Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE - 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 236 complaints filed for the 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine And Engine Cooling (44) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Steering (19) Unknown Or Other (5)
Communications (1) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (27)
Electrical System (58) Exterior Lighting (6) Power Train (78) Suspension (3) Visibility (12)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Service Brakes (1) Tires (10) Wheels (3)
Engine (43) Fuel System Diesel (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/3/2014 - WATERTOWN, NY
I BOUGHT A USED 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE 2 YEARS AGO IN ALABAMA. WE HAVE SINCE MOVED TO NEW YORK STATE AND THEY DO VEHICLE INSPECTIONS (ALABAMA DOES NOT). WHEN GETTING THE VEHICLE INSPECTED IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THE CUT OUT FOR THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL IS NON EXISTENT. ALL OTHER CUT OUTS ARE PRESENT AND THE LED FOR THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS PRESENT AND WORKING. THE INSTRUMENT PANEL IS STAMPED AS BEING ORIGINAL AND NOT AFTERMARKET. BECAUSE THERE IS NOT A CUT OUT THE LED FOR THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS NOT VISIBLE WITH THE INSTRUMENT PANEL INSTALLED AND WILL NOT PASS INSPECTION. I HAVE CONTACTED MY LOCAL JEEP DEALERSHIP (FX CAPRARA) AND THEY TOLD ME TODAY THAT I HAVE TO PAY TO FIX IT. A NEW PANEL BEING $600 AND A USED PANEL FROM MY LOCAL PICK AND PULL BEING $125. I CALLED JEEP CUSTOMER SERVICE TODAY AND THEY AGAIN TOLD ME JEEP CAN'T DO ANYTHING AND THAT IT IS UP TO THE DEALERSHIPS. I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY IT WOULD BE UP TO ME TO PAY FOR THIS. IT IS A MANUFACTURER DEFECT AND SHOULD BE CORRECTED ON THAT LEVEL. I DID MY DUE DILIGENCE WHEN PURCHASING THE CAR BUT ONE CANNOT BE EXPECTED TO PULL THE DASH PANEL TO ENSURE ALL THE CUT OUTS ARE PRESENT. THIS NEEDS TO BE RESOLVED QUICKLY AS IT CANNOT BE USED UNTIL IT PASSES INSPECTION. IT ALSO POSSES A SAFETY CONCERN AS YOU ARE UNABLE TO KNOW IF THERE IS A CODE PRESENT. PLEASE GET BACK TO ME WITH A RESOLUTION IN A TIMELY MANNER.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/22/2014 - OXFORD, ME
EVERY TIME IT RAINS THE JEEP WONT START BEEN TO THE GARAGE TWICE THEY ALL THINK ITS THE STARTER BUT THEN YOU LET IT SIT ONCE ITS ALL DRY IT FIRES RIGHT UP SO NO ONE IS SURE WHY ABD WHATS HAPPENING BUT HAPPENS EVERY RAIN STORM

View Details

ENGINE

6/22/2014 - OXFORD, ME
EVERY TIME IT RAINS THE JEEP WONT START BEEN TO THE GARAGE TWICE THEY ALL THINK ITS THE STARTER BUT THEN YOU LET IT SIT ONCE ITS ALL DRY IT FIRES RIGHT UP SO NO ONE IS SURE WHY ABD WHATS HAPPENING BUT HAPPENS EVERY RAIN STORM

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/19/2014 - WESTMINSTER, CO
2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO SERVICE 4 WHEEL" ERROR CODE MESSAGE APPEARS WHEN VEHICLE IS PUT INTO NEUTRAL. THE CONSUMER STATED HE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER, FOR REPAIRS UNDER RECALL 13V175000. AFTER THE RECALL WAS PERFORMED, HE STATED THE FOLLOWING HAPPENED WITH THE VEHICLE: WHEN HE ATTEMPTED TO PUT THE VEHICLE IN NEUTRAL, A MESSAGE APPEARED THAT READ SERVICE 4-WHEEL. HE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A REPAIR SHOP AND WAS TOLD THE ERROR CODE SAID THE TRANSFER CASE ENCODED MOTOR WAS AT FAULT. HE HAD THE REPAIR DONE AND HAD THE TRANSMISSION AND TRANSFER CASE SERVICED. THE ENCODER MOTOR HAD TO BE PURCHASED FROM THE CHRYSLER DEALER. TWO MONTHS LATER, HE ATTEMPTED TO PUT THE VEHICLE IN NEUTRAL AND THE SAME MESSAGE APPEARED. HE TOOK THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALER AND THEY PERFORMED THE SAME RECALL REPAIRS. ON APRIL 24, 2014, THE MESSAGE APPEARED AGAIN. ON APRIL 30, 2014 THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START, SO IT HAD TO BE TOWED TO THE DEALER. THEY REPLACED THE STARTER SOLENOID AND BOTH FRONT WINDOW MOTORS. ALSO, THE SERVICE 4 WHEEL HAD APPEARED AGAIN. ON MAY 2, 21 ,AND 27 2014, THE SAME SERVICE MESSAGE APPEARED, AS WELL AS JUNE 1, 2014.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/19/2014 - WESTMINSTER, CO
2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO SERVICE 4 WHEEL" ERROR CODE MESSAGE APPEARS WHEN VEHICLE IS PUT INTO NEUTRAL. THE CONSUMER STATED HE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER, FOR REPAIRS UNDER RECALL 13V175000. AFTER THE RECALL WAS PERFORMED, HE STATED THE FOLLOWING HAPPENED WITH THE VEHICLE: WHEN HE ATTEMPTED TO PUT THE VEHICLE IN NEUTRAL, A MESSAGE APPEARED THAT READ SERVICE 4-WHEEL. HE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A REPAIR SHOP AND WAS TOLD THE ERROR CODE SAID THE TRANSFER CASE ENCODED MOTOR WAS AT FAULT. HE HAD THE REPAIR DONE AND HAD THE TRANSMISSION AND TRANSFER CASE SERVICED. THE ENCODER MOTOR HAD TO BE PURCHASED FROM THE CHRYSLER DEALER. TWO MONTHS LATER, HE ATTEMPTED TO PUT THE VEHICLE IN NEUTRAL AND THE SAME MESSAGE APPEARED. HE TOOK THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALER AND THEY PERFORMED THE SAME RECALL REPAIRS. ON APRIL 24, 2014, THE MESSAGE APPEARED AGAIN. ON APRIL 30, 2014 THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START, SO IT HAD TO BE TOWED TO THE DEALER. THEY REPLACED THE STARTER SOLENOID AND BOTH FRONT WINDOW MOTORS. ALSO, THE SERVICE 4 WHEEL HAD APPEARED AGAIN. ON MAY 2, 21 ,AND 27 2014, THE SAME SERVICE MESSAGE APPEARED, AS WELL AS JUNE 1, 2014.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/17/2014 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
I PURCHASED MY JEEP A LITTLE OVER A YEAR AGO USED. I HAVE HAD NUMEROUS PROBLEMS SINCE I HAVE PURCHASED IT. FIRST IT WAS THOUGHT TO BE AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM SINCE THE CAR WOULD RANDOMLY SHUTTER, WOULD NOT WANT TO START OR JUST TURNED OFF. BATTERY WAS REPLACED MULTIPLE TIMES, SINCE IT WOULD LEAVE STRANDED AT ANY GIVEN TIME. THE ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON, BUT THERE HAS NOT BEEN A SOLUTION TO WHAT IT CAN BE. I FEEL VERY UNSAFE IN MY CAR, AND I AM NOT SURE WHAT TO DO AT THIS POINT. WHEN I TURN THE CAR ON, THERE IS A LOUD HUM OR PROPELLING SOUND COMING OUT OF THE ENGINE. WHEN I COME TO A STOP YOU CAN FEEL THE CAR SHAKE WHEN THE NOISE HAPPENS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/17/2014 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
I PURCHASED MY JEEP A LITTLE OVER A YEAR AGO USED. I HAVE HAD NUMEROUS PROBLEMS SINCE I HAVE PURCHASED IT. FIRST IT WAS THOUGHT TO BE AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM SINCE THE CAR WOULD RANDOMLY SHUTTER, WOULD NOT WANT TO START OR JUST TURNED OFF. BATTERY WAS REPLACED MULTIPLE TIMES, SINCE IT WOULD LEAVE STRANDED AT ANY GIVEN TIME. THE ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON, BUT THERE HAS NOT BEEN A SOLUTION TO WHAT IT CAN BE. I FEEL VERY UNSAFE IN MY CAR, AND I AM NOT SURE WHAT TO DO AT THIS POINT. WHEN I TURN THE CAR ON, THERE IS A LOUD HUM OR PROPELLING SOUND COMING OUT OF THE ENGINE. WHEN I COME TO A STOP YOU CAN FEEL THE CAR SHAKE WHEN THE NOISE HAPPENS.

View Details

ENGINE

6/17/2014 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
I PURCHASED MY JEEP A LITTLE OVER A YEAR AGO USED. I HAVE HAD NUMEROUS PROBLEMS SINCE I HAVE PURCHASED IT. FIRST IT WAS THOUGHT TO BE AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM SINCE THE CAR WOULD RANDOMLY SHUTTER, WOULD NOT WANT TO START OR JUST TURNED OFF. BATTERY WAS REPLACED MULTIPLE TIMES, SINCE IT WOULD LEAVE STRANDED AT ANY GIVEN TIME. THE ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON, BUT THERE HAS NOT BEEN A SOLUTION TO WHAT IT CAN BE. I FEEL VERY UNSAFE IN MY CAR, AND I AM NOT SURE WHAT TO DO AT THIS POINT. WHEN I TURN THE CAR ON, THERE IS A LOUD HUM OR PROPELLING SOUND COMING OUT OF THE ENGINE. WHEN I COME TO A STOP YOU CAN FEEL THE CAR SHAKE WHEN THE NOISE HAPPENS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/29/2014 - CORAOPOLIS, PA
WHEN TURNING LEFT OR RIGHT AT SLOW SPEED THE ENGINE RPM DROP FROM ABOUT 600 RPM TO 300 OR 400 RPM AND THEN STALLS. THIS HAPPENED 11 TIME IN 2010 AND THEN FINAL DISAPPEARED. IT NOW HAPPEN IN 4 TIMES SINCE 24 MARCH 2014. TWICE IT HAPPENED IN NORTHERN NJ AS I TRIED TO ENTER THE GARDEN STATE PARKWAY, ONCE IN A SHIOPPING MALL AND TWO WEEKS AGO AS I WAS TURN OFF THE MAIN ROAD INTO MY STREET. RECENTLY I HAVE WRITTEN THE DEALER WHERE I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE EXPLAINING THE PROBLEM BUT I HAVE NEVER RECEIVED EVEN AN ACKNOWLEDGEMENT. I WAS TOLD BY CHRYSLER CUSTOMER SERVICE THAT I WOULD HAVE TO HAVE AN EXPENSIVE ANALYSIS DONE. WHEN THIS WAS DONE IN 2010 THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING. I WAS TOLD THEY HAD TO SEE IT HAPPEN. I HAD IT HAPPEN 1000 FT FROM THEIR FACILITY, BUT THEY REFUSED SEE THE VEHICLE UNLESS IT WAS TOWED. I FEEL THAT THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION ESPECIALLY WHEN IT OCCURS TURNING ON TO A HIGH SPEED HIGHWAY.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/29/2014 - CORAOPOLIS, PA
WHEN TURNING LEFT OR RIGHT AT SLOW SPEED THE ENGINE RPM DROP FROM ABOUT 600 RPM TO 300 OR 400 RPM AND THEN STALLS. THIS HAPPENED 11 TIME IN 2010 AND THEN FINAL DISAPPEARED. IT NOW HAPPEN IN 4 TIMES SINCE 24 MARCH 2014. TWICE IT HAPPENED IN NORTHERN NJ AS I TRIED TO ENTER THE GARDEN STATE PARKWAY, ONCE IN A SHIOPPING MALL AND TWO WEEKS AGO AS I WAS TURN OFF THE MAIN ROAD INTO MY STREET. RECENTLY I HAVE WRITTEN THE DEALER WHERE I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE EXPLAINING THE PROBLEM BUT I HAVE NEVER RECEIVED EVEN AN ACKNOWLEDGEMENT. I WAS TOLD BY CHRYSLER CUSTOMER SERVICE THAT I WOULD HAVE TO HAVE AN EXPENSIVE ANALYSIS DONE. WHEN THIS WAS DONE IN 2010 THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING. I WAS TOLD THEY HAD TO SEE IT HAPPEN. I HAD IT HAPPEN 1000 FT FROM THEIR FACILITY, BUT THEY REFUSED SEE THE VEHICLE UNLESS IT WAS TOWED. I FEEL THAT THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION ESPECIALLY WHEN IT OCCURS TURNING ON TO A HIGH SPEED HIGHWAY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds