Auto Recalls for Consumers

MINI COOPER - 2007 MINI COOPER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 38 complaints filed for the 2007 MINI COOPER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 MINI COOPER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 MINI COOPER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (1) Suspension (1)
Electrical System (7) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (2) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (1)
Engine (10) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seat Belts (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/7/2014 - SAN MATEO, CA
"PASSENGER AIRBAG OFF" INDICATOR TURNS ON WHILE DRIVING AND REMAINS ON FOR THE DURATION OF THE DRIVE. PASSENGER SEAT WAS OCCUPIED BY A PASSENGER WEIGHING APPROX 195 POUNDS WITH SEAT BELT PROPERLY FASTENED. THERE IS NO WAY TO MANUALLY TURN ON THE PASSENGER AIRBAG AND BYPASS THE SEAT SENSOR. THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE WITH THE MINI COOPER AND IS DISCUSSED ON ONLINE ENTHUSIAST FORUMS, WITH MINI USA DEALERSHIPS CHARGING FROM $1,100 TO $1,400 TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE PASSENGER SEAT. MINI USA DEALERS STATE THAT THE ISSUE IS AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE WITH THE SEAT SENSOR AND THE ENTIRE SEAT MUST BE REPLACED. FOR HOW LITTLE THE PASSENGER SEAT IS USED IN MY VEHICLE, IN MY OPINION THIS IS A DEFECT AND NOT A WEAR-AND-TEAR ISSUE.

View Details

SEATS

7/7/2014 - SAN MATEO, CA
"PASSENGER AIRBAG OFF" INDICATOR TURNS ON WHILE DRIVING AND REMAINS ON FOR THE DURATION OF THE DRIVE. PASSENGER SEAT WAS OCCUPIED BY A PASSENGER WEIGHING APPROX 195 POUNDS WITH SEAT BELT PROPERLY FASTENED. THERE IS NO WAY TO MANUALLY TURN ON THE PASSENGER AIRBAG AND BYPASS THE SEAT SENSOR. THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE WITH THE MINI COOPER AND IS DISCUSSED ON ONLINE ENTHUSIAST FORUMS, WITH MINI USA DEALERSHIPS CHARGING FROM $1,100 TO $1,400 TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE PASSENGER SEAT. MINI USA DEALERS STATE THAT THE ISSUE IS AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE WITH THE SEAT SENSOR AND THE ENTIRE SEAT MUST BE REPLACED. FOR HOW LITTLE THE PASSENGER SEAT IS USED IN MY VEHICLE, IN MY OPINION THIS IS A DEFECT AND NOT A WEAR-AND-TEAR ISSUE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/7/2014 - SAN MATEO, CA
"PASSENGER AIRBAG OFF" INDICATOR TURNS ON WHILE DRIVING AND REMAINS ON FOR THE DURATION OF THE DRIVE. PASSENGER SEAT WAS OCCUPIED BY A PASSENGER WEIGHING APPROX 195 POUNDS WITH SEAT BELT PROPERLY FASTENED. THERE IS NO WAY TO MANUALLY TURN ON THE PASSENGER AIRBAG AND BYPASS THE SEAT SENSOR. THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE WITH THE MINI COOPER AND IS DISCUSSED ON ONLINE ENTHUSIAST FORUMS, WITH MINI USA DEALERSHIPS CHARGING FROM $1,100 TO $1,400 TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE PASSENGER SEAT. MINI USA DEALERS STATE THAT THE ISSUE IS AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE WITH THE SEAT SENSOR AND THE ENTIRE SEAT MUST BE REPLACED. FOR HOW LITTLE THE PASSENGER SEAT IS USED IN MY VEHICLE, IN MY OPINION THIS IS A DEFECT AND NOT A WEAR-AND-TEAR ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/26/2014 - LINDEN, NJ
I HAVE OR HAD A MINI COOPER S 2007 I GET A LETTER FROM THE DEALERSHIP THAT HAS A COST CHANGE WITHOUT AUXILIARY WATER PUMP ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS THAT CAN CAUSE FIRE WE APPROACH THE SELLER FOR US TO FIX THIS PROBLEM 06/04/12 TUBE NO VALUE SINCE IT WAS UNDER WARRANTY BUT CHANGING RIMS AND TIRES RECOMMENDED PIPE COST $ 1100 DOLLARS, THE COOPER HAD 121,985 MILES, A YEAR AND HALF PIPE THERMOSTAT HOUSING PROBLEMS WILL COST $ 724.32 INSTEAD, CONTINUED TO ALL RECOMMENDATIONS BUT THE COOPER FIRE ON 03/24/14 AT 05:48 PM, IT WAS CHAOS LUCKILY WAS OUT OF THE GARAGE WHICH IS WHERE I USUALLY END UP SHUTTING KEPT THE FIREFIGHTERS MAKE INQUIRIES AND DID NOT KNOW WHAT HAPPENED EXCEPT THAT THE CAR WAS PARKED WITH ACTIVE SECURITIES SO STAY PRIMARILY FOR RESEARCH BY A SPECIALIZED INSURER TO INVESTIGATE, TWO MONTHS AND A LITTLE WORKSHOP TOOK THE CAUSE WAS ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS WITHOUT SPECIFYING THE ORIGIN, FINDING THESE CARS ARE BEAUTIFUL BUT HAVE TROUBLE AND THE AUTHORITIES ARE DEAF EARS BECAUSE MILLIONS ARE AT STAKE THAN HURT, THE CAR LOST COMPLETELY. WE STARTED TO INVESTIGATE WITH MY FAMILY ON THE INTERNET AND FOUND MANY CASES IN COMMON BURN

View Details

ENGINE

6/23/2014 - WINTHROP HARBOR, IL
CATASTROPHIC FAILURE AND STALL ON THE HIGHWAY WITHOUT WARNING. NO ENGINE LIGHT OR WARNING LIGHTS. VEHICLE STOPPED AND STALLED AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. VEHICLE HAD TO BE TOWED. NOT DRIVABLE. VERY DANGEROUS, NEARLY GOT HIT BY SEMI TRUCKS ON HIGHWAY AND OTHER VEHICLES. VERY UNSAFE. PROBLEM: NEEDED NEW CLUTCH AND FLYWHEEL @ COST OF $3000 PLUS TOWING. THIS IS THE 3RD TIME THAT THIS CAR HAS HAD CATASTROPHIC ENGINE FAILURE WHILE DRIVING ON HIGHWAY IN THE PAST 6 MONTHS. THE OTHER TIMES WERE CAUSED BY SOME ELECTRICAL ISSUES PERTAINING TO THE ENGINE. DEALER DENIED IT WAS TIMING CHAIN. THE MINI COOPER 2007 NEEDS TO BE RECALLED BEFORE SOMEONE IS KILLED OR SERIOUSLY INJURED.

View Details

ENGINE

6/11/2014 - LAKE WALES, FL
AFTER BUYING THIS VEHICLE, DROVE ABOUT 30 OR SO MILES....WHILE SLOWING DOWN NOTICED THE CAR HAD SHUT OFF. NO WARNINGS, NO LIGHTS, NO NOISES....CAR WOULD NOT CRANK. LEFT ME STRANDED IN MIDDLE OF FOUR LANE HIGHWAY. TOWED THE VEHICLE TO MINI WHERE I WAS TOLD A VACUUM PUMP WENT OUT. DUE TO THIS NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY (EXTENDED) NOW IM TOLD HAVE TO PAY 8000 FOR AN ENGINE. THIS ISSUE SHOULD BE RESOLVED, THERE WAS NO WARNING AND FROM READING THE ONLINE NOTICES IT SEEMS TO BE A BIG ISSUE. MINI WOULD DO NOTHING ABOUT THIS. IT CREATED A DANGEROUS SITUATION FOR ME, AS IT GAVE NO WARNING WHEN ALL THIS OCCURED.

View Details

ENGINE

5/27/2014 - BUENA PARK, CA
MY VEHICLE DEVELOPED A RATTLING NOISE IN THE ENGINE , WHICH WORSENED AND CAUSED THE TIMING CHAIN TO BRAKE AND THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS IN DAMAGE , WHICH IF AT HIGH WAY SPEED , COULD HAVE CAUSED A SERIOUS ACCIDENT . MINI IS DENYING ACCOUNT ABILITY.

View Details

ENGINE

4/22/2014 - RALEIGH, NC
THE VERY WELL KNOWN "TIMING CHAIN FAILURE". THE EVENT STARTED WITH RATTLING NOISE IN THE ENGINE BAY ON THE PASSENGER'S SIDE, THEN THE BIG MESSY OIL LEAKED AND THE ENGINE WAS DRYING UP AND CHOKED (MADE A VERY DANGEROUS DRIVING SITUATION).LUCKILY, I WASN'T ON THE HIGHWAY!! BMW DENIED REIMBURSEMENT FOR THE REPAIR COST OF THIS FAULT DESIGN/ENGINEERING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/3/2014 - STONY POINT, NY
2007 MINI COOPER. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE FIRE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE FIRE OCCURRED WHILE STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AND IS NOW BACK ON THE ROAD.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

3/5/2014 - ANNAPOLIS , MD
I PURCHASED CAR FROM A PRIVATE PARTY. THE REAR SEAT WAS REMOVED FOR A CUSTOM AUDIO SYSTEM. I HAVE THE SEATS BUT THEY NEVER GAVE ME THE REAR SEAT, SEAT BELTS. IS IT THE SELLERS' RESPONSIBILITY TO PROVIDE THEM? YOU CAN IMAGINE, I FEEL CHEATED, AS I PLAN ON PULLING THE AUDIO AND RE-INSTALLING THE SEAT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds