Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE - 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 911 complaints filed for the 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (21) Equipment (4) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Structure (9) Unknown Or Other (15)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (16) Power Train (174) Suspension (6) Vehicle Speed Control (47)
Electrical System (588) Fuel Propulsion System (14) Seat Belts (4) Tires (19) Visibility (16)
Electronic Stability Control (14) Fuel System Diesel (3) Service Brakes (21) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (125) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Trailer Hitches (2) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (77) Fuel System Other (1) Steering (44)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 124
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

4/29/2016 - BELEWS CREEKS, NC
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 40 MPH, A WARNING MESSAGE ILLUMINATED IN THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND IT INDICATED THAT THE FOUR WHEEL DRIVE SYSTEM NEEDED TO BE SERVICED. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSFER CASE DIFFERENTIAL CLUTCH HAD FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000. JO

View Details

ENGINE

4/4/2016 - CHARLESTON, SC
ONE SATURDAY NIGHT I NEEDED TO RUN TO THE GROCERY STORE. WHEN I GOT BACK INTO MY CAR, IT WOULDN'T START. IT WAS OBVIOUSLY NOT A BATTERY PROBLEM BECAUSE THERE WAS A TERRIBLE TAPPING NOISE AND VIBRATION COMING FROM THE ENGINE. AFTER SPEAKING WITH A MECHANIC ABOUT THE CAR, I WAS TOLD IT IS PROBABLY A DROPPED VALVE SEAT. NOW, I AM LOOKING AT OVER $4000 TO SWAP AN ENGINE THAT WAS NEVER HOT-RODDED OR ABUSED. AFTER A SIMPLE SEARCH ONLINE, I FIND THAT THIS IS A VERY COMMON ISSUE FOR THE 5.7L HEMI ENGINES. SO MUCH SO THAT I HAVE NO IDEA WHY THERE ISN'T A RECALL OR CLASS ACTION SUIT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/30/2016 - CHICO, CA
THE VEHICLE TYPICALLY STALLS WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS BUT HAS STALLED ON CITY STREETS. WHEN THE VEHICLE STALLS I AM ABLE TO TURN THE IGNITION BACK ON AND DRIVE. I HAVE HAD THE P41 / NHTSA 14V-438 RECALL AND THIS DID NOT RESOLVE THE ISSUES. IT IS STALLING EVEN MORE OFTEN NOW. I HAVE HAD THIS ISSUE FOR THE LAST 3 YEARS I HAVE OWNED THE VEHICLE. I HAVE TAKEN IT IN FOR REPAIR TO 3 DIFFERENT REPAIR SHOPS NOT INCLUDING THE RECALL AND IT IS STILL NOT FIXED. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN. THE VEHICLE STALLED ONE PARTICULAR TIME AND I WAS ALMOST HIT BY A BUS ON THE HIGHWAY. WHEN THE VEHICLE STALLS YOU LOSE POWER STEERING AND I WAS LUCKY ENOUGH TO MAKE IT OUT OF THE WAY. THE CURRENT MILEAGE IS APPROXIMATELY 132,500.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/16/2016 - MILFORD, IA
THE FOLLOWING EVENTS HAPPENED OVER A PERIOD OF 2 WEEKS. WHEN IN MOTION ON HIGHWAY, INSTRUMENT PANEL LOST POWER, THEN CAME BACK ON AND ALL CONTROL PANEL LIGHTS LIT UP, THEN WENT OFF. WHILE IN MOTION ON HIGHWAY, INSTRUMENT PANEL WENT BLANK--CYCLED ON AND OFF SEVERAL TIMES THEN RETURNED TO NORMAL. WHEN ENGINE WAS OFF, IGNITION WAS OFF AND KEY WAS OUT OF IGNITION, LIGHTS WERE TURNED OFF, HEADLIGHTS TURNED ON AND OFF TWICE FOR NO REASON. WHILE DRIVING ON HIGHWAY ON SLIGHT INCLINE, ENGINE LOST POWER FOR A FEW SECONDS THEN RETURNED TO NORMAL. VEHICLE HAS BEEN TO A CERTIFIED JEEP REPAIR SHOP AND THEY COULD NOT FIND THE PROBLEM. (SEE ATTACHED)

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/16/2016 - MILFORD, IA
THE FOLLOWING EVENTS HAPPENED OVER A PERIOD OF 2 WEEKS. WHEN IN MOTION ON HIGHWAY, INSTRUMENT PANEL LOST POWER, THEN CAME BACK ON AND ALL CONTROL PANEL LIGHTS LIT UP, THEN WENT OFF. WHILE IN MOTION ON HIGHWAY, INSTRUMENT PANEL WENT BLANK--CYCLED ON AND OFF SEVERAL TIMES THEN RETURNED TO NORMAL. WHEN ENGINE WAS OFF, IGNITION WAS OFF AND KEY WAS OUT OF IGNITION, LIGHTS WERE TURNED OFF, HEADLIGHTS TURNED ON AND OFF TWICE FOR NO REASON. WHILE DRIVING ON HIGHWAY ON SLIGHT INCLINE, ENGINE LOST POWER FOR A FEW SECONDS THEN RETURNED TO NORMAL. VEHICLE HAS BEEN TO A CERTIFIED JEEP REPAIR SHOP AND THEY COULD NOT FIND THE PROBLEM. (SEE ATTACHED)

View Details

ENGINE

3/16/2016 - MILFORD, IA
THE FOLLOWING EVENTS HAPPENED OVER A PERIOD OF 2 WEEKS. WHEN IN MOTION ON HIGHWAY, INSTRUMENT PANEL LOST POWER, THEN CAME BACK ON AND ALL CONTROL PANEL LIGHTS LIT UP, THEN WENT OFF. WHILE IN MOTION ON HIGHWAY, INSTRUMENT PANEL WENT BLANK--CYCLED ON AND OFF SEVERAL TIMES THEN RETURNED TO NORMAL. WHEN ENGINE WAS OFF, IGNITION WAS OFF AND KEY WAS OUT OF IGNITION, LIGHTS WERE TURNED OFF, HEADLIGHTS TURNED ON AND OFF TWICE FOR NO REASON. WHILE DRIVING ON HIGHWAY ON SLIGHT INCLINE, ENGINE LOST POWER FOR A FEW SECONDS THEN RETURNED TO NORMAL. VEHICLE HAS BEEN TO A CERTIFIED JEEP REPAIR SHOP AND THEY COULD NOT FIND THE PROBLEM. (SEE ATTACHED)

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/15/2016 - MARLLBOROUGH, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. THE CONTACT STATED THAT IT TOOK SEVERAL ATTEMPTS TO START THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V438000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE FAILURE ONLY OCCURRED AFTER THE RECALL REMEDY WAS PERFORMED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS; HOWEVER, THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO PRODUCE A FAULT CODE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 173,000.

View Details

ENGINE

3/14/2016 - EAST LIVERPOOL, OH
VEHICLE HAS BEEN TO DEALERSHIP FOUR TIMES FOR THE SAME PROBLEM. AFTER DRIVING LONGER THAN 10-15 MINUTES TURNING THE JEEP OFF AND TRYING TO RESTART WITHIN 5-10 MINUTES IT WON'T START. LET IT SIT FOR MINIMUM OF 20 MINUTES WILL START. THE RELAYS GET VERY WARM BUT AFTER COOLING, THE CAR STARTS. DEALERSHIP HAS ZINGED US FOR A NEW STARTER, IT DIDN'T NEED, A NEW PCM, IT DIDN'T NEED. TESTING MY OWN THEORY 3 CONSECUTIVE TIMES IN ONE DAY, DROVE THE VEHICLE AT LEAST 30 MINUTES. TURNED OFF AND ATTEMPTED TO RESTART (AS YOU WOULD A QUICK TRIP TO THE STORE) AND NOTHING BUT WAITING EACH TIME, CAR STARTS AFTER COOLING. PICKED UP THE JEEP TWO DAYS AGO FROM DEALERSHIP WHO HAD IT 18 DAYS TRYING TO FIX IT (3RD TIME)AND THE FIRST TRIP THAT DAY RESULTED IN ANOTHER OCCURRENCE OF THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/14/2016 - EAST LIVERPOOL, OH
VEHICLE HAS BEEN TO DEALERSHIP FOUR TIMES FOR THE SAME PROBLEM. AFTER DRIVING LONGER THAN 10-15 MINUTES TURNING THE JEEP OFF AND TRYING TO RESTART WITHIN 5-10 MINUTES IT WON'T START. LET IT SIT FOR MINIMUM OF 20 MINUTES WILL START. THE RELAYS GET VERY WARM BUT AFTER COOLING, THE CAR STARTS. DEALERSHIP HAS ZINGED US FOR A NEW STARTER, IT DIDN'T NEED, A NEW PCM, IT DIDN'T NEED. TESTING MY OWN THEORY 3 CONSECUTIVE TIMES IN ONE DAY, DROVE THE VEHICLE AT LEAST 30 MINUTES. TURNED OFF AND ATTEMPTED TO RESTART (AS YOU WOULD A QUICK TRIP TO THE STORE) AND NOTHING BUT WAITING EACH TIME, CAR STARTS AFTER COOLING. PICKED UP THE JEEP TWO DAYS AGO FROM DEALERSHIP WHO HAD IT 18 DAYS TRYING TO FIX IT (3RD TIME)AND THE FIRST TRIP THAT DAY RESULTED IN ANOTHER OCCURRENCE OF THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

3/12/2016 - APPLE VALLEY, MN
THE VEHICLE STALLS A VARIOUS SPEEDS, BUT TYPICALLY WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. MY DAILY COMMUTE IS ABOUT 32 MILES EACH WAY AND I TYPICALLY EXPERIENCE THE VEHICLE SHUTTING OFF ONCE PER DAY. WHEN THE VEHICLE DOES STALL I HAVE BEEN ABLE TO PLACE THE VEHICLE IN NEUTRAL, TURN THE IGNITION OFF, THEN RESTART BY TURNING THE IGNITION BACK ON AND PUTTING THE VEHICLE BACK IN DRIVE. I DID HAVE THE VEHICLE SERVICED FOR RECALL P41 / NHTSA 14V-438 WHICH WAS TO RESOLVE ISSUES WITH LOSS OF POWER DURING DRIVING BUT NO SIGNIFICANT CHANGES HAVE BEEN NOTICED SINCE THE REPAIR. THIS ISSUE HAS BEEN OCCURRING FOR ABOUT THE LAST THREE YEARS WITH INCREASING FREQUENCY. IT HAS BEEN TAKEN IN FOR REPAIR MULTIPLE TIMES, BESIDE THE RECALL REPAIR, WHILE UNDER WARRANTY BUT NEVER FIXED. THIS ISSUE IS A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN FOR MYSELF AND FAMILY AS THERE ARE TIMES WHEN THE VEHICLE STALLS WHILE ENTERING ONTO THE HIGHWAY OR DURING HIGHWAY TRAVEL. WHEN THE VEHICLE STALLS IT LOOSES POWER STEERING SO CONTROL AND SPEED PUT OURSELVES AND OTHERS AT DANGER. THE DATE AND MILEAGE MENTIONED BELOW IS THE LAST TIME THE STALL OCCURRED AND NOT REFLECTIVE OF ALL THE OCCURRENCES WHEN THE VEHICLE STALLED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 124
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds