Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW 535I - 2008 BMW 535I Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 44 complaints filed for the 2008 BMW 535I

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 BMW 535I. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 BMW 535I, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (2) Service Brakes (2) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electrical System (10) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seat Belts (5) Steering (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (17) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seats (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/18/2016 - SOMERSWORTH, NH
WIRING FOR DAYTIME RUNNING LIGHT MELTED ALL WIRING INSULATION OFF. I GOT A SHOCK WHILE REPLACING THE BULB BEFORE I REALIZED THERE WAS NO INSULATION LEFT. TO REPLACE THE LIGHT FIXURE IT IS IN EXCESS OF $1,500 EACH AND BOTH HAVE ALL INSULATION MELTED OFF THEIR WIRES. THE BULBS DO NOT STAY ON AND WE'RE HAVING DIFFICULTY GETTING A VALID NH INSPECTION STICKER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/17/2016 - GADSDEN, AL
VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY DRIVEN THE DAY BEFORE DROVE PERFECT NO PROBLEMS, THE DAY AFTER THE VEHICLE WHEN YOU PUT IN DRIVE OR REVERSE IT WOULD AUTOMATICALLY GO BACK TO PARK ON IT'S OWN AND WOULD NOT MOVE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED IN THE DRIVE WAY AS NORMAL. I HAD VEHICLE TOWED TO BMW THEY DIAGNOSED AS THE MECHATRONIC SLEEVE NEEDED REPLACING THEY CHARGED ME 1300 DOLLARS MY WIFE PICKED THE CAR UP AND DROVE 50 MILES AND THE CAR STARTED DOING THE SAME PREVIOUS BEHAVIOR I CONTACTED BMW THEY HAD ME TO TOW BACK TO THEIR DEALERSHIP A SECOND TIME BOTH TOWS COST ME 125 DOLLARS EACH THE CAR WAS THEN DIAGNOSED AS NEEDING A 9000 TRANSMISSION AND I WAS TOLD THE PREVIOUS REPAIR THAT I PAID FOR WOULD NOT BE CREDITED TOWARD THE NEW TRANSMISSION I'M OUTRAGED. MY SERVICE ADVISOR IS JOHN ARD AT TOM WILLIAMS BMW IN IRONDALE ALABAMA.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/17/2016 - GADSDEN, AL
VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY DRIVEN THE DAY BEFORE DROVE PERFECT NO PROBLEMS, THE DAY AFTER THE VEHICLE WHEN YOU PUT IN DRIVE OR REVERSE IT WOULD AUTOMATICALLY GO BACK TO PARK ON IT'S OWN AND WOULD NOT MOVE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED IN THE DRIVE WAY AS NORMAL. I HAD VEHICLE TOWED TO BMW THEY DIAGNOSED AS THE MECHATRONIC SLEEVE NEEDED REPLACING THEY CHARGED ME 1300 DOLLARS MY WIFE PICKED THE CAR UP AND DROVE 50 MILES AND THE CAR STARTED DOING THE SAME PREVIOUS BEHAVIOR I CONTACTED BMW THEY HAD ME TO TOW BACK TO THEIR DEALERSHIP A SECOND TIME BOTH TOWS COST ME 125 DOLLARS EACH THE CAR WAS THEN DIAGNOSED AS NEEDING A 9000 TRANSMISSION AND I WAS TOLD THE PREVIOUS REPAIR THAT I PAID FOR WOULD NOT BE CREDITED TOWARD THE NEW TRANSMISSION I'M OUTRAGED. MY SERVICE ADVISOR IS JOHN ARD AT TOM WILLIAMS BMW IN IRONDALE ALABAMA.

View Details

ENGINE

11/20/2015 - PULLMAN, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BMW MODEL 535I. WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, AN UNKNOWN WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND INDICATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS OVERHEATING. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 11V521000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 101,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/25/2015 - LAUDERDALE LAKES, FL
THE HEAD LIGHT WIRING HAS FLAKED OFF AND CAUSED A SHORTAGE IN MY HEADLIGHTS

View Details

ENGINE

4/10/2015 - BOLINGBROOK, IL
WHILE DRIVING AT 45 MPH, YELLOW WARNING LIGHT INDICATING THE CAR WAS OVERHEATING CAME ON. A FEW SECONDS LATER THE LIGHT TURNED RED AND INDICATED TO STOP THE VEHICLE AND SHUT THE ENGINE OFF. VEHICLE LOST ALL POWER AND I CAME TO A STOP. IT WAS TOWED TO THE SHOP AND I WAS INFORMED THAT THE WATER PUMP AND THERMOSTAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED ADDING THAT IT WAS A COMMON FAILURE IN THE BMW. VEHICLE HAD RECENTLY BEEN SERVICED AT BMW DEALER.

View Details

ENGINE

4/2/2015 - RIVERVIEW, FL
VEHICLE LOSS POWER WHILE DRIVING ON HWY AND IDLE ROUGH. AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/18/2015 - CEDAR HILL, MO
2008 BMW 5-SERIES VEHICLES HAVE THE SAME ISSUE AS RECALLED 2004 - 2006 BMW 5-SERIES VEHICLES IN REGARDS TO THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT OCCUPANT DETECTION MAT MALFUNCTIONING. THE SEAT OCCUPANCY MAT IS FAULTY ON 2007 & 2008 MODELS AS WELL. THE CONSEQUENCE IS THAT THE PASSENGER AIR BAG WILL NOT DEPLOY EVEN IN THE EVENT OF A SEVERE CRASH. WHY WERE 2007 & 2008 BMWS NOT RECALLED ALREADY...?!?!? WHAT IS BEING DONE TO RECALL 2007 & 2008 BMW MODELS THAT USE THE SAME PARTS AS 2004 - 2006 MODELS...?!?!?

View Details

SEATS

3/18/2015 - CEDAR HILL, MO
2008 BMW 5-SERIES VEHICLES HAVE THE SAME ISSUE AS RECALLED 2004 - 2006 BMW 5-SERIES VEHICLES IN REGARDS TO THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT OCCUPANT DETECTION MAT MALFUNCTIONING. THE SEAT OCCUPANCY MAT IS FAULTY ON 2007 & 2008 MODELS AS WELL. THE CONSEQUENCE IS THAT THE PASSENGER AIR BAG WILL NOT DEPLOY EVEN IN THE EVENT OF A SEVERE CRASH. WHY WERE 2007 & 2008 BMWS NOT RECALLED ALREADY...?!?!? WHAT IS BEING DONE TO RECALL 2007 & 2008 BMW MODELS THAT USE THE SAME PARTS AS 2004 - 2006 MODELS...?!?!?

View Details

SEAT BELTS

3/18/2015 - CEDAR HILL, MO
2008 BMW 5-SERIES VEHICLES HAVE THE SAME ISSUE AS RECALLED 2004 - 2006 BMW 5-SERIES VEHICLES IN REGARDS TO THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT OCCUPANT DETECTION MAT MALFUNCTIONING. THE SEAT OCCUPANCY MAT IS FAULTY ON 2007 & 2008 MODELS AS WELL. THE CONSEQUENCE IS THAT THE PASSENGER AIR BAG WILL NOT DEPLOY EVEN IN THE EVENT OF A SEVERE CRASH. WHY WERE 2007 & 2008 BMWS NOT RECALLED ALREADY...?!?!? WHAT IS BEING DONE TO RECALL 2007 & 2008 BMW MODELS THAT USE THE SAME PARTS AS 2004 - 2006 MODELS...?!?!?

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds