Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP COMPASS - 2007 JEEP COMPASS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 114 complaints filed for the 2007 JEEP COMPASS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 JEEP COMPASS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 JEEP COMPASS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (8) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electrical System (10) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seats (1) Suspension (44) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (7) Power Train (18) Steering (17) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

8/20/2012 - HENDERSONVILLE, NC
JUST LIKE A LOT OF OTHER COMPLAINTS, HAD TO HAVE TIE RODS AND BALL JOINTS REPLACED. SEEM LIKE A LOT OF THE JEEP COMPASSES HAVE THIS PROBLEM. CAN THEY NOT MAKE THEM BETTER. SHOULD BE A RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE

8/18/2012 - SLIDELL, LA
WE BOUGHT OUR JEEP COMPASS IN JANUARY 2007. APPROX. DATE FOR THIS PROBLEM IS SEPT 2011. OUR JEEP STARTED ACTING LIKE IT WAS GOING TO STALL WHEN STOPPED AT A LIGHT OR WHEN IN MOTION. AT OTHER TIMES, IT WOULDN'T START AFTER MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS. MOST TIMES IT WOULD START. ONE DAY IT DID NOT START AT ALL AND WE DECIDED TO TAKE IT IN TO THE DEALERSHIP THE NEXT DAY. THAT MORNING, IT STARTED, BUT WE STILL TOOK IT IN. THE ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON ALSO. WE TOLD THEM WE THINK ITS THE BATTERY BECAUSE WE HAD ISSUES WITH THAT ALREADY (BATTERY REPLACED IN 2010 AND AGAIN IN, I THINK, 2011, SOMETHING IN THE JEEP WAS DRAINING THE BATTERY). LONG BEACH CA DEALERSHIP. I THINK THEY CHARGED US A FEE TO HOOK IT UP TO THE COMPUTER, THEY COULD NOT FIND THE PROBLEM, AND SAID IT WAS NOT THE BATTERY. THEY SAID IF IT HAPPENS AGAIN, TO BRING IT BACK. OVER THE PAST YEAR, THE STALLING INCREASED AND THE JEEP WAS NOT STARTING CORRECTLY. AUG 1, 2012, APPROX. MILEAGE 104,000, WE TRIED TO START OUR JEEP, AND IT WOULDN'T START AT ALL. WE HAD IT TOWED TO BILOXI MS DEALERSHIP AND WE TOLD THEM THIS HAD HAPPENED BEFORE. THE ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON AGAIN AND ANOTHER LIGHT I CANT REMEMBER WHAT IT WAS FOR. THEY HOOKED IT UP TO THEIR COMPUTER AND IT TOLD THEM IT WAS THE FUEL PUMP. THEY PROCEEDED TO START TO REPLACE IT, BUT, BEFORE THEY DID, THEY CAME TO US AND HAD US LOOK AT THE CONNECTOR SWITCH FOR THE FUEL PUMP. IT HAD MELTED, HAD BURNS ON IT, AND HAD MELTED THROUGH THE PUMP. WHY THIS IS NOT A SAFETY RECALL IS BEYOND ME WHEN I SEE OTHERS HAVE THIS SAME PROBLEM! THE MECHANIC SAID WE WERE LUCKY THIS THING HAD NOT CAUGHT ON FIRE WHILE WE WERE DRIVING IT!! AND EVEN MORE DISTURBING, THE FUEL PUMP IS LOCATED UNDER THE BACKSEAT! WHAT IF WE HAD OUR GRANDSON WITH US AND IT CAUGHT FIRE, OR EVEN WORSE, EXPLODED? ANYONE WITH A JEEP COMPASS WITH THESE PROBLEMS SHOULD HAVE THEIR FUEL PUMPS LOOKED AT IMMEDIATELY!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/18/2012 - SLIDELL, LA
WE BOUGHT OUR JEEP COMPASS IN JANUARY 2007. APPROX. DATE FOR THIS PROBLEM IS SEPT 2011. OUR JEEP STARTED ACTING LIKE IT WAS GOING TO STALL WHEN STOPPED AT A LIGHT OR WHEN IN MOTION. AT OTHER TIMES, IT WOULDN'T START AFTER MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS. MOST TIMES IT WOULD START. ONE DAY IT DID NOT START AT ALL AND WE DECIDED TO TAKE IT IN TO THE DEALERSHIP THE NEXT DAY. THAT MORNING, IT STARTED, BUT WE STILL TOOK IT IN. THE ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON ALSO. WE TOLD THEM WE THINK ITS THE BATTERY BECAUSE WE HAD ISSUES WITH THAT ALREADY (BATTERY REPLACED IN 2010 AND AGAIN IN, I THINK, 2011, SOMETHING IN THE JEEP WAS DRAINING THE BATTERY). LONG BEACH CA DEALERSHIP. I THINK THEY CHARGED US A FEE TO HOOK IT UP TO THE COMPUTER, THEY COULD NOT FIND THE PROBLEM, AND SAID IT WAS NOT THE BATTERY. THEY SAID IF IT HAPPENS AGAIN, TO BRING IT BACK. OVER THE PAST YEAR, THE STALLING INCREASED AND THE JEEP WAS NOT STARTING CORRECTLY. AUG 1, 2012, APPROX. MILEAGE 104,000, WE TRIED TO START OUR JEEP, AND IT WOULDN'T START AT ALL. WE HAD IT TOWED TO BILOXI MS DEALERSHIP AND WE TOLD THEM THIS HAD HAPPENED BEFORE. THE ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON AGAIN AND ANOTHER LIGHT I CANT REMEMBER WHAT IT WAS FOR. THEY HOOKED IT UP TO THEIR COMPUTER AND IT TOLD THEM IT WAS THE FUEL PUMP. THEY PROCEEDED TO START TO REPLACE IT, BUT, BEFORE THEY DID, THEY CAME TO US AND HAD US LOOK AT THE CONNECTOR SWITCH FOR THE FUEL PUMP. IT HAD MELTED, HAD BURNS ON IT, AND HAD MELTED THROUGH THE PUMP. WHY THIS IS NOT A SAFETY RECALL IS BEYOND ME WHEN I SEE OTHERS HAVE THIS SAME PROBLEM! THE MECHANIC SAID WE WERE LUCKY THIS THING HAD NOT CAUGHT ON FIRE WHILE WE WERE DRIVING IT!! AND EVEN MORE DISTURBING, THE FUEL PUMP IS LOCATED UNDER THE BACKSEAT! WHAT IF WE HAD OUR GRANDSON WITH US AND IT CAUGHT FIRE, OR EVEN WORSE, EXPLODED? ANYONE WITH A JEEP COMPASS WITH THESE PROBLEMS SHOULD HAVE THEIR FUEL PUMPS LOOKED AT IMMEDIATELY!

View Details

ENGINE

6/8/2012 - KISSIMMEE, FL
CAR STALLS OUT AT RED LIGHTS, NUMEROUS SIMILAR PROBLEMS ON THE WEB, NO SOLUTION. NO ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON JUST RUNS ROUGH WHEN STOPPED AND STALLS OUT, AFRAID I AM GOING TO GET REARED. GARAGE CANNOT FIND PROBLEM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

4/13/2012 - GREENWOOD, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP COMPASS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE ABS AND TRACTION CONTROL WARNING LIGHTS WERE ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE BRAKES BEGAN TO ENGAGE SUDDENLY AND INDEPENDENTLY. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC WHERE THE TECHNICIAN ADVISED THAT THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKE MODULE WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 06V493000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:ANTI LOCK:CONTROL UNIT/MODULE) BUT WAS ADVISED BY THE MANUFACTURER THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 145,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR

4/4/2012 - GLADSTONE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP COMPASS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD SQUEAKING SOUND COMING FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTICS. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THE REAR LOWER BALL JOINTS WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. PRIOR TO THE FAILURE WITH THE LOWER BALL JOINTS THE CONTACT STATED THE FRONT DRIVERS AND PASSENGER SIDE TIE ROD HAD TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT DID NOT EXPERIENCE A FAILURE WITH THE TIE ROD. THE LOWER BALL JOINTS WERE NOT REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 33,000. UPDATED 05/11/12 UPDATED 05/21/12

View Details

STEERING: LINKAGES: TIE ROD ASSEMBLY

4/4/2012 - GLADSTONE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP COMPASS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD SQUEAKING SOUND COMING FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTICS. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THE REAR LOWER BALL JOINTS WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. PRIOR TO THE FAILURE WITH THE LOWER BALL JOINTS THE CONTACT STATED THE FRONT DRIVERS AND PASSENGER SIDE TIE ROD HAD TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT DID NOT EXPERIENCE A FAILURE WITH THE TIE ROD. THE LOWER BALL JOINTS WERE NOT REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 33,000. UPDATED 05/11/12 UPDATED 05/21/12

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/20/2012 - LAKE ARIEL, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP COMPASS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STRUTS, BALL JOINTS AND WHEEL HUBS HAD TO BE REPLACED ON THE VEHICLE THREE TIMES. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE PARTS WERE DESIGNED TO WEAR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TRANSMISSION ALSO FAILED. THE DEALER ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE CVT PART WAS THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE AND THE ENTIRE TRANSMISSION WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN, BUT THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 128,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/20/2012 - LAKE ARIEL, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP COMPASS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STRUTS, BALL JOINTS AND WHEEL HUBS HAD TO BE REPLACED ON THE VEHICLE THREE TIMES. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE PARTS WERE DESIGNED TO WEAR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TRANSMISSION ALSO FAILED. THE DEALER ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE CVT PART WAS THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE AND THE ENTIRE TRANSMISSION WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN, BUT THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 128,000.

View Details

STEERING

1/4/2012 - FAIRFAX, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP COMPASS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A STATE INSPECTION STATION, WHERE THE INSPECTOR DETERMINED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT SAFE TO BE DRIVEN. THE VEHICLE WAS THEN TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TEST. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE FRONT SUSPENSION, BALL JOINTS, STEERING AND BRAKES WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED DUE TO EXCESSIVE WEAR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds