Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE - 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 430 complaints filed for the 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Equipment (4) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Steering (28) Trailer Hitches (2)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (152) Structure (4) Unknown Or Other (16)
Electrical System (116) Fuel Propulsion System (12) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (4) Vehicle Speed Control (40)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel System Diesel (3) Service Brakes (4) Tires (16) Visibility (16)
Engine (74) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (76) Fuel System Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 61
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/22/2014 - BRIDGEWATER CORNERS , VT
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 14V438000(ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE PART THAT IS NEEDED TO REMEDY THE RECALL WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT HAD EXPERIENCE A FAILURE. LB

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/21/2014 - BALDWIN, NY
I HAVE BEEN HAVING TROUBLE STARTING MY 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE FOR MONTHS. FIRST I CHANGED THE BATTERY THAT WAS OVER $170 DOLLARS , THEN A FEW WEEKS AGO THE STARTER THAT WAS $340 DOLLARS MEANWHILE THE PROBLEM WAS THE IGNITION SWITCH .I BROUGHT MY CAR BACK TO MY MECHANIC AND NOW HE TELLS ME IT IS THE IGNITION SWITCH THAT SAME DAY I RECIEVE IN THE MAIL A RECALL NOTICE FROM CHRYSLER FOR THE IGNITION SWITCH. CHRYSLER ALSO STATES THAT THEY DO NOT HAVE ANY PARTS TO FIX THE PROBLEM AND THAT THE CAR IS TOTALLY UNSAFE TO DRIVEIN THEIR RECALL NOTICE. I NEED A CAR TO GO TO MY APPOINTMENTS FOR WORK I CANNOT DEPEND ON THIS CAR AND IT IS UNSAFE TO DRIVE. THEREFORE I HAVE TO RENT A CAR AND CHRYSLER SHOULD PAY FOR THE RENTAL CAR THAT I NEED TO DRIVE DURING THE PERIOD THAT THEY DO NOT HAVE PARTS FOR MY CAR. I ALREADY CALLED MY LOCAL DEALER AND THEY SAID SPEAK TO CHRYSLER. I CALLED THEIR TOLL FREE NUMBER 1 800 992 1997 ANDRECIEVED AN INCIDENT NUMBER OF #25663933. THE PERSON I SPOKE TO WAS BRENDA SHE SAID SHE WAS ESCALATING MY CALL TO PARTS AND THEY WILL BE CONTACTING ME IN A FEW DAYS. IT IS NOW SUNDAY SEPTEMBER 21ST AND I AM RENTING A CAR AS OF TODAY BECAUSE CHRYSLER DOES NOT HAVE PARTS TO FIX THE CAR THEY MANUFACTURED. CHRYSLER MUST BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR ALL COSTS AND INJURIES RELATED TO THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/17/2014 - RICHMOND, VA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING IN A PARKING LOT AT 5MPH, WITHOUT WARNING IT BECAME VERY DIFFICULT TO STEER AND BRAKE AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT RESTARTED THE VEHICLE RESUMING NORMAL FUNCTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THERE WAS A RECALL UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER:14V438000 (ELECTRICAL) HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED WAS UNAVAILABLE TO PERFORM THE REPAIR. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000. CS

View Details

STEERING

9/17/2014 - RICHMOND, VA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING IN A PARKING LOT AT 5MPH, WITHOUT WARNING IT BECAME VERY DIFFICULT TO STEER AND BRAKE AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT RESTARTED THE VEHICLE RESUMING NORMAL FUNCTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THERE WAS A RECALL UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER:14V438000 (ELECTRICAL) HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED WAS UNAVAILABLE TO PERFORM THE REPAIR. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000. CS

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/17/2014 - RICHMOND, VA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING IN A PARKING LOT AT 5MPH, WITHOUT WARNING IT BECAME VERY DIFFICULT TO STEER AND BRAKE AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT RESTARTED THE VEHICLE RESUMING NORMAL FUNCTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THERE WAS A RECALL UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER:14V438000 (ELECTRICAL) HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED WAS UNAVAILABLE TO PERFORM THE REPAIR. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000. CS

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/16/2014 - WIKES BARRE, PA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING AND FAILED TO RESTART. ADDITIONALLY, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENTIRE INSTRUMENT PANEL FAILED AND WAS NOT READING THE CORRECT READING LEVELS FOR THE FUEL AND SPEEDOMETER. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AND THAT THERE WAS AN ELECTRICAL FAILURE PRESENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NHTSA CAMPAIGN: 14V438000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) AND STATED THAT THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE DEALER WAS UNCERTAIN OF WHEN THE PART WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE TO SERVICE THE VEHICLE UNDER THE RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 113,000. DJR

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/16/2014 - CHESTERFIELD , MI
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 48 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING CAUSING THE CONTACT TO CRASH INTO A CURB. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART. THE CONTACT ALSO MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED WHILE AT A STOP LIGHT ON A SEPARATE OCCASION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V348000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 121,000. NE

View Details

ENGINE

9/16/2014 - MCALLEN , TX
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIES SPEED, THE ENGINE STALLED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO MANEUVER THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE. THE PROBLEM OCCURRED NUMEROUS OF TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO DEALER MECHANIC AND WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSED THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. LB

View Details

ENGINE

9/15/2014 - CHICAGO, IL
TL - THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE VEHICLE STARTED TO SHAKE AND SWERVED FROM SIDE TO SIDE UNCONTROLLABLY. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE LEFT EXPRESSWAY WALL CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO SPIN AROUND AND CRASHED INTO THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE EXPRESSWAY WALL. THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND NO INJURIES WERE REPORTED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED DUE TO THE ENGINE CYLINDERS MISFIRING. THE VEHICLE BODY WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000. PAM

View Details

ENGINE

9/15/2014 - EDWARDSVILLE, IL
FOR A COUPLE YEARS MY JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE HAS EXPERIENCED SEVERAL EPISODES OF IGNITION SHUT OFF. I SPOKE WITH MY LOCAL DEALER AND THEY SAID IT WAS NOT AN ISSUE WITH JEEP, ONLY SOME DODGE MODELS. I PAID TO HAVE A 2ND COMPUTERIZED KEY MADE AT THE DEALERSHIP, AS DODGE WAS SAYING THEIR ISSUE WAS RELATED TO THE DRIVER HAVING OTHER KEYS ON IGNITION KEY RING. THIS WAY I HAD A SINGLE IGNITION KEY. STILL EXPERIENCED THE ISSUE. LAST TIME I WAS MAKING A LEFT HAND TURN FROM A SUBDIVISION ON TO A BUSY 2 LANE HWY WITH A POSTED SPEED OF 50 MILES PER HR. IGNITION SHUT OFF AS I STARTED TO CROSS THE RIGHT HAND LANE. FORTUNATELY I HAD ENOUGH FORWARD MOMENTUM TO CLEAR TRAFFIC AND CAME TO REST ON THE LEFT HAND SHOULDER BY A FARMERS FIELD. I FINALLY RECEIVED IN THE MAIL THE OFFICIAL CHRYSLER RECALL NOTICE FOR MY JEEP DUE TO IGNITION SHUT OFF. CALLED MY LOCAL DEALER THIS MORNING TO SET UP AN APPOINTMENT, ALTHOUGH THE RECALL SAID THEY WOULD CONTACT ME. WITH SEVERAL INCIDENTS, I FELT TIME WAS CRITICAL. MY DEALER ADVISED ME THEY HAD NOT RECEIVED THE OFFICIAL RECALL NOTIFICATION FROM CHRYSLER AND THEREFORE COULD NOT SCHEDULE THE REPAIR FREE OF CHARGE. IF HOWEVER I WANTED TO PAY FOR THE REPAIR THEY COULD SCHEDULE. I ADVISED THEM THAT WAS NOT ACCEPTABLE. EMAILED CHRYSLER CUSTOMER RELATIONS AND HERE ALSO, MY DISSATISFACTION AND WHAT APPEARS TO BE A WONTON DISREGARD FOR HUMAN SAFETY BY A MANUFACTURE AND THEIR REPRESENTATIVE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 61
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds