Auto Recalls for Consumers

BUICK ENCLAVE - 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 379 complaints filed for the 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (70) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (110) Steering (78) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (45) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (5) Structure (57) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (6) Suspension (6) Visibility (17)
Engine (45) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (4) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (14) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (4) Wheels (4)
Equipment (2) Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 42
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

12/1/2016 - PEORIA, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH AND DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO DECELERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WAS A CRACK IN THE WAVE PLATE, WHICH NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED OR THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 116,000.

View Details

ENGINE

11/30/2016 - SYLVA, NC
CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AT 70000 MILES. BROUGHT INTO DEALER AND TOLD STRETCHED TIMING CHAIN. ALTHOUGH GM HAS AN EXTENDED WARRANTY ON MANY OF THESE ENGINES IN THE ENCLAVE, I WAS TOLD THAT MINE WAS NOT A PART OF THE QUALIFIED BATCH FOR THE EXTENDED WARRANTY AND THAT ALL COSTS WOULD BE OUT OF POCKET. I AM CURRENTLY STUCK WITH A VEHICLE THAT NEEDS OVER $3500 IN REPAIRS ON A KNOWN ISSUE FOR THIS ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WILL NOT PASS NEEDED EMISSIONS TESTING AND IS AS SUCH UNDRIVABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/21/2016 - KINGSTON, OK
I HAVE FINANCED THIS 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE, WHICH I GOT IN FEBRUARY 2016. LOVE THE CAR AND ALL THE SPACE IT HAS. THAT WAS UNTIL TODAY! THIS WEEK AS I WAS LEAVING THE CAR WOULDN'T SHIFT INTO REVERSE. ONCE I GOT IT INTO NEUTRAL I WAS ABLE TO BACK DOWN THE INCLINE FROM THE CARPORT TO THE STREET. IT DID SHIFT INTO DRIVE, BUT WOULD ONLY GO ABOUT 25 MPH ON A BUSY HIGHWAY AND STAYED IN FIRST THE WHOLE TIME. I CONTACTED THE LOCAL CHEVY/GM DEALER AND HE SAID TO BRING IT IN. I COULDN'T BECAUSE I WAS AT WORK. THIS MORNING THE DEALER CALLED AGAIN AFTER BEING ASKED TO BY MY HUSBAND AND SENT A TECHNICIAN TO MY HOME. THE TECH CHECKED IT AND WROTE SOME CODES DOWN AND WENT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE DEALER THEN CALLED AND SAID IF I COULD GET THE CAR TO HIM HE WOULD HAVE THE TECH CHECK THE FUSES AND RELAYS. HE CHECKED THE CODES HE HAD PULLED AND CHECKED ALL FUSES AND RELAYS AND SAID THAT I NEEDED TO CONTACT A TRANSMISSION SHOP BECAUSE THE COMPUTER WAS NOT TALKING TO THE TRANSMISSION. ALL OF THIS AFTER AN ALMOST HOUR TRIP TO DRIVE 8 MILES TO THE DEALERSHIP AND DRIVE THAT SAME 8 MILES BACK HOME BECAUSE WE KEPT HAVING TO STOP ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND STOP THE ENGINE AND THEN RESTART IT AGAIN ON THAT SAME BUSY HIGHWAY. WE HAD SEVERAL NEAR MISSES (PEOPLE DRIVING THE 65 MILE SPEED LIMIT NEARLY REAR ENDING US). SURELY THERE IS SOMETHING THAT CAN BE DONE TO MAKE SURE THIS DOESN'T HAPPEN TO ANYONE ELSE!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/16/2016 - RICHMOND, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH, THE TRANSMISSION MALFUNCTIONED AND THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE WAS STUCK AT 3,500 RPMS AND THE VEHICLE SMELLED OF SMOKE AND BURNT METAL. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER TO THE RIGHT SHOULDER OF THE ROAD AND STOPPED THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE AND DRIVE AWAY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER TO BE REPAIRED, BUT THE DEALER COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. A TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE WAS REPLACED BASED ON THE DIAGNOSTIC TEST. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 90,000.

View Details

ENGINE

9/16/2016 - RICHMOND, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH, THE TRANSMISSION MALFUNCTIONED AND THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE WAS STUCK AT 3,500 RPMS AND THE VEHICLE SMELLED OF SMOKE AND BURNT METAL. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER TO THE RIGHT SHOULDER OF THE ROAD AND STOPPED THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE AND DRIVE AWAY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER TO BE REPAIRED, BUT THE DEALER COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. A TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE WAS REPLACED BASED ON THE DIAGNOSTIC TEST. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 90,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/13/2016 - ASHEBORO, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED TWICE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WAS A LEAK IN THE FUEL TANK. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 101,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/12/2016 - ROY, UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE THERE WAS A PASSENGER SEATED IN THE FRONT PASSENGER'S SEAT, THE PASSENGER AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS INTERMITTENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SEAT MOUNTED SIDE IMPACT AIR BAG WIRING HARNESS WAS REPLACED HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 127,000. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: STABILIZER BAR

8/5/2016 - TAYLORSVILLE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. WHILE MAKING A RIGHT TURN, THERE WAS A CRACKING NOISE UNDERNEATH THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STOPPED THE VEHICLE AND NOTICED THAT THE FRONT STABILIZER BAR DETACHED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 31,000.

View Details

ENGINE

7/26/2016 - BURLESON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE LOST POWER. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIMING CHAIN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 94,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/22/2016 - GLEN ROCK, NJ
THE BUICK DEALER IS SAYING THE TIMING CHAIN(S) IS SLIPPING AND NEEDS REPLACEMENT AND THAT THE HEADS AND OR CAMS MAY ALSO REQUIRE REPLACEMENT. THE VEHICLE WENT INTO THE SHOP BECAUSE THE 2ND AND 5TH GEAR WAS NOT ENGAGING PROPERLY, THERE IS HESITATION IN THE TRANSMISSION/ENGINE. THE VEHICLE HAS 94,710 MILES. THE POWERTRAIN WARRANTY IS 5 YEARS OR 100,000 MILES. GM ISSUED AN EXTENDED WARRANTIES OF 10 YEARS AND 120,000 MILES FOR BOTH TRANSMISSION CLUTCH WAVE PLATE (3/5/R) AND FOR TIMING CHAIN SLIPPAGE. SO THEY ACKNOWLEDGE THEY HAVE THESE PROBLEMS WITH THE MATERIAL USED AND OR ENGINES. MY CONCERN IS THAT FOR THE TIMING CHAIN EXTENDED WARRANTY GM SKIPPED THE BUICK ENCLAVE 2008 YEAR MODEL AND COVER ONLY THE 2007 & 2009 YEAR MODELS AND THEY DO NOT WANT TO EXTEND THE COVERAGE TO COVER MY TIMING CHAIN REPLACEMENT. THIS IS NOT A NORMAL ROUTINE SERVICE ITEM PER THEIR BUICK ENCLAVE USER MANUAL. TIMING CHAIN SHOULD BE COVERED UNDER THE POWERTRAIN WARRANTY. I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO PAY FOR REPLACING THE TIMING CHAIN ON A VEHICLE WITH UNDER 100,000 MILES BECAUSE GM USED POORLY MANUFACTURED CHAINS. USUALLY METAL TIMING CHAINS LAST WELL BEYOND 100,000 MILES. I'VE NEVER REPLACED A CHAIN ON ANY OF MY VEHICLES PAST OR PRESENT. THIS IS A KNOWN DEFECT WITH THE GM TIMING CHAINS WHICH SHOULD BE COVERED. IF THE TIMING CHAINS BREAKS IT WILL CAUSE TREMENDOUS DAMAGE AND MAY CAUSE ME TO GET INTO A CATASTROPHIC ACCIDENT. THE DIAGNOSTIC CODES PROVIDED BY THE DEALER ARE AS FOLLOWS: P0011 INTAKE CMP B1 P0391 EXHAUST CMP B2 P0366 EXHAUST CMP B1 CHAINS NOISY DIAG DOC 08-06-01-011K REPAIR COST RANGE: $2,577 + TAX TO $5,231 +TAX DEPENDING ON WHETHER HEADS AND OR CAMS REQUIRE REPLACEMENT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 42
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds