Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE - 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 225 complaints filed for the 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine And Engine Cooling (44) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Steering (19) Unknown Or Other (5)
Communications (1) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electrical System (53) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (73) Suspension (3) Visibility (12)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Tires (10) Wheels (3)
Engine (39) Fuel System Diesel (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

4/11/2014 - BOZEMAN, MT
TL - THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ELECTRIC TURBO WARNING LAMP ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE INTAKE MANIFOLD SWIRL VALVES AND MOTOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 83,000. PM

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/7/2014 - HAVERTOWN, PA
AFTER APPLICATION OF SAFETY RECALL N23/ NHTSA 13V-175. REPROGRAM FINAL DRIVE CONTROLLER MODULE. 2005 - 2010. (WK) JEEP« GRAND CHEROKEE. 2006 - 2010. (XK) JEEP COMMANDER, THE TRANSFER CASE OF OUR CAR COULD NOT BE SHIFTED OUT OF 4-HIGH TO EITHER NEUTRAL OR 4-LOW. CONSEQUENTLY A MAJOR DRIVE TRAIN COMPONENT HAS BEEN DESTROYED. THIS DEMONSTRATES THE SOFTWARE IS DEFECTIVE AND POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS AND MAY NOT CORRECT THE REASON FOR THE RECALL. THOUSANDS OF JEEP VEHICLES SUBJECTED TO THIS RECALL HAVE SUFFERED THE SAME LOSS OF FUNCTION. HOW DOES NHTSA, OR WE, KNOW THE SAFETY PROBLEM IS ACTUALLY FIXED? IT IS OBVIOUS THE SOFTWARE USED IN THIS RECALL WAS NOT SUBJECTED TO SUFFICIENT TESTING TO VALIDATE IT. I THEREFORE FEAR MY CAR IS JUST AS LIABLE TO HAVE A SAFETY DEFECT NOW AS IT DID BEFORE THE RECALL. I WILL CONTINUE TO RETURN TO THE DEALER FOR SERVICE UNTIL THE ISSUE IS FIXED COSTING THEM TIME AND MONEY AS I WILL NOT BE PAYING FOR ANY FURTHER SERVICE REGARDING THIS ISSUE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/2/2014 - GREENSBORO, NC
I HAD MADE A LEFT TURN, BEGIN TO ACCELERATE, AND ALL OF A SUDDEN, CAR BEGUN TO SHUT DOWN, CAR SLOWED DOWN, UNTIL IT CAME TO A STOP. TOOK CAR TO DEALER, PROBLEM WAS NOT FIXED, CONTINUED TO HAVE SAME PROBLEM OVER NEXT SEVERAL YEARS. I WAS UNAWARE, AND NEVER RECEIVED A NOTICE OF RECALL FOR TRANSMISSION PROBLEM. I TURNED THE POWER OFF, WAIT ABOUT 1 MINUTE, STARTED VEHICLE AND IT RAN FINE. DURING THE RIDE, ELECTRICAL PANEL BEGAN TO FLASH, EVERYTHING WAS TURNING ON AND OFF. GAS GAUGE, AND EVERY OTHER GAUGE ON THE PANEL WENT UP AND DOWN. EVERY LIGHT ON THE PANEL FLASHED ON AND OFF. THIS HAS HAPPEN MANY TIMES OVER THE YEARS AS WELL. I RECENTLY TOOK VEHICLE TO DEALERSHIP IN NOVEMBER 2013, WHO TOLD ME THEY COULD NOT FINE ANYTHING WRONG WITH MY CAR. JUST IN THE LAST FEW WEEKS I HAVE HAD THIS ELECTRICAL PROBLEM, MARCH 2014. WHAT IS WRONG WITH MY CAR, HOW CAN I GET IS FIXED? WHAT DO I DO IF I HAVE A RECALLED VEHICLE?

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/2/2014 - GREENSBORO, NC
I HAD MADE A LEFT TURN, BEGIN TO ACCELERATE, AND ALL OF A SUDDEN, CAR BEGUN TO SHUT DOWN, CAR SLOWED DOWN, UNTIL IT CAME TO A STOP. TOOK CAR TO DEALER, PROBLEM WAS NOT FIXED, CONTINUED TO HAVE SAME PROBLEM OVER NEXT SEVERAL YEARS. I WAS UNAWARE, AND NEVER RECEIVED A NOTICE OF RECALL FOR TRANSMISSION PROBLEM. I TURNED THE POWER OFF, WAIT ABOUT 1 MINUTE, STARTED VEHICLE AND IT RAN FINE. DURING THE RIDE, ELECTRICAL PANEL BEGAN TO FLASH, EVERYTHING WAS TURNING ON AND OFF. GAS GAUGE, AND EVERY OTHER GAUGE ON THE PANEL WENT UP AND DOWN. EVERY LIGHT ON THE PANEL FLASHED ON AND OFF. THIS HAS HAPPEN MANY TIMES OVER THE YEARS AS WELL. I RECENTLY TOOK VEHICLE TO DEALERSHIP IN NOVEMBER 2013, WHO TOLD ME THEY COULD NOT FINE ANYTHING WRONG WITH MY CAR. JUST IN THE LAST FEW WEEKS I HAVE HAD THIS ELECTRICAL PROBLEM, MARCH 2014. WHAT IS WRONG WITH MY CAR, HOW CAN I GET IS FIXED? WHAT DO I DO IF I HAVE A RECALLED VEHICLE?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/2/2014 - GREENSBORO, NC
I HAD MADE A LEFT TURN, BEGIN TO ACCELERATE, AND ALL OF A SUDDEN, CAR BEGUN TO SHUT DOWN, CAR SLOWED DOWN, UNTIL IT CAME TO A STOP. TOOK CAR TO DEALER, PROBLEM WAS NOT FIXED, CONTINUED TO HAVE SAME PROBLEM OVER NEXT SEVERAL YEARS. I WAS UNAWARE, AND NEVER RECEIVED A NOTICE OF RECALL FOR TRANSMISSION PROBLEM. I TURNED THE POWER OFF, WAIT ABOUT 1 MINUTE, STARTED VEHICLE AND IT RAN FINE. DURING THE RIDE, ELECTRICAL PANEL BEGAN TO FLASH, EVERYTHING WAS TURNING ON AND OFF. GAS GAUGE, AND EVERY OTHER GAUGE ON THE PANEL WENT UP AND DOWN. EVERY LIGHT ON THE PANEL FLASHED ON AND OFF. THIS HAS HAPPEN MANY TIMES OVER THE YEARS AS WELL. I RECENTLY TOOK VEHICLE TO DEALERSHIP IN NOVEMBER 2013, WHO TOLD ME THEY COULD NOT FINE ANYTHING WRONG WITH MY CAR. JUST IN THE LAST FEW WEEKS I HAVE HAD THIS ELECTRICAL PROBLEM, MARCH 2014. WHAT IS WRONG WITH MY CAR, HOW CAN I GET IS FIXED? WHAT DO I DO IF I HAVE A RECALLED VEHICLE?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/25/2014 - PORTLAND, OR
AFTER RECEIVING THE RECALL N23, MY VEHICLE IS UNABLE TO SHIFT INTO 4X4-LO. THE DEALERSHIP HAS ACKNOWLEDGED THAT THIS IS RELATED TO THE RECALLS UPDATE. CHRYSLER REFUSES TO OFFER A SOLUTION TO THIS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/18/2014 - CANTON, MI
I ALREADY FILED A COMPLAINT ABOUT THIS PROBLEM LAST MONTH WITH NHTSA. THIS WEEK I FOUND OUT I CAN TURN THE IGNITION KEY OFF WHILE THE CAR IS DRIVING....WOW! I DISCOVERED THAT BECAUSE I WANTED TO RE-INACT WHAT THE CAR DOES WHILE I'M DRIVING IT SO THE JEEP MECHANICS CAN FIGURE OUT WHAT'S WRONG WITH THIS CAR. I CAN BE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AT DIFFERENT SPEEDS & ALL OF A SUDDEN ALL THE DASH WARNING LIGHTS COME ON, I LOSE ACCELERATION, LIKE THE CAR IS SHUTTING DOWN. I PANIC AND PUMP THE GAS PEDDLE(NO ACCELERATION) AND TRY TO TURN THE IGNITION KEY ON, THAT MAKES THE LIGHTS ON DASH GO OFF, & I RESUME SPEED LIKE NOTHING HAPPENED. THIS CAR HAS DONE THIS SINCE IT WAS NEW, DEALERSHIP GUYS WOULD TELL ME "TAKE ANY EXTRA KEYS OFF YOUR KEY RING" WHEN I ONLY HAD A COUPLE OF KEYS ON IT. TODAY, WHEN I TOOK IT INTO THE DEALERSHIP, THE FIRST THING THE MECHANIC SAID WAS "TAKE EXTRA KEYS OFF", I ONLY HAVE 2 OTHER KEYS ON THE RING. I PUT A DEALERSHIP SERVICE TECH IN THE CAR WITH ME IN THE PARKING LOT & TOLD HIM TO MOVE THE IGNITION KEY WHILE DRIVING, HE SAID "YOU SHOULDN'T BE ABLE TO DO THAT". HE WENT IN THE BACK TO TALK TO ONE OF THE MECHANICS AND HE SAID THE SAME THING, YOU SHOULDN'T BE ABLE TO TURN THE KEY IN DRIVE. NOW I HAVE AN APPT. ON THURSDAY 3/20/14 TO LEAVE THE CAR THERE FOR INSPECTION. I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE THIS CAR NOW. IT ALWAYS HAPPENED ABOUT 4 TIMES A YEAR SINCE IT WAS NEW, BUT LATELY IT HAS HAPPENED ABOUT 4 TIMES IN THE LAST 2 WEEKS. WITH THE DEATHS ON THE NEWS RIGHT NOW WITH GM, FRANKLY I DON'T WANT TO BE A STATISTIC! THE DEALERSHIP SAYS INTERMITTEN PROBLEMS ARE VERY HARD TO DETECT, SAYS IT WOULD BE GOOD TO GET THE CAR WHEN IT STRANDS ME, THEN THEY WILL KNOW WHAT'S WRONG. IT WOULD BE MY LUCK THE NEXT TIME IT HAPPENS, I WILL BE GOING 60 MPH ON E-WAY & A SEMI TRUCK RUNS ME OVER WHEN I LOSE POWER. PLEASE TAKE THIS COMPLAINT SERIOUSLY.

View Details

ENGINE

3/14/2014 - MORRISVILLE, NC
WHILE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION A FRONT DASHBOARD LIGHTS WOULD FLASH FOR A WHILE AND SUDDENLY GOES DARK INCLUDING HEAD LIGHTS AND BREAK LIGHTS. THIS IS NOT IN ANY COORELATION WITH WEATHER, TEMPERATURE OR ROAD CONDITIONS. THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING RANDOMLY AND DUE TO SAFETY CONCERN WE NO LONGER USE THE VEHICLE FOR A FAMILY TRIP AND WE DO NOT USE THE VEHICLE AT NIGHT SINCE ALL ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS GOES OFF WHILE IT IS IN MOTION. PER ONLINE SEARCH IT APPEARS THERE ARE NUMEROUS JEEP OWNERS EXPERIENCING THE SIMILAR MALFUNCTION. THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE, SO WHY THE MANUFACTURER HAS NOT ISSUED A RECALL TO HAVE THIS REPAIRED?

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/14/2014 - MORRISVILLE, NC
WHILE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION A FRONT DASHBOARD LIGHTS WOULD FLASH FOR A WHILE AND SUDDENLY GOES DARK INCLUDING HEAD LIGHTS AND BREAK LIGHTS. THIS IS NOT IN ANY COORELATION WITH WEATHER, TEMPERATURE OR ROAD CONDITIONS. THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING RANDOMLY AND DUE TO SAFETY CONCERN WE NO LONGER USE THE VEHICLE FOR A FAMILY TRIP AND WE DO NOT USE THE VEHICLE AT NIGHT SINCE ALL ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS GOES OFF WHILE IT IS IN MOTION. PER ONLINE SEARCH IT APPEARS THERE ARE NUMEROUS JEEP OWNERS EXPERIENCING THE SIMILAR MALFUNCTION. THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE, SO WHY THE MANUFACTURER HAS NOT ISSUED A RECALL TO HAVE THIS REPAIRED?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/14/2014 - MORRISVILLE, NC
WHILE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION A FRONT DASHBOARD LIGHTS WOULD FLASH FOR A WHILE AND SUDDENLY GOES DARK INCLUDING HEAD LIGHTS AND BREAK LIGHTS. THIS IS NOT IN ANY COORELATION WITH WEATHER, TEMPERATURE OR ROAD CONDITIONS. THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING RANDOMLY AND DUE TO SAFETY CONCERN WE NO LONGER USE THE VEHICLE FOR A FAMILY TRIP AND WE DO NOT USE THE VEHICLE AT NIGHT SINCE ALL ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS GOES OFF WHILE IT IS IN MOTION. PER ONLINE SEARCH IT APPEARS THERE ARE NUMEROUS JEEP OWNERS EXPERIENCING THE SIMILAR MALFUNCTION. THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE, SO WHY THE MANUFACTURER HAS NOT ISSUED A RECALL TO HAVE THIS REPAIRED?

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds