Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW 535I - 2008 BMW 535I Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 49 complaints filed for the 2008 BMW 535I

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 BMW 535I. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 BMW 535I, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Exterior Lighting (11) Power Train (3) Service Brakes (2) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electrical System (12) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seat Belts (5) Steering (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (17) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seats (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/30/2016 - LAWRENCEVILLE, GA
MY 2008 BMW 535I HEADLIGHT WENT OUT AND I TOOK IT TO A CERTIFIED MECHANIC TO CHANGE THE HEADLIGHT BULB, HE TOOK OUT THE HEADLIGHT AND SHOWN TO ME THE WIRING IN BOTH HEADLIGHTS HAVE FLAKED OFF AND HAD PRESENTED A FIRE HAZARD SITUATION WHICH CAUSED THE FUSE THE BLEW. I RESEARCHED THE BMW FORUMS AND FOUND LOTS OF PEOPLE WITH THE SAME ISSUE, HENCE, IT IS NOT AN OUTLIER. I CONTACTED BMW USA AND THEY REFUSED TO REMEDY THE SITUATION. I WAS TOLD BY THEM THAT THE VEHICLE IS OUT OF WARRANTY AND THAT THE VEHICLE MILEAGE WAS PAST THE HEADLIGHT WIRING SHOULD NOT GO BAD IN 8 YEARS AND THEY WERE RUDE AND TOLD ME THEY WILL NOT PAY FOR IT. I ALSO LEARNT THAT MOST OF THESE HEADLIGHT WIRES IN THE E60 FLAKED OFF WITHIN 50K MILES AND ARE NOT DISCOVERED UNTIL A SHORT OR BLOWN BULB. HELLA (THE MANUFACTURER OF THE HEADLIGHT) SAID IT IS NOT THEIR PROBLEM SINCE THE MAKE THE HEADLIGHTS TO BMW SPECIFICATIONS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/30/2016 - LAWRENCEVILLE, GA
MY 2008 BMW 535I HEADLIGHT WENT OUT AND I TOOK IT TO A CERTIFIED MECHANIC TO CHANGE THE HEADLIGHT BULB, HE TOOK OUT THE HEADLIGHT AND SHOWN TO ME THE WIRING IN BOTH HEADLIGHTS HAVE FLAKED OFF AND HAD PRESENTED A FIRE HAZARD SITUATION WHICH CAUSED THE FUSE THE BLEW. I RESEARCHED THE BMW FORUMS AND FOUND LOTS OF PEOPLE WITH THE SAME ISSUE, HENCE, IT IS NOT AN OUTLIER. I CONTACTED BMW USA AND THEY REFUSED TO REMEDY THE SITUATION. I WAS TOLD BY THEM THAT THE VEHICLE IS OUT OF WARRANTY AND THAT THE VEHICLE MILEAGE WAS PAST THE HEADLIGHT WIRING SHOULD NOT GO BAD IN 8 YEARS AND THEY WERE RUDE AND TOLD ME THEY WILL NOT PAY FOR IT. I ALSO LEARNT THAT MOST OF THESE HEADLIGHT WIRES IN THE E60 FLAKED OFF WITHIN 50K MILES AND ARE NOT DISCOVERED UNTIL A SHORT OR BLOWN BULB. HELLA (THE MANUFACTURER OF THE HEADLIGHT) SAID IT IS NOT THEIR PROBLEM SINCE THE MAKE THE HEADLIGHTS TO BMW SPECIFICATIONS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/29/2016 - FAIRBURN, GA
WHILE DRIVING ON A RURAL HIGHWAY TO WORK THE CAR SHUTDOWN COMPLETLY. I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE MECHANIC FOR A DIAGNOTIC CHECK. THE CAR NEEDED ALTERNATOR AND WATER PUMP. I CALLED BMW BECAUSE THERE IS A RECALL ON THE WATER PUMP ON MY VEHICLE. THE CUSTOMER SERVICE REP STATED THAT RECALLS ARE VENDOR SPECIFIC. THAT DOES NOT MAKE SINCE TO ME SINCE CARS ARE MADE ON AN ASSEMBLY LINE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/15/2016 - NEWPORT BEACH, CA
CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND CAR STARTED SHAKING VIOLENTLY. IT HAPPENED AS SOON AS I TOOK A CORNER AND HIT THE GAS AND LASTED UNTIL I TURNED THE CAR OFF. VERY ROUGH IDLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/12/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
WIRES INSIDE HEADLIGHTS HAVE INSULATION CRUMBLING OFF. FIRE RISK. SO MANY BMW'S HAVE THIS PROBLEM. A CLEAR ISSUE THAT BMW KNOWS ABOUT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/12/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
WIRES INSIDE HEADLIGHTS HAVE INSULATION CRUMBLING OFF. FIRE RISK. SO MANY BMW'S HAVE THIS PROBLEM. A CLEAR ISSUE THAT BMW KNOWS ABOUT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/1/2016 - MESA, AZ
WHILE DRIVING ON FREEWAY AT 70 MPH, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO LOSE POWER IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. I NOTICED ON COMPUTER SCREEN ENGINE MALFUNCTION-REDUCED POWER. SO, I MANUVERED TO GET TO OUTSIDE SHOULDER LANE, AND STOPPED THE VEHICLE.IT WAS SPUTTERING AT THE TIME, AND I TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF FOR A FEW MINUTES. AND THEN STARTED IT AGAIN AND THE PROBLEM HAD CLEARED ITSELF, SO I PROCEEDED TO MY HOME. WHEN I GOT HOME, I CHECKED ON THE COMPUTER FOR ONLINE INFORMATION, AND SAW A RECALL NOTICE FOR THIS VEHICLE BECAUSE OF HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP FAILURE, SAFETY HAZZARD. THE CAR WAS PURCHASED LAST YEAR FROM A DEALER WITH ONLY 40,000 MILES ON IT, AND AT THAT TIME THE DEALER SAID, "THE OLD OWNER TRADED IT IN ON A NEW VEHICLE." SO, I HAVE NO RECORD IF THIS PROBLEM WAS RECALLED THROUGH THIS 1ST OWNER OR NOT? IT ACTED EXACTLY AS THE SAFETY COMPLAINT EXPLAINED, THE LOSS OF POWER WITH ENGINE MALFUNCTION. I WAS FORTUNATE TO GET OFF THE FREEWAY TO A SAFE PLACE TO STOP, WITH LACK OF POWER. IT WAS STRANGE TO SAY THE LEAST, AND THE VEHICLE NOW HAS 45,000 MILES ON THE ODOMETER.(I LOOKED UP ON THE SITE FOR RECALLS AND PUT IN THE VIN NUMBER, AND THE INDICATION CAME BACK, NO RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE. IT IS IRONIC THAT THIS IS THE SAME TYPE OF INCIDENT THAT HAPPENED TO CAUSE MAJOR PROBLEMS, ENOUGH TO HAVE AN ABC SAFETY RECALL SPECIAL, AND I EXPERIENCE THE SAME TYPE OF EVENT THAT MANY OTHERS HAD. PLEASE ADVISE ME OF MY NEXT PROCEDURE TO NOT EXPERIENCE THIS AGAIN. TROUBLED DRIVER 7/1/2016

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/18/2016 - SOMERSWORTH, NH
WIRING FOR DAYTIME RUNNING LIGHT MELTED ALL WIRING INSULATION OFF. I GOT A SHOCK WHILE REPLACING THE BULB BEFORE I REALIZED THERE WAS NO INSULATION LEFT. TO REPLACE THE LIGHT FIXURE IT IS IN EXCESS OF $1,500 EACH AND BOTH HAVE ALL INSULATION MELTED OFF THEIR WIRES. THE BULBS DO NOT STAY ON AND WE'RE HAVING DIFFICULTY GETTING A VALID NH INSPECTION STICKER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/17/2016 - GADSDEN, AL
VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY DRIVEN THE DAY BEFORE DROVE PERFECT NO PROBLEMS, THE DAY AFTER THE VEHICLE WHEN YOU PUT IN DRIVE OR REVERSE IT WOULD AUTOMATICALLY GO BACK TO PARK ON IT'S OWN AND WOULD NOT MOVE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED IN THE DRIVE WAY AS NORMAL. I HAD VEHICLE TOWED TO BMW THEY DIAGNOSED AS THE MECHATRONIC SLEEVE NEEDED REPLACING THEY CHARGED ME 1300 DOLLARS MY WIFE PICKED THE CAR UP AND DROVE 50 MILES AND THE CAR STARTED DOING THE SAME PREVIOUS BEHAVIOR I CONTACTED BMW THEY HAD ME TO TOW BACK TO THEIR DEALERSHIP A SECOND TIME BOTH TOWS COST ME 125 DOLLARS EACH THE CAR WAS THEN DIAGNOSED AS NEEDING A 9000 TRANSMISSION AND I WAS TOLD THE PREVIOUS REPAIR THAT I PAID FOR WOULD NOT BE CREDITED TOWARD THE NEW TRANSMISSION I'M OUTRAGED. MY SERVICE ADVISOR IS JOHN ARD AT TOM WILLIAMS BMW IN IRONDALE ALABAMA.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/17/2016 - GADSDEN, AL
VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY DRIVEN THE DAY BEFORE DROVE PERFECT NO PROBLEMS, THE DAY AFTER THE VEHICLE WHEN YOU PUT IN DRIVE OR REVERSE IT WOULD AUTOMATICALLY GO BACK TO PARK ON IT'S OWN AND WOULD NOT MOVE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED IN THE DRIVE WAY AS NORMAL. I HAD VEHICLE TOWED TO BMW THEY DIAGNOSED AS THE MECHATRONIC SLEEVE NEEDED REPLACING THEY CHARGED ME 1300 DOLLARS MY WIFE PICKED THE CAR UP AND DROVE 50 MILES AND THE CAR STARTED DOING THE SAME PREVIOUS BEHAVIOR I CONTACTED BMW THEY HAD ME TO TOW BACK TO THEIR DEALERSHIP A SECOND TIME BOTH TOWS COST ME 125 DOLLARS EACH THE CAR WAS THEN DIAGNOSED AS NEEDING A 9000 TRANSMISSION AND I WAS TOLD THE PREVIOUS REPAIR THAT I PAID FOR WOULD NOT BE CREDITED TOWARD THE NEW TRANSMISSION I'M OUTRAGED. MY SERVICE ADVISOR IS JOHN ARD AT TOM WILLIAMS BMW IN IRONDALE ALABAMA.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds