Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW 535I - 2008 BMW 535I Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 34 complaints filed for the 2008 BMW 535I

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 BMW 535I. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 BMW 535I, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (7) Power Train (1) Service Brakes (2) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electrical System (9) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (4) Steering (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (11) Fuel System Gasoline (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

SEAT BELTS

10/19/2014 - CEDAR HILL, MO
MY 2008 BMW 535I IS SUFFERING FROM THE SAME PASSENGER RESTRAINT SYSTEM MALFUNCTION ERROR AS THE EARLIER BMW MODELS. NHTSA INFORMATION I'VE READ INDICATES THAT THE PASSENGER AIRBAG WILL NOT DEPLOY IN THE EVENT OF A SUBSTANTIAL FRONT END COLLISION, WHICH POSES A SIGNIFICANT RISK TO PASSENGERS. BMW ONLY RECALLED MODEL YEARS 2004 - 2006, HOWEVER. THIS IS NOT AN ISOLATED INCIDENT TO THOSE YEARS. MY 2008 BMW 535I THROWS THE ERROR EVERY TIME I DRIVE WITH OR WITHOUT A PASSENGER. BOTH THE PASSENGER SIDE SEAT BELT LIGHT AND THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG LIGHT REMAIN ILLUMINATED ANY TIME THE KEY IS IN THE IGNITION. WHAT IS BEING DONE ABOUT MORE RECENT BMW MODELS?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/19/2014 - CEDAR HILL, MO
MY 2008 BMW 535I IS SUFFERING FROM THE SAME PASSENGER RESTRAINT SYSTEM MALFUNCTION ERROR AS THE EARLIER BMW MODELS. NHTSA INFORMATION I'VE READ INDICATES THAT THE PASSENGER AIRBAG WILL NOT DEPLOY IN THE EVENT OF A SUBSTANTIAL FRONT END COLLISION, WHICH POSES A SIGNIFICANT RISK TO PASSENGERS. BMW ONLY RECALLED MODEL YEARS 2004 - 2006, HOWEVER. THIS IS NOT AN ISOLATED INCIDENT TO THOSE YEARS. MY 2008 BMW 535I THROWS THE ERROR EVERY TIME I DRIVE WITH OR WITHOUT A PASSENGER. BOTH THE PASSENGER SIDE SEAT BELT LIGHT AND THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG LIGHT REMAIN ILLUMINATED ANY TIME THE KEY IS IN THE IGNITION. WHAT IS BEING DONE ABOUT MORE RECENT BMW MODELS?

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/19/2014 - CEDAR HILL, MO
MY 2008 BMW 535I IS SUFFERING FROM THE SAME PASSENGER RESTRAINT SYSTEM MALFUNCTION ERROR AS THE EARLIER BMW MODELS. NHTSA INFORMATION I'VE READ INDICATES THAT THE PASSENGER AIRBAG WILL NOT DEPLOY IN THE EVENT OF A SUBSTANTIAL FRONT END COLLISION, WHICH POSES A SIGNIFICANT RISK TO PASSENGERS. BMW ONLY RECALLED MODEL YEARS 2004 - 2006, HOWEVER. THIS IS NOT AN ISOLATED INCIDENT TO THOSE YEARS. MY 2008 BMW 535I THROWS THE ERROR EVERY TIME I DRIVE WITH OR WITHOUT A PASSENGER. BOTH THE PASSENGER SIDE SEAT BELT LIGHT AND THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG LIGHT REMAIN ILLUMINATED ANY TIME THE KEY IS IN THE IGNITION. WHAT IS BEING DONE ABOUT MORE RECENT BMW MODELS?

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/27/2014 - SIMPSONVILLE , SC
HEADLIGHT ALMOST CAUGHT ON FIRE. STARTED CAR AND AS I WAS BACKING OUT OF GARAGE I SMELLED A BURNING SMELL AND THEN RECEIVED A DRIVERS SIDE BULB OUT ERROR INDICATION. WHEN I RETUNED TO THE HOUSE I LOOKED AT THE HEADLIGHT AND NOTICED THE INNER LENS HAD FALLEN AWAY INSIDE THE HOUSING. I BEGAN TO EXAMINE THE HEADLIGHT CLOSER AND DISCOVERED A LOT OF WIRES THAT WERE BASICALLY ROTTEN. MEANING THERE WAS NO INSULATION WHAT SO EVER TO PROTECT AGAINST A SHORT IF THE WIRES MADE CONTACT. I EXAMINED THE PASSENGER SIDE HEADLIGHT ONLY TO FIND THE EXACT SAME CONDITION WITH THE WIRING, LARGE AMOUNTS OF BARE UNPROTECTED WIRES. FURTHER INVESTIGATION SHOWED THE THE ENTIRE INNER LENS BECAME SO HOT THAT THE PLASTIC WELDS MELTED AND ALSO THE METAL HOUSING CAUSING THE LENS TO FALL AWAY. I CONTACTED BMW NA AND WAS TOLD ON THE PHONE THEY WERE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM BUT COULD NOT COVER THE REPAIR BECAUSE THE CAR IS OUT OF WARRANTY. THIS SITUATION COULD HAVE EASILY LED TO A FULL VEHICLE FIRE HAD I NOT INSPECTED THE PROBLEM AND ATTEMPTED TO REPAIR WITH ELECTRICAL TAPE. I CANNOT GET TO ALL OF THE BARE WIRES BECAUSE THEY ARE INSIDE THE HEAD LIGHT. THE COST OF REPLACING BOTH HEADLIGHT IS ~ $3000.00 PARTS PLUS AROUND 250 IN LABOR CHARGES. SADLY IF THIS IS NOT PROPERLY DISCOVERED IT COULD LEAD TO A TOTAL DESTRUCTION FROM A FIRE IN THE VEHICLE AND EVEN DEATH IF THE DRIVER WAS TO BECOME A AFIXATED FROM THE FUMES WHILE TRAVELING ON THE HIGHWAY.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

9/10/2014 - WELLINGTON, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BMW 535I. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE SEAT WAS OCCUPIED, THE PASSENGER RESTRAINT MALFUNCTION WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE PASSENGER SEAT BELT LIGHT FAILED TO DISENGAGE WHEN AN OCCUPANT WAS PROPERLY SECURED WITH A SEAT BELT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 98,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/31/2014 - CLINTON , NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BMW 535I. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE NAVIGATIONAL SYSTEM ADVISED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER RESTRAINT AND AIR BAG WAS MALFUNCTIONING. THE DEALERSHIP ADVISED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE MANUFACTURER'S AIR BAG IMPROVEMENT CAMPAIGN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO HAVE A DIAGNOSTIC PERFORMED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS MANUFACTURER 88, 8000.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

7/31/2014 - CLINTON , NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BMW 535I. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE NAVIGATIONAL SYSTEM ADVISED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER RESTRAINT AND AIR BAG WAS MALFUNCTIONING. THE DEALERSHIP ADVISED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE MANUFACTURER'S AIR BAG IMPROVEMENT CAMPAIGN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO HAVE A DIAGNOSTIC PERFORMED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS MANUFACTURER 88, 8000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/11/2014 - PHOENIX, AZ
NEW BATTERY INSTALL CAUSED POWER SURGE DAMAGING ELECTRICAL SYSTEM.

View Details

ENGINE

6/28/2014 - REX, GA
DURING HIGHWAY TRAVELING UPON ACCELERATION TO CHANGE LANES THE CAR BEGAN TO LOSE POWER AND STALL. A ENGINE MALFUNCTION LIGHT CAME/REDUCED POWER. I HAD TO DRIVE THE CAR ABOUT 45 MPH BECAUSE IT BEGAN TO SHAKE AS IF IT WAS GOING TO CUT OFF. DEALERSHIP ADVISED THAT IS WAS NOT THE HPFP (HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP). I WAS TOLD THAT ALL SIX FUEL INJECTORS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THIS CAR CAN BE VERY DANGEROUS TO DRIVE ON THE HIGHWAY BECAUSE OF ITS UNRELIABILITY!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/28/2014 - APTOS, CA
DRIVING A 2008 BMW 535I AT HIGHWAY SPEED, APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, WHEN, WITH NO WARNING, LARGE RED WARNING LIGHT APPEARS, "ENGINE OVERHEATED - TURN OFF ENGINE." LIGHT CAME ON SUDDENLY AND ENGINE DIED TO 5 MPH AND THEN STOPPED RUNNING. BARELY ABLE TO GET TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND IN GREAT DANGER FROM TRUCKS BEARING DOWN ON A MOUNTAINOUS CURVING CALIFORNIA HIGHWAY. DISCOVERED THE PROBLEM WAS AN IMMEDIATE FAILURE OF THE ELECTRIC WATER PUMP WHICH CAUSES SUDDEN ENGINE LOSS PLACING THE DRIVER IN GRAVE DANGER. THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN REPORTED BY MANY DRIVERS TO BMW (SEE ONLINE FORUMS) AND THEY KNOW THIS IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM BUT HAVE NOT ISSUED RECALL NOTICES ON THE ELECTRIC WATER PUMPS ON THEIR VEHICLES. THEY PREVIOUSLY ISSUED RECALLS ON THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMPS BUT THIS ALSO REQUIRES A RECALL AS THE CAR ABRUPTLY DIES AT HIGHWAY SPEED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds