Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCEDES CLS550 - 2007 MERCEDES CLS550 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mercedes-Benz USA, LLC.

There are 24 complaints filed for the 2007 MERCEDES CLS550

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 MERCEDES CLS550. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 MERCEDES CLS550, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Suspension (1) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (1) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Power Train (2) Tires (1) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/16/2015 - CEDAR HILLS, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 MERCEDES BENZ CLS550. AFTER REFUELING THE VEHICLE, THERE WAS A STRONG ODOR OF FUEL PRESENT INSIDE THE CABIN OF THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THERE WAS FUEL LEAKING FROM UNDER THE DRIVER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE LEFT FUEL LEVEL SENSOR FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/28/2015 - CARY, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 MERCEDES BENZ CLS550. THE CONTACT STATED THAT STRONG FUEL FUMES WERE PRESENT INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT A LEAK COULD NOT BE DETECTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 51,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/9/2015 - DENTON, TX
THERE IS A FUEL LEAKING INTO THE BACKSEAT OF MY 2007 MERCEDES BENZ CLS 550 I BEGAN NOTICING THE SMELL IN MY CAR A FEW MONTHS AGO AND I FINALLY DECIDED TO REMOVE THE BACK SEAT, UNDER THE BACK SEAT LIES THE FUEL TANK AND A FUEL FILTER MODULE WHICH IS LEAKING AND CREATING A SMALL POOL OF FUEL AND A FUEL SCENT IN MY CAR. INCIDENTALLY MERCEDES HAD A RECALL ON THE MERCEDES BENZ 2006 CLS (VOLUNTARY EMISSIONS RECALL CAMPAIGN #2008-020001) MY CAR IS A MERCEDES BENZ 2007 CLS WITH THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM. I WOULD LIKE TO FILE THIS COMPLAINT AND ASK THAT YOU HELP ME IN GETTING MERCEDES BENZ TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THIS FAULTY FUEL FILTER MODULE AND INITIATE A RECALL TO REPAIR THIS PROBLEM. THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN DOCUMENTED EXTENSIVELY ON MANY MERCEDES BENZ FORUMS HTTP://WWW.MBCA.ORG/FORUM/GAS-LEAK-SENDING-UNIT THIS ISSUE CREATES AN IMMEDIATE HAZARD TO ME, MY FAMILY AND OTHER DRIVERS. I ASK THAT YOU TAKE QUICK ACTION IN CONTACTING MERCEDES BENZ DEMANDING THEY MAKE AMENDS TO THIS ISSUE BEFORE SOMEONE GETS SERIOUSLY INJURED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/26/2015 - VALLEJO, CA
HI I HAVE 2007 MERCEDES CLS550 79000 MILES.I HAD THE CAR FOR PAST 2 YEARS ARE WEEK AGO AFTER REFILING THE GAS TANK ARE STRONG GAS SMELL APPEAR INSIDE THE CAR AND OUT SIDE ALSO.I WAS WORRY FOR MY SAFETY AND I START READING ABOUT THE SAME PROBLEMS AND CURRENT CAMPAIGN AND RECALL FOR MERCEDES E CLASS W211 2003 TO 2009 SO I REMOVE MY REAR PASSENGER SEAT TO LOCATE THE PUMP AND THE SENDING UNIT THERE WAS BIG PUDDLE OF RAW GASOLINE INSIDE THE CABIN AROUND 200-300ML THERE WAS SO MUCH THERE THE WIRES FOR THE PUMP AND SENSORS WAS UNDER THE FUEL. I CALLED THE DEALER THEY REFUSE TO DO RECALL FOR MY CAR MY CAR USE THE SAME GAS TANK AND SAME PUMP AND SENDING UNIT LIKE E CLASS FROM 2003 TO 2008.. SO IF ONE PART IS DEFECTIVE(THE GAS TANK) WILL BE STILL DEFECTIVE IF MERCEDES PUT IN DIFFERENT MODEL CAR.MY CAR IS NOT SAFE ANY MORE IM SCARY TO DRIVE IT ANY MORE .

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/30/2014 - LAS VEGAS , NV
UPON SMELLING GASOLINE WHEN THE AUTO IN QUESTION WAS FILLED, WE WERE DIRECTED MY MERCEDES DEALERSHIP ON WEST SAHARA IN THE CITY OF LAS VEGAS IN THE STATE OF NEVADA. THE OWNER REPLACED THE GAS CAP. THE AUTO IN QUESTION CONTINUED TO SMELL OF GASOLINE OFF AND ON. IN SEPTEMBER OF 2014 THE AUTO DISPLAYED A SIGNAL AT THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE LOOKED AT. THE AUTO WAS TAKEN BACK TO MERCEDES ON WEST SAHARA AND THE OWNER WAS INFORMED THAT THERE WAS A FUEL TANK LEAK. DUE TO THE QUOTE OF $3500 TO FIX THE ISSUE, THE AUTO WAS TAKEN TO G&G AUTO AND AUTHORIZED MERCEDES REPAIR SHOP IN LAS VEGAS. THE LEAD MECHANIC CONFIRMED THE FUEL TANK LEAK AND SHOWED THE OWNER HOW THE GAS POOLED ON TOP OF THE TANK WHICH IS JUST UNDER THE BACK SEAT. OBVIOUSLY A HUGE DANGER. THE OWNER OF G&G AUTOSHOP INFORMED THE OWNER THAT THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM AND ALERTED US TO THE DOCUMENTATION ON THE INTERNET REGARDING CLASS ACTION LAW SUITS. THE OWNER CONTACTED MERCEDES HEAD QUARTERS IN NEW YORK CITY AND WELL AS THE GENERAL MANGER OF THE WEST SAHARA SERVICE CENTER. THE OWNER WAS TOLD THAT THE CAR WAS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY AND THEY WOULD NOT REPAIR THE CAR UNLESS PAID. THE CAR WAS ULTIMATELY REPAIRED AT G&G AUTO SHOP.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/17/2014 - PHOENIX, AZ
I STARTED TO NOTICE A STRONG SMELL OF GASOLINE INSIDE AND AROUND MY CAR. THIS OCCURRED SOON AFTER FILLING UP MY GAS TANK. I LOOKED AROUND MY CAR TO SEE IF I COULD DETECT ANY LEAKING, OR PUDDLING UNDERNEATH MY CAR BUT DIDN'T NOTICE MANY DRIPS. THE STRENGTH OF THE SMELL DECREASED AS I DROVE AND AS THE GAS TANK LEVEL DECREASED. THE NEXT TIME I FILLED UP MY GAS TANK THE SMELL CAME BACK AND WAS VERY STRONG. ANYONE WHO RODE IN THE CAR WITH ME INCLUDING MY WIFE AND OUR SON, WOULD COMMENT ON THE SMELL. AFTER DOING SOME RESEARCH I REALIZED THAT MANY OTHERS HAVE HAD THIS PROBLEM, AND THAT THERE IS EVEN A CLASS ACTION SUIT OPEN FOR THIS SAME TYPE OF DEFECT IN ANOTHER YEAR AND MODEL MERCEDES. I CALLED TO FILE A CLAIM WITH MERCEDES USA, AND THEY SAID THAT THIS IS NOT SOMETHING THAT THEY WOULD COVER THE REPAIRS ON. I CAN'T BELIEVE THAT MERCEDES USA WOULDN'T COVER DEFECT REPAIRS FOR AN ISSUE MANY PEOPLE HAVE HAD, ESPECIALLY WITH THE HEALTH AND SAFETY RISKS ASSOCIATED WITH GASOLINE LEAKING FROM THE GAS TANK, AS WELL AS THE GASOLINE FUMES LEAKING INTO THE CABIN OF THE CAR. I HOPE THERE ARE ENOUGH PEOPLE THAT VOICE THEIR SIMILAR EXPERIENCE SO THAT A GOVERNMENT INVESTIGATION CAN BRING OUT THE FACTS OF THIS OBVIOUS DEFECTIVE ISSUE. LONG TERM EFFECTS OF GASOLINE FUME INHALATION ARE SUSPECT TO CAUSE CANCER.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/7/2014 - MIRAMAR, FL
I'VE HAD THIS VEHICLE FOR YEARS. EACH TIME I FILLUP, THERE IS A VERY INTOXICATING SMELL OF FUEL INSIDE AND OUTSIDE THE VEHICLE. I WAS READING UP ON IT AND SEEMS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM. THIS IS A TRUE HEALTH HAZARD AS YOU CANNOT BREATHE RIGHT BECAUSE OF THE FUMES. NOT TO MENTION THE CHANCES OF IT CATCHING FIRE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

8/1/2014 - LAWRENCEVILLE, GA
I FILLED MY CAR UP SUNDAY AND PARKED IT IN THE GARAGE, THE FOLLOWING MORNING THERE WAS A STRONG FUEL SMELL THAT PERMEATED THE GARAGE AND ALL AROUND THE CAR. I LOOKED FOR LEAKS FOUND NONE. THE SMELL WAS COMING FROM UNDER THE SEAT ON THE DRIVERS SIDE REAR. I REVIEWED SOME ONLINE FORUMS AND NOTICED THIS SEEMS TO BE A COMMON OCCURENCE WITH THESE VEHICLES. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS AND A SAFTEY HAZARD.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/5/2014 - UPPER MARLBORO, MD
AFTER FILLING UP MY CAR WITH GAS I NOTICED A VERY STRONG SMELL OF GAS AFTER I TURNED MY CAR OFF. THE GARAGE SMELLED SO BAD I HAD TO OPEN BOTH DOORS. I DID NOT NOTICE ANY LEAKING. I SEE SOME OTHER CARS LIKE MINE HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM. THIS IS DANGEROUS AND A HEALTH ISSUE. MB SO DO A RECALL ON THIS ISSUE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/5/2014 - ATLANTA, GA
WHEN I FILL MY VEHICLE UP WITH GAS, THE FUMES FILL UP MY CAR AND MY GARAGE. AFTER I DRIVE MY CAR AND THE GAS GOES DOWN TO 3/4 A TANK, THE FUMES RESIDE. I CAN ONLY FILL MY CAR UP 3/4 OF A WAY WITHOUT THE FUMES ENTERING MY CAR. I TOOK MY CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY REMOVED THE BACK SEAT AND SAW THAT THE GAS WAS FILLING UP UNDER THE SEAT. THEY FOUND A LEAK AT THE FUEL GAUGE SENDING UNIT. THE SENDING UNIT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds