Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP LIBERTY - 2007 JEEP LIBERTY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 563 complaints filed for the 2007 JEEP LIBERTY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 JEEP LIBERTY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 JEEP LIBERTY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Equipment (2) Power Train (29) Structure (96) Unknown Or Other (12)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (5) Suspension (29) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electrical System (47) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (8) Tires (4) Visibility (223)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (92) Service Brakes (7) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (11)
Engine (9) Fuel System Gasoline (109) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Trailer Hitches (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Steering (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 62
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

3/22/2016 - MONAHANS, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 12V085000 (SUSPENSION) AND 13V252000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE, STRUCTURE); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIRS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/22/2016 - MONAHANS, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 12V085000 (SUSPENSION) AND 13V252000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE, STRUCTURE); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIRS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/15/2016 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
ASIDE FROM THE NUMEROUS PROBLEMS WITH THE WINDOWS ACTUATORS FAILING (6 TIMES) AS MENTIONED IN MANY COMPLAINTS ON THIS SITE; ESIM VALVE REPLACEMENT DUE TO A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CONSTANTLY ON; A COMPLETE TRANSMISSION REBUILD (AT ABOUT 60,000 MILES); SUNROOF FAILURE; BACK TAILGATE DOOR FAILING TO UNLOCK OR OPEN; GAS SPILLAGE PROBLEM WHEN FILLING UP AND THE HITCH RECALL, I AM NOW HAVING PROBLEMS WITH THE DOOR LOCK ACTUATORS FAILING. I'VE ALREADY HAD TO REPLACE THE ONE ON PASSENGER DOOR BEHIND THE DRIVER. NOW THE DRIVER'S DOOR LOCK HAS ALSO FAILED. THIS WAS DISCOVERED AFTER A SOMEBODY RIFLED THROUGH THE ITEMS IN THE CAR. NOTHING WAS STOLEN BUT I WAS SURE I LOCKED IT. SURE ENOUGH WHEN I TESTED THE LOCKS, THE DOOR DID NOT LOCK OR UNLOCK USING THE KEY FOB, THE DOOR LOCK BUTTON ON THE INSIDE OR THE AUTO LOCK FEATURE WHEN GOING OVER 15MPH.. ALL THE OTHER DOORS WORKING AT THIS TIME. BUT WHO KNOWS WHEN I'LL HAVE TO HAVE THE OTHER 2 DOORS FIXED. FIRST DOOR FAILURE DATE IS IN THE "WHEN DIS THIS HAPPEN" SECTION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/10/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT A LOW SPEED, THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE BALL JOINTS AND MULTIPLE UNKNOWN PARTS FRACTURED FROM THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE TIRE WAS LEANING INWARDS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT UNKNOWN SPEED, ALL WINDOWS INDEPENDENTLY OPENED AND FAILED TO CLOSE. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER AND AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC NUMEROUS TIMES HOWEVER, THE CONTACT WAS UNCERTAIN WHAT PARTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED EACH TIME. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/10/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT A LOW SPEED, THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE BALL JOINTS AND MULTIPLE UNKNOWN PARTS FRACTURED FROM THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE TIRE WAS LEANING INWARDS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT UNKNOWN SPEED, ALL WINDOWS INDEPENDENTLY OPENED AND FAILED TO CLOSE. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER AND AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC NUMEROUS TIMES HOWEVER, THE CONTACT WAS UNCERTAIN WHAT PARTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED EACH TIME. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/9/2016 - GERMANTOWN, MD
ALMOST EVERY TIME I FILL-UP, THERE IS A SPLASH-BACK FROM THE FUEL FILLER OPENING. THIS APPARENTLY IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE LIBERTY MODEL AMONG OTHERS. I SPOKE WITH THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT AT THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THAT I WOULD NEED TO PAY FOR ANY REPAIRS SINCE THERE WAS NO RECALL THAT WOULD PAY FOR IT. I THEN CONTACTED CHRYSLER WHO TOLD ME THAT MY SPECIFIC LIBERTY IS NOT PART OF ANY RECALL OR TSB SO THEY CANNOT HELP. I BELIEVE THIS PROBLEM POSES A HAZARD IF THE GAS WAS TO IGNITE. THE MOST RECENT OCCURRENCE WAS ON 26 FEBRUARY 2016.

View Details

ENGINE

3/6/2016 - MONTPELIER, VT
DESPITE GOOD MAINTENANCE RECORDS, ENGINE SEIZED WHILE JEEP WAS IN MOTION, RESULTING IN TOTAL LOSS OF ENGINE POWER, STEERING AND BRAKE ASSIST. THERE WERE ZERO WARNINGS SUCH A THING WAS ABOUT TO HAPPEN. NO ENGINE LIGHT. NO ABNORMAL ENGINE NOISE. NOTHING. THE ENGINE JUST SEIZED. FORTUNATELY THIS DID NOT HAPPEN WHILE GOING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. DEALER DESCRIBED ENGINE FAILURE AS +ONE-IN-A-MILLION.+ VALVE FELL INTO CYLINDER, CAUSING A DESTRUCTIVE CHAIN REACTION. UPON CONTACTING CHRYSLER+S CUSTOMER RELATIONS AND PRESENTING MY +ONE-IN-A-MILLION+ TYPE OF FAILURE (CASE ID# 28648873), I REQUESTED SUPPORT, BUT WAS TOLD THAT CHRYSLER WOULD NOT PROVIDE ME WITH ANY KIND OF SUPPORT AND THAT THE DECISION WAS FINAL. DOES ANYONE GO OUT BUYING A USED CAR EXPECTING THAT THE ENGINE WILL RUIN ITSELF ALL THE SUDDEN, JUST BECAUSE IT+S OVER 100K MILES? (THE MILEAGE BEING ONE OF THE REASONS WHY NO SUPPORT WOULD BE PROVIDED) THE +AUTOCHECK+ REPORT LISTED ONLY TWO OWNERS BEFORE ME. THE PREVIOUS OWNER HAD BOUGHT THIS AS A +PRE-OWNED CERTIFIED+ CAR, AND AFTER 6 YEARS OF OWNERSHIP AND PROPER MAINTENANCE LET GO OF IT. THE AUTOCHECK REPORT RATED IT 79 ON A SCALE FROM 71 TO 84, AND I WAS IN EFFECT, JUST THE THIRD OWNER! THE PREVIOUS OWNER HAD TO UNFORTUNATELY SURRENDER THE CAR TO THE INSURANCE COMPANY, GIVEN THE EXPENSIVE COSMETIC REPAIR COST OF A REAR END IMPACT. I PURCHASED THE CAR AT A PUBLIC AUTO AUCTION AND GOT THE REAR END REPAIRED. AS WEEKS HAVE GONE BY AND I'VE BEEN RESEARCHING MY OPTIONS, I HAVE COME TO LEARN THAT THOSE 3.7L POWERTECH ENGINES HAD SOME DESIGN FLAWS THAT HAVE COST NUMEROUS JEEP LIBERTY OWNERS ANYWHERE FROM DROPPED VALVES, TO FALLEN ROCKER ARMS, LEADING IN CASES LIKE MINE, TO CATASTROPHIC ENGINE FAILURE. HAD MY ENGINE FAILURE TAKEN PLACE AT HIGHWAY SPEED, A POTENTIALLY LIFE-THREATENING OUTCOME COULD HAVE HAPPENED.

View Details

ENGINE

2/16/2016 - BURNSVILLE, NC
AUTO MADE LOUD NOISES AND STOPPED RUNNING. WOULD NOT START. HAD TOWED TO JEEP DEALER WHO HAD IT FOR 3 MONTHS AND THEY MADE SURE THAT THE TIMING WAS FINE. REPLACED CAM AND CRANK SENSOR. STILL WOULDN'T START. THEY FINALLY CALLED US TO HAVE THE VEHICLE TOWED BACK TO OUR HOME BECAUSE THE MANUFACTURER TOLD THEM IT WAS PROBABLY THE TIPM AND WIRING HARNESS. THEY TOLD US THE COST FOR THE PART AND TO INSTALL IT (WITH NO GUARANTEE IT WOULD FIX THE CAR) WAS $2,300 WHICH WE DON'T HAVE SO WE HAVE A VEHICLE THAT WE CAN'T EVEN START.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/26/2016 - SEDALIA, CO
THE GAS TANK IS IMPROPERLY DESIGNED, WHILE PUMPING GAS IT WILL NOT PROPERLY SHUT OFF, WILL SPRAY GAS WHICH IS CLEARLY DANGEROUS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/15/2016 - WALNUT CREEK, CA
MY 2007 JEEP LIBERTY SUNROOF IS LEAKING FOR THE 2ND TIME IN 3 MONTHS. THE FIRST TIME I WENT AND GOT THE DRAINAGE TUBES CLEARED OUT BY THE DEALER. IT STARTED LEAKING AGAIN 2 DAYS AGO, AND WHEN IT LEAKS, WATER GETS INTO MY CAR. MY MECHANIC OPENED IT UP AND FOUND THE ENTIRE SUNROOF IS ACTUALLY BROKEN. HE SUSPECTS THAT THE DEALER NEW ABOUT THE ISSUE OF THE SUNROOF BUT DIDN'T TELL ME. THERE IS A PENDING LAWSUIT AGAINST CHRYSLER FOR THIS ISSUE, HOWEVER THEY ARE REFUSING TO ACKNOWLEDGE THE PROBLEM AND ARE NOT OFFERING COMPENSATION AT THIS TIME.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 62
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds