Auto Recalls for Consumers

MINI COOPER - 2007 MINI COOPER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 76 complaints filed for the 2007 MINI COOPER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 MINI COOPER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 MINI COOPER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (27) Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (1)
Electrical System (9) Exterior Lighting (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (4) Unknown Or Other (4)
Engine (22) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Power Train (4) Steering (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

4/18/2016 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
I WAS INFORMED BY MY MINI SERVICE DEPARTMENT THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG SENSOR LOCATED UNDER THE PASSENGER SEAT WAS MALFUNCTIONING AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THIS EXACT PART HAS BEEN THE CAUSE OF A RECALL FOR MINIS MADE THE SAME YEAR AS MINE, BUT MY CAR IS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THIS IS OBVIOUSLY THE SAME PROBLEM THAT GENERATED THE RECALL. I CANNOT AFFORD TO MAKE THIS REPAIR MYSELF, AND NEITHER THE MINI DEALER NOR MINI CORPORATE HAS BEEN HELPFUL IN RESOLVING THIS ISSUE. I FEEL THAT MY CAR SHOULD BE INCLUDED IN THIS RECALL AND THEREFORE SHOULD BE REPAIRED AT NO COST TO ME. I'D LIKE TO REQUEST THAT MY CAR BE INCLUDED IN THE RECALL OFFICIALLY, SO THAT I CAN COMPLETE THESE REPAIRS. OTHERWISE, I RISK DRIVING UNSAFELY, WITHOUT THE FUNCTION OF THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG.

View Details

SEATS

4/18/2016 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
I WAS INFORMED BY MY MINI SERVICE DEPARTMENT THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG SENSOR LOCATED UNDER THE PASSENGER SEAT WAS MALFUNCTIONING AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THIS EXACT PART HAS BEEN THE CAUSE OF A RECALL FOR MINIS MADE THE SAME YEAR AS MINE, BUT MY CAR IS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THIS IS OBVIOUSLY THE SAME PROBLEM THAT GENERATED THE RECALL. I CANNOT AFFORD TO MAKE THIS REPAIR MYSELF, AND NEITHER THE MINI DEALER NOR MINI CORPORATE HAS BEEN HELPFUL IN RESOLVING THIS ISSUE. I FEEL THAT MY CAR SHOULD BE INCLUDED IN THIS RECALL AND THEREFORE SHOULD BE REPAIRED AT NO COST TO ME. I'D LIKE TO REQUEST THAT MY CAR BE INCLUDED IN THE RECALL OFFICIALLY, SO THAT I CAN COMPLETE THESE REPAIRS. OTHERWISE, I RISK DRIVING UNSAFELY, WITHOUT THE FUNCTION OF THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG.

View Details

ENGINE

4/8/2016 - WESTWEGO, LA
MY 2007 MINI COOPER STARTED TO OVERHEAT, DISPLAYING BOTH THE YELLOW AND RED INDICATION LIGHT SIMULTANEOUSLY. I STOPPED, LOOKED AT THE MANUAL AND IT SUGGESTED THAT I TURN THE CAR OFF AND LET IT COOL OFF. I LET MY MINI "COOL DOWN" AND WHEN I WENT TO START MY CAR IT WOULD NOT START UP. MY CAR IMMEDIATELY SHUT OFF, I CALLED MINI COOPER WHICH IS 75 MILES AWAY AND GOT MY CAR TOWED. I WAS TOLD MY ENGINE NEEDS REPLACEMENT FOR 11K. MY MINI WAS CHECKED LESS THAN ONE MONTH AGO AND I RECEIVED NO WARNING THAT MY ENGINE WAS FAILING. MY 2007 MINI ONLY HAS 83,000 FAR FROM THE EXPECTED OVER 100,000 LIFE EXPECTANCY. I WAS TOLD MY ENGINE FAILED DUE TO LOW COMPRESSION AND THE REPLACEMENT OF A THERMOSTAT; A THERMOSTAT THAT HAVEN'T BEEN IN STOCK FOR MONTHS. AFTER GOOGLING THIS ISSUE, I FOUND HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS FOR THE SAME ISSUE. BMW REFUSE TO RECALL THE THERMOSTAT OR ENGINE, AND IT'S AN OUTRAGE. TO MAKE MATTERS WORST, A FAIR CONDITION, RUNNING 2007 MINI W/83,000 MILES AND PACKAGES VALUE IS LESS THAN 5K, A CLEAR SIGN OF THE WORTH OF A MINI. SUPER SAD CUSTOMER.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/29/2016 - EASTON, PA
AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON AFTER THE PASSENGER SIDE SEAT WAS MOVED FORWARD TO ALLOW ENTRY TO THE REAR SEAT. THIS PROBLEM IS WELL DOCUMENTED BY NUMEROUS OTHER OWNERS ON THE INTERNET AND BMW HAS RECALLED CARS OLDER AND NEWER THAN MY CAR AND CONVERTIBLES FROM THE SAME YEAR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/27/2016 - HONOLULU, HI
PASSENGER AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT IS ILLUMINATED AND CANNOT BE FIXED. PAASENGER SEAT WEIGHT WIRING HARNESS IS DEFECTIVE. THE REPLACEMENT PARTS CANNOT BE PURCHASED (6 MONTH BACKLIST). THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS DEFECT.

View Details

SEATS

3/27/2016 - HONOLULU, HI
PASSENGER AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT IS ILLUMINATED AND CANNOT BE FIXED. PAASENGER SEAT WEIGHT WIRING HARNESS IS DEFECTIVE. THE REPLACEMENT PARTS CANNOT BE PURCHASED (6 MONTH BACKLIST). THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS DEFECT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/15/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
LOUD RATTLING NOISE WHEN ACCELERATING COMING FROM THE ENGINE. WHEN I COME TO A COMPLETE STOP CAR HAS TURNED OFF, SOMETIMES IT CRANKS FOR A BIT TO START UP. ALSO WHILE DRIVING LOSSES POWER AND CAR DECELERATES SLOWS DOWN AND ALSO PULLS LIKE IF WAS OUT OF GAS. WHITE SMOKE WHEN YOU PRESS ON GAS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/15/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
LOUD RATTLING NOISE WHEN ACCELERATING COMING FROM THE ENGINE. WHEN I COME TO A COMPLETE STOP CAR HAS TURNED OFF, SOMETIMES IT CRANKS FOR A BIT TO START UP. ALSO WHILE DRIVING LOSSES POWER AND CAR DECELERATES SLOWS DOWN AND ALSO PULLS LIKE IF WAS OUT OF GAS. WHITE SMOKE WHEN YOU PRESS ON GAS.

View Details

ENGINE

3/15/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
LOUD RATTLING NOISE WHEN ACCELERATING COMING FROM THE ENGINE. WHEN I COME TO A COMPLETE STOP CAR HAS TURNED OFF, SOMETIMES IT CRANKS FOR A BIT TO START UP. ALSO WHILE DRIVING LOSSES POWER AND CAR DECELERATES SLOWS DOWN AND ALSO PULLS LIKE IF WAS OUT OF GAS. WHITE SMOKE WHEN YOU PRESS ON GAS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/7/2016 - GAINESVILLE, FL
I MOVED THE PASSENGER SEAT FORWARD TO LET SOMEONE INTO THE BACK SEAT. THE PASSENGER AIR BAG SENSOR LIGHT STARTED TO GO ON AND OFF LATER THAT DAY INDICATING THAT THAT THE AIR BAG WAS NOT ON FOR THE PASSENGER SEAT. NOW THE LIGHT IS ON CONSTANTLY. I SAW ON THE INTERNET THAT OVER 90,000 OF THESE SENSORS HAVE BEEN RECALLED INCLUDING THE 2007 MINI CONVERTIBLE, BUT NOT MY HARDTOP. WHY IS MY MODEL NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL? THIS IS A LITTLE CAR AND I AM AFRAID TO HAVE ANYONE SIT IN THE PASSENGER SEAT WITH THE AIRBAG DISENGAGED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds