Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP COMPASS - 2007 JEEP COMPASS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 125 complaints filed for the 2007 JEEP COMPASS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 JEEP COMPASS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 JEEP COMPASS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (8) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electrical System (13) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Suspension (47) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (12) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Steering (17) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Power Train (18)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

10/10/2013 - SAVANNAH, GA
PULLING FROM A STOP SIGN ONTO A BUSY ROAD MY TRANSMISSION SIMPLY STOPPED WORKING. THE ENGINE WAS ON AND THE CAR WAS THEREFORE IDLING INTO TRAFFIC, BUT NOTHING WAS HAPPENING WHEN I WAS PUSHING THE GAS PEDAL. I WAS ABLE TO IDLE INTO A PARKING LOT, WHERE I TURNED THE CAR OFF. WHEN I TURNED THE CAR BACK ON, THE TRANSMISSION WORKED AGAIN. EARLIER THE SAME DAY, THE TRANSMISSION STOPPED WORKING WHILE THE CAR WAS DRIVING, BUT SOMEHOW RE-ENGAGED ITSELF AND BEGAN WORKING AGAIN. I WAS COMING TO A STOP AT THE TIME SO IT DIDN'T STRIKE ME AS THE TRANSMISSION UNTIL LATER THAT DAY WHEN IT REPEATED. TERRIFYING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/26/2013 - TOBYHANNA, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP COMPASS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AS THE VEHICLE MADE A LOUD NOISE AND DECELERATED INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS ADVISED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED T BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 92,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

6/17/2013 - NEWPALTZ, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP COMPASS. THE CONTACT STATED DURING A ROUTINE OIL CHANGE, HE WAS TOLD THAT THE SUB FRAME WAS DAMAGED BY RUST. THE CONTACT STATED THE MECHANIC WAS ABLE TO PUT HIS FINGER THROUGH THE SUB FRAME DUE TO THE SEVERITY OF THE RUST. THE MECHANIC STATED THE VEHICLE WAS UNSAFE TO DRIVE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 89,300.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/29/2013 - MILLINGTON, MD
THE CAR BEGAN PULLING IN THE FRONT RIGHT TIRE INTERMITTENTLY. I WAS A HALF MILE FROM HOME, SO I TURNED AROUND TO GO BACK HOME. AS I DROVE INTO THE DRIVEWAY, THE FRONT RIGHT TIRE AND ENTIRE FRONT RIGHT SUSPENSION COMPLETELY FELL DOWN (ALMOST COMPLETELY OFF) AND THE TIRE WAS PUSHED SIDEWAYS AND INTO THE FRAME OF THE WHEEL WELL ON THE CAR. THE CAR CAME TO AN IMMEDIATE AND ABRUPT HALT. HAD I BEEN DRIVING ON THE ROAD WHEN THIS OCCURRED, MY CAR WOULD HAVE FLIPPED AND I WOULD HAVE CRASHED AND COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED! THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY PROBLEM AND DEFECT THAT I BELIEVE SHOULD BE PART OF A RECALL. I HAVE READ MANY REPORTS OF PROBLEMS WITH THIS MODEL/YEAR CONCERNING THE WHEEL BEARINGS, LOWER CONTROL ARMS, AND TIE RODS. I HAVE GREAT CONCERN DRIVING THIS VEHICLE IN THE FUTURE AFTER IT IS REPAIRED.

View Details

STEERING

5/29/2013 - MILLINGTON, MD
THE CAR BEGAN PULLING IN THE FRONT RIGHT TIRE INTERMITTENTLY. I WAS A HALF MILE FROM HOME, SO I TURNED AROUND TO GO BACK HOME. AS I DROVE INTO THE DRIVEWAY, THE FRONT RIGHT TIRE AND ENTIRE FRONT RIGHT SUSPENSION COMPLETELY FELL DOWN (ALMOST COMPLETELY OFF) AND THE TIRE WAS PUSHED SIDEWAYS AND INTO THE FRAME OF THE WHEEL WELL ON THE CAR. THE CAR CAME TO AN IMMEDIATE AND ABRUPT HALT. HAD I BEEN DRIVING ON THE ROAD WHEN THIS OCCURRED, MY CAR WOULD HAVE FLIPPED AND I WOULD HAVE CRASHED AND COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED! THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY PROBLEM AND DEFECT THAT I BELIEVE SHOULD BE PART OF A RECALL. I HAVE READ MANY REPORTS OF PROBLEMS WITH THIS MODEL/YEAR CONCERNING THE WHEEL BEARINGS, LOWER CONTROL ARMS, AND TIE RODS. I HAVE GREAT CONCERN DRIVING THIS VEHICLE IN THE FUTURE AFTER IT IS REPAIRED.

View Details

WHEELS

5/29/2013 - MILLINGTON, MD
THE CAR BEGAN PULLING IN THE FRONT RIGHT TIRE INTERMITTENTLY. I WAS A HALF MILE FROM HOME, SO I TURNED AROUND TO GO BACK HOME. AS I DROVE INTO THE DRIVEWAY, THE FRONT RIGHT TIRE AND ENTIRE FRONT RIGHT SUSPENSION COMPLETELY FELL DOWN (ALMOST COMPLETELY OFF) AND THE TIRE WAS PUSHED SIDEWAYS AND INTO THE FRAME OF THE WHEEL WELL ON THE CAR. THE CAR CAME TO AN IMMEDIATE AND ABRUPT HALT. HAD I BEEN DRIVING ON THE ROAD WHEN THIS OCCURRED, MY CAR WOULD HAVE FLIPPED AND I WOULD HAVE CRASHED AND COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED! THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY PROBLEM AND DEFECT THAT I BELIEVE SHOULD BE PART OF A RECALL. I HAVE READ MANY REPORTS OF PROBLEMS WITH THIS MODEL/YEAR CONCERNING THE WHEEL BEARINGS, LOWER CONTROL ARMS, AND TIE RODS. I HAVE GREAT CONCERN DRIVING THIS VEHICLE IN THE FUTURE AFTER IT IS REPAIRED.

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR

4/30/2013 - LITTLE CHUTE, WI
2007 JEEP COMPASS. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO DISSATISFACTION WITH VEHICLE. THE CONSUMER STATED THE BALL JOINTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED ON THE VEHICLE AT 39,106. AT 43,060, THE REAR BALL JOINTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. NOW, WITH 48,000 MILES ON THE VEHICLE, THE FRONT AND REAR BALL JOINTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED FOR A THIRD TIME. THE CONSUMER ALSO STATED THE TIRE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED WITH ONLY 34,406 MILES ON THE VEHICLE.

View Details

TIRES

4/30/2013 - LITTLE CHUTE, WI
2007 JEEP COMPASS. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO DISSATISFACTION WITH VEHICLE. THE CONSUMER STATED THE BALL JOINTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED ON THE VEHICLE AT 39,106. AT 43,060, THE REAR BALL JOINTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. NOW, WITH 48,000 MILES ON THE VEHICLE, THE FRONT AND REAR BALL JOINTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED FOR A THIRD TIME. THE CONSUMER ALSO STATED THE TIRE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED WITH ONLY 34,406 MILES ON THE VEHICLE.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

4/30/2013 - LITTLE CHUTE, WI
2007 JEEP COMPASS. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO DISSATISFACTION WITH VEHICLE. THE CONSUMER STATED THE BALL JOINTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED ON THE VEHICLE AT 39,106. AT 43,060, THE REAR BALL JOINTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. NOW, WITH 48,000 MILES ON THE VEHICLE, THE FRONT AND REAR BALL JOINTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED FOR A THIRD TIME. THE CONSUMER ALSO STATED THE TIRE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED WITH ONLY 34,406 MILES ON THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/22/2013 - DORADO, PR
THE CAR GOES OFF WHEN IT RAINS, YOU CAN START AGAIN THE CAR. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY NEVER FOUND A PROBLEM. IT CONTINUES TO SHUT OFF WHEN RAINS, NO ALL TIMES. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds