Auto Recalls for Consumers

BUICK ENCLAVE - 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 279 complaints filed for the 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (53) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (86) Steering (72) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electrical System (36) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (27) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (3) Suspension (3) Visibility (15)
Engine (34) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (3) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (4) Wheels (3)
Equipment (2) Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

5/21/2015 - MCKINLEYVILLE, CA
AIR BAG SERVICE LIGHT CAME ON AND WAS TAKEN TO DEALER FOR SERVICE AS I ALREADY HAD A LETTER STATING THIS COULD HAPPEN AND IF SO TAKE IT TO DEALER FOR REPAIR. AFTER BEING CHECK OUT BY DEALER I WAS TOLD THEY COULD FIND THE PROBLEM HOWEVER MY BATTERY CHECK OUT BAD AND THAT COULD BE THE PROBLEM, SO I PAID THEM TO REPLACE BATTERY. AFTER BATTERY WAS REPLACED THE SERVICE LIGHT WENT OUT, UNTIL 1/13/15 WHILE DRIVING VEHICLE HOME AFTER HAVING IT SERVICED BY DEALER THE AIR BAGS SERVICE LIGHT REAPPEARED AND WHEN I TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALER I WAS TOLD THEY WOULD BE HAPPY TO CHECK IT OUT AT MY COST WHICH I SAID NOT KNOWING WHAT THE COST COULD ADD UP TO I WOULD JUST CONTINUE TO DRIVE WITH THE SERVICE LIGHT ON. IT IS NOW 5/21/15 AND IT CONTINUES BRIGHTLY BURN. DAN HARTZELL

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/14/2015 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
FOR ABOUT 6 MONTHS MY RADIO HAS BEEN GOING IN AND OUT LIKE IT IS SHORTING OUT OR SOMETHING. AT THE SAME TIME MY PUT SEAT BELT, TURN SIGNAL, CAR OPEN ANYTHING WITH SOUND GOES IN AND OUT OF WORKING WITH THE SOUND. MY RADIO SOMETIMES WORKED SOMETIMES DOESN'T. TODAY WAS BLOW OUT SOUND AND I COULD NOT TURN THE SOUND DOWN OR OFF. IT WAS LIKE POLTERGIST. THANK GOD IT DID NOT HAPPEN WHEN I WAS DRIVING. IT SCARED ME HALF TO DEATH. I TURNED MY CAR OFF AND ON AGAIN TO SEE IF IT WOULD GO AWAY. I FINALLY CALLED MY HUSBAND SAID I CANT DRIVE MY CAR WITH THIS SOUND. ABOUT 5 MINUTES LATER I TRIED AGAIN JUST TO SEE WHAT WOULD HAPPEN NOW I HAVE NO SOUND FOR RADIO, FASTEN SEAT BELT NOTHING. NOT SURE IF POLTERGIST WILL BE BACK BUT THIS IS A REAL PROBLEM. THIS IS NOT AN ISOLATED INCIDENT NOW THAT I HAVE BEEN ON LINE. BUICK HAS A RECALL ON THEIR HANDS. SOMETHING IS SERIOUSLY WRONG WITH THE ENCLAVE ELECTRICAL

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/11/2015 - CASPER, WY
IN 2014 OUR ENCLAVE BEGAN HAVING A POPPING NOISE IN THE AUDIO SYSTEM. ALL SOUNDS, RADIO, DVD, TURN SIGNALS, WARNING CHIMES, STOPPED WORKING. AFTER THE VEHICLE SAT FOR A TIME THE AUDIO WOULD WORK AGAIN. IT HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES WITH THE LAST TIME OCCURRING MAY 5, 2015. ON MAY 5, 2015 THE AUDIO STARTED MAKING A LOUD, EAR PIERCING POPPING NOISE WHICH ALMOST CAUSED THE DRIVER TO LOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. MY TWO YOUNG CHILDREN WERE ALSO IN THE VEHICLE RIGHT NEXT TO THE REAR SPEAKERS. THE ONLY WAY TO STOP THE NOISE WAS TO PULL THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF A BUSY HIGHWAY, TURN THE VEHICLE OFF AND OPEN THE DRIVER DOOR. (TO TURN THE POWER TO THE RADIO OFF) THE AUDIO HAS NOT RETURNED THIS TIME. THIS IS HAPPENING TO MOST 2008 ENCLAVES AT AROUND 70-75K MILES. BUICK REFUSES TO ASSIST AS USUAL. WITHOUT THE AUDIO SYSTEM WORKING, ALL WARNING CHIMES ARE SILENT. CHECK ENGINE, SEAT BELT, TIRE PRESSURE, AIRBAG, REAR PARK ASSIST. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/11/2015 - CASPER, WY
IN 2014 OUR ENCLAVE BEGAN HAVING A POPPING NOISE IN THE AUDIO SYSTEM. ALL SOUNDS, RADIO, DVD, TURN SIGNALS, WARNING CHIMES, STOPPED WORKING. AFTER THE VEHICLE SAT FOR A TIME THE AUDIO WOULD WORK AGAIN. IT HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES WITH THE LAST TIME OCCURRING MAY 5, 2015. ON MAY 5, 2015 THE AUDIO STARTED MAKING A LOUD, EAR PIERCING POPPING NOISE WHICH ALMOST CAUSED THE DRIVER TO LOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. MY TWO YOUNG CHILDREN WERE ALSO IN THE VEHICLE RIGHT NEXT TO THE REAR SPEAKERS. THE ONLY WAY TO STOP THE NOISE WAS TO PULL THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF A BUSY HIGHWAY, TURN THE VEHICLE OFF AND OPEN THE DRIVER DOOR. (TO TURN THE POWER TO THE RADIO OFF) THE AUDIO HAS NOT RETURNED THIS TIME. THIS IS HAPPENING TO MOST 2008 ENCLAVES AT AROUND 70-75K MILES. BUICK REFUSES TO ASSIST AS USUAL. WITHOUT THE AUDIO SYSTEM WORKING, ALL WARNING CHIMES ARE SILENT. CHECK ENGINE, SEAT BELT, TIRE PRESSURE, AIRBAG, REAR PARK ASSIST. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/6/2015 - OMAHA, NE
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THERE WAS A BURNING ODOR AND THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE RECURRED THREE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 167,000.

View Details

ENGINE

5/5/2015 - MILWAUKEE, WI
I HAVE AN 08' ENCLAVE AND I LIVE IN WISCONSIN, TODAY I STARTED MY VEHICLE AND PROCEEDED TO DRIVE AND ABOUT 2-3 MINUTES INTO THE RIDE, THE VEHICLE RAPIDLY BEGAN TO SLOW DOWN AND THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO JERK. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND THE STABILITY-TRACK LIGHT BOTH CAME ON DURING THE JERKING AND SLOWING DOWN OF MY VEHICLE. THE DIC STROLLS THE FOLLOWING MESSAGE "REDUCE ENGINE POWER AND SERVICE ENGINE." I DROVE MY VEHICLE ALL THE WAY HOME AND THE ENTIRE TIME I WAS UNABLE TO DRIVE NO MORE THAN 20 MILES PER HOUR EVEN THOUGH MY FOOT WAS COMPLETELY DOWN ON THE GAS PEDAL. THIS IS MY ONLY TRANSPORTATION AND IM HOPING THAT THERE IS A RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE BECAUSE I GOOGLED THE PROBLEMS WITH MY VEHICLE AND APPARENTLY IM NOT THE ONLY ONE WITH THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/30/2015 - ERWIN, NC
THE 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE HAVE A MODULE AIR BAG SENSOR IN THE PASSENGER SEAT THAT WHEN A PASSENGER SETS IN THE SEAT THE AIR BAG INTERCATOR LIGHT IN CENTER CONSUL LIGHTS UP LETTING YOU KNOW THAT THE AIR BAG IS ON AND WORKING. MY AIR BAG MODULE SENSOR NEEDS REPLACING. I WAS TOLD FROM DEALERSHIP THAT THE SEAT WOULD HAVE TO BE TAKEN OUT TO REPLACE THIS PART WHICH WILL COST 850.00. PEOPLE JUST DON'T HAVE THIS KIND OF MONEY. THE BUICK ENCLAVES ESPECIALLY THE 2008 MODEL HAVE HAD NUMEROUS RECALLS.I FEEL THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AND BUICK SHOULD ADDRESS THIS ISSUE TO INSURE OUR SAFETY. IF NOT, THERE WILL BE THOSE ON THE ROAD DRIVING WITHOUT THE PROPER SAFETY THEY NEED. I BELIEVE THIS IS A PART THAT WAS CHEAP MADE AND BUICK KNOWS IT AND THEY SHOULD TAKE RESPONSIBILITY TO ENSURE THE CUSTOMERS SAFETY. WILL YOU PLEASE REVIEW THIS CASE. I AM ONE THAT IS DRIVING AROUND WITH THIS ISSUE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/25/2015 - POOLER, GA
I PURCHASED MY VEHICLE JANUARY 2014. SINCE THEN I HAVE HAD MAJOR ISSUES WITH IT LEAKING WHEN IT RAINS,. WATER ENTERS THE SUNROOF AND DRIPS THROUGHOUT THE VEHICLES OVERHEAD AS WELL AS SOAKS THE PASSENGER SIDE CARPET. WATER DRIPS FROM THE VISOR, THE OVERHEAD LIGHTS (WHICH COULD RESULT IN AN ELECTRICAL FIRE) IN THE FRONT MIDDLE AND BACK OF THE VEHICLE IT SEEPS THROUGH THE SEAT BELT HEIGHT ADJUSTERS AND THE AREA WHERE THE SIDE AIRBAGS DEPLOY (WHICH COULD CAUSE DEPLOY ISSUES). THE PROBLEM HAS GOTTEN SO BAD MY VEHICLE IS STARTING TO SMELL LIKE MOLD AND I AM AFRAID THAT AFTER A YEAR OF THIS PROBLEM MOLD HAS GROWN UNDER THE CARPET AS WELL AS IN THE OVERHEAD FOAM. MY BIGGEST CONCERN IS IF MY CHILD IS EXPOSED TO THIS FOR AN EXTENDED PERIOD OF TIME IT WILL FLAIR UP HIS ASTHMA. A CHILD WITH ASTHMA IS VERY SENSITIVE TO MOLD AND MILDEW AND HE IS VERY SENSITIVE AS WELL AS HAS ALLERGIES TO MOLD. ADDITIONALLY, WHEN IT RAINS MY EXHAUST SMOKES AND CAR PUTTS AS IF WATER HAS GOTTEN INTO THE ENGINE/EXHAUST, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAS COME ON SEVERAL TIMES WHILE TRAVELING AND NO ONE CAN SEEM TO FIND THE ISSUE, THE CHECK AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON A COUPLE OF MONTHS AFTER THE PURCHASE, AND MY STEERING WHEEL TIGHTENS UP WHEN I TURN AND I HAVE ALREADY HAD THAT TAKEN CARE OF ONCE. AS I WAS DRIVING HOME TODAY THE EMERGENCY BRAKE LIGHT CAME ON AND DINGED ALL THE WAY HOME. I BELIEVE THERE ARE NOW ELECTRICAL ISSUES WITH THE VEHICLE DUE TO THE LEAKS AND MAY CAUSE A MALFUNCTION OR FIRE

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/25/2015 - POOLER, GA
I PURCHASED MY VEHICLE JANUARY 2014. SINCE THEN I HAVE HAD MAJOR ISSUES WITH IT LEAKING WHEN IT RAINS,. WATER ENTERS THE SUNROOF AND DRIPS THROUGHOUT THE VEHICLES OVERHEAD AS WELL AS SOAKS THE PASSENGER SIDE CARPET. WATER DRIPS FROM THE VISOR, THE OVERHEAD LIGHTS (WHICH COULD RESULT IN AN ELECTRICAL FIRE) IN THE FRONT MIDDLE AND BACK OF THE VEHICLE IT SEEPS THROUGH THE SEAT BELT HEIGHT ADJUSTERS AND THE AREA WHERE THE SIDE AIRBAGS DEPLOY (WHICH COULD CAUSE DEPLOY ISSUES). THE PROBLEM HAS GOTTEN SO BAD MY VEHICLE IS STARTING TO SMELL LIKE MOLD AND I AM AFRAID THAT AFTER A YEAR OF THIS PROBLEM MOLD HAS GROWN UNDER THE CARPET AS WELL AS IN THE OVERHEAD FOAM. MY BIGGEST CONCERN IS IF MY CHILD IS EXPOSED TO THIS FOR AN EXTENDED PERIOD OF TIME IT WILL FLAIR UP HIS ASTHMA. A CHILD WITH ASTHMA IS VERY SENSITIVE TO MOLD AND MILDEW AND HE IS VERY SENSITIVE AS WELL AS HAS ALLERGIES TO MOLD. ADDITIONALLY, WHEN IT RAINS MY EXHAUST SMOKES AND CAR PUTTS AS IF WATER HAS GOTTEN INTO THE ENGINE/EXHAUST, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAS COME ON SEVERAL TIMES WHILE TRAVELING AND NO ONE CAN SEEM TO FIND THE ISSUE, THE CHECK AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON A COUPLE OF MONTHS AFTER THE PURCHASE, AND MY STEERING WHEEL TIGHTENS UP WHEN I TURN AND I HAVE ALREADY HAD THAT TAKEN CARE OF ONCE. AS I WAS DRIVING HOME TODAY THE EMERGENCY BRAKE LIGHT CAME ON AND DINGED ALL THE WAY HOME. I BELIEVE THERE ARE NOW ELECTRICAL ISSUES WITH THE VEHICLE DUE TO THE LEAKS AND MAY CAUSE A MALFUNCTION OR FIRE

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/25/2015 - POOLER, GA
I PURCHASED MY VEHICLE JANUARY 2014. SINCE THEN I HAVE HAD MAJOR ISSUES WITH IT LEAKING WHEN IT RAINS,. WATER ENTERS THE SUNROOF AND DRIPS THROUGHOUT THE VEHICLES OVERHEAD AS WELL AS SOAKS THE PASSENGER SIDE CARPET. WATER DRIPS FROM THE VISOR, THE OVERHEAD LIGHTS (WHICH COULD RESULT IN AN ELECTRICAL FIRE) IN THE FRONT MIDDLE AND BACK OF THE VEHICLE IT SEEPS THROUGH THE SEAT BELT HEIGHT ADJUSTERS AND THE AREA WHERE THE SIDE AIRBAGS DEPLOY (WHICH COULD CAUSE DEPLOY ISSUES). THE PROBLEM HAS GOTTEN SO BAD MY VEHICLE IS STARTING TO SMELL LIKE MOLD AND I AM AFRAID THAT AFTER A YEAR OF THIS PROBLEM MOLD HAS GROWN UNDER THE CARPET AS WELL AS IN THE OVERHEAD FOAM. MY BIGGEST CONCERN IS IF MY CHILD IS EXPOSED TO THIS FOR AN EXTENDED PERIOD OF TIME IT WILL FLAIR UP HIS ASTHMA. A CHILD WITH ASTHMA IS VERY SENSITIVE TO MOLD AND MILDEW AND HE IS VERY SENSITIVE AS WELL AS HAS ALLERGIES TO MOLD. ADDITIONALLY, WHEN IT RAINS MY EXHAUST SMOKES AND CAR PUTTS AS IF WATER HAS GOTTEN INTO THE ENGINE/EXHAUST, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAS COME ON SEVERAL TIMES WHILE TRAVELING AND NO ONE CAN SEEM TO FIND THE ISSUE, THE CHECK AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON A COUPLE OF MONTHS AFTER THE PURCHASE, AND MY STEERING WHEEL TIGHTENS UP WHEN I TURN AND I HAVE ALREADY HAD THAT TAKEN CARE OF ONCE. AS I WAS DRIVING HOME TODAY THE EMERGENCY BRAKE LIGHT CAME ON AND DINGED ALL THE WAY HOME. I BELIEVE THERE ARE NOW ELECTRICAL ISSUES WITH THE VEHICLE DUE TO THE LEAKS AND MAY CAUSE A MALFUNCTION OR FIRE

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds