Auto Recalls for Consumers

BUICK ENCLAVE - 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 211 complaints filed for the 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (42) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (55) Steering (57) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (27) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (21) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (3) Suspension (2) Visibility (14)
Engine (18) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (4) Wheels (3)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

7/23/2014 - PHILADELPHIA, NY
ENGINE REVS NO MOVEMENT, NO REVERSE ENGINE LIGHT ON

View Details

SEATS

7/23/2014 - GRANDVILLE, MI
VEHICLE WAS ALREADY ONCE SERVICED FOR A WATER LEAK. WATER COMING FROM INTERIOR REAR BACK UP SENSOR NOTIFICATION. ALSO WATER LEAKING INTO THE A PILLAR. ALSO WATER COMING OUT OF THE VISOR ATTACHMENT TO THE HEAD LINER. AGAIN, WATER IS COMING INTO THE INTERIOR. PASSENGER CARPET IS ALWAYS SOAKED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/23/2014 - GRANDVILLE, MI
VEHICLE WAS ALREADY ONCE SERVICED FOR A WATER LEAK. WATER COMING FROM INTERIOR REAR BACK UP SENSOR NOTIFICATION. ALSO WATER LEAKING INTO THE A PILLAR. ALSO WATER COMING OUT OF THE VISOR ATTACHMENT TO THE HEAD LINER. AGAIN, WATER IS COMING INTO THE INTERIOR. PASSENGER CARPET IS ALWAYS SOAKED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/14/2014 - BEECH GROVE, IN
WAS DRIVING ON INTERSTATE AT 70 MPH AND AS CAR WAS TRYING TO CLIMB A HILL AND TRANSMISSION SHIFTING GEARS, IT SLIPPED. HAPPENED A FEW TIMES WHILE ON INTERSTATE. GOT TO LOCATION AND THEN WENT TO LEAVE AGAIN AND BACKING UP CAR WAS HESITATING. PULL FORWARD THEN NEEDED TO GO IN REVERSE AND CAR HESITATED LIKE SOMEONE PRESSING ON AND OFF GAS. ARRIVED BACK AT HOME AND TOOK THE VEHICLE IN TO TRANSMISSION PLACE (HAD ALREADY RESEARCED THROUGH WEEKEND ON PROBLEM AND SAW ALOT OF PROBLEMS WITH 2008 BUICK ENCLAVES WITH WAVE PLATE (SNAP RING) GOING OUT ON TRANSMISSION. JUST RECEIVED CALL AND MY BUICK IS ANOTHER ONE THAT HAS JOINED THE RANK OF ALL THOSE WHO HAVE HAD THIS SAME PROBLEM. SHOULD NOT HAVE TO HAVE TRANSMISSION REBUILT/REPLACED AT THIS STAGE OF VEHICLE LIFE. I AM ONE YEAR OUT OF MY WARRANTY, BUT UNDER THE MILEAGE, HOWEVER, THAT DOESN'T MATTER! GM NEEDS TO DO A RECALL ON THESE TRANSMISSIONS! THERE IS DEFINITELY A PROBLEM AND IN LIGHT OF ALL THE RECENT NEWS ON GM PROBLEMS, I THINK WE HAVE FOUND ANOTHER PROBLEM THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN RECALLED AND WASN'T.

View Details

STEERING

7/11/2014 - KANSAS CITY, KS
WHILE DRIVING OUR 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE IN A PARKING LOT, I ATTEMPTED TO TURN INTO A PARKING SPOT AND WHEN TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL COMPLETELY LOCKED UP ON ME AND I WAS UNABLE TO FINISH THE TURN AND ALMOST RAN INTO A CAR. LUCKILY I WAS GOING SLOW ENOUGH THAT I WAS ABLE TO STEP ON THE BRAKES BEFORE I HIT THE CAR PARKED IN THE SPACE NEXT TO THE ONE I WAS TRYING TO PARK IN. AFTER A FEW SECONDS THE STEERING STARTED WORKING AGAIN. SINCE THEN EVERY TIME I AM GOING AT A SLOW RATE OF SPEED AND MAKE A SHARP TURN THE STEERING GOES OUT OF THE CAR. TOOK IT TO A LOCAL AUTO REPAIR SHOP AND THE DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING PUMP IS FAULTY. THIS CAR ONLY HAS 67,000 MILES ON IT. AS I RESEARCHED ON THE INTERNET I SAW THAT THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS MAKE AND MODEL OF CAR. THERE NEEDS TO BE A RECALL AS THE FIX FOR THIS IS OVER A $1000.00. FOR A VEHICLE THAT COSTS ALMOST $50,000 BRAND NEW THIS IS RIDICULOUS. I SHOULD NOT BE TAKING THIS CAR TO THE SHOP FOR STEERING PROBLEMS AT THIS LOW MILEAGE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/7/2014 - FALLSTON, MD
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

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/1/2014 - SOUTH OZONE PARK, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK ENCLAVE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE STOPPED AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT, ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASH INTO THE REAR END OF THE VEHICLE AND THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED MINOR INJURIES TO ARMS AND HANDS. THE PASSENGER SUSTAINED LACERATIONS TO THE HEAD AND WAS TAKEN TO THE HOSPITAL FOR MEDICAL ASSISTANCE SINCE SHE WAS PREGNANT AT THE TIME. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE WHY THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 48,300.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/28/2014 - STAFFORD, VA
WE WERE DRIVING OUR VEHICLE ON THE HIGHWAY (ROUTE 1 NEAR STAFFORD, VA) WHEN IT FELT LIKE IT WAS SUDDENLY NOT SHIFTING GEARS CORRECTLY AND QUICKLY THEREAFTER LOST POWER BEYOND 30 MILES PER HOUR. WE DROVE INTO A PARKING LOT. WE CALLED THE NEAREST BUICK DEALERSHIP/REPAIR SHOP (ROUTE 1 BUICK IN WOODBRIDGE, VA) AND TOLD THEM OF ISSUE. THEY SAID IT SOUNDS LIKE TRANSMISSION AND THE WAVE PLATE IS A "KNOWN ENCLAVE PROBLEM." THEY SAID TO HAVE IT TOWED TO THEM AND THEY MAY BE ABLE TO ASSIST US WITH COST AS IT'S CLOSE TO WITHIN POWERTRAIN WARRANTY. WE HAD IT TOWED THERE TO ROUTE 1 BUICK. THEY DIAGNOSED AND FOUND ALL TRANSMISSION CODES A WAVE PLATE CODE. THEY SAID IT WAS A "KNOWN PROBLEM" AND SO THEY CALLED BUICK GM SERVICE MANAGER. ROUTE 1 BUICK CALLED US BACK TO SAY GM WOULD NOT ASSIST US AS WE WERE OUTSIDE WARRANTY AND HAD NO PREVIOUS ISSUES WITH TRANSMISSION (I HAVE FOUND SEVERAL OTHER TRANSMISSION AND POWER LOSS COMPLAINTS I AND THE PREVIOUS OWNERS HAVE MADE ON THIS EXACT VEHICLE IN MY RESEARCH INTO THIS...I HAVE KEPT ALL RECORDS!). ROUTE 1 SAID THAT OUR COST WOULD START AT $3,800 WITH NO GUARANTEE THEY WOULDN'T FIND OTHER ISSUES NEEDING TO BE ADDRESSED. THE ALSO SAID LUCKY FOR US, OUR VEHICLE HAD AN OPEN RECALL ON SIDE AIR BAG ISSUE THEY COULD FIX. AS WE REALIZED WE MUST PAY OUT-OF-POCKET AND COULD NOT AFFORD $3,800, WE PAID THEM THE $120 FOR DIAGNOSIS AND TOWED IT (AT OUR EXPENSE) TO DUN-RITE TRANSMISSION IN FREDERICKSBURG, VA. DUN-RITE FOUND IT HAD A BROKEN WAVE PLATE. THEY REBUILT TRANSMISSION FOR $2,800. UNFORTUNATELY, THE STABILITRAK, TRACTION CONTROL, AND AIR BAG SENSORS ARE ALL ALSO GOING OFF AND CAR HAS HAD 2 OTHER INSTANCES OF LOSING POWER WHEN GOING UP HILLS. WE PURCHASED THE CERTIFIED GM CAR NOV 2012. MY CAR PAYMENT IS $462. PER MO. SINCE THAT TIME WE HAVE SPENT AN ADDITIONAL $6,095 ON REPAIRS AND MAINTENANCE. OUR AVERAGE MONTH EXPENSES ARE THEREFORE $801! HELP!

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/28/2014 - STAFFORD, VA
WE WERE DRIVING OUR VEHICLE ON THE HIGHWAY (ROUTE 1 NEAR STAFFORD, VA) WHEN IT FELT LIKE IT WAS SUDDENLY NOT SHIFTING GEARS CORRECTLY AND QUICKLY THEREAFTER LOST POWER BEYOND 30 MILES PER HOUR. WE DROVE INTO A PARKING LOT. WE CALLED THE NEAREST BUICK DEALERSHIP/REPAIR SHOP (ROUTE 1 BUICK IN WOODBRIDGE, VA) AND TOLD THEM OF ISSUE. THEY SAID IT SOUNDS LIKE TRANSMISSION AND THE WAVE PLATE IS A "KNOWN ENCLAVE PROBLEM." THEY SAID TO HAVE IT TOWED TO THEM AND THEY MAY BE ABLE TO ASSIST US WITH COST AS IT'S CLOSE TO WITHIN POWERTRAIN WARRANTY. WE HAD IT TOWED THERE TO ROUTE 1 BUICK. THEY DIAGNOSED AND FOUND ALL TRANSMISSION CODES A WAVE PLATE CODE. THEY SAID IT WAS A "KNOWN PROBLEM" AND SO THEY CALLED BUICK GM SERVICE MANAGER. ROUTE 1 BUICK CALLED US BACK TO SAY GM WOULD NOT ASSIST US AS WE WERE OUTSIDE WARRANTY AND HAD NO PREVIOUS ISSUES WITH TRANSMISSION (I HAVE FOUND SEVERAL OTHER TRANSMISSION AND POWER LOSS COMPLAINTS I AND THE PREVIOUS OWNERS HAVE MADE ON THIS EXACT VEHICLE IN MY RESEARCH INTO THIS...I HAVE KEPT ALL RECORDS!). ROUTE 1 SAID THAT OUR COST WOULD START AT $3,800 WITH NO GUARANTEE THEY WOULDN'T FIND OTHER ISSUES NEEDING TO BE ADDRESSED. THE ALSO SAID LUCKY FOR US, OUR VEHICLE HAD AN OPEN RECALL ON SIDE AIR BAG ISSUE THEY COULD FIX. AS WE REALIZED WE MUST PAY OUT-OF-POCKET AND COULD NOT AFFORD $3,800, WE PAID THEM THE $120 FOR DIAGNOSIS AND TOWED IT (AT OUR EXPENSE) TO DUN-RITE TRANSMISSION IN FREDERICKSBURG, VA. DUN-RITE FOUND IT HAD A BROKEN WAVE PLATE. THEY REBUILT TRANSMISSION FOR $2,800. UNFORTUNATELY, THE STABILITRAK, TRACTION CONTROL, AND AIR BAG SENSORS ARE ALL ALSO GOING OFF AND CAR HAS HAD 2 OTHER INSTANCES OF LOSING POWER WHEN GOING UP HILLS. WE PURCHASED THE CERTIFIED GM CAR NOV 2012. MY CAR PAYMENT IS $462. PER MO. SINCE THAT TIME WE HAVE SPENT AN ADDITIONAL $6,095 ON REPAIRS AND MAINTENANCE. OUR AVERAGE MONTH EXPENSES ARE THEREFORE $801! HELP!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/28/2014 - STAFFORD, VA
WE WERE DRIVING OUR VEHICLE ON THE HIGHWAY (ROUTE 1 NEAR STAFFORD, VA) WHEN IT FELT LIKE IT WAS SUDDENLY NOT SHIFTING GEARS CORRECTLY AND QUICKLY THEREAFTER LOST POWER BEYOND 30 MILES PER HOUR. WE DROVE INTO A PARKING LOT. WE CALLED THE NEAREST BUICK DEALERSHIP/REPAIR SHOP (ROUTE 1 BUICK IN WOODBRIDGE, VA) AND TOLD THEM OF ISSUE. THEY SAID IT SOUNDS LIKE TRANSMISSION AND THE WAVE PLATE IS A "KNOWN ENCLAVE PROBLEM." THEY SAID TO HAVE IT TOWED TO THEM AND THEY MAY BE ABLE TO ASSIST US WITH COST AS IT'S CLOSE TO WITHIN POWERTRAIN WARRANTY. WE HAD IT TOWED THERE TO ROUTE 1 BUICK. THEY DIAGNOSED AND FOUND ALL TRANSMISSION CODES A WAVE PLATE CODE. THEY SAID IT WAS A "KNOWN PROBLEM" AND SO THEY CALLED BUICK GM SERVICE MANAGER. ROUTE 1 BUICK CALLED US BACK TO SAY GM WOULD NOT ASSIST US AS WE WERE OUTSIDE WARRANTY AND HAD NO PREVIOUS ISSUES WITH TRANSMISSION (I HAVE FOUND SEVERAL OTHER TRANSMISSION AND POWER LOSS COMPLAINTS I AND THE PREVIOUS OWNERS HAVE MADE ON THIS EXACT VEHICLE IN MY RESEARCH INTO THIS...I HAVE KEPT ALL RECORDS!). ROUTE 1 SAID THAT OUR COST WOULD START AT $3,800 WITH NO GUARANTEE THEY WOULDN'T FIND OTHER ISSUES NEEDING TO BE ADDRESSED. THE ALSO SAID LUCKY FOR US, OUR VEHICLE HAD AN OPEN RECALL ON SIDE AIR BAG ISSUE THEY COULD FIX. AS WE REALIZED WE MUST PAY OUT-OF-POCKET AND COULD NOT AFFORD $3,800, WE PAID THEM THE $120 FOR DIAGNOSIS AND TOWED IT (AT OUR EXPENSE) TO DUN-RITE TRANSMISSION IN FREDERICKSBURG, VA. DUN-RITE FOUND IT HAD A BROKEN WAVE PLATE. THEY REBUILT TRANSMISSION FOR $2,800. UNFORTUNATELY, THE STABILITRAK, TRACTION CONTROL, AND AIR BAG SENSORS ARE ALL ALSO GOING OFF AND CAR HAS HAD 2 OTHER INSTANCES OF LOSING POWER WHEN GOING UP HILLS. WE PURCHASED THE CERTIFIED GM CAR NOV 2012. MY CAR PAYMENT IS $462. PER MO. SINCE THAT TIME WE HAVE SPENT AN ADDITIONAL $6,095 ON REPAIRS AND MAINTENANCE. OUR AVERAGE MONTH EXPENSES ARE THEREFORE $801! HELP!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds