Auto Recalls for Consumers

BUICK ENCLAVE - 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 229 complaints filed for the 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (46) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (60) Steering (66) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electrical System (29) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (22) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (4) Suspension (2) Visibility (15)
Engine (22) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (4) Wheels (3)
Equipment (2) Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

9/17/2014 - AKRON , OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40MPH, THE VEHICLE REVVED UP AND STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION FAILED. THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 74,500.

View Details

STEERING

9/13/2014 - MOUNT JULIET, TN
LOST POWER STEERING. VEHICLE IS DIFFICULT TO TURN AT LOW SPEEDS. DEALERSHIP SAID IT WAS THE AXLES. I REPLACED THEM BUT THE PROBLEM WAS NOT FIXED. MANEUVERING IN PARKING LOTS IS ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE AND DRIVING AROUND CURVES IS NERVE-RACKING BECAUSE THE WHEEL WANTS TO JERK TO THE SIDE, ALMOST FORCING ME UNTO ONCOMING TRAFFIC. IT'S ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE I HAVE A WRECK BECAUSE OF THIS ISSUE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/10/2014 - HILLSBORO, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR DID NOT ILLUMINATE WHEN THE PASSENGER SEAT WAS OCCUPIED. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE PPS SENSOR MODULAR ON THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000.

View Details

ENGINE

9/8/2014 - BROWNSVILLE , TX
SINCE I BOUGHT MY TRUCK I HEARD A WEIRD NOISE FROM THE STEERING WHEEL I THOUGHT WELL MAYBE BECAUSE IM NOT USED TO IT BECAUSE BEFORE I WAS DRIVING AN NISSAN X-TERRA 2002. SO IM A WOMEN DON'T KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT CARS SO I SAID IT LOOKS GOOD IT WAS FROM ONLY ONE OWNER BEFORE SO I THINK WE ARE GOOD. PLUS I THOUGHT IT'S NOT LIKE I'M PAYING $5,000 FOR A TRUCK AND IT'S A BUICK IT'S CONSIDER LUXURE SO I DIDN'T THINK I WAS MAKING A BAD CHOICE. WELL THE NOISE IT'S GETTING WORSE I BARELY MADE IT TO MY HOUSE YESTERDAY BECAUSE THE STEERING WHEEL DIDN'T WANT TO WORK ANYMORE IT WAS RAINING SO HARD IM 9 MONTHS PREGNANT I MADE THAT INVESTMENT DOING A HUGE SACRIFICE SO ME AND MY CHILD COULD BE PROTECTED, FEEL CONFIDENT THAT AT THE END OF THE DAY WE ARE IN GOOD HANDS IN THAT TRUCK. ALSO WHEN I BOUGHT THIS TRUCK A MONTH LATER THE AIR BAG SERVICE LIGHT WAS ON I DID A RESEARCH IT SAID THAT THIS TRUCK HAD A RECALL FOR THAT SO I TOOK IT TO THE BUICK AND THEY FIX IT. AND NOW THE ENGINE LIGHT TURNS ON EVERY NOW AND THEN. I MEAN I'M DOING EVERYTHING I SHOULD FOR THIS VEHICLE I CHANGE OIL REGULARY AND I PAY FOR THE SYNTHETIC OIL BECAUSE THEY SAID IT WAS BETTER FOR THIS TYPE OF BRAND CARS THAT ARE LUXURE FOR OUR MIDDLE CLASS PEOPLE. AND IT'S NOT LIKE I TRAVEL IN THAT VEHICLE I ONLY USE IT TO GO TO WORK, GROCERIES, FAMILY AND FRIENDS HOUSE HONESTLY I DON'T USE IT TO TRAVEL WHERE I LIVE IS A SMALL TOWN SO IT'S NOT LIKE I HAVE THIS TRUCK ALL OVER THE PLACE IF YOU SEE IT'S LIKE NEW IT'S THE CXL IT HAS 2 SUNROOF, LEATHER SEATS, DVD PLAYER I MEAN IM IN LOVE WITH THIS TRUCK BUT C'MON THAT'S NOT SAFE FOR ME AND MY BABY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/8/2014 - BROWNSVILLE , TX
SINCE I BOUGHT MY TRUCK I HEARD A WEIRD NOISE FROM THE STEERING WHEEL I THOUGHT WELL MAYBE BECAUSE IM NOT USED TO IT BECAUSE BEFORE I WAS DRIVING AN NISSAN X-TERRA 2002. SO IM A WOMEN DON'T KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT CARS SO I SAID IT LOOKS GOOD IT WAS FROM ONLY ONE OWNER BEFORE SO I THINK WE ARE GOOD. PLUS I THOUGHT IT'S NOT LIKE I'M PAYING $5,000 FOR A TRUCK AND IT'S A BUICK IT'S CONSIDER LUXURE SO I DIDN'T THINK I WAS MAKING A BAD CHOICE. WELL THE NOISE IT'S GETTING WORSE I BARELY MADE IT TO MY HOUSE YESTERDAY BECAUSE THE STEERING WHEEL DIDN'T WANT TO WORK ANYMORE IT WAS RAINING SO HARD IM 9 MONTHS PREGNANT I MADE THAT INVESTMENT DOING A HUGE SACRIFICE SO ME AND MY CHILD COULD BE PROTECTED, FEEL CONFIDENT THAT AT THE END OF THE DAY WE ARE IN GOOD HANDS IN THAT TRUCK. ALSO WHEN I BOUGHT THIS TRUCK A MONTH LATER THE AIR BAG SERVICE LIGHT WAS ON I DID A RESEARCH IT SAID THAT THIS TRUCK HAD A RECALL FOR THAT SO I TOOK IT TO THE BUICK AND THEY FIX IT. AND NOW THE ENGINE LIGHT TURNS ON EVERY NOW AND THEN. I MEAN I'M DOING EVERYTHING I SHOULD FOR THIS VEHICLE I CHANGE OIL REGULARY AND I PAY FOR THE SYNTHETIC OIL BECAUSE THEY SAID IT WAS BETTER FOR THIS TYPE OF BRAND CARS THAT ARE LUXURE FOR OUR MIDDLE CLASS PEOPLE. AND IT'S NOT LIKE I TRAVEL IN THAT VEHICLE I ONLY USE IT TO GO TO WORK, GROCERIES, FAMILY AND FRIENDS HOUSE HONESTLY I DON'T USE IT TO TRAVEL WHERE I LIVE IS A SMALL TOWN SO IT'S NOT LIKE I HAVE THIS TRUCK ALL OVER THE PLACE IF YOU SEE IT'S LIKE NEW IT'S THE CXL IT HAS 2 SUNROOF, LEATHER SEATS, DVD PLAYER I MEAN IM IN LOVE WITH THIS TRUCK BUT C'MON THAT'S NOT SAFE FOR ME AND MY BABY.

View Details

STEERING

9/8/2014 - BROWNSVILLE , TX
SINCE I BOUGHT MY TRUCK I HEARD A WEIRD NOISE FROM THE STEERING WHEEL I THOUGHT WELL MAYBE BECAUSE IM NOT USED TO IT BECAUSE BEFORE I WAS DRIVING AN NISSAN X-TERRA 2002. SO IM A WOMEN DON'T KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT CARS SO I SAID IT LOOKS GOOD IT WAS FROM ONLY ONE OWNER BEFORE SO I THINK WE ARE GOOD. PLUS I THOUGHT IT'S NOT LIKE I'M PAYING $5,000 FOR A TRUCK AND IT'S A BUICK IT'S CONSIDER LUXURE SO I DIDN'T THINK I WAS MAKING A BAD CHOICE. WELL THE NOISE IT'S GETTING WORSE I BARELY MADE IT TO MY HOUSE YESTERDAY BECAUSE THE STEERING WHEEL DIDN'T WANT TO WORK ANYMORE IT WAS RAINING SO HARD IM 9 MONTHS PREGNANT I MADE THAT INVESTMENT DOING A HUGE SACRIFICE SO ME AND MY CHILD COULD BE PROTECTED, FEEL CONFIDENT THAT AT THE END OF THE DAY WE ARE IN GOOD HANDS IN THAT TRUCK. ALSO WHEN I BOUGHT THIS TRUCK A MONTH LATER THE AIR BAG SERVICE LIGHT WAS ON I DID A RESEARCH IT SAID THAT THIS TRUCK HAD A RECALL FOR THAT SO I TOOK IT TO THE BUICK AND THEY FIX IT. AND NOW THE ENGINE LIGHT TURNS ON EVERY NOW AND THEN. I MEAN I'M DOING EVERYTHING I SHOULD FOR THIS VEHICLE I CHANGE OIL REGULARY AND I PAY FOR THE SYNTHETIC OIL BECAUSE THEY SAID IT WAS BETTER FOR THIS TYPE OF BRAND CARS THAT ARE LUXURE FOR OUR MIDDLE CLASS PEOPLE. AND IT'S NOT LIKE I TRAVEL IN THAT VEHICLE I ONLY USE IT TO GO TO WORK, GROCERIES, FAMILY AND FRIENDS HOUSE HONESTLY I DON'T USE IT TO TRAVEL WHERE I LIVE IS A SMALL TOWN SO IT'S NOT LIKE I HAVE THIS TRUCK ALL OVER THE PLACE IF YOU SEE IT'S LIKE NEW IT'S THE CXL IT HAS 2 SUNROOF, LEATHER SEATS, DVD PLAYER I MEAN IM IN LOVE WITH THIS TRUCK BUT C'MON THAT'S NOT SAFE FOR ME AND MY BABY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/4/2014 - BUFFALO, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE ENGINE POWER REDUCED WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE ENGINE STALLED. THE CONTACT MANAGED TO MERGE TO THE EMERGENCY LANE. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE KEY WAS HARD TO EJECT FROM THE IGNITION. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED AFTER MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THERE WAS BROKEN SOLENOID INSIDE OF THE TRANSMISSION AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

9/2/2014 - 618-663-3670, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WATER LEAKED THROUGH THE SUN ROOF DURING RAINY WEATHER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS TO HAVE THE DEBRIS CLEANED OUT, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE FUSE BOX WAS REPLACED DUE TO THE WATER LEAKAGE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 23,507.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/26/2014 - NORTH AUGUSTA, SC
MY CAR HAS BEEN MAINTAINED THE WHOLE TIME I'VE HAD IT. I'VE HAD TO HAVE REPLACED THE MOTOR FOR THE ELECTRIC SEAT, THE HINGE MOUNTS FOR THE LIFT GATE, THE DVD PLAYER, AND AN OIL LEAK FIXED. NOW THE 3/5/R WAVE PLATE HAS BROKEN. WHAT'S UP WITH THE BUICK ENCLAVES? THEY COST TOO MUCH FOR ALL THESE ITEMS TO BREAK AND NEED REPLACING. I COULD UNDERSTAND IF THE SUV WAS ABUSED AND NOT MAINTAINED. IF I WANTED TO HAVE MY CAR IN THE SHOP ALL THE TIME, I WOULD HAVE BOUGHT A CLUNKER. WHY DOESN'T GMC HAVE A RECALL FOR SOME OF THESE ITEMS, ESPECIALLY THE TRANSMISSION 3/5/R WAVE PLATE. IT ISN'T SAFE WHEN IT GOES OUT AND YOU ARE ON THE ROAD. I HAVE GRANDCHILDREN THAT I DRIVE AROUND IN THIS SUV. WE COULD BE KILLED. GMC NEEDS TO WAKE UP BEFORE SOMEONE IS KILLED IN REGARDS TO THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

8/4/2014 - RESTON, VA
AFTER 66,000 MILES OF EASY DRIVING, OUR 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE HAS A BROKEN WAVE PLATE AND NEEDS A NEW TRANSMISSION! THE TRANSMISSION FAILURE CAUSED TWO SEPARATE DANGEROUS DRIVING SITUATIONS, ONE OF WHICH COULD HAVE BEEN FATAL. THE FIRST EVENT OCCURRED WHEN STOPPED AT AN INTERSECTION TO MAKE A LEFT TURN. I HAD TWO CHILDREN IN THE BACK SEAT. WHEN THE INTERSECTION CLEARED, I BEGAN TO MAKE THE LEFT TURN, BUT THE ENGINE FAILED TO ACCELERATE AND MERELY COASTED INTO THE LANE OF ON-COMING TRAFFIC. THE LEFT SIDE OF THE VEHICLE AND THE 7-YEAR-OLD CHILD SITTING THERE WERE LEFT EXPOSED TO THE THREAT OF IMPACT BY FAST-APPROACHING TRAFFIC. AFTER ABOUT 2 SECONDS, THE ENGINE ACCELERATED AND WE WERE ABLE TO LEAVE THE INTERSECTION MOMENTS BEFORE ON-COMING TRAFFIC ARRIVED. THE SECOND EVENT OCCURRED TWO DAYS LATER. TRAVELING 45-50 MPH ON A LOCAL HIGHWAY, THE ENGINE SLIPPED GEARS AND WOULD NOT SHIFT OUT OF FIRST GEAR. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. WE RETURNED HOME AT SLOW SPEED. IN THE DRIVEWAY, WE PUT THE CAR IN PARK, THEN IN DRIVE AND REVERSE. IT BARELY MOVED IN EITHER DIRECTION. THE NEXT DAY, WE WERE ABLE TO DRIVE IT TO THE NEARBY DEALERSHIP. IT SHIFTED GEARS ON THE WAY, BUT THE WARNING LIGHT STAYED ON. THE DEALERSHIP INFORMED US THAT THE WAVE PLATE IS BROKEN AND THAT THE TRANSMISSION MUST BE REPLACED. WE TRIED CONTACTING GM CUSTOMER SERVICE BUT RECEIVED NOTHING MORE THAN A RECORDED MESSAGE ASKING US TO HOLD ON THE LINE. WE HELD FOR OVER ONE HOUR AND RECEIVED NO CUSTOMER SERVICE. A REVIEW OF MANY WEBSITE POSTINGS REVEALS A WIDESPREAD FAILURE OF THE ENCLAVE WAVE PLATE AND TRANSMISSION, THAT GM IS FULLY AWARE OF IT AND HAS TAKEN NO STEPS TO ADDRESS IT OR TO ENSURE OF THE SAFETY OF THE THOUSANDS OF ENCLAVE OWNERS AND OTHER DRIVERS ON THE ROAD. FAILING ANY ACCOUNTABILITY BY GM, WE INSIST THAT NHTSA TAKE ACTION ON THIS WIDESPREAD SAFETY HAZARD AND ISSUE A RECALL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds