Auto Recalls for Consumers

BUICK ENCLAVE - 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 242 complaints filed for the 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (47) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (69) Steering (69) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (31) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (23) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (3) Suspension (3) Visibility (15)
Engine (24) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (4) Wheels (3)
Equipment (2) Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

11/21/2014 - WILLIAMSBURG, MI
WHEN ACCELERATING I WAS JUST COASTING. I PUT IT IN PARK AND THEN BACK IN DRIVE AND WENT ABOUT A BLOCK THEN LOST ACCELERATION AGAIN. I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP. I WAS TOLD THE 3-5 CLUTCH FAILED. SOME METAL PIECES IN THE TRANSMISSION COME LOOSE. WHEN THE CAR COOLS DOWN THEY SETTLE AND THE GEAR MAY WORK. AS IT WARMS UP THEY GET IN THE WAY AGAIN AND THE GEARS STICK. I WAS TOLD I NEEDED A NEW TRANSMISSION OR A REBUILT ONE. I WAS TOLD THEY WOULD BE PUTTING IN ANOTHER 2008 TRANSMISSION BUT THAT THE PART THAT FAILED HAD BEEN CORRECTED. I ASKED THEM TO CONTACT GM TO SEE IF THEY WOULD COVER THE COST BUT THEY WOULD ONLY COVER HALF OF THE COST. I AM THANKFUL FOR THAT BUT I FEEL THIS SHOULD NOT HAVE HAPPENED TO A 2008 CAR WITH 96,000 MILES ON IT. I HAD BEEN ON THE EXPRESSWAY THE DAY PRIOR TO THIS HAPPENING AND THE VERY NEXT TIME I DROVE THE CAR THIS HAPPENED. IT COULD HAVE RESULTED IN AN ACCIDENT. SO I WAS WITHOUT MY CAR FOR EIGHT DAYS.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/16/2014 - ARLINGTON, OH
PURCHASED VEHICLE END OF FEB 2014. PROBLEMS STARTED RIGHT AWAY. 3-13-14 REPLACED FRONT STRUTS, COMPLAINED ABOUT TRANS SHIFTS AND HEATER MOTOR WORKING PART TIME. DEALER SAID THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE. 4-8-14 REPLACED BLOWER MOTOR AND PIGTAIL. 6-5-14 REPLACED AC EVAPORATOR OLD ONE WAS SHOT. 7-5-14 REPLACED TRANSMISSION,& WATER PUMP, & STEERING GEAR PINION SHAFT SEAL. NOW WE CURRENTLY HAVE CLEAR COAT PEALING AND WATER COMING IN ON THE DRIVERS SIDE FLOOR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/16/2014 - ARLINGTON, OH
PURCHASED VEHICLE END OF FEB 2014. PROBLEMS STARTED RIGHT AWAY. 3-13-14 REPLACED FRONT STRUTS, COMPLAINED ABOUT TRANS SHIFTS AND HEATER MOTOR WORKING PART TIME. DEALER SAID THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE. 4-8-14 REPLACED BLOWER MOTOR AND PIGTAIL. 6-5-14 REPLACED AC EVAPORATOR OLD ONE WAS SHOT. 7-5-14 REPLACED TRANSMISSION,& WATER PUMP, & STEERING GEAR PINION SHAFT SEAL. NOW WE CURRENTLY HAVE CLEAR COAT PEALING AND WATER COMING IN ON THE DRIVERS SIDE FLOOR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/16/2014 - ARLINGTON, OH
PURCHASED VEHICLE END OF FEB 2014. PROBLEMS STARTED RIGHT AWAY. 3-13-14 REPLACED FRONT STRUTS, COMPLAINED ABOUT TRANS SHIFTS AND HEATER MOTOR WORKING PART TIME. DEALER SAID THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE. 4-8-14 REPLACED BLOWER MOTOR AND PIGTAIL. 6-5-14 REPLACED AC EVAPORATOR OLD ONE WAS SHOT. 7-5-14 REPLACED TRANSMISSION,& WATER PUMP, & STEERING GEAR PINION SHAFT SEAL. NOW WE CURRENTLY HAVE CLEAR COAT PEALING AND WATER COMING IN ON THE DRIVERS SIDE FLOOR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/11/2014 - TAMPA, FL
IN 2012, MY 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE WAS RECALLED DUE TO A MALFUNCTION OF THE AIRBAG. THE RECALL NUMBER WAS #10085. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BY FERMAN BUICK ON 11/21/12 AND THE COST OF THE REPAIRS WAS COVERED UNDER THE RECALL. ON NOV 11, 2014, I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO FERMAN BUICK IN LUTZ FLORIDA BECAUSE THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG WAS NOT PERFORMING PROPERLY AGAIN. THE DEALER INDICATED THE "PRESENT SENSOR PAD" WAS NOT FUNCTIONING CORRECTLY AND THAT IT WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED AT THE COST OF OVER $900. I DO NOT FEEL THIS IS FAIR OR PROPER SINCE THE VEHICLE HAS PREVIOUSLY BEEN RECALLED FOR AIR BAG ISSUES AND BECAUSE GM IS CURRENTLY RECALLING THOUSANDS OF VEHICLES FOR KNOWN AIRBAG DEFECTS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/9/2014 - ROANOKE, VA
ON PASSENGER SIDE, AIR BAG SENSOR DOES NOT DETECT A PASSENGER SITTING IN THE SEAT SO INDICATOR LIGHT ALWAYS SAYS "OFF" AND WILL TURN ON SOMETIMES, BUT MOST TIMES NOT TURN ON AT ALL. WE WERE CONCERNED THAT IN A CRASH, THE PASSENGER AIR BAG WOULD NOT DEPLOY AS IT THINKS NO ONE IS SEATED THERE. WE TOOK THE CAR TO BERGLUND CHEVROLET FOR REPAIR. THEY HAD TO REPLACE THE SENSOR AND PASSENGER SIDE SEAT CUSHION TO RESOLVE THE PROBLEM AND IT COST IN EXCESS OF $700. THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN A RECALL AS I HAVE READ ON THIS WEBSITE THAT OTHERS HAD SIMILAR PROBLEMS WITH THEIR AIRBAG. THIS IS A FOLLOW UP TO OUR EARLIER COMPLAINT @10583156

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/5/2014 - SANTA CLARITA, CA
CAR WAS NOT ACCELERATING PROPERLY AT LOW SPEEDS AND THE TRANSMISSION SEEMED TO BE SLIPPING WHEN DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR TO ACCELERATE AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. WE TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY MENTIONED THAT 3-5-R CLUTCH HAD FAILED. THE CAR ONLY HAS ABOUT 85000 MILES. WE FEEL THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE BASED ON RESEARCH THAT INDICATES THERE IS AN UNUSUALLY HIGH NUMBER OF FAILURES OF THIS PART, WHICH CAN CAUSE SUDDEN DECELERATIONS, NOT ENOUGH POWER TO ACCELERATE, OR FAILURE OF THE TRANSMISSION TO ENGAGE WHEN IN "PARK" CAUSING CARS TO ROLL. (OUR CAR HAD ISSUES WITH ACCELERATION.) WE FEEL LUCKY WE DID NOT HAVE A MAJOR INCIDENT. GM HAS NOT ACKNOWLEDGED THEY HAVE A WIDER PROBLEM AND SO FAR HAS REFUSED TO COVER THE TOTAL COST OF REPAIR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/30/2014 - LOUISVILLE, KY
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE, THE VEHICLE STARTED TO SHAKE AND THEN LOST THE ABILITY TO MOVE. CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS CAME ON. VEHICLE ENGINE WOULD RUN BUT VEHICLE WOULD NOT MOVE. ENTIRE TRANSMISSION HAD TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

STEERING

10/11/2014 - SHERBORN, MA
AS THE 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE VEHICLE WAS SLOWED TO MAKE A RIGHT TURN INTO A DRIVEWAY, IT SUDDENLY AND UNEXPECTEDLY BECAME VERY, VERY DIFFICULT TO STEER, SUCH THAT THE VEHICLE ALMOST WENT OFF OF THE ROAD AND INTO A TELEPHONE POLE. FORTUNATELY, THE VEHICLE WAS GOING SLOWLY ENOUGH THAT IT COULD BE ABRUPTLY STOPPED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD AND IT WAS NOT REAR-ENDED. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS CONDITION. WHEN I CALLED GENERAL MOTORS CUSTOMER CARE, I DISCOVERED THAT THIS WAS A KNOWN CONDITION FOR WHICH SPECIAL COVERAGE #14329 WAS ISSUED. GIVEN HOW DANGEROUS THIS CONDITION IS THAT DRAMATICALLY AFFECTS THE ABILITY OF A DRIVER TO STEER THE VEHICLE, I AM VERY UPSET THAT GENERAL MOTORS FAILED TO NOTIFY OWNERS OF THE AFFECTED CARS THAT THIS HAZARDOUS CONDITION EXISTED AND THAT GENERAL MOTORS FAILED TO ISSUE AN EMERGENCY VEHICLE RECALL. IT IS URGENT THAT NHTSA REQUIRES THAT GENERAL MOTORS ISSUE A RECALL FOR THIS SAFETY DEFECT. PASTED BELOW IS THE DEALER NOTIFICATION THAT WAS ISSUED TO GM SERVICE DEPARTMENTS ON SEPTEMBER 16, 2014 BY GENERAL MOTORS. "#14329: SPECIAL COVERAGE ADJUSTMENT - LOSS OF POWER STEERING ASSIST - (SEP 16, 2014). CONDITION. SOME 2008-2011 MODEL YEAR (MY) BUICK ENCLAVE, 2009-2011 MY CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, 2007-2011 MY GMC ACADIA, AND 2007-2010 MY SATURN OUTLOOK VEHICLES MAY DEVELOP A POWER STEERING PUMP WEAR CONDITION THAT CAN CAUSE AN INTERMITTENT DROP OF POWER STEERING HYDRAULIC PRESSURE THAT WILL CAUSE REDUCED OR LOSS OF STEERING ASSIST. THE VEHICLE MAY REVERT TO MANUAL STEERING WHICH REQUIRES GREATER DRIVER EFFORT, PARTICULARLY AT LOW VEHICLE SPEEDS."

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/9/2014 - STURTEVANT, WI
MY FAMILY AND I WERE ON OUR WAY BACK TO WISCONSIN FROM A TRIP TO FLORIDA ON SATURDAY, AUGUST 16, 2014. MY HUSBAND HAD EXITED THE INTERSTATE AND WAS PULLING INTO A PARKING SPACE AT A FAST FOOD RESTAURANT. THE SPACE WAS ON A SLIGHT INCLINE. AS HE PULLED INTO THE SPACE, THE ENCLAVE STARTED TO ROLL BACKWARD. I CHECKED THE POSITION OF THE GEARSHIFT THINKING THAT HE HAD ACCIDENTALLY SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL BUT FOUND THAT THE VEHICLE WAS STILL IN DRIVE. THE ENGINE REVVED WHEN HE PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR BUT THE CAR CONTINUED TO ROLL BACKWARD. THE ONLY GEAR THE WOULD WORK WAS PARK. WE HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO THE LOCAL BUICK GMC CADILLAC DEALER. ON MONDAY, AUGUST 18, A SERVICE TECHNICIAN CALLED TO LET US KNOW THAT THE 35R WAVE PLATE HAD FAILED AND THE 35R HOUSING WAS ALSO DAMAGED AND THAT METAL DEBRIS HAD BEEN FOUND THROUGHOUT THE UNIT. THE REPAIR TOOK ABOUT TWO DAYS AND COST $3589.49. THANKFULLY WE WERE NOT ON THE INTERSTATE WHEN THE FAILURE OCCURRED. HAD WE REMAINED ON THE INTERSTATE ANOTHER MILE AND SUDDENLY NOT BEEN ABLE TO KEEP THE VEHICLE MOVING FORWARD WHILE THE TRAFFIC AROUND US MOVED AT EXPRESSWAY SPEEDS, WE COULD HAVE HAD A SERIOUS ACCIDENT THAT RESULTED IN TERRIBLE INJURY OR FATALITY. I WROTE A LETTER TO BUICK REQUESTING REIMBURSEMENT OF COST OF THE REFUND AND EXPENSE WE INCURRED DUE TO HAVING TO WAIT TO HAVE THE VEHICLE REPAIRED. I ALSO REQUESTED THAT THEY ISSUE A RECALL FOR THE WAVE PLATE FAILURE DUE TO THE SEVERE DANGER THAT THE FAILURE CREATES. FINALLY, I MENTIONED INFORMATION I FOUND ON THE INTERNET STATING THAT THIS FAILURE IS COMMON ON THE ENCLAVE AND ITS SISTER VEHICLES. THEY REFUSED TO REIMBURSE ME SINCE THERE WAS NO RECALL ON THE VEHICLE. THEY ALSO SAID THAT THE NHTSA, NOT GM, ISSUES RECALLS AND GAVE ME THE PHONE NUMBER TO CONTACT THE NHTSA TO FILE A COMPLAINT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds