Auto Recalls for Consumers

MINI COOPER - 2007 MINI COOPER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 79 complaints filed for the 2007 MINI COOPER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 MINI COOPER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 MINI COOPER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (29) Engine (23) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Power Train (4) Steering (4)
Electrical System (10) Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (4) Unknown Or Other (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

8/10/2016 - MOORPARK, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 MINI COOPER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT OCCUPANT DETECTION MALFUNCTIONED AND/OR WAS FAULTY. THE VIN WAS EXCLUDED FROM NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V205000 (AIR BAGS). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 61,000.

View Details

ENGINE

6/29/2016 - BETHEL PARK, PA
DRIVING PA TURNPIKE WHEN MY 2007 MINICOOPER TEMP LIGHT CAME ON, IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWED THE OIL AND ENGINE LIGHT. AS THE LIGHTS APPEARED, THE CAR WAS LOSING POWER. IT LOST POWER AS I WAS PULLING OFF THE ROAD. 3 MINUTES TOTAL. SMOKE POURED OUT. I OPENED THE HOLD TO SEE A 3 INCH HOLE MELTED AWAY. I CLOSED THE LID. CONTACTED MINI ROADSIDE SERVICE WHO WOULD NOT HONOR THE TOW. CALLED AAA WHO DID. CALLED MINI OF PITTSBURGH, JASON THOMPSON, WHO ONLY SERVICED MY MINI FOR 4 YEARS AND 35,000 MILES WHEN HE FIRST DIAGNOSED NEEDING A NEW ENGINE. I ASKED MANAGER CHRIS LASKO ABOUT ANY RECALLS? COULD IT BE A LEMON? NO THIS IS UNUSUAL FOR A MINI, WAS THE ANSWER. BEFORE AUTHORIZING REPAIRS I ASKED ABOUT THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM AND THE EFFECTS OF OVERHEATING. NO ELECTRICAL ISSUES WHERE FOUND. THEY FELT CONFIDENT RECOMMENDING REPLACING A NEW ENGINE & PARTS. I OKAYED TO PUT IN ALL NEW STARTER, STARTER CORE, ENGINE, ENGINE CORE, ENGINE HARNESS, COLLAR SCREW, PING SENSOR, INTAKE MANIFOLD, CORE RETURN GASKET, IGNITION COILS, COLLAR SCREW, SCREW WITH WASHER, CORE RETURN WITH HEAT PR, SRP BELT, AND COOLANT, A WATER PUMP PULLEY, AND FEW OTHER 20 SOME PARTS TO GET IT BACK ON THE ROAD. A MONTH LATER, I RECEIVED A LETTER REVEALING A POTENTIAL PROBLEM WITH THE DURABILITY OF A VAPOR RECOVERY DIAGNOSTIC PUMP ON 07. FEDERAL EMISSIONS DEFECT WARRANTY COVERS 10YEAR OR 120K MILES. I CALLED THE DEALER, THEY SAID THAT IT DID NOT PERTAIN TO MY VEHICLE. 2015 DEJA VU AT 64K MILES. I WAS DRIVING, COMMUTING WHEN THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN. I DROVE 2 MILES TO MY MINI DEALER. THEY SAID THEY COULD FIX IT BY PUTTING IN A NEW ENGINE. I HAD IT TOWED HOME. I HAVE CALLED & LEFT EMAIL'S WITH BMW/MINI CUSTOMER SERVICE. I HAVE HAD ZERO REPLY FROM THEN. THEY CLAIM TO BE THE ULTIMATE DRIVING MACHINE. AS AN ADVERTISING ASSOCIATE CREATIVE DIRECTOR, I THINK THE MORE HONEST AND REAL CLAIM WOULD BE THE ULTIMATE FARSE MACHINE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/29/2016 - BETHEL PARK, PA
DRIVING PA TURNPIKE WHEN MY 2007 MINICOOPER TEMP LIGHT CAME ON, IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWED THE OIL AND ENGINE LIGHT. AS THE LIGHTS APPEARED, THE CAR WAS LOSING POWER. IT LOST POWER AS I WAS PULLING OFF THE ROAD. 3 MINUTES TOTAL. SMOKE POURED OUT. I OPENED THE HOLD TO SEE A 3 INCH HOLE MELTED AWAY. I CLOSED THE LID. CONTACTED MINI ROADSIDE SERVICE WHO WOULD NOT HONOR THE TOW. CALLED AAA WHO DID. CALLED MINI OF PITTSBURGH, JASON THOMPSON, WHO ONLY SERVICED MY MINI FOR 4 YEARS AND 35,000 MILES WHEN HE FIRST DIAGNOSED NEEDING A NEW ENGINE. I ASKED MANAGER CHRIS LASKO ABOUT ANY RECALLS? COULD IT BE A LEMON? NO THIS IS UNUSUAL FOR A MINI, WAS THE ANSWER. BEFORE AUTHORIZING REPAIRS I ASKED ABOUT THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM AND THE EFFECTS OF OVERHEATING. NO ELECTRICAL ISSUES WHERE FOUND. THEY FELT CONFIDENT RECOMMENDING REPLACING A NEW ENGINE & PARTS. I OKAYED TO PUT IN ALL NEW STARTER, STARTER CORE, ENGINE, ENGINE CORE, ENGINE HARNESS, COLLAR SCREW, PING SENSOR, INTAKE MANIFOLD, CORE RETURN GASKET, IGNITION COILS, COLLAR SCREW, SCREW WITH WASHER, CORE RETURN WITH HEAT PR, SRP BELT, AND COOLANT, A WATER PUMP PULLEY, AND FEW OTHER 20 SOME PARTS TO GET IT BACK ON THE ROAD. A MONTH LATER, I RECEIVED A LETTER REVEALING A POTENTIAL PROBLEM WITH THE DURABILITY OF A VAPOR RECOVERY DIAGNOSTIC PUMP ON 07. FEDERAL EMISSIONS DEFECT WARRANTY COVERS 10YEAR OR 120K MILES. I CALLED THE DEALER, THEY SAID THAT IT DID NOT PERTAIN TO MY VEHICLE. 2015 DEJA VU AT 64K MILES. I WAS DRIVING, COMMUTING WHEN THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN. I DROVE 2 MILES TO MY MINI DEALER. THEY SAID THEY COULD FIX IT BY PUTTING IN A NEW ENGINE. I HAD IT TOWED HOME. I HAVE CALLED & LEFT EMAIL'S WITH BMW/MINI CUSTOMER SERVICE. I HAVE HAD ZERO REPLY FROM THEN. THEY CLAIM TO BE THE ULTIMATE DRIVING MACHINE. AS AN ADVERTISING ASSOCIATE CREATIVE DIRECTOR, I THINK THE MORE HONEST AND REAL CLAIM WOULD BE THE ULTIMATE FARSE MACHINE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/29/2016 - BETHEL PARK, PA
DRIVING PA TURNPIKE WHEN MY 2007 MINICOOPER TEMP LIGHT CAME ON, IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWED THE OIL AND ENGINE LIGHT. AS THE LIGHTS APPEARED, THE CAR WAS LOSING POWER. IT LOST POWER AS I WAS PULLING OFF THE ROAD. 3 MINUTES TOTAL. SMOKE POURED OUT. I OPENED THE HOLD TO SEE A 3 INCH HOLE MELTED AWAY. I CLOSED THE LID. CONTACTED MINI ROADSIDE SERVICE WHO WOULD NOT HONOR THE TOW. CALLED AAA WHO DID. CALLED MINI OF PITTSBURGH, JASON THOMPSON, WHO ONLY SERVICED MY MINI FOR 4 YEARS AND 35,000 MILES WHEN HE FIRST DIAGNOSED NEEDING A NEW ENGINE. I ASKED MANAGER CHRIS LASKO ABOUT ANY RECALLS? COULD IT BE A LEMON? NO THIS IS UNUSUAL FOR A MINI, WAS THE ANSWER. BEFORE AUTHORIZING REPAIRS I ASKED ABOUT THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM AND THE EFFECTS OF OVERHEATING. NO ELECTRICAL ISSUES WHERE FOUND. THEY FELT CONFIDENT RECOMMENDING REPLACING A NEW ENGINE & PARTS. I OKAYED TO PUT IN ALL NEW STARTER, STARTER CORE, ENGINE, ENGINE CORE, ENGINE HARNESS, COLLAR SCREW, PING SENSOR, INTAKE MANIFOLD, CORE RETURN GASKET, IGNITION COILS, COLLAR SCREW, SCREW WITH WASHER, CORE RETURN WITH HEAT PR, SRP BELT, AND COOLANT, A WATER PUMP PULLEY, AND FEW OTHER 20 SOME PARTS TO GET IT BACK ON THE ROAD. A MONTH LATER, I RECEIVED A LETTER REVEALING A POTENTIAL PROBLEM WITH THE DURABILITY OF A VAPOR RECOVERY DIAGNOSTIC PUMP ON 07. FEDERAL EMISSIONS DEFECT WARRANTY COVERS 10YEAR OR 120K MILES. I CALLED THE DEALER, THEY SAID THAT IT DID NOT PERTAIN TO MY VEHICLE. 2015 DEJA VU AT 64K MILES. I WAS DRIVING, COMMUTING WHEN THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN. I DROVE 2 MILES TO MY MINI DEALER. THEY SAID THEY COULD FIX IT BY PUTTING IN A NEW ENGINE. I HAD IT TOWED HOME. I HAVE CALLED & LEFT EMAIL'S WITH BMW/MINI CUSTOMER SERVICE. I HAVE HAD ZERO REPLY FROM THEN. THEY CLAIM TO BE THE ULTIMATE DRIVING MACHINE. AS AN ADVERTISING ASSOCIATE CREATIVE DIRECTOR, I THINK THE MORE HONEST AND REAL CLAIM WOULD BE THE ULTIMATE FARSE MACHINE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/20/2016 - DANA POINT, CA
WHILE DRIVING ON THE STREET WITH MY WIFE THE "PASSENGER AIR BAG OFF" LIGHT CAME ON AND WOULD NOT GO OFF IMMEDIATELY. SINCE THEN IT HAPPENS SPORADICALLY WITHOUT ANY NOTICE. I TOOK IT INTO THE DEALER AND THEY SAID IT WAS THE PASSENGER SEAT AIRBAG SENSOR AND IT WOULD COST $1300 TO REPAIR IT. I KNOW THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THE 2007 COOPER S BUT NOT FOR THE 2007 MINI COOPER. IT SEEMS TO ME THE SAME PART COULD BE HAVE BEEN USED IN THE SAME MODEL YEAR CAR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/18/2016 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
I WAS INFORMED BY MY MINI SERVICE DEPARTMENT THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG SENSOR LOCATED UNDER THE PASSENGER SEAT WAS MALFUNCTIONING AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THIS EXACT PART HAS BEEN THE CAUSE OF A RECALL FOR MINIS MADE THE SAME YEAR AS MINE, BUT MY CAR IS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THIS IS OBVIOUSLY THE SAME PROBLEM THAT GENERATED THE RECALL. I CANNOT AFFORD TO MAKE THIS REPAIR MYSELF, AND NEITHER THE MINI DEALER NOR MINI CORPORATE HAS BEEN HELPFUL IN RESOLVING THIS ISSUE. I FEEL THAT MY CAR SHOULD BE INCLUDED IN THIS RECALL AND THEREFORE SHOULD BE REPAIRED AT NO COST TO ME. I'D LIKE TO REQUEST THAT MY CAR BE INCLUDED IN THE RECALL OFFICIALLY, SO THAT I CAN COMPLETE THESE REPAIRS. OTHERWISE, I RISK DRIVING UNSAFELY, WITHOUT THE FUNCTION OF THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG.

View Details

SEATS

4/18/2016 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
I WAS INFORMED BY MY MINI SERVICE DEPARTMENT THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG SENSOR LOCATED UNDER THE PASSENGER SEAT WAS MALFUNCTIONING AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THIS EXACT PART HAS BEEN THE CAUSE OF A RECALL FOR MINIS MADE THE SAME YEAR AS MINE, BUT MY CAR IS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THIS IS OBVIOUSLY THE SAME PROBLEM THAT GENERATED THE RECALL. I CANNOT AFFORD TO MAKE THIS REPAIR MYSELF, AND NEITHER THE MINI DEALER NOR MINI CORPORATE HAS BEEN HELPFUL IN RESOLVING THIS ISSUE. I FEEL THAT MY CAR SHOULD BE INCLUDED IN THIS RECALL AND THEREFORE SHOULD BE REPAIRED AT NO COST TO ME. I'D LIKE TO REQUEST THAT MY CAR BE INCLUDED IN THE RECALL OFFICIALLY, SO THAT I CAN COMPLETE THESE REPAIRS. OTHERWISE, I RISK DRIVING UNSAFELY, WITHOUT THE FUNCTION OF THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG.

View Details

ENGINE

4/8/2016 - WESTWEGO, LA
MY 2007 MINI COOPER STARTED TO OVERHEAT, DISPLAYING BOTH THE YELLOW AND RED INDICATION LIGHT SIMULTANEOUSLY. I STOPPED, LOOKED AT THE MANUAL AND IT SUGGESTED THAT I TURN THE CAR OFF AND LET IT COOL OFF. I LET MY MINI "COOL DOWN" AND WHEN I WENT TO START MY CAR IT WOULD NOT START UP. MY CAR IMMEDIATELY SHUT OFF, I CALLED MINI COOPER WHICH IS 75 MILES AWAY AND GOT MY CAR TOWED. I WAS TOLD MY ENGINE NEEDS REPLACEMENT FOR 11K. MY MINI WAS CHECKED LESS THAN ONE MONTH AGO AND I RECEIVED NO WARNING THAT MY ENGINE WAS FAILING. MY 2007 MINI ONLY HAS 83,000 FAR FROM THE EXPECTED OVER 100,000 LIFE EXPECTANCY. I WAS TOLD MY ENGINE FAILED DUE TO LOW COMPRESSION AND THE REPLACEMENT OF A THERMOSTAT; A THERMOSTAT THAT HAVEN'T BEEN IN STOCK FOR MONTHS. AFTER GOOGLING THIS ISSUE, I FOUND HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS FOR THE SAME ISSUE. BMW REFUSE TO RECALL THE THERMOSTAT OR ENGINE, AND IT'S AN OUTRAGE. TO MAKE MATTERS WORST, A FAIR CONDITION, RUNNING 2007 MINI W/83,000 MILES AND PACKAGES VALUE IS LESS THAN 5K, A CLEAR SIGN OF THE WORTH OF A MINI. SUPER SAD CUSTOMER.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/29/2016 - EASTON, PA
AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON AFTER THE PASSENGER SIDE SEAT WAS MOVED FORWARD TO ALLOW ENTRY TO THE REAR SEAT. THIS PROBLEM IS WELL DOCUMENTED BY NUMEROUS OTHER OWNERS ON THE INTERNET AND BMW HAS RECALLED CARS OLDER AND NEWER THAN MY CAR AND CONVERTIBLES FROM THE SAME YEAR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/27/2016 - HONOLULU, HI
PASSENGER AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT IS ILLUMINATED AND CANNOT BE FIXED. PAASENGER SEAT WEIGHT WIRING HARNESS IS DEFECTIVE. THE REPLACEMENT PARTS CANNOT BE PURCHASED (6 MONTH BACKLIST). THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS DEFECT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds