Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE - 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 968 complaints filed for the 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (23) Equipment (4) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Structure (11) Unknown Or Other (18)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (17) Power Train (184) Suspension (7) Vehicle Speed Control (53)
Electrical System (617) Fuel Propulsion System (17) Seat Belts (4) Tires (19) Visibility (16)
Electronic Stability Control (15) Fuel System Diesel (3) Service Brakes (23) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (141) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Trailer Hitches (2) Wheels (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (77) Fuel System Other (1) Steering (46)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 132
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

11/20/2017 - CLARKSBURG, NJ
CATASTROPHIC ENGINE FAILURE AT ABOUT 124,000 MILES. LUCKILY IN THE DRIVEWAY WHERE I HAD PARKED THE CAR AFTER RUNNING NORMAL ERRANDS. THE CAR WOULD NOT START UP AGAIN AND HAD TO BE TOWED SINCE THE BATTERY WAS NEW AND THE STARTER SEEMED FROZEN. I TOOK EXCELLENT CARE OF THIS CAR AT THE DEALERSHIP AND AT A TOP LOCAL GARAGE SINCE WE BOUGHT IT. I WAS STUNNED THAT THE ENGINE FAILED WITHOUT ANY NOTICE, NO WARNING LIGHTS, NO NOISE, NOTHING. THE LOCAL MECHANIC SAW "CHUNKS OF METAL" IN THE PAN. I NOW NEED A COMPLETELY NEW ENGINE 5 WEEKS AFTER AN OIL CHANGE DUE TO A DESIGN FLAW IN MY JEEP HEMI ENGINE. I NEVER RECEIVED ANY LETTER OR NOTIFICATION ABOUT THIS APPARENTLY WELL KNOWN AND RELATIVELY COMMON PROBLEM. I HAD EVERY RECALL PERFORMED ON THIS CAR. THERE WAS NEVER A RECALL FOR THIS PROBLEM WHICH APPARENTLY INCLUDES THE INTAKE MANIFOLD. THE RESPONSE FROM THE DEALERSHIP WAS THAT THE HEMI IS A GOOD ENGINE. REALLY??? NO APOLOGIES, NO CALL FROM THE MANUFACTURER. OUT OF WARRANTY, SO IT IS JUST TOO BAD FOR ME AS A CUSTOMER. THEY KNOW THE DESIGN FLAW EXISTS BUT DON'T CARE ABOUT THE CUSTOMER. JUST THEIR BOTTOM LINE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/30/2017 - SAN DIEGO, CA
THE ISSUE IS WITH THE TIPM (TOTALLY INTEGRATED POWER MODULE).DURING THE FIRST INSTANCE THE CAR WAS BEING DRIVEN IN A PARKING LOT THE CAR SUDDENLY BECAME COMPLETELY UNRESPONSIVE AND LOCKED UP WHILE IN MOTION. IT WAS TOWED TO A LOCAL JEEP DEALERSHIP AND EVENTUALLY IT WAS DISCOVERED THE PROBLEM WAS DUE TO A BAD PCM AND THE TIPM. AFTER WAITING A MONTH FOR THE TIPM TO COME IN, THE VEHICLE WAS SUPPOSEDLY FIXED. PICKED UP THE CAR ON A FRIDAY AND AGAIN, WHILE DRIVING THE CAR ON SATURDAY MORNING THE CAR LOCKED UP AND BECAME COMPLETELY UNRESPONSIVE. THIS TIME I WAS GETTING ONTO THE FREEWAY. THANKFULLY MY CHILDREN WERE NOT IN THE CAR ON EITHER ONE OF THESE OCCASIONS. AFTER RESEARCHING I FOUND THAT JEEP TIPM+S WERE RECALLED FROM 2011 TO 2015. IT ALSO APPEARS THAT TIPM+S FROM 2007 LEADING UP TO 2011 WERE ALSO HAVING A LOT OF ISSUES AND A RECALL WAS IN ORDER THEN, BUT NEVER OFFICIALLY CAME TO BE. THIS PART HAS A LONG AND DOCUMENTED HISTORY AS HAVING MAJOR PROBLEMS AND I WANT TO OFFICIALLY REQUEST AN INVESTIGATION AS TO WHY THESE PARTS HAVE ARE BEING PUT INTO CARS IN THIS CONDITION. THE RAMIFICATIONS OF THIS PARTS FAILURE ARE HUGE. TO HAVE A CAR THAT IS IN MOTION LOCK UP AND BECOME TOTALLY UNRESPONSIVE PRESENTS A HUGE SAFETY CONCERN TO THE DRIVER, THEIR PASSENGERS AND THE OTHER VEHICLES ON THE ROAD AROUND THEM. THE LOCAL JEEP DEALERSHIP AS WELL AS CHRYSLER CUSTOMER SERVICE ARE NOT TREATING THIS ISSUE WITH THE SEVERITY IT DESERVES. THEY SIMPLY WANT ME TO JUST PAY FOR FAULTY PARTS AND HAVE ME GO AWAY. THIS IS NOT HOW AN AUTOMAKER SHOULD BE HANDLING A SAFETY ISSUE OF THIS MAGNITUDE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/26/2017 - BROCKTON, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE UNINTENTIONALLY ACCELERATED. WHILE AT A COMPLETE STOP, THE RPMS DROPPED AND THE VEHICLE ABRUPTLY ACCELERATED WITH THE BRAKE PEDAL DEPRESSED. THE DRIVER WAS ABLE TO ENGAGE THE EMERGENCY BRAKE TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO CHRYSLER JEEP DODGE RAM 24 LOCATED AT 97 MANLEY ST. BROCKTON, MA 02301 FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING, BUT THERE WERE NO FAILURE CODES. THE VEHICLE WAS ALSO TEST DRIVEN, BUT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/23/2017 - CHERRY HILL, NJ
VEHICLE IS UNABLE TO START AFTER HIGHWAY DRIVING OR THE ENGINE IS AT A CERTAIN TEMPERATURE. CAR CAN NOT BE TURNED OFF AND BACK ON AGAIN AFTER ENGINE REACHES CERTAIN TEMPERATURE.

View Details

ENGINE

10/10/2017 - CHICAGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PLACED IN THE NEUTRAL POSITION IN MOST CASES TO KEEP THE VEHICLE FROM LOSING POWER COMPLETELY. ON OTHER OCCASIONS, THE CONTACT PULLED TO THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE ROAD AND THE VEHICLE LOST POWER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO SHERMAN DODGE CHRYSLER JEEP RAM IN SKOKIE, ILLINOIS WHERE THE FOLLOWING SERIES OF REPAIRS WERE PERFORMED ON THE VEHICLE: THE OXYGEN SENSOR WAS REPLACED ALONG WITH THE SPARK PLUGS, THE FAN CLUTCH, COIL #6, A DRIVE CONTROL MODULE, THROTTLE CONTROL MODULE, FUEL INJECTION SERVICE, DECARBONIZATION SERVICE TO COMBUSTION CHAMBER, AND UPPER INTAKE TO THE VEHICLE BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 95,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/10/2017 - WATERTOWN, WI
WHEN ATTEMPTING TO START THE (PARKED) CAR, WHEN THE KEY IS TURNED EVERYTHING TURNS ON (RADIO, DASHBOARD LIGHTS, SEATS ECT) LIKE IT NORMALLY WOULD START BUT THE ENGINE DOESN+T TURN OVER OR CRANK AT ALL... WHEN ALL THE OTHER LIGHTS GO OFF THE ENGINE AND OIL LIGHT REMAIN ON. NO CLICKING SOUND WHATSOEVER, BUT I BELIEVE YOU CAN HEAR THE FUEL PUMP KICK IN. WHEN THE KEY IS TURNED TO THE OFF POSITION AFTER IT WON+T START, THE ACCESSORIES WILL OCCASIONALLY STAY ON (SUCH AS THE THE SEAT WHEN IT HAS THE EASY ENTRY OPTION SELECTED WILL STAY IN THE DRIVING POSITION). NOTHING SEEMS TO MAKE IT START. JUMPING THE BATTERY DOES NOTHING. PUTTING IT IN NEUTRAL TO START DOESN+T DO ANYTHING. IT+S USUALLY JUST A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE IT DECIDES TO START AGAIN... SOMETIMES HOURS, SOMETIMES DAYS. WHEN TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP THEY CAN NEVER DIAGNOSE THE ISSUE BECAUSE THEY ARE UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE ISSUE. FOR WHATEVER REASON, POSSIBLY JUST A COINCIDENCE, REPLACING THE BATTERY IN THE KEY FOB SEEMS TO DELAY THE ISSUE FROM HAPPENING AGAIN FOR A FEW MONTHS. ALTHOUGH THIS MAY NOT SEEM LIKE A STRAIGHT FORWARD SAFETY ISSUE, THE PROBLEM HAS LEFT ME STRANDED AT A GAS STATION IN THE MIDDLE OF WINTER WHILE BEING 8-1/2 MONTHS PREGNANT AND MOST RECENTLY LEFT ME STRANDED WITH MY 8 MONTH OLD BABY. I SHOULD ALSO NOTE THAT THIS PROBLEM NEVER OCCURRED UNTIL SOME TIME AFTER THE LAST RECALL WAS RESOLVED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/7/2017 - BRANT LAKE, NY
WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH ON A 2 LANE ROAD THE PASSENGER SIDEWALL AIRBAG DEPLOYED SECONDS AFTER THE AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT CAME ON. THERE WAS NO IMPACT. CAR WAS DRIVEN ABOUT 2 MILES TO THE JEEP DEALER WHERE IT WAS PURCHASED. THEY SUGGESTED I CALL CHRYSLER. CHRYSLER SENT AN ENGINEER TO INVESTIGATE. CHRYSLER SENT ME A LETTER STATING THAT THERE WAS NOTHING THAT WOULD LEAVE THEM TO BELIEVE IT WAS THE MANUFACTURER'S RESPONSIBILITY. I AM TRYING TO FIND OUT WHY IT DEPLOYED. CHRYSLER WILL NOT PROVIDE ME WITH THIS INFORMATION. IF THEY CAN MAKE A DETERMINATION THAT IT WAS NOT A MANUFACTURER DEFECT, THEN THEY SHOULD KNOW WHAT CAUSED IT IN ORDER TO MAKE THAT DETERMINATION. I SPOKE TO AN AUTO BODY SHOP AS SUGGESTED BY THE DEALER TO GET A ROUGH ESTIMATE OF THE REPAIR COST BUT THEY SAID THEY WERE NOT INTERESTED IN REPAIRING IT WITHOUT KNOWING WHAT CAUSED IT DO TO LIABILITY ISSUES, WHICH I UNDERSTAND. I DO NOT KNOW WHAT CAUSED THE DEPLOYMENT BUT CHRYSLER MUST KNOW OR ELSE THEY COULDN'T DETERMINE IT WAS NOT A MANUFACTURE PROBLEM.....UPDATED 11/21/17

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/29/2017 - LENA, WI
RIDING DOWN RODE. SPEEDOMETER AND LIGHTS FAILED. TOOK TO DEALERSHIP WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS AT THE SHOP THE WALKED AWAY TO FILE PAPERWORK AND AIRBAGS DEPLOYED ON THE VEHICLE. IT WAS THE RIGHT SIDE AIR CURTAIN. THE ENTIRE LENGTH OF THE UNIT. ACCORDING TO THE DEALERSHIP THE CAR WAS SITTING MOTIONLESS ON THE GARAGE FLOOR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/29/2017 - LENA, WI
RIDING DOWN RODE. SPEEDOMETER AND LIGHTS FAILED. TOOK TO DEALERSHIP WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS AT THE SHOP THE WALKED AWAY TO FILE PAPERWORK AND AIRBAGS DEPLOYED ON THE VEHICLE. IT WAS THE RIGHT SIDE AIR CURTAIN. THE ENTIRE LENGTH OF THE UNIT. ACCORDING TO THE DEALERSHIP THE CAR WAS SITTING MOTIONLESS ON THE GARAGE FLOOR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/13/2017 - MILLINGTON, MD
TAKATA RECALL ALL THE DASH LIGHTS COME ON FROM BATTERY,CHECK ENGINE,LOW TIRE PRESSURE, CODE READ 0411 & WELL NOT PICK UP SPEED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 132
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds