Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW 535I - 2008 BMW 535I Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 54 complaints filed for the 2008 BMW 535I

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 BMW 535I. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 BMW 535I, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Exterior Lighting (12) Power Train (3) Service Brakes (3) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electrical System (13) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seat Belts (5) Steering (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (19) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seats (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

1/6/2017 - CAPE CORAL, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 (NA) BMW 535I. WHILE REVERSING OUT OF A PARKING SPACE AT 4 MPH, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND FAILED TO ENGAGE. THE CONTACT APPLIED PRESSURE AND THE BRAKE PEDAL TRAVELED TO THE FLOOR WHEN IT FINALLY ENGAGED. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A PARKED VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE POLICE WERE NOTIFIED, BUT NO REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED, THE MECHANIC INFORMED THE CONTACT OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V446000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 120,000.

View Details

ENGINE

12/21/2016 - TUSCALOOSA, AL
ENGINE MALFUNCTION-DRIVING WITH REDUCED POWER NOTICE. HAVE PREVIOUSLY BEEN TOLD THAT "SERVICE ENGINE" LIGHT AND SHAKING AND STALLING DURING ACCELERATION WAS DUE TO IGNITION COILS. I HAVE HAD THOSE REPLACED AND AFTER REPLACING THOSE THE WATER PUMP FAILED AND LEFT ME STRANDED ON INTERSTATE....VEHICLE SHUT DOWN WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH. WAS ABLE TO COAST TO SAFETY. NOW ENGINE MALFUNCTION. FROM LOOKING AT RECALL INFORMATION IT APPEARS THAT I SHOULD HAVE BEEN NOTIFIED TO ISSUES WITH WATER PUMP AND REPLACEMENT BUT WAS NEVER CONTACTED. BMW SHOULD BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE TO CUSTOMER WHO PAID FOR SERVICE THAT WAS OBVIOUSLY NOT THE REAL ISSUE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/10/2016 - GRIFFIN, GA
MY CAR IS STALLING WHILE I'M DRIVING. " ENGINE MALFUNCTION REDUCE POWER " THE CODE IS ( P 3090 ) .. IT'S VERY UNSAFE . I DON'T HAVE POWER TO MOVE IT TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD SAFELY.. I DRIVE MAINLY INTERSTATES I 75 AND I475 TO MACON GEORGIA.

View Details

ENGINE

12/10/2016 - GRIFFIN, GA
MY CAR IS STALLING WHILE I'M DRIVING. " ENGINE MALFUNCTION REDUCE POWER " THE CODE IS ( P 3090 ) .. IT'S VERY UNSAFE . I DON'T HAVE POWER TO MOVE IT TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD SAFELY.. I DRIVE MAINLY INTERSTATES I 75 AND I475 TO MACON GEORGIA.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/28/2016 - WINSTON-SALEM, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BMW 535I. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE FUEL PUMP FAILED AND THE ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS PULLED OVER TO THE SHOULDER AND TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT BOTH OF THE VEHICLE+S FUEL PUMPS WERE REPLACED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE SAME DEALER AND THE FUEL PUMP WAS REPLACED AGAIN DUE TO A DEFECTIVE MANUFACTURER+S PART. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/25/2016 - SUNNY ISLES, FL
I ORDERED NEW LIGHT BULBS TO CHANGE OUT MY HALO ANGEL BULB LIGHTS (RUNNING PARKING LAMPS) .WHICH SAID THEY WERE OUT ON MY SCREEN INSIDE OF THE BMW . WHEN I TWISTED OFF THE HOUSING CAP IN THE BACK ,THE WIRING INSIDE OF MY HEADLIGHT HOUSING WHICH TURNS ON MY PARKING LIGHTS LEFT AND RIGHT IS TOTALLY DEGRADED AND FLAKED OFF ,THE COPPER CABLES WERE TOUCHING EVERYWHERE .I READ THIS IS BECAUSE GERMANY USE BIODEGRADABLE MATERIAL BUT THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS FIRE HAZARD FOR DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAYS AND ROAD IN FLORIDA . WE AS 5 SERIES OWNERS FOR THESE YEARS NEED A RECALL OF NEW HARNESS WITH BETTER WIRING .EVEN IF YOU BUY A NEW HOUSING IT WILL DO THE SAME THING IN 4 YEARS GUARANTEED . YOU WOULD HAVE TO FIND SOME ONE TO REWIRE IT WITH THE SAME CABLES FORD USES SO IT CAN LAST 20+ YEARS . PLEASE FIX.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

10/25/2016 - SUNNY ISLES, FL
I ORDERED NEW LIGHT BULBS TO CHANGE OUT MY HALO ANGEL BULB LIGHTS (RUNNING PARKING LAMPS) .WHICH SAID THEY WERE OUT ON MY SCREEN INSIDE OF THE BMW . WHEN I TWISTED OFF THE HOUSING CAP IN THE BACK ,THE WIRING INSIDE OF MY HEADLIGHT HOUSING WHICH TURNS ON MY PARKING LIGHTS LEFT AND RIGHT IS TOTALLY DEGRADED AND FLAKED OFF ,THE COPPER CABLES WERE TOUCHING EVERYWHERE .I READ THIS IS BECAUSE GERMANY USE BIODEGRADABLE MATERIAL BUT THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS FIRE HAZARD FOR DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAYS AND ROAD IN FLORIDA . WE AS 5 SERIES OWNERS FOR THESE YEARS NEED A RECALL OF NEW HARNESS WITH BETTER WIRING .EVEN IF YOU BUY A NEW HOUSING IT WILL DO THE SAME THING IN 4 YEARS GUARANTEED . YOU WOULD HAVE TO FIND SOME ONE TO REWIRE IT WITH THE SAME CABLES FORD USES SO IT CAN LAST 20+ YEARS . PLEASE FIX.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/30/2016 - LAWRENCEVILLE, GA
MY 2008 BMW 535I HEADLIGHT WENT OUT AND I TOOK IT TO A CERTIFIED MECHANIC TO CHANGE THE HEADLIGHT BULB, HE TOOK OUT THE HEADLIGHT AND SHOWN TO ME THE WIRING IN BOTH HEADLIGHTS HAVE FLAKED OFF AND HAD PRESENTED A FIRE HAZARD SITUATION WHICH CAUSED THE FUSE THE BLEW. I RESEARCHED THE BMW FORUMS AND FOUND LOTS OF PEOPLE WITH THE SAME ISSUE, HENCE, IT IS NOT AN OUTLIER. I CONTACTED BMW USA AND THEY REFUSED TO REMEDY THE SITUATION. I WAS TOLD BY THEM THAT THE VEHICLE IS OUT OF WARRANTY AND THAT THE VEHICLE MILEAGE WAS PAST THE HEADLIGHT WIRING SHOULD NOT GO BAD IN 8 YEARS AND THEY WERE RUDE AND TOLD ME THEY WILL NOT PAY FOR IT. I ALSO LEARNT THAT MOST OF THESE HEADLIGHT WIRES IN THE E60 FLAKED OFF WITHIN 50K MILES AND ARE NOT DISCOVERED UNTIL A SHORT OR BLOWN BULB. HELLA (THE MANUFACTURER OF THE HEADLIGHT) SAID IT IS NOT THEIR PROBLEM SINCE THE MAKE THE HEADLIGHTS TO BMW SPECIFICATIONS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/30/2016 - LAWRENCEVILLE, GA
MY 2008 BMW 535I HEADLIGHT WENT OUT AND I TOOK IT TO A CERTIFIED MECHANIC TO CHANGE THE HEADLIGHT BULB, HE TOOK OUT THE HEADLIGHT AND SHOWN TO ME THE WIRING IN BOTH HEADLIGHTS HAVE FLAKED OFF AND HAD PRESENTED A FIRE HAZARD SITUATION WHICH CAUSED THE FUSE THE BLEW. I RESEARCHED THE BMW FORUMS AND FOUND LOTS OF PEOPLE WITH THE SAME ISSUE, HENCE, IT IS NOT AN OUTLIER. I CONTACTED BMW USA AND THEY REFUSED TO REMEDY THE SITUATION. I WAS TOLD BY THEM THAT THE VEHICLE IS OUT OF WARRANTY AND THAT THE VEHICLE MILEAGE WAS PAST THE HEADLIGHT WIRING SHOULD NOT GO BAD IN 8 YEARS AND THEY WERE RUDE AND TOLD ME THEY WILL NOT PAY FOR IT. I ALSO LEARNT THAT MOST OF THESE HEADLIGHT WIRES IN THE E60 FLAKED OFF WITHIN 50K MILES AND ARE NOT DISCOVERED UNTIL A SHORT OR BLOWN BULB. HELLA (THE MANUFACTURER OF THE HEADLIGHT) SAID IT IS NOT THEIR PROBLEM SINCE THE MAKE THE HEADLIGHTS TO BMW SPECIFICATIONS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/29/2016 - FAIRBURN, GA
WHILE DRIVING ON A RURAL HIGHWAY TO WORK THE CAR SHUTDOWN COMPLETLY. I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE MECHANIC FOR A DIAGNOTIC CHECK. THE CAR NEEDED ALTERNATOR AND WATER PUMP. I CALLED BMW BECAUSE THERE IS A RECALL ON THE WATER PUMP ON MY VEHICLE. THE CUSTOMER SERVICE REP STATED THAT RECALLS ARE VENDOR SPECIFIC. THAT DOES NOT MAKE SINCE TO ME SINCE CARS ARE MADE ON AN ASSEMBLY LINE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds