Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE - 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 937 complaints filed for the 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (21) Equipment (4) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Structure (9) Unknown Or Other (15)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (16) Power Train (180) Suspension (6) Vehicle Speed Control (49)
Electrical System (604) Fuel Propulsion System (16) Seat Belts (4) Tires (19) Visibility (16)
Electronic Stability Control (14) Fuel System Diesel (3) Service Brakes (22) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (133) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Trailer Hitches (2) Wheels (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (77) Fuel System Other (1) Steering (44)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 128
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/26/2016 - BURLINGTON, WI
SOON AFTER THE P41 IGNITION SWITCH RECALL, WHILE DRIVING 1 MILE, THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER GAUGES STOPPED WORKING-SPEEDO, GAS, ETC , ALL WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED . INFORMATION MESSAGES IN THE IC NOTED "SERVICE REQUIRED : AND TRANSMISSION -OVER THE TEMPERATURE ALLOWED U1403,U1411,U110E, U110F AND OTHERS ALL IMPLAUSIBLE SIGNALS TO IC. WHILE DRIVING TRANSMISSION AN ROAD SPEED DECREASED IMMEDIATELY WHILE AT SPEED AND ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION TO NOT OPERATE IN A PREDICTABLY SAFE OPERATION. THESE ARE THE SYMPTOMS THAT THE RECALL WAS TO REPAIR. WHAT IS THE NEXT STEP?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/26/2016 - BURLINGTON, WI
SOON AFTER THE P41 IGNITION SWITCH RECALL, WHILE DRIVING 1 MILE, THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER GAUGES STOPPED WORKING-SPEEDO, GAS, ETC , ALL WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED . INFORMATION MESSAGES IN THE IC NOTED "SERVICE REQUIRED : AND TRANSMISSION -OVER THE TEMPERATURE ALLOWED U1403,U1411,U110E, U110F AND OTHERS ALL IMPLAUSIBLE SIGNALS TO IC. WHILE DRIVING TRANSMISSION AN ROAD SPEED DECREASED IMMEDIATELY WHILE AT SPEED AND ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION TO NOT OPERATE IN A PREDICTABLY SAFE OPERATION. THESE ARE THE SYMPTOMS THAT THE RECALL WAS TO REPAIR. WHAT IS THE NEXT STEP?

View Details

ENGINE

8/26/2016 - BURLINGTON, WI
SOON AFTER THE P41 IGNITION SWITCH RECALL, WHILE DRIVING 1 MILE, THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER GAUGES STOPPED WORKING-SPEEDO, GAS, ETC , ALL WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED . INFORMATION MESSAGES IN THE IC NOTED "SERVICE REQUIRED : AND TRANSMISSION -OVER THE TEMPERATURE ALLOWED U1403,U1411,U110E, U110F AND OTHERS ALL IMPLAUSIBLE SIGNALS TO IC. WHILE DRIVING TRANSMISSION AN ROAD SPEED DECREASED IMMEDIATELY WHILE AT SPEED AND ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION TO NOT OPERATE IN A PREDICTABLY SAFE OPERATION. THESE ARE THE SYMPTOMS THAT THE RECALL WAS TO REPAIR. WHAT IS THE NEXT STEP?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/23/2016 - HOLTSVILLE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V438000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ENGINE

8/12/2016 - RICHMOND, VA
I OWN A 07 GRAND CHEROKEE WITH A 5.7L V8 HEMI. I LOVED THAT TRUCK AND TOOK GREAT CARE OF IT. NEARLY 10 MONTHS AGO I HAD A VALVE SEAT DROP WITHOUT WARNING AT 92K MILES AND NOW I NEED A NEW ENGINE. THERE WERE NO WARNING SIGNS LEADING UP TO THE FAILURE AND I KEPT VERY GOOD CARE OF THE VEHICLE. AFTER DRIVING FOR 15 MINUTES I STOPPED AT A STORE TO GET MATERIALS, WHEN I RETURNED AND TRIED TO START THE VEHICLE, THE ENGINE WOULDN'T TURN OVER. IT HASN'T STARTED SINCE THAT DAY. IT WAS TOWED TO A CHRYSLER DEALERSHIP AND $150 LATER THEY LET ME KNOW WHAT THEY "THOUGHT" THE ISSUE WAS, BUT I WAS STILL INFORMED THE ONLY WAY TO CONFIRM I NEEDED A NEW ENGINE WAS TO CHARGE ME $1,500 TO TAKE THE ENGINE APART AND "DIAGNOSE" THE ISSUE, NOT FIX IT. THEY KNEW WHAT THE ISSUE WAS AND STILL TRIED TO CHARGE ME FOR IT. ON TOP OF THAT EVERY CHRYSLER REPRESENTATIVE AND MAINTENANCE PERSON I'VE TALKED TO ABOUT THIS ISSUE (4) HAVE BEEN COMPLETELY UNHELPFUL, TO THE POINT OF BEING RUDE. AFTER HAVING THE VEHICLE TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT SERVICE CENTER, I WAS QUOTED NEARLY $8,000 FOR A NEW ENGINE AND THEY CAN'T EVEN GUARANTEE THE ISSUE WON'T OCCUR AGAIN SINCE THEY HAVE THE SAME PARTS. I SIMPLY CAN'T AFFORD THAT AMOUNT OF WORK, SO NOW I'M JUST MAKING PAYMENTS ON A DEAD TRUCK THAT'S OF NO USE TO ME. FCA IS A JOKE OF A COMPANY, AND THEY NEED TO MAKE THIS RIGHT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/8/2016 - NORTHVILLE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. WHILE MAKING A LEFT TURN, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY BEGAN TO HESITATE, SHOOK, AND FAILED TO ACCELERATE PROPERLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION SHIFT MECHANISM WAS FAULTY AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED APPROXIMATELY 1 1/2 YEARS LATER. THE CONTACTED INDICATED THAT THE TRANSMISSION SHIFT MECHANISM WAS REPLACED A SECOND TIME AND EVENTUALLY FAILED AGAIN. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 13,000.

View Details

ENGINE

8/6/2016 - STERLING HEIGHTS, MI
THE TRANS STRUGGLES TO SHIFT THROUGH EVERY GEAR AND WONT SHIFT PAST 3RD GEAR, SOMETIMES EVEN STALLING ME IN TRAFFIC. FEELS LIKE IT DOESN'T CATCH THE NEXT GEAR WHEN ACCELERATING. THERE HAVE BEEN TIMES WHEN I'VE BEEN STOPPED AT A LIGHT AT AN INTERSECTION AND WHEN I GO TO ACCELERATE, THE ENGINE WILL JUST REV AS IF IT'S IN NEUTRAL, BUT IT'S NOT. THEREFORE, THE ACCELERATION IS VERY WEAK. WHEN SWITCHING FROM PARK TO DRIVE, IT EITHER DOESN'T FULLY CLICK INTO DRIVE OR IT SELECTS ALL GEARS (PRND) IN WHICH I THEN HAVE TO PARK THE CAR AND SHUT IT OFF, THEN RETRY A MINUTE LATER. I DON'T DRIVE THE VEHICLE AS A MANUAL SO THERE SHOULD BE NO REASON FOR IT TO STALL, BUT I'M PRETTY SURE THE ISSUE STEMS FROM THE MAIN COMPUTER IN THE SHIFTER MODULE. AT TIMES, IT SEEMS LIKE THE VEHICLE IS EXPECTING ME TO SHIFT IT FROM GEAR TO GEAR, THEN IT FINALLY CLICKS AND MOVES TO THE NEXT GEAR ON ITS OWN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/6/2016 - STERLING HEIGHTS, MI
THE TRANS STRUGGLES TO SHIFT THROUGH EVERY GEAR AND WONT SHIFT PAST 3RD GEAR, SOMETIMES EVEN STALLING ME IN TRAFFIC. FEELS LIKE IT DOESN'T CATCH THE NEXT GEAR WHEN ACCELERATING. THERE HAVE BEEN TIMES WHEN I'VE BEEN STOPPED AT A LIGHT AT AN INTERSECTION AND WHEN I GO TO ACCELERATE, THE ENGINE WILL JUST REV AS IF IT'S IN NEUTRAL, BUT IT'S NOT. THEREFORE, THE ACCELERATION IS VERY WEAK. WHEN SWITCHING FROM PARK TO DRIVE, IT EITHER DOESN'T FULLY CLICK INTO DRIVE OR IT SELECTS ALL GEARS (PRND) IN WHICH I THEN HAVE TO PARK THE CAR AND SHUT IT OFF, THEN RETRY A MINUTE LATER. I DON'T DRIVE THE VEHICLE AS A MANUAL SO THERE SHOULD BE NO REASON FOR IT TO STALL, BUT I'M PRETTY SURE THE ISSUE STEMS FROM THE MAIN COMPUTER IN THE SHIFTER MODULE. AT TIMES, IT SEEMS LIKE THE VEHICLE IS EXPECTING ME TO SHIFT IT FROM GEAR TO GEAR, THEN IT FINALLY CLICKS AND MOVES TO THE NEXT GEAR ON ITS OWN.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/3/2016 - DAVISBURG, MI
MY DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING HER 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE WHEN IT SUDDENLY ACCELERATED AND THEN SLAMMED ON THE BRAKES TWICE. THE RPMS WERE 6000 OR 7000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/26/2016 - WALLED LAKE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SERVICE ENGINE SOON WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V438000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM); HOWEVER, THE DEALER REFUSED TO SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT FOR TWO WEEKS DUE TO THE VOLUME OF REPAIRS THAT NEEDED TO BE PERFORMED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 148,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 128
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds