Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP COMPASS - 2007 JEEP COMPASS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 199 complaints filed for the 2007 JEEP COMPASS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 JEEP COMPASS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 JEEP COMPASS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (9) Unknown Or Other (5)
Communications (1) Equipment (1) Power Train (22) Steering (20) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (24) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (9) Structure (16) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Exterior Lighting (6) Seats (2) Suspension (65) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (25) Fuel Propulsion System (35) Service Brakes (4) Tires (6) Wheels (8)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

2/17/2016 - SUNRISE, FL
I HAVE BEEN EXPERIENCING A PROBLEM WITH MY CAR CUTTING OFF, ESPECIALLY WHILE STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT MORE OFTEN THAN NOT ON LOCAL ROADWAYS. IF IT DOESN'T COMPLETELY SHUT OFF THE SENSATION TO CUT OFF IS DEFINITELY FELT. I ORIGINALLY THOUGHT IT WAS THE SPARK PLUGS AND HAD THOSE REPLACED, HOWEVER, THE SITUATION CONTINUES TO PERSIST. I HAVE BEEN TOLD ON ONE OR MORE OCCASIONS IT MAY BE THE FUEL PUMP. I WAS RECOMMENDED I TAKE MY VEHICLE DIRECTLY TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE OTHER ISSUE THAT IS ALSO VERY PRONOUNCED IS THE NOISE MY ENGINE MAKES WHILE IDLING. IT CAN BEST DESCRIBED AS A LOUD WHIRLING SOUND BUT NOT QUITE A RATTLE. I HAVE NEVER HEARD MY CAR SOUND SO NOISY. I HAVE NOTICED PERHAPS IN THE LAST 6 MONTHS THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS COME ON INVOLUNTARILY WITHOUT ME ENGAGING THEIR USE. I HAVE SEARCHED JEEP'S WEBSITE REGARDING ANY RECALL INFORMATION ON THESE AFOREMENTIONED ISSUES BUT TO NO AVAIL.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/2/2016 - STAMFORD, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP COMPASS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER REFUELING THE VEHICLE AND PULLING OUT OF THE PARKING LOT AT 15 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO BE RESTARTED. THE FAILURE RECURRED AFTER REFUELING THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THERE WAS A FUEL ODOR EMITTING FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL CAP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED, THE FUEL INJECTION SYSTEM NEEDED TO BE FLUSHED AND A TUNE UP WAS NEEDED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. ON ANOTHER OCCASION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TRANSMISSION HESITATED TO SHIFT GEARS AND WAS JERKING AS IF IT WAS GOING TO STALL. THE TRANSMISSION WAS REPLACED ON 6/30/13. THE FAILURE RECURRED AND IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE OXYGEN SENSORS AND THE O2 HARNESS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER ON 1/14/16 WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AGAIN. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 131,483.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/2/2016 - STAMFORD, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP COMPASS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER REFUELING THE VEHICLE AND PULLING OUT OF THE PARKING LOT AT 15 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO BE RESTARTED. THE FAILURE RECURRED AFTER REFUELING THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THERE WAS A FUEL ODOR EMITTING FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL CAP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED, THE FUEL INJECTION SYSTEM NEEDED TO BE FLUSHED AND A TUNE UP WAS NEEDED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. ON ANOTHER OCCASION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TRANSMISSION HESITATED TO SHIFT GEARS AND WAS JERKING AS IF IT WAS GOING TO STALL. THE TRANSMISSION WAS REPLACED ON 6/30/13. THE FAILURE RECURRED AND IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE OXYGEN SENSORS AND THE O2 HARNESS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER ON 1/14/16 WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AGAIN. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 131,483.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/2/2016 - STAMFORD, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP COMPASS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER REFUELING THE VEHICLE AND PULLING OUT OF THE PARKING LOT AT 15 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO BE RESTARTED. THE FAILURE RECURRED AFTER REFUELING THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THERE WAS A FUEL ODOR EMITTING FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL CAP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED, THE FUEL INJECTION SYSTEM NEEDED TO BE FLUSHED AND A TUNE UP WAS NEEDED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. ON ANOTHER OCCASION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TRANSMISSION HESITATED TO SHIFT GEARS AND WAS JERKING AS IF IT WAS GOING TO STALL. THE TRANSMISSION WAS REPLACED ON 6/30/13. THE FAILURE RECURRED AND IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE OXYGEN SENSORS AND THE O2 HARNESS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER ON 1/14/16 WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AGAIN. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 131,483.

View Details

ENGINE

1/19/2016 - LAWRENCEBURG, IN
WHENEVER THE GAS TANK IS FILLED UP, UPON DRIVING 1-2 MILES AWAY FROM GAS STATION ON THE HIGHWAY OR ANY ROAD, THE ENGINE SPUTTERS AND STALLS. TODAY THE ENTIRE ENGINE SHUT OFF AND LOCKED UP. LUCKILY I WAS NOT IN HEAVY TRAFFIC AT THE TIME.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/16/2016 - HERMANN, MO
WHEN FILLING THE GAS TANK VIA GAS PUMP AUTO SHUT OFF, THE CAR WILL STALL. THIS HAS HAPPENED THE LAST TWO FILL UPS. THE CAR HAS 92389 MILES ON IT. THE FIRST TIME, IT STALLED AFTER STARTING THEN AGAIN AFTER ENTERING HIGHWAY GOING UP HILL WITH LOADED DUMP TRUCK RIGHT BEHIND ME. HE BARELY MISSED HITTING ME FROM BEHIND. PLUS CAR LOOSES POWER STEERING. 2ND TIME THIS HAPPENED WAS NEXT TANK FILL UP AND STALLED BEFORE LEAVING GAS STATION. AFRAID TO DRIVE AND HAVE PARKED CAR. ROLL OVER VALVE IS NOT WORKING (STUCK OPEN?). IF CAR WAS IN ROLL OVER ACCIDENT, FIRE COULD RESULT FROM SPILLING FUEL. AFRAID WHAT MIGHT HAPPEN IF PULLING ONTO HIGHWAY FROM RAMP AND STALL IN FRONT OF 18 WHEELER.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/15/2016 - FOREST HILL, MD
SHORTLY AFTER REFUELING THE VEHICLE, THE VEHICLE STALLS AND UPON RESTART RUNS ROUGH FOR SHORT TIME. WE HAD ONE INCIDENT WHERE A FUEL LEAK DEVELOPED AFTER REFUELING. THE STALLING ISSUE HAS ALMOST CAUSED MY VEHICLE TO BE STRUCK AND CLEARLY HAS CAUSED A CONTROL ISSUE WHEN THE VEHICLES ENGINE LOSES POWER SHUTS DOWN. THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN CHECKED AND NO CODES WERE TRIGGERED OR STORED. THE MANUFACTURER DOESN'T SEEM INTERESTED IN ADDRESSING MY ISSUE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/4/2016 - NEWTON, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP COMPASS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE REJECTS FUEL. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE FAILURE WAS NOT DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/27/2015 - AURORA, WV
THE FRONT CROSS MEMBER RUSTED THROUGH AND THE ENGINE DROPPED,WHILE DRIVING BUT THE CAR WAS AT A STOP. ALSO THE REAR CROSS MEMBER IS ALSO BROKEN

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/7/2015 - BROOKLYN, WI
1. FUEL PUMP STARTED ARCHING AND NOZZLE TO HOSE WAS COMING LOOSE-SMELT GAS WHILE IN MOTION, GAS GAUGE STARTED DROPPING DRAMATICALLY 2. HORN STOPPED WORKING-WHILE DRIVING I TRIED TO WARN ANOTHER VEHICLE WHO WAS TRYING TO BACK OUT WHILE I WAS BEHIND THEM, LUCKILY THEY HEARD ME YELLING 3. BACK WINDSHIELD WIPER STOPPED WORKING WHILE IN MOTION TRYING TO BACK OUT IN THE RAIN 4. STRUTS WENT 5. ROTORS WENT 6. CROSS MEMBER-NOTICED WHILE DRIVING AND TOOK 2 WEEKS BEFORE DEALERSHIP COULD GET MY APPOINTMENT RIGHT TO GET IT TAKEN CARE OF SINCE IT WAS RECALLED 7. TIPM IS GOING. LOST POWER TO 2/2 OUTLETS IN THE VEHICLE. 8. CV AXLE IS GOING. SOUNDS REALLY BAD AND SOUNDS LIKE BOTH PASSENGER AND DRIVER SIDE. TREATED THIS VEHICLE WITH LOTS OF CARE AND SO DID PREVIOUS OWNER. THIS TELLS ME THIS IS NOT A RELIABLE VEHICLE AND A SAFE VEHICLE I CAN DRIVE MY DAUGHTER IN.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds