Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW 535I - 2008 BMW 535I Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 60 complaints filed for the 2008 BMW 535I

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 BMW 535I. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 BMW 535I, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Exterior Lighting (15) Power Train (4) Service Brakes (3) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (13) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Seat Belts (5) Steering (3) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Engine (21) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seats (1) Structure (1) Visibility Wiper (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/10/2018 - BROKEN BOW, OK
BMW CLEARLY STATES THAT THIS VEHICLE HAD A RECALL ON THE FUEL INJECTORS AND RELATED COMPONENTS AND WHEN THE RECALL WAS COMPLETED IT STATES THAT A EMBLEM TO MARK COMPLETED IS PLACED UNDER THE HOOD. ALTHOUGH, THIS IS NOT ON MY VEHICLE NOR DOES IT SHOW BEING COMPLETED ON ANY TYPE OF INFORMATION. BMW IS VERY SECRETIVE ABOUT ALL ISSUES ON THE VEHICLES THAT THEY MANUFACTURER. IN FACT, MOST ALL BMW DEALERSHIPS SERVICE DEPARTMENTS DO THEIR VERY BEST TOO MAKE YOU PAY FOR NON ISSUES AND WILL NOT REPAIR WHAT IS REALLY FOUND TO BE THE ISSUE. IF NEEDED, I CAN GIVE YOU AT LEAST TWO THAT I AM VERY FAMILIAR WITH ABOUT THIS MATTER.

View Details

ENGINE

2/10/2018 - BROKEN BOW, OK
BMW CLEARLY STATES THAT THIS VEHICLE HAD A RECALL ON THE FUEL INJECTORS AND RELATED COMPONENTS AND WHEN THE RECALL WAS COMPLETED IT STATES THAT A EMBLEM TO MARK COMPLETED IS PLACED UNDER THE HOOD. ALTHOUGH, THIS IS NOT ON MY VEHICLE NOR DOES IT SHOW BEING COMPLETED ON ANY TYPE OF INFORMATION. BMW IS VERY SECRETIVE ABOUT ALL ISSUES ON THE VEHICLES THAT THEY MANUFACTURER. IN FACT, MOST ALL BMW DEALERSHIPS SERVICE DEPARTMENTS DO THEIR VERY BEST TOO MAKE YOU PAY FOR NON ISSUES AND WILL NOT REPAIR WHAT IS REALLY FOUND TO BE THE ISSUE. IF NEEDED, I CAN GIVE YOU AT LEAST TWO THAT I AM VERY FAMILIAR WITH ABOUT THIS MATTER.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/10/2018 - ORCUTT, CA
WHILE DRIVING, THE CAR STOPPED ACCELERATING AND A TRANSMISSION MALFUNCTION WARNING CAME UP ON. THE FAN ON THE ENGINE ALSO CAME ON VERY LOUD AND THERE WAS LOTS OF EXHAUSTED COMING OUT. I DROVE SLOWLY TO A SHOP. ONCE AT THE SHOP THEY STATED THEY COULD NOT GET THE CAR TO SHIFT INTO GEAR. THEY DID DIAGNOSTICS ON IT AND SAID IT WAS A SHIFT MODULE THAT NEEDED REPLACED, I HAD IT REPLACED AND IT DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. THEY THEN SAID IT NEEDED A RESET THAT COULD ONLY BE DONE AT THE BMW DEALERSHIP. BMW PERFORMED THE RESET AND THAT DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. BMW DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION PUMP WAS OUT AND A $9K TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CAR CONTINUES TO NOT BE DRIVABLE, NOT STAY IN GEAR. IT HAS ALSO STARTED SPITTING OUT MILKY SUBSTANCE FROM THE EXHAUST LIKE THE COOLANT IS LEAKING INTO ENGINE. IN ADDITION THE PAINT ON THE HOOD AND ROOF OF THE CAR HAS BECOME DULL FOR NO APPARENT REASON, LIKE IT HAS REACTED TO A HIGH AMOUNT OF HEAT FROM THE ENGINE. A CAR WITH ONLY 132,000 MILES ON IT SHOULD NOT NEED A TRANSMISSION REPLACED AND THE PAINT SHOULD NOT BE WEARING LIKE IT IS. THERE WAS COOLANT RECALL ON ALL MODELS EXCEPT THE 535I, THIS COOLANT PROBLEM COULD HAVE BEEN WHAT CAUSED THE TRANSMISSION TO GO OUT VERY PREMATURELY. THE CAR IS NOW NOT DRIVABLE, WILL NOT STAY IN GEAR. I BELIEVE THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG WITH THE CAR THAT IS DUE TO A FAILURE OR MALFUNCTION OF THE CAR ITSELF AND NOT WEAR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/10/2018 - ORCUTT, CA
WHILE DRIVING, THE CAR STOPPED ACCELERATING AND A TRANSMISSION MALFUNCTION WARNING CAME UP ON. THE FAN ON THE ENGINE ALSO CAME ON VERY LOUD AND THERE WAS LOTS OF EXHAUSTED COMING OUT. I DROVE SLOWLY TO A SHOP. ONCE AT THE SHOP THEY STATED THEY COULD NOT GET THE CAR TO SHIFT INTO GEAR. THEY DID DIAGNOSTICS ON IT AND SAID IT WAS A SHIFT MODULE THAT NEEDED REPLACED, I HAD IT REPLACED AND IT DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. THEY THEN SAID IT NEEDED A RESET THAT COULD ONLY BE DONE AT THE BMW DEALERSHIP. BMW PERFORMED THE RESET AND THAT DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. BMW DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION PUMP WAS OUT AND A $9K TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CAR CONTINUES TO NOT BE DRIVABLE, NOT STAY IN GEAR. IT HAS ALSO STARTED SPITTING OUT MILKY SUBSTANCE FROM THE EXHAUST LIKE THE COOLANT IS LEAKING INTO ENGINE. IN ADDITION THE PAINT ON THE HOOD AND ROOF OF THE CAR HAS BECOME DULL FOR NO APPARENT REASON, LIKE IT HAS REACTED TO A HIGH AMOUNT OF HEAT FROM THE ENGINE. A CAR WITH ONLY 132,000 MILES ON IT SHOULD NOT NEED A TRANSMISSION REPLACED AND THE PAINT SHOULD NOT BE WEARING LIKE IT IS. THERE WAS COOLANT RECALL ON ALL MODELS EXCEPT THE 535I, THIS COOLANT PROBLEM COULD HAVE BEEN WHAT CAUSED THE TRANSMISSION TO GO OUT VERY PREMATURELY. THE CAR IS NOW NOT DRIVABLE, WILL NOT STAY IN GEAR. I BELIEVE THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG WITH THE CAR THAT IS DUE TO A FAILURE OR MALFUNCTION OF THE CAR ITSELF AND NOT WEAR.

View Details

ENGINE

1/10/2018 - ORCUTT, CA
WHILE DRIVING, THE CAR STOPPED ACCELERATING AND A TRANSMISSION MALFUNCTION WARNING CAME UP ON. THE FAN ON THE ENGINE ALSO CAME ON VERY LOUD AND THERE WAS LOTS OF EXHAUSTED COMING OUT. I DROVE SLOWLY TO A SHOP. ONCE AT THE SHOP THEY STATED THEY COULD NOT GET THE CAR TO SHIFT INTO GEAR. THEY DID DIAGNOSTICS ON IT AND SAID IT WAS A SHIFT MODULE THAT NEEDED REPLACED, I HAD IT REPLACED AND IT DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. THEY THEN SAID IT NEEDED A RESET THAT COULD ONLY BE DONE AT THE BMW DEALERSHIP. BMW PERFORMED THE RESET AND THAT DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. BMW DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION PUMP WAS OUT AND A $9K TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CAR CONTINUES TO NOT BE DRIVABLE, NOT STAY IN GEAR. IT HAS ALSO STARTED SPITTING OUT MILKY SUBSTANCE FROM THE EXHAUST LIKE THE COOLANT IS LEAKING INTO ENGINE. IN ADDITION THE PAINT ON THE HOOD AND ROOF OF THE CAR HAS BECOME DULL FOR NO APPARENT REASON, LIKE IT HAS REACTED TO A HIGH AMOUNT OF HEAT FROM THE ENGINE. A CAR WITH ONLY 132,000 MILES ON IT SHOULD NOT NEED A TRANSMISSION REPLACED AND THE PAINT SHOULD NOT BE WEARING LIKE IT IS. THERE WAS COOLANT RECALL ON ALL MODELS EXCEPT THE 535I, THIS COOLANT PROBLEM COULD HAVE BEEN WHAT CAUSED THE TRANSMISSION TO GO OUT VERY PREMATURELY. THE CAR IS NOW NOT DRIVABLE, WILL NOT STAY IN GEAR. I BELIEVE THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG WITH THE CAR THAT IS DUE TO A FAILURE OR MALFUNCTION OF THE CAR ITSELF AND NOT WEAR.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/31/2017 - COLLIERVILLE, TN
THE WIRE INSULATION INSIDE THE HEADLAMP HOUSING BECOMES BRITTLE AND CAN SHORT OUT. THEY CAN FLICKER OR GO OUT. IF BOTH LEFT AND RIGHT EXPERIENCE A SHORT, A DRIVER CAN BE LEFT DRIVING AT NIGHT WITHOUT HEADLIGHTS. THIS CAN RESULT IN DEADLY ACCIDENTS. THIS HAS HAPPENED TO MY RH HEADLIGHT. THE ISSUE HAS LONG BEEN KNOWN AND COMPLAINTS ARE POSTED ALL OVER BMW FORUMS. REPLACEMENT HEADLAMPS ARE IN EXCESS OF US$900 EACH LEAVING MANY CAR OWNERS TO GO WITH DEFECTIVE HEADLAMPS. I WAS DRIVING MY CAR TONIGHT WHEN THE RH LAMP WENT OUT FOR A FEW MOMENTS DUE TO THE WIRING SHORT. I CAN ONLY IMAGINE HOW IT WOULD HAVE BEEN IF BOTH WENT OUT. I DON'T HAVE PHOTOS OR VIDEO EVIDENCE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/12/2017 - BIRMINGHAM, AL
WIRE INSULATION INSIDE THE HEADLIGHT HOUSING IS FALLING AWAY LEAVING BARE WIRES. CURRENTLY ONLY AFFECTING THE DRL. SEARCHING BMW FORUMS - THIS IS NOT AN UNCOMMON PROBLEM. THIS IS A DANGEROUS CONDITION BEING THAT THE HEADLIGHTS COULD FAIL AT ANY TIME. REPLACEMENT IS PROHIBITIVELY EXPENSIVE AT MORE THAN $700 PER UNIT. WITH THE NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS THAT I HAVE SEEN IN ON-LINE FORUMS, I FEEL THIS SHOULD WARRANT A SAFETY RELATED RE-CALL. THANK YOU IN ADVANCE FOR YOUR TIME.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/29/2017 - MOROVIS, PR
I HAVE A 2008 535I (E60) W/55K MILES, IN OTHERWISE PERFECT CONDITION WITH NO AFTERMARKET ALTERATIONS. WHILE DRIVING CAR IN THE HIGHWAY, I HAD A PARKING LIGHT ALERT/ERROR THAT MY PARKING LIGHT WAS OUT. AFTER ARRIVING TO MY HOME I INSPECTED MY HEADLIGHT ASSEMBLY. THE ANGEL EYES ON BOTH LEFT AND RIGHT HEADLIGHT SHOWED COMPLETELY BARE WIRES ON BOTH SIDES OF THE BULB CONNECTORS, ON BOTH SIDES OF THE CAR. I FOUND FLAKING INSULATION AND BARE WIRES EVERYWHERE THE INNER SEALED HEADLAMP ASSEMBLY!!!. THE MORE I TOUCHED THE WIRES, THE MORE INSULATION FLAKED OFF, ALMOST LIKE A POWDER. I'VE NEVER SEEN ANYTHING LIKE IT. DEFINITELY A FIRE HAZARD!!!!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/24/2017 - WILLIAMSBURG, VA
AS SOON AS I HIT THE START BUTTON, A SECOND LATER, - JOLT OR CLUNK - IT'S NOT HAPPENED ALL STARTS. SOME STARTS WITH NOISE SOME DOESN'T. IT SOUNDS LIKE ITS FROM THE GEARBOX BUT WHEN OUTSIDE SOUNDS LIKE ITS FROM THE DIFF AREA. OCCASIONALLY THE CAR EVEN ROCKS. THE INTENSITY OF THE CLUNK VARIES EVERY START. SOME VERY LIGHT, SOME HEARD VERY LOUD HARD. IT HAPPEN WHEN IT'S IN PARKED. SHIFT GEAR AND DRIVE IS NORMAL NO NOISE OR ANYTHING...

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/6/2017 - CAPE CORAL, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 (NA) BMW 535I. WHILE REVERSING OUT OF A PARKING SPACE AT 4 MPH, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND FAILED TO ENGAGE. THE CONTACT APPLIED PRESSURE AND THE BRAKE PEDAL TRAVELED TO THE FLOOR WHEN IT FINALLY ENGAGED. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A PARKED VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE POLICE WERE NOTIFIED, BUT NO REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED, THE MECHANIC INFORMED THE CONTACT OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V446000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 120,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds