Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE - 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 943 complaints filed for the 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (21) Equipment (4) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Structure (9) Unknown Or Other (15)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (16) Power Train (180) Suspension (6) Vehicle Speed Control (50)
Electrical System (608) Fuel Propulsion System (16) Seat Belts (4) Tires (19) Visibility (16)
Electronic Stability Control (14) Fuel System Diesel (3) Service Brakes (23) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (135) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Trailer Hitches (2) Wheels (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (77) Fuel System Other (1) Steering (45)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 129
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/31/2016 - HOLBROOK, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V438000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/17/2016 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
LEFT TURN SIGNAL REMAINS ON WITH SWITCH IN NEUTRAL POSITION AT ALL TIMES

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/7/2016 - PARK RIDGE, IL
I AM WRITING IN REGARDS TO A POSSIBLE NEW RECALL ON THE 2007 JEEP CHEROKEE LAREDO. THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN ACCELERATING SEVERAL TIMES NOW WHEN YOU TAKE YOUR FOOT OFF THE GAS. ON 9/22/16 THE VEHICLE WAS ACCELERATING RAPIDLY FOR 15 SECONDS EVEN WHEN I HAD MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE PADDLE TRYING TO STOP THE VEHICLE. I HAVE SOME RECORDINGS AND NEXT TIME THIS HAPPENS AGAIN I WILL BE RECORDING MORE FOOTAGE TO SHOW THAT THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THE ACCELERATION ON THE 2007 JEEP CHEROKEE LAREDO. I WOULD LIKE TO POINT OUT THAT AFTER THE RECALL OF P41/NHTSA 14V-438 WAS COMPLETE AND THE IGNITION SWITCH WAS REPLACED I HAVE STARTED TO HAVE PROBLEMS. FIRST THE NEW PART THAT WAS REPLACED CAUSED THE SHORT IN THE VEHICLE WHICH CAUSED THE VEHICLE NOT TO START. THIS WAS FIXED ON MY COST AND NOW THE VEHICLE ACCELERATES BY ITSELF AND IT IS VERY DANGEROUS.

View Details

ENGINE

10/6/2016 - LOS GATOS, CA
DROPPED A VALVE SEAT AND DESTROYED THE ENGINE. HEAD AND PISTON DAMAGE. NORMAL EVERY DAY DRIVING. THIS IS THE SECOND JEEP ENGINE IN THIS CAR THAT BLEW UP AT 70K MILES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/20/2016 - SEALY, TX
THE ORIGINAL PROBLEM WAS A BATTERY LIGHT THAT CAME ON WHEN THE CAR WAS BEING DRIVEN DURING A LIGHT RAIN. THE SOLUTION SUGGESTED BY OUR NORMAL MECHANIC (WHO IS VERY GOOD AND HAS SERVICED THE CAR FOR YEARS) WAS TO REPLACE THE ALTERNATOR AND THEN IT WAS NOTED THE BATTERY WAS BAD. IT WAS REPLACED SINCE IT WAS THREE YEARS OLD. AFTER THE REPAIR THE CAR STARTED TO DIE INTERMITTENTLY WHILE BEING DRIVEN. THE CAR WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE MECHANIC WHO CHECK THE DIAGNOSTICS AND SAID IT APPEARED TO BE POINTING TO THE IGNITION SWITCH (BASED ON THEIR DIAGNOSTIC FLOWCHART). THE MECHANICS SERVICE TECHNICIAN WAS ABLE TO DUPLICATE THE STALLING IN THE VEHICLE WHEN HE DROVE IT. SUGGESTED WE TAKE BACK TO THE DEALER WHO HAD REPLACED THE IGNITION SWITCH TUMBLERS DURING THE RECALL FOR THIS VEHICLE LAST NOVEMBER. THE DEALER WANTED A $85 DIAGNOSTIC FEE TO JUST CHECK THE SWITCH. WE RECEIVED A DOWNLOAD OF THE DIAGNOSTIC CODES WHICH APPEAR TO BE RELATED TO MULTIPLE FAILURES OF IGNITION MODULES BUT THE DEALER REPORTED HIS SERVICE TECHNICIAN HAD NOT BEEN ABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. HE THOUGHT IT MIGHT BE THE TIPM BUT WAS SURE IT WAS NOT THE SWITCH. HE WAS UNABLE TO TELL US WHAT THE FAILURE WAS AND SAID WE WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR MORE DIAGNOSTICS IF HE WAS TO FIND OUT WHAT EXACTLY IT WAS. I TOOK IT BACK TO MY MECHANIC WHO REPLACED ALTERNATOR. HOWEVER, AS I WAS DRIVING THE CAR LAST SATURDAY IT DIED AFTER WE STOPPED AT A RAILROAD CROSSING WAITING ON A TRAIN AND THEN TRIED TO CROSS THE TRACKS AFTER THE ARMS HAD GONE UP. THE CROSSING T-BONES INTO ANOTHER ROAD AND A VERY DEEP BAR DITCH AT THE SIDE OF THAT ROAD. THE CROSSING WAS A STEEP INCLINE. ALMOST PUT CAR IN DITCH. MY WIFE WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO CONTROL AND STOP IT AS I BARELY WAS ABLE TO. AFTER REVIEWING OTHER SIMILAR COMPLAINTS I NOW BELIEVE IT IS THE TIPM. THIS IS SAFETY RELATED SINCE ALL SAFETY EQUIPMENT IS TIED TO THIS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/20/2016 - SEALY, TX
THE ORIGINAL PROBLEM WAS A BATTERY LIGHT THAT CAME ON WHEN THE CAR WAS BEING DRIVEN DURING A LIGHT RAIN. THE SOLUTION SUGGESTED BY OUR NORMAL MECHANIC (WHO IS VERY GOOD AND HAS SERVICED THE CAR FOR YEARS) WAS TO REPLACE THE ALTERNATOR AND THEN IT WAS NOTED THE BATTERY WAS BAD. IT WAS REPLACED SINCE IT WAS THREE YEARS OLD. AFTER THE REPAIR THE CAR STARTED TO DIE INTERMITTENTLY WHILE BEING DRIVEN. THE CAR WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE MECHANIC WHO CHECK THE DIAGNOSTICS AND SAID IT APPEARED TO BE POINTING TO THE IGNITION SWITCH (BASED ON THEIR DIAGNOSTIC FLOWCHART). THE MECHANICS SERVICE TECHNICIAN WAS ABLE TO DUPLICATE THE STALLING IN THE VEHICLE WHEN HE DROVE IT. SUGGESTED WE TAKE BACK TO THE DEALER WHO HAD REPLACED THE IGNITION SWITCH TUMBLERS DURING THE RECALL FOR THIS VEHICLE LAST NOVEMBER. THE DEALER WANTED A $85 DIAGNOSTIC FEE TO JUST CHECK THE SWITCH. WE RECEIVED A DOWNLOAD OF THE DIAGNOSTIC CODES WHICH APPEAR TO BE RELATED TO MULTIPLE FAILURES OF IGNITION MODULES BUT THE DEALER REPORTED HIS SERVICE TECHNICIAN HAD NOT BEEN ABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. HE THOUGHT IT MIGHT BE THE TIPM BUT WAS SURE IT WAS NOT THE SWITCH. HE WAS UNABLE TO TELL US WHAT THE FAILURE WAS AND SAID WE WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR MORE DIAGNOSTICS IF HE WAS TO FIND OUT WHAT EXACTLY IT WAS. I TOOK IT BACK TO MY MECHANIC WHO REPLACED ALTERNATOR. HOWEVER, AS I WAS DRIVING THE CAR LAST SATURDAY IT DIED AFTER WE STOPPED AT A RAILROAD CROSSING WAITING ON A TRAIN AND THEN TRIED TO CROSS THE TRACKS AFTER THE ARMS HAD GONE UP. THE CROSSING T-BONES INTO ANOTHER ROAD AND A VERY DEEP BAR DITCH AT THE SIDE OF THAT ROAD. THE CROSSING WAS A STEEP INCLINE. ALMOST PUT CAR IN DITCH. MY WIFE WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO CONTROL AND STOP IT AS I BARELY WAS ABLE TO. AFTER REVIEWING OTHER SIMILAR COMPLAINTS I NOW BELIEVE IT IS THE TIPM. THIS IS SAFETY RELATED SINCE ALL SAFETY EQUIPMENT IS TIED TO THIS.

View Details

STEERING

9/20/2016 - SEALY, TX
THE ORIGINAL PROBLEM WAS A BATTERY LIGHT THAT CAME ON WHEN THE CAR WAS BEING DRIVEN DURING A LIGHT RAIN. THE SOLUTION SUGGESTED BY OUR NORMAL MECHANIC (WHO IS VERY GOOD AND HAS SERVICED THE CAR FOR YEARS) WAS TO REPLACE THE ALTERNATOR AND THEN IT WAS NOTED THE BATTERY WAS BAD. IT WAS REPLACED SINCE IT WAS THREE YEARS OLD. AFTER THE REPAIR THE CAR STARTED TO DIE INTERMITTENTLY WHILE BEING DRIVEN. THE CAR WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE MECHANIC WHO CHECK THE DIAGNOSTICS AND SAID IT APPEARED TO BE POINTING TO THE IGNITION SWITCH (BASED ON THEIR DIAGNOSTIC FLOWCHART). THE MECHANICS SERVICE TECHNICIAN WAS ABLE TO DUPLICATE THE STALLING IN THE VEHICLE WHEN HE DROVE IT. SUGGESTED WE TAKE BACK TO THE DEALER WHO HAD REPLACED THE IGNITION SWITCH TUMBLERS DURING THE RECALL FOR THIS VEHICLE LAST NOVEMBER. THE DEALER WANTED A $85 DIAGNOSTIC FEE TO JUST CHECK THE SWITCH. WE RECEIVED A DOWNLOAD OF THE DIAGNOSTIC CODES WHICH APPEAR TO BE RELATED TO MULTIPLE FAILURES OF IGNITION MODULES BUT THE DEALER REPORTED HIS SERVICE TECHNICIAN HAD NOT BEEN ABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. HE THOUGHT IT MIGHT BE THE TIPM BUT WAS SURE IT WAS NOT THE SWITCH. HE WAS UNABLE TO TELL US WHAT THE FAILURE WAS AND SAID WE WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR MORE DIAGNOSTICS IF HE WAS TO FIND OUT WHAT EXACTLY IT WAS. I TOOK IT BACK TO MY MECHANIC WHO REPLACED ALTERNATOR. HOWEVER, AS I WAS DRIVING THE CAR LAST SATURDAY IT DIED AFTER WE STOPPED AT A RAILROAD CROSSING WAITING ON A TRAIN AND THEN TRIED TO CROSS THE TRACKS AFTER THE ARMS HAD GONE UP. THE CROSSING T-BONES INTO ANOTHER ROAD AND A VERY DEEP BAR DITCH AT THE SIDE OF THAT ROAD. THE CROSSING WAS A STEEP INCLINE. ALMOST PUT CAR IN DITCH. MY WIFE WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO CONTROL AND STOP IT AS I BARELY WAS ABLE TO. AFTER REVIEWING OTHER SIMILAR COMPLAINTS I NOW BELIEVE IT IS THE TIPM. THIS IS SAFETY RELATED SINCE ALL SAFETY EQUIPMENT IS TIED TO THIS.

View Details

ENGINE

9/7/2016 - LYNNWOOD, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V4380000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND ALL OF THE WARNING INDICATORS FLASHED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE CONTACT PULLED THE VEHICLE OVER TO THE MEDIAN. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART AFTER VARIOUS ATTEMPTS. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 130,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/7/2016 - MULBERRY, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V438000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, IGNITION), BUT THE REPAIR DID NOT CORRECT THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/26/2016 - BURLINGTON, WI
SOON AFTER THE P41 IGNITION SWITCH RECALL, WHILE DRIVING 1 MILE, THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER GAUGES STOPPED WORKING-SPEEDO, GAS, ETC , ALL WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED . INFORMATION MESSAGES IN THE IC NOTED "SERVICE REQUIRED : AND TRANSMISSION -OVER THE TEMPERATURE ALLOWED U1403,U1411,U110E, U110F AND OTHERS ALL IMPLAUSIBLE SIGNALS TO IC. WHILE DRIVING TRANSMISSION AN ROAD SPEED DECREASED IMMEDIATELY WHILE AT SPEED AND ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION TO NOT OPERATE IN A PREDICTABLY SAFE OPERATION. THESE ARE THE SYMPTOMS THAT THE RECALL WAS TO REPAIR. WHAT IS THE NEXT STEP?

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 129
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds