Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE - 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 240 complaints filed for the 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine And Engine Cooling (44) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Steering (19) Unknown Or Other (7)
Communications (1) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (27)
Electrical System (60) Exterior Lighting (6) Power Train (80) Suspension (3) Visibility (12)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Service Brakes (1) Tires (10) Wheels (3)
Engine (44) Fuel System Diesel (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

7/23/2014 - SARASOTA, FL
WHEN STOPPED AT A STOP LIGHT ON A VERY CONGESTED ROAD. I PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR TO PROCEED WHEN THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN. I EXPERIENCED A SLOW SLUGGISH START SO I PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR FURTHER TO THE FLOORBOARD, THERE WAS NO RESPONSE BY THE ENGINE. CAR PROCEEDED AT A SLOW RATE OF SPEED (10 MPH WITH RPM'S AT 2500). I HAD TO PULL OFF TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND RESTART CAR WHICH DID SOMEWHAT FIX THE PROBLEM. I HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS NUMEROUS TIMES NOW, USUALLY OCCURS WHEN THE CAR IS SHIFTING IN 1ST AND 2ND GEAR. MY CONCERN IS WHEN I PULL INTO A RIGHT OF WAY AND THE CAR DOES NOT PROPERLY ACCELERATE I PUT MYSELF AND PASSENGERS AT A SAFETY RISK OF BEING COLLIDED IN THE REAR OF MY CAR BY ANOTHER CAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/23/2014 - SARASOTA, FL
WHEN STOPPED AT A STOP LIGHT ON A VERY CONGESTED ROAD. I PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR TO PROCEED WHEN THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN. I EXPERIENCED A SLOW SLUGGISH START SO I PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR FURTHER TO THE FLOORBOARD, THERE WAS NO RESPONSE BY THE ENGINE. CAR PROCEEDED AT A SLOW RATE OF SPEED (10 MPH WITH RPM'S AT 2500). I HAD TO PULL OFF TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND RESTART CAR WHICH DID SOMEWHAT FIX THE PROBLEM. I HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS NUMEROUS TIMES NOW, USUALLY OCCURS WHEN THE CAR IS SHIFTING IN 1ST AND 2ND GEAR. MY CONCERN IS WHEN I PULL INTO A RIGHT OF WAY AND THE CAR DOES NOT PROPERLY ACCELERATE I PUT MYSELF AND PASSENGERS AT A SAFETY RISK OF BEING COLLIDED IN THE REAR OF MY CAR BY ANOTHER CAR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/22/2014 - VIENNA, ME
WHILE DRIVING CAR IT BUCKED SEVERAL TIMES AND THEN WOULD NOT GO OVER 25 MPH. I BOUGHT THE CAR IN AUG 2009, 1 TIME WAS NOV 12 2009, THEN AGAIN MAR 15 2013 AND THEN AGAIN JUL 21 2014. ALL THREE TIMES THE ESM SHIFT MODULE HAD TO BE REPLACED. THE FIRST TIME THE DEALER REPLACE BUT THE LAST TWO TIMES I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE AT A THOUSAND DOLLARS. I HAVE CALLED CHRYSLER AS THIS IS A REOCCURRING PROBLEM THEY HAVE ASSIGNED A CASE NUMBER 25348880. IN CHECKING ONLINE FOR ISSUES THIS IS A REOCCURRING PROBLEM WITH JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE'S. IF I HAD BEEN ON THE HIGHWAY AND THE SPEED DROPPED TO 25 MPH I COULD HAVE BEEN REAR ENDED OR WORSE KILLED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/18/2014 - BUSHKILL, PA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING AT NO PARTICULAR SPEED, THE VEHICLE LOST ACCELERATION INDEPENDENT WITHOUT WARNING. THIS FAILURE CONTINUED TO OCCUR INTERMITTENTLY OVER A PERIOD OF FOUR MONTHS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 113,000. RG

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/16/2014 - BOWIE, MD
I WAS DRIVING ON ROUTE 50 GOING 65MPH. THIS VEHICLE IS A QUAD 4X4 AUTOMATIC / STICK SHIFT MANUAL, WHICH WAS IN MY FAVOR. WHEN I REALIZED THE VEHICLE WAS SHUTTING DOWN I HAD TO THINK QUICKLY WHAT MY NEXT STEPS WOULD BE. I STARTED TO GET OVER TO THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE ROAD AND BRAKE, BECAUSE THE VEHICLE WAS SHUTTING DOWN THE POWER BRAKES WHERE GOING OUT AND I COULD NOT BRAKE COMPLETELY. THE VEHICLE WAS STILL MOVING AND I WAS ABOUT 200 YARDS AWAY FROM MY EXIT AND THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WAS WINDING AROUND TOWARD THE OFF RAMP AND GETTING SMALLER FOR ME TO DRIVE ON. I REALIZED THAT I WAS NOT ABLE STOP THE VEHICLE BY USING THE FLOOR BRAKE THEN THE FEAR FACTOR SET IN. IN MY MIND THE ONLY THING I CAN DO IS PULL THE STICK SHIFT HANDBRAKE AND QUICKLY PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK THEN I WAS ABLE TO GET CONTROL AND SAFELY STOP THE VEHICLE. THIS ORDEAL HAPPENED AT 4:20PM YESTERDAY AND BY THE TIME WE TOWED THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP AND TRIED TO EXPLAIN TO THE GENERAL SALES MANAGER, SI FAIGE, ON SITE AT DARCARS IN NEW CARROLLTON, MD WHAT ALL TRANSPIRED ON THE ROAD IN THE UNSAFE VEHICLE THAT THEY SOLD US, HE DIDN-++T WANT TO HEAR ANY OF IT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/16/2014 - BOWIE, MD
I WAS DRIVING ON ROUTE 50 GOING 65MPH. THIS VEHICLE IS A QUAD 4X4 AUTOMATIC / STICK SHIFT MANUAL, WHICH WAS IN MY FAVOR. WHEN I REALIZED THE VEHICLE WAS SHUTTING DOWN I HAD TO THINK QUICKLY WHAT MY NEXT STEPS WOULD BE. I STARTED TO GET OVER TO THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE ROAD AND BRAKE, BECAUSE THE VEHICLE WAS SHUTTING DOWN THE POWER BRAKES WHERE GOING OUT AND I COULD NOT BRAKE COMPLETELY. THE VEHICLE WAS STILL MOVING AND I WAS ABOUT 200 YARDS AWAY FROM MY EXIT AND THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WAS WINDING AROUND TOWARD THE OFF RAMP AND GETTING SMALLER FOR ME TO DRIVE ON. I REALIZED THAT I WAS NOT ABLE STOP THE VEHICLE BY USING THE FLOOR BRAKE THEN THE FEAR FACTOR SET IN. IN MY MIND THE ONLY THING I CAN DO IS PULL THE STICK SHIFT HANDBRAKE AND QUICKLY PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK THEN I WAS ABLE TO GET CONTROL AND SAFELY STOP THE VEHICLE. THIS ORDEAL HAPPENED AT 4:20PM YESTERDAY AND BY THE TIME WE TOWED THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP AND TRIED TO EXPLAIN TO THE GENERAL SALES MANAGER, SI FAIGE, ON SITE AT DARCARS IN NEW CARROLLTON, MD WHAT ALL TRANSPIRED ON THE ROAD IN THE UNSAFE VEHICLE THAT THEY SOLD US, HE DIDN-++T WANT TO HEAR ANY OF IT.

View Details

ENGINE

7/16/2014 - BOWIE, MD
I WAS DRIVING ON ROUTE 50 GOING 65MPH. THIS VEHICLE IS A QUAD 4X4 AUTOMATIC / STICK SHIFT MANUAL, WHICH WAS IN MY FAVOR. WHEN I REALIZED THE VEHICLE WAS SHUTTING DOWN I HAD TO THINK QUICKLY WHAT MY NEXT STEPS WOULD BE. I STARTED TO GET OVER TO THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE ROAD AND BRAKE, BECAUSE THE VEHICLE WAS SHUTTING DOWN THE POWER BRAKES WHERE GOING OUT AND I COULD NOT BRAKE COMPLETELY. THE VEHICLE WAS STILL MOVING AND I WAS ABOUT 200 YARDS AWAY FROM MY EXIT AND THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WAS WINDING AROUND TOWARD THE OFF RAMP AND GETTING SMALLER FOR ME TO DRIVE ON. I REALIZED THAT I WAS NOT ABLE STOP THE VEHICLE BY USING THE FLOOR BRAKE THEN THE FEAR FACTOR SET IN. IN MY MIND THE ONLY THING I CAN DO IS PULL THE STICK SHIFT HANDBRAKE AND QUICKLY PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK THEN I WAS ABLE TO GET CONTROL AND SAFELY STOP THE VEHICLE. THIS ORDEAL HAPPENED AT 4:20PM YESTERDAY AND BY THE TIME WE TOWED THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP AND TRIED TO EXPLAIN TO THE GENERAL SALES MANAGER, SI FAIGE, ON SITE AT DARCARS IN NEW CARROLLTON, MD WHAT ALL TRANSPIRED ON THE ROAD IN THE UNSAFE VEHICLE THAT THEY SOLD US, HE DIDN-++T WANT TO HEAR ANY OF IT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/3/2014 - WATERTOWN, NY
I BOUGHT A USED 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE 2 YEARS AGO IN ALABAMA. WE HAVE SINCE MOVED TO NEW YORK STATE AND THEY DO VEHICLE INSPECTIONS (ALABAMA DOES NOT). WHEN GETTING THE VEHICLE INSPECTED IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THE CUT OUT FOR THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL IS NON EXISTENT. ALL OTHER CUT OUTS ARE PRESENT AND THE LED FOR THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS PRESENT AND WORKING. THE INSTRUMENT PANEL IS STAMPED AS BEING ORIGINAL AND NOT AFTERMARKET. BECAUSE THERE IS NOT A CUT OUT THE LED FOR THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS NOT VISIBLE WITH THE INSTRUMENT PANEL INSTALLED AND WILL NOT PASS INSPECTION. I HAVE CONTACTED MY LOCAL JEEP DEALERSHIP (FX CAPRARA) AND THEY TOLD ME TODAY THAT I HAVE TO PAY TO FIX IT. A NEW PANEL BEING $600 AND A USED PANEL FROM MY LOCAL PICK AND PULL BEING $125. I CALLED JEEP CUSTOMER SERVICE TODAY AND THEY AGAIN TOLD ME JEEP CAN'T DO ANYTHING AND THAT IT IS UP TO THE DEALERSHIPS. I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY IT WOULD BE UP TO ME TO PAY FOR THIS. IT IS A MANUFACTURER DEFECT AND SHOULD BE CORRECTED ON THAT LEVEL. I DID MY DUE DILIGENCE WHEN PURCHASING THE CAR BUT ONE CANNOT BE EXPECTED TO PULL THE DASH PANEL TO ENSURE ALL THE CUT OUTS ARE PRESENT. THIS NEEDS TO BE RESOLVED QUICKLY AS IT CANNOT BE USED UNTIL IT PASSES INSPECTION. IT ALSO POSSES A SAFETY CONCERN AS YOU ARE UNABLE TO KNOW IF THERE IS A CODE PRESENT. PLEASE GET BACK TO ME WITH A RESOLUTION IN A TIMELY MANNER.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/22/2014 - OXFORD, ME
EVERY TIME IT RAINS THE JEEP WONT START BEEN TO THE GARAGE TWICE THEY ALL THINK ITS THE STARTER BUT THEN YOU LET IT SIT ONCE ITS ALL DRY IT FIRES RIGHT UP SO NO ONE IS SURE WHY ABD WHATS HAPPENING BUT HAPPENS EVERY RAIN STORM

View Details

ENGINE

6/22/2014 - OXFORD, ME
EVERY TIME IT RAINS THE JEEP WONT START BEEN TO THE GARAGE TWICE THEY ALL THINK ITS THE STARTER BUT THEN YOU LET IT SIT ONCE ITS ALL DRY IT FIRES RIGHT UP SO NO ONE IS SURE WHY ABD WHATS HAPPENING BUT HAPPENS EVERY RAIN STORM

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds