Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP LIBERTY - 2007 JEEP LIBERTY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 467 complaints filed for the 2007 JEEP LIBERTY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 JEEP LIBERTY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 JEEP LIBERTY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Unknown Or Other (18)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (25) Steering (3) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (34) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (3) Structure (64) Visibility (209)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (79) Seats (8) Suspension (17) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (73) Service Brakes (3) Tires (4) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 48
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY: GLASS, SIDE/REAR

10/23/2014 - HEMPHILL, TX
2007 JEEP LIBERTY. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO LEFT REAR WINDOW FALLING DOWN. THE CONSUMER STATED THE WINDOW WOULD NOT ROLL BACK UP. THE CONSUMER'S HUSBAND MANAGED TO GRAB ENOUGH OF THE GLASS TO PULL IT UP. IN DECEMBER OF 2010, THE CONSUMER RECEIVED A LETTER WHICH EXTENDED THE WARRANTY FOR THE PROBLEM. HOWEVER, IT WAS ONLY EXTENDED TO SEVEN YEARS FROM THE DATE OF SERVICE, WHICH IN HER CASE WAS JULY 2, 2007. ON MARCH 15, 2011, THE RIGHT REAR WINDOW WAS REPAIRED AFTER FALLING DOWN. ON JUNE 13, 2013, THE LEFT REAR WINDOW WAS REPAIRED FOR A SECOND TIME, AND ON AUGUST 21, 2014 THE LEFT FRONT WINDOW FAILED AGAIN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/17/2014 - CHESTERFIELD, MI
I OWN A STOCK 2007 JEEP LIBERY WITH THE 3.7L V6 AND AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION. WHILE DRIVING HOME THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF UNEXPECTEDLY ON A BUSY FIVE LANE 50 MPH ROAD. AS I COASTED INTO A DRIVEWAY I SAW HEAVY DARK BLACK SMOKE POURING FROM UNDER THE HOOD. AS I OPENED THE HOOD THERE WAS 5-6 INCH FLAMES ON MOST OF THE STOCK WIRING UNDER THE HOOD. THE POSITIVE CABLE THAT RUNS UNDER THE ENGINE RUBBED UNDER THE ENGINE UNTIL IT SHORTED ON THE GROUNDED ENGINE BLOCK SHORTING OUT THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT SHOWED UP AND PUT OUT THE FIRE AND CUT THE NEGATIVE CABLE TO STOP THE OUTBREAK OF ANOTHER FIRE. ALL OF THE CABLES ARE NOW MELTED AND BURNED TOGETHER. THE REPAIR ESTIMATE IS CLOSE TO $5000 WITHOUT FIXING WHAT ACTUALLY CAUSED THE PROBLEM, JUST FIXING THE MELTED WIRES. THE FIRE WAS STARTED BY STOCK WIRES ON A STOCK VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO PARKWAY BEFORE WE BOUGHT IT AND WENT THROUGH COMPLETELY "FIXING ANYTHING AND EVERYTHING THAT WAS WRONG OR BAD WITH THE VEHICLE." THEY CLEARLY MISSED THIS MAJOR PROBLEM THAT COULD HAVE KILLED TWO TEENAGERS. I HAVE ALREADY CONTACTED CHRYSLER ABOUT THIS PROBLEM AND THEY TOLD ME THIS WAS NOT THEIR FAULT. I BELIEVE IT IS, AND I WANT TO FIX THE PROBLEM BEFORE IT DOES KILL SOMEONE. I AM OPEN TO PHONE CALLS, I AM OPEN TO EMAILS ANYONE YOU WANT TO CONTACT ME WOULD BE PERFECT. I CAN MEET YOU AT THE DEALERSHIP OR ANYWHERE YOU PLEASE. I WILL TRAVEL, TELL ME WHAT ACTIONS NEED TO BE DONE AND THEY WILL BE DONE. THERE IS A LOT MORE OF INFORMATION THAT CAN BE OBTAINED AND WILL BE AVALIBLE ON DEMAND.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/17/2014 - CHESTERFIELD, MI
I OWN A STOCK 2007 JEEP LIBERY WITH THE 3.7L V6 AND AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION. WHILE DRIVING HOME THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF UNEXPECTEDLY ON A BUSY FIVE LANE 50 MPH ROAD. AS I COASTED INTO A DRIVEWAY I SAW HEAVY DARK BLACK SMOKE POURING FROM UNDER THE HOOD. AS I OPENED THE HOOD THERE WAS 5-6 INCH FLAMES ON MOST OF THE STOCK WIRING UNDER THE HOOD. THE POSITIVE CABLE THAT RUNS UNDER THE ENGINE RUBBED UNDER THE ENGINE UNTIL IT SHORTED ON THE GROUNDED ENGINE BLOCK SHORTING OUT THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT SHOWED UP AND PUT OUT THE FIRE AND CUT THE NEGATIVE CABLE TO STOP THE OUTBREAK OF ANOTHER FIRE. ALL OF THE CABLES ARE NOW MELTED AND BURNED TOGETHER. THE REPAIR ESTIMATE IS CLOSE TO $5000 WITHOUT FIXING WHAT ACTUALLY CAUSED THE PROBLEM, JUST FIXING THE MELTED WIRES. THE FIRE WAS STARTED BY STOCK WIRES ON A STOCK VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO PARKWAY BEFORE WE BOUGHT IT AND WENT THROUGH COMPLETELY "FIXING ANYTHING AND EVERYTHING THAT WAS WRONG OR BAD WITH THE VEHICLE." THEY CLEARLY MISSED THIS MAJOR PROBLEM THAT COULD HAVE KILLED TWO TEENAGERS. I HAVE ALREADY CONTACTED CHRYSLER ABOUT THIS PROBLEM AND THEY TOLD ME THIS WAS NOT THEIR FAULT. I BELIEVE IT IS, AND I WANT TO FIX THE PROBLEM BEFORE IT DOES KILL SOMEONE. I AM OPEN TO PHONE CALLS, I AM OPEN TO EMAILS ANYONE YOU WANT TO CONTACT ME WOULD BE PERFECT. I CAN MEET YOU AT THE DEALERSHIP OR ANYWHERE YOU PLEASE. I WILL TRAVEL, TELL ME WHAT ACTIONS NEED TO BE DONE AND THEY WILL BE DONE. THERE IS A LOT MORE OF INFORMATION THAT CAN BE OBTAINED AND WILL BE AVALIBLE ON DEMAND.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

10/17/2014 - CHESTERFIELD, MI
I OWN A STOCK 2007 JEEP LIBERY WITH THE 3.7L V6 AND AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION. WHILE DRIVING HOME THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF UNEXPECTEDLY ON A BUSY FIVE LANE 50 MPH ROAD. AS I COASTED INTO A DRIVEWAY I SAW HEAVY DARK BLACK SMOKE POURING FROM UNDER THE HOOD. AS I OPENED THE HOOD THERE WAS 5-6 INCH FLAMES ON MOST OF THE STOCK WIRING UNDER THE HOOD. THE POSITIVE CABLE THAT RUNS UNDER THE ENGINE RUBBED UNDER THE ENGINE UNTIL IT SHORTED ON THE GROUNDED ENGINE BLOCK SHORTING OUT THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT SHOWED UP AND PUT OUT THE FIRE AND CUT THE NEGATIVE CABLE TO STOP THE OUTBREAK OF ANOTHER FIRE. ALL OF THE CABLES ARE NOW MELTED AND BURNED TOGETHER. THE REPAIR ESTIMATE IS CLOSE TO $5000 WITHOUT FIXING WHAT ACTUALLY CAUSED THE PROBLEM, JUST FIXING THE MELTED WIRES. THE FIRE WAS STARTED BY STOCK WIRES ON A STOCK VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO PARKWAY BEFORE WE BOUGHT IT AND WENT THROUGH COMPLETELY "FIXING ANYTHING AND EVERYTHING THAT WAS WRONG OR BAD WITH THE VEHICLE." THEY CLEARLY MISSED THIS MAJOR PROBLEM THAT COULD HAVE KILLED TWO TEENAGERS. I HAVE ALREADY CONTACTED CHRYSLER ABOUT THIS PROBLEM AND THEY TOLD ME THIS WAS NOT THEIR FAULT. I BELIEVE IT IS, AND I WANT TO FIX THE PROBLEM BEFORE IT DOES KILL SOMEONE. I AM OPEN TO PHONE CALLS, I AM OPEN TO EMAILS ANYONE YOU WANT TO CONTACT ME WOULD BE PERFECT. I CAN MEET YOU AT THE DEALERSHIP OR ANYWHERE YOU PLEASE. I WILL TRAVEL, TELL ME WHAT ACTIONS NEED TO BE DONE AND THEY WILL BE DONE. THERE IS A LOT MORE OF INFORMATION THAT CAN BE OBTAINED AND WILL BE AVALIBLE ON DEMAND.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/16/2014 - CLEVELAND , OH
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V252000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE, STRUCTURE). HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. NE

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/16/2014 - CLEVELAND , OH
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V252000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE, STRUCTURE). HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. NE

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

10/16/2014 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS JEEP WROTE THAT I WOULD RECEIVE A TRAILER HITCH TO ENHANCE SAFETY FROM REAR END COLLISIONS, TO PREVENT THE GAS TANK FROM BLOWING UP. WHEN I TOOL THE LIBERTY IN FOR THE RECALL, ALL THEY PUT ON WAS THE HOLDER FOR THE BALL HITCH. THEY DID NOT PUT ON THE TRAILER HITCH ITSELF. THEY PROVIDED A POORLY COPIED LETTER WHICH INCLUDED THIS PARAGRAPH: "DO NOT ATTEMPT TO TOW WITH THE CAMPAIGN-INSTALLED TRAILER HITCH ASSEMBLY. YOUR VEHICLE WAS NOT EQUIPPED WITH A CHRYSLER OEM TRAILER TOW PACKAGE AND THIS CAMPAIGN-HITCH ASSEMBLY DOES NOT INCLUDE THE NECESSARY WIRING HARNESSES AND/OR OTHER HEAVY DUTY COMPONENTS FOR TOWING." I BELIEVE THIS IS A SLAP IN THE FACE BY CHRYSLER TO ITS CUSTOMERS AND THE NHTSB, SAYING, "YOU CAN MAKE ME DO X, AND WE WILL AGREE, BUT THEN WE WON'T DO X, WE'LL DO X MINUS A AND B". IF IT ISN'T STRONG ENOUGH FOR A SIMPLE TOW, HOW IS IT GOING TO PROTECT ME IN A COLLISION? AND HOW IS PROMISING A TRAILER HITCH, BUT INSTALLING ONLY THE WEAKEST PART OF A TRAILER HITCH, COMPLY WITH THEIR EARLIER WRITTEN PROMISES? I HAVE VOICED THESE CONCERNS TO THE LOCAL DEALER AND TO THEIR CORPORATE OFFICE MANAGING THE RECALL, AND THEY HAVE BEEN DISMISSIVE OF MY QUESTIONS.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/14/2014 - OFALLON, MO
WINDOW MOTOR/LIFT HAS BROKEN ON 3 WINDOWS OVER THE PAST 2 YEARS: DRIVER, PASSENGER AND THE MOST RECENT (YESTERDAY) IS THE REAR DRIVER. TWO DIFFERENT REPAIR PLACES HAVE ADVISED THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH JEEP LIBERTY, AND THE PART WAS A DESIGN FLAW. THE LAST ONE REPLACED WAS JUST UNDER $400. THE QUOTE I RECEIVED TO FIX THE DRIVER REAR WAS $494. MORE IMPORTANT IS THE FACT THAT REPLACING THE DEFECTIVE PART ISN'T A FIX, SIMPLY A DELAY UNTIL IT HAPPENS AGAIN AS THE REPLACEMENT PARTS ARE ALL DEFECTIVE AS WELL. ASKING THAT CHRYSLER FIND A TRUE SOLUTION AND IF NOT REPLACE/RECALL THE PART, AT LEAST OFFER A SUBSTANTIAL REIMBURSEMENT IN A TIMELY FASHION. THANK YOU

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/8/2014 - LAS VEGAS, NV
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V252000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE, STRUCTURE) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. DJR

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/8/2014 - LAS VEGAS, NV
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V252000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE, STRUCTURE) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. DJR

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 48
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds