Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCEDES CLS550 - 2007 MERCEDES CLS550 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mercedes-Benz USA, LLC.

There are 16 complaints filed for the 2007 MERCEDES CLS550

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 MERCEDES CLS550. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 MERCEDES CLS550, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Suspension (1) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (1) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Power Train (2) Tires (1) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/5/2014 - UPPER MARLBORO, MD
AFTER FILLING UP MY CAR WITH GAS I NOTICED A VERY STRONG SMELL OF GAS AFTER I TURNED MY CAR OFF. THE GARAGE SMELLED SO BAD I HAD TO OPEN BOTH DOORS. I DID NOT NOTICE ANY LEAKING. I SEE SOME OTHER CARS LIKE MINE HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM. THIS IS DANGEROUS AND A HEALTH ISSUE. MB SO DO A RECALL ON THIS ISSUE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/5/2014 - ATLANTA, GA
WHEN I FILL MY VEHICLE UP WITH GAS, THE FUMES FILL UP MY CAR AND MY GARAGE. AFTER I DRIVE MY CAR AND THE GAS GOES DOWN TO 3/4 A TANK, THE FUMES RESIDE. I CAN ONLY FILL MY CAR UP 3/4 OF A WAY WITHOUT THE FUMES ENTERING MY CAR. I TOOK MY CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY REMOVED THE BACK SEAT AND SAW THAT THE GAS WAS FILLING UP UNDER THE SEAT. THEY FOUND A LEAK AT THE FUEL GAUGE SENDING UNIT. THE SENDING UNIT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/16/2013 - SUGAR LAND, TX
WHEN I FILL UP MY CAR WITH GAS THERE IS A STRONG GAS ODOR AROUND THE LEFT BACK SEAT ON THE INTERIOR AND AROUND THE LEFT REAR WHEEL ON THE OUTSIDE. AFTER FURTHER INVESTIGATION I FOUND GAS LEAKING AROUND THE LEFT SENDING UNIT / PUMP. THIS IS A SERIOUS DESIGN FLAW AS THE SENDING UNIT / PUMP IS MADE OF PLASTIC AND SERVERS A STRUCTURAL MEMBER TO SUSPEND THE UNIT IN PLACE. THE PRESENCE OF GAS FUMES IN THE INTERIOR IS A FIRE AND HUMAN HEALTH HAZARD AND THE GAS FUMES ON THE OUTSIDE OF THE CAR IS AT MINIMUM A FIRE HAZARD. THIS APPEARS TO BE A COMMON DEFECT ON MERCEDES CLS AND E-CLASS BETWEEN 2004 - 2008. THANKS FOR YOUR ASSISTANCE IN THIS MATTER.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

10/13/2013 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
I HAD FILLED MY CAR UP WITH GAS THE NIGHT BEFORE I NOTICED THE INCIDENT. THE NEXT DAY WHEN I WENT INSIDE OF MY VEHICLE IT HAD SPELLED HORRIBLY OF GAS, SO BAD I WAS GETTING LIGHT HEADED FROM THE FUMES AND HAD TO KEEP THE WINDOW'S OPEN TO AIR OUT. BUT THE SMELL HAS REMAINED FOR A WEEK NOW.. I LOCATED THE SOURCE OF THE SMELL COMING FROM THE REAR SEAT ON THE DRIVERS SIDE, I REMOVED THE REAR SEAT CUSHION AND IT SMELLS AS IF IT WAS DOUSED WITH FUEL. EVEN WITH THE SEAT REMOVED THE SMELL REMAINS. I PROCEEDED TO LOOK ONLINE ABOUT COMMON ISSUES FOR THIS PROBLEM, I NOTICED A RECALL ON THE FUEL SENDER UNIT FOR PREVIOUS YEARS BUT NOT THE 2007 MODEL OF MY VEHICLE. I HAVE SEEN MANY PEOPLE COMPLAIN OF THIS EXACT ISSUE FOR THE 2007 MODEL. I CALLED THE MERCEDES DEALER ABOUT THE ISSUE AND THEY SAY THERE IS NO RECALL FOR MY MODEL EXCEPT FOR THE CAMSHAFT SELENOID. THIS IS A HIGHLY IMPORTANT ISSUE THAT SHOULD BE LOOKED INTO, I HAVE MY CHILDREN IN THE CAR AT TIMES. I HAVE MADE AN APPOINTMENT WITH THE DEALER TO FURTHER LOOK INTO MY PROBLEM BUT I THINK THIS SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED AND REPORTED AS A RECALL SINCE OTHERS HAVE THE SAME ISSUE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

6/5/2013 - TAMPA, FL
CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. READS P0456 EVAP SMALL LEAK DETECTED. AFTER FILLING GAS TANK FULL OR ANYTHING OVER 3/4 FULL. STRONG GAS FUMES SMELL INSIDE AND OUTSIDE OF CAR. CHECKED TOP OF FUEL PUMP UNDER REAR DRIVER'S SEAT. FUEL WAS PUDDLED ON TOP OF THIS UNIT. (I HAVE PICTURES IF NEEDED) REPLACED FUEL PUMP SEAL RING AND GAS CAP WITH NEW PARTS. PROBLEM HAS CAME BACK WITH MORE CHECK ENGINE CODES AND STRONG GAS SMELL/FUMES INSIDE CAR. I BELIEVE E-CLASS 03-06 HAVE SAME SAFETY ISSUES, AND HOPE MY 07 CLS550 WILL BE INCLUDED IN A POSSIBLE RECALL, ETC. AS I BELIEVE THE CARS USE SAME PARTS/PLATFORM. REFER TO: NHTSA# PE12001.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/9/2013 - BRISTOW, VA
FILLED THE GAS TANK. I DROVE 2 MILES TO MY HOUSE, AND PARKED THE CAR IN THE GARAGE. FUEL STARTED LEAKING FROM THE FUEL TANK DIRECTLY BEHIND THE LEFT REAR WHEEL. THE FUEL FUMES FILLED MY HOUSE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/24/2013 - SACRAMENTO, CA
STRONG SMELL OF GAS AFTER FILLING UP TANK WHILE PARKED IN GARAGE. SEEMS TO BE COMING FROM REAR DRIVER SIDE OF VEHICLE. PLEASE REFERENCE NHTSA ACTION# PE12001.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/24/2013 - SACRAMENTO, CA
STRONG SMELL OF GAS AFTER FILLING UP TANK WHILE PARKED IN GARAGE. SEEMS TO BE COMING FROM REAR DRIVER SIDE OF VEHICLE. PLEASE REFERENCE NHTSA ACTION# PE12001.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/1/2012 - CORAL SPRINGS, FL
WHEN II FILL MY GAS TANK I SMELL GAS FUMES IN AND AROUND THE VEHICLE. THE SMELL IS COMING FROM THE REAR PASSENGER SEAT ON THE DRIVERS SIDE. I HAD THE VEHICLE CHECKED BY A MERCEDES MECHANIC WHO IS A FRIEND OF MINE AND HE SAID IT IS THE FUEL SENDING UNIT. HE PULLED OUT MY SEAT AND THEIR WAS A PUDDLE OF GAS ON TOP OF THE UNIT. WHEN I FILL MY TANK TO UNDER 3/4 THERE IS NO SMELL. I HAVE RESEARCHED THIS ISSUE AND APPARENTLY THERE IS AN ON GOING INVESTIGATION BY NHTSA REGARDING THE E SERIES MERCEDES WHICH HAS THIS PROBLEM. THE CLS 550 IS ON THE SAME PLATFORM AS THE E SERIES. I HAVE CALLED THE DEALER AND AM PLAYING PHONE TAG WITH THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT. PLEASE INCLUDE THE 2007 CLS 550 IN YOUR INVESTIGATION.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/25/2012 - SHELBY, NC
I WAS DRIVING AND THE CAR SENSOR POPPED AND IT SAID STOP VEHICLE TOO LOW... WHEN STOPPED, I SAW THAT THE RIGHT PASSENGER SIDE LOOKED LIKE IT WAS DROPPED RIGHT OVER THE WHEEL... THE REST OF THE CAR WAS RAISED.. I TRIED EVERYTHING THE MANUAL SAID, NOTHING WORK.. I CAN HEAR A COMPRESSOR WORKING.. I HAVE SEEN MANY A FEW BLOGS ON THE INTERNET WITH PEOPLE COMPLAINING ABOUT SAME ISSUE. MY VEHICLE HAS 47,000 MILES. AND IT SEEMS TO BE RIGHT WHEN THE PROBLEM OCCURS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds