Auto Recalls for Consumers

BUICK ENCLAVE - 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 405 complaints filed for the 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (78) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (118) Steering (82) Unknown Or Other (19)
Electrical System (49) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (5) Structure (60) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (6) Suspension (8) Visibility (17)
Engine (49) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (5) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (14) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (4) Wheels (4)
Equipment (2) Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 45
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY: TRUNK LID

6/13/2017 - MERCED, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. WHILE OPENING THE TRUNK, THE TRUNK DOOR FAILED TO OPEN. ON SEVERAL OTHER OCCASIONS, THE TRUNK OPENED INDEPENDENTLY AFTER BEING CLOSED OR DID NOT CLOSE PROPERLY. THE DOOR WOULD ALSO FALL AND CLOSE INDEPENDENTLY. THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. ON ONE OCCASION, THE TRUNK DOOR STRUCK THE CONTACT'S SON ON THE HEAD. MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS NOT REQUIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO RON SMITH BUICK GMC (1900 AUTO CENTER DR, MERCED, CA 95340), BUT THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THEY COULD NOT FIND ANY ISSUE WITH THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 122,500.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/6/2017 - SAINT PETERS, MO
I WAS DRIVING MY VEHICLE AND A BUNCH OF A.C. COOLANT CAME OUT ALL AT ONE TIME AND WENT INTO MY EYES WHILE I WAS DRIVING. NOW MY A.C. WON'T WORK. MY HUSBAND HAS TRIED TO PUT MORE FREON IN BUT IT KEEPS DOING THE SAME THING. WE TOOK IT TO A REPAIR SHOP AND THERE ARE NO CRACKS OR LEAKS HOWEVER THEY SAID THE EVAPORATOR CORE WAS THE PROBLEM. APPARENTLY THEY SEE TONS OF THESE ISSUES WITH THESE MODELS AND YEARS OF VEHICLES AND THEY ALL HAVE LOW MILES ON THEM WHEN IT HAPPENS SO I GUESS OURS JUST FAILED LATER THAN OTHERS. HE SAID THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL WITH AS MANY AS THERE ARE AND TO REPORT IT HERE. ALSO I WOULD LIKE TO ADD THAT THIS VEHICLE HAS HAD A SIGNIFICANT AMOUNT OF RECALLS AND SHOULD BE CONSIDERED A LEMON. GM HAS HAD NOTHING BUT RECALLS WITH THEIR ENCLAVES, ACADIAS AND SATURNS IN THE YEARS 2008-2010 MODELS AND ALL OF THESE MODELS HAVE THE EVAPORATOR ISSUE! THE COST TO FIX THIS IS $2,000!!! THE EVAPORATOR SHOULD NOT BE GOING OUT ON A VEHICLE LIKE THIS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/4/2017 - DUNMORE, PA
WARNING LIGHTS FOR AIR BAGS ON DASH (EXCLAMATION MARK) KEEPS ON SHOWING, ALSO WHEN STARTING VEHICLE IT STATES "SERVICE AIR BAGS" DID NOT FIND IT ON ANY RECALL, PURCHASE VEHICLE FEB 2017

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/12/2017 - PACE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO BE DIAGNOSED, BUT THE CONTACT WAS NOT GIVEN A CAUSE FOR THE DEPLOYMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V118000 (AIR BAGS). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/17/2017 - BUFORD, GA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE ON APRIL 6TH, 2017 WITH OUR TWO YOUNG DAUGHTERS (SPRING BREAK). OUR 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE MADE A SUBTLE NOISE, THEN A SECOND NOISE THAT WAS A BIT LOUDER. I PULLED OVER JUST IN TIME FOR ME AND MY LITTLE ONES TO GET OUT. WITHIN SECONDS, THE CAR WAS SMOKING HEAVILY WITH FLAMES FALLING TO THE GROUND; AND THEN WITHIN MINUTES, IT WAS BURNING FIERCELY. TWO GOOD SAMARITANS HAD PULLED OVER. A LADY RUSHED TO GRAB MY KIDS AND RAN WITH THEM TO HER CAR. THE 2ND (A FORMER POLICE OFFICE) CALLED 9-1-1. THE FIREFIGHTERS ARRIVED ON SCENE TO PUT OUT THE FIRE, BUT THE CAR HAD PRACTICALLY BURNED TO A TOTAL LOSS. WE STILL HAVE NO IDEA WHAT CAUSED THE FIRE. JUST WORRIED THAT THIS MIGHT NOT BE A ONE-OFF. I HAVE INCLUDED THE FIREFIGHTER'S REPORT. GEICO HAS DEEMED THE CAR A TOTAL LOSS. NOT SURE I CAN TRUST ANOTHER BUICK. ALL OUR FRIENDS AND COLLEAGUES WHO DRIVE THIS SAME CAR WANT TO KNOW WHY THIS COULD HAVE HAPPENED--AS DO WE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/7/2017 - CHERAW, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, THE VEHICLE LUNGED FORWARD AND MADE AN ABNORMAL NOISE. IN ADDITION, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 143,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/6/2017 - WAYSBORO, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. AFTER STARTING THE ENGINE, THE AIR BAG SENSOR INDICATOR REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED AND THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/3/2017 - DALLAS, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS LEAKING WATER ON THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE WHERE THE FILLERS THAT HOLD THE SIDE AIR BAGS WERE LOCATED. THE VEHICLE WAS ALSO LEAKING WATER THROUGH THE ROOF IN THE REAR, UNDERNEATH THE SENSOR USED FOR REVERSE ASSISTANCE. THE REAR SEAT BELTS WERE ALSO LEAKING WATER. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER WHO STATED THAT THERE WERE NO RECALLS ON THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER DETERMINED THAT THE HEADLINER NEEDED TO BE REMOVED IN ORDER FOR A WATER TEST TO TAKE PLACE TO INDICATE THE ORIGIN OF THE LEAK. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 135,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/27/2017 - IRVING, TX
THIS IS A 1 OWNER VEHICLE, NOT DRIVEN LONG DISTANCES OR ON SALTED OR ROUGH TERRAIN. IN THE LAST FEW MONTHS, I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE BOTH STABILIZER BARS, SHOCKS, STRUTS, AND BECAUSE THE BRAKES WERE NOT PUT BACK ON PROPERLY THE BRAKES AND ROTORS, AND IN 2011 THE GEAR BOX HAD A LEAK WHICH WAS REPLACED. NOW AFTER SPENDING $4K IN THE LAST FEW MONTHS, I AM BEING TOLD THE RACK AND PINION (WHICH IS THE SAME AS THE GEAR BOX) IS LEAKING AGAIN! I ONLY HAVE 74K MILES ON THIS CAR! I PREVIOUSLY HAD A 1990 CHEVY SUBURBAN THAT NEVER HAD THESE KINDS OF ISSUES! AND YET HERE ALONE I SEE OVER 80 ISSUES FOR THE POWER STEERING ALONE! MAKE GM RECALL THIS VEHICLE OR I FULLY INTEND TO START A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT AND INCLUDE YOUR ORGANIZATION AS WELL FOR FAILURE TO PROTECT THE PUBLIC!

View Details

STEERING

2/27/2017 - IRVING, TX
THIS IS A 1 OWNER VEHICLE, NOT DRIVEN LONG DISTANCES OR ON SALTED OR ROUGH TERRAIN. IN THE LAST FEW MONTHS, I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE BOTH STABILIZER BARS, SHOCKS, STRUTS, AND BECAUSE THE BRAKES WERE NOT PUT BACK ON PROPERLY THE BRAKES AND ROTORS, AND IN 2011 THE GEAR BOX HAD A LEAK WHICH WAS REPLACED. NOW AFTER SPENDING $4K IN THE LAST FEW MONTHS, I AM BEING TOLD THE RACK AND PINION (WHICH IS THE SAME AS THE GEAR BOX) IS LEAKING AGAIN! I ONLY HAVE 74K MILES ON THIS CAR! I PREVIOUSLY HAD A 1990 CHEVY SUBURBAN THAT NEVER HAD THESE KINDS OF ISSUES! AND YET HERE ALONE I SEE OVER 80 ISSUES FOR THE POWER STEERING ALONE! MAKE GM RECALL THIS VEHICLE OR I FULLY INTEND TO START A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT AND INCLUDE YOUR ORGANIZATION AS WELL FOR FAILURE TO PROTECT THE PUBLIC!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 45
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds