Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP COMPASS - 2007 JEEP COMPASS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 98 complaints filed for the 2007 JEEP COMPASS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 JEEP COMPASS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 JEEP COMPASS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Power Train (17) Steering (16) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (7) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (8) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (1) Suspension (39) Visibility (5)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Tires (5) Wheels (5)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/2/2011 - FRESNO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP COMPASS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL WARNING LAMP ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE DECELERATED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT SHE WAS UNABLE TO ACCELERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 65,000. UPDATED 11/17/11 THE CONSUMER STATED THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL WAS REPLACED ON OCTOBER 11, 2011. UPDATED 11/23/11

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

8/26/2011 - WALLINGFORD, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP COMPASS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD DRIFT FROM LANE TO LANE ABNORMALLY WHEN DRIVING 60 MPH IN RAINY WEATHER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO HAVE THE TIRES REPLACED WHEN HE WAS ADVISED BY THE MECHANIC THAT THE FRONT LOWER BALL JOINTS WOULD NEED REPLACING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 58,000.

View Details

STEERING

6/23/2011 - SEVEN HILLS, OH
I WAS INFORMED BY THE DEALERSHIP OF WHICH I PURCHASED MY VEHICLE THAT MY VEHICLE REQUIRES FRONT CONTROL ARMS AND TIE RODS WHICH WAS GIVEN AN ESTIMATE OF ABOUT $900.00 TO CORRECT. MY VEHICLE HAS 17,000 MILES AND IS OUT OF WARRANTY, HOWEVER, I VIEWED NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ONLINE OF THE SAME NATURE ON THE SAME YEAR, MAKE, AND MODEL VEHICLE. THIS APPEARS TO BE A DEFECT FROM THE MANUFACTURER SINCE THERE WERE SO MANY IDENTICAL COMPLAINTS INDICATED ONLINE. THE DEALERSHIP REQUESTED I DO NOT DRIVE THIS VEHICLE UNTIL REPAIRED DUE TO A SAFETY ISSUE. THE DEALERSHIP ALSO SAID THE ITEMS WHICH NEED TO BE REPAIRED WILL BE REPLACED WITH A BETTER QUALITY AND THIS OCCURRED ON MANY OF THESE VEHICLES FROM THIS PARTICULAR YEAR.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/23/2011 - SEVEN HILLS, OH
I WAS INFORMED BY THE DEALERSHIP OF WHICH I PURCHASED MY VEHICLE THAT MY VEHICLE REQUIRES FRONT CONTROL ARMS AND TIE RODS WHICH WAS GIVEN AN ESTIMATE OF ABOUT $900.00 TO CORRECT. MY VEHICLE HAS 17,000 MILES AND IS OUT OF WARRANTY, HOWEVER, I VIEWED NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ONLINE OF THE SAME NATURE ON THE SAME YEAR, MAKE, AND MODEL VEHICLE. THIS APPEARS TO BE A DEFECT FROM THE MANUFACTURER SINCE THERE WERE SO MANY IDENTICAL COMPLAINTS INDICATED ONLINE. THE DEALERSHIP REQUESTED I DO NOT DRIVE THIS VEHICLE UNTIL REPAIRED DUE TO A SAFETY ISSUE. THE DEALERSHIP ALSO SAID THE ITEMS WHICH NEED TO BE REPAIRED WILL BE REPLACED WITH A BETTER QUALITY AND THIS OCCURRED ON MANY OF THESE VEHICLES FROM THIS PARTICULAR YEAR.

View Details

STEERING

6/16/2011 - CHICAGO, IL
I GOT A FLAT TIRE ON MAY OF 2011, AFTER TAKING IT TO A TIRESHOP I WAS INFORMED THAT I NEEDED 2 LOWER CONTROL ARMS, AND TIRE RODS. THERE WAS ALSO UNEVEN WEAR ON THE FRONT TIRES.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

6/16/2011 - CHICAGO, IL
I GOT A FLAT TIRE ON MAY OF 2011, AFTER TAKING IT TO A TIRESHOP I WAS INFORMED THAT I NEEDED 2 LOWER CONTROL ARMS, AND TIRE RODS. THERE WAS ALSO UNEVEN WEAR ON THE FRONT TIRES.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

6/7/2011 - MILWAUKEE, WI
NO CRASH OR INJURY, HOWEVER THE INCIDENT INVOLVED WAS THAT THE TIE ROD ON THE LEFT FRONT SIDE ON MY JEEP COMPASS 2007 WAS LOOSE AND THE WHEEL WAS READY TO FALL OFF THE AUTO. THE JEEP 2007 HAD 72,900 MILES ORIGINAL. I HAVE NOT HAD ANY ACCIDENTS OR ABUSIVE DRIVING WITH THE VEHICLE WHICH I PURCHASED FROM THE JEEP DEALER IN MILWAUKEE IN FEBRUARY 2010 WITH 68,000 ORIG. MILES AND IN VERY GOOD CONDITION.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/21/2011 - UPPER SADDLE RIVER, NJ
DEVELOPED A NOTICABLE VIBRATION.TOOK TO DEALER AND WAS ADVISED THE BALL JOINTS NEEDED REPLACEMENT AND THE VEHICLE WAS DANGEROUS TO DRIVE. WHEN PICKED UP THE VEHICLE, INVOICE STATED 2 LOWER ARMS AND A TIE ROD WERE REPLACED. I HAVE DRIVEN MANY VEHICLES OVER 100,000 MILES AND NEVER HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THESE PARTS. THEREFORE I FEEL THEY WERE EITHER DEFECTIVE OR POORLY DESIGN ED AND THEY SHOULD BE SUBJECT TO RECALL REPLACEMENT OR INSPECTION. VEHICLE WAS ONLY DRIVEN ON LOCAL STREETS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

4/24/2011 - WILMINGTON, CA
WHILE TRAVELING IN HIGHWAY AT 65 MPH, MY 2007 JEEP COMPASS JERKED AND I LOSS ACCELERATION DOWN TO 40 MPH AND THEN IT WOULD NOT GO ANY FASTER EVEN WITH THE GAS PETAL DOWN TO THE FLOOR. GOT OFF HIGHWAY AND CAR ONLY WOULD GO 25 MPH. JUST HAD A TUNE UP TWO DAYS PRIOR TO THIS PROBLEM. WHEN THE CAR JERKED AND LOSS ACCELERATION, THE ENGINE CAME ON AND BEGAN TO BLINK AND RING. AFTER THE TUNE UP THE DEALERSHIP SAID EVERYTHING WAS GOOD. I GUESS THAT WASN'T TRUE. PROBLEM WITH TRANSMISSION?

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/9/2011 - CARMEL, IN
THE GAS TANK GAUGE STOPPED FUNCTIONING PROPERLY. IT WILL READ EMPTY WHEN FULL & STARTED TO GO UP DESPITE BEING LOW. HAVE TO USE TRIP MILEAGE TO DETERMINE WHEN TO FILL UP NOT BEST METHOD. BUT GAUGE IS NOT ACCURATE OR RELIABLE. I THOUGHT IT WAS JUST ME BUT I SEE THIS IS A RELATIVELY COMMON PROBLEM & HAS A SERVICE BULLETIN.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds