Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP LIBERTY - 2007 JEEP LIBERTY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 498 complaints filed for the 2007 JEEP LIBERTY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 JEEP LIBERTY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 JEEP LIBERTY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Unknown Or Other (19)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (26) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (37) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (4) Structure (79) Visibility (210)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (79) Seats (8) Suspension (20) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (92) Service Brakes (4) Tires (4) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 52
 
ComplaintDescription

SEAT BELTS

1/25/2015 - MADISON, WI
THE UPPER MOUNTING NUT FOR THE RIGHT REAR PASSENGER SEAT BEAT SHOULDER LOOP IS PRONE TO SHEAR OFF THE MOUNTING PLATE THE NUT IS WELDED TO INSIDE THE C-PILLAR. THIS CAN HAPPEN ANYTIME THE UPPER SEAT BELT LOOP IS SERVICED. I HAD THIS HAPPEN TO MY VEHICLE WHEN INSTALLING THE MOPAR TRAILER TOW WIRE HARNESS. THE INSTALL OF THE WIRE HARNESS CALLS FOR THE REMOVAL OF THE RIGHT REAR INTERNAL TRIM PANEL AND THE UPPER RIGHT REAR PASSENGER SEAT BELT MOUNT. TO REMOVAL THE UPPER SEAT BELT BOLT I HAD USED A T47 BIT SOCKET ON 3/8" RATCHET HANDLE. WHILE REMOVING THE SEAT BELT BOLT, THE BOLT STARTED TO SPIN FREELY AND NOT BE ABLE TO BE REMOVED. I HAD TAKEN THE VEIHCLE TO A MECHANIC FOR ADVICE AND THEY SAID TAKE IT TO A BODY SHOP. ABRA AUTO BODY IN MADISON, WI HAD PLACED A CAMERA INSIDE THE RIGHT REAR C-PILLER TO FIND THE REASON FOR THE BOLT SPINNING FREELY. ABRA HAD FOUND THAT THE INTERNAL SEAT BELT NUT HAD BROKEN FREE FROM WELDS THAT HOLD THE NUT TO THE RIGHT REAR C-PILLAR. THAT FACT THAT I WAS ABLE TO HAVE THIS SEAT BELT BOLT NUT BREAK FROM ITS WELDS WITH JUST SMALL HAND TOOLS CONCERNS ME THAT THE ENTIRE JEEP LIBERTY FLEET IS PRONE TO REAR PASSENGER SEAT BELT MOUNT POINT FAILURES DURING A CRASH.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/23/2015 - GLENDORA, CA
I MANAGE AN EMISSIONS TESTING BUSINESS A WOMAN CAME IN WITH A 2007 JEEP LIBERTY FOR A SMOG CHECK. DURING THE ASM TEST, WHERE I HAVE TO DRIVE THE CAR ON THE DYNAMOMETER, IT HOPS OFF THE DYNO, GOING THROUGH THE PRECAUTIONS I TAKE FOR A REAR-WHEEL DRIVE VEHICLE(PLACING A SHOCK IN FRONT OF THE FRONT WHEELS), AND CRASHES INTO THE WALL, DAMAGING MYSELF AND $5,000 WORTH OF EQUIPMENT. ALSO, THE CAR KEPT ON ACCELERATING INTO THE WALL, EVEN WHEN PUSHING ON THE BRAKES AS HARD I COULD SO THAT'S WHEN I SHIFTED IT INTO PARK AND ENGAGED THE HANDBRAKE. OBVIOUSLY, THIS CAR HAS SOME MAJOR PROBLEMS WITH IT. AT FIRST, I LOOKED ONLINE AND THE YEAR AND MODEL HAD NUMEROUS RECALLS ON IT, INCLUDING THE REAR SUSPENSION, AND BRAKES LOCKING UP, WHICH I BELIEVED HAD HAPPENED IN MY CASE. (HTTP://WWW.MOTORTREND.COM/CARS/2007/JEEP/LIBERTY/RECALLS/), BUT AFTER CONTACTING THE DEALERSHIP, THEY TOLD ME THAT THERE WASN'T ANY MAJOR RECALLS ISSUED ON IT, WHICH IS WHY IM FILING THIS COMPLAINT AFTER SMOGGING HUNDREDS OF CARS, THIS HAS NEVER HAPPENED TO ME UNTIL THAT DAY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/23/2015 - GLENDORA, CA
I MANAGE AN EMISSIONS TESTING BUSINESS A WOMAN CAME IN WITH A 2007 JEEP LIBERTY FOR A SMOG CHECK. DURING THE ASM TEST, WHERE I HAVE TO DRIVE THE CAR ON THE DYNAMOMETER, IT HOPS OFF THE DYNO, GOING THROUGH THE PRECAUTIONS I TAKE FOR A REAR-WHEEL DRIVE VEHICLE(PLACING A SHOCK IN FRONT OF THE FRONT WHEELS), AND CRASHES INTO THE WALL, DAMAGING MYSELF AND $5,000 WORTH OF EQUIPMENT. ALSO, THE CAR KEPT ON ACCELERATING INTO THE WALL, EVEN WHEN PUSHING ON THE BRAKES AS HARD I COULD SO THAT'S WHEN I SHIFTED IT INTO PARK AND ENGAGED THE HANDBRAKE. OBVIOUSLY, THIS CAR HAS SOME MAJOR PROBLEMS WITH IT. AT FIRST, I LOOKED ONLINE AND THE YEAR AND MODEL HAD NUMEROUS RECALLS ON IT, INCLUDING THE REAR SUSPENSION, AND BRAKES LOCKING UP, WHICH I BELIEVED HAD HAPPENED IN MY CASE. (HTTP://WWW.MOTORTREND.COM/CARS/2007/JEEP/LIBERTY/RECALLS/), BUT AFTER CONTACTING THE DEALERSHIP, THEY TOLD ME THAT THERE WASN'T ANY MAJOR RECALLS ISSUED ON IT, WHICH IS WHY IM FILING THIS COMPLAINT AFTER SMOGGING HUNDREDS OF CARS, THIS HAS NEVER HAPPENED TO ME UNTIL THAT DAY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/23/2015 - GLENDORA, CA
I MANAGE AN EMISSIONS TESTING BUSINESS A WOMAN CAME IN WITH A 2007 JEEP LIBERTY FOR A SMOG CHECK. DURING THE ASM TEST, WHERE I HAVE TO DRIVE THE CAR ON THE DYNAMOMETER, IT HOPS OFF THE DYNO, GOING THROUGH THE PRECAUTIONS I TAKE FOR A REAR-WHEEL DRIVE VEHICLE(PLACING A SHOCK IN FRONT OF THE FRONT WHEELS), AND CRASHES INTO THE WALL, DAMAGING MYSELF AND $5,000 WORTH OF EQUIPMENT. ALSO, THE CAR KEPT ON ACCELERATING INTO THE WALL, EVEN WHEN PUSHING ON THE BRAKES AS HARD I COULD SO THAT'S WHEN I SHIFTED IT INTO PARK AND ENGAGED THE HANDBRAKE. OBVIOUSLY, THIS CAR HAS SOME MAJOR PROBLEMS WITH IT. AT FIRST, I LOOKED ONLINE AND THE YEAR AND MODEL HAD NUMEROUS RECALLS ON IT, INCLUDING THE REAR SUSPENSION, AND BRAKES LOCKING UP, WHICH I BELIEVED HAD HAPPENED IN MY CASE. (HTTP://WWW.MOTORTREND.COM/CARS/2007/JEEP/LIBERTY/RECALLS/), BUT AFTER CONTACTING THE DEALERSHIP, THEY TOLD ME THAT THERE WASN'T ANY MAJOR RECALLS ISSUED ON IT, WHICH IS WHY IM FILING THIS COMPLAINT AFTER SMOGGING HUNDREDS OF CARS, THIS HAS NEVER HAPPENED TO ME UNTIL THAT DAY.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

1/21/2015 - DECATUR, GA
2007 JEEP LIBERTY SAFETY RECALL-TRAILER HITCH REIMBURSEMENT. THE CONSUMER STATED CHRYSLER DENIED HIS REQUEST FOR REIMBURSEMENT FOR THE TRAILER HITCH HE HAD INSTALLED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/14/2015 - PUEBLO, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V252000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE, STRUCTURE) HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT PROVIDED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/10/2015 - ANN ARBOR, MI
WHILE REFUELING THE VEHICLE, THE AUTO GASOLINE SHUTOFF FAILED TO WORK AND GAS SPILLED ALL OVER THE VEHICLE AND GROUND. THIS HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES AND APPEARS TO BE A DEFECT. OUR CHRYSLER TOWN & COUNTRY WORKS FINE AT THE SAME GAS STATION.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

1/7/2015 - BOWIE, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V252000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE , STRUCTURE). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PART NEEDED TO REMEDY THE VEHICLE WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

STEERING: COLUMN

1/5/2015 - LEESBURG, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT STATED SHE WAS UNABLE TO START THE VEHICLE INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/18/2014 - MYRTLE POINT, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 13V252000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE , STRUCTURE) AND STATED THAT THE PART NEEDED WAS UNAVAILABLE TO PERFORM THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 52
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds