Auto Recalls for Consumers

BUICK ENCLAVE - 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 177 complaints filed for the 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (37) Steering (48) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (24) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (19) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (1) Suspension (1) Visibility (14)
Engine (15) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (3)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

4/16/2014 - ROANOKE, VA
A LITTLE AFTER WE PURCHASED THE VEHICLE IN JULY 2009, THE PASSENGER AIRBAG SENSOR LIGHT WOULD MALFUNCTION AND INDICATE THAT NO PASSENGER WAS SITTING IN SEAT EVEN THOUGH THEY WERE. WE MOVED THE SEAT, WE BOUNCED IN THE SEAT AND THE SENSOR STILL DID NOT DETECT PASSENGER. WE TOOK THE CAR TO DEALER SEVERAL TIMES AND WERE TOLD THAT THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG. WE TOOK THE CAR TO DEALER 04/16/2014 TO HAVE THE SENSOR CHECK AND THEY HAVE REPROGRAMMED THE SENSOR, HOWEVER, THIS COST US $103.17. DEALER SERVICE ADVISED US THAT IF THE SENSOR MALFUNCTIONS AGAIN, THEY WOULD HAVE TO REPLACE IT, HOWEVER WE WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR LABOR AND PART. I JUST CAME ACROSS THIS WEBSITE AND DECIDED TO FILE A COMPLAINT BECAUSE UPON LOOKING IN YOUR COMPLAINT DATABASE, IT SEEMS THAT OTHER ENCLAVE OWNERS HAVE EXPERIENCED THE SAME THING YET, GM HAS NOT RECALLED THE CAR WHICH IS OBVIOUSLY A FLAW IN THEIR ELECTRICAL SYSTEMS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/10/2014 - BRIAR CLIFF , NY
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE INSTRUMENT PANEL ALSO FAILED AND BLANKED OUT. ADDITIONALLY, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO LOSE POWER AND STALLED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO ADVISED THAT THE WIRES UNDER THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER+S SEAT HAD SHORT CIRCUITED AND WERE EXPOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE REPAIRS DID NOT PREVENT THE VEHICLE FROM STALLING AGAIN. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE AFTER THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A LOCAL DEALER, WHO REPLACED THE WIRES UNDER THE SEATS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER THE SECOND REPAIR, THERE WERE STILL EXPOSED WIRES PROTRUDING FROM UNDER THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER+S SEAT AND THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT WOULD ILLUMINATE SPORADICALLY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE RECURRING FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 51,061. KMJ

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/10/2014 - BRIAR CLIFF , NY
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE INSTRUMENT PANEL ALSO FAILED AND BLANKED OUT. ADDITIONALLY, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO LOSE POWER AND STALLED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO ADVISED THAT THE WIRES UNDER THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER+S SEAT HAD SHORT CIRCUITED AND WERE EXPOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE REPAIRS DID NOT PREVENT THE VEHICLE FROM STALLING AGAIN. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE AFTER THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A LOCAL DEALER, WHO REPLACED THE WIRES UNDER THE SEATS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER THE SECOND REPAIR, THERE WERE STILL EXPOSED WIRES PROTRUDING FROM UNDER THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER+S SEAT AND THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT WOULD ILLUMINATE SPORADICALLY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE RECURRING FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 51,061. KMJ

View Details

STEERING

4/9/2014 - PARIS, TX
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL A LOUD SOUND WILL COME FROM THE STEERING COLUMN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALERSHIP AND THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THE RACK AND PINION WAS DETERIORATING. NO REPAIRS WERE DONE TO THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURE WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 45,000 MILES AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 55,000. SR

View Details

STEERING

4/9/2014 - SWARTZ CREEK, MI
THE POWER STEERING FAILED DURING A LOW SPEED TURN, FORTUNATELY, THERE WAS NO OTHER TRAFFIC AND I WAS ABLE TO COMPLETE THE TURN, THE CONDITION IS REPEATING ITSELF AND I CONSIDER IT A SAFETY ISSUE. I HAVE CALLED THE DEALER SERVICE DEPT TWICE AND THEY ARE NOT RETURNING MY CALL.

View Details

STEERING

4/7/2014 - KENOSHA, WI
POWER STEERING FAILED OUT OF NO-WHERE WHILE TURNING AT AN INTERSECTION. BARELY MISSED SIDE-SWIPING A POLICE CAR. ONLY HAD ASSIST UNDER HIGH RPM'S.(I AM AN ADULT AND HAVE HAD PREVIOUS EXPERIENCE DRIVING VEHICLES WITH NO POWER STEERING, MY TEENAGE CHILDREN WOULD HAVE NOT KNOWN WHAT TO DO OR HOW IT FEELS TO LOSE POWER STEERING, SO I AM THANKFUL THAT THIS HAPPENED WHILE I WAS DRIVING THE CAR AND NOT THEM!) THIS WAS AN EXTREMELY HAZARDOUS SITUATION, AND NO RECALL? CAR WAS COMPLETELY UNSAFE TO DRIVE. PRIOR TO THIS INCIDENT THE VEHICLE MADE LOUD WHIRLING NOISES WHEN THE STEERING WHEEL WAS BEING TURNED. DEALERSHIP FOUND STEERING RACK-LEAKING FROM END SEALS, THEY FLUSHED POWER STEERING SYSTEM AND POWER STEERING GEAR, PUMP, FLUIDS REPLACED. $1987.49 TO MAKE THE CAR SAFE TO DRIVE AGAIN.

View Details

STEERING

4/7/2014 - COPLEY, OH
MY POWER STEERING WENT OUT AND HAD TO HAVE THE RACK AND PINION REPLACED COMPLETELY. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THEY ARE DOING 100 OF THESE A MONTH TO ENCLAVES, ACADIAS, AND TRAVERSES. THERE IS CURRENTLY NO RECALL, BUT OBVIOUSLY THERE IS A PROBLEM THAT GM IS NOT ACKNOWLEDGING.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/4/2014 - ROCK, WV
I HAVE A 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE, THE SUNROOF IS LEAKING WHICH IS CAUSING DAMAGE TO OTHER PARTS OF THE VEHICLE. THIS SHOULD BE A RECALL!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/4/2014 - ROCK, WV
I HAVE A 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE, THE SUNROOF IS LEAKING WHICH IS CAUSING DAMAGE TO OTHER PARTS OF THE VEHICLE. THIS SHOULD BE A RECALL!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/4/2014 - CINCINNATI, OH
A WATER LEAK CAUSED BY A BACKUP IN THE DRAIN TUBES OF MY WIFE'S 2008 ENCLAVE EVIDENTLY CAUSED AN APPARENT COMPUTER SYSTEM INCIDENT WHEREBY I WAS LOCKED IN THE VEHICLE AND COULD NOT GET OUT. THE KEY WAS STUCK IN IGNITION (AND COULD NOT BE REMOVED) AND MANUAL DOOR LOCKS WOULD NOT UNLOCK VEHICLE BECAUSE THERE WAS SOME KIND OF SAFETY INTERLOCK. EVIDENTLY THERE WAS A SHORT IN THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM WHICH DISABLED ALL METHODS OF EXITING OR STARTING VEHICLE. FOR SOME REASON THE ONSTAR SYSTEM WORKED, BUT ONSTAR HAD NO CLUE AS TO HOW TO ASSIST OR OVERRIDE THE INTERLOCK FEATURE. IT WAS WINTER TIME, AND MY WIFE AND OUR DOG WERE ALSO STRANDED IN VERY COLD WEATHER OUTSIDE THE VEHICLE. LUCKILY WE WERE ASSISTED BY A STRANGER THAT USED HIS JUMPER CABLES TO GET THE CAR STARTED. I AM CONCERNED THAT THIS COULD HAPPEN IF THE CAR WERE SUBMERGED OR THE COMPUTER SYSTEM WAS SOMEHOW COMPROMISED IT COULD CAUSE A SIMILAR PROBLEM. FILED PROBLEM WITH BUICK CUSTOMER RELATIONSHIP VIA EMAIL BUT ALL THEY WANTED TO DO WAS TO REPLACE THE BATTERY. AS OF THIS DATE (4/4/14) WE STILL HAVE THE ORIGINAL BATTERY, BUT THEY DENY ANY KNOWLEDGE OF THE PROBLEM. I HAVE EMAILS FROM BUICK AND THEIR SERVICE REQUEST NUMBER IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO VERIFY MY CLAIM. I ONLY RECENTLY BECAME AWARE THAT I COULD FILE A COMPLAINT WITH NHTSA IN THIS MANNER.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds