Auto Recalls for Consumers

BUICK ENCLAVE - 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 271 complaints filed for the 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (50) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (86) Steering (72) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (33) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (27) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (3) Suspension (3) Visibility (15)
Engine (33) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (3) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (4) Wheels (3)
Equipment (2) Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

4/25/2015 - POOLER, GA
I PURCHASED MY VEHICLE JANUARY 2014. SINCE THEN I HAVE HAD MAJOR ISSUES WITH IT LEAKING WHEN IT RAINS,. WATER ENTERS THE SUNROOF AND DRIPS THROUGHOUT THE VEHICLES OVERHEAD AS WELL AS SOAKS THE PASSENGER SIDE CARPET. WATER DRIPS FROM THE VISOR, THE OVERHEAD LIGHTS (WHICH COULD RESULT IN AN ELECTRICAL FIRE) IN THE FRONT MIDDLE AND BACK OF THE VEHICLE IT SEEPS THROUGH THE SEAT BELT HEIGHT ADJUSTERS AND THE AREA WHERE THE SIDE AIRBAGS DEPLOY (WHICH COULD CAUSE DEPLOY ISSUES). THE PROBLEM HAS GOTTEN SO BAD MY VEHICLE IS STARTING TO SMELL LIKE MOLD AND I AM AFRAID THAT AFTER A YEAR OF THIS PROBLEM MOLD HAS GROWN UNDER THE CARPET AS WELL AS IN THE OVERHEAD FOAM. MY BIGGEST CONCERN IS IF MY CHILD IS EXPOSED TO THIS FOR AN EXTENDED PERIOD OF TIME IT WILL FLAIR UP HIS ASTHMA. A CHILD WITH ASTHMA IS VERY SENSITIVE TO MOLD AND MILDEW AND HE IS VERY SENSITIVE AS WELL AS HAS ALLERGIES TO MOLD. ADDITIONALLY, WHEN IT RAINS MY EXHAUST SMOKES AND CAR PUTTS AS IF WATER HAS GOTTEN INTO THE ENGINE/EXHAUST, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAS COME ON SEVERAL TIMES WHILE TRAVELING AND NO ONE CAN SEEM TO FIND THE ISSUE, THE CHECK AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON A COUPLE OF MONTHS AFTER THE PURCHASE, AND MY STEERING WHEEL TIGHTENS UP WHEN I TURN AND I HAVE ALREADY HAD THAT TAKEN CARE OF ONCE. AS I WAS DRIVING HOME TODAY THE EMERGENCY BRAKE LIGHT CAME ON AND DINGED ALL THE WAY HOME. I BELIEVE THERE ARE NOW ELECTRICAL ISSUES WITH THE VEHICLE DUE TO THE LEAKS AND MAY CAUSE A MALFUNCTION OR FIRE

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/25/2015 - POOLER, GA
I PURCHASED MY VEHICLE JANUARY 2014. SINCE THEN I HAVE HAD MAJOR ISSUES WITH IT LEAKING WHEN IT RAINS,. WATER ENTERS THE SUNROOF AND DRIPS THROUGHOUT THE VEHICLES OVERHEAD AS WELL AS SOAKS THE PASSENGER SIDE CARPET. WATER DRIPS FROM THE VISOR, THE OVERHEAD LIGHTS (WHICH COULD RESULT IN AN ELECTRICAL FIRE) IN THE FRONT MIDDLE AND BACK OF THE VEHICLE IT SEEPS THROUGH THE SEAT BELT HEIGHT ADJUSTERS AND THE AREA WHERE THE SIDE AIRBAGS DEPLOY (WHICH COULD CAUSE DEPLOY ISSUES). THE PROBLEM HAS GOTTEN SO BAD MY VEHICLE IS STARTING TO SMELL LIKE MOLD AND I AM AFRAID THAT AFTER A YEAR OF THIS PROBLEM MOLD HAS GROWN UNDER THE CARPET AS WELL AS IN THE OVERHEAD FOAM. MY BIGGEST CONCERN IS IF MY CHILD IS EXPOSED TO THIS FOR AN EXTENDED PERIOD OF TIME IT WILL FLAIR UP HIS ASTHMA. A CHILD WITH ASTHMA IS VERY SENSITIVE TO MOLD AND MILDEW AND HE IS VERY SENSITIVE AS WELL AS HAS ALLERGIES TO MOLD. ADDITIONALLY, WHEN IT RAINS MY EXHAUST SMOKES AND CAR PUTTS AS IF WATER HAS GOTTEN INTO THE ENGINE/EXHAUST, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAS COME ON SEVERAL TIMES WHILE TRAVELING AND NO ONE CAN SEEM TO FIND THE ISSUE, THE CHECK AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON A COUPLE OF MONTHS AFTER THE PURCHASE, AND MY STEERING WHEEL TIGHTENS UP WHEN I TURN AND I HAVE ALREADY HAD THAT TAKEN CARE OF ONCE. AS I WAS DRIVING HOME TODAY THE EMERGENCY BRAKE LIGHT CAME ON AND DINGED ALL THE WAY HOME. I BELIEVE THERE ARE NOW ELECTRICAL ISSUES WITH THE VEHICLE DUE TO THE LEAKS AND MAY CAUSE A MALFUNCTION OR FIRE

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/25/2015 - POOLER, GA
I PURCHASED MY VEHICLE JANUARY 2014. SINCE THEN I HAVE HAD MAJOR ISSUES WITH IT LEAKING WHEN IT RAINS,. WATER ENTERS THE SUNROOF AND DRIPS THROUGHOUT THE VEHICLES OVERHEAD AS WELL AS SOAKS THE PASSENGER SIDE CARPET. WATER DRIPS FROM THE VISOR, THE OVERHEAD LIGHTS (WHICH COULD RESULT IN AN ELECTRICAL FIRE) IN THE FRONT MIDDLE AND BACK OF THE VEHICLE IT SEEPS THROUGH THE SEAT BELT HEIGHT ADJUSTERS AND THE AREA WHERE THE SIDE AIRBAGS DEPLOY (WHICH COULD CAUSE DEPLOY ISSUES). THE PROBLEM HAS GOTTEN SO BAD MY VEHICLE IS STARTING TO SMELL LIKE MOLD AND I AM AFRAID THAT AFTER A YEAR OF THIS PROBLEM MOLD HAS GROWN UNDER THE CARPET AS WELL AS IN THE OVERHEAD FOAM. MY BIGGEST CONCERN IS IF MY CHILD IS EXPOSED TO THIS FOR AN EXTENDED PERIOD OF TIME IT WILL FLAIR UP HIS ASTHMA. A CHILD WITH ASTHMA IS VERY SENSITIVE TO MOLD AND MILDEW AND HE IS VERY SENSITIVE AS WELL AS HAS ALLERGIES TO MOLD. ADDITIONALLY, WHEN IT RAINS MY EXHAUST SMOKES AND CAR PUTTS AS IF WATER HAS GOTTEN INTO THE ENGINE/EXHAUST, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAS COME ON SEVERAL TIMES WHILE TRAVELING AND NO ONE CAN SEEM TO FIND THE ISSUE, THE CHECK AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON A COUPLE OF MONTHS AFTER THE PURCHASE, AND MY STEERING WHEEL TIGHTENS UP WHEN I TURN AND I HAVE ALREADY HAD THAT TAKEN CARE OF ONCE. AS I WAS DRIVING HOME TODAY THE EMERGENCY BRAKE LIGHT CAME ON AND DINGED ALL THE WAY HOME. I BELIEVE THERE ARE NOW ELECTRICAL ISSUES WITH THE VEHICLE DUE TO THE LEAKS AND MAY CAUSE A MALFUNCTION OR FIRE

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/20/2015 - LEWISTON, MI
POWER LIFT GATE OPENING AND CLOSING ON IT'S OWN, WHILE VEHICLE IS OFF, ON BUT PARKED, AND WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD. WATER LEAKS FROM SUNROOF CAUSING THE WATER TO DRAIN THROUGHOUT THE WHOLE INSIDE OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/20/2015 - LEWISTON, MI
POWER LIFT GATE OPENING AND CLOSING ON IT'S OWN, WHILE VEHICLE IS OFF, ON BUT PARKED, AND WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD. WATER LEAKS FROM SUNROOF CAUSING THE WATER TO DRAIN THROUGHOUT THE WHOLE INSIDE OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/16/2015 - GLENDALE, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE MADE A LOUD BUMPING NOISE THAT CEASED AS THE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER, WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE BLOWING CONNECTOR ROD AND THE ENGINE BLOCK FRACTURED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,985.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/16/2015 - RAYTOWN , MO
WAS DRIVING ON I-35 ALMOST TO WICHITA KS, ABOUT 9 MILES OUT, LOW OIL PRESSURE LIGHT CAME ON AND BINGING ALARM FOR ME TO STOP ENGINE, HAD GRANDKIDS WITH ME, AND IT WAS DARK ON HIGHWAY, PULLED OVER AND TURNED OFF ENGINE, WAITED FOR ABOUT 10 MINS, MADE IT TO A HOTEL IN WICHITA, IT WAS ABOUT 1 AM SUNDAY MORNING. HAD A MECHANIC LOOK AT THE OIL PAN AND CHECK THE OIL, SAID WHEN I GET HOME TO HAVE IT CHECKED OUT. NOTICED THAT CAR BEGAN TO MAKE A SHAKING OR SHUTTER NOISE UPON ACELERATION, MADE IT BACK TO HOME, TOOK CAR TO BUICK DEALER ON 3/26/15 BUICK DEALER SAID IT MIGHT BE SOMETHING IN THE TRANSMISSION AFTER THEY TEST DROVE IT, QUOTED ME A $4000 REPAIR PRICE, I JUST PAID THE $123.12 FOR THE DIAGNOSIS, DEALER SAID THAT IF NOT REPAIRED I MIGHT LOSE MY 3RD, OR REVERSE GEAR. ON FRIDAY 4/11/15 I RECEIVED A LETTER FROM GM ABOUT A POSSIBLE BROKEN/CRACKED WAVE PLATE ON 2008 ENCLAVE WHICH STATED THAT I MIGHT LOSE MY 3RD , 5TH OR REVERSE. SINCE IT WAS THE SAME WORDING AS WHAT THE DEALER TOLD ME, ON SATURDAY 4/12/15 I TOOK MY BUICK BACK TO THE DEALER, BECAUSE OF THE MILEAGE REQUIREMENT IN THE LETTER, DRROPED IT OFF 04/15/15 AND . ON 4/16/15 DEALER INFORMS ME THAT THIS IS NOT MY ISSUE, THEY WANT TO REPLACE MY TRANSMISSIN AT ABOUT $4,000. I AM JUST LEARY BECAUSE I RECEIVED THE LETTER AFTER THEY HAD INFORMED ME THAT I MIGHT LOSE MY 3RD/REVERSE GEAR, BUT NOW THEY TELLING ME THAT THIS IS NOT MY ISSUE AND I WILL HAVE TO PAY TO HAVE MY CAR FIXED. SO I HAVE TO PAY $520.00 FOR THEM LOOKING AT MY WAVE PLATE, AND PUTTING MY ENCLAVE BACK TOGETHER. AFTER SEEING SO MANY OTHER ENCLAVE OWNERS ON THIS SITE, I JUST DECIDED TO ADD MY OWN SO OTHERS OWNERS CAN BE INFORMED OF THE ONGIOING ISSUS WITH THE 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. I LOVE MY CAR, I WANT HER FIXED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/13/2015 - DARBY, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, BUT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE OVER 40 MPH AND THE RPMS INCREASED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 124,000.

View Details

ENGINE

4/13/2015 - DARBY, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, BUT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE OVER 40 MPH AND THE RPMS INCREASED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 124,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/8/2015 - MARBLEHEAD , OH
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 70 MPH, THE TRANSMISSION AUTOMATICALLY SHIFTED FROM THIRD TO FIFTH GEAR. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE SNAP RING AND PAN WITHIN THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 97,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds