Auto Recalls for Consumers

MINI COOPER - 2007 MINI COOPER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 32 complaints filed for the 2007 MINI COOPER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 MINI COOPER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 MINI COOPER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (1)
Electrical System (5) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (2) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (1)
Engine (6) Fuel System Gasoline (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  ... 3
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/3/2014 - STONY POINT, NY
2007 MINI COOPER. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE FIRE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE FIRE OCCURRED WHILE STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AND IS NOW BACK ON THE ROAD.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

3/5/2014 - ANNAPOLIS , MD
I PURCHASED CAR FROM A PRIVATE PARTY. THE REAR SEAT WAS REMOVED FOR A CUSTOM AUDIO SYSTEM. I HAVE THE SEATS BUT THEY NEVER GAVE ME THE REAR SEAT, SEAT BELTS. IS IT THE SELLERS' RESPONSIBILITY TO PROVIDE THEM? YOU CAN IMAGINE, I FEEL CHEATED, AS I PLAN ON PULLING THE AUDIO AND RE-INSTALLING THE SEAT.

View Details

STEERING

2/28/2014 - SOUTH SAN FRANCISCO, CA
MY 2007 MINI COOPER ONLY 55K MILEAGE. AT LAST WEEK SUDDENLY THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED AND STOPPED WHILE ON FREEWAY WHICH ALMOST HIT BY THE ANOTHER CAR AND MIGHT CAUSED SERIOUS ACCIDENT. AFTER THAT I SENT MY CAR TO LICENSED AUTO REPAIR SHOP WHOSE SAID THE STEERING WHEEL WAS FAILED AND NEED TO REPLACE IT AND COST AROUND $1400 OTHERWISE IT WILL CAUSED THE SERIOUS ACCIDENT. MY CAR BOUGHT AT ORIGINAL OWNER AT JULY 2013 AND I GOT A FULL CHECKUP REPORT FROM MINICOOPER SF THERE WAS NO PROBLEM AT ALL. I TRIED TO CONTACT WITH MINI COOPER SF BUT THEY SAID NO RECALL FOR THIS MODEL OF CAR SO I NEED PAY FOR IT BY MYSELF TO FIXING THE CAR.

View Details

ENGINE

1/4/2014 - WYLIE, TX
TURBO OIL COOLING LINES LEAKING ENGINE OIL ON TO HOT TURBOCHARGER. THIS IS A FIRE HAZARD. MANY MINI COOPER S MODELS ARE HAVING THIS FAILURE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

12/10/2013 - KNOXVILLE, TN
THE MINI MADE A BEEPING NOISE / WARNING NOISE WHILE DRIVING. STOPPED THE CAR. IT WAS VERY SLUGGISH TO START SO I TOOK IT TO MY MECHANIC (NOT THE MINI DEALER IN MY TOWN WHICH HAS A HORRIBLE SERVICE DEPARTMENT.) THE DIAGNOSIS WAS A FAILING TIMING CHAIN AND EVERYTHING ASSOCIATED WITH IT. REPLACED TIMING CHAIN, CHAIN TENSIONER, ADJUSTER UNIT CAM, GUIDE RAIL, SLIDE RAIL, CRANKSHAFT SEAL, GASKET RING, VALVE COVER GASKET, DRIVE BELT, IGNITION COIL, SPARK PLUGS ... EVERYTHING. THIS FAILURE COULD GAVE BEEN CATASTROPHIC WITHOUT MY IMMEDIATE ACTION TO STOP THE CAR AND TAKE IT TO A MECHANIC. IT WAS A $3,000 + FIX.

View Details

ENGINE

11/26/2013 - DALLAS, TX
HAVE FOUND THAT MY MINI IS HAVING THE EXACT SAME ISSUES AS THOSE COVERED BY THE BMW SERVICE RECALL ARE HAVING, ALTHOUGH MINE IS NOT COVERED AS CONFIRMED BY MINI CUSTOMER RELATIONS. THIS SHOULD BE EXTENDED TO INCLUDED ALL MINIS THAT ARE HAVING THIS ISSUE AND NOT ONLY THOSE THAT OPTED FOR THE UPGRADED MODEL S.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

11/21/2013 - DOYLESTOWN, PA
THE CAR HAD A HARD TIME GETTING UP TO 65MPH . THERE WAS A LACK OF ACCELERATION FROM A DEAD STOP TO CRUISING SPEED. THE CAR HAD A WATER PUMP AND RADIATOR INSTALLED 4 MONTHS PRIOR TO MY TROUBLE. MINI TOLD ME THAT MY TIMING BELT TENSIONER HAD BROKE .I NEEDED TO HAVE A NEW TIMING BELT INSTALLED BECAUSE IT HAD STRETCHED .IT WAS NO LONGER ABLE TO KEEP THE TIMING CORRECT .I ASKED WHY WHEN THEY CHANGED TO WATER PUMP THEY DIDN'T SEE THE BROKEN TENSIONER. THEY HAD NO ANSWER .

View Details

ENGINE

10/30/2013 - WEST PALM BEACH , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS 2007 MINI COOPER. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 70 MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS MERGED OFF ROAD AND TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE TIMING CHAIN WAS FRACTURED AND CAUSED THE ENGINE TO FAIL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN ANY RECALLS. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

ENGINE

10/18/2013 - GLENDORA, CA
MY 2007 MINI COOPER S EXPERIENCED THE DEATH RATTLE. I HAD TO HAVE THE TIMING/TENSIONER CHAIN REPLACED. THIS IS A KNOWN DEFECT AND MINI COOPER SHOULD BE REQUIRED TO RECALL THEIR CARS AND FIX THEM.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

9/9/2013 - MISSION VIEJO, CA
SO, I HAVE ONE OF MANY THOUSANDS OF BAD THERMOSTAT HOUSINGS PART #11537534521( COOLING SYSTEM) . NONE OF THE PARTS HOUSES HAVE THEM IN STOCK. MINI SAID THAT THERE ARE 17,000+ OF THEM ON BACKORDER. 17,000! THIS APPEARS TO AFFECT MINIS FROM 2007 THROUGH 2010. SO, MINE SITS IN THE DRIVEWAY FOR AN INDETERMINABLE AMOUNT OF TIME. NOBODY ACTUALLY KNOWS WHEN (IF) THEY WILL BE AVAILABLE. THE PART HAS BEEN ON BACKORDER FOR A LONG TIME.THERE ARE GUESSES FROM SEPTEMBER 12TH TO OCTOBER 10TH. MOSTLY JUST SHOTS IN THE DARK, SO THEY CAN AT LEAST TELL YOU SOMETHING! THESE PARTS HAVE BEEN FAILING PREMATURELY FOR 6 YEARS, AND NOW LOOK AT THE MESS. MINI IS NOT EXACTLY PRO-ACTIVE. CERTAINLY OUR FIRST AND LAST MINI. I HAVE CONTACTED MINI AND BMW TO ASK WHAT THEIR SOLUTION WILL BE FOR ALL THE AFFECTED CUSTOMERS. ALL THEY DO IS TAKE MY NAME AND NUMBER AND TELL ME THAT THEY WILL CALL BACK . THEY NEVER DO . I AM HOPELESS WITH OUT A CAR THAT CAN NOT BE FIXED DUE TO THE MANUFACTURER ( MINI) NO HAVING REPLACING PARTS AVAILABLE. THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE . PLEASE HOLD MINI AND BMW ACCOUNTABLE FOR THAT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  ... 3
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds