Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP LIBERTY - 2007 JEEP LIBERTY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 502 complaints filed for the 2007 JEEP LIBERTY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 JEEP LIBERTY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 JEEP LIBERTY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Unknown Or Other (15)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (26) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (37) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (4) Structure (83) Visibility (211)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (80) Seats (8) Suspension (21) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (96) Service Brakes (4) Tires (4) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 54
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

2/16/2015 - LONGWOOD, FL
RIGHT FRONT OF 2007 JEEP LIBERTY FELL TO THE GROUND JUST AFTER MOVING FORWARD IN A PARKING LOT. WHEEL BENT OUT AND ALL FLUIDS RELEASED TO THE GROUND. IF THIS HAD HAPPENED A FEW MINUTES LATER WOULD HAVE BEEN DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE AT APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT MOVE WHEN PUSHED, SO MOST LIKELY AT THAT SPEED IT WOULD HAVE FLIPPED OVER CARRYING A MOTHER AND CHILD. JEEP HAD RECALLS FOR THIS PROBLEM THROUGH 2005. THERE ARE MANY COMPLAINTS ON THIS EXACT ISSUE ON THE 2007. JEEP REFUSED TO ASSIST IN ANY WAY. THE MANAGER STATED THAT IT WAS NOT UNDER WARRANTY. PARTS NEEDED FOR REPAIR: CONTROL ARM, BALL JOINT AND WHEEL WHICH WAS CRACKED WHEN THE INCIDENT OCCURRED. 1231.00. JEEP NEEDS TO STEP UP AND COVER/REIMBURSE FOR SAFETY ISSUES THAT ARE KNOWN ISSUES ON THEIR VEHICLES. NO GOOD FAITH FOR SAFETY FROM JEEP. RECALL THESE PARTS BEFORE PEOPLE GET KILLED.

View Details

WHEELS

2/16/2015 - LONGWOOD, FL
RIGHT FRONT OF 2007 JEEP LIBERTY FELL TO THE GROUND JUST AFTER MOVING FORWARD IN A PARKING LOT. WHEEL BENT OUT AND ALL FLUIDS RELEASED TO THE GROUND. IF THIS HAD HAPPENED A FEW MINUTES LATER WOULD HAVE BEEN DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE AT APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT MOVE WHEN PUSHED, SO MOST LIKELY AT THAT SPEED IT WOULD HAVE FLIPPED OVER CARRYING A MOTHER AND CHILD. JEEP HAD RECALLS FOR THIS PROBLEM THROUGH 2005. THERE ARE MANY COMPLAINTS ON THIS EXACT ISSUE ON THE 2007. JEEP REFUSED TO ASSIST IN ANY WAY. THE MANAGER STATED THAT IT WAS NOT UNDER WARRANTY. PARTS NEEDED FOR REPAIR: CONTROL ARM, BALL JOINT AND WHEEL WHICH WAS CRACKED WHEN THE INCIDENT OCCURRED. 1231.00. JEEP NEEDS TO STEP UP AND COVER/REIMBURSE FOR SAFETY ISSUES THAT ARE KNOWN ISSUES ON THEIR VEHICLES. NO GOOD FAITH FOR SAFETY FROM JEEP. RECALL THESE PARTS BEFORE PEOPLE GET KILLED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/16/2015 - MADISON, WI
EVERY TIME I FILL UP FOR GAS, THE AUTOMATIC SHUTOFF IS TRIGGERED TOO LATE AND A SIGNIFICANT AMOUNT OF GAS SPILLS OUT OF THE CAR, SOAKING THE SIDE OF THE CAR, THE PUMP HANDLE, THE GROUND AROUND IT, AND ANYONE STANDING NEXT TO THE TANK. THIS CREATES A SIGNIFICANT RISK OF FIRE, AND IS ALSO HARMFUL FOR THE ENVIRONMENT. THERE WAS NO ATTEMPT TO TOP OFF THE TANK.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/12/2015 - FARMINGOTON, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP LIBERTY. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE CONTACT LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND CRASHED INTO A TREE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND NO INJURIES WERE REPORTED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/11/2015 - BETHLEHEM , PA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT EVERY TIME THE VEHICLE WAS REFUELED, THE FUEL TANK WOULD OVERFLOW. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXHIBITED SAME FAILURES LISTED IN RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V252000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE, STRUCTURE). HOWEVER, THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL CAP AND EVAPORATOR HARD LINE AT THE FIREWALL NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,794.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

1/25/2015 - MADISON, WI
THE UPPER MOUNTING NUT FOR THE RIGHT REAR PASSENGER SEAT BEAT SHOULDER LOOP IS PRONE TO SHEAR OFF THE MOUNTING PLATE THE NUT IS WELDED TO INSIDE THE C-PILLAR. THIS CAN HAPPEN ANYTIME THE UPPER SEAT BELT LOOP IS SERVICED. I HAD THIS HAPPEN TO MY VEHICLE WHEN INSTALLING THE MOPAR TRAILER TOW WIRE HARNESS. THE INSTALL OF THE WIRE HARNESS CALLS FOR THE REMOVAL OF THE RIGHT REAR INTERNAL TRIM PANEL AND THE UPPER RIGHT REAR PASSENGER SEAT BELT MOUNT. TO REMOVAL THE UPPER SEAT BELT BOLT I HAD USED A T47 BIT SOCKET ON 3/8" RATCHET HANDLE. WHILE REMOVING THE SEAT BELT BOLT, THE BOLT STARTED TO SPIN FREELY AND NOT BE ABLE TO BE REMOVED. I HAD TAKEN THE VEIHCLE TO A MECHANIC FOR ADVICE AND THEY SAID TAKE IT TO A BODY SHOP. ABRA AUTO BODY IN MADISON, WI HAD PLACED A CAMERA INSIDE THE RIGHT REAR C-PILLER TO FIND THE REASON FOR THE BOLT SPINNING FREELY. ABRA HAD FOUND THAT THE INTERNAL SEAT BELT NUT HAD BROKEN FREE FROM WELDS THAT HOLD THE NUT TO THE RIGHT REAR C-PILLAR. THAT FACT THAT I WAS ABLE TO HAVE THIS SEAT BELT BOLT NUT BREAK FROM ITS WELDS WITH JUST SMALL HAND TOOLS CONCERNS ME THAT THE ENTIRE JEEP LIBERTY FLEET IS PRONE TO REAR PASSENGER SEAT BELT MOUNT POINT FAILURES DURING A CRASH.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/23/2015 - GLENDORA, CA
I MANAGE AN EMISSIONS TESTING BUSINESS A WOMAN CAME IN WITH A 2007 JEEP LIBERTY FOR A SMOG CHECK. DURING THE ASM TEST, WHERE I HAVE TO DRIVE THE CAR ON THE DYNAMOMETER, IT HOPS OFF THE DYNO, GOING THROUGH THE PRECAUTIONS I TAKE FOR A REAR-WHEEL DRIVE VEHICLE(PLACING A SHOCK IN FRONT OF THE FRONT WHEELS), AND CRASHES INTO THE WALL, DAMAGING MYSELF AND $5,000 WORTH OF EQUIPMENT. ALSO, THE CAR KEPT ON ACCELERATING INTO THE WALL, EVEN WHEN PUSHING ON THE BRAKES AS HARD I COULD SO THAT'S WHEN I SHIFTED IT INTO PARK AND ENGAGED THE HANDBRAKE. OBVIOUSLY, THIS CAR HAS SOME MAJOR PROBLEMS WITH IT. AT FIRST, I LOOKED ONLINE AND THE YEAR AND MODEL HAD NUMEROUS RECALLS ON IT, INCLUDING THE REAR SUSPENSION, AND BRAKES LOCKING UP, WHICH I BELIEVED HAD HAPPENED IN MY CASE. (HTTP://WWW.MOTORTREND.COM/CARS/2007/JEEP/LIBERTY/RECALLS/), BUT AFTER CONTACTING THE DEALERSHIP, THEY TOLD ME THAT THERE WASN'T ANY MAJOR RECALLS ISSUED ON IT, WHICH IS WHY IM FILING THIS COMPLAINT AFTER SMOGGING HUNDREDS OF CARS, THIS HAS NEVER HAPPENED TO ME UNTIL THAT DAY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/23/2015 - GLENDORA, CA
I MANAGE AN EMISSIONS TESTING BUSINESS A WOMAN CAME IN WITH A 2007 JEEP LIBERTY FOR A SMOG CHECK. DURING THE ASM TEST, WHERE I HAVE TO DRIVE THE CAR ON THE DYNAMOMETER, IT HOPS OFF THE DYNO, GOING THROUGH THE PRECAUTIONS I TAKE FOR A REAR-WHEEL DRIVE VEHICLE(PLACING A SHOCK IN FRONT OF THE FRONT WHEELS), AND CRASHES INTO THE WALL, DAMAGING MYSELF AND $5,000 WORTH OF EQUIPMENT. ALSO, THE CAR KEPT ON ACCELERATING INTO THE WALL, EVEN WHEN PUSHING ON THE BRAKES AS HARD I COULD SO THAT'S WHEN I SHIFTED IT INTO PARK AND ENGAGED THE HANDBRAKE. OBVIOUSLY, THIS CAR HAS SOME MAJOR PROBLEMS WITH IT. AT FIRST, I LOOKED ONLINE AND THE YEAR AND MODEL HAD NUMEROUS RECALLS ON IT, INCLUDING THE REAR SUSPENSION, AND BRAKES LOCKING UP, WHICH I BELIEVED HAD HAPPENED IN MY CASE. (HTTP://WWW.MOTORTREND.COM/CARS/2007/JEEP/LIBERTY/RECALLS/), BUT AFTER CONTACTING THE DEALERSHIP, THEY TOLD ME THAT THERE WASN'T ANY MAJOR RECALLS ISSUED ON IT, WHICH IS WHY IM FILING THIS COMPLAINT AFTER SMOGGING HUNDREDS OF CARS, THIS HAS NEVER HAPPENED TO ME UNTIL THAT DAY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/23/2015 - GLENDORA, CA
I MANAGE AN EMISSIONS TESTING BUSINESS A WOMAN CAME IN WITH A 2007 JEEP LIBERTY FOR A SMOG CHECK. DURING THE ASM TEST, WHERE I HAVE TO DRIVE THE CAR ON THE DYNAMOMETER, IT HOPS OFF THE DYNO, GOING THROUGH THE PRECAUTIONS I TAKE FOR A REAR-WHEEL DRIVE VEHICLE(PLACING A SHOCK IN FRONT OF THE FRONT WHEELS), AND CRASHES INTO THE WALL, DAMAGING MYSELF AND $5,000 WORTH OF EQUIPMENT. ALSO, THE CAR KEPT ON ACCELERATING INTO THE WALL, EVEN WHEN PUSHING ON THE BRAKES AS HARD I COULD SO THAT'S WHEN I SHIFTED IT INTO PARK AND ENGAGED THE HANDBRAKE. OBVIOUSLY, THIS CAR HAS SOME MAJOR PROBLEMS WITH IT. AT FIRST, I LOOKED ONLINE AND THE YEAR AND MODEL HAD NUMEROUS RECALLS ON IT, INCLUDING THE REAR SUSPENSION, AND BRAKES LOCKING UP, WHICH I BELIEVED HAD HAPPENED IN MY CASE. (HTTP://WWW.MOTORTREND.COM/CARS/2007/JEEP/LIBERTY/RECALLS/), BUT AFTER CONTACTING THE DEALERSHIP, THEY TOLD ME THAT THERE WASN'T ANY MAJOR RECALLS ISSUED ON IT, WHICH IS WHY IM FILING THIS COMPLAINT AFTER SMOGGING HUNDREDS OF CARS, THIS HAS NEVER HAPPENED TO ME UNTIL THAT DAY.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

1/21/2015 - DECATUR, GA
2007 JEEP LIBERTY SAFETY RECALL-TRAILER HITCH REIMBURSEMENT. THE CONSUMER STATED CHRYSLER DENIED HIS REQUEST FOR REIMBURSEMENT FOR THE TRAILER HITCH HE HAD INSTALLED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 54
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds