Auto Recalls for Consumers

MINI COOPER - 2007 MINI COOPER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 83 complaints filed for the 2007 MINI COOPER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 MINI COOPER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 MINI COOPER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seat Belts (3) Steering (4)
Electrical System (11) Exterior Lighting (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (5) Suspension (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Power Train (4) Service Brakes (1) Unknown Or Other (3)
Engine (24)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

2/8/2017 - CHAPEL HILL, NC
THE "PASS AIR BAG OFF" WITH SEAT ICON/2 LIGHT (LOCATED ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE ABOVE THE REAR VIEW MIRROR) BEGAN TO COME ON INTERMITTENTLY WITH OR WITHOUT A PASSENGER IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT WHEN THE ODOMETER READ ABOUT 50,000 MILES. THE LIGHT CAME ON PERMANENTLY AT AROUND 70,000 MILES. THE DEALERSHIP CHECKED, DID NOT FIND A LOOSE CONNECTION, AND SAID THE SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. WE CONTACTED THE MINI CORPORATION BUT WERE INFORMED THAT ALTHOUGH THERE WAS A RECALL FOR OTHER 2007 MINI COOPER PASSENGER SEAT SENSORS FOR THE AIR BAG SYSTEM, THERE WAS NO RECALL FOR THE TWO-DOOR HARDTOP. WE REPLACED THE PASSENGER SEAT OCCUPANCY SENSOR FOR THE AIR BAG SYSTEM AT OUR OWN EXPENSE.

View Details

SEATS

2/8/2017 - CHAPEL HILL, NC
THE "PASS AIR BAG OFF" WITH SEAT ICON/2 LIGHT (LOCATED ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE ABOVE THE REAR VIEW MIRROR) BEGAN TO COME ON INTERMITTENTLY WITH OR WITHOUT A PASSENGER IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT WHEN THE ODOMETER READ ABOUT 50,000 MILES. THE LIGHT CAME ON PERMANENTLY AT AROUND 70,000 MILES. THE DEALERSHIP CHECKED, DID NOT FIND A LOOSE CONNECTION, AND SAID THE SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. WE CONTACTED THE MINI CORPORATION BUT WERE INFORMED THAT ALTHOUGH THERE WAS A RECALL FOR OTHER 2007 MINI COOPER PASSENGER SEAT SENSORS FOR THE AIR BAG SYSTEM, THERE WAS NO RECALL FOR THE TWO-DOOR HARDTOP. WE REPLACED THE PASSENGER SEAT OCCUPANCY SENSOR FOR THE AIR BAG SYSTEM AT OUR OWN EXPENSE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/9/2016 - TOLEDO, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 MINI COOPER. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE AIR BAG INDICATOR REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 47,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/7/2016 - HASTINGS, NE
CAR STARTED OF FIRE AS I WAS DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE. FIRE STARTED IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. THE BRAKES FAILED AS I WAS TRYING TO STOP THE CAR. HAD TO PULL THE E-BRAKE TO STOP AND BY THIS TIME THE CAR WAS ENGULFED IN FLAMES. PASSENGER HAD TO CRAWL OUT THE DRIVERS SIDE BECAUSE OF THE FLAMES ON THAT SIDE. LUCK TO HAVE GOTTEN OUT AS THE CAR WAS COMPLETELY DESTROYED IN 10 MINS

View Details

ENGINE

9/7/2016 - HASTINGS, NE
CAR STARTED OF FIRE AS I WAS DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE. FIRE STARTED IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. THE BRAKES FAILED AS I WAS TRYING TO STOP THE CAR. HAD TO PULL THE E-BRAKE TO STOP AND BY THIS TIME THE CAR WAS ENGULFED IN FLAMES. PASSENGER HAD TO CRAWL OUT THE DRIVERS SIDE BECAUSE OF THE FLAMES ON THAT SIDE. LUCK TO HAVE GOTTEN OUT AS THE CAR WAS COMPLETELY DESTROYED IN 10 MINS

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/7/2016 - HASTINGS, NE
CAR STARTED OF FIRE AS I WAS DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE. FIRE STARTED IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. THE BRAKES FAILED AS I WAS TRYING TO STOP THE CAR. HAD TO PULL THE E-BRAKE TO STOP AND BY THIS TIME THE CAR WAS ENGULFED IN FLAMES. PASSENGER HAD TO CRAWL OUT THE DRIVERS SIDE BECAUSE OF THE FLAMES ON THAT SIDE. LUCK TO HAVE GOTTEN OUT AS THE CAR WAS COMPLETELY DESTROYED IN 10 MINS

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/7/2016 - DENVER, CO
THE PASSENGER AIRBAG LIGHT IS LIT AND CANNOT BE TURNED OFF, THIS IS THE SAME ISSUE OTHERS HAVE HAD. ALSO THE SAME PROBLEM THAT HAS HAPPENED TO THE CONVIRTIBLE 2007 MINIS THAT HAVE A OPEN RECALL TO GET THE SENSOR FIXED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/10/2016 - MOORPARK, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 MINI COOPER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT OCCUPANT DETECTION MALFUNCTIONED AND/OR WAS FAULTY. THE VIN WAS EXCLUDED FROM NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V205000 (AIR BAGS). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 61,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/29/2016 - BETHEL PARK, PA
DRIVING PA TURNPIKE WHEN MY 2007 MINICOOPER TEMP LIGHT CAME ON, IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWED THE OIL AND ENGINE LIGHT. AS THE LIGHTS APPEARED, THE CAR WAS LOSING POWER. IT LOST POWER AS I WAS PULLING OFF THE ROAD. 3 MINUTES TOTAL. SMOKE POURED OUT. I OPENED THE HOLD TO SEE A 3 INCH HOLE MELTED AWAY. I CLOSED THE LID. CONTACTED MINI ROADSIDE SERVICE WHO WOULD NOT HONOR THE TOW. CALLED AAA WHO DID. CALLED MINI OF PITTSBURGH, JASON THOMPSON, WHO ONLY SERVICED MY MINI FOR 4 YEARS AND 35,000 MILES WHEN HE FIRST DIAGNOSED NEEDING A NEW ENGINE. I ASKED MANAGER CHRIS LASKO ABOUT ANY RECALLS? COULD IT BE A LEMON? NO THIS IS UNUSUAL FOR A MINI, WAS THE ANSWER. BEFORE AUTHORIZING REPAIRS I ASKED ABOUT THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM AND THE EFFECTS OF OVERHEATING. NO ELECTRICAL ISSUES WHERE FOUND. THEY FELT CONFIDENT RECOMMENDING REPLACING A NEW ENGINE & PARTS. I OKAYED TO PUT IN ALL NEW STARTER, STARTER CORE, ENGINE, ENGINE CORE, ENGINE HARNESS, COLLAR SCREW, PING SENSOR, INTAKE MANIFOLD, CORE RETURN GASKET, IGNITION COILS, COLLAR SCREW, SCREW WITH WASHER, CORE RETURN WITH HEAT PR, SRP BELT, AND COOLANT, A WATER PUMP PULLEY, AND FEW OTHER 20 SOME PARTS TO GET IT BACK ON THE ROAD. A MONTH LATER, I RECEIVED A LETTER REVEALING A POTENTIAL PROBLEM WITH THE DURABILITY OF A VAPOR RECOVERY DIAGNOSTIC PUMP ON 07. FEDERAL EMISSIONS DEFECT WARRANTY COVERS 10YEAR OR 120K MILES. I CALLED THE DEALER, THEY SAID THAT IT DID NOT PERTAIN TO MY VEHICLE. 2015 DEJA VU AT 64K MILES. I WAS DRIVING, COMMUTING WHEN THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN. I DROVE 2 MILES TO MY MINI DEALER. THEY SAID THEY COULD FIX IT BY PUTTING IN A NEW ENGINE. I HAD IT TOWED HOME. I HAVE CALLED & LEFT EMAIL'S WITH BMW/MINI CUSTOMER SERVICE. I HAVE HAD ZERO REPLY FROM THEN. THEY CLAIM TO BE THE ULTIMATE DRIVING MACHINE. AS AN ADVERTISING ASSOCIATE CREATIVE DIRECTOR, I THINK THE MORE HONEST AND REAL CLAIM WOULD BE THE ULTIMATE FARSE MACHINE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/29/2016 - BETHEL PARK, PA
DRIVING PA TURNPIKE WHEN MY 2007 MINICOOPER TEMP LIGHT CAME ON, IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWED THE OIL AND ENGINE LIGHT. AS THE LIGHTS APPEARED, THE CAR WAS LOSING POWER. IT LOST POWER AS I WAS PULLING OFF THE ROAD. 3 MINUTES TOTAL. SMOKE POURED OUT. I OPENED THE HOLD TO SEE A 3 INCH HOLE MELTED AWAY. I CLOSED THE LID. CONTACTED MINI ROADSIDE SERVICE WHO WOULD NOT HONOR THE TOW. CALLED AAA WHO DID. CALLED MINI OF PITTSBURGH, JASON THOMPSON, WHO ONLY SERVICED MY MINI FOR 4 YEARS AND 35,000 MILES WHEN HE FIRST DIAGNOSED NEEDING A NEW ENGINE. I ASKED MANAGER CHRIS LASKO ABOUT ANY RECALLS? COULD IT BE A LEMON? NO THIS IS UNUSUAL FOR A MINI, WAS THE ANSWER. BEFORE AUTHORIZING REPAIRS I ASKED ABOUT THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM AND THE EFFECTS OF OVERHEATING. NO ELECTRICAL ISSUES WHERE FOUND. THEY FELT CONFIDENT RECOMMENDING REPLACING A NEW ENGINE & PARTS. I OKAYED TO PUT IN ALL NEW STARTER, STARTER CORE, ENGINE, ENGINE CORE, ENGINE HARNESS, COLLAR SCREW, PING SENSOR, INTAKE MANIFOLD, CORE RETURN GASKET, IGNITION COILS, COLLAR SCREW, SCREW WITH WASHER, CORE RETURN WITH HEAT PR, SRP BELT, AND COOLANT, A WATER PUMP PULLEY, AND FEW OTHER 20 SOME PARTS TO GET IT BACK ON THE ROAD. A MONTH LATER, I RECEIVED A LETTER REVEALING A POTENTIAL PROBLEM WITH THE DURABILITY OF A VAPOR RECOVERY DIAGNOSTIC PUMP ON 07. FEDERAL EMISSIONS DEFECT WARRANTY COVERS 10YEAR OR 120K MILES. I CALLED THE DEALER, THEY SAID THAT IT DID NOT PERTAIN TO MY VEHICLE. 2015 DEJA VU AT 64K MILES. I WAS DRIVING, COMMUTING WHEN THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN. I DROVE 2 MILES TO MY MINI DEALER. THEY SAID THEY COULD FIX IT BY PUTTING IN A NEW ENGINE. I HAD IT TOWED HOME. I HAVE CALLED & LEFT EMAIL'S WITH BMW/MINI CUSTOMER SERVICE. I HAVE HAD ZERO REPLY FROM THEN. THEY CLAIM TO BE THE ULTIMATE DRIVING MACHINE. AS AN ADVERTISING ASSOCIATE CREATIVE DIRECTOR, I THINK THE MORE HONEST AND REAL CLAIM WOULD BE THE ULTIMATE FARSE MACHINE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds