Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP COMPASS - 2007 JEEP COMPASS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 107 complaints filed for the 2007 JEEP COMPASS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 JEEP COMPASS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 JEEP COMPASS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (8) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electrical System (8) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (1) Suspension (41) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (5) Power Train (17) Steering (17) Unknown Or Other (2) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

12/29/2011 - HOPEWELL JUNCTION, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP COMPASS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE COULD HEAR NOISES COMING FROM UNDER THE VEHICLE WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS OVER 35 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT REPAIR SHOP AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE TIE ROD ASSEMBLY AND ALL OF THE BALL JOINTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE TIE ROD ASSEMBLY WAS REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 31,824. UPDATED 02/0812 THE MECHANIC REPLACED THE LOWER LEFT CONTROL ARM AND LOWER RIGHT CONTROL ARM. UPDATED 02/29/12

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/5/2011 - HOUGHTON, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP COMPASS. WHILE HAVING THE TIRES REPLACED AT A TIRE SHOP, THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED BY THE TECHNICIAN THAT THE FRONT DRIVERS SIDE BALL JOINT WOULD HAD TO BE REPLACED DUE TO ABNORMAL WEAR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

View Details

TIRES: TREAD/BELT

11/30/2011 - CAMARILLO, CA
PURCHASED THE BRIDGESTONE TURANZA EL400-02 AFTER 20,000 MILES HAD A FLAT. TOOK THE TIRE BACK TO WHERE PURCHASED AND THEY SAID THEY DIDN'T SEE ANY REASON FOR THE FLAT AND THE TIRE HAD CRACKS INSIDE THE TIRE AND ALSO ALL THE TIRES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED BECAUSE THERE WASN'T ANY TREAD LEFT ON THEM. THESE ARE RATED FOR 80,000 MILES AND SHOULD LAST LONGER THAN 1/4 OF THE RATED MILEAGE. THESE TIRES ARE DANGEROUS AND THEY SHOULD NOT BE ALLOWED TO SELL THEM.

View Details

TIRES

11/30/2011 - CAMARILLO, CA
PURCHASED THE BRIDGESTONE TURANZA EL400-02 AFTER 20,000 MILES HAD A FLAT. TOOK THE TIRE BACK TO WHERE PURCHASED AND THEY SAID THEY DIDN'T SEE ANY REASON FOR THE FLAT AND THE TIRE HAD CRACKS INSIDE THE TIRE AND ALSO ALL THE TIRES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED BECAUSE THERE WASN'T ANY TREAD LEFT ON THEM. THESE ARE RATED FOR 80,000 MILES AND SHOULD LAST LONGER THAN 1/4 OF THE RATED MILEAGE. THESE TIRES ARE DANGEROUS AND THEY SHOULD NOT BE ALLOWED TO SELL THEM.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/25/2011 - BANGOR, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP COMPASS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT DURING A STATE INSPECTION, THE PRIVATE MECHANIC STATED THAT BOTH LOWER FRONT CONTROL ARMS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 42,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 43,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/10/2011 - PITCAIRN, PA
TOOK VEHICLE FOR YEARLY INSPECTION WHERE THE CAR WAS PURCHASED, NEW. THEY WERE AT THAT TIME A CHRYSLER JEEP DEALER. IT DIDN'T PASS THE INSPECTION DUE TO THE POOR CONDITION OF THE BALL JOINTS - MILEAGE AT THAT TIME WAS ONLY 14,258. IT WAS SUGGESTED I CONTACT CHRYSLER TO NOTIFY THEM. THEY ADVISED ME TO TAKE IT TO A LOCAL QUALIFIED DEALERSHIP. IT WAS TAKEN FOR THEM TO CHECK THE BALL JOINTS. AFTER 2 WEEKS OF NOT DRIVING THE CAR DUE TO ITS DANGEROUS CONDITION, THE BALL JOINTS AND BOTH LOWER CONTROL ARMS WERE REPLACED AT A COST TO ME OF $214.00. THE TREATMENT I RECEIVED AND THE AMOUNT OF TIME IT TOOK THEM TO DECIDE TO DO THE JOB AT THE "QUALIFIED DEALER" WAS INEXCUSABLE. I FEEL CHRYSLER SHOULD OF TAKEN CARE OF THE COST OF THE REPAIR, SINCE IT WAS NOT DUE TO ANYTHING I DID BUT THE QUALITY OF THE PARTS INSTALLED ORIGINALLY. THIS COMPLAINT WOULD OF BEEN SUBMITTED EARLIER BUT I WAS NOT AWARE OF THE NHTSA.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

10/29/2011 - RICHLANDS, NC
MY WIFE AND I PURCHASED A 2007 JEEP COMPASS LIMITED FROM A WELL KNOW DODGE DEALERSHIP IN CT. ASIDE FROM THE TERRIBLE AND FAULTY FIRESTONE TIRES, THE COMPASS HAS BEEN RELIABLE. THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN WELL MAINTAINED WITH REGULARLY SCHEDULED OIL CHANGES WHEN NEEDED. JUST LAST WEEK THE RADIO AND ELECTRONICS NEEDED TO BE RESET, BUT THE VEHICLE STARTED JUST FINE. THE NEXT MORNING IT WOULDN'T START AT ALL. THE ENGINE CRANKED OVER AND OVER BUT WOULD NOT START. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO START, THE ENGINE WAS SHAKING VIOLENTLY. WE HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO A DODGE DEALERSHIP IN NC, WHERE WE MOVED TO. THEY LOOKED AT THE VEHICLE FOR $86.00 AND WERE NOT ABLE TO ACCOMMODATE US WITH A LOANER CAR. WE WERE TOLD THAT THE FUEL PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE JEEP ONLY HAS 70,000 MILES ON IT SO WE WERE SHOCKED. THE DEALERSHIP QUOTED US ALMOST $750.00 TO REPLACE IT! I HAD THE JEEP TOWED TO A HIGHLY RECOMMENDED GARAGE IN MY NEIGHBORHOOD. THE MECHANIC PULLED THE FUEL PUMP OUT AND TOLD ME THE SWITCH ON THE PUMP WAS MELTED! I'M NOT A MECHANIC BUT I'M PRETTY SURE THAT IS NOT SAFE, (HAVING AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM INSIDE THE FUEL TANK). HE ALSO TOLD ME THE PUMP WAS ON NATIONAL BACK-ORDER. I HAVE RESEARCHED MANY JEEP FORUMS AND IT SEEMS I AM NOT ALONE WITH THIS PROBLEM. I DON'T BELIEVE CONSUMERS SHOULD DISH OUT $22,000 FOR A NEW VEHICLE AND THEN BE SOL WHEN IT COMES TO REPLACING FAULTY PARTS LIKE THIS FUEL PUMP, JUST BECAUSE THE WARRANTY EXPIRED. I AM PUSHING TO SEE THIS PROBLEM TURN INTO A RECALL, BECAUSE I WOULD HATE TO BE DRIVING WITH MY FAMILY AND HAVE THE FUEL PUMP SHORT OUT AGAIN CAUSING US TOO CRASH. TO TOP IT ALL OFF, I JUST GOT THE VEHICLE BACK FROM THE GARAGE 2 DAYS AGO AND NOW IT'S NOT STARTING AGAIN. I WOULDN'T RECOMMEND BUYING THIS YEAR VEHICLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/30/2011 - EVERGREEN PARK, IL
BOTH THE DRIVER SIDE AND PASSENGER CURTAIN AIRBAGS DEPLOYED WITHOUT ANY IMPACT WHILE THE BRAKE WAS ENGAGED AT A STOPLIGHT. THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEFLATE AND WERE CUT DOWN BY THE PARAMEDICS SO THAT I COULD EXIT THE CAR. INJURIES WERE SUSTAINED, BRUISING, SWELLING, BLACK EYE AND BURNS FROM THE AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT. INDEPENDENT INVESTIGATORS WERE UNABLE TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF DEPLOYMENT. CURRENTLY WAITING FOR JEEP TO REMEDY THE SITUATION. WAITING FOR A SETTLEMENT FOR MY JEEP, MEDICAL, AND RENTAL BILLS SO I CAN PURCHASE ANOTHER VEHICLE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/26/2011 - ROCKFORD, IL
THE BEARINGS MELTED INTO THE HUB ASSEMBLY AND IT WORE OUT THE BRAKES AND RUIN ALL FOUR TIRES, NOW THE LOWER CONTROL ARMS ARE GOING OUT. I HAVE ONLY 43000 MILES ON THE CAR AND THE WARRANTY HAS RAN OUT AT 36000 MILES. THIS SHOULD NOT HAVE HAPPEN WITH SUCH LOW MILEAGE. ALIGNMENT WILL NOT STAY BECAUSE OF THE TIRES AND THE LOWER CONTROL ARMS. THERE HAS NOT BEEN A RECALL BUT THE HUB, BEARINGS ARE NOT ABLE TO GEASED. SO THESE PARTS WEAR OUT SOONER THAN NORMAL.

View Details

STEERING

9/2/2011 - CARNEGIE, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP COMPASS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE HAVING THE VEHICLE INSPECTED BY AN INDEPENDENT REPAIR SHOP, SHE WAS INFORMED THAT THE TIE RODS AND SUSPENSION SYSTEM WOULD NEED REPLACING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE BUT OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 26,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds