Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP COMPASS - 2007 JEEP COMPASS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 131 complaints filed for the 2007 JEEP COMPASS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 JEEP COMPASS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 JEEP COMPASS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (1) Power Train (18) Steering (17) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electrical System (14) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (8) Structure (3) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Suspension (48) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (14) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Service Brakes (1) Tires (5) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Unknown Or Other (6)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

2/6/2014 - HILLSDALE, NJ
THE ALTERNATOR STOPS WORKING AFTER 90000 MILES. YOU HEAR A BIG THUMPING SOUND LIKE A TANK. YOU DO FEEL IT BUT, IS LOUD WHEN ACCELERATING AND ACCELERATING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/6/2014 - HILLSDALE, NJ
THE ALTERNATOR STOPS WORKING AFTER 90000 MILES. YOU HEAR A BIG THUMPING SOUND LIKE A TANK. YOU DO FEEL IT BUT, IS LOUD WHEN ACCELERATING AND ACCELERATING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/14/2014 - CHERRY CREEK, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP COMPASS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE REFUELING, FUEL SPILLED FROM THE FILLER NECK. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS FOUND THAT THE VENT BREEZER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000. UPDATED 03/05/14

View Details

ENGINE

11/19/2013 - CREVE COEUR, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP COMPASS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE AFTER WAITING A FEW MINUTES HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED FOUR TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/6/2013 - CALHOUN, GA
I WAS DRIVING TO ATLANTA ON 10/2/2013 & 11/6/2013 AND THE PANEL LIGHT CAME ON FOR THE TRANSMISSION OVERHEATING. I WAS DRIVING AROUND 75 MPH AND I HEARD A WINDING NOISE, I LOST POWER, AND MY RPM'S WENT TO 4/5. I HAD TO PULL OVER DUE TO THE FACT THAT I COULDN'T GET MY SPEED OVER 20-30 MPH. THE TEMP OUTSIDE WAS 68 DEGREES SO THE HEAT OUTSIDE DID NOT CONTRIBUTE TO THIS PROBLEM. THERE WAS A POINT WHEN IT WOULDN'T EVEN ACCELERATE. MY VEHICLE HAS AROUND 137,000 ON IT. I DO SEE MANY COMPLAINTS REGARDING THIS ISSUE AND SOMETHING REALLY NEEDS TO BE DONE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/10/2013 - SAVANNAH, GA
PULLING FROM A STOP SIGN ONTO A BUSY ROAD MY TRANSMISSION SIMPLY STOPPED WORKING. THE ENGINE WAS ON AND THE CAR WAS THEREFORE IDLING INTO TRAFFIC, BUT NOTHING WAS HAPPENING WHEN I WAS PUSHING THE GAS PEDAL. I WAS ABLE TO IDLE INTO A PARKING LOT, WHERE I TURNED THE CAR OFF. WHEN I TURNED THE CAR BACK ON, THE TRANSMISSION WORKED AGAIN. EARLIER THE SAME DAY, THE TRANSMISSION STOPPED WORKING WHILE THE CAR WAS DRIVING, BUT SOMEHOW RE-ENGAGED ITSELF AND BEGAN WORKING AGAIN. I WAS COMING TO A STOP AT THE TIME SO IT DIDN'T STRIKE ME AS THE TRANSMISSION UNTIL LATER THAT DAY WHEN IT REPEATED. TERRIFYING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/26/2013 - TOBYHANNA, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP COMPASS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AS THE VEHICLE MADE A LOUD NOISE AND DECELERATED INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS ADVISED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED T BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 92,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

6/17/2013 - NEWPALTZ, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP COMPASS. THE CONTACT STATED DURING A ROUTINE OIL CHANGE, HE WAS TOLD THAT THE SUB FRAME WAS DAMAGED BY RUST. THE CONTACT STATED THE MECHANIC WAS ABLE TO PUT HIS FINGER THROUGH THE SUB FRAME DUE TO THE SEVERITY OF THE RUST. THE MECHANIC STATED THE VEHICLE WAS UNSAFE TO DRIVE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 89,300.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/29/2013 - MILLINGTON, MD
THE CAR BEGAN PULLING IN THE FRONT RIGHT TIRE INTERMITTENTLY. I WAS A HALF MILE FROM HOME, SO I TURNED AROUND TO GO BACK HOME. AS I DROVE INTO THE DRIVEWAY, THE FRONT RIGHT TIRE AND ENTIRE FRONT RIGHT SUSPENSION COMPLETELY FELL DOWN (ALMOST COMPLETELY OFF) AND THE TIRE WAS PUSHED SIDEWAYS AND INTO THE FRAME OF THE WHEEL WELL ON THE CAR. THE CAR CAME TO AN IMMEDIATE AND ABRUPT HALT. HAD I BEEN DRIVING ON THE ROAD WHEN THIS OCCURRED, MY CAR WOULD HAVE FLIPPED AND I WOULD HAVE CRASHED AND COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED! THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY PROBLEM AND DEFECT THAT I BELIEVE SHOULD BE PART OF A RECALL. I HAVE READ MANY REPORTS OF PROBLEMS WITH THIS MODEL/YEAR CONCERNING THE WHEEL BEARINGS, LOWER CONTROL ARMS, AND TIE RODS. I HAVE GREAT CONCERN DRIVING THIS VEHICLE IN THE FUTURE AFTER IT IS REPAIRED.

View Details

STEERING

5/29/2013 - MILLINGTON, MD
THE CAR BEGAN PULLING IN THE FRONT RIGHT TIRE INTERMITTENTLY. I WAS A HALF MILE FROM HOME, SO I TURNED AROUND TO GO BACK HOME. AS I DROVE INTO THE DRIVEWAY, THE FRONT RIGHT TIRE AND ENTIRE FRONT RIGHT SUSPENSION COMPLETELY FELL DOWN (ALMOST COMPLETELY OFF) AND THE TIRE WAS PUSHED SIDEWAYS AND INTO THE FRAME OF THE WHEEL WELL ON THE CAR. THE CAR CAME TO AN IMMEDIATE AND ABRUPT HALT. HAD I BEEN DRIVING ON THE ROAD WHEN THIS OCCURRED, MY CAR WOULD HAVE FLIPPED AND I WOULD HAVE CRASHED AND COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED! THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY PROBLEM AND DEFECT THAT I BELIEVE SHOULD BE PART OF A RECALL. I HAVE READ MANY REPORTS OF PROBLEMS WITH THIS MODEL/YEAR CONCERNING THE WHEEL BEARINGS, LOWER CONTROL ARMS, AND TIE RODS. I HAVE GREAT CONCERN DRIVING THIS VEHICLE IN THE FUTURE AFTER IT IS REPAIRED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds