Auto Recalls for Consumers

MINI COOPER - 2007 MINI COOPER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 43 complaints filed for the 2007 MINI COOPER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 MINI COOPER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 MINI COOPER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (1) Suspension (1)
Electrical System (7) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (2) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (2)
Engine (10) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seat Belts (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

11/14/2014 - BRONX, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 MINI COOPER. WHEN STARTING THE VEHICLE, THE AIR BAG FAULT LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE PASSENGER SAFETY SENSOR MAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. NO REPAIRS WERE MADE TO THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 58,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/10/2014 - LOS ANGELES, CA
THE AIRBAG SENSOR LIGHT CAME ON FOR NO APPARENT REASON. IT IS REALLY UNFAIR FOR ME AS CONSUMER IF I HAVE TO REPAIR A FACTORY DEFECT BECAUSE THERE IS NO RECALL.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/30/2014 - ROGERSVILLE, MO
THE AIR BAG LIGHTS BEGAN ILLUMINATING INTERMITTENTLY ON MY 2007 MINI COOPER WITH 48,000 MILES. UPON MY MECHANIC SCANNING THE COMPUTER WE FOUND THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG SENSOR IS OUT OF THE SEAT. THE ONLY FIX IS TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE PASSENGER SEAT CUSHION (COST: $1500). I GOOGLED "MINI COOPER AIR BAG LIGHT" +¥ AND FOUND THOUSANDS OF PEOPLE WITH THE SAME PROBLEM ON MANY DIFFERENT MODEL YEARS. WHEN I CONTACTED MINI COOPER AND QUESTIONED WHY THERE HASN'++T BEEN A RECALL ISSUED, THE PERSON TOLD ME THAT SINCE THE PASSENGER OCCUPANT STILL HAS THE SEAT BELT THAT THE AIR BAG MALFUNCTION IS NOT A SAFETY CONCERN. WHEN ASKED IF THE AIR BAGS WOULD DEPLOY ON THE PASSENGER SIDE IN THE EVENT OF AN ACCIDENT, HE ANSWERED THE QUESTION BY SAYING "WELL, THEY STILL HAVE THEIR SEAT BELT"+¥. IF THE AIR BAGS ARE NOT A SAFETY FEATURE OF THE CAR THEN WHY IS IT EQUIPPED WITH 8 AIR BAGS? PLEASE INVESTIGATE THIS AIR BAG MALFUNCTION BECAUSE AS A MINI COOPER OWNER, THIS IS A BIG SAFETY CONCERN FOR ME, AS WELL AS THOUSANDS OF OTHER MINI COOPER OWNERS WHO HAVE TAKEN TO THE INTERNET TO EXPRESS THEIR FRUSTRATIONS. THANK YOU

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/30/2014 - MELBOURNE , KY
REPORTING SERIOUS RECALLABLE SAFTY ISSUE WITH MINI COOPER AIR BAG SYTEM! MY DEALER JUST CALLED TO TELL ME THE ENTIRE PASSENGER SEAT MUST BE REPLACED AT ACOST OF OVER $2500. THERE IS A SHORT IN THE AIRBAG SENSOR IN THE PASSENGER SEAT. I BELIEVE THIS IS A DEFECTIVE COMPONENT SAFTEY EQUIPMENT ISSUE THAT SHOULD BE FIXED UNDER A RECALL OR EXTENDED WARRENTEE. "PASSENGER AIRBAG OFF" INDICATOR TURNS ON WHILE DRIVING AND REMAINS ON FOR THE DURATION OF THE DRIVE. PASSENGER SEAT WAS OCCUPIED BY A PASSENGER WEIGHING APPROX 135 POUNDS WITH SEAT BELT PROPERLY FASTENED. THERE IS NO WAY TO MANUALLY TURN ON THE PASSENGER AIRBAG AND BYPASS THE SEAT SENSOR. THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE WITH THE MINI COOPER AND IS DISCUSSED ON ONLINE ENTHUSIAST FORUMS, WITH MINI USA DEALERSHIP NOW CHARGING FROM $2500 TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE PASSENGER SEAT. MINI USA DEALERS STATE THAT THE ISSUE IS AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE WITH THE SEAT SENSOR AND THE ENTIRE SEAT MUST BE REPLACED. FOR HOW LITTLE THE PASSENGER SEAT IS USED IN MY VEHICLE, IN MY OPINION THIS IS A DEFECT AND NOT A WEAR-AND-TEAR ISSUE. I HAVE NEVER OWNED A CAR THAT HAD A VITAL SAFETY ISSUE ARISE SUCH AS THIS I ALSO NOTE THAT YOU HAVE RECIEVED A NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS SAFTEY ISSUE FROM OTHER OWNERS. IT IS A COMMON COMPLAINT ON CONSUMER BLOGS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/11/2014 - BURLINGAME, CA
THE CAR STOPPED AT THE STOP SIGN AS USUAL, HOWEVER, THE ENGINE DIDN'T START AGAIN. HOWEVER, IT'S ONLY 7 YEARS. I CALLED THE BMW SERVICE TO REPORT THE ISSUE. THEY REFUSED TO SOLVE THE PROBLEM... I'D DONE SOME RESEARCHES ONLINE. AND, I'VE FOUND THAT MANY OTHER MINI'S OWNERS HAD FOUND THE SAME PROBLEMS. CAN GOVERNMENT DO SOMETHING TO PROTECT THE CUSTOMERS ? THANKS

View Details

SEATS

7/7/2014 - SAN MATEO, CA
"PASSENGER AIRBAG OFF" INDICATOR TURNS ON WHILE DRIVING AND REMAINS ON FOR THE DURATION OF THE DRIVE. PASSENGER SEAT WAS OCCUPIED BY A PASSENGER WEIGHING APPROX 195 POUNDS WITH SEAT BELT PROPERLY FASTENED. THERE IS NO WAY TO MANUALLY TURN ON THE PASSENGER AIRBAG AND BYPASS THE SEAT SENSOR. THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE WITH THE MINI COOPER AND IS DISCUSSED ON ONLINE ENTHUSIAST FORUMS, WITH MINI USA DEALERSHIPS CHARGING FROM $1,100 TO $1,400 TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE PASSENGER SEAT. MINI USA DEALERS STATE THAT THE ISSUE IS AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE WITH THE SEAT SENSOR AND THE ENTIRE SEAT MUST BE REPLACED. FOR HOW LITTLE THE PASSENGER SEAT IS USED IN MY VEHICLE, IN MY OPINION THIS IS A DEFECT AND NOT A WEAR-AND-TEAR ISSUE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/7/2014 - SAN MATEO, CA
"PASSENGER AIRBAG OFF" INDICATOR TURNS ON WHILE DRIVING AND REMAINS ON FOR THE DURATION OF THE DRIVE. PASSENGER SEAT WAS OCCUPIED BY A PASSENGER WEIGHING APPROX 195 POUNDS WITH SEAT BELT PROPERLY FASTENED. THERE IS NO WAY TO MANUALLY TURN ON THE PASSENGER AIRBAG AND BYPASS THE SEAT SENSOR. THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE WITH THE MINI COOPER AND IS DISCUSSED ON ONLINE ENTHUSIAST FORUMS, WITH MINI USA DEALERSHIPS CHARGING FROM $1,100 TO $1,400 TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE PASSENGER SEAT. MINI USA DEALERS STATE THAT THE ISSUE IS AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE WITH THE SEAT SENSOR AND THE ENTIRE SEAT MUST BE REPLACED. FOR HOW LITTLE THE PASSENGER SEAT IS USED IN MY VEHICLE, IN MY OPINION THIS IS A DEFECT AND NOT A WEAR-AND-TEAR ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/7/2014 - SAN MATEO, CA
"PASSENGER AIRBAG OFF" INDICATOR TURNS ON WHILE DRIVING AND REMAINS ON FOR THE DURATION OF THE DRIVE. PASSENGER SEAT WAS OCCUPIED BY A PASSENGER WEIGHING APPROX 195 POUNDS WITH SEAT BELT PROPERLY FASTENED. THERE IS NO WAY TO MANUALLY TURN ON THE PASSENGER AIRBAG AND BYPASS THE SEAT SENSOR. THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE WITH THE MINI COOPER AND IS DISCUSSED ON ONLINE ENTHUSIAST FORUMS, WITH MINI USA DEALERSHIPS CHARGING FROM $1,100 TO $1,400 TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE PASSENGER SEAT. MINI USA DEALERS STATE THAT THE ISSUE IS AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE WITH THE SEAT SENSOR AND THE ENTIRE SEAT MUST BE REPLACED. FOR HOW LITTLE THE PASSENGER SEAT IS USED IN MY VEHICLE, IN MY OPINION THIS IS A DEFECT AND NOT A WEAR-AND-TEAR ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/26/2014 - LINDEN, NJ
I HAVE OR HAD A MINI COOPER S 2007 I GET A LETTER FROM THE DEALERSHIP THAT HAS A COST CHANGE WITHOUT AUXILIARY WATER PUMP ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS THAT CAN CAUSE FIRE WE APPROACH THE SELLER FOR US TO FIX THIS PROBLEM 06/04/12 TUBE NO VALUE SINCE IT WAS UNDER WARRANTY BUT CHANGING RIMS AND TIRES RECOMMENDED PIPE COST $ 1100 DOLLARS, THE COOPER HAD 121,985 MILES, A YEAR AND HALF PIPE THERMOSTAT HOUSING PROBLEMS WILL COST $ 724.32 INSTEAD, CONTINUED TO ALL RECOMMENDATIONS BUT THE COOPER FIRE ON 03/24/14 AT 05:48 PM, IT WAS CHAOS LUCKILY WAS OUT OF THE GARAGE WHICH IS WHERE I USUALLY END UP SHUTTING KEPT THE FIREFIGHTERS MAKE INQUIRIES AND DID NOT KNOW WHAT HAPPENED EXCEPT THAT THE CAR WAS PARKED WITH ACTIVE SECURITIES SO STAY PRIMARILY FOR RESEARCH BY A SPECIALIZED INSURER TO INVESTIGATE, TWO MONTHS AND A LITTLE WORKSHOP TOOK THE CAUSE WAS ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS WITHOUT SPECIFYING THE ORIGIN, FINDING THESE CARS ARE BEAUTIFUL BUT HAVE TROUBLE AND THE AUTHORITIES ARE DEAF EARS BECAUSE MILLIONS ARE AT STAKE THAN HURT, THE CAR LOST COMPLETELY. WE STARTED TO INVESTIGATE WITH MY FAMILY ON THE INTERNET AND FOUND MANY CASES IN COMMON BURN

View Details

ENGINE

6/23/2014 - WINTHROP HARBOR, IL
CATASTROPHIC FAILURE AND STALL ON THE HIGHWAY WITHOUT WARNING. NO ENGINE LIGHT OR WARNING LIGHTS. VEHICLE STOPPED AND STALLED AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. VEHICLE HAD TO BE TOWED. NOT DRIVABLE. VERY DANGEROUS, NEARLY GOT HIT BY SEMI TRUCKS ON HIGHWAY AND OTHER VEHICLES. VERY UNSAFE. PROBLEM: NEEDED NEW CLUTCH AND FLYWHEEL @ COST OF $3000 PLUS TOWING. THIS IS THE 3RD TIME THAT THIS CAR HAS HAD CATASTROPHIC ENGINE FAILURE WHILE DRIVING ON HIGHWAY IN THE PAST 6 MONTHS. THE OTHER TIMES WERE CAUSED BY SOME ELECTRICAL ISSUES PERTAINING TO THE ENGINE. DEALER DENIED IT WAS TIMING CHAIN. THE MINI COOPER 2007 NEEDS TO BE RECALLED BEFORE SOMEONE IS KILLED OR SERIOUSLY INJURED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds