHWAY 210 WEST BOUND, THE SPARK PLUG BROKEN INTO PIECES AND WENT INTO ENGINE MADE ENGINE DAMAGE. MY CAR HAS CLEAN MAINTENANCE HISTORY AND IT HAS RUN ONLY 56K. WE DIAGNOSED WITH HONDA DEALER (ROCK HONDA, FONTANA, CA) AND SUGGESTED ENGINE WAS DAMAGED BROKEN SPART PLUG AND WE NEED FIX THE ENGINE. AND COST IS $3900. I HAVE ASKED HELP FROM HONDA NORTH AMERICA, TORRENCE, CA AND HONDA NA NOT WILLING TO HELP WITH FULL PRICE, THEY WILL PAY $600 AS GOOD WILL. MY UNDERSTANDING IS THAT, HONDA NEEDS TO BUILD SAFETY TO PREVENT ANY BROKEN PIECES GOING INTO ENGINE AND SPOILING ENGINE. ALSO THIS VAN PUT OUR LIFE IN DANGER DURING DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY. SO, HONDA NEEDS TO MAKE SURE CUSTOMER'S SAFETY IN ANY CIRCUMSTANCES AND THEY HAVE COVER FULL COST FOR REPAIRING MY ENGINE. MY VIN NUMBER: [XXX] HONDA DEALER ADDRESS: 16570 S. HIGHLAND AVE, FONTANA, CA 92336 PH:909-770-8400 DAN RESHAW'S MOBIL: 9315 BASELINE RD, RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA, 91730 PH: 909-944-5100 INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/2/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 HONDA ODYSSEY. AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS OPERATED, THE VEHICLE STABILITY ASSIST (VSA) INDICATOR ILLUMINATED CONTINUOUSLY. WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO STOP COMPLETELY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, BUT A DIAGNOSIS WAS UNABLE TO BE PROVIDED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT WAS UNAWARE IF THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V098000 (SERVICE BRAKES, AIR). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 48,849.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/2/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 HONDA ODYSSEY. AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS OPERATED, THE VEHICLE STABILITY ASSIST (VSA) INDICATOR ILLUMINATED CONTINUOUSLY. WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO STOP COMPLETELY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, BUT A DIAGNOSIS WAS UNABLE TO BE PROVIDED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT WAS UNAWARE IF THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V098000 (SERVICE BRAKES, AIR). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 48,849.

View Details

ENGINE

9/1/2016 - FONTANA, CA
ON 25-AUG-2016, MY WIFE WAS DRIVING MY VEHICLE HONDA ODYSSEY ON HIGHWAY 210 WEST BOUND. SUDDENLY SHE STARTED SMELLING VERY BAD SMELL AND SHE PULLED THE VEHICLE FROM HIGHWAY AND RIDE INTO GAS STATION. THEN I CALLED AAA FOR HELP AND TOWED THE VEHICLE TO NEAREST MECHANIC SHOP DON'S MOBIL SHOP. THE MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THAT MY VAN'S SPARK PLUG WAS BROKEN AND PIECES OF IT WENT INTO ENGINE'S PISTON AND DAMAGED MY ENGINE. MY VEHICLE HAS CLEAN SERVICE RECORD WITH HONDA DEALER AND MILEAGE ON MY VAN 56K. THEN I TOOK IT TO HONDA DEALER (ROCK HONDA) FOR DIAGNOSIS AND HONDA DEALER ALSO DIAGNOSED THAT ENGINE HAS BEEN DAMAGED BY SPARK PLUG AND COST OF REPAIR IS $3900. THEN I OPENED A CASE WITH HONDA NORTH AMERICA DIVISION FOR HELP US TO FIX THIS ENGINE AS THIS SHOULD NOT HAPPEN FOR 56K MILEAGE AND MY UNDERSTANDING IS THAT THIS VEHICLE WAS DEFECTIVE SPARK PLUG WHICH CAUSED MY ENGINE BROKE. I WAS DOING REGULAR MAINTENANCE WITH HONDA DEALER, THIS NEVER CAME UP DURING MAINTENANCE TIME. HONDA NORTH AMERICA REFUSED TO HELP AND AGREED TO $600 AS GOOD WILL. I NEED HONDA'S HELP TO FIX MY ENGINE. MY VIN NUMBER: [XXX] HONDA DEALER ADDRESS: 16570 S. HIGHLAND AVE, FONTANA, CA 92336 PH:909-770-8400 DAN RESHAW'S MOBIL: 9315 BASELINE RD, RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA, 91730 PH: 909-944-5100. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/15/2016 - NATIONAL CITY, CA
SUDDEN, UNCONTROLLED ACCELERATION OF THE ENGINE: THREE TIMES WITHIN THE LAST WEEK OUR 2007 HONDA ODYSSEY STARTED RAPIDLY ACCELERATING (REV-ING) WHILE I WAS APPLYING BRAKES AS I WAS COMING TO A STOP SIGN. I AVOIDED A POSSIBLE ACCIDENT BY APPLYING STIFF BRAKING PRESSURE WHILE RAPIDLY PUTTING THE CAR IN PARK AND THEN TURNING OFF THE ENGINE. ONLY AFTER I TURNED OFF THE IGNITION DID THE CAR STOP REV-ING. THAT SEEMED TO FIX IT THE FIRST AND SECOND TIME BECAUSE WHEN I TURNED THE CAR BACK ON AGAIN, IT BEHAVED NORMALLY FOR THE REST OF THE TRIP. THE THIRD TIME IT HAPPENED AS I WAS SLOWING AND COMING TO A STOP BEHIND ANOTHER CAR, AND AFTER I HAD TURNED OFF THE IGNITION, IT STARTING REVING AGAIN JUST AS SOON AS THE ENGINE STARTED. SO I TURNED IT OFF AGAIN AND COUNTED TO TEN, AND THEN IT STARTED NORMALLY. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY CANNOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG. THEY SAY IT MIGHT BE SOMETHING TO DO WITH THE THROTTLE BODY (WHATEVER THAT IS) AND THEY SAY THEY OPENED IT UP AND CLEANED IT OUT, BUT REALLY COULDN'T SAY WHAT MIGHT HAVE CAUSED IT. THIS IS REALLY SCARY BECAUSE IF I HADN'T BEEN ABLE TO REACT QUICKLY AND APPLY STIFF BRAKING PRESSURE, I COULD HAVE CONTINUED INTO TRAFFIC WHERE I ALMOST CERTAINLY WOULD HAVE BEEN HIT BY CROSS TRAFFIC (THE FIRST TWO TIMES) OR WOULD HAVE RUN INTO THE CAR THAT WAS STOPPED AHEAD OF ME (THIS LAST TIME). (BY "REV-ING" I MEAN THE ENGINE IS RACING, I.E., MAKING LOTS OF REVOLUTIONS PER MINUTE. AS IF THE DRIVER WAS STEPPING ON THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL.)

View Details

ENGINE

8/15/2016 - JANESVILLE, WI
THE ENGINE STALLS. THIS HAS OCCURRED MANY TIMES OVER THE LAST YEAR. IT APPEARS TO BE RANDOM BUT HAS BEEN OCCURRING MORE FREQUENTLY THE PAST FEW MONTHS. LAST WEEK IT STALLED 3 TIMES. THE STALLING USUALLY OCCURS DURING THE SUMMER MONTHS. IT OCCURS WHEN COMING TO A STOP OR WHEN I AM STOPPED. IT HAS OCCURRED ONE TIME WHILE BACKING UP. YOU CAN TELL WHEN IT IS GOING TO HAPPEN. THE ENGINE SEEMS TO START RUNNING ROUGH. WHEN STOPPED, THE ENGINE WILL BE AT 800 OR 900 REVS AND THEN SUDDENLY DROP THEN JUMP UP AND THEN THE ENGINE WILL SHUT OFF. I PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL AND START THE ENGINE. IT ALWAYS STARTS FINE. IT HAPPENS ON HOT AND COOL DAYS, RAINY AND SUNNY DAYS. IT HAPPENS WITH THE AC ON OR THE AC OFF. I HAVE TRIED USING GAS EXCLUSIVELY FROM EXXON AND THEN EXCLUSIVELY FROM BP FOR MONTHS AT TA TIME IN EACH CASE. NO DIFFERENCE. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO A MECHANIC AND TO THE DEALERSHIP MULTIPLE TIMES. NOTHING EVER SHOWS UP ON THE COMPUTER. I EVEN HAD IT STALL AS I PARKED IT AT THE DEALERSHIP. THE DEALERSHIP NOR THE MECHANICS HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO FIND A PROBLEM. TO TRY SOMETHING, I HAD THE SPARK PLUGS CHANGED AND A TUNE UP DONE. THE VEHICLE STALLED THE NEXT DAY. I HAVE REPORTED THE PROBLEM TO HONDA AUTOMOTIVE USA. THEY GAVE ME NO HELP OR SOLUTION OTHER THAN TAKING IT TO THE DEALERSHIP. I AM VERY LEERY TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE. I DON'T FEEL SAFE!

View Details

ENGINE

6/28/2016 - ROCKY RIVER, OH
ENGINE MOUNTS WENT BAD. WHEN ACCELERATING FROM A STOPPED POSITION, THE CAR APPEARS TO JUMP. TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND BOTH THE FRONT AND BACK ENGINE MOUNTS WERE CRACKED. VERY EXPENSIVE TO REPLACE. DEALER SAID IT'S NOT A COMMON PROBLEM ON MOST CARS, BUT HE'S HAD SEVERAL HONDA ODYSSEYS COME IN WITH THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

STEERING

6/20/2016 - GAITHERSBURG, MD
STEERING WHEEL IS HARD TO TURN QUICKLY AT LOW SPEEDS, AND WHILE AT PARKING. I KNEW THAT WAS A PROBLEM IN 2010 IN THOUSAND OF THESE VEHICLE, WHICH HONDA REPLACED THE PART, WITH TWO EFFORTS, AFTER BEING SUPPLIED WITH WRONG PART IN THE PAST. I TOOK MY CAR TO LOCAL HONDA DEALER TODAY (HARSONS HONDA), WHO COMPLAINED THE SAME THING, AND WANTS ME TO REPLACE THE POWER STEERING PUMP DURING MY TIMING BELT CHANGE. I ASK THEN WHETHER THEY CAN LOOK FOR, WHETHER MY VAN HAS THE CORRECT PART (WHICH PROBABLY HAVE), BUT SAID THERE IS A NO WAY TO CHECK UNLESS I HAVE THE INVOICE, WHICH I DEFINITELY HAVE NOT, AS I PURCHASED FROM A PRIVATE OWNER. HOWEVER, THE SYMPTOMS LOOK LIKE THE SAME (WHICH TECHNICIAN COMPLAINT DUE TO FAILURE IN POWER STEERING PUMP, BUT DID NOT TELL ANYTHING ABOUT THE PART, SEE ATTACHED REPORT), THAT IT IS HAVING THE SAME ISSUE, WHICH THOUSANDS OF ODYSSEY OWNER FACED BEFORE. I WANT TO MAKE SURE, THAT IT HAS A RIGHT PART ON IT (EVEN AGED OUT), OR EVEN IT IS FIXED; IT MIGHT HAVE GONE WRONG. I WANT THIS ISSUE IS TO BE RESOLVED AS HONDA SHOULD LOOK INTO THIS SEROUS SAFETY ISSUE, WHICH HONDA ALSO ADMITS BACK IN 2011 (SEE ATTACHED).

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 68
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds