Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP COMPASS - 2007 JEEP COMPASS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 121 complaints filed for the 2007 JEEP COMPASS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 JEEP COMPASS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 JEEP COMPASS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (8) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electrical System (11) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Seats (1) Suspension (46) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (10) Power Train (18) Steering (17) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

TIRES

4/30/2013 - LITTLE CHUTE, WI
2007 JEEP COMPASS. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO DISSATISFACTION WITH VEHICLE. THE CONSUMER STATED THE BALL JOINTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED ON THE VEHICLE AT 39,106. AT 43,060, THE REAR BALL JOINTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. NOW, WITH 48,000 MILES ON THE VEHICLE, THE FRONT AND REAR BALL JOINTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED FOR A THIRD TIME. THE CONSUMER ALSO STATED THE TIRE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED WITH ONLY 34,406 MILES ON THE VEHICLE.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

4/30/2013 - LITTLE CHUTE, WI
2007 JEEP COMPASS. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO DISSATISFACTION WITH VEHICLE. THE CONSUMER STATED THE BALL JOINTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED ON THE VEHICLE AT 39,106. AT 43,060, THE REAR BALL JOINTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. NOW, WITH 48,000 MILES ON THE VEHICLE, THE FRONT AND REAR BALL JOINTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED FOR A THIRD TIME. THE CONSUMER ALSO STATED THE TIRE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED WITH ONLY 34,406 MILES ON THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/22/2013 - DORADO, PR
THE CAR GOES OFF WHEN IT RAINS, YOU CAN START AGAIN THE CAR. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY NEVER FOUND A PROBLEM. IT CONTINUES TO SHUT OFF WHEN RAINS, NO ALL TIMES. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/19/2013 - WEST CENTER POINT, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP COMPASS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD SPORADICALLY FAIL TO START AND WOULD STALL WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT THE WIRE FROM THE FUEL PUMP STARTED TO FAIL AND COULD HAVE IGNITED A FIRE. THE DEALER COULD NOT PROVIDE A REASON FOR THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS NO CORROSION OR RUST ON THE PART WHEN IT WAS REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 83,929 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 83,981.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/8/2013 - YOUNGSTOWN, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP COMPASS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE VEHICLE ABNORMALLY LOST POWER AND DECELERATED TO 20 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION WHERE THEY ADVISED THAT THE TMC MODULE AND TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED BUT PROVIDED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 128,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/3/2013 - DEPEW, NY
ON JUNE 13 2011 MY COMPASS WITH ONLY 17085 MILES ON IT, HAD CRACKED A FRONT SPRING THAT HAD GRINDED A RING AROUND MY PASS SIDE TIRE. I WAS NOT AWARE OF THE PROBLEM, BUT I NOTICED SOME NOISE IN THE FRONT END SO I BROUGHT IT TO A DEALER FOR SERVICE. I WAS TOLD WHAT HAD HAPPENED AND HOW SURPRISED THE SERVICE DEPT. WAS WITH THIS INCIDENT. THEY TOLD ME THEY COULD NOT BELIEVE IT. IT TOOK A WHILE BUT AFTER SOME COMPLAINTS AND DISGUST WITH THE DEALERSHIP, BUT MORE SO WITH CHRYSLER, EVERYTHING DID GET COVERED BUY THE 2 PARTIES. NOT TO MENTION THE FACT THAT MY VEHICLE WAS AND STILL IS UNDER WARRANTY. TODAY IS JANUARY 3 2013 AND GUESS WHAT? I NOW HAVE TO CONTACT THE DEALER AND PROBABLY CHRYSLER AGAIN. MY COMPASS IS STILL UNDER WARRANTY WITH ONLY 27450 MILES AND NOW THE DRIVER SIDE FRONT SPRING IS CRACKED AND IS BEGINNING TO DO THE EXACT SAME THING TO MY OTHER TIRE AGAIN. I DON'T KNOW WHAT THE DEALER WILL SAY OR DO BUT I WILL CONTACT THEM FIRST THING IN THE MORNING, THEY ARE CLOSED AT THIS TIME. I WAS JUST WONDERING IF THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM OR JUST A FLUKE? TO ME THIS SEEMS LIKE IT SHOULD BE A POSSIBLE DEFECT AND PUT UNDER A RECALL. IF ANYONE OF THESE TIRES WOULD HAVE BEEN WARN DOWN ENOUGH AND A TIRE WOULD HAVE BLOWN OUT, THERE COULD HAVE BEEN A VERY SERIOUS AND OR DEADLY ACCIDENT.

View Details

WHEELS

1/3/2013 - DEPEW, NY
ON JUNE 13 2011 MY COMPASS WITH ONLY 17085 MILES ON IT, HAD CRACKED A FRONT SPRING THAT HAD GRINDED A RING AROUND MY PASS SIDE TIRE. I WAS NOT AWARE OF THE PROBLEM, BUT I NOTICED SOME NOISE IN THE FRONT END SO I BROUGHT IT TO A DEALER FOR SERVICE. I WAS TOLD WHAT HAD HAPPENED AND HOW SURPRISED THE SERVICE DEPT. WAS WITH THIS INCIDENT. THEY TOLD ME THEY COULD NOT BELIEVE IT. IT TOOK A WHILE BUT AFTER SOME COMPLAINTS AND DISGUST WITH THE DEALERSHIP, BUT MORE SO WITH CHRYSLER, EVERYTHING DID GET COVERED BUY THE 2 PARTIES. NOT TO MENTION THE FACT THAT MY VEHICLE WAS AND STILL IS UNDER WARRANTY. TODAY IS JANUARY 3 2013 AND GUESS WHAT? I NOW HAVE TO CONTACT THE DEALER AND PROBABLY CHRYSLER AGAIN. MY COMPASS IS STILL UNDER WARRANTY WITH ONLY 27450 MILES AND NOW THE DRIVER SIDE FRONT SPRING IS CRACKED AND IS BEGINNING TO DO THE EXACT SAME THING TO MY OTHER TIRE AGAIN. I DON'T KNOW WHAT THE DEALER WILL SAY OR DO BUT I WILL CONTACT THEM FIRST THING IN THE MORNING, THEY ARE CLOSED AT THIS TIME. I WAS JUST WONDERING IF THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM OR JUST A FLUKE? TO ME THIS SEEMS LIKE IT SHOULD BE A POSSIBLE DEFECT AND PUT UNDER A RECALL. IF ANYONE OF THESE TIRES WOULD HAVE BEEN WARN DOWN ENOUGH AND A TIRE WOULD HAVE BLOWN OUT, THERE COULD HAVE BEEN A VERY SERIOUS AND OR DEADLY ACCIDENT.

View Details

STEERING

10/23/2012 - SHELBURNE FALLS, MA
ENTIRE SUSPENSION SYSTEM IS NOTHING BUT JUNK. REPLACED TIE ROD ENDS, INNER AND OUTER, BALL JOINTS, SWAY BAR LINKS, STRUTS, HUBS AND AXLE. SOME OF THESE PARTS MORE THAN ONCE. THE TIRE CAME DANGEROUSLY CLOSE TO FALLING OFF THE VEHICLE WITH LESS THAN 24 HR NOTICE THAT SOMETHING WAS WRONG. FAILED INSPECTION LAST YEAR FOR TIE ROD END THAT WAS REPLACED PREVIOUS YEAR. CHRYSLER WILL NOT BUDGE ON TAKING RESPONSIBILITY FOR WHAT MY MECHANIC CALLS "JUNK". DOES SOMEONE HAVE TO DIE BEFORE THEY REACT??

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/23/2012 - SHELBURNE FALLS, MA
ENTIRE SUSPENSION SYSTEM IS NOTHING BUT JUNK. REPLACED TIE ROD ENDS, INNER AND OUTER, BALL JOINTS, SWAY BAR LINKS, STRUTS, HUBS AND AXLE. SOME OF THESE PARTS MORE THAN ONCE. THE TIRE CAME DANGEROUSLY CLOSE TO FALLING OFF THE VEHICLE WITH LESS THAN 24 HR NOTICE THAT SOMETHING WAS WRONG. FAILED INSPECTION LAST YEAR FOR TIE ROD END THAT WAS REPLACED PREVIOUS YEAR. CHRYSLER WILL NOT BUDGE ON TAKING RESPONSIBILITY FOR WHAT MY MECHANIC CALLS "JUNK". DOES SOMEONE HAVE TO DIE BEFORE THEY REACT??

View Details

STEERING

8/20/2012 - HENDERSONVILLE, NC
JUST LIKE A LOT OF OTHER COMPLAINTS, HAD TO HAVE TIE RODS AND BALL JOINTS REPLACED. SEEM LIKE A LOT OF THE JEEP COMPASSES HAVE THIS PROBLEM. CAN THEY NOT MAKE THEM BETTER. SHOULD BE A RECALL.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds