Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE - 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 245 complaints filed for the 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine And Engine Cooling (44) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Steering (19) Unknown Or Other (7)
Communications (1) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (27)
Electrical System (60) Exterior Lighting (6) Power Train (83) Suspension (3) Visibility (12)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Service Brakes (1) Tires (10) Wheels (3)
Engine (47) Fuel System Diesel (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

8/26/2014 - JONESTOWN, PA
DRIVING ALONG TRYING TO PICK UP SPEED AND JUST HELD AT 40, WOULDN'T ACCELERATE. THIS HAPPENED PROBABLY 3-4 TIMES. TOOK IT TO DEALER, THEY COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG, SAID TRANSMISSION OPERATING NORMAL. IN 2012 IT STARTED NOT TO ACCELERATE BEYOND 20. I PULLED OUT OF A PARKING LOT FROM A RED LIGHT AND IT WOULDN'T ACCELERATE. I QUICKLY PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND CALLED FOR A TOW TRUCK. I WAS AFRAID TO DRIVE IT HOME. I WAS AFRAID I WOULD GET SOMEWHERE WHERE I COULDN'T SAFELY PULL OVER. THE DEALER AT THAT TIME REPLACED FAULTED ESM MODULE AND SAID IT WAS FIXED AND IT WAS COVERED UNDER MY WARRANTY. IN JULY 2014 IT HAPPENED AGAIN, EXACT SAME THING. I PULLED OUT FROM A RESTAURANT ONTO A HIGHWAY AND HAD NO POWER, COULDN'T GO OVER 20. I PULLED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, TURNED IT OFF AND STARTED IT UP AGAIN AND HAD NO PROBLEMS THE REST OF THE WAY HOME. TOOK IT AGAIN TO THE DEALER AND HE SAID THERE WAS SOME UPDATE TO A RECALL THAT IT SHOULD BE FINE. 8/21/14 - JUST LAST WEEK IT DID IT AGAIN. I PULLED UP TO A RED LIGHT, STEPPED ON THE GAS WHEN IT TURNED GREEN AND HAD NO POWER. I QUICKLY PULLED OVER AND WAITED AND TRIED TO GO AGAIN, IT STILL HAD NO POWER. I TURNED IT OFF AND TRIED ONE MORE TIME, AND IT WORKED FINE THE REST OF THE WAY HOME AGAIN. IT'S A SAFETY HAZARD TO TURN ONTO A HIGHWAY OR BUSY ROADWAY AND HAVE TO QUICKLY PULL TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THERE ISN'T ALWAYS A SAFE PLACE TO DO THIS, AND EACH TIME THERE HAS BEEN PEOPLE BEHIND ME THAT I WAS AFRAID TO BE REAR-ENDED OR CAUSING A PILEUP.

View Details

ENGINE

8/14/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE ENGINE WAS SUDDENLY ENGULFED IN FLAMES. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN APPROXIMATELY FIVE MINUTES PRIOR TO THE FAILURE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. NO INJURIES WERE REPORTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND STATED THAT THEY WOULD SEND AN INVESTIGATOR TO INSPECT THE VEHICLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000.

View Details

ENGINE

8/11/2014 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE WOULD STALL AND THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR WOULD ILLUMINATE. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,000.

View Details

ENGINE

8/1/2014 - ST LEWIS , MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 154,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/31/2014 - CLOVERDALE, IN
N23 RECALL WAS DONE A WHILE BACK WHICH HAS SINCE THEN TURNED INTO NO 4 WHEEL LOW/ NEUTRAL. I WAS ADVISED BY THE DEALER AS HAVE MANY PEOPLE IT SEEMS THAT IT'S THE TRANSFERCASE ACTUATOR MOTOR SO I REPLACED IT MYSELF IT WAS GOOD FOR A FEW WEEKS THEN CAME UP ON THE DASH AGAIN SERVICE 4 WHEEL DRIVE SYSTEM. CHRYSLER HAS SINCE CAME OUT WITH A REFLASH IT LOOKS LIKE AND WHEN I CALLED IN TODAY TO SEE WHAT IT'S ABOUT THEY ARE GOING TO CHARGE ME FOR IT. IT'S STUPID I HAVE TO PAY TO FIX THEIR MISTAKE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/23/2014 - SARASOTA, FL
WHEN STOPPED AT A STOP LIGHT ON A VERY CONGESTED ROAD. I PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR TO PROCEED WHEN THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN. I EXPERIENCED A SLOW SLUGGISH START SO I PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR FURTHER TO THE FLOORBOARD, THERE WAS NO RESPONSE BY THE ENGINE. CAR PROCEEDED AT A SLOW RATE OF SPEED (10 MPH WITH RPM'S AT 2500). I HAD TO PULL OFF TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND RESTART CAR WHICH DID SOMEWHAT FIX THE PROBLEM. I HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS NUMEROUS TIMES NOW, USUALLY OCCURS WHEN THE CAR IS SHIFTING IN 1ST AND 2ND GEAR. MY CONCERN IS WHEN I PULL INTO A RIGHT OF WAY AND THE CAR DOES NOT PROPERLY ACCELERATE I PUT MYSELF AND PASSENGERS AT A SAFETY RISK OF BEING COLLIDED IN THE REAR OF MY CAR BY ANOTHER CAR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/23/2014 - SARASOTA, FL
WHEN STOPPED AT A STOP LIGHT ON A VERY CONGESTED ROAD. I PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR TO PROCEED WHEN THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN. I EXPERIENCED A SLOW SLUGGISH START SO I PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR FURTHER TO THE FLOORBOARD, THERE WAS NO RESPONSE BY THE ENGINE. CAR PROCEEDED AT A SLOW RATE OF SPEED (10 MPH WITH RPM'S AT 2500). I HAD TO PULL OFF TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND RESTART CAR WHICH DID SOMEWHAT FIX THE PROBLEM. I HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS NUMEROUS TIMES NOW, USUALLY OCCURS WHEN THE CAR IS SHIFTING IN 1ST AND 2ND GEAR. MY CONCERN IS WHEN I PULL INTO A RIGHT OF WAY AND THE CAR DOES NOT PROPERLY ACCELERATE I PUT MYSELF AND PASSENGERS AT A SAFETY RISK OF BEING COLLIDED IN THE REAR OF MY CAR BY ANOTHER CAR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/22/2014 - VIENNA, ME
WHILE DRIVING CAR IT BUCKED SEVERAL TIMES AND THEN WOULD NOT GO OVER 25 MPH. I BOUGHT THE CAR IN AUG 2009, 1 TIME WAS NOV 12 2009, THEN AGAIN MAR 15 2013 AND THEN AGAIN JUL 21 2014. ALL THREE TIMES THE ESM SHIFT MODULE HAD TO BE REPLACED. THE FIRST TIME THE DEALER REPLACE BUT THE LAST TWO TIMES I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE AT A THOUSAND DOLLARS. I HAVE CALLED CHRYSLER AS THIS IS A REOCCURRING PROBLEM THEY HAVE ASSIGNED A CASE NUMBER 25348880. IN CHECKING ONLINE FOR ISSUES THIS IS A REOCCURRING PROBLEM WITH JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE'S. IF I HAD BEEN ON THE HIGHWAY AND THE SPEED DROPPED TO 25 MPH I COULD HAVE BEEN REAR ENDED OR WORSE KILLED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/18/2014 - BUSHKILL, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY DECELERATED AND BECAME RESISTANT TO ACCELERATION ATTEMPTS WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 113,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/16/2014 - BOWIE, MD
I WAS DRIVING ON ROUTE 50 GOING 65MPH. THIS VEHICLE IS A QUAD 4X4 AUTOMATIC / STICK SHIFT MANUAL, WHICH WAS IN MY FAVOR. WHEN I REALIZED THE VEHICLE WAS SHUTTING DOWN I HAD TO THINK QUICKLY WHAT MY NEXT STEPS WOULD BE. I STARTED TO GET OVER TO THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE ROAD AND BRAKE, BECAUSE THE VEHICLE WAS SHUTTING DOWN THE POWER BRAKES WHERE GOING OUT AND I COULD NOT BRAKE COMPLETELY. THE VEHICLE WAS STILL MOVING AND I WAS ABOUT 200 YARDS AWAY FROM MY EXIT AND THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WAS WINDING AROUND TOWARD THE OFF RAMP AND GETTING SMALLER FOR ME TO DRIVE ON. I REALIZED THAT I WAS NOT ABLE STOP THE VEHICLE BY USING THE FLOOR BRAKE THEN THE FEAR FACTOR SET IN. IN MY MIND THE ONLY THING I CAN DO IS PULL THE STICK SHIFT HANDBRAKE AND QUICKLY PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK THEN I WAS ABLE TO GET CONTROL AND SAFELY STOP THE VEHICLE. THIS ORDEAL HAPPENED AT 4:20PM YESTERDAY AND BY THE TIME WE TOWED THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP AND TRIED TO EXPLAIN TO THE GENERAL SALES MANAGER, SI FAIGE, ON SITE AT DARCARS IN NEW CARROLLTON, MD WHAT ALL TRANSPIRED ON THE ROAD IN THE UNSAFE VEHICLE THAT THEY SOLD US, HE DIDN-++T WANT TO HEAR ANY OF IT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds