Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP COMPASS - 2007 JEEP COMPASS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 158 complaints filed for the 2007 JEEP COMPASS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 JEEP COMPASS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 JEEP COMPASS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment (1) Power Train (21) Steering (17) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electrical System (16) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (8) Structure (8) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Suspension (54) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (19) Fuel Propulsion System (22) Service Brakes (4) Tires (6) Wheels (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Unknown Or Other (5)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/19/2015 - KARNEY, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP COMPASS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND ALL THE WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE KEY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 41,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/15/2015 - PHILA, PA
AT FIRST MY CAR WAS WEARING OUT TIRES OFTEN ( 83, 068 MILES) THAN IT ALSO STARTED HAVING A ROUGH RIDE...THUMPS, CLUMPS AND CLICKS WHEN YOU DROVE OR TURNED THE WHEEL, THAN THE RIDE GOT ROUGHER, IT HONESTLY GAVE ME HEADACHES FROM THE NOISE AS THE WHEELS ROLLED ON, ( I GOT TIRE RODS , CONTROL ARM AND BALL JOINT REPLACED IN JUNE 2014, SEVEN MONTHS LATER CONTROL ARM, BALL JOINT AND TIE ROD BROKE, (MY WHEEL WAS DANGLING APART FROM MY CAR) AS I WAS TRANSPORTING MY SON TO HIS BUS STOP, 'LUCKILY NO ONE WAS INJURED" MY CAR WAS TOWED TO A MECHANIC($600.00), I HAD MY CAR REPAIRED AND WAS INFORMED THE RIGHT SIDE WAS IN DIRE NEED FOR ($465.00). THIS CAR REQUIRES A LOT OF SUSPENSION WORK, I CURRENTL HAVE 87,000 MILES ON MY CAR NOW , (FAIRLY LOW) MY CAR NOW STALLS OUT WHEN I STOP FOR A RED LIGHT,IT HAS EVEN PUTTED AS IF THE GAS ISNT CIRCULATING TO THE ENGINE, 'MAJOR ISSUES"

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/25/2015 - INDIAN RIVER, MI
I HAD A REAR LEFT WHEEL BEARING AND HUB ASSEMBLY REMOVED AND REPLACED BECAUSE OF THE VERY LOUD NOISES IT PRODUCED. THEN HE ALSO TOLD ME AT THAT TIME, I WOULD ALSO NEED A RIGHT REAR WHEEL BEARING DONE, AND REAR BRAKES. I ALREADY HAD MY FRONT BRAKES REPLACED. IN ADDITION A TIE ROD REPLACED AS WELL AND ALSO LOWER LEFT AND LOWER RIGHT CONTROL ARMS REPLACED. NOT TO MENTION A WHEEL ALIGNMENT TO BOOT BECAUSE I JUST PUT ON 4 NEW TIRES. NOW WITH EVERYTHING I HAVE HEARD I'M WORRIED ABOUT MY BALL JOINTS, WILL THEY BE NEXT? I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE THE DUMB CAR, I DON'T GO FOR ANY TRIPS OR ANYTHING, I AM A SENIOR WHO HASN'T MUCH MONEY BUT I WOULD LIKE TO BE SAFE. WHY AREN'T THEY MAKING JEEP DO A RECALL ON THESE CARS? I ALSO RECEIVED IN THE MAIL A SILENT RECALL FOR CORROSION ON THE CROSS MEMBERS, NOW THEY ARE GIVING ME A HARD TIME ABOUT THAT AS WELL. PLEASE, SOMEONE HELP US OUT!

View Details

TIRES

2/12/2015 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
MY VEHICLE, HAS A ROUGH RIDE, TRACTION LIGHT FLASHES OFTEN. I HAD SEVERAL REPAIRS DONE ON MY FRONT IN JUNE 2014, (UPPER,LOWER CONTROL ARMS, LEFT AND RIGHT SIDES, ROTORS ,BRAKES AND TIRES ARE ALWAYS NEEDED). ON FEBRUARY 2,2015 MY LEFT FRONT BALL JOINTS AND CONTROL ARMS BROKE AND MY WHEEL BROKE OFF, I AM CURRENTLY IN NEED OF MORE CONTROL ARM AND STRUT REPAIR ON MY RIGHT SIDE AGAIN! MY VEHICLE CLUMPS AND HAS A ROUGH RIDE, I AM IN CONSTANT FEAR DRIVING THIS VEHICLE,BECAUSE OF THE CONSTANT ISSUES WITH MY FRONT END, EVEN AFTER ITS REPAIRED.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/12/2015 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
MY VEHICLE, HAS A ROUGH RIDE, TRACTION LIGHT FLASHES OFTEN. I HAD SEVERAL REPAIRS DONE ON MY FRONT IN JUNE 2014, (UPPER,LOWER CONTROL ARMS, LEFT AND RIGHT SIDES, ROTORS ,BRAKES AND TIRES ARE ALWAYS NEEDED). ON FEBRUARY 2,2015 MY LEFT FRONT BALL JOINTS AND CONTROL ARMS BROKE AND MY WHEEL BROKE OFF, I AM CURRENTLY IN NEED OF MORE CONTROL ARM AND STRUT REPAIR ON MY RIGHT SIDE AGAIN! MY VEHICLE CLUMPS AND HAS A ROUGH RIDE, I AM IN CONSTANT FEAR DRIVING THIS VEHICLE,BECAUSE OF THE CONSTANT ISSUES WITH MY FRONT END, EVEN AFTER ITS REPAIRED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/12/2015 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
MY VEHICLE, HAS A ROUGH RIDE, TRACTION LIGHT FLASHES OFTEN. I HAD SEVERAL REPAIRS DONE ON MY FRONT IN JUNE 2014, (UPPER,LOWER CONTROL ARMS, LEFT AND RIGHT SIDES, ROTORS ,BRAKES AND TIRES ARE ALWAYS NEEDED). ON FEBRUARY 2,2015 MY LEFT FRONT BALL JOINTS AND CONTROL ARMS BROKE AND MY WHEEL BROKE OFF, I AM CURRENTLY IN NEED OF MORE CONTROL ARM AND STRUT REPAIR ON MY RIGHT SIDE AGAIN! MY VEHICLE CLUMPS AND HAS A ROUGH RIDE, I AM IN CONSTANT FEAR DRIVING THIS VEHICLE,BECAUSE OF THE CONSTANT ISSUES WITH MY FRONT END, EVEN AFTER ITS REPAIRED.

View Details

ENGINE

1/2/2015 - ATHENS, TX
WHILE DRIVING ON I-30 AT 70 MPH, MY JEEP JUST DIED. NO WARNING SIGN OF ANY KIND, JUST COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN, WHICH ALMOST CAUSED SEVERAL WRECKS. I GOT TO THE MEDIAN, WAITED ABOUT 10 MINUTES, IT STARTED AND I DROVE ABOUT 20 MORE MILES, THEN IT HAPPENED AGAIN. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR ABOUT A MONTH, TOOK IT TO THE LOCAL MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS PUT ON THE COMPUTER, COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG. I HAD HIM (MECHANIC) KEEP IT TILL IT HAPPENED TO HIM. FINALLY IT DID, TOOK THE FUEL PUMP OFF AND THE PLUG WAS MELTED, AS WELL AS MELTED A HOLE IN THE FUEL PUMP. HE STATED HE IS SURPRISED WE DIDN'T BLOW UP. I PLAN ON TAKING THE BURNED PLUG & PUMP TO THE DODGE HOUSE ON MONDAY, VERY DANGEROUS VEHICLE!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/2/2015 - ATHENS, TX
WHILE DRIVING ON I-30 AT 70 MPH, MY JEEP JUST DIED. NO WARNING SIGN OF ANY KIND, JUST COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN, WHICH ALMOST CAUSED SEVERAL WRECKS. I GOT TO THE MEDIAN, WAITED ABOUT 10 MINUTES, IT STARTED AND I DROVE ABOUT 20 MORE MILES, THEN IT HAPPENED AGAIN. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR ABOUT A MONTH, TOOK IT TO THE LOCAL MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS PUT ON THE COMPUTER, COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG. I HAD HIM (MECHANIC) KEEP IT TILL IT HAPPENED TO HIM. FINALLY IT DID, TOOK THE FUEL PUMP OFF AND THE PLUG WAS MELTED, AS WELL AS MELTED A HOLE IN THE FUEL PUMP. HE STATED HE IS SURPRISED WE DIDN'T BLOW UP. I PLAN ON TAKING THE BURNED PLUG & PUMP TO THE DODGE HOUSE ON MONDAY, VERY DANGEROUS VEHICLE!

View Details

ENGINE

12/26/2014 - SALEM, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP COMPASS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 45 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED AND THE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 111,000.

View Details

ENGINE

12/23/2014 - COMPTON, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP COMPASS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THERE WAS A SUDDEN INCREASE IN ENGINE RPMS AND THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED WHEN EITHER THE ACCELERATOR OR BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE SIDE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY AFTER BEING INVOLVED IN A CRASH. THE CONTACT DID NOT SUSTAIN ANY INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds