Auto Recalls for Consumers

BUICK ENCLAVE - 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 235 complaints filed for the 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (46) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (65) Steering (67) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electrical System (30) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (22) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (4) Suspension (2) Visibility (15)
Engine (24) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (4) Wheels (3)
Equipment (2) Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

10/11/2014 - SHERBORN, MA
AS THE 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE VEHICLE WAS SLOWED TO MAKE A RIGHT TURN INTO A DRIVEWAY, IT SUDDENLY AND UNEXPECTEDLY BECAME VERY, VERY DIFFICULT TO STEER, SUCH THAT THE VEHICLE ALMOST WENT OFF OF THE ROAD AND INTO A TELEPHONE POLE. FORTUNATELY, THE VEHICLE WAS GOING SLOWLY ENOUGH THAT IT COULD BE ABRUPTLY STOPPED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD AND IT WAS NOT REAR-ENDED. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS CONDITION. WHEN I CALLED GENERAL MOTORS CUSTOMER CARE, I DISCOVERED THAT THIS WAS A KNOWN CONDITION FOR WHICH SPECIAL COVERAGE #14329 WAS ISSUED. GIVEN HOW DANGEROUS THIS CONDITION IS THAT DRAMATICALLY AFFECTS THE ABILITY OF A DRIVER TO STEER THE VEHICLE, I AM VERY UPSET THAT GENERAL MOTORS FAILED TO NOTIFY OWNERS OF THE AFFECTED CARS THAT THIS HAZARDOUS CONDITION EXISTED AND THAT GENERAL MOTORS FAILED TO ISSUE AN EMERGENCY VEHICLE RECALL. IT IS URGENT THAT NHTSA REQUIRES THAT GENERAL MOTORS ISSUE A RECALL FOR THIS SAFETY DEFECT. PASTED BELOW IS THE DEALER NOTIFICATION THAT WAS ISSUED TO GM SERVICE DEPARTMENTS ON SEPTEMBER 16, 2014 BY GENERAL MOTORS. "#14329: SPECIAL COVERAGE ADJUSTMENT - LOSS OF POWER STEERING ASSIST - (SEP 16, 2014). CONDITION. SOME 2008-2011 MODEL YEAR (MY) BUICK ENCLAVE, 2009-2011 MY CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, 2007-2011 MY GMC ACADIA, AND 2007-2010 MY SATURN OUTLOOK VEHICLES MAY DEVELOP A POWER STEERING PUMP WEAR CONDITION THAT CAN CAUSE AN INTERMITTENT DROP OF POWER STEERING HYDRAULIC PRESSURE THAT WILL CAUSE REDUCED OR LOSS OF STEERING ASSIST. THE VEHICLE MAY REVERT TO MANUAL STEERING WHICH REQUIRES GREATER DRIVER EFFORT, PARTICULARLY AT LOW VEHICLE SPEEDS."

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/9/2014 - STURTEVANT, WI
MY FAMILY AND I WERE ON OUR WAY BACK TO WISCONSIN FROM A TRIP TO FLORIDA ON SATURDAY, AUGUST 16, 2014. MY HUSBAND HAD EXITED THE INTERSTATE AND WAS PULLING INTO A PARKING SPACE AT A FAST FOOD RESTAURANT. THE SPACE WAS ON A SLIGHT INCLINE. AS HE PULLED INTO THE SPACE, THE ENCLAVE STARTED TO ROLL BACKWARD. I CHECKED THE POSITION OF THE GEARSHIFT THINKING THAT HE HAD ACCIDENTALLY SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL BUT FOUND THAT THE VEHICLE WAS STILL IN DRIVE. THE ENGINE REVVED WHEN HE PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR BUT THE CAR CONTINUED TO ROLL BACKWARD. THE ONLY GEAR THE WOULD WORK WAS PARK. WE HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO THE LOCAL BUICK GMC CADILLAC DEALER. ON MONDAY, AUGUST 18, A SERVICE TECHNICIAN CALLED TO LET US KNOW THAT THE 35R WAVE PLATE HAD FAILED AND THE 35R HOUSING WAS ALSO DAMAGED AND THAT METAL DEBRIS HAD BEEN FOUND THROUGHOUT THE UNIT. THE REPAIR TOOK ABOUT TWO DAYS AND COST $3589.49. THANKFULLY WE WERE NOT ON THE INTERSTATE WHEN THE FAILURE OCCURRED. HAD WE REMAINED ON THE INTERSTATE ANOTHER MILE AND SUDDENLY NOT BEEN ABLE TO KEEP THE VEHICLE MOVING FORWARD WHILE THE TRAFFIC AROUND US MOVED AT EXPRESSWAY SPEEDS, WE COULD HAVE HAD A SERIOUS ACCIDENT THAT RESULTED IN TERRIBLE INJURY OR FATALITY. I WROTE A LETTER TO BUICK REQUESTING REIMBURSEMENT OF COST OF THE REFUND AND EXPENSE WE INCURRED DUE TO HAVING TO WAIT TO HAVE THE VEHICLE REPAIRED. I ALSO REQUESTED THAT THEY ISSUE A RECALL FOR THE WAVE PLATE FAILURE DUE TO THE SEVERE DANGER THAT THE FAILURE CREATES. FINALLY, I MENTIONED INFORMATION I FOUND ON THE INTERNET STATING THAT THIS FAILURE IS COMMON ON THE ENCLAVE AND ITS SISTER VEHICLES. THEY REFUSED TO REIMBURSE ME SINCE THERE WAS NO RECALL ON THE VEHICLE. THEY ALSO SAID THAT THE NHTSA, NOT GM, ISSUES RECALLS AND GAVE ME THE PHONE NUMBER TO CONTACT THE NHTSA TO FILE A COMPLAINT.

View Details

ENGINE

10/6/2014 - LAKE ORION, MI
THE TIMING CHAIN IN THE ENGINE OF THIS VEHICLE BEGAN TO SLIP AT 85,000 MILES. THIS CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO DRIVE ERRATICALLY WHEN THE CHAIN SLIPPED. AT THE SAME TIME, THE 3RD GEAR WAVE PLATE IN THE TRANSMISSION FAILED CAUSING THE CAR TO SHIFT POORLY WHEN ACCELERATING. WHEN CHANGING LANES ON 9/23/14, THE CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE AND TO AVOID HITTING ANOTHER CAR I HAD TO STEER OFF THE ROAD AND I HIT A STREET SIGN (NO DAMAGE).

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/6/2014 - LAKE ORION, MI
THE TIMING CHAIN IN THE ENGINE OF THIS VEHICLE BEGAN TO SLIP AT 85,000 MILES. THIS CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO DRIVE ERRATICALLY WHEN THE CHAIN SLIPPED. AT THE SAME TIME, THE 3RD GEAR WAVE PLATE IN THE TRANSMISSION FAILED CAUSING THE CAR TO SHIFT POORLY WHEN ACCELERATING. WHEN CHANGING LANES ON 9/23/14, THE CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE AND TO AVOID HITTING ANOTHER CAR I HAD TO STEER OFF THE ROAD AND I HIT A STREET SIGN (NO DAMAGE).

View Details

ENGINE

10/4/2014 - FORT WAYNE, IN
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE JUST SHUTS DOWN. THE FIRST TIME IT RESTARTED, BUT ON THE SECOND OCCURRENCE IT WOULD NOT RESTART. THE VEHICLE HAS "STALLED OUT" SEVERAL TIMES WHILE TRAVELING AT RATES ANYWHERE FROM 25 MPH TO 45 MPH. WE HAVE HAD IT TOWED TO THE SHOP (INCLUDING THE DEALER) 3 TIMES AND ARE TOLD NOTHING IS WRONG. BUT THE PROBLEM HAPPENED AGAIN TODAY. I SEE OTHER PEOPLE ARE EXPERIENCING THE SAME PROBLEM. ALTHOUGH WE HAVE AVOIDED IT THUS FAR, IT IS GOING TO CAUSE AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/1/2014 - GUNTOWN, MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE MADE A JERKING MOTION. IN ADDITION, THE TRANSMISSION POWER OFF AND MOTOR LOSING POWER INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 95,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/1/2014 - CASPER, WY
THE RADIO STOPPED WORKING INCLUDING ALL OF THE SAFETY CHIMES ASSOCIATED WITH THE VEHICLE, BACKUP SENSORS, BLINKERS, ON DASH WARNING LIGHTS AND CHIMES. THE CD /DVD PLAYER EMITS A HIGH PITCHED SQUEAL WHEN A CD/DVD IS INSERTED INTO THE PLAYER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/17/2014 - AKRON , OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40MPH, THE VEHICLE REVVED UP AND STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION FAILED. THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 74,500.

View Details

STEERING

9/13/2014 - MOUNT JULIET, TN
LOST POWER STEERING. VEHICLE IS DIFFICULT TO TURN AT LOW SPEEDS. DEALERSHIP SAID IT WAS THE AXLES. I REPLACED THEM BUT THE PROBLEM WAS NOT FIXED. MANEUVERING IN PARKING LOTS IS ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE AND DRIVING AROUND CURVES IS NERVE-RACKING BECAUSE THE WHEEL WANTS TO JERK TO THE SIDE, ALMOST FORCING ME UNTO ONCOMING TRAFFIC. IT'S ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE I HAVE A WRECK BECAUSE OF THIS ISSUE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/10/2014 - HILLSBORO, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR DID NOT ILLUMINATE WHEN THE PASSENGER SEAT WAS OCCUPIED. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE PPS SENSOR MODULAR ON THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000. UPDATED 10/22/14

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds