Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW 535I - 2008 BMW 535I Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 41 complaints filed for the 2008 BMW 535I

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 BMW 535I. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 BMW 535I, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Exterior Lighting (8) Power Train (1) Service Brakes (2) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electrical System (9) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seat Belts (5) Steering (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (16) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seats (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/25/2015 - LAUDERDALE LAKES, FL
THE HEAD LIGHT WIRING HAS FLAKED OFF AND CAUSED A SHORTAGE IN MY HEADLIGHTS

View Details

ENGINE

4/10/2015 - BOLINGBROOK, IL
WHILE DRIVING AT 45 MPH, YELLOW WARNING LIGHT INDICATING THE CAR WAS OVERHEATING CAME ON. A FEW SECONDS LATER THE LIGHT TURNED RED AND INDICATED TO STOP THE VEHICLE AND SHUT THE ENGINE OFF. VEHICLE LOST ALL POWER AND I CAME TO A STOP. IT WAS TOWED TO THE SHOP AND I WAS INFORMED THAT THE WATER PUMP AND THERMOSTAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED ADDING THAT IT WAS A COMMON FAILURE IN THE BMW. VEHICLE HAD RECENTLY BEEN SERVICED AT BMW DEALER.

View Details

ENGINE

4/2/2015 - RIVERVIEW, FL
VEHICLE LOSS POWER WHILE DRIVING ON HWY AND IDLE ROUGH. AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/18/2015 - CEDAR HILL, MO
2008 BMW 5-SERIES VEHICLES HAVE THE SAME ISSUE AS RECALLED 2004 - 2006 BMW 5-SERIES VEHICLES IN REGARDS TO THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT OCCUPANT DETECTION MAT MALFUNCTIONING. THE SEAT OCCUPANCY MAT IS FAULTY ON 2007 & 2008 MODELS AS WELL. THE CONSEQUENCE IS THAT THE PASSENGER AIR BAG WILL NOT DEPLOY EVEN IN THE EVENT OF A SEVERE CRASH. WHY WERE 2007 & 2008 BMWS NOT RECALLED ALREADY...?!?!? WHAT IS BEING DONE TO RECALL 2007 & 2008 BMW MODELS THAT USE THE SAME PARTS AS 2004 - 2006 MODELS...?!?!?

View Details

SEAT BELTS

3/18/2015 - CEDAR HILL, MO
2008 BMW 5-SERIES VEHICLES HAVE THE SAME ISSUE AS RECALLED 2004 - 2006 BMW 5-SERIES VEHICLES IN REGARDS TO THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT OCCUPANT DETECTION MAT MALFUNCTIONING. THE SEAT OCCUPANCY MAT IS FAULTY ON 2007 & 2008 MODELS AS WELL. THE CONSEQUENCE IS THAT THE PASSENGER AIR BAG WILL NOT DEPLOY EVEN IN THE EVENT OF A SEVERE CRASH. WHY WERE 2007 & 2008 BMWS NOT RECALLED ALREADY...?!?!? WHAT IS BEING DONE TO RECALL 2007 & 2008 BMW MODELS THAT USE THE SAME PARTS AS 2004 - 2006 MODELS...?!?!?

View Details

SEATS

3/18/2015 - CEDAR HILL, MO
2008 BMW 5-SERIES VEHICLES HAVE THE SAME ISSUE AS RECALLED 2004 - 2006 BMW 5-SERIES VEHICLES IN REGARDS TO THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT OCCUPANT DETECTION MAT MALFUNCTIONING. THE SEAT OCCUPANCY MAT IS FAULTY ON 2007 & 2008 MODELS AS WELL. THE CONSEQUENCE IS THAT THE PASSENGER AIR BAG WILL NOT DEPLOY EVEN IN THE EVENT OF A SEVERE CRASH. WHY WERE 2007 & 2008 BMWS NOT RECALLED ALREADY...?!?!? WHAT IS BEING DONE TO RECALL 2007 & 2008 BMW MODELS THAT USE THE SAME PARTS AS 2004 - 2006 MODELS...?!?!?

View Details

ENGINE

1/30/2015 - HAYWARD, CA
I DROVE TO WORK AND THE ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON THAT MORNING. THE CAR DROVE AS NORMAL. I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK AT APPROXIMATELY 6:30 P.M ON A BUSY INTERSTATE IN THE MIDDLE LANE TRAVELING APPROX. 65 MPH WHEN THE CAR BEGAN TO SHAKE AND LOSE POWER. IT AUTOMATICALLY SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL AND LOSE POWER. I HAD TO MANEUVER TO THE SHOULDER IN HEAVY TRAFFIC WITH NO POWER. AFTER TURNING ON MY HAZARD LIGHTS, I WAS ABLE TO SAFELY GET TO THE SHOULDER. THE CAR WAS TOWED HOME. AFTER A FEW DAYS, WE WERE ABLE TO DRIVE IT TO THE REPAIR SHOP (NOT BMW) AND WAS INITIALLY TOLD THAT SENSORS WERE BAD. REPLACED THEM AND A FEW DAYS LATER, THE SAME ENGINE WARNING LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN. THIS TIME I WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS BAD INJECTORS AND THAT THE FUEL IS BURNING TO RICH. BMW HAD PREVIOUSLY REPLACED 2 OF THE INJECTORS ABOUT 2 YEARS AGO. THE CAR ONLY HAD APPROXIMATELY 35K MILES AT THAT TIME AND NEEDED INJECTORS REPLACED. WHY THEY ONLY REPLACED 2, IS INCOMPREHENSIBLE. THANKFULLY, THE CAR WAS UNDER WARRANTY AT THAT TIME, UNFORTUNATELY FOR ME, IT IS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY AND NOW I HAVE TO FOOT THE $2K BILL TO HAVE THEM REPLACED. BMW SHOULD BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE TO ITS OWNERS AND REPLACE THESE INJECTORS SINCE THERE ARE SO MANY REPORTED PROBLEMS. THERE IS OBVIOUSLY AN ISSUE WITH THE INJECTORS. THESE CARS ARE NOT INEXPENSIVE TO PURCHASE AND IT IS UNFAIR TO BE STUCK WITH THESE HIGH REPAIR BILLS WHEN THERE IS A KNOW PROBLEM AND REPORTED BY SO MANY BMW OWNERS. FIRST, IT WAS MY WATER PUMP, AND NOW THE FUEL INJECTORS. THIS IS MY SECOND BMW. I PREVIOUSLY OWNED THE 328 AND IT HAD LIFTERS REPLACED AFTER ABOUT 8 MONTHS. I WILL NOT PURCHASE ANOTHER BMW - PROBABLY GO WITH LEXUS! SHAME ON BMW FOR NOT TAKING OWNERSHIP OF THIS PROBLEM..

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/30/2015 - HAYWARD, CA
I DROVE TO WORK AND THE ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON THAT MORNING. THE CAR DROVE AS NORMAL. I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK AT APPROXIMATELY 6:30 P.M ON A BUSY INTERSTATE IN THE MIDDLE LANE TRAVELING APPROX. 65 MPH WHEN THE CAR BEGAN TO SHAKE AND LOSE POWER. IT AUTOMATICALLY SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL AND LOSE POWER. I HAD TO MANEUVER TO THE SHOULDER IN HEAVY TRAFFIC WITH NO POWER. AFTER TURNING ON MY HAZARD LIGHTS, I WAS ABLE TO SAFELY GET TO THE SHOULDER. THE CAR WAS TOWED HOME. AFTER A FEW DAYS, WE WERE ABLE TO DRIVE IT TO THE REPAIR SHOP (NOT BMW) AND WAS INITIALLY TOLD THAT SENSORS WERE BAD. REPLACED THEM AND A FEW DAYS LATER, THE SAME ENGINE WARNING LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN. THIS TIME I WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS BAD INJECTORS AND THAT THE FUEL IS BURNING TO RICH. BMW HAD PREVIOUSLY REPLACED 2 OF THE INJECTORS ABOUT 2 YEARS AGO. THE CAR ONLY HAD APPROXIMATELY 35K MILES AT THAT TIME AND NEEDED INJECTORS REPLACED. WHY THEY ONLY REPLACED 2, IS INCOMPREHENSIBLE. THANKFULLY, THE CAR WAS UNDER WARRANTY AT THAT TIME, UNFORTUNATELY FOR ME, IT IS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY AND NOW I HAVE TO FOOT THE $2K BILL TO HAVE THEM REPLACED. BMW SHOULD BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE TO ITS OWNERS AND REPLACE THESE INJECTORS SINCE THERE ARE SO MANY REPORTED PROBLEMS. THERE IS OBVIOUSLY AN ISSUE WITH THE INJECTORS. THESE CARS ARE NOT INEXPENSIVE TO PURCHASE AND IT IS UNFAIR TO BE STUCK WITH THESE HIGH REPAIR BILLS WHEN THERE IS A KNOW PROBLEM AND REPORTED BY SO MANY BMW OWNERS. FIRST, IT WAS MY WATER PUMP, AND NOW THE FUEL INJECTORS. THIS IS MY SECOND BMW. I PREVIOUSLY OWNED THE 328 AND IT HAD LIFTERS REPLACED AFTER ABOUT 8 MONTHS. I WILL NOT PURCHASE ANOTHER BMW - PROBABLY GO WITH LEXUS! SHAME ON BMW FOR NOT TAKING OWNERSHIP OF THIS PROBLEM..

View Details

ENGINE

12/16/2014 - COLUMBUS, GA
DROVE THE CAR HOME FROM WORK THE DAY BEFORE. WENT OUT THE NEXT DAY TO START THE VEHICLE AND IT WAS SHAKING AND VIBRATING TREMENDOUSLY. I HAD IT TOWED TO THE BMW DEALERSHIP THAT STATED THE INJECTORS WERE BAD AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED FOR $1,700.00. THEY THEN CALLED ME BACK AND STATED THE DM E WAS ALSO BAD AND THE CODES DIDN'T PICK IT UP IN THE BEGINNING. THEY THEN ASKED FOR AN ADITIONAL $1,800.00. I PICKED UP MY CAR AFTER REPAIRS AND DID NOT MAKE IT HOME BEFORE THE CHECK EGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND LOST POWER. TOOK IT BACK TO THE BMW DEALERSHIP WHO THEN STATED IT WAS THE TURBOS THAT WAS BAD AND IT WOULD BE AN ADDITIONAL $5,600.!!!! I AM NOT PLEASED WITH THE 535I. I HAVE WANTED A BMW ALL OF MY LIFE AND I FINALLY GET ONE AND IT'S BEEN A NIGHTMARE. THE WATER PUMP WENT OUT TWO MONTHS AFTER I PURCHASED IT FOR $1,700.00! THE BMW 535I HAS BEEN ONE HEADACHE AFTER THE NEXT AND I FEEL LIKE I WAS SOLD A USED LEMON OF A CAR!!! I BOUGHT IT FROM A CERTIFIED BMW DEALERSHIP!!! WHAT A RIP OFF!!! I CALLED BMW OF NORTH AMERICA AND THEY REFUSED TO OFFER ASSISTANCE WITH REPAIRS AND SO DID THE DEALERSHIP!!! I FEEL LIKE I'VE BEEN ROBBED!!!

View Details

ENGINE

11/25/2014 - BYRON, GA
2008 BMW 535I @70 MPH, , WHEN, WITH NO WARNING, LARGE RED WARNING LIGHT APPEARS, "ENGINE OVERHEATED - TURN OFF ENGINE." LIGHT CAME ON SUDDENLY AND ENGINE DIED ,. BARELY ABLE TO GET TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. DISCOVERED THE PROBLEM WAS AN IMMEDIATE FAILURE OF THE ELECTRIC WATER PUMP WHICH CAUSES SUDDEN ENGINE LOSS PLACING ME@ DANGER. THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN REPORTED BY MANY DRIVERS TO BMW (SEE ONLINE FORUMS) AND THEY KNOW THIS IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM BUT HAVE NOT ISSUED RECALL NOTICES ON THE ELECTRIC WATER PUMPS ON THEIR VEHICLES. THE COMPLAINT IS REPORTED ON EVERY FORUM REGARDING THE CAR, AS WELL AS ON THIS SITE. PLEASE ADVISE WHAT IT TAKES TO REACH THE LEVEL OF A RECALL

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds