Auto Recalls for Consumers

MINI COOPER - 2007 MINI COOPER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 48 complaints filed for the 2007 MINI COOPER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 MINI COOPER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 MINI COOPER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (1)
Electrical System (7) Exterior Lighting (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (2) Unknown Or Other (2)
Engine (12) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Power Train (2) Steering (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

2/10/2015 - ALTHA, FL
THE PASSENGER SEAT HAS A PRESSURE MAT BUILT INTO THAT HAS FAILED AND IT IS CAUSING THE SRS/AIRBAG LIGHT TO STAY LIT. THIS IS TURNING OFF THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG OFF WHICH CAUSES THE PASSENGER TO NOT HAVE AIRBAG PROTECTION. THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM ON ALL 2005 UP MINI COOPERS.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

2/10/2015 - ALTHA, FL
THE PASSENGER SEAT HAS A PRESSURE MAT BUILT INTO THAT HAS FAILED AND IT IS CAUSING THE SRS/AIRBAG LIGHT TO STAY LIT. THIS IS TURNING OFF THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG OFF WHICH CAUSES THE PASSENGER TO NOT HAVE AIRBAG PROTECTION. THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM ON ALL 2005 UP MINI COOPERS.

View Details

SEATS

2/10/2015 - ALTHA, FL
THE PASSENGER SEAT HAS A PRESSURE MAT BUILT INTO THAT HAS FAILED AND IT IS CAUSING THE SRS/AIRBAG LIGHT TO STAY LIT. THIS IS TURNING OFF THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG OFF WHICH CAUSES THE PASSENGER TO NOT HAVE AIRBAG PROTECTION. THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM ON ALL 2005 UP MINI COOPERS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/21/2015 - LOS ANGELES, CA
MY FUEL RAIL WAS SIPPING WITH GASOLINE. WHEN I BROUGHT MY CAR TO A MINI DEALER, THEY CLAIMED THAT IT WAS A WEAR AND TEAR PROBLEM AND REFUSED TO ACKNOWLEDGED THAT IT WAS A DESIGN FLAW. THE FUEL RAIL WAS PLASTIC AND THE LEAK WAS AT THE SEAL BETWEEN THE PLASTIC PARTS. IF THE FUEL RAIL IS METAL AND IS SOLDERED, THIS PROBLEM WOULD NOT HAVE HAPPENED. HAVING A FUEL RAIL THAT LEAKS COULD SEVERELY DAMAGE THE ENGINE AND CAUSE A FIRE.

View Details

ENGINE

1/7/2015 - REDDING, CT
I BOUGHT A CAR FROM NEW COUNTRY MINI IN HARTFORD ON JANUARY 2, 2015. AT FIRST THE CAR WORKED GREAT, HOWEVER THE FRICTION POINT OF THE CLUTCH WAS PRETTY FAR TOWARDS THE END RANGE. BECAUSE IT'S A HYDROLIC CLUTCH, I THOUGHT THIS WAS ADJUSTABLE. HOWEVER I STARTED NOTICING THE NEXT DAY THAT THERE WAS A GRINDING NOISE COMING OUT OF FIRST AND IN REVERSE. I EMAILED THE PERSON AT NEW COUNTRY MINI FROM WHOM I BOUGHT IT FROM EXPLAINING WHAT I WAS HEARING/FEELING AND WAS CONCERNED ABOUT THE CLUTCH GOING. HE REPLIED THAT IT PROBABLY JUST NEEDED TO BE OILED AND IT WOULD BE FINE. HE DID NOT ASK ANY OTHER QUALIFYING QUESTIONS, OR OFFER TO LOOK AT IT. AS OF JANUARY 5, THE CLUTCH HAS BECOME EXPONENTIALLY WORSE. THE CAR NOW SHUTTERS WHILE ENGAGING THE CLUTCH, AND CONTINUES TO SHUTTER AFTER THE CLUTCH HAS BEEN ENGAGED. ADDITIONALLY THERE IS A BURNING SMELL COMING FROM THE CAR. ALSO, THIS IS NOT MY FIRST CAR I'VE HAD THAT WAS A MANUAL TRANSMISSION. I LEARNED HOW TO DRIVE ONE WHEN I WAS 16, SO I DON'T BELIEVE THIS IS DRIVER ERROR; ESPECIALLY HOW QUICK THE CLUTCH DIMINISHED. I AM INCLINED TO THINK THAT NEW COUNTRY MINI NEW ABOUT THE PROBLEM PRIOR TO SELLING IT, BUT DIDN'T DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. MOREOVER, THERE IS A CLUNK THAT HAPPENS WHEN ACCELERATING FROM 2ND GEAR TO 3RD GEAR. ANY AND ALL HELP WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/23/2014 - MABLETON, GA
THE PASSENGER AIRBAG FAULT INDICATOR LIGHT HAS COME ON WITH NO APPARENT CAUSE, ILLUMINATING WHETHER THERE IS A PASSENGER IN THE SEAT OR NOT. THE DEALER HAS DETERMINED IT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED AT THE COST OF $1000+. BASED ON THE FORUMS ONLINE, THIS SEEMS TO BE AN EXTREMELY COMMON PROBLEM, SO MUCH SO THAT MINI SHOULD CONSIDER A VOLUNTARY RECALL AND COVER THE REPAIRS.

View Details

ENGINE

12/17/2014 - CHARLESTOWN, NH
2007 MINI COOPER. WAS INFORMED THE CAR WAS UNSAFE TO DRIVE BECAUSE OF A CRACKED VALVE COVER WHICH WAS LEAKING.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/14/2014 - BRONX, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 MINI COOPER. WHEN STARTING THE VEHICLE, THE AIR BAG FAULT LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE PASSENGER SAFETY SENSOR MAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. NO REPAIRS WERE MADE TO THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 58,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/10/2014 - LOS ANGELES, CA
THE AIRBAG SENSOR LIGHT CAME ON FOR NO APPARENT REASON. IT IS REALLY UNFAIR FOR ME AS CONSUMER IF I HAVE TO REPAIR A FACTORY DEFECT BECAUSE THERE IS NO RECALL.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/30/2014 - ROGERSVILLE, MO
THE AIR BAG LIGHTS BEGAN ILLUMINATING INTERMITTENTLY ON MY 2007 MINI COOPER WITH 48,000 MILES. UPON MY MECHANIC SCANNING THE COMPUTER WE FOUND THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG SENSOR IS OUT OF THE SEAT. THE ONLY FIX IS TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE PASSENGER SEAT CUSHION (COST: $1500). I GOOGLED "MINI COOPER AIR BAG LIGHT" +¥ AND FOUND THOUSANDS OF PEOPLE WITH THE SAME PROBLEM ON MANY DIFFERENT MODEL YEARS. WHEN I CONTACTED MINI COOPER AND QUESTIONED WHY THERE HASN'++T BEEN A RECALL ISSUED, THE PERSON TOLD ME THAT SINCE THE PASSENGER OCCUPANT STILL HAS THE SEAT BELT THAT THE AIR BAG MALFUNCTION IS NOT A SAFETY CONCERN. WHEN ASKED IF THE AIR BAGS WOULD DEPLOY ON THE PASSENGER SIDE IN THE EVENT OF AN ACCIDENT, HE ANSWERED THE QUESTION BY SAYING "WELL, THEY STILL HAVE THEIR SEAT BELT"+¥. IF THE AIR BAGS ARE NOT A SAFETY FEATURE OF THE CAR THEN WHY IS IT EQUIPPED WITH 8 AIR BAGS? PLEASE INVESTIGATE THIS AIR BAG MALFUNCTION BECAUSE AS A MINI COOPER OWNER, THIS IS A BIG SAFETY CONCERN FOR ME, AS WELL AS THOUSANDS OF OTHER MINI COOPER OWNERS WHO HAVE TAKEN TO THE INTERNET TO EXPRESS THEIR FRUSTRATIONS. THANK YOU

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds