Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCEDES CLS550 - 2007 MERCEDES CLS550 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mercedes-Benz USA, LLC.

There are 29 complaints filed for the 2007 MERCEDES CLS550

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 MERCEDES CLS550. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 MERCEDES CLS550, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Engine (1) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Suspension (1) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (2) Tires (1) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (16) Steering (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  ... 3
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/17/2017 - KENNER, LA
NOTE THAT THE VEHICLE ON HAS 43,733 MILES - CABIN INTERIOR STRONG LIVE FUEL FUMES - CONSTANT GAS FUMES ON THE INSIDE OF THE CAR CABIN. NOTE THAT THE CAR WAS STATIONARY AT MY RESIDENCE PARKING. I DID NOT KNOW WHERE WERE THE FUMES COMING FROM AT THE TIME. GOT A HEADACHE JUST FOR THE MOMENT I WAS TRYING TO DETERMINED WHERE WERE THE FUMES COMING FROM. THIS IS CURRENTLY FOR ALL DRIVERS AND OWNERS A VERY HAZARDOUS DANGEROUS CONDITION TO ALL EXTREMES, VERY HIGH RISK FROM IGNITION FROM STATIC OR ELECTRICAL, DUE TO WIRE HARDNESS IN THE AREA. VEHICLE WAS TOWED AND TOOK IT TO MERCEDES BENZ DEALER AND FOUND THE FOLLOWING: LEAKAGE IN FUEL SYSTEM. REPLACED FUEL TANK FUEL TANK DRAIN/FILL OBSERVED ACCIDENT PREVENTION REGULATION "12 WL08" FUEL TANK AND FUEL FOR STORAGEBRING OBSERVE ACCIDENT PREVENTION REGULATION "12 WL08" PERFORMED BY MERCEDES-BENZ OF NEW ORLEANS. FUEL TANK LEAKING IN THE INTERIOR WAS FOUND / WAS DRAINED & REFILLED AND FUEL TANK REPLACED. THIS WAS COVER UNDER A NEW SETTLEMENT WITH MERCEDES BENZ AND NHTSA. I THINK THAT THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN A RECALL WHEN IT RELATES TO SAFETY FACTORS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/17/2017 - KENNER, LA
NOTE THAT THE VEHICLE ON HAS 43,733 MILES - CABIN INTERIOR STRONG LIVE FUEL FUMES - CONSTANT GAS FUMES ON THE INSIDE OF THE CAR CABIN. NOTE THAT THE CAR WAS STATIONARY AT MY RESIDENCE PARKING. I DID NOT KNOW WHERE WERE THE FUMES COMING FROM AT THE TIME. GOT A HEADACHE JUST FOR THE MOMENT I WAS TRYING TO DETERMINED WHERE WERE THE FUMES COMING FROM. THIS IS CURRENTLY FOR ALL DRIVERS AND OWNERS A VERY HAZARDOUS DANGEROUS CONDITION TO ALL EXTREMES, VERY HIGH RISK FROM IGNITION FROM STATIC OR ELECTRICAL, DUE TO WIRE HARDNESS IN THE AREA. VEHICLE WAS TOWED AND TOOK IT TO MERCEDES BENZ DEALER AND FOUND THE FOLLOWING: LEAKAGE IN FUEL SYSTEM. REPLACED FUEL TANK FUEL TANK DRAIN/FILL OBSERVED ACCIDENT PREVENTION REGULATION "12 WL08" FUEL TANK AND FUEL FOR STORAGEBRING OBSERVE ACCIDENT PREVENTION REGULATION "12 WL08" PERFORMED BY MERCEDES-BENZ OF NEW ORLEANS. FUEL TANK LEAKING IN THE INTERIOR WAS FOUND / WAS DRAINED & REFILLED AND FUEL TANK REPLACED. THIS WAS COVER UNDER A NEW SETTLEMENT WITH MERCEDES BENZ AND NHTSA. I THINK THAT THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN A RECALL WHEN IT RELATES TO SAFETY FACTORS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/26/2017 - STOCKTON, CA
MY HUSBAND AND I PURCHASED THE 2007 CLS550 ABOUT SEPTEMBER 2015. WE NOTICED WHEN FILLING THE VEHICLE WITH GAS, WE WOULD HAVE GAS FUMES IN THE VEHICLE SPECIFICALLY ON THE PASSENGER SIDE REAR INSIDE AND OUTSIDE. THE FUMES WERE LIGHT AND WOULD DISSIPATE ONCE THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO REDUCE THE AMOUNT OF GAS IN THE TANK TO ABOUT THREE-QUARTERS TANK. LAST WEEK WE FILLED THE TANK AND THE SMALL IS NOW STRONGER AND HAS YET TO DISSIPATE ALTHOUGH WE HAVE A QUARTER TANK OF GAS REMAINING. I CHECKED FOR ANY RECALLS ON THIS SINCE WE HAVE NO KNOWLEDGE OF THE VEHICLE HAVING BEEN IN ANY ACCIDENTS, BUT FIND WE DO NOT. THIS ONLINE SEARCH DID NOT REVEAL ANY RECALLS FOR THE GAS FUMES, BUT I NOTED THERE ARE MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE SAME PROBLEM FOR THIS YEAR, MAKE AND MODEL OF VEHICLE. HAVE ANY PEOPLE DIED FROM THIS, ANY FIRES, ACCIDENTS AS A RESULT? WE HAVE NOT YET, BUT WILL BE TAKING OUR VEHICLE IN FOR EVALUATION OF THE PROBLEM AND WOULD BE ABLE TO PROVIDE DOCUMENTATION OF THE RESULTS IN THE FUTURE. GIVEN THE NAME, I AM SURPRISED MERCEDES IS NOT STEPPING UP HERE!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/10/2017 - COLTON, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 MERCEDES-BENZ CLS550. WHEN THE CONTACT ENTERED THE VEHICLE, A FUEL ODOR WAS NOTICED WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL TANK WAS CRACKED AND LEAKED FUEL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD BE REPAIRED FOR FREE IF THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A MERCEDES DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 200,000. THE VIN WAS NOT PROVIDED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/3/2016 - WALNUT, CA
I OWNED 2007 MERCEDE CLS550. I NOTES A STRONG GAS SMELL INSIDE AND OUT SIDE THE CAR AFTER I FILL IT UP. I REPLACED THE FUEL CAP BUT NO HELP. FUMES FILL UP MY CAR AND MY GARAGE EVERY TIME I FILL UP NOW.

View Details

STEERING

3/24/2016 - PINE BLUFF, AR
EVERY TIME I FILL UP MY TANK WITH GASOLINE, ONCE I PARK IN THE GARAGE, THE GARAGE IS FILLED WITH STRONG GAS FUMES FROM MY CAR. I CHECKED FOR LEAKS UNDER THE CAR AND FOUND NOTHING. I HAVE TO RAISE THE GARAGE DOOR TO LET THE FUMES OUT, DUE TO GETTING LIGHTHEADED FROM THE FUMES. THE FUMES REMAIN WITH THE CAR FOR 7-10 DAYS. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR THE PAST FOUR YEARS. THIS PROBLEM IS A DANGER TO MY FAMILY'S HEALTH!!!! SURELY, THERE IS A RECALL ON THIS PROBLEM! 2ND ISSUE: I TURNED MY CAR OFF AND THE FAN KEPT RUNNING. I NOTICED THAT THE FAN WAS SO LOUD THAT IT SOUNDED LIKE IT WAS ABOUT TO BLOW UP. BLACK SMOKE CAME FROM UNDER THE HOOD. I WENT ON INTO THE BUILDING TO MY MEETING FOR AN HOUR. WHEN I CAME BACK OUTSIDE, THE FAN WAS STILL GOING AND STILL LOUD. THIS HAD NEVER HAPPENED IN THE FIVE YEARS THAT I HAD THE CAR. THE CAR WOULD NOT START. I HAD TO CALL SOMEONE TO BOOST IT OFF TO START. I THEN WENT TO THE SHOP TO CHECK TO SEE IF I HAD BATTERY OR STARTER PROBLEMS. NO PROBLEMS FOUND IN EITHER. THIS HAS HAPPENED TWICE SINCE THEN. I AM AFRAID THAT THE CAR WILL CATCH FIRE WITH ME IN IT OR MY FAMILY OR FRIENDS. 3RD ISSUE I WAS DRIVING ALONG AND THE DASHBOARD READ OUT IN RED TO STOP THE CAR ..VEHICLE IS TOO LOW... WHEN STOPPED, I NOTICED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE CAR WAS LOW AND THE DRIVER SIDE IS RAISED HIGH. I HAVE TO SIT THERE FOR A FEW MINUTES UNTIL THE RED LIGHTS WENT OUT. THIS HAPPENS OFTEN. 4TH TIRE PRESSURE LIGHT STAYS ON. I TOOK IT TO CHECK ON PRESSURE, IT WAS OK. I DID NOT NEED NEW TIRES EITHER. THE YELLOW LIGHT STAYS ON AND THIS WEEK THE RED LIGHT POPPED ON AND WILL NOT GO OFF. 5TH THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STAYS ON AND MECHANIC CAN NOT FIND THE PROBLEM. 6TH STEERING SYSTEM LOUD POPPING NOISE WHEN I BACK UP OR TURN STEERING WHEEL. IT USED TO BE RANDOM BUT NOW IT IS EVERY TIME I DRIVE THE CAR.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/24/2016 - PINE BLUFF, AR
EVERY TIME I FILL UP MY TANK WITH GASOLINE, ONCE I PARK IN THE GARAGE, THE GARAGE IS FILLED WITH STRONG GAS FUMES FROM MY CAR. I CHECKED FOR LEAKS UNDER THE CAR AND FOUND NOTHING. I HAVE TO RAISE THE GARAGE DOOR TO LET THE FUMES OUT, DUE TO GETTING LIGHTHEADED FROM THE FUMES. THE FUMES REMAIN WITH THE CAR FOR 7-10 DAYS. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR THE PAST FOUR YEARS. THIS PROBLEM IS A DANGER TO MY FAMILY'S HEALTH!!!! SURELY, THERE IS A RECALL ON THIS PROBLEM! 2ND ISSUE: I TURNED MY CAR OFF AND THE FAN KEPT RUNNING. I NOTICED THAT THE FAN WAS SO LOUD THAT IT SOUNDED LIKE IT WAS ABOUT TO BLOW UP. BLACK SMOKE CAME FROM UNDER THE HOOD. I WENT ON INTO THE BUILDING TO MY MEETING FOR AN HOUR. WHEN I CAME BACK OUTSIDE, THE FAN WAS STILL GOING AND STILL LOUD. THIS HAD NEVER HAPPENED IN THE FIVE YEARS THAT I HAD THE CAR. THE CAR WOULD NOT START. I HAD TO CALL SOMEONE TO BOOST IT OFF TO START. I THEN WENT TO THE SHOP TO CHECK TO SEE IF I HAD BATTERY OR STARTER PROBLEMS. NO PROBLEMS FOUND IN EITHER. THIS HAS HAPPENED TWICE SINCE THEN. I AM AFRAID THAT THE CAR WILL CATCH FIRE WITH ME IN IT OR MY FAMILY OR FRIENDS. 3RD ISSUE I WAS DRIVING ALONG AND THE DASHBOARD READ OUT IN RED TO STOP THE CAR ..VEHICLE IS TOO LOW... WHEN STOPPED, I NOTICED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE CAR WAS LOW AND THE DRIVER SIDE IS RAISED HIGH. I HAVE TO SIT THERE FOR A FEW MINUTES UNTIL THE RED LIGHTS WENT OUT. THIS HAPPENS OFTEN. 4TH TIRE PRESSURE LIGHT STAYS ON. I TOOK IT TO CHECK ON PRESSURE, IT WAS OK. I DID NOT NEED NEW TIRES EITHER. THE YELLOW LIGHT STAYS ON AND THIS WEEK THE RED LIGHT POPPED ON AND WILL NOT GO OFF. 5TH THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STAYS ON AND MECHANIC CAN NOT FIND THE PROBLEM. 6TH STEERING SYSTEM LOUD POPPING NOISE WHEN I BACK UP OR TURN STEERING WHEEL. IT USED TO BE RANDOM BUT NOW IT IS EVERY TIME I DRIVE THE CAR.

View Details

ENGINE

3/24/2016 - PINE BLUFF, AR
EVERY TIME I FILL UP MY TANK WITH GASOLINE, ONCE I PARK IN THE GARAGE, THE GARAGE IS FILLED WITH STRONG GAS FUMES FROM MY CAR. I CHECKED FOR LEAKS UNDER THE CAR AND FOUND NOTHING. I HAVE TO RAISE THE GARAGE DOOR TO LET THE FUMES OUT, DUE TO GETTING LIGHTHEADED FROM THE FUMES. THE FUMES REMAIN WITH THE CAR FOR 7-10 DAYS. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR THE PAST FOUR YEARS. THIS PROBLEM IS A DANGER TO MY FAMILY'S HEALTH!!!! SURELY, THERE IS A RECALL ON THIS PROBLEM! 2ND ISSUE: I TURNED MY CAR OFF AND THE FAN KEPT RUNNING. I NOTICED THAT THE FAN WAS SO LOUD THAT IT SOUNDED LIKE IT WAS ABOUT TO BLOW UP. BLACK SMOKE CAME FROM UNDER THE HOOD. I WENT ON INTO THE BUILDING TO MY MEETING FOR AN HOUR. WHEN I CAME BACK OUTSIDE, THE FAN WAS STILL GOING AND STILL LOUD. THIS HAD NEVER HAPPENED IN THE FIVE YEARS THAT I HAD THE CAR. THE CAR WOULD NOT START. I HAD TO CALL SOMEONE TO BOOST IT OFF TO START. I THEN WENT TO THE SHOP TO CHECK TO SEE IF I HAD BATTERY OR STARTER PROBLEMS. NO PROBLEMS FOUND IN EITHER. THIS HAS HAPPENED TWICE SINCE THEN. I AM AFRAID THAT THE CAR WILL CATCH FIRE WITH ME IN IT OR MY FAMILY OR FRIENDS. 3RD ISSUE I WAS DRIVING ALONG AND THE DASHBOARD READ OUT IN RED TO STOP THE CAR ..VEHICLE IS TOO LOW... WHEN STOPPED, I NOTICED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE CAR WAS LOW AND THE DRIVER SIDE IS RAISED HIGH. I HAVE TO SIT THERE FOR A FEW MINUTES UNTIL THE RED LIGHTS WENT OUT. THIS HAPPENS OFTEN. 4TH TIRE PRESSURE LIGHT STAYS ON. I TOOK IT TO CHECK ON PRESSURE, IT WAS OK. I DID NOT NEED NEW TIRES EITHER. THE YELLOW LIGHT STAYS ON AND THIS WEEK THE RED LIGHT POPPED ON AND WILL NOT GO OFF. 5TH THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STAYS ON AND MECHANIC CAN NOT FIND THE PROBLEM. 6TH STEERING SYSTEM LOUD POPPING NOISE WHEN I BACK UP OR TURN STEERING WHEEL. IT USED TO BE RANDOM BUT NOW IT IS EVERY TIME I DRIVE THE CAR.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/16/2015 - CEDAR HILLS, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 MERCEDES BENZ CLS550. AFTER REFUELING THE VEHICLE, THERE WAS A STRONG ODOR OF FUEL PRESENT INSIDE THE CABIN OF THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THERE WAS FUEL LEAKING FROM UNDER THE DRIVER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE LEFT FUEL LEVEL SENSOR FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/28/2015 - CARY, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 MERCEDES BENZ CLS550. THE CONTACT STATED THAT STRONG FUEL FUMES WERE PRESENT INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT A LEAK COULD NOT BE DETECTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 51,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  ... 3
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds